Correct!
08-01-2015, 09:35 AM
Or Mark Cullen. ;)
Correct!
Finally!!
08-01-2015, 09:43 AM
I played one year after some good years playing in the VFA. My season yielded 13 games and 18 goals but despite a pretty good first season I was dropped from the list prior to the next season. I went back to the VFA and became a star, finishing my career premiership player and a VFA competition B&F winner.
Kevin Sait.
Quick question Easty, how on earth did you know that?
08-01-2015, 10:15 AM
Quick question Easty, how on earth did you know that?
I'm curious too. Excellent research young man.
08-01-2015, 10:28 AM
I'm curious too. Excellent research young man.
Google is his friend
08-01-2015, 10:37 AM
TD's is up.
08-01-2015, 10:46 AM
Google is his friend
Or Wiki :)
08-01-2015, 10:55 AM
Missed the op
08-01-2015, 11:14 AM
I'll jump in to keep it rolling if that's alright TDs.
Without using Google, name all the players who have kicked 400 or more goals during their career with the Bulldogs.
08-01-2015, 11:57 AM
I'll jump in to keep it rolling if that's alright TDs.
Without using Google, name all the players who have kicked 400 or more goals during their career with the Bulldogs.
Without using Google?
So I can go straight to footywire.com and that's ok?
08-01-2015, 12:23 PM
Without using Google?
So I can go straight to footywire.com and that's ok?
If you like but is it a hard question?
08-01-2015, 12:27 PM
Templton
beasley
hudson
grant
johnno
08-01-2015, 12:29 PM
From memory
08-01-2015, 12:29 PM
Templton
beasley
hudson
grant
johnno
Fire away mate you got them with the exception of Hudson who kicked more than 400 goals but not all at the Dogs.
08-01-2015, 12:31 PM
Fire away mate you got them with the exception of Hudson who kicked more than 400 goals but not all at the Dogs.
Sorry I am mobile, can you do another please
08-01-2015, 12:55 PM
Sorry I am mobile, can you do another please
I'll jump in if that's ok.
08-01-2015, 12:57 PM
Deleted I'll do mine later
08-01-2015, 12:58 PM
I was drafted in the 1990s after winning a Liston Trophy.
I kicked a goal with my first kick.
I played 14 games over a four year stint at the Bulldogs.
08-01-2015, 01:14 PM
I was drafted in the 1990s after winning a Liston Trophy.
I kicked a goal with my first kick.
I played 14 games over a four year stint at the Bulldogs.
Paul Dooley?
08-01-2015, 01:18 PM
Paul Dooley?
Knew I should have left out one of the clues.
All yours Slim.
08-01-2015, 01:20 PM
Drafted in the 80's. I won the Larke medal in 1987.
My career best return of 6 goals came in 1992. Finishing my career on 198 goals.
My grandmother taught SlimPickens many an Italian swear word in the EJ Whitten Stand.
08-01-2015, 01:22 PM
Drafted in the 80's. I won the Larke medal in 1987.
My career best return of 6 goals came in 1992. Finishing my career on 198 goals.
My grandmother taught SlimPickens many an Italian swear word in the EJ Whitten Stand.
Kolyniuk?
08-01-2015, 01:52 PM
Kolyniuk?
Beat me to it. I think we have a winner.
08-01-2015, 01:54 PM
Yep Wiki was my friend :)
08-01-2015, 01:58 PM
Brilliant thread
08-01-2015, 02:13 PM
I dislocated my finger at training today.
The AFL website and Bulldogs social media went with provocative headlines to the story indicating it may have been worse.
I'm on a substantial long-term contract.
I am...
08-01-2015, 02:15 PM
I dislocated my finger at training today.
The AFL website and Bulldogs social media went with provocative headlines to the story indicating it may have been worse.
I'm on a substantial long-term contract.
I am...
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/b/b7/Sixmilliondollar1.jpg
plus 1
08-01-2015, 02:19 PM
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/b/b7/Sixmilliondollar1.jpg
plus 1
Surely you had time for a quick photoshop job.
08-01-2015, 02:31 PM
I was born in the 60's and made my debut with another club at age 18. After 50 plus games I crossed to Footscary and played as a backman. I finished my career with an interstate club playing another 37 games and finishing on a total of 150 plus games with the three clubs.
Name the player and the three clubs. (well two others anyway)
08-01-2015, 02:35 PM
Yep Wiki was my friend :)
Did you read the OP?
Thought I'd start a similar thread to the old 'internet scavenger hunt' thread whereby the winner gets to pose the next question. Like that thread, it's pure fun so please go off memory as google is far too easy to crack the case.
It defeats the purpose of the thread if you jump straight on the web to answer, anyone can do that. At least allow others to take a guess first.
08-01-2015, 02:39 PM
Hardie? Brisbane and was it Collingwood? I'm wrong aren't I.
08-01-2015, 02:40 PM
Hardy? Brisbane and was it Collingwood? I'm wrong aren't I.
No sorry
08-01-2015, 02:41 PM
Hardie? Brisbane and was it Collingwood? I'm wrong aren't I.
Player was from the 60s.
I have no idea either.
08-01-2015, 02:44 PM
Player was from the 60s.
I have no idea either.
Played in the 60s or born in the 60s?
Is it Toohey? Geelong originally and went to Sydney or did he come to us from Sydney? I forget.
08-01-2015, 02:44 PM
Player was from the 60s.
I have no idea either.
No Born in the 60's
08-01-2015, 02:45 PM
Played in the 60s or born in the 60s?
Is it Toohey? Geelong originally and Sydney or did he come to us from Sydney?
No Born in the 60's
not Toohey
08-01-2015, 02:45 PM
Did you read the OP?
It defeats the purpose of the thread if you jump straight on the web to answer, anyone can do that. At least allow others to take a guess first.
Yep I didn't read it properly at first but now that I have I'll play fair :)
08-01-2015, 03:02 PM
Coleman?
08-01-2015, 03:12 PM
Coleman?
sorry try again.
Remember he played in the backline. Also did Coleman play at three clubs?
08-01-2015, 03:14 PM
sorry try again.
Remember he played in the backline. Also did Coleman play at three clubs?
Ah yeah back line. I think Coleman played at Fitzroy us and Sydney so I thought it worth a crack. tough question without a bit of background research :D
08-01-2015, 03:25 PM
Ah yeah back line. I think Coleman played at Fitzroy us and Sydney so I thought it worth a crack. tough question without a bit of background research :D
Another clue:
After leaving Footscray, he moved to Sydney for work purposes but in 1988 was convinced by the Swans to resume his career.
He spent three seasons with Sydney before retiring for good.
08-01-2015, 03:43 PM
Mark Kellet.
08-01-2015, 03:47 PM
Mark Kellet.
Bingo
08-01-2015, 03:51 PM
Mark Kellet.
welcome back we've been coming in off the short run since you've been gone.
08-01-2015, 04:45 PM
My Father played VFL football as did my brother. I was a local boy and played for my state. After my playing career I continued to serve the club in different roles.
08-01-2015, 04:50 PM
My Father played VFL football as did my brother. I was a local boy and played for my state. After my playing career I continued to serve the club in different roles.
I want to say Whitten Jnr, but I think not...
08-01-2015, 05:04 PM
I want to say Whitten Jnr, but I think not...
No, it's not him.
08-01-2015, 05:15 PM
Dimattina?
08-01-2015, 06:05 PM
No, but a bloody good guess.
The player I have in mind played quite a while ago.
Butch- Aka Allan Edwards
08-01-2015, 06:13 PM
Bob Spurling?
08-01-2015, 08:31 PM
Butch- Aka Allan Edwards
Bob Spurling?
Neither of those.
I was a premiership player.
08-01-2015, 09:25 PM
Charlie Sutton?
08-01-2015, 09:45 PM
Charlie Sutton?
Beat me just. That's my best guess.
08-01-2015, 09:55 PM
It's a guess but Jack Collins?
08-01-2015, 10:28 PM
It's a guess but Jack Collins?
Bing bing.
It's your question AM.
09-01-2015, 09:14 AM
I'll jump in for Axe Man, hope you don't mind.
I played for 3 AFL clubs, one of these being Carlton
I could be classed as a 'vanilla' player, or perhaps even knocking on the door of 'Ekerism' (personal opinion).
I was situated mainly in the back half of the ground but could also be switched forward.
I finished my career with the Bulldogs, but it's debatable whether my career with the Bulldogs or my former club was more successful.
I do not qualify as a father/son breeder for any of the clubs i played for.
I'm was drafted to the AFL from a southern state (not Victoria).
Who in the name of JHC am i?
09-01-2015, 09:16 AM
Ben Harrison
09-01-2015, 09:20 AM
Ben Harrison
I wouldn't get a gig on a pub quiz panel that's for sure.
Correct Aza.
09-01-2015, 09:26 AM
I wouldn't get a gig on a pub quiz panel that's for sure.
Correct Aza.
You went with one too many clues.
09-01-2015, 09:27 AM
I'll jump in for Axe Man, hope you don't mind.
No worries.
I've got a question lined up next time there's an opportunity.
09-01-2015, 09:29 AM
No worries.
I've got a question lined up next time there's an opportunity.
Jump in mate, only took two minutes.
09-01-2015, 09:38 AM
A classic eker I spent 9 years on 3 AFL lists for only 30 games.
The majority of my games were at the dogs, including 3 finals.
I never managed a double digit game tally in any 1 season.
09-01-2015, 09:57 AM
A classic eker I spent 9 years on 3 AFL lists for only 30 games.
The majority of my games were at the dogs, including 3 finals.
I never managed a double digit game tally in any 1 season.
Did Ed Barlow manage a 9 year career?
09-01-2015, 10:03 AM
Did Ed Barlow manage a 9 year career?
No. Didn't play for 3 clubs or play finals with us either.
09-01-2015, 10:22 AM
No. Didn't play for 3 clubs or play finals with us either.
I thought as much.
09-01-2015, 10:47 AM
Alvey? Although I think it may have only been two clubs.
09-01-2015, 10:53 AM
Alvey? Although I think it may have only been two clubs.
Yeah, only 2 clubs for Alvey.
This player was slightly earlier than Alvey and was a winger/flanker type from memory.
09-01-2015, 11:28 AM
Corcoran? Although I can't remember Corcoran going to 3 clubs either.
09-01-2015, 11:37 AM
Correct - Shannon Corcoran. Should be an eker hall of fame member if he's not already. Averaging 3.3 games a year over a 9 year career as a medium/small player is a mighty achievement.
Played 5 games for Brisbane after leaving the dogs in 95 & 96, then 2 games for Sydney in 97. I didn't remember him playing elsewhere either, I'm not sure anybody does!
09-01-2015, 11:42 AM
Correct - Shannon Corcoran. Should be an eker hall of fame member if he's not already. Averaging 3.3 games a year over a 9 year career as a medium/small player is a mighty achievement.
Played 5 games for Brisbane after leaving the dogs in 95 & 96, then 2 games for Sydney in 97. I didn't remember him playing elsewhere either, I'm not sure anybody does!
I couldn't even remember his first name.
I played with the Dogs during the 90s. I played at reserves level for another AFL club before being picked up by the Dogs where I played a handful of games before being delisted. I was subsequently re-drafted by the Bulldogs and played for a further 3 seasons before I was delisted again. I was also a more than handy cricketer.
09-01-2015, 12:30 PM
Just got it...I think.
Corcoran?
Spot on - your turn
Second time Corcoran has been in this thread!
09-01-2015, 12:50 PM
I couldn't even remember his first name.
I played with the Dogs during the 90s. I played at reserves level for another AFL club before being picked up by the Dogs where I played a handful of games before being delisted. I was subsequently re-drafted by the Bulldogs and played for a further 3 seasons before I was delisted again. I was also a more than handy cricketer.
Second time for Adam Contessa too.
09-01-2015, 01:08 PM
Whoops, thread is getting long, hard to remember who we have already had.
09-01-2015, 01:37 PM
You're a freak.
09-01-2015, 01:49 PM
Given we can't use google, can we get some for the Boydogs' & Eastdog's of the world born post 1980 please :)
09-01-2015, 01:53 PM
Contessa it is.
09-01-2015, 04:09 PM
Ok, I havent won one but Ive been wanting to jump in
Beginning my career with the Dogs in the 1980s I then played senior AFL football for 3 other AFL clubs representing a total of 4 clubs, Who am I?
09-01-2015, 05:03 PM
Ok, I havent won one but Ive been wanting to jump in
Beginning my career with the Dogs in the 1980s I then played senior AFL football for 3 other AFL clubs representing a total of 4 clubs, Who am I?
Stuart Wigney? Think he had at least 3 clubs?
09-01-2015, 05:04 PM
Stuart Wigney?
09-01-2015, 05:14 PM
Stuart Wigney? Think he had at least 3 clubs?
Footscray, Sydney, Adelaide and Richmond
09-01-2015, 05:41 PM
That's more of a tour than a career.
09-01-2015, 05:50 PM
And was the definition of looks like Tarzan plays like Jane.
09-01-2015, 09:23 PM
Stuart Wigney?
Man. I Completely forgot he played with us. I wonder why that was?
10-01-2015, 01:37 AM
Man. I Completely forgot he played with us. I wonder why that was?
If I'm being real I cheated so bad here I don't even know who he is.
11-01-2015, 06:51 PM
Just to confirm no searching on google is allowed.
11-01-2015, 06:56 PM
Just to confirm no searching on google is allowed.
Yep, Eastie. It's a test of memory and recall, Google knows everything so it defeats the point a little.
11-01-2015, 06:59 PM
Yep, Eastie. It's a test of memory and recall, Google knows everything so it defeats the point a little.
That's fair enough. It wouldn't be a challenge otherwise. It's like an test/exam. No books allowed there unless specified.
11-01-2015, 07:02 PM
I will jump start it... Make it current for Gen Y'rs.
I played in the mid-late 1990's
I was something of a local kid
I received a rising star nomination
I was a popular player
I played for two AFL clubs in my career
I probably never reached expectations, though no fault of effort
I am...
11-01-2015, 07:25 PM
Keenan Reynolds?
11-01-2015, 07:30 PM
Brett Montgomery? Started in the mid late 90s possibly rising star nominee in that time and am aware he played in the 2000s and went to Port Adelaide.
11-01-2015, 07:41 PM
Nathan Brown?
11-01-2015, 07:43 PM
Nathan Brown?
Had that in my mind as well but more prominent for us in the 2000s.
11-01-2015, 07:51 PM
Had that in my mind as well but more prominent for us in the 2000s.
Thats a very good point.
11-01-2015, 07:54 PM
Jose Romero?
11-01-2015, 07:57 PM
Sorry lads, but the question still remains in place.
11-01-2015, 08:04 PM
Think under 50 games in Tri Colours. Cryptic hints.
11-01-2015, 08:08 PM
I was a popular player
I am...
Luke Penny?
11-01-2015, 08:16 PM
Luke Penny?
The career of the player in question just rolled in its grave... :)
No cigar TD.
11-01-2015, 08:19 PM
Marc West? Don't think it's right.
11-01-2015, 08:21 PM
Marc West? Don't think it's right.
Very good guess Easty, but no cigar. A very close and good guess.
11-01-2015, 08:26 PM
Nicky Winmar?
11-01-2015, 08:27 PM
Nicky Winmar?
Not Nicky. You were very close around the era of the 1990's with the player in question.
11-01-2015, 08:31 PM
Kretiuk?
11-01-2015, 08:33 PM
Think under 50 games in Tri Colours. Cryptic hints.
I have two players in mind but will go with Trent Bartlett?
11-01-2015, 08:35 PM
I don't think it's Kretiuk now actually think it might be Matty Robbins.
11-01-2015, 08:37 PM
I was a popular player
I am...
Now that I re read this and see it was a local boy is it Tyson Lane?
11-01-2015, 08:42 PM
I have two players in mind but will go with Trent Bartlett?
No, unfortunately not the best forward the club has ever had. Hail The Ugg.
And your other one G?
Edit: No cigar again Eastie.
11-01-2015, 08:43 PM
Now that I re read this and see it was a local boy is it Tyson Lane?
Winner. Winner. Chicken Dinner!
I thought Tyson could've been anything.
11-01-2015, 08:43 PM
Marcus Picken?
11-01-2015, 08:59 PM
I had a strong performance at a draft camp and was selected in the first round
12 months later the Dogs traded for me but then delisted me before the next season.
I even went to another club (my 3rd) but never played a senior game.
Who am I?
11-01-2015, 09:01 PM
12 months later the Dogs traded for me but then delisted me before the next season.
Who am I?
Tom Boyd??? :)
11-01-2015, 09:02 PM
Tom Boyd??? :)
We've delisted Tom Boyd? :)
11-01-2015, 09:05 PM
I think I know who it is but haven't got the name.
11-01-2015, 09:07 PM
Who am I?
It's on the tip... Ah... Strikes to me poor attitude. There's a few to choose from....
11-01-2015, 09:08 PM
We've delisted Tom Boyd? :)
:) - The importance of punctuation Eastie. See what that question mark did.
11-01-2015, 09:11 PM
I reckon Twodogs will get this in no more than 30 seconds
11-01-2015, 09:14 PM
I believe he had an injury problem.
11-01-2015, 09:16 PM
I believe he had an injury problem.
Just to give some added information, I don't think injuries were a concern.
I seem to recall we wanted to bring in another player but had a full list. The hard call was made.
11-01-2015, 09:20 PM
Just to give some added information, I don't think injuries were a concern.
My guess is bad attitude. Our history says we'd take a punt on a tall with a bad attitude. Bruton, Saunders, Bassett are talls I can think of in the 1990's onwards who didn't last. But the drafting a year previous...
11-01-2015, 09:21 PM
I can also recall him at a family day type training session at the then Western Oval. Hillier was probably interviewing him and he was a natural in front of the mic even saying he barracked for the Dogs as a kid knowing it would get a good reaction.
He looked impressive during the training drills as did another youngster.
11-01-2015, 09:23 PM
My guess is bad attitude. Our history says we'd take a punt on a tall with a bad attitude. Bruton, Saunders, Bassett are talls I can think of in the 1990's onwards who didn't last. But the drafting a year previous...
None of the guys mentioned above. We basically traded for him in October and delisted him (from memory) in March.
11-01-2015, 09:32 PM
I can also recall him at a family day type training session at the then Western Oval. Hillier was probably interviewing him and he was a natural in front of the mic even saying he barracked for the Dogs as a kid knowing it would get a good reaction.
He looked impressive during the training drills as did another youngster.
Which player was this GVG.
11-01-2015, 09:35 PM
Which player was this GVG.
Cunning plan! Nice try. Hahahahahahahahha :) :) :)
11-01-2015, 09:47 PM
I reckon Twodogs will get this in no more than 30 seconds
You've got me.
11-01-2015, 09:49 PM
You've got me.
We have both mentioned him previously on here.
11-01-2015, 09:50 PM
Is it time for more clues? Given he never played for us it might have slipped under the radar.
11-01-2015, 09:55 PM
Is it time for more clues? Given he never played for us it might have slipped under the radar.
Yes please. I'm trying to think of nil trades. Lachie Veale?
11-01-2015, 09:56 PM
Yes please. I'm trying to think of nil trades. Lachie Veale?
It had to be many years ago. Before Veale I would think.
11-01-2015, 09:56 PM
It had to be many years ago. Before Veale I would think.
Yes it was a while back and certainly before the Veale deal.
11-01-2015, 10:03 PM
A few more thought starters:
I was originally from country Victoria and was drafted by an interstate team
12 months later I was traded back to the Dogs as part of a deal (that might be an area to focus on)
The Dogs had some mild interest in me 12 months earlier but I was gone early in the draft
11-01-2015, 10:05 PM
I want to say Luke Trew?
11-01-2015, 10:05 PM
I want to say Luke Trew?
Good call and spot on. What gave it away?
11-01-2015, 10:08 PM
The comment around mild interest 12 months earlier. I vaguely remember a newspaper article with a picture of a whiteboard and a heap of names on there, and his name was one of them.
11-01-2015, 10:14 PM
You're up azabob.
I want to say Luke Trew?
Nicely done. Would never have guessed that.
The comment around mild interest 12 months earlier. I vaguely remember a newspaper article with a picture of a whiteboard and a heap of names on there, and his name was one of them.
Great memory. In 95 we had the Age go through all our draft preparation with the recruiting team and Trew was a possibility at pick 29 albeit the last of the guys we had on the whiteboard.
I think Trew was a bit overwhelmed by being moved interstate from Country Victoria and struggled with the transition. By the time he got to us he just wasn't ready. The Bombers listed him as a supplementary type player but he never took his chances.
I always thought it was strange to see us get a player and basically give up on him within a few months.
11-01-2015, 10:15 PM
My first and last name start with the same letter.
Within four years I was out of the system.
Who am I?
11-01-2015, 10:20 PM
Good question azabob. Got to get those thinking caps on.
11-01-2015, 10:20 PM
Darren Davies.
11-01-2015, 10:25 PM
Matthew Mansfield
11-01-2015, 10:25 PM
Darren Davies.
Bit too easy!
You are up.
What happened to him? He left around the time of Wheeler coming on board / the merger.
11-01-2015, 10:31 PM
Great memory. In 95 we had the Age go through all our draft preparation with the recruiting team and Trew was a possibility at pick 29 albeit the last of the guys we had on the whiteboard.
I think Trew was a bit overwhelmed by being moved interstate from Country Victoria and struggled with the transition. By the time he got to us he just wasn't ready. The Bombers listed him as a supplementary type player but he never took his chances.
I always thought it was strange to see us get a player and basically give up on him within a few months.
If anyone wants to read a bit more about this check the Forward Planning thread on the Doug Hawkins Wing board.
11-01-2015, 11:23 PM
Bit too easy!
You are up.
What happened to him? He left around the time of Wheeler coming on board / the merger.
He went to St Kilda for a year or two and then went back to Tassie I think. He kicked 5 goals in his first game from memory.
Anyway
I played one game in the opening round the season after a protracted battle to gain my services which involved threats of court challenges and the in volvment of each clubs league. From memory a court granted me dispensation to play for us. Despite being billed as one of the best players I outside the VFL my only game didnt really show what all the fuss was about i was back in my home state playing with my old team by the time round 2 came along.
11-01-2015, 11:36 PM
He went to St Kilda for a year or two and then went back to Tassie I think. He kicked 5 goals in his first game from memory.
Anyway
I played one game in the opening round the season after a protracted battle to gain my services which involved threats of court challenges and the in volvment of each clubs league. From memory a court granted me dispensation to play for us. Despite being billed as one of the best players I outside the VFL my only game didnt really show what all the fuss was about i was back in my home state playing with my old team by the time round 2 came along.
Doing my best Frank Woodley impersonation. It's the guy, you know the guy who took a car to play and then drove it back home after. The guy....
His name escapes me if I'm right.
12-01-2015, 12:16 AM
Doing my best Frank Woodley impersonation. It's the guy, you know the guy who took a car to play and then drove it back home after. The guy....
His name escapes me if I'm right.
That's him. He drove back home in the brand new car he got as a signing on fee from the club after his one game. Allegedly.
12-01-2015, 09:22 AM
John Riley
That's him Remi good get.
12-01-2015, 11:02 AM
That's the one. His day gig was a nuclear physisist IIRC.
12-01-2015, 05:34 PM
Who wants to jump in with a question?
12-01-2015, 05:36 PM
Who wants to jump in with a question?
Ill take it :) I'm about to have dinner now so might be a while but still happy to do it.
12-01-2015, 08:06 PM
I'll jump in.
I was a big tough raw boned Ruckman from country Victoria who despite only playing ten games kicked the winning goal on a sensational top v bottom upset. Away from footy I was a rose gardener.
12-01-2015, 08:21 PM
Great question TD.
12-01-2015, 09:09 PM
I'll jump in.
I was a big tough raw boned Ruckman from country Victoria who despite only playing ten games kicked the winning goal on a sensational top v bottom upset. Away from footy I was a rose gardener.
Alistair Ford? I know he kicked 3 on debut against the Pies.
12-01-2015, 09:16 PM
Alistair Ford? I know he kicked 3 on debut against the Pies.
It's not big Al.
This game was a huge upset win for us. Possibly one the biggest ever. Going into the match we were on the bottom and the team we beat were on top and the reigning premiers and it was at there ground.
12-01-2015, 09:22 PM
Neil Bristow
12-01-2015, 09:29 PM
Neil Bristow
You got it Doggy. Do you remember the game?
12-01-2015, 09:34 PM
I do, I was listening to it on the transistor while on holidays in Warnambool with my family
12-01-2015, 09:36 PM
What year? Who did we beat? Which ground?
12-01-2015, 09:38 PM
I know it was Hawthorn, that's all I can remember
12-01-2015, 09:39 PM
1979 rd 11 v Hawthorn.
http://afltables.com/afl/stats/games/1979/071019790616.html
Talk about you're grandstand finishes. Most tipsters were tipping us to lose by 100 points.
12-01-2015, 09:45 PM
Ok, I played 20 odd games for the doggies in the early 80's after playing at a rival club. I then went on to play at a third club. There was a photo published in the Sun or Herald Paper of me being piggy backed by Graham Teasdale while we were playing the swans or maybe it was Collingwood, I can't remember.
12-01-2015, 10:18 PM
Matthew Hogg?
12-01-2015, 10:20 PM
I've think I've got it but someone else have some goes.
12-01-2015, 10:55 PM
I've think I've got it but someone else have some goes.
I'll do one but put it on ice if it's not Hogg.
Who am I?
I was a top 10 draft pick who played for 2 clubs but the majority were for the Bulldogs
I played over 16 games per year in my first 9 seasons but was delisted at age 27
One of my most famous moments is kicking the winning goal in a cellar dwellar match
12-01-2015, 11:00 PM
Jordan McMahon.
I'm off to bed, someone jump in if they feel like it.
12-01-2015, 11:25 PM
So who goes next?
13-01-2015, 12:30 AM
I meant my first answer to Doggy's question was wrong. It wasn't Matthew Hogg. I think it may have been Jim Mcallister.
13-01-2015, 12:30 AM
So who goes next?
Jeemak if he has Jordy MacMahon right.
Assuming I got Doggy's question right.
13-01-2015, 01:16 AM
Jordan McMahon.
Gees, got it in 5 minutes. Well done
13-01-2015, 06:16 AM
I meant my first answer to Doggy's question was wrong. It wasn't Matthew Hogg. I think it may have been Jim Mcallister.
Yep Jim McAllester
13-01-2015, 08:15 AM
Jeemak's turn for a question.
13-01-2015, 08:46 AM
Sorry Im in different timezones at the moment and I realise Im jumping in - Jeemak please forgive me
A career that spanned three clubs, I began for an interstate team before joining the bulldogs and switching to the back line - who am I?
13-01-2015, 08:50 AM
Sorry Im in different timezones at the moment and I realise Im jumping in - Jeemak please forgive me
A career that spanned three clubs, I began for an interstate team before joining the bulldogs and switching to the back line - who am I?
Did he run into an umpire and ruin his career
13-01-2015, 08:54 AM
You mean Todd Curley?
13-01-2015, 08:58 AM
You mean Todd Curley?
I thought it may be but I think he only played for two clubs?
13-01-2015, 09:03 AM
Kingsley Hunter? Played with Freo, us and Hawthorn IIRC?
13-01-2015, 09:04 AM
Kingsley Hunter
13-01-2015, 09:04 AM
If we're right you can have it Soupa.
13-01-2015, 09:31 AM
Actually Todd's career was ruined by the idiot umpire backing into him.
13-01-2015, 10:04 AM
That idiot umpire is my brother in law
13-01-2015, 10:08 AM
That idiot umpire is my brother in law ��
Afl also didn't help by over-reacting.
13-01-2015, 10:15 AM
It was Geishen who wanted it taken further, The ump had no say basically, anyway our family got stuck into him for months and as punishment I converted his two daughters into Bulldog supporters.
13-01-2015, 10:30 AM
It was Geishen who wanted it taken further, The ump had no say basically, anyway our family got stuck into him for months and as punishment I converted his two daughters into Bulldog supporters.
Just clicking like doesn't truly do justice to this post!!
13-01-2015, 10:55 AM
Yup Kingsley Hunter - tried to provide as little detail as possible
Impressed soupaman and westdog - id forgotten myself about this third club and thought it might throw a few off
13-01-2015, 11:40 AM
Who am I?
The Bulldogs were my second, and final AFL club.
I did manage to play against the Bulldogs at AFL level, but never for them.
Unfortunately my body never really gave me an opportunity to have a career as an AFL level footballer.
13-01-2015, 11:41 AM
Yup Kingsley Hunter - tried to provide as little detail as possible
Impressed soupaman and westdog - id forgotten myself about this third club and thought it might throw a few off
Nothing was gonna throw me off getting one of the footballers mentioned in this thread that I have actually seen play:)
13-01-2015, 11:44 AM
Who am I?
Unfortunately my body never really gave me an opportunity to have a career as an AFL level footballer.
Daniel Bandy?
Edit - nevermind read over the clues too quickly!
13-01-2015, 11:54 AM
Who am I?
It's not Luke Trew again is it?
13-01-2015, 11:54 AM
That idiot umpire is my brother in law ��
God I love the Internet! :o
13-01-2015, 11:56 AM
Who am I?
Tom Davidson, come on down ...
13-01-2015, 02:41 PM
okay...
I fared well enough in my first stint with the club that I was invited back for an encore later down the track.
I laced them up against the club too.
I share an interesting direct link to our current senior coach.
Reckon that narrows it down a bit.
13-01-2015, 02:46 PM
okay...
I fared well enough in my first stint with the club that I was invited back for an encore later down the track.
Brett Montgomery? I know that isn't right but...
I knew you'd come up with a cracking question Rocket Science.
13-01-2015, 02:53 PM
okay...
Would that be the gloved one Tony Campbell?
From memory the pick we traded to St Kilda for Beveridge is the draft pick we used to pick up Campbell
13-01-2015, 03:08 PM
Would that be the gloved one Tony Campbell?
From memory the pick we traded to St Kilda for Beveridge is the draft pick we used to pick up Campbell
Jeez, you lot are too good. Bingo.
Indeed, we grabbed TC second time around with the pick we acquired from the Aints for one Luke Beveridge.
NEXT!
13-01-2015, 03:11 PM
Jeez, you lot are too good. Bingo.
Indeed, we grabbed TC second time around with the pick we acquired from the Aints for one Luke Beveridge.
NEXT!
In fairness it was mentioned in the one of the recent articles after he was named coach.
13-01-2015, 03:16 PM
Drafted from SA I was at the club for a number of years without ever really cementing a place in the team. After I was delisted I was thrown a lifeline by another club and had a brilliant first season for them. After struggling to recapture that form in my second season I was surprisingly delisted and my AFL career was over.
13-01-2015, 03:25 PM
It's not Luke Trew again is it?
Despite him being mentioned throughout this thread I still don't know who that is, way before my time:)
Tom Davidson, come on down ...
Nailed it.
13-01-2015, 03:30 PM
Drafted from SA I was at the club for a number of years without ever really cementing a place in the team. After I was delisted I was thrown a lifeline by another club and had a brilliant first season for them. After struggling to recapture that form in my second season I was surprisingly delisted and my AFL career was over.
Simon Cox?
13-01-2015, 03:30 PM
Peter Morrison ??
13-01-2015, 03:42 PM
Simon Cox?
Great get!
13-01-2015, 03:58 PM
I came to the AFL from a state outside Victoria.
Despite showing promise as a tall forward i never really came on at the Bulldogs. I was subsequently traded to another club.
13-01-2015, 04:02 PM
James Cook.
13-01-2015, 04:03 PM
I came to the AFL from a state outside Victoria.
Despite showing promise as a tall forward i never really came on at the Bulldogs. I was subsequently traded to another club.
Liam Jones!?
13-01-2015, 04:21 PM
Liam Jones!?
WHO?
Correct
13-01-2015, 05:04 PM
Hope you don't mind if I jump in MRM I've got a quick one.
I played predominately as a small forward as a junior in Tasmania and was selected by another club as a rookie. I was delisted the following year and rookie listed by the Bulldogs and played approximately 20 games as a midfielder before being delisted again. I am?
Hope you don't mind if I jump in MRM I've got a quick one.
I played predominately as a small forward as a junior in Tasmania and was selected by another club as a rookie. I was delisted the following year and rookie listed by the Bulldogs and played approximately 20 games as a midfielder before being delisted again. I am?
Brodie Moles?
13-01-2015, 05:57 PM
Yep Brodie Moles
13-01-2015, 06:01 PM
I think Brodie Moles is correct so I'll go!
At my previous Victorian club I was a two time All Australian, two time Best and Fairest winner and one time leading goalkicker.
I then made my way to the Western Bulldogs. I only managed one year at the club, I booted 34 goals in what was my final season.
Who is me?
13-01-2015, 07:13 PM
Nicky Winmar?
13-01-2015, 07:19 PM
Nicky Winmar?
Correct
13-01-2015, 07:23 PM
I played over 300 games, won 3 premierships, and a Brownlow, yet I was forgotten the moment I retired.
I was sacked by every club I played for
I am a *!*!*!*!wit...
13-01-2015, 07:32 PM
I played over 300 games, won 3 premierships, and a Brownlow, yet I was forgotten the moment I retired.
I am a *!*!*!*!wit...
Ooh ooh, I know this one!
13-01-2015, 07:41 PM
Yes that would be he who's name we do not mention
13-01-2015, 07:44 PM
Take it away maddog.
13-01-2015, 08:19 PM
I am a *!*!*!*!wit...
Im lost without google on this one so I'm out.
13-01-2015, 08:22 PM
Im lost without google on this one so I'm out.
Akermanis Eastie!
13-01-2015, 08:36 PM
Akermanis Eastie!
Of course.
13-01-2015, 08:37 PM
I am a *!*!*!*!wit...
Easy. JA.
I had three stints playing AFL, through the 90's onwards. I was sought after and traded to the dogs. I played over 50 games. I was a solid player without being elite, mainly playing in defence. Despite being a solid contributor I was traded out and continued to play for a few more years.
13-01-2015, 08:53 PM
Easy. JA.
I had three stints playing AFL, through the 90's onwards. I was sought after and traded to the dogs. I played over 50 games. I was a solid player without being elite, mainly playing in defence. Despite being a solid contributor I was traded out and continued to play for a few more years.
Brad Wira.
13-01-2015, 08:57 PM
Brad Wira.
Man, i thought that was a little cryptic. Obviously not my friend. Fire away.
13-01-2015, 09:00 PM
Akermanis Eastie!
I love how he's still relevant and up to date with the doings and transpiring's of today.
All those years of listening to nothing other than the narcissism of his small mind and not changing his behaviour after multiple *!*!*!*!-ups really paid off for him.*
*In the above I'm referring to Akermanis, not Eastie.
13-01-2015, 09:05 PM
Brad Wira.
Crikey how did you get that?
13-01-2015, 09:06 PM
I was a key position player from the 90's who was not the most talented but always gave 100%.
I actually would be suited as a 2nd ruckman in today's game.
woof poster azabob couldnt understand why I was traded to an interstate club in the mid 90's. As it turned out I was only apart of the interstate club for one year - which was my final year in the afl.
I am?
13-01-2015, 09:08 PM
Crikey how did you get that?
Brad Wira was a Favourite of mine. I couldn't underdstand why Freo let him go, then I certainly couldn't I understand why we then traded him back!
13-01-2015, 09:09 PM
By the way BT, GREAT THREAD. Very enjoyable.
13-01-2015, 09:10 PM
Barry Stanfield?
13-01-2015, 09:13 PM
Barry Stanfield?
Question or statement? ;)
But yes.
You are correct!
13-01-2015, 09:14 PM
Get in there Eastie, I have just fired up the work lappy and can't get across a question right now.
13-01-2015, 09:20 PM
Barry Stanfield?
Beat me by that much... I knew i shouldn't have put icehouse on and got lost in the music. The Fish!!!
13-01-2015, 09:21 PM
By the way BT, GREAT THREAD. Very enjoyable.
You are most welcome! I think we are from a similar era and much liked the same players i sense.
13-01-2015, 09:21 PM
Barry Stanfield?
One of my favs
13-01-2015, 09:23 PM
Easy. JA.
The same question. Exactly same clues. But... A Different player. Fun!!
Edit: We can come back to this one.
13-01-2015, 09:24 PM
Right - here we go.
A promising player in the mid to late nineties I played with the Bulldogs and one other club.
I was known for my running ability, and a rumoured case of mistaken identity once I left the Bulldogs.
13-01-2015, 09:29 PM
Right - here we go.
A promising player in the mid to late nineties I played with the Bulldogs and one other club.
I was known for my running ability, and a rumoured case of mistaken identity once I left the Bulldogs.
Mark Alvey.
13-01-2015, 09:29 PM
It's not Vossy..
13-01-2015, 09:31 PM
Sorry Bud.
13-01-2015, 09:31 PM
Not Shane Birss.
Jade Rawlings
13-01-2015, 09:32 PM
It's not Vossy..
Nup. I thought the question posed two players, so i did double check this one to confirm the stats.
Shane Birss.
It's not Vossy..
Nein.
Shane Birss.
No cigar Deputy Zainer.
13-01-2015, 09:34 PM
Mark Alvey for your question Jeemak.
13-01-2015, 09:35 PM
Mark Alvey for your question Jeemak.
No mate.
13-01-2015, 09:35 PM
And Jade Rawlings for your question BT.
13-01-2015, 09:36 PM
Jeemak is it Farren Ray?
13-01-2015, 09:36 PM
And Jade Rawlings for your question BT.
Who?
Did we ever try him in defence? Think more mid-late 90's with us.
13-01-2015, 09:37 PM
Right - here we go.
Jordy McMahon?
13-01-2015, 09:40 PM
Jeemak is it Farren Ray?
No.
Can we just do my question for now?
13-01-2015, 09:41 PM
Jordy McMahon?
No, he's been done. Plus, read the first clue.
And the second one. Think something the Couldabeens would laugh about.
13-01-2015, 09:48 PM
No.
Can we just do my question for now?
Yep, we can. Apologies.