View Full Version : Predict who we will draft
22-11-2012, 12:58 PM
Re Kennedy as pick 21 (per Emma Quayle's article today).
I think this is completely wrong as from what I can google about Kennedy is is not the physical type that Macca prefers (witness Geelong). Too small and light weight.
....also selfish and no defensive side.
Looking forward to tonight....me and the three children gathered around the TV watching the draft on Foxtel. Family of bulldog tragics.:D
22-11-2012, 01:11 PM
Do you know though divvydan that they are not counting down from pick 10 to pick 1 in this year's draft.
Yes I know that, just suspecting that the time the first pick is taken will be similar to last year.
22-11-2012, 01:14 PM
Orourke
Macramé
O'Brien
He'll work well with Stringer :D
22-11-2012, 01:22 PM
I'm hearing that our pick 22 (or 21 effectively) will be left field. Not sure what that means yet - other than it may surprise.
Terrific.
Surely we wouldnt pass up on Kennedy if available?
Will we be reaching for a player that we think another club may take otherwise before 51? :confused:
22-11-2012, 01:23 PM
....also selfish and no defensive side.
Looking forward to tonight....me and the three children gathered around the TV watching the draft on Foxtel. Family of bulldog tragics.:D
yes, he is supposed to be the next Harvey, so he ticks all those boxes.
22-11-2012, 01:30 PM
Yes I know that, just suspecting that the time the first pick is taken will be similar to last year.
How will the start the draft you think?
Lets hope be pick the best available and not as rumored a smokie with pick 21.
22-11-2012, 01:38 PM
Well it is Thanksgiving today so lets hope we have a lot to give thanks for!
22-11-2012, 01:39 PM
Lets hope be pick the best available and not as rumored a smokie with pick 21.
Agree KT31. Hopefully we don't go for someone we are not too sure about.
22-11-2012, 01:48 PM
How will the start the draft you think?
Probably with Adrian Anderson and Andrew Demetriou talking themselves up and a mention of Adelaide withdrawing from the draft meeting with a smirk on their faces. :p
Actually, I'm not really sure what you're asking. Start with Whitfield at 1 if that's what you mean, followed by O'Rourke and Plowman.
22-11-2012, 01:57 PM
Well it is Thanksgiving today so lets hope we have a lot to give thanks for!
My birthday today .
All I want is to get this right and no panic selections.
Best Available at 5 6 21. Pick 50 needs based
22-11-2012, 01:59 PM
My birthday today .
All I want is to get this right and no panic selections.
Best Available at 5 6 21. Pick 50 needs based
Happy Birthday Remi. Lets hope they get it right for your birthday.
22-11-2012, 02:09 PM
Pretend you are having an affair with another woman-or man.
Funny. Reminds me of the guy that was having an affair and after seeing his lady friend would go home with snooker chalk on his clothes. When asked by his wife what was he doing he said "having an affair". "Liar" she said "you've been playing snooker".
22-11-2012, 02:12 PM
Well I'm all out of snooker chalk, I'll have to think of something else.
22-11-2012, 02:51 PM
5 - Jackson Macrae
6 - Jake Stringer
21 - Dean Towers (re- left field reference)
22-11-2012, 03:20 PM
Dayle Garlett? Do we back ourselves in to turn the kid around?
We may consider him with pick 51.
NO-NO and NO.
Strict enforcement of the "absolutely NO D1ckheads " policy right through to pick 100+!:mad::eek::mad:
22-11-2012, 03:27 PM
NO-NO and NO.
Strict enforcement of the "absolutely NO D1ckheads " policy right through to pick 100+!:mad::eek::mad:
Does that mean you're not interested? haha:D
WB4Life
22-11-2012, 03:36 PM
NO-NO and NO.
Whats the go with this kid, i've heard mention of problems but no examples as yet? also heard quite the talent? anyone know what his major malfunction is?
NO-NO and NO.
Do you even KNOW Dayle?
What a joke.
22-11-2012, 04:15 PM
Agree with that MJP. Not just about Garlett but alot of the young guys that get judged at this time of year. I feel sorry for them. I had my head stuck up my ass at 18 (some would say I still do) as do many young guys but with some guidance and maturity things can be ok.
I remember Chappy from the Cats saying he was a rat-bag as a young bloke.
22-11-2012, 04:19 PM
Spencer White?
Plenty of BF buzz about him, 30 goals in his last 10 TAC games after they fixed his asthma.
Reminds me a little of Brian Harris having his sleep apnea fixed.
Hopefully he falls asleep during the grand final playing for Hawthorn.
If we could get Gartlet at 21 - unlikely as it may be - then I would be keen. It isn't a 'risk' on talent - whereas plenty of others are - we can (hope to) change behaviours and attitudes, but you can't manufacture talent.
22-11-2012, 04:34 PM
5 - Jackson Macrae
6 - Jake Stringer
21 - Dean Towers (re- left field reference)
Checked Towers out on the web: he certainly has some credentials with his success in the VFL in 2012 and is only 22. But that would be a call to use 21 for him. I would take the chance that he will be there at pick 50 and use that if he is. He has the big, solid body that Macca seems to want. Footage reminded me of Lenny Hayes.
22-11-2012, 04:36 PM
Do you even KNOW Dayle?
What a joke.
My understanding was that as late as Tuesday we had not dismissed drafting Garlett.
Pedro Sanchez
22-11-2012, 04:41 PM
Do you even KNOW Dayle?
What a joke.
Yeah this is super harsh on Dayle...
By all reports he slept in once and missed a training session and now he's all of a sudden enemy number one.
Go easy on him - he'll go well where ever he ends up.
I hope its not another case where we overlook him for a project player like in 2007 when we drafted Grant instead of Rioli. I still shake my head at that selection...
22-11-2012, 04:46 PM
My understanding was that as late as Tuesday we had not dismissed drafting Garlett.
Interesting.
I heard a few weeks back he was a no.
22-11-2012, 04:47 PM
I hope you are right as I think there is a strong chance he will be available by pick 21.
Given we like Kennedy and Simpson, it's nice to hear we're still looking at Garlett. For mine, if we are to 'catch' GWS/GCS, we need to take some calculated risks. Stringer/Menzel is one and Garlett would be another.
Still, I don't see it happening, but I'd be really excited if we did.
22-11-2012, 04:50 PM
I hope you are right as I think there is a strong chance he will be available by pick 21.
Given we like Kennedy and Simpson, it's nice to hear we're still looking at Garlett. For mine, if we are to 'catch' GWS/GCS, we need to take some calculated risks. Stringer/Menzel is one and Garlett would be another.
Still, I don't see it happening, but I'd be really excited if we did.
I don't see it happening at 21 for us but if he is still there at 51 could we resist? Hawthorn like Garlett apparently. I'm certain he won't go undrafted, as some in the media are suggesting.
22-11-2012, 04:51 PM
Yeah this is super harsh on Dayle...
By all reports he slept in once and missed a training session and now he's all of a sudden enemy number one.
Go easy on him - he'll go well where ever he ends up.
I hope its not another case where we overlook him for a project player like in 2007 when we drafted Grant instead of Rioli. I still shake my head at that selection...
Did you have to bring that one up now? It made me shake my head too...so much it fell off and is now rolling around the floor.
Pedro Sanchez
22-11-2012, 04:53 PM
Did you have to bring that one up now? It made me shake my head too...so much it fell off and is now rolling around the floor.
Yeah aint hindsight a b@@!ch. We could have had a genuine gun and match winner on our list...
I don't see it happening at 21 for us but if he is still there at 51 could we resist? Hawthorn like Garlett apparently. I'm certain he won't go undrafted, as some in the media are suggesting.
He is as good as anyone - including Whitfield - in the draft. I actually don't understand how we could resist at 21, let alone 51. I don't really understand how we could resist at 5.
Is our club/list that devoid of leadership that we don't believe we can handle an 18yo kid who has (an admittedly bad) habit of staying out late at night? Has it really come to this?
22-11-2012, 05:12 PM
Sounds like O'Rourke really wants to come to the dogs (judging by some of his tweets)
22-11-2012, 05:16 PM
He is as good as anyone - including Whitfield - in the draft. I actually don't understand how we could resist at 21, let alone 51. I don't really understand how we could resist at 5.
Is our club/list that devoid of leadership that we don't believe we can handle an 18yo kid who has (an admittedly bad) habit of staying out late at night? Has it really come to this?
I don't know what we or any other club will do MJP.
I do know that the media draft watchers are talking the kid down in a big way. I also know that Dayle didn't help his cause using social media to display pictures of himself smoking and drinking and acting like a gangsta in general.
Who knows - he may be drafted in the top 10, but a lot of draft followers, including Emma Quayle, have him going third or fourth round or even not at all.
22-11-2012, 05:18 PM
Couldn't agree more. There's a photo of him having a dart and a beer.
Why don't we back ourselves in and draft the kid.
Macrae Stringer and Garlett would be nice.
I don't know what we or any other club will do MJP.
I do know that the media draft watchers are talking the kid down in a big way. I also know that Dayle didn't help his cause using social media to display pictures of himself smoking and drinking and acting like a gangsta in general.
I agree with everything you have said. I still think there is a massive over-reaction over an 18yo being an 18yo - particularly when you consider he has consistently delivered the goods ON the field. Drafting Garlett isn't 'taking a flyer' on an unknown who has a few 'interesting' social quirks - he was arguably the best player at the championships this year. Not the best player for WA. The best player.
22-11-2012, 05:27 PM
Welcome to Victoria the nanny state. The clubs have to be foxing re garlett and someone is going to get an early xmas pressie.
22-11-2012, 05:29 PM
Welcome to Victoria the nanny state. The clubs have to be foxing re garlett and someone is going to get an early xmas pressie.
Just had the same thought. Maybe someone is being very cunning indeed...
22-11-2012, 05:32 PM
Not the best player for WA. The best player.
Playing devil's advocate here - if Dayle was really that good, wouldn't most recruiters look beyond the off field stuff?
It seems:
a) his behaviour/psyche profile is shockingly bad
b) he's just not as highly rated
c) recruiters/talent watchers are being overly precious
Which one is true?
22-11-2012, 05:34 PM
Couldn't agree more. There's a photo of him having a dart and a beer.
Why don't we back ourselves in and draft the kid.
Macrae Stringer and Garlett would be nice.
I wouldn't be adverse to that combination at all.
Why not find out whether our culture, our player development and welfare and our coaching staff can help this kid realise his potential? The upside is enormous and what is the downside really? I don't see the party boys we already have at the club being corrupted by Garlett. If anything, the risk is that the Carlton party boys (in his cousin etc) are a bad influence. If Brett Goodes says take him, I reckon we pounce.
I don't think they are foxing. I think they are all so scared of getting out that they don't want to swing the bat.
22-11-2012, 05:52 PM
I don't think they are foxing. I think they are all so scared of getting out that they don't want to swing the bat.
Its great that you are so emphatic. It seems you appear to know Dayle very well and can vouch for his character.
Two words - No dickheads
Another two words - Fevola Akermanis
I am more than comfortable relying on the club's assessment of Dayle's character even if you know him and are vouching for him.
22-11-2012, 05:53 PM
From what I have read lately Collingwood are very interested in Garlett. With picks 18,19 & 20 it will be interesting to see if they choose him.
22-11-2012, 06:08 PM
Two words - No dickheads
I get the concept of the NDH policy but the reality is that the premiership teams from 2006, 2008 and 2010 were all full of them, as were the Saints who did everything but win a flag in that period. DH's who are selfish on the field have no real place in the modern game but if they are DH's off the park but completely selfless and team-oriented on it, they should always attract suitors. Not sure which camp Garlett falls into, but if he is a team-oriented player on the field then (within reason) clubs should back in their processes to curb his nocturnal habits and get the absolute best out of him as a player. Dustin Martin was a pick 3, so I'm not sure why Garlett is slipping as much as he appears to be - rare talent will always be rare talent.
22-11-2012, 06:09 PM
From what I have read lately Collingwood are very interested in Garlett. With picks 18,19 & 20 it will be interesting to see if they choose him.
If he's still there i could imagine Sydney backing themselves in. I'd love to think we'd do it but for all the talk of "teaching" we seem to be way too scared to try and turn kids around.
I am more than comfortable relying on the club's assessment of Dayle's character even if you know him and are vouching for him.
Want some more words?
Skinner. Djekurra. Panos. Mulligan. Moles. Hooper...shall I go on?
I am happy that you are so comfortable with our recruiting profiling and decision making though I am not sure on what basis. Dalhaus was a good get, I will give you that. Talia and Smith look to be good players (albeit ones who can't kick). Then you have Howard and Tutt. Liberatore and Wallis were handed to us and thank god they were.
22-11-2012, 06:48 PM
Want some more words?
I am happy that you are so comfortable with our recruiting profiling and decision making though I am not sure on what basis. Dalhaus was a good get, I will give you that. Talia and Smith look to be good players (albeit ones who can't kick). Then you have Howard and Tutt. Liberatore and Wallis were handed to us and thank god they were.
Getting a bit petulant here mjp you're better than that. The facts are yes our recruiting staff have had hits and misses and bringing them all up doesn't do anyone any good. At the end of the day we're all going to have to trust the judgement of the professionals in charge and hope for the best. No amount of kicking and screaming will get us to draft or not draft Garlett. No matter how big or little of a risk anyone thinks he is.
22-11-2012, 07:03 PM
I've been worrying all day that we will get Macrae and he will be the next Farren Ray :eek:
Agree, especially in the first round
22-11-2012, 07:38 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Throughandthrough
Orourke
Macramé
O'Brien
He'll work well with Stringer
Good work, me :D
You all got that of course...
22-11-2012, 07:54 PM
Want some more words?
Final one and half words re above names ;)
Pre-McCartney:)
22-11-2012, 07:54 PM
Lake and O'Brien vs Stevens and Hrovat. Will watch the progress with interest.
22-11-2012, 08:32 PM
Do you even KNOW Dayle?
What a joke.
No I don't.
But it would seem 18 team recruiting squads do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
22-11-2012, 08:42 PM
No I don't.
But it would seem 18 team recruiting squads do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Not as well as mjp, I guarantee you.
Getting a bit petulant here mjp you're better than that.
Why am I better than that? When people are comparing Dayle Garlett to Brendon Fevola (who has done some seriously stupid things) and Jason Akermanis (the epitomy of me before we) then I am going to stick up for him.
And I will kick and scream all I like because of the 67 non-upgraded selections he is a better player than 66 of them (and you could argue 67).
No I don't.
Actually, I think this proves that they don't know him.
22-11-2012, 09:11 PM
Actually, I think this proves that they don't know him.
Do you think that recruiters, scared to pull the trigger on Dayle in the draft, may be protecting their rear-ends and will be more inclined to take him in the rookie draft.
Surely the upside of the young fella will prove too much of an allure to overlook him?
LostDog
22-11-2012, 09:19 PM
Lewis Jetta was overlooked wasnt he and told to go back and pull his head in the WAFL
22-11-2012, 09:30 PM
Lewis Jetta was overlooked wasnt he and told to go back and pull his head in the WAFL
Was Max Duffy told the same thing? Freo picked him up before our pick 50
22-11-2012, 10:37 PM
Why am I better than that? When people are comparing Dayle Garlett to Brendon Fevola (who has done some seriously stupid things) and Jason Akermanis (the epitomy of me before we) then I am going to stick up for him.
And I will kick and scream all I like because of the 67 non-upgraded selections he is a better player than 66 of them (and you could argue 67).
mjp, I don't think anyone is arguing that the kid can't play. Clearly he has prodigious talent.
The problem lies in the fact that we are talking about a team not an individual sport.
The history of our game is littered with amazingly talented guys who never did make it, for reasons other than the skills with which they were born.
Unfortunately talent alone, no matter how exceptional, will simply never be enough without the correct attitude.
Many with exceptional talent simply never make the grade, while players with far less ability, but majorly better attitudes and commitment who get the most out of themselves do, names like Picken, Cross and Boyd spring to mind.
22-11-2012, 10:40 PM
Fair enough have a crack at the poster for comparing Garlett to those morons but is it really necessary or constructive to bring up every hit or miss our club has made in the draft? It's a little Facebook for my taste.
Also no problems that you rate Dayle that high and it's entirely your perogative to do so as your knowledge of him is obviously fairly close. But is it posible that with the combination of the supposed behavioural issues and recruiter (and possibly coaching) biases, teams were more likely to put him in the too hard/not worth it basket?
Hey, I don't know Garlett personally but putting up twitter pictures of yourself drinking/smokng and standing on the head of a dead kangaroo pre-draft after the rumours of less than optimal nocturnal lifestyle habits (again only going by media reports) doesn't exactly sound like a very intelligent thing to do. Especially after an interview he did where he specifically stated it was all behind him. If I was a recruiter who had only interviewed him in passing I would have severe doubts (whether right or wrong) as well.
mjp, I don't think anyone is arguing that the kid can't play. Clearly he has prodigious talent.
The problem lies in the fact that we are talking about a team not an individual sport.
Yep. I know all of that.
When you have a player who conducted himself impeccably in a team environment though - AND delivered the goods on the field - then why is he being dismissed?
Were the instagram photos his greatest ever idea? I wouldn't have thought so, no. But none of that means he isn't team focussed or that he doesn't train hard. They are a sign of immaturity and the fact that Dayle still doesn't 'GET' a lot of stuff, but for goodness sake.
22-11-2012, 11:20 PM
Yep. I know all of that.
When you have a player who conducted himself impeccably in a team environment though - AND delivered the goods on the field - then why is he being dismissed?
Were the instagram photos his greatest ever idea? I wouldn't have thought so, no. But none of that means he isn't team focussed or that he doesn't train hard. They are a sign of immaturity and the fact that Dayle still doesn't 'GET' a lot of stuff, but for goodness sake.
I agree - unless of course there's something more to it.
Will you be in contact with him mjp?
22-11-2012, 11:24 PM
With GWS taking Jack Frost at pick 83 is there any chance that this is why we decided to pass at pick 84?
Anyone know if he was on our radar?
22-11-2012, 11:43 PM
With GWS taking Jack Frost at pick 83 is there any chance that this is why we decided to pass at pick 84?
Anyone know if he was on our radar?
That was Jack Frost's brother Sam, who was promoted from the rookie list. As if the AFL would allow a situation where GWS use a pick that late.
Fair enough have a crack at the poster for comparing Garlett to those morons but is it really necessary or constructive to bring up every hit or miss our club has made in the draft? It's a little Facebook for my taste.
Probably not. But to be fair, I didn't start it. I was told the poster was happy to trust the footy department and wanted to ask what that opinion was based on. The players I listed were draft picks and rookie elevations over the past couple of seasons who have not given me much confidence in the footy and recruiting department - and further, they were selections I screamed about at the time only to be told I should trust the club.
Right now I am very happy with the Stringer selection, so-so with the Macrae selection, unhappy with the Hrovat selection and bordering on extremely displeased with the Prudden selection. Stringer - and I have said this before - really is our Joel Selwood selection. Quality 16 yo who got injured and slipped down the rankings accordingly. We have either gotten the best player in the draft or a kid who will never overcome his injury fully...I actually suspect it is the former. Macrae might be OK and is classy but certainly has not 'done it' against high quality opposition for very long - I am worried about his ability to step up to the next level but can see what they were thinking here - basically I don't disagree with the selection.
With Hrovat and Prudden we seem to have gone for one scoop of plain vanilla (Hrovat) and another of wild cherry with triple flavor topping (Prudden). I don't understand these selections at all unless Hrovat has been picked with the idea that he might become a Picken like midfield tagger. But Metro favored Temay in that role so maybe not? Prudden? Just a roll of the dice on someone who just seems to be another player. Let me show my WA bias by suggesting if we wanted Prudden then why not Tim Kelly or even someone like Marvin Warrell who was also overlooked somehow. Both have better track records and Warrell in particular better hands and kicking skills. If you like JJ you would love Warrell.
I agree - unless of course there's something more to it.
Will you be in contact with him mjp?
He is/was with the guys at Swans tonight. Have spoken to Swans but not yet to Dayle - hopefully tomorrow...been a lot of players to talk to tonight (both happy and sad).
23-11-2012, 12:31 AM
Yep. I know all of that.
I am very surprised that no club picked him, even with a late crappy pick. Why do you think this happened?
FWIW, I reckon we should have rolled the dice with him with our last pick. If we promote Jong, can we take him as a rookie?
Again I'd roll the dice.
23-11-2012, 02:26 AM
Probably not. But to be fair, I didn't start it. I was told the poster was happy to trust the footy department and wanted to ask what that opinion was based on. The players I listed were draft picks and rookie elevations over the past couple of seasons who have not given me much confidence in the footy and recruiting department - and further, they were selections I screamed about at the time only to be told I should trust the club.
Right now I am very happy with the Stringer selection, so-so with the Macrae selection, unhappy with the Hrovat selection and bordering on extremely displeased with the Prudden selection. Stringer - and I have said this before - really is our Joel Selwood selection. Quality 16 yo who got injured and slipped down the rankings accordingly. We have either gotten the best player in the draft or a kid who will never overcome his injury fully...I actually suspect it is the former. Macrae might be OK and is classy but certainly has not 'done it' against high quality opposition for very long - I am worried about his ability to step up to the next level but can see what they were thinking here - basically I don't disagree with the selection.
With Hrovat and Prudden we seem to have gone for one scoop of plain vanilla (Hrovat) and another of wild cherry with triple flavor topping (Prudden). I don't understand these selections at all unless Hrovat has been picked with the idea that he might become a Picken like midfield tagger. But Metro favored Temay in that role so maybe not? Prudden? Just a roll of the dice on someone who just seems to be another player. Let me show my WA bias by suggesting if we wanted Prudden then why not Tim Kelly or even someone like Marvin Warrell who was also overlooked somehow. Both have better track records and Warrell in particular better hands and kicking skills. If you like JJ you would love Warrell.
Fair enough mate. I can completely understand your frustrations and to be honest share quite a few of them. I also entirely agree with your assessment of Stringer and Mcrae. I have trouble seeing Mcrae's game translate to AFL level, hopefully for our own sake we are both incredibly wrong.
I will have to take your word on Hrovat and Prudden as I wouldn't know them from Adam but from all i've heard about Hrovat is that he has really good disposal and chooses the right option, that is something we really need.
You have piqued my interest with Warrell. Any idea why he was overlooked? Any chance in the PSD?
23-11-2012, 10:01 AM
Fair enough mate. I can completely understand your frustrations and to be honest share quite a few of them. I also entirely agree with your assessment of Stringer and Mcrae. I have trouble seeing Mcrae's game translate to AFL level, hopefully for our own sake we are both incredibly wrong.
I will have to take your word on Hrovat and Prudden as I wouldn't know them from Adam but from all i've heard about Hrovat is that he has really good disposal and chooses the right option, that is something we really need.
You have piqued my interest with Warrell. Any idea why he was overlooked? Any chance in the PSD?
According to Emma Quayle in today's Age in relation why no team listed Worrell "Nor could they find a way to add Shannon Taylor, Chris Yarran or Marvin Worrell, talented teenagers who lack a strong work ethic".
23-11-2012, 11:34 AM
He is/was with the guys at Swans tonight. Have spoken to Swans but not yet to Dayle - hopefully tomorrow...been a lot of players to talk to tonight (both happy and sad).
Hi mjp.
You obviously have some connection to Dayle.
Can you get in the clubs ear at all and convince them to give him a chance?
What would you say to them if you could?
Would love to have that talent on our list if he was going to be a solid citizen for the club.
23-11-2012, 01:22 PM
According to Emma Quayle in today's Age in relation why no team listed Worrell "Nor could they find a way to add Shannon Taylor, Chris Yarran or Marvin Worrell, talented teenagers who lack a strong work ethic".
B-Mac really seems focussed on the "quality person" ethic - his interview on SEN, where he mentioned it was easier to teach skills to someone with an excellent attitude sums up how he wants Dalrymple to rate potential draftees.
Time will tell whether it's the best approach - this approach would have passed on a Karl Norman, but also perhaps on a Buddy Franklin.
And there is the problem. Marvin Warrell (I know I am spelling it correctly) and Chris Yarren are not in the same ball-park re- work ethic. Marvin is very hard working.
Shannon is in a different boat entirely and a club will need a very well established support system to manage him. I am almost certain he will be rookied.
23-11-2012, 04:48 PM
B-Mac really seems focussed on the "quality person" ethic - his interview on SEN, where he mentioned it was easier to teach skills to someone with an excellent attitude sums up how he wants Dalrymple to rate potential draftees.
Time will tell whether it's the best approach - this approach would have passed on a Karl Norman, but also perhaps on a Buddy Franklin.
Appears that most teams are thinking the B-Mac way now.
23-11-2012, 04:50 PM
And there is the problem. Marvin Warrell (I know I am spelling it correctly) and Chris Yarren are not in the same ball-park re- work ethic. Marvin is very hard working.
Shannon is in a different boat entirely and a club will need a very well established support system to manage him. I am almost certain he will be rookied.
Sound like Emma's not doing her homework. Always thought her info was reliable too.
23-11-2012, 05:13 PM
The history of our game is littered with amazingly talented guys who never did make it, for reasons other than the skills with which they were born.
Unfortunately talent alone, no matter how exceptional, will simply never be enough without the correct attitude.
Many with exceptional talent simply never make the grade, while players with far less ability, but majorly better attitudes and commitment who get the most out of themselves do, names like Picken, Cross and Boyd spring to mind.
That's a funny comment.
Was best and fairest in 2008 VFL.
Played as a Junior in a senior grand final and kicked 5 goals.
Check out the mark V port in the UK. That's clearly not something that says I' man in and under tagger type, full story. Can do some freaky things.
Anyway, Rant over. Picken's skills are highly underrated. Not seen as a silky player, but rarely gets the chance to show us what he has.
23-11-2012, 05:19 PM
That's a funny comment.
Check out the mark V port in the UK. That's clearly not something that says I' an in and under tagger type, full story. Can do some freaky things.
Anyway, Rant over. Picken's skills are highly underrated. Not seen as a silky player, but rarely gets the chance to show us what he has.
Agree with this GD - I can remember him kicking a goal from 55 when we really needed it in one of our big games a few years ago. Doesn't get to show us all his tricks but when he does he usually makes it count.
23-11-2012, 05:31 PM
The Dogs have a tradition whereby, after each game, the players rate their best teammate. The winner gets the match ball signed by all the other players. Liam Picken has won the match ball five teams this season, more than any other player.
23-11-2012, 08:47 PM
That's a funny comment.
Check out the mark V port in the UK. That's clearly not something that says I' man in and under tagger type, full story. Can do some freaky things.
I've backed you up on this before and I'mma doing it again. Picken is a very good footballer. His skillset is greater than many give him credit for.