View Full Version : Life of Brian
20-09-2013, 09:29 AM
Link (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/life-of-brian-20130919-2u2nx.html)
OOuWWzP7wl0
Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson was not the only one surprised to see career full-back Brian Lake not just in the forward 50 at the start of the second half of the qualifying final against Sydney, but leading from the goal square and kicking a goal that began a rout.
Brendan Whitecross, startled by the sight of Lake running at him, looked around to make sure he was at the right end of the ground, then mouthed at Lake: "What's going on?" It is a recurring – indeed defining – question in Lake's maverick career.
His explanation is deceptively simple. The modern game demands that backmen push up. At worst, Lake would have given himself a chance to mark a high ball, at which he excels, but this time saw a clear path to the goal square. "You've got to tease your opponent a bit, see if he goes with you," he said. "The amount of space I was in, [Kurt] Tippett was forced to follow me. So I kept going."
His clinical finish gave him the moral high ground as he kicked balls back out to the forwards at goal-kicking drill the next week. "It doesn't matter how much you practise," he kept telling them. "It's about kicking them on the big stage."
Advertisement
The pillars of Lake's game are anticipation and marking. He said he read the play by three references: an awareness of the space around and behind him, the identity of the kicker and the pressure on the kicker. In his football brain, all is catalogued. "I knew Luke Power would always kick it short," he said. "You remember these things.
"My theory has always been to mark everything," he said. "I was always naturally strong, so I had that in my back pocket." In 2004, playing against Adelaide, he broke his right hand. "I couldn't close my fist," he said. "I don't know if it all started from there, but I couldn't punch for a good five or six weeks. The only way to spoil was to mark. I got suspended for two weeks anyway!"
Lake has always seen a kick in his direction not as a threat to be killed off, but an opportunity to be seized. At the Bulldogs, it might have meant a swift relay to Ryan Hargrave or Lindsay Gilbee and the start of a lightning rebound. Coach Rodney Eade encouraged him. "Things have changed a bit this year," he said. "Clarko doesn't like it as much. It can backfire."
Lake flourished under Eade, winning a best-and-fairest and two All-Australian guernseys. Confounding the popular perception of a prickly relationship, he speaks affectionately of Eade. "My career took off when 'Rocket' came to the club," he said. "I owe him a great deal. He encouraged me in my strengths. In meetings, it was never, 'You can't do this, you can't do that'."
They did have spectacular blow-ups. Lake remembered one at half-time in a match against Sydney. "I copped it three times in five minutes," he said. "He kept remembering things. All you can do is make eye contact, and not smile. I can take the flak. Some of the other guys couldn't. So he probably used me to get his message across a few times."
By the end of last year, the Lake/Bulldogs era was over. "They wanted to start again with a new back line," he said. "Starting a whole new position at my age wasn't going to be easy. I see myself as a defender. I couldn't see myself playing in the Bulldogs' forward line. Time was slipping away. I needed a change." And an otherwise replete Hawthorn needed a full-back.
He trained on the day of the press conference, and at least twice a week through his statutory holiday so he could get to know his new teammates. Buddy Franklin was quieter than he had expected, and Sam Mitchell messed constantly with balls – football and soccer.
"He reminds me of Daniel Cross, always with a ball in his hands," Lake said. "That's why they're so good in close.
"All the focus is on the football," he said of the Hawks. "What you can do to improve on game day, not in the weights room or on your runs."
Hawthorn's extra money helped, he found; fewer extracurricular duties were asked of the players, and more provided.
There was one other crucial difference: Waverley and the MCG were softer underfoot than his alma mater, Etihad. "I noticed this year when we played two games at Etihad, it definitely hurt a lot more and took a lot longer to recover," he said.
For grey-flecked Lake, this is now vital. When he began, he played at 104 kilograms and rarely budged from the defensive 50. "Brisbane days, early 2000s, kick it long to Lynch and Brown: you didn't have to run much," he said. "Now you have to push up. Being able to run and recover is vital." Consequently, he now plays at 98 kilograms. "Being lighter makes it easier on your joints," he said.
At 31, Lake sees the toll of contemporaries; newly delisted Alan Didak was an under-18 teammate in Adelaide. Five years ago, as the niggles mounted, he thought his body might call time on him, or that his passion would gutter out. Now, though, he feels rejuvenated. "This year's the best I've felt since '08," he said. "Now I can't see myself ever burning out."
He dispels the notion that he plays football, but does not live it. "I say that in jest, but I still watch every footy show, and I watch every game as well," he said. Now that his children are playing age, he is even more involved. "At the moment, I can't hide away from football." He envisages a footy job when he retires.
Over the years, Lake said, he has started many courses and finished none; peak study time always coincided with football finals and holidays. This year, Hawthorn manoeuvred for him and nine teammates to complete a diploma of management by July, leaving him free for football business now. Off the field as on, he said, "I feel I'm finally getting something finished".
Lake has been through two metamorphoses, from Harris to Lake, and from the Bulldogs to Hawthorn. That, he says, is change enough. The re-baptism still trips him sometimes, when signing a guernsey wrongly, or trying to remember his former signature for an old football card.
His ultimate club identity is more complex. He still lives in the outer west. He remembers how Barry Hall, a Sydney premiership captain, wanted to be known as a Bulldog. After consideration, Lake puts it this way: "I'd like to be remembered as a Bulldogs life member – and a Hawthorn premiership player."
Will always remember Brian as a Bulldog Champion no matter whatever he achieves at Hawthorn.
20-09-2013, 09:49 AM
When time goes, I will look fondly probably, but nothing like a Murphy, West etc who could have left for flags in the later years, BUT DIDNT! Makes a big difference to me, players who sacrificed the dream of a flag for the good of our club. Completely different respect for mine.
Good luck to him.
When time goes, I will look fondly probably, but nothing like a Murphy, West etc who could have left for flags in the later years, BUT DIDNT! Makes a big difference to me, players who sacrificed the dream of a flag for the good of our club. Completely different respect for mine.
Good luck to him.
Agree BT, Brian could have stayed and passed on his knowledge and guidance but instead chose a to move on.
I suppose the option is there to come back and be a backline coach one day, but it is not the same thing.
He WAS a club great, the players you mention Murphy West and I will throw in Grant still are.
20-09-2013, 09:59 AM
Link (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/life-of-brian-20130919-2u2nx.html)
Lake puts it this way: "I'd like to be remembered as a Bulldogs life member – and a Hawthorn premiership player."
That would be a good epitaph. As much as I don't want Hawthorn to win this week (or next) I would be happy to see Brian with a premiership medal around his neck.
20-09-2013, 12:42 PM
That would be a good epitaph. As much as I don't want Hawthorn to win this week (or next) I would be happy to see Brian with a premiership medal around his neck.
Nah ... I disagree. It would pain me to see him with a medal around his neck ... I'd rather see tears on his cheeks. Go Geelong.
20-09-2013, 12:51 PM
Nah ... I disagree. It would pain me to see him with a medal around his neck ... I'd rather see tears on his cheeks. Go Geelong.
I am with you Scraggers.
20-09-2013, 01:11 PM
Question has to be asked though — what would you think of Essendon fans wishing Crameri ill (if he comes to us) and barracking against him for a flag?
20-09-2013, 01:28 PM
I am with you Scraggers.
Me too
Question has to be asked though — what would you think of Essendon fans wishing Crameri ill (if he comes to us) and barracking against him for a flag?
I would expect them to be dirty on him.
20-09-2013, 01:34 PM
Yup !!
If we made the Grand Final I wouldn't care less what Essendon fans thought of our players and I doubt any Hawthorn supporters give a toss what we think of Lake.
Although every time I talk to my father-in-law he asks and reminds me he used to play for us and will win a flag with them.
A minute to go Geelong 5 points down when Brian has a famous brain fade, tries something unrealistic and hands Geelong a winning goal.
Now that would make me pretty happy.
20-09-2013, 02:06 PM
Bwahaha! Macca has been playing the long game, all this time.
20-09-2013, 02:52 PM
Me too
Agree. No reason why they shouldn't.
20-09-2013, 08:35 PM
If Bwian doesn't get the medallion, I wonder if he will regret it?
20-09-2013, 08:38 PM
If he does get one will it mean as much? Will he feel the same mateship?
20-09-2013, 08:43 PM
Probably not, but at least he can say I sacrificed immortality at a club for a medallion and I got one. If he doesn't, well then it's a battle of competing regrets.
20-09-2013, 08:58 PM
Probably not, but at least he can say I sacrificed immortality at a club for a medallion and I got one. If he doesn't, well then it's a battle of competing regrets.
Yep, I reckon you're spot on.
Not to sure he will care when he is counting his money.
20-09-2013, 09:28 PM
Not to sure he will care when he is counting his money.
I thought he took a big pay cut, plus was paying lawyers to not give Eagleton money?
20-09-2013, 09:45 PM
Pretty much it.
I don't regard Lake one way or another as he plays for a club other than the Bulldogs. When he retires I'll look back fondly at him as a Bulldogs player.
Couldn't care less if he wins a premiership or not.
20-09-2013, 10:35 PM
I don't regard Lake one way or another as he plays for a club other than the Bulldogs. When he retires I'll look back fondly at him as a Bulldogs player.
I won't. He play for wees and poos now and he'll remain there after he retires. I've pretty much disregarded his time here since we moved him on. Bent us over and made us pay huge money to stay here. He then sulked after that and then took a pay cut to play elsewhere. Sorry, I just can't look back on him fondly at all.
20-09-2013, 10:40 PM
His time was up with us.
We're playing the long game, and Brian won't be around for our next challenge.
Win/ Win situation for mine, and we'll enjoy watching Nathan Hrovat become a very good player
21-09-2013, 12:25 AM
All things being equal I'm sure he would have loved a medal with us but in the overall scheme of things I don't think it would matter that much where he got one just as long as he does get one. After all he put a fair bit on the line to get it. It might not mean as much but it will still mean a hell of a lot to him.
I reckon Barry Hall would have treasured a medal more with us than his Sydney medal. After all he would have known that we actually earned it the hard way rather than getting every advantage the AFL could think of to get the team he played in his flag win over the line.
21-09-2013, 12:35 AM
I won't. He play for wees and poos now and he'll remain there after he retires. I've pretty much disregarded his time here since we moved him on. Bent us over and made us pay huge money to stay here. He then sulked after that and then took a pay cut to play elsewhere. Sorry, I just can't look back on him fondly at all.
Don't forget that as a younger player he signed a long term contract on a fairly basic salary prior to getting that well deserved pay increase. Then after 2 years off that 3 year contract he took a pay cut to go to the Hawks. He could have held us to the high paying contract and contributed little on the field.
21-09-2013, 06:27 AM
His time was up with us.
We're playing the long game, and Brian won't be around for our next challenge.
Win/ Win situation for mine, and we'll enjoy watching Nathan Hrovat become a very good player
Yup.
It was time, I don't think Brian would have been the best influence for the kids. It's a win all round and good luck to him next week.
He was a great player for us and a year to two at the hawks isn't going to change that.
21-09-2013, 07:57 AM
As long as he remembers that if it wasn't for the Bulldogs he may not have been were he is today. At pick 71 he was just about over looked.
21-09-2013, 09:29 AM
Personally, I won't be cheering him on next week. Now where did I put my lake voodoo doll.
21-09-2013, 10:28 AM
Personally I hope Brian has a ripper of a game next week, but it pains me to say it, I hope the Ross Lyon coached Fremantle get over the line.
Now there's a sentence I never thought I'd utter.
I can't see Sydney upsetting the Dockers tonight, and to be honest, Hodge, Franklin, Roughead, Sewell and Lewis could not be as bad as they were last night 2 weeks in a row so it all points to Brian being adorned with a medal around 5:00pm next Saturday.
21-09-2013, 10:55 AM
Good luck to him. Hope he gets the medal and plays well.
21-09-2013, 10:57 PM
Have fond memories of Brian working behind the bar at the Club. Was always friendly.
His best was better than any other player I've seen play for the Doggies. Could change a game from full back, I hope he can do it on the big Grand Final stage too.
22-09-2013, 10:06 AM
Yeah good luck to Brian next week. He gave us years of quality service. We had our chance while he was here and we weren't good enough to make it. He's moved on, I've moved on, that's life, that's football.
I hope Freo win though. Not because of Brian but because I want Hawthorn to be chokers
22-09-2013, 01:29 PM
Yeah good luck to Brian next week. He gave us years of quality service. We had our chance while he was here and we weren't good enough to make it. He's moved on, I've moved on, that's life, that's football.
I hope Freo win though. Not because of Brian but because I want Hawthorn to be chokers
Agreed. I hope Lake plays a quirky blinder and Hawks play as bad as this weekend and Freo stop Hawthorn from adding to the absurd amount of premierships that they've won in my lifetime after being a club when I was young who had never won a flag, were as crap as their colours and had players like John Peck whose opponents woollen jumpers would end up looking like they had cobwebs all over them because they were covered in spit. They now have ex-players who have won five premierships. Give us a break for a couple of generations and not win another.
22-09-2013, 06:55 PM
I wont be barracking for him as he bent us over for a long term contract at big bucks took 2 years off and then wanted to be traded
22-09-2013, 07:01 PM
I wont be barracking for him as he bent us over for a long term contract at big bucks took 2 years off and then wanted to be traded
It goes both ways though. A few years back the coaches publicly questioned his heart and spirit in managing his comeback from injuries when in fact they later found out he had legitimate complications.
He took it on the chin rather than sulk.
I'm glad he is doing well at the Hawks.
22-09-2013, 07:41 PM
I hate Hawthorn with a passion as they are self indulgent flogs with a sense of entitlement that irks me like nothing else. I also despise Ross Lyon for the horrible St Kilda games we had to endure under his reign.
The only enjoyment I will personally get is if Brian plays ok. I like watching him play as he is not just another cardboard cutout footballer. He has also been very nice to my family in person when other players were less generous with their time.
22-09-2013, 08:01 PM
It goes both ways though. A few years back the coaches publicly questioned his heart and spirit in managing his comeback from injuries when in fact they later found out he had legitimate complications.
He took it on the chin rather than sulk.
I'm glad he is doing well at the Hawks.
An embarrassing chapter of that season.
23-09-2013, 10:17 AM
Sorry it be seen as resentful but I don't want to see him or Hawthorn win the flag I will be hoping for the pav to get the cream.
23-09-2013, 10:27 AM
Lake was my favourite player during his time with us. He papered over a lot of holes in our team and along with Griffen was one of the few players that played their best in the big games. I don't hold any resentment towards him and I actually think the trade was a win-win for both parties and something we'll probably more of going forward.
That being said I don't want Hawthorn to win the flag, not because I don't want Lake to win one, I just don't want his team to.
23-09-2013, 11:30 AM
There is another aspect of Lake going to Hawthorn and that is a quality player, a club stalwart walking from a less resourced club to a strong one that is a very good chance of a premiership. The uneven playing field. If he wins a premiership it is a precedent for free agency for the strong (Hawthorn, Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon) to yet again be propped up by the rest of the competition. We have one of the strong four, Essendon defiling the competition despite their inherent strength and their subsequent responsibility to the code.
So boo to the big four and boo to players from the Bulldogs or any of the non four, jumping ship to get a flag with the big four.
There is another aspect of Lake going to Hawthorn and that is a quality player, a club stalwart walking from a less resourced club to a strong one that is a very good chance of a premiership. The uneven playing field. If he wins a premiership it is a precedent for free agency for the strong (Hawthorn, Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon) to yet again be propped up by the rest of the competition. We have one of the strong four, Essendon defiling the competition despite their inherent strength and their subsequent responsibility to the code.
So boo to the big four and boo to players from the Bulldogs or any of the non four, jumping ship to get a flag with the big four.
Couldn't agree more BIDS54.
Well done to Brian, was huge in the last quarter.
Wish he could have done it for us but it wasn't to be.
28-09-2013, 05:20 PM
Now I'm gunna spew !!
What a bargain, I feel like sitting in a shower and rocking back and forth.
28-09-2013, 05:39 PM
fml.
Didnt we end up with Hrovat and Stevens for him.
28-09-2013, 05:52 PM
Didnt we end up with Hrovat and Stevens for him.
We got Stevens but might have got Hrovat anyway (our pick was upgraded from 27 to 21).
28-09-2013, 05:57 PM
a win-win trade. I get a sense that Brian holds some bad blood towards us, which is unfair given the Club gave him his shot and supported his rise to superstar FB and when things got real shaky facilitated a trade to his Club of choice and right in the mix for a premiership and Norm Smith medal.
No grudges for him from me, just hurts seeing one of the rare key position stars we've developed over the journey go on and do what we all expected to happen in red white and blue.
We got Stevens but might have got Hrovat anyway (our pick was upgraded from 27 to 21).
IMO he wouldnt have lasted to 27, but you never know.
Im happy with this trade obviously.
28-09-2013, 06:06 PM
Flogging a dead horse and all that and I promise I won't mention this again after today. We traded a contracted player who was the difference to winning a premiership and losing one on the first day of the trade deadline for a 2nd Round draft pick. I'm wrapped we got Hrovat but after today my constant whining and protests about this trade are justified. We blinked first and winners are grinners. Brian Lake and Hawthorn have a huge grin on their right face now.
28-09-2013, 06:16 PM
So does this mean Brian is coming back?
He left for a flag, now he has one. Welcome back Brian.
28-09-2013, 06:19 PM
Flogging a dead horse and all that and I promise I won't mention this again after today. We traded a contracted player who was the difference to winning a premiership and losing one on the first day of the trade deadline for a 2nd Round draft pick. I'm wrapped we got Hrovat but after today my constant whining and protests about this trade are justified. We blinked first and winners are grinners. Brian Lake and Hawthorn have a huge grin on their right face now.
Brian got what he wanted. Hawthorn got what they wanted. We got what we wanted Its about as win win as you can get.
I'll say no more either.
28-09-2013, 06:19 PM
Well said, agree.
28-09-2013, 06:23 PM
Disagree.
We tore up his large salary, we're not Essendon we're you think you can bend over teams.
As a 31 year old who was unhappy, and had a year left it was a smart pro-active move.
Good luck to him.
It's pretty poor of him if he holds a grudge against us.
Just a reminder it was the Dogs who took a chance on an overweight sleep deprived South Australian. He should be gracious
28-09-2013, 06:24 PM
Without Lake's wage space, we have no Crameri.
28-09-2013, 06:28 PM
They got Tim O'Brien as well, so it was essentially Lake and O'Brien for Hrovat and Stevens.
28-09-2013, 06:29 PM
Well said, agree.
There was the trade and also Brian's large salary at play.
Would think if we only got pick 21, we'd be paying his salary.
To cut up his contract, I'm sure we had to give ground.
That's all I'll say and let's enjoy Nathan Hrovat's long and hopefully prosperous career.
Disagree.
We tore up his large salary, we're not Essendon we're you think you can bend over teams.
As a 31 year old who was unhappy, and had a year left it was a smart pro-active move.
Good luck to him.
It's pretty poor of him if he holds a grudge against us.
Just a reminder it was the Dogs who took a chance on an overweight sleep deprived South Australian. He should be gracious
Well said, agree.
28-09-2013, 06:44 PM
So after Monday when Lake is offered two weeks suspension for his head high hit on Pearce (or was it Walters) does he have to give back the Norm Smith??
28-09-2013, 06:48 PM
So after Monday when Lake is offered two weeks suspension for his head high hit on Pearce (or was it Walters) does he have to give back the Norm Smith??
Gotta say he played well in the last term but The Pav was tearing him up in the third.
Great last quarter when Freo surprisingly took Clarke off.
28-09-2013, 06:54 PM
Cooney in the hawks rooms, liquored up looking after Brian's kids.
28-09-2013, 06:56 PM
Firstly, no, it's for best player regardless of anything else. Secondly, it should've been 50m but the force will (most likely) be considered to be below the threshold to warrant a report.
28-09-2013, 07:21 PM
Congratulations to Brian Lake, he might actually be given the recognition he deserves now, past his best but still a norm smith medalist. Incredible footballer.
28-09-2013, 07:21 PM
Without Lake's wage space, we have no Crameri.
There was the trade and also Brian's large salary at play.
Would think if we only got pick 21, we'd be paying his salary.
To cut up his contract, I'm sure we had to give ground.
That's all I'll say and let's enjoy Nathan Hrovat's long and hopefully prosperous career.
I'd forgotten about the salary and it's true that it would have been a contributing factor. To be honest I'm not all that upset about the trade, I think maybe it was fair considering what Brian offered to us at the stage of his career (not all that much), but considering what it gave Hawthorn? He was the difference today and we could have squeezed more out of that trade - we've got to be ruthless sometimes to get a result which is in our favour rather than just 'fair'.
Gotta say he played well in the last term but The Pav was tearing him up in the third.
Not true, I watched the game very closely, Brian killed Pav in the first half, then Pav got the softest free kick since Riewoldt in '09 (goal) and a dinky handball over the top in the goal square. There's not a defender in the competition who could have stopped either of those two goals. Pav had some influential touches thereafter but Gibson was moved onto him after his second goal so Brian's not to blame there. The only goal he legitimately conceded was in the last at the top of the goal square after Barlow's hurried kick forward.
28-09-2013, 07:24 PM
Also noteworthy is that Brian's new opponent for a lot of the second half after Pavlich was Zac Clarke, who was subbed out (incidentally one of the worst moves Ross Lyon could make because it let Brian loose).
28-09-2013, 07:43 PM
I'd forgotten about the salary and it's true that it would have been a contributing factor. To be honest I'm not all that upset about the trade, I think maybe it was fair considering what Brian offered to us at the stage of his career (not all that much), but considering what it gave Hawthorn? He was the difference today and we could have squeezed more out of that trade - we've got to be ruthless sometimes to get a result which is in our favour rather than just 'fair'.
Not true, I watched the game very closely, Brian killed Pav in the first half, then Pav got the softest free kick since Riewoldt in '09 (goal) and a dinky handball over the top in the goal square. There's not a defender in the competition who could have stopped either of those two goals. Pav had some influential touches thereafter but Gibson was moved onto him after his second goal so Brian's not to blame there. The only goal he legitimately conceded was in the last at the top of the goal square after Barlow's hurried kick forward.
Brian grabbed Pavlich's arm, clear free.He played well, but was helped by Freo's terrible forward ball movement.
28-09-2013, 07:44 PM
Also noteworthy is that Brian's new opponent for a lot of the second half after Pavlich was Zac Clarke, who was subbed out (incidentally one of the worst moves Ross Lyon could make because it let Brian loose).
Agree, Freo lost any semblance of structure.
28-09-2013, 07:49 PM
Brian grabbed Pavlich's arm, clear free.He played well, but was helped by Freo's terrible forward ball movement.
Will have to agree to disagree. He clearly grabbed his arm, but only for a split second - the sort of thing that would happen 100 times per game without any uproar. Everything looks worse in slow motion.
As for the ball movement you're right. Brian was born to play in tight finals, rushed high balls are his forté and they're oh so prevalent in the finals.
28-09-2013, 08:47 PM
Over it, good luck to Brian. He wouldn't have made any difference to our 2013 season and Hawthorn may not have it all there way next year. When we are challenging Brian will be retiring.
28-09-2013, 09:16 PM
Waved my doggies member cap at Lake while he walked up to the stage for the later Hawks celebrations and he gave me a good smile and laugh. I still love him.
28-09-2013, 09:35 PM
Could not believe it when I saw it. Hawks had just subbed out Bailey who hasn't been able to run out a game in ages, while Clarke still had plenty left. For such a fantastic coach it was a horrible decision.
Putting aside anything from the game, I must say the image of Brian's son running out onto the ground was by a fair margin the image of the day.
28-09-2013, 09:55 PM
Well done Brian, Im rapped for the guy.
He has not done anything wrong for either club and has put his heart & soul into the kennel. Invite the dogs over to have a beer Brian and let them know how it feels and how hard you need to work and sacrifice to earn the premiership.
It might shave a year or two off our own success;)
28-09-2013, 11:56 PM
Good on him. But it doesn't make me feel any better.
29-09-2013, 09:07 AM
Congrats Brian ! One if my all time favourites :)
Two weeks ? Who gives a rats. He's a premiership player now.
29-09-2013, 09:19 AM
Come on guys, let it go.
At the very least, the next time we sit down at the trade table with Hawthorn, we can expect a fair bit of grace.
This just acknowledges we got screwed on the deal - something everyone outside of the Hawks/Bulldogs says as well. What's done is done but our recruiting department better learn from this and learn fast or I won't sit grimacing and clenching my mouth shut at the next AGM.
Just hope Hrovat turns out well.
29-09-2013, 09:54 AM
Brian Lake winning a premiership and Norm Smith, despite the incredible indignity of him leaving us to get them, shows our players that we belong in a Grand Final and as winners. If he can we can.
29-09-2013, 09:55 AM
RE Lake - Once a player starts talking about going or hinting they want out surely the club should look to trade them out.
What is debatable is did we get a good deal for him?
By posters looking at the Hrovat trade in isolation perhaps we didn't get enough for him, but I'm sure the club did not just look at the trade in isolation, they would have looked beyond 2013, they would've looked to 2015 and beyond.
They would've taken into account by trading Lake give's us 3 top 20 picks and by all accounts all 3 players we drafted look like they will play a lot of senior football for our club and the draft overall for us looks very promising.
They would've looked at if Lake stayed and left at the end of 2013, what would we get for him? Is the draft as strong this in 2013 or 2014?
His salary, can we spend the money on a free agent or on a 25 year old who will help our "age profile"?
Would Lake have changed the course of our year? Would we win 8 games instead of 7?
Brian Lake was a champion for our football club, no doubt, but he would not have improved our ladder position this year or next.
He would've have taken Tom Campbells spot in the forward line or Michael Talia's in the backline.
I am comfortable we bit the bullet and traded Lake, and I am also comfortable that Lake showed he is a big game player, just like he did when he played with us.
29-09-2013, 10:30 AM
RE Lake - Once a player starts talking about going or hinting they want out surely the club should look to trade them out.
What is debatable is did we get a good deal for him?
By posters looking at the Hrovat trade in isolation perhaps we didn't get enough for him, but I'm sure the club did not just look at the trade in isolation, they would have looked beyond 2013, they would've looked to 2015 and beyond.
They would've taken into account by trading Lake give's us 3 top 20 picks and by all accounts all 3 players we drafted look like they will play a lot of senior football for our club and the draft overall for us looks very promising.
They would've looked at if Lake stayed and left at the end of 2013, what would we get for him? Is the draft as strong this in 2013 or 2014?
His salary, can we spend the money on a free agent or on a 25 year old who will help our "age profile"?
Would Lake have changed the course of our year? Would we win 8 games instead of 7?
Brian Lake was a champion for our football club, no doubt, but he would not have improved our ladder position this year or next.
He would've have taken Tom Campbells spot in the forward line or Michael Talia's in the backline.
I am comfortable we bit the bullet and traded Lake, and I am also comfortable that Lake showed he is a big game player, just like he did when he played with us.
The issue i have here is Lake was never going to stay. No matter what transpired in trade week Lake was going to be traded & the hawks were desperate to get him. All this crap about 'if Lake stayed we would get buggar all compo' was a bluff that i would call every day of the week.
I'm happy for Brian as he had nothing more to achieve with us in his limited time in the game. What does annoy me is that the hawks get a Norm Smith medalist for a 6 pick down grade. Lake winning the Norm Smith just highlights how little we got out of the deal.
Any woofers take the 80-1 odds for Lake to win the Norm Smith?
29-09-2013, 10:39 AM
I managed to show my bulldogs hat to Lake as he walked up the line during the post game celebrations, he was stunned and smiled and laughed. It's in the herald sun apparently
29-09-2013, 10:40 AM
Lake for pick 21 on its own would have been about right - I objected at the time (and still do) to throwing pick 27 back to Hawthorn as a sweetener, but at least we used pick 21 on a draft slider and not a reach player who would have been available at pick 27. And anyway he would have won the Norm Smith and become a Hawthorn premiership player regardless of exactly what last years trade ended up being.
Apart from 2011, he gave us fantastic service and was a true big game player for us. I will never blame him for that disgusting free kick that Shane McInernay gave Riewoldt in 2009 - without Lake and Morris that night, we wouldn't have stood a chance of beating them. I can forgive one poor season from a player who busted his arse for our club for 10 years, and I cannot begrudge him at all for his share of the spoils yesterday.
29-09-2013, 05:34 PM
Lake for pick 21 on its own would have been about right - I objected at the time (and still do) to throwing pick 27 back to Hawthorn as a sweetener, but at least we used pick 21 on a draft slider and not a reach player who would have been available at pick 27. And anyway he would have won the Norm Smith and become a Hawthorn premiership player regardless of exactly what last years trade ended up being.
Apart from 2011, he gave us fantastic service and was a true big game player for us. I will never blame him for that disgusting free kick that Shane McInernay gave Riewoldt in 2009 - without Lake and Morris that night, we wouldn't have stood a chance of beating them. I can forgive one poor season from a player who busted his arse for our club for 10 years, and I cannot begrudge him at all for his share of the spoils yesterday.
Well said mate.
30-09-2013, 03:37 PM
Any player that no longer plays in the RWB, to me is the enemy, Lake included.
30-09-2013, 03:42 PM
Any player that no longer plays in the RWB, to me is the enemy, Lake included.
Agree. He is a Hawthorn player now. End of story.
30-09-2013, 04:04 PM
what about when he retires?
30-09-2013, 06:17 PM
Have to ask him that. Depends which Club he supports.
30-09-2013, 06:18 PM
He can be spoken of as a former Dogs player, but that's it.
30-09-2013, 06:37 PM
He was always going to be leaving us at the end of this season anyway. By trading him last year we got more game time into our young defenders, drafted Hrovat and are starting to see the emergence of Tom Campbell up forward (possibly a position that might have been clogged up by Brian).
In September of 2019 when we are well entrenched into what many experts will be calling a "Dynasty", Lake will not be the name on everyone's lips. They will be talking about and comparing our defense to great Geelong teams of the 2000's.
30-09-2013, 11:51 PM
Not sure, depends what he does? Its like when Gary Dempsey left I was gutted. These days I only think of him as a Bulldog great. Brian, well I can't have the same affection for him, especially now after a premiership. Call me selfish, but I don't care.
01-10-2013, 08:02 AM
Not sure, depends what he does? Its like when Gary Dempsey left I was gutted. These days I only think of him as a Bulldog great. Brian, well I can't have the same affection for him, especially now after a premiership. Call me selfish, but I don't care.
Dempsey was a club captain who left for more money, Lake left for less.
Dempsey should never had been allowed back within ten milles of Whitten Oval. His crime was far worse than Lake's.
01-10-2013, 10:24 AM
Dempsey was a club captain who left for more money, Lake left for less.
Dempsey should never had been allowed back within ten milles of Whitten Oval. His crime was far worse than Lake's.
Agree with this wholeheartedly.
At the end of the day I view Brian's departure as mutually beneficial to everyone involved.
02-10-2013, 11:55 AM
I didn't know how to feel about Brian playing in a grand final on Saturday.
But the champagne did the talking and I was very happy when he won the Norm Smith medal. :)