View Full Version : Finals series 2014

05-09-2014, 07:42 PM
Cracking game tonight, hopefully Geelong don't get too much of a free ride from the umps.

05-09-2014, 08:31 PM
Think the Hawks will pull away fairly comfortably in the end.

bull79
05-09-2014, 09:38 PM
I hate the fact that Brian lake will be remembered as a Hawthorn Great!!!!!!!!

05-09-2014, 09:43 PM
I hate the fact that Brian lake will be remembered as a Hawthorn Great!!!!!!!!

Yep, it landed us Hrovat so that aspect is awesome. But they could get premiershipS . I guess best big to think about our gift to the Hawks.

05-09-2014, 09:49 PM
Win win deal. And I had 50 on him at $101 Norm Smith last year. Very happy with the trade!

05-09-2014, 09:55 PM
Win win deal. And I had 50 on him at $101 Norm Smith last year. Very happy with the trade!

Bloody Hell, you're the winner out of that.

bull79
05-09-2014, 09:57 PM
B.Lake would be the best back we ever had? team of the century? Hrovat is just starting, but thats a very big rebate to live upto.

05-09-2014, 10:54 PM
We should concern ourselves with our side of the equation .
Hrovat looks a great player in the making . Jury is still out on Stevens
On tonight's game Geelong hung on for dear life and always looked like a blowout coming.
Mitchell and Hill prolific, as well as Selwood.
Geelong looked old tonight, and their top end talent is showing signs of hitting the wall.
Thought they missed a trick not tagging either Hill or Smith, who were damaging . Geelongs lack of a hit up is also hurting.
Hawthorns recycled player record is first rate

05-09-2014, 11:37 PM
I went along tonight.

My observations are, terrible crowd for a first final - IIRC, our QF in 2008 v Hawks drew 82k+...

Reasonable contest overall - some poor umpiring (as usual) but some good individual efforts and ultimately, the better side won.

These 2 sides are really the blueprint of where we need to get to, they have stayed in the top echelon for an extended period of time of the back of building a great list, and making strategic moves both through the draft, and trade periods - whilst also being prepared to make tough decisions.

The reality is, I'm just glad the Crows no longer have Gunston and Tippett to go with Walker.

06-09-2014, 12:47 AM
My observations are, terrible crowd for a first final - IIRC, our QF in 2008 v Hawks drew 82k+...

76,703 in 08, 74,753 tonight

06-09-2014, 01:17 AM
The MCC expected 80,000 tonight so that's a very disappointing turnout.

The better team won - Geelong did well to hang in there, and always make sides genuinely 'work' to get significant wins over them, but Hawthorn are streets ahead.

If North get over Essendon tomorrow night, you'd have to give them every chance to knock Geelong off.

06-09-2014, 03:10 AM
Disagree, I think Geelong are streets ahead of North or the Bombers and they will make it to the pre-lim. Will not beat Freo nor the Swans interstate though. The Hawks look to have the right formula again! Present company excluded, what a brilliant finals layout it has turned out to be!

06-09-2014, 08:08 AM
B.Lake would be the best back we ever had? team of the century? Hrovat is just starting, but thats a very big rebate to live upto.

EJ went alright I hear.

06-09-2014, 09:20 AM
76,703 in 08, 74,753 tonight

You're right, not sure why I had it in my head it was 80k+ - either way, pretty sad state of affairs that 2 clubs boasting combined membership of over 100,000 couldn't even crack 75k at the game.

06-09-2014, 03:03 PM

Herb Henderson is our full back in the team of the Century. Not Lake. Lake isn't in the 24 players chosen.

06-09-2014, 03:17 PM

I don't even think of Lake as a Bulldog. Those wees and poos colours that douchebag wears now suits him perfectly.

06-09-2014, 03:32 PM
Herb Henderson is our full back in the team of the Century. Not Lake. Lake isn't in the 24 players chosen.

To be fair the bulk of Lake's games, and his best, came after 2002 when this side was picked.

06-09-2014, 03:32 PM
He has always seemed a little doucheish even more so now. Incredible player though!

06-09-2014, 03:38 PM
Man, Gary Rohan's foot skills in this game have been deplorable. In a game where skills haven't been great, he's stood out

06-09-2014, 03:46 PM
Buddy justs drops the ball twice, if you take the player on and don't dispose of it correctly surely that is BALL!

06-09-2014, 03:52 PM
Freo hanging in there, but you feel they are holding back a dam wall.

06-09-2014, 03:53 PM
Sydney bombing into 50 and not lowering the eyes.
Tough old game this one .

06-09-2014, 03:54 PM
Freo hanging in there, but you feel they are holding back a dam wall.

Feels that way, but Sydney are not being smart inside 50.
Being seduced by having to many key forwards

06-09-2014, 04:02 PM
To be fair the bulk of Lake's games, and his best, came after 2002 when this side was picked.

I realize that. The poster I was answering wondered whether Lake was in the team of the Century.

06-09-2014, 04:53 PM
Love the Shawshank reference with Buddy, great call!

06-09-2014, 05:00 PM
Is it just me or a Sydney getting a dream run with the men in yellow?

The 19-10 free kick count at the minute supports my case.

06-09-2014, 05:06 PM
Is it just me or a Sydney getting a dream run with the men in yellow?

The 19-10 free kick count at the minute supports my case.

Yep thinking the same especially in the forward half.

06-09-2014, 05:08 PM
WWE. Seems a little predetermined...

06-09-2014, 05:15 PM
Great tough game of footy, and the umpiring's been good.
Franklins goal on the boundary was something special.

06-09-2014, 05:19 PM
Sydney are going to be hard to stop for the flag.

06-09-2014, 05:24 PM
Sydney are going to be hard to stop for the flag.

Hawthorn vs Sydney would be the clear stand out match for the GF. Anything else would be a bit disappointing.

06-09-2014, 05:29 PM
Hawthorn vs Sydney would be the clear stand out match for the GF. Anything else would be a bit disappointing.

I'd prefer to see anything else.

Was hoping Freo would knock them and shut the clowns in the media up who just gush all over the glorified cheats.

06-09-2014, 05:33 PM

The question that needs asking isn't 'would we prefer Hrovat over Lake', its 'would we prefer 12 years of Hrovat over 3-4 years of Lake'.

06-09-2014, 05:36 PM
I'd prefer to see anything else.

Was hoping Freo would knock them and shut the clowns in the media up who just gush all over the glorified cheats.

As a game of football, it's a clear match of the best two teams. I wasn't really evaluating it on any other terms. I'm sure I'll hate whatever team wins regardless.

06-09-2014, 05:40 PM
The question that needs asking isn't 'would we prefer Hrovat over Lake', its 'would we prefer 12 years of Hrovat over 3-4 years of Lake'.

We also got the pick that we were able to trade for Stevens, so 12 years of Hrovat and probably 8 of Stevens.

06-09-2014, 06:02 PM
WWE. Seems a little predetermined...

The AFL has sacrificed the legitimacy of the competition for the sake of getting 30 odd thousand to a final in Sydney. What a joke.

06-09-2014, 06:10 PM
The AFL has sacrificed the legitimacy of the competition for the sake of getting 30 odd thousand to a final in Sydney. What a joke.

Come on Stache,

it was 35 thousand odd and that is a great crowd considering the weather and other stuff, like their supporters couldn't give a sh*t, like they finished on top of the ladder with marque players coming out of their a**e :rolleyes:

If you don't believe me ask the channel 7 commentators and they will tell you..... ;)

06-09-2014, 06:13 PM

I was reading Western Melbourne real estate is some of the most increased areas for housing prices. Maybe that qualifies us for COLA too now?

When the Buddy deal ends in tears, are we to think the AFL will allow Sydney suffer? I might be skeptical...

06-09-2014, 06:21 PM
Who do we collectively barrack for tonight? I would dearly love to see Boomer miss out for his dog act, but I hate those drug cheats so much! Hirds arrogance and just punch me face gets the the Kangas the nod!!

06-09-2014, 06:21 PM
We also got the pick that we were able to trade for Stevens, so 12 years of Hrovat and probably 8 of Stevens.

Can't really claim both, it was Lake & 28 (Tim O'Brien) for 21 & 44

06-09-2014, 06:26 PM
Who do we collectively barrack for tonight? I would dearly love to see Boomer miss out for his dog act, but I hate those drug cheats so much! Hirds arrogance and just punch me face gets the the Kangas the nod!!

I am going for the bombers.

06-09-2014, 06:34 PM
Yes it is difficult to decide which team I hate more. I prefer Mark Thompson over Scott any day. So I will go for the Bombers too. Looking forward to seeing Scott's presser if they lose.

06-09-2014, 08:18 PM
Good old Norf. Sucking it up big time, useless uncontested free flowing footy just doesn't stand up in finals.

06-09-2014, 08:22 PM
My god North are so overrated.

If it was me, I'd re-sign Brad Scott at half time. :)

06-09-2014, 08:23 PM
Good old Norf. Sucking it up big time, useless uncontested free flowing footy just doesn't stand up in finals.

Gotta feel for Boomer though. :)

06-09-2014, 08:28 PM
Gotta feel for Boomer though. :)

I'm sure Liam Picken is enjoying the game. Or I hope he is. :)

06-09-2014, 08:34 PM
How bad are Nth? Won't win games playing it in your back half. Too scared to go forward or take the game on.
Basically shit themselves cos its hard.

06-09-2014, 08:49 PM
How bad are Nth? Won't win games playing it in your back half. Too scared to go forward or take the game on.
Basically shit themselves cos its hard.

Bad enough to beat us by nearly 10 goals!

06-09-2014, 08:59 PM
And now essendon stinking it up. I hate both these teams so so much but not nearly as much as channel 7's Saturday night commentary.

06-09-2014, 09:04 PM
And now essendon stinking it up. I hate both these teams so so much but not nearly as much as channel 7's Saturday night commentary.

Apparently foxtel have there own commentary team?

06-09-2014, 09:07 PM

Is that all the crowd was? wow pathetic. Swans supporters must hate travelling west as most are upper class wankers from the eastern suburbs. It is a both a pity and a joke that they will probably end up winning the flag.

Ah yes the good old COLA. Decisions made by the AFL executive, with no understanding of grass roots football, whose sole premise is based on the almighty dollar; profiteering; power and market share all at the expense of the traditional clubs. The Clash sum it up perfectly in their song Koka Kola.

Elevator! Going up!
In the gleaming corridors of the 51st floor
The money can be made if you really want some more
Executive decision, a clinical precision
Jumping from the windows, filled with indecision

I get good advice from the advertising world
Treat me nice says the party girl
Koke adds life where there isn't any
So freeze, man, freeze

06-09-2014, 09:42 PM
Apparently foxtel have there own commentary team?

Not correct, just at the breaks.

Essendon are up and down on the spot... Look shot.

06-09-2014, 09:44 PM
James Hird the only Essendon person right now.

06-09-2014, 09:46 PM
Weird game, wished both teams would have lost but happy to see the dons stink it up again in a final.

06-09-2014, 09:49 PM
Interesting reactions by North Melbourne and their coaching team.

06-09-2014, 09:51 PM
Weird game, wished both teams would have lost but happy to see the dons stink it up again in a final.

How did they stink it up?

06-09-2014, 09:56 PM
How did they stink it up?

Did you watch the second half?

06-09-2014, 09:59 PM
Did you watch the second half?

06-09-2014, 10:02 PM

So, I'm not sure what your question is? Essendon were 33 points up at half time/early 3rd qtr and lost by 12 points. They stunk in the second half, stopped running, struggled around the contest and struggled to hit a target.

06-09-2014, 10:24 PM
Dislike both teams but happy to see the cheats run out of steam. As The Verve state "the drugs don't work. They make you worse".

06-09-2014, 10:24 PM
Now maybe come in James Hird and out walk ten players.:-)

06-09-2014, 10:47 PM
Took a client to the game tonight. He was a Don, but was very reasonable. We were sitting around an EFC heavy section in the AFL members and man they are weird folk.

I really couldn't lose tonight, though at the same time I couldn't win such is the lack of affection I have for these teams.

EFC were really terrible in the second half, Norf looked fresher and just executed better around the contests and moving away from contests.

Now as long as Norf lose next week and Harvey has a shit day out I'll be fine with things.

07-09-2014, 12:32 AM
Watched three quarters and gotta say the difference in the norf Bombre and Swans Freo was stark.
The norf game was like circle work in comparison. Brad Scott was happy with himself.
Geelong will win comfortably next week

07-09-2014, 12:34 AM
Now maybe come in James Hird and out walk ten players.:-)

Could you imagine if Carlisle walked and decided to play for the team he supported ?
I know I'm dreaming
Would that make Essendon our feeder club?;)

07-09-2014, 12:56 AM
Anyone else conflicted about tomorrow's final?

I've been a big fan of Port's over the last two seasons, but most serious footy fans would admire the Tigers coming back from the dead and effectively playing elimination finals for half a season.

07-09-2014, 02:45 AM
Hope Port win easily.
The Herald Tiger has been harder to digest than normal in the last few weeks.

07-09-2014, 03:00 AM

I wish you were right.

Went along tonight with 3 Bombers mates, and were seated near a pack of the worst Norf supporters known to man - nothing would have given me more enjoyment than the Bombers winning, and me pretending I cared to stick it up them.

Overall it was an enjoyable game - boy I'd love Brown or Joe in our side...

07-09-2014, 08:23 AM
So, I'm not sure what your question is? Essendon were 33 points up at half time/early 3rd qtr and lost by 12 points. They stunk in the second half, stopped running, struggled around the contest and struggled to hit a target.

Fair enough.. North obviously lifted in the 2nd half and Essendon couldn't go with them. Essendon's lack of run was noticeable and the injection of Dempsey did nothing to help their cause.. a few too many one pacers.

I thought Winderlich showed why he should retire, his 2nd half reminded me of Aker's PF in 2010.. Just couldn't run and will be worse off next year.

07-09-2014, 09:44 AM
Anyone else conflicted about tomorrow's final?

I've been a big fan of Port's over the last two seasons, but most serious footy fans would admire the Tigers coming back from the dead and effectively playing elimination finals for half a season.

I get where you're coming from but Melbourne would be an intolerable place to be with a Richmond win. It'd be like cutting off Collingwood's head only to have Richmond rise in their place.

07-09-2014, 09:55 AM
I hope Hawthorn don't win the Premiership.

07-09-2014, 11:16 AM

What's the alternative?... $ydney?

07-09-2014, 11:38 AM

What's the alternative?... $ydney?

I was thinking about this the other day:

Sydney - AFL sponsored flag, no thanks
Hawthorn - Self entitled whingeing supporters, no thanks
Fremantle - Ross Lyon and the battle of good watchable football over his crap, no thanks
Geelong - Supporters could be a lot worse than they are after the success they've had, players seem ok so perhaps
North - The least likeable bunch of blokes in the game, no thanks
Richmond - For reasons mentioned above, no thanks
Port Adelaide - Yeah, irrelevant to me so perhaps
Essendon - Arrogant, no thanks

So as far as I'm concerned, I'll only be moderately appeased if Geelong or Port win it.

07-09-2014, 03:38 PM
Richmond yet to turn up.

Apparently Cotchin chose to kick into the wind!

12 min mark.

7 goals 1 behind to zero.

07-09-2014, 03:46 PM
Loving it.

07-09-2014, 04:02 PM
I wish you were right.

Went along tonight with 3 Bombers mates, and were seated near a pack of the worst Norf supporters known to man - nothing would have given me more enjoyment than the Bombers winning, and me pretending I cared to stick it up them.

Overall it was an enjoyable game - boy I'd love Brown or Joe in our side...

Norths first half was terrible, they were shocking around the contest and because of that their free flowing stuff just didn't stand up
In the furnace of a final. Essendon exposed that but we're unable to sustain in the second half. Look forward to Norf getting pantsed next week.

07-09-2014, 04:19 PM
Just when you thought Richmond might not be a joke...

07-09-2014, 04:19 PM
Wow. Goes to show the gap between the top five or so and the rest. Richmond are completely out of their depth.

07-09-2014, 04:20 PM
Embarrassing in the most extreme way.

07-09-2014, 05:04 PM
Tiger train is looking like those two trains in Altona a few weeks ago.
What's with the crosses to punt rd ? It's an elimination final FFS

07-09-2014, 05:05 PM
Wow. Goes to show the gap between the top five or so and the rest. Richmond are completely out of their depth.

Herald Sun will be about 30 pages lighter this week.

07-09-2014, 05:13 PM
Herald Sun will be about 30 pages lighter this week.

Disagree, it will be 30 pages heavier as they have to review the aftermath and how families took out loans to fund their trip and now in debt etc etc etc.

12-09-2014, 10:10 PM
Norf look home here.
Geelong have been awful, and lucky to be this close.
Dal Santo and Sam Gibson pretty prominent .
I think the era is over for Geelong , but what a ride they've given .
Sydney and Hawthorn for me.

12-09-2014, 10:19 PM
Nervous Norfers.

12-09-2014, 10:27 PM
That's the game of the year so far.

12-09-2014, 10:32 PM
Norf panicked in the end and nobody wanted the ball.
Geelong were horrendous. Reckon next week will get ugly

12-09-2014, 10:34 PM
The result might not agree with this comment. But that's why you need a KPF gorilla type in finals. Geelong only got near stealing it off quick disposal on the head of a hulk.

12-09-2014, 11:05 PM
I'm one of the many who enjoy slapping Brad Scott, done well to get North into a prelim though

13-09-2014, 09:27 PM
Man, Freo dominated the first half but Port have turned it around in the 3rd. Totally different game

13-09-2014, 09:57 PM
Man, Freo dominated the first half but Port have turned it around in the 3rd. Totally different game

Amazing third quarter. Tough, quick, skillful footy.

Freo have started well in the fourth.

13-09-2014, 10:09 PM
Another big comeback by Port. Cracking last quarter

13-09-2014, 10:20 PM
Wingard = superstar

13-09-2014, 10:22 PM
Sgt Schultz: "I miss nussing!!"

13-09-2014, 10:23 PM
Wow.

13-09-2014, 10:23 PM
Sgt Schultz: "I miss nussing!!"

Lucky we didn't recruit him or he'd be crap. Great recruit for PA.

13-09-2014, 10:29 PM
I wish Hinkley was our coach

13-09-2014, 10:29 PM
Well done Port. Apparently no team had gone out in straight sets since 2007. Cats and Freo both managed it this year.

13-09-2014, 10:31 PM
So do I T&T so do I.

13-09-2014, 10:32 PM
I wish Hinkley was our coach

Go support port then.

13-09-2014, 10:34 PM
Go support port then.

It's a fair comment. He's turned Port around in a hurry and their game style is fantastic. I also wish Chad Wingard and Robbie Gray played for us. Doesn't mean I'm going to change teams.

13-09-2014, 10:39 PM
Go support port then.

Why?

13-09-2014, 10:43 PM
It's a silly comparison
Port were on the bottom when we were top 4
They've turned it around, and great for them.
On the game, Freo didn't take their chances and left the door open.
Port well lead by Boak when it was needed. Interesting for Freo, as they're an ageing side .

13-09-2014, 10:50 PM
What a game tonight, I'm not afraid to say I love (watching) the Power - huge second half.

13-09-2014, 10:53 PM
What a game tonight, I'm not afraid to say I love (watching) the Power - huge second half.

I really hope they knock off the Hawks.

13-09-2014, 10:56 PM
I really hope they knock off the Hawks.

Same. I'll be there cheering on the Pear.

14-09-2014, 11:43 AM

Ive been at a couple of the Power matches at Adelaide Oval this year, as a neutral fan the "never tear us apart" bit at the start stands the hairs up on your neck. The Crows put their duck mascot in the back of a Toyota Ute and do a lap of the Oval.

14-09-2014, 02:07 PM
Port beating the Hawks would be a dream come true for me.

14-09-2014, 06:52 PM
Port beating the Hawks would be a dream come true for me.

Would love to see it, if nothing else to show how ridiculous it was that they were being written off during their late season lean patch.

They've worked bloody hard to get where they are and are doning a great job, on field and off.

14-09-2014, 10:51 PM
Two fantastic games. Geelong/Freo unlucky with a few injuries, and that's all that their opposition needed in a close competition.

How unbelievably stupid are Melbourne for passing on Wines for Toumpas? How many mistakes can one club continually make? It's absolutely extraordinary.

14-09-2014, 10:59 PM
Two fantastic games. Geelong/Freo unlucky with a few injuries, and that's all that their opposition needed in a close competition.

How unbelievably stupid are Melbourne for passing on Wines for Toumpas? How many mistakes can one club continually make? It's absolutely extraordinary.

Hopefully at least 2 more with picks 3 & 4 this year.

15-09-2014, 12:33 AM
A Port North Melbourne Grand Final would be great. Two teams that play unpredictable football. Although all the teams left play pretty good footy.

Now that Freo are out of it the prelims should be good games.

15-09-2014, 07:29 AM

To be fair I don't think it's the picks that Melbourne is stuffing up, but rather the next stage. It isn't like any of Watts, Toumpas, Scully, Trengove, Blease, Tapscott, Gysberts etc. were huge reaches or anything, they were all rated highly and worthy of the picks used on them for the most part. It's just Melbourne is so bad at developing young players that they turn them into duds. If they picked Wines and Port picked Toumpas I would not be surprised if the above statement was reversed two years after the the draft.

If there is one club I would be dreading being drafted to it would be Melbourne, they ruin players too often beyond repair.

15-09-2014, 10:51 AM
It is a stark reality that the majority of Melbourne's best players this year started their lives at a different club. Tyson, Vince, Cross, all finishing top 5 in their b & f, the argument that Melbourne is not the ideal platform for a quality young player to enter the AFL is pretty strong. I know it can happen with father-son as when Marc Murphy opted out of Brisbane but will the day ever come when a young player simply refuses to join a particular club?

15-09-2014, 11:06 AM
It is a stark reality that the majority of Melbourne's best players this year started their lives at a different club. Tyson, Vince, Cross, all finishing top 5 in their b & f, the argument that Melbourne is not the ideal platform for a quality young player to enter the AFL is pretty strong. I know it can happen with father-son as when Marc Murphy opted out of Brisbane but will the day ever come when a young player simply refuses to join a particular club?

You wouldn't think so. I believe if a player does that then they aren't eligible to go to another AFL club until the expiration of the contract. While the draftee wouldn't have a club contract to honour in this instance, he would have signed something when nominating for the draft which pretty much was the same thing.

Besides, you would take the 2 year contract, with the pay, hang around for one year and then ask for a trade and hope your value hasn't depreciated too much (it seems to take one and a half years for players to be Demonised).

15-09-2014, 11:25 AM
Wingard = superstar

Yep. That run and carry along the wing and then to get the final possession and kick the goal was nothing short of brilliant. Our reserves have always been my second team, but with the likes of Wingard, Wines, Boak and Gray, I feel a little movement down below when Port play their style. Great to watch.

Saturday afternoon at the G will be a belter. Cornes will be so important in a lock down role on one or more of the Hawthorn mids. Port's speed across the ground will be important and Broadbent will need to keep Breust in check. I'll be at Bayswater watching the Norsemen of Norwood take on the Tigers of Balwyn in the EFL Divison 1 GF, but will definitely record the game so I can watch half of it before falling asleep on the couch on Saturday night.

16-09-2014, 07:43 PM
I like Port and I do think they are a chance v Hawthorn, but they'd have to play their absolute best, and given they've had two trips to Perth in the last 3 or so weeks, it's a really tough ask.

They need to start well.

19-09-2014, 08:08 PM
Conflicted tonight.

Don't want Sydney to win because of COLA, whilst I don't want Norf - the wankers they are - to achieve more than any Bulldogs team (all good blokes, of course) since '61.

19-09-2014, 08:17 PM
Conflicted tonight.

Don't want Sydney to win because of COLA, whilst I don't want Norf - the wankers they are - to achieve more than any Bulldogs team (all good blokes, of course) since '61.

I feel the same.

I'd like to see Sydney win but lose a dozen players to injury/suspension in the process.

You think you hate Sydney now? There's a strong rumour going around that Ryder is getting Brisbane to do the dirty work on breaking his contract and then will sign with Sydney.

19-09-2014, 09:02 PM
Its time for North Melbourne to activate the sub. Time to bring Brent Harvey into the game after half time.

19-09-2014, 09:24 PM
Who would've thought the team with an unfair advantage in the salary cap would make the grand final...

19-09-2014, 09:32 PM
Gee Gary Rohan certainly hasnt lost any pace. It's noticeable how solid Sydney's younger players are.

Drew Petries misses late in the first and early in the second certainy hurt. Obviously wouldn't have made a difference.

19-09-2014, 09:33 PM
Who would've thought the team with an unfair advantage in the salary cap would make the grand final...

I did.

Oh wait, are you being sarcastic? ;)

19-09-2014, 09:35 PM
I did.

Oh wait, are you being sarcastic? ;)

Me. Never. :)

19-09-2014, 10:03 PM
Lindsay Thomas the cheesedick goes for the bump rather than the smother on Malceski. Sums up these wankers.

19-09-2014, 10:11 PM
Can anyone tell me which elite skills Josh Kennedy has at his disposal? Why is he rated so highly?

I don't watch enough AFL outside of the Bulldogs, so I don't know.

19-09-2014, 10:15 PM
Its time for North Melbourne to activate the sub. Time to bring Brent Harvey into the game after half time.

Funny ;)
Great thing is we don't have wall to wall Norf media this week.

19-09-2014, 10:17 PM
Can anyone tell me which elite skills Josh Kennedy has at his disposal? Why is he rated so highly?

I don't watch enough AFL outside of the Bulldogs, so I don't know.

Great footballer . When the whips were cracking early he was great.
Missed half the game watching North QlD cowboys come back from 30 pts down to get ripped off again.

19-09-2014, 10:18 PM
Great footballer . When the whips were cracking early he was great.
Missed half the game watching North QlD cowboys come back from 30 pts down to get ripped off again.

I love you Remi, you know that, but you haven't answered my question.

19-09-2014, 10:24 PM
41 scoring shots by Sydney. In my wildest dreams I've never thought of us having 41 scoring shots in any game, let alone a prelim. 41.

19-09-2014, 10:26 PM
Great win for the little guy tonight.

As a lifelong supporter of a small cap market Melbourne based team, tonight was an outstanding example of the legitimacy and integrity that is the AFL.

41 scoring shots by Sydney. In my wildest dreams I've never thought of us having 41 scoring shots in any game, let alone a prelim. 41.

Yep. Did it with ease.

One of the great days of footy - Essendon obliterated and then the sheepdog on the receiving end of a customary finals humiliation after worming his way out of a suspension.

19-09-2014, 10:44 PM
Norf's last two prelim finals . Ouch
We know the whole cola stuff is outrageous, but they still have a pretty decent team.
Recruiting's been exceptional, and their work rate is first class.
Norf's back 6 are ordinary

19-09-2014, 11:07 PM
I love you Remi, you know that, but you haven't answered my question.

He gets the ball and is tough, runs both ways. Not an elite footballer, but a very good one .
Can I go back and sit on the fence now?

19-09-2014, 11:07 PM
I'm a bit surprised by the sentiment to be honest guys.

I'm just as happy as anyone else seeing EFC eat the proverbial mouth cake, but how is Sydney winning over Norf (aside from talent being something we all worship) something we can laud?

19-09-2014, 11:09 PM
Great win for the little guy tonight.

As a lifelong supporter of a small cap market Melbourne based team, tonight was an outstanding example of the legitimacy and integrity that is the AFL.
With ya Grey, but I can't handle another 45 Drew Petrie interviews .
Nor another week of Scott justigulating in the box .

20-09-2014, 06:42 AM
I'm in Sydney and was out at a pub last night and I can tell you out of 100 people I was the only one interested in the footy. Was a good game of NRL on but they had Buddy and Tippett running amok and they couldn't care less!

20-09-2014, 08:16 AM
I'm in Sydney and was out at a pub last night and I can tell you out of 100 people I was the only one interested in the footy. Was a good game of NRL on but they had Buddy and Tippett running amok and they couldn't care less!

I was in a pub in Melbourne and the atmosphere was probably just as dead. I couldn't imagine a worse game for a prelim, Buddy and Tippett show or not. (Actually Luke Parker was my favourite to watch last night).

20-09-2014, 08:41 AM
I was in a pub in Melbourne and the atmosphere was probably just as dead. I couldn't imagine a worse game for a prelim, Buddy and Tippett show or not. (Actually Luke Parker was my favourite to watch last night).

Parker was outstanding. One of my favourite players going around.

North were just unable to put up a fight. Really hope this afternoons game is a different story.

20-09-2014, 09:04 AM
It was a bit Globetrotter - Washington Generalist! We need to get used to it though. Sydney to dominate for the next 3 years or so then GC and GWS to take the mantle, we'll done AFL the guardians of the game can go and get f@$ked!

20-09-2014, 09:15 AM
What do people think the real value of COLA is, I mean tangibly it's about $1.5m, but what about the kicker in that 1.5 used to lure superstars that everyone else in the team wants to play with. If I was playing next to buddy and Tippett in a dominant team I would be happy to earn 50 - 100k less a year than if I was playing for a shite team. I'm really ranting now but I just can't stand the blatant wrongdoing that has occurred at the hands of Demetrio and his cronies, they should all get a premiership medal as well!

20-09-2014, 05:15 PM
Port all over Hawthorn.
Should be 4 or 5 goals up

20-09-2014, 05:18 PM
Port all over Hawthorn.
Should be 4 or 5 goals up

Squandered chances may hurt them. The squawks will fire up this quarter Port needs to Keep applying pressure.

20-09-2014, 05:20 PM
What do people think the real value of COLA is, I mean tangibly it's about $1.5m, but what about the kicker in that 1.5 used to lure superstars that everyone else in the team wants to play with. If I was playing next to buddy and Tippett in a dominant team I would be happy to earn 50 - 100k less a year than if I was playing for a shite team. I'm really ranting now but I just can't stand the blatant wrongdoing that has occurred at the hands of Demetrio and his cronies, they should all get a premiership medal as well!
They've recruited well though,and I don't think that should be lost.
Rampe taken as a rookie, Parker pick 40, Hanneberry pick 30 odd.
Richards ( discarded) Grundy was a rookie . Nick Smith wasn't an early pick either.
The cola's a disgrace, because it's not used for it's attended purpose .

20-09-2014, 05:32 PM
Hawks back in it with a soft free kick and a fifty.

20-09-2014, 05:33 PM
Port kicked themselves out of this, they had a chance to blow this wide open early.

20-09-2014, 05:44 PM
Is it me or do the Hawks seem to be in favour with the umps ?

20-09-2014, 05:57 PM
Is it me or do the Hawks seem to be in favour with the umps ?

They are getting the run of the umps that is for sure.

20-09-2014, 06:09 PM
They are, but FFS their supporters are such self entitled whingers.

20-09-2014, 06:28 PM
Monfries, what a courageous mark. Outstanding to keep his team in it.

20-09-2014, 07:01 PM
Wingard virtually non-existent today.

20-09-2014, 07:10 PM
Hawthorn are home, but gee Port are a real threat next year onwards.
On this showing Sydney will be favourite

20-09-2014, 07:22 PM
Say what you want about the league, but you can't help but love this game.

20-09-2014, 07:23 PM
Umpires are disgusting.

That holding the ball against Port in the last minute ruined the final moments of the game. Unnecessary intervention.

Great game of footy though. Well done to Port and the Hawks. Port will rue that as one that got away.

20-09-2014, 07:23 PM
Great effort from Port, a lesser side would have just rolled over.

20-09-2014, 07:29 PM
Wingard virtually non-existent today.

Noting the time on your post, he did well to get himself to lift in the last quarter.

20-09-2014, 07:30 PM
Umpires are disgusting.

That holding the ball against Port in the last minute ruined the final moments of the game. Unnecessary intervention.

Great game of footy though. Well done to Port and the Hawks. Port will rue that as one that got away.

Umpires were a real disgrace tonight, what a bloody joke.

Port are a great team to watch I wish we played that style of play, instead of the STUPID game plan we have.

I hope Million dollar Sydney smash Hawthorn.

20-09-2014, 07:30 PM
They blew it in the first quarter. And what a ridiculous holding the ball free, could possibly have cost them the game.

20-09-2014, 07:32 PM

Not for me. Sydney are everything thats wrong with this competition and I hope the Hawks beat the AFL's lovechild.

20-09-2014, 07:33 PM
Not for me. Sydney are everything thats wrong with this competition and I hope the Hawks beat the AFL's lovechild.

How many Hawks Premierships do we want.

20-09-2014, 07:37 PM
How many Hawks Premierships do we want.

If they are winning them honestly they can win as many as they deserve. I have a lot of admiration for what the Hawks have achieved.

20-09-2014, 07:42 PM
If they are winning them honestly they can win as many as they deserve. I have a lot of admiration for what the Hawks have achieved.

Same here Chef.

20-09-2014, 07:43 PM
Umpires were a real disgrace tonight, what a bloody joke.

Port are a great team to watch I wish we played that style of play, instead of the STUPID game plan we have.

We both know we don't have the cattle to play the same game plan.

20-09-2014, 07:57 PM
Andrew Moore should have hit the top of the square with that kick.
Wingard and Boak were great in that last term, but Wingard's got to get himself fit for a midfield role.
I don't know why some are comparing us to them. While we're contesting they were putrid, and basically made an awful coaching selection.

20-09-2014, 08:02 PM

Same here. Can't stand when the Swans win especially amongst people I know who are on the Swans bandwagon and have no real idea about the game. They wouldn't know what supporting a real team feels like.

20-09-2014, 08:11 PM
Battle of the plastic flakey glory hunter fan base cup next week.

20-09-2014, 08:21 PM
Umpires are disgusting.

And then no decision for exactly the same thing against Hawthorn just on the siren 50m out from Port's goal for a chance to win it.

20-09-2014, 08:56 PM
Umpires are disgusting.

At first I disagreed, but watching it again the Port player picked the balk up off the deck and was brought to the ground. Bad decision.

On the plus side, it was great to see a correctly overturned score on review.

20-09-2014, 10:19 PM
Really feel for Port, massive effort and played well after butchering a lot of early chances to be right in at the end.

Umpiring was pretty poor, and a few decisions/on-decisions at crucial moments went Hawthorn's way - but still, Port had their chances and if they'd kick straighter or played just a little smarter in patches they would have won.

20-09-2014, 10:33 PM

Listening to smarmy hawthorn supporters tonight, I hope sydney win.

20-09-2014, 11:41 PM
Sorry, if I gave the impression the umpiring was the difference for mine.

Port were simply superb in the first part of the game and wasted a chance at a grand final due to their wasteful use.

As 'stache said there was a worse example at the end of the game that went unrewarded and that really annoyed me.

21-09-2014, 06:06 AM
Went to the game last night and it was an absolute cracker. Hawthorn really turned the screws in the middle 2 qtrs after dodging a number of bullets early on. Port were exceptional early and late but just couldn't get the fast break footy going in the middle of the game.

I thought the umpiring was a little inconsistent for both teams. They helped out Hawthorn early but really helped Port late. The Monfries front-on contact decision was immediately preceded but a more blatant one on Spangher up the other end which would have killed the game off. Yep the HTB late on was rubbish but it is a rubbish rule that is virtually impossible to police correctly.

The game reminded me of a more attacking version of the 2009 PF. In both cases the hot favourite got home but only after the generosity in front of goals by the less fancied team.

Ebert and Wines really do butcher the ball far too often. Wines gets a lot of media plaudits but he is a very dicey field kick even under no pressure. Undoes a lot of his brilliant clearance work.

21-09-2014, 08:09 AM
I think port lost it when the player played on after a mark in the last minute instead of going back and spotting up, he either got caught up In the moment or thought they had less time than they did.

21-09-2014, 10:28 AM
Hawthorn are very good at running into the space next to the man kicking the ball. Not sure how they get away with it so much. They are also constantly in the umpires ear all day which over time adds up and results in some kicks being given that are pretty soft.

21-09-2014, 09:22 PM
Went to the Hawks vs Port game.

Hawthorn supporters don't deserve to be playing in a grand final. The prelim meant nothing to most of them and half barely celebrated a 3 point win.

22-09-2014, 10:46 AM
I guess 18 Grand Finals in 60 years, or whatever it is, will do that to you.

Spoilt rotten.

22-09-2014, 09:10 PM
Can we close this thread Season finished yesterday ;)

26-09-2014, 07:51 AM
Tom Jones to do the half time entertainment. For #### sake AFL is it that hard to find someone relevant and maybe even Australian.

26-09-2014, 08:23 AM
Tom Jones to do the half time entertainment. For #### sake AFL is it that hard to find someone relevant and maybe even Australian.

The whole entertainment is a joke, they just can't get it right.

26-09-2014, 10:09 PM
I disagree, they used to nail it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7J2madZVFA

And there was also that year they made us all do the Cazaley. Entertainment to the power of sick.

26-09-2014, 10:17 PM
I want the Sex Pistols and TISM as half time entertainment .

26-09-2014, 10:37 PM
I want the Sex Pistols and TISM as half time entertainment .

Which TISM tunes, given they can only play two or three?

26-09-2014, 10:59 PM
Pre entertainment warning for the kiddies
Unfortunately.

27-09-2014, 09:38 AM
Whatareya would be appropriate.

Even though I'm not much of a fan someone like a Vance Joy would have been perfect, relevant, popular, Australian and now known world wide. Rather than we send out the message.....Australia-the land time forgot.

27-09-2014, 09:46 AM
Whatareya would be appropriate.

Even though I'm not much of a fan someone like a Vance Joy would have been perfect, relevant, popular, Australian and now known world wide. Rather than we send out the message.....Australia-the land time forgot.

And played footy for Coburg at VFL level, and said he would have loved to do it. May have been a little too obvious!

27-09-2014, 10:28 AM
Grand Final entertainment, Americanism at it's best.

27-09-2014, 10:30 AM
Taking a client and his wife, as well as my partner. We got tickets very late through work's Medallion Club membership, meaning I'm going to have to take oxygen tanks and breathing apparatus with me!

Client's wife wants to see Tom Jones meaning we'll have to cut lunch a touch short, which is a shame. I just want to see some fighter jets.