View Full Version : BOYD a DOG

Pages : 1 [2]

21-10-2014, 05:16 PM
Here's the link to his first press conference. Very very impressive from a teenager.

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2014-10-21/tom-boyd-talks-to-the-media

21-10-2014, 05:21 PM
Goodness he looks good in our jumper. And he looks so happy to boot.

Female supporters - all ye gather !!....

(Now Gia is one of our coaches) whilst Boyd steps up to the "good looking footballer who set young and old female supporters hearts a flutter" dais.

And looking forward to you kicking lots of goals & providing lots of crumbs for our other young guns.

TOMMEEEEE BOYEEEEEED !!

21-10-2014, 05:32 PM
Yep looks great in the colours

And seems a great young fella, very balanced and sensible

I've got great faith in the decision made, and like Boydy Im in it for the long haul

21-10-2014, 05:33 PM
First press conference handled extremely well. Self assured, intelligent young man. I'm predicting he will live up to his own expectations and be a success for us.

21-10-2014, 05:37 PM
Wow, very impressive from a teenager.

He could not have handled that any better.

Future leader.

21-10-2014, 06:19 PM
Wow. He is such a great public speaker. He said all the right things. I loved the bit when a reporter asked him how long it will take until he becomes a Tom Hawkins or Buddy Franklin. He answered by saying "I can't predict the future." Great answer to a stupid question.

21-10-2014, 06:31 PM
Wow. He is such a great public speaker. He said all the right things. I loved the bit when a reporter asked him how long it will take until he becomes a Tom Hawkins or Buddy Franklin. He answered by saying "I can't predict the future." Great answer to a stupid question.

Captain material already

21-10-2014, 07:29 PM
Imagine being able to cope with a dozen microphones in your face, all that scrutiny, and being so self assured. Incredibly impressive. I'm really delighted we've got several young guys who have all the hallmarks as leaders. Bonti, Macrae, Wallis, Hrovat are all very well spoken and Boyd already has a certain charisma. We've been known historically as a club of introverts and I'd like to think the new generation has a bit more of the self belief that's often been lacking. A really great off field debut by Tom!

21-10-2014, 11:10 PM
There you go, he took care of business, all you need to do.

21-10-2014, 11:31 PM
Can't wait to see "the Colonel" : Steve Austin 6 million dollar man running around in the tri-colours next year.

22-10-2014, 08:25 AM
Yep looks great in the colours

And seems a great young fella, very balanced and sensible

I've got great faith in the decision made, and like Boydy Im in it for the long haul
I hope he stays balanced when the Bulldogs crowd are chanting Boydy, Boydy, Boydy… and grown men are sobbing in their seats at he sheer joy of it all.

Imagine being able to cope with a dozen microphones in your face, all that scrutiny, and being so self assured. Incredibly impressive. I'm really delighted we've got several young guys who have all the hallmarks as leaders. Bonti, Macrae, Wallis, Hrovat are all very well spoken and Boyd already has a certain charisma. We've been known historically as a club of introverts and I'd like to think the new generation has a bit more of the self belief that's often been lacking. A really great off field debut by Tom!
Stringer has that strut also. Good to see.

Footballers. Not athletes.

22-10-2014, 12:48 PM
Can't wait to see "the Colonel" : Steve Austin 6 million dollar man running around in the tri-colours next year.

Nice.

I throw my full support behind something badass prefixed with "The", like "The Colonel" or "The Boss" or "The CEO" or something.

22-10-2014, 01:37 PM
Nice.

I throw my full support behind something badass prefixed with "The", like "The Colonel" or "The Boss" or "The CEO" or something.

The Boyd.

'Nuff said.

22-10-2014, 03:03 PM
The Mountain. (Apologies to G.R.R.M)

22-10-2014, 04:13 PM
Nice.

No time for photoshopping

http://www.followingthenerd.com/site/wp-content/uploads/Six_Million_Dollar_Man.jpg

22-10-2014, 06:25 PM
I was watching a replay of the Swans Dogs game today and listened closely when the commentators mentioned how we lacked a key forward. Crameri and Stringer were rightly not regarded as key forwards but they might benefit from having one in the side.
Now in fairness to Dennis Cometti he isn't one of the media folk back flipping because we did what we needed to get a good one but I'd like to know how many games last year where commentators made a similar comment?

22-10-2014, 06:34 PM
Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

22-10-2014, 06:50 PM
I was watching a replay of the Swans Dogs game today and listened closely when the commentators mentioned how we lacked a key forward. Crameri and Stringer were rightly not regarded as key forwards but they might benefit from having one in the side.
Now in fairness to Dennis Cometti he isn't one of the media folk back flipping because we did what we needed to get a good one but I'd like to know how many games last year where commentators made a similar comment?

I would almost bet my house on it being mentioned at every single one of our games.

The WB v North game was on yesterday IIRC (or the day before?) and they spoke about the same thing.

22-10-2014, 09:11 PM
Now it will be: "geez, the Bulldogs have thrown all their eggs in the key forward basket. That might come back to bite them..."

22-10-2014, 09:13 PM
Not only during every game, but 99% of the press conferences and media interviews.

22-10-2014, 09:27 PM
I would almost bet my house on it being mentioned at every single one of our games.

The WB v North game was on yesterday IIRC (or the day before?) and they spoke about the same thing.

Problem is we got the wrong one. We shouldn't have got the best young KP forward prospect in years, we should have thrown pick 6 at Mitch Brown and our Higgins compo for Nathan Vardy. That way we'd have bought in bulk and saved, saved, saved!!!!

22-10-2014, 09:34 PM
I was reading about Kobe Bryant recently. The LA Lakers signed him to a 6 year multi-million dollar contract as an 18 year old back in 2006... He'd only played off the bench to that point. The Lakers also traded out a world class 28 year old to do so...

They assessed the risk/reward, I guess...!

FWIW, Bryant was an all-star within 2 years (his first of 16) and has won 5 championships with the Lakers. He goes into his nineteenth season in a few weeks..

I recall many scribes being very critical of the Lakers at the time of his signing. They hated the largesse being afforded to a kid. They hated the fact that he hadn't "done his apprenticeship." However, real basketball people saw prodigious talent and the Lakers, having hit a relatively low ebb, found that the timing was right for them to have a crack.

The result was many, many journalists eating their words... I look forward to Boyd stuffing the words down Robbo & co's throats over the next seven years!

23-10-2014, 12:17 AM

Since 2007. Apart from occasionally in 2010-2011.

23-10-2014, 12:38 AM
The Mountain. (Apologies to G.R.R.M)

Done. Now let's start calling Griffen The Viper.

23-10-2014, 12:51 PM
I was reading about Kobe Bryant recently. The LA Lakers signed him to a 6 year multi-million dollar contract as an 18 year old back in 2006... He'd only played off the bench to that point. The Lakers also traded out a world class 28 year old to do so...

They assessed the risk/reward, I guess...!

FWIW, Bryant was an all-star within 2 years (his first of 16) and has won 5 championships with the Lakers. He goes into his nineteenth season in a few weeks..

I recall many scribes being very critical of the Lakers at the time of his signing. They hated the largesse being afforded to a kid. They hated the fact that he hadn't "done his apprenticeship." However, real basketball people saw prodigious talent and the Lakers, having hit a relatively low ebb, found that the timing was right for them to have a crack.

The result was many, many journalists eating their words... I look forward to Boyd stuffing the words down Robbo & co's throats over the next seven years!

That...didn't happen.

Kobe was about 28 and already had 3 rings, multiple all star & all NBA team appearances, and most other accolades by 2006. His rights got traded to Charlotte for Vlade Divac when he was drafted, but he was hardly on a multi million dollar deal when that happened.

Your philosophy is still sound, however.

02-12-2014, 09:58 PM
Boyd will wear #17 next year http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2014-12-02/number-up-for-boyd.

#17 was his junior number and also his twitter handle number, which makes things easier. https://twitter.com/Tom_Boyd17

02-12-2014, 10:13 PM
Boyd will wear #17 next year http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2014-12-02/number-up-for-boyd.

#17 was his junior number and also his twitter handle number, which makes things easier. https://twitter.com/Tom_Boyd17

Parents will be happy their kids get to stick with 17.

02-12-2014, 11:47 PM

and all the kids who followed Higgins can just get a one to stick on their back.

03-12-2014, 01:15 AM

It's no good from the club selling merchandise point of view though.

03-12-2014, 09:35 AM
Opportunity missed on the merch front! Silly!

03-12-2014, 09:52 AM
Opportunity missed on the merch front! Silly!

Maybe the kids will want the new logo on their new jumpers.

03-12-2014, 11:26 AM
Maybe the kids will want the new logo on their new jumpers.

Good point, let's hope! Just keep remembering hearing about how much Carlton made off Judd and the Swans from Big Bud!

03-12-2014, 11:31 AM
and all the kids who followed Higgins can just get a one to stick on their back.

Both of them? :D

03-12-2014, 11:33 AM
Good point, let's hope! Just keep remembering hearing about how much Carlton made off Judd and the Swans from Big Bud!

Also if Boyd becomes the player we hope, he'll attract a lot of new young supporters to the club. Nothing captures kids attention like a dominant goal kicking key forward.

03-12-2014, 11:49 AM

TBF though, I wonder how many 17's have been sold in the last couple of years since we ditched robodog. Cooney has been pretty underwhelming for a while now and I imagine the new jumpers have mostly been Dahlhaus, Macrae, Murphy and Liberatore based. I think this will actually get a lot of people to upgrade to the new jumper with the 17 on the back.

03-12-2014, 12:07 PM
TBF though, I wonder how many 17's have been sold in the last couple of years since we ditched robodog. Cooney has been pretty underwhelming for a while now and I imagine the new jumpers have mostly been Dahlhaus, Macrae, Murphy and Liberatore based. I think this will actually get a lot of people to upgrade to the new jumper with the 17 on the back.

Yep 80% of kids jumpers have 6 on them the other 20% have 16. There's a chance that all the kids with no. 16 will go no.17 (or no. 9). My son has 9 on his back.

03-12-2014, 12:08 PM
Would imagine there will be a lot of 4's and 9's as well! We do have a glut of very likeable players:)

03-12-2014, 02:22 PM
Lots of kids had 17. They loved Coons.

05-12-2014, 10:23 PM
Good read
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/everything-and-nothing-has-changed-for-new-western-bulldog-tom-boyd-20141205-120xpy.html

05-12-2014, 11:47 PM
Lots of kids had 17. They loved Coons.

Yes we did.

06-12-2014, 09:33 AM
Yes we did.

Ah Rooner you must be in a state of depression :)

Make be a make over to Boyder17.......

06-12-2014, 02:42 PM
Good read
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/everything-and-nothing-has-changed-for-new-western-bulldog-tom-boyd-20141205-120xpy.html

I couldn't help but feel the same reading this as I did the Cameron/Griff fluff piece. Didn't know, was out of reach, blah blah blah. If I was a Giants fan I'd react the same way I did as a Dogs fan reading Cameron's crap the other day. It's certainly no coincidence that players all seem to be sailing towards Pitcairn Island whenever trade week comes about.

06-12-2014, 08:00 PM
Looks like Pickering played the right hand when he said Boyd was coming home whatever happened.
Big Tom may have re-signed with them.
Clearly the Griffin blind side for the club was significant as well.

07-12-2014, 06:35 PM
Who cares what Robbo says he is so biased it's not funny. I remember last year being angry we didn't throw everything at the number one pick to get Boyd. Now we get Bonti and Boyd for a guy that really struggled last year with the captaincy and has back problems and his heart never looked in it last year. I for one am pretty excited about Luke B and the doggies surprising a few clubs next year and beyond. Bob Murphy great choice for captain as well. Go Doggies

15-12-2014, 09:57 AM
Someone needs to do one of those mastercard 'priceless' adds for the Bulldogs getting the marquee forward.

15-12-2014, 04:20 PM
Someone needs to do one of those mastercard 'priceless' adds for the Bulldogs getting the marquee forward.

When we win the flag.

15-12-2014, 04:22 PM
Junior with the cup on his hand

A bulldog premiership, priceless

15-12-2014, 11:14 PM
Ah Rooner you must be in a state of depression :)

Make be a make over to Boyder17.......

I was for the first week, but I understood why he left so I can only wish him the very best. I'm still hanging onto the picture for a little while longer! He will have a cracker next year I have no doubt I just wish it wasn't for them they don't deserve him.

It has made it easier with Tommy Boyd taking 17, I think it might stay on the back of the jumper :)

16-12-2014, 06:53 AM
Grown men who wear football jumpers amuse me

16-12-2014, 08:08 AM

Why's that? You watch 44 grown men do it on a weekly basis and don't bat an eye. It's a game. Who gives a shit how people choose to express their support of what is essentially an inconsequential diversion.

16-12-2014, 08:27 AM

l used to think the same thing. But l got given a jumper as a present a few years back and started wearing it. l even replaced it with a new one two years ago. l do not have a number on the back of mine. l wear it to show how proud l am to be a Dogs member.

16-12-2014, 09:05 AM

Do grown men who wear coloured scarves amuse you too?

16-12-2014, 09:14 AM

They scare me if its the only thing they have on.:D

16-12-2014, 06:05 PM
I've got about 25 footy jumpers. In the middle of winter there is nothing warmer than a footy jumper underneath a dark shirt.

16-12-2014, 06:13 PM
Yes if they wave them around after every goal.

16-12-2014, 07:03 PM
It's a tribal thing - and I love being part of a tribe. I'd rather wave my scarf than behave like the tosspots that follow st kilda do! Wave away I say :)

01-01-2015, 08:50 PM
Anyone desperate for a Tom Boyd fix, he is playing for the GWS reserves vs NT Thunder on NITV (Digital Channel 34) right now.

01-01-2015, 09:01 PM
Anyone desperate for a Tom Boyd fix, he is playing for the GWS reserves vs NT Thunder on NITV (Digital Channel 34) right now.

Thank You!

doggies ftw
03-01-2015, 10:10 AM
Anyone watch it? Howd he go?

03-01-2015, 10:15 AM
Anyone watch it? Howd he go?

Terrible. Didn't touch it. What a mistake our club has made!!

03-01-2015, 12:34 PM

Someone will bite. :D

03-01-2015, 12:55 PM
Someone will bite. :D

It would have been amusing....

03-01-2015, 01:08 PM
It would have been amusing....

Jury is out :D

03-01-2015, 01:16 PM

Would never have happened under Rocket.

Eze Dog
08-01-2015, 02:58 PM
The kid can't catch a break - http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2015-01-08/boyd-injures-finger-at-training

08-01-2015, 03:02 PM
Just read that article. Hopefully it's not too serious. I guess it depends on whether it's a simple in/out thing or whether any structural damage was done

08-01-2015, 03:21 PM
Dislocated fingers are annoying, that's all.

08-01-2015, 03:23 PM
There must be hundreds every season.

08-01-2015, 03:25 PM
Injury prone. We've bought a lemon.

08-01-2015, 03:28 PM
Doesn't sound from reading the article too serious.

08-01-2015, 03:32 PM
Injury prone. We've bought a lemon.

I want my money back :D

08-01-2015, 04:16 PM
Club website confirmed that the doctor popped it straight back in and Boyd will resume training on friday…phew

08-01-2015, 04:25 PM
He's been cleared to resume tomorrow.

08-01-2015, 04:37 PM
Why is he tackling? That's not his job...

08-01-2015, 04:38 PM

Yeah, get back in the goal square you big goose. :D

08-01-2015, 04:38 PM
Dislocated fingers are annoying, that's all.

I reckon I dislocated a finger at every cricket training session early in the season. You just whack the ground really hard with it afterwards, no problem.

08-01-2015, 04:44 PM

Is that you Shaun? :D

08-01-2015, 04:53 PM
How do you dislocate a finger riding an exercise bike?

08-01-2015, 05:07 PM
I can't help but think this is Rhyan Grphyones fault.

08-01-2015, 05:12 PM

Changing Gears

08-01-2015, 05:19 PM

Reaching over to the gym stereo to turn down Johnny Cash with Bob in the room?

08-01-2015, 05:47 PM
Reaching over to the gym stereo to turn down Johnny Cash with Bob in the room?

Or hanging out doing exercise gym stuff with that massive dude in the maximum security prison Acacia Unit.

08-01-2015, 06:03 PM
What's this about a dislocation?

08-01-2015, 06:45 PM
What's this about a dislocation?

As the great poet Ali G would say, "Boyd has moved from a #$%@ location to dis-location."

Actually Boyd dislocated a finger trying fit his wallet back into his pocket, lucky he didn't drop it he might have broken his foot.:)

Couple of pages back has the goss.

The kid can't catch a break - http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2015-01-08/boyd-injures-finger-at-training

08-01-2015, 06:51 PM

It's a cover; they couldn't say "beating up Daniel Pearce"

08-01-2015, 08:25 PM
Or hanging out doing exercise gym stuff with that massive dude in the maximum security prison Acacia Unit.

That would do it

08-01-2015, 08:30 PM
Got it caught on someone's jumper by all accounts.

08-01-2015, 08:33 PM
One day's missed training, at Boyd's contracted hourly rate, means that finger has cost us $23,500 of members' hard-earned dosh.

08-01-2015, 09:30 PM
Got it caught on someone's jumper by all accounts.

Ayce Cordy's I think.

08-01-2015, 10:12 PM
Our irrelevancy just went out the door when a dislocated finger is making the sports content.
Dogs front and centre

08-01-2015, 11:35 PM
Our irrelevancy just went out the door when a dislocated finger is making the sports content.
Dogs front and centre

Proportionately that finger is probably worth more than gold.

09-01-2015, 01:03 AM
Ayce Cordy's I think.
When are we going to delist this bloke, can't tap, can't mark and can't wear a jumper correctly.:)

09-01-2015, 05:44 PM
Proportionately that finger is probably worth more than gold.

We could dissect him to clear our debt!

09-01-2015, 06:49 PM
We could dissect him to clear our debt!

Lets see what his form is like first.

09-01-2015, 09:07 PM
Ayce Cordy's I think.

There goes his chances for Best Clubman 2015.

09-01-2015, 09:51 PM
Apparently news service reporting that Tom Boyd's tired after a hard days training.

09-01-2015, 09:58 PM
He must have trained by himself because I didn't see any other players at the ground today.

09-01-2015, 10:26 PM
Apparently news service reporting that Tom Boyd's tired after a hard days training.

Twitter reporting a news helicopter over Tom's house with an infrared camera getting heat signals of his biceps. Apparently some red gradation of his left bicep, inconclusive on tricep but watch the late news for more on this developing story.

09-01-2015, 11:36 PM
Did anyone mention that prior to his dislocation young Boyd finished about 50m behind second last place getter Grant in a 2km trial? He is our least fittest player by a fair way. Maybe keep the balls out of his hands for a week or two and get the legs rolling over a bit more.

09-01-2015, 11:41 PM
Did anyone mention that prior to his dislocation young Boyd finished about 50m behind second last place getter Grant in a 2km trial? He is our least fittest player by a fair way. Maybe keep the balls out of his hands for a week or two and get the legs rolling over a bit more.

Boo! :)

09-01-2015, 11:57 PM
Must be GWS letting him get to 110 kegs! How on earth was that allowed to happen ?
Needs to get his fitness up no doubt, but being a big kid it may take time.

10-01-2015, 12:33 AM

He had his appendix out about a month before. He did pretty well to run 2ks at that stage. When I had mine out it took me four weeks to get off the couch.

10-01-2015, 03:45 AM
He had his appendix out about a month before. He did pretty well to run 2ks at that stage. When I had mine out it took me four weeks to get off the couch.

The scrunity on this kid is going to be extreme, and even from our own supporters .
Think he should be cut some slack coming back from surgery.

10-01-2015, 04:29 AM
The scrunity on this kid is going to be extreme, and even from our own supporters .
Think he should be cut some slack coming back from surgery.
I like it. The kid has balls, taking that on.

10-01-2015, 07:39 AM
Lally Bamblett played against the Bombers a week after getting his appendix out

10-01-2015, 08:27 AM

That's right. Id forgotten about that. I don't reckon they would let him do that these days. Chris Grant had his appendix out not long after he debuted and was back playing again not long after too.

10-01-2015, 10:04 AM

Magic memory, he was one of the most exciting players ever.

10-01-2015, 11:13 AM
Magic memory, he was one of the most exciting players ever.

My favourite player of all time. I loved watching Lal cause confusion and panic amongst defenders. He was just incredible. Some of the things he could do were magic.

10-01-2015, 11:36 AM
I have a memory of him hitting a pack at full speed and coming out the other side with the ball and a beer gut. Audacious.

10-01-2015, 11:53 AM
I have a memory of him hitting a pack at full speed and coming out the other side with the ball and a beer gut. Audacious.

That gut was thanks to Maccas after training. :D

Rumoured Beaza would drop him off at Maccas after they trained . He was senstaional in 1985 kicking his 50th in the 1st Semi final after Beazza kicked his 100th

10-01-2015, 01:39 PM

Against Collingwood at the MCG?

11-01-2015, 06:38 PM
Against Collingwood at the MCG?

Think it was at Footscray where I tended to see the boys play but it may have been at the MCG but the play had slowed down with congestion, and Bamblett flashes through and grabs the ball. Brilliant.

11-01-2015, 11:37 PM
What a talent Les was .
He lit up that year, and that goal against Collingwood was just pure skill.

11-01-2015, 11:38 PM

Not sure how Lal would have gone in a 2km time trial .
Sure he'd be stuffed and still finishing

12-01-2015, 12:25 AM
Les would have to be carried the last 1800 metres.

12-01-2015, 12:49 AM
It was like he had trapdoors under the ground that he would appear from just as one defender gave the ball to another defender. Lal would just all of a sudden be there, between them intercepting the ball and waddling into an open goal.

04-04-2015, 01:11 PM
Tom receives the number 17 from 1954 premiership player Ron Stockman

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2015-04-03/stockman-presents-boyds-guernsey

I love this traddition of handing over the number from one great to another.

04-04-2015, 01:15 PM
Tom receives the number 17 from 1954 premiership player Ron Stockman

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2015-04-03/stockman-presents-boyds-guernsey

I love this traddition of handing over the number from one great to another.

Yes so do I BAD. It is great how they delve into the history books to choose the player who is going to do it. Glad it wasn't Cooney.:)

04-04-2015, 03:17 PM
Yes so do I BAD. It is great how they delve into the history books to choose the player who is going to do it. Glad it wasn't Cooney.:)

I thought it might have been why Nathan Brown was at Whitten Oval through the week.

04-04-2015, 05:59 PM
I thought it might have been why Nathan Brown was at Whitten Oval through the week.

Good to see Brownie back at his alma mater and on the website proud of his 140 games with the Dogs. I don't believe he'd be so proud of his time after the Dogs.

04-04-2015, 07:10 PM
Good to see Brownie back at his alma mater and on the website proud of his 140 games with the Dogs. I don't believe he'd be so proud of his time after the Dogs.

He was having an excellent season the year he broke his leg, but it was pretty forgettable from there

19-05-2015, 12:21 PM
Back to Tom Boyd.
I think he's been great this year and despite not racking up huge numbers has been a real solid contributor.

How good is it to see those big arms go up and the ball just stick.

He will be a colossus for us over the next decade.

BUT HE GETS NOTHING....NOTHING FROM THE UMPIRES!!!! HE GET'S CRUCIFIED EVERY WEEK!!!

19-05-2015, 12:36 PM
Back to Tom Boyd.
I think he's been great this year and despite not racking up huge numbers has been a real solid contributor.

BUT HE GETS NOTHING....NOTHING FROM THE UMPIRES!!!! HE GET'S CRUCIFIED EVERY WEEK!!!

I love the way he protects the drop zone when he marks the ball. He judges where the ball is going to fall, claims and protects that ground and then contorts around his direct opponent to take the mark. It's a great talent to have. This kid is the real deal.

19-05-2015, 12:52 PM
I love the way he protects the drop zone when he marks the ball. He judges where the ball is going to fall, claims and protects that ground and then contorts around his direct opponent to take the mark. It's a great talent to have. This kid is the real deal.

And he pushed the defenders down the pecking order. See specifically him taking Talia and Stringer then getting loose, or last week taking Dawson and then Dickson getting off and so on. When we have a decent second tall forward that requires a good defender, we could have something special and it all comes down to having Boyd. That's not to mention him creating crumbing opportunities and ripping future opponents to shreds. I'm happier more than ever we did the bold thing.

19-05-2015, 01:18 PM
Back to Tom Boyd.

You sound like Digger :D

https://youtu.be/BE3OsKCgJMI

19-05-2015, 01:42 PM
He's going to be an absolute superstar in 2 years.

His stats won't show it but his improvement in the first 6 weeks has been really noticeable. He is looking much more confident at this level now, and is taking some very strong and impressive grabs per game whilst 'almost' taking a couple more. It wouldn't surprise me if, sometime soon, he kicks 4 or 5 himself. He continually gets himself in the right position, he uses his body well, he presents at the ball well and he extends his arms - something basically all of our rucks/key key forwards do not do - he takes the ball at its highest point (something Nick Riewoldt does).

I've been impressed by his footy IQ, his skills and his competitiveness. He's only 19 years old - he's going to be seriously good - and every week that deal looks better for us. Griffen is nowhere near the player he was (at times he looks disinterested), at the time him + pick 6 looked a high price to pay and it was, but for mine we're already reaping the rewards from being bold.

19-05-2015, 01:55 PM
Back to Tom Boyd.

I don't think he is alone here. The big, strong forwards rarely get anything from the umpires - Buckley is constantly complaining about the lack of frees for Cloke.

And he pushed the defenders down the pecking order. See specifically him taking Talia and Stringer then getting loose, or last week taking Dawson and then Dickson getting off and so on.

He did a pretty good job of taking Dawson right out of the game - in fact over 3,000kms out of the game since he was most likely watching from his couch in Perth!;)

19-05-2015, 02:28 PM
Been a big improver has big Tom .
Looks more mobile and confident by the week.
As for the other bloke, you'd have to say he's been disappointing .
There were people saying Griffin can win a Brownlow, but I think he's best is behind him.
Going to be interesting if he can last the 4 years

19-05-2015, 03:22 PM
And he pushed the defenders down the pecking order. See specifically him taking Talia and Stringer then getting loose, or last week taking Dawson and then Dickson getting off and so on. When we have a decent second tall forward that requires a good defender, we could have something special and it all comes down to having Boyd. That's not to mention him creating crumbing opportunities and ripping future opponents to shreds. I'm happier more than ever we did the bold thing.

He certainly draws a crowd and frees up other forwards. A couple of times Dickson kicked goals just by running to the right spot when all the defenders had run to Boyd and there were gaps everywhere.

19-05-2015, 03:33 PM
He certainly draws a crowd and frees up other forwards. A couple of times Dickson kicked goals just by running to the right spot when all the defenders had run to Boyd and there were gaps everywhere.

Yep. It's part of the reason I have faith in Grant. He can crumb well to Boyd over time, and lead in other areas which Boyd takes the pack. The flow on benefits might not get mentioned in the press, but he's brining structure and opportunity to the entire forward line. And that goes missing when he rucks, hence why we need to not have him rucking and another tall competent target.

19-05-2015, 03:37 PM
I've been impressed by his footy IQ, his skills and his competitiveness. He's only 19 years old - he's going to be seriously good - and every week that deal looks better for us. Griffen is nowhere near the player he was (at times he looks disinterested), at the time him + pick 6 looked a high price to pay and it was, but for mine we're already reaping the rewards from being bold.
Griff is now carrying a knee injury - you'd have to say someone who has had chronic back injury issues for months, compensating for that can manifest itself in other areas like we are seeing.

19-05-2015, 04:26 PM
Back to Tom Boyd.

Just as a bit of context:

2014: 9 Games, 8 Goals, 23 Marks, 55 Disposals, 9 Tackles. Average Time on Ground 81%
2015 (to date): 7 Games, 10 Goals, 25 Marks, 60 Disposals, 25 Marks, 17 Tackles. Average Time on Ground 93.43%

Stats speak for themselves, really.

Lets not forget that he's still a teenager. When you consider how much physical development he has left in him, his progress to date is exceptional. He's going to be just fine.

19-05-2015, 04:30 PM
Just as a bit of context:

2014: 9 Games, 8 Goals, 23 Marks, 55 Disposals, 9 Tackles. Average Time on Ground 81%
2015 (to date): 7 Games, 10 Goals, 25 Marks, 60 Disposals, 25 Marks, 17 Tackles. Average Time on Ground 93.43%

Stats speak for themselves, really.

Lets not forget that he's still a teenager. When you consider how much physical development he has left in him, his progress to date is exceptional. He's going to be just fine.

By my quick math, that's about a 25-30% improvement after one proper preseason and 7 games. Try not to think about that extending over many seasons, you may get too excited! :)

19-05-2015, 04:32 PM
By my quick math, that's about a 25-30% improvement after one proper preseason and 7 games. Try not to think about that extending over many seasons, you may get too excited! :)

Very, very quick math!

But you're around about the mark I reckon.

19-05-2015, 04:32 PM
Not carrying the extra pudding surely helps with his tackling and time on ground stats.

He's coming along well, and I can't wait for him to become stronger.

19-05-2015, 05:07 PM
Is there a better kick on a guy his size going around the AFL? His footskills around the ground are absolutely beautiful, he makes creative decisions and his disposal by hand is efficient also

19-05-2015, 06:06 PM
Back to Tom Boyd.

How great is it to be complaining about our monster forward getting done over by the umps?! Good problem to have

19-05-2015, 06:20 PM
How great is it to be complaining about our monster forward getting done over by the umps?! Good problem to have

Sensational problem to have.

20-05-2015, 08:23 PM
He has made a big difference without the huge stats. Agree with all said above and hard to believe he is only 19. Look out when he's 25....

20-05-2015, 09:27 PM
He has made a big difference without the huge stats. Agree with all said above and hard to believe he is only 19. Look out when he's 25....

And a multi premiership player.

21-05-2015, 04:23 PM

And just coming out of contract;)

21-05-2015, 04:26 PM
And just coming out of contract;)

and signing for another 7 years :D

21-05-2015, 04:50 PM
and signing for another 7 years :D

I dunno. The price will be high with all that premiership experience!

26-05-2015, 09:19 PM

We will have to be negotiating to re-sign him by then

22-08-2016, 05:45 PM
21 Today

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CqcZ_6nVMAA_CgB.jpg

22-08-2016, 05:48 PM
Another positive game yesterday.

22-08-2016, 05:52 PM
Was pleasing to see him take a few nice grabs - think he might have registered 3 x contested and 6 marks overall. Hit some packs with some force.

2 ordinary moments, with the weekly dropped chest mark and his miss from 20 metres...but he seems to be gradually improving his output.

22-08-2016, 06:41 PM
Tom Boyd has been given the 3rd degree, under the microscope under constant scrutiny subject to close examination. I admire the way he has withstood the pressure. He is a 20 year old playing a difficult role whilst coping with some pretty ordinary delivery from team mates further afield. He will get better and better and will become a vital cog in our machine as it rolls on to its inevitable date with destiny. "It may not happen overnight BUT, it WILL happen."

22-08-2016, 06:50 PM
Another positive game yesterday.

I'm happy with the way he's progressing, although I'm strongly wanting to see him spend almost all his time down forward. He's getting burned by team mates missing when he's open, or shocking delivery generally. If he was still at GWS (with their skills going forward) the media would be fawning all over him as the next big thing. He's got a great shape and a much better tank now, his linking play by hands and foot is actually very good and he's a usually very good kick at goal. For a kid still on his p plates, there's already a lot to like and potential that is good enough to raise through the Etihad roof.

22-08-2016, 07:12 PM
My partner, who doesn't watch us a great deal, saw him on the TV yesterday and said 'who's that big fella. He makes everyone else look tiny!'. He really is a man mountain and will be impossible to handle once his physique is where it should be.

22-08-2016, 10:42 PM
My partner, who doesn't watch us a great deal, saw him on the TV yesterday and said 'who's that big fella. He makes everyone else look tiny!'. He really is a man mountain and will be impossible to handle once his physique is where it should be.

Do you think he needs to shed some more kilos

22-08-2016, 10:46 PM

I think his weight is fine, but the body composition is off. Needs more lean muscle, less puppy fat. With his size advantage, he should be rag dolling opposition players, yet he can barely break a tackle.

I'd be smashing him in the weights room this pre-season, working on overall strength but with a focus on his core.

22-08-2016, 11:20 PM

He needs to build muscle and lose body fat. He also needs to work on his core because he's going to need to stand stronger and taller when outnumbered in marking contests.

22-08-2016, 11:20 PM
Double post.

22-08-2016, 11:58 PM
I think his weight is fine, but the body composition is off. Needs more lean muscle, less puppy fat. With his size advantage, he should be rag dolling opposition players, yet he can barely break a tackle.

I'd be smashing him in the weights room this pre-season, working on overall strength but with a focus on his core.

Agree. His lack of strength for his size is a little disappointing.

Needs a big pre-season in strength and core training.

23-08-2016, 12:10 AM
Tom this year has achieved new personal career bests in:

Total Most Disposals X 2
Total Most Kicks
Total Most Handballs X 2
Total Most Score Involvements
Total Most Marks (and equaled)
Total Most Hitouts
& Kicked a bag of three against a good opponent

All while having to over ruck, and get horrid forward delivery. His charts of output and match influence in all areas are going north, and have been increasing over the year. It's apparently not newsworthy, but he is progressing very, very nicely for a 21yo especially in the circumstances he's found himself in.

23-08-2016, 12:21 AM
Not sure what happened, but if I lost my last post, this year Tom has new personal career bests in:

Total Most Disposals X 2
Total Most Kicks
Total Most Handballs X 2
Total Most Marks (& equaled)
Total Most Score Involvements
Total Most Hit Outs
& Kicked a bag of 3 against good opponents, and is starting to take some good contested marks without help from the umpires.

All while rucking too much, not having a lot of help down forward and horrid forward entries. His charts are going north and have been rising all year. It's not media worthy, but this 21yo P Plater, 203cm, 100kg kid is improving across the board in all areas and he should be more widely supported for solid progression in trying circumstances. I'm really happy for the kid.

23-08-2016, 02:09 AM
I've watched him crash a pack a number of times over the last three weeks. He is hitting them harder and bringing the ball to ground. I'm loving this !!! If he can't clunk it, I want the ball on the ground for our small fleet. Importantly he's hurting the opposition players when he hits them. Not hard enough to put them off the ground, but hard enough to put doubt in their minds about standing in front of him next time the ball comes that way.
I understand why we are using him in the ruck (and I think he's getting better at that too) but I also want him to stay forward more.

23-08-2016, 09:02 AM
I've watched him crash a pack a number of times over the last three weeks. He is hitting them harder and bringing the ball to ground. I'm loving this !!! If he can't clunk it, I want the ball on the ground for our small fleet. Importantly he's hurting the opposition players when he hits them. Not hard enough to put them off the ground, but hard enough to put doubt in their minds about standing in front of him next time the ball comes that way.
I understand why we are using him in the ruck (and I think he's getting better at that too) but I also want him to stay forward more.

Really smart tap over the back of him and two defenders on the weekend. He knew he couldn't get it and tapped on to advantage, really smart footy.

23-08-2016, 09:25 AM
Will Camhead mean that Boyd plays full forward the entire game during finals?

23-08-2016, 10:19 AM
I wish - problem being he's been our best ruckman over the past month.
Roughy spotted getting scans on Monday, clearly carrying something. Campbell getting match fitness. Our cupboard is bare.

23-08-2016, 11:46 AM
At the end of the day, we won't go deep into Sept with our current ruck/fwd set up. CamHead is a must. Boyd up fwd is a must. Maybe it works? Maybe it doesn't...

23-08-2016, 01:44 PM

I want to see this happen next year and for Tom to average 2 goals a game. I will be happy then with his progress.

23-08-2016, 01:47 PM
I wish - problem being he's been our best ruckman over the past month.
Roughy spotted getting scans on Monday, clearly carrying something. Campbell getting match fitness. Our cupboard is bare.

Except for the recent AA ruckman on our list. Who is in pretty good form. Clearly a class above VFL level ATM.

23-08-2016, 01:49 PM
I want to see this happen next year and for Tom to average 2 goals a game. I will be happy then with his progress.

It may still happen this year. We've got six weeks until Grand Final day.

23-08-2016, 01:57 PM
It may still happen this year. We've got six weeks until Grand Final day.

Yes although I was referring to all of next year leaving Tom at full forward from round 1 onwards.

23-08-2016, 01:59 PM
Listening to Tom on the Carey interview, he said he was a ruck/forward.

23-08-2016, 10:05 PM
Except for the recent AA ruckman on our list. Who is in pretty good form. Clearly a class above VFL level ATM.

Clark Keating-esque return on the biggest stage in footy is on the cards.

23-08-2016, 10:09 PM
Clark Keating-esque return on the biggest stage in footy is on the cards.

I can see him playing a final. He has certainly kept himself match ready.

23-08-2016, 10:11 PM
Listening to Tom on the Carey interview, he said he was a ruck/forward.

And Fabio has won an award for being an actor/model, and not the other way around. But we know that's not true, it's just a line. Tom is a blue chip KPF despite the things he repeats.

23-08-2016, 10:13 PM
And Fabio has won an award for being an actor/model, and not the other way around. But we know that's not true, it's just a line. Tom is a blue chip KPF despite the things he repeats.

Exactly. Besides you would't pay a mill a season for a second ruck/forward surely.

23-08-2016, 10:21 PM
To be fair to Tom, I doubt he's going to go on national TV and say 'nah, I'm a freaking monster key forward but these idiots have got me slumming it up in the ruck'.

23-08-2016, 11:26 PM
To be fair to Tom, I doubt he's going to go on national TV and say 'nah, I'm a freaking monster key forward but these idiots have got me slumming it up in the ruck'.

March down to the goalsquare at the start of the game and refuse to leave unless someone kicks the ball to him

24-08-2016, 01:45 PM
Exactly. Besides you would't pay a mill a season for a second ruck/forward surely.
Kurt Tippett?

24-08-2016, 01:52 PM
Kurt Tippett?

Don't think he is on a mill plus. Could be.

24-08-2016, 02:03 PM
Don't think he is on a mill plus. Could be.

Close enough to $1 million. Originally signed a $3.5 million 4 year deal and has triggered a 2 year extension for 2017 & 2018 worth just under $2 million.

24-08-2016, 02:06 PM
Close enough to $1 million. Originally signed a $3.5 million 4 year deal and has triggered a 2 year extension for 2017 & 2018 worth just under $2 million.

Recruited as a key forward initially and then went into the second ruck/forward role. Maybe Boyd will also do this role for all his career. Who knows.

24-08-2016, 02:54 PM
If you can get someone averaging a 2.5 goals a game and rucking for 25% of the time you've struck gold.

24-08-2016, 03:12 PM
If you can get someone averaging a 2.5 goals a game and rucking for 25% of the time you've struck gold.

Agree but the mix isnt right at the moment. It looked like he played more ruck minutes than Roughy on the weekend

24-08-2016, 03:40 PM
Agree but the mix isnt right at the moment. It looked like he played more ruck minutes than Roughy on the weekend

Agreed, I also feel he's playing too many minutes in the ruck. On Sunday however it was forced to an extent with Roughy going down into the rooms in the first quarter, something isn't right with him.

24-08-2016, 10:21 PM
Kurt Tippett?

Tippett was a unique situation though. It's not often you recruit a spearhead on massive bucks and then have Buddy Franklin fall into your lap the following year. Would never happen to anyone other than Sydney.

09-09-2016, 01:56 PM
Loved Boyds game last night. Massive impact on the game and was involved all night.

Did anyone see the vision of him singing the song? Such passion. Just had the look of a bloke who has had the weight lifted and feels like he really belongs.

09-09-2016, 02:11 PM
Yes. He really made an impact.

If he continues this upward curve in his improvement he will be a gold class investment and not just a one position player.

09-09-2016, 02:13 PM
A glimpse at what a star he will be. He could/should have finished with three goals. Those marks are going to begin to stick. Be afraid footy world!

09-09-2016, 02:15 PM
Loved Boyds game last night. Massive impact on the game and was involved all night.

Did anyone see the vision of him singing the song? Such passion. Just had the look of a bloke who has had the weight lifted and feels like he really belongs.

Yep. Apart from a few nervy mistakes early on, he looked anything but a finals debutant. Big, strong, contested, involved, hard, consistent, smart, involving. I loved his bullocking work to dish outa goal in the third I think it was. Also, a few times when he was two/against one in a marking contest his decision not to mark but to slap it over to a team mate was really smart. If his name was Rioli we would have heard about it for an hour after the game. By bringing it to ground and denying WCE intercept marks he was team orientated and showing footy smarts not a lot of really big boys have. I'm predicting big things next week for Tom, and another huge screaming of Sons of the West.

09-09-2016, 02:36 PM
Coming of age. Right now, more than ever, he feels like he belongs at AFL level.

He is growing and growing. We saw a hard edged, ultra competitive side to Boyd we hadn't seen previously. I thought it was really, really impressive for a big kid who is still finding his way and found himself in the thick of the action in a huge final.

Well done lad.

09-09-2016, 02:51 PM
Coming of age. Right now, more than ever, he feels like he belongs at AFL level.

He is growing and growing. We saw a hard edged, ultra competitive side to Boyd we hadn't seen previously. I thought it was really, really impressive for a big kid who is still finding his way and found himself in the thick of the action in a huge final.

Well done lad.

I hope all our supporters get right behind him too. I was watching the highlights on the AFL App, and the hard running by Tom was evident in numerous pushes forward. His GPS data must be pumping out huge distances in ground covered.

09-09-2016, 02:54 PM
Looks like he's dropped more weight as well. Still got his hands on a few he should be taking, and I think he will.

09-09-2016, 02:59 PM
Excited to see how he performs for the remainder of the finals and really excited to see him next year after a big pre-season.

09-09-2016, 03:29 PM
A glimpse at what a star he will be. He could/should have finished with three goals. Those marks are going to begin to stick. Be afraid footy world!

He just monstered a few contests last night too. In one he was almost pushing the pack that had formed over the ball over to get the ball loose the way you see in rugby union sometimes.

I noticed the passion he belted out the song with. He looked particularly delighted.

I hope all our supporters get right behind him too. I was watching the highlights on the AFL App, and the hard running by Tom was evident in numerous pushes forward. His GPS data must be pumping out huge distances in ground covered.

He turned up in some strange places last night. Often a hand would thump the ball on and commentator would say "Boyd" and I'd think "That's not Boyd, he's over there-oh he meant Tom, what's he doing there?" He ran all night.

I am looking forward to a time when performances like last night are his standard performance and the arc goes up from there. Tom knows what it takes now and he knows he can do it.

09-09-2016, 04:14 PM
Great performance last night. He keeps getting better.

I particularly liked that he flattened a Weagles player with about 5 minutes left in the game on the wing.

09-09-2016, 04:17 PM
He's got a bit of a mean streak too. I like it.

09-09-2016, 04:47 PM
Seems to hold marks better around the ground then when a forward target - played very well.

Loved his work for Clay Smith's goal - they just couldn't stick the tackle on the big man

10-09-2016, 12:31 PM
That effort from Boyd in Clay's goal was symptomatic of Tom's effort on the night, persistent, willing to do the 1%ers.
I wonder if we will build up his tank this preseason to see if his aerobic ability is up to being an all ground player.

10-09-2016, 12:45 PM
6 tackles, 5 one-percenters - great numbers for a big man. Testament to his workrate.

10-09-2016, 05:40 PM
Yes - really liked his game. Did seem to get to more contests the other night.

10-09-2016, 06:19 PM
Yes I thought he played very well on Thursday night. Was very much involved in the a lot of the play and took a few good marks. He will only keep getting better. With Stewart coming back next year that will help out Jake and Tom. He needs to be at full forward which is what we got him for although with his height can play ruck at times but prefer him forward.

11-09-2016, 03:34 PM
Tom's effort against the West Coast Turkeys was all any of us could ask, or have wished for. Well done Tom Boyd and your 21 tricolour mates.

11-09-2016, 09:59 PM
To me it felt like the penny dropped a little last night. He had an important job to do on a big stage and he relished it. He's going to make quite a few eat humble pie.

11-09-2016, 11:10 PM
Excrement pie.

11-09-2016, 11:11 PM
And let's face it, you probably would if someone the size of Tom told you to.

12-09-2016, 09:39 PM
"Eat it Barrett! You heard what I did to Zaine?" *Leans in and whispers* "That was a playfight..."