View Full Version : Grand Final

20-09-2013, 10:08 AM
Anyone going?

I will be rooting as they say in the USA for the cats. Because Whitten Oval is full of ex-cats and it will mean the Geelong Way is still the right way to go about doing it.

20-09-2013, 10:27 AM
Steady on, FD, they're not through the prelim yet.

20-09-2013, 10:28 AM
I would like to see a Cats-Dockers grand final. Gee I hope we can get back to this stage of a prelim final and win it. It would be a significant moment in our clubs history as our last GF appearance was in 1961 28 years before I was born.

20-09-2013, 10:34 AM
Will this thread be a discussion thread for the Grand Final next week or should I make a new thread on the AFL talk board.

20-09-2013, 11:53 AM
Will this thread be a discussion thread for the Grand Final next week or should I make a new thread on the AFL talk board.

this is it. Go Freo.

20-09-2013, 12:54 PM
Made a last minute decision to fly over and cath up with some mates and go to the game tonight. Sitting in the pound having a latte as I type this. I don't think the cats will win, but I hope it is at least close.

Scored Centre wing Level 2 seats (row 5) off of eBay for $90. That is roughly what you pay for restricted view or row zzzzzzz of the great cloud stand through the ticket agency. Turns out the seller is an Afl member and they cost him $23. He has already mentioned he might have a GF ticket up for grabs. If I hadn't benefitted so much I think I would be pretty mad about this :/

20-09-2013, 01:13 PM
Freo, way to go…

20-09-2013, 01:16 PM
Be good to see Freo win it but if they do they will now have won the same number of premierships as us.

20-09-2013, 01:17 PM
Yo Freo

20-09-2013, 01:27 PM
Anchors aweigh!

20-09-2013, 01:34 PM
Anyone a Full MCC member going to the GF? I'm still on the waiting list for it. How many members get in from each club in the play in the GF. As we have smaller supporter base would most of our members get in.

20-09-2013, 02:16 PM
http://episodewiki.com/images/thumb/1/13/Breaking-Bad-Jesse-Pinkman.jpg/214px-Breaking-Bad-Jesse-Pinkman.jpg

Yo, like Fremantle, B*tch

20-09-2013, 02:43 PM
Freo, because what the AFL deserves this year is Ross Lyon holding up the cup while "Freo Heave-Ho" wafts over the MCG.

20-09-2013, 02:54 PM
Freo, because what the AFL deserves this year is Ross Lyon holding up the cup while "Freo Heave-Ho" wafts over the MCG.

Yes a stark image you present, with sound included.
Can I take this opportunity to exorcise "We're the pride of South Austarlia..." belting out from under the MCG concrete in '97?

20-09-2013, 03:11 PM

or: VLigRja2Jfc :D:D:D

20-09-2013, 03:14 PM

^^^^^^

That would put a nice full stop to the season.

20-09-2013, 04:06 PM
or: VLigRja2Jfc :D:D:D

That's the first time I've heard the whole song through, and it's HORRIBLE! :eek: It conjures images of bad late 80's hair metal bands.

Erk, maybe I don't want Freo to win anymore...

20-09-2013, 04:29 PM
That's the first time I've heard the whole song through, and it's HORRIBLE! :eek: It conjures images of bad late 80's hair metal bands.

Erk, maybe I don't want Freo to win anymore...

Freo's song is also the longest one in the AFL. I agree its not the greatest song ever.

20-09-2013, 05:00 PM
Heave Ho
Love to see the Dockers get up.
Just to annoy those cardboard cut out West Coast Fans.

20-09-2013, 05:07 PM
Heave Ho

Yeah the Eagles fans would want their neighbours to win which is what you would expect.

20-09-2013, 05:24 PM
Heave Ho

Yeah the Eagles fans would want their neighbours to win which is what you would expect.

Eastdog, Remi is saying the opposite.

Freo and West Coast fans according to Remi can't stand each other.

20-09-2013, 06:13 PM
Freo can wait.

20-09-2013, 06:43 PM
Eastdog, Remi is saying the opposite.

Freo and West Coast fans according to Remi can't stand each other.

Sorry azabob I actually agreed with Remi I meant wouldn't want Freo to win.

21-09-2013, 12:43 AM
Hawthorn through so they will await meeting either Fremantle or Sydney. If Sydney somehow get through it could be ugly for them next week. Freo win then it will be a close one.

21-09-2013, 10:25 PM
2013 Grand Final

September 28th 2013 2:30pm AEST

Hawthorn V Fremantle Melbourne Cricket Ground

21-09-2013, 10:44 PM
Just us and Richmond left in the No GF Club since 95. Bloody depressing time of year.

21-09-2013, 10:51 PM
Just us and Richmond left in the No GF Club since 95. Bloody depressing time of year.

Gee, that's a depressing stat.

21-09-2013, 10:59 PM

I think we all feel like that every time each year until we win a prelim and get to a GF it will continue.

21-09-2013, 11:35 PM

Hang on! What about GWS and G.C suns??? :o

......I now hate you SoS for surfacing that stat. :mad:

21-09-2013, 11:42 PM

I think SoS meant out of all the clubs not including GC and GWS who are the newcomers.

22-09-2013, 01:19 AM
:( Sorry mate, I hate footy when we're not involved. I don't want other people to be happy, if we're not.

BTW, Gia is now the only 250+ gamer in the AFL to have not played in a GF.

22-09-2013, 07:34 AM
:( Sorry mate, I hate footy when we're not involved. I don't want other people to be happy, if we're not.

BTW, Gia is now the only 250+ gamer in the AFL to have not played in a GF.

Anytime you want to stop posting stats is fine by me SOS. :)

22-09-2013, 09:08 AM
Anytime you want to stop posting stats is fine by me SOS. :)

Yeah, shut up mate. :D

22-09-2013, 10:25 AM
No worries lads, I'll head off and start making preparations foe the 60th anniversary of our last flag instead. :)

The day is getting closer though, and a Freo win surely blazes a trail for us. Fair dinkum, if FREO can do it, a joke of a club for almost their entire existence- we can as well. It just doesn't add up.

22-09-2013, 12:12 PM
No worries lads, I'll head off and start making preparations foe the 60th anniversary of our last flag instead. :)

The day is getting closer though, and a Freo win surely blazes a trail for us. Fair dinkum, if FREO can do it, a joke of a club for almost their entire existence- we can as well. It just doesn't add up.

We need to believe that what we are developing with our team now will ultimately pay off with a premiership. 60 years is way way to long. The drought has to break sometime. Sydney did it in 2005 after 72 years without a flag.

22-09-2013, 12:19 PM
We need to believe that what we are developing with our team now will ultimately pay off with a premiership. 60 years is way way to long. The drought has to break sometime. Sydney did it in 2005 after 72 years without a flag.

Spot on Eastdog - great post.

22-09-2013, 12:59 PM
100% agree. I feel like the gaps that were in our previous stints are being addressed. We'll get there. Until then I'll just avoid GF day like the plague.

22-09-2013, 01:10 PM
100% agree. I feel like the gaps that were in our previous stints are being addressed. We'll get there. Until then I'll just avoid GF day like the plague.

I usually watch the GF but I totally understand that some of our supporters like yourself SoS aren't interested.

22-09-2013, 02:04 PM

I will be on a plane to Europe on Friday, so will well and truly avoid it this year. I am beginning to wonder, will I ever see us in a GF let alone win one:mad:

22-09-2013, 02:15 PM
I will be on a plane to Europe on Friday, so will well and truly avoid it this year. I am beginning to wonder, will I ever see us in a GF let alone win one:mad:

Have a good trip to Europe BAD.

22-09-2013, 02:36 PM

Funny with Freo making it to the Grand Final it has given me more hope of us making it one day.
Enjoy your trip BAD.

22-09-2013, 02:38 PM
Funny with Freo making it to the Grand Final it has given me more hope of us making it one day.
Enjoy your trip BAD.

Absolutely KT31. If teams like Port Adelaide, Sydney, Fremantle and St. Kilda can make grand finals then there is no reason why we can't.

22-09-2013, 03:12 PM
My lawn usually gets a top dressing on GF day.

22-09-2013, 04:35 PM

Same here bornadog, I just want to MAKE it..always a chance to win it then :)

22-09-2013, 05:46 PM
Apparently Freo have to wear their clash jumper in the GF. Silly decision.

22-09-2013, 05:47 PM
Purple clashes with brown and gold???

22-09-2013, 05:51 PM
https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRJQD0_kYLrDHNr0zmCbgWc_H4s9rk

22-09-2013, 05:52 PM

Freo chose to wear the white jumper.

22-09-2013, 05:53 PM

Doesn't Hawthorns jumper have a dark brown back?

This couple with the dark colour shorts, happy one team is wearing a light colour.

23-09-2013, 10:19 AM
What do you think Channel 7 will do with the commentary team?

Will we get the "A" team of Bruce, Dennis, Ling etc, or the Saturday team of BT, Darcy, Richo? Or heaven forbid they might give us the full panel and have them all together :eek:

The TV commentary is so bad these days you'd think radio ratings would be through the roof this Grand Final.

23-09-2013, 10:43 AM

Yeah it's ridiculous. They should be wearing their traditional jumper. I would be very pissed if we didn't wear our traditional strip in we were playing the Grand Final because of some supposed clash.

23-09-2013, 10:57 AM

Still you're going to Europe so y'know , life, ups, downs.

23-09-2013, 11:39 AM
Yeah it's ridiculous. They should be wearing their traditional jumper. I would be very pissed if we didn't wear our traditional strip in we were playing the Grand Final because of some supposed clash.

I couldn't care less what we wore, we'd be in a fricken grand final.

23-09-2013, 01:00 PM
What do you think Channel 7 will do with the commentary team?

Will we get the "A" team of Bruce, Dennis, Ling etc, or the Saturday team of BT, Darcy, Richo? Or heaven forbid they might give us the full panel and have them all together :eek:

The TV commentary is so bad these days you'd think radio ratings would be through the roof this Grand Final.

Won't worry me because:

I won't be watching or if I do I'll have the volume muted.

Yep. We could wear butchers' aprons for all I cared. We'd be in the Grand Final!

23-09-2013, 01:10 PM

The traditional jumper they started wearing 2 years ago?

23-09-2013, 01:27 PM

Fair point chef but still I would be annoyed that we weren't wearing our traditional strip. For Freo it probably doesn't matter too much as Happy Days said their purple strip hasn't been around for that long.

23-09-2013, 01:44 PM
Fair point chef but still I would be annoyed that we weren't wearing our traditional strip. For Freo it probably doesn't matter too much as Happy Days said their purple strip hasn't been around for that long.

We've changed our jumpers a fair bit over the last 20 years, if my memory serves me correctly we've had four different home guernseys.

23-09-2013, 01:50 PM
We've changed our jumpers a fair bit over the last 20 years, if my memory serves me correctly we've had four different home guernseys.

Before we became Western Bulldogs we had just the red hoop then when we became Western Bulldogs we had the red hoop with the robodog and now we have the red and white hoops which we had in the 50s and 60s and which us the jumper we won the 54 premiership in.

23-09-2013, 03:24 PM
Honestly, who'd care if we wore our traditional guernsey.
This just emphasises that minor side petty issues won't worry the dockers.

23-09-2013, 03:51 PM
Honestly, who'd care if we wore our traditional guernsey.
This just emphasises that minor side petty issues won't worry the dockers.

As I said earlier in the thread, The Dockers had the option to wear the purple or the white strip. They chose the white strip.

23-09-2013, 03:55 PM
As I said earlier in the thread, The Dockers had the option to wear the purple or the white strip. They chose the white strip.

Well at least they had the choice and they weren't forced into wearing the white strip.

23-09-2013, 05:41 PM

Amen.

I think the AFL dictated they wear white shorts, and from that they decided to go the white guernsey as well.

I actually think it's a good move — Freo's game plan relies heavily on pressure, as we all know, and more than that: perceived pressure. Being highly visible to the opposition when they look up and see a wall of white coming down on them might just have a positive effect.

I reckon Freo are going to get up. It's not just sentimentality — it's a battle of philosophies, and I reckon Freo's game plan can weather a few more things going wrong than Hawthorn's can.

I'm soooooo looking forward to watching Crowley and Ballantyne do their work, and The Pav rip Lakey apart. If Channel 7 had a shred of decency, they'd give us a little camera angle in the corner, and just follow Crowley around, for the entertainment value.

23-09-2013, 06:31 PM

Why would we compromise if we don't have to? You're selling low.

23-09-2013, 06:52 PM

I suppose with Freo there isn't as much sentimentality attached to the jumper.

Having said that, they seemed to have thrived on the 'Purple Haze' over the years, so not quite sure what apporach they're taking.

TBH When there are two strips of such distinction I'm not sure why there is a persistence with the 'Away' team wearing white shorts.

23-09-2013, 11:05 PM
I suppose with Freo there isn't as much sentimentality attached to the jumper.

Having said that, they seemed to have thrived on the 'Purple Haze' over the years, so not quite sure what apporach they're taking.

TBH When there are two strips of such distinction I'm not sure why there is a persistence with the 'Away' team wearing white shorts.

There we go again, demanding logic of the AFL.

24-09-2013, 06:00 AM

Sorry mate, we would finally be in a Grand Final and I couldn't care less which one of our Guernseys we wore. It's not like we've worn the same one for eternity anyway. I guess I have a different take being a supporter of the round ball code and it's just the norm.

24-09-2013, 06:57 AM
Sorry mate, we would finally be in a Grand Final and I couldn't care less which one of our Guernseys we wore. It's not like we've worn the same one for eternity anyway. I guess I have a different take being a supporter of the round ball code and it's just the norm.

In my opinion, you're satisfying one need when it clearly could be two. The quick wins aren't always the best.

24-09-2013, 09:42 AM
In my opinion, you're satisfying one need when it clearly could be two. The quick wins aren't always the best.

Its just not that big of a deal to me.

24-09-2013, 10:24 AM
I can understand your point chef that if we make a Grand Final it does not matter in the slightest what jumper we wear its more about the fact we made a GF - but to some wearing the home strip on Grand Final day is a must. I would be happy either way if we won a GF in our home or alternative strip but I much prefer wearing our home strip if we made the big dance. That's just me.

24-09-2013, 10:29 AM
Heave Ho

Not too mention the annoyance level bestowed upon those turds from Glenferrie.:)

24-09-2013, 11:12 AM
Not too mention the annoyance level bestowed upon those turds from Glenferrie.:)

That's the #1 priority for me. West Coast being annoyed is icing on the cake.

And I'd be genuinely happy for Freo fans too.

24-09-2013, 01:08 PM
I'm looking forward to singing the full Freo heave ho song in my drunken splendour.

Must print out the words before hand eh.

24-09-2013, 01:19 PM
I'm looking forward to singing the full Freo heave ho song in my drunken splendour.

You will look great if you have on a pirate costume and a cup of rum, the parrot is optional:D

24-09-2013, 04:28 PM

just sing, FREO FREO, ...FREO FREO, ....FREO FREO :D

24-09-2013, 07:00 PM

Its just not that big of a deal to me.

Are you guys seriously arguing about this???
I'd watch the dogs play in a GF if they played the game nude.

24-09-2013, 10:55 PM
Are you guys seriously arguing about this???
I'd watch the dogs play in a GF if they played the game nude.

If we played the grand final, I'd probably end up nude too.

26-09-2013, 06:22 PM

^^ THIS! Its almost a certainty!

26-09-2013, 09:26 PM
Hawks. $1.65. Under 39.5 $2.15

Freo. $2.30. Under 39.5 $2.75

26-09-2013, 11:19 PM

Ha. Thats actually in my GF dreams, that the following morning my family would send out a search party only to find me at the Whitten Oval, starkers sitting on the old Scragger statue (where has it gone btw?) with a big victory cigar and empty bottle of whisky, singing Pogues songs but with every 3rd or so word changed to Footscray.

27-09-2013, 05:05 AM
Ha. Thats actually in my GF dreams, that the following morning my family would send out a search party only to find me at the Whitten Oval, starkers sitting on the old Scragger statue (where has it gone btw?) with a big victory cigar and empty bottle of whisky, singing Pogues songs but with every 3rd or so word changed to Footscray.

Lets do that anyway after this years GF? I'm in!

27-09-2013, 07:09 AM

Thank god I read the rest of the post, or I think it might have been a bit awkward.

27-09-2013, 10:14 AM

If the forecast is rain tomorrow there could be a bit more money for Fremantle as Hawthorn are not the best team in wet weather.

27-09-2013, 10:44 AM

Hey that's my dream!

27-09-2013, 10:50 AM
Hey that's my dream!

"I'll let you be in my dream, if I can be in yours" - Bob Dylan :D

27-09-2013, 12:11 PM
BMac had been included in the Norm Smith medal selection panel for tomorrow.

27-09-2013, 12:25 PM
Anyone gone to check out the GF Parade. We won't be interested until we are in the parade.

27-09-2013, 01:05 PM

Lakey has got no chance of winning.:D

27-09-2013, 01:06 PM

He has being doing special comments for ABC, I wonder if he will be doing them again tomorrow?

27-09-2013, 02:05 PM

Doesn't crack in. :D

27-09-2013, 02:10 PM

Had thought about having a saver on Hawthorn for my preseason bet on Freo, but have decided to let it ride.

I am $180 in front with another $300 if Freo can win. I would be dirty on myself if I gave away $150 of that just in case and have Freo get up.

Just let the day be Purple

27-09-2013, 08:28 PM
If the forecast is rain tomorrow there could be a bit more money for Fremantle as Hawthorn are not the best team in wet weather.

Aren't they? Hawks seem to love playing in poor conditions and do so often enough in Tassie. Freo play in the sun every 2nd week

27-09-2013, 08:31 PM
Aren't they? Hawks seem to love playing in poor conditions and do so often enough in Tassie. Freo play in the sun every 2nd week

Fair point Topdog. It main not necessarily work in Freo's favour although it has rained this year in Perth.

27-09-2013, 08:59 PM
Freo by 16 pts
BOG Barlow
First Goal Hale

27-09-2013, 09:02 PM
I want to see players swap jumpers. I miss that.

27-09-2013, 09:28 PM
Rain has started. Will it be a low scoring slog tomorrow.

27-09-2013, 10:15 PM
Freo comfortably tomorrow. If you go back since 2008, every team that has had the more difficult PF has lost the following week (except for the drawn GF in 2010, but if Collingwood didnt gas it they would have won the first GF easily). Doesn't matter which team has the extra day's recovery, doesn't matter who travels. Freo won easing up last week and Hawthorn are carrying a good 4-5 players who are very sore after that brutal PF against Geelong.

27-09-2013, 11:00 PM
Had thought about having a saver on Hawthorn for my preseason bet on Freo, but have decided to let it ride.

I am $180 in front with another $300 if Freo can win. I would be dirty on myself if I gave away $150 of that just in case and have Freo get up.

Just let the day be Purple

Nice Joe, Im still envious at the price you got them at well done.

I left it too late and got em at $3.50. With Selwood missing the medal ive gone all in with Freo.

As for the rain, I think its kept the Hawks in it because Freo wouldve opened them up on a dry track. Take no notice of the games throughout the year its Fremantles time. At least the rain makes the under 39.5 a great bet and one that :D ive cracked into.

Let it rain Purple and good luck mate.

28-09-2013, 12:37 AM
It will dry up by game time tomorrow and the G has fantastic drainage

28-09-2013, 01:37 AM
It will dry up by game time tomorrow and the G has fantastic drainage

Good thing the G is not like the Gabba which has very poor drainage.

28-09-2013, 01:45 AM
Freo comfortably tomorrow. If you go back since 2008, every team that has had the more difficult PF has lost the following week (except for the drawn GF in 2010, but if Collingwood didnt gas it they would have won the first GF easily). Doesn't matter which team has the extra day's recovery, doesn't matter who travels. Freo won easing up last week and Hawthorn are carrying a good 4-5 players who are very sore after that brutal PF against Geelong.

This is how I see it too.

The wider spaces of the MCG will make it a little more challenging for Freo to defensively clamp Hawthorn, but I think that if they bring their form from the past two games v Sydney and v Geelong, they should win.

28-09-2013, 11:02 AM
More importantly who will win the Athorn?
Award bestowed to the worst on ground .
In honor of Mark Athorn's stunning performance in the 93 Grand Final

28-09-2013, 11:18 AM
This is how I see it too.

The wider spaces of the MCG will make it a little more challenging for Freo to defensively clamp Hawthorn, but I think that if they bring their form from the past two games v Sydney and v Geelong, they should win.
I reckon the wider expanses of MCG argument is a bit of a furphy. Subiaco is larger and wider and the Dockers have an awesome record there.

If it stays windy, that also won't help Hawthorn's precise kicking game.

28-09-2013, 11:21 AM
If it stays windy, that also won't help Hawthorn's precise kicking game.

I think this too. The windier it gets the more it suits Freo's kill the contest game plan.

And it is getting very windy.

28-09-2013, 11:44 AM
Predicting lots of inaccurate kicking this afternoon the way that wind is howling.

28-09-2013, 01:42 PM
Bad luck to Jack Macrae in the GF sprint heats. Freo out on the ground now.

28-09-2013, 02:50 PM
Nervy start from Fremantle as expected. Can't give Hawthorn a comfortable early lead.

28-09-2013, 03:10 PM
Early days but the dockers haven't settled yet

28-09-2013, 03:12 PM
Just not going to plan so far for Fremantle. Hawthorn opening up a lead now.

28-09-2013, 03:14 PM
Early days but the dockers haven't settled yet

Good coverage where you are in London Fredi.

28-09-2013, 03:34 PM
Bit of an embarrassing first half for the Dockers.

Could get ugly.

28-09-2013, 03:36 PM

Could get ugly.

They haven't got into it yet. Going to have to be a big 2nd half from the Dockers if they are going to win or else Hawthorn will be the premiers.

28-09-2013, 03:42 PM
Fremantle's choke is unrivaled right at the moment. Very embarrassing.

28-09-2013, 03:42 PM
More importantly who will win the Athorn?
Award bestowed to the worst on ground .
In honor of Mark Athorn's stunning performance in the 93 Grand Final

I go with the 'Leon Davis' medal myself.

Danyle Pearce is my favourite at the moment. Downhill skier of the highest order

28-09-2013, 03:43 PM
Game over. Freo not even looking like scoring. Terrible game so far.

28-09-2013, 03:45 PM

Could get ugly.

They're kicking at goal has been deplorable. Honestly I think the Dockers have kept up with them in other areas Hawthorn are just more composed.

Take the Rioli gift away and it's just 3 goals.

28-09-2013, 03:46 PM

Danyle Pearce is my favourite at the moment. Downhill skier of the highest order

If you had to pick one player to embarrass themselves on the grand stage, Pearce would have been a guaranteed bet.

Pavlich has been pathetic too, though.

28-09-2013, 03:47 PM
If it starts to rain it will make it pretty much impossible for them.

28-09-2013, 03:47 PM

Easily.

Johnson has been superb for the Dockers. Probably the only player not afraid of the moment.

28-09-2013, 03:49 PM
Easily.

Johnson has been superb for the Dockers. Probably the only player not afraid of the moment.

Fyfe and Mzungu have also stood up.

28-09-2013, 03:55 PM

Fyfe's howlers in front of goal takes a lot of shine of his game. Yips on GF day.

28-09-2013, 03:56 PM

I love him and his effort has been tremendous, but his DE has been absolutely woeful. I think I just heard he's at 20%? Disastrous.

28-09-2013, 03:56 PM

Fyfe at least to the point where he kicks at goal. Shocking game, poorly umpired. The holding the ball rule is irretrievably broken.

28-09-2013, 03:58 PM
Fyfe at least to the point where he kicks at goal. Shocking game, poorly umpired. The holding the ball rule is irretrievably broken.

Unless your name is Rioli.

28-09-2013, 04:00 PM
Good start by Pav.

Will that awaken the beast?

28-09-2013, 04:01 PM
Freo draw first blood in the 3rd.

28-09-2013, 04:04 PM
Ballantyne has been extremely poor.

28-09-2013, 04:09 PM
Here come Freo.

28-09-2013, 04:35 PM
Close enough if good enough, but I still like Hawthorn from here. Too much space, Gunston is killing them and still too many Freo players having stinkers (Ballantyne, Mayne, Barlow)

28-09-2013, 04:50 PM
Lake Norm Smith

28-09-2013, 04:50 PM
Lake has been huge in the fourth quarter.

28-09-2013, 04:51 PM
Calm down Bruce.

28-09-2013, 04:57 PM
Lake Norm Smith

I think he has stitched it up in this last qtr.

28-09-2013, 04:58 PM
Important goal to Pavlich. You never know.

28-09-2013, 05:08 PM
Well done to the Hawks, the best team won.

28-09-2013, 05:09 PM
Thank god it wasn't a draw. I couldn't have watched those 2 teams play again. 3rd quarter aside, that was a dire game to watch. Has Ballantyne played a worse game of football? He was *!*!*!*!ing appalling. I thought Buddy might have moved to Western Sydney at half time.

28-09-2013, 05:10 PM
Better team won in the end.

Lake massive in the last.

How sweet was Crowley's miss in the last minute or so?

28-09-2013, 05:11 PM
Better team won in the end.

Lake massive in the last.

How sweet was Crowley's miss in the last minute or so?

Why?

He's a fantastic footballer who I would love at the Dogs.

28-09-2013, 05:13 PM
Brian Lake now a premiership player.

28-09-2013, 05:15 PM
Why?

He's a fantastic footballer who I would love at the Dogs.

Yep, destroyed Mitchell. I like him.

28-09-2013, 05:16 PM
Yep, destroyed Mitchell. I like him.

The best tagger I've ever seen.

28-09-2013, 05:18 PM
Well done to the Hawks, the best team won.

Yep, best team all year. Did enough against a team who choked for 60 minutes.

Brian Lake now a premiership player.

Whatevs, I honestly couldn't be more ambivalent. Just a Hawthorn player now.

28-09-2013, 05:20 PM
Well done Brian.

28-09-2013, 05:20 PM
Not only is lake a premiership player, but a norm smith medalist. My hawks mates are seriously gunna give it to me this week :( FFS!!!!

28-09-2013, 05:21 PM
Really afraid for the mental state of Woof right now

28-09-2013, 05:22 PM
Not bad for a 5 pick downgrade ;)

28-09-2013, 05:23 PM
I don't know why but it does hurt seeing Lake have success upon leaving us.

28-09-2013, 05:23 PM
Can I ask a personal favour? Don't bring up the bloody trade and I'll buy you all a beer

28-09-2013, 05:25 PM
Maybe I'm a sore loser but it seems this kind of outcome encourages players to be disloyal & seek success elsewhere (& get it).

*sigh*

28-09-2013, 05:26 PM
Maybe I'm a sore loser but it seems this kind of outcome encourages players to be disloyal & seek success elsewhere (& get it).

*sigh*

Exactly

Geez I hate footy. Hawthorn owes us a flag.

Can I ask a personal favour? Don't bring up the bloody trade and I'll buy you all a beer

Was the right move for us then, still is now. With him we'd still be a bottom 4 team. He still wouldn't be with us when we're a challenger.

28-09-2013, 05:32 PM
Why did no-one thank our club?

28-09-2013, 05:34 PM
Was the right move for us then, still is now. With him we'd still be a bottom 4 team. He still wouldn't be with us when we're a challenger.

You know I wouldn't have given half a toss if it was any other side than the Hawks.
Not going to go over old ground, just going to turn of my mobile so I don't have to put up with the in-laws ever again.

Perfect example of a win-win trade. Take note essendon

Geez I hate footy. Hawthorn owes us a flag.

I know what you mean. I think right now we are all feeling like when will this day come for us.

28-09-2013, 05:35 PM
Well done Brian.
Yep, he was brilliant today, just as he was brilliant in many finals for us. Thoroughly deserved Norm Smith.

28-09-2013, 05:36 PM

Spot on congrats lake

28-09-2013, 05:40 PM
Yep, he was brilliant today, just as he was brilliant in many finals for us. Thoroughly deserved Norm Smith.

Yeah, he deserved it.

28-09-2013, 05:41 PM
Brian Lake- doing gold digging right.

28-09-2013, 05:44 PM
If there was a medal for worst on ground, Ballantyne would have it all wrapped up. He was deplorable.

28-09-2013, 05:49 PM
If there was a medal for worst on ground, Ballantyne would have it all wrapped up. He was deplorable.

Agree, he just couldn't handle the ball and continuously missed opportunities.

I've always said I rated Brian as one of the most influential players I've seen on his day and I'm glad he can show his quality on the biggest stage because he deserves all the recognition that will follow. Congratulations Brian.

28-09-2013, 05:49 PM
Under heavy pressure from Zac for that honour, but yeah Ballas was woeful today. He really gassed it.

28-09-2013, 05:52 PM

We haven't won yet.

Not that we were going to challenge, but we pretty much gifted the best team in the comp their missing link... Every other top 8 team should hate us.

28-09-2013, 06:00 PM
We haven't won yet.

Not that we were going to challenge, but we pretty much gifted the best team in the comp their missing link... Every other top 8 team should hate us.

But that's not really our concern, that's for them to deal with, and they didn't.

28-09-2013, 06:21 PM
We haven't won yet.

I couldn't give a flying proverbial about the other top 8 teams.

We got what we wanted and so did Brian and Hawthorn.

28-09-2013, 06:29 PM
But that's not really our concern, that's for them to deal with, and they didn't.

I guess so.. I guess it could be perceived Sydney did the same a few years back.

28-09-2013, 06:32 PM
I couldn't give a flying proverbial about the other top 8 teams.

We got what we wanted and so did Brian and Hawthorn.

We need to move on from Brian Lake now and look forward to our exciting team that we are developing. Bring on 2014! Go Dogs!

28-09-2013, 06:33 PM

Hayden fall over Ballantyne gets the coveted Athorn
Daniel fumbles Pierce gets the Leon award

28-09-2013, 06:49 PM

I know it wasn't to be taken seriously, but where's the retraction.

Brian had a day free of Brian like moments today. Totally solid and dependable.

Apparently a punter had $1000 at $101 on him to win the Norm Smith.

28-09-2013, 08:28 PM
Today the AFL won me back. I am so sick of players in the backline not getting the credit they deserve. Lake has always been underrated for years and deserved the Norm Smith today. Myself , my Father and brother clapped when Brian won the medal.

I said all day Lake will give Pav a bath, but as soon as Pav does one thing watch the commentators say how much of a star he is. I threw up in my mouth a little when Pav kicked a gimme goal and Bruce said he is playing like Carey! WTF?

28-09-2013, 09:39 PM
Today the AFL won me back. I am so sick of players in the backline not getting the credit they deserve. Lake has always been underrated for years and deserved the Norm Smith today. Myself , my Father and brother clapped when Brian won the medal.

I said all day Lake will give Pav a bath, but as soon as Pav does one thing watch the commentators say how much of a star he is. I threw up in my mouth a little when Pav kicked a gimme goal and Bruce said he is playing like Carey! WTF?

Loved the understated speech, 'Wowee...', was genuinely shocked to win it but it seems that his teammates all saw it coming. You could see Gibson ribbing him as Diesel was heading to the mircrophone.

28-09-2013, 10:44 PM
Has anyone worked out why Cooney was in the Hawthorn rooms at the end of the ame with a tear in his eye??
Surely he isn't that close to Brian he would get emotional for him???

28-09-2013, 11:02 PM
Has anyone worked out why Cooney was in the Hawthorn rooms at the end of the ame with a tear in his eye??
Surely he isn't that close to Brian he would get emotional for him???

They are very good mates, I believe he was there looking after Lake's kids.

29-09-2013, 12:27 AM
We haven't won yet.

Yeah, we should've made him wait until this year when he could have walked for nothing.

Anyway, no beers for you lot. :P

29-09-2013, 07:52 AM

It certainly wasn't ballantynes day as there was no love for him....!

29-09-2013, 09:44 AM
Hayden Ballantyne lost as his super powers yesterday. I'm pretty certain I know what AFL players will say if he has the confidence to gob off again.

29-09-2013, 11:27 AM
Hayden fall over Ballantyne gets the coveted Athorn
Daniel fumbles Pierce gets the Leon award

Just watching the replay on c7 now. Why did Mitchell get a free kick when Ballantyne fell over in the first quarter? Mitchell jumped on his back. Apart from the fact the umpires seemed desperate for Hawthorn to win I mean.

29-09-2013, 12:52 PM
Just watching the replay on c7 now. Why did Mitchell get a free kick when Ballantyne fell over in the first quarter? Mitchell jumped on his back. Apart from the fact the umpires seemed desperate for Hawthorn to win I mean.

There were quite a few decisions yesterday that had me baffled. Freo were certainly up against it in fact if I was a Docker I would be filthy on the umpires....not saying the umps cost them the game. Freo certainly choked and the loss will haunt the club and Lyon for along time. They were terrible and the Hawks wouldve counted their lucky stars that they didn't play a more experienced side because the Hawks were there to be had and they got away with it.

29-09-2013, 01:31 PM
Voting for the Norm Smith Medal 2013

B Lake, Hawthorn. 12 - 33321.
J Gunston, Hawthorn. 11 - 33221.
D Mundy, Fremantle. 4 - 211.
L Hodge, Hawthorn. 2 - 2.
N Fyfe, Fremantle. 1 -1.

How the judges voted:
B McCartney (W Bulldogs, Chairman) - Gunston, Hodge, Lake.
T Shaw (3AW) - Lake, Mundy, Gunston.
G McFarlane (Herald Sun) - Lake, Gunston, Mundy.
A McNicol (AFL Media) - Lake, Gunston, Mundy.
K Langdon (6PR) - Gunston, Lake, Fyfe.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/voting-for-the-norm-smith-medal-2013-20130928-2ul5w.html#ixzz2gFUYcRrc

29-09-2013, 01:53 PM
wow surprised there wasn't more love for Hodge who did a lot of 1%er's.

Also can't believe Fyfe got a vote. His goalkicking early set them well back.

29-09-2013, 02:07 PM
Thank god for Karl Langdon.* otherwise there would be stories about him being the only panel member not to give Brian top votes.

*I never thought I'd ever get to say that

29-09-2013, 02:54 PM
I thought Norman Gunston was BOG.

29-09-2013, 02:58 PM

Agree, Lake was very good but when the hawks needed something I thought Gunston was the one to provide it.

29-09-2013, 03:00 PM
wow surprised there wasn't more love for Hodge who did a lot of 1%er's.

Agree. I thought he was good even by his very high standards.

30-09-2013, 02:15 AM

IS this the flip side to being a Crowley or Ballantyne motor mouth?
I think you better have a fair bit of experience before you start being a serial pest.
Scarlett was one, Stevie J another, but these are guys with stacks of experience in finals.
Crowley and Ballas were getting lots of love in the media in the build up. Maybe a bit overrated?

30-09-2013, 06:00 AM

Same.

30-09-2013, 08:36 AM
I think you better have a fair bit of experience before you start being a serial pest.
Scarlett was one, Stevie J another, but these are guys with stacks of experience in finals.
Crowley and Ballas were getting lots of love in the media in the build up. Maybe a bit overrated?

Crowley did his bit, shut down Sammy Mitchell. From all I've heard he (Crowley) isn't particularly nasty out on the field, he just doesn't stop talking.

03-10-2013, 02:27 PM

I wouldn't think so.

I had Ballantyne pictured as the sort of bloke who'd love the pressure of a Grand Final. Completely fell apart.

He'll still be chirpy but I reckon there'll be plenty in the queue to remind him that he got pantsed in the big dance.

In terms of Worst on Ground in a Grand Final, Zac Dawsoon must be edging close to a lifetime achievement award by now, surely? Has anyone ever played so shitfully in 4 Grand Finals? In the space of 5 seasons?

03-10-2013, 04:11 PM

^^^^^
Lake was up there but I agree Gunston deserved the Norm Smith.