View Full Version : Ryan Griffen wants out to GWS
14-10-2014, 03:48 PM
The concern is time is running out. if we can't strike a deal with GWS , do we approach GC like M.R.M suggested?
No not unless Griffen is open to it. At the moment it's GWS or nothing for Griffen.
14-10-2014, 03:55 PM
No not unless Griffen is open to it. At the moment it's GWS or nothing for Griffen.
Ok, Beams was worth pick 5, 25 and Crisp. He is four years younger then Griff, but not All Australian or captain. We must get at minimum two first rounders, or first and second.
14-10-2014, 03:55 PM
But hasn't Griffs management (or GWS?) stated he is playing for less money next year and he just wants to play footy........
It's been reported, whether it's true or not we don't know. Lets say it is true, he would probably be on something like $600k with us, I couldn't see him playing for less than $500k. We offered that sort of coin to Greenwood and Lonergan, Griffen would be an idiot to play for less than that.
14-10-2014, 03:56 PM
Is #16 still out barrelling pigs? Is his phone in service?
14-10-2014, 03:58 PM
Ok, Beams was worth pick 5, 25 and Crisp. He is four years younger then Griff, but not All Australian or captain. We must get at minimum two first rounders, or first and second.
I still think his real value is pick 4 and a good player from GWS. Lets see how that goes.
14-10-2014, 04:04 PM
I wonder if #16 would like to move further North. With all the posturing could Gold Coast come in with a Griffen & P6 for P8, P15 and a Matt Shaw?
Shaw would be a missing link off our half back. Griffen would be the conduit between Gary Ablett and their midfield.
Their midfield doesn't need Griffen... It is already good enough (or will be next year) without him.
14-10-2014, 04:11 PM
Is #16 still out barrelling pigs? Is his phone in service?
Interesting question that you pose? I assume he wouldn't be hanging out with other members of his 'former' team (with the exception of maybe Coons and Minno).
14-10-2014, 04:16 PM
Interesting question that you pose? I assume he wouldn't be hanging out with other members of his 'former' team (with the exception of maybe Coons and Minno).
Slightly off topic but yesterday Cooney was hanging out with Brian Lake at Movie World (source: friend of a friend posted a photo with them on Facebook).
14-10-2014, 04:19 PM
Slightly off topic but yesterday Cooney was hanging out with Brian Lake at Movie World (source: friend of a friend posted a photo with them on Facebook).
those two are joined at the hip
14-10-2014, 04:23 PM
Their midfield doesn't need Griffen... It is already good enough (or will be next year) without him.
They fell over like a drunk this year without him. Reckon they hoped the same in the season just gone. Think they're still a year short of being able to function without Gary.
14-10-2014, 04:27 PM
They fell over like a drunk this year without him. Reckon they hoped the same in the season just gone. Think they're still a year short of being able to function without Gary.
A big body like Griffs would be ideal for them.
14-10-2014, 04:29 PM
They also lost 4 to 6 other players (including 3 ruckmen) over the last 8 weeks which didn't help their cause.
Another pre-season will do wonders for them.. Big chance to push for a top 6 spot.
14-10-2014, 05:58 PM
Lets assume GWS will not budge on the Boyd trade? At what point in proceedings do we start talking about picks or other players with them?
We don't. We can start sounding out other teams and put a stir amongst the Griffen/GWS group, and if something comes of it even better. If we buckle and give GWS what want they want it'll just be further confirmation we're the AFL equivalent of a little brother.
Forcing Griffen to stay would be one of the few strong statements this club has ever made.
14-10-2014, 06:21 PM
I think the club can save face whilst still trading Griff to GWS. Take 4 & 7, and publicly state to GWS. You may have one the battle, but we'll win the war, see you in 12 months time, by the way, we'll be armed with 2 more elite players on our list, and take one of Boyd, Cameron or a Patton. Please develop them the best you can
14-10-2014, 06:23 PM
I think the club can save face whilst still trading Griff to GWS. Take 4 & 7, and publicly state to GWS. You may have one the battle, but we'll win the war, see you in 12 months time, by the way, we'll be armed with 2 more elite players on our list, and take one of Boyd, Cameron or a Patton. Please develop them the best you can
Have to be careful as they can also play the same games with our young players.
14-10-2014, 06:38 PM
Have to be careful as they can also play the same games with our young players.
Agreed, but we won't have the go home factor and we should be in a position to match any financial offer for our guns. I'm excited to be a Bulldog. 2015 may not deliver the success we all crave, we might go back a spot or few. But the Griffen trade within this draft could finalise the basis of sustained success.
28-05-2015, 10:53 PM
Given this week is the first time we come up against our supposed reluctant captain in Griffen I thought it worthwhile to bump this.
Not wishing to spend much time looking back, as others will no doubt suggest, but I've found myself reflecting on the happenings of late last year when our once great onfield leader decided that it was all too much for him and that he wanted out from our great Club.
I came across a clipping of mine from a time some time back, prior to the upheaval when all was no doubt loving between player and Club
http://imageshack.com/a/img537/4986/rA1pDZ.jpg
Would love to hear what emotions, mixed, indifferent or other, that you are now feeling towards him and how he should be received by us this coming Saturday ?
28-05-2015, 11:11 PM
Given this week is the first time we come up against our supposed reluctant captain in Griffen I thought it worthwhile to bump this.
Not wishing to spend much time looking back, as others will no doubt suggest, but I've found myself reflecting on the happenings of late last year when our once great onfield leader decided that it was all too much for him and that he wanted out from our great Club.
I came across a clipping of mine from a time some time back, prior to the upheaval when all was no doubt loving between player and Club
http://imageshack.com/a/img537/4986/rA1pDZ.jpg
Would love to hear what emotions, mixed, indifferent or other, that you are now feeling towards him and how he should be received by us this coming Saturday ?
I don't hold any personal grudge, but will be booing him and encouraging a very hostile reception. Everything comes with a cost. Griffen will pay, in part, the price of his actions this weekend.
28-05-2015, 11:11 PM
Haven't forgotten this, still bitter about what he did and the way he did it.
29-05-2015, 12:23 AM
I do not think I will be able to bring myself to boo him - he gave his all with us and I think something went awry beyond what we've been told. Methinks Gryphon had and possibly still has some mental demons to deal with.
However I'd love to see many supporters turn their back to him when he has the ball - en masse.
He turned his back on us, so let's do the same to him!!
29-05-2015, 01:28 AM
He's the six or seventh captain to leave for another club in my memory.
29-05-2015, 01:38 AM
That article just emphasised that lying is the AfL's second language
29-05-2015, 08:26 AM
I think that he left because of major personal reasons, possibly something like depression, and felt that the only way he was going to get better was to leave. Also many of the guys he is/was close with were gone by the end of last year (Williams, Addison etc.) so I can understand from a personal standpoint circumstances may have changed to where he felt like getting out was the best option for him. I don't think it was anything personal with the club or that he intended to screw the club over, although I'm sure he was aware of the possible consequences of his actions.
However, none of this excuses the cowardly manner in which he left, which was probably the worst handled departure from an individual in a long long time. And on top of that he has a fair bit of blood on his hands as to what went down after his departure.
29-05-2015, 08:40 AM
To war. Tom Boyd to suplex Ryan Griffen.
Would be great if they had a WWF / AFL hybrid.
29-05-2015, 09:53 AM
No prisoners!
29-05-2015, 10:03 AM
Maybe someone can put on a bump that hits cement head (legally) who then crashes into Griff and they are both taken from the ground. :D
29-05-2015, 10:11 AM
I don't think I'm ready to laugh about it yet. Still hurting.
29-05-2015, 10:20 AM
I actually believe that it is time for us as the Bulldog supporter base to collectively get over it.
What Griffen did was highlight that the situation with McCartney had reached a point of being untenable (at least for him). For his own career (and possibly sanity) he needed to move out.
While the manner of doing so was not what we would have liked, the end result is that we have a power forward for years to come, a new coach who is looking very promising and a game style that is now enjoyable to watch.
A positive outcome for all concerned and the defection of Griffen may well be the catalyst for a premiership contending team.
29-05-2015, 10:29 AM
I mostly agree with this - in hiindsight, the club mismanaged our former captain by making him skip. You have hopes that pushing some out of their comfort zone will see an increased performance, but with our former skipper it just exposed how unsuited he was to the role. You live & learn, and if he's now happier as a person than all the best.
We (hopefully) got a blockbaster forward out of the deal (once he builds a tank) and the transition to the new midfield brigade continues.
Still angry at how it came about and the consequences of his defection, but means to a required end.
I actually believe that it is time for us as the Bulldog supporter base to collectively get over it.
What Griffen did was highlight that the situation with McCartney had reached a point of being untenable (at least for him). For his own career (and possibly sanity) he needed to move out.
While the manner of doing so was not what we would have liked, the end result is that we have a power forward for years to come, a new coach who is looking very promising and a game style that is now enjoyable to watch.
A positive outcome for all concerned and the defection of Griffen may well be the catalyst for a premiership contending team.
29-05-2015, 10:30 AM
Time will tell. In any case, credit goes entirely to the club for its handling of the situation and not in any part to Griffen for walking out. It was a selfish decision and, whilst acknowledging that sometimes people have to make selfish decisions, we should just call a spade a spade.
29-05-2015, 10:35 AM
I don't think I'm ready to laugh about it yet. Still hurting.
I don't think we will ever know the full story. I feel very sad that something had gone so wrong in our footy environment that it ever came to that.
Lately I feel that we may well look back it as a watershed, though a traumatic one, a fork in the road which shook us out of a path that was going nowhere and may deliver us the ultimate success.
But whenever I think of that manufactured franchise having the gall to post their "Be Less Bulldog" pic with Griff$n, Ward and Cameron, my feelings aren't quite so philosophical.
I don't want Griffen to be booed but the four points and showing what we stand for as a club are very important.
I'm over it and have moved on, but I'll always dislike him with a passion for ditching us like he did(same as Brown). Deserves no respect IMO.
The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.
Martin Luther King, Jr.
Griff didn't stand, he ran and hid.
29-05-2015, 01:31 PM
Does anyone else find it a little bit odd that we will hoping the player we are currently paying the most amount of money for doesn't get a touch?
29-05-2015, 01:51 PM
To war. Tom Boyd to suplex Ryan Griffen.
Would be great if they had a WWF / AFL hybrid.
Where have you been the last 15 years or so Ghosty? WWE is what you are looking for.:)
29-05-2015, 01:56 PM
I'm over it and have moved on, but I'll always dislike him with a passion for ditching us like he did(same as Brown). Deserves no respect IMO.
Agree Chef. Any player, especially the Captain in this case, who leaves our Club in the most cowardly way that I can remember is to be treated with disdain. A blot on his character.
Where have you been the last 15 years or so Ghosty? WWE is what you are looking for.:)
Rather not with some of the diving and ducking our game already has enough of a WWE element.
Now a UFC / AFL Hybrid that would be something to see.:)
29-05-2015, 02:00 PM
Agree Chef. Any player, especially the Captain in this case, who leaves our Club in the most cowardly way that I can remember is to be treated with disdain. A blot on his character.
Until he has sons and they are gun father/son pickups, then he's back in the good books.
29-05-2015, 02:02 PM
Does anyone else find it a little bit odd that we will hoping the player we are currently paying the most amount of money for doesn't get a touch?
Last week only, so no I think he is progressing along nicely.
29-05-2015, 02:03 PM
Last week only, so no I think he is progressing along nicely.
Think Jaytee might be talking about Griff ;)
29-05-2015, 02:24 PM
Think Jaytee might be talking about Griff ;)
argh, yes I forgot we are paying his salary. cheers :cool:
29-05-2015, 02:38 PM
No time or respect for Griffen, in many ways his actions were representative of the same character who simply struggled to shake tags for most of his career, despite his natural talent.
Hope we give him hell tomorrow.
29-05-2015, 05:02 PM
No time or respect for Griffen, in many ways his actions were representative of the same character who simply struggled to shake tags for most of his career, despite his natural talent.
Hope we give him hell tomorrow.
Pity Beveridge does not believe in the tag but he is focussing on the bigger picture I guess.
29-05-2015, 05:23 PM
It was such a bad way to leave us like that. Our captain who we all thought was happy at the club really wanted out and had plans for GWS behind our backs. Individual wise is probably made a good decision but for loyalty to our club he fails. Terry Wallace is another who left in shocking circumstances and left us in the lurch. Many here would find it hard to forgive Wallace.
29-05-2015, 06:16 PM
It was such a bad way to leave us like that. Our captain who we all thought was happy at the club really wanted out and had plans for GWS behind our backs. Individual wise is probably made a good decision but for loyalty to our club he fails. Terry Wallace is another who left in shocking circumstances and left us in the lurch. Many here would find it hard to forgive Wallace.
We have all felt like Ryan Griffen at times. Paddling hard on a ship that doesn't seem to be moving in the right direction.
Maybe it showed up a weakness in the guy, but you cannot, cannot say he didn't give his left nutbag for the club. The times we were being smashed, often it was him, Dale and Liam fighting on against all odds.
I cannot stand to hear him being booed.
29-05-2015, 07:16 PM
We have all felt like Ryan Griffen at times. Paddling hard on a ship that doesn't seem to be moving in the right direction.
Maybe it showed up a weakness in the guy, but you cannot, cannot say he didn't give his left nutbag for the club. The times we were being smashed, often it was him, Dale and Liam fighting on against all odds.
I cannot stand to hear him being booed.
But only one of them left.
Yep, or you could say ran away.
29-05-2015, 11:16 PM
Can't expect the boys to give him an easy time.
30-05-2015, 12:11 AM
Yep, or you could say ran away.
He bravely ran away like Brave Sir Robin in Monty Pythons The Holy Grail.
Brave sir Robin turned about
And Gallantly he chickened out.
Sounds about right.
30-05-2015, 12:19 AM
I cannot stand to hear him being booed. Bring your ear plugs GD, because he will bare witness to the full fury of the Faithful. May the boos be loud and vicious. May the celebrations be even louder and more raucous.
30-05-2015, 12:30 AM
I think in ernest the booing of our former captain will last for some time into the first or second quarter and then we'll just concentrate on cheering our lads.
The decision he made cut me, but since about a week after it happened and some serious venting I've moved on. He's genuinely just another guy in a worthless jumper on Saturday that I'll deride because of the absolutely convoluted and trivial reasons he and his new spiritless club are taking the field.
Our former captain and his team mate are now just parts of a soulless entity that we have to play against in a shitty timeslot on a Saturday afternoon. This game is about beating down a commercially inspired venture, with the heart of a club.
30-05-2015, 12:48 AM
I think in ernest the booing of our former captain will last for some time into the first or second quarter and then we'll just concentrate on cheering our lads.
The decision he made cut me, but since about a week after it happened and some serious venting I've moved on. He's genuinely just another guy in a worthless jumper on Saturday that I'll deride because of the absolutely convoluted and trivial reasons he and his new spiritless club are taking the field.
Our former captain and his team mate are now just parts of a soulless entity that we have to play against in a shitty timeslot on a Saturday afternoon. This game is about beating down a commercially inspired venture, with the heart of a club.
Not the worst timeslot ever but not the best either. Agree there jeemak GWS have a few years on history compared to us with well over 100+years of history.
30-05-2015, 12:56 AM
It's wrong the notion of being a mistake in making gryphon captain.
Didn't knock it back, and informed M Boyd he was ready!
In hindsight ( and isn't that wonderful) it was, but he publicly canvassed that he was ready .
The bloke lacks character and integrity, and the way he er' umm ran away, sorry pig shooting, was the behaviour of a ten year old
30-05-2015, 06:13 AM
That's just wrong in so many aspects. I can't let it go without saying something.
GWS doesn't have a heart.
30-05-2015, 07:54 AM
That's just wrong in so many aspects. I can't let it go without saying something.
GWS doesn't have a heart.what can we rip out and show to the rest of the AFL world live then?
I know I can get a bit over he top and floral in my posts from to time but I really do want blood. The manner in which Griffen left, the commentary from GWS and the trigger it presented for the media's slew of Existential Crises articles really hurt. I am not even angry anymore though. No hard feelings to Lyin Griffen himself, just very calm in my belief that if you make his decisions, in the way he did, there is a very heavy price to pay.
I want blood.
30-05-2015, 08:23 AM
I always felt a strong connection to Griff, beyond having his name as my username here. A fellow South Aussie of a similar age, who really burst onto the scene when we had a large SA connection and began playing some very exciting football.
I was shocked, numb, when he announced his intentions last October, but I've moved on pretty quickly.
I don't want to see him have more success than us or anything like that, but he's irrelevant and I'm indifferent about him.
Looking forward to winning tomorrow, as I do every week. It might be a little more enjoyable given the rivalry and attitude GWS seem to have taken towards us. It's like they think their club is more important than ours. That we're irrelevant.
I hope they leave the ground and can't forget about how ruthless we are for a long time. When we ultimately meet them in September, whenever that is, I want them to remember today.
30-05-2015, 09:00 AM
GWS doesn't have a heart.
I think a lack of punctuation may be working against me in this case.
We need to beat these plastic imitations down with OUR heart and soul.
30-05-2015, 09:44 AM
I'll be booing. I expect to be quite hoarse tonight when I get home.
30-05-2015, 09:49 AM
I'll be booing. I expect to be quite hoarse tonight when I get home.
I hope you come home with a full voice, after our former captain has a shocker.
30-05-2015, 12:14 PM
I heard Peter Gordon talking on the radio a while back. At the end of last season, he had a player in his office who was leaving the club and PG was trying to convince them to stay. The player, who i suspect may have been Griffin, showed PG the messages he'd received on his facebook/twitter account. Gordon said they were the most vitriolic, vicious stuff he had ever read.
Booing and passion are all part of sport and add to the theatre and drama. I love it. But let's not go over the top and disgrace our great football club. We know that's the territory of some other clubs and we don't need to go there.
Go dogs.
30-05-2015, 12:21 PM
Agree. Though I doubt the player was our former captain.
30-05-2015, 12:34 PM
I heard Peter Gordon talking on the radio a while back. At the end of last season, he had a player in his office who was leaving the club and PG was trying to convince them to stay. The player, who i suspect may have been Griffin, showed PG the messages he'd received on his facebook/twitter account. Gordon said they were the most vitriolic, vicious stuff he had ever read.
Go dogs.
Excluding the ignorant, I find it hard to believe that Griffin would've been the target of vitriol from our own on the wider social media platform prior to him pulling the plug on us.
He has always been extremely well received at Bulldog events, B&Fs, pre-season launches etc. and prior to last season spoke of his love and desire to be a Buldog for life. There was a genuine respect for what he was doing, whilst playing under extreme duress and trying his utmost to carry his young team on his back.
I suspect the messages would've been aimed more at the likes of Jones or Higgins than directed at Griffen. And if they were at Jones I imagine they've only been multiplied by 10 in the past month or so.
30-05-2015, 12:44 PM
Excluding the ignorant, I find it hard to believe that Griffin would've been the target of vitriol from our own on the wider social media platform prior to him pulling the plug on us.
He has always been extremely well received at Bulldog events, B&Fs, pre-season launches etc. and prior to last season spoke of his love and desire to be a Buldog for life. There was a genuine respect for what he was doing, whilst playing under extreme duress and trying his utmost to carry his young team on his back.
I suspect the messages would've been aimed more at the likes of Jones or Higgins than directed at Griffen. And if they were at Jones I imagine they've only been multiplied by 10 in the past month or so.
Agreed, it is more likely Jones or Higgins and I agree our supporters delight in his struggling performances so far this year is vastly more than when he played for us.
30-05-2015, 01:30 PM
Booing and passion are all part of sport and add to the theatre and drama. I love it. But let's not go over the top and disgrace our great football club. We know that's the territory of some other clubs and we don't need to go there.
Go dogs.
Griffen never came back to the club after he went on holidays. He had a meeting with PG, the coach and Garlick and said he would stay with the club. Went on holidays to Europe and came back and through his manager said he was leaving.
That is the reason we think he doesn't have balls.
30-05-2015, 01:55 PM
Agreed, it is more likely Jones or Higgins and I agree our supporters delight in his struggling performances so far this year is vastly more than when he played for us.
It's not likely to be Higgins either. He was a restricted free agent who could only leave if we chose not to match his other offer. I doubt we had any real interest in keeping him.
It would either be Jones or Tutt and I doubt Tutt could generate enough enthusiasm from our supporters for a social media hate campaign.
30-05-2015, 02:02 PM
It's not likely to be Higgins either. He was a restricted free agent who could only leave if we chose not to match his other offer. I doubt we had any real interest in keeping him.
It would either be Jones or Tutt and I doubt Tutt could generate enough enthusiasm from our supporters for a social media hate campaign.
Regardless of whether we wished to keep Higgins or not he was one of those polarising players with our fan base who I suspect would've copped his fair share of abuse through the unfiltered world that social media is.
From what I've heard from Higgins he wanted out for a 'fresh' start.
30-05-2015, 02:36 PM
I just re-read the first 8 pages of this thread for extra motivation. Not sure I needed it though.
Isn't too hard to recall the absolute desolation we all felt late last year.
Can't wait to get to Etihad today.
30-05-2015, 02:38 PM
Go dogs.
The player in question was apparently Jason Tutt, not Griffen.
30-05-2015, 02:44 PM
I cant recall booing a player since David Rhys-Jones was doing somd dirty stuff behind play against a very young Chris Grant so I wont be doing that today against a former captain of our club. Lets hope we have a good win.
30-05-2015, 02:56 PM
I'm over it. I reckon he had depression and was not in a good place. Don't care about him anymore.
30-05-2015, 02:58 PM
I'm over it. I reckon he had depression and was not in a good place. Don't care about him anymore.
I use to care about players leaving, but with some 12 ex players now playing for other teams, I don't care at all.
Like you I am over it.
30-05-2015, 03:22 PM
I use to care about players leaving, but with some 12 ex players now playing for other teams, I don't care at all.
Like you I am over it.
I have had an interest in Jones and Tutt leaving though due to the Carlton fans suggesting they were good players but the Dogs were holding them back. I have enjoyed their collective underwhelmingness even though I know it is a guilty pleasure.
30-05-2015, 06:07 PM
Is he copping it from the crowd?
30-05-2015, 06:37 PM
Yep but he hasn't had much impact so we've been short of opportunities!
30-05-2015, 07:56 PM
Yes although given the poor turnout those at the ground had to work that much harder.
The vocals are totally shot and I'm exhausted for it. Early to bed tonight. :) :p
Given Griffen's lack of touches, Ward copped more of it.
30-05-2015, 08:17 PM
It was probably the worst game I've seen him play live. GWS were playing one short. He talked before the game that any boos would just inspire him, to me that seemed a weak effort at avoiding confrontation, par for the course with Gryphin.
30-05-2015, 09:03 PM
Funny how the media ( if you call Neil Cordy that) were all over how the trade was favouring the Giants .
Whatshisname has played one decent game, and all of a sudden they won the trade
30-05-2015, 09:47 PM
His name is mud. So glad the faithful really gave it to him. Glad his team mate gifted him that shot on goal, brought the coward into the spot light and gave us all an opportunity to let him know how we felt. Just a nobody now, not going to give him the steam off of my dog's piss any further.
30-05-2015, 09:53 PM
It was like closure today for me. Booed him a couple of times but lost interest in him and was more pleased with what we were doing. Although I did join in with the chorus while he lined up for goal. Doubt I'll waste my energy on him again.
30-05-2015, 10:34 PM
I was as hurt as the next fan and if I was there I think I would have been swept up into booing him. But I watched it at home and I saw into his eyes a few times and I had an overwhelming feeling that there is something not right in his world at the moment.
It wasn't stated at the time when he left, but I sort of feel like maybe he needed to leave like Mitch Clark felt he needed to leave and I wouldn't be suprised if he is fighting similar demons (especially after he has been quoted as saying during the week that last weeks game is the first time he felt like he could still keep playing). Maybe in our anger we failed to see some pretty big red flags?
I would hate to see Griff lost to the game and I obviously don't want him to play well against us but I would love him to go on and finish as "one of the greats". I also hope that he is in a good place.
30-05-2015, 11:04 PM
I am in the camp of believing he suffers from depression. Knowing a fair bit about depression myself, I don't think that excuses his actions and I gave him a fair amount of stick tonight, but I didn't boo him. He is, after all, a person who is obviously vulnerable and I think as a crowd we kinda bullied him a little. Then again, I'm not against booing as it's the crowds only way to express themselves: they're not exactly able to engage in vigorous debate with the man.
I'll leave him alone now, just another dude in a sickly orange guernsey. It wasn't even real orange, it's some weird yellowy orange colour you'd paint the bathroom in.
30-05-2015, 11:23 PM
Do you reckon in future years he'll still be welcome back to the club once he retires and all or no chance.
30-05-2015, 11:36 PM
Do you reckon in future years he'll still be welcome back to the club once he retires and all or no chance.
Nathan Brown is only just starting to win some Doggie supporters over. What he did was no where near as bad as what Griphen did. It'll take a hell of a lot of bridge mending.
31-05-2015, 01:29 AM
No. It took 200 games for him to become a legend at the club, captain the side and become a truly awesome player. It has taken 1 act of treachery for him to become a pariah. When they talk of club greats he will be mentioned in the same breath as Dempsey, Edmond and Brown - guys who turned their back's on the club. He may well be permitted back into the fold, but never again will he be held up as a club legend in the mould of Whitten, Grant, the Hawk, Westy, Smithy, Johnno, Beasley, Royal, Wallis Snr, Libba, Wynd etc.
31-05-2015, 01:36 AM
No. It took 200 games for him to become a legend at the club, captain the side and become a truly awesome player. It has taken 1 act of treachery for him to become a pariah. When they talk of club greats he will be mentioned in the same breath as Dempsey, Edmond and Brown - guys who turned their back's on the club. He may well be permitted back into the fold, but never again will he be held up as a club legend in the mould of Whitten, Grant, the Hawk, Westy, Smithy, Johnno, Beasley, Royal, Wallis Snr, Libba, Wynd etc.
It would be different if he was a premiership player for the club, but he isn't. Being a two time B&F is a great effort but it doesn't bond you to a place like a flag does, and if you bail part of the deal is losing the ties you once had.
31-05-2015, 01:44 AM
I don't think Griffen would come back to the club, when he's done with footy that will be it and he will live a quiet life in the country somewhere
31-05-2015, 01:48 AM
I don't think Griffen would come back to the club, when he's done with footy that will be it and he will live a quiet life in the country somewhere
They all come back to the club eventually. Nathan Brown was there a couple of weeks ago. I don't know what it is about this club but most players who leave come back at some stage.
31-05-2015, 07:24 AM
They all come back to the club eventually. Nathan Brown was there a couple of weeks ago. I don't know what it is about this club but most players who leave come back at some stage.
Polar opposite characters, those two. Brown is a real "look at me, look at me" type, whilst Griffen is a real "please don't look at me" type. One spent his spare time at Boutique, whilst the other spent his spare time in the bush. I tend to agree that Griffen would be a reclusive retiree.
31-05-2015, 08:22 AM
Polar opposite characters, those two. Brown is a real "look at me, look at me" type, whilst Griffen is a real "please don't look at me" type. One spent his spare time at Boutique, whilst the other spent his spare time in the bush. I tend to agree that Griffen would be a reclusive retiree.
Shame isn't it he was so dearly loved. What's up with him anyway he can't seem to touch it. Playing like a bloke with a very heavy mind.
31-05-2015, 08:41 AM
If he was mentally done playing football, changing clubs won't fix it and also hasn't he got a bad back he really struggled with ?
Maybe it's a combination of both and maybe he walked out on us when he was at his best value and knew he was done and dusted , could be the best thing that happened to us, maybe he is just a shadow of himself and would have only given us what he is giving GWS.
It looks like we are the huge winners in this trade, who would have thought ?
A 15 year player for a player who is shot mentally and physically might be the black and white if it.
31-05-2015, 08:51 AM
Looked like he was almost in tears at the end of the game. Maybe over his poor performance maybe reflecting on his decision to leave the club or someone that is not right in the world.
But I don't care he was just another GWS player, I have little time for a player unless it in the red, white and blue.
Great win by the guys, brought back some of that tenacity from the start of the season.
31-05-2015, 10:04 AM
We should now change the heading of the thread:
RYAN GRIFFEN WANTS OUT of GWS (http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?13720-Ryan-Griffen-wants-out-to-GWS/page40) :D
Yep, I don't think he will and with the way he left and went about it I don't think the club will reall care either.
31-05-2015, 10:37 AM
Noticed that there didn't seem to be much love lost between Bob and Griffen late in the last quarter. With the play now elsewhere, the two were at it alone on our half back line pushing, shoving and mouthing off at each other, with Griffen appearing to be taken aback by whatever Bob was telling him, and then post match it was a very brief handshake between the two.
I would hope all his exteammates feel this way.
31-05-2015, 11:09 AM
Is this very poor editing or lazy journalism with auto correct taking over. Very hard to read...
http://www.gazetteherald.com/ryan-griffen-was-nervous-about-facing-dogs-leon-cameron/124978/
Imagine Bob told him what the jumper should mean and followed up with a few home truth on loyalty and honesty.
31-05-2015, 12:00 PM
Is this very poor editing or lazy journalism with auto correct taking over. Very hard to read...
http://www.gazetteherald.com/ryan-griffen-was-nervous-about-facing-dogs-leon-cameron/124978/
That's pretty funny.
31-05-2015, 12:01 PM
Browny was there to make some videos for the club website I think so at least we are making use of his strengths.
31-05-2015, 12:08 PM
I am in the camp of believing he suffers from depression. Knowing a fair bit about depression myself, I don't think that excuses his actions and I gave him a fair amount of stick tonight, but I didn't boo him. He is, after all, a person who is obviously vulnerable and I think as a crowd we kinda bullied him a little. Then again, I'm not against booing as it's the crowds only way to express themselves: they're not exactly able to engage in vigorous debate with the man.
I'll leave him alone now, just another dude in a sickly orange guernsey. It wasn't even real orange, it's some weird yellowy orange colour you'd paint the bathroom in.
You must have an interesting bathroom BAS.:)
31-05-2015, 12:21 PM
I'm not in the Griffen hate club. I just can't. He bled for us and carried us so many times that I can't hate him.
That being said, I can understand the anger that a lot of you guys have, and I can imagine the fury that our players might have.
If this exchange occurred, I can think of no better player to deliver the lecture than Murphy.
If Griffen looked taken aback by it, it's probably because Murphy is everything as a person and a clubman that Griffen just couldn't be. It'd be like getting lectured by your Dad. I'm angry Ryan, but I'm even more disappointed.
31-05-2015, 12:25 PM
I'm not in the Griffen hate club. I just can't. He bled for us and carried us so many times that I can't hate him.
That being said, I can understand the anger that a lot of you guys have, and I can imagine the fury that our players might have.
If this exchange occurred, I can think of no better player to deliver the lecture than Murphy.
If Griffen looked taken aback by it, it's probably because Murphy is everything as a person and a clubman that Griffen just couldn't be. It'd be like getting lectured by your Dad. I'm angry Ryan, but I'm even more disappointed.
And this is going to hurt me more than it will hurt you but it's for your own good. :)
31-05-2015, 12:32 PM
And this is going to hurt me more than it will hurt you but it's for your own good. :)
Ha ha.
Don't make me take off my belt.
31-05-2015, 12:34 PM
I certainly don't hold anger or any hatred towards Griffen but more feelings of being let down and disappointed that he couldn't find it in him to work his way through his issues and stick tough, to see out his time at our Club and, like he should've been, heralded in company like his contemparies in Bob, Dale or Boydy. I can only imagine that it would've been a pretty lonely place for him out there yesterday.
31-05-2015, 01:06 PM
I'm the same. I certainly don't endorse the manner in which he left us but I'd rather any player leave if they aren't happy rather than stay and drag others down.
He's still a player I respect.
31-05-2015, 01:25 PM
I'm going to join in the chorus with the observation that yesterday he looked a shadow of the player he was in his prime with us. He looked heavier and slower.
31-05-2015, 01:41 PM
I'm going to join in the chorus with the observation that yesterday he looked a shadow of the player he was in his prime with us. He looked heavier and slower.
I noticed that Cooney looked a lot more roly poly in the Essendon jumper in the paper last week. Is it our jumper that makes blokes look fit and slim?
31-05-2015, 01:47 PM
He looked heavier and slower. and had a nice tan. :p
31-05-2015, 03:00 PM
I noticed that Cooney looked a lot more roly poly in the Essendon jumper in the paper last week. Is it our jumper that makes blokes look fit and slim?
Doesn't seem to have that effect when I wear it!!
31-05-2015, 06:29 PM
He looked pretty quick in some of the play from last week. I think the game against us may have got in his head, but he looked amazing the week before
I had reason to be on the ground prior to the game at the MCG last night. Saw Cooney walking around and his gait doesn't look great when he walks. Better than Michael Long though. His right knee is a shambles.
31-05-2015, 06:49 PM
Ryan Griffen looks like a tortured soul. And he looked like a tortured soul the last 2 years playing for us as well. He was putting in though, he was playing committed, brilliant often, but joyless football. I don't think I ever saw him smile in the McCartney years. When he kicked a goal, when we won a close one, when a teammate did something inspirational, he never smiled. It just looked like hard hard work. Almost as if he was cursed with a gift that doesn't suit him.
I wasn't at the GWS game but I don't know if I would have booed him to passionately.
I kind of feel sorry for him.
31-05-2015, 07:30 PM
Ryan Griffen looks like a tortured soul. And he looked like a tortured soul the last 2 years playing for us as well. He was putting in though, he was playing committed, brilliant often, but joyless football. I don't think I ever saw him smile in the McCartney years. When he kicked a goal, when we won a close one, when a teammate did something inspirational, he never smiled. It just looked like hard hard work. Almost as if he was cursed with a gift that doesn't suit him.
I wasn't at the GWS game but I don't know if I would have booed him to passionately.
I kind of feel sorry for him.
I agree. I understand people are still cross with him, but to do what he did must have been incredibly hard. I was watching at the end of the game, he got some very warm greetings from a few blokes on his old team, and a few cold ones. Tbh I'm glad it's over and we can just get on with hating GWS because they are smug plastic thugs.
31-05-2015, 08:54 PM
I agree. I understand people are still cross with him, but to do what he did must have been incredibly hard. I was watching at the end of the game, he got some very warm greetings from a few blokes on his old team, and a few cold ones. Tbh I'm glad it's over and we can just get on with hating GWS because they are smug plastic thugs.
They're all mouth and trousers.
31-05-2015, 09:20 PM
Griffen was an excellent player for us and would certainly be in most people's top 22 over the last 20 years. But, as my old man used to say: 'One volunteer is better than ten pressed men.' The people who urged him to take on the captaincy erred badly. But Griffen himself erred too in going against his own judgement and then abandoning the club in the way that he did. This was never going to sit well with his team mates and our supporters. I wish him well in all the games he plays and I wish him a shocker every time he steps out on the park against us.
31-05-2015, 09:34 PM
Griffen was an excellent player for us and would certainly be in most people's top 22 over the last 20 years. But, as my old man used to say: 'One volunteer is better than ten pressed men.' The people who urged him to take on the captaincy erred badly. But Griffen himself erred too in going against his own judgement and then abandoning the club in the way that he did. This was never going to sit well with his team mates and our supporters. I wish him well in all the games he plays and I wish him a shocker every time he steps out on the park against us.
I find it difficult to feel any malice for Griffen.
He was a great player for us for 200 games, but it was effectively press ganged to the leadership. His departure was also an admission that he could not continue under the regime that existed and was the catalyst for change with that regime.
I actually believe that all of those involved are now better placed because of the actions that evolved, with perhaps Griff showing the most signs that he is still troubled by those events.
31-05-2015, 09:58 PM
I don't mind that he left, many players have, club captains included. What erasing much of the luster of those 200 games is the manner in which he left. He was having a tough time no doubt but no one shits on the club and then walks away without incurring the wrath of the members. No one.
01-06-2015, 12:30 AM
Was it just the Foxtel coverage, or did no one shake Voldemort's hand after the game??
Anyway ... Glad he's gone, you're either with us or you're agin us ... And he is agin us !!
01-06-2015, 06:45 AM
Was it just the Foxtel coverage, or did no one shake Voldemort's hand after the game??
Anyway ... Glad he's gone, you're either with us or you're agin us ... And he is agin us !!
The players were generally friendly after the game. Quite a few did more than just shake hands with Griffen.
01-06-2015, 08:52 AM
Still reckon GWS and Grif orchestrated the kind of trade that, if we were heartless bastards, we would have tried for anyway, for list management purposes.
Hes 29 in 2 months, with some sort of ongoing back issues.
Thanks Grif, Thanks GWS.
01-06-2015, 09:09 AM
It's kind of like (I imagine) when your ex dumps you via text message and for 9 months you've 'moved on', but still have an annoyance deep down about how it ended. Well, we went to the dance and our ex is looking old and fat and is absolutely no longer in our future. We are moving on in a positive new direction and we've now fallen completely in love with an old friend, our rascaly best friend of 15 years, and that degree of raw new love would never have happened without the heartache. Now we've both now moved on, and with no love or hate, you're just some Griffin that we used to know.
01-06-2015, 12:09 PM
Still reckon GWS and Grif orchestrated the kind of trade that, if we were heartless bastards, we would have tried for anyway, for list management purposes.
Hes 29 in 2 months, with some sort of ongoing back issues.
Thanks Grif, Thanks GWS.
Exactly right. It's like we walked into a set of revolving doors behind GWS and walked out ahead of them.
01-06-2015, 12:47 PM
It's kind of like (I imagine) when your ex dumps you via text message and for 9 months you've 'moved on', but still have an annoyance deep down about how it ended. Well, we went to dance and our ex is looking old and fat and is absolutely no longer in our future. We are moving on in a positive new direction and we've now fallen completely in love with an old friend, our rascaly best friend of 15 years, and that degree of raw new love would never have happened without the heartache. Now we've both now moved on, and with no love or hate, you're just some Griffin that we used to know.
Nice analogy BT. Are you sure this has happened to you??
01-06-2015, 10:17 PM
It's kind of like (I imagine) when your ex dumps you via text message and for 9 months you've 'moved on', but still have an annoyance deep down about how it ended. Well, we went to dance and our ex is looking old and fat and is absolutely no longer in our future. We are moving on in a positive new direction and we've now fallen completely in love with an old friend, our rascaly best friend of 15 years, and that degree of raw new love would never have happened without the heartache. Now we've both now moved on, and with no love or hate, you're just some Griffin that we used to know.
Best. Parentheses. Ever. Just love your "hypothetical" posts mate. :P
01-06-2015, 10:33 PM
Nice analogy BT. Are you sure this has happened to you??
Nope. Never fallen In love with a long term rascally best friend. :)
02-06-2015, 11:18 AM
Must admit I felt like calling out to Gryph that Murphy's a better captain than he was - the two of them seemed to be near each other a number of times in the first half, mainly with Murphy dashing forward and Gryph coming back from the midfield and trying and failing to contain him!
What Rian did was unforgivable, but he not only sacrificed his body for us and was a beacon in finals for us, he also got us an incredible return (including, it seems at the moment, an excellent new coach!). So now that I've booed him and seen us smash GWS, my antipathy towards him has lessened, and I wish him all the best once his career ends.
GWS I still abhor, despite Leon Cameron (whose post-match press conference was super impressive). And I'd prefer to have Ward than Gryphon at the moment, so will continue to enjoy voicing my disapproval at his leaving us (although that seems more a failure of list management too!).
02-06-2015, 12:24 PM
The Grifan cup hey?
http://www.footyalmanac.com.au/round-9-western-bulldogs-v-gws-the-ryan-griffen-cup/
02-06-2015, 12:51 PM
Matty Boyd asked Griffin was he ready to take up the Captaincy. Griffin said yes. Matty said are you sure. Griffin again said yes. No one specifically urged him to accept the Captaincy.
02-06-2015, 01:45 PM
Exactly right. It's like we walked into a set of revolving doors behind GWS and walked out ahead of them.
Was talking about this over the weekend - completely support the club's direction on this, but still think we paid overs with pick 6 part of the deal.
As I said, don't mind that we did, as I suspect we had to.
02-06-2015, 01:58 PM
Was talking about this over the weekend - completely support the club's direction on this, but still think we paid overs with pick 6 part of the deal.
I reckon for a clear pick #1 a year earlier, who would have been pick #1 again if he was in this year's draft, pick 6 and Griffen for Boyd was on the money if not slightly unders - it's almost equivalent to trading Griffen and pick 6 for pick 1. And that's just looking at the Boyd-Griffen trade in isolation - we were able to trade into the draft significantly despite losing pick 6, gathering 5 picks inside the top 50, all of whom have already shown plenty. Again if you consider Boyd a #1 pick, that's 6 picks inside the top 50, which is a tremendous injection of talent onto our list in the one hit.
I know from my Carlton mates who are in the know that the Blues were already all over Boyd's family and management in the expectation that they'll trade for him at the end of this year.
02-06-2015, 03:03 PM
I reckon for a clear pick #1 a year earlier, who would have been pick #1 again if he was in this year's draft, pick 6 and Griffen for Boyd was on the money if not slightly unders - it's almost equivalent to trading Griffen and pick 6 for pick 1. And that's just looking at the Boyd-Griffen trade in isolation - we were able to trade into the draft significantly despite losing pick 6, gathering 5 picks inside the top 50, all of whom have already shown plenty. Again if you consider Boyd a #1 pick, that's 6 picks inside the top 50, which is a tremendous injection of talent onto our list in the one hit.
I know from my Carlton mates who are in the know that the Blues were already all over Boyd's family and management in the expectation that they'll trade for him at the end of this year.
They should be happy they got Liam Jones:p
02-06-2015, 04:38 PM
Can confirm that was the case since mid-2014, from a Caaaaaaaaaarlton colleague here at work!
02-06-2015, 04:41 PM
The overs is paying his salary this year.
02-06-2015, 05:01 PM
The overs is paying his salary this year.
True but we had the room in our salary cap so who cares.
02-06-2015, 05:51 PM
I bet Tommy is glad he's not going to Carlton right now! Such a wise choice to pick us.
02-06-2015, 06:05 PM
Must admit I felt like calling out to Gryph that Murphy's a better captain than he was - the two of them seemed to be near each other a number of times in the first half, mainly with Murphy dashing forward and Gryph coming back from the midfield and trying and failing to contain him!
What Rian did was unforgivable, but he not only sacrificed his body for us and was a beacon in finals for us, he also got us an incredible return (including, it seems at the moment, an excellent new coach!). So now that I've booed him and seen us smash GWS, my antipathy towards him has lessened, and I wish him all the best once his career ends.
GWS I still abhor, despite Leon Cameron (whose post-match press conference was super impressive). And I'd prefer to have Ward than Gryphon at the moment, so will continue to enjoy voicing my disapproval at his leaving us (although that seems more a failure of list management too!).
This might earn me some hate, but if Ward said he wanted to come back I'd have him in a heartbeat.
I just couldn't ever be angry at him for leaving - the ridiculous money they were offering him was just too much.
02-06-2015, 06:23 PM
This might earn me some hate, but if Ward said he wanted to come back I'd have him in a heartbeat.
I just couldn't ever be angry at him for leaving - the ridiculous money they were offering him was just too much.
I am of the same opinion. No problem having Ward back at the club.
02-06-2015, 06:26 PM
I am of the same opinion. No problem having Ward back at the club.
Motion passed. Bring him back.
I don't think he'd been booed playing against us recently, had he? I just couldn't work that one out on the weekend.
02-06-2015, 06:30 PM
Motion passed. Bring him back.
I don't think he'd been booed playing against us recently, had he? I just couldn't work that one out on the weekend.
It's the first time he'd played against us in Melbourne .
The club stuffed around with his contract talks mid 2010
02-06-2015, 06:56 PM
It's the first time he'd played against us in Melbourne .
The club stuffed around with his contract talks mid 2010
Partly true. He played in our team after it was known that he was leaving. He was booed fairly intensively in Bulldogs colours that night too. That was a surreal experience.
02-06-2015, 07:04 PM
Yes, club stuffed him over and he received a pretty extraordinary offer. I'd have him back as well, his absence hurts, but while he's gone I'll continue to murmur my disappointment.
02-06-2015, 07:09 PM
Yes, club stuffed him over and he received a pretty extraordinary offer. I'd have him back as well, his absence hurts, but while he's gone I'll continue to murmur my disappointment.
It seems that Stevens is playing the Ward style and has been a big improver this year. He'll get better as well but you can never have to many explosive hard types.
02-06-2015, 07:19 PM
I'll drive up and help him move back. I'll even hire a van.
02-06-2015, 07:49 PM
Mayge we can get him via free agency. It'll be like when Croad came back to the Hawks. We'll have Smith and Ward.
02-06-2015, 08:23 PM
Mayge we can get him via free agency. It'll be like when Croad came back to the Hawks. We'll have Smith and Ward.
I actually don't think the notion of him coming back is that far fetched.
Or maybe I just wish it would happen.
02-06-2015, 10:38 PM
It seems that Stevens is playing the Ward style and has been a big improver this year. He'll get better as well but you can never have to many explosive hard types.
I participated in that, I felt he played down in his last few games with us.
02-06-2015, 11:41 PM
Is the regret at leaving weighing on Ryan Griffen? (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/talking-point-is-the-regret-at-leaving-weighing-on-ryan-griffen-20150602-ghevju.html)
03-06-2015, 07:50 AM
HOTE=bornadog;440673]Is the regret at leaving weighing on Ryan Griffen? (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/talking-point-is-the-regret-at-leaving-weighing-on-ryan-griffen-20150602-ghevju.html)[/QUOTE]
Not sure if he regrets it, the relationship between him and the club became untenable and he felt compelled to break it which would have brought relief.
I think he feels more stateless than anything, he's transitioned for the worse no doubt in terms of his career. Going from club captain and future legend to a career that will be not only marred by the fallout of last year but one now characterised by irrelevance will no doubt bring regret when he looks back on his career.
It's a shame, I think he would have really liked and worked well with Bevo but that is all moot now and our destiny lies in the future.
03-06-2015, 08:59 AM
We would have to wait until 2019 to get him under free agency.
03-06-2015, 09:11 AM
Not sure if he regrets it, the relationship between him and the club became untenable and he felt compelled to break it which would have brought relief.
I think he feels more stateless than anything, he's transitioned for the worse no doubt in terms of his career. Going from club captain and future legend to a career that will be not only marred by the fallout of last year but one now characterised by irrelevance will no doubt bring regret when he looks back on his career.
It's a shame, I think he would have really liked and worked well with Bevo but that is all moot now and our destiny lies in the future.
I wouldn't be surprised if he retired at the end of the year.
03-06-2015, 09:17 AM
Was thinking the same thing on the train home from the game. How long did he sign for? Probably doesn't matter.
03-06-2015, 09:24 AM
Was thinking the same thing on the train home from the game. How long did he sign for? Probably doesn't matter.
He looked nothing like the Griff of old. He looks like a troubled man.
03-06-2015, 10:01 AM
He did look a shadow of his former self by the end of the first quarter.
Didn't want to be out there and his form has been far below his normal standard for the year.
03-06-2015, 10:47 AM
He did look a shadow of his former self by the end of the first quarter.
Didn't want to be out there and his form has been far below his normal standard for the year.
He's seeming to have one up one down. I've seen pretty much all the GWS games (because when they aren't playing us they're footballing nirvana) and he's played some really good football at times; he was a clearance machine and best on the week before us, and he has copped a LOT of extra attention off the ball, something we all know he's never really fully coped with.
I also think it's highly possible the occasion of playing his old club may have overawed him.
25-07-2015, 10:09 PM
For all the shocktober media screaming about former first and second round players leaving, you might not read this:
Higgins: Playing well on his terms, but we got pick 27
Griffen: Down on average disposals and down on scoreboard impact
Cooney: doing only 'ok' for Essendon VFL. Shocking at AFL.
Jones: Shocking year for Carlton and Northern
Tutt: See above
For: Tom Boyd, Lucas Webb, Caleb Daniel, Declan Hamilton & Shane Biggs.
I guess it's always darkest before the sun rises. Wouldn't mind seeing some media review everything now and whether they've changed their minds.
25-07-2015, 11:26 PM
Griffen: Down on average disposals and down on scoreboard impact
They moved him to the backline. Pick 1 for Caleb Marchbank and a HBF
26-07-2015, 01:45 AM
Higgins is playing excellent football and would be very handy for our team.
26-07-2015, 02:50 AM
Higgins is playing excellent football and would be very handy for our team.
How's his defensive pressure? If it's not improved I think we'd be lamenting how much of a liability he can be
I think he's showing he's never was or ever will be a HBF. Play him foward and he'll kick and create goals.
Would love him back.
26-07-2015, 10:20 AM
I think he's showing he's never was or ever will be a HBF. Play him foward and he'll kick and create goals.
Would love him back.
Yep. We spent the last few years trying to show how much cleverer than everybody else we were by pulling our own pants down time after time.
26-07-2015, 10:44 AM
His tackle numbers are pretty good, averaging 4 per game.
26-07-2015, 05:13 PM
Would love him back.
Forwards still need to defend. That's why Dickson's so much better for us than Higgins likely would be.
22-08-2015, 10:19 PM
So how's this working out for everyone right now?
23-08-2015, 12:13 PM
Haven't really thought much about it since round 5 - got a whole lot of other Bulldog issues on my mind like where I'd like us to be playing finals this year.....
So how's this working out for everyone right now?
Great.
He can still get stuffed though.
29-08-2015, 10:32 PM
Looks like Gryphons done his ACL.
29-08-2015, 10:35 PM
That's pretty crap
29-08-2015, 10:44 PM
Putting all ou differences aside that's awful news for Griff. I hope he can come back from it but given his season so far I fear that he won't.
29-08-2015, 10:44 PM
Really hope not. Never wish serious injury on any player let alone one who gave elite service during his time at our club.
29-08-2015, 10:47 PM
Shocking news for Ryan if it is an ACL.
I have forgiven him now. 14 wins and a spot in the Finals helps to ease the pain.
29-08-2015, 10:52 PM
As drunk as i am right now. As bitter i am. I'm actually sad to hear about Griffen, if he has, in fact, done his ACL. It's pretty much a tragic career.
Poor bloke'd have a small army of well wishers and sympathisers behind him... If only he'd stuck fat...!
29-08-2015, 10:53 PM
Putting all ou differences aside that's awful news for Griff. I hope he can come back from it but given his season so far I fear that he won't.
Yep agree. However, I wonder if that happens how the debate about who won/lost the trade with nuts like Lloyd and Matthews gets affected. But that's a side issue to this, although, he got a 4 year deal so you'd think he'd get back sometime or at least get a cheque that would set him up for life?
29-08-2015, 11:00 PM
Yep agree. However, I wonder if that happens how the debate about who won/lost the trade with nuts like Lloyd and Matthews gets affected. But that's a side issue to this, although, he got a 4 year deal so you'd think he'd get back sometime or at least get a cheque that would set him up for life?
I just don't think he wanted to be out there before this happened and a rehab from a knee injury up to AFL condition is a major commitment. Then again maybe the a nominate of the rehab rooms for an extended period might be appealing in a weird way for him. All the benefits, you get to come to work everyday but people mostly leave you alone. Who knows?
Whatever he goes with I wish him luck.
29-08-2015, 11:00 PM
I just don't think he wanted to be out there before this happened and a rehab from a knee injury up to AFL condition is a major commitment. Then again maybe the a anonymity of the rehab rooms for an extended period might be appealing in a weird way for him. All the benefits, you get to come to work everyday but people mostly leave you alone. Who knows?
29-08-2015, 11:11 PM
I personally couldn't think of a stranger way to top off this upside down year.
Make no mistake, I hate this being done to Our Former Captain.
But, week 22 we're cementing credentials whilst he is falling into a rut with a franchise that is burning to fail. Footy is a strange beast, and expectations should always be set aside.
It's a better game with him on the park.
29-08-2015, 11:27 PM
He'll bounce back and they'll be a very good side when he's fully fit in 2017 at which time he'll be 30.
30-08-2015, 02:29 AM
I thought they said his injury wasn't serious?
30-08-2015, 02:32 AM
I just don't think he wanted to be out there before this happened and a rehab from a knee injury up to AFL condition is a major commitment. Then again maybe the a anonymity of the rehab rooms for an extended period might be appealing in a weird way for him. All the benefits, you get to come to work everyday but people mostly leave you alone. Who knows?
I am enjoying all your double post Twodogs.:)
30-08-2015, 06:54 AM
Yes, it gives one a sense of déjÃ* vu. ;)
30-08-2015, 07:06 AM
I'll never take any joy from seeing anyone in pain, and I do feel sorry for him, just like any other AFL player that does their knee it is their career after all.
BUT
He and his plastic team just got run over by the Karma bus, which then whacked on its indicators, did a lap of the block, ran over them again, stopped hard and reversed back over them, just to make sure.
30-08-2015, 09:59 AM
Thank you.
30-08-2015, 10:00 AM
Much obliged.
31-08-2015, 02:59 PM
Turns out he only tore his medial and will be up for the start of the pre-season.
31-08-2015, 03:24 PM
I don't want him to get injured - I booed him in the GWS-Bulldogs game but that's it, he's now just a former player for me.
I really really hate seeing knee injuries - to any player. Have done a medial myself, he'll be right for the start of next year for sure. Probably wont miss any pre-season.
31-08-2015, 03:29 PM
Glad to hear this. I don't wish him well, but I don't wish him ill either, if that makes sense.
31-08-2015, 04:29 PM
Good news. Don't wish an ACL injury on anyone.
Maybe I'm an arsehole, but I really couldn't care either way. Ryan is dead to me.
31-08-2015, 04:50 PM
Maybe I'm an arsehole, but I really couldn't care either way. Ryan is dead to me.
Remember Ryan Getting absolutely poleaxed by some kid at GWS in Canberra. Was surprised he wasn't taken to hospital. Gave an exceptional level of service to his former employer.
Will always respect him because I have no idea really why he quit and all the facts.
Ryan will not be returning for club functions I imagine. He will never present a jumper to a rookie. A very sad exit really.
The way he went out (and with the position he was holding at our club) i hope he's never invited back myself. But im probably not the most rational person on these things.
31-08-2015, 04:58 PM
The way he went out (and with the position he was holding at our club) i hope he's never invited back myself. But im probably not the most rational person on these things.
Agree with you Chef, I doubt very much, but then again, Wayne Carey is commentating and has been invited back to North functions. What he did was off the charts and one could never imagine, but there you go. Tom Boyd was a pretty good salve on the wound.
31-08-2015, 05:44 PM
I felt the same about Gary Dempsey leaving.
Agree with you Chef, I doubt very much, but then again, Wayne Carey is commentating and has been invited back to North functions. What he did was off the charts and one could never imagine, but there you go. Tom Boyd was a pretty good salve on the wound.
That sort of thing is a pretty common occurrence at footy clubs. You just don't often hear about them very often. I don't think that I am speaking out of school in saying that exact thing was one of the major factors in the breakup of the 1954 premiership team.
Maybe not in the dunny at the vice captain's place during a club BBQ but the principle is the same.
31-08-2015, 05:44 PM
That sort of thing is a pretty common occurrence at footy clubs. You just don't often hear about them very often. I don't think that I am speaking out of school in saying that exact thing was one of the major factors in the breakup of the 1954 premiership team.
Maybe not in the dunny at the vice captain's place during a club BBQ but the principle is the same.
What is going on with the double posts Twodogs?
31-08-2015, 05:53 PM
He looked a shadow of his former self this season and this injury is only likely to further reduce his desire to get back to his best. I can see the rest of his career meandering out in mediocrity, and what better place to do that while earning an absolute fortune than GWS?
31-08-2015, 06:11 PM
What is going on with the double posts Twodogs?
You need to ask it again to get an answer... :D
31-08-2015, 07:14 PM
I don't know. I think my IPad has gone a bit doolally.
31-08-2015, 07:16 PM
Holy moly. Is that so? That I never knew. Interesting Bulldogs lore. I can feel the mods about to swoop...wait....Twodogs you are a mod! Safe, phew.
26-09-2015, 06:56 PM
Attended a training event in China. Met a former staff member of Victor Harbour High School in Adelaide, where Ryan's mother works.
* Already planning to leave in 2012. Wanted to play for a team that had a chance at a premiership.
* "Hated" Rocket Eade.
Seems strange he would later take the captaincy, but just the word.
Anyway, that's what he said.
Spoke very highly of Ryan. Taught Mark Ricutto and quite a few other former crows players.
26-09-2015, 07:42 PM
Sorry GD, find all of that hard to believe.
26-09-2015, 07:43 PM
Attended a training event in China. Met a former staff member of Victor Harbour High School in Adelaide, where Ryan's mother works.
* Already planning to leave in 2012. Wanted to play for a team that had a chance at a premiership.
* "Hated" Rocket Eade.
Seems strange he would later take the captaincy, but just the word.
Anyway, that's what he said.
Spoke very highly of Ryan. Taught Mark Ricutto and quite a few other former crows players.
Signed his last contact in 2012 when he had offers from other clubs. I'll take that with a grain of salt
26-09-2015, 07:45 PM
So how far away are GWS from a flag?
Good riddance
26-09-2015, 08:23 PM
Signed his last contact in 2012 when he had offers from other clubs. I'll take that with a grain of salt
Well, he said "two years ago". So I am guessing after or around.
26-09-2015, 08:24 PM
Sorry GD, find all of that hard to believe.
I don't care either way. Just reporting what was said. When you think he wanted to become captain, it doesn't sound right, but who knows? If you wanted to win a premiership you would not go to GWS.
27-09-2015, 06:01 PM
Well, he said "two years ago". So I am guessing after or around.
Yes I know but he had enough time by then to know how he felt about Rocket and had no need to sign early.
Appreciate you passing on either way.