View Full Version : Western Bulldogs Memorabilia

17-02-2014, 05:49 AM
Just interested to see what memorabilia woofers have from our club. I had my old robo dog Bulldog jumper signed from some players like Gia, Roughead, Lin Jong and a few others I got from an East West Day about 2 years ago now.

bulldogsfight
17-02-2014, 09:20 PM
I've been collecting for 25years
Got season tickets back to 1905 missing 06 and 18
About 1650 footy records
Over 3000 footscray footy cards missing about 15card
Pennants scrap books badges medallions posters anything and everything
Most valuable would be 54 web 1899 player premiership medallion

If you have anything for sale please contact me
If you give it to the club it just gets stored away and they most likely already have it

17-02-2014, 09:51 PM
Three folders full of Bulldogs cards, mainly the modern Commons and chase cards back to the late 60's Scanlens, they can get rather expensive older than that.

2 Copies of the Mike Brady Sons Of the Spray 7" vinyl with KT's Brownlow count on the b-side.

The Bulldog '84 year book, a few records featuring Dogs players on the cover dating back to the 80's and a box full of random stuff.

18-02-2014, 12:21 AM
About 1650 footy records

If you give it to the club it just gets stored away and they most likely already have it

Do you display any of it?

18-02-2014, 08:50 AM
About 1650 footy records

Did see some bulldog clothing on gumtree the other day

18-02-2014, 09:52 AM
About 1650 footy records

That is impressive.

19-02-2014, 11:48 PM
That is impressive.

Ditto for me.

20-02-2014, 08:36 PM
Very impressive collection.

24-02-2014, 08:36 PM
I have a Footscray envelope signed by Jack Collins.
On it he drew the goal and point posts. He then put an X where his goals went through in the 1954 grand final.

I have a collection of Footy Cards and would like the yellow 1965 VFL Scanlens 02 Ted Whitten Footscray $200.00
- See more at: http://www.footycards.com.au/?subcats=Y&status=A&pshort=Y&pfull=Y&pname=Y&pkeywords=Y&search_performed=Y&q=whitten&dispatch=products.search#sthash.fjEGCe1E.dpuf

And the Allan Hopkins card that was copied for his Brownlow Medal. Costs about $100.

Anybody got these and want to transfer them to me for a cheaper price?

24-02-2014, 08:47 PM
I have a Footscray envelope signed by Jack Collins.
On it he drew the goal and point posts. He then put an X where his goals went through in the 1954 grand final.

I have a collection of Footy Cards and would like the yellow 1965 VFL Scanlens 02 Ted Whitten Footscray $200.00
- See more at: http://www.footycards.com.au/?subcats=Y&status=A&pshort=Y&pfull=Y&pname=Y&pkeywords=Y&search_performed=Y&q=whitten&dispatch=products.search#sthash.fjEGCe1E.dpuf

And the Allan Hopkins card that was copied for his Brownlow Medal. Costs about $100.

Anybody got these and want to transfer them to me for a cheaper price?

So it was a thing then... :)

Jack signed a WEG poster for me too with the exact same doodling.

24-02-2014, 10:48 PM
So it was a thing then... :)

Jack signed a WEG poster for me too with the exact same doodling.

Me too

24-02-2014, 11:19 PM
Me too

So Jack never thought we woofers would find out about each other :)

langers1971
26-02-2014, 03:26 PM
i always enjoy hearing about what people collect when it comes to footy

26-02-2014, 08:21 PM
i always enjoy hearing about what people collect when it comes to footy

I like things of the time, I've got the Hun from the day Teddy passed, footy records from iconic games etc. my only piece of any real value to me is the record from the first EJ Whitten trophy match with Essendon. Has EJ on the cover holding a 'Big V' jumper and signed by the team. I keep thinking I should frame it for myself, but I've never done it. It was also a good day, except Danny Southern asking me if I also wanted the signature of Shane, the guy he was sitting with. I had no idea. Then he had to explain his name was Shane Ellen and was also a bulldogs player. He looked uncomfortable, as did Danny and I, so I took it.

24-06-2015, 02:39 PM
http://resources0.news.com.au/images/2015/06/24/1227412/747432-b37f74e4-1a13-11e5-b4f4-15a82f82267d.jpg

link (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/victoria/footy-cards-from-decades-past-fetching-up-to-1000-each/story-fnkd6ppg-1227412751121)

THEY came with a packet of chewing gum in the early 60s, now they can be worth $1000 each.

Heated trading of vintage footy cards has seen asking prices for collections from the 60s top $16,000 on eBay as traders and memory hunters ramp up interest.

Now is the time to get out to the garage and dig out the old cards. Even if they’re not worth much, the trip down memory lane is often worth it.

$1000 FOR A SINGLE CARD

Elliot Dean of footy card listing site www.aflfootycards.com (http://www.aflfootycards.com) said the original Scanlens set of 1963 is the hottest property with cards worth $1000 each or more.

“That was the first ever Scanlens set and it had only 18 cards,” Mr Dean said.

“Now they sell for up to $1000 for a single card. For a complete set, you’re looking at $10,000 or more.”

The cards, which sometimes pop up on eBay or appear at trade shows, are deemed the most valuable, but other cards from later decades can also fetch a pretty penny.

“The 1975 Scanlens card of Ron Barassi, which was his rookie card, is also very sought after,” Mr Dean said.

“So is the 1985 Gary Ablett card, which was Ablett’s first card.

“I get people emailing me with cards from the late 60s wondering how much they’re worth, and in some instances they can be worth a fair bit.”

WHAT TO COLLECT NOW

Footy cards can grow in value with time, and picking the right ones now could be a blessing for you, or your grandchildren.

Cards from footy legends’ first seasons are popular, selling for up to $100 per card from decades past.

Picking cards for strong draft picks is a good idea.

Also picking up rookie cards for the likes of Lance Franklin and Luke Hodge while they’re not too expensive is a wise move.

“If they’re a good footballer and they’re popular, those cards will do well,” Mr Dean said.

“But just follow your gut. If you love them as a footy player, chances are that person will become more valuable over time.

In general full collections in good condition are worth more money over time than single cards that have been knocked around a bit.”

Cartons of unopened cards are also worth more, but you’re hardly able to enjoy them now.

IT’S NOT ALL ABOUT THE MONEY

While collecting cards can be insanely lucrative for some, the most precious part is often not the money, Mr Dean said.

Cards are high in value because of the memories they hold and often due to family connections.

“Often people contact me looking for a very specific card because their grandfather or relative played for a team,” he said.

“Often it’s all about the memories the card has and that’s why people are drawn to them.”

24-06-2015, 03:19 PM
How does Ron Barrassi rate a rookie card in 1975?

In 1975 he would have been in his 40s and was involved in his 9th VFL flag at his third club.

24-06-2015, 08:17 PM
How does Ron Barrassi rate a rookie card in 1975?

In 1975 he would have been in his 40s and was involved in his 9th VFL flag at his third club.

Must be a typo.

I believe his debut was in Scanlens first year being the 1963 set.

24-06-2015, 10:44 PM
I am after these football cards if anybody wants to sell. Most would be over $50 each. No creases or blotches please.

Alan Hopkins - 1921-25 Suburban Premium Issues Victorian Footballers
Arthur Olliver - 1948 Kornies Card 011
Harry Hickey - 1948 Kornies Card 024
Charlie Sutton - 1948 Kornies Card 056
Jack Collins - 1954 Argus Football Swap cards
John Schultz - 1959 Kornies Swap cards
George Bisset - 1969 Sun Valley Twisties

25-06-2015, 10:44 AM
Must be a typo.

I believe his debut was in Scanlens first year being the 1963 set.

Yeah Barrass would have been in that set for sure. He was a huge star in the 50s and 60s.

Unless they were making up for the fact that he didn't get a Rookie card in 1953 or whenever he was a rookie.

25-06-2015, 01:43 PM
http://resources0.news.com.au/images/2015/06/24/1227412/747432-b37f74e4-1a13-11e5-b4f4-15a82f82267d.jpg

link (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/victoria/footy-cards-from-decades-past-fetching-up-to-1000-each/story-fnkd6ppg-1227412751121)

THEY came with a packet of chewing gum in the early 60s, now they can be worth $1000 each.

Heated trading of vintage footy cards has seen asking prices for collections from the 60s top $16,000 on eBay as traders and memory hunters ramp up interest.

Now is the time to get out to the garage and dig out the old cards. Even if they’re not worth much, the trip down memory lane is often worth it.

$1000 FOR A SINGLE CARD

Elliot Dean of footy card listing site www.aflfootycards.com (http://www.aflfootycards.com) said the original Scanlens set of 1963 is the hottest property with cards worth $1000 each or more.

“That was the first ever Scanlens set and it had only 18 cards,” Mr Dean said.

“Now they sell for up to $1000 for a single card. For a complete set, you’re looking at $10,000 or more.”

The cards, which sometimes pop up on eBay or appear at trade shows, are deemed the most valuable, but other cards from later decades can also fetch a pretty penny.

“The 1975 Scanlens card of Ron Barassi, which was his rookie card, is also very sought after,” Mr Dean said.

“So is the 1985 Gary Ablett card, which was Ablett’s first card.

“I get people emailing me with cards from the late 60s wondering how much they’re worth, and in some instances they can be worth a fair bit.”

WHAT TO COLLECT NOW

Footy cards can grow in value with time, and picking the right ones now could be a blessing for you, or your grandchildren.

Cards from footy legends’ first seasons are popular, selling for up to $100 per card from decades past.

Picking cards for strong draft picks is a good idea.

Also picking up rookie cards for the likes of Lance Franklin and Luke Hodge while they’re not too expensive is a wise move.

“If they’re a good footballer and they’re popular, those cards will do well,” Mr Dean said.

“But just follow your gut. If you love them as a footy player, chances are that person will become more valuable over time.

In general full collections in good condition are worth more money over time than single cards that have been knocked around a bit.”

Cartons of unopened cards are also worth more, but you’re hardly able to enjoy them now.

IT’S NOT ALL ABOUT THE MONEY

While collecting cards can be insanely lucrative for some, the most precious part is often not the money, Mr Dean said.

Cards are high in value because of the memories they hold and often due to family connections.

“Often people contact me looking for a very specific card because their grandfather or relative played for a team,” he said.

“Often it’s all about the memories the card has and that’s why people are drawn to them.”

Rick Milne of 3AW fame and an expert in the selling of memorabilia has quoted previously that a set of 18 in the Scanlens 1963 first issue sold for twenty thousand dollars.

07-07-2015, 10:52 AM
View item:
VFL ARDMONA BIG LEAGUE SERIES 2. WESTERN BULLDOGS FOOTSCRAY. 17 CARDS.FOOTBALL

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/VFL-ARDMONA-BIG-LEAGUE-SERIES-2-WESTERN-BULLDOGS-FOOTSCRAY-17-CARDS-FOOTBALL-/261950978055

Not sure if this link will work but woofers might like to know I've got these up on eBay at the moment

07-07-2015, 12:43 PM
View item:
VFL ARDMONA BIG LEAGUE SERIES 2. WESTERN BULLDOGS FOOTSCRAY. 17 CARDS.FOOTBALL

Not sure if this link will work but woofers might like to know I've got these up on eBay at the moment

The links a dud DD. I'll have a go at fixing it a bit later on.

07-07-2015, 01:52 PM
Thanks 2 dogs. I've only got my mobile phone to work with.

07-07-2015, 02:00 PM
Thanks 2 dogs. I've only got my mobile phone to work with.

Not a problem mate. Hopefully I got the right one.

21-02-2017, 06:08 PM
I thought some of you may get a kick out of some of this stuff. It was handed down by my grandfather who was a life member at Footscray and played in the late 30s. I really love looking through it all:

https://s31.postimg.org/tytz5szuz/IMG_6736.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/ris5ryhsb/IMG_6737.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/jek1n7vd7/IMG_6738.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/jsldmtfgr/IMG_6739.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/6cycxd6yz/IMG_6740.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/f9dqf1myz/IMG_6741.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/50l997yx7/IMG_6742.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/dk4n6z79n/IMG_6743.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/pn9yujibv/IMG_6744.jpg

Have to split them between posts ...

21-02-2017, 06:13 PM
https://s31.postimg.org/w3ixkmqvf/IMG_6746.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/s8fji27pn/IMG_6747.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/jeon0ykqz/IMG_6748.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/j376o74az/IMG_6749.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/jh8insoej/IMG_6750.jpg

Lucky he didn't go to North!

https://s31.postimg.org/ejzjgfbt7/IMG_6751.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/7i1lu887f/IMG_6752.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/6h1d53r7v/IMG_6753.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/kbznnklmz/IMG_6754.jpg

Good thing we made a bit more than that in the last financial year!

21-02-2017, 06:17 PM
https://s31.postimg.org/w3ixkmqvf/IMG_6746.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/s8fji27pn/IMG_6747.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/jeon0ykqz/IMG_6748.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/j376o74az/IMG_6749.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/jh8insoej/IMG_6750.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/ejzjgfbt7/IMG_6751.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/7i1lu887f/IMG_6752.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/6h1d53r7v/IMG_6753.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/kbznnklmz/IMG_6754.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/kbznnklmz/IMG_6755.jpg

Thank you for sharing Cinder, these are fantastic

21-02-2017, 06:18 PM
https://s31.postimg.org/jp0qy1oqz/IMG_6756.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/ud4hwvyq3/IMG_6757.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/ajse46lcb/IMG_6758.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/8t9d2p3t7/IMG_6759.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/oss0m8zuz/IMG_6760.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/4mt413tl7/IMG_6761.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/3lsvbzcln/IMG_6762.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/cuv1m3lhn/IMG_6763.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/bh3eqsm8b/IMG_6764.jpg

Love that last one ...

21-02-2017, 06:22 PM
Thank you for sharing Cinder, these are fantastic

I'm glad you like! It's very cool, some of the stuff in the old footy records is amazing ...

21-02-2017, 06:35 PM
I thought some of you may get a kick out of some of this stuff. It was handed down by my grandfather who was a life member at Footscray and played in the late 30s. I really love looking through it all:

https://s31.postimg.org/tytz5szuz/IMG_6736.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/ris5ryhsb/IMG_6737.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/jek1n7vd7/IMG_6738.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/jsldmtfgr/IMG_6739.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/6cycxd6yz/IMG_6740.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/f9dqf1myz/IMG_6741.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/50l997yx7/IMG_6742.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/dk4n6z79n/IMG_6743.jpg
https://s31.postimg.org/pn9yujibv/IMG_6744.jpg

Have to split them between posts ...

Great memories Cinder. A very close friend of our family the late Roy Evans is in that photo too. Thanks for sharing.

21-02-2017, 06:40 PM
I love that they started training in mid March (although the season didn't commence until late April or early May back then). Now even local footy teams start pre-season in November!

21-02-2017, 06:44 PM
Great memories Cinder. A very close friend of our family the late Roy Evans is in that photo too. Thanks for sharing.

You're welcome. I'm glad! :)

21-02-2017, 06:45 PM
I love that they started training in mid March (although the season didn't commence until late April or early May back then). Now even local footy teams start pre-season in November!

Yeah more of a hobby then I reckon!

21-02-2017, 10:51 PM
Far out. 1936 is 80 years ago. When I was a kid 80 years ago was the 1890s!

22-02-2017, 12:04 AM
Far out. 1936 is 80 years ago. When I was a kid 80 years ago was the 1890s!

Pretty crazy huh?

22-02-2017, 01:45 PM
What's a Smoke Social??

22-02-2017, 01:55 PM
What's a Smoke Social??

I think it's akin to a cigar night or something like that??

22-02-2017, 02:19 PM
What's a Smoke Social??

Times have sure changed.

The smoke night or smoke social was a predominantly Australian form of male only social event in late nineteenth and early twentieth century Australasia.
Large groups of Australian men gathered in a venue to smoke tobacco together in what they termed a smoke night. These lasted until the early 1940s. These events were socially significant, and often coupled with a formal dinner, an annual general meeting or a musical revue. While the full spectrum of Australian men participated in smoke socials—from Parliamentarians through to Port Kembla workers—the smoke night held an allure of classy behaviour and social respectability for participating men. Smoke socials were run by football clubs, charitable organizations, civic organizations, trade unions, and governments.

22-02-2017, 10:08 PM
What's a Smoke Social??

No girls.

As my son would say "that's not homo-erotic at all"

22-02-2017, 10:12 PM
Pretty crazy huh?

It's insane. When did everyone get so old?

26-02-2017, 07:41 PM
Was out at the shops today and I got a praise for my 2016 WB Mark knight t shirt. The person had a Bulldog cap on.

08-02-2019, 10:12 PM
My Grandmother gave me this 40 odd years ago.
I was wondering if anyone on WOOF has seen one of these elsewhere or if they know the origin of it?

https://imageshack.com/i/pnX5WWxhj

09-02-2019, 12:11 AM
I was wondering if anyone on WOOF has seen one of these elsewhere or if they know the origin of it?

First time I have seen one.

10-02-2019, 04:22 PM

Sorry, that's a new one on me.