View Full Version : Game Day 2012 - R8 Western Bulldogs vs GCS

18-05-2012, 10:51 AM
This is the discussion thread for our Saturday evening game against GCS at TIO Stadium.

My predictions are:

The Dogs by 37 points
BOG : Ryan Griffen
Justin Sherman to kick the first goal

18-05-2012, 11:32 AM
Dogs by 53 points
Griffen BOG in his 150th game
Jones first goal

18-05-2012, 11:35 AM
Dogs by 40 points

BOG: Griffen

First Goal: Jones

18-05-2012, 11:40 AM
Dogs by 58 points
BOG: Ryan Griffen
First Goal: Luke Dahlhaus

18-05-2012, 12:31 PM
Dogs 28pts
BOG Ryan Griffen
First Goal- Ayce Cordy

18-05-2012, 12:47 PM
Dogs by 42 points
Bog - Griff
First goal Lj

18-05-2012, 05:42 PM
Dogs by 45
BOG- Griffen
First Goal- Higgins

18-05-2012, 09:31 PM
If we win by less than 7 goals it's a bad result. This should be a chance to post a big win. We need it as our percentage is pretty poor at the moment. That should be the motivation, not just win but smash 'em to get our percentage up.

18-05-2012, 09:33 PM
Dogs 79 points

BOG Wallis

First goal Cordy

19-05-2012, 02:00 AM
Dogs by 49

Bog Griffen

First goal Dickson

19-05-2012, 02:49 PM
Dogs by 37
BOG Griff
First goal Dicko

19-05-2012, 07:40 PM
Zeph in for Djerkurra & starting as a sub. Wierd, wierd call. Would have thought on form that Pearce was way ahead of Skinner.

19-05-2012, 07:42 PM
Zeph in for Djerkurra & starting as a sub. Wierd, wierd call. Would have thought on form that Pearce was way ahead of Skinner.

Ridiculous. I said it previously and it surprises me McCartney did it : this is tokenism.

The only way Zeph can prove me wrong is to kick a bag and take mark of the year ;).

19-05-2012, 07:44 PM
A bit of theatre perhaps, with Skinner in for Djitty.

19-05-2012, 07:45 PM
Ridiculous. I said it previously and it surprises me McCartney did it : this is tokenism.

The only way Zeph can prove me wrong is to kick a bag and take mark of the year ;).

Agree with that call EW. I hope he proves his worth tonight.

Oh.

Dogs by 26
First Goal Gia
BOG Griff.

19-05-2012, 07:45 PM

I hope he does great when he gets on but I just can't see how he'd be ahead of Pearce on form or alternatively a more logical replacement for Djerkurra.

19-05-2012, 07:50 PM
Maybe they see Pearce as a defender and wanted another forward. What other forwards are deserving of a game from Willy? Maybe Hill or Campbell but they are wrong type with Cordy and Jones down there.

19-05-2012, 07:53 PM
Pre-game tokenism, DJ out, Zephy in.

19-05-2012, 08:02 PM
Pre-game tokenism, DJ out, Zephy in.

Which does,nt really make sense does it , if it really was tokenism both of them would be playing , DJ must not have passed a late fitness test , I was actually thinking Smith might drop out for the Z-Man

So it could be that Smith is Subbed for the Z-Man at HT

DOGS by 44
BOG Griffen
First Goal Dahlhaus

19-05-2012, 08:05 PM
Good luck Zeph, the coach must be remembering your form in the pre-season matches. You must have been very close to being picked for round 1. Sub role is a pretty good idea (assuming someone doesn't go down early).

19-05-2012, 08:16 PM
Which does,nt really make sense does it , if it really was tokenism both of them would be playing , DJ must not have passed a late fitness test , I was actually thinking Smith might drop out for the Z-Man

If Smith was dropped for Zeph, how could he be subbed in for him.

DJ is clearly out injured, our selection policy is less clear.

19-05-2012, 08:16 PM
DJ must be still injured.

19-05-2012, 08:23 PM
If Smith was dropped for Zeph, how could he be subbed in for him.

DJ is clearly out injured, our selection policy is less clear.

No I,m saying as it is now Smith could probably Sub out for the Z-Man at HT

19-05-2012, 08:35 PM
Dogs by 56.
First goal Higgins
BOG Griffen.

Fail to see how bringing in Skinner for DJ is tokenism when Skinner is from WA and DJ from Arnhem Land.

19-05-2012, 08:38 PM
Dogs by 33
First goal: Gia
BOG: Boyd

19-05-2012, 08:53 PM
Jones keeps running under the ball. Gives himself no chance.

19-05-2012, 08:55 PM
That ball looks like it's a wet bar of soap. Not many players using the ball well.

19-05-2012, 08:59 PM
Struggling a bit aren't we?

19-05-2012, 08:59 PM
Addison will be missing next week.

19-05-2012, 09:03 PM
Struggling a bit aren't we?

Yeah we are.

Disposal has been ordinary when we've had control.

19-05-2012, 09:05 PM

DOGS by 44
BOG Griffen
First Goal Dahlhaus

OK maybe wrongly worded. What has Skinner done to earn selection?

19-05-2012, 09:06 PM
Yeah we are.

Disposal has been ordinary when we've had control.

Griffen has done some great things at getting the ball but his kicking has been wasteful.

PedroArvy
19-05-2012, 09:06 PM
I am watching the game via http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/16931/Default.aspx#fixtureid=7727&tab=Live and its a weird way to see the game but I am strangely addicted

19-05-2012, 09:07 PM
Late chance to Cordy goes begging, after he takes a good grab.

19-05-2012, 09:08 PM
Average 1st quarter, looks slippery

19-05-2012, 09:09 PM
Terrible conditions for football. I hate that we have to play up there.

19-05-2012, 09:13 PM
I,d be able to see more but this live stream is so buggy , couple of missed shots , I can,t really follow the play properly so I can,t tell who doing well and whos not , Addison dropped Bennell with an elbow and could get reported for Rough Conduct

19-05-2012, 09:15 PM
Goal Jones

19-05-2012, 09:16 PM
That guy in there back line for GCS is a spud. He wouldn't get a game at Willy.

19-05-2012, 09:24 PM
This is very frustrating to watch.

19-05-2012, 09:25 PM
I was kind of excited to get home from dinner early, to see a bit of this before I go out again. My excitement was misplaced.

19-05-2012, 09:28 PM
I've forgotten how much I hate Dermie as a commentator throw in Matt Campbell and I wish I couldn't hear.

19-05-2012, 09:29 PM
Great chase by Dicko to bring one of them down.

19-05-2012, 09:33 PM
This is hard to watch. The conditions kill the standard of play and we are playing terrible too.

19-05-2012, 09:34 PM
Just blasting it forward with no composure. We have to run it.

19-05-2012, 09:38 PM
This will need quite the turn around in the 2nd half to win this. Second to the pill far too much. Will actually be surprised to win we're that far back

19-05-2012, 09:39 PM
Conditions might be slippery, but it's the contested ball that we've been getting hammered since the latter stages of the first quarter.

19-05-2012, 09:40 PM
No composure, no clear thinking moving forward. Why do we keep kicking to the pockets? We're giving ourselves no chance to score.

GC too many players at the contest. Pretty disappointed.

19-05-2012, 09:44 PM
Crappy game. Just plain boring.

19-05-2012, 09:45 PM
We are at 58% disposal efficiency. That says it all really.

19-05-2012, 09:45 PM
so all week I've been wondering if perhaps I underrated this bunch massively. Then we put out this display. Can't work us out.

19-05-2012, 09:48 PM
I hope the second half is better than this rubbish.

19-05-2012, 09:50 PM
Rubbish half of footy

19-05-2012, 09:50 PM
We've played Darwin enough to know what the conditions are like. This seems to me as one team wanting it more and the other running around having a kick.

19-05-2012, 09:51 PM
Geelong has liked the game so far , 37 behind in the contested possessions

This buggy live stream is damn hard to watch , it looked like Austin and Grant swapped places for long periods I,m not sure that worked , Griffen and Dahlhaus got shut down

19-05-2012, 09:52 PM
I'm worried.

19-05-2012, 09:54 PM
Dahlhaus, Higgins, Jones have had 10 disposals between them. Suns have had 50 more disposals that we have. Lucky we are tackling hard as they should have done more with the ball.

19-05-2012, 09:55 PM
Oof this sucks. I vote we never play up there again, makes for terrible conditions and a lot of tired bodies. The skill level is just appalling.

Special mention for Dermie's commentary tonight; highlight being writing off Josh Caddy, all of 9 games into his career after going inside the top 10 picks as never being more than "adequate".

19-05-2012, 09:58 PM
Gold Coast are getting numbers to the ball but have terrible skills, and we are holding them up well. We just look like we're asleep, we could end this game in 5 minutes if we crank it up a gear or two.

19-05-2012, 10:00 PM
Dahlhaus, Higgins, Jones have had 10 disposals between them. Suns have had 50 more disposals that we have. Lucky we are tackling hard as they should have done more with the ball.

Don't know why your bringing Jones into it. Had very few opportunities. Why not mention Picken in that group?

19-05-2012, 10:01 PM
Our biggest problem is the lack of system going forward.

These conditions demand you to run, run, run with the ball and spot up SHORT targets. Scrapping it forward with a long bomb to a contest will get us nowhere.

We've got no spread, no overlap run which is disappointing considering last week that was a real feature of our win.

Gold Coast are getting numbers to the ball but have terrible skills, and we are holding them up well. We just look like we're asleep, we could end this game in 5 minutes if we crank it up a gear or two.

I hope you're right. I'm listening on the radio - makes our performance seem even worse.

But so can they should Ablett move forward and Bennell becomes more involved.

Very very nervous

19-05-2012, 10:02 PM
Let's hope that our training for the heat of Darwin will allow us to run all over them in the second half. I can't say it's looking like that at the moment though.

19-05-2012, 10:03 PM
We've played Darwin enough to know what the conditions are like. This seems to me as one team wanting it more and the other running around having a kick.

Agree totally. Blaming the conditions for lack of desperation isn't going to get us anywhere.

19-05-2012, 10:05 PM
Our biggest problem is the lack of system going forward.

These conditions demand you to run, run, run with the ball and spot up SHORT targets. Scrapping it forward with a long bomb to a contest will get us nowhere.

We've got no spread, no overlap run which is disappointing considering last week that was a real feature of our win.

Yes the guys just have to run it into the 50 rather than kick it , Griffen and Dahlhaus are the two players missing from that part of the game plan , Libba has been quiet as well and he provides some good link play to running players

19-05-2012, 10:13 PM
I'm not sure whether to laugh or cry. Would they have implicit instructions to kick rather than run to conserve energy? I hope the extra preseasons we have under our belt hold us in good stead for the final quarter.

19-05-2012, 10:15 PM
That looked like a goal to Jones. Video umpire is there use it! Gia made sure of it though.

19-05-2012, 10:26 PM
Smart by Gia then. Good finish by Dahl

19-05-2012, 10:34 PM
Great goal Granty!

19-05-2012, 10:36 PM
Nice 5 min spell from Grant. First he ploughs his knee through someone's skull and then kicks the impossible goal.

19-05-2012, 10:38 PM
Nice 5 min spell from Grant. First he ploughs his knee through someone's skull and then kicks the impossible goal.

He's proving once more his worth as a crumber. I'd be very tempted to play him as a small forward who can outmark his opponent when required.

19-05-2012, 10:39 PM
A most welcome 3rd quarter effort - honestly didn't see it coming,
Not over though I feel a lot better.
Now to get Zeph involved and maybe snag his first one at this level

19-05-2012, 10:40 PM
Don't know why your bringing Jones into it.

Yes and no. He has to make some of his opportunities himself.
Dickson hasn't had a good look at it but he is working hard around the packs and in contests.

19-05-2012, 10:41 PM
Don't know why your bringing Jones into it. Had very few opportunities. Why not mention Picken in that group?

I picked the bottom three with the least disposals. If you hadn't noticed Picken is playing a shut down role on Ablett, however, Ablett still has 23 disposals.

You are so sensitive to the mention of Jones. He didn't even touch the ball in the third quarter.

19-05-2012, 10:43 PM
Yep, raised our effort just enough. I really like Cordy. Just slowly improving each week which is nice to see.

However I didn't think this was possible but Higgins has gone backwards again this year.

19-05-2012, 10:44 PM
GCS are starting to tire , we are getting players clear from contests , the second and third efforts have lifted , good to see Grant putting the effort in to make an impact there was a time when he would have shepherded the ball out instead of pushing hard to get in a position to snap

19-05-2012, 10:47 PM
Cordy subbed off for the Z-Man

19-05-2012, 10:50 PM
I picked the bottom three with the least disposals. If you hadn't noticed Picken is playing a shut down role on Ablett, however, Ablett still has 23 disposals.

You are so sensitive to the mention of Jones. He didn't even touch the ball in the third quarter.

Oh I did notice Picken may have been playing on Ablett your so obsessed with stats I'm surprised you missed his 2 disposals up until half time. Terrific goal by the way!

Keep looking at bringing down Jones to win some pathetic debate on if he should have been dropped last year.

NoName
19-05-2012, 10:53 PM
Good goal to Skinner!

19-05-2012, 10:53 PM
Good on you, Zeph.

19-05-2012, 10:55 PM
That's goal of the year stuff from Zephi.

19-05-2012, 10:58 PM
What a chase by Picken

19-05-2012, 11:15 PM
Got the job done tonight. Should have probably won by more if we kicked straight and made the most of our opportunities. But we did more than double their score.

Massive game next week.

19-05-2012, 11:21 PM
Must admit the negativity on here has disappointed me tonight. Thought our blokes had a pretty good crack in tough and trying conditions. Happy with the 4pts and now Onto next week.

19-05-2012, 11:21 PM
Thank god that telecast is over!
With calls like:

Shaw: "It isn't a goal if your foot goes over the line with the ball"
Dermott: "Picken can't kick a ball that far" (Laughing), "He has gone back further than the ball will go passed the mark". (as Picken slots it from 55m).
Dermott: "Skinner will get a fine for cutting his socks" (When on a close up Skinner's socks are clearly folded at the top".

My God ch7!

19-05-2012, 11:26 PM
Must admit the negativity on here has disappointed me tonight. Thought our blokes had a pretty good crack in tough and trying conditions. Happy with the 4pts and now Onto next week.

It was a poor first half though.

19-05-2012, 11:28 PM
Bloody 7mate just cut the team song, not happy.

19-05-2012, 11:45 PM
4 and 4 with a boost to the percentage

Tough game next week but we have the game plan to take it too Geelong

Great to see the guys just knuckle down and get on with it after HT we ended up on top of the contested possessions , 87 tackles was a solid effort in those conditions , 45 clangers was ok with the conditions considering we made 40 against North

Addison could get reported for rough conduct for the elbow on Bennell

20-05-2012, 12:11 AM
The guys singing the team song has already been uploaded to Youtube

cAhd916Nu_A

20-05-2012, 12:20 AM
It was a poor first half though.

Yep wasn't great but not end of the world stuff. I expected gold coast to come out firing after their effort last week. We weathered the storm and outclassed them in the second half.

20-05-2012, 12:21 AM
Was i watching a different game, i didn't see Addison elbow anyone, he gave him a very soft bump with the elbow tucked in, yeah it was off the ball but that stuff happens 100 times a game, if he gets weeks for that just because Bennell is soft it's ridiculous.
Having said that he most likely will get suspended because the game is a joke these days.

I was really happy with Cordy's game, i think the last two weeks he has started to show that he is going to be a good player even if he isn't there yet, very promising i thought.

How was Lake not paid a cpl of what i thought were clear marks early in the game? Never got a replay of them either but looked like solid grabs to me, especially in those conditions.

Loved Smith getting straight back up after getting crunched by Hunt. Grant shepherding a couple of times both resulting in goals, i haven't written him off yet, i think he might actually be starting to get it, what he has to do to be an important part of the team.

How good is it to see Lake back in form?

Wallis really starting to look like he belongs out there now too

Higgins was hardly sighted, my expectations on him have dropped right down and i am happy for him to be just a good player contributing to the side, not a superstar, but thought he was pretty poor tonight

20-05-2012, 12:33 AM
Was i watching a different game, i didn't see Addison elbow anyone, he gave him a very soft bump with the elbow tucked in, yeah it was off the ball but that stuff happens 100 times a game, if he gets weeks for that just because Bennell is soft it's ridiculous.
Having said that he most likely will get suspended because the game is a joke these days.

I was really happy with Cordy's game, i think the last two weeks he has started to show that he is going to be a good player even if he isn't there yet, very promising i thought.

How was Lake not paid a cpl of what i thought were clear marks early in the game? Never got a replay of them either but looked like solid grabs to me, especially in those conditions.

Loved Smith getting straight back up after getting crunched by Hunt. Grant shepherding a couple of times both resulting in goals, i haven't written him off yet, i think he might actually be starting to get it, what he has to do to be an important part of the team.

How good is it to see Lake back in form?

Wallis really starting to look like he belongs out there now too

Higgins was hardly sighted, my expectations on him have dropped right down and i am happy for him to be just a good player contributing to the side, not a superstar, but thought he was pretty poor tonight
I can say that you and I were watching the exact same game. I could have written this post out word for word.

20-05-2012, 12:34 AM
Thank god that telecast is over!
With calls like:

Shaw: "It isn't a goal if your foot goes over the line with the ball"
Dermott: "Picken can't kick a ball that far" (Laughing), "He has gone back further than the ball will go passed the mark". (as Picken slots it from 55m).
Dermott: "Skinner will get a fine for cutting his socks" (When on a close up Skinner's socks are clearly folded at the top".

My God ch7!

There was one dodgy free kick pulled out in the last Q, I think it was Dermie that said something like " i think the umpire just paid that to clear the ball from the area(where it had been for a little bit)"
Shaw chimes in with "i don't mind that"

WTF???? seriously? how the #$@%ing hell are stupid $#!@s like these allowed anywhere near a microphone? It's mindboggling some of the stupidity that comes out of these idiots mouths.
And he was a coach once upon a time, or he coached a side at least not sure he could be called an actual coach :/

20-05-2012, 12:39 AM
I like Cordy & Roughy better than Jones and Cordy/Roughy at this point in time.

20-05-2012, 12:43 AM
Keep looking at bringing down Jones to win some pathetic debate on if he should have been dropped last year.

Give it up.

20-05-2012, 12:50 AM

Had a poor first half but was ok in the second half. Laid 5 tackles, kicked a goal and is doing the job the coach is asking him to do. He is playing a different role this year as are many under Macca.

20-05-2012, 01:38 AM
Good win from the Dogs tonight. I was out most of tonight at my cousin's 30th birthday and had to keep updated via the Bulldogs App as the place I was at didn't have the GC-Bulldogs game on the TV.

20-05-2012, 02:54 AM
Give it up.

You obviously haven't.

20-05-2012, 02:59 AM
How can Jones get better? What aspects of his game does he need to really work on to be a valuable player to our team.

20-05-2012, 10:21 AM
Had a poor first half but was ok in the second half. Laid 5 tackles, kicked a goal and is doing the job the coach is asking him to do. He is playing a different role this year as are many under Macca.

I agree done ok IMO but will expect him to be better this Friday against geelong in the dry

20-05-2012, 10:50 AM
I agree done ok IMO but will expect him to be better this Friday against geelong in the dry

You'd expect a lot better from quite a few players in the dry. There were only a few of our boys who handled the conditions well. Cross was a real stand out, that being said I thought after a half of football a lot of them got better at it.

20-05-2012, 11:23 AM
You'd expect a lot better from quite a few players in the dry. There were only a few of our boys who handled the conditions well. Cross was a real stand out, that being said I thought after a half of football a lot of them got better at it.

Wonder if our fancy gloves made a difference!

20-05-2012, 11:23 AM

Cross was very good! Can't wait to see how we go against Geelong :) should be a ripper

20-05-2012, 11:31 AM
Do the gloves make that much of a difference? Anyone tried playing with one?

Never tried them in my playing days. I was old school.

20-05-2012, 12:05 PM
You obviously haven't.

I call it as I see it, you brought up last year for the life of me I don't know why.

Jones had a poor night with three touches in three quarters and another three in the last. You may say, it was due to poor delivery, but he needs to lead into position so the ball can be kicked to him. Warnock had his measure.

20-05-2012, 12:13 PM
I call it as I see it, you brought up last year for the life of me I don't know why.

Jones had a poor night with three touches in three quarters and another three in the last. You may say, it was due to poor delivery, but he needs to lead into position so the ball can be kicked to him. Warnock had his measure.

I didn't say Jones played well. Had a poor night IMO. I just don't know why you'd lump in with other regular ball winners with his poor disposal count.

You mentioned last year not long ago, I just put it in the memory bank and call you on it the next time you threw out the subtle "I told you so"

20-05-2012, 12:17 PM
I didn't say Jones played well. Had a poor night IMO. I just don't know why you'd lump in with other regular ball winners with his poor disposal count.

As I said, I picked the bottom three at half time. I excluded Picken because his role is not to get the ball but to stop his opponent.

20-05-2012, 12:47 PM
Guys, you're hijacking the thread.

20-05-2012, 12:49 PM
I didn't see the game, but did Austin have much of a role to play? Is he still tracking ok? He will have his hands full with JPOD next week.

20-05-2012, 01:01 PM
I didn't see the game, but did Austin have much of a role to play? Is he still tracking ok? He will have his hands full with JPOD next week.

Austin is getting better each game. I thought he did very well again and took lots of marks and beat his man.

Will be interesting once more next week against some quality talls.

20-05-2012, 03:49 PM

He has been misreading the ball a lot. Won't double back. It's like Hall last year getting too old to turn around. As I said before, Dickson wasn't getting marks but he stepped up around the packs and contests trying to win his own ball and get involved. Jones needs to start making things happen for himself, grind out a scrappy goal then maybe some other things might start going his way.

20-05-2012, 04:57 PM

Mate, it was a game of 2 halves. They led at half-time, we hadn't played well, especially in the second qtr and a few of us were getting nervous. Sorry for being concerned, should have known we'd win easily in the end.

20-05-2012, 08:55 PM
They are always ugly games up in Darwin.

We did what we had to.

I still believe Jones should be sent back to the VFL for some touch/confidence though. He's got no clue how to play as a key forward at the moment. He's continually running under the flight of the ball, leading to the wrong spots and not impacting the game in any way offensively or defensively.

20-05-2012, 09:11 PM
They are always ugly games up in Darwin.

We did what we had to.

I still believe Jones should be sent back to the VFL for some touch/confidence though. He's got no clue how to play as a key forward at the moment. He's continually running under the flight of the ball, leading to the wrong spots and not impacting the game in any way offensively or defensively.

Who is our forward coach? Maybe Bazza needs to come down and mentor him a bit more. I know he helped him tremendously last year.

20-05-2012, 09:20 PM
Who is our forward coach? Maybe Bazza needs to come down and mentor him a bit more. I know he helped him tremendously last year.

Shannon Grant.

21-05-2012, 02:25 PM
Can someone tell why we were wearing our white away strip at a home game again!, against a side that has a perfectly good away strip that doesn't clash with ours?

I know this has been brought up before but it's driving me crazy.

I don't like the white strip to begin with but what really bugs me is we use it as a marketing tool to try and sell them at any opportunity.

The blue hoops guernsey is by far the batter and is our guernsey. We need to where it all every opportunity unless we are playing away and only if it clashes with the home team.

21-05-2012, 02:41 PM
Can someone tell why we were wearing our white away strip at a home game again!, against a side that has a perfectly good away strip that doesn't clash with ours?

I know this has been brought up before but it's driving me crazy.

I don't like the white strip to begin with but what really bugs me is we use it as a marketing tool to try and sell them at any opportunity.

The blue hoops guernsey is by far the batter and is our guernsey. We need to where it all every opportunity unless we are playing away and only if it clashes with the home team.

It's been mentioned before, but the lighting in Darwin isn't very good and it's a lot easier to see the white jumpers in traffic.

I went up a few years ago and as a spectator I thought the white jumpers that night was a brilliant move

21-05-2012, 06:44 PM
It's been mentioned before, but the lighting in Darwin isn't very good and it's a lot easier to see the white jumpers in traffic.

I went up a few years ago and as a spectator I thought the white jumpers that night was a brilliant move

I think that is because you love the white jumpers SS.

To me they just look like underwear or something you would wear to the beach in the
1920's.

21-05-2012, 07:35 PM

There is a time and place for us wearing a white jumper and while it's debatable for games in Darwin (I can see the merit in it) even when we are the home side I think we are just selling our soul all too quickly.

I contacted the club about 3 years ago asking them to provide a clear understanding of when they will be wearing the white jumper and the response I got was less than satisfactory so as a result I haven't purchased any club apparel since then. I won't even wear the club cap I get as part of the membership and I like wearing caps.
It can't be hard for the club to look at the fixture and determine which games they are prepared to surrender our traditional jumper to the AFL.
The fact is we wear what we are told to when we are told to.

21-05-2012, 07:42 PM
There is a time and place for us wearing a white jumper and while it's debatable for games in Darwin (I can see the merit in it) even when we are the home side I think we are just selling our soul all too quickly.

I contacted the club about 3 years ago asking them to provide a clear understanding of when they will be wearing the white jumper and the response I got was less than satisfactory so as a result I haven't purchased any club apparel since then. I won't even wear the club cap I get as part of the membership and I like wearing caps.
It can't be hard for the club to look at the fixture and determine which games they are prepared to surrender our traditional jumper to the AFL.
The fact is we wear what we are told to when we are told to.

Do we really have a choice.

21-05-2012, 08:31 PM
SO long as they don't wear that god-awful Origin Energy thing, I don't care what strip they wear.

21-05-2012, 09:59 PM
Do we really have a choice.

Of course not...no one does. Well maybe Essendon and Collingwood and a few others but certainly not us.
Here's a thought, maybe we could just say no and see what happens or make a commitment to the fans at the start of the year and just stand firm.

22-05-2012, 08:48 AM
Of course not...no one does. Well maybe Essendon and Collingwood and a few others but certainly not us.
Here's a thought, maybe we could just say no and see what happens or make a commitment to the fans at the start of the year and just stand firm.

Pretty hard to do when the AFL probably hold our very existence in the palm of their hands.

22-05-2012, 07:06 PM
Pretty hard to do when the AFL probably hold our very existence in the palm of their hands.

I highly doubt they would threaten our existence on a playing jumper. I don't have a problem with us wearing a clash jumper but I'm dead against wearing the white when we are the home side albeit I can tolerate it up in Darwin.

22-05-2012, 07:49 PM
I highly doubt they would threaten our existence on a playing jumper. I don't have a problem with us wearing a clash jumper but I'm dead against wearing the white when we are the home side albeit I can tolerate it up in Darwin.

Darwin is the only time I can tolerate it as well.