View Full Version : Demons coach race
30-08-2013, 07:44 PM
Reported on SEN that Roos now 50/50 to coach the Dees. Eade out of the running.
30-08-2013, 07:46 PM
Reported on SEN that Roos now 50/50 to coach the Dees. Eade out of the running.
Eade to take on the footy managers role at the pies.
30-08-2013, 07:49 PM
Congratulations AFL.
30-08-2013, 07:57 PM
He announced it on AFL 360 half an hour ago Eddie nearly fell of his chair.
30-08-2013, 08:02 PM
I hope Roos gets the job because I think it will end in tears in a similar way Pagan went down in flames at Carlton.
30-08-2013, 09:38 PM
I hope Roos gets the job because I think it will end in tears in a similar way Pagan went down in flames at Carlton.
I really do like your nasty mind :D
30-08-2013, 10:08 PM
Eade to take on the footy managers role at the pies.
The 'fire in the belly' just wasn't quite there.
30-08-2013, 10:51 PM
Did you think he would be good as a footy manager?
I was surprised.
30-08-2013, 11:37 PM
He said he would only take on Melbourne under certain conditions.
I think he has a good gig at Collingwood and most likely well paid.
30-08-2013, 11:48 PM
Most experienced coaches give themselves that escape option but he seemed very convincing that he wanted another go at it and repeating that he still maintained a fire in the belly to coach again.
I don't doubt he is very well paid at the Pies but if you do have that coaching itch then the money shouldn't really be a factor.
He's probably made the right call but I guess that's it for him having another go at coaching because that's twice now where he has put his name forward only to back out of seeing it through.
31-08-2013, 06:27 AM
Agree. Roos a good coach, but not the messiah the media portray him as.
31-08-2013, 07:51 AM
Do you think Melbourne didn't meet his conditions. EG: Rocket may have asked for total control to right the ship and maybe the board wouldn't give it.
Or Melbourne couldn't afford the coaching conditions like plenty of coaching support staff.
31-08-2013, 08:40 AM
Do you think Melbourne didn't meet his conditions. EG: Rocket may have asked for total control to right the ship and maybe the board wouldn't give it.
Or Melbourne couldn't afford the coaching conditions like plenty of coaching support staff.
I wonder if that because Melbourne weren't in a rush to make the appointment and that Roos wasn't ruling out a return to coaching just signaled to him that he wasn't their number one option.
31-08-2013, 08:54 AM
I thought Eade's connection with Brisbane might be more of an inticement for him anyway. There is no word on that position yet is there?
31-08-2013, 12:58 PM
I thought Eade's connection with Brisbane might be more of an inticement for him anyway. There is no word on that position yet is there?
They have formed a selection committee to get the ball rolling.
31-08-2013, 04:03 PM
Would think the Brissie job would be enticing .
The AFL Demons look like being gifted a coach
31-08-2013, 09:58 PM
Would think the Brissie job would be enticing .
The AFL Demons look like being gifted a coach
which will also mean the new coach will be gifted priority pick/s
31-08-2013, 10:02 PM
which will also mean the new coach will be gifted priority pick/s
Not sure about that. They helped port out significantly in a financial sense, and they received no priority picks. The clubs should kick up a huge stink if that occurs.
31-08-2013, 10:09 PM
Not sure about that. They helped port out significantly in a financial sense, and they received no priority picks. The clubs should kick up a huge stink if that occurs.
If the AFL are lending a hand in getting Roos to the club don't you think Roos would be demanding a priority pick as part of the deal? I'm sure he will and he is clever enough to get it.
31-08-2013, 11:31 PM
Reckon it's as good as done that Melbourne will receive some form of priority pick, irrespective of who is coming in as coach. The stupidity of that is a fair chance of being played out tomorrow afternoon, when Melbourne are a fairly good show to beat us for the second time this year.
Good luck to Eade with taking on the Football Manager role at the Pies. I think it's a good move for him from a career longevity perspective, and it's a role where the chance of him being burnt out or spent after a year or two is less than a senior coaching gig.
I think Roos benefitted from coaching a very well led playing group whilst at the Swans. His management of Barry Hall and Nick Davis was indifferent, while many think Ross Lyon's influence over the tactics employed by the Swans a significant factor in them contending and winning a flag.
He's going to be up against it at Melbourne if he takes the job. Hats off to him if he takes on the challenge, as his reputation right now is impeccable and is a chance to be dented.
01-09-2013, 12:35 AM
If the AFL are lending a hand in getting Roos to the club don't you think Roos would be demanding a priority pick as part of the deal? I'm sure he will and he is clever enough to get it.
Roos has never been a fan of the draft. I think 1.5 mil will make someone interested.
03-09-2013, 01:14 PM
Roos will probably want an extra mill on the salary cap as well, just so he can feel more at home in the role.
03-09-2013, 01:23 PM
I bet Roos is demanding at least one PP.
Which means they'll get them...
03-09-2013, 05:56 PM
I bet Roos is demanding at least one PP.
Which means they'll get them...
Lock it in. I suspect it will be at the end of the first round. 3 picks in the first 22 or so will be a bonus for them. They might even get something decent for Sylvia.
04-09-2013, 10:12 AM
Roos will probably want an extra mill on the salary cap as well, just so he can feel more at home in the role.
Hehehe!
If Roos does take the job then it will be the true test of his coaching abilities. It's one thing taking the AFL's love child to a premiership but even installing a winning culture into that bunch of losers at Melbourne would be a minor miracle. I wonder what happens when the players eventually turn on him?
06-09-2013, 11:42 AM
Paul Roos just confirmed as coach
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-09-06/roos-to-coach-demons-in-2014
06-09-2013, 11:44 AM
Paul Roos just confirmed as coach
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-09-06/roos-to-coach-demons-in-2014
Yeah. I can't imagine PP's were a part of this deal....
06-09-2013, 12:30 PM
Poor man's B-Mac :)
06-09-2013, 12:32 PM
Poor man's B-Mac :)
For a poor man he's getting a sheetload of cash. ;)
06-09-2013, 12:36 PM
Anyone else getting of visions of Malcolm Blight as the saviour of St Kilda?
06-09-2013, 12:41 PM
Anyone else getting of visions of Malcolm Blight as the saviour of St Kilda?
I am now :D
06-09-2013, 12:55 PM
Dennis Pagan at Carlton v2.0
06-09-2013, 12:56 PM
I see you, and raise you Joyce at Footscray! :)
06-09-2013, 01:00 PM
Let's hope so. I'm just glad he's out of the media, his Sydney centric garbage was like torture to listen to.
06-09-2013, 01:01 PM
Interestingly only 2 years with an option.
When it gets too hard he will pull the pin.
06-09-2013, 01:05 PM
Let's hope so. I'm just glad he's out of the media, his Sydney centric garbage was like torture to listen to.
Hadn't thought of that. It's a real positive.
06-09-2013, 01:06 PM
Staggered it's only 2 years.
Sounds like a reluctant coach ( maybe the family not so happy)
06-09-2013, 01:06 PM
Who goes on he couch?
Walls, Hird, Roos, ???
06-09-2013, 01:20 PM
Interesting take from Roos.
He is setting himself as the messiah to establish a culture of success and already arranged to walk away before anything is achieved.
So any success he will take credit for but a failure can be attributed to someone else.
Perhaps he should be in politics.
06-09-2013, 01:28 PM
Interesting take from Roos.
He is setting himself as the messiah to establish a culture of success and already arranged to walk away before anything is achieved.
So any success he will take credit for but a failure can be attributed to someone else.
Perhaps he should be in politics.
Yep, this is destined to go pear shaped. No real commitment.
06-09-2013, 01:34 PM
For a poor man he's getting a sheetload of cash. ;)
How can they afford it :eek:
With the amount he'll be on it would be madness to give him more than a 2 year contract.
06-09-2013, 02:08 PM
A few months back a Melb supporter friend of mine was talking about Roos. But my opinion is Roos is a finisher as a coach. What they need is a builder type, eg Eade, to pull them out of the slums and get them back to contending the top 8. Not a coach that contends premierships. I can't see it working.
06-09-2013, 02:10 PM
He will inherit a list of formiddable forward talent: Jeremy Howe, Mitch Clark, Jesse Hogan, Chris Dawes and Jack Watts. I don't want to fuel the fire of jealousy or rivalry but they could be serious rivals for us in our rise. Roos said he is open to trading the #2 pick. He is after instant results and I can see it could happen with a quality backman and midlfielder and the right application to the contest. I would be on the phone to Daniel Cross if I was Roos.
It will of course be a test of developing a totally new culture at an old schoolboys club and that seems like Mt Everest but nothing succeeds like success. There is a chance for them to have instant turnaround of performance (they don't have much to beat) and if a little belief starts happening, then they could be a pain in the arse.
06-09-2013, 02:29 PM
Worsfold to Essesndon.......well he is a chemist :)
06-09-2013, 02:31 PM
Like it :D
06-09-2013, 03:15 PM
Boom tish (try the veal, I'm here 'til Thursday)
07-09-2013, 12:54 PM
I see you, and raise you Joyce at Footscray! :)
And we mustn't forget Ron Barrasi's time at Melbourne as coach!
07-09-2013, 01:17 PM
$2 million, plus a house and car plus other benefits. Why wouldn't you take it.
He will inherit a list of formiddable forward talent: Jeremy Howe, Mitch Clark, Jesse Hogan, Chris Dawes and Jack Watts. I don't want to fuel the fire of jealousy or rivalry but they could be serious rivals for us in our rise. Roos said he is open to trading the #2 pick. He is after instant results and I can see it could happen with a quality backman and midlfielder and the right application to the contest. I would be on the phone to Daniel Cross if I was Roos.
It will of course be a test of developing a totally new culture at an old schoolboys club and that seems like Mt Everest but nothing succeeds like success. There is a chance for them to have instant turnaround of performance (they don't have much to beat) and if a little belief starts happening, then they could be a pain in the arse.
Melbourne have a lot of talent.
I am curious to see how Roos pulls this together from a big picture perspective without having the likes of Lyon and Longmore taking care of the details. What happens to the likes of Brian Royal etc who are coaching there now? Are they all out - and with it all their knowledge and experience with the playing group? Like many people, I think they need to add a bit to their midfield but forward and back look good to me...
07-09-2013, 01:21 PM
And we mustn't forget Ron Barrasi's time at Melbourne as coach!
Or time as Sydney's coach.
07-09-2013, 01:30 PM
Melbourne have a lot of talent.
I am curious to see how Roos pulls this together from a big picture perspective without having the likes of Lyon and Longmore taking care of the details. What happens to the likes of Brian Royal etc who are coaching there now? Are they all out - and with it all their knowledge and experience with the playing group? Like many people, I think they need to add a bit to their midfield but forward and back look good to me...
You would think there would be a clean out of the coaches and Roos will pick his own team. They have publicly stated they will give up picks for good midfielders.
08-09-2013, 09:21 PM
I can see Melbourne going pretty hard after the likes of Taylor Adams and Dom Tyson. Pick 2 could get it done.
11-09-2013, 01:42 PM
The Demons announced that midfield coach Brian Royal and forwards coach Leigh Brown won't be at the club in 2014.
11-09-2013, 01:50 PM
He will inherit a list of formiddable forward talent: Jeremy Howe, Mitch Clark, Jesse Hogan, Chris Dawes and Jack Watts.
Talk of Melbourne being talented is way off the mark IMO. This whole song and dance was sprouted 4-5 years ago too.
Howe can jump and mark but doesn't have a lot of other strings to his bow just yet. Long way off being considered a formidable talent, although that may change. Clark is very good but riddled with injuries and won't be around when Melbourne realistically should 'contend', Hogan is a gem, Dawes is big but ordinary, Watts is talented but soft.
Melbourne are stuffed. Jones, Clark, Dawes and Frawley will be finished/near the end by the time they'll be worth speaking about, so at the moment they are working off a base of Hogan, Viney, Toumpas, Howe, and 3-4 others.
Personally, I hope they stay down. They are an absolute basket case.
11-09-2013, 02:07 PM
Talk of Melbourne being talented is way off the mark IMO. This whole song and dance was sprouted 4-5 years ago too.
Howe can jump and mark but doesn't have a lot of other strings to his bow just yet. Long way off being considered a formidable talent, although that may change. Clark is very good but riddled with injuries and won't be around when Melbourne realistically should 'contend', Hogan is a gem, Dawes is big but ordinary, Watts is talented but soft.
Melbourne are stuffed. Jones, Clark, Dawes and Frawley will be finished/near the end by the time they'll be worth speaking about, so at the moment they are working off a base of Hogan, Viney, Toumpas, Howe, and 3-4 others.
Personally, I hope they stay down. They are an absolute basket case.
And their other problem is they have invested nearly everything they have to bring together this "talent forward line".
One of Mark Neeld's (many) short comings is he seemed to think as long as you have enough big forward the rest will fall into place. They haven't succeeded in building that dream yet anyway, with Clark always injured, Dawes a dud, Watts soft, and Hogan still unknown, but even if they do develop they just can not get their hands on the ball as a team to feed them.
23-09-2013, 04:26 PM
Priority pick has been ruled out
LINK (http://news.theage.com.au/breaking-news-sport/no-afl-priority-draft-pick-for-demons-20130923-2u9tq.html)
Melbourne won't be receiving a priority pick at this year's AFL draft.
The Demons, who came 17th this year and won just two games, after coming 16th last season, had applied to the AFL to award them draft assistance.
That bid was opposed by all 17 other clubs.
The AFL on Monday decided not to award the Demons, or any other club, an extra draft selection.
They took into account that Melbourne were already making improvements off the field, including the recent appointment of in-demand premiership coach Paul Roos.
23-09-2013, 04:27 PM
Good.
23-09-2013, 04:31 PM
Not surprised to be honest .
The chorus of protest grew to loud.
Time for Melbourne to dig themselves out of the mire.
23-09-2013, 04:46 PM
I really can't stand Melbourne.
They dig themselves a grave (tanking), are basically bailed out of it by the AFL (A fine which they don't even pay in the end), receive further 'reward/assistance' from a financial standpoint (1.2 mil? 400,000 large goes to Roos) and then on top of all that they actually have the audacity to apply for a priority pick.
All the while, they keep saying "we'll get ourselves out of this mess". How about doing something for and by yourself for once?
I'd love nothing more than to see Roos and co fail miserably at that club.
23-09-2013, 04:49 PM
I really can't stand Melbourne.
They dig themselves a grave (tanking), are basically bailed out of it by the AFL (A fine which they don't even pay in the end), receive further 'reward/assistance' from a financial standpoint (1.2 mil? 400,000 large goes to Roos) and then on top of all that they actually have the audacity to apply for a priority pick.
All the while, they keep saying "we'll get ourselves out of this mess". How about doing something for and by yourself for once?
I'd love nothing more than to see Roos and co fail miserably at that club.
If they fail miserably next year they most likely will get a priority pick.
23-09-2013, 05:26 PM
You could give them an entire list and they'd still suck.
23-09-2013, 06:50 PM
I don't think so. Today will be remembered as the day the PP was officially killed off.
If the PP is dead it is a good thing, will mean tanking is dead.
01-10-2013, 10:48 AM
If the PP is dead it is a good thing, will mean tanking is dead.
Unfortunately I don't think so players like Boyd will always have clubs thinking they can outsmart the AFL.