View Full Version : Nab Cup round 3 Doggies vs North

07-03-2012, 05:14 PM
Hey guys just want to see what everybody's predictions are on this game and who they would like to see get a go, and who should have a rest?

I would like to see Cordy have a go down back and wouldnt mind seeing a few of the regulars only play half a game leading up to the start of the season.

Doggies by 16 points
BOG Griffen
First goal Minno

07-03-2012, 06:20 PM
Will this game still have 7 changes allowed at half time? If so, I would like to see Tutt, Talia, Hill and some of these players get a game, ie anyone that didn't play last week but is injury free. After all it is the Sham Cup;)

07-03-2012, 06:27 PM
Will this game still have 7 changes allowed at half time? If so, I would like to see Tutt, Talia, Hill and some of these players get a game, ie anyone that didn't play last week but is injury free. After all it is the Sham Cup;)

I think Tutt is injured. However I'd like to see Panos get a game and for Cordy to be tried in the back half.

07-03-2012, 06:34 PM
I think Tutt is injured. However I'd like to see Panos get a game and for Cordy to be tried in the back half.

Yep, confirmed on the WB website he did his hamstring in the Williamstown practice match on Friday. Likely to be out for 3 weeks.

07-03-2012, 07:19 PM
If rookies are eligible will be interesting to see if they give Austin a run considering Williams is out for the 16 weeks.

Lake I assume will only play half a game again.

07-03-2012, 07:28 PM
Austin to miss another 3 weeks so you won't see him in Ballarat. Also would be a pointless exercise for those calling for him to be upgraded off the rookie list to replace Tommy.

07-03-2012, 09:29 PM
Austin to miss another 3 weeks so you won't see him in Ballarat. Also would be a pointless exercise for those calling for him to be upgraded off the rookie list to replace Tommy.

Was unaware he was injured, what is wrong with him?

07-03-2012, 09:34 PM
Was unaware he was injured, what is wrong with him?

I think he did his shoulder about 6 weeks back.

07-03-2012, 09:51 PM
I'd like to see Tom Hill and Talia get an opportunity down back.

Panos to take FF.

Skinner back in the forward half, too.

07-03-2012, 11:26 PM
Im making the journey down, looking forward to it.

Hope to see Talia and Panos myself.

Any idea on Sherman? He said 'soon' on Twitter but is that in time for Round 1 soon? No match practice?

07-03-2012, 11:34 PM
Dogs by 5 pts
"Teddy Bear " Brayshaw to have another sook.

08-03-2012, 02:11 AM
Any idea on Sherman? He said 'soon' on Twitter but is that in time for Round 1 soon? No match practice?

Very unlikely I would have thought.

He'll need at least 2 hit outs before playing in the season proper.

08-03-2012, 10:25 AM
Very unlikely I would have thought.

He'll need at least 2 hit outs before playing in the season proper.

Not sure what you mean by this comment, The NAB is a glorified practise match so thats where he should be playing.

08-03-2012, 10:36 AM
Not sure what you mean by this comment, The NAB is a glorified practise match so thats where he should be playing.

I think TBB was saying that Sherman will need a couple of games before rd 1 to get some practice.

If Sherman doesn't play any NAB cup games over the next 2 weeks he would be unlikely to play in the rd1 clash against WC.

08-03-2012, 01:26 PM
I think TBB was saying that Sherman will need a couple of games before rd 1 to get some practice.

If Sherman doesn't play any NAB cup games over the next 2 weeks he would be unlikely to play in the rd1 clash against WC.

Ok, yes, misread his comment.

08-03-2012, 01:48 PM
North Melbourne v Western Bulldogs
Sunday, March 11, 3.40pm
Eureka Stadium (North Ballarat)

NORTH MELBOURNE
1. Hamish McIntosh, 3. Ryan Bastinac, 4. Liam Anthony, 7. Jack Ziebell, 8. Daniel Wells, 9. Andrew Swallow, 10. Ben Cunnington, 11. Michael Firrito, 12. Lindsay Thomas, 13. Leigh Adams, 14. Gavin Urquhart, 15. Luke Delaney, 16. Scott Thompson, 18. Shaun Atley, 19. Sam Wright, 22. Todd Goldstein, 23. Kieran Harper, 24. Levi Greenwood, 25. Robbie Tarrant, 27. Aaron Edwards, 29. Brent Harvey, 31. Cameron Delaney, 32. Cruize Garlett, 33. Matt Campbell, 34. Jamie MacMillan, 35. Aaron Black, 39. Cam Pedersen, 41. Aaron Mullett, 43. Sam Gibson

WESTERN BULLDOGS
1. Jarrad Grant, 3. Mitch Wallis, 7. Shaun Higgins, 8. Patrick Veszpremi, 10. Easton Wood, 13. Daniel Giansiracusa, 14. Clay Smith, 16. Ryan Griffen, 18. Fletcher Roberts, 20. Daniel Pearce, 21. Tom Liberatore, 22. Dylan Addison, 23. Jordan Roughead, 26. Zephaniah Skinner, 29. Tory Dickson, 30. Christian Howard, 31. James Mulligan, 32. Michael Talia, 35. Tom Hill, 36. Brian Lake, 37. Lukas Markovic, 40. Luke Dahlhaus, 41. Andrew Hooper, 43. Jack Redpath, 44. Brodie Moles, 45. Tom Campbell, 46. Lin Jong, 48. Matthew Panos, 49. Ayce Cordy

08-03-2012, 01:51 PM
Fairly inexperienced squad.

No Boyd, Cross, Minson, Cooney, Murphy

08-03-2012, 01:52 PM
North Melbourne v Western Bulldogs
Sunday, March 11, 3.40pm
Eureka Stadium (North Ballarat)

WESTERN BULLDOGS
1. Jarrad Grant, 3. Mitch Wallis, 7. Shaun Higgins, 8. Patrick Veszpremi, 10. Easton Wood, 13. Daniel Giansiracusa, 14. Clay Smith, 16. Ryan Griffen, 18. Fletcher Roberts, 20. Daniel Pearce, 21. Tom Liberatore, 22. Dylan Addison, 23. Jordan Roughead, 26. Zephaniah Skinner, 29. Tory Dickson, 30. Christian Howard, 31. James Mulligan:eek:, 32. Michael Talia, 35. Tom Hill, 36. Brian Lake, 37. Lukas Markovic, 40. Luke Dahlhaus, 41. Andrew Hooper, 43. Jack Redpath, 44. Brodie Moles, 45. Tom Campbell, 46. Lin Jong, 48. Matthew Panos, 49. Ayce Cordy

Great to see these boys get a go

08-03-2012, 02:19 PM
Great to see these boys get a go

Agree, looking forward to see how Tom Campbell and Jack Redpath go....

Anyone heading to Ballarat?

08-03-2012, 02:19 PM
Norths team look nearly full strength?

08-03-2012, 02:48 PM
No Liam Jones either. Good thing too. He was getting crunched in both NAB cup games.
His movement or our entries (or both) need to get smarter otherwise he's going to have a short career.

08-03-2012, 02:56 PM
Norths team look nearly full strength?

Quite strong, especially for a team who can't make the NAB Cup GF.

Looking forward to see the youngins run round.

08-03-2012, 03:51 PM
On Sunday I thought both us and Carlton were even in that match. For this match it is good Macca is giving the youngsters a game as now we can't make the final of the NAB Cup.

08-03-2012, 03:53 PM
am very excited about playing the young blokes tom cambell will impress imo and hopefully redpath and pearce get a few touches :) cant wait!

Hope we still beat north though not looking likely with there list and all our new recruits, still hopefull

08-03-2012, 04:18 PM
am very excited about playing the young blokes tom cambell will impress imo and hopefully redpath and pearce get a few touches :) cant wait!

Hope we still beat north though not looking likely with there list and all our new recruits, still hopefull

Thats the way this match will likely go with North being the favourite. But I think if we play well and if North is a bit off then we can win even with an inexperienced line up.

08-03-2012, 04:27 PM
Thats the way this match will likely go with North being the favourite. But I think if we play well and if North is a bit off then we can win even with an inexperienced line up.

Don't care whether we win or lose, but would be great to give some game time to these young blokes and of course injury free.

08-03-2012, 04:30 PM
Don't care whether we win or lose, but would be great to give some game time to these young blokes and of course injury free.

Yeah a win and a loss aren't a big deal in the NAB Cup it is the effort from the players that is important and seeing how the new recruits go and also not getting anymore injuries.

08-03-2012, 04:55 PM
Hopefully they will be competitive.

Last time we played out at Ballarat North were too good.

I went last time and it was fairly packed, not a great ground to watch footy from if you don't get a good spot early. Very flat outer and designed for cars to be parked.

08-03-2012, 05:21 PM
dumb question, but if we win are we a chance to make the gf?

Is talk around Adelaide that the Crows may be offered the final (if they make it), they are 3-0

08-03-2012, 05:30 PM
dumb question, but if we win are we a chance to make the gf?

Is talk around Adelaide that the Crows may be offered the final (if they make it), they are 3-0

I think we are still in with a chance after winning against Carlton last weekend. We are sitting on 2 wins and 1 loss. Adelaide and probably West Coast are the most likely to play off in the GF.

08-03-2012, 05:50 PM
We would have to smash them to get into the GF and have other results go our way, not impossible but not very likely.

08-03-2012, 06:27 PM

My sentiments exactly. Really looking forward to watching the new recruits play. In regards to the rookies, with Tom Williams on the LTI list, it is a great chance for them to impress the match committee in the hope that they might be elevated..

08-03-2012, 07:38 PM
My smokey.. Tom Campbell

08-03-2012, 09:02 PM
Wheres Gilbee at? Is he injured?
Oh calf 3 weeks!

Welll it be great to see young ones play.
Go dogs!

08-03-2012, 10:55 PM
Interesting squad. Great opportunity for a few kids to put their names up for the early part of the season.

09-03-2012, 08:02 AM
My smokey.. Tom Campbell
Campbell was ultra impressive in the Intra-Club a few weeks back, he's the one I'm most looking forward to seeing. McIntosh and Goldstein (and Petrie) are good ruckman, so it should be a good test.

Having said that the game isn't going to be on TV is it? So I will just look forward to hearing about him :p

09-03-2012, 08:15 AM
Campbell was ultra impressive in the Intra-Club a few weeks back, he's the one I'm most looking forward to seeing. McIntosh and Goldstein (and Petrie) are good ruckman, so it should be a good test.

Having said that the game isn't going to be on TV is it? So I will just look forward to hearing about him :p

Live on the footy channel at 3.30.

Studentlib
09-03-2012, 12:43 PM
No Picken either?

09-03-2012, 01:19 PM
Looking at that team we look a little light on in the midfield and small defenders and a little too top heavy with talls. How do you see us lining up for the first bounce?? I would have it as follows..

FB: Daniel Pearce Brian Lake Dylan Addison
HB: Pay Veszprmei Tom Hill Easton Wood
C: Bridie Moles Tom Liberatore Christian Howard
HF: Shaun Higgins Jack Redpath Jarrad Grant
FF: Daniel Giansiracusa Mathew Panos Luke Dahlhaus
Foll: Jordan Roughead Ryan Griffen Clay Smith

How do others see our best line up from that list??

PS sorry about the pre-post there accidentally hit post before it was finsihed!!

09-03-2012, 02:05 PM
A great chance for some young guys to shine.

Would it even be a benefit for us to make the final?

09-03-2012, 04:18 PM
Ahh very good. Set to record, looking forward to it! Thanks Chef!

09-03-2012, 06:10 PM
Ahh very good. Set to record, looking forward to it! Thanks Chef!

No worries mate.

09-03-2012, 06:50 PM
Anyone heading to Ballarat?

I'll be making the drive down.

It's the first time I've seen the dogs play this year so i'm pretty pumped :D. Especially looking forward to seeing Redpath, Campbell and Dickson for the first time (if they all play).

09-03-2012, 09:20 PM
I'll be making the drive down.

It's the first time I've seen the dogs play this year so i'm pretty pumped :D. Especially looking forward to seeing Redpath, Campbell and Dickson for the first time (if they all play).

It'd be great to get your thoughts on the game and young players having seen it live.

09-03-2012, 11:23 PM
Going with my Dad. Hope we can actually see the game and don't have to stand on a box!

09-03-2012, 11:30 PM
Looking forward to this game, but I'll catch the replay on the Monday or something. I'll be at Future all day and night!

11-03-2012, 01:14 PM

Is it just me or not, but I have seen bugger all footy this year and enjoyed watching NAB cup in the lead up to the season proper, As I don't have Paid TV and home with Gastro, I'm feeling no love from the footy GODS!

I don't care if we win or not, i just want a good hit out with no injuries to our players.

11-03-2012, 01:25 PM
Is it just me or not, but I have seen bugger all footy this year and enjoyed watching NAB cup in the lead up to the season proper, As I don't have Paid TV and home with Gastro, I'm feeling no love from the footy GODS!

I don't care if we win or not, i just want a good hit out with no injuries to our players.

On the upside, you don't have to put up with Dwayne Russell's moronic rambling!

11-03-2012, 01:30 PM
On the upside, you don't have to put up with Dwayne Russell's moronic rambling!

If I could see the game I wouldn't mind, I'm busting for a bit of footy, will need to wait for round one.

11-03-2012, 01:48 PM
Looking at that team we look a little light on in the midfield and small defenders and a little too top heavy with talls. How do you see us lining up for the first bounce?? I would have it as follows..

FB: Daniel Pearce Brian Lake Dylan Addison
HB: Pay Veszprmei Tom Hill Easton Wood
C: Bridie Moles Tom Liberatore Christian Howard
HF: Shaun Higgins Jack Redpath Jarrad Grant
FF: Daniel Giansiracusa Mathew Panos Luke Dahlhaus
Foll: Jordan Roughead Ryan Griffen Clay Smith

How do others see our best line up from that list??

Since its a practice match, I would really like a full game on the forward line for Zeph Skinner instead of Guido or the Professor. In fact, rest Griff, Guido, the Professor, Wood, Addison, the Dalhausen & Libba Jnr from your selection (coach should know by now they can all play) and in their places put in more of the rookies and the less than 10 AFL games blokes, like Wallis Jnr & the Ace, e.g., in.

11-03-2012, 04:32 PM
Anyone got the official link to the SEN call of the game?

It should be on the fantastic afl.com site but I can't see it.

11-03-2012, 04:36 PM
Anyone got the official link to the SEN call of the game?

It should be on the fantastic afl.com site but I can't see it.

Would it be on the SEN Website.

11-03-2012, 04:38 PM
Would it be on the SEN Website.

No, you can't listen during games. Must go through afl.com

Edit: It's up now.

11-03-2012, 04:39 PM
Watching it on foxtel there is no sound.

11-03-2012, 04:42 PM
Watching it on foxtel there is no sound.

Great isn't it? A terrific advertisement for the NAB regional games and Fox Footy's new broadcasting...

11-03-2012, 04:44 PM
Great isn't it? A terrific advertisement for the NAB regional games and Fox Footy's new broadcasting...

I guess it's like when you go to the footy except you hear the crowd.

11-03-2012, 04:52 PM
I guess it's like when you go to the footy except you hear the crowd.

I think I'd rather their stupid commentary than none at all..

11-03-2012, 04:54 PM
All good now audio back. North looking strong ATM. We haven't got going yet.

11-03-2012, 05:04 PM
Campbell has taken two nice marks up forward and kicked goals but Smith missed a sitter for 25mtrs out.

11-03-2012, 05:07 PM
Campbell has taken two nice marks up forward and kicked goals but Smith missed a sitter for 25mtrs out.

I think Smith kicks like a right footer trapped in a left footers body.

11-03-2012, 05:08 PM
Tom Campbell may be a Round 1 smoky big boy

11-03-2012, 05:10 PM

His form could start causing some headaches in the selection committee meetings, very positive.

11-03-2012, 05:10 PM
Tom Campbell may be a Round 1 smoky big boy

He has been very good and has a lot of height.

11-03-2012, 05:12 PM
Skinner looks so much sharper after a second preseason, I think he's a chance to make it.

11-03-2012, 05:12 PM
Interesting Pearce is taking the kick ins, obviously he's made an impression already with his skills.

11-03-2012, 05:13 PM
How good is Dalhaus

11-03-2012, 05:16 PM
How good is Dalhaus

Dahlhaus is going to add some value in the midfield this year.

11-03-2012, 05:17 PM
Campbell looking good again at the start of the 2nd quarter. Looks very effective in our forward line.

11-03-2012, 05:18 PM
Impressed with Campbell. Has read it well a couple of times, and doesn't look uncomfortable. Zephi also looks to have improved.

11-03-2012, 05:18 PM
Howard still looks like a boy playing against men, it's a concern.

11-03-2012, 05:20 PM
How do you guys think Higgins has gone missed a chance for a goal before that he probably should have got.

11-03-2012, 05:27 PM
What's going on, how can we miss so many easy goals, we should have had this game iced by now.

11-03-2012, 05:28 PM
Mulligan... Seriously

We'd be better off playing playing Dahlhaus at fullback

11-03-2012, 05:29 PM
Good Goal to Griff, Dollhouse is a beauty

11-03-2012, 05:29 PM
Mulligan... Seriously

We'd be better off playing playing Dahlhaus at fullback

We'd be better off playing AndrewP6 at fullback ;):D

11-03-2012, 05:30 PM
What's going on, how can we miss so many easy goals, we should have had this game iced by now.

We haven't been as focused on drafting skillful players as we should be,

11-03-2012, 05:32 PM
Griffen is tearing them apart, he must only be playing a half at the pace he's setting.

11-03-2012, 05:34 PM
Griffin and Liberatore are a class above

11-03-2012, 05:36 PM

And coaching players skills.

11-03-2012, 05:37 PM
Good luck to Lin Jong.

11-03-2012, 05:38 PM
Griffen is tearing them apart, he must only be playing a half at the pace he's setting.

Griffen is our most important player now, he has gone past Cooney and Lake in that regard IMO, Dollhouse and Libba are also fast approaching

11-03-2012, 05:38 PM
Love the pressure just need to get our forward line functioning

11-03-2012, 05:39 PM

But to be drafted you should be able to kick a goal from 15m out

11-03-2012, 05:43 PM

You would think that would be a requirement for every player but Smith isn't a skillful player by foot.

11-03-2012, 05:44 PM
nerves?

11-03-2012, 05:46 PM
You would think that would be a requirement for every player but Smith isn't a skillful player by foot.

Besides his kicking he is very impressive and playing well. How was that bump in the North goal square. Has had plenty of the ball and is it afraid to go in hard

11-03-2012, 05:46 PM

But he's hard... and that's what is important isn't it?

11-03-2012, 05:47 PM

I've seen key forwards miss from 15 metres out. He is an 18 yo in his first year.

11-03-2012, 05:50 PM
I've seen key forwards miss from 15 metres out. He is an 18 yo in his first year.

Exactly, I think we need to cut the kid some slack.

11-03-2012, 05:52 PM
Who plays the second half? I noticed Talia in the rooms and Lake may play a full game. I guess Panos will get more game time

11-03-2012, 05:52 PM

I think with kids in there 1st year they put a lot of pressure on them to do well. Matthew Boyd and Dane Swan from Collingwood are good examples of players later on becoming very good after not much at the start.

11-03-2012, 05:53 PM
Who plays the second half? I noticed Talia in the rooms and Lake may play a full game. I guess Panos will get more game time

Id say Talia and Panos will feature a lot more in the second half.

11-03-2012, 05:53 PM

Will Redpath play in the second half?

11-03-2012, 05:54 PM

Yes OK lets lower our standards as that has work well for us for years. Happy to cit slack but really 15m out, hate to single him out as we kicked poorly at Goal that quarter and we should just do better.

11-03-2012, 05:55 PM
Yes OK lets lower our standards as that has work well for us for years. Happy to cit slack but really 15m out, hate to single him out as we kicked poorly at Goal that quarter and we should just do better.

Aim that at the senior players that do it, no problem. But not at a kid who has only just begun his career.

11-03-2012, 05:56 PM
Mitch Wallis has been impressive so far

11-03-2012, 05:58 PM
Higgins can't impose himself looks slow to react. Some great signs on the depth of the list. We suddenly seem blessed with big blokes. Campbell looks like he belongs. So big he's a hard match up in front. Tackling and contested footy good. Clay Smith IMO will develop into an elite player. Griff is a class above everyone out there. Given who is out there there has been good cohesion. Very promising and Brian is back.

11-03-2012, 05:58 PM
Aim that at the senior players that do it, no problem. But not at a kid who has only just begun his career.

I agree AndrewP6. At the kids you can't have too much of a go at them for those kind of errors and mistakes as they are still learning. Higgins though missed also from pretty close out in this game and he is one of our experienced players.

11-03-2012, 05:59 PM
How do you guys think Higgins has gone missed a chance for a goal before that he probably should have got.
Having a shocker IMO. Very slow hands, slow movement, short kicks...

11-03-2012, 06:01 PM

OK good point,

Mitch Wallis has been impressive so far

I thought that as well, after a rough start he has been pretty effective in a linking role, taking second or third possie and getting the ball away pretty well.

Having a shocker IMO. Very slow hands, slow movement, short kicks...

Higgins is a player that in my opinion still has not shown his full potential. Griffen is all class.

11-03-2012, 06:02 PM
Second half changes for each side?

11-03-2012, 06:03 PM
Higgins is a player that in my opinion still has not shown his full potential. Griffen is all class.
I'm beginning to think he has. It's just that his potential isn't as high as I'd hoped.

11-03-2012, 06:04 PM

I was wondering the same thing, I think it is a tough year for Higgins and if at the end of the year he is not elite I think we should offer him up for trade (while he still has value)

11-03-2012, 06:05 PM
I'm beginning to think he has. It's just that his potential isn't as high as I'd hoped.

That's the right wording he has reached it but it's not what we had hoped.

11-03-2012, 06:07 PM
I was wondering the same thing, I think it is a tough year for Higgins and if at the end of the year he is not elite I think we should offer him up for trade (while he still has value)

Maybe make or brake for him. What do you think of Hooper.

11-03-2012, 06:11 PM
Maybe make or brake for him. What do you think of Hooper.

Not sure about Hooper, I think he was lucky to get an opportunity when he did, he has made the most of it but is really just a list clogger as the young kids are really starting to improve and but him further down the pack.

11-03-2012, 06:13 PM
Not sure about Hooper, I think he was lucky to get an opportunity when he did, he has made the most of it but is really just a list clogger as the young kids are really starting to improve and but him further down the pack.

If he doesnt come on his place on the list might be in trouble.

11-03-2012, 06:18 PM
North senior players come on and start trying to rough up certain players, ie Gia and Grant.

It's really hard to respect North, they get routinely flogged by good teams, yet are always trying to show how hard they are by roughing players up behind play. I guess they're only following their coaches instructions, he was a plodding sniper carried by a team of star players, but the North team he coaches has virtually no talent to carry the snipers.

11-03-2012, 06:21 PM
Sledge: audio

And burrito (not the mission kind)

11-03-2012, 06:23 PM
Not impressed with fox footy and the audio for today's game.

11-03-2012, 06:27 PM
Our kicking for goal on the run and set shot as bad as it gets. Lots of lost opportunities. North convert a few quick entries and the game is blown wide open. Margin may end up big as the young kids tire.

11-03-2012, 06:28 PM
Give FTA TV it's dues ... Any audio problem like this would have been fixed before the end of the first quarter ... So glad I am paying to watch this quality.

11-03-2012, 06:30 PM
Give FTA TV it's dues ... Any audio problem like this would have been fixed before the end of the first quarter ... So glad I am paying to watch this quality.

This coverage is virtually unwatchable.

11-03-2012, 06:33 PM
SEN and Fox audio off.

Was thinking the same thing. Irrespective of the scores it is not easy to follow.

Yeah for something that you pay for it is not good.

11-03-2012, 06:35 PM

Yeah for something that you pay for it is not good.

It's pathetic.

11-03-2012, 06:37 PM
SEN and Fox audio off.

I've not had a problem at all with SEN radio, picked it up via the AFL match centre.

The only issue is that David King is one eyed.

11-03-2012, 06:39 PM
Hopefully we don't get blown away in this last quarter. The audio is like when you watch in on tv and listen to it on the radio.

11-03-2012, 06:40 PM
Not sure what to make of Clay Smith. Fanatical in his attack at the footy, and his endeavour to chase and tackle but his kicking is woeful, running at sub 50% efficiency.

11-03-2012, 06:44 PM
SEN and Fox audio off.

In WA ... Zero radio coverage !!

The whole reason I got Foxtel in the first place.

11-03-2012, 06:45 PM
how far behind is this audio?

11-03-2012, 06:45 PM
How good has Harvey been since coming on, maybe we should have played Picken and we could have won this one.

11-03-2012, 06:48 PM
how far behind is this audio?

Even though this game is being played regionally it is unacceptable to have the audio the way it is.

Forwards with that that sort of kicking action will miss set shots like that and it doesn't matter what age you are. In a game where midfielders need to be competent by foot you can't have too many that aren't efficient with their foot skills.

How good has Harvey been since coming on, maybe we should have played Picken and we could have won this one.

Not interested in winning this ... For me a win would be zero injuries and a couple of peripheral players putting their hands up. So far I'm pretty happy (except for Foxtel of course)

11-03-2012, 06:50 PM
I've not had a problem at all with SEN radio, picked it up via the AFL match centre.

I think the point people are making is that it won't match the tele.

Campbell kicks another.

In WA ... Zero radio coverage !!

The whole reason I got Foxtel in the first place.

I thought the Foxtel audio was coming from WA, it's about 3 hours behind.

Not interested in winning this ... For me a win would be zero injuries and a couple of peripheral players putting their hands up. So far I'm pretty happy (except for Foxtel of course)

Me too.

11-03-2012, 06:51 PM
Campbell, skinner > panos

11-03-2012, 06:51 PM
Do you think that Skinner has done enough to push Grant out of the side?

11-03-2012, 06:52 PM
I thought the Foxtel audio was coming from WA, it's about 3 hours behind.

Boom Tish ... Try the beef; I'm here 'til Thursday !!

11-03-2012, 06:54 PM
Do you think that Skinner has done enough to push Grant out of the side?

I think the best way to find out is if we see him play more this season then we can go from.

11-03-2012, 07:02 PM

It's one thing to miss due to inexperience, in Smith's case however his poor disposal by foot is obviously down to a very deficient technique.
Both Smith and Talia, have some very good attributes to be sure, but in a game where turning the ball over more often than not tends to lead to the opposition scoring it is concerning that our first two picks in this year's draft are both blokes who are less than adequate disposing by foot.

11-03-2012, 07:06 PM
Good hit out for some of the young players.

Some talls with potential and some upcoming mids. I was generally happy with the effort considering the players out.

11-03-2012, 07:15 PM
Forwards with that that sort of kicking action will miss set shots like that and it doesn't matter what age you are. In a game where midfielders need to be competent by foot you can't have too many that aren't efficient with their foot skills.

I like him. He is a goer. Taking into account it is his first season and he is only 18 years old he is going great guns.I'm prepared to give him a lot of slack.

11-03-2012, 07:18 PM

Listening to the radio I thought the opposite. He was quite critical of North but gave some of our young blokes a wrap at half time, particularly Howard, Cordy, Campbell and Dickson. Was a little critical of Smith who at the time was running at 38% efficiency.

11-03-2012, 07:22 PM
Good hit out for some of the young players.

Some talls with potential and some upcoming mids. I was generally happy with the effort considering the players out.

Yes, overall I thought we looked good, and for the first half we held our own even though North had more experience across each line. Once we subbed off Griff & Higgins and North brought in Harvey, Wells and Swallow we were always going to struggle.

Campbell, Hill, Libba, Pearce, Skinner, and at times Wallis and Smith, showed something.
I thought Grant's endeavour and attitude looked good for the second week in a row, if not his kicking.

11-03-2012, 07:26 PM
I like him. He is a goer. Taking into account it is his first season and he is only 18 years old he is going great guns.I'm prepared to give him a lot of slack.

I really want him to do well and I love his attack at the ball. I just don't see how with such a deficient kicking action he's a 1st round pick. We seem to be building a vast quantity of midfielders who are never going to hurt an opposition by foot in Boyd, Cross, Wallis and now Smith.

11-03-2012, 07:40 PM
I really want him to do well and I love his attack at the ball. I just don't see how with such a deficient kicking action he's a 1st round pick. We seem to be building a vast quantity of midfielders who are never going to hurt an opposition by foot in Boyd, Cross, Wallis and now Smith.

I can see your point but the fact is we did recruit him so we can only hope that his skills can improve. At least we know we have a player who goes in and gets the ball.

Pedro Sanchez
11-03-2012, 07:47 PM
That was the best game I've seen Wallis play.

He seemed to at the foot of each ruck contest, win the ball and dish out to the player running past. First time I've thought, he's actually gonna live up to his rep. Well played.

Big Tom Campbell was great - loved his mitts and length of kicking. Still a bit raw but showed plenty and should get a chance or two this season.

Pearce - can play. Might take a season at Willi but he's a natural utility. Is hard enough in the contest, decent mark and can provide run from the flanks. Liked him.

Libba is class - enough said.

Smith - hard as nails. Really liked the way he, Wallis, Libba and Dollhouse linked up. His kicking is shizen but if he can get it enough and dish it out by hand then that'll do as other players can add the polish by foot.

Cordy and Roughhead both look ready to go. For the first time in a very long time we look like a big side full of massive units.

Panos was tidy too and Zephi should slot into a forward pocket roll nicely.

No idea how Mulligan has stayed on the list so long. How can we let Boumman go and keep him. Anyway we have enough tall timber and muscle down back at the moment that it wont matter.

Overall pleasing performance - definitely think we're harder around the pill and up for the contest. Looking forward to round 1.

11-03-2012, 07:54 PM
Just a short observation I thought Panos look comfortable and effective down back in the last quarter.

11-03-2012, 08:01 PM
I have a question i heard it about golfers, if you put on weight gym wise your swing changes because your arms are different etc, you have to adjust everything to compensate
Smith and a few young ones have been in the gym working on legs could this bad kicking come from not adjusting just yet to bigger legs?
Yes I know he was a bad kick when he came in but would this not help the matter?
I will wait to pass judgement its his first year and so far he fits in so well in reading the play and getting the ball.
Tom Campbell as i said before is a gun, how good does his body look?

11-03-2012, 08:02 PM

I'm questioning his kicking skills not being critical of him as a player. Reminds me of Melbournes Nathan Jones.

11-03-2012, 08:08 PM
How did Hill go?

Pedro Sanchez
11-03-2012, 08:17 PM
How did Hill go?

Didnt get much of a chance... Really only came on in the last quater but was in amongst up forward.

Kicked one goal after a decent second effort to lay a strong tackle. Moved well though, would have been good to see him on earlier. In my opinion he showed more in one quater than Mulligan ever will.

neddie
11-03-2012, 08:19 PM
Howard still looks like a boy playing against men, it's a concern.

Very harsh judgement,are you still of the same opinion at game's end??;

Pedro Sanchez
11-03-2012, 08:24 PM
I think Howard is serviceable - not a world beater - but a handy enough player that should continue to improve.

Pedro Sanchez
11-03-2012, 08:25 PM
As well, I liked the way Jong worked himself into the game. Looks very raw but in the few quarters he played I thought you could see his potential. Hope he progresses quicky but think he'll be at least 12 months away from getting a serious look in.

11-03-2012, 08:29 PM
Didnt get much of a chance... Really only came on in the last quater but was in amongst up forward.

Kicked one goal after a decent second effort to lay a strong tackle. Moved well though, would have been good to see him on earlier. In my opinion he showed more in one quater than Mulligan ever will.

Thanks.

11-03-2012, 08:42 PM
Happy with Campbell. Big unit who looks like he can handle himself. Reminds me of Lynch with that big kick of his. Loving Smith will be a gun and is already impacting the game. Love seeing skinner smack Thomas in the back of the head with his knee and then Thomas head butting the ground. Was funniest thing I see all day.

11-03-2012, 08:45 PM
Very harsh judgement,are you still of the same opinion at game's end??;

Yes, very lacking in the physicality area, and not quick or skillful enough to be a pure outsider. Worrying signs for me.

11-03-2012, 08:51 PM
As well, I liked the way Jong worked himself into the game. Looks very raw but in the few quarters he played I thought you could see his potential. Hope he progresses quicky but think he'll be at least 12 months away from getting a serious look in.

Agree - but i was surprised with Jong. He appears more advanced than i thought he would be. He worked his way into the game well and certainly didnt look out of place. Great leap and athleticism - plenty to work with there.

neddie
11-03-2012, 09:06 PM
Yes, very lacking in the physicality area, and not quick or skillful enough to be a pure outsider. Worrying signs for me.

Check his stats,5th overall,and the skill was not lacking.

11-03-2012, 09:10 PM
Check his stats,5th overall,and the skill was not lacking.

Stats in a NAB cup match where players are on and off all day don't concern me, it's about the bigger picture and I'm worried.

11-03-2012, 09:30 PM
I think Howard is fine. Will just take longer due to his background.

11-03-2012, 09:33 PM
Thanks for the reports all.

How is our ruck combination most likely to look in Rd 1?

11-03-2012, 09:35 PM
I think Howard is fine. Will just take longer due to his background.

Not sure what you mean by his background?

11-03-2012, 09:35 PM
Thanks for the reports all.

How is our ruck combination most likely to look in Rd 1?

If it's picked on form I'd suggest it would be Minson and Campbell, but I think we'll most likely go with Minson and Roughead in round 1.

11-03-2012, 09:46 PM
If it's picked on form I'd suggest it would be Minson and Campbell, but I think we'll most likely go with Minson and Roughead in round 1.

How did you rate Higgins game today. Griffen I thought was very good .

11-03-2012, 09:48 PM
Not sure what you mean by his background?

I think kids that do not come through the TAC Cup comp are behind in their development. I think Jack Watts is another example of this.

If they can work hard and maintain their confidence i reckon they can still be good players but it takes time.

Just my opinion though so happy to be shot down.

11-03-2012, 09:50 PM

I thought Cordy presented more than Roughead and although not much between them I would go with Cordy who may be a better match for Nic Nat paddy whack and maybe better defensively.

But in saying that Roughy may get the nod on more games played. Interesting dilemma.

11-03-2012, 10:02 PM
I thought Cordy presented more than Roughead and although not much between them I would go with Cordy who may be a better match for Nic Nat paddy whack and maybe better defensively.

But in saying that Roughy may get the nod on more games played. Interesting dilemma.

I think Cordy was the better of the two today, and has probably been all preseason, but he seemed to play forward much more than he rucked, which tells me Roughead's in front as the second ruckman in the coaching staff's eyes.

As I said, based on form Campbell should probably play round 1. It's a good situation given the ruck was being talked about as a huge weakness for us this year. Minson and Campbell have both dominated games so far.

11-03-2012, 10:03 PM
A good dilemma to have. I personally prefer Cordy at this point as I think he has more up side. Jordan may be the better tap ruckman though.

11-03-2012, 10:11 PM
I think Cordy was the better of the two today, and has probably been all preseason, but he seemed to play forward much more than he rucked, which tells me Roughead's in front as the second ruckman in the coaching staff's eyes.

As I said, based on form Campbell should probably play round 1. It's a good situation given the ruck was being talked about as a huge weakness for us this year. Minson and Campbell have both dominated games so far.

I think Campbell put he's hand up very well today, with him and Minson resting forward may cause a few headaches for the opposition if they can maintain the form.

Still Tom would need to be elevated for this to happen

11-03-2012, 10:31 PM
I think Campbell put he's hand up very well today, with him and Minson resting forward may cause a few headaches for the opposition if they can maintain the form.

Still Tom would need to be elevated for this to happen

That's true, but it's not an issue given Williams is out for 16 weeks. In fact he could be elevated and then kept on the senior list after round 11 permanently should his form warrant it.

11-03-2012, 10:42 PM
Thoughts on Dickson so far?

11-03-2012, 11:00 PM
Thoughts on Dickson so far?

He has skills and a bit of pace but to me he has a questionable fitness level. Not without a chance of being selected in round one but I'm not sure how he will go.

11-03-2012, 11:03 PM
Based on the first 3 rounds of the NAB Cup give me your thoughts on the following players?

Mulligan and Hooper?

Panos and Cordy?

Howard and Skinner?

Campbell, Smith and Talia?

11-03-2012, 11:12 PM
He has skills and a bit of pace but to me he has a questionable fitness level. Not without a chance of being selected in round one but I'm not sure how he will go.

Thanks.

Would you put him ahead or behind Skinner in terms of likelihood of playing Rd 1?

Or for the sake of discussion, are Skinner, Dickson and Grant competing for the same spot?

11-03-2012, 11:15 PM
Thanks.

Would you put him ahead or behind Skinner in terms of likelihood of playing Rd 1?

Or for the sake of discussion, are Skinner, Dickson and Grant competing for the same spot?

Grant is locked in for a spot in the forward line alongside of Jones. I think Skinner and Dickson might be battling for a spot unless we promote Campbell.

11-03-2012, 11:17 PM
I think kids that do not come through the TAC Cup comp are behind in their development. I think Jack Watts is another example of this.

If they can work hard and maintain their confidence i reckon they can still be good players but it takes time.

David Swallow and Trent McKenzie say hi. Steve Coniglio is readying his reply as I type. He was a first round pick and this is his third year. We need him to be GOOD - NOW.

11-03-2012, 11:20 PM

Not sure. Grant is the only one who looks like he knows what he is doing - even if he doesn't always get it right. Dickson and Skinner just seem too hit and miss to me.

Would be nice if any one of them offered a second string to their bow.

11-03-2012, 11:23 PM
Not sure. Grant is the only one who looks like he knows what he is doing - even if he doesn't always get it right. Dickson and Skinner just seem too hit and miss to me.

To my eyes, Skinner and Dickson seem more enthused about the possibility of playing.

11-03-2012, 11:38 PM

Just got home from the game. Totally disagree with you on this point MJP.
Skinner was right in it today. He was scrounging for the ball on the deck, I saw him run all the way to the backline chasing players ( ran his guts out ) and took some fantastic contested marks. Was so proud of the kid today.

11-03-2012, 11:42 PM
Just got home from the game. Totally disagree with you on this point MJP.
Skinner was right in it today. He was scrounging for the ball on the deck, I saw him run all the way to the backline chasing players ( ran his guts out ) and took some fantastic contested marks. Was so proud of the kid today.

Skinner was pretty good today. Did you like Campbell today. We have to remember that its only NAB Cup. Must have been a long drive home if you just got back now.

11-03-2012, 11:55 PM
Thanks.

Grant is locked in for a spot in the forward line alongside of Jones. I think Skinner and Dickson might be battling for a spot unless we promote Campbell.

To broaden the argument, is it fair to say that Jones, Gia, Dalhaus and it seems the resting ruckman are locks for the forward line?

If Grant is lock for one of two remaining positions (and allowing for midfield rotations) then Skinner, Dickson and Higgins are competing for the last spot?

And is Grant a lock?

11-03-2012, 11:56 PM

He comes from SA not Victoria. I still don't understand why you would say that? He has a football background, its not as if he played soccer, basketball or Rugby in his junior days.

11-03-2012, 11:57 PM
David Swallow and Trent McKenzie say hi. Steve Coniglio is readying his reply as I type. He was a first round pick and this is his third year. We need him to be GOOD - NOW.

Hasn't Cognilio been player senior footy in WA? Swallow was groomed as a number one a couple of years out wasn't he?

Not sure about McKenzie but Howard to me is continually improving.

12-03-2012, 12:04 AM
Hasn't Cognilio been player senior footy in WA? Swallow was groomed as a number one a couple of years out wasn't he?

Not sure about McKenzie but Howard to me is continually improving.

You said that kids that don't come through the TAC Cup are behind in their development. I gave you three who haven't come through the TAC Cup in the last 2 years (would have happily named 33) who seem to be going just fine...

I don't understand your point about Coniglio or Swallow...they didn't play TAC Cup - therefore they should be behind in their development right? McKenzie played one year of TAC (well, part of a year) then went up to Gold Coast early as a 17yo and barely played at all...

It is not the development pathway that matters. Good players come in and impact from all kinds of backgrounds...I will agree that if you aren't coming from the major state systems in Vic, WA or SA then you are fine. Howard was a first round pick and has been a full-time footballer for 2 1/2 years now. He needs to step up big for us this year. His time at Glenelg was a lifetime ago...slower developer or not, we need him playing well now.

12-03-2012, 12:06 AM
Based on the first 3 rounds of the NAB Cup give me your thoughts on the following players?

Mulligan and Hooper? Not up to it at this stage.

Panos and Cordy? Cordy is starting to get some confidence and did very well today, especially in the first half. Panos needs to develop more before he gets a senior game

Howard and Skinner? I thought Howard played better this week than last although he made one stupid error trying to kick across the ground. Had a lot of the ball and a spot on the HBF will suit. I thought Skinner flashed in and out, but when he did get the ball he did something with it.

Campbell, Smith and Talia? Campbell, a couple of good grabs and could be a hand full with his height. Smith was excellent and will get a game first up despite his long kicking not very good. He is so hard at it for a young guy. Talia still developing.

I know you didn't mention him, but Libba has gone up a notch

12-03-2012, 12:10 AM
, Smith

From the SEN radio and IIRC game stats re efficiency, his kicking was unacceptably shithosue.

12-03-2012, 12:15 AM
From the SEN radio and IIRC game stats re efficiency, his kicking was unacceptably shithosue.

Your point?

Had plenty of the ball, he needs to improve his efficiency, and he is 18 years old, I think I will forgive him for his efficiency disposal.

12-03-2012, 12:16 AM
Wallis - best game I've seen him play
Campbell- the highlight from our perspective( reminds me of Hille from essendon)
Smith - great start but needs to improve his efficiency
Dahlhaus - doesn't look like second yr blues
Libba- brilliant in close
Skinner- just reckon he shades Dickson for a spot in the side
Howard- gotta get more of it

Furrito - What an appalling tough guy attempt.
Foxtel- that was just so bloody amateurish it wasn't funny!!
Unluckily it wasn't Dwayne Russell in the box
For Christ sake Shaun Higgins stop being "Potentially great" and become a good footballer.
Don't reckon we'll be world beaters this year, but liking our intensity and effort.
We need to draft class this year

12-03-2012, 12:19 AM
Your point?

Had plenty of the ball, he needs to improve his efficiency, and he is 18 years old, I think I will forgive him for his efficiency disposal.

FWIW the SEN guys thought the more possessions he got, the more he hurt us due to his shithouse disposal and turnovers. Not flash for a #1 draft pick and possibly difficult to fix.

12-03-2012, 12:22 AM
Mulligan and Hooper? Not up to it at this stage.

Panos and Cordy? Cordy is starting to get some confidence and did very well today, especially in the first half. Panos needs to develop more before he gets a senior game

Howard and Skinner? I thought Howard played better this week than last although he made one stupid error trying to kick across the ground. Had a lot of the ball and a spot on the HBF will suit. I thought Skinner flashed in and out, but when he did get the ball he did something with it.

Campbell, Smith and Talia? Campbell, a couple of good grabs and could be a hand full with his height. Smith was excellent and will get a game first up despite his long kicking not very good. He is so hard at it for a young guy. Talia still developing.

I know you didn't mention him, but Libba has gone up a notch

There was one incident where Mulligan had plenty of time to make a correct disposal decision and he looked Like a deer caught in the headlights and kicked blindly to a Norf player!
Hooper and Mulligan are not up to it!

12-03-2012, 12:24 AM
FWIW the SEN guys thought the more possessions he got, the more he hurt us due to his shithouse disposal and turnovers. Not flash for a #1 draft pick and possibly difficult to fix.

For an 18 year old to rack up so many possessions (22) when he has come out of the TAC, I think is pretty good. The SEN guys I have no time for.

12-03-2012, 12:26 AM
There was one incident where Mulligan had plenty of time to make a correct disposal decision and he looked Like a deer caught in the headlights and kicked blindly to a Norf player!
Hooper and Mulligan are not up to it!

Mulligan cost the team two goals, one was the incident you mentioned and not long before that he handballs to Lakes feet near the goals and North pick it up and slam it through. He needs to stay at Willi and not get a senior game unless he can improve dramatically.

12-03-2012, 12:31 AM
For an 18 year old to rack up so many possessions (22) when he has come out of the TAC, I think is pretty good. The SEN guys I have no time for.

So the SEN guys were wrong and his disposal was good?

Maybe they were wrong but if not, they made sense that we'd be better off if he got far fewer disposals because most of them ended up with a North player.

12-03-2012, 12:32 AM

Mulligan and Hooper?

Panos and Cordy?

Howard and Skinner?

Mulligan and Hooper?

Not up to it, both list cloggers

Panos and Cordy?

Cordy has improved a lot this preseason and is showing some really positive signs. Panos has had very limited opportunities so far, but has done some things that make you think he could make it. His fitness looks to have gone up another level.

Howard and Skinner?

As I mentioned earlier, Howard looks to be developing very slowly, and I wonder what sort of role he'll be able to play long term. Skinner has improved significantly this preseason, consistency will still be an issue but he looks well worth persevering with.

Campbell looks a great pick up for a rookie, he's shown real talent, and is a big guy. At 20 he could become a very good AFL ruckman. Smith is a bit of a rough diamond, he needs some polish but he looks a long term player. If I was a betting man I'd have a few dollars on him for the rising star award. Talia hasn't really had a chance so far, but he did one or two nice things today.

12-03-2012, 12:39 AM

Maybe they were wrong but if not, they made sense that we'd be better off if he got far fewer disposals because most of them ended up with a North player.

His disposal was poor today but it should be noted it was also very windy. As BAD pointed out, for an 18 year old his ability to get to the right spots, win the footy, and apply physical pressure are sensational. He was also very very good against carlton last week and his dsposal was fine.

I'll put it out there now, he'll be a crowd favourite in the next year or two.

12-03-2012, 12:44 AM
So the SEN guys were wrong and his disposal was good? .

Dr I never said that. All I am saying is its an NAB ShamCup game, the kid is 18 and he got a lot of the ball. He shows tremendous potential for such a young kid.

He is our best number one pick for a long time.

I don't know why you are taking pleasure in potting him because of his disposal.

12-03-2012, 01:08 AM

Howard was a first round pick that had a major operation on his hip in his first pre-season, which seriously stifled his development because he wasn't able to get a good run at senior football at Willy for three months.

He was a speculative round one pick, that came through school and inferior under age systems compared to those of his Victorian counterparts.

We don't need him to be GOOD - NOW. We need him to show that he can progress at senior level over the next ten to fifteen weeks and lock in a starting 22 spot for the remainder of the season after that.

I really struggle with some of the expectation on players within our supporter group. Have a crack at our drafting, if you think we haven't gotten enough out of a first rounder for this point for sure. But at least be realistic about a player's development expectation and where he should be until he's had the time to fulfill it.

12-03-2012, 01:13 AM
To my eyes, Skinner and Dickson seem more enthused about the possibility of playing.

Looking like you want to play, versus putting results forward are two different things. Grant is going to be an issue for a lot of supporters due to his perceived laconic approach to the game, but I really struggle to see vast differences between his attitude (from what he presents) and his body language since his breakout year of 2010 and now. As far as I can tell, the only difference between the two is the current supply of clean ball and our ability to play over the top of our opposition.

12-03-2012, 01:21 AM
Your point?

I've seen it across a lot of different levels of the game, players can improve their kicks as they mature, but a guy like Smith isn't going to become an elite kick. But he doesn't need to.

People questioning his selection on the basis that we already have Boyd, Cross and Liberatore running around for us are very short sighted. In two year's time Cross is going to be finished, and Boyd will likely be in his last year of football. That will leave us with Libba, Wallis and Smith as our grunt players, with Griffen and Cooney (if fit and able) as our outsiders. If we pick up a couple of clean using midfielders in the next draft then we shouldn'g have a lot to worry about.

We didn't choose Smith to have an impact now. If he can play well and put some selection pressure on the team as it currently stands then great. Failing that, he'll be very handy in a couple of year's time as he develops.

12-03-2012, 02:14 AM

Yes he needs to improve, no doubt.
Can it be fixed? Just continual work ( he looks like the type who'd work extremely hard)
Jobe Watson for example was a shocking kick and he now looks adequate.
Scott West was another, Stewart Loewe also became a reasonable kick after looking atrocious early.

12-03-2012, 02:17 AM
The foxtel coverage was appalling. Not only did it have delays and no audio from time to time. When it did work we had to listen to Dermie rant on about inane shit that had nothing to do with the game like how he thought Tom was a big persons name.

12-03-2012, 02:18 AM
I've seen it across a lot of different levels of the game, players can improve their kicks as they mature, but a guy like Smith isn't going to become an elite kick. But he doesn't need to.

People questioning his selection on the basis that we already have Boyd, Cross and Liberatore running around for us are very short sighted. In two year's time Cross is going to be finished, and Boyd will likely be in his last year of football. That will leave us with Libba, Wallis and Smith as our grunt players, with Griffen and Cooney (if fit and able) as our outsiders. If we pick up a couple of clean using midfielders in the next draft then we shouldn'g have a lot to worry about.

We didn't choose Smith to have an impact now. If he can play well and put some selection pressure on the team as it currently stands then great. Failing that, he'll be very handy in a couple of year's time as he develops.

Great post. We had pick 17 also don't forget
Probably going to get earlier picks this year and no doubt they'll be looking at some silky quick types.

12-03-2012, 02:44 AM
Smith was very good. His disposal was poor, but most players' skill level was average and I'd put that largely down to the windy conditions. Smith's disposal last week was good. Whilst it's something he will have to work hard on, all the other areas of his game are phenomenal. He attacks every contest with pace and an unrivaled hardness. Thus, he either wins the ball or puts an opposition player out of the contest every time. It's a win/win situation. He's going to be a very handy player, particularly in 2 years time.

Campbell should be elevated. He can play ruck and he can play forward. Very impressed with him every time I've seen him play. He competes so well on the ground and in the air. He's 'awkwardly' mobile. Good hands below his knees, and uses the ball quickly and efficiently. I think he's our #2 ruck and I hope we throw it to him for round one.

Cordy looks good. Still struggles in the ruck a little but that's to be expected. He holds his ground well in marking situations and he again displayed his agility below his knees. He looks so much more comfortable and knowledgable out there. I can see him playing 10-15 games and that would be a great and surprising effort.

Roughy is still developing well. He's ahead of Cordy as a ruckman because he's stronger. Just needs to keep improving around the ground and moreso up forward. I think he's looking good, even if Cordy/Campbell have had a better pre-season.

Howard is a worry for mine too. I think physically he's fine -- he puts his body in, and he can win a contest. His decision making and disposal I am less convinced about. Both are ordinary IMO. I still don't think he can play as a defender either. I'd rather see him on a wing.

Wallis was better, and was able to win the ball in close and then distribute the ball effectively most of the time. Still think his disposal is really bad, especially by foot where he just bangs it on there off balanced half the time. But he played a lot better today.

Why is Grant copping so much criticism? I thought he was good. He missed 3 or 4 shots he had, but again, the conditions made it a little difficult. I'm more worried about his application and I thought it was very good today. Surprised he hasn't been complemented as I thought he did well.

Skinner is pretty exciting. He's improved a hell of a lot along with Cordy. I'd like to see him play round one. He's moving really well out there, is good defensively, is clean and is using the ball better. Taking some nice marks too.

Dahl and Libba are absolute guns in every sense of the word.

12-03-2012, 02:48 AM
Don't know y people are putting smith down if you think an 18 year old that is that hard at the ball and does most things right other then average disposal then you need to really re evaluate your priorities. It's not like he can't kick :s he's under pressure and his second game at senior level give the kid 12 months atleast. Smith is going to be an absolute star for this club and knowing we have libba (already a dead set gun) and wallis (improving and will get there) then our future in the coming seasons is looking very positive.

12-03-2012, 02:57 AM
I don't know why you are taking pleasure in potting him because of his disposal.

Taking pleasure? WTF?

I'm just going off match reports. The SEN guys could be full of shit as far as I know, but they thought his disposal by foot was awful, backed up IIRC efficiency stats.

12-03-2012, 03:00 AM
Campbell should be elevated. He can play ruck and he can play forward. Very impressed with him every time I've seen him play. He competes so well on the ground and in the air. He's 'awkwardly' mobile. Good hands below his knees, and uses the ball quickly and efficiently. I think he's our #2 ruck and I hope we throw it to him for round one.

Cordy looks good. Still struggles in the ruck a little but that's to be expected. He holds his ground well in marking situations and he again displayed his agility below his knees. He looks so much more comfortable and knowledgable out there. I can see him playing 10-15 games and that would be a great and surprising effort.

Roughy is still developing well. He's ahead of Cordy as a ruckman because he's stronger. Just needs to keep improving around the ground and moreso up forward. I think he's looking good, even if Cordy/Campbell have had a better pre-season.

So putting aside who's a rookie for the moment, which of Cordy, Minson, Roughead and Campbell would you play Rd 1?

12-03-2012, 03:02 AM
So putting aside who's a rookie for the moment, which of Cordy, Minson, Roughead and Campbell would you play Rd 1?

I would have minson and cambell hands down! Cambell really impressed me and along with minson could be worth a few goals per game :)

12-03-2012, 03:06 AM
Y didn't redpath play? I thought he was in the mix for this game..

12-03-2012, 03:20 AM

Minson and Campbell.

Cordy has been playing more as a forward and whilst the signs are quite good, he's still behind the others at this stage. Not by much.

Campbell edges Roughy in a few areas (eg. repeated and defensive efforts) and is a better forward.

It's good competition for that second string role.

Cox and Nat are powerful guys though. I think they're too mobile for Roughy and too strong for Cordy.

12-03-2012, 03:40 AM

I'd play Cordy as second ruck to Minson, on the basis that he is a listed player and has put in a hard pre-season with good results. It's time to get senior experience into him.

He's put weight on, he's shown he can play skillfully (I only saw a quick snippet of the game today, but there was a spot at the end of the second quarter where he took the ball in one hand at eye level and dished it off to a running Higgins that was as quick as I've seen any of our mids do it this season), and it's now time to put him out there and give him a crack at it.

Now that he appears to have the body for the game, I think we need to throw him in there. I'm confident he'll be in our top handful of players over the next year or two.

12-03-2012, 04:43 AM

Didn't hear Kingtoday, but gotta say Norf fans get into him about giving them a torrid time.
Mind you doesn't take a lot to upset their perennial moaning fans.

12-03-2012, 06:12 AM
I'm just going off match reports. The SEN guys could be full of shit as far as I know, but they thought his disposal by foot was awful, backed up IIRC efficiency stats.

He might not have been great yesterday with his kicking but that isn't a problem we should be worried about. I didn't think he bad yesterday at all but he still has a lot of development and improvement in him.

12-03-2012, 07:33 AM
If Campbell gets the nod, could Cordy take Williams spot?

12-03-2012, 07:49 AM
Howard was a first round pick that had a major operation on his hip in his first pre-season, which seriously stifled his development because he wasn't able to get a good run at senior football at Willy for three months.

He was a speculative round one pick, that came through school and inferior under age systems compared to those of his Victorian counterparts.

We don't need him to be GOOD - NOW. We need him to show that he can progress at senior level over the next ten to fifteen weeks and lock in a starting 22 spot for the remainder of the season after that.

I think the point was that he was a speculative pick with a pick that shouldn't have been speculative and that doesn't seem to be paying off. The recruiting team seems to have outsmarted themselves by overlooking guys who are already strong contributors to their teams and were rated more highly at the time (Menzel, Batsinac, Fyfe, Stevens). I'm not writing Howard off but he certainly seems to have been the reach pick he seemed at the time.

12-03-2012, 09:33 AM
I sat right next to the interchange yesterday and put my eagle eye over all our players on field.
Some notes

Goods!
Dahlhaus is just.......a godsend. Maybe the most valuable young player we have. .
Brian is looking great
Skinner was very pleasing when he didn't have the ball and showed what he can do in the air.
Ayce Cordy can actually play pretty well.
Griff is just a class above most players. Elite is a word reserved for him.
Roughy was awesome all day I thought and flew the flag for the club well against the North backline we know and loath so much.

Worries
Watched Tory Dickson in the warm up. Took three set shots and missed them all!! forshadowed things to come in the game.
Bulldogs fans! WTHell was with the fans? what a quiet crowd. The north fans had much more voice. Very disappointing. anyone else agree? disagree?
Accuracy in general. One of the crowd joked the auskick kids were more accurate than the bulldogs.
Our midfield lacks enough confidence in each other to run it up the guts.
Jin Long is a good athlete and should be ok in a long while. Obviously has a lot to learn

Play of the Day
Dylan Addison fell flat on his back right in front of me from about five feet in the air.
Brian took off with it then back tracked and passed it back to him - Dylan kept going, even though he looked like he was going to vomit. If I did that I don't think I would get up for a week!

Not worried about Howard. People are stressing out as they have him as a smokie in their Supercoach. North applied great pressure on the kicker yesterday. He's not a big player, but strong. Will do better in a team that can protect the kicker a bit more.

12-03-2012, 09:40 AM
If Campbell gets the nod, could Cordy take Williams spot?

I don't think so. Cordy needs to make it as a forward and as a back-up ruckman and I'd be very surprised if he can as a defender.

12-03-2012, 10:02 AM
To me the standouts yesterday were Griffen, Liberatore and Dahlhaus. Both of the younger guys work so hard and always seem to do something creative. Libba with his quick hands and Dahlhaus with his run and carry. Griffen was a class above but then he should be.

Skinner played his best game but I'd like to see him back it up again with another good result next week. I thought Roughead looked OK and Wallis had a good game as well. I didn't mind Howards efforts and there is something for the coaches to work with.
Grant was OK except for missing some gettable goals. There was a bit of wind but players need to adapt and he didn't.
Cordy has improved and might be able to be used in the senior side. It's been a long term investment in him so hopefully this is the season he starts to deliver.
Lake is getting back to some of the form we should expect from him.

For the first season players
Campbell is an imposing guy and is a reasonably strong mark. I'm not sure he is fit enough to be a genuine #1 ruckman at the moment but he still young and will get better.

Dickson did a bit up forward and we really need to see him with a better fitness base to gauge what he might be able to do for us this season.

Smith is as strong as a bull but he isn't a good kick and he even needs to improve his hand ball skills. He gave away a few free kicks and that's something that the coaches can work on. He knows how to get the ball which is a positive.
Talia was quiet. Pearce did a bit this year is very much a learning one for him. Jong is project player.

Mulligan and Hooper didn't show anything yesterday that would suggest they can offer a lot for us unless we have a bad injury run. Panos needs to improve further to earn a spot in the senior side.

I didn't mind the result and I was more or less looking for some positives from the younger guys and I wasn't disappointed.

12-03-2012, 10:10 AM

Seemed to me in the first 5 minutes when Campbell was in the ruck he got blown up pretty quickly against Goldstein who has a lot to do with their early run.
He was much better forward, but i'd rather not see what NicNat does to him

12-03-2012, 10:31 AM
Seemed to me in the first 5 minutes when Campbell was in the ruck he got blown up pretty quickly against Goldstein who has a lot to do with their early run.
He was much better forward, but i'd rather not see what NicNat does to him

I suppose if he was capable of doing two five minutes bursts in the ruck per quarter while still contributing up forward he would be invaluable for us but at the moment his fitness level doesn't appear to be good enough.

He would have trouble running with any of the mobile guys but he's an exciting prospect. We have added a few ruckman via the rookie list but he is the first one I think can make a good transition.

12-03-2012, 12:12 PM
I see Brad Scott was not happy with the contested possessions with the young pups winning 133 to 101. Smith, Libba, Dalhaus, Wallis dominating in this area, all without Boyd, Cross, Cooney.

12-03-2012, 12:28 PM
I see Brad Scott was not happy with the contested possessions with the young pups winning 133 to 101. Smith, Libba, Dalhaus, Wallis dominating in this area, all without Boyd, Cross, Cooney.

Thats great, also points to us having poor disposal as we lost the game still.
But it will come!:D

12-03-2012, 12:48 PM
Thats great, also points to us having poor disposal as we lost the game still.
But it will come!:D

Will it?

While we might see some improvement it's not often that players with below average skills at the start of their careers have above average skills at the end.... And that's where we have to get to.

12-03-2012, 01:06 PM
thanks for the reports, got a good fix. I listened on SEN (I like SEN, they've got non-stop AFL talk basically every week night - I'll go further, I think the ABC should get out of AFL and senior cricket, it's ridiculous that the government has so much direct economic interference in a mature, cashed up market, there's no need except for regional coverage perhaps).

I was happy the coach used the game to look at the young blokes. He should have gone further and not played Griff, Addison, the Dalhausen & Libba Jnr at all - instead should have given Lin Jong, Pearce, Hooper, etc full games.

From a couple of posts, it seems the expectation next week is for a full blown trial run for the A Team. I would actually like it to be another blooding session for the inexperienced players.

12-03-2012, 01:29 PM
Surely Campbell can't have pushed ahead of Cordy and Roughead after 1 practice match?

12-03-2012, 02:00 PM
Surely Campbell can't have pushed ahead of Cordy and Roughead after 1 practice match?

I wouldn't have thought so,

12-03-2012, 02:00 PM
thanks for the reports, got a good fix. I listened on SEN (I like SEN, they've got non-stop AFL talk basically every week night - I'll go further, I think the ABC should get out of AFL and senior cricket, it's ridiculous that the government has so much direct economic interference in a mature, cashed up market, there's no need except for regional coverage perhaps).

I was happy the coach used the game to look at the young blokes. He should have gone further and not played Griff, Addison, the Dalhausen & Libba Jnr at all - instead should have given Lin Jong, Pearce, Hooper, etc full games.

From a couple of posts, it seems the expectation next week is for a full blown trial run for the A Team. I would actually like it to be another blooding session for the inexperienced players.

No need for them to continue in a market that they have a long tradition in and arguably do better than anyone else (plus are ratings winners in certain time slots)? They, as you mention, are the only service to most regional markets and you don't have to have your ears assaulted with a "Retravision goal of the day" or a "Coke Zero excellent unpaid head high tackle" or some such rubbish, nor continual ads. Plus they employ Gerard Whately (swoon).
The government funds the ABC, how they use these funds is the ABC's business (EDIT - within their charter) but I don't get why they should stop broadcasting programs that are among their most listened to and service a good size band of the population, which surely is the point of being on radio in the first place.

12-03-2012, 02:01 PM
Really liked cordys game yesterday. Was creative with his hands at times in contested situations. Pretty good at ground level for a ruckman. Think he'll become a quality player with a little more strength.

Biggest mystery to me at the moment is our last forward spot. Who does it go to? All the candidates have been playing decently up forward. Bar maybe Panos.

12-03-2012, 02:06 PM

I've liked Cordy's pre-season and his obvious progression. I'd have him ahead of Roughhead right now based on better mobility as a forward which will be a large part of the 2nd ruck's role. I don't expect him to play 22 games and Roughy will get chances but think Cordy gives us better balance. I don't think Cordy is mobile enough for a key back role btw.
Campbell looked very promising but I think would benefit from some full games at VFL level. He certainly seems to have the tools to play ruck and deep forward but obviously needs to improve his stamina too. He's probably a better kick at goal than Jones and Grant already.

Our depth of tall's is looking good all of a sudden, let's hope some quality shines through also.

12-03-2012, 02:10 PM

Libba and Dahlhaus are both only 19, with just 27 career games between them. Surely you're not counting them as senior players? (even though at times they play like it)

12-03-2012, 02:15 PM
Smith was very good. His disposal was poor, but most players' skill level was average and I'd put that largely down to the windy conditions. Smith's disposal last week was good. Whilst it's something he will have to work hard on, all the other areas of his game are phenomenal.

I was watching the game and saw the passage when Smith was smothered, turned it over, and resulted in a goal. It was pretty poor. However, I watched his kicking throughout the game and although it Looks ugly, he gets the job done most of the time. I think he'll be ok. Awkward ball drop but he did kick it well enough. Happy to have him.

12-03-2012, 02:22 PM
No need for them to continue in a market that they have a long tradition in and arguably do better than anyone else (plus are ratings winners in certain time slots)? They, as you mention, are the only service to most regional markets and you don't have to have your ears assaulted with a "Retravision goal of the day" or a "Coke Zero excellent unpaid head high tackle" or some such rubbish, nor continual ads. Plus they employ Gerard Whately (swoon).
The government funds the ABC, how they use these funds is the ABC's business but I don't get why they should stop broadcasting programs that are among their most listened to and service a good size band of the population, which surely is the point of being on radio in the first place.

Perfectly summed up, except Whately should get a double swoon.

12-03-2012, 02:24 PM

Mulligan and Hooper?

Panos and Cordy?

Howard and Skinner?

Mulligan and Hooper - Not up to it I'm afraid.

Panos and Cordy - Something to work with. I think Cordy should get a few games this year. Not so sure about Panos just yet.

Howard and Skinner - Forgetting what pick Howard was taken at I'd say he should become a handy player over time. Skinner has definitely improved since last year and should be kept on the list. Possibly a chance to play a few games this year.

Campbell, Smith and Talia - Tom Campbell has been impressive. A good chance of being on the main list come years end. Smith looks like a good player in the making. Either gets the ball or nullifies an opponent when going in for the ball. Needs to improve his disposal. Talia in the short time I saw him play seems like a pretty gifted athlete. He's very good defensively but has a shocking kicking action. Will need to improve that area of his game to make it. Probably a risk free kicker (short sideways) as he progresses.

12-03-2012, 02:26 PM
That comment was brought to you by Frank Walkers national tiles

Thank Christ the ABC do the sport .
We don't have to put up with the painfully long winded adverts.
Plus their experts are better than the self absorbed egos on commercial radio.

12-03-2012, 02:36 PM
The government funds the ABC, how they use these funds is the ABC's business (EDIT - within their charter) but I don't get why they should stop broadcasting programs that are among their most listened to and service a good size band of the population, which surely is the point of being on radio in the first place.

Totally agree, they do Footy and Cricket better than any commercial stations.

12-03-2012, 02:58 PM

Our two competitors in rd 1 & 2 will be playing in a high intensity game this week (NAB Cup final). With this week being the last chance before these games to get some meaniningful match practice we must use it to get our best 22 primed and ready to go before these games so we are ready to go.

While it was nice to look into the future yesterday next week has to be as you put it, a full blown trial.

12-03-2012, 03:03 PM
While it was nice to look into the future yesterday next week has to be as you put it, a full blown trial.

That is exactly what the coach has said:
The Bulldogs' nine big omissions this week will return next week against McCartney's old club Geelong at Simmonds Stadium.

"(That) will give us a pretty good guide where we're tracking," he said.

"I think we've done enough to give ourselves a good starting position for the season."

12-03-2012, 03:05 PM
Jin Long is a good athlete

Duke Lahlhaus and Gyan Rriffen say hi :D

12-03-2012, 03:25 PM

Mulligan and Hooper?

Panos and Cordy?

Howard and Skinner?

Campbell looks like he will give us something. He doesn't seem to have the fitness level to stay in the ruck for long periods just yet though. Spenty plenty of time with his hands on his hips blowing yesterday and his exhaustion cost him in a couple of contests where he was clearly to fatigued to compete. Love the signs from him though. Any time you get young talls taking contested marks like that it is promising.

I think we made the right choice with Smith. He is not great by foot but I dont think his kicking is as bad as some make out. The rest of his game is already at such a high standard that I am not that fussed about his kicking. He is suited to the game plan it looks like we will be trying to implement. Decision making is probably more critical than the actual skill of kicking anyway IMO and he seems to be pretty good in that department at the moment.

Early days with Talia. To me his kicking looks worse than Smith. In a strange way kicking is more important for a defender like Talia. Smith spends alot of time in traffic under pressure. Many of Talias touches will be in more space as we exit the defensive 50 to set up. I like his competitiveness.

Cordy isn't quite ready. Just not strong enough at this stage. He has done some impressive things but a hardened AFL tall in the season proper would just monster him. Target for him this season should be to become dominant at VFL level and maybe get the odd taste in the seniors.

Panos need to add a bit of variety to his game but we knew that. They haven't played him deep as much as I would have liked. I dont think he is in our best 22 at the moment. With Campbell and Minson both having good games drifitng forward it probably means our forward line will set up with Jones, resting ruckmen and Grant as the taller options. Dahlhaus, Cooney etc to fill the other spots. Panos has something to offer but I just dont think we have seen enough this pre season yet.

Skinner will play games this year. I dont think seasoned AFL defenders would have a heap of trouble with him at this stage though.

12-03-2012, 03:32 PM
I wouldn't have thought so,

Reading posters here would play Campbell on form- one practice game form.

I did hear the first half on radio and King is very bias for the Kangaroos. Eg. The Griffen goal had to have been touched and how we had experienced players in the midfield like 2nd years players in Dahlhaus and Libba

12-03-2012, 04:21 PM
Was extremely happy with the output from the team yesterday considering what we had in terms of experience vs them.
Campbell was amazing, was looking forward to watching him from the reports given on his internal trial game, and was very very impressed with his marks inside 50. The goal from 50 in the 1st qtr his 1st was very pure strike. Very much looking forward to seeing what he brings. Obviously with him being on the rookie still interesting if they pulled the trigger on that upgrade now tommy has gone down. Its a different position from previous years having a lot of now looking capable up coming talls that could make the starting 22. Its a healthy position to be in.
Seeing mitch libba and clay start with rough cordy or campbell was absolutely the future. To win clearances 29 26 and contested possies by 30 odd was a big credit to everyone, especially after half time when griff and higgo came off and they brought swallow and boomer in. Obviously we turned the ball over a little, but that will improve im optimistic. Hard when i wasn't there to see jarrad grant off camera work rate but soo happy he took it up to firrito and a few improved signs from him in attack on the ball!! It brought a big smile to my face when zephi put a knee to the back of scotty thompsons head. Kangas back 6 i cant stand haha

12-03-2012, 04:30 PM
I did hear the first half on radio and King is very bias for the Kangaroos. Eg. The Griffen goal had have been touched and how we had experienced players in the midfield like 2nd years players in Dahlhaus and Libba

Mine are based on not one practice game, I did mention him a couple of times before the game was even played, watch out for this boy WHEN he gets promoted.

I wish they would stop having ex players of teams commentating the team they used to play for.

12-03-2012, 04:31 PM

It's not so much form, as it is options.

Cordy isn't ready -- especially not against Cox and Nic Nat. I think he's taken leaps forward this pre-season, but he will be put to the sword against strong ruck divisions. As a forward he's looked solid, but has he actually kicked a goal? I don't think so. As solid as Cordy has been, I think there's better options. He will, however, play a fair few games IMO.

I wouldn't be upset if Roughead got the nod, nor would anyone. It's most likely, actually. Just not sure if Roughy is mobile enough -- he's pretty slow -- and he hasn't done much up forward.

I'd like to bite the bullet and back Campbell in. If he can spend 5-8 minutes a quarter in the ruck, it's not too bad.

I suppose either way, Cox/Nic Nat are going to cause us big troubles.

12-03-2012, 05:07 PM

Campbell has a long way to go. Practise match versus real game is a big difference. Lets see how he goes at Willi before we start putting him ahead of Roughead and Cordy.

On the plus side, great to have some exciting talls for the future.

12-03-2012, 05:07 PM

Cordy isn't ready -- especially not against Cox and Nic Nat. I think he's taken leaps forward this pre-season, but he will be put to the sword against strong ruck divisions. As a forward he's looked solid, but has he actually kicked a goal? I don't think so. As solid as Cordy has been, I think there's better options. He will, however, play a fair few games IMO.

I wouldn't be upset if Roughead got the nod, nor would anyone. It's most likely, actually. Just not sure if Roughy is mobile enough -- he's pretty slow -- and he hasn't done much up forward.

I'd like to bite the bullet and back Campbell in. If he can spend 5-8 minutes a quarter in the ruck, it's not too bad.

If Cordy isn't ready then neither is Campbell. A first gamer against the best ruck combination and a top class full back will be like having 1 less.

Campbell might make it, but basing it on practice match and opinion won't make it happen overnight.

12-03-2012, 05:12 PM
Was extremely happy with the output from the team yesterday considering what we had in terms of experience vs them.
Campbell was amazing, was looking forward to watching him from the reports given on his internal trial game, and was very very impressed with his marks inside 50. The goal from 50 in the 1st qtr his 1st was very pure strike. Very much looking forward to seeing what he brings. Obviously with him being on the rookie still interesting if they pulled the trigger on that upgrade now tommy has gone down. Its a different position from previous years having a lot of now looking capable up coming talls that could make the starting 22. Its a healthy position to be in.
Seeing mitch libba and clay start with rough cordy or campbell was absolutely the future. To win clearances 29 26 and contested possies by 30 odd was a big credit to everyone, especially after half time when griff and higgo came off and they brought swallow and boomer in. Obviously we turned the ball over a little, but that will improve im optimistic. Hard when i wasn't there to see jarrad grant off camera work rate but soo happy he took it up to firrito and a few improved signs from him in attack on the ball!! It brought a big smile to my face when zephi put a knee to the back of scotty thompsons head. Kangas back 6 i cant stand haha

Good post, but please fix your grammar, capitals where they should be and nice to make paragraphs for easier reading.

12-03-2012, 05:22 PM
Good post, but please fix your grammar, capitals where they should be and nice to make paragraphs for easier reading.

I think the signs were there with his name:D

12-03-2012, 05:28 PM

I reckon a private message would have been the go.

12-03-2012, 05:32 PM
If Cordy isn't ready then neither is Campbell.

Based on what?

Campbell (for example) played an entire year in the VFL in 2011 and is obviously much more developed physically. This is also identifiable in any physical situation.

Cordy still hasn't played a lot of football and is still lacking in strength.

I think Campbell just needs opportunity to be seen as 'ahead' of Cordy.

12-03-2012, 05:35 PM
Here's how I saw it, keep in mind this is the first time I've seen the dogs play this year.

1. Jarrad Grant - I thought he was good. Missed some shots that he should have converted but the endeavour was there. Defensively he has improved and we should see him round one on the back of that performance.

3. Mitch Wallis - Won his fair share of the ball and looked to have used the ball better. Still needs to work on this area of the game but I have seen enough improvement to suggest he could make it. I think he needs a bit more time and confidence at this stage as he can look a little rushed in his disposal. If he can around 10 games this year, I will be pleased.

7. Shaun Higgins - A fairly standard game from Higgo. I didn't think he was bad, but he wasn't good either. I think he was subbed off at half time.

8. Pat Veszpremi - He was ok. Used the ball mostly by foot, but he didn't use it well enough for my liking which is unlike him. He's probably touch and go for round 1 on the back of that performance, but I'd like to see us persist with him as we don't have much in the way of depth (regarding half back runners).

10. Easton Wood - Only came on late in the game and he was pretty good. Got a bit of it and used the ball very well. Lock for round 1.

13. Daniel Giansiracusa - Came on after half time and was busy. Often saw him directing and helping his young team mates out. Looks set for a big year.

14. Clay Smith - He was fairly good apart from his kicking. I personally find Smith a very easy player to like given his hardness at the contest and the way he hunts down the opposition. But I still find myself questioning why we chose him. He will be a good player but I'm not so sure he was the right player especially given our next F/S Hunter has some similar kinds of attributes and the same weakness (kicking). Who knows maybe we might overlook Hunter. But anyway I've rambled on about this long enough and there's still plenty of water to go under the bridge. I think potentially he could play a full season this year, he looked ready enough today.

16. Ryan Griffen - Was BOG before he was subbed off. Looks in great touch.

18. Flecther Roberts - No game time. Will take a while.

20. Daniel Pearce - He wasn't bad for a young 1st year player although I didn't pay too much attention to him. The coaches showed confidence in him to take some of the kick outs. Good to see. He got a bit of the ball too. He should be a chance to play later in the year one would think.

21. Tom Liberatore - Looks like he's stepped it up from last season. He was super today probably 2nd best on ground behind Dahlhaus.

22. Dylan Addison - Didn't really see him much but he was subbed off I think. I know he didn't stuff at least.

23. Jordan Roughead - I thought he did pretty well today up against some tough opposition. It looks like he's finally had a good pre season. I thought he looked stronger and worked harder then I have ever seen him before. Good signs. The question I have, is he good enough to be the 2nd ruckman? It's a close call.

26. Zeph Skinner - Played well and good on him. Having seen him live for the first time I must say I was a bit in awe at times. What impressed me most was the defensive side to his game and skills were also better. He's really improved a lot and will be a regular if he can keep that form up.

29. Tory Dickson - Looking at his highlights package, I had high expectations. Did disappoint a little but he was still ok. Uses it ok and isn't too bad defensively. Got more into the game as it went on, he was quiet early on. Needs to get fitter and probably needs to do a bit more for a spot in the 22 IMO.

30. Christian Howard - He was serviceable. Used if fairly well and has improved defensively (obviously been a focus with McCartney's coaching). I'd like to see him be a bit bolder with his ball use to really be damaging. There were some good signs today though. He really needs as much game time as possible.

31. James Mulligan - I can't believe he's still on our list.

32. Michael Talia - Only came on after half time. Had little impact

35. Tom Hill - Came on very late in the match but he did kick a goal. Hope he can stay injury free this year as he can play.

36. Brian Lake - He's certainly looking very trim and he did played well. Certainly not as his best just yet but he's showed some strong signs that he's that far away.

37. Lukas Markovic - He was solid. Personally not a fan of him but he is a good back up option for Williams and he should be the one that replaces him.

40. Luke Dahlhaus - BOG for mine. It was really good to see him having a good run in the midfield.

41. Andrew Hooper - Just didn't do enough and was subbed off in the end. Really needs to be better defensively because he's never gonna get much of it.

43. Jack Redpath - Was looking forward to seeing him play, can't play everyone though.
44. Brodie Moles - No game time, he's in big trouble if he's not injured.

45. Tom Campbell - I was very impressed. Could have had 5 goals, but missed quite a few. Moved well enough for a big guy and has nice hands. Very promising.

46. Lin Jong - He spent a bit of time on Harvey and struggled. Good learning curve for him.

48. Matt Panos - Was subbed on early in the game. Had little impact on the game up forward but then was switched to defence where he was much better.

49. Ayce Cordy - Wow hasn't he improved. Loved his work at ground level and even took a couple contested grabs. He does struggle a bit in the ruck, but his around the ground work good. I'd put him in as the number 2 ruckman.

The biggest surprise for me is how much our young rucks have improved. It wouldn't surprise me to see us go with 3 ruckman at some stage of the year.

12-03-2012, 05:40 PM

Is that bolded bit really a big deal? I thought Cordy was able to set up a few team mates rather then kick them. It still all ends up the same.

12-03-2012, 06:06 PM
Is that bolded bit really a big deal? I thought Cordy was able to set up a few team mates rather then kick them. It still all ends up the same.

Agree, he certainly passed off to Campbell for one of his and his hands below his knees are exceptional for a man his size, allowing him to gather and distribute. I think our second ruck is going to be in for a tough time vs the Eagles regardless but Cordy i think gives us more up forward than Roughy.
I think Roughead is more likely to be picked though

12-03-2012, 06:39 PM
Moles is in huge trouble if he isn't injured, isn't he?

Surely he has to be.