View Full Version : Future Father/Sons

Pages : 1 [2] 3

06-10-2014, 10:12 AM
Thank Jeebus for that, I was always a little uncomfortable with using a lowish second round selection on him.

I thought it was ludicrous for a guy who doesn't project as a key defender, and who isn't a playmaker

06-10-2014, 10:15 AM
So Geelong recruiter was *!*!*!*!ing with Quayle - pick 13?? didn't even use their 2nd rounder...

Well, thats some extra ammo for the draft trade period. Two 2nd rounders and two third rounders (extra one for Jones)

06-10-2014, 10:16 AM
I thought it was ludicrous for a guy who doesn't project as a key defender, and who isn't a playmaker

I saw quite a bit of him in the back end of the season, and was very uncomfortable spending such a high pick, especially considering some of the talent likely to be available. Sanity prevails regarding judging his talent competition wide, and we've paid a fair price.

I'm much happier than I expected to be this morning.

06-10-2014, 10:17 AM
Bargain.

06-10-2014, 10:19 AM
Bargain.

It is nice knowing we can have 5 picks before him if we want - 1 first, 2 seconds, 2 thirds (jones trade).

Do you think its likely we now will upgrade Redpath?

And can we take Foster in the rookie draft because nobody bid on him?

06-10-2014, 10:20 AM
Bargain.

I kind of think we've slowly been conditioned to read it that way, as the Club has built expectation, or at least not hosed it down, that we'd need to pay a second round selection. I'm not sure he'd ever have been considered a top 25 pick.

06-10-2014, 10:33 AM
It is nice knowing we can have 5 picks before him if we want - 1 first, 2 seconds, 2 thirds (jones trade).

Do you think its likely we now will upgrade Redpath?

And can we take Foster in the rookie draft because nobody bid on him?

Foster can still be drafted in the national draft by any club.

06-10-2014, 10:35 AM
Good outcome. I was really uncomfortable with the concept of using pick 25 on him, but with pick 61, if he doesn't work out, as a project player it's a reasonable gamble.

06-10-2014, 10:35 AM
I kind of think we've slowly been conditioned to read it that way, as the Club has built expectation, or at least not hosed it down, that we'd need to pay a second round selection. I'm not sure he'd ever have been considered a top 25 pick.

I'd have been happy with using our third round, and am really happy he has slipped to our fourth. Like others have said, it provides us with so much more flexibility during the trade period, whilst we can also take one or two riskier selections with our third rounders as we have now landed talent we were comfortable with from the outset with a later selection.

06-10-2014, 10:36 AM
Good to see we kept Collingwood honest by bidding Pick 5 on Moore (Collingwood matched it - with pick 8).
And Z.Cordy becomes pick 61 - after Freo bid pick 51. Good results.

06-10-2014, 10:40 AM
Great outcome, thought the Pies might have gone tit-for-tat with forcing us to use a second or third round pick on Ayce.
Hopefully we can also pick up Foster as a rookie after the draft.

06-10-2014, 10:43 AM
I'd have been happy with using our third round, and am really happy he has slipped to our fourth. Like others have said, it provides us with so much more flexibility during the trade period, whilst we can also take one or two riskier selections with our third rounders as we have now landed talent we were comfortable with from the outset with a later selection.

Agreed. I would have been comfortable with using our third round pick too.

We are well positioned and I'm looking forward to seeing how we shape the senior list over the next month or so with trades and draft selections.

06-10-2014, 10:48 AM
On a side note, it must be such a relief for Ayce to know he is at his preferred club without going through the turmoil of the draft.
Got to feel for Foster at the moment.

06-10-2014, 10:53 AM
On a side note, it must be such a relief for Ayce to know he is at his preferred club without going through the turmoil of the draft.
Got to feel for Foster at the moment.

I don't know the kid, but I reckon Foster would be over the moon to land anywhere.

06-10-2014, 11:09 AM
Good to see we kept Collingwood honest by bidding Pick 5 on Moore (Collingwood matched it - with pick 8).
And Z.Cordy becomes pick 61 - after Freo bid pick 51. Good results.

And pick 61 should become higher when all the compo picks are sorted.

I think the club would be really happy with that result.
If they had nominated both Cordy and Foster we may have had them earlier than we would of liked, when realistically they are both tail end/rookie type picks.
So we have had a small victory here with getting Cordy with our fourth round pick, and now I guess we'll hopefully get Foster with a rookie pick, and we'll have some room available for other kids that we have actually had to scout.

06-10-2014, 11:10 AM
Zaine Cordy....welcome to the Bulldogs.

06-10-2014, 11:23 AM
So that's Neil, Brian, Roger, Graeme, Ayce and Zaine that have played at the top level now.

Bloody good genes.

06-10-2014, 12:29 PM
So that's Neil, Brian, Roger, Graeme, Ayce and Zaine that have played at the top level now.

Bloody good genes.

Not quite the genes to rival the Danihers though.

06-10-2014, 12:30 PM
Nice work. A good start to trade period for us, let's hope it continues the same way and we land the players we want and need.

06-10-2014, 01:10 PM

Bloody good genes.

Who was Roger? Never heard of him.

06-10-2014, 01:13 PM
Who was Roger? Never heard of him.

Didn't play a lot of games. A brother of Neil & Brian.

06-10-2014, 01:23 PM

Are you sure he played any senior games? He's not listed on AFL Tables as far as I can see (or did he play for another team?). Graeme only played 6 games for us and I can remember him.

06-10-2014, 02:21 PM

Don't believe Roger played any games at AFL level

06-10-2014, 02:30 PM
Are you sure he played any senior games? He's not listed on AFL Tables as far as I can see (or did he play for another team?). Graeme only played 6 games for us and I can remember him.

Sorry thinking of Graeme.

06-10-2014, 02:30 PM
Don't believe Roger played any games at AFL level

You are right I was thinking of Graeme.

06-10-2014, 07:44 PM
Perhaps credit goes to the Club's brains trust for the slide through to pick 61. I wonder if they played a good poker hand and left other clubs pondering whether a bluff bid at 20 or 30 would be called?

06-10-2014, 07:53 PM

I think he is a good enough player and around pick 30 to 40 was about his mark. At pick 61 I would regard him as a bargain.

06-10-2014, 08:53 PM
I think he is a good enough player and around pick 30 to 40 was about his mark. At pick 61 I would regard him as a bargain.
We need to be charged with robbery, daylight robbery. Ludicrous result. :)

06-10-2014, 10:13 PM

Some night games I think. I'll check my copy of Unleashed. Graeme ended up playing a few games at Sydney. Maybe Roger played up there because I can remember my mum asking about him because he was on TV.

06-10-2014, 10:16 PM
Some night games I think. I'll check my copy of Unleashed. Graeme ended up playing a few games at Sydney. Maybe Roger played up there because I can remember my mum asking about him because he was on TV.

Roger not listed on Footywire, Neil and Graeme are.

06-10-2014, 10:17 PM
Not quite the genes to rival the Danihers though.

True. Nor the Selwoods. Imagine all of them in one team. In the old days Carlton would have got the lot. For nothing. Thank God for the draft.

07-10-2014, 05:07 AM
Listening to the Dalrymple interview sounds like we're still keen to get Foster.

07-10-2014, 08:12 AM
Listening to the Dalrymple interview sounds like we're still keen to get Foster.

It appears that way. It is all dependent on list space. Surprisingly they are still deciding what to do rookie wise.

07-10-2014, 10:00 AM

So keen we wouldn't use pick ~90........

I suspect the club doesn't rate him and is just being nice.

07-10-2014, 10:11 AM
So keen we wouldn't use pick ~90........

I suspect the club doesn't rate him and is just being nice.

List spots are a premium. Come draft day a player we rate may be available at our pick, but instead that pick is allocated to Foster.

07-10-2014, 10:34 AM
Apparently can play but soft.
That goes against Maccas ideals

20-05-2015, 11:08 PM
AFL ponders lowering father-son threshold (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/afl-ponders-lowering-fatherson-threshold-20150520-gh64d9.html)
Another case where the AFL changes the rules and then realises they made a mistake.

20-05-2015, 11:20 PM
AFL ponders lowering father-son threshold (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/afl-ponders-lowering-fatherson-threshold-20150520-gh64d9.html)
Another case where the AFL changes the rules and then realises they made a mistake.

So just long enough we missed Alex Rance, S. Reid, B. Reid, Smedts and others...

20-05-2015, 11:49 PM
So just long enough we missed Alex Rance, S. Reid, B. Reid, Smedts and others...
AFL: "Ain't I a stinker?"

21-05-2015, 05:10 AM
What's the new rules ?

21-05-2015, 08:02 AM
It's still the bidding system although there will also be an adjustment to a teams later drafts picks. So although you won't lose picks it may make later picks less valuable.

21-05-2015, 06:08 PM
Darcy Macpherson needed a shoulder reconstruction this year. Got to think he might find hard to crack a FS nomination.

21-05-2015, 09:37 PM
Here it is.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/afl-announces-new-father-son-and-academy-bidding-system/story-fni5f3kt-1227364185716

25-06-2015, 10:19 PM
Does anyone have an updated listing of FS's?

25-06-2015, 10:29 PM
Does anyone have an updated listing of FS's?

Off the top of my head.

Macpherson - TAC top age
Romero - TAC bottom age
Kellett - U/14
Liberatore - U/14

Torpedo
26-06-2015, 06:11 PM
From Preston Leader this week:
Darcy Macpherson leads the way as Northern Knights post second win in TAC Cup

CHRIS CAVANAGH PRESTON LEADER JUNE 22, 2015 10:41AM SHARE

After taking care of the Western Jets 12.15 (87) to 9.13 (67), some players had to refer to a poster on the wall for guidance.

After all, this was just the side’s second win of the season and first since April 3.

“That’s why we’ve had it put on the wall but we hope it becomes imprinted in their minds by singing it a few more times,” Knights coach Andrew Shakespeare said.

It was far from an easy win, with the Knights finding themselves in some serious trouble early.

At quarter-time, the home side trailed by 21 points at Preston City Oval but there were some positive signs late in the term that gave it something to build on.

“I felt even though it was that score at quarter-time, in the back end of the first quarter we started to arrest the game back our way,”

Shakespeare said.

“Credit to Western, they really fought. But our boys really plugged away and eventually we came out on top.”

Midfielder Darcy Macpherson led the way for the Knights, putting in an “electric” performance in just his second game this year after shoulder surgery.

Having taken a little while to find his feet in his return game against Northern Territory in Darwin last weekend, the tough-nut collected 29 disposals.

“We just unleashed him and the boy only knows one way to go at the football, and that’s hard,” Shakespeare said.

Seems like he has fully recovered from shoulder surgery!

26-06-2015, 07:19 PM
Okay AFL recruiters nothing to see here.
Now please, lets put him on ice for the rest of the year please..;)

13-07-2015, 01:03 PM
https://scontent-lax1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpf1/v/t1.0-9/s720x720/1610969_1045872875430335_1607214998594304316_n.jpg?oh=9bf7b6 6034bb075efad18b97368a0010&oe=561F27D5

GROWING up, Darcy Macpherson was largely unaware of his father’s heroics on the football field.

Dad Stephen spent 14 years with Footscray, playing 188 games at the top level between 1982 and 1995.

But much of his memorabilia from those days was always tucked away in a corner of the garage.

Stephen never talked much about his own playing days, either.

He did not want his children growing up feeling pressure was on them to follow in his footsteps and play AFL football.

A curious young Darcy got most of his information from the internet.

“I’ve seen a few of his highlights but I haven’t seen many,” Darcy said.

“Mostly I have just looked at some of the stats on the *!internet.”

The crux of the story is Darcy was never pushed to play football.

He has only pushed himself.

And he hopes on the back of that his dream of becoming an AFL footballer may be just a few months away from becoming reality.

A father-son prospect for the Western Bulldogs, the tough inside midfielder has been “flying” since returning to the fold at the Northern Knights late last month from should surgery.

The 17-year-old was named in the initial Vic Metro squad for the AFL Under-18 Championships, a key opportunity for young players to prove themselves against the country’s best on the national stage.

But it was during a two-week stint training with the Western Bulldogs in pre-season that Darcy received a “kick in the guts”, doctors telling him he would have to go under the knife.

“I told the physios that I had this weak shoulder and they assessed it,” he said.

“They sent me to an MRI and from there was a tear in the labrum and I needed surgery pretty much ASAP.

“That was a kick in the guts big time.

“I was in shock when he told me.

“I didn’t know if he was serious or not, the physio. But he said ‘You need it’.”

The surgery sidelined Darcy for the Under-18 Championships and the opening nine rounds of the TAC Cup season.

Having been named a vice-captain of the Knights this year, watching from the sidelines was tough.

But now he is back fit and firing, he hopes to finish the year on a positive note.

“I’ll just stay with the Knights until the end of the season and try and play some consistent footy,” the Diamond Creek resident said.

“I just always want to improve on my contested ball and clean hands and kicking and I want to try and do the little things right and get a few more tackles and pressure acts into my game.”

Macpherson has been named in the Knights’ best in three of the four matches he has played since making his return.

He has five more games to prove his ability to step up to the top level before the end of the season and the November AFL National Draft.

“I’d say I’ve pushed myself as hard as I can to achieve my dream which is playing AFL,” Darcy said.

“Hopefully the dream will come true if I keep working, playing hard and playing consistent footy.”

Link (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/north/western-bulldogs-father-son-prospect-darcy-macpherson-determined-to-live-out-afl-dream/story-fngnvocb-1227439691016)

13-07-2015, 02:04 PM
Would love to see another MacPherson play for the Dogs. Good luck to Darcy.

13-07-2015, 02:18 PM
What a gun his old man was. Sounds like the apple hasn't fallen far from the tree.

13-07-2015, 03:01 PM
His uncle was pretty good too

13-07-2015, 03:20 PM
A chip off the old Super! Talk about getting the band back together.

Ready yourself to vacate the #27 Will. I'm sure you understand.

14-07-2015, 09:32 AM
Malachy Picken has spunk in the genes, from both parents, hilarious:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3159153/This-photo-staged-did-not-actually-walk-like-Young-mum-hilarious-signs-twins-hold-pram-hits-online-critics.html

10-02-2016, 04:05 PM
2016 Father sons

Michael Romero
Height: 175cm, Weight: 70kg, DOB: 9/10/1998
Recruited From: Calder Cannons
Position: Small Forward

The son of Bulldogs great Jose, Michael Romero qualifies as a father/son this year, but still has a long way to go before being drafted. Whilst Romero has qualities like his father, the small forward is erratic, with a big gap separating his best and worst. Still developing as a footballer, Romero is quick, fleet-footed and can hit the scoreboard, but can overuse the ball and be a bit selfish at times. Romero showed glimpses of his prestige pedigree last year, averaging 12 disposals, while also showing some great defensive pressure at times for the Cannons. He’ll need to lift his output this year, and would be hoping for a call up into the Vic Metro side. link (http://footyprophet.com/class-2016-afl-bloodlines/)

10-02-2016, 04:39 PM
2016 Father sons

Michael Romero

The son of Bulldogs great Jose, Michael Romero qualifies as a father/son this year, but still has a long way to go before being drafted. Whilst Romero has qualities like his father, the small forward is erratic, with a big gap separating his best and worst. Still developing as a footballer, Romero is quick, fleet-footed and can hit the scoreboard, but can overuse the ball and be a bit selfish at times. Romero showed glimpses of his prestige pedigree last year, averaging 12 disposals, while also showing some great defensive pressure at times for the Cannons. He’ll need to lift his output this year, and would be hoping for a call up into the Vic Metro side. link (http://footyprophet.com/class-2016-afl-bloodlines/)

That bio of Michael actually sounds a fair bit like Jose as a younger player. Hopefully he matures as well.

10-02-2016, 04:47 PM
No way he's 70kg, he could be the smallest, skinniest kid I've ever seen or heard of. I'm including the starving Ethiopian kids Jennifer Grey was talking about in Dirty Dancing. You could argue Darcy Mac was considerably ahead of where Mick is.

10-02-2016, 04:51 PM
No way he's 70kg, he could be the smallest, skinniest kid I've ever seen or heard of. I'm including the starving Ethiopian kids Jennifer Grey was talking about in Dirty Dancing. You could argue Darcy Mac was considerably ahead of where Mick is.

Declan Hamilton still listed on website as 68kgs

PS: Darcy has put on 6.6kgs of muscle.

10-02-2016, 04:57 PM
Declan Hamilton still listed on website as 68kgs

PS: Darcy has put on 6.6kgs of muscle.

Out of the two, I'd have taken Darcy fwiw. But happy enough to see how Mick goes, but I'm not putting money on him being at the club right now. Get onto Josh Kellett now I say as the next big thing in FSs.

10-02-2016, 07:16 PM
2016 Father sons

Michael Romero

12 possies per game is nothing to write home about.

Out of the two, I'd have taken Darcy fwiw. But happy enough to see how Mick goes, but I'm not putting money on him being at the club right now. Get onto Josh Kellett now I say as the next big thing in FSs.

I've heard that.

10-02-2016, 07:21 PM
I've heard that.

From me probably :D

Although I hope Ollie Liberatore his interleague buddy gets there too. Imagine two Libbas, plus a Kellett, a Wallis, a Cordy, a Hunter and maybe a Romero. Just need Dimma's boy to get the band back together. A MacPherson would've been ok if the list was different and young Fossie well, if he can't get some games at the joke of a list then he might be in trouble.

10-02-2016, 07:53 PM
Beveridge's son is also going to be in the draft this year. Small utility that has some pace from what I have read.

10-02-2016, 08:13 PM
Beveridge's son is also going to be in the draft this year. Small utility that has some pace from what I have read.

Brendan McCartneys son Lockey was in last year's draft. Small utility set for country footy and a good young man from what I have read.

10-02-2016, 09:55 PM
From me probably :D

Although I hope Ollie Liberatore his interleague buddy gets there too. Imagine two Libbas, plus a Kellett, a Wallis, a Cordy, a Hunter and maybe a Romero. Just need Dimma's boy to get the band back together. A MacPherson would've been ok if the list was different and young Fossie well, if he can't get some games at the joke of a list then he might be in trouble.

It was one of the track watchers at footy training.

10-02-2016, 09:59 PM
It was one of the track watchers at footy training.

Word spreading fast then. I do hope any or all of the four West boys make the grade. I loved Scotty West, I'd have to say his kids playing would probably be my favourite father-son combo and the bar is set pretty high.

10-02-2016, 10:02 PM
Scooter was an easy player to love, the guy never went at any contest at less an a thousand percent. He got the ball 600x year after year after year.

He was a gun. Two of him would be brilliant.

10-02-2016, 10:13 PM

Mark or Nigel's son? Either way, would've barely played the 100 game minimum?

10-02-2016, 11:01 PM

Nigel. 101 games from memory.

I'm sure the AFL are working on plans to make the qualification 102 games from next year.

11-02-2016, 10:23 AM

Nigel, 101 games.

11-02-2016, 10:34 AM
Brendan McCartneys son Lockey was in last year's draft. Small utility set for country footy and a good young man from what I have read.

I thought a school teacher would be the last person to deliberately mis-spell their child's name so badly!:eek:

11-02-2016, 02:12 PM
I thought a school teacher would be the last person to deliberately mis-spell their child's name so badly!:eek:

Well it depends on how good a teacher he was. If he was as good at teaching as he was senior coaching I am not all that suprised...

22-03-2016, 04:56 PM
The AFL has given permission for Michael Romero, son of Jose, to train with Western Bulldogs this year under the rules for Father/Son prospects.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/1013997_1201650906519197_1631238135124885119_n.jpg?oh=0d6590 fc133254a29b5ade98732ec180&oe=578BF2D1&__gda__=1468354656_cc64a7423b10fb80b2ff33cd482103b7

22-03-2016, 05:30 PM
Michael is lot taller and leaner than the last time I saw him.

22-03-2016, 07:50 PM
looks like he is training with us already!

22-03-2016, 10:39 PM
Looks a good size. More muscles than J Grant already and he's only 16 or 17.

22-03-2016, 10:46 PM
He looks a bit bulkier than last year, but he was the smallest kid I've just about ever seen, even for bottom year. He needs to keep growing as I'd guess he was 165cm or so last year and we are choc full of smalls. I had a sense he was very confidant in himself, so the recent remarks by Dalrymple that he needs to be less selfish at times might change the way he plays.

22-03-2016, 10:49 PM
As a matter of interest how many games did Jose play with Norf?

Couldn't stand the suspense so I looked it up. 89. ;)

22-03-2016, 10:51 PM

Couldn't stand the suspense so I looked it up. 89. ����

In that case I hope he turns out to be a gun even more to even the ledger with the Reid boys whose old man played about the same.

22-03-2016, 10:56 PM
Romero Senior's Wikipedia page says he still holds the beep test record of 17.1 is that still right? Even if not, 17.1 is stupid. It's the equivalent of when people say 0.4% alcohol is lethal. 17.1 beep is lethal.

22-03-2016, 11:42 PM

Couldn't stand the suspense so I looked it up. 89. ;)

Wouldn't matter, José wouldn't let his son play at Norf even if they drafted him!

22-03-2016, 11:44 PM
Romero Senior's Wikipedia page says he still holds the beep test record of 17.1 is that still right? Even if not, 17.1 is stupid. It's the equivalent of when people say 0.4% alcohol is lethal. 17.1 beep is lethal.

I remember it being up in the clubrooms at the time. There was a bit of debate about how accurate it was but the club had it as the official record.

23-03-2016, 06:55 AM
Wouldn't matter, José wouldn't let his son play at Norf even if they drafted him!

Really? Poetic license on your behalf or fact?

23-03-2016, 06:56 AM
I remember it being up in the clubrooms at the time. There was a bit of debate about how accurate it was but the club had it as the official record.

Romero reportedly ran a few KM's before each match just to warm up! So it could well be true.

23-03-2016, 08:13 AM
Really? Poetic license on your behalf or fact?

Jose had a falling out with Dennis Pagan and isn't exactly the forgive and forget type. Luckily for us.

23-03-2016, 11:44 AM
Jose had a falling out with Dennis Pagan and isn't exactly the forgive and forget type. Luckily for us.

Just off topic for a bit Bevo told me that when we recruited Jose it was the catalyst of him getting the flick.

23-03-2016, 01:15 PM
gee our boys have become good breeders.
Any word on Scotty Wests twins?

We'll have a starting 22 of father sons soon.

23-03-2016, 01:45 PM
Just off topic for a bit Bevo told me that when we recruited Jose it was the catalyst of him getting the flick.

You mean that Jose took Bevo's spot on the list?

23-03-2016, 02:12 PM
You mean that Jose took Bevo's spot on the list?

Yes that was what he told me at The White Ribbon Day when I asked about his playing days with us.

23-03-2016, 05:22 PM
Nice of Bevo not to hold a grudge ;-)
On that in a couple of years we could have two WAllis,s 2 liberatores a Romero and a hunter.

23-03-2016, 05:44 PM
On that in a couple of years we could have two WAllis,s 2 liberatores a Romero and a hunter.

As well as two Wests, a Smith and a Kellet

23-03-2016, 06:20 PM

Kellett is the real deal as far as a kid can be. We could've had the second Wallis, and a MacPherson & Foster too. If we are serious about getting the band back together, Libba & Romero means we just have to take Dimmatina's son no matter what. Although using the term 'Wog Squad' is probably politically incorrect now, which means Guido Hatziz won't be making a comeback to footy shows.

23-03-2016, 06:36 PM
Forgot Cordy too ... Kelletts son go okay does he ?

23-03-2016, 06:46 PM
Forgot Cordy too ... Kelletts son go okay does he ?

Of the mainstream news, Kellett polls well in the league B&Fs (pretty sure he's won it twice), he's the team best player and plays interleague with Ollie Liberatore. Those who I talk to and watchers I listen to are very bullish that Kellett is a kid to watch for the next 3 years.

22-04-2016, 06:11 PM
Jackson Coleman now has a state cricket contract with Victoria.

22-04-2016, 07:16 PM
So many kids coming through, we will truly be the Sons of the West.

22-04-2016, 07:23 PM
So many kids coming through, we will truly be the Sons of the West.

Especially the 4 Sons of The Scott West.

22-04-2016, 07:28 PM
Especially the 4 Sons of The Scott West.

At the Hall of Fame presentation a few years ago, West was leading all of his boys into the men's room. They looked like a little row of ducklings with their fluffy blonde hair!

23-04-2016, 04:19 PM
Just waiting for the AFL to abolish the father/son rule as soon as they are eligible to play...

23-04-2016, 04:44 PM
Just waiting for the AFL to abolish the father/son rule as soon as they are eligible to play...

They will have me to deal with if they try.

23-04-2016, 05:00 PM
At the Hall of Fame presentation a few years ago, West was leading all of his boys into the men's room. They looked like a little row of ducklings with their fluffy blonde hair!

Imagine all four in the midfield

23-04-2016, 05:17 PM
Commentators nightmare lol,
Might get one win a brownlow that way

24-04-2016, 09:24 AM
Imagine all four in the midfield

Four blokes getting 35 touches in the engine room every week. I'd like a to imagine it.

Will get great to hear decent commentary on 4 West boys... West gets it, handballs it West. Hands it back to West. West gets a short kick out to West. West than spots up West. West has run from the last contest so gets it from West. West goes in board to West who takes a running shot and West goals.

24-04-2016, 09:27 AM
Four blokes getting 35 touches in the engine room every week. I'd like a to imagine it.

Will get great to hear decent commentary on 4 West boys... West gets it, handballs it West. Hands it back to West. West gets a short kick out to West. West than spots up West. West has run from the last contest so gets it from West. West goes in board to West who takes a running shot and West goals.

It would be an advanced game of keeping's off :)

24-04-2016, 09:39 AM

Knowing the current commentators though it'll be more like "Trent West gets it, handballs to Mark West"

24-04-2016, 09:53 AM
Knowing the current commentators though it'll be more like "Trent West gets it, handballs to Mark West"

And the dad would be Robbie West!

24-04-2016, 10:14 AM
I've looked for the answer and can't find it. Anyone know how long the Father/Son eligibility stays open for? (Ie Josh Wallis, someone a few years after their draft year).

24-04-2016, 10:26 AM
Steven Morris was in his early 20's when he went father son to Richmond.

17-05-2016, 11:14 AM
Michael Romero — son of Jose Romero — could be another addition to Western Bulldogs’ litter of father-sons (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/teams/western-bulldogs/michael-romero--son-of-jose-romero--could-be-another-addition-to-western-bulldogs-litter-of-fathersons/news-story/d085ad9c483e8135e304fe1e3733efea)

FOOTBALL’S most buoyant current father-son factory may be about to produce another jewel for the Western Bulldogs.

In recent seasons the Dogs have benefited in a massive way from father-sons in Lachie Hunter (Mark), Tom Liberatore (Tony) and Mitch Wallis (Steve).

Now Michael Romero, the son of 1996 best-and-fairest winner Jose, is beating the same path via APS school St Kevin’s.
Romero, 17, has produced some very impressive APS form for his school’s opening three games this year.
School coach Paul O’Brien said he has been impressed with Romero’s development.

“He has clearly improved in the area of contested football, his tackling has been outstanding and he has always had good speed,” O’Brien said.
Romero was a national junior 100m hurdles champion, but gave athletics away to concentrate on following his father Jose into the AFL and has been involved in the Calders Cannon TAC Cup program.

During his athletic years he worked with Sarah Mulkearns, who also spent 12 years as strength and conditioning coach of the Calder Cannons.

“As a powerful, explosive athlete from what I saw two years ago, he would be quicker than most over the first two or three. So he certainly could have moved his way up the athletics world had he desired that,” Mulkearns said.

Romero spent two months with the Western Bulldogs last summer as part of the father-son academy, and is expected to play some VFL games with the club when his school football finished in late July.

Recruiting manager Simon Dalrymple has monitored his progress as part of the father-son academy.

“Michael is a terrific young fella who is very coachable,” Dalrymple said.

“He has come from a stronger athletics background so is a bit different to some of the others we have had. He has speed and also has a bit to work on him in his game.

17-05-2016, 11:27 AM
Zaine & Ayce Cordy???

17-05-2016, 11:45 AM
Zaine & Ayce Cordy???

Let's move past Ayce. Best leave that body burried

17-05-2016, 11:47 AM
May all our current players find equally fertile, son-bearing wives.

17-05-2016, 12:03 PM
May all our current players find equally fertile, son-bearing wives.

With athletic partners.

18-05-2016, 11:50 AM
With athletic partners.

I think we should start setting up dances and social nights with all our National female sides, Basketball and Netball in particular.;)

18-05-2016, 12:06 PM
I think we should start setting up dances and social nights with all our National female sides, Basketball and Netball in particular.;)

Maybe if it was 1950! Some computer guru needs to engineer some athletically beneficial Tinder matches for us.

18-05-2016, 01:16 PM
Actually, it's much better if they DON'T marry, just let them loose. Or convince them post career to become Mormons and move to Utah. If you get my drift

18-05-2016, 02:05 PM
I feel like this thread is about to head into some dangerous territory (and there's a whiff of deja vu about that)

19-05-2016, 09:44 AM
Exciting to hear about Jose's boy. Particularly that he is pacy and athletic - and that they are building the other (teachable) areas of his game up.

One of our current recruiting team said to me at a VFL game a few years back that of the next breed of father/son's - Jose's boy was 'The One'.

19-05-2016, 10:00 AM
One of our current recruiting team said to me at a VFL game a few years back that of the next breed of father/son's - Jose's boy was 'The One'.
That's interesting because just a year ago the were track-watchers who were talking about Oliver Liberatore basically doing what Tom was doing at the same age
Imagine two Liberatores in the same team!

19-05-2016, 10:46 AM
That's interesting because just a year ago the were track-watchers who were talking about Oliver Liberatore basically doing what Tom was doing at the same age

Two Libba's, a Romero, and a Bontempelli.

19-05-2016, 11:04 AM
Exciting to hear about Jose's boy. Particularly that he is pacy and athletic - and that they are building the other (teachable) areas of his game up.

The couple of times that I've seen Oliver Liberatore he's been impressive.

19-05-2016, 05:10 PM
Two Libba's, a Romero, and a Bontempelli.

The second coming of the Wog Squad.

20-05-2016, 11:01 PM
The second coming of the Wog Squad.

Wog Squad 2. This time they win flags.

04-06-2016, 09:43 AM
Not a father son candidate but still the son of a gun

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/messenger/sport/glenelgs-josh-koster-following-father-kym-kosters-lead/news-story/1a3f77e3bc1f11d87b66e135fa2feff4

GLENELG’S Josh Koster has never had far to go to seek advice.

Josh, 18, is the son of Kym Koster, a dual AFL premiership player across 133 games at Adelaide and the Western Bulldogs.

Kym coached Josh to an under-12 premiership at PHOS Camden.

These days Kym watches all of his son’s games, including his three-goal league debut for Glenelg against South Adelaide at Noarlunga last month.

“He’s been a massive influence on my footy,” Josh says.

“He always gets in my ear with what I should be doing to make me better.

“He’d always talk about what he’d done and gave me the determination to try to do what he did.”

Josh, of Novar Gardens, played seven reserves games last season and spent most of the year with Sacred Heart College’s First XVIII.

He joined the Tigers’ senior squad over summer but did not expect to play in round one.

“The first game was a surprise and I didn’t think I’d go as well as I did.

“(Teammates) got around me after the game, which was pretty good.

“I was pretty pumped and got a Gatorade shower.”

Josh is making his name as a small forward, unlike his midfielder father.

“He was more of an inside player and I’m more outside.

“Apparently he was quick but I personally think I’m a bit quicker than him.”

Josh’s aim this year is to play every league game and to follow in his father’s footsteps by being drafted.

“It’d be pretty much a dream come true ... but we’ll see what happens.”

04-06-2016, 10:23 AM
Presumably T&T has seen a bit of him.

I liked Koster as a player when I was growing up.

04-06-2016, 10:43 PM
Koster was a good player who was ready to take on a central role in our midfield

The Crows were gifted him and we received nothing in return right?

Not quite as bad as losing Tony McGuinness for nothing

Who says I have a long memory

04-06-2016, 10:57 PM
Koster was a good player who was ready to take on a central role in our midfield

The Crows were gifted him and we received nothing in return right?

Not quite as bad as losing Tony McGuinness for nothing

Who says I have a long memory

I thought we got good compo for Koster?

04-06-2016, 11:02 PM
Yep. We got pick 9 for Koster. Then spent it on Jackovich...

Barry Hall went at 20. So we took Jackovich and Ayce Cordy over Hall on two occasions.

04-07-2016, 08:58 PM
http://m.afl.com.au/news/2016-07-04/another-dogs-sonofagun-blossoms-at-championships

04-07-2016, 09:11 PM
Would love another West running around. Will be watching Rhylee closely over the next few years.

04-07-2016, 09:45 PM
Would love another West running around. Will be watching Rhylee closely over the next few years.

He's been playing school boys footy with Dunkley's brother as I understand. Already in the Calder u/16 system too. If he keeps growing he's going to be a very good sized midfielder. Hopefully his three younger brothers are cut from the same cloth.

His top year (2018) will likely have Josh Kellett & Oliver Liberatore around the Calder squad too, so I might find myself attending even more TAC footy.

04-07-2016, 09:48 PM
Scary - going to be tough to fit them all in and get enough points to bid for them. Some are going to be disappointed. May need to accumulate some future picks to spend.

04-07-2016, 09:52 PM
Scary - going to be tough to fit them all in and get enough points to bid for them. Some are going to be disappointed. May need to accumulate some future picks to spend.

Different years makes it a little easier. Rhylee is 2018. Josh & Ollie in 2019 might need some attention if they develop into elite kids.

04-07-2016, 10:02 PM

Son of the West

04-07-2016, 10:08 PM
Son of the West

SonS. There's four West boys. Hopefully together the best contested ball winning and great extractor midfield ever.

05-07-2016, 12:54 AM
Different years makes it a little easier. Rhylee is 2018. Josh & Ollie in 2019 might need some attention if they develop into elite kids.

That helps. What it does throw up though is that all being midfielders, how do you fit them all in? Granted they are a couple of years away, but if Honeychurch, Hrovat, Dale, Hamilton, Stevens etc are all around, competition for spots when these boys het drafted is going to be hot.

Also, it would be great if one of these guys was a tall forward (not likely knowing their genes) or a skilled half forward as we are really going to struggle to fit them all in!

30-08-2016, 12:47 PM
Jayden Foster has been delisted from Carlton.

30-08-2016, 12:57 PM

Shame, but it looks like the decision not to take him was likely the correct one.

30-08-2016, 01:19 PM

No surprise there, hardly got a touch at VFL level, and I don't think he played a senior game.

30-08-2016, 01:21 PM

His father was a late developer maybe there is still hope for Jayden

30-08-2016, 01:35 PM

I still think this may happen. You had to see the transformation of Peter Foster to believe it. He went from an unco to a real player very quickly. Maybe it was Malthouse that bought out the best in him or the move tho CHB but the transformation was amazing.

Maybe one for Footscray's list next year?

30-08-2016, 01:43 PM

My old man played VFA and I'm a reserves country footy hack. Sometimes it just doesn't happen unfortunately. :(

30-08-2016, 01:52 PM
We need KPFs at Footscray.

30-08-2016, 01:55 PM
They tried him both back and forward, and a good call from our list management team .

30-08-2016, 02:39 PM
My old man played VFA and I'm a reserves country footy hack. Sometimes it just doesn't happen unfortunately. :(

Dad won the GFL league B&F in U14s and I was happy to get a game in the Ds in the WRFL so I can also confirm this is the case

30-08-2016, 04:56 PM
Jayden is probably a bit short anyway.

30-08-2016, 05:29 PM
They tried him both back and forward, and a good call from our list management team .

In the end yeah it was. I remember being disappointed we didn't draft him. I was a big fan of Fossie when I was a kid so it was hard seeing his son go to a team like Carlton. Hopefully Footscray can grab him and test him out for a season or 2.

22-09-2016, 03:34 PM
Not a 'father/son', but a 'father/daughter'.....

... I have heard that Chris Grant's daughter (Bella is her name I think) dominated the Under 15s in the west this year and won the league best and fairest.

22-09-2016, 04:21 PM
Not a 'father/son', but a 'father/daughter'.....

... I have heard that Chris Grant's daughter (Bella is her name I think) dominated the Under 15s in the west this year and won the league best and fairest.

Might be the first girl to play AFL?

22-09-2016, 05:41 PM
I heard Peter Gordon say the AFL was contemplating Father/Daughter picks as long as the father played at least one senior game, not the hundred as it stands for sons.

22-09-2016, 05:44 PM
I heard Peter Gordon say the AFL was contemplating Father/Daughter picks as long as the father played at least one senior game, not the hundred as it stands for sons.

I thought it was approved. And longer term mother/daughter and mother/son will be brought in too.

22-09-2016, 06:14 PM
What about supporter/son? When will we get that? That's what I want to know.

01-10-2016, 10:18 AM
I see Tom De Koning (Dandenong Stingrays) *!is playing today in the under 17's Judd team.
Son of Terry kicked 9 goals a little while back and is posted at 198cm.

01-10-2016, 10:49 AM
I see Tom De Koning (Dandenong Stingrays) *!is playing today in the under 17's Judd team.
Son of Terry kicked 9 goals a little while back and is posted at 198cm.

He is very lightly framed but should be able to fill out

02-10-2016, 11:01 PM
Did De Koning play 100 games for the Doggies? Did he play 100 games of VFL/AFL?

02-10-2016, 11:08 PM
Only 31 games for the Dogs

02-10-2016, 11:09 PM
Did De Koning play 100 games for the Doggies? Did he play 100 games of VFL/AFL?
Not according to http://australianfootball.com/players/player/terry%2Bde%2Bkonning/11433

05-10-2016, 02:11 PM
An aside, Glenn Coleman's son Jackson is making his debut for the Bushrangers today.

05-10-2016, 02:18 PM

Im fine with us having him at Footscray - its a heartless bulldog that didn't love Fos

08-10-2016, 04:21 PM
As we look for sustained success, some father sons coming through might give us even better value for draft picks if they continue to impress. Rhylee West in 2018 and Josh Kellett & Ollie Liberatore in 2019. If these guys happen to push up the order and we can grab them somewhat discounted rate/getting higher quality players than the draft order, this could be a great list advantage for us over the next three years.

08-10-2016, 05:53 PM
Rhylee West was in the crowd with his dad in GF day. You'd imagine seeing someone like Dunks winning in his first year will give the kid some motivation to become the best he can be.

08-10-2016, 05:58 PM
Rhylee West was in the crowd with his dad in GF day. You'd imagine seeing someone like Dunks winning in his first year will give the kid some motivation to become the best he can be.

MVP for Vic Metro at the U/16 Champs. He's the best any of his team mates can be already! :D

08-10-2016, 07:52 PM
As we look for sustained success, some father sons coming through might give us even better value for draft picks if they continue to impress. Rhylee West in 2018 and Josh Kellett & Ollie Liberatore in 2019. If these guys happen to push up the order and we can grab them somewhat discounted rate/getting higher quality players than the draft order, this could be a great list advantage for us over the next three years.

Any info on how Romero's son has been tracking?

08-10-2016, 08:03 PM

Nothing too much. I'm pretty certain he's at the combine, so there's people looking at him and his testing. I haven't physically watched him this year, but last year was very small and very light.

08-10-2016, 10:39 PM
Hopefully he slips under the radar. Be nice to pick him up late like Cordy and Hunter

09-10-2016, 11:01 AM

Oliver Liberatore was also in the crowd and the rooms later. Can only be motivation.

09-10-2016, 11:21 AM
He played a couple of games in the VFL this year as 23rd man but only after school football like all players that age.
From what I gather it was a find your feet and get a look at professional football experience, from what I saw he didn't look to far out of the grade.

09-10-2016, 11:23 AM
Oliver Liberatore and young West should be very good players for us.

09-10-2016, 12:00 PM
Oliver Liberatore and young West should be very good players for us.

Yep. And Kellett is the one most exciting folks. He's been winning everything (club BFs and league BFs) as well as rep footy with Libba every year. The Kellett/Libba draft may require some points if they keep tracking they way they are.

09-10-2016, 12:05 PM
Nothing too much. I'm pretty certain he's at the combine, so there's people looking at him and his testing. I haven't physically watched him this year, but last year was very small and very light.

When Romero Senior joined North he was probably only 68-70kgs

Plus if Michael played both school footy and TAC cup he wouldnt had a massive workload - impacting performances at both

Hopefully other clubs overlook Michael and we get him for a bargain

Wog Squad #2

09-10-2016, 12:12 PM
When Romero Senior joined North he was probably only 68-70kgs

Plus if Michael played both school footy and TAC cup he wouldnt had a massive workload - impacting performances at both

Hopefully other clubs overlook Michael and we get him for a bargain

Wog Squad #2

Kings of Mikkanos. :D

We need to wait for Dimma's kid. He's only playing under 13's.

04-03-2017, 11:22 AM
An article from August last year on sportcentral.com.au :

THE cream of under-18 football talent will come together to develop on and off-the field over the next year as they set about embarking on a career at the elite level.

Fifty-six players will receive a NAB AFL Academy scholarship, and under the guidance of AFL National Academy head coach Brenton Sanderson will attend AFL football and personal development camps to be held in Australia and overseas across the next 12 months.

The intake is across two squads, with the level one group comprising players from the NAB AFL Under-16 Championships, while the level two squad is made up of the best 30 players in the country who are eligible for the 2017 NAB AFL Draft.

Player induction commenced this week, and both squads will conduct camps in Melbourne during September.

A trio of father-son prospects headline the level two group that will be eligible for selection in two years’ time, with Nick Blakey, Bailey Scott and Rhylee West deemed to be among the best of the best in their age bracket.

Blakey, the son of former North Melbourne premiership player John, is available to the Brisbane Lions and Kangaroos as a father-son selection given John’s 135-game stint with the Fitzroy Lions and 224 games with North, which included the 1996 and 1999 premierships. As he has spent a minimum of five years in Sydney while his father has been an assistant coach at the Swans, Blakey is eligible to be taken by Sydney as an academy prospect.

Robert Scott’s 100-plus game stints with Geelong and the Kangaroos means Bailey will be available to both clubs. Based in Broadbeach, Bailey could also be taken by the Gold Coast Suns.

Rhylee, the son of seven-times Western Bulldogs’ best-and-fairest winner Scott, is a father-son choice for the Bulldogs. Calder Cannons Talent Manager Ian Kyte said Rhylee showed similar attributes to his father who was renowned for his ability to win the football at the stoppages and use it cleanly by hand.

LEVEL ONE NAB AFL ACADEMY (draft-eligible 2018)
NSW-ACT: Matthew Walker, Nick Blakey
Queensland: Bailey Scott
Tasmania: Chance Jones, Tarryn Thomas
Northern Territory: Michael Mummery
Western Australia: Ian Hill, Tom Joyce, Sydney Stack, Jason Carter
Vic Country: Sam Walsh, Zane Barzen, Jye Caldwell, Sam Fletcher, Hudson Garoni
Vic Metro: Rhylee West, Jack Bytel, Max King, Ben King
South Australia: Izak Rankine, Connor Rozee, Jackson Hately, Jack Lukosius, Hugo Munn, Ruben Flinn, Luke Valente

AFL National and International Talent Manager Kevin Sheehan said the NAB AFL Academy’s focus was on developing well-rounded individuals.

“The Academy’s motto is to develop better people and better players,” said Sheehan.

“The coaches and mentors involved in the Academy over the two decades have helped shape our future players into becoming stars of the game and great leaders who can succeed on and off the field.”

17-12-2017, 04:17 PM
The possibilities.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DRKHgUGUIAAY_IN.jpg

17-12-2017, 07:10 PM
The possibilities.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DRKHgUGUIAAY_IN.jpg

One each so they can represent the dogs in both.

08-03-2018, 09:15 AM
2018 tac

western bulldogs father son prospects oliver liberatore, tyler kolyniuk and josh kellett have all been named in their tac team bottom age list.josh and tyler will suit up for western jets this season while oliver will follow his older brothers footsteps and play for calder cannons with this year's father-son prospect rhylee west.

Though they are not eligible to join western bulldogs as father sons, jacob martin (son of michael) and harrison minton-connell (son of simon) have also been named in the calder cannon sides.

09-03-2018, 12:59 AM
Wow young Kolyniuk snuck up!. Didn't realise he was a possible future gun?

09-03-2018, 10:13 AM
Not sure we need a good recruiter if all these father /sons are good enough. :-)

09-03-2018, 06:42 PM
Wow young Kolyniuk snuck up!. Didn't realise he was a possible future gun?

So what shall we call him, Billy the kid's kid!

09-03-2018, 09:36 PM
So what shall we call him, Billy the kid's kid!

Billy the little kid.

Or Billy's little kid!

10-03-2018, 11:18 AM
Pretty sure there's a Darcy and a Dimattina a year or two later also. Plus Mrs West had four boys, so they will coming coming up too. If several of them get drafted by us, I propose the club award Mrs West a life membership and the number one ticket holder for as long as she wants it.

Rhylee West, Khamis (NGA), Liberatore, Kellett, Kolynuik, Darcy, Dimmatina, Wests X 3

Hopefully most make the grade and we can plunder the system.

10-03-2018, 07:13 PM
Pretty sure there's a Darcy and a Dimattina a year or two later also. Plus Mrs West had four boys, so they will coming coming up too. If several of them get drafted by us, I propose the club award Mrs West a life membership and the number one ticket holder for as long as she wants it.

Rhylee West, Khamis (NGA), Liberatore, Kellett, Kolynuik, Darcy, Dimmatina, Wests X 3

Hopefully most make the grade and we can plunder the system.

Maybe we can be the first club to make up an entire team from F/S recruits?

I'm looking for a another challenge for us post premiership.

11-03-2018, 11:14 AM
Let's hope these father/sons come in all shapes and sizes, don't want 6 mids and we let a couple go and they burn it up.
I want to see a ruckman , a CHF a CHB and a couple of midfielders so far all I see are mids :-(

11-03-2018, 12:12 PM
Let's hope these father/sons come in all shapes and sizes, don't want 6 mids and we let a couple go and they burn it up.
I want to see a ruckman , a CHF a CHB and a couple of midfielders so far all I see are mids :-(

It's a midfielders game. Most teams set up with one tall forward, two tall backs a ruckman, a versatile tall and 17 blokes who can run, run, run.

11-03-2018, 10:46 PM
It's a midfielders game. Most teams set up with one tall forward, two tall backs a ruckman, a versatile tall and 17 blokes who can run, run, run.

As early as 1998 a journo were about Terry Wallace using "A ruckman in Scott Wynd, a CHF in Chris Grant, and 16 midfielders" after a win

12-03-2018, 12:58 AM
As early as 1998 a journo were about Terry Wallace using "A ruckman in Scott Wynd, a CHF in Chris Grant, and 16 midfielders" after a win

The West Coast premiership teams in 1992 and especially 1994 used to be called the midfield premiership teams at the time because they had so many mids and a lot less talls than teams tended to have back then.

12-03-2018, 01:30 PM
You know if it looks like we will plunder the father/son system, they will change the rules so we can't benefit.

27-03-2018, 04:09 PM
FULL LIST OF 2018 NEXT GENERATION ACADEMY PROSPECTS

Adelaide
Kudzaishe Motsi

Carlton
Artan Cabdi
Ethan Penrith
Sunny Brazier
Nick Riebelt
Mitchell Wild
Vian Swanepoel

Collingwood
Atuniasa Bosenavulagi
Ubil Chol
Piers Hikaru McDermott
Kang Nyoak
Isaac Quaynor
Bailey Wraith

Essendon
Daniel Hanna
Lucas Cooper
Ismail Moussa
Jake Firebrace
Kyle Gillard

Fremantle
Jason Carter
Thomas Medhat

Geelong
Titit Nyak
Blake Schlensog

Gold Coast
Kwabye Boakye

Greater Western Sydney
Matthew Walker

Hawthorn
Tyrone Hayes
Bol Jok
Stephen Kapahnke
Irving Mosquito
Ben Cardamone

Melbourne
Daniel Allsop
Toby Bedford

North Melbourne
Tarryn Trindall (Thomas)
Matthew McGuinness
Rhyan Mansell

Port Adelaide
Manguru Fredrick
Kai Pudney

Richmond
David Smith
Anthony Walker
Kyle Clarke
Coen Cooper
Ajak Dang
Kai Madgwick
Phillip Moi Moi
Kailen Walker
Phillip Solomon

St Kilda
Dawit McNeish
Adam Ossip

West Coast
Jarrod Cameron
Atem Dang
Jacob Msando
Yugusuk Soka
Nyika John
Dylan Striya
Sebit Kuek
Massimilian Romaine
Maximilien Fabre
Fred Ruremesha

Western Bulldogs
Joshua Chatfield
Buku Khamis
Lachlan Brooke-Harrison (Dawson)

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-03-27/pies-could-be-big-winner-from-next-gen-academy

27-03-2018, 11:07 PM
I heard recently that young Darcy is a gun sportsman tall and athletic. Lets hope he chooses football.

28-03-2018, 09:20 AM
FULL LIST OF 2018 NEXT GENERATION ACADEMY PROSPECTS

Western Bulldogs
Joshua Chatfield
Buku Khamis
Lachlan Brooke-Harrison (Dawson)

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-03-27/pies-could-be-big-winner-from-next-gen-academy

B4L - these are not father/sons? I think you have the wrong thread.

28-03-2018, 09:54 AM
B4L - these are not father/sons? I think you have the wrong thread.

Sorry about that. I saw that Buku Khamis' name mentioned earlier in thread so took it from there.

28-03-2018, 10:24 AM
Do we have a thread about the Academy players?

28-03-2018, 10:25 AM
Do we have a thread about the Academy players?

May be good to start one unless there is one already somewhere on the forum.

28-03-2018, 12:29 PM
I don't recall one Easty.

28-03-2018, 01:04 PM
I don't recall one Easty.

In that case I'll create one.

30-03-2018, 03:50 PM
Rhylee West named BOG for Calder last night in their TAC Cup win over Eastern. He had 31 disposals and a goal.

31-03-2018, 02:17 PM
Rhylee West named BOG for Calder last night in their TAC Cup win over Eastern. He had 31 disposals and a goal.

Also took a screamer that his dad could only dream about. There's footage on the TAC Cup twitter account.

31-03-2018, 02:46 PM
Also took a screamer that his dad could only dream about. There's footage on the TAC Cup twitter account.

Any overhead mark taken with both feet off the ground is far above what Scott could do :-)

31-03-2018, 02:55 PM
It's a nice grab.

31-03-2018, 06:49 PM
Did we miss a trick in not drafting Darcy MacPherson. Is proving to be a handy pick up for the Suns

31-03-2018, 08:02 PM
Would Darcy have gotten a game with Dahlhaus, Hrovat, Honeychurch around? I really like his pressure. His kicking is a little hit and miss but overall, I suspect that we just had too many similar types.

01-04-2018, 07:06 AM
Well considering 1 has gone, another is a week to week proposition, I am thinking that D Mac may be one that got away. Time will tell.

01-04-2018, 11:44 AM
Sadly young Darcy is a dime a dozen.
I would back honey and Hrovat were still better choices than him.
But good luck to him I hope he proves the club wrong.
The joys of sport,it isn't black and white who will make it.

01-04-2018, 08:45 PM

What's his skill level like. Can he at least hit the side of a barn?

01-04-2018, 11:28 PM
What's his skill level like. Can he at least hit the side of a barn?

He probably gets more tuition and advice on his kicking at his TAC Cup club than he would with us I'd reckon. I hope he does anyway.

04-04-2018, 11:22 AM
Western Bulldogs son of a gun embracing the pressure of famous West pedigree

HE HAS the famous West name and he could end up out west by the end of the year, but this son of a gun is embracing the pressure that comes with his pedigree.
Calder Cannons midfielder Rhylee West isn’t just another prospect in this year’s draft pool.

He is the son of seven-time Western Bulldogs best and fairest winner and five-time All-Australian midfielder Scott West, who retired from the game after 324 games at the end of 2008 when Rhylee was seven.

After collecting 31 possessions in a best on ground performance against the Eastern Ranges last Thursday night, West has strengthened his draft credentials early this season.

“There’s a bit of pressure trying to live up to the name and whatnot, but at the end of the day it’s all about the want to get drafted full stop, not worrying about the specifics too early,” West said on AFL 360 on Tuesday night.

“There is a bit of pressure, but you’ve just got to take it on your stride and brush it off.”

Since the day West was born at the start of this millennium, he has been dreaming of playing on the MCG, just like his old man used to.

On Saturday, West and the AFL Academy will face North Melbourne’s VFL side on the hallowed turf, as they take one step closer to November’s NAB AFL Draft.

“It’s hallowed turf and I’ve wanted to be out there since the day I was born,” he said.

“Seeing Dad on TV gives you that extra want for that.

“Going out there in the middle on Saturday is going to be pretty special.”

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/western-bulldogs-son-of-a-gun-embracing-the-pressure-of-famous-west-pedigree/news-story/6e51dceb999d7500393986df244655ab

08-04-2018, 10:19 AM
Sons to carry on famous fathers' rivalry

http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/Rhylee%20West.jpg

WHEN Scott West was flying through Penleigh Essendon Grammar School on his way to AFL stardom, there was another kid in the school team who stood out.

Long arms, rangy physique, red hair.
His name was Dustin Fletcher.

The pair went on to play a combined 724 AFL matches, 16 times meeting at the top level after two years of school footy together.

Fast forward 26 years and West is seeing double.

Just like that 1992 school team, the combination of West and Fletcher is at it again, this time for under-18 TAC Cup team Calder Cannons.

And in 12 months’ time, Western Bulldogs and Essendon clashes could take on new meaning for two of football’s most famous families, sons Rhylee West and Mason Fletcher in line to be drafted as father-son selections.

“If you walked into a game of footy and you said Dustin Fletcher’s kid was playing, it wouldn’t take you long to work out which one he was,” Scott told the AFL Record this week.

“He’s his dad, just a bit younger. People might say that about Rhylee (and me), the way he runs.”
Rhylee is already making recruiters stand up and take notice with his ferocious attack on the football.

The midfielder spent a month with the Bulldogs over summer honing his craft before a trip to the United States with the AFL Academy under coach Luke Power.

By November, he will have spent time with the Academy, played with the Cannons, school football with St Kevin’s and represented Vic Metro before potentially having his name read out by the Dogs.

“There’s a lot of different voices, a lot of different commitments,” Scott said.
“Having so much scrutiny on these kids who are trying to balance their lives, grow up, get their licence, do Year 12 and try to play good footy, it can be overwhelming, even as parents.”

At 199cm, Mason is already taller than his famous father and shows no sign of slowing down.

He’s added three centimetres in the past 12 months and was last year added to the Vic Metro squad as a bottom-age defender.

Should the Dogs and Bombers select the duo before rival clubs in this year’s NAB AFL Draft, it would continue a long-running history of family connections.

Meanwhile, West would love to see Rhylee follow in the footsteps of sons of his teammates Mark Hunter (Lachie), Tony Liberatore (Tom) and Stephen Wallis (Mitch).

“To see him wear the red, white and blue would be just an amazing thing,” Scott said.

“If he gets there, it would be an absolute bonus. I’d love him to play at the Bulldogs, but he just wants to get drafted.”

It might not stop there. Liberatore’s son Oliver is in the Cannons squad and eligible for next year’s draft while Max Fletcher is making waves in the under-16 team.

And the Wests could be controlling the Bulldogs midfield in years to come. Twins Cooper and Cobi will turn 15 this year, while youngest son Levi will be 10.

08-04-2018, 12:08 PM
Report on AFL website re the AFL Academy game that Rhylee played in yesterday. See link (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-04-07/three-no1-pick-fancies-shine-against-vfl-roos) here.

08-04-2018, 02:24 PM
Is the AFL academy side in the VFL this year ?

08-04-2018, 02:29 PM
Is the AFL academy side in the VFL this year ?
No just for this game.

08-04-2018, 02:33 PM
West will be a good AFL player. His ball winning ability shoukd transition nice at the senior level

08-04-2018, 03:02 PM
West will be a good AFL player. His ball winning ability shoukd transition nice at the senior level

Is he a good ball user?

08-04-2018, 03:04 PM
Is he a good ball user?
He's good enough in my opinion

08-04-2018, 03:08 PM
Will be interesting to see how highly he is rated come draft time. I'm sure we will be pragmatic if, in what has been mooted to be a strong draft, we have to make a tough call.

11-04-2018, 12:06 PM
Some father/sons at VU Whitten Oval including Libba's, Croft, Johnson, and West

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DaZfCBLUMAA-ZE0.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DaZfCBQVQAA3pf8.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DaZfCBLUMAIaFYx.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DaZfEneUQAA05Ir.jpg

11-04-2018, 12:44 PM
Some father/sons at VU Whitten Oval including Libba's, Croft, Johnson, and West

A Kellet too in the top picture on the left. And would the kid in # 2 be one of Billy Kolyniuk's kids?

11-04-2018, 12:53 PM
A Kellet too in the top picture on the left. And would the kid in # 2 be one of Billy Kolyniuk's kids?

Looks like 2 Crofts

11-04-2018, 01:36 PM
Looks like 2 Crofts

From the look of it the kids are wearing their dad's numbers? There are a few #7s and a couple of 16s

11-04-2018, 01:46 PM
That rosy-cheeked kid has to be Johnno's son!

11-04-2018, 02:03 PM
Fark there's another Libba!

11-04-2018, 02:36 PM
Fantastic the way they give the boys their dads numbers - and lovely to see them involved like this

Whatever the outcome, and clearly I'd prefer many multiple premiership players to emerge from this group, I hope its a positive experience for the lads

11-04-2018, 02:48 PM
Can't see a Romero there. I think his draft has come and gone and he didn't nominate?

11-04-2018, 02:52 PM
That rosy-cheeked kid has to be Johnno's son!

The one uncle Rohan is handballing the ball to?:)

11-04-2018, 02:53 PM
The potential future father son list from BigFooty:

Eligible Father/Sons

Rhylee West - (2018 Draft)
Joshua Kellett - (2019 Draft)
Oliver Liberatore (2019 Draft)
Tyler Kolyniuk (2019 Draft)
Daniel Romero (2019 Draft)
Sam Darcy - (2021 Draft)
Cooper West - (2021 Draft)
Kobi West - (2021 Draft)
Kyan Eagleton - (2022 Draft)
Mitchell Croft - (2022 Draft)
Jordan Croft - (2022 Draft)
Tom Garlick - (2023 Draft)
Max Darcy - (2023 Draft)
Jack Johnson - (2023 Draft)
Harry Cameron - (2024 Draft)
Lukas Eagleton - (2025 Draft)
Jaxon Cooney - (2025 Draft)
Oliver Grant - (2025 Draft)
Jarvis Murphy - (2025 Draft)
Cohen Lake - (2025 Draft)
Sonny Garlick - (2025 Draft)
Riley Morris - (2026 Draft)
Zakaria Daniel Mark Southern (2028 Draft)
Malachy Picken - (2030 Draft)
Jack Cameron - (2030 Draft)
Levi Hahn (2030 Draft)
Otis Giansiracusa - (2030 Draft)
Tyler Cross - (2030 Draft)
Jude Brown - (2031 Draft)
Miller Kretiuk - (2034 Draft)
James Boyd - (2034 Draft)

Going from that it would seem we can identify in the photos: Wests x2, Crofts x2, Kolyniuk, Johnson, Libba, Kellett.

Funny that after being nicknamed Judas by dogs supporters after he left Nathan Brown would name his son Jude.

11-04-2018, 02:53 PM
Can't see a Romero there. I think his draft has come and gone and he didn't nominate?

Don't think he was good enough but the good news is there is another.

11-04-2018, 04:00 PM
2019 is going to be an interesting draft......especially if they are all extremely talented footballers......hopefully they are a little like Lachie Hunter was in his draft year, good but unspectacular

11-04-2018, 04:12 PM
Don't think he was good enough but the good news is there is another.

I saw him train a couple of times. He didn't look like he was he was enjoying himself.

11-04-2018, 04:23 PM
2019 is going to be an interesting draft......especially if they are all extremely talented footballers......hopefully they are a little like Lachie Hunter was in his draft year, good but unspectacular

Maybe that's why Dalrymple left, he would have had nothing to do next year!

11-04-2018, 04:59 PM
Maybe that's why Dalrymple left, he would have had nothing to do next year!

Yeah I thought that too. He'd just be sitting in his office twiddling his thumbs with lists of F/S nominations everywhere.

24-04-2018, 07:52 PM
From the u/18 AFL Academy vs North VFL game two weeks ago (from aflcentral.com.au):

#7 Rhylee West – West was a bulldozer all day for the academy in the midfield, he started strong with nine disposals in the 1st quarter and just willed himself in every contest. West was physical all day laying nine tackles and getting under the skin of his senior opponents, in the 2nd quarter he laid an impressive fend off that Dustin Martin would be proud of. His attack on the ball and good hands at the stoppages once again reminded us of his famous father. Finished the day with 16 disposals.

And Buku too:

18 Buku Khamis – Overall Buku Khamis defended strongly against his North Melbourne opponents. His athleticism as a key position player was impressive, regularly leaping into the air to spoil, although he dropped a couple of marks and was hesitant to mark the ball overhead at times. Showed off some dash out of defence outpacing tacklers which was encouraging.

In cliches, West sounds 'ready to go from round one next year' and Khamis sounds like, 'an exciting key position project player'.

24-04-2018, 08:20 PM
Thanks BT.

24-04-2018, 10:35 PM
In cliches, West sounds 'ready to go from round one next year' and Khamis sounds like, 'an exciting key position project player'.

Give him the Scott Clayton stamp of approval.

25-04-2018, 08:50 AM
I tend to think khamis has more upside than Majak Daw had as he can read the play more naturally.

06-05-2018, 03:56 PM
ESPN's Knightmare put his May power rankings up a few hours ago on ESPN. It's similar to a phantom draft of sorts, he places Rhylee at 18 (ergo, first rounder):

18. Rhylee West (VIC - Western Bulldogs F/S)
Best position: Inside midifeld
Height, weight: 180cm, 80kg
Recruited from: Calder Cannons
Projected draft range: 10-40
Similar to: Nathan Jones (FFS, Surely it's Scott West)
April ranking: 19
Rationale: Hard, ball-winning midfielder with production on the board. Strong performance against North Melbourne's VFL side sees West's stocks rise.
Strengths:
-Strong body
-Contested ball-winning
-Composure with ball in hand
-Tackling
-Vision
-Reliable ball user
-Midfielder who can push forward
-Acceleration

Weaknesses:
-Height
-X-factor

(I couldn't access a Hun story on Rhylee from a few days ago, so if anyone can...)

A few different sources place him in the first round now. Just as long as our first pick is before the first nomination on him.

06-05-2018, 04:06 PM
I now it's not a FS, but we will have way too many threads following who may or may not be fast tracked to us:

Buku's last game in the TAC:

#38 Buku Khamis – The Western Bulldogs Next Generation Academy member played as a tall defender, often matched up on Dragons forward James Rendell. Khamis marked well overhead, clunking seven marks for the match and was able to intercept at crucial times, when the Dragons bombed the ball deep (especially in the second and third quarters). He was involved in the play early in the match, with some real positive signs that haven’t consistently been there all season.

06-05-2018, 05:34 PM
Rhylee West (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/localfooty/western-bulldogs-fatherson-prospect-rhylee-west-has-hallmarks-of-his-famous-father-scott/news-story/daa7b1cb9a164975ee6890224e70413e)

RHYLEE West says he is unfazed by the pressure to emulate his famous father’s AFL exploits as he chases a career at the top level.

The son of Western Bulldogs champion Scott West, Rhylee trained at Whitten Oval during pre-season and is expected to be snapped up as a father-son selection at this year’s AFL national draft.

A tough inside midfielder, Rhylee’s playing style has inevitably been compared to his dad’s.

“There is a bit of pressure,” Rhylee said.

“But I just sweep it off and don’t really put too much pressure on myself to be as good as he was.

“Because obviously he was a great player. I just take it in my stride.”

Rhylee was eight when his dad played the last of his 324 games in the red, white and blue, accumulating seven Charles Sutton medals and five All-Australian selections during a storied career.

“I remember sitting in the crèche and watching him on TV and sometimes going out on the ground with him,” he said.

“Having him as my dad is probably one of the greatest advantages I have.”

The Strathmore junior was limited to five TAC Cup appearances for Calder Cannons last year by injury and school football commitments at St Kevin’s.

West, who stands at 180cm and weighs 81kg, gave Western Bulldogs supporters a taste of what is to come in Round 2 this season.

The 17-year-old collected 29 disposals, four marks and laid six tackles against Eastern Ranges in a best-afield display.

“Last year was a bit unfortunate with the foot injury,” he said. “But this year has started off strong and hopefully I can carry that throughout the whole year.”

The physical on-baller relishes contested footy with the same enthusiasm his father did, averaging four tackles per game in his first TAC Cup campaign last year.

“I see some of his highlights and it is some of the stuff I try and do out on the field,” West said. “I can definitely see why people compare us.”

West has two strong role models to learn from as he prepares for the next step, fellow Calder Cannons father-son selections Mitch Wallis and Tom Liberatore.

The AFL pair forged the same path West is set to embark on after their fathers Steve (261 games) and Tony (283 matches) enjoyed long careers with the Bulldogs.

“We didn’t really speak directly about it but I guess it is sort of just implied,” Rhylee said. “Mitch has dealt with it well and so has Libba. Hopefully I can emulate that.”

08-05-2018, 05:09 PM
Not sure if this is the place to post this, but there's a kid playing for my son's U14 team, Flemington Colts who is a FREAK.

Last week against West Footscray at the start of the game, he grabs the ball from the centre bounce, runs past every one eludes a couple of chasers by putting on the afterburners, breaks a tackle and kicks a goal from about 35 meters out. This is all in the first 5 seconds of the game. Everyone in the crowd was just gobsmacked. People from both sides were actually laughing incredulously. (me included). He does this kind of thing all the time. At the moment he just gets the ball and keeps running and bouncing and breaking tackles and doesn't know when to stop. When he gets a bit calmer and more savvy he'll be unstoppable. And he's TALL. he's not one of those zippy little kids, he's just a big strong pure sprinter. Nice kid too.

His name is Noah Hopman, and he has an interesting background, which makes me think he MAY be eligible for our academy if he's in our zone. I think he lives in Kensington.

He's adopted and clearly looks to be Melanesian. He looks like he could be from New Guinea or the Solomon Islands. The only information I can get out of my son is that his adoptive parents 'found' him in a park in a basket?!?

But he doesn't know where.

Anyway..........if anyone here can tip off the right person at the club............he's one to follow up

Monique Conti was the last footballer I raved about 'discovering' on this site. Noahs a whole 'nother level of athleticism.

09-05-2018, 06:38 AM
Not sure if this is the place to post this, but there's a kid playing for my son's U14 team, Flemington Colts who is a FREAK.

Last week against West Footscray at the start of the game, he grabs the ball from the centre bounce, runs past every one eludes a couple of chasers by putting on the afterburners, breaks a tackle and kicks a goal from about 35 meters out. This is all in the first 5 seconds of the game. Everyone in the crowd was just gobsmacked. People from both sides were actually laughing incredulously. (me included). He does this kind of thing all the time. At the moment he just gets the ball and keeps running and bouncing and breaking tackles and doesn't know when to stop. When he gets a bit calmer and more savvy he'll be unstoppable. And he's TALL. he's not one of those zippy little kids, he's just a big strong pure sprinter. Nice kid too.

His name is Noah Hopman, and he has an interesting background, which makes me think he MAY be eligible for our academy if he's in our zone. I think he lives in Kensington.

He's adopted and clearly looks to be Melanesian. He looks like he could be from New Guinea or the Solomon Islands. The only information I can get out of my son is that his adoptive parents 'found' him in a park in a basket?!?

Anyway..........if anyone here can tip off the right person at the club............he's one to follow up

Monique Conti was the last footballer I raved about 'discovering' on this site. Noahs a whole 'nother level of athleticism.

Be interesting to watch as he gets into under 16/18s that's when other players tend to catch up. Sounds like he is ripe for rugby league, does he play any other sport ?

09-05-2018, 07:25 AM

He's Brian Royals long lost son, they drove home from the hospital about 14 years ago and he fell out of the back of the car and haven't seen him since, im so glad you found him! - Wait that makes him eligible for a FS right? :)

09-05-2018, 07:57 AM
He's Brian Royals long lost son, they drove home from the hospital about 14 years ago and he fell out of the back of the car and haven't seen him since, im so glad you found him! - Wait that makes him eligible for a FS right? :)

Oh yeah. I remember Choco talking about it.

09-05-2018, 09:22 AM

Thanks for the reminder this thread is about Father sons.

09-05-2018, 09:43 AM
Fathers and sons: Who's on the radar? (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-05-09/fathers-and-sons-whos-on-the-radar)

WESTERN BULLDOGS

On the horizon: Rhylee West, the son of five-time All Australian and seven-time club champion Scott West, is draft eligible this year and rugged midfielder is likely to end up at Whitten Oval as the club's latest father-son recruit. The Calder Cannons product could attract a bid in the top 20 in November's NAB AFL Draft, due to his contested-ball ability and aerial prowess. The only knock on the AFL Academy member is his kicking can be hit and miss. With a few similar types to West on their list, the Dogs have shown in the past they'll overlook sons of guns (Darcy MacPherson and Jayden Foster) if they don't measure up.

Watch list: There are more than 30 potential father-sons who could follow in their fathers' footsteps, and several available in the coming seasons. Tom Liberatore's brother Oliver is impressing at the Calder Cannons and is draft eligible next year. Former ruckman Luke Darcy's oldest boy Sam is 14 and already over six feet tall and could become a third-generation Bulldog, while West has two twin boys, Cooper and Kobi, impressing in junior footy ahead of the 2022 draft. Leon Cameron could be coaching against his son Harry if he's still at the helm of Greater Western Sydney in 2024. And recently retired club Matthew Boyd's infant son James could be in the 2034 talent pool.

Past father-son successes: While VFL legend Ted Whitten was a hard act to follow, Ted jnr was a solid contributor with 133 goals in 144 games. Former captain Luke Darcy was a 200-gamer and All Australian after his father David played 133 games for the club. While Tom Liberatore might not have won a Brownlow Medal like his dad Tony, he has won a club best and fairest. Current Bulldogs Lachie Hunter and Mitch Wallis have also been great servants like their fathers Mark and Steve.

09-05-2018, 10:07 AM
Fathers and sons: Who's on the radar? (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-05-09/fathers-and-sons-whos-on-the-radar)

WESTERN BULLDOGS

Former ruckman Luke Darcy's oldest boy Sam is 14 and already over six feet tall and could become a third-generation Bulldog.

Wouldn't that be great. Some of us on here probably remember Dave Darcy, I was only young but he was one of my favourites. Played many games for Victoria, and rarely had big scores kicked on him in the era where FF was king. Again an underrated player and rarely spoken about by dickhead media people, and in my opinion one of the best Fullbacks in his era.

09-05-2018, 11:20 AM
Wouldn't that be great. Some of us on here probably remember Dave Darcy, I was only young but he was one of my favourites. Played many games for Victoria, and rarely had big scores kicked on him in the era where FF was king. Again an underrated player and rarely spoken about by dickhead media people, and in my opinion one of the best Fullbacks in his era.

Was one of my heroes. He was a spectacular kick in my then young mind.

11-05-2018, 09:40 PM

Kangas zone, but feel free to keep it quiet chief!!!

12-05-2018, 07:01 AM
Move him to West Footscray. I've got a spare room.

15-05-2018, 05:08 PM
Thanks for the reminder this thread is about Father sons.

I'm sorry if I'm being ignorant, but is their a separate thread for our academy players?

15-05-2018, 05:11 PM
I'm sorry if I'm being ignorant, but is their a separate thread for our academy players?

DD you can find one here (https://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?15208-The-Academy-System&highlight=academy)

15-05-2018, 05:12 PM
Be interesting to watch as he gets into under 16/18s that's when other players tend to catch up. Sounds like he is ripe for rugby league, does he play any other sport ?

I don't know if he plays other sports. He loves footy though and at this stage has more of an Aussie rules type physique. Unfortunately he broke a kids arm on the weekend. The Caroline springs player thought he was well and truly in the clear but 3 or 4 huge loping strides from Noah and he came from nowhere and ploughed him down at breakneck speed. Snapped the poor kids forearm clean in half. Seems he's in the Kanga's zone anyway. Unless of course he's Brian Royal's long lost son.

15-05-2018, 05:13 PM
Thanks bad

15-05-2018, 08:29 PM
I don't know if he plays other sports. He loves footy though and at this stage has more of an Aussie rules type physique. Unfortunately he broke a kids arm on the weekend. The Caroline springs player thought he was well and truly in the clear but 3 or 4 huge loping strides from Noah and he came from nowhere and ploughed him down at breakneck speed. Snapped the poor kids forearm clean in half. Seems he's in the Kanga's zone anyway. Unless of course he's Brian Royal's long lost son.

So was Scott Wynd. And Tony Liberatore.

15-05-2018, 09:04 PM
So was Scott Wynd. And Tony Liberatore.

Scott Wynd, Jose Romero from Jacana near Broadie.

15-05-2018, 11:21 PM
Scott Wynd, Jose Romero from Jacana near Broadie.

Yep but Jose played 80 odd senior games at North on his journey to the Bulldigs. We signed Wynd at 12.01 on his 17th birthday a minute after North's hold on him as a sixteen year old expired. They thought they had another year with exclusive rights to him. That was sweet.