View Full Version : The Rumour Mill

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9

13-09-2014, 12:29 AM
It'd be a great coup if we did though. Especially as a free agent.

13-09-2014, 07:14 AM
Interesting with Frawley going to Geelong even though they maybe on a downward spiral.

Not necessarily. Geelong are doing an awkward transition atm where key players are 2-3 years from retiring (SJ, Bartel, Kelly), but their young guys (Guthrie, Christensen, Motlop) are on the verge of taking over, but haven't done so yet. I think this year and next year will be "down" years (they'll still be top 6 though, must be nice) before the transition completes.

To me it'll be less of a spiral and more of a dip.

13-09-2014, 07:20 AM
Not a rumour but Roos had indicated he expects pick 3 if Frawley departs and is keen to use that pick like he did last year by trading it.
They shouldn't get pick 3 but I think it's an easy option for the AFL to give them support without giving them a priority pick.

Our pick 5 might easily become pick 6.

13-09-2014, 07:25 AM
Eze Dog, we currently have pick 5 which might move to pick 6. Cordy in the 2nd round is a real possibility but we would be hoping we can get him in the 3rd round. I think Foster would either be our last pick in the draft or possibly in the rookie draft.
We need some midfielders as well.

13-09-2014, 08:47 AM
I wonder if the large payout and opportunity provided by the Dogs to Crameri will assist us getting a Bomber to do a tour of Whitten Oval?

13-09-2014, 09:34 AM
I wonder if the large payout and opportunity provided by the Dogs to Crameri will assist us getting a Bomber to do a tour of Whitten Oval?

Not just a bomber, maybe THE bomber as well.

13-09-2014, 10:35 AM
Not a rumour but Roos had indicated he expects pick 3 if Frawley departs and is keen to use that pick like he did last year by trading it.
They shouldn't get pick 3 but I think it's an easy option for the AFL to give them support without giving them a priority pick.

Our pick 5 might easily become pick 6.

Well, being at Sydney for several years, I suppose Roos is used to having the AFL under his thumb.. No way known is Frawley worth pick 3 as compo. End of first round at best. They got their compo x 2 for Scully - who's a dud. Meanwhile, we got less for Ward who is a gun. Melbourne need to stop sticking their hand out and start sticking their heads down.

13-09-2014, 10:42 AM
Well, being at Sydney for several years, I suppose Roos is used to having the AFL under his thumb.. No way known is Frawley worth pick 3 as compo. End of first round at best. They got their compo x 2 for Scully - who's a dud. Meanwhile, we got less for Ward who is a gun. Melbourne need to stop sticking their hand out and start sticking their heads down.

I don't really blame Roos tbh. Whats he gonna say, Frawley is shit anyway and worth nothing to them? Of course he's going to try and spin it so that the best possible scenario sounds like the only reasonable option too. For all its promises of equalization and fairness, the AFL is a very self serving organisation so when you see an opportunity to exploit something you take it.

13-09-2014, 11:29 AM
Just our luck we'll end up with 6 and the KP we want will go at 5.

13-09-2014, 12:08 PM
I don't really blame Roos tbh. Whats he gonna say, Frawley is shit anyway and worth nothing to them? Of course he's going to try and spin it so that the best possible scenario sounds like the only reasonable option too. For all its promises of equalization and fairness, the AFL is a very self serving organisation so when you see an opportunity to exploit something you take it.

I don't blame Roos, either. However I'd blame the AFL if they gave Melbourne pick 3. Frawley's worth a bonus end of rd 1 pick at best. For me, a compo rd1 pick is for the $900k+ p.a. Ablett, Ward, Franklin like deals. The other consideration for the AFL is that they'll be hurting Brisbane if they give Melbourne compo pick 3. I doubt they'd see that as ideal.

13-09-2014, 07:15 PM
I think Melbourne know they won't get either a priority or an early pick for Frawley.
My guess would be end of first round for Frawley.
Don't blame Roos for spruiking, but it looks like Frawley won't be getting the 700 he initially asked for.

13-09-2014, 07:20 PM
Not necessarily. Geelong are doing an awkward transition atm where key players are 2-3 years from retiring (SJ, Bartel, Kelly), but their young guys (Guthrie, Christensen, Motlop) are on the verge of taking over, but haven't done so yet. I think this year and next year will be "down" years (they'll still be top 6 though, must be nice) before the transition completes.

Those younger players are good, but they're losing greats of their club.
I don't think they'll drop dramatically, but I see bottom 8 or just outside next season.

13-09-2014, 07:38 PM

Geelong could be in trouble with the age of their list. Below are 10 players 28 years plus...be interesting to see what happens.

44 Enright, Corey 32yr 11mth
20 Johnson, Steve 31yr 2mth
3 Bartel, Jimmy 30yr 9mth
9 Kelly, James 30yr 8mth
13 Lonergan, Tom 30yr 3mth
4 Mackie, Andrew 30yr 1mth
17 McIntosh, Hamish 30yr
25 Rivers, Jared 29yr 10mth
27 Stokes, Mathew 29yr 9mth
7 Taylor, Harry 28yr 3mth

13-09-2014, 10:31 PM
John Butcher should come cheap

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rm5zvC9NKFw

13-09-2014, 10:50 PM
Troy ??

14-09-2014, 10:58 AM
Troy ??

Thats why he is cheap - no one knows who he is.

bulldogsfight
14-09-2014, 11:26 AM
In herald sun today jetta from swans

14-09-2014, 11:34 AM

I thought West Coast were also looking at him.

14-09-2014, 11:41 AM
Troy ??

Whoops Troy Butcher played for Port Magpies about 8 years ago.

14-09-2014, 11:44 AM
Whoops Troy Butcher played for Port Magpies about 8 years ago.

So I'm guessing he's still better than John Butcher. What would we need to part with to get Troy?

14-09-2014, 12:23 PM
Jetta? Yes, please.

14-09-2014, 12:35 PM

Link?

14-09-2014, 01:23 PM
So I'm guessing he's still better than John Butcher. What would we need to part with to get Troy?:) :):)

14-09-2014, 01:25 PM

Would have ti be a trade, he signed a extension last season.

14-09-2014, 01:28 PM
There's been a lot of focus on teams trying to snare GWS players, but with reports of coach/player dissension at the Suns, have we all been looking at the wrong team and its players?

14-09-2014, 01:32 PM
There's been a lot of focus on teams trying to snare GWS players, but with reports of coach/player dissension at the Suns, have we all been looking at the wrong team and its players?

We have, hopefully the club haven't.

I posted the article in the Jarrod Harbrow leaving thread.

14-09-2014, 02:08 PM
The futures of Demons Trio Jack Watts, Jimmy Toumpas and Jack Trengove are up in the air according to the Herald Sun.

A clean out?

14-09-2014, 02:51 PM
Gee they've lucked out with a lot of high draft picks.

funked
14-09-2014, 03:27 PM
Link?

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/hawks-rule-out-play-for-mitch-clark-no-takers-for-mitch-robinson-and-more-in-the-sunday-session/story-fn69a32t-1227058074164

The article also mentions changes to the medical department... interesting.

14-09-2014, 03:46 PM
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/hawks-rule-out-play-for-mitch-clark-no-takers-for-mitch-robinson-and-more-in-the-sunday-session/story-fn69a32t-1227058074164

Had!!!! Not have!

14-09-2014, 03:46 PM

I read that as saying we had our eyes on Jetta with the Howard pick but he was gone before we could take him. Don't think it's saying that we're chasing him now.

14-09-2014, 03:54 PM

I read that as we were going to draft Jetta instead of Howard.

Not that we are chasing Jetta for a trade.

14-09-2014, 03:56 PM
I read that as we were going to draft Jetta instead of Howard.

Not that we are chasing Jetta for a trade.

It says we have our sights set on Jetta. That is, now.

14-09-2014, 04:00 PM
It says we have our sights set on Jetta. That is, now.

It is a typo. The online version says had.

14-09-2014, 04:01 PM
It is a typo. The online version says had.
Oops.:eek:

14-09-2014, 04:55 PM
Has anyone else heard that we are targeting a pair of brothers from separate clubs?

14-09-2014, 04:57 PM
Has anyone else heard that we are targeting a pair of brothers from separate clubs?

Jason & Cameron Cloke rumour is going around strong... Or the surname Jetta has some traction today.

14-09-2014, 05:07 PM
Jason & Cameron Cloke rumour is going around strong... Or the surname Jetta has some traction today.

Clokes - this is humour, right?

14-09-2014, 05:10 PM
Clokes - this is humour, right?

No. Two quality players, a CHB and Ruckman/Forward. It's all about 'money ball' now. What's there to be humourous about? We've done a lot worse.

14-09-2014, 05:14 PM
No. Two quality players, a CHB and Ruckman/Forward. It's all about 'money ball' now. What's there to be humourous about? We've done a lot worse.

True, we have done a lot worse. But there is a difference between money ball and geriatric ball.

14-09-2014, 05:23 PM
True, we have done a lot worse. But there is a difference between money ball and geriatric ball.

It was Greystache who told me this yesterday. I'm not sure what I can add.

14-09-2014, 05:24 PM

Wanna name names?

14-09-2014, 05:28 PM
Wanna name names?

I did. Greystache. Although Slim Pickens was nearby so you might need to ask Mr Stache about his source.

14-09-2014, 05:31 PM

Maybe he meant for Footscray.

14-09-2014, 06:14 PM
I did. Greystache. Although Slim Pickens was nearby so you might need to ask Mr Stache about his source.

Umm, yeah I'm hearing we like the fact Jason is old, shit, and too small to play key position. Cameron is a twice delisted spud who struggled in the VFL, has sick tatts, and got beaten up by his own team mate. And as a sweetener their Dad can provide us with all the Mike's Hard Lemonade t-shirts we want.

For a late pick I reckon it's a pretty good moneyball option!

14-09-2014, 06:18 PM
Mikes Hard Lemonade T-shirts? Where do we sign?

14-09-2014, 06:37 PM
Umm, yeah I'm hearing we like the fact Jason is old, shit, and too small to play key position. Cameron is a twice delisted spud who struggled in the VFL, has sick tatts, and got beaten up by his own team mate. And as a sweetener their Dad can provide us with all the Mike's Hard Lemonade t-shirts we want.

Don't forget their dad can provide JMaC some negotiation tips and techniques...

14-09-2014, 06:43 PM

Ah. I like the kick up Cloke's pooper too. Maybe I should've gone with us recruiting Setanta instead. Tall forward and all. I fear my rumour credibility is now shot.

14-09-2014, 07:08 PM

If it's any consolation, Jason has been tearing up the WRFL for the last few years at Spotswood.

14-09-2014, 07:17 PM
If it's any consolation, Jason has been tearing up the WRFL for the last few years at Spotswood.

Don't over-inflate his value, we'll negotiate ourselves out of those T-Shirts.

14-09-2014, 07:53 PM
Jacksh talking with us next week.

14-09-2014, 07:57 PM
Jacksh talking with us next week.

Good one. Where did you hear that?

doggies ftw
14-09-2014, 10:22 PM
Two brothers from separate clubs? Ben and Sam Reid maybe? Seeing as we've heard rumours for both. Now wouldn't that be something if we could pull it off.

14-09-2014, 10:34 PM
Two brothers from separate clubs? Ben and Sam Reid maybe? Seeing as we've heard rumours for both. Now wouldn't that be something if we could pull it off.

That would be a huge coup. They were the first players I thought of.

Although a Ruckman/forward? Would you call Sam a Ruckman-forward?

14-09-2014, 10:40 PM

Ben signed a long-term deal with the Pies.
I heard we are speaking with Jacksh as well. Will be touring the facilities. I think all here knew that we would speak to him so no surprise there. I've heard that he wants to go to the club that will provide the most opportunity (all things being financially equal). I do play groups at a local park with one of the Dads who is a senior player on the list and I got it from him. He also told me that Sherman was a blockhead when we first drafted him - he's pretty honest (and very accurate).

14-09-2014, 11:34 PM
Ben signed a long-term deal with the Pies.
I heard we are speaking with Jacksh as well. Will be touring the facilities. I think all here knew that we would speak to him so no surprise there. I've heard that he wants to go to the club that will provide the most opportunity (all things being financially equal). I do play groups at a local park with one of the Dads who is a senior player on the list and I got it from him. He also told me that Sherman was a blockhead when we first drafted him - he's pretty honest (and very accurate).

Opportunity for Jaksch is an interesting term.

At the Dogs, we lack basically a spine, so he could play anywhere, but under extreme pressure.

At Carlton, it would third tall or third defender. Less opportunity, but a lot less pressure.

14-09-2014, 11:43 PM

At the Dogs, we lack basically a spine, so he could play anywhere, but under extreme pressure.

At Carlton, it would third tall or third defender. Less opportunity, but a lot less pressure.

Yeah all true I'm hoping he's a leader rather than a follower. We'll see I suppose.

15-09-2014, 12:14 AM

We'd be better off without a player who avoids pressure. AFL is all about who reacts best to pressure situations.

doggies ftw
15-09-2014, 08:25 AM
That would be a huge coup. They were the first players I thought of.

Although a Ruckman/forward? Would you call Sam a Ruckman-forward?
Oh I thought the Ruckman/Forward comment was just someone talking crap about the Clokes :p

But nah I personally wouldn't call him a Ruckman/forward but I wouldn't be surprised if the club did, he's done better in the ruck than Jones and Redpath, I'd rather keep him forward and play a proper forward/ruck alongside him, easier said than done I guess.

Gee it really sucks that if their dad played a few more games we'd already have them both on the list

15-09-2014, 11:06 AM
How serious is this brothers from two different clubs rumour? The Reid brothers would be the perfect fit for our team.

15-09-2014, 11:11 AM
How serious is this brothers from two different clubs rumour? The Reid brothers would be the perfect fit for our team.

Hope to God it's not the Warnock's

15-09-2014, 11:12 AM
Hope to God it's not the Warnock's

Now your just trying to ruin our day.

15-09-2014, 11:39 AM
Mitch & Nathan Brown? They can be the darlings of the Medical Dept.

15-09-2014, 11:45 AM

I would think its absolute rolled gold silly season stuff with no basis whatsoever!

15-09-2014, 11:46 AM
Joel and Scott Selwood :)

15-09-2014, 11:58 AM
Geoff and Gary Ablett Snr coming out of retirement.

15-09-2014, 12:09 PM
Needs more Bowden!

15-09-2014, 12:22 PM
I heard it was Jamie Grant and his little brother, whatever his name was.

15-09-2014, 12:26 PM
I'm hoping for Cale Morton and any of his brothers!

15-09-2014, 12:39 PM
Kickett boys?

15-09-2014, 12:50 PM
We're keeping Brett Goodes on the list and getting Adam?

15-09-2014, 12:55 PM

At least someone is on the right track.

15-09-2014, 01:11 PM
How many brothers are playing AFL football, and is this the only way we'll get the good brother not the poorer brother?
There are the:

Westhoffs, Minsons & Abletts in recent memory
Reids
Jettas
Talias
Cordys (next year)
Selwoods
Merretts
Jones'

I'm sure I'm missing quite a few

15-09-2014, 01:13 PM
IF everyone is having a vote, Ill vote for the other Roughead, please?

(yes I do know)

15-09-2014, 01:14 PM
How many brothers are playing AFL football, and is this the only way we'll get the good brother not the poorer brother?
There are the:

Westhoffs, Minsons & Abletts in recent memory
Reids
Jettas
Talias
Cordys (next year)
Selwoods
Merretts
Jones'

I'm sure I'm missing quite a few

Hills, Beams, Swallows, Tippetts, Menzels

15-09-2014, 01:17 PM
I'd have the Crouch brothers from Adelaide thanks!

15-09-2014, 01:22 PM
BMac's going and the Scott brothers will co-coach?

15-09-2014, 01:36 PM
Hills, Beams, Swallows, Tippetts, Menzels
Cheers.

Brissie look set to reunine the Beams'

15-09-2014, 01:44 PM
I'd be happy if it was the Frost brothers.

15-09-2014, 02:17 PM
This was a set reported a few years ago. On SEN last week somebody said that there were 26 sets of brothers playing in 2014.
Abletts- Gary and Nathan (Gold C)
Beams- Claye (Bris) Dayne (Coll)
Bocks-Chris and Nathan (Gold C)
Browns- Nathan J.(Coll) and Mitch J. (West C)
Clarkes- Xavier (Bris) and Raphael (Stk)
Cornes- Chad and Kane (Port)
Daveys Aaron (Melb) and Alwn(Ess)
Grimes- Dylan (rich) JAck (Melb)
McVeighs- Jarrad (Syd) Mark (Ess)
Moores- Kelvin (Rich) Andrew (Port)
Mortons- Cale (Melb) Jarryd (Haw) Mitch (Rich)
Reids- Sam (Syd) Ben (Coll)
Retzlaff/Beams- Bryce Retzlaff (Bris) is stepbrothers with the Beams
Selwoods- Adam (West C) Joel (Geel) Scott (West C)
Shaws- Heath (Coll) Rhyce (Syd)
Swallows- Andrew (North) David (GC)
Tarrants- Chris (Coll) Robbie (North)
Van Berlo's- Jay (Freo) Nathan (Adel)
Warnocks- Robert (Carl) Matthew (Melb)
Westhoffs- Justin and MAtthew (Port)

15-09-2014, 02:42 PM
This was a set reported a few years ago. On SEN last week somebody said that there were 26 sets of brothers playing in 2014.
Abletts- Gary and Nathan (Gold C)
Beams- Claye (Bris) Dayne (Coll)
Bocks-Chris and Nathan (Gold C)
Browns- Nathan J.(Coll) and Mitch J. (West C)
Clarkes- Xavier (Bris) and Raphael (Stk)
Cornes- Chad and Kane (Port)
Daveys Aaron (Melb) and Alwn(Ess)
Grimes- Dylan (rich) JAck (Melb)
McVeighs- Jarrad (Syd) Mark (Ess)
Moores- Kelvin (Rich) Andrew (Port)
Mortons- Cale (Melb) Jarryd (Haw) Mitch (Rich)
Reids- Sam (Syd) Ben (Coll)
Retzlaff/Beams- Bryce Retzlaff (Bris) is stepbrothers with the Beams
Selwoods- Adam (West C) Joel (Geel) Scott (West C)
Shaws- Heath (Coll) Rhyce (Syd)
Swallows- Andrew (North) David (GC)
Tarrants- Chris (Coll) Robbie (North)
Van Berlo's- Jay (Freo) Nathan (Adel)
Warnocks- Robert (Carl) Matthew (Melb)
Westhoffs- Justin and MAtthew (Port)

And the Goodes brothers too.

15-09-2014, 02:44 PM
Ted and Xavier Richards at Sydney.

15-09-2014, 02:59 PM
funny

15-09-2014, 03:49 PM
Probably the Van Berlo's. Jay kicked a bag against us in 2011 to join the pantheon of AFL greats to dominate in a game against us such as Marty McGrath, Ed Sainsbury, Luke Vogels, Nigel Fiegert, Justin Wood and Majak Daw.

15-09-2014, 03:54 PM
Probably the Van Berlo's. Jay kicked a bag against us in 2011 to join the pantheon of AFL greats to dominate in a game against us such as Marty McGrath, Ed Sainsbury, Luke Vogels, Nigel Fiegert, Justin Wood and Majak Daw.

Nigel Fiegert starred that day. What happened to him?

15-09-2014, 04:07 PM
I wonder if we have considered him?

Frawley reportedly visited Fremantle's headquarters last Saturday after flying into Perth with his girlfriend.The 25-year-old defender is being heavily chased by Geelong, but the Dockers are also in the race as they search for a replacement for McPharlin, who appears increasingly likely to retire.
Frawley is expected to command in the vicinity of $550,000 per season on a multi-year deal.

15-09-2014, 05:01 PM
I wonder if we have considered him?

I doubt he'd consider us. He wants to walk into a finals side.

15-09-2014, 06:27 PM
I doubt he'd consider us. He wants to walk into a finals side.

He might make us a finals side , why would he look at Geelong also , they are aging and on the way down.

15-09-2014, 06:36 PM
He might make us a finals side , why would he look at Geelong also , they are aging and on the way down.

His best mate (he was best man at his wedding) Rivers is there, his wifes family live there and im not sure they are on the way down just yet. Some good drafting(they have one of the best at choosing kids) and some good poaching of FAs and they'll be there abouts for a few more seasons.

Scotts made it clear that he's the one they want too.

15-09-2014, 06:57 PM
Freo would need to offer mega bucks to tempt him which would not be ideal for our draft position.

15-09-2014, 07:07 PM

My worst nightmare, can't stand those two.

16-09-2014, 03:24 PM
Three AFL scouts from different clubs were watching 18 year old Pat McKenna of Gisborne kick nine goals in a senior game in the Bendigo league recently. McKenna has also kicked 16 goals twice this year in junior and school games.

He is a very talented kid who is also captain of the Australian Under 19 cricket team.

This kid is also excellent in reading the play as a defender.

Love to see him at the dogs.

16-09-2014, 03:54 PM
We've had some success with Bendigo boys so we must have a good scout in that area. Hopefully they've had a good look at this kid. Those numbers will attract attention.

doggies ftw
16-09-2014, 10:10 PM
Alright whose this kid, our new forward saviour? :P how tall is he/what position

16-09-2014, 11:05 PM
Three AFL scouts from different clubs were watching 18 year old Pat McKenna of Gisborne kick nine goals in a senior game in the Bendigo league recently. McKenna has also kicked 16 goals twice this year in junior and school games.

He is a very talented kid who is also captain of the Australian Under 19 cricket team.

As captain of the Aussie under 19 cricket team (pretty esteemed honour) do we know for sure which sport he wants to progress with? Cricket is certainly more lucrative these days with 20/20 comps the world over offering big coin and obviously if he can crack a contract with CA, he would be raking it in!

16-09-2014, 11:20 PM
As captain of the Aussie under 19 cricket team (pretty esteemed honour) do we know for sure which sport he wants to progress with? Cricket is certainly more lucrative these days with 20/20 comps the world over offering big coin and obviously if he can crack a contract with CA, he would be raking it in!

I know what I'd be doing. All I wanted to do when I was a kid was captain Australia.

16-09-2014, 11:22 PM
Emma Quayle twitter says no to Jaksch & dogs.

17-09-2014, 06:37 AM

Reads as if both parties are not interested.

17-09-2014, 08:52 AM

Interesting. Apparently George Horlin-Smith was an ex-captain at the same level also.

17-09-2014, 09:14 AM
Reads as if both parties are not interested.

Read that as well. Wonder what happened?

17-09-2014, 09:17 AM

That doesn't worry me at all as he has proved nothing at AFL level at this stage.

17-09-2014, 09:29 AM
Read that as well. Wonder what happened?

The exact tweet was "the Dogs aren't in for Jacksh but Blues are so that might make it interesting". So that does imply we don't want him. I find that odd as he looks a good swingman and would add some depth but im guessing the list managers just dont think he is up to it

Avoid the rush
17-09-2014, 09:51 AM
No matter who we recruit we MUST take young Foster in the draft. We have missed out on too many father/son key forwards in the past. (Doug Hawkins son TOM, John Schultz son JAY and who could forget Galaxy Colemans' son JOHN) Get real recruiters!!

17-09-2014, 10:58 AM
No matter who we recruit we MUST take young Foster in the draft. We have missed out on too many father/son key forwards in the past. (Doug Hawkins son TOM, John Schultz son JAY and who could forget Galaxy Colemans' son JOHN) Get real recruiters!!

Heh!

They would have been handy third round pickups!

17-09-2014, 11:20 AM
The exact tweet was "the Dogs aren't in for Jacksh but Blues are so that might make it interesting". So that does imply we don't want him. I find that odd as he looks a good swingman and would add some depth but im guessing the list managers just dont think he is up to it

Yeah that's how I read it as well. Seemed like we were really keen and then backed out? Maybe this was more media fueled.

17-09-2014, 04:51 PM

l think you are on to something here.;)

17-09-2014, 04:56 PM
Not sure if this is old news but just got told this.

Apparently we are into Grimley at Hawthorn.
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/player-profile/sam-grimley

My father spoke to his uncle and was told by him that we are speaking to his manager.

17-09-2014, 05:02 PM
He kicked a bag against some ordinary opposition.
Bendigo and a depleted Northern Blues line up, and he's played only 3 games in 5 years.
We seem to be aiming for the bottom.

17-09-2014, 05:05 PM
Not sure if this is old news but just got told this.

Apparently we are into Grimley at Hawthorn.
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/player-profile/sam-grimley

My father spoke to his uncle and was told by him that we are speaking to his manager.

Hard to get a game ahead of Roughy, Gunston, Buddy before this year and Hale

Good if cheap

17-09-2014, 05:16 PM
Hard to get a game ahead of Roughy, Gunston, Buddy before this year and Hale

Good if cheap

And McEvoy and Ceglar for second ruck spots. Would have to be cheap, if he wants to play AFL he needs to walk out. If he does and says us, he falls into the 4th round category type trade (i.e. Doogs, Birss, Bowden type trades). We've done worse.

17-09-2014, 06:26 PM
Still in the mix for Jaksch.

17-09-2014, 06:32 PM
Still in the mix for Jaksch.

Whats the news?

17-09-2014, 06:39 PM
Whats the news?

Despite Emma Quayle comments about Jaksch not wanting to come to us there is still speculation we are in the mix. We have 3 things in our favour. While I'm not convinced he is exactly what we are after I wouldn't write it off yet.

17-09-2014, 06:42 PM
Despite Emma Quayle comments about Jaksch not wanting to come to us there is still speculation we are in the mix. We have 3 things in our favour. While I'm not convinced he is exactly what we are after I wouldn't write it off yet.

Did you get to see him play as a Junior? Thoughts?

17-09-2014, 06:43 PM
Did you get to see him play as a Junior? Thoughts?

Good player no doubt but not a star. I thought he was a better defender than forward.

17-09-2014, 06:44 PM
Lacking in anything resembling substance, but Dangerfield has requested a trade, Sando sacked. Both of them to the Dogs?

17-09-2014, 06:51 PM
Dangerfield would be a huge coup, absolute star wouldn't come cheap.

17-09-2014, 07:17 PM
Lacking in anything resembling substance, but Dangerfield has requested a trade, Sando sacked. Both of them to the Dogs?

Through the kitchen sink at Dangerfield. Pick 5, Cooney & Talia.

17-09-2014, 07:17 PM

Where did you hear the Dangerfield information?

17-09-2014, 07:25 PM

Some of the talk around is that the leadership group and players had a significant role in Sanderson's axing. This may just have convinced him to stay

17-09-2014, 07:36 PM
And McEvoy and Ceglar for second ruck spots. Would have to be cheap, if he wants to play AFL he needs to walk out. If he does and says us, he falls into the 4th round category type trade (i.e. Doogs, Birss, Bowden type trades). We've done worse.

I get what you mean but I don't think that should be to the forefront of our minds when we are assessing a recruit.

17-09-2014, 07:43 PM
I get what you mean but I don't think that should be to the forefront of our minds when we are assessing a recruit.

Poor phraseology on my part TD, talking like a teenager at a pub again... Let me have another go at it. In the context of his competition for spots, his games played record is not as important as other factors. We have recruited big name players at other clubs including Hawthorn and they've been shite, so it's more complex. He was a good junior, so there's some hope for a lower pick trade.

17-09-2014, 07:46 PM
Where did you hear the Dangerfield information?

A mate in Adelaide.

17-09-2014, 07:48 PM
Some of the talk around is that the leadership group and players had a significant role in Sanderson's axing. This may just have convinced him to stay

What I hear is some senior players didn't speak to kindly about Sando and his assistant's at their exits reviews. Rutten is definitely one, apparently Tex another - I'm presuming Scott Thomson also.

I was of the belief Danger was a Sando backer and Sando a big reason why Danger re-signed last extension.

I guess watch this space, but I'd be getting on the phones to any manager for Crows players we fancy.

17-09-2014, 08:47 PM

And don't forget Paul Hudson's son PETER

18-09-2014, 10:20 AM

John Schultz doesn't have a son.

18-09-2014, 10:22 AM
Internet forums make reading these things hard so I'll come out and ask, did you miss the sarcasm in Avoid The Rush's original post?

18-09-2014, 10:39 AM

We ended up with his other son Ben though.

18-09-2014, 11:01 AM

That's correct. I actually remember John's brother Robert. Played a few games for us in the 60's off the half back flank.

Avoid the rush
18-09-2014, 02:04 PM
Seriously!!!!!! As Castanza would say, "I AM AWARE"!!!!
I was joking.

18-09-2014, 02:46 PM

And if he did he probably wouldn't have given him a girl's name.

18-09-2014, 04:15 PM
Seriously!!!!!! As Castanza would say, "I AM AWARE"!!!!
I was joking.

And just to avoid further confusion, Costanza (George), was a character in the US situational comedy, Seinfeld, televised through the years 1989 - 1998.

Sorry, I should add, ;) or is it :) ? or this one :D ? Now I'm just :confused:

18-09-2014, 04:31 PM
And just to avoid further confusion, Costanza (George), was a character in the US situational comedy, Seinfeld, televised through the years 1989 - 1998.

Yadda, yadda, yadda.

18-09-2014, 04:35 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kx6QvzWiwrw

18-09-2014, 04:56 PM
1.30 George talks like everyone on WOOF!!

18-09-2014, 04:59 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A66ierfTCUQ

18-09-2014, 05:10 PM
Story is most of the players were shocked by Sandos sacking and paddy Dangerfield is a good mate of sando, apparently it was older players not getting a game who wouldn't run back that had a sook.

18-09-2014, 05:21 PM

sorry I http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/Buttons%20icons/threadjacked_zps14944a1a.gif (http://s202.photobucket.com/user/mmsalih/media/Buttons%20icons/threadjacked_zps14944a1a.gif.html)

22-09-2014, 12:25 PM
Not sure of the validity in this but a cousin of mine from SA has told me that Port are very interested in Liam Jones. His source is a friend who is a member of Port.

22-09-2014, 01:02 PM
Not sure of the validity in this but a cousin of mine from SA has told me that Port are very interested in Liam Jones. His source is a friend who is a member of Port.
Would make sense. Hinkley has indicated they are after a forward and ruckman.

DISHLICKERS
22-09-2014, 01:05 PM

I know Brisbane is so there maybe a few clubs after his services. Yesterday effort has most likely revved up things also.

22-09-2014, 01:23 PM

Big Footy Port board has a rumour they are into a victorian forward.

22-09-2014, 01:26 PM

Lucky for us he is from Tassie! :D

DISHLICKERS
22-09-2014, 01:31 PM
Lucky for us he is from Tassie! :D

They prob mean a Victorian Team.

This may have nothing to do with it all but Liam is still very close friend with M.Panos who lives in SA

22-09-2014, 01:40 PM

Hinkley has come out and said they want another forward and a ruckman.

22-09-2014, 01:42 PM
Maybe backing there fitness regime to increase his tank?

DISHLICKERS
22-09-2014, 01:47 PM
Regarding Jones I am guessing we should hear something soon.

With VFL all done we should either hear he is re-signing (the club would prob like to make such announcement sooner than later after the VFL win) or he has requested to be traded with his preferred club to be nominated at some stage later.

Hoping its the former.

22-09-2014, 02:04 PM
Maybe backing there fitness regime to increase his tank?

To be honest that's an indictment on him.

22-09-2014, 02:05 PM
Think the Port rumour is about Paddy Ryder, would be an amazing coup for the power, but would debunk one of Paddy ' big reasons for leaving in his fiance wanting to head back to Queensland.

22-09-2014, 03:15 PM
I don't think Paddy needs to justify his reasons for wanting to leave the Bombers in any way, shape or form!

22-09-2014, 03:48 PM
I don't think jones is going anywhere, he is just starting to come good, why would you get a guy to do an apprenticeship with you then turf hm when his position is our biggest weakness ?

22-09-2014, 03:49 PM
I don't think jones is going anywhere, he is just starting to come good, why would you get a guy to do an apprenticeship with you then turf hm when his position is our biggest weakness ?

Don't think its the bulldogs who want to get rid of him. We have offered a contract but he is looking at his options. We certainly want him to stay

22-09-2014, 03:59 PM
If this is true, then something has to change:

Sydney has entered the race for Melbourne defender James Frawley, with reports of a six-year, $800,000 per season offer has been tabled.

22-09-2014, 04:04 PM

where is this from?

22-09-2014, 04:06 PM
where is this from?

https://twitter.com/theafloffseason

22-09-2014, 04:09 PM

They open a fair bit of space in their salary cap with Goodes, Malceski and possibly Reid gone.

22-09-2014, 05:00 PM
And Mitchell was on 500.000 a year

22-09-2014, 05:15 PM
and the Hyphen and ROK. They'd be in rebuild in anybody elses terms, but these players going will barely register a ripple.

22-09-2014, 05:15 PM

Because he's asking more than we want to / can give? I guess we could always ask others to take a pay cut...

22-09-2014, 10:01 PM
Because he's asking more than we want to / can give? I guess we could always ask others to take a pay cut...

Doesn't really hold water considering we are paying under the salary cap at the moment.

23-09-2014, 08:20 AM

The former. He's asking more than we are wanting to give. Could just be part of the negotiation process so we'll see how it ends up. Intriguing that at this stage neither he nor Wood have re-signed

23-09-2014, 08:44 AM
AFL Draft, Trade, Free Agency, List and General News (https://www.facebook.com/AFLSeasonAndOffSeasonNews?fref=nf).

The Bombers have met with Victorian-bound swingman Kristian Jakach who could be included in a deal that may see Ryder head to the Giants should it be his destination of choice.

Why would Ryder want to go to GWS

23-09-2014, 08:47 AM
AFL Draft, Trade, Free Agency, List and General News (https://www.facebook.com/AFLSeasonAndOffSeasonNews?fref=nf).

Barrett and Robinson have both said GWS are the front-runner. Better offer perhaps?

23-09-2014, 08:53 AM
The former. He's asking more than we are wanting to give. Could just be part of the negotiation process so we'll see how it ends up. Intriguing that at this stage neither he nor Wood have re-signed

Given how utterly stoked Wood was with the Footscray win and how embedded he seems at the club I would be very surprised to see him go.

23-09-2014, 08:54 AM
Given how utterly stoked Wood was with the Footscray win and how embedded he seems at the club I would be very surprised to see him go.

It might not be his choice though. And i seem to remember Ward sitting with the boys watching Willy in the GF or prelim?? the year he left. I could be wrong though

23-09-2014, 08:55 AM
Doesn't really hold water considering we are paying under the salary cap at the moment.

Are we in a position to go up to the cap? Who is coming out of contract next year and the year after? These things as well as where we see Jones both in terms of current value and potential output have a direct bearing on our offer. I wouldn't think the difference between what he is asking and what we have offered would be substantial.

23-09-2014, 08:55 AM
Also heard Jay Clark on SEN this morning who indicated he wouldnt be surprised to see Minson traded to Geelong or another contender. Still said he is likely to stay but wouldn't be surprised if he was traded.

23-09-2014, 08:56 AM
Are we in a position to go up to the cap? Who is coming out of contract next year and the year after? These things as well as where we see Jones both in terms of current value and potential output have a direct bearing on our offer. I wouldn't think the difference between what he is asking and what we have offered would be substantial.

Apparently it is. However it is all hearsay at the moment so it could all be complete BS

23-09-2014, 09:07 AM

Of course we shouldn't pay what we don't think is correct. But I was simply referring to the comment about having to ask others to take a pay cut.

23-09-2014, 09:17 AM
The problem with Jones is there will be clubs willing to pay overs in the belief they can develop him better than we can. I really hope we can hold onto him but it will be difficult if we are unwilling to ramp up our offer to a point that we can compete with clubs keen on getting him.

23-09-2014, 09:18 AM

Money and guaranteed Premierships from the AFL.

23-09-2014, 09:23 AM
Also heard Jay Clark on SEN this morning who indicated he wouldnt be surprised to see Minson traded to Geelong or another contender. Still said he is likely to stay but wouldn't be surprised if he was traded.

It's a tough spot we're in right now with Will/Campbell+Cordy. Keep Will and Campbell plays less, trade Will and Campbell and Cordy take over. I love big Will but I really think we should listen if there are any offers.

23-09-2014, 09:35 AM
It's a tough spot we're in right now with Will/Campbell+Cordy. Keep Will and Campbell plays less, trade Will and Campbell and Cordy take over. I love big Will but I really think we should listen if there are any offers.

What does it do game day though? Imagine Ayce playing 95% game time in the ruck every week! it just wouldn't work and Tom needs to be played forward. Trading Will changes the game plan and changes the MC perceptions of the ruck, for better or worse.

We then would need more two ruckman who could play seniors on the list. JMac would earn his money on this issue.

23-09-2014, 09:46 AM
Will is not going to be around in 2 or 3 years so the game plan needs to change anyway. I see no issue whatsoever in trading Will out and giving Ayce and TC the keys to the ruck, with Jones and Rough to back up.

23-09-2014, 09:46 AM

Drafting Wright also complicates this. We then have Campbell, Cordy and Wright

23-09-2014, 09:58 AM
What does it do game day though? Imagine Ayce playing 95% game time in the ruck every week! it just wouldn't work and Tom needs to be played forward. Trading Will changes the game plan and changes the MC perceptions of the ruck, for better or worse.

We then would need more two ruckman who could play seniors on the list. JMac would earn his money on this issue.

Campbell and Cordy arenot ready to take on the number one ruck role at this stage. Give it another year and I can see Campbell as the number one.

23-09-2014, 10:02 AM
Campbell and Cordy arenot ready to take on the number one ruck role at this stage. Give it another year and I can see Campbell as the number one.
That maybe is where GMo was at. Trade Minson from pick 23 to 14-18 or so. Then ad lib bing, go and get a stop gap ruck with pick 100 (maybe state leaguer) for the season and bide our time. Then 2016 we have the boys as you say, but with an extra first round pick player and Minno doing a Lake for someone else?

23-09-2014, 10:09 AM
Just to get this straight - we spend 8 years developing Will to be a ruckman to trade him out after 2 years of actual proper service?

To me that doesn't make sense. We're a football club not a crèche, this is Supercoach.

23-09-2014, 10:13 AM
Just to get this straight - we spend 8 years developing Will to be a ruckman to trade him out after 2 years of actual proper service?

To me that doesn't make sense. We're a football club not a crèche, this is Supercoach.

It's a discussion, the same argument went for Brian and that trade happened in under a day. It's moot at BMac said outright, not even a shred of doubt Minson plays next year with us.

23-09-2014, 10:18 AM

They're not ready because they've never really been given the chance. I think Campbell is close, very close. We should have given Will some more breaks during the year, especially considering he was apparently struggling with injuries, and let Campbell have a better shake at the #1 ruck spot.

We've got Will for 2 more years haven't we? Does it hurt Tommy and Cordy if he stays until the end. Does Campbell go elsewhere for more opportunity? Will has more value now than the end of next season or the one after that. I'm not saying go and trade him out, I'm saying we'd be crazy not to listen to what is on offer.

23-09-2014, 10:51 AM
It's a discussion, the same argument went for Brian and that trade happened in under a day. It's moot at BMac said outright, not even a shred of doubt Minson plays next year with us.
Very, very different issues.

Lake had given us many years of service and would have been a highly sought after FA in 12 months.

Minson has been on a long development cycle and we're only now seeing the fruits of our program. What's the point of developing a player for many years, only to shove them off when they start to show something, so we can clog up a list space for another 5, 6, 7 years developing a player to perform the same role?

There's a reason so many clubs are reluctant to spend a high draft pick (or any pick) on an 18 year old ruckman

23-09-2014, 11:02 AM

Personally I think a fit Brian Lake for a couple of years was worth hanging on to until Roughie, Roberts Talia were really ready to take over. We know how hard it is to develop tall players, lets not make the same mistakes.

23-09-2014, 11:08 AM
Port Adelaide supposedly have a Melbourne based ruckman just about locked away (and no, not Ryder)

23-09-2014, 11:16 AM
Port Adelaide supposedly have a Melbourne based ruckman just about locked away (and no, not Ryder)

No clues?

23-09-2014, 11:20 AM
Pick 15 for Will would be tempting.

23-09-2014, 11:22 AM
Is it true that Macrae took Jaksch to the Brownlow last night?

23-09-2014, 11:32 AM

Thats significant IF true.

23-09-2014, 11:43 AM
Thats significant IF true.

Selwood took his brother. Goodes took his mom a few years back. Boyd took Lower last year.

23-09-2014, 11:43 AM

Someone said it was someone said it wasn't. Not sure.

Most rumours indicate he is going to Carlton.

23-09-2014, 11:45 AM

How do you know they are not ready?

The more games Campbell & Cordy play the better and this will only be inhibited by keeping Minson.

23-09-2014, 11:45 AM
Selwood took his brother. Goodes took his mom a few years back. Boyd took Lower last year.

Bartel took Timmy Callan one year too.

23-09-2014, 11:48 AM

No. Prety usre he took one of his mates that is going overseas with him. Think his last name is O'shea

23-09-2014, 12:02 PM
Drafting Wright also complicates this. We then have Campbell, Cordy and Wright

Potentially a Great problem to have as Wright is more of a forward than a ruck man and Campbell and Cordy are better in the ruck than as forwards.

23-09-2014, 12:32 PM
Pick 15 for Will would be tempting.

A lot of bad blood between the Minsons and port power. Has enough water gone under the bridge?

23-09-2014, 01:31 PM

He was awful this year, so it's one great season.
He is 30 and rucks solo, and I think has hit his ceiling .
Give Campbell and Cordy some responsibility

23-09-2014, 01:43 PM

I wouldn't say awful but he took a step back I'm not aginst trading him but it could be a case of not knowing what you've got until it's gone.

Where would we stand if one of Cordy or Campbell goes down?

23-09-2014, 02:42 PM
I wouldn't say awful but he took a step back I'm not aginst trading him but it could be a case of not knowing what you've got until it's gone.

Where would we stand if one of Cordy or Campbell goes down?

Maybe rookie an experienced ruck, and it's time we gave them more responsibility.
I've got a Brian Lake feel about this whole thing

23-09-2014, 02:44 PM
Will has been very disparaging about Adelaide (heard him on radio recently), doubt he'd want to go back there.

23-09-2014, 04:46 PM
How do you know they are not ready?

The more games Campbell & Cordy play the better and this will only be inhibited by keeping Minson.

because they can't ruck - as well as Will.

23-09-2014, 04:53 PM
Maybe rookie an experienced ruck, and it's time we gave them more responsibility.
I've got a Brian Lake feel about this whole thing

Giles from GWS has been or will be delisted. Would be worth a rookie or late pick as back up for Tom and Ayce. I think it's time these guys were given more responsibility at senior level and if we can get something good for Wilbur and he is happy to go then I don't see an issue here.

23-09-2014, 04:55 PM
Giles from GWS has been or will be delisted. Would be worth a rookie or late pick as back up for Tom and Ayce. I think it's time these guys were given more responsibility at senior level and if we can get something good for Wilbur and he is happy to go then I don't see an issue here.

Giles reason for wanting to leave is he wants to be number one ruck.

23-09-2014, 05:02 PM
Rumours floating around.

Will Minson's management have met with Geelong.
Josh Jenkins might want out of Adelaide.

23-09-2014, 05:06 PM

That's surprising.

I remember when he took the number 4 at Adelaide he gave a few articles about how he wanted to show the Crows that a loyal player could play and excel in the number 4 after Tippett bailed on them.

23-09-2014, 05:20 PM
Giles reason for wanting to leave is he wants to be number one ruck.

That can't be right surely! He isn't good enough to be number 1 at any of the 18 clubs. His manager needs to stop telling him porky pies.

23-09-2014, 05:20 PM
That's surprising.

I remember when he took the number 4 at Adelaide he gave a few articles about how he wanted to show the Crows that a loyal player could play and excel in the number 4 after Tippett bailed on them.

As I said...definitely a 'rumour' and a long way from being substaintiated.

Gee he would be a good pick up though! Really like him as a player, heaps more development in him, but some great tools to work with at 6 foot 6, good pace, long kick...

23-09-2014, 05:25 PM
That can't be right surely! He isn't good enough to be number 1 at any of the 18 clubs. His manager needs to stop telling him porky pies.

He said he didn't get enough opportunities with Mumford there.

23-09-2014, 05:28 PM

Do they offer more around the ground?

23-09-2014, 05:29 PM
He said he didn't get enough opportunities with Mundy there.

Mumford I think you mean.

23-09-2014, 05:38 PM
Mumford I think you mean.

sorry yes.

23-09-2014, 05:38 PM
Do they offer more around the ground?

Their time will come, bit of patience please, lets teach these blokes how to play footy first.

23-09-2014, 05:39 PM
Rumours floating around.

Minson only signed a new contract with us last year so his management can't do a thing. It's our call.
Seems to me a lot of people think Minson is out of contract from all the rumours.
My thoughts are he isn't going anywhere and doesn't want to.

23-09-2014, 05:41 PM
Minson only signed a new contract with us last year so his management can't do a thing. It's our call.
Seems to me a lot of people think Minson is out of contract from all the rumours.
My thoughts are he isn't going anywhere and doesn't want to.

Lake was contracted, doesn't mean anything if all parties are willing to broker a deal.

23-09-2014, 06:01 PM

Just entering his prime. He's a strong body with no injuries - he'll ruck for 3-4 more years.

23-09-2014, 06:02 PM

Intraclub match practice suggests otherwise, Campbell easily has Minson's measure. To the point where the opposition mids rove off Campbell's taps.

23-09-2014, 06:03 PM
Rumours floating around.

Where do I sign? Would love to get Jenkins, he'll just keep getting better.

23-09-2014, 06:05 PM

Yep, would much prefer him to Jaksch. Exactly the type we're crying out for in that he can sit deep, busts packs, leads well and finishes off his good work while taking a useful turn in the ruck.

23-09-2014, 06:11 PM
Lake was contracted, doesn't mean anything if all parties are willing to broker a deal.

Yes and according to mc Cartney jones and Minson aren't going anywhere. And from what Minson has said after the so called walk out , he isn't going anywhere, except to work harder this year .

23-09-2014, 06:14 PM
Lake was a different kettle of fish, injury prone, told the club he would leave for nothing next year anyway and he wasn't going to see success at our club anyway as we were just starting to rebuild, we needed kids and we got Stevens and Hrovat.
Minson is no comparison to that trade.

23-09-2014, 06:29 PM
Just entering his prime. He's a strong body with no injuries - he'll ruck for 3-4 more years.

Not rucking solo at AFL level .

23-09-2014, 06:30 PM

Wow! Forward who can ruck are very handy.

23-09-2014, 06:31 PM
Yes and according to mc Cartney jones and Minson aren't going anywhere. And from what Minson has said after the so called walk out , he isn't going anywhere, except to work harder this year .

In fairness we were told Lake wasn't being traded either.

23-09-2014, 06:31 PM
Their time will come, bit of patience please, lets teach these blokes how to play footy first.

So they should sit in the VFL all year?

23-09-2014, 06:33 PM
So they should sit in the VFL all year?

If Minson goes 3 or 4 more years then what happens to Cordy and Campbell?
Glad some here don't make list management decisions, as we'd have a team of 40 year olds

23-09-2014, 06:52 PM
If Minson goes 3 or 4 more years then what happens to Cordy and Campbell?
Glad some here don't make list management decisions, as we'd have a team of 40 year olds

Our planning should be 2016 & beyond. Will shouldn't be planning every game as number 1 ruck next season if he hangs around.

23-09-2014, 07:05 PM

This is a joke right? Jenkins is completely useless and has already been delisted

doggies ftw
23-09-2014, 07:19 PM
If Campbell spends all of next year in the 2s i would almost bet money he would be looking for opportunities elsewhere, and would be getting a heap of offers. Tell Minno that if he stays Campbell is going to play at the very least 5 + games as first ruck, if he doesn't like the sound of that all good and we will try to get him to where he wants to go. Win win situation if you ask me. (providing we get something good of course)

23-09-2014, 07:20 PM
This is a joke right? Jenkins is completely useless and has already been delisted

I think you must have your Jenkins' mixed up. This guy can play!

23-09-2014, 07:40 PM
I think you must have your Jenkins' mixed up. This guy can play!

Aaa hhhh. Brain fart. Was thinking of Angus Graham. My bad!

23-09-2014, 07:43 PM
I'm surprised Cordy is getting a mention in regards to replacing Minson. Agree his is a better ruck than forward but make no mistake and you can quote me on this, Cordy is not and will never be an AFL standard player. Campbell on the other hand maybe never be All Australian like Minson, but I reckon he add more value than him over his career span.

23-09-2014, 07:53 PM

Same. He's a monster in the fitness stakes, good below his knees for a big man, his kicking is much improved and he can clunk a contested mark as well as being handy on the lead.

23-09-2014, 08:01 PM
Rumours floating around.

Maybe Jenkins wants to come back to Victoria?

Interestingly Essendon have lost a few rookie listed and bendigo affiliated players - Jenkins, Crameri, Dickson & Campbell.

23-09-2014, 08:07 PM
What about Stringer? Was he in the programme?

23-09-2014, 08:32 PM
If Campbell spends all of next year in the 2s i would almost bet money he would be looking for opportunities elsewhere, and would be getting a heap of offers. Tell Minno that if he stays Campbell is going to play at the very least 5 + games as first ruck, if he doesn't like the sound of that all good and we will try to get him to where he wants to go. Win win situation if you ask me. (providing we get something good of course)

How about we just pick the team on performance and not make threats?

23-09-2014, 08:49 PM

We need to break the mould. I wouldn't be sorry to see Minson go,whose good year in 2013 was a one off. Ruck men like Goldstein Ryder and Sandilands have all gone past big Will. Based on the VFL Grand Final Campbell looked streets better than Cordy who sadly has limitations as Ruck man. Campbell and Jenkins would have a lot of appeal. Jones IMO has been the victim of too much expectations placed on him as our main key forward. He isn't a Franklin Roughead Cloke or Hawkins but could still be a handy second or third tall forward. I would think someone like Sam Reid playing in a successful Sydney Swans forward line would be ideal in our side.

23-09-2014, 09:10 PM
Is there any suggestion Jenkins wants to leave the Crows?

23-09-2014, 09:12 PM
Is there any suggestion Jenkins wants to leave the Crows?

Nothing I have read

23-09-2014, 09:21 PM
Aaa hhhh. Brain fart. Was thinking of Angus Graham. My bad!

I was wondering who the hell you were thinking of, now I understand. Graham is terrible!

23-09-2014, 11:36 PM
That goes a long way to explain why he's been delisted then.

24-09-2014, 05:52 AM
A bit more on Minson

Back injury to Will Minson that sabotaged 2014 season occurred while studying for engineering exam

The Herald Sun can reveal Minson triggered the little-known injury spending up to 10 hours a day studying a fluid mechanics subject over a three-week period last November.

The pain and restriction which flared in his lower back left the big man unable to train before Christmas and severely hampered his preparations for the 2014 season.

While Minson has kept the details of his back battle quiet, the injury was a key reason behind his form slump that saw the star big man drop from All-Australian last year to 17th in the club’s best and fairest.

It is understood Minson was hindered, in particular, in his ability to run and spread from the contest and then suffered a drop in confidence after his average start to the season.

He was dropped for the club’s Round 22 clash against Sydney Swans.

The difficult season has sparked speculation Minson, 29, could be open for a trade but the club has strongly denied it would consider trading its No. 1 ruckman.

The Dogs have Tom Campbell and Ayce Cordy as reserve ruckmen, leaving the Dogs without an established senior ruckman who could cover Minson’s absence.

Minson has also privately dismissed reports of a rift with coach Brendan McCartney and instead agreed with the coach’s unforgiving assessment of the team’s performance this season.
The 179-gamer, who is contracted at the kennel for next season, would not comment during an appearance at Federation Square yesterday.

The Dogs are confident Minson’s back problems are behind him after making modifications to his house and lifestyle to limit the time he spends sitting down.

Minson was forced to stand up as others sat down during the Western Bulldogs team meetings this year.

He has also has an elevated desk and other raised surfaces at home so he can study standing up.

LINK (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/back-injury-to-will-minson-that-sabotaged-2014-season-occurred-while-studying-for-engineering-exam/story-fni5fazt-1227068251424)

24-09-2014, 07:40 AM
Fluid mechanics took 3 weeks? Shit runs downhill, done!

24-09-2014, 08:52 AM
Jenkins would be just about the perfect recruit for us. Can't see Adelaide losing him though. Unless he really loved Sando and now wants out.

24-09-2014, 10:35 AM
Fluid mechanics took 3 weeks? Shit runs downhill, done!

What's fluid mechanics about anyway?

24-09-2014, 12:02 PM
What's fluid mechanics about anyway?

When they tell you it'll cost $2k to change your tyres

doggies ftw
24-09-2014, 12:03 PM
How about we just pick the team on performance and not make threats?

Well then we will have Minno for the next couple of years and then when we really need a gun ruckman we will have to trade for one while Campbell dominates somewhere else. I just think it's the best situation for our club moving forward.

Lol not making any threats but I'd just be pointing out to Minno that we will have to give Campbell some game time as first ruck, which we absolutely must do, if he's okay with that then fantastic, if he's not then okay we will try to get him to his preferred club.

24-09-2014, 12:13 PM
Just looked at Jones stats through the VFL final series (Qual, Prelim & Grand).
Averages:
- 3 goals 1 behind
- 13 Disposals
- 11 Kicks (8.33 effective / 2.67 ineffective)
- 2 Handballs (0.33 effective / 1.67 ineffective)
- 8.33 Marks (4.67 contested, 3.67 uncontested)

I'd like to see Jones stay

24-09-2014, 12:28 PM
Just looked at Jones stats through the VFL final series (Qual, Prelim & Grand).
Averages:
- 3 goals 1 behind
- 13 Disposals
- 11 Kicks (8.33 effective / 2.67 ineffective)
- 2 Handballs (0.33 effective / 1.67 ineffective)
- 8.33 Marks (4.67 contested, 3.67 uncontested)

I'd like to see Jones stay

I'd like to see Jones have a few runs of three or four weeks at a time where he puts together similar numbers against AFL standard defenders.

24-09-2014, 12:32 PM
I'd like to see Jones have a few runs of three or four weeks at a time where he puts together similar numbers against AFL standard defenders.

Shoemmakers isn't even VFL standard.
Liam's become Pluggeresque to some on here

24-09-2014, 12:40 PM
Gotta love the tackle by Redpath .. Just saying anytime I see that name Shoemmakers I think of big Jack now :-)

24-09-2014, 01:47 PM
Gotta love the tackle by Redpath .. Just saying anytime I see that name Shoemmakers I think of big Jack now :-)

There was one stage where he attempted to tackle, spoil, kill and get the ball on the HFF area. All this was in the space of about 3 seconds. Was like watching motion in fast forward. I'd never seen a man of his size do so many things in such a short space.

24-09-2014, 03:56 PM
Been reported in age Higgins is unlikely to be with us next year he wants 3 years we offered two but still talking to club