View Full Version : Ryan Griffen wants out to GWS
09-10-2014, 09:17 PM
Talk about a clean-out.
We're gonna need a bigger broom.
09-10-2014, 09:28 PM
What's a club without players but an oval and a history lesson?
This talk of trading for older players already had a feeling of Rhodes2.0 but at least with Rhodes West, Johnson, Grant, Smith and so on stayed while guys like Gilbee lasted until Rocket came along.
This is looking very bad and I'm wishing we hadn't just backed the coach after that 'review' so it would be easier to sack him now if we have to.
Think I might do 180 here. If the senior players have shown poor conduct and are unwilling to change, put the team first and help develop the players and culture of the club then we shouldn't worry about keeping them. As long as we don't see a Street for pick 19 situation I'll back the coach here.
09-10-2014, 09:29 PM
Pretty much what you've suggested BTT
4 and Boyd, or 4 and a quality mid like Treloar or Shiel.
A kp would be nice, but a mid who's not 18 would be almost as good.
4 and Boyd or Trealor or Shiel is way overs.
Pick 4 and a second rounder closer or Boyd/Treloar/Shiel.
Griff is 28 don't forget.
09-10-2014, 09:35 PM
Yes but he is also contracted. If they want him, they pay through the nose.
09-10-2014, 09:36 PM
Damn straight, TwoDogs. We won just 3 games in 1982 - the final one a (still) record 155 point home loss to the scum from over the Maribyrnong. Wooden Spoon and far worse doldrums than today. EJ Jnr's knee went, three times b&f Dunstan was traded to North and captain & uber champion KT was traded to Melbourne.
Cue hysteria!!!
The result? in with a glut of good young (then unknown) future champs, we win 5 of our first 7 games in 1983 and the WO is pumping! We rode that momentum to the '85 prelim, winning our first finals game for 24 years!
If you want a rainbow, you've got to put up with a bit of rain: Dolly Parton c/o David Brent..
While I sincerely hope that's the result of all this, I have doubts over how appealing it will be for draftees to come to a club which has just had a mass exodus. Now more than ever we will need to be thinking about drafting good people, good self-motivators. They simply won't survive at our club unless they have a ruthless drive to begin with.
09-10-2014, 09:38 PM
to reiterate a great point made earlier - we have them by the kernackers. They have seduced our captain and put him in a position of complete untenability if the deal falls through. Their club will be mud with all AFL followers until the day they fold - which won't be that far off with the conduct they have displayed.
09-10-2014, 09:39 PM
But they're screwed because Griffen has thrown his reputation in the bin to ensure he makes good on his half of their arrangment. GWS has a massive obligation to him to get the deal done, they're going to have to take the rough end of the deal. What's their alternative, say to Griffen sorry we know you've destroyed your reputation and burnt your bridges at the Bulldogs but we really like Boyd so you'll have to stay there for another year and we'll try to make it happen next year when you're a free agent, sorry?
09-10-2014, 09:40 PM
If we somehow managed to get/lure Boyd alone I would be satisfied given where this is now at.
We should be in Boyd's ear now with a large multi year offer too good to refuse.
09-10-2014, 09:40 PM
And instantly becomes - in pure footballing terms - the most accomplished player on their list.
They crave more real and perceived legitimacy. Griffen brings that in spades.
It's up to us to make them pay the requisite price for it.
09-10-2014, 09:44 PM
While I sincerely hope that's the result of all this, I have doubts over how appealing it will be for draftees to come to a club which has just had a mass exodus. Now more than ever we will need to be thinking about drafting good people, good self-motivators. They simply won't survive at our club unless they have a ruthless drive to begin with.
A mass exodus of the crap. From what has been going on it sounds like the club will be a far more open environment than it has ever been. It'll be full of gun young players too so the gun young players we get from Higgins, Cooney, Minson and Griffen will be right in their element.
09-10-2014, 09:46 PM
Will Griffen front his team mates or will he just walk away? Would he be welcome back at the club in the near future or do you think it will take a few years for wounds to heal?
It is a disappointing end to a great career with our club.
09-10-2014, 09:47 PM
But they're screwed because Griffen has thrown his reputation in the bin to ensure he makes good on his half of their arrangment. GWS has a massive obligation to him to get the deal done, they're going to have to take the rough end of the deal. What's their alternative, say to Griffen sorry we know you've destroyed your reputation and burnt your bridges at the Bulldogs but we really like Boyd so you'll have to stay there for another year and we'll try to make it happen next year when you're a free agent, sorry?
That's Griffen's issue in a nutshell. He had a reputation as a quiet but stern leader who lets his actions speak for him. Now he has a reputation as a squib and it will all be for naught if GWS don't get the deal done.
I would be thinking pick 4 and 7 would be ideal, there's little chance in us rattling Boyd loose. All of a sudden we have the draft pick profile we have missed out on in recent years, the type of profile that has been gifted to GWS and GCS (well, almost).
09-10-2014, 10:02 PM
Good morning from the other side of the planet, what news to wake up to!
Firstly in my experience at times I've had run ins with the boss, once it even lead me to finding a new job.
This is no different, Ryan has an issue he sees as unresolvable. It's pretty simple, it's best for both parties to move on.
I'm glad the club has backed the coach, not because he is perfect, but rather, that's the plan and strategy, we simply need to stick fat.
What has happened now is we have an opportunity, one which has never fallen to us before, it's a pivotal moment which will make or break us, now is the time.
I believe in Peter, Simon, Chris and Brendan, I know they hold the clubs best interests, whatever pans out I'll back.
Play hard Bulldogs, play bloody hard.
09-10-2014, 10:26 PM
to reiterate a great point made earlier - we have them by the kernackers. They have seduced our captain and put him in a position of complete untenability if the deal falls through. Their club will be mud with all AFL followers until the day they fold - which won't be that far off with the conduct they have displayed.
Actually we don't. What we have is a guy who is contracted to us that wants to play for them. They can trade this trade week and get him or they could wait 12 months and pick him up as a free agent. What GWS have done is "unsettle" a player. This is a typical tactic of big clubs in the European Football Leagues, actually classic Real Madrid. Talk to the player whilst he is contracted, typically with a year or so on his contract, dangle a huge carrot and then not get the trade over the line, knowing that you have done enough to destabilise the relationship that you can pick the player up in 6 to 2 months time.
GWS will NOT pay overs. They will probably look to pay fair market value. What is Griffin's fair market value - given he has expressed a desire to play there, asked to traded and everyone knows that the club are in disarray - I don't think our hand is that great. We will get a first round pick if we lose him next year. No way will GWS give up a first round pick + Boyd/Patton/Cameron etc. If we got their first round and second round that would be good, but I expect we will get something like a first round + lower level player - maybe a mid.
Club can bluster all it wants about "required player" and "will not trade" and "make sure we get the best value", but it is obvious from PG's statement that this was not in our plans or even on our radar at the start of trade week. We have been broadsided and are taking on water. We are in no position to take a tough stance and every club knows it!
09-10-2014, 10:30 PM
GWS are talking about trading pick 7 and a mid tier player for Griffen. A bit under from what most are thinking on here.
09-10-2014, 10:33 PM
GWS are talking about trading pick 7 and a mid tier player for Griffen. A bit under from what most are thinking on here.
Mid-tier is McCarthy. I'll take 4 and McCarthy.
09-10-2014, 10:36 PM
Actually we don't. What we have is a guy who is contracted to us that wants to play for them. They can trade this trade week and get him or they could wait 12 months and pick him up as a free agent. What GWS have done is "unsettle" a player. This is a typical tactic of big clubs in the European Football Leagues, actually classic Real Madrid. Talk to the player whilst he is contracted, typically with a year or so on his contract, dangle a huge carrot and then not get the trade over the line, knowing that you have done enough to destabilise the relationship that you can pick the player up in 6 to 2 months time.
GWS will NOT pay overs. They will probably look to pay fair market value. What is Griffin's fair market value - given he has expressed a desire to play there, asked to traded and everyone knows that the club are in disarray - I don't think out had is that great. We will get a first round pick if we lose him next year. No way will GWS give up a first round pick + Boyd/Patton/Cameron etc. If we got their first round and second round that would be good, but I expect we will get something like a first round + lower level player - may be a mid.
Club can bluster all it wants about "required player" and "will not trade" and "make sure we get the best value", but it is obvious from PG's statement that this was not in our plans or even on our radar at the start of trade week. We have been broadsided and are taking on water. We are in no position to take a tough stance and every club knows it!
Love your post. But if GWS acts like that with Griffen, it will impact their reputation with potential recruits for years. They are going to have to give us something extra to finish off their work. Also, one year is a long time in this situation. Will Griffen want to go to them if they stuff this up for him?
09-10-2014, 10:39 PM
Not me. Griffen will be pick 4 in FA compo next year if we can't convince him to stay like Sydney and ROK. The chance of keeping Griffen is worth more than McCarthy.
If they want an All Australian elite gun player, they've got to give a future one. Boyd or Cameron or bust. Gordon's comments set up around this argument too. We aren't in the strongest position, but we hold the cards.
09-10-2014, 10:42 PM
How do we get one of their young kids over the line when from the outside we look like a rabble? Thats my main concern as I keen to get a player in the deal. I reckon James Stewart and pick 4 is a fair deal and fingers crossed a PG lead Western bulldogs can work our backsides off and get a fair deal done.
09-10-2014, 10:42 PM
I would 'spew up' if we took that.
09-10-2014, 10:44 PM
Fair deal for mine
09-10-2014, 10:45 PM
Love your post. But if GWS acts like that with Griffen, it will impact their reputation with potential recruits for years. They are going to have to give us something extra to finish off their work. Also, one year is a long time in this situation. Will Griffen want to go to them if they stuff this up for him?
Football clubs are fickle and their fans even fickler - Hawthorn under Pelchen had a reputation for being horrible to trade with, but its a tiny closed market and clubs have no choice but to trade and as for players - there are only playing 684 jobs in the AFL (not including rookies), with a shelf life for players to make their dough of 10 years at best. If Griffin doesn't go then he either stays and commits to the Bulldogs rebuilding program or goes somewhere else next year. Even at 29, given he has had little injury trouble he would be a massive coup for a top 6 club.
If you dangle enough carrots in front of a donkey it will follow you whether you whip it or beat it.
My take is get used to it. In fact the club needs to get on the front foot and study what happens in the European tranfer markets, because believe me this is normal. I support Spurs - in the EPL and we 1) rarely develop home grown players; 2) generally raid the lower ranked EPL/Championship clubs for players; and 3) get f*cked over big time by all of the bigger Champions League clubs. Giving players the power to orchestrate moves means that good players will ALWAYS go and play for the best possible club and that generally means one that will a) pay them the most; and b) given the chance at winning trophies.
Is that the tall blonde headed chick I saw running around in the final match?
Whats fair value in your eyes for a 28 year old gun
09-10-2014, 10:46 PM
Yeah agreed
We need to do far better than McCarthy for the best player on our list
09-10-2014, 10:50 PM
He goes by the nickname of Sunshine.
09-10-2014, 10:53 PM
Football clubs are fickle and their fans even fickler - Hawthorn under Pelchen had a reputation for being horrible to trade with, but its a tiny closed market and clubs have no choice but to trade and as for players - there are only playing 684 jobs in the AFL (not including rookies), with a shelf life for players to make their dough of 10 years at best. If Griffin doesn't go then he either stays and commits to the Bulldogs rebuilding program or goes somewhere else next year. Even at 29, given he has had little injury trouble he would be a massive coup for a top 6 club.
If you dangle enough carrots in front of a donkey it will follow you whether you whip it or beat it.
My take is get used to it. In fact the club needs to get on the front foot and study what happens in the European tranfer markets, because believe me this is normal. I support Spurs - in the EPL and we 1) rarely develop home grown players; 2) generally raid the lower ranked EPL/Championship clubs for players; and 3) get f*cked over big time by all of the bigger Champions League clubs. Giving players the power to orchestrate moves means that good players will ALWAYS go and play for the best possible club and that generally means one that will a) pay them the most; and b) given the chance at winning trophies.
Our market is not as laissez faire as the EPL and the pay cheques for the stars certainly not in the same stratosphere. I don't think GWS can quite act as freely as say Man U or Chelsea do in these matters.
09-10-2014, 10:57 PM
Pick 4 and Hoskin-Elliott?
09-10-2014, 10:59 PM
Or Pick 7, Tomlinson and H-Elliott?
09-10-2014, 11:00 PM
Pick 4 and Hoskin-Elliott?
Great player - would take that.
09-10-2014, 11:01 PM
Will be interesting to see what Collingwood end up getting for Beams.
It's being reported the possibility of Pick 5 and Aish. If this goes through it just goes to show you need to pay way overs to get your man. Take note GWS.
09-10-2014, 11:03 PM
Will be interesting to see what Collingwood end up getting for Beams.
It's being reported the possibility of Pick 5 and Aish. If this goes through it just goes to show you need to pay way overs to get your man. Take note GWS.
Wont happen. Griff is also older than beams which also reduces his value.
09-10-2014, 11:04 PM
Great player - would take that.
Id take it too but its overs....
09-10-2014, 11:05 PM
Ha ha yes it is. Kicked a nice goal from the boundary and took a couple of good grabs. Strong through the hips for a slight lady too :D
09-10-2014, 11:07 PM
The more I think about it we need a player in exchange, I have read through the names that GWS wouldn't consider and I keep coming back to Tomlinson. Pick 4 and Tomlinson would be my preference.
09-10-2014, 11:07 PM
We need to be realistic. The danger is that Griff has said he will walk away from the game for a year if we cannot get the deal done. Let's not shoot ourselves completely in the foot.
09-10-2014, 11:10 PM
The more I think about it we need a player in exchange, I have read through the names that GWS wouldn't consider and I keep coming back to Tomlinson. Pick 4 and Tomlinson would be my preference.
Good call. Can play at both ends and has good hands. Would they consider him?
09-10-2014, 11:11 PM
We need to be realistic. The danger is that Griff has said he will walk away from the game for a year if we cannot get the deal done. Let's not shoot ourselves completely in the foot.
If he's said that fine. How did that work for Carey and his bad back? That's spite, not a mindset clash.
09-10-2014, 11:12 PM
There is no way in hell an AFL footballer of Griff's calibre will sit out a year.
09-10-2014, 11:17 PM
How do we get one of their young kids over the line when from the outside we look like a rabble? Thats my main concern as I keen to get a player in the deal. I reckon James Stewart and pick 4 is a fair deal and fingers crossed a PG lead Western bulldogs can work our backsides off and get a fair deal done.
Yes, surely one of their plethora of young, tall KP forwards will want to come to us. Stewart, Tomlinson, McCarthy - the opportunities for them are so limited at GWS.
09-10-2014, 11:20 PM
Could you clarify, are you in favour of an EPL-style competition, free agency and players who come and go? Or against it? You seem to have provided the best reasons for the EPL being a farce, and for why the AFL shouldn't be promoting free agency.
09-10-2014, 11:20 PM
Good call. Can play at both ends and has good hands. Would they consider him?
The problem is that you need to convince the kid....
09-10-2014, 11:21 PM
Hypothetical now, would you be happy with that deal if offered to us and Griffen was still happy to be on our list but open to be traded ?
It would be very tempting.
09-10-2014, 11:24 PM
Would GWS be interested in Cooney as well? I like the pick 4 & Tomlinson trade.
09-10-2014, 11:26 PM
There is no way in hell an AFL footballer of Griff's calibre will sit out a year.
You know - knowing Griffen (at least what he is like) I could fully see him going bush for a year myself. Griffen and Gilbee used to shoot at my Uncle's farm in Birregurra and I can just see him pulling up stumps for a year to get away from all the bullshit. I don't think he's bluffing.
09-10-2014, 11:27 PM
Hypothetical now, would you be happy with that deal if offered to us and Griffen was still happy to be on our list but open to be traded ?
It would be very tempting.
I think so. It's not ideal to lose a player of Griffen's ability but 2 picks in the first round and one of them very likely to land us a quality young KPP plus a genuine gun like Tomlinson would serve us well in the future. We would still have 2 (or 3) picks in the 2nd round.
It would be a great platform to build upon.
09-10-2014, 11:33 PM
Could you clarify, are you in favour of an EPL-style competition, free agency and players who come and go? Or against it? You seem to have provided the best reasons for the EPL being a farce, and for why the AFL shouldn't be promoting free agency.
Neither for nor against - its just the way football in Europe works. Its great when you prise a gun kid away from a club like Southampton (ie Gareth Bale) and shattering when a bigger club like Real Madrid prises one of your gun players away (ie Gareth Bale) at least you get a wad of cash most times to go and buy the Beatles with (though Spurs used it to buy the Monkees).
I don't think the AFL had any choice. Sooner or later their would have been a legal challenge to the draft and the salary cap so the AFL negotiated a settlement to lose one of them - the draft in controlled circumstances. God help clubs like ours if there is no salary cap.......
09-10-2014, 11:40 PM
You know - knowing Griffen (at least what he is like) I could fully see him going bush for a year myself. Griffen and Gilbee used to shoot at my Uncle's farm in Birregurra and I can just see him pulling up stumps for a year to get away from all the bullshit. I don't think he's bluffing.
I have heard him say that a few times.
09-10-2014, 11:48 PM
Wont happen. Griff is also older than beams which also reduces his value.
Griff is also better with way more runs on the board
09-10-2014, 11:48 PM
Where/when was that said? Haven't seen it reported anywhere
09-10-2014, 11:51 PM
Where/when was that said? Haven't seen it reported anywhere
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/ryan-griffen-quits-western-bulldogs-seeks-trade-to-gws-giants/story-fni5fazt-1227085135163?nk=d20294b118c839f1fac0f38cb93a5104
It's been mentioned on radio at least twice this arvo as well
09-10-2014, 11:56 PM
Where was that?
09-10-2014, 11:57 PM
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/ryan-griffen-quits-western-bulldogs-seeks-trade-to-gws-giants/story-fni5fazt-1227085135163?nk=d20294b118c839f1fac0f38cb93a5104
Sorry mate but that is one of the worst articles I've ever read. It contradicts itself at least twice and then goes into fantasy land hypotheticals. Neither Ryan nor his management have stated this and I certainly won't believe something written by Ralph Mouth
09-10-2014, 11:58 PM
Talk of walking away is BS. Just a scare tactic.
GWS offering Pick 7 & a mid tier player is no surprise. It's their first offer with a week of trade week left; why on earth would they put forward their best deal straight off the bat?
GWS aren't stupid. They know they'll have to pay overs. Picks 4 & 7 will be more attainable than Boyd/Cameron/Shiels/Treloar/WHE but it's up to us to get in their ear and make a huge offer. They don't need any more early picks; they are desperate for somebody like Griffen, though. Giving up their first pick (4) and effectively Jaksch for Griff is still a good deal for them.
09-10-2014, 11:59 PM
That's probably the lamest attempt to regain some leverage I have ever read. Just proves they know they've painted themselves into corner.
10-10-2014, 12:01 AM
The only positive of that is Mooney talking like a passionate bulldog person. I liked that.
10-10-2014, 12:02 AM
Sorry mate but that is one of the worst articles I've ever read. It contradicts itself at least twice and then goes into fantasy land hypotheticals. Neither Ryan nor his management have stated this and I certainly won't believe something written by Ralph Mouth
That's ok I didn't write it. It was mentioned on radio as well. I don't know what to believe anymore. I'm scared a gun kid will come out and say they want a trade.
At 29 - if he misses a year, then it's all over for him in terms of being an elite player ever again. It's a fanciful suggestion.
10-10-2014, 12:12 AM
GWS offering Pick 7 & a mid tier player is no surprise. It's their first offer with a week of trade week left; why on earth would they put forward their best deal straight off the bat?
GWS aren't stupid. They know they'll have to pay overs. Picks 4 & 7 will be more attainable than Boyd/Cameron/Shiels/Treloar/WHE but it's up to us to get in their ear and make a huge offer. They don't need any more early picks; they are desperate for somebody like Griffen, though. Giving up their first pick (4) and effectively Jaksch for Griff is still a good deal for them.
Exactly - we should play the same game - make Griff salary offers to guys like Boyd/Cameron whoever, put pressure on GWS and use the "come home" factor. Get Murphy and Gia and Dahl and LIbba to text/email call the guys and say year 29 y/o griff will be good for a couple of years and then what? Come home to the kennel and have Libba, Macrae, etc hitting you lace out.
10-10-2014, 12:18 AM
If GWS cannot secure Griff, they lose all credibility with regard to luring any future big fish from other clubs. This article is more lightweight than a dandelion spore.
The earlier talk regarding a divide between the older and younger guys at the group....Gia's speech at the B&F may be related to this- where he somewhat pleaded to the likes of Dahl, Rough, Libba- to support Griff. Just a thought.
10-10-2014, 12:44 AM
You'd take picks 4 and 7?
Guido
10-10-2014, 01:17 AM
I don't think there's many that wouldn't take 4 and 7.
I say take the picks, then just chuck stupid, and I mean stupid, offers at Cameron who's out of contract next year with both:
A) The money originally allocated for Griffen
B) The bulk of the money we were going to throw at Patton.
So we're talking $1.5mil per year. 3, maybe 4 years. $6 mill. Would take big cahunas.
But this way we get this years picks from them, and given we will probably have a good PSD position next year, get Cameron for slight unders or maybe even get him for nothing - i.e. truly screw them ** *** ***** ******* **** ** *** **** * *****!
Becomes a 3 for 1 deal. Ledger evened.
10-10-2014, 02:24 AM
If GWS cannot secure Griff, they lose all credibility with regard to luring any future big fish from other clubs. This article is more lightweight than a dandelion spore.
Agreed - posters here seem split on whether we hold the upper hand or not, but GWS became a laughing-stock last year when the Franklin deal not only failed to go through, but he landed up at the Swannies (I wonder what they would give us for Griffen?).
GWS need to show the footy world that they can land a marquee player - Davis, Scully and Ward haven't been great (though CW has been the best of them - and if they don't get the Griffen trade done then which big name player is going to risk trashing their reputation at the club where they are loved on the basis of a promise from the flaky Gnats. In addition, if Cameron really is a confidante of Griffen, then he's got a lot invested in bringing him over now, rather than leaving him hanging out to dry.
(Plus, surely the AFL would step in if Griffen does look like going awol for a year - that kind of breach of contract is not a great look for the league!)
I like that Peter Gordon's come out with all guns blazing. We shouldn't budge until they pay major overs (personally I'd like picks 4,7 and a player we rate highly). The Club needs to make a statement and the worst thing we could do is to fold easily in this situation. We have an opporunity to get a lot out of a shit situation, and need to grab that opportunity.
10-10-2014, 02:53 AM
Sounds like the boys are all a little sensitive these days. Can't be told there not the greatest. I'm with Mooney if he wants out show him the door. Can't believe we are not trying to get Kristen Jasch from GWS what are the recruiters thinking down there
10-10-2014, 03:05 AM
Sounds like the boys are all a little sensitive these days. Can't be told there not the greatest. I'm with Mooney if he wants out show him the door. Can't believe we are not trying to get Kristen Jasch from GWS what are the recruiters thinking down there
Apparently he rocked up late to an interview with the club.
Worry for me is that he didn't get a game in their undermanned back half .
10-10-2014, 03:09 AM
In a heartbeat . Getting 4 6 and 7 sets the club up force sustained period
10-10-2014, 04:43 AM
Surely we couldn't get more than pick 4 and 7. Taking emotion out of it Griffen is almost 29 and has had a bad back. Gun player but the age means they won't just give us whatever we want. 3 picks in the first 7 and 5 in the first 26 would be an amazing result.
10-10-2014, 05:06 AM
Surely we couldn't get more than pick 4 and 7. Taking emotion out of it Griffen is almost 29 and has had a bad back. Gun player but the age means they won't just give us whatever we want. 3 picks in the first 7 and 5 in the first 26 would be an amazing result.
I wouldn't think so and I really think 4 + 7 is a stretch. If that is what they are offering then we should just take it and move on.
10-10-2014, 05:46 AM
We can't initiate any contact with GWS but when they make their offer we need to get a quality player involved.
It won't be any of the players they have already said are off limits but it does leave some very good options.
Pick 4 not pick 7 needs to be the only pick we will take and then a good player as well.
Having picks 4 and 6 plus at least 2 (likely to be 3) second round picks will give us a great platform to draft and trade for players especially given we also have plenty of money to splash around.
10-10-2014, 06:52 AM
We can't initiate any contact with GWS but when they make their offer we need to get a quality player involved.
It won't be any of the players they have already said are off limits but it does leave some very good options.
Pick 4 not pick 7 needs to be the only pick we will take and then a good player as well.
Having picks 4 and 6 plus at least 2 (likely to be 3) second round picks will give us a great platform to draft and trade for players especially given we also have plenty of money to splash around. Not a bad way of looking at it. Who did you have in mind in terms of players. Lessens the risk that we get the draft pick wrong I guess.
10-10-2014, 06:57 AM
The story behind the Griffen walkout
Date
The Age
October 9, 2014 - 10:06PM
Jake Niall
Ryan Griffen's walkout is the most significant event of the 2014 post-season. It has placed Brendan McCartney on notice and underlined the new landscape in which contracts have become virtually irrelevant and some coaches struggle to retain authority.
If there is a temptation to view Griffen's request for a trade as the seismic Buddy Franklin moment of this trading period, it is actually a completely different event, just as the reserved Griffen is nothing like flamboyant Buddy.
Griffen, unlike Buddy, is not leaving for treasure. The Giants plan to pay him less than he would receive at Whitten Oval. They can't afford a rock-star contract.
Griffen also hasn't selected as his destination a club that is close to a premiership – he isn't following the successful path of Brian Lake. Unlike Allen Christensen, he doesn't have particular personal reasons behind his wish for the newly fashionable "fresh start".
No, Griffen's motives, from what we can gather, are more about rediscovering enjoyment in his workplace. The captaincy also weighed heavily upon him.
It will be difficult for the Dogs to dissuade him. As some who know him suggested, a decision of this type wasn't easily made, and once made, Griffen is not for turning.
Part, but not all, of Griffen's motive relates to his relationship with McCartney, who has had issues with senior players during 2014. Bulldogs president Peter Gordon's statement has squarely addressed the Griffen-McCartney relationship – or, more accurately, Griffen's concerns about McCartney.
By making some of the less-than-pristine linen public, Gordon short-circuited speculation.
Griffen had raised concerns about the coach with Gordon, who told the chief executive, who told the coach. McCartney acknowledged faults and "agreed to work on them".
"Having returned to Australia on Tuesday night and without any further discussion with us after giving that agreement, Ryan informed us that he had changed his mind.
"We were also informed that he was seeking a trade to GWS – with whom we now understand he was in communication during this time," Gordon said with trademark candour.
"We are extremely disappointed at his approach and have no intention of indulging it."
Today the Bulldogs are upset because, in their minds, Griffen had agreed to give the club and McCartney another chance. Was Griffen nodding his head agreeably to avoid conflict? Who knows. But whatever interpretation is placed on that conversation doesn't matter. He's out.
Griffen went on a trip to Italy with his girlfriend, and the Mediterranean air didn't diminish the concerns he had harboured about McCartney and the club environment.
His choice of club, GWS, is best explained by two factors – one was his relationships with coach Leon Cameron, captain Callan Ward, and another Giant, Dylan Addison – all alumni of Whitten Oval.
Cameron spent several years with the Dogs as assistant coach – Griffen's formative years – and the pair had a relaxed and comfortable working relationship.
The other factor that went in GWS's favour was Griffen's wish to be off-Broadway. Griffen would prefer just to play with a minimum of fuss. He would choose the Blue Mountains over the Blues.
The upshot is he has the Dogs bristling, wondering how this could have been avoided and what is required to repair the internal damage.
The Dogs shouldn't sack McCartney. He should coach into 2015, without any guarantees. Yet amid the crisis, the club can surely glimpse an opportunity.
Griffen will turn 29 soon and has perhaps three years left, by which stage the Dogs might not have the premiership window open. Griffen has only one year left on his contract and would be a free agent next year. The return, if he left, would be underwhelming – an end-of-first-round pick perhaps, or less.
The Giants have pick No.4 and will shortly have pick No.7. There is little sense in the Bulldogs, who won't contend for a while, retaining Griffen in their circumstances.
Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/the-story-behind-the-griffen-walkout-20141009-113wey.html#ixzz3FgCMg7ie
10-10-2014, 07:40 AM
Not a bad way of looking at it. Who did you have in mind in terms of players. Lessens the risk that we get the draft pick wrong I guess.
Tomlinson
10-10-2014, 08:08 AM
I think in 10 years Ryan is going to regret his actions. A sad day all round.
10-10-2014, 08:14 AM
Still a big chance to be at the club next year.
10-10-2014, 08:17 AM
Really? How so? I would've thought there was no turning back now, and that its to no one's advantage to keep him if he doesn't want to be here. Providing GWS and the club are sensible, a trade should be secured, wouldn't you think?
10-10-2014, 08:18 AM
I think in 10 years Ryan is going to regret his actions. A sad day all round.
Yep. Hopefully he regrets it next time he plays us and gets tackled by one of the players he tried to bullshit yesterday.
And play out his contract?
10-10-2014, 08:22 AM
I hope he isn't. I hope we get the two draft picks and he spends the last few years of his footballing life counting his money in Sydney.
Griff can *!*!*!*! right off as far as I am concerned. You don't do his to the club and then walk back through the door as if nothing happened.
10-10-2014, 08:22 AM
Really? How so? I would've thought there was no turning back now, and that its to no one's advantage to keep him if he doesn't want to be here. Providing GWS and the club are sensible, a trade should be secured, wouldn't you think?
The day is young, it's not a done deal
10-10-2014, 08:23 AM
I highly doubt that and why would we want him? The reception he will get all year will be cool to say the least. Not a good scenario now for all interest groups.
10-10-2014, 08:36 AM
I think we need to at least acknowledge the possibility that Griffen might stay, the coach could get sacked, and that some more senior players are shown the door.
10-10-2014, 08:40 AM
No way, I want him gone. You don't get to blindside and completely screw the club over, wrench out every supporters heart, and choose to defect to the most plastic franchise in the comp instead and then come back.
He used to be my favourite player but he can get stuffed now.
I hope he isn't. I hope we get the two draft picks and he spends the last few years of his footballing life counting his money in Sydney.
Griff can *!*!*!*! right off as far as I am concerned. You don't do his to the club and then walk back through the door as if nothing happened.
This is how I feel.
10-10-2014, 08:44 AM
I think we need to at least acknowledge the possibility that Griffen might stay, the coach could get sacked, and that some more senior players are shown the door.
That is a definite possibility.
There would have been some long internal meetings last night between President/ CEO/ Management and one or two senior personnel to discuss the best way forward.
It might be a case of either the coach or the captain goes. At this stage it is certainly looking like the captain but you never know.
10-10-2014, 09:10 AM
The story behind the Griffen walkout
Date
The Age
October 9, 2014 - 10:06PM
Jake Niall
Griffen, unlike Buddy, is not leaving for treasure. The Giants plan to pay him less than he would receive at Whitten Oval. They can't afford a rock-star contract.
How can GWS not afford a rock-star contract? What was there offer to Buddy?
10-10-2014, 09:16 AM
How can GWS not afford a rock-star contract? What was there offer to Buddy?
I think they would have consolidated contracts where possible post the Buddy debacle, plus securing Buddy would have forced a few players out.
10-10-2014, 09:19 AM
Trade radio throwing up Griffen and pick 6 for Tom Boyd......Would you do it?
I would...
10-10-2014, 09:27 AM
I would...
Done deal
10-10-2014, 09:29 AM
I would...
Nope. I would do a straight swap though.
I would...
In a heart beat.
Nope. I would do a straight swap though.
28 year old mid v 19 year old KPF
We would have to add some IMO.
10-10-2014, 09:43 AM
Yep, needs a sweetner...
10-10-2014, 09:46 AM
You left off
28 year old captain,star of the competition, All Australian, multiple BnF winner, proven finals performer.
and 19 year old KPF who has shown glimpse's, but is not yet a gunarentee to make the grade.
Pick 6 is a bloody big sweetner.
10-10-2014, 09:51 AM
I would...
Yep, sold.
10-10-2014, 09:54 AM
You left off
28 year old captain,star of the competition, All Australian, multiple BnF winner, proven finals performer.
and 19 year old KPF who has shown glimpse's, but is not yet a gunarentee to make the grade.
Don't forget......Griffen has a questionable back
10-10-2014, 09:56 AM
Yes but I want their second round too.
6 and Griffen for Boyd and second round pick
I would...
Would like a little more, such as a swap of picks 21 for 27 and picks 40 for 45, but if not would be happy to end up with Boyd.
Boyd for mine would be a real silver lining and a real coup.
You left off
Agree with 6 being a bloody big sweetener, but Boyd to me is a ten year plus KPF and worth it.
And questionable leadership qualities.
10-10-2014, 10:36 AM
Shut up they'll hear you.
10-10-2014, 10:51 AM
#getf $^/edgriff
10-10-2014, 11:21 AM
Our bargaining power will take a huge hit if Macca is gone.
10-10-2014, 12:09 PM
This doesn't change a thing as far as I'm concerned. I don't want Griffen at the club next year.
10-10-2014, 12:11 PM
Yep Griffen can bloody well bugger off.
10-10-2014, 12:14 PM
It was good leadership to raise the issue with Gordon, Grant and Macca. I think most agree on that.
To then turn your back on an agreement that you were happy with the plan is cowardice. I don't want a coward playing for my football club.
10-10-2014, 12:18 PM
He must go, anything else will make a terrible situation worse.
10-10-2014, 12:21 PM
It was good leadership to raise the issue with Gordon, Grant and Macca. I think most agree on that.
To then turn your back on an agreement that you were happy with the plan is cowardice. I don't want a coward playing for my football club.
The president does, which is weird now. If Griffin returns now, as is the presidents want, the club will look ridiculous, and prove what the club is trying so hard to deny, that the individual is greater than the club.
10-10-2014, 12:24 PM
You can't help but think the pandering to Ryan and the 'resignation' of the coach are an amalgamation of a night spent recieving emails and phone calls from the vocal dribblers that support this club not to renew memberships (if they even had one) after yesterday's debarcle.
10-10-2014, 12:29 PM
Griffen must go and we must make the most of this in trades/draft.
10-10-2014, 02:48 PM
Griffen must go and we must make the most of this in trades/draft.
This I agree with 5000%.
10-10-2014, 02:56 PM
Griffen must stay, he is an A Grade player, a match winner and only resorted to this when the club wouldn't fix things.
He wasflogging himself off at GWS long before the club knew there was a problem.
He cant stay.
10-10-2014, 02:59 PM
But yet he lied to every senior person at the club?
10-10-2014, 03:00 PM
I can't agree with you there BAD.
It would be my preference for the clean out to be completed, with none of Griffen, Cooney and Minson playing for the Bulldogs next year.
These guys are soft and don't have what it takes to lead the club appropriately. We need to move on from them and put this sorry tale behind us.
Geez he was captain for less than 6 months before he started flirting around.
10-10-2014, 03:00 PM
Griffen has to go.
He has walked out on us, we don't just sack the coach and welcome him back with open arms. He didn't even give the coach as a specific reason for leaving, so why should he change his mind now?
He can get stuffed. If he plays for us next year you will have the horrid sight of his own supporters booing him. You thought Eagleton and Gia were treated harshly by supporters.
10-10-2014, 03:02 PM
He can't stay. I don't even want to look at him right now.
It might be painful to see him in the jaffa orange, but it would be even more painful to see him in the red, white and blue.
10-10-2014, 03:03 PM
Respect your right to an opinion, but I cannot see how Griffen could possibly change his mind and stay, nor could I see how the club could possibly want to see Griffen back at the club. Both sides would have no credibility after such an about-face.
By ''fixing things'' do you mean sack the coach? Because there was obviously much discussion around rectifying the issues between player and coach, which supposedly reached a satisfactory conclusion until 2 days ago.
Do you want the club to be stripped entirely of its dignity? Because welcoming Griffen back with open arms effectively does that.
None of this takes away the service that Griffen gave to our club. He was (and still is) a magnificent player whose on-field deeds were legendary (I'm still in awe of some of Lake's on-field service to us). But his decision is the thin edge of the wedge - he simply cannot come back to the club.
10-10-2014, 03:05 PM
Griffen has to go.
He can get stuffed. If he plays for us next year you will have the horrid sight of his own supporters booing him. You thought Eagleton and Gia were treated harshly by supporters.
Cant begin to fathom 2015 on WOOF if Griffen stays. That said, we are a forgiving bunch.....arent we?!
10-10-2014, 03:10 PM
It would be my preference for the clean out to be completed, with none of Griffen, Cooney and Minson playing for the Bulldogs next year.
These guys are soft and don't have what it takes to lead the club appropriately. We need to move on from them and put this sorry tale behind us.
Who is soft????
10-10-2014, 03:19 PM
He wasflogging himself off at GWS long before the club knew there was a problem.
He cant stay.
How do you know? If he was well there were problems and he wanted no part of it.
But yet he lied to every senior person at the club?
Did he? He is a guy that is shy and probably it took alot of guts to front up to Gordon, Garlick, Grant, Macca and being intermediated. I can imagine him being advised to stay but not having the guts there to say this ain't going to change at the club. Some people just can't express themselves in a meeting like that. He probably should have said I will think about it.
Geez he was captain for less than 6 months before he started flirting around.
see above
Griffen has to go.
He has walked out on us, we don't just sack the coach and welcome him back with open arms. He didn't even give the coach as a specific reason for leaving, so why should he change his mind now?
Jones, Tutt, Higgins, Cooney came out didn't want to play for us. Others also not happy like Talia, Dahl, Minson, and many others approached Griff to go and say something.
According to Cameron Mooney he's been in contact with GWS for 6 months, which according to PG is before the shit the fan.
10-10-2014, 03:24 PM
According to Cameron Mooney he's been in contact with GWS for 6 months, which according to PG is before the shit the fan.
Depends what contact with GWS means?
I had a boss once who said don't believe anything you read and only half of what you hear.
10-10-2014, 03:29 PM
Griffen has to go.
There will be some players who blame Griffen for Maccas demise, need a fresh start at the kennel in 2015.
10-10-2014, 03:30 PM
He must go.
10-10-2014, 03:36 PM
Who is soft????
I think they all are for different reasons.
10-10-2014, 03:36 PM
It's just too ugly for him to come back now.
I just can't see him believing in the jumper.
I can't see the fans believing in him. I just can't see myself cheering him on.
We just have to clear the smoking wreckage and re build
Soon we'll have a new coach, a bonanza of young talent from the Griffen defection.
We'll start a pre season, the world will keep turning.
We'll have a list to challenge for a flag off the back of this and when we DO win it.
Imagine the sweetness.
God, turning down the kind of offer we're likely to get,
and FORCING Griffen to honour his contract would be even more insane than what's already transpired.
Depends what contact with GWS means?
I had a boss once who said don't believe anything you read and only half of what you hear.
I guess people can believe what they want, but its pretty obvious to me.
10-10-2014, 03:41 PM
I think they all are for different reasons.
Well he may just want out anyway.
If so, lets hope we get decent draft picks for him
10-10-2014, 03:51 PM
I can't see how Ryan can stay, even if Macca has gone. His actions in talking to GWS aren't that of a leader. I would be happy with a straight swap for Tom Boyd, an upgrade of a pick or an additional pick would be a bonus. GWS can cover the loss of Boyd more than we can cover the loss of Griffen, so for that reason we should be pushing for Boyd as a minimum.
10-10-2014, 04:16 PM
Salary cap - we might have the most handsomely paid youngsters in the AFL, apart from maybe GC & GWS at the beginning.
When Ryan leaves, assuming at least Cooney, Tutt and Jones will also be out, the salary cap gap to the minimum of 95% is going to be enormous.
Nobody, after the recent events, is going to want to be traded to us who's worth their salt.
10-10-2014, 04:17 PM
Salary cap - we might have the most handsomely paid youngsters in the AFL, apart from maybe GC & GWS at the beginning.
When Ryan leaves, assuming at least Cooney, Tutt and Jones will also be out, the salary cap gap to the minimum of 95% is going to be enormous.
Nobody, after the recent events, is going to want to be traded to us who's worth their salt.
Someone told me Jones wants to now stay? I can't confirm anything
10-10-2014, 04:25 PM
That's fantastic news . Can't wait to see his lack of defensive efforts .
We might have to put him on the coaching selection commitee.
10-10-2014, 04:35 PM
Anyone who wanted to leave can and should be shown the door regardless of today's resignation
10-10-2014, 04:43 PM
To be fair BAD, i don't want any of these turncoats at the club. If they've voiced wanting to move in public then they can piss off, so that's at least Jones, Tutt and Griffen. I'd rather see Mark Austin give his all than more talented players who don't giving a flying about the club.
10-10-2014, 04:51 PM
Agree with this 100%. Griffen can not stay. He was our captain so that makes it 10 times worse. As for Minson he has to go, I'd be filthy if these two in particular stay.
10-10-2014, 04:53 PM
Agree with this 100%. Griffen can not stay. He was our captain so that makes it 10 times worse. As for Minson he has to go, I'd be filthy if these two in particular stay.
Why the angst against Minson who has stuck with the club? I have read this a few times, have I missed anything?
10-10-2014, 04:55 PM
Why the angst against Minson who has stuck with the club? I have read this a few times, have I missed anything?
Was wondering the same
10-10-2014, 04:57 PM
Only rumours bornadog. If these rumours are true i want him out the door ASAP!
10-10-2014, 05:15 PM
Lets wait to see if the rumours true before we posse up.
10-10-2014, 05:17 PM
Hardly a surprise. With the lack of interest in him he could very well be out of the system if he doesn't stay with us. Carlton have very much cooled on him and are focussing on Jaksch.
10-10-2014, 05:22 PM
Hardly a surprise. With the lack of interest in him he could very well be out of the system if he doesn't stay with us. Carlton have very much cooled on him and are focussing on Jaksch.
I'd say with a reduced salary to what we offered but we might need to fill the cap out.
10-10-2014, 05:23 PM
Cant begin to fathom 2015 on WOOF if Griffen stays. That said, we are a forgiving bunch.....arent we?! LIKE HELL!! Griffen was shopping himself around for the last 6 months whilst CAPTAIN OF OUR CLUB!!! A CAPTAIN OF AN AFL CLUB you would hope would go to the coach,board,pres if he had concerns about the way the club was heading!!! Not WHORE himself around for a softer and easier place to play!!!!! I for one will BOO THE SHIT OUT OF HIM EVERY TIME HE TOUCHES THE BALL IF HE WAS TO STAY IN THE RED,WHITE AND BLUE NEXT YEAR!!!
10-10-2014, 05:29 PM
I for one will BOO THE SHIT OUT OF HIM EVERY TIME HE TOUCHES THE BALL IF HE WAS TO STAY IN THE RED,WHITE AND BLUE NEXT YEAR!!!
At least if Scott Burns is the new coach you can claim you were saying boo-urns (classic Simpsons reference for those playing at home).:)
10-10-2014, 06:21 PM
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/ryan-griffen-still-committed-to-leaving-bulldogs-20141010-114dah.html
The plan is coming together beautifully. GWS, come and show us some sugar.
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/ryan-griffen-still-committed-to-leaving-bulldogs-20141010-114dah.html
Great news.
10-10-2014, 06:27 PM
Mentioned in Hun video section that Jeremy Cameron was spotted in Adelaide.I just wonder if there is any chance.
10-10-2014, 06:27 PM
Why didnt Griff just stand down as captain earlier in the year when it didnt sit well with him ? May have avoided some of the shit storm that occurred.
10-10-2014, 06:32 PM
What are the ramifications for us if GWS enter the race for Beams
10-10-2014, 06:37 PM
Why didnt Griff just stand down as captain earlier in the year when it didnt sit well with him ? May have avoided some of the shit storm that occurred.
The more I read the more it seems that Griffen has taken the easy way out. It may have been embarrassing for him to stand down from the captaincy when he felt overwhelmed, but it would have been the right thing to do. Looking at it from the other perspective, he was always a speculative call for the role of captain. Not a natural leader, it might have been more intelligent to stick with Boyd until he was done.
10-10-2014, 06:37 PM
Was coming to post the exact same thing.
Hurts us a bit I would say. Was really hoping Brisbane and Pies struck a deal.
10-10-2014, 06:38 PM
They can't have Beams and Griffen, not without giving up something big (in both senses of the word).
It doesn't hurt us in the least, though. They still need to get the Griffen deal done.
10-10-2014, 06:47 PM
Boyd and Cameron would be untouchable. We'd really want pick 4. What are we left with if that goes for Beams. Pick 19 and Tomlinson?
10-10-2014, 07:25 PM
Boyd and Cameron would be untouchable. We'd really want pick 4. What are we left with if that goes for Beams. Pick 19 and Tomlinson?
This is what I love. Cameron and Boyd are 'untouchable' but Griffen, our captain is fair game.
Why would he want to go to Sydney?
10-10-2014, 07:27 PM
This is what I love. Cameron and Boyd are 'untouchable' but Griffen, our captain is fair game.
Because he wants to go there. I haven't heard that they want to come to us.
10-10-2014, 07:28 PM
Why would he want to go to Sydney?
Best mates with Shaw?
10-10-2014, 07:37 PM
It's away from Collingwood
10-10-2014, 07:48 PM
A different slant would be that he threw his toys out of the pram, picked up his bat and ball and went home. Its a sook act. He has completely undermined the club to serve his own interests......no less than Judas Brown, but worse because he is club captain.
The right course of action would have been:
1) give Gordon/Grant/Garlick the courtesy of saying he had thought about the situation and didn't feel able to work with Macca;
2) give the club the opportunity to get a decent trade for him on fair terms; and
3) not undermine Macca to the point of resignation.
I accept Griffin has the right to do what's best for him, but they way he went about it smells. Legend status revoked!
10-10-2014, 07:53 PM
Herald sun said pick 7 (carlton trade to GWS) and mid tier player for Griff. Then GWS use pick 4 for a Beams or Ryder deal.
For a deal like that l would make him sit out of football for a year and collect free agency deal following year.
10-10-2014, 08:07 PM
What a weak f*cken sook. Seriously guys get into the real world -
"Griffen's position on McCartney wasn't simply that he had relationship issues with McCartney. The greater difficulty was that, as the captain, he found himself in the uncomfortable position where he had to provide feedback - including the recent negative feedback - from sections of the playing group.
He did provide the club with that feedback - as the club has confirmed - but he did not enjoy this part of captaincy. This awkward position contributed to him losing enjoyment at Whitten Oval, and ultimately seeking a different environment. GWS, where his friend Leon Cameron is senior coach, was viewed as a club where he could focus on playing, without a major spotlight."
Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/ryan-griffen-still-committed-to-leaving-bulldogs-20141010-114dah.html#ixzz3FjOhcXev
If anyone actually believes that crap then I pity them. I can't believe I wasted my last free Age article this month reading that tripe!
Herald sun said pick 7 (carlton trade to GWS) and mid tier player for Griff. Then GWS use pick 4 for a Beams or Ryder deal.
For a deal like that l would make him sit out of football for a year and collect free agency deal following year.
Pony up 6&7 for 2?
Over paying a bit, but if we want Wright/McCartin we are going to have to be creative.
"Griffen's position on McCartney wasn't simply that he had relationship issues with McCartney. The greater difficulty was that, as the captain, he found himself in the uncomfortable position where he had to provide feedback - including the recent negative feedback - from sections of the playing group.
He did provide the club with that feedback - as the club has confirmed - but he did not enjoy this part of captaincy. This awkward position contributed to him losing enjoyment at Whitten Oval, and ultimately seeking a different environment. GWS, where his friend Leon Cameron is senior coach, was viewed as a club where he could focus on playing, without a major spotlight."
Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/ryan-griffen-still-committed-to-leaving-bulldogs-20141010-114dah.html#ixzz3FjOhcXev
If anyone actually believes that crap then I pity them. I can't believe I wasted my last free Age article this month reading that tripe!
Yep, he's been planning this shit for 6 months. Some people just aren't leaders.
10-10-2014, 08:18 PM
I agree. A very poor decision by Griffen which now goes to prove that he wasn't a leader. Based on good authority we can now look forward to two fine young emerging leaders in Wallis and Roughead. The loss of Macca is regrettable and he deserved better.
10-10-2014, 08:24 PM
Because he wants to go there. I haven't heard that they want to come to us.
They courted him though. They poached him. They considered him 'touchable'.
10-10-2014, 08:25 PM
They courted him though. They poached him. They considered him 'touchable'.
Hopefully we do the same Douggy.
10-10-2014, 08:27 PM
Hopefully we do the same Douggy.
Payback!
10-10-2014, 08:29 PM
Payback!
We're still waiting on payback for Ward.
10-10-2014, 08:30 PM
We got Darley :D
I agree. A very poor decision by Griffen which now goes to prove that he wasn't a leader. Based on good authority we can now look forward to two fine young emerging leaders in Wallis and Roughead. The loss of Macca is regrettable and he deserved better.
Agree. Griffen revoked his right to wear the jumper. He has let himself, his fans and his Club down.
I will buy the badge of every player to tackle Griffen to the turf next year. Hit him hard boys and help your club’s merchandise departments.
10-10-2014, 08:31 PM
Yep we haven't got justice for that yet.
10-10-2014, 08:33 PM
Maybe we can convince Josh Hunt to come out of retirement. That'll show em.
10-10-2014, 08:34 PM
We should print t-shirts with the slogan - Tackle the Turd - have a picture of Mr Hanky with Judas MkII's face on it.
10-10-2014, 08:47 PM
I will buy the badge of every player to tackle Griffen to the turf next year. Hit him hard boys and help your club’s merchandise departments.
We should start a WOOF raffle for the first WB player to iron him out. $5 entry.
10-10-2014, 09:12 PM
Love to see Picken line up on him next year.....
10-10-2014, 09:43 PM
Keep Redpath on the list purely for our GWS fixture and command him to inflict pain on the turncoat.
10-10-2014, 10:11 PM
Exclusive footage of Griffen meeting with GWS.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vb7yvi0ngU
10-10-2014, 10:41 PM
I still think the thread title is someone taking the piss. Griffen wants to GWS, as if...
10-10-2014, 10:49 PM
You guys are harsh!
Seriously, getting picks 4+7 (or the equivalent in quality players) for a 28yo when you are rebuilding is the best thing that could happen for us. Our board wasnt clever or ballsy enough to orchestrate such a trade, but thankfully Grif and GWS have imposed it on us.
happy days. Hopefully the club gets its act together for the next 6 days and extracts the maximum for Jones, Cooney and whoever else.
We still need ready to play bookends for '15.
10-10-2014, 10:52 PM
That was payback for Sam Reid I think...the Ward payback is still pending.
10-10-2014, 11:52 PM
That was payback for Sam Reid I think...the Ward payback is still pending.
We gave them Dylan Addison. I think that was our payback.
10-10-2014, 11:53 PM
Hey! I liked DFA. I think Sam Reid was really payback in and of itself, especially since we got a 3rd round pick from him (although the player we took (Prudden) has yet to inflict any payback)
11-10-2014, 12:32 AM
For anyone keen to have a cry, there is some deeply upsetting material in this thread:
Congratulation Ryan Griffen - 200 Games (http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?13491-Congratulations-Ryan-Griffen-200-Games-v-North&highlight=griffen)
For anyone concerned regarding their mental health in this delicate time, I would strongly advise against it.
11-10-2014, 12:35 AM
For anyone keen to have a cry, there is some deeply upsetting material in this thread:
Congratulation Ryan Griffen - 200 Games (http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?13491-Congratulations-Ryan-Griffen-200-Games-v-North&highlight=griffen)
For anyone concerned regarding their mental health in this delicate time, I would strongly advise against it.
Actually read back through that thread during today while sitting at work being completely non productive.
Quite amazing really. In a bad way.
11-10-2014, 12:40 AM
Actually read back through that thread during today while sitting at work being completely non productive.
Quite amazing really. In a bad way.
Today is my non-football-following-almost-hating-it-in-a-way girlfriend's birthday. She has sincerely appreciated my complete commitment to the cause.
The cause being the disasters of the Western Bulldogs. I don't know what she's been doing all day.
11-10-2014, 01:20 AM
Should have picked Franklin after all, eh?
11-10-2014, 01:54 AM
Today is my non-football-following-almost-hating-it-in-a-way girlfriend's birthday. She has sincerely appreciated my complete commitment to the cause.
The cause being the disasters of the Western Bulldogs. I don't know what she's been doing all day.
Wife has kept her distance today. I nearly got a hug of sympathy, but did get a "What's going on down there?"
In her non footballing loving way
You guys are harsh!
Seriously, getting picks 4+7 (or the equivalent in quality players) for a 28yo when you are rebuilding is the best thing that could happen for us. Our board wasnt clever or ballsy enough to orchestrate such a trade, but thankfully Grif and GWS have imposed it on us.
happy days. Hopefully the club gets its act together for the next 6 days and extracts the maximum for Jones, Cooney and whoever else.
We still need ready to play bookends for '15.
We aren't getting picks 4 & 7.
11-10-2014, 08:20 AM
l think GWS want to use Pick 7 (carlton) and a player for the Sook.
l would want pick 4 and a player or their 2nd round pick.
GWS want pick 4 to crash the Ryder or Beams deal.
If we cant get at least pick 4 make the SOOK sit out for a year and collect the FA next year.
11-10-2014, 08:29 AM
no point trading Griff then.
He's not worth picks 4 & 7 ATM. 3 or 4 years ago he would have been.
He's going to be 29 next season and has a year left on his contract.
Pick 4 and a decent player or 7, 21 and a player for me.
11-10-2014, 08:43 AM
l think GWS want to use Pick 7 (carlton) and a player for the Sook.
l would want pick 4 and a player or their 2nd round pick.
GWS want pick 4 to crash the Ryder or Beams deal.
If we cant get at least pick 4 make the SOOK sit out for a year and collect the FA next year.
They will get pick 7 from Carlton for Jaksch and pick 19.
Pick 7 is what they want to use on Ryder. Pick 4 for Beams but there is no way Pies let him go anywhere other than Brisbane.
I have no problems if we can't get pick 4 for Griffen (and a player) having him sit it out.
11-10-2014, 09:17 AM
On the plus side....nice to see us getting plenty of space in the newspapers for a change.
11-10-2014, 09:32 AM
They will get pick 7 from Carlton for Jaksch and pick 19.
Pick 7 is what they want to use on Ryder. Pick 4 for Beams but there is no way Pies let him go anywhere other than Brisbane.
I have no problems if we can't get pick 4 for Griffen (and a player) having him sit it out.
I can't see Ryder going to GWS, he is determined to be at Port.
And there's no way Beams is going to end up at GWS.
11-10-2014, 09:42 AM
And there's no way Beams is going to end up at GWS.
yes that is true as well.
11-10-2014, 09:53 AM
I would be seeking something along the following terms:-
Dogs receive picks 4 and 7
GWS receive Griffen and picks 27 and 28
We then have 3 top 7 picks and pick 26 to use in the draft. If we get the deal done early GWS can look to package up those picks for another trade or keep them and have 2 more top 30 selections.
If we can arrange a deal involving both their early picks, I would expect us to take pick 4 and a proven 21+ year old player, such as Shiels or WHE. Again, if need be I'd consider throwing one of our second rounders back to seal the deal.
How do we get that extra pick in the 20's?
11-10-2014, 10:27 AM
Wouldnt be passing any of our 2nd or 3rd round picks back the other way. We actually do need quite an intake of players through trade or draft with grif and coons going
I think its something like 7 players we have to pick up to account for Gia, Williams, Howard, Young, Grif, Coons, Higgins, Jones and Tutt. We are upgrading Jong and get Cordy with our 4th.
Ideally we will get 1 or 2 quality players traded in, and 5 or 6 good draft picks, none lower than round 3.
EDIT: has there ever been a more important trade/draft period for us - I cant remember one.
JMac and Dalrymple have to absolutely nail this one.
11-10-2014, 10:29 AM
Wouldnt be passing any of our 2nd or 3rd round picks back the other way. We actually do need quite an intake of players through trade or draft with grif and coons going
I think its something like 7 players we have to pick up to account for Gia, Williams, Howard, Young, Grif, Coons, Higgins, Jones and Tutt. We are upgrading Jong and get Cordy with our 4th.
Ideally we will get 1 or 2 quality players traded in, and 5 or 6 good draft picks, none lower than round 3.
Massive change to the club with 9 senior players out.
11-10-2014, 10:32 AM
The Sook's amazing game in round 23 was a pretty good job interview, wasn't it?
11-10-2014, 10:40 AM
I see it playing out like this: we need 7 players:
Grif = pick 4 plus quality player = 2
+ pick 6 = 3
+ two 2nds = 5
+3rd round = 6
+ 5th round = 7
Need to work the Jones+Cooney+Tutt trades to upgrade those last 2 picks significantly.
11-10-2014, 11:39 AM
I reckon the Beams and Ryder talk is just a smokescreen to reduce our bargaining power.
11-10-2014, 12:00 PM
I reckon the Beams and Ryder talk is just a smokescreen to reduce our bargaining power.
Bingo
11-10-2014, 12:07 PM
The Sook's amazing game in round 23 was a pretty good job interview, wasn't it?
Conspiratorial and I like conspiracies. Has the timeline of #16's serious conniving with GWS Poachers been firmly nailed down?
11-10-2014, 12:21 PM
How do we get that extra pick in the 20's?
I wasn't clear, but I am basing that on an assumption we can get another second round selection for Cooney and/or a package of players if Carlton etc are interested.
11-10-2014, 03:30 PM
A realistic view:
I can't see Carlton being silly enough giving away pick 7 in a trade for Jaksch.
Cooney is worth bugger all, maybe a pick upgrade of lower picks.
Jones isn't worth Carlton's second pick, which they will probably use on Jaksch anyway.
Minson has some appeal, albeit to a limited number of clubs.
So any trades with the above will probably have no relevance to the Griffen trade.
GWS have picks 4 and 19, and players to deal with.
GWS will not trade Boyd or Cameron for Griffen, unlikely they would trade WHE unless he definitely wants out.
All that leaves pick 4 and something else.
Something else could be pick 19, OR pick 19 + a Darley type player OR someone like Tomlinson, Stewart, McCarthy, Plowman etc i.e. a potentially quality player to plug a hole we have (not a Darley type player). Not sure Tomlinson helps us (having Stringer and Crameri) and apparently he's happy at GWS.
Is all that a fair view?
11-10-2014, 03:35 PM
DR, it's Jaksch and pick 19 for Carltons pick 7 that is currently being discussed
11-10-2014, 04:00 PM
I liked the way Stewart played in the last game too. Wouldn't mind him.
11-10-2014, 04:04 PM
Is all that a fair view?
GWS probably place the lowest value on picks and highest on mature players of any side in the AFL. They also have an abundance of what we lack, talls. If anyone still wants to go now Macca has left I would be looking to send them to GWS, or Carlton in the Jaksch deal.
Corr & Plowman would have appeal in addition to Tomlinson, McCarthy, Stewart and the untouchables Cameron, Boyd & Patton
11-10-2014, 04:22 PM
DR, it's Jaksch and pick 19 for Carltons pick 7 that is currently being discussed
Yep, I know that a later pick was involved. Still think it's ripping off Carlton.
11-10-2014, 04:25 PM
Yep, I know that a later pick was involved. Still think it's ripping off Carlton.
They appear to be very keen to get him. It's hard to get the perfect deal when you only have limited options. Sometimes you have to pay a bit more.
11-10-2014, 04:44 PM
They appear to be very keen to get him. It's hard to get the perfect deal when you only have limited options. Sometimes you have to pay a bit more.
Can we parade Jones around Lygon Street wearing a Jaksch face mask?
11-10-2014, 05:04 PM
I think that Patton could still be an option if GWS play hard ball with this trade. Pick 4 and Patton. 2 knee recos in as many years is a worry but surely he couldn't do it a third time could he?
Ideally though I would push for pick 4 and WHE
OR
pick 7 and Tom Boyd/Jeremy Cameron or even their 2nd round pick if we can land one of these 2.
11-10-2014, 05:08 PM
I think that Patton could still be an option if GWS play hard ball with this trade. Pick 4 and Patton. 2 knee recos in as many years is a worry but surely he couldn't do it a third time could he?
OR
pick 7 and Tom Boyd/Jeremy Cameron or even their 2nd round pick if we can land one of these 2.
I wouldn't touch Patton with the knees and he was very happy signing an extension to stay.
11-10-2014, 07:43 PM
I wouldn't touch Patton with the knees and he was very happy signing an extension to stay.
I have to agree. The Patton option is over.
2 knees in 2 years is just too scary.
11-10-2014, 07:56 PM
OR
Pick 4 AND WHE is crazy!
Straight swap for WHE would be a win for us.
11-10-2014, 08:07 PM
They won't give up Hoskin- Elliott
11-10-2014, 08:26 PM
Addison bled for this club and left knowing that there was nothing more he could've done to make himself a better footballer. He's got nothing to be ashamed of and doesn't deserve to be bagged out.
11-10-2014, 10:05 PM
Addison bled for this club and left knowing that there was nothing more he could've done to make himself a better footballer. He's got nothing to be ashamed of and doesn't deserve to be bagged out.
And let us remember, it is the highest mark of peer respect for any player to be dubbed a nick name that includes a profanity.
11-10-2014, 10:06 PM
Agree. If all of our players played with such heart, we'd have won more games.
11-10-2014, 10:06 PM
And let us remember, it is the highest mark of peer respect for any player to be dubbed a nick name that includes a profanity.
Which was?
11-10-2014, 10:12 PM
Which was?
Dylan ****ing Addison
11-10-2014, 10:18 PM
Come to think of it, to get what this club needs, the deal we should be asking for is pick 4, plus classy young high draft pick KPF, plus DFA (good clubman)
11-10-2014, 10:29 PM
[QUOTE=F'scary;404627]Come to think of it, to get what this club needs, the deal we should be asking for is pick 4, plus classy young high draft pick KPF, plus DFA (good clubman)[/QUOTE
I miss DFA.
11-10-2014, 10:37 PM
[QUOTE=F'scary;404627]Come to think of it, to get what this club needs, the deal we should be asking for is pick 4, plus classy young high draft pick KPF, plus DFA (good clubman)[/QUOTE
I miss DFA.
this is our chance to get him back!
12-10-2014, 12:10 AM
Yeh that's fair. I actually always quite liked DFA. It's been a rough few days, I looked for a cheap laugh.
12-10-2014, 08:31 AM
[QUOTE=whythelongface;404629]
Gave me laugh.
12-10-2014, 08:55 AM
Pick 4 AND WHE is crazy!
Straight swap for WHE would be a win for us.
3 days ago I would of thought trading Ryan Griffen our captain would be crazy! They started this craziness, let's ask for a crazy deal. They can't leave Griffen out hanging by his balls. If they do I don't think he'll want to go there in the end. A crazy deal is what is needed to get this done. So you're right it is crazy but they started this fight when they told Griffen that they'll get a deal done.
12-10-2014, 09:26 AM
Yeh that's fair. I actually always quite liked DFA. It's been a rough few days, I looked for a cheap laugh.
No worries. I guess I'm overly sensitive when it comes to Addison. He was my favourite player and was a better player than he got credit for - how many of our players in that era can say they played well in finals?
Not only that, he's a stand up guy and full of class. When he was delisted he had nothing but good things to say about our club and how much he loved it.
We could use a bit more of his steel about the place.
Come to think of it, to get what this club needs, the deal we should be asking for is pick 4, plus classy young high draft pick KPF, plus DFA (good clubman)
[QUOTE=whythelongface;404629]
Where do I sign?
12-10-2014, 09:38 AM
We could use a bit more of his steel about the place.
I think that point gets lost on a lot of people. Addison was a hard player and I do think other players around him notice it and lift because he sets an example.
One thing I think most would agree is that DFA gave his all.
12-10-2014, 04:46 PM
Definitely did . Left no stone unturned, and others could learn from him.
12-10-2014, 04:48 PM
I think that point gets lost on a lot of people. Addison was a hard player and I do think other players around him notice it and lift because he sets an example.
Admired him for his guts and determination, but sadly lacked skill in modern football.
13-10-2014, 04:48 PM
Putting aside the Tom Boyd frenzy for a moment, I found this interesting:
Former Bulldog Luke Darcy has revealed how Griffen's news last Thursday took his teammates by surprise.
Darcy was at a Bali resort where Robert Murphy and assistant coach Brett Montgomery were also staying when it broke that Griffen wanted out of Whitten Oval.
"I was sitting there on a sunbed ... they were incredibly distressed, Murph was shaking," Darcy said on Triple M.
"They knew there were issues with the coach, they'd given feedback that the coach had issues, he'd taken that on board.
"They didn't know the captain was going to come back from his two-week holiday and decide that he wanted out. They were absolutely devastated and blindsided by it and distressed by it ... but they also understand this happens at football clubs and it's about how you respond."
Goes to show even Griffen's teammates were blindsided by his decision. He has played with Murph for 10 years and even he had no idea it was coming. I hope our players aren't as understanding and civil towards our ex-captain as they were with Callan Ward.
13-10-2014, 05:13 PM
Goes to show even Griffen's teammates were blindsided by his decision. He has played with Murph for 10 years and even he had no idea it was coming. I hope our players aren't as understanding and civil towards our ex-captain as they were with Callan Ward.
Gia was also in Bali and posted a photo on Instagram which was of a Bingtang, caption was 'Time for a bingtang' #Wow #Shocked
13-10-2014, 05:17 PM
Gia was also in Bali and posted a photo on Instagram which was of a Bingtang, caption was 'Time for a bingtang' #Wow #Shocked
Makes you think twice about the whole 'issues with the club' thing when you manage to blindside the two Seniormost players at the club.
13-10-2014, 09:01 PM
Thanks Jaytee, Axeman, very interesting. No doubt more will come to light eventually.
14-10-2014, 12:22 PM
With GWS flat out refusing to trade Boyd, I wonder if the Dees would have an interest in Griffen, apparently they were right into Dangerfield but seems like that's highly unlikely, however Griff is very likely if he's prepared to play alongside his old mate Crossy, pick 2 or 3 plus our pick 6 going into the draft.
14-10-2014, 02:44 PM
Remember well hearing the thwack, of a DFA tackle from from the stands. Then he would jog away with that shaggy mop flowing. Fun to watch.
14-10-2014, 02:46 PM
Remember well hearing the thwack, of a DFA tackle from from the stands. Then he would jog away with that shaggy mop flowing. Fun to watch.
I miss DFA...
14-10-2014, 03:06 PM
I wonder if #16 would like to move further North. With all the posturing could Gold Coast come in with a Griffen & P6 for P8, P15 and a Matt Shaw?
Shaw would be a missing link off our half back. Griffen would be the conduit between Gary Ablett and their midfield.
14-10-2014, 03:10 PM
I wonder if #16 would like to move further North. With all the posturing could Gold Coast come in with a Griffen & P6 for P8, P15 and a Matt Shaw?
Shaw would be a missing link off our half back. Griffen would be the conduit between Gary Ablett and their midfield.
Griff and Gablet would get them finals next year.
14-10-2014, 03:13 PM
I don't think Gold Coast have much salary cap room after getting Malceski. It also prevented them from getting involved in trading for Beams.
14-10-2014, 03:14 PM
Yeah I remember him going up in a contest against Richmond and there was this loud whack in mid-air and then everyone came down but Jordy McMahon didn't get up. It was a beauty.
14-10-2014, 03:23 PM
With GWS flat out refusing to trade Boyd, I wonder if the Dees would have an interest in Griffen, apparently they were right into Dangerfield but seems like that's highly unlikely, however Griff is very likely if he's prepared to play alongside his old mate Crossy, pick 2 or 3 plus our pick 6 going into the draft.
Melbourne even making a play would benefit us.
14-10-2014, 03:30 PM
Lets assume GWS will not budge on the Boyd trade? At what point in proceedings do we start talking about picks or other players with them?
14-10-2014, 03:35 PM
I don't think Gold Coast have much salary cap room after getting Malceski. It also prevented them from getting involved in trading for Beams.
But hasn't Griffs management (or GWS?) stated he is playing for less money next year and he just wants to play footy........
14-10-2014, 03:44 PM
Lets assume GWS will not budge on the Boyd trade? At what point in proceedings do we start talking about picks or other players with them?
The concern is time is running out. if we can't strike a deal with GWS , do we approach GC like M.R.M suggested?