View Full Version : Round 5 - Other Matches

24-04-2013, 03:51 PM
Discussion of the other matches in Round 5. Earlier start to the round because of Anzac Day.

Round 5

25.04.2013 14:40 MCG Essendon V Collingwood

25.04.2013 21:40 Westpac Stadium (NZ) St. Kilda V Sydney

26.04.2013 20:40 Patersons Stadium Fremantle V Richmond

27.04.2013 13:40 Manuka Oval Greater Western Sydney V Gold Coast

27.04.2013 16:40 MCG Carlton V Adelaide

27.04.2013 19:40 AAMI Stadium Port Adelaide V West Coast

27.04.2013 19:40 Etihad Stadium Western Bulldogs V Geelong

28.04.2013 15:15 Gabba Brisbane V Melbourne

28.04.2013 16:40 MCG Hawthorn V North Melbourne

All times in AEST

24-04-2013, 05:05 PM
Some great matches this weekend.

For those who like a gamble, you can arbitrage in and get a $5 multi for $20 on Magpies into Swans. you can then back Essendon independently and you will win no matter what.

25-04-2013, 11:09 AM
Ive tipped the Pies to win by 8 points in a close one over the Bombers in the Anzac Day blockbuster.

25-04-2013, 05:42 PM
Bombres March on.
Their season was ruined by soft tissue injuries, last year.
Thought the pies left to much to a few players.
Unbelievably big crowd, with the event bigger than the game.
Just proves the returns from this game should be shared amongst other clubs as well.

25-04-2013, 06:30 PM
Great atmosphere at the game. I wore my beard scarf and barracked for the People's Beard, but was very happy to see the ........ (please insert the appropriate insult) lose.

25-04-2013, 07:18 PM
Little miffed by this filth term.
Should be used for Carlton only

25-04-2013, 08:32 PM
Little miffed by this filth term.
Should be used for Carlton only

Funny, I see Collingwood as perfectly suited to the word.

25-04-2013, 08:47 PM
Ian Collins , cheats , arrogance .
Fit the term perfectly.
Don't see Carlton giving us a yearly home game to make some coin.
Collingwood have stood by our club during tough times,.
Carlton would take us over and kill us off.

25-04-2013, 08:58 PM
Fit the term perfectly.

Remi your points are excellent and can't be debated, I just hate Collingwood :D

25-04-2013, 10:18 PM
Fit the term perfectly.

I'm happy with the cheats for Cartlon
How the ferals for the wobbles

26-04-2013, 01:55 AM
Watching the Stkilda Swans game .
Luke Parker, Hannebery great games.
Dal Santo's really struggling and Kosi's done.
Sydney back to their tough contested best.Thought Sydney held them at arms length.

26-04-2013, 08:21 AM
Watching the Stkilda Swans game .
Luke Parker, Hannebery great games.
Dal Santo's really struggling and Kosi's done.
Sydney back to their tough contested best.Thought Sydney held them at arms length.

Rampke looked handy too.

26-04-2013, 02:18 PM
Watters is having a sook about Sydney's so called blocking tactics

26-04-2013, 11:09 PM
Exciting finish in the Fremantle-Richmond match. Could go either way. I tipped the Dockers.

26-04-2013, 11:17 PM
Dockers back in front. What a finish. 1:24 left.

26-04-2013, 11:19 PM
Freo win by 1 point in a classic match. Great they beat Richmond.

26-04-2013, 11:20 PM
Well done Freo!!!!

26-04-2013, 11:27 PM
Some interesting stats from tonight's game - Jack Riewoldt led all-comers in the 'standing around with hands on hips berating his teammates' stat. He also made the most 'I'll pretend but i cant be stuffed' half-arsed defensive chases on the ground tonight.

He is a cancer on that team.

EDIT - Mark Maclure hasn't missed him on Fox Footy. Said he gave Richmond "nothing, zero", and called him a prima donna. He's 100% right.

26-04-2013, 11:30 PM
The goal umpire needs to learn how to position himself in the goal.

26-04-2013, 11:36 PM
Some interesting stats from tonight's game - Jack Riewoldt led all-comers in the 'standing around with hands on hips berating his teammates' stat. He also made the most 'I'll pretend but i cant be stuffed' half-arsed defensive chases on the ground tonight.

He is a cancer on that team.

EDIT - Mark Maclure hasn't missed him on Fox Footy. Said he gave Richmond "nothing, zero", and called hmm prima donna. He's 100% right.

I like Mark MacClure. Blunt as a chair leg, but calls it how he sees it.
Vickery is making Jack look second rate around the ground. So what can we say about these two teams?
Thought the scoreboard flattered the Tigers, with some very easy set shots missed by the purple gang.

26-04-2013, 11:48 PM
The goal umpire needs to learn how to position himself in the goal.

I Would say he positioned himself perfectly to adjudicate the decision. Not sure where else he should have stood. Richmond or any other supporters who think he stuffed up are delusional. Just another close lose in a game they could have easily won, gotta love (to hate) Richmond.

26-04-2013, 11:50 PM
I Would say he positioned himself perfectly to adjudicate the decision. Not sure where else he should have stood. Richmond or any other supporters who think he stuffed up are delusional. Just another close lose in a game they could have easily won, gotta love (to hate) Richmond.

I was listening on the radio but who was you reckon at fault in that decision.

27-04-2013, 12:02 AM
He should have stood behind the line, and completely off the field. It was very poor goal-umpiring.

27-04-2013, 12:24 AM
He should have stood behind the line, and completely off the field. It was very poor goal-umpiring.

Yeah I would think the goal umpire would stand behind the line. I heard that the goal umpire was hit in the head and when that happens they give it point. Where was he positioned exactly on the field?

27-04-2013, 12:41 AM
Yeah I would think the goal umpire would stand behind the line. I heard that the goal umpire was hit in the head and when that happens they give it point. Where was he positioned exactly on the field?

On the goal line, pretty much backed up to the post. I thought that was the correct position, I could be wrong though. Biggest problem was that the review system wasn't used.

27-04-2013, 01:48 AM
Agree with GD thought the scoreboard flattered Richmond.
Listening to disgruntled Tiger talkback( they're really gruntled)
One bloke want's the SEN presenter to call the " Greish".
Pity it was 1.20 AM. Riewoldt leads the league in poor body language.
His constant petulence must frustrate. What a star Michael Walters has become.
Grigg and Houli give them great run, but boy they have no defensive side.
Maric's off the boil in the ruck as well.

27-04-2013, 01:49 AM
On the goal line, pretty much backed up to the post. I thought that was the correct position, I could be wrong though. Biggest problem was that the review system wasn't used.

The biggest issue is the inadequate technology .
They need cameras in the post and considering the venues are making truckloads it's inexcusable . The review system shouldn't exist until the technology is right.

27-04-2013, 01:51 AM

I think the goal ump was doing what positioning they're told to.

27-04-2013, 01:54 AM
Just brace yourself folks the Tiger feral disgruntled whinge will reach epic proportions

27-04-2013, 08:03 AM
A close loss to Richmond....don't you just LOVE it :)

27-04-2013, 10:20 AM
A close loss to Richmond....don't you just LOVE it :)

Yes:)

27-04-2013, 03:36 PM
Their blaming the goal umpy decision.
Reality is Hardwick and the coaches should be blaming themselves for when they hit the front, they continued to play a forward 6.
Would have thought they'd play a few back with a minute 50 to go.

27-04-2013, 03:37 PM
Just watching a boy of GC GWs.
Charlie Dixon is going to be a star.

27-04-2013, 03:59 PM
Apologies to the educators on this board .
Poor grammar

27-04-2013, 04:31 PM
I was a fan of Dixon from the first time I saw him, some labeled him a hopeless gumby, but all the tools were there and it was just a matter of time until they all came together. Bags of 6 and 3 so far this season in what is still a pretty poor team is a good effort.

27-04-2013, 04:34 PM
Jaeger O'Meara . Another star in the making

27-04-2013, 05:38 PM
GC have given Jack Martin a 5 year contract :eek:

27-04-2013, 05:51 PM
I was a fan of Dixon from the first time I saw him, some labeled him a hopeless gumby, but all the tools were there and it was just a matter of time until they all came together. Bags of 6 and 3 so far this season in what is still a pretty poor team is a good effort.

On this forum if I remember right. I like him as a player too.

27-04-2013, 10:49 PM
Hawks named Brian for tomorrow.

27-04-2013, 10:50 PM
Ports incredible run continues. Didn't think they would be much this season. New coach and new attitude working like a charm.

27-04-2013, 11:28 PM
Wrapped for Ken Hinkley. . The last man standing might be the best man standing.
Love that quote.

28-04-2013, 01:21 AM
Ports incredible run continues. Didn't think they would be much this season. New coach and new attitude working like a charm.

Agree I thought they would be similar to Melbourne but they certainly have had several players step up. It will be interesting how long they can maintain it.

28-04-2013, 07:12 AM
Agree I thought they would be similar to Melbourne but they certainly have had several players step up. It will be interesting how long they can maintain it.

I think the two most remarkable things about the start to this season came out of the one game, Port's resurgence from seemingly nowhere and West Coast's astoundingly poor form.

I think Woosha would feel a touch nervous about next week. They'd be itching for Naitinui to return.

28-04-2013, 07:17 AM
On paper Port have so many 'average' players but collectively they've bought into the game plan and are reaping the benefits. Similar to what Lyon did with the Saints in 2009-2010.

28-04-2013, 08:09 AM
Hawks named Brian for tomorrow.

Sorry, I'm going to say it. I hope its a disaster and Brian has one of those games.

28-04-2013, 08:31 AM
Can everyone please get off Port?
Yes they have beat Adelaide, but the other 4 are WCE, Melb, GC, and GWS. My kids u10s side would be 4 from 5 with that run.
Well done for heading in the right direction, but let's keep a lid on it a bit untill they play some decent teams.

28-04-2013, 08:35 AM
Sorry, I'm going to say it. I hope its a disaster and Brian has one of those games.

I'd like to see Brian's back become the official runway for Majak airlines.

28-04-2013, 08:35 AM
Can everyone please get off Port?
Yes they have beat Adelaide, but the other 4 are WCE, Melb, GC, and GWS. My kids u10s side would be 4 from 5 with that run.
Well done for heading in the right direction, but let's keep a lid on it a bit untill they play some decent teams.

Fair point but would you be asking our supporters to get off the Dogs if we claimed the same wins?

28-04-2013, 08:40 AM
Fair point but would you be asking our supporters to get off the Dogs if we claimed the same wins?

Ahh. Supporters are fine and they should be wrapped with the "heading in the right direction" point.
I'm directing the calm down to the media and general comments.

28-04-2013, 08:46 AM
Ahh. Supporters are fine and they should be wrapped with the "heading in the right direction" point.
I'm directing the calm down to the media and general comments.

Yeah, I don't think the media are getting too far ahead with Port but from all accounts they are playing well and the coach has a good grip on the what he can get out of the players.

For an under resourced club, I'm tipping they are pleased with the way they are playing.

28-04-2013, 09:01 AM
I'm just not on board with the incredible run comments. And Remi posted a Ken Hinkley quote about being one of the best?
(I am aware that isn't Remi's opinion he just liked the quote) but some of this stuff is a little over the top.

from all accounts they are playing well and the coach has a good grip on the what he can get out of the players.

For an under resourced club, I'm tipping they are pleased with the way they are playing.

That is a far better way to say it.

28-04-2013, 09:44 AM

Me likey. :)

28-04-2013, 10:03 AM

I've taken a gamble on this match and put Franklin as my Supercoach captain. I'm currently trailing by 8 points in one league, i've got 3 players and my Captain to count and he's got 4. He played safe and went with Ablett so I could have some egg on my face if it backfires.

28-04-2013, 01:33 PM
I'm just not on board with the incredible run comments. And Remi posted a Ken Hinkley quote about being one of the best?
(I am aware that isn't Remi's opinion he just liked the quote) but some of this stuff is a little over the top.

That is a far better way to say it.

I like the quote. Glad they're going well, and hope they go better than some of our fellow Vic clubs.

28-04-2013, 02:32 PM

If you believe the reports Lake is also a lot fitter than previous years. If true is quite disappointing.

28-04-2013, 03:09 PM
If you believe the reports Lake is also a lot fitter than previous years. If true is quite disappointing.

It doesn't always mean a lot, but he certainly looks a lot better.

28-04-2013, 03:44 PM
Yeah, I don't think the media are getting too far ahead with Port but from all accounts they are playing well and the coach has a good grip on the what he can get out of the players.

They certainly are and the fans are particularly happy with the crows going well under their own expectations.

28-04-2013, 07:36 PM

Perhaps Lake was advised to carry more bulk with us, and maybe the Hawks want him to play a more running role.

28-04-2013, 07:39 PM
How did Norf lose that?
Smashed them everywhere except on the scoreboard.
Cyril the big difference, and some poor decision making from a few Norf players in the end.
When needed, Hodge stands up.

28-04-2013, 07:42 PM
Perhaps Lake was advised to carry more bulk with us, and maybe the Hawks want him to play a more running role.

I think you are being kind to him. He looked overweight for the majority of his career with us.

28-04-2013, 07:49 PM
I think he was overweight in 2011.
Good trade for both teams

28-04-2013, 08:55 PM
I missed the press conference, what was Brad Scott's excuse this week?

28-04-2013, 10:25 PM
Didnt catch the game, how was Brian?

28-04-2013, 10:40 PM
Didnt catch the game, how was Brian?

I ended up going after a mate had a spare seat and asked me along. Lake did very well in the backline and got better as the game wore on. Looked in great physical condition, probably the best I have seen his body for along time.

28-04-2013, 10:45 PM
Thought he played well. Although he got caught out in a matchup situation in the last when he lost Petrie.
He'll be good for them.

28-04-2013, 10:55 PM
Cheers lads. Not a game I want to watch, Callan wasn't really around long enough to form the kind of connection that was there with Brian. I'm too young to remember the Grant golden years so Brian's the best Bulldogs big man I've ever seen...I'm dreading seeing him in the poo and wee

28-04-2013, 11:04 PM
I haven't rated North at all but after seeingthem tonight I was very impressed. Could have easily won that match if it wasn't for some bad misses. Their midfield was really sensational winning clearance after clearance.

Funny going to a match as a neutral and listening to everyone winge about the umpire and yet I thought the umpiring was good. Hawks supporters were livid.