View Full Version : Welcome to the WBFC - Caleb Daniel
14-06-2016, 08:12 AM
Was very, very important in the last quarter. Thought he was a big part of why we won (along with Stringer's last qtr and Bonti)
Everyone played a hand. I can't think of one person who didn't contribute.
14-06-2016, 08:27 AM
Everyone played a hand. I can't think of one person who didn't contribute.
Tough to admit. I didn't. :D
14-06-2016, 08:45 AM
Tough to admit. I didn't. :D
Tragic, you are an essential cog in this wheel. The supporter!
How was the handball in traffic to Honeychurch for a goal?
How was the short kick to Bont for a goal?
How was the kick to Redpath for a goal?
Bit of a trend?!
Get this man the ball!!!
14-06-2016, 10:23 AM
How was the handball in traffic to Honeychurch for a goal?
How was the short kick to Bont for a goal?
How was the kick to Redpath for a goal?
Bit of a trend?!
Get this man the ball!!!
What about his 5 metre kick to Picken with a few minutes to go?.. That was a brain-fart moment.
14-06-2016, 10:36 AM
Some interesting player comparisons. He reminds me a bit of Sam Mitchell in that the game seems to slow down when he has the ball. Exceptionally composed player with quick hands and, more importantly, a footy brain that often seems a split second ahead of the others. Older players who had this trait, who he also reminds me of a little, include Scott West and Greg Williams.
14-06-2016, 12:35 PM
I have him pegged for 400 games
14-06-2016, 12:57 PM
A 19 year old who plays like a seasoned player. Amazing.
14-06-2016, 02:00 PM
A 19 year old who plays like a seasoned player. Amazing.
Not really. Bontempelli did it first, or was it Liberatore? Geez we are spoilt.
14-06-2016, 04:01 PM
He's a star; what a great pick up. So glad he's ours.
14-06-2016, 07:27 PM
I love this little champ.
Whenever I see Caleb with ball in hand my heart rate drops to a placid level knowing that he will execute with precision.
14-06-2016, 08:01 PM
It makes me happy that so many others love him.
I feel reassured when he has the ball.
14-06-2016, 09:26 PM
Here's a photo I took of the great man 3 years ago. Anyone who has played with or against him in the SANFL raves about the little champ.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/glenelg_football_club_sanfl/8913659378/in/photolist-ezEQoo
IMHO he won the game for us v Port on Saturday with his efforts in the last quarter.
14-06-2016, 10:09 PM
Here's a photo I took of the great man 3 years ago. Anyone who has played with or against him in the SANFL raves about the little champ.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/glenelg_football_club_sanfl/8913659378/in/photolist-ezEQoo
IMHO he won the game for us v Port on Saturday with his efforts in the last quarter.
Growth spurt shortly after?
14-06-2016, 10:49 PM
Growth spurt shortly after?
161 to 168
14-06-2016, 10:52 PM
161 to 168
Nearly 5%!!
14-06-2016, 11:27 PM
I'm sick of the height discussion brought out every time by commentators. It's very clear it doesn't matter.
14-06-2016, 11:40 PM
I'm sick of the height discussion brought out every time by commentators. It's very clear it doesn't matter.
It's easier to remember something like 'smallest bloke in the AFL' than research and offer insight into his amazing stats this year and how important he has been in crucial moments of tight games this year. Don't we expect all AFL commentators to be ignorant bogans throwing around glib tid bits of info pretending to be adding something to the viewing experience?
15-06-2016, 03:48 PM
It means he should be talked about as being in contention for winning the rising star award.
Which Plough Wallace has just said today. I hope Caleb keeps its going.
It will pass in years to come and then , like Harvey they will just comment on how much of a champion he is.
16-06-2016, 01:02 PM
It will pass in years to come and then , like Harvey they will just comment on how much of a champion he is.
I've got a theory that Boomer only hit puberty at like 34, and thus is finally ceasing to be an immature annoying little shit. Now that he appears to have stopped punching guys in the back of the head when he can't break a tag I can enjoy watching him subjectively.
16-06-2016, 06:51 PM
He's a beauty isn't he just!
It's good to hear and see that he is finally getting some recognition in the media circles for his exquisite skill set rather than just his height. The more noise the media make about him, the more chance he has of winning the rising star award. It may not be right but that's how the system works, just ask the Bont. Being the best by a country mile means nothing!
16-06-2016, 08:53 PM
He's a beauty isn't he just!
It's good to hear and see that he is finally getting some recognition in the media circles for his exquisite skill set rather than just his height. The more noise the media make about him, the more chance he has of winning the rising star award. It may not be right but that's how the system works, just ask the Bont. Being the best by a country mile means nothing!
It's been a long year or so and twenty games indeed, not sure how he's managed to put up with it over such a journey! :)
16-06-2016, 10:10 PM
Does anyone else think it is crazy and a bit silly that the guy picking the rising star has said he doesn't watch many games. How the hell does he get a good insight into the guy that deserves the medal. To me that just shows how mistakes are made like last year. If your judging the award on hearsay your never going to get it right. May as well give it to Weitering now
16-06-2016, 10:42 PM
It shows me that once you're 'lucky' enough to be accepted into a money for jam boys club you can take the piss no end!
16-06-2016, 11:24 PM
Does anyone else think it is crazy and a bit silly that the guy picking the rising star has said he doesn't watch many games. How the hell does he get a good insight into the guy that deserves the medal. To me that just shows how mistakes are made like last year. If your judging the award on hearsay your never going to get it right. May as well give it to Weitering now
Who is that?
17-06-2016, 09:20 AM
Who is that?
Wasn't it KB who made those comments?
17-06-2016, 09:41 AM
I thought the guy who makes the nominations doesn't watch many games, but the votes for the winner are decided by a panel -- which happens to include a couple of head office employees...
I could be wrong.
17-06-2016, 10:01 AM
I thought the guy who makes the nominations doesn't watch many games, but the votes for the winner are decided by a panel -- which happens to include a couple of head office employees...
I could be wrong.
You are right Murph. "Shifter" Sheehan picks the weekly winner I'm sure. A panel of ex players and AFL employees pick the ultimate winner.
18-06-2016, 06:02 AM
Wasn't it KB who made those comments?
Wouldn't think so. He commentates half the games each week. He sees heaps of games.
03-07-2016, 12:26 PM
Current ranking of Caleb against eligible rising stars across the AFL:
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Total Inside 50s
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total Goal Assists
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total Kicks
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total Handballs
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Disposals
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Total Marks
Ranked 9th among rising stars in Total Tackles
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total Supercoach Score
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total AFL Fantasy Score
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total Uncontested Possessions
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total Effective Disposals
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Total Clangers
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Total Clearances
Ranked 8th among rising stars in Total Bounces
Ranked 9th among rising stars in Total Time On Ground %
Ranked 8th among rising stars in Goal Assists Per Game
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Kicks Per Game
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Handballs Per Game
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Disposals Per Game
Ranked 8th among rising stars in Marks Per Game
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Supercoach Score Per Game
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in AFL Fantasy Score Per Game
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Uncontested Possessions Per Game
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Effective Disposals Per Game
Ranked 8th among rising stars in Effective Disposals % Per Game
03-07-2016, 12:43 PM
Grease Gun. He greases our moving parts. He must be good when a Sydney fanatic yells his guts out in the intense battle "Ya midget".
03-07-2016, 12:57 PM
Old timers might remember this: there was a St. Kilda player who cut us to ribbons at the Western Oval one day. He didn't kick any goals from memory but probably was instrumental in 4 - 5. Every possession he had was used to good effect. At the end of his career he came to us and played some great football, particularly as a loose man in defence. Name? Bruce Duperouzel. Caleb reminds me of him. Beautifully balanced, skilled on both sides, elusive, 360 degree vision, makes good decisions and he can HURT the opposition. How do you like that Sydney? When Duhwayne, I think it was, described you as 'a wonderful franchise' I nearly threw up. Go Dogs!
03-07-2016, 01:28 PM
Grease Gun. He greases our moving parts. He must be good when a Sydney fanatic yells his guts out in the intense battle "Ya midget".
Heard that loudly and clearly.
Such a cool and incisive distributor of the footy for us, his nickname really should be 'The Glue'.
03-07-2016, 01:51 PM
He is the candy man
03-07-2016, 05:49 PM
Love him in our side. Having watched his underage highlight reel when he was drafted, I was wondering whether he could really play that well at AFL level. He can!
03-07-2016, 08:36 PM
I remember watching his highlights package and wondering the same thing. Can he dominate the AFL the same way. Because he was killing them in his age group. The boy will be compared with Sam Mitchel for the rest of his career
03-07-2016, 08:56 PM
1. Caleb Daniel's footy IQ might be the best in the League
The pint-sized Bulldog is quickly building a reputation as an elite footy brain under pressure, and his composure in the dying moments of his side's thrilling four-point win over the Sydney Swans has only enhanced that standing. Daniel gathered a loose ball in heavy traffic just outside the Dogs' forward 50 and with the clock ticking down, refused to blaze away and give up his team's only chance at winning, which was keeping possession of the ball. The 19-year-old rarely makes bad decisions and managed to find himself some room where there was none, and chip a brilliant pass across his body to find Marcus Bontempelli all alone. History will show that 'The Bont' ultimately gave off his chance at glory to Jason Johannisen who kicked the Dogs' to a memorable win, but if it wasn't for the vision and smarts of Daniel, the Bulldogs would be the ones nursing broken hearts, not the Swans. Still staggering this bloke isn't getting more love in the NAB AFL Rising Star conversation. - Adam Curley
LINK (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-07-03/six-things-we-learned-from-round-15)
03-07-2016, 09:11 PM
Old timers might remember this: there was a St. Kilda player who cut us to ribbons at the Western Oval one day. He didn't kick any goals from memory but probably was instrumental in 4 - 5. Every possession he had was used to good effect. At the end of his career he came to us and played some great football, particularly as a loose man in defence. Name? Bruce Duperouzel. Caleb reminds me of him. Beautifully balanced, skilled on both sides, elusive, 360 degree vision, makes good decisions and he can HURT the opposition. How do you like that Sydney? When Duhwayne, I think it was, described you as 'a wonderful franchise' I nearly threw up. Go Dogs!
Loved super Duper. The tactical limit back then was waiting until halfway through the third quarter to bring Duper on and the opposition wouldn't know how to cope. Duper would just run around without an opponent kicking goals and doing what he liked.
03-07-2016, 10:03 PM
Bruce Duperouzel opened the bowling with Denis Lillee for WA in Shield cricket too.
No he didn't. I've always thought that but he played five shield games and didn't bowl a ball.
12-07-2016, 12:03 PM
Caleb to round 16 (& factor in 3 weeks not playing):
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Total Inside 50s
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Total Goal Assists
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Handballs
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Disposals
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Total Marks
Ranked 10th among rising stars in Total Tackles
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total Supercoach Score
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Clangers
Ranked 7th among rising stars in Total Clearances
Ranked 10th among rising stars in Total Rebound 50s
Ranked 10th among rising stars in Total Bounces
Ranked 9th among rising stars in Total Time On Ground %
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Handballs Per Game
Ranked 7th among rising stars in Marks Per Game
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Supercoach Score Per Game
Ranked 1st among rising stars in AFL Fantasy Score Per Game
Ranked 9th among rising stars in Clangers Per Game
Ranked 10th among rising stars in Effective Disposals % Per Game
19-07-2016, 08:40 PM
I realise it's early, but just looking at Open Mike with Barry Cable, and there are some similarities there with Caleb...
They're about the same height, and I can't punt that Cable would've been an A+++ grader in today's footy. The observations were that he was quick, had exceptionally good reflexes and was able to think several steps ahead of the opposition...
Caleb all over. The kid's still 19 and still has improvement in him. Could be a superstar. Height means nothing when you're a champion.... (I'll put the lid back on it, now!)
21-07-2016, 08:44 AM
I realise it's early, but just looking at Open Mike with Barry Cable, and there are some similarities there with Caleb...
They're about the same height, and I can't punt that Cable would've been an A+++ grader in today's footy. The observations were that he was quick, had exceptionally good reflexes and was able to think several steps ahead of the opposition...
Caleb all over. The kid's still 19 and still has improvement in him. Could be a superstar. Height means nothing when you're a champion.... (I'll put the lid back on it, now!)
You make some very valid points and the Barry Cable comparison is spot on. When you look at other codes names like Alfie Langer, Tommy Raudonikis, Jason Robison and Sean Williams spring to mind. Google 'Sean Williams jinkers' and you will see my point. Champions all of them and Caleb is heading down that road.
21-07-2016, 08:45 AM
You make some very valid points and the Barry Cable comparison is spot on. When you look at other codes names like Alfie Langer, Tommy Raudonikis, Jason Robison and Sean Williams spring to mind. Google 'Sean Williams jinkers' and you will see my point. Champions all of them and Caleb is heading down that road.
21-07-2016, 09:02 AM
Sorry Woofers. That should read: SEARCH YOU TUBE 'SHANE WILLIAMS JINKERS' . It's been a while since I looked at it.
21-07-2016, 09:16 AM
Sorry Woofers. That should read: SEARCH YOU TUBE 'SHANE WILLIAMS JINKERS' . It's been a while since I looked at it.
Even better: YouTube 'A Tribute to Shane Williams'.
22-07-2016, 08:38 AM
Barry Cable would have been brilliant in this day and age. One of the best hand ballers of all time. When he heard that Polly Farmer could handball a footy through the open window of a Holden Kingswood from 25 metres away he said "wind the window up to halfway" and proceeded to handball a ball through that gap from 25 metres.
22-07-2016, 08:38 AM
Barry Cable would have been brilliant in this day and age. One of the best hand ballers of all time. When he heard that Polly Farmer could handball a footy through the open window of a Holden Kingswood from 25 metres away he said "wind the window up to halfway" and proceeded to handball a ball through that gap from 25 metres.
22-07-2016, 08:47 AM
I love the way you remember those little known stories.
24-07-2016, 02:45 PM
Caleb to round 18 (& factor in 3 weeks not playing):
Ranked 7th among rising stars in Total Inside 50s
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total Goal Assists
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Handballs
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total Disposals
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Total Marks
Ranked 10th among rising stars in Total Tackles
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Supercoach Score
Ranked 10th among rising stars in Total Contested Possessions
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total Clangers
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Total Clearances
Ranked 10th among rising stars in Total Rebound 50s
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Total Bounces
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Total Time On Ground %
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Handballs Per Game
Ranked 7th among rising stars in Marks Per Game
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Supercoach Score Per Game
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in AFL Fantasy Score Per Game
Ranked 9th among rising stars in Bounces Per Game
Ranked 10th among rising stars in Effective Disposals % Per Game
I think David King is ready to put a wager on Caleb.
Not only are his stat numbers amazing, but they show a guy working hard in all the segments of the ground, both inside & outside, running with the ball, running to space, doing it inside and outside, tackling hard and getting his own footy. You can't do too much more than this to win a rising star (other than play for a minnow interstate club that needs the press).
24-07-2016, 08:14 PM
Not only are his stat numbers amazing, but they show a guy working hard in all the segments of the ground, both inside & outside, running with the ball, running to space, doing it inside and outside, tackling hard and getting his own footy. You can't do too much more than this to win a rising star (other than play for a minnow interstate club that needs the press).
On SEN crunch time yesterday, they were talking about the rising star yesterday and some of them made the insulting comparison of Caleb Daniel to Lewis Taylor. Apart from stature, they are poles apart as players - such a lazy comparison. Daniel is so much more damaging with his decision-making and disposal than Taylor ever was even in his RS year.
Weitering is a gun and wouldn't be out of place as the RS this year (Callum Mills too), but Caleb has been elite virtually the entire season and his numbers stack up any way you look at it. Has to be in the frame.
24-07-2016, 08:40 PM
I thought St KILDA really went after him on Saturday. Hammered him in the tackle at every opportunity. They knew how damaging he can be.
24-07-2016, 08:44 PM
On SEN crunch time yesterday, they were talking about the rising star yesterday and some of them made the insulting comparison of Caleb Daniel to Lewis Taylor. Apart from stature, they are poles apart as players - such a lazy comparison. Daniel is so much more damaging with his decision-making and disposal than Taylor ever was even in his RS year.
Weitering is a gun and wouldn't be out of place as the RS this year (Callum Mills too), but Caleb has been elite virtually the entire season and his numbers stack up any way you look at it. Has to be in the frame.
Hence why I am shying away from all footy media, unless it's posted here. Being an ignorant dipshit, facilitating rumours and providing inane useless stats are the cornerstone of the industry. If they can't see his numbers and recognise he can do no more than be ranked #1 in many categories, and top 10 in the rest of the categories then they're taking the piss or have sub 50 IQs, or both. Comparing him to Taylor probably confirms both.
24-07-2016, 09:05 PM
I thought St KILDA really went after him on Saturday. Hammered him in the tackle at every opportunity. They knew how damaging he can be.
Caleb was our leading contested possession winner mid against the saints with 10.
24-07-2016, 09:11 PM
Caleb was our leading contested possession winner mid against the saints with 10.
I felt for him in the last quarter (I think it was) when he was given a hospital handball and he just stood there, took the massive hit and held onto the ball for a ball up. I was really impressed by that. He didn't squib in the slightest, nor try to avoid the hit and risk the ball getting loose, not allow the ball loose and then stood up like he wasn't phased by the hit (or the god awful handball that put him into the situation). He probably doesn't get a stat for any of it, but I wished others with far more experience did it all the time too. Great stuff.
16-09-2016, 02:34 PM
This is just fantastic
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c6MbFfQEzKk
28-07-2017, 09:15 AM
50 games coming up this week.
What a terrific pickup he has been to date, love his poise and decision making. May he go on to play many more games in the RWB.
28-07-2017, 09:28 AM
Congrats Caleb on the first 50.
28-07-2017, 09:39 AM
Can't wait for him to get stronger and fitter. He'll be unbelievably good after a couple more preseasons.
28-07-2017, 10:58 AM
Congrats Caleb on the first 50.
Wow that was quick wasn't it.
Has been fantastic addition, but would like to see him not trying to take the most difficult option all the time as he turns the ball over more often when he does that.
Looking forward to seeing his next 50
28-07-2017, 11:29 AM
Congrats, great drafting
28-07-2017, 11:36 AM
Has been fantastic addition, but would like to see him not trying to take the most difficult option all the time as he turns the ball over more often when he does that.
Can't say it's something I've really noticed. I always thought one of his strengths is holding onto the ball that little bit longer to make sure he takes the best option.
28-07-2017, 01:29 PM
Can't say it's something I've really noticed. I always thought one of his strengths is holding onto the ball that little bit longer to make sure he takes the best option.
He's very quick to dispose of it once he chooses to, probably to do with his height and distance between hand and foot. Helps him to get it off when he's under pressure
28-07-2017, 02:54 PM
I'm willing to wear the odd howler from the likes of Daniel & Suckling when they are trying to create something out of nothing with a speculative kick, because they have the skills to pull it off more often than not. What I don't want to see is those with limited foot skills like Dahlhaus or MBoyd trying the same thing.
03-06-2021, 11:26 AM
On Twitter... @WhateleySEN
Blight: "Caleb Daniel is a beautiful kick and a good decision maker. One of the problems is you need to (compete) in the air occasionally.
"I played with a guy called Barry Cable... he actually practiced his jumping. If I was Caleb Daniel, I'd be out there practicing."
9:37 AM · Jun 3, 2021
Incivise Blighty...!
03-06-2021, 11:29 AM
He obviously doesn’t watch our games.
Need an ignore button for him.
Blight: "Caleb Daniel is a beautiful kick and a good decision maker. One of the problems is you need to (compete) in the air occasionally.
"I played with a guy called Barry Cable... he actually practiced his jumping. If I was Caleb Daniel, I'd be out there practicing."
Incivise Blighty...!
I'm not sure Blighty has watched Daniel closely. I would've said he competes very well in the air for his size, against most opposition players with the understandable exception of genuine talls.
Incivise Blighty...!
Caleb should practice being taller while he's at it.
03-06-2021, 11:31 AM
Incivise Blighty...!
Wanker.
03-06-2021, 12:14 PM
Incivise Blighty...!
https://media.giphy.com/media/hPPx8yk3Bmqys/giphy.gif
03-06-2021, 03:37 PM
I've always said Blight needs to put more tobacco in his mix bowl.
04-06-2021, 10:02 AM
I'm not sure Blighty has watched Daniel closely. I would've said he competes very well in the air for his size, against most opposition players with the understandable exception of genuine talls.
Agreed. He got outmarked badly by Petracca (I think) last week and it did stand out, but otherwise he's pretty competitive.
04-06-2021, 05:13 PM
I agree.
Do they still make those Basketball Boots that proclaim to improve your jumping that you can Dunk? Like the one Jimmy (who continually referred to himself in the third-person) used on Seinfeld in an episode once.
05-09-2021, 12:32 PM
What a game from Caleb last night. His elite kicking is incredible.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HjTAoubicS0&ab_channel=Michael
05-09-2021, 12:46 PM
Caleb was an absolute weapon last night. Cut the game open.
05-09-2021, 12:54 PM
What a game from Caleb last night. His elite kicking is incredible.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HjTAoubicS0&ab_channel=Michael
The kick to Bontempelli should be illegal.
05-09-2021, 07:14 PM
The kick to Bontempelli should be illegal.
It's genius isn't it?
05-09-2021, 07:33 PM
thats an incredible kick, Bont walks 3 steps forward to his right, and thunders it down to Naughton in the fwd line 40 m out. Adams had no chance.
They tried that with English as well, unfortunately he did not mark. Would be fantastic if we could nail a couple of these set plays a game.
05-09-2021, 07:35 PM
Just watched replay-Daniel was immense.
05-09-2021, 07:47 PM
Just watched replay-Daniel was immense.
I wonder if Happy Days will finally get off his case.
05-09-2021, 08:10 PM
I wonder if Happy Days will finally get off his case.
Can you imagine how annoying everyone would have been if that last kick went to a Lions player instead of Roarke?
05-09-2021, 11:33 PM
He's just about the best player I've ever seen, in terms of his ability to make good decisions under pressure and execute consistently under pressure. I can't think of another player past or present I want with the ball in their hands under pressure.
Some of those corridor kicks were just incredible.
15-06-2022, 03:54 PM
https://youtu.be/08P3LP9X3YM
15-06-2022, 05:35 PM
He's just about the best player I've ever seen, in terms of his ability to make good decisions under pressure and execute consistently under pressure. I can't think of another player past or present I want with the ball in their hands under pressure.
Some of those corridor kicks were just incredible.
Libba is sublime with his foot skills, massively underrated user of the ball. But yeah Caleb is pretty awesome. With regard to opposition players, I reckon Sam Mitchell was as good a decision-maker with ball in hand as I've seen in the last 20-25 years. And before that Greg Williams was the best I've seen.
15-06-2022, 05:46 PM
Libba is sublime with his foot skills, massively underrated user of the ball. But yeah Caleb is pretty awesome. With regqrd to opposition players, I reckon Sam Mitchell was as good a decision-maker with ball in hand as I've seen in the last 20-25 years. And before that Greg Williams was the best I've seen.
Our best kick is Bailey Dale, but Caleb probably better with his decision making.
Mitchell and Williams were absolutely elite in their time.
15-06-2022, 05:58 PM
Libba is sublime with his foot skills, massively underrated user of the ball. But yeah Caleb is pretty awesome. With regqrd to opposition players, I reckon Sam Mitchell was as good a decision-maker with ball in hand as I've seen in the last 20-25 years. And before that Greg Williams was the best I've seen.
Libba is the best kick in the side. Decision, weight direction just perfect.
Strangely many get sucked in by Dale's bullets but they've never been the sign of a good kick.
26-07-2023, 07:54 AM
Why they have to throw shade at our man Caleb?
https://i.postimg.cc/xT1CFxBR/calebyouth.png (https://postimages.org/)
26-07-2023, 07:56 AM
Why they have to throw shade at our man Caleb?
https://i.postimg.cc/xT1CFxBR/calebyouth.png (https://postimages.org/)
Legit? if so bloody ordinary.
26-07-2023, 08:23 AM
Legit? if so bloody ordinary.
Yep it's on the shop!
26-07-2023, 09:37 AM
Never seen a youth shaped like that
26-07-2023, 09:42 AM
He looks ever so youthful to me. Nice pic too.
24-11-2023, 10:39 PM
Interested to hear the thoughts of others of where our Mr Fixit best fits in next season for us?
This year he played a bit of everywhere, back line, midfield and forward and he did well when he had an extended run when Treloar missed a few weeks for us.
From a midfield perspective, we've brought in Harmes, we will be hoping for some improvement in Macrae and we need to find some addition minutes for Baz Smith. Then there is potentially Ryley Sanders looking to soak up any opportunities in the middle. We also have our A Graders in Bont, Treloar and Liberatore.
In the back line in terms of smaller defenders we have seen the re-emergence of JJ, have kept Duryea on the list and have Vandermeer and maybe Gallagher in the mix.
In the forward line we are cramped again with a host of smaller forward options mainly Weightman, A.Jones, West, Clarke and maybe Garcia all fighting for the smaller forward opportunities.
So is Caleb Daniel resigned to playing mainly off the interchange bench for us or will he lock down a spot of his own in 2024?
24-11-2023, 11:18 PM
Said it before and will say it again, he plays as a roaming half forward, with a licence to move op the ground, but primarily he should be the guy kicking the ball into the forward line.
25-11-2023, 10:51 AM
Said it before and will say it again, he plays as a roaming half forward, with a licence to move op the ground, but primarily he should be the guy kicking the ball into the forward line.
I like him forward half as well. His lateral movement is as good as anyone in the side, he's an excellent crumber off hands and he'll set team mates up or finish off himself.
He spent a fair bit of time as the man sitting off the stoppage as a handball receive option again last year and it felt like teams had really figured it out. I'd like to see him spend more time as a genuine forward
25-11-2023, 11:26 AM
I like him forward half as well. His lateral movement is as good as anyone in the side, he's an excellent crumber off hands and he'll set team mates up or finish off himself.
He spent a fair bit of time as the man sitting off the stoppage as a handball receive option again last year and it felt like teams had really figured it out. I'd like to see him spend more time as a genuine forward
I would think Sanders first year might be sitting off the stoppage as he builds up his body etc.
Daniel should float around about 2 kicks out of goals so he can hit out forwards on the lead.
25-11-2023, 12:54 PM
I’m surprised we don’t play him more om the wing
25-11-2023, 03:22 PM
Interested to hear the thoughts of others of where our Mr Fixit best fits in next season for us?
This year he played a bit of everywhere, back line, midfield and forward and he did well when he had an extended run when Treloar missed a few weeks for us.
From a midfield perspective, we've brought in Harmes, we will be hoping for some improvement in Macrae and we need to find some addition minutes for Baz Smith. Then there is potentially Ryley Sanders looking to soak up any opportunities in the middle. We also have our A Graders in Bont, Treloar and Liberatore.
In the back line in terms of smaller defenders we have seen the re-emergence of JJ, have kept Duryea on the list and have Vandermeer and maybe Gallagher in the mix.
In the forward line we are cramped again with a host of smaller forward options mainly Weightman, A.Jones, West, Clarke and maybe Garcia all fighting for the smaller forward opportunities.
So is Caleb Daniel resigned to playing mainly off the interchange bench for us or will he lock down a spot of his own in 2024?
Are you trying to be a bit of a shock jock G and generate clicks?
Daniel finished 4th in our most recent B&F and a few votes shy of 3rd. He is well ahead of most players you mentioned.
For his footy smarts alone he should be in our starting 18, which from the outside looking in our collective footy IQ isn't great.
For mine he is our extra at the stoppage to take the handball receive and use his kicking skills to advantage.
25-11-2023, 04:19 PM
Daniel finished 4th in our most recent B&F and a few votes shy of 3rd. He is well ahead of most players you mentioned.
For his footy smarts alone he should be in our starting 18, which from the outside looking in our collective footy IQ isn't great.
For mine he is our extra at the stoppage to take the handball receive and use his kicking skills to advantage.
Just a bit surprised the question posed is coming across like that. Daniel is a clear leader at the club and he's been shuffled around more than anyone and now with some additional competition for spots I wonder if he is going to lock down a specific spot for us going forward.
26-11-2023, 01:49 AM
Nobody takes note of B&F finishes. Take a look at JJ, he apparently went into his shell for years after 2016........got spooked by a few weeks of tagging and was never the same.
Caleb needs to be the second kick out of defence, and an option for a receive for the next kick between the arcs. If that means he is a half forward rolling up super high to get into that position or a low defender running forward, that's the role in which his kicking can most open up the game. It's the position in which he has been most productive. We need to stop faffing about with him and let him play his best role.
He's absolutely no use to us trying to get it into the forward line with precise kicking if we're moving the ball slowly from defence in the first place.