View Full Version : Does anything look as silly

13-04-2014, 09:13 PM
As players walking off the field after an embarrassing loss with those stupid hipster beards?

I was watching the Footy shows this morning. They had shots of the Carlton players walking sheepishly to the race and they looked like they had spent most of the off season growing stupid facial hair instead of concentrating on improving their game.

I have no idea why this annoys me so much but it does. What does everyone else think? Is a bad loss/form exacerbated by the fact that the players look like wannabe try hards than proper footballers?

13-04-2014, 09:53 PM
Do you have beard envy?

13-04-2014, 10:00 PM
Do you have beard envy?

Maybe. But when we had the people's beard play for us I never had a problem with that beard. That was a proper beard though.

I think it's more the goofy hipster type things that a lot of players are sporting these days. It's a really bad look when you've had a bad loss I reckon for the reason I gave in the OP.

13-04-2014, 10:10 PM
I hate facial hair. It has become very popular amongst 20 something year olds. It's just laziness to shave.;)

13-04-2014, 10:58 PM
I probably looked just as stupid with my haircut at age 17. But I didn't listen to anyone.
I have a mate of mine, ex SRS ( like SAS ) tough as nails, 90+ and a massive Carlton fan.
He hates the way they look.
" Too much backwards cap, silver-earring and poofy beard crap"

13-04-2014, 11:02 PM
Yep they're bad. Also - Trent Cotchin's hair. WTF? Elvis Presley meets Michael J Fox.

13-04-2014, 11:48 PM
Yep they're bad. Also - Trent Cotchin's hair. WTF? Elvis Presley meets Michael J Fox.

Good call. What's Dustin Martin's then?

14-04-2014, 12:12 AM
Get off our lawns you damn kids! And get a proper haircut, not one like those satanic Beetles have, but Johnny Unitas. Now there's a haircut you could set your watch to.

https://gs1.wac.edgecastcdn.net/8019B6/data.tumblr.com/tumblr_l0xsierg291qbye7fo1_500.png

14-04-2014, 12:22 AM
I probably looked just as stupid with my haircut at age 17. But I didn't listen to anyone.
I have a mate of mine, ex SRS ( like SAS ) tough as nails, 90+ and a massive Carlton fan.
He hates the way they look.
" Too much backwards cap, silver-earring and poofy beard crap"

Either did I but I wasn't pulling down a huge wage partly in order to make sure I was doing everything possible to make sure I presented myself in the best shape. Perception is everything in AFL footy and some of the Carlton players look like they care more about keeping up with the latest trends than keeping up with their direct opponent.

14-04-2014, 06:21 AM
I like tatts, but I think sleeves like ridiculous.

WTF Macaffer has BLT tattooed on a finger.

14-04-2014, 07:52 AM
I think the tatts are worse than beards. But then I sport a beard, so I guess I'm biased.

My partner hates the hairstyles, calls it “AFL hair” and is generally critical.

14-04-2014, 07:59 AM
Get off my lawn!

14-04-2014, 09:03 AM
You would have hated watching this hipster play cricket then

14-04-2014, 09:09 AM
I like tatts, but I think sleeves like ridiculous.

WTF Macaffer has BLT tattooed on a finger.

Sandwiches are worthy of reverence. I don't see a problem. :)

14-04-2014, 09:16 AM
Those earlobe stretches are really cool too, that's not something your going to regret when your older.

14-04-2014, 06:25 PM

My young daughter believes he resembles Bloat from Nemo.

14-04-2014, 07:11 PM
You would have hated watching this hipster play cricket then

I would have had a fit! luckily I would have been OK with him being a doctor and everything.

14-04-2014, 07:51 PM

Every time I look at him I think vampire candidate.