View Full Version : Pre-season

Pages : 1 [2]

18-01-2012, 02:57 PM
The other website ( teeny bopper Footy) had Dale suffering a setback and Hooper had OP?
Any truth?

Morris- looked about where I'd expect him to be, he was doing some upper body work (ropes, sledgehammer and tyre, heavy bag), and was walking without a noticeable limp.

Hooper- Seemed to be moving ok for Hooper. He doesn't really have any lateral movement, so it's hard to tell if he's carrying an injury. He and Williams were both working pretty hard.

18-01-2012, 03:48 PM
I posted on (the affectionately named teeny bopper Footy) that I was told by somebody who I deem to be a reliable source that Hooper had a bout of OP. Not sure on the severity, or current progress.

18-01-2012, 04:42 PM
I'm over the whole SC/DT thing but that still makes me smile.

I'm genuinely sick of talking footy with mates and talking about the Dogs playing hard footy this year and being shot down that we are "soft frontrunners".

Can't wait to see whether we can turn some heads.

You need some new mates.:)

18-01-2012, 05:39 PM
Nothing to report really other than Morris was getting involved somewhat with the congested ball drills. Williams and Hooper were on the sidelines doing running drills, Cooney did a bit early then left the track, Lake was sighted only briefly, but most of the senior group were out there including Murphy and Hargrave

Groundhog day circa 2011 pre-season... :mad:

18-01-2012, 07:30 PM
The improvement needs to come from the way we play as a team together. If we are all on the same page and committed to the team rules I believe we have the talent to win more than we lose regardless of Lake and Cooney.

If Coons and Brian do have good years then we could push well into the eight. Last year was a debacle from go to woa on many levels.

18-01-2012, 07:46 PM
That's your take.

Mine is different. You'll need to accept that, like I accept yours. I'm not getting into yet another argument with you.

Fair enough. If you are waiting for the club to play perfect games in finals then you are dreaming.
To me I could care less whether we played poor or good in a final, the result is the most important thing.
Even Geelong had some poor performances(by your standards) in finals during premiership years.

18-01-2012, 09:00 PM
Groundhog day circa 2011 pre-season... :mad:

That's what I've been thinking too. Despite the club being positive about their training, I hold almost no expectation for these two. Hope I'm wrong and they play well.

18-01-2012, 09:59 PM
Edit

18-01-2012, 10:25 PM
Edit

Lets face it, we played the best we could in finals, we were not soft, we just didn't have that extra A Grader that we needed to get us over the line.

For the coming season, we don't have enough A Graders at this stage to even think about finals.

18-01-2012, 11:52 PM
Lets face it, we played the best we could in finals, we were not soft, we just didn't have that extra A Grader that we needed to get us over the line.

For the coming season, we don't have enough A Graders at this stage to even think about finals.

An even, well trained, disciplined outfit can get us to the finals. Progressing in the finals without the A graders very problematical.

19-01-2012, 09:41 AM
Any training tomorrow guys?

19-01-2012, 12:42 PM
East West Day at Wesley College, Glen Waverley.
East West Day Thread (http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=10272)

EDIT: my mistake. Until about 3pm today I thought it was Friday, and that 'tomorrow' was Saturday.

19-01-2012, 01:25 PM

I'd suggest there is training at the Whitten Oval tomorrow. i go down on a friday occasionally. East meets West is on saturday.

20-01-2012, 02:57 PM
Today training points of interest for me.

DJ very fit.
Gilbee looks very motivated.
Minno ditto.
Patty V and Liam Jones look very unfit during repeat running. Jones took hanger though which was good.
J Grant trying very hard(fingers crossed as I like the boy)
Cross Boyd and Gia machines.
Panos fit and impressive.
Lots of competitive work as stated many times before.
Camaraderie very high, good vibe.
Clay smith is a beast in the wrestling. Gave Dickson a touch up.
Howard looks the part and runs ok too. Still to be convinced though.
Shaggy looks very happy.
Cooney had ankle strapped still after training.
Higgins did a couple of things as usual that just made you think he could be anything.
Hooper not any skinnier and worked alone.
No Lake I think and Coons went in early.
I have massive man crush on Griff.

Sorry if misspelt names. Very hard to tell who players are at times when wearing vests etc.

20-01-2012, 03:02 PM

DJ very fit.
Minno ditto.
Patty V and Liam Jones look very unfit during repeat running. Jones took hanger though which was good.
Shaggy looks very happy.
Higgins did a couple of things as usual that just made you think he could be anything.

Sorry if misspelt names. Very hard to tell who players are at times when wearing vests etc.

Thanks for the report. Looking forward to getting my first peek at the new boys tomorrow.

20-01-2012, 05:16 PM
Thanks Maddog37:)

20-01-2012, 10:26 PM

Pretty sure he has OP. The Han Solo vibe he's pulling suggests he does.

21-01-2012, 10:45 AM

DJ very fit.
Minno ditto.
Shaggy looks very happy.

Ta, Maddog, appreciate your field report. I am very curious about how Morris is going, if anyone knows anything.

Also, as a few have voiced feelings about the 2012 season, I'll join in to say I feel like we will have a winning season (more wins than loses) and that should get us a gig at finals time. I say this because the monkey is off our back with respect to expectations, new coach should reinvigorate the club, C Grant is on the Board and has the title, if I'm right, of Football Director and Lake, Hargrave & Cooney will be playing many more games (this alone will be a big +, three A+ graders).

21-01-2012, 01:01 PM
Ta, Maddog, appreciate your field report. I am very curious about how Morris is going, if anyone knows anything.

Also, as a few have voiced feelings about the 2012 season, I'll join in to say I feel like we will have a winning season (more wins than loses) and that should get us a gig at finals time. I say this because the monkey is off our back with respect to expectations, new coach should reinvigorate the club, C Grant is on the Board and has the title, if I'm right, of Football Director and Lake, Hargrave & Cooney will be playing many more games (this alone will be a big +, three A+ graders).

That's gotta be worth 2-3 wins right there. :rolleyes:

21-01-2012, 03:45 PM
That's gotta be worth 2-3 wins right there. :rolleyes:

Off field stuff is important too!

21-01-2012, 11:55 PM
Off field stuff is important too!

Just ask Fev.;)

22-01-2012, 12:04 AM
Fair enough. If you are waiting for the club to play perfect games in finals then you are dreaming.
To me I could care less whether we played poor or good in a final, the result is the most important thing.
Even Geelong had some poor performances(by your standards) in finals during premiership years.

Spot on. Our record in finals is awful, and that's a fact.
Are we soft? Not for mine. We just haven't been good enough .
I reckon 97 was the only time we were the best side in it and we all know the story!!

28-01-2012, 09:00 AM

I only count 2 A+ graders in Cooney and Lake if they can recapture their best form. Surely you are not suggesting Hargrave is an A+ grader?

28-01-2012, 04:04 PM
I only count 2 A+ graders in Cooney and Lake if they can recapture their best form. Surely you are not suggesting Hargrave is an A+ grader?

I am counting Murphy.

28-01-2012, 08:06 PM
I am counting Murphy.

I'm referring to Fscary's post where there is no mention of Murphy.

29-01-2012, 10:41 AM
I'm referring to Fscary's post where there is no mention of Murphy.

I know...

29-01-2012, 12:27 PM
I know...

So we are agree with one another.

29-01-2012, 04:16 PM
So we are agree with one another.

Yep!

31-01-2012, 10:35 PM
Brendan was on AW tonight .
Said Cooney fully trained yesterday
Lake is lighter than he was, the coach used Scarlett as an example of someone who slimmed down. Brian's very happy. ( fully train next week)
The boys are commenting that they're sleeping well ( being flogged on the track)
Macca still lives in sleepy hollow ( fair commute ) kids ensconced in study .
Healy asked about Mitch Wallis ( said it can take a few pre-seasons before some youngsters make their mark)

31-01-2012, 11:01 PM
Thanks Remi for the radio report. Just pondering, didn't Lake lose weight last season, I seem to recall him talking about playing at a lower weight.

31-01-2012, 11:06 PM
You can listen to the full interview here (http://www.3aw.com.au/blogs/3aw-sport-blog/mccartney-on-the-dogs-progress/20120131-1qray.html).

01-02-2012, 01:07 AM
Thanks Remi for the radio report. Just pondering, didn't Lake lose weight last season, I seem to recall him talking about playing at a lower weight.

Definately read an article along those lines last year.

01-02-2012, 01:24 PM
You can listen to the full interview here (http://www.3aw.com.au/blogs/3aw-sport-blog/mccartney-on-the-dogs-progress/20120131-1qray.html).

Thanks Bonnite, being far away you must search all sporting websites for any piece of audio?

01-02-2012, 02:10 PM
I also enjoyed the link.

I thought he did a good job of selling hope (which helps with memberships) without going over the top. The supporters seem to like the continual 'hard at the contest' rhetoric and I think that will help with memberships also.

He seems to fit the image the club is trying to portray, that is for sure!

01-02-2012, 02:37 PM
I also enjoyed the link.

I thought he did a good job of selling hope (which helps with memberships) without going over the top. The supporters seem to like the continual 'hard at the contest' rhetoric and I think that will help with memberships also.

He seems to fit the image the club is trying to portray, that is for sure!

He also appears realistic when discussing the younger players, Wallis, Panos, Cordy etc. He said a couple of times that they take time to develop and we all need to be patient.

As supporters due to the exposure of the younger players before the get to AFL level we know so much about them we expect them to immediately impact at AFL level.

01-02-2012, 05:28 PM
Thanks Bonnite, being far away you must search all sporting websites for any piece of audio?

I do indeed scour the web for any mention of my beloved Bulldogs. Twitter actually comes in pretty handy for being notified of some things.

I also really like the message he's selling. Getting people's attention with talk of the young guys and they're development but downplaying the expectations. Think it will be an interesting and exciting year.

02-02-2012, 12:23 PM
Went down to training yesterday. The team did full ground match simulation. There was a lot of heavy congestion around the ball and plenty of physicality.

A couple of things that stood out:
- Firstly the players have definitely put on some size and with contested ball being BMacs mantra it was quite fierce.

-Overall the skill level was quite poor, but there was a big emphasis to pressure the ball carrier.

- Redpath is a monster, he was creating space at the drop of the ball in the marking contest by pure strength and has a nice set shot on him.

- Minson really struggled and i noticed that he give up body position way to easily. It was really frustrating to watch him work to the front in a ruck contest only to give it straight back.

- Libba is a clearance machine! I’m convinced he has eyes in the back of his head. His ability to find a team mate in congestion is fantastic to watch.

- Panos did some nice things as did Jones. They worked in tandem as FF and CHF and worked quite hard to create space for the easy goal over the back.

-Tory Dickson showed enough to suggest he may in contention for round 1.

-Cooney moved ok but it is certainly noticeable the change in his running gait.

Any questions will try to answer.

02-02-2012, 12:54 PM
How about the 'possibles' - Sherman, Vespa, Tutt, Wallis, DJ, Moles?

02-02-2012, 01:18 PM
How about the 'possibles' - Sherman, Vespa, Tutt, Wallis, DJ, Moles?

Didn't notice Sherman at all, not convinced he played.

Vespa, DJ and Tutt were all reasonable.

DJ butchered it a bit but also did some really nice things. He contests bloody hard which would have pleased the coach.

Vespa was played more up the ground and some times behind it. Don't know if this was purely a match up thing or they see him as a option behind the ball. He uses it well when he gets it.

Tutt played outside which the way the simulation was played didn't really favour him. He does have a booming kick and a very accurate one at that. One particular play he set up Redpath with a beautiful 55m kick to advantage.

Wallis got plenty but he needs to work on his use of it. His handballing etc out of congestion was fine, he does however tend to throw it on the boot a fair bit to drive it forward without much sucess.

Moles kicked a couple of cheap ones by getting forward and getting the free one by himself. I like to see him push back as hard as he pushes forward. Didnt get a lot of it around the field

02-02-2012, 01:28 PM
Thanks SP, training reports are always much welcome.

Just on the skill level topic you discussed (ie being poor, was there wind?).

Perhaps MJP could answer this but i'm wondering that we train at probably the windiest ground of any of the AFL clubs, yet most of our games are indoor.

My question is: does this have a positive or negative affect on skill level?

MJP i know you spent some time down at Williamstown, do you think having to train in difficult conditions has any impact on a players skill level?

For instance if it was always blowing a gale at training, you would be far more conservative with your kicking, then you play a match at Etihad and would you then be able to make the changes required to suit the conditions?

02-02-2012, 01:33 PM
Wallis got plenty but he needs to work on his use of it. His handballing etc out of congestion was fine, he does however tend to throw it on the boot a fair bit to drive it forward without much sucess.

This worries me.

I can't see him becoming an AFL player if he can't use the ball better and try and take on the game himself. Was hoping it was just first year jitters, didn't want to hear that he's still playing this way.

02-02-2012, 01:59 PM
Thanks SP, training reports are always much welcome.

Just on the skill level topic you discussed (ie being poor, was there wind?).

Perhaps MJP could answer this but i'm wondering that we train at probably the windiest ground of any of the AFL clubs, yet most of our games are indoor.

It was windy but it's more about execution ie shanking a kick. It's quite easy to see a missed target due to wind, my concern was the accidental inverted thorps that landed in the pound.

As i said it was a pretty hot footy and getting a clear posession wasn't easy but there are the certain players who are able to afford themselves time and space which gives them greater opportunity to use it.

Wallis i think needs to focus on his limitations. He knows where to run to get the ball and gets plenty of it. It's the execution under pressure situations which he needs to improve on and i think that was really what yesterdays focus of match practice was. If you had time to kick the ball effectively your opposition were not doing their job in shutting down the space.

02-02-2012, 02:30 PM
Vespa was played more up the ground and some times behind it. Don't know if this was purely a match up thing or they see him as a option behind the ball. He uses it well when he gets it.

Thanks for the report SlimPickins.

Just on this, I spoke to Veszpremi late last year at a function and he said that the coaching staff had planned to use him behind the ball a bit, as a running half back. I suspect he could/would/will swing a bit from forward to back. Hopefully he has a good year -- plenty of talent.

02-02-2012, 02:40 PM
It was windy but it's more about execution ie shanking a kick. It's quite easy to see a missed target due to wind, my concern was the accidental inverted thorps that landed in the pound.

As i said it was a pretty hot footy and getting a clear posession wasn't easy but there are the certain players who are able to afford themselves time and space which gives them greater opportunity to use it.

Wallis i think needs to focus on his limitations. He knows where to run to get the ball and gets plenty of it. It's the execution under pressure situations which he needs to improve on and i think that was really what yesterdays focus of match practice was. If you had time to kick the ball effectively your opposition were not doing their job in shutting down the space.

Thats going to be the entire teams focus for the next couple of years :D

02-02-2012, 03:23 PM
WB Intraclub match to be held on Sat 11th Feb at 9:30am Whitten Oval.

02-02-2012, 03:27 PM
Just on this, I spoke to Veszpremi late last year at a function and he said that the coaching staff had planned to use him behind the ball a bit, as a running half back. I suspect he could/would/will swing a bit from forward to back. Hopefully he has a good year -- plenty of talent.

It's an option that we really have to invest some time into as our lack of depth in smallish defenders is concerning.

Let's hope he can defend.

02-02-2012, 06:06 PM
It's an option that we really have to invest some time into as our lack of depth in smallish defenders is concerning.

Let's hope he can defend.

Where did Picken play? If Mac doesnt want to play a hard tag in the midfield, and Picken cant make it as an all round mid, he might make it as a lock down small defender. Kind of a Morris mini-me.

02-02-2012, 06:39 PM
Where did Picken play? If Mac doesnt want to play a hard tag in the midfield, and Picken cant make it as an all round mid, he might make it as a lock down small defender. Kind of a Morris mini-me.

Picken had to play a majority of last year in defence due to our injuries down back, and it wasn't a very good season from him IMO.

Much better as a lock down mid who pinch hits forward and back.

02-02-2012, 09:50 PM

I was more thinking players who can both defend and be attacking weapons.

Picken defends well enough, but as pointed out is a lock-down type.

02-02-2012, 09:53 PM

He played a lockdown role in the midfield, he had several opponents inc Cooney, Higgins and Boyd.

02-02-2012, 10:02 PM
He played a lockdown role in the midfield, he had several opponents inc Cooney, Higgins and Boyd.

poo.

03-02-2012, 06:42 AM
poo.

Why? He's a tagger and a darn good one. Can't see another
place for him beyond that (let's not go down the defensive forward road again). I say play him to his strength. Still a place in todays game for a hard as nails tagger. He beat some quality players including g ablett last year IMO.

03-02-2012, 09:55 AM
Why? He's a tagger and a darn good one. Can't see another
place for him beyond that (let's not go down the defensive forward road again). I say play him to his strength. Still a place in todays game for a hard as nails tagger. He beat some quality players including g ablett last year IMO.

Just because I want him to play as a defensive-minded mid that still works our way when the ball is in dispute or we have it, rather than a hard tag. I dont really believe in the hard tag role.

07-02-2012, 04:20 PM
Haven't seen this anywhere else on here, but according to the club's facebook there's a practice match on at Whitten Oval 9:30am Saturday.

07-02-2012, 04:58 PM
Haven't seen this anywhere else on here, but according to the club's facebook there's a practice match on at Whitten Oval 9:30am Saturday.

Yeah intra club.

Always good to see them all go at it against each other, occasionally you may even see a little dust up, hasn't been one for a few years though.

Sometimes it's the probably vs the possibles, but it usually just gets mixed up as the game goes on.

Always a highlight for me seeing the kids having a crack against the season players and seeing who impresses.

Also watching a game at Whitten oval is a bonus and you come home a winner either way.

23-03-2012, 01:41 PM
Went along to training this morning. A very physical session with a lot of match simulation drills. Some key points...

- A number of players missing including C.Smith, Sherman as well as the majority who are playing with Williamstown tomorrow.

- Both Tutt and Gilbee trained and look unhampered by their previous injuries.

- Williams was running laps with his arm in a sling, which was surprising but good to see.

- Probably most exciting was that Dale Morris trained with the main group, doing the majority of the session and seeming to move pretty well. Was wearin a protective leg brace which hampered his kicking a little.

- With the match simulation, they isolated Jones up forward and used short kicks to work their way up the field before kicking it into space for Jones to mark the ball.

- Cooney and Lake both trained strongly.

- It was incredibly windy so skill level was difficult to gage as the ball was moving a mile in the air.

- As I said it was very physical with BMac every now and then getting the players to stop what they were doing and try and wrestle the nearest bloke to the ground before setting off again.

- The session was closed to the public, so BMac actually came over and asked us to move inside himself which was fine as it was bloody awful standing outside anyway and much more comfortable in the pound.

23-03-2012, 01:51 PM
It should be noted Slim that Montgomery actually told people to move on first which was met with little appreciation, then BMac followed up with a similar request presented in a much more people orientated fashion.

The new coach certainly seems to have a way with all types of people.

23-03-2012, 02:28 PM
It should be noted Slim that Montgomery actually told people to move on first which was met with little appreciation, then BMac followed up with a similar request presented in a much more people orientated fashion.

The new coach certainly seems to have a way with all types of people.

I really like the way he speaks and presents himself, very impressive.

23-03-2012, 02:46 PM
I really like the way he speaks and presents himself, very impressive.

When I spoke with him at a function late last year, he was terrific. He's so level headed, respectful and takes a genuine interest in what you are saying. More of a "friend's dad", than a football coach, so to speak. He asked me a couple of questions which most people in his position wouldn't even think of asking, let alone care.

Hopefully we stick by him, I think we may have a year or two of some difficult times, but he's an intelligent man. It's not easy to find communicators who can have such a positive effect with people, either.

23-03-2012, 04:09 PM
Thanks for the update sounds like we are going well. This weekend all the guys have some time off to rest before the season starts and so far we are looking better then I thought.

I think we are all loving Bmac. Top bloke by the sounds of things and every interview is just refreshing.

24-03-2012, 10:28 AM
Went along to training this morning. A very physical session with a lot of match simulation drills. Some key points...

- A number of players missing including C.Smith, Sherman as well as the majority who are playing with Williamstown tomorrow.

- Williams was running laps with his arm in a sling, which was surprising but good to see.

- Probably most exciting was that Dale Morris trained with the main group, doing the majority of the session and seeming to move pretty well. Was wearin a protective leg brace which hampered his kicking a little.

- With the match simulation, they isolated Jones up forward and used short kicks to work their way up the field before kicking it into space for Jones to mark the ball.

- It was incredibly windy so skill level was difficult to gage as the ball was moving a mile in the air.

- As I said it was very physical with BMac every now and then getting the players to stop what they were doing and try and wrestle the nearest bloke to the ground before setting off again.

- The session was closed to the public, so BMac actually came over and asked us to move inside himself which was fine as it was bloody awful standing outside anyway and much more comfortable in the pound.

Warmed the heart hearing Cooney training with the main group and strongly!! Appreciate the report slim. The 2nd half highlights from him at the stoppages and breaking away worked better for my sore eyes than eye drops

24-03-2012, 03:18 PM

top post, ta for info and for sharing story of being asked to use cone of silence by the coach.