View Full Version : Poor Ol' Richmond
08-09-2013, 06:15 PM
Bahahahahahahahahahahahaha :D
08-09-2013, 06:18 PM
That game seemed like the 1997 prelim...only this time we weren't the ones suffering.
08-09-2013, 06:20 PM
They I reckon would be the bigger news out of the finals this weekend more than Collingwood even. Microwaves will be on tonight :D
08-09-2013, 06:21 PM
1st final in over a decade.
32 point lead.
52 point turnaround.
Lost to 9th.
Duigan kicks 4.
Don't feel bad in the slightest! :)
08-09-2013, 06:27 PM
Deja vu. Didn't learn from the last time they played Carlton, didn't deserve to win.
08-09-2013, 06:27 PM
Happy to see Richmond suffer but did it have to be at the hands of Carlton? Hate them more than anyone.
08-09-2013, 06:30 PM
2025 isn't that far away, the time will fly for Richmond supporters.
08-09-2013, 06:36 PM
Don't exactly love Carlton, but I'm so glad the Tiggers are out.
08-09-2013, 06:47 PM
After the way their supporters carried on after they beat us earlier this season I wish nothing but pain for that club :)
08-09-2013, 07:11 PM
Muhahahahahaha! love the look on Revoltings face, poor princess.
Will the TV adds end now? ;)
08-09-2013, 07:21 PM
They had four players with finals experience. Going into the game, I thought they would smash Carlton. I had three bets this weekend. Freo head to head, Richmond by 40+ and both into a multi. Freo winning means I got my money back, but realistically, today's result should have been foreseen.
That's why I lose the tipping every week. :D
Richmond fans already calling for Hardwick's head on social media.
08-09-2013, 07:22 PM
When the real games come (finals) the real players come out.
Fantastic games today from some pure class in the Yellow and Black.
Martin
King
Jackson
Riewoldt
When the going gets tough, the tough get going. Just not at Richmond.
08-09-2013, 07:33 PM
After the way their supporters carried on after they beat us earlier this season I wish nothing but pain for that club :)
Absolutely M.R.M. When they beat us Round 3 I remember in the final quarter sitting up on Level 3 they were carrying on.
hotdog
08-09-2013, 07:46 PM
I actually feel for them. Great to see the tiger army in full voice after years in the wilderness. They were as bad as Melbourne so it's only fair that they are excited for their first finals series in a decade. Good on them for getting out there today. They did manage to lose what they really should have won though.
08-09-2013, 07:50 PM
I thought they went on about the 12 year absence to often .
I mean those ads for god sake.
Back in the finals where we belong!!
08-09-2013, 07:57 PM
Yeah your right Remi, too much made about it. In the end they should be happy with the progress they have made this season but as today shows they have a long way to go to take another step forward and be a genuine finals team.
08-09-2013, 07:59 PM
Bitter sweet for Chris Newman.
08-09-2013, 08:07 PM
Toothless Tigers!
08-09-2013, 08:39 PM
Too many downhill skiers.
08-09-2013, 08:45 PM
Too many downhill skiers.
Exactly they have too few players prepared to run the other way which is odd given how hard Damien Hardwick worked as player and how much of a tough bastard he was.
08-09-2013, 08:50 PM
Exactly they have too few players prepared to run the other way which is odd given how hard Damien Hardwick worked as player and how much of a tough bastard he was.
Actually thought the same way as I was watching the last quarter.
08-09-2013, 08:56 PM
I actually feel for them. Great to see the tiger army in full voice after years in the wilderness. They were as bad as Melbourne so it's only fair that they are excited for their first finals series in a decade. Good on them for getting out there today. They did manage to lose what they really should have won though.
Same.
I don't dislike Richmond anymore. I have enjoyed watching them this year, they have played some exciting footy and their Tiger Army is extremely passionate. I've really noticed that since working at the MCG -- today was incredible. Never heard anything like it, standing near their grog/cheer squad with all their original chants etc.
Have a few genuine friends who support Richmond too, so I feel for 'em.
I absolutely hate Carlton (and Essendon) so anytime they win, I'm bitter ;)
08-09-2013, 09:08 PM
Don't exactly love Carlton, but I'm so glad the Tiggers are out.
I suspect you secretly love Carlton.
08-09-2013, 09:30 PM
Same.
I don't dislike Richmond anymore. I have enjoyed watching them this year, they have played some exciting footy and their Tiger Army is extremely passionate. I've really noticed that since working at the MCG -- today was incredible. Never heard anything like it, standing near their grog/cheer squad with all their original chants etc.
Have a few genuine friends who support Richmond too, so I feel for 'em.
I absolutely hate Carlton (and Essendon) so anytime they win, I'm bitter ;)
The thought of them even having a grog squad just adds to my disdain for Richmond.
08-09-2013, 11:02 PM
Happy to see Richmond suffer but did it have to be at the hands of Carlton? Hate them more than anyone.
Ditto
And I can't stand Malthouse
08-09-2013, 11:11 PM
Bitter sweet for Chris Newman.
I feel sick for Chris. I've got a soft spot for the tigers - about 10 mates who go for them. The guy has waited 12 years to play 120 minutes and now back to square 1. Also - work is going to be hell tomorrow. I have been sticking it too all the damn blues supporters all week. It's going to be a long, long, long day....
08-09-2013, 11:14 PM
I feel sick for Chris. I've got a soft spot for the tigers - about 10 mates who go for them. The guy has waited 12 years to play 120 minutes and now back to square 1. Also - work is going to be hell tomorrow. I have been sticking it too all the damn blues supporters all week. It's going to be a long, long, long day....
They will get done next week.
08-09-2013, 11:57 PM
They will get done next week.
Yeah, I'm going to take the punt and stick it too the lot of them this week as well on that assumption! I'm losing credibility though. Ruddy Judd..... :)
09-09-2013, 12:08 AM
When the real games come (finals) the real players come out.
Fantastic games today from some pure class in the Yellow and Black.
Martin
King
Jackson
Riewoldt
When the going gets tough, the tough get going. Just not at Richmond.
Sedat, you just about named this list of players in the past as those who would be the undoing of Richmond. And here we have it.
09-09-2013, 12:19 AM
Suppose it goes to show how tight things are in the second half of the eight, and in the ladder spots between nine and twelve.
Carlton aren't a particularly good side, nor are Richmond. Today's result isn't a surprise, as any team in positions between five and twelve could have won against each other today.
I really couldn't care less about the feelings of the Tiger army. They are too good at getting ahead of themselves, and their team is over-hyped as well as over-exposed without deserving it.
09-09-2013, 12:41 AM
Suppose it goes to show how tight things are in the second half of the eight, and in the ladder spots between nine and twelve.
Carlton aren't a particularly good side, nor are Richmond. Today's result isn't a surprise, as any team in positions between five and twelve could have won against each other today.
I really couldn't care less about the feelings of the Tiger army. They are too good at getting ahead of themselves, and their team is over-hyped as well as over-exposed without deserving it.
What annoys me is we would have beaten them both, sydney are hurting, we would have gone up there and shook the tree bigtime....#BulldogsWildcard....Freo would smack us to kingdom come though...:D
09-09-2013, 12:44 AM
Have to agree Jeemak. I think their still has a hangover from Terry Wallace or something odd goes on with their culture: unbalanced list. Port were an absolute rabble under Primus and look how far they have come in such a short time. Compare that with Richmond, who've been on the slow boat for years.
Must give them black and yellow shits to see Jay Schultz taking hangers and booting dead straight shots for goal.
09-09-2013, 01:13 AM
Yeah your right Remi, too much made about it. In the end they should be happy with the progress they have made this season but as today shows they have a long way to go to take another step forward and be a genuine finals team.
Heard a Carlton fan saying the Tiges had drums and music outside the G..:eek:
Fair to say the Tiges played their Grand Final:eek:
09-09-2013, 01:25 AM
Have to agree Jeemak. I think their still has a hangover from Terry Wallace or something odd goes on with their culture: unbalanced list. Port were an absolute rabble under Primus and look how far they have come in such a short time. Compare that with Richmond, who've been on the slow boat for years.
Must give them black and yellow shits to see Jay Schultz taking hangers and booting dead straight shots for goal.
I probably don't need to remind you or anyone on this board how easy it is to get home from a final disappointed.
2008 and 2009 qualifying finals were pretty much the low light for me of our 2008-2010 periods. In the former, we were stunned and shell shocked from the first bounce, and were made to look completely soft and inept by Hawthorn, while against the Cats in the latter we let a team get a run of goals while we were sleeping early on, and then didn't take our opportunities to win the game later in the piece.
Can we say that these disappointments were the results of club cultural issues? You could probably make a decent argument either way.
I didn't see the game today, so it's hard for me to put much into the debate one way or another. I just know that Richmond were always a developing side who got the better of enough games to sit above a bunch of teams just as good as them to make the finals. They lost today, so be it.
09-09-2013, 06:27 AM
I probably don't need to remind you or anyone on this board how easy it is to get home from a final disappointed.
2008 and 2009 qualifying finals were pretty much the low light for me of our 2008-2010 periods. In the former, we were stunned and shell shocked from the first bounce, and were made to look completely soft and inept by Hawthorn, while against the Cats in the latter we let a team get a run of goals while we were sleeping early on, and then didn't take our opportunities to win the game later in the piece.
Can we say that these disappointments were the results of club cultural issues? You could probably make a decent argument either way.
I didn't see the game today, so it's hard for me to put much into the debate one way or another. I just know that Richmond were always a developing side who got the better of enough games to sit above a bunch of teams just as good as them to make the finals. They lost today, so be it.
Their midfield has had double page spreads written about it. They were gifted goals by Carlton yesterday with repeat 50m penalties. Ahead by 5 goals, they just couldn't hang in there, and the midfield seems to be their shortcoming.
09-09-2013, 08:18 AM
Just goes to show that for every silky, fast midfielder you need a bloke who'll kill himself at the contest. You need the balance. We all jump on the wagon of the flashy type, and lambast the tough, uncomprising but lesser skilled. Richmond have too many of the one type. That's all.
09-09-2013, 09:44 AM
Sedat, you just about named this list of players in the past as those who would be the undoing of Richmond. And here we have it.
I also said that Patrick Bowden's move to CHB halfway through the 2005 season would be the making of him :o
I don't think I've ever been more certain of anything than Jack Riewoldt having a stinker yesterday. What comes naturally for him is to be the top dog, the man, the head banana, and to expect his teammates to give him the silver service each and every time. When he 'plays' the team game, it looks forced and contrived - you can tell he hates doing it. When the intensity and pressure ramps up dramatically in September, and when free space is significantly reduced, you need players that impact on the contest and fight and scrap for their team as if their lives depend on it. You don't need players who go in half-assed, don't work hard enough, don't fully buy in to the team ethic, and stand there sulking when it isn't delivered lace-out (it rarely is in September).
Deledio is the other player who was terribly disappointing for Richmond yesterday. He is a supremely gifted footballer and athlete, but he simply doesn't crave the contested situation - never has. His job yesterday was to make sure his direct opponent was kept in check, and then to run off him and provide damaging rebound drive. Big fail on both counts. I doubt there are any poor fools out there (even Richmond supporters) who still think Deledio is a better footballer than Griffen.
09-09-2013, 09:47 AM
Sedat, they will always think he is better than Griff. #delusional.
09-09-2013, 09:49 AM
Deledio is the other player who was terribly disappointing for Richmond yesterday. He is a supremely gifted footballer and athlete, but he simply doesn't crave the contested situation - never has. His job yesterday was to make sure his direct opponent was kept in check, and then to run off him and provide damaging rebound drive. Big fail on both counts. I doubt there are any poor fools out there (even Richmond supporters) who still think Deledio is a better footballer than Griffen.
Agree with this. I thought Deledio was the biggest disappointment for the tigers. Simply has no ability to impose himself on a contest. Has great skills but if it wasn't for his pace he would struggle to get a kick. Duigan kicked four on him. Duigan FFS!
09-09-2013, 09:59 AM
Sedat, they will always think he is better than Griff. #delusional.
Was speaking to a Richmond supporter on Saturday night at the pub. I only just met him and he mentioned that Griffen is a gun, better than any player at Richmond.
09-09-2013, 11:18 AM
I was happy Carlton won, my Mum is Carlton. I was also happy to not have my Facebook newsfeed full of bandwagon Richmond barrackers bleating about 'yellow & black'. :)
09-09-2013, 12:30 PM
. Big fail on both counts. I doubt there are any poor fools out there (even Richmond supporters) who still think Deledio is a better footballer than Griffen.
I think someone needs to ring up SEN and ask KB who is the better of the two.
09-09-2013, 01:10 PM
Ha ha. I heard during the week he tipped Richmond to win by 97 points approx.:eek:
09-09-2013, 02:58 PM
Was speaking to a Richmond supporter on Saturday night at the pub. I only just met him and he mentioned that Griffen is a gun, better than any player at Richmond.
The exception to prove the rule!:D
09-09-2013, 03:27 PM
What's the bullshit he's sprouting about Duigan and the team sheet?
13-05-2024, 09:20 AM
After watching the Tigers close up on Saturday night, they are the worst team I've seen all year. North could have beaten them on Saturday.
No-one has any sympathy for them given their receive success but they are in a world of pain for the next five years.
With a new coach on board, he needs to establish his own team. Dusty looked completely disinterested. Once he gets his 300 games, then time to ship him up to the Gold Coast. Given his drawing power alone, he's probably worth a late second round to the Gold Coast.
If I was their new CEO, I'd also be instructing list management to chat with Freo to trade Shai Bolton for two first rounders. He's about the only player with much trade value on their list.
Tiges aren't winning anything soon. Move quickly and they could be back on track in less than five years.
13-05-2024, 10:01 AM
After watching the Tigers close up on Saturday night, they are the worst team I've seen all year. North could have beaten them on Saturday.
No-one has any sympathy for them given their receive success but they are in a world of pain for the next five years.
With a new coach on board, he needs to establish his own team. Dusty looked completely disinterested. Once he gets his 300 games, then time to ship him up to the Gold Coast. Given his drawing power alone, he's probably worth a late second round to the Gold Coast.
If I was their new CEO, I'd also be instructing list management to chat with Freo to trade Shai Bolton for two first rounders. He's about the only player with much trade value on their list.
Tiges aren't winning anything soon. Move quickly and they could be back on track in less than five years.
Had a lot out - but agree they haven't been left in the best shape by their old mate Hardwick have they. Now Gale is leaving as the ship sinks as well. Nice leverage moments for them!
I think Lynch, Baker, Grimes, Taranto, Hopper out of any side would cause issues; doubly so for a team so lacking in senior players.
If Dusty doesn't do a Hardwick/Gale next year I'd be very very surprised. He is really just going through the motions at the moment.
"What do you mean I have to defend??" - Dusty --- probably.
13-05-2024, 10:28 AM
They had 11 premiership players running around on Saturday night, many of them crucial components in their list and structure. The problem is that quite a few of these senior players are phoning it in at the moment - Dusty is going to get focus but Bolton is by far the worst offender IMO. They need to sit down with this core and have honest conversations about their desire to be part of the rebuild. If they get rid of them all they will be a North basket case for the next 10 years with Tassie soon to be hoovering up all the young talent when they come in. I would move on the talented but flashy types like Daniel Rioli for maximum draft capital and keep Vlaustin and Broad to stabilise the back half (Vlaustin should be captain). Baker may well move on as well - he's a heart and soul type but if the lure is there, take the first rounder (which will be high).
Their biggest immediate problem for Yze (not his fault) is they botched their draft hand 3 years ago - they had 4-5 top 30 picks and none of them have established themselves yet (Gibcus unlucky due to injury, the rest nowhere near establishing themselves as AFL quality players). Then they sold the farm the year after getting Taranto and Hopper to the club and sacrificing their draft capital - getting one of them would have been fine but both is largesse. GWS have lost quite a lot of first choice mids but they have all been for huge cost and proven to have significant flaws in their game (Taranto, Hopper, Shiel).