View Full Version : What will the Forward line look like in 2014

24-10-2013, 05:04 PM
We have Crameri, Grant has re-signed, Stringer is emerging, Campbell/Ayce/Williams the big men, Dahl, Gia, Smith, Dickson. Jones, Higgins, Hunter

Who plays where and can we have a forward line with 4 players over 190cm?

Who else can play forward?

24-10-2013, 05:07 PM
We have Crameri, Grant has re-signed, Stringer is emerging, Campbell/Ayce/Williams the big men, Dahl, Gia, Smith, Dickson.

Who plays where and can we have a forward line with 4 players over 190cm?

Who else can play forward?

Hunter will be around there as well

24-10-2013, 05:10 PM
No injuries, everyone in form:

Grant Jones Crameri
Dahl Campbell Stringer

Int: Higgins
Sub: Gia

Williams goes into defence. Ayce cover for Tom, Smith for Higgins, Tory for Stew or Jarrad, Lachie for Gia.

That's a lot of forward options!

24-10-2013, 05:16 PM
Higgins is in the mix as well BAD.

I'm working on the following assumptions:
Williams when he plays will be as a defender.
Smith won't be seen until the middle of the season
Giansiracusa will be a sub
Dickson on the bench

HF Dahlhaus Grant Crameri
FF Stringer Jones Hunter

Campbell will get some games and Cordy will have to prove himself.

Stringer might even be used as a defender but I just enjoy the spark he provides as a forward.
Jones will have to perform well to hold his spot.

24-10-2013, 05:50 PM
Not sure we need Gia now...................is it too late for him to "retire?"

24-10-2013, 05:54 PM
Not sure we need Gia now...................is it too late for him to "retire?"

I think he will be sub in many many games

24-10-2013, 05:54 PM
Not sure?? Tend to agree though, and DFA isn't going to get a sniff as a forward next year. Only catch for him is that he's not a mid or defender either.....

24-10-2013, 05:56 PM
Not sure?? Tend to agree though, and DFA isn't going to get a sniff as a forward next year. Only catch for him is that he's not a mid or defender either.....

J-Mac said the club will know more about Addo after 2pm tomorrow. sounds like he is being shopped around, or he is looking at opportunities.

24-10-2013, 05:56 PM
I think he will be sub in many many games
I didn't mind it this year, but Hrovat and Macrae etc either start or don't play. It's a little all or nothing if Gia is virtually a permanent sub, a bit restrictive on development don't you think?

24-10-2013, 06:15 PM
J-Mac said the club will know more about Addo after 2pm tomorrow. sounds like he is being shopped around, or he is looking at opportunities.

Fair chance he'll be traded to GWS for Darley if GWS decide to cut Darley.

24-10-2013, 06:16 PM

That would be a good result.

24-10-2013, 06:21 PM
That would be a good result.

Darley can play but hasn't shown his best at GWS. It could be a win/win trade.

24-10-2013, 06:25 PM

Darley can play but hasn't shown his best at GWS. It could be a win/win trade.

Addo would be good for GWS as well

24-10-2013, 06:28 PM
GWS just got pick 29 as 3rd wheel in the Polec trade. Would it be stretching the friendship to send DFA up to GWS (assuming they are keen on him) with our pick 44 and receive Darley and their pick 29 in return? Would be nice to get another selection back into the top 30 of the ND.

24-10-2013, 06:48 PM
GWS just got pick 29 as 3rd wheel in the Polec trade. Would it be stretching the friendship to send DFA up to GWS (assuming they are keen on him) with our pick 44 and receive Darley and their pick 29 in return? Would be nice to get another selection back into the top 30 of the ND.
Nothing ventured nothing gained...

They've got Boyd, Kelly, 19 & 20, Shaw, Mumford and Lamb plus any rookie elevations. Not sure they would use 29 in any event. I would target it.

24-10-2013, 08:37 PM
Nothing ventured nothing gained...

They've got Boyd, Kelly, 19 & 20, Shaw, Mumford and Lamb plus any rookie elevations. Not sure they would use 29 in any event. I would target it.

Not a bad point. Would be a brilliant result if we could make it happen.

24-10-2013, 08:43 PM
Also I'd hope we're looking at Brisbane.
Gotta a host of mid range picks , and they'd have to be looking at replacing what's gone out.

24-10-2013, 08:45 PM

Nice to see someone rile up the Bombres on BF.:D

24-10-2013, 08:52 PM
Nice to see someone rile up the Bombres on BF.:D

Would love a link Remi...

25-10-2013, 08:23 AM
Higgins is in the mix as well BAD.

I'm working on the following assumptions:
Williams when he plays will be as a defender.
Smith won't be seen until the middle of the season
Giansiracusa will be a sub
Dickson on the bench

HF Dahlhaus Grant Crameri
FF Stringer Jones Hunter

Campbell will get some games and Cordy will have to prove himself.

Stringer might even be used as a defender but I just enjoy the spark he provides as a forward.
Jones will have to perform well to hold his spot.

I would think Jones is more suited to CHF. Do you feel GVG that we still need an actual forward despite securing Crameri who will be very good for us but is more a third tall.

25-10-2013, 08:33 AM
With a few mobile players in our forward line we need Campbell and Cordy to develop into a David Hale type. They don't have to kick bags of goals but just need to be able to be that get out of jail bomb into the forward line kick option.

25-10-2013, 10:14 AM
With a few mobile players in our forward line we need Campbell and Cordy to develop into a David Hale type. They don't have to kick bags of goals but just need to be able to be that get out of jail bomb into the forward line kick option.

Yes, its that vital second ruck/forward option that needs to be filled.

25-10-2013, 10:23 AM
Despite the fact that Campbell still has a lot to learn about playing football and along way to go before he has the running capacity required he really did add a lot to us in the 2nd half of the season.
He takes a decent mark, reads the play well by tapping the ball to other forwards and is a good kick at goal. If he adds a bit more pace and improves his fitness I can certainly see him contending for a key forward spot.

If the altitude provides a significant improvement to his fitness then Jones should be concerned.

25-10-2013, 10:25 AM
Despite the fact that Campbell still has a lot to learn about playing football and along way to go before he has the running capacity required he really did add a lot to us in the 2nd half of the season.
He takes a decent mark, reads the play well by tapping the ball to other forwards and is a good kick at goal. If he adds a bit more pace and improves his fitness I can certainly see him contending for a key forward spot.

If the altitude provides a significant improvement to his fitness then Jones should be concerned.

He looked like a different player in the second half of the season and really impressed. Has a great opportunity as does Jones/Cordy, so its up to them now.

25-10-2013, 10:58 AM

His big body will be a huge asset our forwards next season.
We now are spoilt for choices if Campbell can manage to get the ball down to ground for them.
After the second half of last season I see him miles ahead of Cordy in playing forward.

25-10-2013, 11:42 AM
I would like to see Macca trial a forward set up like this;

Grant Campbell Stringer
Crameri. Jones. Dahlhaus

It looks a little tall on paper but every player named is mobile and agile. I think it represents our best combination in terms of creating match up nightmares for opposition coaches. Obviously we have players like Higgins, Cooney, Stevens, Gia, Dickson, Hunter etc who can rotate through here during a game.

25-10-2013, 12:10 PM

Grant Campbell Stringer
Crameri. Jones. Dahlhaus

It looks a little tall on paper but every player named is mobile and agile. I think it represents our best combination in terms of creating match up nightmares for opposition coaches. Obviously we have players like Higgins, Cooney, Stevens, Gia, Dickson, Hunter etc who can rotate through here during a game.

That's how I see it starting each week.

Dahlhaus will spend a lot of time on the ball, and if Higgins is fit he and Dickson will work through the HF areas as well with the former spending a bit of time in and around the middle to half back as well.

Dickson, Stringer, Gia and Grant will work through the pockets as well Hunter and maybe Hrovat.

If injuries are kept to a minimum, there's going to be significant competition for spots and that's a very good thing and something we didn't boast as a club even in our most recent tilt.

25-10-2013, 01:02 PM
Could be something like this

FF Dickson Campbell Grant

HF Dahlhaus Crameri Higgins

Depth and Rotation
Cordy, Jones, Gia, Williams, Smith, Hunter and Stringer.

25-10-2013, 01:19 PM
-- -- --
-- Grant --

25-10-2013, 01:35 PM
Assuming injury and form are of no concern...

HF: Crameri Jones Grant
FF: Dickson Campbell Stringer

Gia as a specialist sub with Dahlhaus, Higgins, Smith and Hunter to rotate through there and the midfield in-game too. Hopefully Cordy can provide serious competition for Campbell's spot and likewise for Roberts and Williams with Jones.

It's not a "land of the giants" forward line but having 5 of 6 standing at 190cm or taller will cause nightmares for opposition defences. Campbell demands the "gorilla" full-back and Crameri the best key-position defender. Someone needs to run with Jones leading up the middle so this leaves Stringer and Grant; two very, very smart footballers; on opponents they will more than likely have covered for height and skill. Then of course you have Dickson, who has proven himself capable of kicking a bag, getting under the radar and crumbing at the feet of these blokes.

Dickson and Grant provide excellent forward pressure. Hopefully the big guys can maximise the benefits from Colorado and really improve their aerobic capacity to match their determination. Campbell, Stringer and Crameri have all shown that bit of mongrel we love and when Jones' confidence is up he runs blokes down as well.

If the delivery from midfield can improve again on how good it was in the second half of last season then look out!

25-10-2013, 03:09 PM
While I like the idea of having a tall setup as described by a number of posters above with Jones getting the 3rd defender, and Grant and Stinger the 4th and 5th the concern I would have with this setup is the ability to defend when the ball gets turned over.

Only Crameri from this group is acknowledged as having good endurance with all other listed options probably in the bottom third of our group in endurance running. The concern is would this eventually leave us exposed on the counter attack?? While we would hope for continued improvement from Grant, Jones, Dickson and Stringer, realistically they are not going to jump into the good endurance range in a year.

I can only see this working next year with a relatively heavy midfield/bench rotation system with Cooney, Hunter, Hrovat, Tutt, Higgins and Smith able to rotate along with Crameri through fwd, mid and bench. We may only see the stacked forward lines for 5-10 minutes per quarter. This is made harder with the cap on interchange numbers coming in for next year.

Eventually I would love to see this unit improve their flexibility with Grant able to push back to the half back line and use his pace to help run the ball up. Jones able to maintain a strong CHF leading pattern through a full game, Campbell working a 70/30 Fwd/Ruck split and Stringer and Crameri used in bursts through the middle if we decide to 'go big' for a centre bounce.

I think the better teams still have the cattle in defence to combat the taller forward structure, but it will cause problems against the lower and middle tier who may find themselves one or two defenders short.

I would still love to snag another genuine tall 6'5" or more to add more depth and cover for Jones but perhaps this might be a priority for next year.

25-10-2013, 06:35 PM
Assuming injury and form are of no concern...

HF: Crameri Jones Grant
FF: Dickson Campbell Stringer

Gia as a specialist sub with Dahlhaus, Higgins, Smith and Hunter to rotate through there and the midfield in-game too. Hopefully Cordy can provide serious competition for Campbell's spot and likewise for Roberts and Williams with Jones.

It's not a "land of the giants" forward line but having 5 of 6 standing at 190cm or taller will cause nightmares for opposition defences. Campbell demands the "gorilla" full-back and Crameri the best key-position defender. Someone needs to run with Jones leading up the middle so this leaves Stringer and Grant; two very, very smart footballers; on opponents they will more than likely have covered for height and skill. Then of course you have Dickson, who has proven himself capable of kicking a bag, getting under the radar and crumbing at the feet of these blokes.

Dickson and Grant provide excellent forward pressure. Hopefully the big guys can maximise the benefits from Colorado and really improve their aerobic capacity to match their determination. Campbell, Stringer and Crameri have all shown that bit of mongrel we love and when Jones' confidence is up he runs blokes down as well.

If the delivery from midfield can improve again on how good it was in the second half of last season then look out!

This^ Pretty much nailed it there, I reckon, Cricho. :D The only thing I would take issue with is Stringer's fitness. I don't think he's going to be quite up to it next year. He will certainly cause some opposition headaches, but my call is that he is another year away from the sort of fitness he needs to be a best-22-every-week proposition. Swapping Stringer and Dahl is my preferred set up and addresses some of the concerns others have about the size, and itin no way depletes the fire power of the set up. Hopefully, Jones seriously builds his tank during pre-season, but I see him getting his benefit from Campbell taking the gorilla and working hard for the down the line bomb, enabling him (Jones) to use his explosive pace on the second tall defender. All in all, we are going to pose some tricky match up issues for opposition because someone is going to get well and truly off the chain most weeks.

25-10-2013, 06:49 PM
This^ Pretty much nailed it there, I reckon, Cricho. :D The only thing I would take issue with is Stringer's fitness. I don't think he's going to be quite up to it next year. He will certainly cause some opposition headaches, but my call is that he is another year away from the sort of fitness he needs to be a best-22-every-week proposition. Swapping Stringer and Dahl is my preferred set up and addresses some of the concerns others have about the size, and itin no way depletes the fire power of the set up. Hopefully, Jones seriously builds his tank during pre-season, but I see him getting his benefit from Campbell taking the gorilla and working hard for the down the line bomb, enabling him (Jones) to use his explosive pace on the second tall defender. All in all, we are going to pose some tricky match up issues for opposition because someone is going to get well and truly off the chain most weeks.

Fair call on Stringer mate, just wishful thinking from myself! He managed 10 games of AFL footy on his previous pre-season. Hoping with a full one this time, coupled with the Colorado camp, he can manage quite a few more in 2014.

You're absolutely right though, chucking Dahl in there is by no means a downgrade. With all the smalls we have capable of rotating through the forward 50 the "tall" set-up isn't a full game thing and it makes us even more dangerous. Thanks for the feedback mate!

25-10-2013, 09:50 PM

How good was that smash into the goalpost that he did? Manifestation of his commitment, he just carried on regardless as if that's what his big jaw was for!

26-10-2013, 09:25 AM

Grant Campbell Stringer
Crameri. Jones. Dahlhaus

I like it.
All except Campbell, have got excellent speed. So when the ball hits the ground we should be able to stop the run out of the forward line.
I really do wonder where Higgins fits into the picture.

26-10-2013, 12:08 PM
Wonder what Essendon are thinking seeing Campbell, Crameri and Dickson in our forward line.

Five out of six blokes down there who can all take a big, big mark with Crameri and Stringer the 'smallest' of those five at 6'3. Hope the opposition has some firepower down back or else someone will get off the chain big time.

26-10-2013, 01:46 PM
For mine -

HF - Higgins - Crameri - Dahlhaus
F - Stringer - Grant - Dickson

With one of Jones, Williams, Campbell or Cordy starting off the bench as second ruck come forward.

Whilst I also like the idea of having 5 players who can take overhead marks in the side, there's only so many players that can be focal points. With Crameri in the side, there isn't room for Campbell and Jones.

Dickson, Dahlhaus and Higgins are players who have runs on the board in their roles and must be selected if fit. Then there's the new blokes in Stringer, Hunter, Hrovat etc. who ought to be rotated through the side and through the forward line.

26-10-2013, 02:53 PM
For mine -

With one of Jones, Williams, Campbell or Cordy starting off the bench as second ruck come forward.

Whilst I also like the idea of having 5 players who can take overhead marks in the side, there's only so many players that can be focal points. With Crameri in the side, there isn't room for Campbell and Jones.

Dickson, Dahlhaus and Higgins are players who have runs on the board in their roles and must be selected if fit. Then there's the new blokes in Stringer, Hunter, Hrovat etc. who ought to be rotated through the side and through the forward line.

I like Higgins on a HFF but you've really got no KP target in your line up. For mine, one of Jones or Campbell have to play to provide that option. Crameri is a good mark but not a big one on one mark and will struggle to mark the ball on a good defender with a high ball inside 50. He's just not that kind of player and is not a substitute for the role that Jones / Campbell play.

26-10-2013, 03:09 PM
His big body will be a huge asset our forwards next season.
We now are spoilt for choices if Campbell can manage to get the ball down to ground for them.
After the second half of last season I see him miles ahead of Cordy in playing forward.

I agree. I really dont rate Cordy at all as he has simply not shown any signs at senior level that he will become an AFL footballer. I know big blokes take time to develop but ......

26-10-2013, 03:42 PM
I agree. I really dont rate Cordy at all as he has simply not shown any signs at senior level that he will become an AFL footballer. I know big blokes take time to develop but ......

I'm not sure on Cordy. I remember seeing J. Riewoldt's first 15-20 games and thinking god this guy is a dud and he had Richo to help him out for two years (albeit Richo was playing up the ground in his last two years).

I'm not saying Riewoldt is a bees knees FF but Cordy and Jack have similar stats at the same point in their careers. Cordy has 13 goals in 18 games and Jack had 14 in 18 games.

Cordy is also coming from further back than Jack due to an under-developed body and some injury concerns. I'm prepared to be patient with him.

26-10-2013, 04:04 PM
If Brendan rates Cordy, it's good enough for me.

26-10-2013, 04:37 PM
Cordy is also coming from further back than Jack due to an under-developed body and some injury concerns. I'm prepared to be patient with him.

I keep reading this but it is so overused and dramatized.

He's had a good run at it for over two years and he hasn't made any improvement whatsoever. When he came to the club his strength was his agility, but with the added weight, that's evaporated and yet he's still not strong enough to compete at the top level.

There should be alarm bells ringing, I expect us to draft a ruck/forward in this draft which would emphasize this.

26-10-2013, 04:41 PM
For mine -

Why do we need a focal point? To me unpredictability is far more dangerous. You can still have the big body of Campbell paying out of the goal square.

26-10-2013, 05:08 PM

He's had a good run at it for over two years and he hasn't made any improvement whatsoever. When he came to the club his strength was his agility, but with the added weight, that's evaporated and yet he's still not strong enough to compete at the top level.

There should be alarm bells ringing, I expect us to draft a ruck/forward in this draft which would emphasize this.

I'm not too sure you can underestimate the impact increasing your body weight by 25% would have on the way you moved and played the game. Also I think a lot of his upper body strength has been hampered by having to undergo a few shoulder recos.

I'd be looking for solid improvement from him this year though, if he gets a clear run at it injury free. I don't think after this year I can keep using the same excuses for him as I have over the last two.

Not alarm bells for me, just yet. But a year stagnating as a bit part contributor for the seconds and no glimpses of improved performance at senior level and I'll be extremely concerned.

27-10-2013, 08:48 AM
I'm not too sure you can underestimate the impact increasing your body weight by 25% would have on the way you moved and played the game. Also I think a lot of his upper body strength has been hampered by having to undergo a few shoulder recos.

I'd be looking for solid improvement from him this year though, if he gets a clear run at it injury free. I don't think after this year I can keep using the same excuses for him as I have over the last two.

Not alarm bells for me, just yet. But a year stagnating as a bit part contributor for the seconds and no glimpses of improved performance at senior level and I'll be extremely concerned.

I've already written off Cordy completely. To me he has no chance of making it. Im not even sure he'll get any games this year as he is well down the pecking order

27-10-2013, 12:24 PM
I've already written off Cordy completely. To me he has no chance of making it. Im not even sure he'll get any games this year as he is well down the pecking order

What are your specific reasons for saying he won't make it?

I highly doubt the club would give him a three year deal and write him off after the first year of it, particularly if his work rate has been solid.

27-10-2013, 01:36 PM

Agree with your post. Looks like we are taking the long road with him and I still believe the club will be rewarded for their patience.

27-10-2013, 08:10 PM
I can only recall Cordy having one decent quarter of impact in those 18 games. Can anyone else improve on my recall?

27-10-2013, 08:29 PM
I can only recall Cordy having one decent quarter of impact in those 18 games. Can anyone else improve on my recall?

For me next season is last chance.

27-10-2013, 09:03 PM

Your avatar took a while to come good, and we persisted.

27-10-2013, 09:31 PM
Your avatar took a while to come good, and we persisted.

Even before this year, Grant had proven he had the ability to play AFL football. Proving you have the ability does not mean you become a good player as there a number of other elements to 'making it' per se, but nobody ever really questioned his ability to play. 30+ goals in 2010 and regularly scored in the seasons that followed, despite many other issues that followed.

I don't believe Cordy has the ability, nor has he ever shown it, besides maybe 1 or 2 quarters of football. I saw him a bit as a junior as I played with and against him and never rated him during that time period, either.

The 3 year deal was as bad as the Mulligan list decision IMO so whilst next year should be his last to prove something, I doubt it will be.

27-10-2013, 09:52 PM
Even before this year, Grant had proven he had the ability to play AFL football. Proving you have the ability does not mean you become a good player as there a number of other elements to 'making it' per se, but nobody ever really questioned his ability to play. 30+ goals in 2010 and regularly scored in the seasons that followed, despite many other issues that followed.

I don't believe Cordy has the ability, nor has he ever shown it, besides maybe 1 or 2 quarters of football. I saw him a bit as a junior as I played with and against him and never rated him during that time period, either.

The 3 year deal was as bad as the Mulligan list decision IMO so whilst next year should be his last to prove something, I doubt it will be.

I get where you're at with Cordy but Grant had other deficiencies in his approach to AFL football that Cordy doesn't. It's been said that Grant didn't work hard enough whereas Cordy has busted his butt at training and the gym to get to a standard. Does that mean he should be retained and Grant shouldn't? Absolutely not, but both Eade and Macca see something in him. Maybe it's just that Cordy is 6'8 and it may be a case of what is written in GVGjr's signature...

The jury is out but I haven't written him off and I hope he comes good.

27-10-2013, 10:41 PM
For me next season is last chance.
Isn't there another contracted year after??

27-10-2013, 10:49 PM
Isn't there another contracted year after??

I can't imagine him being delisted after a mediocre season in 2014, and if he steps up to the plate in 2015 and performs then he's likely to get another year at least.

27-10-2013, 11:58 PM
The biggest thing for Ayce will be having our own Footscray team. He should be our number 1 ruckman there and at last he should be played in position and we will see from there. He never really got a proper run at it at Williamstown.

Remember that it wasn't that long ago that Will played virtually the whole season in the 'twos' and tore it apart. Now he's all Australia. Ayce's best opportunity to prove anything is to be played in position for an extended period of time at Fooscray and hopefully then deserve his place in the team. You also can't underestimate confidence and the belief that you deserve to be there. I really wonder whether Ayce has ever had that.

28-10-2013, 12:15 AM
The biggest thing for Ayce will be having our own Footscray team. He should be our number 1 ruckman there and at last he should be played in position and we will see from there. He never really got a proper run at it at Williamstown.

Remember that it wasn't that long ago that Will played virtually the whole season in the 'twos' and tore it apart. Now he's all Australia. Ayce's best opportunity to prove anything is to be played in position for an extended period of time at Fooscray and hopefully then deserve his place in the team. You also can't underestimate confidence and the belief that you deserve to be there. I really wonder whether Ayce has ever had that.

Good to see some contribution from you SG - 6 years and 42 posts - look forward to more in the coming year.