View Full Version : Talking trades

15-08-2012, 10:40 PM
From AFL.com.au

WESTERN BULLDOGS

Whispers: The silence is deafening on the trade front at Whitten Oval. The Dogs have stated a clear strategy to develop from within - to produce the right type of people to play the right way. If you listen to them, they won’t be active this trade period. But like any of their rivals, they would consider deals in the right circumstances, and probably only for players no older than 25.

Commodities: The Dogs have eight players aged at least 29 and plan to - and need to - retain most of them to teach the younger players (a philosophy of coach Brendan McCartney). They also have an abundance of forward-flanker types and young key-position players, and they would hope to nurture the latter and transform them into one of the strengths of their list.

Needs: Players in their mid-20s to balance out their stocks of experience and youth; a key forward (maybe impossibly Adelaide's Kurt Tippett or, more realistically, Essendon's Scott Gumbleton); a key back such as Collingwood star Ben Reid to take some pressure off veteran Brian Lake to both stop goals and create them; and a couple of classy, pacy midfielders - 22-year-old versions of Ryan Griffen and Adam Cooney would be ideal - to complement, long-term, the inside work of youngsters Tom Liberatore, Mitch Wallis and Clay Smith.

Trade history: The Dogs have been busy over the past two years. Last year they traded Josh Hill to West Coast for pick 49 (which they used to get Daniel Pearce) and Ben Hudson to the Brisbane Lions for pick 70 (which they used to upgrade Luke Dahlhaus from their rookie list). The previous year they snared former Brisbane Lion Justin Sherman in exchange for the round one compensatory pick they received for losing Jarrod Harbrow to Gold Coast; traded Andrejs Everitt to the Sydney Swans for Patrick Veszpremi; and traded pick 58 for Geelong's Nathan Djerrkura.

Fantasy trade: The Dogs desperately need midfield pace and precision, the likes of which could be provided by Collingwood's Sharrod Wellingham, who could potentially be wooed by the prospect of greater responsibility away from the Pies' star-studded midfield. The sting for the Dogs would be the need to dangle a big carrot - a Bob Murphy, for example. The Dogs veteran would have a far greater chance of playing in a premiership with the club he supported as a boy.

Read about other teams here (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/144661/default.aspx)

16-08-2012, 08:17 AM
^^^ Didn't Bob support Richmond as a boy?

16-08-2012, 08:23 AM
Sounds like a pile of it.
Why would another club want a 30yo and what currency would he have?

16-08-2012, 10:10 AM
Wellingham for Murphy. What fantasy that is.

16-08-2012, 09:47 PM
^^^ Didn't Bob support Richmond as a boy?

He went across to the Pies briefly...

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/changing-allegiances-a-very-big-deal-20110928-1kxd9.html

16-08-2012, 10:38 PM
Do people except Sherman to be around in 2013? I'd imagine he'd be on a bit of coin considering.

17-08-2012, 11:06 AM
Do people except Sherman to be around in 2013? I'd imagine he'd be on a bit of coin considering.

No disrespect to Jin Long but he's the second worst kick in the team, and really just learning. If he's getting picked ahead of Sherman, I'd say that's a bit of an indication we might not be seeing Sherman next year. Consider how much he's being paid! he should be one of our top shelf players, achieving the sorts of things Luke Dahlhaus does.

17-08-2012, 11:28 AM
No disrespect to Jin Long but he's the second worst kick in the team,

Presumably then, the worst kick is Lin Jong?

17-08-2012, 12:26 PM
Presumably then, the worst kick is Lin Jong?

Hahah Stuffed that right up. No, that honour goes to Slay Cmith. :D

17-08-2012, 12:29 PM

Smith appears to be quite an accurate set shot for goal considering.

17-08-2012, 12:32 PM

I love the kid. but the ball drop has me with my heart in my mouth.
Watching a few youtube vids, I think he's letting it go too close to his body.

17-08-2012, 12:35 PM

Made me laugh

17-08-2012, 01:17 PM
I think Talia is worse than both.

17-08-2012, 02:41 PM

Yeah I agree. It's running at full speed that seems to be his problem. probably not that surprising given his ball drop. When he gets the ball onto his foot properly he's quite a penetrating kick, it's just with that ball drop it makes it really difficult to replicate.

17-08-2012, 02:50 PM
Yeah I agree. It's running at full speed that seems to be his problem. probably not that surprising given his ball drop. When he gets the ball onto his foot properly he's quite a penetrating kick, it's just with that ball drop it makes it really difficult to replicate.
This can be a positive? Surely it is easier to fix a ball drop than any sort of leg-based biomechanical issues.

There is a kicking coach in Qld that specialises in improving kicking (well known for years, worked with the suns esp. Karmy Hunt) who emphasises ball handling exercises & grip exercises as the best way to improve kicking. Does Clay want to get some sun for a couple of weeks? :cool:

New question: Would Toy come cheap? Highly rated junior who has not really fired at the Suns.

17-08-2012, 02:50 PM

Like the 50 metre mongrel punt that he scored a goal with against North.

17-08-2012, 03:20 PM
This can be a positive? Surely it is easier to fix a ball drop than any sort of leg-based biomechanical issues.

You'd think so. Of the technical issues to overcome I'd have thought grip and ball drop would be two of the easier one's. He drops the ball too close to his body, so when kicking on the run he's really cramped.

17-08-2012, 08:04 PM
Not sure many trades will happen at all, especially if players like Tippett and Caddy want out and they both nominate clubs. By the sounds of it St.Kilda will be on the lookout for a big key defender.

17-08-2012, 08:52 PM
New question: Would Toy come cheap? Highly rated junior who has not really fired at the Suns.

Highly rated because he was a man-child or because he was good?

Prefer others...

17-08-2012, 10:19 PM
Trent mckenzie with a club suspension. Any chance in hell we could get him for grant? :)

17-08-2012, 10:21 PM

There is a kicking coach in Qld that specialises in improving kicking (well known for years, worked with the suns esp. Karmy Hunt) who emphasises ball handling exercises & grip exercises as the best way to improve kicking. Does Clay want to get some sun for a couple of weeks? :cool:

Taking a line from Crouching, we need to 'mould the clay'.

22-08-2012, 10:45 AM
Taking a line from Crouching, we need to 'mould the clay'.

Dad joke alert.:)

22-08-2012, 10:58 AM

True good set shot.

31-08-2012, 10:45 AM
Hoskin-Elliott anyone? This kid can seriously play, not one of the GWS kids to sign on till 2015.

31-08-2012, 11:08 AM
Yes please.

31-08-2012, 11:26 AM
Hoskin-Elliott anyone? This kid can seriously play, not one of the GWS kids to sign on till 2015.
In a heartbeat, probably take one of our first round picks to get him

31-08-2012, 11:35 AM
In a heartbeat, probably take one of our first round picks to get him

I wouldn't be against that, he was pick 4 himself.

31-08-2012, 11:46 AM
I wouldn't be against that, he was pick 4 himself.

But is he available? I would have thought they would want to keep him.

31-08-2012, 11:57 AM
But is he available? I would have thought they would want to keep him.

I guess that's up to the footy department to find out, like I said his name wasn't on the list of players re-signing on, he's a Western Jets boy as well, maybe I'm wrong but I'm sure I read somewhere they there was some clause in his contract to get out after his first season.

31-08-2012, 03:42 PM

Can't see why he would want to leave, almost guaranteed success with the squad they are putting together(and if he did he would probably want to go to a big club or one on the rise). Apparently the GWS boys are very tight knit.

31-08-2012, 09:42 PM
I guess that's up to the footy department to find out, like I said his name wasn't on the list of players re-signing on, he's a Western Jets boy as well, maybe I'm wrong but I'm sure I read somewhere they there was some clause in his contract to get out after his first season.

He is a Nth Sunshine boy who is very close to his family. I went to school with his dad.

31-08-2012, 11:25 PM

Would definitely fit Macca's criteria.

If the price is right I'd be having a crack but given that he was drafted wouldn't he have a 2 year minimum contract?

04-09-2012, 12:28 PM
Would definitely fit Macca's criteria.

If the price is right I'd be having a crack but given that he was drafted wouldn't he have a 2 year minimum contract?
Players can be traded if they agree to it, I believe that was why Caddy asked the question of GCS last year.

He's uncontracted now and seems desperate to get to Vic and play for a Melbourne club. Asking price would be a fair bit though.

04-09-2012, 08:29 PM
Players can be traded if they agree to it, I believe that was why Caddy asked the question of GCS last year.

He's uncontracted now and seems desperate to get to Vic and play for a Melbourne club. Asking price would be a fair bit though.

Not just Essendon this time? :)

05-09-2012, 05:55 PM
Given the Bombers will be forced to use their first round pick on Daniher, I think the kid's being realistic.
With Boak signing on with Port, Geelong would have to be in the box seat having picks (incl. an Ablett compo pick) and cap space.

06-09-2012, 09:23 AM

A hyphen playing with the Bulldogs???

We would have to call him Banger or something similar for him to be accepted.

06-09-2012, 10:51 AM
We did have Simon Minton-Connell play for us ;)

We were linked to Jasper McMillan-Pittard at pick 15 in 2009, taking Howard instead.

06-09-2012, 12:40 PM
Not forgetting Australian Olympic rower and former Bulldog Cameron Mckenzie-Mcargh

06-09-2012, 05:59 PM
Not forgetting Australian Olympic rower and former Bulldog Cameron Mckenzie-Mcargh

Seriously, I'm not sure any name could be more suitable for a rower than that.

07-09-2012, 11:56 AM
Seriously, I'm not sure any name could be more suitable for a rower than that.

I went to school with a Rowan Orr.:)

07-09-2012, 08:06 PM

Please tell me he rowed.

07-09-2012, 10:17 PM

:D:D I spilled my drink reading this! In teaching, you meet lots of interestingly named people. This one is a ripper.

09-09-2012, 11:00 AM
Shannon Byrne is someone who I would mind us picking up for free. Apparently exploring his options.

09-09-2012, 11:24 AM
Shannon Byrne is someone who I would mind us picking up for free. Apparently exploring his options.

I suggested him a month or so ago and was shouted down big time by posters, suggesting he'd clog our list etc, etc.

09-09-2012, 11:39 AM
I suggested him a month or so ago and was shouted down big time by posters, suggesting he'd clog our list etc, etc.

I've had a bit of a browse for this but can't find this. I don't see him as being exactly what we need at the moment but he's a good player.

09-09-2012, 11:49 AM
Is he free agency?

If we were to pick him up and lose Minson, the AFL will call it all square and we wouldn't get any compo for Minson.

09-09-2012, 12:14 PM
No for Byrne. What are we, a dumping ground for Geelong rejects? For an ageing team like Geelong I would have thought a speedy player like Byrne is required so it says how good he is not playing.

09-09-2012, 01:09 PM
I've had a bit of a browse for this but can't find this. I don't see him as being exactly what we need at the moment but he's a good player.

I have found the posts, it was only two posters and perhaps I wasn't exactly shouted down.

I still think he could add something for us.

http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=10759&highlight=Shannon+Byrnes&page=2

09-09-2012, 01:38 PM
I have found the posts, it was only two posters and perhaps I wasn't exactly shouted down.

I still think he could add something for us.

http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=10759&highlight=Shannon+Byrnes&page=2

No problems, I did see that and I didn't think it was a bollocking.

There are a lot of players that could add something to us and in my opinion Byrnes could do that but given our current list if we are to trade for players they either need to be capable of sneaking into our 10 or filling a specific need. I don't think Byrnes quite does that.

09-09-2012, 01:49 PM
No problems, I did see that and I didn't think it was a bollocking.

There are a lot of players that could add something to us and in my opinion Byrnes could do that but given our current list if we are to trade for players they either need to be capable of sneaking into our 10 or filling a specific need. I don't think Byrnes quite does that.

I know every player is different but I tend to agree with chops on this, Geelong must lick its lips every year when they want to get something for a player they are going to delist. They just ring us and offer them up and we take them.
Robbins was an awesome get though, was he to blame for the continuing deals?

09-09-2012, 02:34 PM
With ledge and Chops. A 28 y.o that has managed 9 games in his last 2 years is the definition of a list clogger. If he were 23 I'd consider it and probably still say no but at 28 the discussion doesn't even start IMO

09-09-2012, 04:16 PM
Byrnes is ok, but we're nowhere near where we'd need to be to consider a top up player like him.

09-09-2012, 04:26 PM
With ledge and Chops. A 28 y.o that has managed 9 games in his last 2 years is the definition of a list clogger. If he were 23 I'd consider it and probably still say no but at 28 the discussion doesn't even start IMO

Didn't realise he was 28 that pretty much seals the decision for me

09-09-2012, 08:05 PM
No for Byrne. What are we, a dumping ground for Geelong rejects? For an ageing team like Geelong I would have thought a speedy player like Byrne is required so it says how good he is not playing.

Have to agree with Chops. Nothing to see here, move along.

10-09-2012, 01:50 PM
Isn't Byrne all but assured of a spot with the Demons?
Agreement in principle is a rumour doing the rounds.

10-09-2012, 09:29 PM
Would be a very silly move by the Demons

10-09-2012, 09:58 PM
Isn't Byrne all but assured of a spot with the Demons?
Agreement in principle is a rumour doing the rounds.

Supposedly, but Monfreies was also rumoured to be signing with the demons also.

10-09-2012, 10:20 PM
Would be a very silly move by the Demons

Why?

He isn't the worst player going around - sure, Stokes and Christensen are ahead of him but that is OK. Melbourne need someone at the feet of Mitch Clarke (?spelling) and if they don't think they have anyone what is wrong with getting someone who might be able to do it?

He is 28, not 38. If he can play, he can play. He wont cost the earth and - as a fa - wont even cost a late draft pick. It is ok to try and win games and kick goals whilst you try to rebuild.

10-09-2012, 10:29 PM
Supposedly, but Monfreies was also rumoured to be signing with the demons also.
Linked to Richmond too - first end of season FA period looks set to be very interesting

10-09-2012, 11:10 PM
Linked to Richmond too - first end of season FA period looks set to be very interesting

I honestly believe there is going to be a club or two that is just more 'ready' for this than anyone else and will take advantage. North did it 30 years ago with the 10 year rule and whether what they did was 'honest' or otherwise they have 2 flags in the trophy case because of it.

You could just see a club like Hawthorn pinching Minson, Monfries and Chaplin and really solidifying their position whilst everyone else 'does it the right way' and builds through the draft.

11-09-2012, 12:38 AM
I've always rated Chaplin and think he could be an excellent signing for anyone

Minson likewise could be an excellent piece

Cloke would be a great addition for Freo

11-09-2012, 08:17 AM
Why?

He isn't the worst player going around - sure, Stokes and Christensen are ahead of him but that is OK. Melbourne need someone at the feet of Mitch Clarke (?spelling) and if they don't think they have anyone what is wrong with getting someone who might be able to do it?

He is 28, not 38. If he can play, he can play. He wont cost the earth and - as a fa - wont even cost a late draft pick. It is ok to try and win games and kick goals whilst you try to rebuild.

Not like we have a small forward either who's spot he would take(plus he would add some outside spread in the mid field). We could easily get 3 seasons value out of him and he wouldn't cost of thing to get to the club.

11-09-2012, 09:52 AM
I honestly believe there is going to be a club or two that is just more 'ready' for this than anyone else and will take advantage. North did it 30 years ago with the 10 year rule and whether what they did was 'honest' or otherwise they have 2 flags in the trophy case because of it.

You could just see a club like Hawthorn pinching Minson, Monfries and Chaplin and really solidifying their position whilst everyone else 'does it the right way' and builds through the draft.

Thats how the Swans have done it and now they are playing for a spot in the Grand Final, with a good chance to take out the premiership.

11-09-2012, 10:20 AM
Thats how the Swans have done it and now they are playing for a spot in the Grand Final, with a good chance to take out the premiership.
The Swans cottoned onto the Moneyball principle before anyone else - having a mid-year conference to look who would shore up their team as a role player.

Their philosophy on ruckmen is the perfect example - trading Jolly then Mumford & Seaby, established rucks who won't take 4-5 years of development time (and therefore a spot on the list) to get AFL ready.
Their exceptions tend to be rookies like Mike Pyke.

11-09-2012, 08:37 PM
The Swans cottoned onto the Moneyball principle before anyone else - having a mid-year conference to look who would shore up their team as a role player.

Their philosophy on ruckmen is the perfect example - trading Jolly then Mumford & Seaby, established rucks who won't take 4-5 years of development time (and therefore a spot on the list) to get AFL ready.
Their exceptions tend to be rookies like Mike Pyke.

The Swans ability to recycle players successfully has been quite outstanding. Of its current team, Kennedy McGlynn Mumford Richards Shaw and Mattner have been excellent. Compare these with Sherman Djerrkura Moles Austin and Veszpremi makes you realize how inept our recruiting has been.

11-09-2012, 10:27 PM
The Swans ability to recycle players successfully has been quite outstanding. Of its current team, Kennedy McGlynn Mumford Richards Shaw and Mattner have been excellent. Compare these with Sherman Djerrkura Moles Austin and Veszpremi makes you realize how inept our recruiting has been.

Mumford and Shaw were always pretty good. No recycling there.

11-09-2012, 11:21 PM
Mumford and Shaw were always pretty good. No recycling there.

Well Mumford was a pup. Shaw was solid at best............ but what about the rest of the players he mentioned?

You can't dismantle his argument with Mumford and Shaw?

12-09-2012, 12:17 AM
Well Mumford was a pup. Shaw was solid at best............ but what about the rest of the players he mentioned?

You can't dismantle his argument with Mumford and Shaw?

The other players? Agreed. Who else would have taken them? Wasn't trying to dismantle the argument as a whole. Nuggety BP made a good point.

12-09-2012, 12:18 AM
Why?

Because he isn't a good player. A complete downhill skier that won't actually help them win games.

12-09-2012, 12:19 AM
The other players? Agreed. Who else would have taken them? Wasn't trying to dismantle the argument as a whole. Nuggety BP made a good point.

Plenty would have taken Kennedy.

12-09-2012, 12:23 AM
Plenty would have taken Kennedy.

I missed that one in the list. I think he was dead set on Sydney IIRC anyway.

12-09-2012, 12:27 AM
Yeah just making the point that Sydney dont just take on players that have failed at other clubs. They target ones that dont get an opportunity either

12-09-2012, 09:01 AM
Right. Yep good point TD. TD on this note,
Richmond have delisted 7 players with 2 retiring. ( I read ) Browne and Webberley going very well at VFL level but just can't get into the team. What are poster's views of these two?

Browne and Webberley have both been on the Tigers' list for several years but neither could break through this season despite being among the best players for Coburg in the VFL. ( Paraphrase, HUN)

12-09-2012, 09:20 AM
Because he isn't a good player. A complete downhill skier that won't actually help them win games.

He helped Geelong win the 2009 GF.

12-09-2012, 09:23 AM
Right. Yep good point TD. TD on this note,
Richmond have delisted 7 players with 2 retiring. ( I read ) Browne and Webberley going very well at VFL level but just can't get into the team. What are poster's views of these two?

Browne and Webberley have both been on the Tigers' list for several years but neither could break through this season despite being among the best players for Coburg in the VFL. ( Paraphrase, HUN)

Not if they aren't good enough to make it at Richmond.

12-09-2012, 11:54 AM
He helped Geelong win the 2009 GF.
Did he ever. Pity Raph Clarke pulled the best game of his life out of his arse a week earlier because he reverted to type in the 2009 GF and was pantsed by Byrnes.

Byrnes is clearly now behind Stokes and Christensen but he would still be miles ahead of Djerkurra.

12-09-2012, 01:45 PM
Essendon have only offered Gumbleton a one year deal (reportedly).

I think we should entertain the idea of luring him with a two year deal if we believe he is medically OK and he comes relatively cheap.

Given they have only offered him a one year deal, one would think their asking price couldn't be too high. But, it is Essendon..

12-09-2012, 02:21 PM
Essendon have only offered Gumbleton a one year deal (reportedly).

I think we should entertain the idea of luring him with a two year deal if we believe he is medically OK and he comes relatively cheap.

Given they have only offered him a one year deal, one would think their asking price couldn't be too high. But, it is Essendon..

Essendon offer (reportedly) their very talented, yet injury prone KPP a 1 year deal... We sign ours for 3.

Any wonder our list is up shit creek?

12-09-2012, 02:48 PM
Essendon offer (reportedly) their very talented, yet injury prone KPP a 1 year deal... We sign ours for 3.

Yep - the Cordy deal is ridiculous, but I've vented my frustrations on Ayce/that deal enough. ;)

Thoughts on approaching Gumby, Mantis?

12-09-2012, 02:51 PM
Yep - the Cordy deal is ridiculous, but I've vented my frustrations on Ayce/that deal enough. ;)

Thoughts on approaching Gumby, Mantis?
I thought Mantis was referring to Williams.

Tommy has a better injury record than Gumby, but 3 years did raise eyebrows - perhaps we offered less dollars for a longer term?

12-09-2012, 02:54 PM
I thought Mantis was referring to Williams.

Tommy has a better injury record than Gumby, but 3 years did raise eyebrows - perhaps we offered less dollars for a longer term?

Ah, yes. I forgot about that one.

3 years is again silly, but at least Williams can play.

12-09-2012, 03:41 PM

and Will Minson one year:eek:

12-09-2012, 03:45 PM
I know that we have a lot of talls but out of those talls (Minson, Cordy, Campbell, Roughead) do you see a really good ruck man coming from there or should we go for someone from another team.

12-09-2012, 04:17 PM
I know that we have a lot of talls but out of those talls (Minson, Cordy, Campbell, Roughead) do you see a really good ruck man coming from there or should we go for someone from another team.

Roughead was being groomed at the start of the season as the number one support ruckman to Minson but with his move to the backline it would seem that Campbell has taken over that mantle. Campbell has emerged as a ruckman for the future for one so young. His palming is actually better than big Will's but does need more ruck work at senior level and more experience to match some of the better ruckmen in the competition.
I think Cordy is still a fair way off being a senior ruckman.

12-09-2012, 05:10 PM
Roughead was being groomed at the start of the season as the number one support ruckman to Minson but with his move to the backline it would seem that Campbell has taken over that mantle. Campbell has emerged as a ruckman for the future for one so young. His palming is actually better than big Will's but does need more ruck work at senior level and more experience to match some of the better ruckmen in the competition.
I think Cordy is still a fair way off being a senior ruckman.

I suggested in another thread somewhere that Macintosh from North Melbourne could be a good ruck man too look out as he is clearly not North's number one ruck and has potential.

13-09-2012, 09:00 PM
I suggested in another thread somewhere that Macintosh from North Melbourne could be a good ruck man too look out as he is clearly not North's number one ruck and has potential.
I'm pretty sure MacIntosh is in his late 20's, certainly no younger than Will.

13-09-2012, 09:46 PM
I'm pretty sure MacIntosh is in his late 20's, certainly no younger than Will.

He's 28.

14-09-2012, 12:58 PM
North should have traded him when he had currency.

No idea why they kept him when they a) had better rucks, b) had depth in rucks and c) had holes everywhere else.

14-09-2012, 02:17 PM
North should have traded him when he had currency.

No idea why they kept him when they a) had better rucks, b) had depth in rucks and c) had holes everywhere else.

I reckon at that time he would have been a good pick up for us.

14-09-2012, 02:28 PM
I reckon at that time he would have been a good pick up for us.

How far back are you thinking?

Ruck has never really been an area of concern with Huddo & Minson always doing more than holding their own.

14-09-2012, 02:31 PM
How far back are you thinking?

Ruck has never really been an area of concern with Huddo & Minson always doing more than holding their own.

Basically as The Bulldogs Bite said when he had currency because North was pretty good in the ruck and they had other problems in their team at the time.

14-09-2012, 03:02 PM
Basically as The Bulldogs Bite said when he had currency because North was pretty good in the ruck and they had other problems in their team at the time.

So we pay overs for someone who doesn't fill a need on our list back then or get him now when a Ruckman is the last thing we need?

You've lost me.

14-09-2012, 03:22 PM
So we pay overs for someone who doesn't fill a need on our list back then or get him now when a Ruckman is the last thing we need?

You've lost me.

What would you say we need. A Key forward would be up there on the list. Maybe after the season Minson has had he'll be good in the ruck as before this season I wasn't sure how he would go in there as Hudson left.

14-09-2012, 05:14 PM
What would you say we need. A Key forward would be up there on the list. Maybe after the season Minson has had he'll be good in the ruck as before this season I wasn't sure how he would go in there as Hudson left.

Trading is the work of the devil. I'm happy to go to the draft and get the best available kids and not get gap fills at this stage of our list developement. I'd seriously consider going for Hogan in the mini-draft, as a key position prospect.

14-09-2012, 05:17 PM
Trading is the work of the devil. I'm happy to go to the draft and get the best available kids and not get gap fills at this stage of our list developement. I'd seriously consider going for Hogan in the mini-draft, as a key position prospect.

I think that is the best way because trades don't always work out. Going for youth is what we need to do.

14-09-2012, 05:35 PM
I think that is the best way because trades don't always work out. Going for youth is what we need to do.

But on the flip side drafting doesn't always work either.... and our strike rate over recent times is pretty poor.

14-09-2012, 06:13 PM
But on the flip side drafting doesn't always work either.... and our strike rate over recent times is pretty poor.

In the last ten years only 8 teams of a possible 20 spots have made the grand final, so you can say lots of teams have recruited badly.

14-09-2012, 06:17 PM
In the last ten years only 8 teams of a possible 20 spots have made the grand final, so you can say lots of teams have recruited badly.

Hopefully this time round we get the drafting right.

30-09-2012, 06:13 PM
Mark Robinson just tweeted Goddard set to join Essendon on 4 year deal.

Big move by Essendon... Free Agent right? Saints get compo?

30-09-2012, 06:17 PM
I think it's a good move by Essendon to land Goddard. They lack some elite talent, and no doubt Goddard is that when he's in form. I always thought that 2010 Grand Final draw/loss drained him mentally, so this should refresh him.

I know the Dons fell in a hole this year, but I think they can challenge if they all stay fit.

30-09-2012, 06:21 PM
Mark Robinson just tweeted Goddard set to join Essendon on 4 year deal.

Big move by Essendon... Free Agent right? Saints get compo?

Yes and yes

01-10-2012, 02:18 AM
Probably not that bad for Stkilda.
Goddard's sookedaround for 12 months, bemoaning the GF loss.
Heard someone connected to him say Freo offered 5 years on 1.1 a season!!:eek:

01-10-2012, 07:31 AM
If you believe the paper talk Richmond are going hard on free agency players and trading for young talent.

02-10-2012, 12:49 AM
What happened to Goddard's "Saint for life" quote.
Big write up in the Hun earlier this season.

02-10-2012, 01:00 AM
What happened to Goddard's "Saint for life" quote.
Big write up in the Hun earlier this season.

I kind of get the impression the Saints have been a little "strategic" in offering Goddard terms he wouldn't agree to.

The club has gone down the path of "team first" policy, only offering him 3 years when it is painfully obvious he's worth four to other clubs and most probably themselves if he was viewed as absolutely required.

It's an early admission of where they see their list and prospects heading in the coming years, and probably a bit of an indication of how they view Goddard as a person. As he's a good player they had to spin the PR in the way they have to appease members and sponsors who think he's a required player.

02-10-2012, 01:26 AM
Carlton making a play for Kurt Tippett & would be prepared to let Bryce Gibbs & another player go in return.

Farren Ray may be a Demon next week.

02-10-2012, 01:30 AM
Carlton making a play for Kurt Tippett & would be prepared to let Bryce Gibbs & another player go in return.

Farren Ray may be a Demon next week.

The Blues with Tippett would be a lot stronger as long as Waite could stay on the park.

Having to give up Gibbs would be a big price to pay. Whilst he's not hit his straps completely I think he's only one more preseason away from making a significant impact as a utility.

02-10-2012, 08:13 AM
I think Essendon will improve next year regardless but I am not sure they have done the right thing with Goddard. He is simply not worth the rumoured contract he was offered. I have never thought he was even close to being as good as what some do. He is a good player with good skills but not elite in any position.

Any team that adds him is going to be better for it initially but it will impact their list managment down the track especially after paying overs for Hurley. Credit for being aggressive but at what cost?

02-10-2012, 09:00 AM
The Blues with Tippett would be a lot stronger as long as Waite could stay on the park.

Having to give up Gibbs would be a big price to pay. Whilst he's not hit his straps completely I think he's only one more preseason away from making a significant impact as a utility.

Gibbs seems to always be one season away from making a significant impact. He's been good but never had the elite impact he was expected to. If I was Carlton, I'd take the chance. It'd be a risk but one with a huge potential upside.

02-10-2012, 09:09 AM
Tippett is knocking back a more lucrative offer from the Crows to return home. Why would he end up in Victoria?

If the Crows don't trade him to Brisbane/GC he'll just go into the PSD and end up at GC. He wants to go home, not earn more money.

02-10-2012, 09:12 AM
Tippett is knocking back a more lucrative offer from the Crows to return home. Why would he end up in Victoria?

If the Crows don't trade him to Brisbane/GC he'll just go into the PSD and end up at GC.

It's looking like it may be more about the money than the location. His manager came out yesterday and mentioned Sydney as a possible landing spot so if that's the case Victorian clubs would be in play. Given where he's at with the concussions, he may have changed his outlook and be looking to cash in now.

02-10-2012, 09:13 AM

If the Crows don't trade him to Brisbane/GC he'll just go into the PSD and end up at GC. He wants to go home, not earn more money.

There were rumors floating around he was contemplating not playing at all due to the multiple concussions he received this season.

02-10-2012, 10:08 AM

He's being linked to Collingwood on a big money offer.

02-10-2012, 10:29 AM

Surely Collingwood would be close to their Salary cap limit?

Or do they have a bottomless pit?

02-10-2012, 10:38 AM

Depends. Do you mean officially or unofficially?

02-10-2012, 10:38 AM

According to the Hun "The Magpies are expected to find $1.15 million of salary cap relief - of which at least $800,000 would be needed for Tippett - by trading key forward Chris Dawes and midfielder Sharrod Wellingham and listing four veterans next season."

02-10-2012, 10:41 AM
This surprised me again in the Hun "The Crows have again confirmed Tippett has no "exit clause" in his contract setting his price at a second-round draft pick."

A bargain I would think.

02-10-2012, 10:47 AM

It seems to be never ending.

The story I read said they expect have $1.15 milion free if they lose Wellingham, trade Dawes, and put 4 players on the veterans list.

If they get Tippet at $800-900K a year that would mean in the last 2 years they'd have signed Tippet, Swan, Thomas, Pendlebury, and Cloke all on somewhere near $800K. That's $4 milion on just 5 players, plus they've resigned Beams and recruited Jolly on big money recently too.

02-10-2012, 11:07 AM
It seems to be never ending.

The story I read said they expect have $1.15 milion free if they lose Wellingham, trade Dawes, and put 4 players on the veterans list.

If they get Tippet at $800-900K a year that would mean in the last 2 years they'd have signed Tippet, Swan, Thomas, Pendlebury, and Cloke all on somewhere near $800K. That's $4 milion on just 5 players, plus they've resigned Beams and recruited Jolly on big money recently too.

Surely you are not suggesting that Collingwood are somehow evading the salary cap?

02-10-2012, 11:20 AM
Surely you are not suggesting that Collingwood are somehow evading the salary cap?

I wouldn't dare, merely pointing out they must have about 25 players earning the league minimum.

Free agency could be an intersting proposition for Collingwood, in particular restricted free agency. If Collingwood can't beat the formal offer from opposition clubs (all of which is applied to the salary cap) for their players, or can't offer over and above what a restricted free agent gets offered from their current club, then they are going to struggle. Offering 3rd party deals won't be an option.

I can see Collingwood chasing mostly senior out of contract players who aren't yet restricted free agents, like Tippet, it's the only way to dodge the transparency free agency creates.

02-10-2012, 11:23 AM
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/148962/default.aspx

makes it hard for the lesser clubs like us to compete. Smells like the Judd scenario all over again.

02-10-2012, 12:47 PM

But doesn't he already have a big money offer from the Crows sitting on the table. If it's all about money then he will stay where he is.

And there's no way to Pies could offer him more than them after wrapping up Cloke.

02-10-2012, 12:51 PM
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/148962/default.aspx

makes it hard for the lesser clubs like us to compete. Smells like the Judd scenario all over again.

Except that in this instance StKilda would only have to match the amount paid inside the salary cap to a restricted Free Agent. They wouldn't have to match any Judd style 3rd party deal in addition to that.

Unrestricted FAs would be a different story.

02-10-2012, 12:56 PM
But doesn't he already have a big money offer from the Crows sitting on the table. If it's all about money then he will stay where he is.

And there's no way to Pies could offer him more than them after wrapping up Cloke.

Chef it appears you and I have been taken for a ride. Tippett has quit the crows.

I also didn't think it was to do with money, but apparently it is.

02-10-2012, 12:59 PM
Sry Westdog, what I was po'd about was more the fact that high profile businessmen from the bigger clubs somehow are able to sweeten the deal outside the salary cap.

02-10-2012, 01:02 PM
Chef it appears you and I have been taken for a ride. Tippett has quit the crows.

I also didn't think it was to do with money, but apparently it is.

If it's all about money surely we'd be having a go at him too. As we'd have more space than most.

02-10-2012, 01:10 PM
Sry Westdog, what I was po'd about was more the fact that high profile businessmen from the bigger clubs somehow are able to sweeten the deal outside the salary cap.

Only to an unrestricted free agent.

02-10-2012, 01:30 PM
If it's all about money surely we'd be having a go at him too. As we'd have more space than most.

No, we don't believe in trading. We do it through drafting young fellas.

That's why we are so successful

02-10-2012, 01:45 PM
No, we don't believe in trading. We do it through drafting young fellas.

That's why we are so successful
Our trading record in the past few years includes such luminaries as Moles, DJ, Street, Baird, Rawlings, Sherman etc

I'm glad we're not trying to trade to fill gaps on the list.

02-10-2012, 02:39 PM
Crows fans will be thrilled regarding Tippett!

02-10-2012, 03:06 PM
Q Lynch has signed with Collingwood, let's see if that puts a dent in their never ending salary cap.

02-10-2012, 03:08 PM
Q Lynch has signed with Collingwood, let's see if that puts a dent in their never ending salary cap.

Can't see them going after Tippett now.

02-10-2012, 03:08 PM
It seems most likley Dawes will be forced out at Collingwood, I really hope we don't look at him. As a number one key forward target he would be horrendous.

02-10-2012, 03:10 PM
Can't see them going after Tippett now.

They still have a place for him in front of Dawes, Lynch will play the Leigh Brown 2nd ruck/forward role.

02-10-2012, 03:45 PM
It seems most likley Dawes will be forced out at Collingwood, I really hope we don't look at him. As a number one key forward target he would be horrendous.

Agree, this year has really highlighted he isn't up to being the number one target. He may be big bodied and tall but doesn't crash packs or influence the contest nearly enough.

Having said that, he may eventually get to that level, ala Tom Hawkins.

02-10-2012, 03:52 PM
Our trading record in the past few years includes such luminaries as Moles, DJ, Street, Baird, Rawlings, Sherman etc

I'm glad we're not trying to trade to fill gaps on the list.

It's not the principle of trading that is wrong here, it is the selctions made at the trade table. I can offer you a like number of failures at the draft. .

My concern is the club coming out with a statement that we will not trade and rely on the draft which flies in the face of the success of Sydney and Hawthorn who had 20% of their players on Saturday sourced through trading.

The commentators are falling over themselves with Sydney's long term success in participating in finals. They just happen to be the most prolific player at the trade table over the same period.

And you're glad we're not trying to trade?

Clearly, success comes with a mix of all opportunities including draft, trade and whatever means are available and not turning a blind eye to any avenue.

02-10-2012, 05:39 PM
Hawthorn only started trading when they were in flag winning mode.
In 04 05 they traded out guys like Hay and Thompson.Geelong did the same thing, with bringing in Ottens.

02-10-2012, 05:59 PM
It's not the principle of trading that is wrong here, it is the selctions made at the trade table. I can offer you a like number of failures at the draft. .

My concern is the club coming out with a statement that we will not trade and rely on the draft which flies in the face of the success of Sydney and Hawthorn who had 20% of their players on Saturday sourced through trading.
The core group of both sides is drafted though, with only a few gaps that are filled by trading - and they tend to be lower cost "moneyball" type trades.

We aren't in that stage of our development - we are building a new core group of players. Looking at young low cost options like Toy I can live with (although I remain unconvinced), but chasing a big fish and competing on pure dollar terms is not right for us at present.

02-10-2012, 06:16 PM

That was the idea with Mitch Clark as well. It does sound like he wants to head back home but it doesn't always work out that way.

02-10-2012, 06:24 PM
That was the idea with Mitch Clark as well. It does sound like he wants to head back home but it doesn't always work out that way.

With GC having pick 2 he should be able to get there, I don't think Freo had the option of the PSD as other clubs interested had picks before them.

I guess it all comes down to whether GWS are interested or not.

02-10-2012, 06:54 PM
Just heard something at the end of TEN sport bulletin, linking Lake with Hawthorn? WhWhWhaaaat?

02-10-2012, 07:01 PM
Yes I heard it as well, only deal Buddy fir Brian !

02-10-2012, 07:12 PM
JMac has already said he's required so I wouldn't worry.

02-10-2012, 07:32 PM
JMac has already said he's required so I wouldn't worry.

Yeah im positive the same rumours came up last year if not the year before also.

02-10-2012, 07:48 PM
Yeah im positive the same rumours came up last year if not the year before also.

They did Alexxx, on another thread there is also the debate going on we should trade V shouldn't trade.

It all started again because Denham wrote an article in the Australian a few days back.

02-10-2012, 09:55 PM
The core group of both sides is drafted though, with only a few gaps that are filled by trading - and they tend to be lower cost "moneyball" type trades.

We aren't in that stage of our development - we are building a new core group of players. Looking at young low cost options like Toy I can live with (although I remain unconvinced), but chasing a big fish and competing on pure dollar terms is not right for us at present.

But it has never been right for us has it? on the contrary we trade out all our big fish rather than lure them. Even though some of them didn't want to stay we still traded Templeton, Dempsey, Round and Quinlan, shite, we even traded Hawkins in the end.

I wish a big fish would come to our club:mad:

02-10-2012, 09:58 PM
But it has never been right for us has it? on the contrary we trade out all our big fish rather than lure them. Even though some of them didn't want to stay we still traded Templeton, Dempsey, Round and Quinlan, shite, we even traded Hawkins in the end.

How can you compare 20 years ago to today?

For what is worth didn't we delist the Hawk and he was drafted by Fitzroy?

02-10-2012, 11:08 PM

Akermanis and Hall. Pretty big fish who CHOSE the dogs.

It's something.........

02-10-2012, 11:27 PM

It's something.........

Neither had many other options though

03-10-2012, 12:38 AM

Hall chose the Dogs the year previous, when he did have options, only to have Roos stop the deal.

03-10-2012, 12:52 AM
Hall chose the Dogs the year previous, when he did have options, only to have Roos stop the deal.

That is indeed true

03-10-2012, 12:54 AM
Does having a gun pointed at your head count
One Jade Rawlings

03-10-2012, 06:29 AM
Does having a gun pointed at your head count
One Jade Rawlings

One would have to question a players head space if he was somewhere he didn't want to be. Sure they would play football but is their heart in it.

I would never bother with a player if he stated he didn't want to be at your club, I would focus our energy on some one who did.

03-10-2012, 08:03 AM

Carlton were also after Hall and Essendon were after Aker.

03-10-2012, 02:15 PM

Yes, the story goes that Sheedy asked Aker why he'd want to join that "shit club", referring to us.

03-10-2012, 09:51 PM
How can you compare 20 years ago to today?

For what is worth didn't we delist the Hawk and he was drafted by Fitzroy?

Oh I'm not really comparing I'm just noting a historical trajectory from my point of view. I was a young broken hearted kid when these guys left. Just feels like no one of the Dempsey, Quinlan calibre have ever come to our club just prior to them coming into their prime. Other clubs always seem to do better from our outs. (other than perhaps Richmond with Judas et al).:D Yes we delisted Hawk, even worse IMO, shameful really.

It's something.........

Both at the very ends of their careers, Hall was good for us no doubt and Aker was serviceable but it was really a short term leg up. It's different.

03-10-2012, 10:00 PM

Carlton were after Hall but they opted out after they were advised against it by Stone. It was a one horse race when it came time for Hall to chose allegiances. Hall was left with one option, probably his preferred considering Eade was at the club.

04-10-2012, 12:04 AM
Carlton were after Hall but they opted out after they were advised against it by Stone. It was a one horse race when it came time for Hall to chose allegiances. Hall was left with one option, probably his preferred considering Eade was at the club.

He was also a Footscray supporter growing up.

04-10-2012, 08:57 AM
Yes, the story goes that Sheedy asked Aker why he'd want to join that "shit club", referring to us.

Words can't express my hatred of Sheedy.

04-10-2012, 10:50 AM

There would be times when it is right for us - I just don't believe that time is now.

04-10-2012, 04:21 PM

Sheedy then probably blamed the umpires for Akermanis knocking back Essendon.

04-10-2012, 05:14 PM

It's something.........

Pretty big fish who were at the tail end of their careers and who both came with significant risks attached.
When is the last time we've attracted a big name to our club who is under 30 or hasn't come with a sizeable risk attached? When have we ever?
We are delusional if we think we are a chance to snare a big name.
Best we can hope for is a yet to prove himself youngster, fringe, role or fading veteran type

04-10-2012, 06:22 PM
Pretty big fish who were at the tail end of their careers and who both came with significant risks attached.
When is the last time we've attracted a big name to our club who is under 30 or hasn't come with a sizeable risk attached? When have we ever?
Best we can hope for is a yet to prove himself youngster, fringe, role or fading veteran type

When was the last time we were after one of these types, especially since Jade Rawlings scared us off that kind of quick fix?
For all their brovado and money who have Collingwood lured away in the modern era?
A very good but aging Ruckman and a slow mid on one leg, not exactly Buddy or Jono Brown. Yes they were both good players but Ball was on the fringes of St Kilda and Jolly was a star but only had a couple of years left in him as we are seeing now. How is that any different to what we normally get?

04-10-2012, 06:29 PM

You have a serious inferiority complex YHF. So much negativity in your posts of late.

04-10-2012, 06:44 PM
You have a serious inferiority complex YHF. So much negativity in your posts of late.

Not inferiority nor negativity, reality.
Just because I am not asking if we are a chance to land Tippett, or if we are going to go hard for Caddy or as per some earlier in the year, should we throw the bank at Cloke does not make me negative.

I am just acknowledging the reality, that we are for whatever reason not seen as a destination of choice for high profile players seeking to find a new club.
I don't like it one little bit mind you. It makes me sick to the stomach that even during our recent successful times that we are never seriously in the hunt for a marquee player. And that the only way in recent times we were able to secure someone of relative profile was due to skullduggery and manipulation - when we landed Rawlings.

It makes me frustrated that a Mitch Clark would choose a Melbourne over us, or that whenever a decent player in his prime is looking for a new club, we are NEVER that player's club of choice.

I tell you what though it is getting a little worrying that if anything but the peachy keen positivity view point is presented here, people get shot down and personally accused of having an inferiority complex.

04-10-2012, 07:01 PM
When was the last time we were after one of these types, especially since Jade Rawlings scared us off that kind of quick fix?
For all their brovado and money who have Collingwood lured away in the modern era?
A very good but aging Ruckman and a slow mid on one leg, not exactly Buddy or Jono Brown. Yes they were both good players but Ball was on the fringes of St Kilda and Jolly was a star but only had a couple of years left in him as we are seeing now. How is that any different to what we normally get?

Jade Rawlings only serves to highlight my point. We were so desperate to land a big fish, that we had to resort to subterfuge to get one, because he didn't want to come willingly.

Have a look at any of the middle to top tier trades of the last decade, and ask yourself, who of them would we have like to have been able to attract and who would we have had any hope of attracting.

Forgetting the Chris Judd scenario which was unique, but of some others: Burgoyne would've been handy when he was leaving Port? Jeff White might've been handy when he left Freo? Brad Ottens might've been a decent acquisition? Mitch Clark?

Even if we were interested in any of these, we were no chance. Collingwood, if they were interested they could go after and get these types.

I'm not bemoaning it, I'm just acknowledging that this is the case.

04-10-2012, 07:23 PM
Not inferiority nor negativity, reality.
Just because I am not asking if we are a chance to land Tippett, or if we are going to go hard for Caddy or as per some earlier in the year, should we throw the bank at Cloke does not make me negative.

I am just acknowledging the reality, that we are for whatever reason not seen as a destination of choice for high profile players seeking to find a new club.
I don't like it one little bit mind you. It makes me sick to the stomach that even during our recent successful times that we are never seriously in the hunt for a marquee player. And that the only way in recent times we were able to secure someone of relative profile was due to skullduggery and manipulation - when we landed Rawlings.

It makes me frustrated that a Mitch Clark would choose a Melbourne over us, or that whenever a decent player in his prime is looking for a new club, we are NEVER that player's club of choice.

I tell you what though it is getting a little worrying that if anything but the peachy keen positivity view point is presented here, people get shot down and personally accused of having an inferiority complex.

Too much listening to Elliot Smith methinks. I can't think of any reason to personally insult you but if my opinion has indeed done that I apologise.

On the flip side of your argument re being peachy keen all the time, being constantly down and pessimisticaly realistic is definitely not a path to future success.

04-10-2012, 07:44 PM
Too much listening to Elliot Smith methinks. I can't think of any reason to personally insult you but if my opinion has indeed done that I apologise.

On the flip side of your argument re being peachy keen all the time, being constantly down and pessimisticaly realistic is definitely not a path to future success.

You accused me of having an inferiority complex. I think that qualifies as an insult.
Over the long journey of this website, I think the scales would have me balanced in expressing my optimism/pessimism.

I have seen many reasons this year to be pessimistic. I think I have however been balanced in my criticism.

'Toomuch listening to Elliott Smith', how very condescending. I have no problem with someone expressing a different view point to mine , I think your glib little comment here is pretty pissy.

04-10-2012, 08:02 PM
It's much like the Adelaide clubs have to accept that most people not from Adelaide don't particularly like Adelaide. They get offended when you say it but the have to realize it's reality.

We have to accept most wouldn't want to come to us if they had a choice.

Even a spud like Ben Holland refused to come (that was a good thing)

04-10-2012, 08:08 PM
You accused me of having an inferiority complex. I think that qualifies as an insult.
Over the long journey of this website, I think the scales would have me balanced in expressing my optimism/pessimism.

I have seen many reasons this year to be pessimistic. I think I have however been balanced in my criticism.

'Toomuch listening to Elliott Smith', how very condescending. I have no problem with someone expressing a different view point to mine , I think your glib little comment here is pretty pissy.

I guess that means apology not accepted then.......oh well.

04-10-2012, 08:14 PM
I guess that means apology not accepted then.......oh well.

When you start an apology by attacking someone it's not really an apology

04-10-2012, 10:01 PM
I think everyone is getting all heated up over this years draft/trade period.
We've got picks 5 and 6. which is saliva inducing.
We've hit pretty much rock bottom on field.
One of the picks is the 'Callan Ward' pick which still stings so we HAVE to make that pick work.

Throw in the Mini Draft which is just another level of intrigue and Free agency to boot.

We're all wondering if GC will bid for Viney.

It's just TOO MUCH and we're all freaking out.

It's so exciting but I can't wait 'til it's over.

05-10-2012, 04:28 AM
We've hit pretty much rock bottom on field.

Not yet. Wait till next year when we are bottom 2.

05-10-2012, 09:16 AM
Not yet. Wait till next year when we are bottom 2.

Neither GWS or GC with a crap coach will move out of bottom 2 and Port are just a rabble and have lost 3 first 22 players with Rodan likely to leave too

05-10-2012, 09:20 AM
Neither GWS or GC with a crap coach will move out of bottom 2 and Port are just a rabble and have lost 3 first 22 players with Rodan likely to leave too

You are banking on wins against those 3? I say if we continue the form we were in the last 6/7 weeks, all of those 3 will beat us.

05-10-2012, 09:24 AM
Im going to talk Trades for a minute if thats ok..

Heard big Ham Mcintosh wants to goto Geelong. I think he would be a good pickup with the Vardy/Stephenson combo.

What do you think is a fair deal? I dont think Geelong should give up their first pick (15) - so I would say their second round pick 36, which would leave North with 14,35,36,54

05-10-2012, 09:28 AM
Im going to talk Trades for a minute if thats ok..

Heard big Ham Mcintosh wants to goto Geelong. I think he would be a good pickup with the Vardy/Stephenson combo.

What do you think is a fair deal? I dont think Geelong should give up their first pick (15) - so I would say their second round pick 36, which would leave North with 14,35,36,54

Why would keep Stephenson? West and Vardy with Mcintosh.

05-10-2012, 10:04 AM
You are banking on wins against those 3? I say if we continue the form we were in the last 6/7 weeks, all of those 3 will beat us.

I am. We were very tired in the last half of the season. If we play those sides + Melbourne in the first 10-12 weeks we will come in the same position.

05-10-2012, 10:17 AM
When you start an apology by attacking someone it's not really an apology
Alan Jones?

05-10-2012, 10:22 AM
Why would keep Stephenson? West and Vardy with Mcintosh.

Ah yes, I forgot about West. Good point. Orren can play VFL unless an injury takes place.

Sydney tabled a $1mil per season offer for Tippett. Majorly over the odds imo. He's not in the top 20 players in the league, taking that offer would put him in the top 5 highest paid.

05-10-2012, 10:42 AM
Ah yes, I forgot about West. Good point. Orren can play VFL unless an injury takes place.

Sydney tabled a $1mil per season offer for Tippett. Majorly over the odds imo. He's not in the top 20 players in the league, taking that offer would put him in the top 5 highest paid.
Doesn't seem to match the Sydney 'method'. Obviously they are finding it much harder to identify anyone who can fill a hole in their forward line (as serviceable as LRT was this year, you wouldn't want to be reliant on him).

05-10-2012, 12:08 PM
Carlton have been inquiring about Tory Dickson apparently. Good luck with that Malthouse. :)

05-10-2012, 12:22 PM
Jesse White wants to leave the Swans

05-10-2012, 12:27 PM
Jesse White wants to leave the Swans

What is it they say at the Swans:

"Jude Bolton - plays like Tarzan, looks like Jane.
Jesse White - plays like Jane, looks like Jane."

05-10-2012, 12:48 PM
Carlton have been inquiring about Tory Dickson apparently. Good luck with that Malthouse. :)

Im not sure what game it was but Mick was very impressed with Dickson when working with 7.

05-10-2012, 02:23 PM
Tory Dickson to go to Carlton!! Malthouse can gtfo! I would crack it if we lost Tory after being soo promising for us this season :(

05-10-2012, 02:24 PM
Tory Dickson to go to Carlton!! Malthouse can gtfo! I would crack it if we lost Tory after being soo promising for us this season :(

We won't lose him.

05-10-2012, 02:59 PM
Some misinformation floating around in the media and interwebs about Father/Son bidding.

Today clubs nominate the players they would consider taking as father/son draftees. Monday 10:00am a meeting is held where clubs bid for the nominees and the process is finalised at that meeting. We have to wait the weekend before we know Hunter's fate and Viney's as well.

05-10-2012, 04:15 PM

He just signed an extension. He's not going anywhere.

05-10-2012, 05:52 PM
Nathan Eagleton, Jose Romero and Paul Hudson were all fairly handy players and they all expressed a desire to come and play for the bulldogs. Even Ben Hudson was an established player who had no qualms coming to Whitten Oval. Outside of 3 or maybe 4 clubs I reckon we're no less a desirable location for potential recruits from other clubs.

Maybe right here and now we have a bad name due to ladder position and outside perception of how the club is run/footy and management ineptitude. But these things are cyclical and we will become a more attractive location for out of contract players looking to move.

Remember this is the first time (outside of the ten year rule in the '70s and we got a premiership player from another club then) that players have had the freedom to move easily and we are at a really low ebb. If this freedom was granted just 4 years ago players would have wanted to move to us in order to be coached by Eade, because we were fairly stable off field under Rose and we there was a chance to play finals.

Lastly every club pretty much has the same amount of money to spend in wages under the salary cap. We have the same buying power as every other club, because we all pay the same money.

The wheel will turn and things will change.

05-10-2012, 06:02 PM
Nathan Eagleton, Jose Romero and Paul Hudson were all fairly handy players and they all expressed a desire to come and play for the bulldogs. Even Ben Hudson was an established player who had no qualms coming to Whitten Oval. Outside of 3 or maybe 4 clubs I reckon we're no less a desirable location for potential recruits from other clubs.

Maybe right here and now we have a bad name due to ladder position and outside perception of how the club is run/footy and management ineptitude. But these things are cyclical and we will become a more attractive location for out of contract players looking to move.

Remember this is the first time (outside of the ten year rule in the '70s and we got a premiership player from another club then) that players have had the freedom to move easily and we are at a really low ebb. If this freedom was granted just 4 years ago players would have wanted to move to us in order to be coached by Eade, because we were fairly stable off field under Rose and we there was a chance to play finals.

Lastly every club pretty much has the same amount of money to spend in wages under the salary cap. We have the same buying power as every other club, because we all pay the same money.

I do agree with parts of your summation TD although where it may be cyclical for Clubs like ours maybe not so much for the stronger Clubs.

Where I do differ in particular is on the bolded point, that is, theoretically this may be true but the reality is so much different. For example, if the reports are accurate, David Evans may well now have stepped into being Essendon's version of Dick Pratt at Carlton and a lure too great for Goddard to swim away from. Big backers will continue to influence the equality of the game beyond the artificial boundaries of an AFL endorsed TPP. Unfortunately for us we are short on for influencial individuals with deep pockets ready to splurge in a way big enough to significantly influence our on-field outcomes.

05-10-2012, 11:36 PM

Eagleton had just collapsed with a heart issue, Romero was playing reserves and Hudson had just lost his spot to James Morrissey! None of them were top 15 players at their clubs at the time.

Gags was about 100 years old by the time he got to us, what did he play, 2 years? And he wasn't a patch on George Bissett anyway.

06-10-2012, 12:26 PM
Kurt Tippett choo-choo chooses the Swans according to this

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/149269/default.aspx

06-10-2012, 04:15 PM
Kurt Tippett choo-choo chooses the Swans according to this

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/149269/default.aspx

nice Simpsons reference. One of my favourite episodes.

Kurt was born in Sydney, so he is still going home......

07-10-2012, 04:07 PM
This whole 900 thousand extra is total rubbish
If it comes under the "cost of living " then Adelaide and Brissie would have a smaller cap.
It should come under the "we always won't Sydney strong" banner.

07-10-2012, 04:10 PM
If Melbourne are prepared to give up Pick 13 for Dawes, they should fold.

07-10-2012, 04:15 PM
If Melbourne are prepared to give up Pick 13 for Dawes, they should fold.

As mentioned in another thread, Collingwood want pick 4 in exchange for Dawes and Wellingham

07-10-2012, 04:30 PM
As mentioned in another thread, Collingwood want pick 4 in exchange for Dawes and Wellingham
Surely Melbourne wouldn't want Wellingham when he's already announced that he wants to go home? Surely he'll just go home again after this contract?

Doesn't make sense to me...

07-10-2012, 04:31 PM

Wellingham won't goto Melbourne.

There's suggestion 13 could be on the table for Dawes, especially if they aren't forced to use #3 on Viney.

07-10-2012, 04:58 PM
This whole 900 thousand extra is total rubbish
If it comes under the "cost of living " then Adelaide and Brissie would have a smaller cap.
It should come under the "we always won't Sydney strong" banner.

Not sure how the cost of living in Sydney effects guys who earn a six figure salary. People who earn the national average sure but Kurt Tippett earning $800,000 ain't going to notice the cost of living one bit.

07-10-2012, 05:15 PM
Is he free agency?

If we were to pick him up and lose Minson, the AFL will call it all square and we wouldn't get any compo for Minson.

Speaking of compensation, can St.Kilda use there Goddard compensation this draft (2012) or does it have to be 2013? I have read conflicting sources, but now can't find either.

07-10-2012, 05:15 PM

There's suggestion 13 could be on the table for Dawes, especially if they aren't forced to use #3 on Viney.

Last I heard Wellingham chose West Coast after not wanting to goto Melbourne...must of changed again?

Collingwood generally get the better end of the deal during trade week..but should not receive anything higher than Melbourne's Pick 26 for him. Even thats generous.

On the Tippett stakes, what can Sydney offer Adelaide, pick 22 aint gunna do it, maybe they should throw Everitt in as a sweetener?

07-10-2012, 06:05 PM
Could The Crows do what port did with Nick Stevens?
Sticking it to a top 4 competitor and forcing him to GC?
Imagine on here if Fantasia drew up a contract that Tippet had!
Interesting times

07-10-2012, 06:41 PM
Speaking of compensation, can St.Kilda use there Goddard compensation this draft (2012) or does it have to be 2013? I have read conflicting sources, but now can't find either.

Any free agency compensation must be used in the year it is granted. So the compensation pick for Goddard must be used or traded and then used this draft.

07-10-2012, 07:00 PM
Any free agency compensation must be used in the year it is granted. So the compensation pick for Goddard must be used or traded and then used this draft.

Thanks LongWait but as alluded to earlier it can be "watered down" if you in turn sign up a free agent.

07-10-2012, 07:02 PM

Last I heard Wellingham chose West Coast after not wanting to goto Melbourne...must of changed again?

Huh? You have said what bulldogs bit has said, so nothing has changed.

07-10-2012, 07:09 PM

Collingwood generally get the better end of the deal during trade week..but should not receive anything higher than Melbourne's Pick 26 for him. Even thats generous.

On the Tippett stakes, what can Sydney offer Adelaide, pick 22 aint gunna do it, maybe they should throw Everitt in as a sweetener?

Not sure how Everitt could be a sweetener. He is more in the category of lemon.

07-10-2012, 07:13 PM
Not sure how Everitt could be a sweetener. He is more in the category of lemon.

Pretty sure alexxx meant it in jest.

07-10-2012, 07:40 PM
Just saw on my local news that the dogs have offered collingwood their 2nd round pick for Dawes.

I hope not.

07-10-2012, 07:52 PM
Huh? You have said what bulldogs bit has said, so nothing has changed.

Woops, I quoted the wrong person, was meant to quote who he quoted ;)

Pretty sure alexxx meant it in jest.

Correct.

07-10-2012, 07:54 PM
Just saw on my local news that the dogs have offered collingwood their 2nd round pick for Dawes.

I hope not.

Which would be pick 27. Also hope not. We haven't got a very good 2nd-club-forward recruit track record.

Edit: sorry for double post

07-10-2012, 08:42 PM

I hope not.

Please no. If we don't get Martin & end up with Dawes I will need therapy.

07-10-2012, 08:57 PM
Why would you keep Panos and trade in Dawes?

07-10-2012, 09:03 PM
"You are never truly washed up as a footballer until you have been recruited by Footscray to play FF" - SS Snr circa 1998!

07-10-2012, 09:15 PM
"You are never truly washed up as a footballer until you have been recruited by Footscray to play FF" - SS Snr circa 1998!

Alan Jackovich, Kingsley Hunter, Simon Minton-Connell, Aaron James, James Cook. Straight off the top of my head and there is a lot more.

07-10-2012, 09:16 PM
Why do most people on here dislike Dawes?

07-10-2012, 09:56 PM

Because he isn't very good. Automatically Collingwood players are overated. He struggled with a better side with better delivery and a better midfield.
He'll get the best backman in our side.

07-10-2012, 10:06 PM
That might be the whole point. Let's Jones etc get a weaker opponent. Trade season is full of crazy rumors anyway so who knows.

07-10-2012, 11:39 PM

I find this strange also..

I think people just heard all the flack he was copping this year (which he deserved) and have completely wrote him off.

Dawes was sensational last year. This year he lacked confidence, however a new start could be just what he needs.

Great tank, can play the second ruck role and has proven he is a very handy forward when on song.

Anyone comparing him to Panos needs to seriously wake up.

I would be happy to pick him up for the right price.

07-10-2012, 11:52 PM
Sensational? Really?? Not just pretty good?

08-10-2012, 01:00 AM
That might be the whole point. Let's Jones etc get a weaker opponent. Trade season is full of crazy rumors anyway so who knows.

Couldn't we get a similar forward from the state leagues without giving up our 2nd round pick if it's just to protect Jones?

08-10-2012, 07:58 AM
Couldn't we get a similar forward from the state leagues without giving up our 2nd round pick if it's just to protect Jones?

In your scenario Jones most likely would still get the number one key defender.

08-10-2012, 09:24 AM

Swans maybe looking at off loading Jesse White to make room for Tippett in it's cap. Is he worth a look 197cm and 107 kg. Could he be a better and cheaper prospect than Dawes and he the same age I think.

08-10-2012, 09:28 AM
Swans maybe looking at off loading Jesse White to make room for Tippett in it's cap. Is he worth a look 197cm and 107 kg. Could he be a better and cheaper prospect than Dawes and he the same age I think.

Jones, Cordy, Minson, Roughead and White. How do you envisage we can play them all in the same side?

08-10-2012, 09:33 AM
Jones, Cordy, Minson, Roughead and White. How do you envisage we can play them all in the same side?

I suppose you can't but were do people place Dawes. BTW I'm not interested in Dawes or recruiting another tall option from another club. White is listed as a forward that has had to include ruck duties in his role at the Swans.

08-10-2012, 09:46 AM

Prefer Dawes, he is a proven player.

08-10-2012, 02:40 PM
Lets get a small for a tall.. We have enough talls and looks like we are going with Cordy at FF and Jones at HF.. If we are to get another Tall I would go Dawes as he would most likely get the no.1 defender and give Jones/ Cordy a bit less attention. Also think Dawes will actually lift if given the n0.1 forward role, alot like Minson when he was given the no.1 Ruck duties :)

08-10-2012, 03:00 PM
Lachie Hanson contract talks have stalled. He was good in the second half of this year - AFL website stating he is at least "available".

Any idea what he's worth?

08-10-2012, 07:33 PM
Lachie Hanson contract talks have stalled. He was good in the second half of this year - AFL website stating he is at least "available".

Any idea what he's worth?

To us pick 21. To others a 3rd rounder.

08-10-2012, 08:14 PM
To us pick 21. To others a 3rd rounder.

He was actually ok of North in the back half of the year nut I have no interest - I have far more belief in Jones Grant Cordy etc

If we desperately need a whipping boy then lets do it

08-10-2012, 11:25 PM
I would love to see us hitch our wagons to the Tippett/Crows trade as a beneficiary 3rd wheel. The deal won't get done on Sydney's pick 22 alone so hopefully we can involve ourselves to improve our draft position and/or player list.

08-10-2012, 11:32 PM
I would love to see us hitch our wagons to the Tippett/Crows trade as a beneficiary 3rd wheel. The deal won't get done on Sydney's pick 22 alone so hopefully we can involve ourselves to improve our draft position and/or player list.

Any options or scenarios that appeal to you Sedat?

08-10-2012, 11:58 PM
Any options or scenarios that appeal to you Sedat?
Hanneberry is a pipe dream but I'm a big fan of both Nick Smith and Alex Johnson and would gladly part with pick 21 for either - Nick Smith probably the more realistic of the two. Offer them contracts in excess of what they are getting at Sydney to try and lure one of them back home long-term.

I'd take Spangher off their hands as well :D

09-10-2012, 12:26 AM

Hmmm, must have been post Jackovich, Cook, Minton-Connell era.

09-10-2012, 12:31 AM
Can someone please explain the deal that St Kilda have done with GWS?

Saints have parted ways with pick 12 to GWS in exchange for draft picks and Tom Lee, a tall forward playing for Claremont, is he even on GWS's list?

Me confused.. GWS seem to be getting first round draft picks falling from the sky and landing at the club.

09-10-2012, 12:39 AM

Saints have parted ways with pick 12 to GWS in exchange for draft picks and Tom Lee, a tall forward playing for Claremont, is he even on GWS's list?

Me confused.. GWS seem to be getting first round draft picks falling from the sky and landing at the club.

From the AFL site not that it makes any sense.
The Giants had the rights to Lee as he had spent a year on an AFL list when he was drafted to Adelaide in 2008.

Lee, who stands at 195cm and weighs 94 kilograms, kicked 60 goals for WAFL club Claremont this season and was part of its premiership win.

09-10-2012, 01:47 AM

GWS may yet become our traditional enemy.

09-10-2012, 02:08 AM
GWS may yet become our traditional enemy.

Bit sad seen we have been in the competition for over 70 years.

09-10-2012, 02:21 AM
Can anyone definitively say how many picks GWS will be using this year?

I thought it was only 3 or 4.

09-10-2012, 05:21 AM
Can anyone definitively say how many picks GWS will be using this year?

I thought it was only 3 or 4.

So far they've had only 2 retirements. They must make a minimum of 3 changes to the list.

09-10-2012, 01:53 PM
GC playing Hard Ball with Caddy, wanting 2 first round picks.

Aside from GWS we're the only team that has two first round picks.

Ive heard the hype about him but haven't seen anything of him in detail, would he be worth Pick 4 & 21?

09-10-2012, 01:56 PM
GC playing Hard Ball with Caddy, wanting 2 first round picks.

Aside from GWS we're the only team that has two first round picks.

Ive heard the hype about him but haven't seen anything of him in detail, would he be worth Pick 4 & 21?

err Melbourne

09-10-2012, 02:00 PM
No way would I give up 2 first rounders for him...like Toy, I see him as severely overrated.

09-10-2012, 02:23 PM
They tried this same thing last year with Caddy. What has he done that could possibly justify 2 first round picks? If he weren't drafted in the first round originally I doubt clubs would even give GC 1 first round pick for him.

09-10-2012, 04:29 PM
err Melbourne

Sorry I meant three first round picks*

10-10-2012, 02:44 AM
They tried this same thing last year with Caddy. What has he done that could possibly justify 2 first round picks? If he weren't drafted in the first round originally I doubt clubs would even give GC 1 first round pick for him.

GC are posturing. They'll get a first rounder for Caddy

14-10-2012, 12:46 PM
I think Essendon will improve next year regardless but I am not sure they have done the right thing with Goddard. He is simply not worth the rumoured contract he was offered. I have never thought he was even close to being as good as what some do. He is a good player with good skills but not elite in any position.

Any team that adds him is going to be better for it initially but it will impact their list managment down the track especially after paying overs for Hurley. Credit for being aggressive but at what cost?

I love the impatience of Essendon at the moment. I rate Goddard a little more highly - if he has time and space his kicking can break games open, and he was good at rising to the occasion, but not convinced he is the solution at Essendon and really hope this backfires splendidly.

15-10-2012, 01:07 PM
Think Goddard will be good for essendon and expect them to make it close to top 4 next season.. I do hope to see them get knocked out of teh 1st round of finals 2 years running them drop out of the top 8 :) That would be bitter sweet :D I do think they have potential (as do Carlton) to make top 4 though and can be dangerous.. Dont know who I hate more. I do rate Watson though and is the only player at teh bombers I like

19-10-2012, 11:14 PM
Hawks going to the media crying "poor me" over the Young compensation

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hawkthorn-unhappy-at-compensation-20121019-27wux.html

Bit of a difference in their reaction to compensation received for losing players to AFL engineered circumstances, though I think they probably overrate Young a little.

20-10-2012, 09:11 AM
Hawks going to the media crying "poor me" over the Young compensation

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hawkthorn-unhappy-at-compensation-20121019-27wux.html

Bit of a difference in their reaction to compensation received for losing players to AFL engineered circumstances, though I think they probably overrate Young a little.

I thought the compensation was about right.

Have they forgotten the ridiculous first round pick they were assigned when Campbell Brown left?

Similar to Brown, it is questionable whether they wanted to sign Young or receive compensation.

Glad they got nothing for Tom Murphy also