View Full Version : Damien Barrett what's his agenda ?
20-04-2018, 08:55 PM
Then why did it go down like a lead balloon with the SEN crew?
Because they're clueless?
20-04-2018, 09:03 PM
Didn’t he say the comments on SEN radio?
20-04-2018, 09:07 PM
No mate...........well at least I thought he first did on Talking Footy on Ch7.
They can't on that program just crack up either, nor can they not keep the interview going. They rolled with the ponchos Esteban.
20-04-2018, 09:18 PM
Not seen it? It's on Talking Footy. Worth a look. For me, Luke seems pretty personable but others might disagree.
20-04-2018, 09:24 PM
The interview where he first made the comments was on SEN drive program the Thursday prior him appearing on Talking Footy; if he has repeated them on Monday's episode of talking footy I find it even more bizarre.
Anyway not that I'm defending Barrett.
Regardless if its a joke my view is it was a poor choice of words.
Article on where the comment originated from.
https://wwos.nine.com.au/2018/04/17/11/40/caroline-wilson-luke-beveridge-western-bulldogs-irresponsible-comments
20-04-2018, 09:28 PM
The interview where he first made the comments was on SEN drive program the Thursday prior him appearing on Talking Footy; if he has repeated them on Monday's episode of talking footy I find it even more bizarre.
Well yeah, it's not borderline passive aggressive, more so, just aggressive. I don't get it either in light of that.
20-04-2018, 09:35 PM
Article on where the comment originated from.
https://wwos.nine.com.au/2018/04/17/11/40/caroline-wilson-luke-beveridge-western-bulldogs-irresponsible-comments
Well, might be that, or maybe just a sportsperson trying to be a comedian? They often repeat their jokes, come on.
20-04-2018, 10:59 PM
The media have stopped talking about "Dogs in crisis" and "players not talking to each other" and the story has flipped to be about the messenger - it has been smart media manipulation by Bevo. Those timid little butterflies in the media are crying foul about the wording used and can't help themselves to make the story about them, which I suspect was Bevo's plan all along.
About time we started to dictate the media narrative about our club.
20-04-2018, 11:26 PM
Interesting read Sedat. If he's trying to change tge narrative and change the focus onto himself then that would explain why he repeated it again on Talking Footy. Like a politician staying on message.
21-04-2018, 08:20 AM
Its one thing to have a crack back at Bevo, but he's gone out of his way to make his crack at the AFL about us as well. He's not even trying to be subtle about his disdain for us anymore.
21-04-2018, 10:21 AM
Funny how Caro goes us for potting Barrett ( with which we didn't name they did ) but both of them merrily potting others every week and don't you dare have a go at them or your proclaimed a child and to grow up ! .
04-05-2018, 03:03 PM
At least the worm seems to like Dale Morris:
Melbourne
If
there's a better bloke than Max Gawn in the AFL at the moment ...
then
it can only be Dale Morris. Maxxie handled that spectator issue of last weekend beautifully, both at the time and more meritoriously afterwards.
04-05-2018, 03:05 PM
Jeyzus Axie. You're not saying that Spotty has a redeeming feature?
04-05-2018, 03:18 PM
Jeyzus Axie. You're not saying that Spotty has a redeeming feature?
As far as I know he hasn't murdered 6 million Jews either, so there's that as well....
04-05-2018, 03:55 PM
As far as I know he hasn't murdered 6 million Jews either, so there's that as well....
He may have. You don't know for a fact that the didn't.
04-05-2018, 04:13 PM
He may have. You don't know for a fact that the didn't.
If not knowing things for a fact is acceptable for leading football journalists it's good enough for me.
By the way did you know Damien Barrett is single-handedly responsible for global warming and enjoys punching puppies. Allegedly.
04-05-2018, 04:55 PM
If not knowing things for a fact is acceptable for leading football journalists it's good enough for me.
By the way did you know Damien Barrett is single-handedly responsible for global warming and enjoys punching puppies. Allegedly.
I've been told that.
This bloke was telling me that he knows a bloke called Damien Barrett, and what this bloke does is he finds out scraps of information about North Melbourne footy club, all the worst and most damaging things you could possibly think of, you know, really scurrilous stuff that North don't want anyone to know, and then he sells this gossip on so everybody finds out about it. That's his job!
What a scum bag.
18-05-2018, 02:55 PM
His sliding doors this week:
http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/AFL/Files/Images/WB-header.png
If
Dale Morris is fit to play footy ...
then
he shouldn't be playing VFL. This warrior shouldn't be wasting whatever matches he has left in his banged-up system at the lower level.
18-05-2018, 03:12 PM
If
then
he shouldn't be playing VFL. This warrior shouldn't be wasting whatever matches he has left in his banged-up system at the lower level.
Now he knows more about our players fitness and conditioning levels than our medical and coaching staff. Gotta give it to him, the guy's good.....
18-05-2018, 03:35 PM
Imagine he had a set back at the top level...............
18-05-2018, 03:38 PM
Say what you want about Barratt, he certainly knows his clickbait.
18-05-2018, 03:58 PM
If
then
He clearly loves Dale but this is silly. Yes he's had a few unfortunate injuries but if his body was falling apart and only had a handful of games left in it then he wouldn't have played on this year.
18-05-2018, 04:08 PM
The guy hasn't played a game since last year I believe, hard to mount a case for selection, even for Dale.
18-05-2018, 04:31 PM
He clearly loves Dale but this is silly. Yes he's had a few unfortunate injuries but if his body was falling apart and only had a handful of games left in it then he wouldn't have played on this year.
It is a crazy statement. In the VFL he can be observed / managed / rested throughout the game if required. The stakes are so much higher tonight that there simply isn't that luxury.
18-05-2018, 04:39 PM
Even the logic that, because Dale is a battlescarred warrior with presumably not much left in the tank, he therefore should be thrown straight back into the big time is just non-sensical - how does that preserve his body that little bit more? Seriously, how does he get paid for this drivel?
18-05-2018, 04:45 PM
And by the sound of the rain in Adelaide today, it's not ideal returning from a knee on a slippery ground, we may have dodged a bullet there too. I'm not sure that "he's only got a certain amount of games left in him so he should be in the AFL team" flies when he obviously won't be match fit. I've only got a certain amount of games left in me too but I don't expect to be picked in the AFL side anytime soon.
I wish Spotty would post so he could explain some of his bizarre theories better.
18-05-2018, 04:49 PM
Play him and see him get injured and I'm sure Barrett would be even more critical of us. He can play either side of the issue, we just have to do what's right for Dale
10-06-2018, 11:56 PM
Had a work mate come up to me the other day ( tigers supporter) he asked if I noticed Barrett is on our back all the time and some opposition players and journos are getting sick of it and now calling him to stop or name names when he goes on about his "sources" at the club.
22-06-2018, 09:28 PM
This guy is a wanker. Every other team with injuries less than we have is excused for not playing well but he rips into the Doggies about playing poorly. Our injury list reads 10 senior players but should also have Boyd on it as well. Any team missing half their best players is going to struggle
02-07-2018, 07:02 PM
Not sure if it's Barrett or Caro but just read a tweet from footy classified about things going well on the field at the dogs but off the field still things not right .
They continue the barrage.
Maybe just a headline to make you watch , could be just in injuries, taking a guess though.
I couldn't imagine it's too bad the way the players are bonding.
02-07-2018, 07:04 PM
Not sure if it's Barrett or Caro but just read a tweet from footy classified about things going well on the field at the dogs but off the field still things not right .
They continue the barrage.
Maybe just a headline to make you watch , could be just in injuries, taking a guess though.
I couldn't imagine it's too bad the way the players are bonding.
It is probably in response to Peter Gordon interview on Whatley last week.
02-07-2018, 08:34 PM
Dont really care about off field. The players look happy and they are playing good footy. That's what I care about.
03-07-2018, 04:22 PM
So what was the BFD revelation last night?
03-07-2018, 04:26 PM
So what was the BFD revelation last night?
Barrett wasn't on last night. Not that I watch it, but was told.
03-07-2018, 04:55 PM
Barrett wasn't on last night. Not that I watch it, but was told.
If I was Spotty I'd be keeping my head down too. He was one of the commentaters egging Barry Hall on on Friday night.
17-08-2018, 01:07 PM
Flog wrote this today ...
If ... this club thinks it has retrieved something out of the year with consecutive wins in the past two weeks ...
Then ... surely reality kicks in when analysis of its seven wins for the year sees that it has beaten teams currently occupying the bottom four places on the ladder, as well as three other teams outside the top eight.
17-08-2018, 02:03 PM
Nawww, someone's still steamed we torpedoed his shit-truck mob's season.
And, congratulations Damo for being the last person on the planet to discover the fact we've been shit this season. Bravo!
See you at the Brownlow!
https://preview.ibb.co/cTgQse/flushhh.png (https://ibb.co/ismrXe)
17-08-2018, 02:11 PM
What has given him the impression that anyone at the club thinks we have "retrieved" something out of the year?
17-08-2018, 02:29 PM
He's such a flog of a bloke.
17-08-2018, 03:30 PM
I haven't felt this good since Archie Gimmel scored against Holland in 1978!
1. We are us.
2. He's a north member.
3. They were 5 goals up against a poor side at half time, down hill skiing into finals
4. They choked
5. No finals for you!
6. Our poor wins against teams outside the 8...
7. ... Is importantly including your own shit club not getting into the 8 again after another late season nothing, aka 'A Northerning'
8. This is his short word version of a Brad Scott sook
9. This is genuinely hilarious for him to leave himself wide open like this. His argument is like telling a stranger you wake up with, 'oh my god. You're ugly. You must only be able to fu**k ugly people'. Where the response is, 'yeah, that's right. I do, I f**ked you last night'. Where Damo is, both ugly and got his finals hopes *!*!*!*!ed by us in just 30 minutes. A whole 29 minutes harder than anything he's ever been able muster... Footy of course.
10. Ergo, I haven't felt this good since Archie Gimmel scored against Holland in 1978!
11. Time for a Winnie Blue and enjoy his internal immense hurt.
17-08-2018, 03:38 PM
As BT points out below that those shit teams includes North. As a matter of interest can someone who can be bothered be nice enough to post what he has said about Melbourne? Please and thank you.
I haven't felt this good since Archie Gimmel scored against Holland in 1978!
1. We are us.
2. He's a north member.
3. They were 5 goals up against a poor side at half time, down hill skiing into finals
4. They choked
5. No finals for you!
6. Our poor wins against teams outside the 8...
7. ... Is importantly including your own shit club not getting into the 8 again after another late season nothing, aka 'A Northerning'
8. This is his short word version of a Brad Scott sook
9. This is genuinely hilarious for him to leave himself wide open like this. His argument is like telling a stranger you wake up with, 'oh my god. You're ugly. You must only be able fu**k ugly people'. Where the response is, 'yeah, that's right. I do, I f**ked you last night'. Where Damo is, both ugly and got his finals hopes *!*!*!*!ed by us in just 30 minutes. A whole 29 minutes harder than anything he's ever muster... Footy of course.
10. Ergo, I haven't felt this good since Archie Gimmel scored against Holland in 1978!
11. Time for a Winnie Blue and enjoy his internal immense hurt.
Good old Archie huh?
Point 9 reminds me of a time I was playing cricket. I'm standing mid pitch attending to some gardening in between overs when one of the fielding team stops and decides to try his luck. Pointing at my green and gold sleeveless jumper he turns to his teammates and says "hey fellas, have a look at this bloke. He thinks he's playing in a test match" I looked up and turned so the umpire couldn't hear me and said "I know this isn't a test match. *!*!*!*!wits like you don't get play test cricket" Even the umpire thought it was funny when he wanted to know what it was we were all laughing at.
18-08-2018, 08:22 AM
As BT points out below that those shit teams includes North. As a matter of interest can someone who can be bothered be nice enough to post what he has said about Melbourne? Please and thank you.
Good old Archie huh?
Point 9 reminds me of a time I was playing cricket. I'm standing mid pitch attending to some gardening in between overs when one of the fielding team stops and decides to try his luck. Pointing at my green and gold sleeveless jumper he turns to his teammates and says "hey fellas, have a look at this bloke. He thinks he's playing in a test match" I looked up and turned so the umpire couldn't hear me and said "I know this isn't a test match. *!*!*!*!wits like you don't get play test cricket" Even the umpire thought it was funny when he wanted to know what it was we were all laughing at.
Since you asked so nicely:
If
the Dees had locked down Isaac Heeney in last weekend's final quarter ...
then
they would have been a lock for the finals. They've now got a very stressful fortnight, Eagles in Perth this week and GWS in round 23.
18-08-2018, 03:04 PM
We beat a Scott and Damian Barerett last Sunday. That makes me very happy.
19-08-2018, 09:42 AM
I’m sorry but how is most of his comments about us sliding doors moments?
They are just conniving little hate comments he makes up and puts under sliding door moments.
19-08-2018, 10:29 AM
How does he get to constantly attack our brand on an AFL run media forum and there is no one pulling him up. Surely we should be asking the AFL for a please explain.
19-08-2018, 11:33 AM
How does he get to constantly attack our brand on an AFL run media forum and there is no one pulling him up. Surely we should be asking the AFL for a please explain.
So many of our supporters cant stand him and yet can't bring themselves to ignore him. The AFL might not agree with him but he is generating ratings so they are unlikely to challenge his successful methods.
19-08-2018, 12:19 PM
So many of our supporters cant stand him and yet can't bring themselves to ignore him. The AFL might not agree with him but he is generating ratings so they are unlikely to challenge his successful methods.
Because if we let what little Spotty says go unchallenged it becomes the default truth. He has a large vehicle to smash our club and our brand with and if we just stand by and let him do it then we agree with what he says. The simple way to fix it is to turn Sliding Doors over to a bulldog supporter for the rest of the season in order to continually bash North and point out how badly they are failing.
It wasn't long ago that a few people here were saying how well North were going and asking what it was they were doing so much better than us. Are they still going really well? Are they still tracking better than us?
19-08-2018, 12:21 PM
Bingo.
His hatred + his AFL based platform actually keeps us in the spotlight. If we leverage it properly and turn it into a David vs Goliath type thing, our fanbase can get behind it.
He's just a pantomime villain.
19-08-2018, 12:36 PM
It's embarrassing for the AFL isn't it.
I can see why so many of our supporters do read the articles. People love footy and the love their club. You open the AFL app hoping to read something positive about your club because it feels good to read something nice. But instead he/it constantly pots us and pulls us down.
I honestly don't care that he hates us because I hate lots of clubs as well, but what gets up my goat is that Barrett can potentially damage our brand on the official AFL website with his constant jibes. Now you'd hope most people see through that piece of shit of a journo but a lot won't. Most young kids these days have smart phone with the AFL app installed and might be easy swayed reading negative tripe from this prick. The AFL imo need to pull him up because I find it totally unprofessional.
It's a shame that they (AFL) love the click bait more than having quality people working for them writing quality articles.
dukedog
21-08-2018, 05:02 PM
I can totally see it's easy to kick a club when it's down. But last week's dig was just stupid. I mean. Winning three in a row is still shit? Hahaha he's a squeezer.
24-08-2018, 03:42 PM
Today's
If
it was Bevo's birthday yesterday ...
then
is it too late to get him a present?
Seriously, could this idiot be any more pathetic.
24-08-2018, 03:54 PM
What a w****r.
24-08-2018, 04:04 PM
What a w****r.
I sincerely hope that isn't writer.
24-08-2018, 04:10 PM
Today's
If
then
Who cares?
24-08-2018, 04:23 PM
That is really just asking to be punched.
24-08-2018, 04:45 PM
I guess at least it was Bevo's birthday yesterday.
dukedog
24-08-2018, 05:50 PM
He is an absolute *!*!*!*!en numnut.
24-08-2018, 07:11 PM
Let's see, I could have another lazy dig at how shit they are right now, or I could reverse over needling the coach because, clickz.
Flip a coin did you f*ckwit?
24-08-2018, 07:18 PM
Who cares?
Yep. Meh. That's more lazy and lame than anything any suburban footy writer would've come up with, even Robbo is looking at that going 'gee me pretty smart and write gooder than him, plus more reverend to footy writers industry'. When Robbo is looking good compared to you, it's time to get your shit together.
24-08-2018, 07:28 PM
What’s that supposed to mean , have I missed something ?
25-08-2018, 09:55 AM
What’s that supposed to mean , have I missed something ?
It was Bevo's birthday on Thursday but I don't know what the "too late for a present" line means though.
25-08-2018, 09:58 AM
We might be reading too much into it.
25-08-2018, 10:39 AM
I actually had a laugh about it.
25-08-2018, 11:01 AM
Yep. Meh. That's more lazy and lame than anything any suburban footy writer would've come up with, even Robbo is looking at that going 'gee me pretty smart and write gooder than him, plus more reverend to footy writers industry'. When Robbo is looking good compared to you, it's time to get your shit together.
Deserves a meme that one. You are right though. Robbo's grammar is worse than mine and he gets paid for it. His proof reading intern from RMIT has their work cut out for them.
25-08-2018, 11:51 AM
Maybe the present is a win today?
25-08-2018, 12:07 PM
I’m also confused on how it falls into the sliding doors moment.
25-08-2018, 12:10 PM
Maybe the present is a win today?
That’s what I was thinking.
25-08-2018, 07:29 PM
Today's
If
then
You want to give Bevo a present do you Damo? Then stand still for ten seconds while he takes a swing at you.
26-08-2018, 09:26 AM
You want to give Bevo a present do you Damo? Then stand still for ten seconds while he takes a swing at you.
Take it to the ring fellows. I would pay good money to see that. Proceeds to charity.
26-08-2018, 10:35 AM
That would be child abuse.
26-08-2018, 10:39 AM
Take it to the ring fellows. I would pay good money to see that. Proceeds to charity.
As long as it's not going to the hospital that has to repair Barrett's face
30-08-2018, 01:53 PM
Look's like Barrett is at it again with his dogs hating agenda.
On the AFeL page there is a video called the wash up. Season review with Lloyd and Twoomey.
Both Lloyd and Barrett doing their usual routine of doomsaying everything.
Bulldogs have lost their identity, what do they stand for etc etc.
Gave us 2 out of 10 for the year. What Bollocks.
Absolutely no analysis or explanation for why we struggled at times, just wrap everything in a nutshell and throw stones at the club.
Can't wait to see them backflip on us once again next year.
30-08-2018, 02:25 PM
Saw this flog walking across the road in South Melbourne an hour ago.
My right foot seemed to willingly hit the accelerator.
30-08-2018, 03:04 PM
Saw this flog walking across the road in South Melbourne an hour ago.
My right foot seemed to willingly hit the accelerator.
No jury in the land could possibly convict you.
30-08-2018, 04:07 PM
I didn't think it was that bad. For the most part of the season we were awful, a couple of decent hit outs early and a good finish but it was a season to forget overall. A rating of 3 - 4 is pretty much spot on. Lloyd was not wrong, mentioned strange playing styles, questionable selections it's pretty much what we've been saying for 23 rounds.
30-08-2018, 05:17 PM
Watched that segment this morning.
Essentially said injuries and youth were not an excuse and our early season form was pathetic. First 2 rounds I’d agree, but we beat a decent Bombers side and should’ve beaten the Swans the week after.
Unfortunately that Bevo presser taking about how winning the flag didn’t do us any favours was played. Hard to argue with the critique of it, wasn’t a great look.
30-08-2018, 07:30 PM
Look's like Barrett is at it again with his dogs hating agenda.
On the AFeL page there is a video called the wash up. Season review with Lloyd and Twoomey.
Both Lloyd and Barrett doing their usual routine of doomsaying everything.
Bulldogs have lost their identity, what do they stand for etc etc.
Gave us 2 out of 10 for the year. What Bollocks.
Absolutely no analysis or explanation for why we struggled at times, just wrap everything in a nutshell and throw stones at the club.
Can't wait to see them backflip on us once again next year. Unfortunately pretty much spot on with the rating whether we like it or not. We played unwatchable football most of the year and some of the positional changes were even more bizarre. Injuries didn't help but we were horrible. Averaged 10 goals a game. The last 4 games gave a bit of hope for next year but still so much work to be done. We were Premiers 2 years ago - 2/10 is fair.
31-08-2018, 08:48 AM
I’m amazed the AFL still employs someone who uses his position to publicly antagonise and insult one of its coaches. A premiership coach. So much is done for players well being - and whilst I’m sure it’s water off a ducks back for Bevo - I find it remarkable the AFL encourage it by paying his salary
31-08-2018, 09:04 AM
I’m amazed the AFL still employs someone who uses his position to publicly antagonise and insult one of its coaches. A premiership coach. So much is done for players well being - and whilst I’m sure it’s water off a ducks back for Bevo - I find it remarkable the AFL encourage it by paying his salary
It is astounding to say the least.
Unfortunately pretty much spot on with the rating whether we like it or not. We played unwatchable football most of the year and some of the positional changes were even more bizarre. Injuries didn't help but we were horrible. Averaged 10 goals a game. The last 4 games gave a bit of hope for next year but still so much work to be done. We were Premiers 2 years ago - 2/10 is fair.
100%. 2/10 is completely fair...only our 'recency bias' for the last few weeks makes us think otherwise...plus add the trade period (aka Stringer) debacle (good outcomes sure, but poorly communicated at the time) and other communications drama throughout the year, the Ballarat debacle - scheduling, attendance, facilitie - drama about life members entering in grounds, rumours swirling about contract renewals/player departures due to the high number of free (inc restricted) agents, moving our AA defender, premiership captain to the forward line then abandoning it after 1-week, regularly getting belted by 10+ goals...it was just a horrible year.
Hopefully with a new CEO now in place and settled in, we can see some improvement in all elements of the club during 2019.
31-08-2018, 09:50 AM
He got one right this week for a change...
If
Toby McLean can't make the AFL Players Association's Best 22 Under 22 team ...
then
that team is broken and needs to change its voting mechanisms if it wants to be taken seriously.
31-08-2018, 11:01 AM
If
then
that team is broken and needs to change its voting mechanisms if it wants to be taken seriously.
Ive posted on that one elsewhere but there isnt a team in the league that wouldnt trade Ronke or Butler for McLean - so I really didnt understand it also
31-08-2018, 11:37 AM
If
then
It's another joke of an award. It's an AFLPA award based purely on voting by the fans.
To be honest I'm surprised the vote went Bont's way for Captain. He must be really popular with the kids.
31-08-2018, 11:49 AM
It's another joke of an award. It's an AFLPA award based purely on voting by the fans.
To be honest I'm surprised the vote went Bont's way for Captain. He must be really popular with the kids.
Or he's got a really good unlimited data package and a big family.
31-08-2018, 05:15 PM
100%. 2/10 is completely fair...only our 'recency bias' for the last few weeks makes us think otherwise...plus add the trade period (aka Stringer) debacle (good outcomes sure, but poorly communicated at the time) and other communications drama throughout the year, the Ballarat debacle - scheduling, attendance, facilitie - drama about life members entering in grounds, rumours swirling about contract renewals/player departures due to the high number of free (inc restricted) agents, moving our AA defender, premiership captain to the forward line then abandoning it after 1-week, regularly getting belted by 10+ goals...it was just a horrible year.
Hopefully with a new CEO now in place and settled in, we can see some improvement in all elements of the club during 2019.
Mate - get yo ass a job at AFL Media. When you put it like that it makes sense! When it’s phrased as nothing more than “2/10, underachievement for me” he comes across as a petulant and vindictive individual.
31-08-2018, 07:46 PM
Whilst the last month has been encouraging, the year has been a disappointment. From Round 1 where we were non-competitive; Round 2 where we served up much of the same, the trend was set. We are clearly better than the bottom 5 sides. Capable of mixing it with sides outside the 8, and out doing ourselves to beat the occasional top 8 contender (or give them a scare). Whilst I am pleased that we showed something in the last month, it really was to little to late. You have to question why we came back so far behind the opposition in round 1? Why did we think we could turn Wood into a forward? You have to question the progress some of our players made in 2018....Dunk's, Hunter, McLean, MacRae, Williams aside did any really take a step forward?
I think a 2 rating is about right. We were rubbish in 2018 and what we served up was pretty bad non-competitive football. Whilst there were excuses and justifications, some questions needed to be asked of our coaches, fitness team and senior players.
04-09-2018, 08:53 PM
Wait for the article citing the Tom Boyd deal as being the reason Dahl has left and why Bonts hasn't signed yet.
Like death and taxes. Expect the article soon.
04-09-2018, 09:21 PM
Wait for the article citing the Tom Boyd deal as being the reason Dahl has left and why Bonts hasn't signed yet.
Like death and taxes. Expect the article soon.
Shortest odds going he will pipe up on that front. Article was written the day Boyd signed, with the exiting player the only blank part in the copy.
04-09-2018, 11:23 PM
It will be just another reason for us not to worry about him.
Source: FOX SPORTS
AFL newsbreaker Damian Barrett has admitted he had a heated exchange with Collingwood president Eddie McGuire before last week’s episode of The Footy Show.
The Herald Sun reported on Wednesday morning that the pair clashed regarding the main news story of the week, before Barrett didn’t appear on the show.
Barrett told Triple M on Wednesday afternoon he and McGuire had moved on from their exchange, before they both appeared on the show on Tuesday night.
“It was two people having a conversation before the show; it was as simple as that,” Barrett told Triple M.
Finals Week 1
Brought to you by sportsbet
“I spoke to Ed after the show, spoke to Ed again the day after and spoke to him at length on Monday and again yesterday.
“There was nothing to move on from.
“It was a conversation that happens every night before The Footy Show.”
After narrowly missing out on breaking the ASADA investigation into Collingwood defender Sam Murray on The Footy Show a couple of weeks back, Barrett broke the news online first thing the next morning.
Barrett chose not to go into the details of his exchange with McGuire.
“It was a discussion about a news story which ultimately required a few discussions,” he said.
“And as such, I made the decision not to go on.
“I will not be talking about what it was, and I will never be discussing what the story was about.”
Can the Mod's please rename this thread to something like - Re: Worlds Biggest Big Headed Flog what's his agenda ?
05-09-2018, 06:14 PM
He is at it again
https://www.triplem.com.au/sport/afl/news/damian-barrett-says-luke-dahlhaus-departure-is-consistent-with-western-bulldogs-shabby-player-treatment
Hardly shoddy we offered him another three years !
What a crock of shit , how come he doesn’t mention we just signed Jong for another two years after all
His injury problems and how good that is ?
Nope prefers the ignore that.
05-09-2018, 06:52 PM
Weird fascination in this bloke by some on here. Don’t get it.
05-09-2018, 06:55 PM
Me neither.
05-09-2018, 07:16 PM
Because he writes nothing but negative crap about us.
We all know hes a moron yet some get hung up on everything he says. I dont get it either.
05-09-2018, 07:22 PM
Currently also feuding with Eddie
05-09-2018, 07:30 PM
I wonder if we should issue a restraining order? :)
05-09-2018, 07:33 PM
Because he writes nothing but negative crap about us.
Except for last week.
05-09-2018, 07:34 PM
I wonder if we should issue a restraining order? :)
Maybe some self restraint might be better for people’s sanity:)
05-09-2018, 08:08 PM
Some people take the media far too seriously.
05-09-2018, 08:31 PM
We all know hes a moron yet some get hung up on everything he says. I dont get it either.
But we are all in here reading it !
Actually started it 4 years ago , I couldn’t see the future and it would grow this much! Just goes to show he has actually had it in for us for many years and yeah I’m Facinated by his stories and how he arrives at them or actually does any homework at all.
Be nice for him to actually write one that is close to the truth and has an actual basis of fact in it.
I believe he goes to bed thinking about another negative story on us every night.
Funny how an average player who is a free agent leaves us for more coin and years and we are shabby but players like Gaff or Lynch or McGovern leave and those clubs aren’t shabby. He doesn’t mention that we have signed 4 players in the last week either . So one out of 5 is leaving and we are shabby ? Did he not at least look at our list and see we have many of his ilk ? Did he not see that a father/son under 18 AA is coming to the club who will probably take his position ? The bloke is a nuff.
Dahlhaus is a dime a dozen player, a club is offering overs to get him , so be it. Pity he can’t write that.
05-09-2018, 09:22 PM
Why do you care? People can vent if they want. Everything he writes is negative publicity. I recall lots of people on this forum carrying on about our own media department - same difference
06-09-2018, 07:58 AM
He's vile and has an extreme dislike for our coach, sadly he might be on the mark with problems behind the scenes. I just don't/can't buy into that Dahl, who not long ago said he loves the club and wants to stay walk away from us for just an extra year on the end of his contract. Of course I don't know the figures offered but someone who wants to mb be here probably would have made that sacrifice to stay on. Something does seem a little smelly here.
06-09-2018, 09:18 AM
He's vile and has an extreme dislike for our coach, sadly he might be on the mark with problems behind the scenes. I just don't/can't buy into that Dahl, who not long ago said he loves the club and wants to stay walk away from us for just an extra year on the end of his contract. Of course I don't know the figures offered but someone who wants to mb be here probably would have made that sacrifice to stay on. Something does seem a little smelly here.
Maybe Dahl has "sniffed the breeze" and realised his spot in the best 22 is not assured, while Geelong have promised him the world.
06-09-2018, 10:09 AM
I wouldn't hear about him if he wasn't brought up here. But then I don't really consume the AFL media gruel.
06-09-2018, 10:24 AM
I wouldn't hear about him if he wasn't brought up here. But then I don't really consume the AFL media gruel.
Same same.
06-09-2018, 10:47 AM
As someone who has gotten worked up about this soulless windbag, I've taken some of the advice on this thread on board. I don't read any of it anymore, and if you're on twitter etc I can recommend un-following almost all AFL related accounts. It's mostly garbage.
One of my big issues with him is the platform - if ESPN Australia covered AFL like they do the NBA, he'd be perfect in a Stephen A Smith type of role. But he's not, he's part of the governing body's media arm, and they should know better....but Gil et al have consistently proven their lack of judgement so it's no big shock.
06-09-2018, 10:59 AM
Why do you care? People can vent if they want. Everything he writes is negative publicity. I recall lots of people on this forum carrying on about our own media department - same difference
Must be my caring nature ;)
06-09-2018, 02:13 PM
Must be my caring nature ;)
I thought as much :D
14-09-2018, 11:48 AM
I loathe bringing attention to this scumbag but his sliding doors article today is absurd. Here's the snippets:
Gold Coast
If: you can indeed somehow get the AFL to approve you ripping up Steven May's contract, which would make him an immediate free agent and thus get you pick four in the draft, behind picks two and three which you already have ...
Then: you have to do it. Forget what May and his management may be saying, they've been actively exploring options for a very long time. Their actions speak louder than their words.
Is this really possible? Surely not!
Dogs:
If:
you think you're getting end-of-first-round compo for Dahlhaus ...
Then: don't lock it in. Probably late second round. Mind you, the AFL "formula" has the potential to make it virtually anything.
If we get end of second for Dahl's rumoured contract then the whole system is a farce. I feel like he's just trying to sink the boots in again for his hate to Bev
14-09-2018, 12:07 PM
Also:
If
we've told you one thing all year ...
then
it is this: Steve Hocking is not going to listen to those who swipe their Myki ticket every day for the 5.45am Outrage Train Express (hello Grant Thomas). Hocking will do what he believes is right for the game. The AFL Commission must approve everything he asks for.
14-09-2018, 12:28 PM
I loathe bringing attention to this scumbag but his sliding doors article today is absurd. Here's the snippets:
Gold Coast
If: you can indeed somehow get the AFL to approve you ripping up Steven May's contract, which would make him an immediate free agent and thus get you pick four in the draft, behind picks two and three which you already have ...
Then: you have to do it. Forget what May and his management may be saying, they've been actively exploring options for a very long time. Their actions speak louder than their words.
Dogs:
If:
Then: don't lock it in. Probably late second round. Mind you, the AFL "formula" has the potential to make it virtually anything.
If we get end of second for Dahl's rumoured contract then the whole system is a farce. I feel like he's just trying to sink the boots in again for his hate to Bev
As much as I dislike the worm I don't have a problem with either of those.
The Herald Sun have a story about the attempt to make May a free agent: Steven May expected to request trade out of Gold Coast after meeting with Victorian clubs (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/steven-may-expected-to-request-trade-out-of-gold-coast-after-meeting-with-victorian-clubs/news-story/0acb56ab659392d628686268ef4ca9f8)
A proposal to make May a free agent this year, following a precedent used by Brisbane and Gold Coast with Jared Brennan in 2010, has been ruled illegal by the AFL.
Under AFL rules, a contract can be torn up by mutual agreement.
Under the left field proposal, May and the Suns would mutually agree to part ways which would make him uncontracted and automatically a restricted free agent.
It was suggested that the Suns should then qualify for a compensation pick directly tied to their existing first-round selection.
Given they already hold pick two and will receive pick three for Tom Lynch, May should in theory secure the next selection.
The second one sounds like he is having a go at the AFL and the compensation system rather than us.
14-09-2018, 12:43 PM
Gold Coast
Dogs:
If:
He thinks we'll get band 4 compensation for Dahl; that's as big a joke as you can get
That's what we will get. End of second round.
Length of contract (apparently) does not play a part in determining compensation...
If we were to trade Luke, we wouldn't get a first round pick for him (or I don't think we would). Because Port Adelaide got overs for Motlop doesn't mean the AFL wont fix that sort of mistake...
14-09-2018, 02:23 PM
He’s right about the compo - it only exists to make sure that no club is ever unhappy.
14-09-2018, 04:16 PM
That's what we will get. End of second round.
Length of contract (apparently) does not play a part in determining compensation...
If we were to trade Luke, we wouldn't get a first round pick for him (or I don't think we would). Because Port Adelaide got overs for Motlop doesn't mean the AFL wont fix that sort of mistake...
Oh that wasn't a mistake, that was a very well calculated move by the AFL
14-09-2018, 04:38 PM
Oh that wasn't a mistake, that was a very well calculated move by the AFL
The FA compo formula takes in many different things such as dollar value of contract, length & whether Gary Ablett needs to find his way home to Geelong.
14-09-2018, 05:35 PM
The FA compo formula takes in many different things such as dollar value of contract, length & whether Gary Ablett needs to find his way home to Geelong *for a nice draft pick to Gold Coast.
edit
15-09-2018, 05:29 PM
Yep, the AFL needed to ensure Geelong had something to give GCS for Ablett. They'll screw us over in comparison, we wouldn't expect anything different though.
15-09-2018, 08:14 PM
Yep, the AFL needed to ensure Geelong had something to give GCS for Ablett. They'll screw us over in comparison, we wouldn't expect anything different though.
I exist only in order to seethe with that sweet, sweet outrage at every AFL decision.
15-09-2018, 08:26 PM
I exist only in order to seethe with that sweet, sweet outrage at every AFL decision.
I seethe therefore I am.
16-09-2018, 10:00 AM
I seethe therefore I am.
It's my Raison D'être!
16-09-2018, 01:23 PM
Sliding doors moment ::If . Griffen walks out, coach sacked, club to be in disarray.
Then. Club wins flag within two years.
Stick that in your article Barrett, biggest sliding doors moment in your career as a journo and you ignore it
21-09-2018, 10:49 AM
Sliding Doors......
If
Wingard joins ...
then
the finals will be back on the cards for 2019.
21-09-2018, 10:52 AM
Sliding Doors......
If
Wingard joins ...
then
He was given a gimmee but he didn't mess it up and try and attack us for something so I guess he's learning.
21-09-2018, 11:35 AM
Sliding Doors......
If
Wingard joins ...
then
Meh, fair enough.
22-09-2018, 12:40 AM
Sliding Doors......
If
Wingard joins ...
then
I didn't realise Barrett has a ghostwriter. That clearly isn't Barrett material, it's too nice.
22-09-2018, 01:14 AM
I was holding my breath for him to give us a pat on the back for securing the Wallis signature for three years...……….
22-09-2018, 07:34 AM
He's just setting them up, so if it doesn't fall our way he can smack us over the head with it. We see you DB.
02-10-2018, 06:14 PM
He is at it again apparently we pushed Smith and Redpath out the door because they were trouble makers, forget the knee problems and the fact Redpath was signed for two years and made the leadership group. Clubs in disarray!
02-10-2018, 07:44 PM
What rubbish I had a great chat to Clay a little while ago absolutely loves the club and Bevo
02-10-2018, 07:47 PM
What rubbish I had a great chat to Clay a little while ago absolutely loves the club and Bevo
I actually have a hard time believing Clay as a trouble maker. A bit of a rough around the edges bogan maybe, but there's nothing wrong with that.
02-10-2018, 08:19 PM
I met his Mum and one of his uncles at a VFL game and I know for a fact Barrett is talking rubbish, I posted it to show how glaringly obvious he has it in for us.
Obviously the club chat during the year with him did nothing to improve relations with him.
12-10-2018, 11:29 AM
Sliding doors today he’s at it again. Such a weasel
12-10-2018, 11:39 AM
Sliding doors today he’s at it again. Such a weasel
The guy is a moron.
12-10-2018, 11:57 AM
Taps Norf on the arse for "at least having a crack" at big fish even if they struggle to land them ... puts the boot into us for precisely the same with the very next breath.
Even if we'd been rebuffed nearly as often as your mob Damo, you still can't have it both ways ya nong.
12-10-2018, 12:36 PM
Flog !!
12-10-2018, 04:25 PM
He's just setting them up, so if it doesn't fall our way he can smack us over the head with it. We see you DB.
It was predictable, but I still dips my lid to this
12-10-2018, 04:28 PM
He has mentioned it a number of times in the past month on social media.
He is quite the romantic too. Sure a little rough around the edges, but he'll be a hero for generations.
How many players have kicked 4 goals in a half in a prelim?
13-10-2018, 09:35 AM
A wise call, this gutter rat just never lets us down does he?
13-10-2018, 09:53 AM
His latest sliding doors follows the line of all these players wanting out but no one wants to come to us .. something in that .
Well I wouldn’t say any leaving are stars and I wouldn’t say none want to come to us , as trade isn’t over yet and a lot of the media just guessing.
Also why isn’t he focussing on the clubs who are losing actual stars ??
You have to move 5 players a year anyway , 3 retired and two were told they can go look around but were offered contracts so obviously they aren’t in our future plans. So if true it’s only one player who wants out which is Adams who has potential yes but also has injury worries.
Hardly a club where “players” want out.
13-10-2018, 09:59 AM
What paper does he write for? Seriously question, I read the H/S most days but the Age is no longer worth the money they want for it so I rarely read that. I can't ever remember seeing his byline. Does he write for the Age?
13-10-2018, 10:05 AM
What paper does he write for? Seriously question, I read the H/S most days but the Age is no longer worth the money they want for it so I rarely read that. I can't ever remember seeing his byline. Does he write for the Age?
He used to write for your paper of choice.
He doesn't write for the Age.
13-10-2018, 10:06 AM
He used to write for your paper of choice.
He doesn't write for the Age.
Pravda? Really?
13-10-2018, 10:21 AM
[B]
Pravda? Really?
Yep. That is until he disagreed with the choice of vodka served in the tea room.
Now he writes for a similar regime- AFL website
13-10-2018, 11:02 AM
He writes for the AFL website
13-10-2018, 11:30 AM
How good does that sound. Four goals in a half to help win a prelim. Will always be a bulldogs legend young Smith
13-10-2018, 11:31 AM
I read the H/S most days but the Age is no longer worth the money they want for it so I rarely read that.
Statement does not compute.
16-10-2018, 08:15 AM
this says it all IMO...
North Melbourne
IF: you want to have a crack at this club for targeting big names who ultimately say no ...
THEN: go your hardest. But at least it's having a crack and still getting significant deals done.
And in the same article:
Western Bulldogs
IF: good players want to leave and other good players don't want to come ...
THEN: there's probably something in that.
He is a Kangas fan.
Well he's not wrong I guess.
I know he gets everyone(or almost everyone) triggered around here but we don't attract anyone good and there has been quite a few leave over the last few seasons.
16-10-2018, 10:56 AM
I know he gets everyone(or almost everyone) triggered around here but we don't attract anyone good and there has been quite a few leave over the last few seasons.
That’s a complete fallacy. 5 changes a year is the least you can do for a start and the year we lost our so called big names we won a flag two years later. Don’t get big names for the sake of getting them, recruit a team that will gel and get the right mind set and game plan that suits . I am dumbfound why Richmond has got Lynch, also Hawks trading away Burton ( if its the case) could do more damage to the Hawks than making the hawks a better side with Wingard.
History has proved if you trade out a player who is popular loved and respected it can destroy a club.
16-10-2018, 11:00 AM
this says it all IMO...
North Melbourne
IF: you want to have a crack at this club for targeting big names who ultimately say no ...
THEN: go your hardest. But at least it's having a crack and still getting significant deals done.
And in the same article:
Western Bulldogs
IF: good players want to leave and other good players don't want to come ...
THEN: there's probably something in that.
He is a Kangas fan.
Perfect example of how unprofessional he is, he doesn’t think how he contradicts himself, how much he has made it known he supports the kangas and hates us in 4 sentences.
16-10-2018, 11:29 AM
Petty I know, but it really irritates me that he uses "having a crack" in a negative sense in the first half and then again as a positive in the second half of the statement. You work with words, mate, be a bit creative with your craft.
16-10-2018, 11:36 AM
Players are just so overrated this time of the year. Aaron Hall is at best flakey and Pittard is dime a dozen . They overpaid for Polec , who is decent , but not at that price . They’re travelling 1 from 10 in bringing in names . Dahlhaus has fallen off the cliff , and Adams is way to injury prone . I know it’s unfashionable this time of year, but trust the draft
16-10-2018, 12:59 PM
This thread is pointless I think. His job is to get emotional responses and create discussion which he is clearly doing well. Hutchy likes the American way of creating something from nothing and stirring the hornests nest with contrived conflict and controversy. Barrett is his star pupil. Kane Cornes his latest protege. Rise above Woofers ! :cool:
16-10-2018, 01:13 PM
This thread is pointless I think. His job is to get emotional responses and create discussion which he is clearly doing well. Hutchy likes the American way of creating something from nothing and stirring the hornests nest with contrived conflict and controversy. Barrett is his star pupil. Kane Cornes his latest protege. Rise above Woofers ! :cool:
It's basically become a Barrett Blog. As much as Ledge and others say they don't like him, his every word on the weekly sliding doors thread will be challenged and bagged here. It's actually exactly what Barrett wants.
16-10-2018, 01:15 PM
It's basically become a Barrett Blog. As much as Ledge and others say they don't like him, his every word on the weekly sliding doors thread will be challenged and bagged here. It's actually exactly what Barrett wants.
Unfortunately, it appears to have had a similar effect on the coach ... speaking of rising above it.
16-10-2018, 01:16 PM
Unfortunately, it appears to have had a similar effect on the coach ... speaking of rising above it.
Yep, Bevo needs to walk away as well.
16-10-2018, 01:51 PM
Yep, Bevo needs to walk away as well.
Easier said than done ...
https://image.ibb.co/h1ZHqf/image.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)
I mean, who among you doesn't want to launch a fist through your screen this very instant?
16-10-2018, 03:39 PM
I mean, who among you doesn't want to launch a fist through your screen this very instant?
Man, look at those spaghetti arms. You just know he was the resident schoolyard informant.
17-10-2018, 12:22 AM
Warrior ? Yeah key board warrior.
17-10-2018, 08:58 AM
That's not how you spell wanker.
17-10-2018, 08:58 AM
Gil has just mentioned that Barrett has just been appointed as the Chief Football correspondent for the AFL.
Apparently his interactions with the AFL fans across the digital platforms make him a great addition for the AFL.
Have we all be played by Damo?
Gil said, "He's very experienced, highly talented and fiercely independent"
17-10-2018, 09:06 AM
Gil has just mentioned that Barrett has just been appointed as the Chief Football correspondent for the AFL.
Apparently his interactions with the AFL fans across the digital platforms make him a great addition for the AFL.
Have we all be played by Damo?
Gil said, "He's very experienced, highly talented and fiercely independent"
I find this amazing . A company hires a journo who spends 90% of his time bagging the brand and the sums of it as its chief promoter.
17-10-2018, 09:15 AM
I find this amazing . A company hires a journo who spends 90% of his time bagging the brand and the sums of it as its chief promoter.
And he has the footy world following and debating his very word.
With Gil is all about the numbers, AFL attendances, sponsorship numbers etc and what generates hits on the AFL websites and Damo probably meets that last criteria.
Barrett is still allowed to be critical of the AFL, apparently he has had it written into his contract.
17-10-2018, 09:15 AM
we are suckers in Australia. It shouldn't be a surprise as we allow shock jock flogs like Alan Jones & Ray Hadley run amok.
They continue to say stupid things and they get away with it and they just continue doing it. They love the outrage as it boosts their audience, ratings, and incomes.
If we ignored them it would be the opposite. but we don't.
17-10-2018, 09:24 AM
we are suckers in Australia. It shouldn't be a surprise as we allow shock jock flogs like Alan Jones & Ray Hadley run amok.
They continue to say stupid things and they get away with it and they just continue doing it. They love the outrage as it boosts their audience, ratings, and incomes.
If we ignored them it would be the opposite. but we don't.
We have a culture that wants to whinge about what people say rather than just ignore them. In the end ratings wins the day and Barrett has a strong following regardless that he just isn't that good.
He throws out the bait and people bite again and again. This thread was started 4 years ago and Barrett's brand of sarcasm and ridicule is just intoxicating for some people.
I live near a retired lady who used to whinge every day about Neil Mitchell, she hated him with a passion but her whole morning was planned around listening to and then criticizing his show. She couldn't never switch him off.
Barrett has come up with a winning formula like it or not.
17-10-2018, 09:44 AM
We have a culture that wants to whinge about what people say rather than just ignore them. In the end ratings wins the day and Barrett has a strong following regardless that he just isn't that good.
He throws out the bait and people bite again and again. This thread was started 4 years ago and Barrett's brand of sarcasm and ridicule is just intoxicating for some people.
I live near a retired lady who used to whinge every day about Neil Mitchell, she hated him with a passion but her whole morning was planned around listening to and then criticizing his show. She couldn't never switch him off.
I get that - I still take issue with the vehicle (AFL media) and their need for shitful clickbait
Does everything have to be about money?*
*Don’t answer that
Yep. Just look at this thread. 45 pages, with no signs of slowing down.
17-10-2018, 09:52 AM
Yep. Just look at this thread. 45 pages, with no signs of slowing down.
The people who hate him the most have probably helped earn him a promotion. Ironic isn't it?
It's got to a stage where he just triggers people no matter what he says right or wrong, happens on here a lot. You've got to admire what he's built himself into even if you hate it.
17-10-2018, 10:15 AM
It's got to a stage where he just triggers people no matter what he says right or wrong, happens on here a lot. You've got to admire what he's built himself into even if you hate it.
https://vignette.wikia.nocookie.net/glitchtale/images/5/5b/OBJECTION.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20171220025255
No I do not
17-10-2018, 10:20 AM
Actually I have never followed him , I’m not on Twitter or whatever else is around except Facebook, never watched him on tv either, I scroll through my news feed and his statements come up on it through the SEN page or others bringing it up in forums.
I am finding SEN very good at putting up leading statements to get people talking.
Tim Watson is one who makes “ out there “ statements as well.
But Barrett’s are 99% negative and I think I’ve only seen one pop up in all these years that was positive with us.
I find he writes or says stuff just to upset people or clubs as click bait. He doesn’t care if it’s wrong.
17-10-2018, 10:33 AM
Does Croc Media own Afl.com.au yet?
17-10-2018, 11:34 AM
That's not how you spell wanker.
Good spotting. I can't abide poor spelling.
https://preview.ibb.co/fb6QT0/the-wanker.png (https://ibb.co/eh6g1L)
17-10-2018, 12:02 PM
I get that - I still take issue with the vehicle (AFL media) and their need for shitful clickbait
Does everything have to be about money?*
*Don’t answer that
Houses. It's all about houses.
17-10-2018, 12:19 PM
Houses. It's all about houses.
Who needs two houses? Nobody.
17-10-2018, 01:07 PM
They say the person you actively 'hate' reflects your shadow side. You relate to them, understand them but are irritated by them because they reflect things about yourself that you don't like. You get fixated by them. All the whingers about Barrett, Trump etc, watch out, he might be more like you than you'd like to admit.
17-10-2018, 01:12 PM
Exactly! You can only live in one at a time.
17-10-2018, 01:29 PM
They say the person you actively 'hate' reflects your shadow side. You relate to them, understand them but are irritated by them because they reflect things about yourself that you don't like. You get fixated by them. All the whingers about Barrett, Trump etc, watch out, he might be more like you than you'd like to admit.
Always interested in what 'they' say.
17-10-2018, 01:38 PM
Exactly! You can only live in one at a time.
you can always astral travel to the other.
17-10-2018, 02:36 PM
Only someone who has never played Monopoly would ask such a question.
20-10-2018, 08:50 PM
Almost tempted to start watching the Footy Show now ...
The Footy Show exodus begins as Damian Barrett ends his relationship with the program
Fiona Byrne, Sunday Herald Sun
an hour ago
Subscriber only
THE exodus from The Footy Show has begun with relentless newshound Damian Barrett ending his relationship with the program.
While the future of the controversial football show is still unclear — Nine is yet to make any comment about whether the brand will continue into next year — Barrett is on the move.
Barrett will take on an expanded role at AFL.com.au, which he has been a part of for the past nine years, and will effectively become the face of the platform leading with opinion, analysis and news breaking.
He exits The Footy Show after a decade but is expected be involved with other Nine footy related shows.
“I don’t know what is going on with it,” he said of The Footy Show on The Sounding Board podcast.
“I had done it for nine or 10 years. I loved every minute of it inclusive of this year where it has had more problems than it has had in the past.
“I love the show, I will always love the show but there just comes a time …. it just is the right time to put that part of your life behind you.
“It was a great time, a great show and I hope whatever goes on next year with it on the Thursday platform is successful.”
20-10-2018, 09:17 PM
Almost tempted to start watching the Footy Show now ...
The Footy Show exodus begins as Damian Barrett ends his relationship with the program
Fiona Byrne, Sunday Herald Sun
an hour ago
Subscriber only
THE exodus from The Footy Show has begun with relentless newshound Damian Barrett ending his relationship with the program.
While the future of the controversial football show is still unclear — Nine is yet to make any comment about whether the brand will continue into next year — Barrett is on the move.
Barrett will take on an expanded role at AFL.com.au, which he has been a part of for the past nine years, and will effectively become the face of the platform leading with opinion, analysis and news breaking.
He exits The Footy Show after a decade but is expected be involved with other Nine footy related shows.
“I don’t know what is going on with it,” he said of The Footy Show on The Sounding Board podcast.
“I had done it for nine or 10 years. I loved every minute of it inclusive of this year where it has had more problems than it has had in the past.
“I love the show, I will always love the show but there just comes a time …. it just is the right time to put that part of your life behind you.
“It was a great time, a great show and I hope whatever goes on next year with it on the Thursday platform is successful.”
---
Rats, sinking ships ...
28-03-2019, 12:06 AM
He definitely holds a grudge
https://i.imgur.com/qqDG755.png
28-03-2019, 01:31 AM
Sooooooo baseline...….let's see it escalate from here (rubs the lotion on his skin......where's the hose?).
28-03-2019, 02:35 AM
All AFL media stinks, quite frankly. It is a natural extension of the corrupt Australian media, snide, self-entitled, so quick to remind you how many Walkley's they have won.
28-03-2019, 09:03 AM
I think it's wonderful that Barrett unites the football world.
Sure it's against him, but it's still united. Find someone that likes him. I challenge you.
28-03-2019, 09:17 AM
That was for round one.
28-03-2019, 11:47 PM
I think the answer is an emphatic 'Yes he does' after Saturday night's showing.
29-03-2019, 08:04 AM
So Barrett defines Bevo as going into a ‘frenzy’ when raising quite legitimately a topical matter amongst the coaches and past Club leaders, and without our Club represented on Hocking’s Mates Club, and yet the likes of the Scott brothers, Buckley etc very regularly use their platform to air all matters of grievances with the AFL without such vilification and disrespect coming their way from this bottom feeder.
As the AFL starts to get heavy on social media trolls Barrett would be a great place for them to start.
29-03-2019, 01:13 PM
He concentrated on having a go at the Marvel surface (referencing the Suckling incident) this week.
Topical? Yes.
An issue? Yes.
But mostly he just wrote about it so he didn’t have to give the us a positive for the win.
29-03-2019, 02:56 PM
He concentrated on having a go at the Marvel surface (referencing the Suckling incident) this week.
Topical? Yes.
An issue? Yes.
But mostly he just wrote about it so he didn’t have to give the us a positive for the win.
You’d think a reference to Bont or Naughton or even Libba might have been warranted, but nah.
Insufficient Intent
29-03-2019, 05:09 PM
Barrett is rebarbative scum, unworthy of reading or discussion.
A waste of electrons adding to this thread, he doesn't deserve one.
29-03-2019, 06:52 PM
Barrett is rebarbative scum, unworthy of reading or discussion.
A waste of electrons adding to this thread, he doesn't deserve one.
And you read it and added to it :-)
29-03-2019, 07:05 PM
What frustrates me most is not Barrett himself, but the AFL's endorsement of sub-standard journalism. To listen to Access all areas, where Lyon and co stuff up our player's names, dwell on petty things and give cursory analysis, it grinds me that the AFL has decided thus: Yes, this is the best we have to give. Shaun Carney could write about AFL than all the current ones put together. The Barrett 'brand' is so lacking in genuine humor, insight or real analysis.
I have to work here in China with some self-entitled people who got jobs at our org because of family connections. They are shit at their job, but walk around like peacocks. Barrett rubs me the same way. What has he done to earn his position? Basically he sucks up to people a lot!
19-04-2019, 11:29 PM
I will just leave this here .
https://www.facebook.com/233334090015619/posts/2707726392576364/
20-04-2019, 12:01 AM
I will just leave this here .
https://www.facebook.com/233334090015619/posts/2707726392576364/
Bevo can hold him down while Hodge fixes him up
20-04-2019, 02:09 AM
Never thought this day would happen but I agree with Barrett. That in-game interview with Hodge added absolutely nothing to the coverage, but why am I not surprised that those complete and utter arseholes at ch 7 think that interviewing a player gasping for breath on the bench while the game is actually happening makes for good TV?
20-04-2019, 04:24 AM
Decent little patch by the Saints, stiff not to be unbeaten...Damo though thinks it’s time to run over Hannebery’s recruitment again.
Borrowing a line I saw on Twitter - the game is genuinely worse for his involvement
20-04-2019, 07:22 AM
Bevo can hold him down while Hodge fixes him up
Looks to me like he hit a nerve. Maybe we can interview Luke whilst he's drink driving and we can see who the knob really is. It's Barrett but you get my drift :cool:
20-04-2019, 07:57 AM
Never thought this day would happen but I agree with Barrett. That in-game interview with Hodge added absolutely nothing to the coverage, but why am I not surprised that those complete and utter arseholes at ch 7 think that interviewing a player gasping for breath on the bench while the game is actually happening makes for good TV?
I agree too but the fact is Barrett as a journo should know that the players EBA was inclusive of more media access , whether it was good tv or not is irrelevant, Barrett saying it was Luke doing it for his own media interest was completely wrong and he of all people should have known that.
20-04-2019, 02:53 PM
Purple continuing to win hearts and minds ...
https://i.ibb.co/sjj1WHt/Screen-Shot-2019-04-20-at-2-51-55-PM.png (https://ibb.co/rkkpdsv)
20-04-2019, 08:15 PM
And it escalated further today when Hodge called him out on it in an interview.
Barrett couldn’t have too much inside info from any clubs anymore,he has upset just about all clubs by making stupid statements.
21-04-2019, 05:57 AM
What frustrates me most is not Barrett himself, but the AFL's endorsement of sub-standard journalism
Couldn’t agree more. The fact the official league media endorse a guy who uses his little influence to incite one of its senior coaches is ridiculous. AFL media need to be impartial - agree w that - but to play out a personal grudge is pathetic
21-04-2019, 07:59 AM
How dare Hodge call Barrett a knob. It's Sir knob, a knob of the highest order thank you very much.
21-04-2019, 10:10 AM
To air one’s dirty laundry, and to continue a personal attack is just the standard of his character. You will notice he is being pushed out of broadcast tv. It’s apps and podcasts for him these days. Even the other presenters have had enough of his crap
21-04-2019, 12:01 PM
Hodgey would have to get behind the long line of suitors who want to punch Barrett
I don’t get how or why he gets any afl media gigs
21-04-2019, 12:29 PM
He's the AFEL's designated 'pot-stirrer'. Much like Jones, Bolt and Devine cough up dead cats on a regular basis because they're paid to keep the trash fire well-stoked. HQ must be inwardly thrilled every time one of his shit takes gets people' talking' because it's 'engagement'.
You can see precisely how respected industry figures feel about it.
May another Brownlow dunny flush be in his forseeable future.
So - listening to the Footyology pod the other night, I was interested to hear both Rohan Connolly and Mark Fine described Barrett as a 'gentleman' and 'one of the good guys' (in stark contrast to their words for a couple of others include Craig Hutchison).
So - what gives?
Is this all a 'put up' to stir trouble (as suggested above) or is he simply a dead set peanut?
21-04-2019, 11:23 PM
So - listening to the Footyology pod the other night, I was interested to hear both Rohan Connolly and Mark Fine described Barrett as a 'gentleman' and 'one of the good guys' (in stark contrast to their words for a couple of others include Craig Hutchison).
So - what gives?
Is this all a 'put up' to stir trouble (as suggested above) or is he simply a dead set peanut?
Does it to stir things up.
22-04-2019, 12:46 AM
So - what gives?
I've heard journalists defend Devine and Bolt in precisely the same terms. Lovely, worldly, eminently reasonable people, if you knew them personally.
Evidently doesn't stop them dropping toxic turds left right and centre if it's made worth their while.
Draw from that what you will and what that suggests of their character and contribution to broader debate.
22-04-2019, 08:37 AM
People who knew Ted Bundy thought he was a good guy, too.
22-04-2019, 09:33 AM
So - what gives?
I think it's exactly that and it works. So many people can't let it go but I do get why so many people including the clubs and players find him frustrating.
10-05-2019, 04:35 PM
Just when he couldn't get any stupider:
Adelaide Crows
If
a Showdown isn't played at the MCG on a Friday night some time soon ...
then
it will be an opportunity lost on so many fronts. It is the main AFL rivalry, by the length of Winx's winning margin in her second Cox Plate (eight lengths).
10-05-2019, 04:50 PM
But wait, there's more!
https://i.ibb.co/gWQhYk0/Screen-Shot-2019-05-10-at-4-47-50-PM.png (https://ibb.co/rpqN9DB)
10-05-2019, 05:14 PM
Barrett's in the ch9 stable right?
So his air time with TFS axing is a now few minutes on Monday night and Sunday morning. Maybe stupid stuff like that is a cry for help to remain relevant.
10-05-2019, 05:58 PM
But wait, there's more!
https://i.ibb.co/gWQhYk0/Screen-Shot-2019-05-10-at-4-47-50-PM.png (https://ibb.co/rpqN9DB)
I actually agree they'll have a sniff.
10-05-2019, 06:24 PM
Just when he couldn't get any stupider:
Adelaide Crows
If
a Showdown isn't played at the MCG on a Friday night some time soon ...
then
it will be an opportunity lost on so many fronts. It is the main AFL rivalry, by the length of Winx's winning margin in her second Cox Plate (eight lengths).
Yeah what would make a showdown great is if you took away the people who cared about the result and played it in front of a crowd of 5,000
10-05-2019, 06:44 PM
There's enough of a whiff of Gill & Co about that Showdown 'idea' and their knack for misreading the room that I half suspect they're using their lackey to float the notion.
Here's a thing that's cool about the game. Let'$ make it cooler!!
10-05-2019, 06:56 PM
There's enough of a whiff of Gill & Co about that Showdown 'idea' and their knack for misreading the room that I half suspect they're using their lackey to float the notion.
Here's a thing that's cool about the game. Let'$ make it cooler!!
That's exactly what they are doing. The AFeL are about as subtle as a hand shoved down the front of your jocks.
10-05-2019, 08:33 PM
League are playing every match in Brisbane this weekend. Never say never.
dukedog
11-05-2019, 01:22 PM
People who knew Ted Bundy thought he was a good guy, too.
😂😂😂😂😂 Genius
17-05-2019, 10:10 PM
THE LAST TIME I MENTION THE GRUB
#Blacksoulbarrett
On Triple M playing Mr innocent, claiming Bevo using Boyd retirement to get at him and claiming Bevo hates him due to Boyd and Talia
He forgets this shit he wrote - a Sample
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D6xDQoPVUAADXcg.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D6zofwNU0AE_6Jp.jpg
17-05-2019, 11:57 PM
Ironically the year with the worst vitriol was the year we won the flag and Boyd starred.
As they say, "If there was a village full of Village Idiots, Barret would be that villages ...... Cockhead !!!!
18-05-2019, 09:18 AM
Can I try this?
Damien GrubGrubGrubGrubGrubGrubGrub
It works!
18-05-2019, 10:25 AM
Can I try this?
Damien GrubGrubGrubGrubGrubGrubGrub
It works!
GrubGrubGrubGrubGrubGrubGrub
GrubGrubGrubGrubing get down! That's genius that is!
20-05-2019, 07:43 AM
His weekly column, he's basically accusing Luke of assault and of using Tom's situation as an excuse to "leverage his hatred of me". My opinion is ignore this bloke and I'm not sure it needed to be raised again but as an AFL employee I think it's time something was done. Mediation maybe? GrubGrubGrubGrubGrubGrubGrub surely had a massive conflict of interest here given he works for the AFL.
--------
Go your hardest, Luke, but leave Boyd out of it
Would prefer to not have to use part of this column to refer to Luke Beveridge's comments on Friday, as I addressed it twice on Triple M and once on Channel Nine over the weekend.
But I would get accused by some of weakly avoiding it if I didn't.
Beveridge's long-winded, personal-hijack reference to a journalist who would "never be forgiven by anyone at our football club" because of "how black that soul is" within an otherwise heartfelt addressing of Tom Boyd's retirement from football was a sad reflection on him, as well as being factually wrong and deeply insulting.
It was the second time in 12 months that Beveridge had used Tom Boyd to leverage his own hatred of me.
Beveridge's dislike of me began in September 2015 when he was riled about my reporting of his handling of the supposed elimination final information exchange between his player Michael Talia and his brother, Daniel Talia, of Adelaide.
Four days after that report, at the Brownlow Medal dinner, he made forceful physical contact with me. It may have been an accident. It may not have been.
The Western Bulldogs lied to me early the following season, Boyd's second at the Bulldogs, when I directly asked about a bar stoush between Boyd and teammate Zaine Cordy.
During that period, Beveridge had been economical with the truth about why Boyd was playing in the VFL.
The very next morning after my inquiries about this matter, and after lying about it, the club issued a media release, conceding it had disciplined Boyd and Cordy.
This was long before Boyd had publicly raised his mental health issues.
I have never questioned any aspect of that part of Boyd's life, and from the moment he kicked his third goal in the 2016 Grand Final, a game in which I felt he should have been rewarded with the Norm Smith Medal, I have regularly stated he had fully paid back the extraordinary money the club used to recruit him as a 19-year-old from GWS.
Go your hardest with your words towards me, Luke, any time you like. That's your right. But stick to facts and leave Tom Boyd out of it.
20-05-2019, 08:23 AM
A sick little man
20-05-2019, 09:04 AM
His weekly column, he's basically accusing Luke of assault and of using Tom's situation as an excuse to "leverage his hatred of me". My opinion is ignore this bloke and I'm not sure it needed to be raised again but as an AFL employee I think it's time something was done. Mediation maybe? GrubGrubGrubGrubGrubGrubGrub surely had a massive conflict of interest here given he works for the AFL.
--------
Would prefer to not have to use part of this column to refer to Luke Beveridge's comments on Friday, as I addressed it twice on Triple M and once on Channel Nine over the weekend.
Beveridge's long-winded, personal-hijack reference to a journalist who would "never be forgiven by anyone at our football club" because of "how black that soul is" within an otherwise heartfelt addressing of Tom Boyd's retirement from football was a sad reflection on him, as well as being factually wrong and deeply insulting.
It was the second time in 12 months that Beveridge had used Tom Boyd to leverage his own hatred of me.
Beveridge's dislike of me began in September 2015 when he was riled about my reporting of his handling of the supposed elimination final information exchange between his player Michael Talia and his brother, Daniel Talia, of Adelaide.
Four days after that report, at the Brownlow Medal dinner, he made forceful physical contact with me. It may have been an accident. It may not have been.
The Western Bulldogs lied to me early the following season, Boyd's second at the Bulldogs, when I directly asked about a bar stoush between Boyd and teammate Zaine Cordy.
During that period, Beveridge had been economical with the truth about why Boyd was playing in the VFL.
The very next morning after my inquiries about this matter, and after lying about it, the club issued a media release, conceding it had disciplined Boyd and Cordy.
I have never questioned any aspect of that part of Boyd's life, and from the moment he kicked his third goal in the 2016 Grand Final, a game in which I felt he should have been rewarded with the Norm Smith Medal, I have regularly stated he had fully paid back the extraordinary money the club used to recruit him as a 19-year-old from GWS.
Go your hardest with your words towards me, Luke, any time you like. That's your right. But stick to facts and leave Tom Boyd out of it.
The fragmented nature of his comments over the years mean, unless you’re close to it, his response makes sense.
Bevo, and all Bulldogs, would do well to ignore him to allow his relevance continue to decrease, then ultimately he’ll be out of a job. Play the long game.
20-05-2019, 10:49 AM
The fragmented nature of his comments over the years mean, unless you’re close to it, his response makes sense.
Bevo, and all Bulldogs, would do well to ignore him to allow his relevance continue to decrease, then ultimately he’ll be out of a job. Play the long game.
Grubman is disappearing down the dunny of mediocrity and he is desperately trying to cling to anything before the flush button is pressed. He and a few members of the media engaged in a pile on with Tom, the rest (like Leigh Matthews) have realised enough is enough, given they have helped to destroy his career, but Damo doesn't have the intellectual equipment to understand that it's time to stop.
20-05-2019, 01:33 PM
--------
Hearing this firsthand gives me a warm, satisfying inner glow.
20-05-2019, 01:50 PM
Grubman is disappearing down the dunny of mediocrity and he is desperately trying to cling to anything before the flush button is pressed. He and a few members of the media engaged in a pile on with Tom, the rest (like Leigh Matthews) have realised enough is enough, given they have helped to destroy his career, but Damo doesn't have the intellectual equipment to understand that it's time to stop.
Hutchy pulling the strings.
20-05-2019, 02:27 PM
happened in the toilets. :D
20-05-2019, 02:42 PM
Me too Rocket. David Schwartz is on record saying Bevo was a wild street fighter in his youth. I would say Grubman was very very lucky.
20-05-2019, 02:54 PM
Me too Rocket. David Schwartz is on record saying Bevo was a wild street fighter in his youth. I would say Grubman was very very lucky.
Legend has it that Bevo, while on an end of season trip with his Melbourne team-mates, was prepared to taken on almost all of Essendon's list who were holidaying in the same location, due to some disrespect shown by the Bombres towards the Demons.
The confrontation with Voldemort would have been fantastic viewing.
20-05-2019, 03:12 PM
Legend has it that Bevo, while on an end of season trip with his Melbourne team-mates, was prepared to taken on almost all of Essendon's list who were holidaying in the same location, due to some disrespect shown by the Bombres towards the Demons.
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/western-bulldogs-coachtobe-luke-beveridge-is-a-man-who-punches-well-above-his-weight/news-story/cbefe20f040febe8f71a1a2da23e1837
Western Bulldogs coach-to-be Luke Beveridge is a man who punches well above his weight
MARK Robinson went searching for the man considered most likely to be the next coach of the Western Bulldogs and found a man who punches well above his weight.
THE TEAMMATE — DAVID SCHWARZ
IT IS folklore, and Luke Beveridge was just 22 at the time, but David Schwarz says a punch-up with Essendon players on an end-of-season in Cairns in 1992 is a lasting memory for Melbourne teammates.
Schwarz and Beveridge had played under-19s, reserves and seniors at the Demons, and although Beveridge would leave at the end of ‘92 for Footscray, Schwarz said he went out with a bang.
The brawl began at a bar and spilled outside and it wasn’t a simple push and shove.
Plastic chairs were being thrown as well as drunken fists and Beveridge was front and square against the likes of Mark Harvey and Dean Wallis.
At just 173cm and 79kg, Beveridge was out of his weight division.
But that was never a problem.
“He had some serious s--- about him,’’ Schwarz said. “And I saw that first hand on the footy trip. He stood up for his mates and I can tell you his mates would want him in his corner. It was on in Cairns, he was taking on the Bombers. We were all drinking together again inside 24 hours, but for a time there he got pretty willing.’’
Taking on exactly who?
“Taking on Essendon,’’ he laughed. “I’ve always said about Lukey, he was a bloody good teammate. You knew where you stood with him. We loved him. When he played at the Dogs they would’ve loved him and when he played with the Saints, they would’ve loved him.
“You might think I’m going on, but he was loved because he would put it on the line, which so much for valuable than a big bloke who just does his job.
“Look at Sydney’s Paul Kelly, people loved him because he would die for his club and Beveridge was the same although clearly he wasn’t as talented.’’
Beveridge played 118 games for three clubs over 11 seasons and, Schwarz said, he got every inch out of his body.
“He was not gifted with height, in fact he was only an inch or two taller than Tony Liberatore (163cm), but he had bloody big guns. He and Andy Lovell and Stephen Tingay set the benchmark for what was expected in the weights room.’’
Schwarz detected early a strong self assurance in Beveridge.
“Mark Cross was our under-19 coach and Crossy had a crack at Lukey and Lukey had a crack back. Lukey had strong opinions and he stood up for himself. It wasn’t little man’s syndrome, he just had self belief about his knowledge of football and where he thought he fitted into the picture.’’
He never saw Beveridge as a future AFL coach, but also having played with current Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson, he didn’t foresee Clarkson being the coaching colossus he is either.
“Actually, there’s a lot of similarities between Clarkson and Beveridge,” Schwarz said.
“Clearly there’s the stature, the aggression, Clarko’s a hothead, Lukey’s a hothead, but they are both measured if that makes sense.
“They are both smart men, in life and in footy.
“Beveridge and Clarko would not be in the top 20, no, not in the top 100 players I played with, but you knew when they walked off the ground they would be exhausted.
“And you knew if someone from the opposition did something wrong by a player, Clarko and Beveridge would be there to square of it.”
20-05-2019, 03:20 PM
This is a funny youtube of DB foot in mouth.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ORpCKVHaOsE
Sorry, but I could not resist it.
20-05-2019, 04:06 PM
And Leppa had to be physically restrained at a pub not to harm GrubGrubGrubGrubGrubGrubGrub. Hodge sounds like he'd want to if given the chance. If you have a career in the footy industry, and want to go to things like the Brownlow, it's not wise to anger people who go to the same events and travel in the same circles. But I don't really care. He helped destroy a young talented man and nothing can or will reverse that. Now my radio silence on him.
30-06-2019, 12:43 PM
https://amp.news.com.au/sport/afl/afl-newsbreaker-damian-barrett-has-dropped-a-bombshell-on-brian-taylor/news-story/6cb843c4030eb7ba3e344531da535837
Barrett reporting that BT cheated with surveillance as coach.
30-06-2019, 01:38 PM
https://amp.news.com.au/sport/afl/afl-newsbreaker-damian-barrett-has-dropped-a-bombshell-on-brian-taylor/news-story/6cb843c4030eb7ba3e344531da535837
Barrett reporting that BT cheated with surveillance as coach.
As much as I can't stand either of them, that was bloody funny to listen to.
30-06-2019, 01:57 PM
That is so funny . But why is Barrett always putting out negative stories, he will even go back 30 years to find one.
30-06-2019, 08:25 PM
One of my mates brothers - yes its one of those - sat next to me at a wedding. He played amateur footy Bevo for a few years and reckons one year on an end of season trip he beat the crap out of 3 blokes outside the pub they were in. Really emphasised the word "crap" in telling me the story. Apparently he is the best bloke to have behind you and the worst bloke against which matches everything we've seen and heard since he became our coach.
01-07-2019, 04:19 PM
One of my mates brothers - yes its one of those - sat next to me at a wedding. He played amateur footy Bevo for a few years and reckons one year on an end of season trip he beat the crap out of 3 blokes outside the pub they were in. Really emphasised the word "crap" in telling me the story. Apparently he is the best bloke to have behind you and the worst bloke against which matches everything we've seen and heard since he became our coach.
I know a few blokes like that, Jack Mihocek and Ted Fidge you wanted on your team because if you played against them they would kill you but if On your team they were there for you no matter what. You felt safe and a foot taller knowing they were on your side.
I think it was The Ox who told a similar story about Bevo on a footy trip in Surfers.
26-07-2019, 12:01 PM
The guy is truly a moron
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EAWzifvU8AAWhmJ?format=jpg&name=large
26-07-2019, 12:15 PM
he needs another visit in the mens room. WTF?
26-07-2019, 12:25 PM
WTF does that even mean?