View Full Version : End of Season - Trade Targets

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

30-05-2013, 06:36 PM
I certainly see him as being able to develop as a key defender. Played some key roles when they had injuries late last year. Andy Otten is more of a third tall on their list for mine.
CHB or FB. Has he got the running ability to counter attack?

30-05-2013, 06:42 PM
How does he move?
Reasonably well. Seems to be behind Casboult and others, but reading Internet chatter Carlton have hopes or him, but for whatever reason he hasn't got there yet. Would get greater opportunities with us. With his height he can pinch hit the ruck too. Offers more than Gumby for me.

30-05-2013, 06:44 PM
Oh yeah.

People on here (and elsewhere I guess) had him locked into a top 10 pick but got ruined by injuries in his draft year, looked sensational the year before.

Have to put a serious question mark over him if he can't get a game at the team with maybe the biggest need for a KPF in the league though.
That's why we could afford to get him and take the risk. I don't think he would cost too much dpending on what happens for the rest of the year.

30-05-2013, 07:01 PM
I havent seen a lot of Adelaide so I dont know much about Vince. From your description he sonds like an Eagleton type-would that be a fair comparison Sedat?
How do I put this? He's not quite as 'outside' as the bald one ;)

He won their B&F in 2009 when they were a very good team and should have made the PF. But there are so many 'Crow-bots' in their midfield now and Dangerfield is very much the star attraction now. I like Vince as a player, very neat skills and can find the ball.

31-05-2013, 01:06 AM
CHB or FB. Has he got the running ability to counter attack?

I tend to think better suited to CHB. He can run and carry and his disposal is neat, although not elite. I wouldn't have suggested him if I didn't think he fits our needs. :)

31-05-2013, 11:28 AM
Noticed Todd Banfield at brisbane has barely had a look in this year. Is this due to injury or other reasons? Didn't mind him a couple of years ago as a very quick small forward.

31-05-2013, 11:53 AM
Noticed Todd Banfield at brisbane has barely had a look in this year. Is this due to injury or other reasons? Didn't mind him a couple of years ago as a very quick small forward.

Yes I have always liked Banfield's game. Got great pace and can kick a goal. The colder climate might suit his pale complexion too.:)

31-05-2013, 12:14 PM

Form apparently, has even struggled in their seconds comp. I'd be staying away.

31-05-2013, 01:10 PM
When watching Libba and Wallis at Calder, I loved Luke Mitchell as a forward who can really kick goals. Went to Carlton, at pick 42 in the 2010 draft.

Now he's 198cm, 100kg. Had shoulder problems and only managed one game. So he's back in the pack at Carlton, maybe 5th in line.

Could bolster our forward stocks and allow for Roberts to concentrate down back?? Wouldn't cost the earth.

Anyone else rate him when you were watching Calder a few years ago.

Yep, looked an absolute gun.

Something has held him back, probably injuries.

31-05-2013, 03:45 PM
Form apparently, has even struggled in their seconds comp. I'd be staying away.

Didn't know that. He is an emergency for this weeks game against Collingwood so you'd think his form must have been ok at least.

31-05-2013, 03:49 PM
Didn't know that. He is an emergency for this weeks game against Collingwood so you'd think his form must have been ok at least.
They have 12 injuries and/or suspensions. He's probably an emergency by default.

31-05-2013, 03:52 PM
They have 12 injuries and/or suspensions. He's probably an emergency by default.

Fair enough. He used to be good to watch.

31-05-2013, 04:00 PM
Fair enough. He used to be good to watch.
Agree, I wonder what's happened. It's a fair fall from grace.

31-05-2013, 04:15 PM
Agree, I wonder what's happened. It's a fair fall from grace.

This season doesn't seem too bad after an injury interrupted 2012. Still yet to turn 23.

2013 Season
1 NEAFL Worked hard and was lively across half forward. -
2 NEAFL Very lively all day across half forward. -
3 NEAFL Great defensive pressure all day. -
4 NEAFL Very good for the third week running. -
5 NEAFL Quiet game after a great three weeks. -
6 NEAFL Did some good things. Kicked a goal. -
7 NEAFL Bye. -
8 NEAFL Very good again. Kicked two goals. -
9 NEAFL Played the first half, and had a big influence.

http://www.aflplayerratings.com.au/Ratings/Player/113862/Todd-BANFIELD

31-05-2013, 08:51 PM
Jesse White, anyone??

Forward who can 2nd ruck. Still young enough (25) With 57 games. he is 196cm, 102kg.

He's behind Mummy, Pyke, Tippett, Reid, Goodes, Morton etc

31-05-2013, 09:08 PM
Jesse White, anyone??

Forward who can 2nd ruck. Still young enough (25) With 57 games. he is 196cm, 102kg.

Good suggestion BT!

I'd be keen to explore this and see where he sits at Sydney - the thing is the price. If he comes free (ie not traded) then im down with that. If it has to be a trade, i wouldnt want anything more than a 4th rounder.

31-05-2013, 09:09 PM
Jesse White, anyone??

I don't think so.

This is the 3rd or 4th year his name has been brought up by posters?

31-05-2013, 09:17 PM
Good suggestion BT!

I'd be keen to explore this and see where he sits at Sydney - the thing is the price. If he comes free (ie not traded) then im down with that. If it has to be a trade, i wouldnt want anything more than a 4th rounder.
That's my thinking. I'm sure Sydney would release him to the club of his choice, with six/seven years of service, they should if he's not pressing for imminent selection. He requested a trade last year, so it wouldn't be a surprise.

31-05-2013, 09:32 PM
Jesse White as a delisted FA, or plus pick 50, then yes he'd be worth a punt. But he's been trade talk for the last three years.

31-05-2013, 09:45 PM
Jesse White as a delisted FA, or plus pick 50, then yes he'd be worth a punt. But he's been trade talk for the last three years.
Yep, but with Tippett and the improvement of Pyke and Morton, the trade talk seems a little more serious this time around, especially since he wanted out last year.

Not sure he could command north of pick 50. Well have a pick round 57 in the 4th round which cold be a goer. Or I'd prefer we copy the Doogs trade and trade 4th rounders with Sydney (swapping pick 57 for pick 68).

31-05-2013, 10:16 PM
Jesse White, anyone??

No thanks, has regressed faster than just about any other player in the AFL

01-06-2013, 01:07 PM
No thanks to White ( he's done)
One of Banfields problems is Brisbane have recruited so many forward pocket types it's hard to get a gig.
Pretty big fall from grace though.

01-06-2013, 04:03 PM
I want Casboult, the guy clunks them

01-06-2013, 04:15 PM
I want Casboult, the guy clunks them

Like the idea, but can't see him being easily attainable.

Jesse White gets a no from me too. Looks a great physical specimen but doesn't translate that onto the footy field.

02-06-2013, 02:13 PM
Like the idea, but can't see him being easily attainable.

Jesse White gets a no from me too. Looks a great physical specimen but doesn't translate that onto the footy field.

Its strange he's struggled for game time especially with no Waite. They've run through Rowe, Hampson, Henderson's been up there, not sure why he wasn't first cab off the rank at full forward

03-06-2013, 07:16 PM
If our form continues it's likely we won't get a pick under four (GWS, MELB, one of Saints or Port). Therefore we're looking unlikely to get Tom Boyd.

Jackson Paine - Collingwood

Has been playing well at VFL level, averaging about 3 goals per game. Hasn't had a look in so far this season, they've been going fairly small outside of Cloke, resting Jolly and makeshifts like Reid.

He's 20, pick 50 in 2011. Has 6 goals from 8 games at AFL level in 2012. Listed at 194 and 98 kg.

04-06-2013, 11:22 AM
Prestia has signed a new contract with Suns.

04-06-2013, 12:01 PM
Prestia has signed a new contract with Suns.

I hate the Suns so much already.

04-06-2013, 01:16 PM
Heres an interesting article about first round discards. Summary - they suck.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-06-04/buyer-beware

My take on that is that draft round ceases to matter after a certain number of years in the AFL system. Draft pick is reflective of the players under-age performance AND the recruiter's imagining future AFL performance. It should be completely erased by actual AFL performance.

In other words, a discard is a discard and dont overpay for discards that were taken early.

04-06-2013, 04:38 PM

My take on that is that draft round ceases to matter after a certain number of years in the AFL system. Draft pick is reflective of the players under-age performance AND the recruiter's imagining future AFL performance. It should be completely erased by actual AFL performance.

In other words, a discard is a discard and dont overpay for discards that were taken early.

Nor should you over compensate or under compensate if that player is poached from you !!!!

04-06-2013, 04:47 PM

Very interesting article, probably bang on. They name WCEs Mitch Brown, who I like. Then in honesty, you realise Grant is in the knakery pile.

I think it was sockeye or Twodogs who advocated years ago we get in the Carlton-WCE Judd trade and move Grant and a pick for the under performing Kennedy. From memory it got a lot of resistance. Genius in hindsight!

06-06-2013, 10:09 PM
Barrett on the footy show has just reported the we have made it known to Crameri from the Bombers that if he would like to leave we would be prepared to offer him a 4 year $450k deal.

Eze Dog
06-06-2013, 10:19 PM
As Barrett said he's probably not interested but if he can find the form he started to show last year I recon he would be a great pick up!

06-06-2013, 10:20 PM
Barrett on the footy show has just reported the we have made it known to Crameri from the Bombers that if he would like to leave we would be prepared to offer him a 4 year $450k deal.

Interesting. He is a talented and powerful footballer. Something we clearly need.

I would be concerned about his injuries though.

Why would we do that?

Why would he do that?

Think he'd be ideal for us . Someone's going to fall out there

06-06-2013, 10:22 PM
Why would we do that?

Why would he do that?

You don't rate him?

06-06-2013, 10:25 PM
You don't rate him?
I quite like him. I'm not sure he's the biggest fish we should concentrate our spare salary cap room on. Plus the bombers would want decent compo.

He's in the hunt for a premiership, not sure he'd leave for that coin.

06-06-2013, 10:37 PM
I quite like him. I'm not sure he's the biggest fish we should concentrate our spare salary cap room on. Plus the bombers would want decent compo.

I'd hazard to guess McCartney and Shannon Grant might have some influence from their time there.

06-06-2013, 10:45 PM

It would be about 170k a year more than he would get if he stays.

He will be 25 next year and if Joe kicks a few this week it'll definitely give him something to think about.

06-06-2013, 10:58 PM
Don't we need a KP forward (or probably two)?

06-06-2013, 11:09 PM
Don't we need a KP forward (or probably two)?

That's all good in theory, but teams put a high premium on Big forwards.
Better off getting multiple options up forward.

06-06-2013, 11:11 PM
Sounds like he isnt a key forward, but a 'big bustling' forward similar to the role Stringer is playing at the moment. 2.6 goals a game is on track for a 60 goal season, so not to be sneezed at.

06-06-2013, 11:13 PM
Sounds like he isnt a key forward, but a 'big bustling' forward similar to the role Stringer is playing at the moment. 2.6 goals a game is on track for a 60 goal season, so not to be sneezed at.

Isn't he what hope Stringer will be?

06-06-2013, 11:17 PM
Looks like we've publically stated we will win too many games to compete in the race for Tom Boyd!

Just kidding. Stringer can play though the midfield Dry Rot.

Eze Dog
06-06-2013, 11:19 PM
Isn't he what hope Stringer will be?

I think Stringer has the potential to be a much better player than what Crameri is currently. That said I don't think Crameri has quite reached his peak yet.

06-06-2013, 11:19 PM
"Sounds like he isnt a key forward, but a 'big bustling' forward similar to the role Stringer is playing at the moment. 2.6 goals a game is on track for a 60 goal season, so not to be sneezed at"..............

That's a bit deceptive though, like many stats. Much like Josh Hill, Crameri isn't getting the better/best defenders and he has better delivery. Put him in our side and he has better defenders with less qulity delivery.

Then we have another not KP forward getting paid a mozza with game limitations, plus he has injuries. What does he offer beyond Higgins, Dickson, Stringer, Dahl, Murphy, etc.

Surely if we're are committed to spending our spare $700,000, we can dare to dream beyond Crameri.

06-06-2013, 11:51 PM
Just seems an upgrade on Tory Dickson, I'd rather we went for the proper key position player rather than another tweener

07-06-2013, 12:03 AM
"Sounds like he isnt a key forward, but a 'big bustling' forward similar to the role Stringer is playing at the moment. 2.6 goals a game is on track for a 60 goal season, so not to be sneezed at"..............

That's a bit deceptive though, like many stats. Much like Josh Hill, Crameri isn't getting the better/best defenders and he has better delivery. Put him in our side and he has better defenders with less qulity delivery.

Then we have another not KP forward getting paid a mozza with game limitations, plus he has injuries. What does he offer beyond Higgins, Dickson, Stringer, Dahl, Murphy, etc.

Surely if we're are committed to spending our spare $700,000, we can dare to dream beyond Crameri.

As posted previously big forwards ( good ones) are getting the same coin at their club already.
Maybe look at someone like Aaron Black, and possibly pay overs on what looks like a very promising career. Personally like Cramer, he's got a great work ethic

07-06-2013, 12:11 AM
I'd want the Essendon Asada investigation well and truly wrapped up before an offer is tabled and the way it is going it may not be over before trade time.

07-06-2013, 01:30 AM
Just seems an upgrade on Tory Dickson, I'd rather we went for the proper key position player rather than another tweener

He plays a hit up role not like Dickson .
Be waiting for the ASADA stuff to pass though.

07-06-2013, 01:56 AM
Good player, especially in that 2nd/3rd string role.

But 450k as the number one target? Pass.

07-06-2013, 02:27 AM

Agreed. This suggestion is almost making getting Dawes for us look sensible.

07-06-2013, 02:30 AM
Agreed. This suggestion is almost making getting Dawes for us look sensible.

Watching Dawes on the weekend made me slightly jealous...then I thought of Hrovat :D

07-06-2013, 06:53 AM
Good player, especially in that 2nd/3rd string role.

But 450k as the number one target? Pass.

I tend to agree. I like Crameri and think he could be a good player for us, but I'm not convinced he's one we should be making over odds offers to. I guess if Stringer develops into more of a midfielder/forward then Crameri could be a good addition to work with Jones and Cordy.

I think the idea of getting a player in his age range (as opposed to waiting the 3+ years it would take for Boyd to mature into a good forward - if he even does) has merits though as I think we'll be getting closer to finals next year than some may expect. If we added say, Dale Thomas and Crameri and have a better run with injuries....who knows.

At the end of the day I wonder how accurate the story is about Crameri, maybe it's some misinformation to hope that Essendon offer him more and we can pinch someone else who gets squeezed out.

07-06-2013, 07:24 AM
We should be attacking the weak(er) clubs like Melbourne and picking over their players.

07-06-2013, 08:10 AM
We should be attacking the weak(er) clubs like Melbourne and picking over their players.

I quite like that we're attacking Essendon. They're too arrogant to let a team like us sign one of their players so they'll pay overs and match. Gumby will be squeezed out and we'll get him for next to nothing.

07-06-2013, 09:30 AM
Watching Dawes on the weekend made me slightly jealous...then I thought of Hrovat :D
*ahem*

Hrovat and Stevens ;)

07-06-2013, 10:14 AM

Who do you want from Melbourne?

07-06-2013, 10:34 AM

"The best player to have never played senior footy yet" Jesse Hogan? ;)

07-06-2013, 10:50 AM
Frawley would be fantastic for us.

07-06-2013, 12:31 PM

Jack Watts will be a very good forward one day, perhaps a great forward. He would blossom under a encouraging/positive coach. I don't believe he's even 22 yet, is he?

07-06-2013, 12:47 PM
Jack Watts will be a very good forward one day, perhaps a great forward. He would blossom under a encouraging/positive coach. I don't believe he's even 22 yet, is he?

Interesting insight. I am sort of attracted to the idea on that basis (and after all he was #1 draft pick) but what would we have to give up to get such a deal signed? What do we have that would be attractive enough to them that we are prepared to give up? Ayce Cordy immediately came to mind but I think our ruck stocks are not that deep and he is within a season or two of being a good 1st ruck.

07-06-2013, 12:52 PM

I can't see Watts ever developing the physicality and competitiveness needed to be a gun forward, I just don't think it's in his make up. That's not to say he couldn't be a good player in a good team, but I can really only see it happening as a rebounding 3rd tall defender or maybe on the wing.

07-06-2013, 12:59 PM
Frawley would be fantastic for us.

Agree and think he will perform better in a side with a couple of decent backman in support.

07-06-2013, 01:30 PM

Wouldn't mind Davy.

07-06-2013, 01:32 PM
Wouldn't mind Davy.

Interested to get your reasoning? He'd just about be the last bloke I'd pick

07-06-2013, 02:23 PM
Interested to get your reasoning? He'd just about be the last bloke I'd pick

Just the skillset he would bring, quick outside player with decent disposal. Age would be against him.

07-06-2013, 02:44 PM
Interesting insight. I am sort of attracted to the idea on that basis (and after all he was #1 draft pick) but what would we have to give up to get such a deal signed? What do we have that would be attractive enough to them that we are prepared to give up? Ayce Cordy immediately came to mind but I think our ruck stocks are not that deep and he is within a season or two of being a good 1st ruck.

Yeah I see Ayce as a ruckman not a forward for us and other than Jones I don't see another long term tall forward into the medium-long term (Roberts perhaps?). Jack will want money and lots of it (which OPs are quite right in saying he just hasn't earnt it) but I would really like us to jump hard at him now while the iron is hot (and his favour is probably cold at Melbourne) because I just really see him being in the N. Riewoldt (granted perhaps not as good) mould in 3-5 years. Yes, what do we need to give up to get him...other more informed WOOFERs may postulate on this and provide a clearer response.

I can't see Watts ever developing the physicality and competitiveness needed to be a gun forward, I just don't think it's in his make up. That's not to say he couldn't be a good player in a good team, but I can really only see it happening as a rebounding 3rd tall defender or maybe on the wing.

Agreed, atm. I think he's got the competitiveness and I just wonder how much he really wants to be at Melbourne. He's not overly physical but neither was Riewoldt early in his career. He relies on running capacity and his ability to outmark pretty much anyone. Jack is a great mark and can build a tank. Who knows, maybe the physical side of his game will come with body maturity. Idon't necessarily believe he will be a gun forward either, but he may be a very good one for an extended period of time for us. I think he'll be better than 3rd defender down back. He would really benefit from a change of club I reckon.

07-06-2013, 02:46 PM
Just the skillset he would bring, quick outside player with decent disposal. Age would be against him.

Maybe 4 years ago. He's 30 this month, he's not going to play in a final for us, I wouldn't bother.

07-06-2013, 02:48 PM
I tend to agree. I like Crameri and think he could be a good player for us, but I'm not convinced he's one we should be making over odds offers to. I guess if Stringer develops into more of a midfielder/forward then Crameri could be a good addition to work with Jones and Cordy.

I think the idea of getting a player in his age range (as opposed to waiting the 3+ years it would take for Boyd to mature into a good forward - if he even does) has merits though as I think we'll be getting closer to finals next year than some may expect. If we added say, Dale Thomas and Crameri and have a better run with injuries....who knows.

At the end of the day I wonder how accurate the story is about Crameri, maybe it's some misinformation to hope that Essendon offer him more and we can pinch someone else who gets squeezed out.

The dons are going to have issues fitting Hurley, Daniher, Crameri, Ryder and Gumbleton into the one team,

I am happy to have whatever falls through the cracks - Gumbleton or Crameri seem most likely. The signs Gumby has shown this year show me our attempts to get him were a good idea. He should have moved for the opportunity.

Crameri moves well and would be a great option. If you want someone elses guy you have to overpay a bit. Structurally he would really help us. I prefer him than Dawes, more mobile and quicker. That said I havent seen Dawes play for the Dees

07-06-2013, 03:36 PM
Dawes saying he knew the dees were bad but he didn't realise they were that bad.
Code for " What the hell have I done coming here "
Definite no to Davey

07-06-2013, 03:44 PM
Maybe 4 years ago. He's 30 this month, he's not going to play in a final for us, I wouldn't bother.

Fair enough, wasn't sure on his age.

07-06-2013, 07:30 PM

I quite like that we're attacking Essendon. They're too arrogant to let a team like us sign one of their players so they'll pay overs and match. Gumby will be squeezed out and we'll get him for next to nothing.

I'm with G-Mo

Let's try and get them to pay over the odds when are really more interested in someone else. If we can inflate the value of Crameri and Essendon cough up a bit more then I'm all for it.

07-06-2013, 08:42 PM
I've talked about him a bit but watching Casboult tonight it is ridiculous how far ahead of Ayce he is for a guy who went in the same year as a rookie

07-06-2013, 08:44 PM
I've talked about him a bit but watching Casboult tonight it is ridiculous how far ahead of Ayce he is for a guy who went in the same year as a rookie

Didn't we try and get Casbolt last year?

07-06-2013, 08:48 PM

Not sure mate, I'm sure a few others would know

07-06-2013, 08:50 PM
Not sure mate, I'm sure a few others would know

Will be interesting to see how Joe Daniher progresses. Similar to Cordy in almost every way.

07-06-2013, 09:03 PM
Will be interesting to see how Joe Daniher progresses. Similar to Cordy in almost every way.

Moves a fair bit better than Ayce I'd suggest, we'll never see Cords run through the forward 50 with a couple of bounces...doesn't have dodgy shoulders either

07-06-2013, 09:05 PM

I think so, yes.

08-06-2013, 12:22 AM
We tried to pry Bell away from Carlton as well.

08-06-2013, 06:15 PM
Jesse White, anyone??

Looks pretty good today. Would fit perfectly into our line up. And wouldn't cost too much.

08-06-2013, 06:56 PM
Looks pretty good today. Would fit perfectly into our line up. And wouldn't cost too much.

White needs to stand up in a close game not a rout before I would be interested. He has some appeal but he has performed with the chances he has received over the last two or three seasons.

China Dog
09-06-2013, 10:31 AM
Matthew Panos kicked seven in the SANFL this week, worth a rookie spot again?

09-06-2013, 07:06 PM
Is there anyway we could pry Andrew Gaff away from West Coast?

09-06-2013, 07:15 PM

I don't have fox so sorry for the question but what attracts you to Gaff?

10-06-2013, 01:19 AM
I don't have fox so sorry for the question but what attracts you to Gaff?

His pace and his strong left foot kick. He's had a poor season though but I think he would be perfect for us.

10-06-2013, 01:35 AM
His pace and his strong left foot kick. He's had a poor season though but I think he would be perfect for us.

Its a good question, he's very outside, will run all day and will cut you up with an incisive left boot. Surely they'd want something in the high first round for him or maybe a good player and a second rounder. They need ready made, high quality mids and we have Cooney as our only real chip, which I would hate to be pulling the trigger on.

10-06-2013, 06:28 AM

Apart from being tall, male and a father\son playing AFL, that's where the similarities end.

10-06-2013, 10:10 AM

Interesting question. I think the WCE would be reluctant to let him go given he is a good age for them and looks like developing into a solid long term player. The only chance would be if he really wanted to return to Victoria - and even then, I'm not sure what West Coast would demand in return given he was a high draft pick they've already invested a lot of development into.

I think the asking price would be significantly higher than what we managed to get Stevens across for.

10-06-2013, 10:26 AM

??? Except for the fact that Daniher was a dominant junior.

10-06-2013, 11:30 AM
A possible cheapie from left field - Milky Warren?
Doing very well at Werribee, helped by kicking two big bags (11 & 9) in the two televised VFL games.
In an age bracket we are looking to build upon and our previous recycled late chances are providing value.

10-06-2013, 12:05 PM

Moves a fair bit better than Ayce I'd suggest, we'll never see Cords run through the forward 50 with a couple of bounces...doesn't have dodgy shoulders either

Apart from being tall, male and a father\son playing AFL, that's where the similarities end.

??? Except for the fact that Daniher was a dominant junior.

OK so maybe Cordy & Daniher have nothing in common except their height, body shape and weight, father & son, and the big wraps they had before being drafted.

I still think it will be interesting to see how Daniher progresses. Chances are with Daniher's body size he will cop an injury or two.

10-06-2013, 04:51 PM
Jack Watts?
Not if today is an audition.

Just looks like a class below.

10-06-2013, 04:55 PM
Not if today is an audition.

You're right there but I can see signs: pacey, nice skills, good above his head, I think he could be okay on a wing, playing the role Harry O'Brien has this year.

It was suggested picking over the Dees earlier and I fully agree; Frawley, Blease, Strauss, Watts, Tapscott all these guys could fill holes for us, they fit the age bracket and the talent is there. No doubt clubs would have the feelers out. Blease and Frawley would be my number one choices

10-06-2013, 05:09 PM
You're right there but I can see signs: pacey, nice skills, good above his head, I think he could be okay on a wing, playing the role Harry O'Brien has this year.

It was suggested picking over the Dees earlier and I fully agree; Frawley, Blease, Strauss, Watts, Tapscott all these guys could fill holes for us, they fit the age bracket and the talent is there. No doubt clubs would have the feelers out. Blease and Frawley would be my number one choices
Yup. First time I've watched Melbourne for a while. Blease has skill and a heap of pace.

10-06-2013, 05:21 PM
Just on Blease he has been in and out of the team, why is that?

10-06-2013, 06:53 PM
Easy answer, he's a poor kick.

10-06-2013, 07:25 PM
Easy answer, he's a poor kick.

Really? He's been polished every time I've seen him

10-06-2013, 09:38 PM
Answer is Melbourne have no
Idea what is talent and what isn't

12-06-2013, 12:13 AM
20 more games and the Swans Sam Reid would have been our Sam Reid. Damn.

Or if we had the same rules to play by that Geelong got with Ablett(s), Scarlett and Hawkins.

12-06-2013, 01:46 PM
Or if we had the same rules to play by that Geelong got with Ablett(s), Scarlett and Hawkins.
You're opening up old wounds Twodogs, don't get me started again. Add in John Brown too.

15-06-2013, 09:38 PM
Apart from the fact that Cordy has shown little and that in a half of footy tonight he has the match record for most contested marks for Essendon. Impressive.

16-06-2013, 10:42 AM
Apart from the fact that Cordy has shown little and that in a half of footy tonight he has the match record for most contested marks for Essendon. Impressive.

Only saw a little bit of the game but unfortunately it looks like Daniher has it over Cordy in spades.

16-06-2013, 10:53 AM
Only saw a little bit of the game but unfortunately it looks like Daniher has it over Cordy in spades.

He's a better player than Cordy already. They aren't a comparison on ability. Daniher would likely have been first picked if not a F/S.

16-06-2013, 11:40 AM
Cordy was never seen as a number 1 pick. His shoulders have been a disaster for both us and him. Think Tommy Williams is a better comparison - could have been a 200 gamer but the body is likely to let both of them down. Still hope Cordy can show us he can make it as a player in his remaining contract time....

16-06-2013, 11:42 AM
Cordy was never seen as a number 1 pick. His shoulders have been a disaster for both us and him. Think Tommy Williams is a better comparison - could have been a 200 gamer but the body is likely to let both of them down. Still hope Cordy can show us he can make it as a player in his remaining contract time....

When is Ayce contracted to? What will happen do you reckon once his contract is up with us?

16-06-2013, 11:44 AM
When is Ayce contracted to? What will happen do you reckon once his contract is up with us?

Another 2 years believe it or not... I think he would need to show another level in that time for us to persist but also think he can still surprise a few on here. He's shown some glimpses but I think he's 50/50 to make it currently.

16-06-2013, 11:47 AM
Another 2 years believe it or not... I think he would need to show another level in that time for us to persist but also think he can still surprise a few on here. He's shown some glimpses but I think he's 50/50 to make it currently.

What do you think his main role would be. His he a back up ruck to Minson. Can he cope up forward.

16-06-2013, 12:10 PM
What do you think his main role would be. His he a back up ruck to Minson. Can he cope up forward.

If he doesn't make it as a forward/2nd ruck I don't think he'll make it. I'd play him at Willy the rest of the year to find form and confidence. His 1 on 1 body work at training and on the track has impressed me at times but he still has alot to do to get a deal after this one. Hope he makes it!

16-06-2013, 04:23 PM
Any interest in Lecras? Apparently a free agent and uncontracted. He hasn't played as well this year but I'm a big fan, would add some outside class.

16-06-2013, 04:46 PM
Any interest in Lecras? Apparently a free agent and uncontracted. He hasn't played as well this year but I'm a big fan, would add some outside class.

He would. My only concern is he seems to be injured more times than not.

16-06-2013, 04:52 PM
Not sure what his salary would be. If he wants too much, than perhaps the Crameri rumour might be better. But I'm hoping for a bigger fish, just not sure who it is yet...

17-06-2013, 09:43 AM
Crameri @ 450K sounds fine to me. Just getting him to leave Essendon would feel sweet. He gives intensity, speed, good hands and will crash into blokes. A perfect model for Stringer up forward and together a handful. I dont get the resistance at the price tag? If you want to get a bloke to come across who is already playing good, regular 1st team footy you have to pay overs.

17-06-2013, 03:10 PM
Jarryd Lyons. Must be getting really down with the limited opportunities that the Crows offer him. Belive me, he's a gun. Absolute clearance king. (Maybe 1% slow)

17-06-2013, 03:19 PM
Jarryd Lyons. Must be getting really down with the limited opportunities that the Crows offer him. Belive me, he's a gun. Absolute clearance king. (Maybe 1% slow)
Does he give us what we need though? With Wallis and Hrovat out this week, another clearance midfielder isn't super high on the list

17-06-2013, 03:24 PM
Does he give us what we need though? With Wallis and Hrovat out this week, another clearance midfielder isn't super high on the list

Agree with this, we're overstocked already, either he would waste away in our 2's or another of our good young kids would. Wallis should be getting games.

Big names out of contract at Richmond headed by Riewoldt, Martin and Rance, no reason we shouldn't be in these guys ears like GWS are...even straining the Tiges would be sweet revenge for Judas

17-06-2013, 06:52 PM
Agree with this, we're overstocked already, either he would waste away in our 2's or another of our good young kids would. Wallis should be getting games.

Big names out of contract at Richmond headed by Riewoldt, Martin and Rance, no reason we shouldn't be in these guys ears like GWS are...even straining the Tiges would be sweet revenge for Judas

I'd love Riewoldt at the doggies. He's a big sook but is a gun. No chance of leaving I'd say.

Throw some cash at Martin and I reckon he'd leave. Definitely worth a look.

If Gia retires Rance would be a good replacement for the best looking bloke at the club.

17-06-2013, 09:23 PM
I'd love Riewoldt at the doggies. He's a big sook but is a gun. No chance of leaving I'd say.

Throw some cash at Martin and I reckon he'd leave. Definitely worth a look.

If Gia retires Rance would be a good replacement for the best looking bloke at the club.

Offer him a 5 year deal at around $3.5 and I rekon he'd be a good chance. His sooky cousin is apparently on more (though not a 5 year deal from memory). Think the tigers will be trying for 3-4 years and a far chunk less.

17-06-2013, 09:34 PM
Offer him a 5 year deal at around $3.5 and I rekon he'd be a good chance. His sooky cousin is apparently on more (though not a 5 year deal from memory). Think the tigers will be trying for 3-4 years and a far chunk less.

What would Cooney be on?

17-06-2013, 11:39 PM
What would Cooney be on?

Signed his current contract when fit, firing and brownlow medal winning. What have to be 600,000+ I'd imagine.

18-06-2013, 07:21 AM
Signed his current contract when fit, firing and brownlow medal winning. What have to be 600,000+ I'd imagine.

Pretty sure he renogotiated sometime in the last couple of years for length at the expense of money.

He won the brownlow in 2008 and was injured from the halfway point of that year so unless we signed him on a 5 year contract the impact of his injury would have already been apparent to us and we wouldnt have given him elite player wages...surely

18-06-2013, 11:26 AM
You'd think we could heavily front end it too with some retirements coming up. That could only help our future list security.

18-06-2013, 11:39 AM
We turned Jordan McMahon into Jackson Macrae thanks to the Tigers - I think we're driving that particular karma bus ;)

20-06-2013, 08:34 AM
Supposedly Sando has told the crows list manager that its a high priority that they get early draft picks this year. (Remember they have lost their first few for attempting to cheat)

So everything must go! Fire sale! Every crows player must be available

Ps off the top of my head the only non touchables at the crows would be dangerfield and walker. Richard Douglas is having a stellar year so maybe him as well

20-06-2013, 08:37 AM
Rory Sloane would be a nice addition to our side, as would Dan Talia. I'm not really sure they've got a lot that interests me besides that and their untouchables in Danger and Walker.

20-06-2013, 09:11 AM
Anyone at Collingwood we want? Feel like we are likely to get fair to generous trades from them at the moment as they are on a Lets help the Doggies crusade. Tom Young working out well especially considering what we paid. Can't think of any talls they might give up off the top of my head.

20-06-2013, 09:24 AM
Anyone at Collingwood we want? Feel like we are likely to get fair to generous trades from them at the moment as they are on a Lets help the Doggies crusade. Tom Young working out well especially considering what we paid. Can't think of any talls they might give up off the top of my head.

I've mentioned Jackon Paine previously in this thread, He's doing well in the VFL but can't get a look in in the seniors due to the way the Pies set up their forwardline. Big boy of KP size. 20 from memory.

From Emma Quayle a while back.

Key Forward
Jackson Paine (VIC – KPF/Mid)
Height: 193cm, Weight: 87kg, DOB: 21/06/1993
Recruited from: Sandringham Dragons
Style: Matthew Pavlich
Range: 10-35
Profile: Really like Paine as a forward. Particularly strong mark on the lead but also marks strongly overhead. Marks at the highest point which is what you look for in all good forwards. Really hard working type who seems to enjoy the contest. Good work rate. Can push into the midfield and play really well in there as well as up forward. Good field kick for someone his size.
Why: Possibly a little early for Paine, but GWS need some more key position players and Paine would be a good choice. Liked Paine’s work throughout the U18 champs playing as the no.2 marking target alongside Patton so I think he could be a nice fit for GWS.

20-06-2013, 09:27 AM
I've mentioned Jackon Paine previously in this thread, He's doing well in the VFL but can't get a look in in the seniors due to the way the Pies set up their forwardline. Big boy of KP size. 21 from memory.

They are desperate to get him into their team though.

20-06-2013, 09:27 AM
Rory Sloane would be a nice addition to our side, as would Dan Talia. I'm not really sure they've got a lot that interests me besides that and their untouchables in Danger and Walker.

Sloane would be an untouchable as well.

20-06-2013, 09:29 AM
They are desperate to get him into their team though.

Granted, but if he's not playing while doing well then he's worth a push though. They'd be wanting something decent in return.

20-06-2013, 09:44 AM
Granted, but if he's not playing while doing well then he's worth a push though. They'd be wanting something decent in return.

Agreed, the lure of playing football now is very enticing. What would you move to get him? I haven't seen enough of him.

20-06-2013, 10:07 AM
Would be nice to bring Talia to the kennel

20-06-2013, 11:13 AM
Agreed, the lure of playing football now is very enticing. What would you move to get him? I haven't seen enough of him.

Dilemma is that it'd surely take a high DP. Maybe a Picken or Addison type might lower that expectation. I wouldn't want to give up too much on him and risk missing out on a Dayle Garlett if he's expected to go before the second round as MJP, I and some others reckon he probably will.

Ah, the Rubix cube of trading.

20-06-2013, 11:14 AM
Would be nice to bring Talia to the kennel

Yep. Talia and Talia in defence would look great on the team sheet. I wish they had a grandfather/grandson rule!

20-06-2013, 08:36 PM
Crameri would be a very good get as would an injury free Le Cras ( a restricted free agent). And just a thought, Dean Cox is unrestricted.

20-06-2013, 08:58 PM
Crameri would be a very good get as would an injury free Le Cras ( a restricted free agent). And just a thought, Dean Cox is unrestricted.

32 in August, no thanks.

20-06-2013, 09:07 PM
32 in August, no thanks.

Depends on the price doesn't it Andrew?
Lake was taken at the age of 31. If we got him at a reasonable price, I'd have Cox as a back up ruck or forward player.

20-06-2013, 09:12 PM
Depends on the price doesn't it Andrew?
Lake was taken at the age of 31. If we got him at a reasonable price, I'd have Cox as a back up ruck or forward player.

I personally wouldn't.

20-06-2013, 09:14 PM
I personally wouldn't.

Agreed. What's the point bringing him to the club for a year.

20-06-2013, 09:29 PM
32 in August, no thanks.

who is the forward pocket ruck in 2014 Andrew ?

20-06-2013, 09:59 PM
who is the forward pocket ruck in 2014 Andrew ?

Thomas Boyd!

20-06-2013, 10:03 PM
Thomas Boyd!
Koschitzke

:)

20-06-2013, 11:10 PM
Koschitzke

:)

He meant the Bulldogs seniors in 2014 not Vermont seniors.;)

21-06-2013, 12:41 AM
Sloane would be an untouchable as well.

Absolutely. There's no way the Crows would let him go without being over paid.

21-06-2013, 12:43 AM
Dilemma is that it'd surely take a high DP. Maybe a Picken or Addison type might lower that expectation. I wouldn't want to give up too much on him and risk missing out on a Dayle Garlett if he's expected to go before the second round as MJP, I and some others reckon he probably will.

Ah, the Rubix cube of trading.

There's not much chance in either of Picken or Addison being much use to anybody. Each club has players on their list that can fulfil the roles these guys play, it's just whether they choose to play them that is the point that matters.

21-06-2013, 12:46 AM

A guy that has been touted as a potential number one, versus a guy that was significantly under developed and potentially a risky take (albeit, having shown very good quality) and has also had injuries.

There's no comparison.

Cordy was given three years last year because the coaching staff understand players like him won't come good until they're 24-25. The sooner we on this board deal with that, the better.

21-06-2013, 12:13 PM
How workable is this?

GWS almost assured pick 1 and first pick after any compensation/priority picks, so say pick 22-24

WB somewhere between pick 4-6 and, as above, something like 25-30.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WB trade Dylan - solid body, experienced utility with some currency and the type GWS need. Dylan goes home'ish to NSW (ACT) - GWS and WB switch their second round DP's .

Therefore:
WB have pick 4-6 and pick 22-24 to pick a combo potentially of Scharenberg & Garlett
GWS have pick 1 for Tom Boyd and pick 25-30 to player select or on-trade for another mature body.

Can't see anyone of value that they'd want to trade with outside of DA/who would be open to it/or that we'd consider trading unless it got us their pick 1 - but majority of our youngsters and mature performing players i'd want to retain.

21-06-2013, 12:20 PM
How workable is this?

GWS almost assured pick 1 and first pick after any compensation/priority picks, so say pick 22-24

WB somewhere between pick 4-6 and, as above, something like 25-30.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WB trade Dylan - solid body, experienced utility with some currency and the type GWS need. Dylan goes home'ish to NSW (ACT) - GWS and WB switch their second round DP's .

Therefore:
WB have pick 4-6 and pick 22-24 to pick a combo potentially of Scharenberg & Garlett
GWS have pick 1 for Tom Boyd and pick 25-30 to player select or on-trade for another mature body.

Can't see anyone of value that they'd want to trade with outside of DA/who would be open to it/or that we'd consider trading unless it got us their pick 1 - but majority of our youngsters and mature performing players i'd want to retain.

I certainly see merit in your thinking.

Would not be surprised to see GWS do something like that even with pick 1 if they decide Boyd is not for them.

They could perhaps concede pick 1 for say 3 to 6 and an experienced solid contributor.
If they know the landscape of the draft by then, they could probably engineer it to still pick the player they prefer for themselves.

21-06-2013, 01:13 PM
Would we trade pick 5 for Patton if GWS decide they want Boyd?

21-06-2013, 01:20 PM
Yes. I would think so. Patton looks the real deal.

If they can land Buddy for free via FA and get Boyd with Cameron, they could trade Patton who is surplus to need for a gun midfielder or key back.

Not bad.

21-06-2013, 01:31 PM
Not sure. I'd be worried they're not confident of Patton's body standing up if they traded him.

21-06-2013, 01:56 PM

Now that's not a bad idea at all. Certainly worth tabling.
Throw in a player perhaps....

All depends on whether they think Boyd is a better prospect than Patton

24-06-2013, 04:19 PM
Le Cras signed for another 4 years.

24-06-2013, 04:51 PM

4 Years!! :eek:
He's struggled this year, but he's coming back from a few big injuries.

24-06-2013, 04:53 PM

Cheers BAD. Risky contract for a bloke that injury prone. Can someone clarify, you're obviously not able to sign guys for future seasons but what about the legality of approaching and head-hunting guys?

24-06-2013, 04:54 PM
Now that's not a bad idea at all. Certainly worth tabling.
Throw in a player perhaps....

All depends on whether they think Boyd is a better prospect than Patton

I'd be giving Patton a thourough medical.
Good idea though.
Reckon there might be some smoke and mirrors with GWS trading pick 1.

24-06-2013, 05:08 PM
4 Years!! :eek:
He's struggled this year, but he's coming back from a few big injuries.

and thats a contract extension, so 4 after this year.

24-06-2013, 06:31 PM
How about Tate Pears From the Bombers?
Can play Full Back and we can Release Roughy Up forward and Second Ruck?
Pears Talia Young Down backs seems pretty good I reckon.

29-06-2013, 02:05 PM
Dan Gorringe as forward and second ruck?

29-06-2013, 03:33 PM
Dan Gorringe as forward and second ruck?

Definitely worth a look. Will struggle to get a game with the suns when Zac Smith and Charlie Dixon are both fully fit. Smith and Nicholls are better ruckmen and Dixon is a better forward.

29-06-2013, 04:38 PM
Definitely worth a look. Will struggle to get a game with the suns when Zac Smith and Charlie Dixon are both fully fit. Smith and Nicholls are better ruckmen and Dixon is a better forward.

So why settle for Gorringe?

We should chase someone like Dixon.

29-06-2013, 05:39 PM
So why settle for Gorringe?

We should chase someone like Dixon.

Its a matter of what we offer though, our draw-cards are money and a spot in the first team. Being under contract and having an automatic spot in the first team reduces our leverage to virtually zero. We need a guy who is either out of contract or cant find a spot in his teams 22. Gumby obviously springs to mind

29-06-2013, 06:06 PM
Its a matter of what we offer though, our draw-cards are money and a spot in the first team. Being under contract and having an automatic spot in the first team reduces our leverage to virtually zero. We need a guy who is either out of contract or cant find a spot in his teams 22. Gumby obviously springs to mind

I understand your point, but I see no purpose in settling for 3rd or 4th options unless we can see some way of bringing significant improvement.

We have cap space, so we should be looking at out of contract players that bring a definite improvement to our best 22.

01-07-2013, 01:52 PM
Patton for pick 3. (Subject to medical)

Any takers?

01-07-2013, 01:58 PM
If nothing can be done with the Boyd trade week merry-go-round, then yes (subject to medical)

01-07-2013, 02:03 PM

Any takers?

As I said in the other thread I like the line of thinking. I haven't however ever shared the massive enthusiasm for Patton as a player. If we did get him I really hope he can live up to the hype.

01-07-2013, 02:26 PM
As I said in the other thread I like the line of thinking. I haven't however ever shared the massive enthusiasm for Patton as a player. If we did get him I really hope he can live up to the hype.

Especially with the knee injury. #3 is a lot to give up. Maybe GWS could throw in Sam Reid to sweeten the deal?

01-07-2013, 02:55 PM
Especially with the knee injury. #3 is a lot to give up. Maybe GWS could throw in Sam Reid to sweeten the deal?
How are GWS getting Sam Reid from Sydney? I'd do that deal TDs.

01-07-2013, 02:56 PM

Gold! :p

01-07-2013, 04:11 PM
Boyd vs Patton, from another thread:

Height, weight are similar.

"Where Patton played with a pack-splitting, bash-and-crash mentality, Boyd has operated as more of a lead-up target for the Ranges."

Boyd averaged over 3 goals a game as a junior in the TAC cup last year. This year averaging over 5!!!

As for Patton "He won the Eastern Ranges' best-and-fairest in 2010 as a 17-year-old and this season was named as the under-18 All-Australian full-forward after a stunning national championships in which he kicked 18 goals and was named best on ground in three of Vic Metro's five games.

In 11 TAC Cup matches this year Patton averaged 4.3 contested marks (1.2 more than the league's next best) and 2.8 goals (0.5 better than any other multiple-game player)."

Both very impressive, I'd be stoked with either.

01-07-2013, 07:33 PM
I can see Shaun McKernan being shopped around by the Crows at the end of the year, far from the worst big forward in the league, may straighten us up abit and help out our only other big forward if played in tandem. Worth a late round pick maybe?

01-07-2013, 07:34 PM
Which round ?

01-07-2013, 08:42 PM
Gorringe has a huge upside. A lot of clubs will be chasing him. I would be all for it for even a 2nd round pick. McKernan a 3rd round maybe....? Would be a step up from Marko as a forward.

02-07-2013, 12:37 PM

I was talking about GWSs' Sam Reid-the one who used to play for us.

Gold! :p

Maybe he could bring Cal Ward back with him too. :D

02-07-2013, 12:43 PM
I was talking about GWSs' Sam Reid-the one who used to play for us.

Maybe he could bring Cal Ward back with him too. :D
My bad, should have used a wink icon.

02-07-2013, 01:11 PM

Hmmm....had all the making of a classic thread.:D I still laugh out loud when I read this old bigfooty thread.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/worst-200-game-player.508577/

02-07-2013, 01:16 PM

Any takers?

He was pick 1 and has played a handful of games. To me that still equals pick 1 - still developing as tall forwards do. If they did this trade it would be because the knee had potential issues. In that case I'd keep pick 3 personally.

I don't see an outcome which says we are likely to win this scenario?

02-07-2013, 01:33 PM
I can see Shaun McKernan being shopped around by the Crows at the end of the year, far from the worst big forward in the league, may straighten us up abit and help out our only other big forward if played in tandem. Worth a late round pick maybe?

I don't mind the idea and he may be pretty cheap too. He's got a bit of work to do though to become a consistent player but has had some impressive moments this year.

05-07-2013, 06:56 PM
Just on the radio, Jon Anderson says there will be a massive clean out at Carlton. Do they anyone decent who looks like being cut by Mick, I.e. a talented player who will only go down in value because Mick has made up his mind and wants to cut deep? I'm not overly familiar with their list and whose not in favour?

05-07-2013, 07:17 PM
Harry O has apparently walked out (for the time being), youd guess he will come back, but if Bucks can't make things right would you trade for him - 27 years, 190cm, 90kgs, 150+ games, running HBF, All Aussie. Does he fit our needs?

05-07-2013, 07:21 PM
Just on the radio, Jon Anderson says there will be a massive clean out at Carlton. Do they anyone decent who looks like being cut by Mick, I.e. a talented player who will only go down in value because Mick has made up his mind and wants to cut deep? I'm not overly familiar with their list and whose not in favour?
Duigan and Laidler are the two regulars under Ratten who cannot get a look-in under Malthouse. Both are mid sized defenders and they can both play but Duigan is a little older.

05-07-2013, 07:28 PM
Duigan and Laidler are the two regulars under Ratten who cannot get a look-in under Malthouse. Both are mid sized defenders and they can both play but Duigan is a little older.
1. Would you have them?
2. What would you pay?
3. Where would you play them?
4. Who/which players will be they competing gainst?

Cheers.

05-07-2013, 07:41 PM
Just Andrew McKay on the ABC.
Asked about those two he said that Laidler has lost pace with his knee injuries.
Duigan's to old for us anyway and is a bad decision maker.

05-07-2013, 07:45 PM
Harry O has apparently walked out (for the time being), youd guess he will come back, but if Bucks can't make things right would you trade for him - 27 years, 190cm, 90kgs, 150+ games, running HBF, All Aussie. Does he fit our needs?

To be honest I'm starting to think he fails the no dickheads test. If the Bulldog ethos is about the team, not the individual he falls short.

05-07-2013, 07:48 PM
Harry O.....is he a d!ckhead or just a different type of bloke..??
I havent made up my mind.

05-07-2013, 09:37 PM
To be honest I'm starting to think he fails the no dickheads test. If the Bulldog ethos is about the team, not the individual he falls short.

I don't think Harry O is a dick head. I've heard him speak at a number of functions. We could use Harry absolutely. He's a good player, provides rebound and is versatile. What's he worth?

05-07-2013, 09:43 PM
I don't think Harry O is a dick head. I've heard him speak at a number of functions. We could use Harry absolutely. He's a good player, provides rebound and is versatile. What's he worth?
A bit I would have thought. St Kilda have a worse defence than us, so I imagine they would go pretty hard.

05-07-2013, 10:43 PM
Carlton clearly can't hold onto all 3 small forwards, especially when none of them seem to be able to play as part of the midfield rotations. And seeing as he's out of favour with Grumpy Mick, I'd like to see us make a play for Yarran. Would love his skill and pace running the lines out of defensive 50 - he is a jet when on song.

05-07-2013, 10:45 PM
Carlton clearly can't hold onto all 3 small forwards, especially when none of them seem to be able to play as part of the midfield rotations. And seeing as he's out of favour with Grumpy Mick, I'd like to see us make a play for Yarran. Would love his skill and pace running the lines out of defensive 50 - he is a net when on song.
Really... Why? I think he's a one way down hill skier. Happy to understand what you see and what you would give up.

05-07-2013, 10:48 PM
Really... Why? I think he's a one way down hill skier. Happy to understand what you see and what you would give up.
I see elite skill and pace off half back, something we lack in spades on our list. It's a moot point because I suspect Yarran is not a BMac type.

05-07-2013, 10:50 PM
I see elite skill and pace off half back, something we lack in spades on our list. It's a moot point because I suspect Yarran is not a BMac type.
What part?

Not a quality young man? Or
Not a hard trainer?

05-07-2013, 10:51 PM
What part?

Not a hard trainer?

doesn't crack in

05-07-2013, 10:51 PM
What part?

Not a hard trainer?
His tendency to play outside. He's not the 'crack-in' type it's fair to say.

05-07-2013, 10:53 PM
Carlton clearly can't hold onto all 3 small forwards, especially when none of them seem to be able to play as part of the midfield rotations. And seeing as he's out of favour with Grumpy Mick, I'd like to see us make a play for Yarran. Would love his skill and pace running the lines out of defensive 50 - he is a jet when on song.

Exactly what I was thinking after his dust up with Mick a few weeks ago.

Not sure on his attitude/work rate, and I suspect Carlton would demand a fair bit for him, but relatively speaking I'd love for us to really hunt him.

05-07-2013, 10:56 PM
Pure hypothetical.

Our pick 21:

Chris Yarran, or
Dayle Garlett (assuming he's still there)

05-07-2013, 11:00 PM
Pure hypothetical.

Our pick 21:

Chris Yarran, or
Yarran for me. His exposed form is high quality and he still has 10 years ahead of him.

05-07-2013, 11:05 PM
Pure hypothetical.

Our pick 21:

Chris Yarran, or

If Garlett's attitude has truly done a 360, which I do find a little hard to believe, then I'd lean his way because he's a true midfielder.

Yarran is a HBF specialist for mine who can pinch hit midfield and up forward. To be fair though, I'd be happy to use 21 on Yarran.

05-07-2013, 11:13 PM
If Garlett's attitude has truly done a 360, which I do find a little hard to believe, then I'd lean his way because he's a true midfielder.

Yarran is a HBF specialist for mine who can pinch hit midfield and up forward. To be fair though, I'd be happy to use 21 on Yarran.

I would take either player. I guess Yarran is proven at AFL level so would lean towards him, but as long as the price is right.

05-07-2013, 11:15 PM

See lack of accountability, selfishness and plays on his own terms .
No thank- you

05-07-2013, 11:17 PM
Yarran for me. His exposed form is high quality and he still has 10 years ahead of him.

Yes and when the going gets tough
Yarran , Garlett and others look for the exit door.
Draft our own players

Reigning Maddogs
05-07-2013, 11:26 PM
See lack of accountability, selfishness and plays on his own terms .
No thank- you

I share these thoughts. No thanks for me...

06-07-2013, 10:34 AM

I see a few negatives, but he certainly has skill and pace.

With him not in favour with Mick could a swap for Addison or Wood be entertained by either party.

06-07-2013, 01:09 PM
Carlton have got more tagging types than us at the moment

06-07-2013, 01:18 PM
Macca is playing Tutt this week, he sees the deficiency now, he could well be looking for a Chris Yarran type to bring into the club during the off-season.

06-07-2013, 03:41 PM
Robbie Tarrant has kick four goals today

06-07-2013, 04:34 PM
I see a few negatives, but he certainly has skill and pace.

With him not in favour with Mick could a swap for Addison or Wood be entertained by either party.

Why would Carlton do that?

06-07-2013, 11:01 PM
Wonder where Adam Tomlinson fits for GWS in their plans?

Well built and athletic at 194cm, if they get Buddy, have Cameron and at least one of Boyd/Patton, does he learn to play key back? If not he's surely surplus to needs and may find himself trade bait.

The Buddy scenario has to start seeing them clearing their numerous first and second rounders who haven't quite held down a spot as yet.

07-07-2013, 12:52 AM
Wonder where Adam Tomlinson fits for GWS in their plans?

Well built and athletic at 194cm, if they get Buddy, have Cameron and at least one of Boyd/Patton, does he learn to play key back? If not he's surely surplus to needs and may find himself trade bait.

The Buddy scenario has to start seeing them clearing their numerous first and second rounders who haven't quite held down a spot as yet.

Not sure how he is going but he was dominated by Talia today who has played less than 10 games, he may not help us

07-07-2013, 11:58 AM
Robbie Tarrant has kick four goals today
Tarrant or Yarran. Who is better, who addresses our immediate needs better?

07-07-2013, 02:11 PM
Tarrant or Yarran. Who is better, who addresses our immediate needs better?

Yarren I would think.

I'm not sold on Tarrent. He seems very similar to what we already have.

07-07-2013, 02:45 PM
Yarren I would think.

I'm not sold on Tarrent. He seems very similar to what we already have.

Which players is he similar to? The closest I would think would be Stringer, as a 3rd tall type.

The forward line isn't the ruck, I don't see an issue with having another 3rd tall on the list

08-07-2013, 12:23 AM
Brett Anderson ‏@BrettAndersonIF

Young GWS forward Kristian Jaksch getting plenty of interest around league. Dogs keen to reunite him with ex-Carey mates Hrovat/Macrae. #AFL

08-07-2013, 01:22 AM
That would be interesting ^^
He'd have a mandatory 2 year deal you'd think .

08-07-2013, 05:47 AM
Who's Brett Anderson?

08-07-2013, 06:34 AM
Who's Brett Anderson?

Inside Football writer

08-07-2013, 08:52 AM
Which players is he similar to? The closest I would think would be Stringer, as a 3rd tall type.

The forward line isn't the ruck, I don't see an issue with having another 3rd tall on the list

I think that is our problem too many "3rd tall" type players.

Can you see Jones succeeding as the number 1 forward?

08-07-2013, 09:38 AM

I still think Jones will make it. He is very athletic, his second efforts have improved and he seems to be learning what its all about. He just has to start kicking more goals.

08-07-2013, 09:55 AM

Young GWS forward Kristian Jaksch getting plenty of interest around league. Dogs keen to reunite him with ex-Carey mates Hrovat/Macrae. #AFL

Interesting liked jaksch as a player, home sick? Wonder what they'd be after?

For those who don't remember around 195cm, 85 kg mark. Can play defence or forward. If memory serves kicked 5-6 in a game during last years carnival taken pick 12 overall at the national draft. Really strong kid with good hands.

08-07-2013, 11:54 AM

If we finish 3rd that's fine. No trade - up yours Sheedy!

Let him go PSD. Giants won't select him, you wouldn't think Melbourne would either.

I'd do it just to piss Sheedy off.

08-07-2013, 12:00 PM

Let him go PSD. Giants won't select him, you wouldn't think Melbourne would either.

I think he would be under contract for one more year.

08-07-2013, 12:02 PM

I like the sentiment, but he will have another year on his contract and GWS will probably not release him.

08-07-2013, 12:34 PM
I like the sentiment, but he will have another year on his contract and GWS will probably not release him.
Damn. But I'm thinking we still may be down next year. Although I love Leon, so now I'm torn....

I'd just hate dealing with Sheedy this year.

08-07-2013, 10:20 PM

Are you counting Dickson, Gia & Higgins? They are mid-sized to me.

I don't know if he will ever develop the fitness and workrate to be elite in the AFL, but I can see him becoming a good contributor in time. For lack of a better comparison, perhaps like a Kurt Tippett at Adelaide who was the number 2 forward in terms of goalscoring and played more of a marking role than Taylor Walker (Jake Stringer) who got his goals on the lead.

08-07-2013, 10:27 PM
Interesting liked jaksch as a player, home sick? Wonder what they'd be after?

For those who don't remember around 195cm, 85 kg mark. Can play defence or forward. If memory serves kicked 5-6 in a game during last years carnival taken pick 12 overall at the national draft. Really strong kid with good hands.

Isn't that Jarrad Grant proportions?

08-07-2013, 10:29 PM
I wonder if Port would be keen to move up the order to secure one of the local boys?
Do the have any players the might want to use to entice a flip of first round selections?

08-07-2013, 10:30 PM
Isn't that Jarrad Grant proportions?

One big difference 18 years old compared to 24.

08-07-2013, 10:33 PM
He is a KP player as well. I'd say he would have a few kg on Grant.

08-07-2013, 10:49 PM
I wonder if Port would be keen to move up the order to secure one of the local boys?
Do the have any players the might want to use to entice a flip of first round selections?

There's a scuffy young bloke on their list who hasn't quite made it yet. He'd be mates with Koby and Clay you'd reckon and I think he'd be getting homesick.

08-07-2013, 10:51 PM
There's a scuffy young bloke on their list who hasn't quite made it yet. He'd be mates with Koby and Clay you'd reckon and I think he'd be getting homesick.

Who? butcher?

08-07-2013, 11:03 PM

He is a KP player as well. I'd say he would have a few kg on Grant.

So it is not a case of Kristian Jaksch off.

08-07-2013, 11:09 PM
Who? butcher?

Yep. I'm by no means advocating the trade, just replying to G's question.

He's been injured and looked lacklustre in many games. He does fit a profile position if GWS look to get Tom Boyd. An exchange of DP's may just see us drop a few rungs to get a still quality Sheed/Billings so they can secure a Aish/Scharenberg (just as an idea).

JamesInCanberra
08-07-2013, 11:39 PM
Yep. I'm by no means advocating the trade, just replying to G's question.

He's been injured and looked lacklustre in many games. He does fit a profile position if GWS look to get Tom Boyd. An exchange of DP's may just see us drop a few rungs to get a still quality Sheed/Billings so they can secure a Aish/Scharenberg (just as an idea).

Port are probably going to finish in the top eight, I don't think we should or would do this deal. I think the top ten of this draft are significantly better than the latter part of the first round. Even if we couldn't get TB or one of the two Croweaters we'd still have our pick of Kelly, Billings, Lennon and Hartung (Speed!, Footskills!) all of whom are very skilled and exactly what we need.

08-07-2013, 11:44 PM
Port are probably going to finish in the top eight, I don't think we should or would do this deal. I think the top ten of this draft are significantly better than the latter part of the first round. Even if we couldn't get TB or one of the two Croweaters we'd still have our pick of Kelly, Billings, Lennon and Hartung all of whom are skilled.

Yep. Trading down from our pick to theirs I would only do if Hartlett or Wingard were added in as well.

08-07-2013, 11:59 PM

Love to get Yarran into our backline.

Yarran + JJ + another small to med defender we are yet to recruit, plus Talia and Young + another good tall defender* we are yet to recruit = good backline

*Not Roughead

08-07-2013, 11:59 PM
Port are probably going to finish in the top eight, I don't think we should or would do this deal. I think the top ten of this draft are significantly better than the latter part of the first round. Even if we couldn't get TB or one of the two Croweaters we'd still have our pick of Kelly, Billings, Lennon and Hartung (Speed!, Footskills!) all of whom are very skilled and exactly what we need.

Don't know about the top 8 for them but the deal I mentioned would have to be heavily weighted on their final position. If it was a matter of three places then it may be a consideration.

As I said I'm in know way advocating that trade, just putting it out there in reply to the specific question.

09-07-2013, 09:54 AM
With Adelaide missing the first two rounds of this years draft, could we package up a player and or pick for Daniel Talia? Or would he be on their untouchable list?

09-07-2013, 10:02 AM
With Adelaide missing the first two rounds of this years draft, could we package up a player and or pick for Daniel Talia? Or would he be on their untouchable list?
Untouchable I would have thought.

09-07-2013, 10:14 AM
I'm not sure to post here or the draft thread but anyway...

As a hypothetical, Carlton put up Yarran, we show interest. After all the back and forth, the final position is that They want an upgrade from pick 10 to pick 3 (maybe even again in the second round, but thts irrelevant to this question). Is the difference between 3 & 10 massive this year, is it bigger than the upside of Yarran.

I.e - Scharnberg for Crouch & Yarran

I'm not advocating this necessarily, rather trying to understand the top end quality and whether we would entertain a trade down to get a player the club wants. You could use the same format for Tarrant at North etc, etc.

09-07-2013, 10:26 AM
Our list is in such a hole I can't see any justification in trading picks. We need players all over the ground and should take the best available at the time. We will have more than enough time over the next 5 years to build our list - no quick fix trading will accelerate this as far as I'm concerned.

09-07-2013, 11:40 AM

As a hypothetical, Carlton put up Yarran, we show interest. After all the back and forth, the final position is that They want an upgrade from pick 10 to pick 3 (maybe even again in the second round, but thts irrelevant to this question). Is the difference between 3 & 10 massive this year, is it bigger than the upside of Yarran.

I'm not advocating this necessarily, rather trying to understand the top end quality and whether we would entertain a trade down to get a player the club wants. You could use the same format for Tarrant at North etc, etc.

It's a good point. Much like last year I think the top pick is a lock (obviously), then there is some debate on the next 5-6 players (Aish,Kelly,Scharenburg,Billings,Sheed). After that there is probably a group of 10+ who could fill you 8-18 positions in no particular order. (remember Grundy- some had him a top 6 talent last and he went around the 20 mark). Other players such as Garlett also throw in a spanner as well.

To me our first pick remains untouched unless it is to upgrade to pick one and we have already gone over this .

09-07-2013, 04:52 PM
Yarran's a front runner
No Thankyou

JamesInCanberra
09-07-2013, 10:33 PM

If we did trade down to Carlton's pick I think the players we would target would be Christian Salem, Billy Hartung and Kade Kolodjashnij from Tasmania, all more outside players with great kicks. Matt Crouch is a player I think we've got a lot of already.

I think if we could get Chris Yarran and one those three or some one else like a Billings or Lennon if they fell it would be well worth a Sharenberg, because as good and versatile as he is he is only one really good player we could be getting two.

Although my gut says if Chris Yarran is traded it will be to Eagles or Fremantle cause thats where his from, and will thus want to go.

09-07-2013, 11:47 PM
Ross Lyon already has Hill and Pearce as his outside run types.
I'd be surprised he'd pick up someone who has zero accountability zero team defense.

09-07-2013, 11:49 PM
Our list is in such a hole I can't see any justification in trading picks. We need players all over the ground and should take the best available at the time. We will have more than enough time over the next 5 years to build our list - no quick fix trading will accelerate this as far as I'm concerned.

Yep. Surely the awful Bate Trade would be an example of not to pee your picks against the wall!!

10-07-2013, 01:00 AM
Yarran's a front runner
No Thankyou

He is a bit, but isn't that the type we need? Someone who doesn't spend their game hunting the ball, but makes space for the contested blokes to give it off to and hurt the opposition

10-07-2013, 01:44 AM
He is a bit, but isn't that the type we need? Someone who doesn't spend their game hunting the ball, but makes space for the contested blokes to give it off to and hurt the opposition

The problem I've got isn't so much now because we're poor.
If and when we get better and in big games he doesn't get near it.

10-07-2013, 05:11 AM

A couple of points here.
Carlton would only be interested in getting the number 1 pick so they could select Boyd. I doubt picks 2, 3, 4 or 5 would give them much more they what they can get at their natural pick.
Yarran had some attitude issues so I doubt we would be that interested in him.

To me one of the best options of trading down a pick would be with Port Power who might have some genuine interest in getting one of the local boys in Aish or Scharenberg.
A quick scan of their list has injury prone players like Butcher or Moore that might have some limited appeal for us.

It's an interesting option to forgo and early pick to acquire something else. and I guess the thing that would most interest us is early picks. Getting teams to part with them won't be easy though.

10-07-2013, 07:59 AM
Im with the consensus we use pick 3 (currently) for the best player we can get in the draft.

Make use of it on a young player for the future, not Yarran who as a running defender is not our #1 priority.

10-07-2013, 09:14 AM
Im with the consensus we use pick 3 (currently) for the best player we can get in the draft.

Make use of it on a young player for the future, not Yarran who as a running defender is not our #1 priority.

Agreed - go best available, these bottom 5 picks don't come around too often (hopefully!).

Any one of Aish, Scharenberg, Kelly or Billings would all look great in our colours.