13 St Kilda 20 6 1 13 85.50 26
14 Melbourne 19 6 0 13 76.40 24
15 Essendon 20 5 0 15 73.10 20
16 Gold Coast 20 4 1 15 75.00 18
17 Brisbane 20 3 0 17 66.60 12
18 Carlton 19 3 0 16 65.20 12

22-08-2015, 11:29 PM
Damn, going to have to barrack for the Saints again next week!

23-08-2015, 05:08 AM
I believe we can do it. We can win the grand final. Because we have no other choice but to keep improving, and our attack method is better than any other team, our midfield and backline is good enough, and our depth and injury list are going great.

23-08-2015, 12:26 PM
I believe we an do it. We an win the grand final. Because we have no other choice but to keep improving, and our attack method is better than any other team, our midfield and backline is good enough, and our depth and injury list are going great.

I can't help but agree GD. Part of me keeps thinking I must be biased and kidding myself, that teams don't come from the bottom 4 to a flag, but I look at our energy and our depth, then I look at how injured, tired and slow Freo, WCE, Hawthorn look by comparison and I honestly feel that we are the team an unbiased punter would want to be on.

Maybe these more experienced teams are loading their training and timing their runs but, as it stands right now, gee I like our chances.

23-08-2015, 01:29 PM
I can't help but agree GD. Part of me keeps thinking I must be biased and kidding myself, that teams don't come from the bottom 4 to a flag, but I look at our energy and our depth, then I look at how injured, tired and slow Freo, WCE, Hawthorn look by comparison and I honestly feel that we are the team an unbiased punter would want to be on.

Maybe these more experienced teams are loading their training and timing their runs but, as it stands right now, gee I like our chances.

Spot on. Right, I see your point with training loads. Well, Port beat a very good Hawthorn team at the sharp end of the year, no excuses. How spot on was Sedat with the St Kilda sneaky win? And Gcoast drew with Eagles. It's not a fantasy to think we can beat the other top 4 sides, but so much has to go right.

23-08-2015, 01:42 PM
Didn't Port finish bottom 4 in 2013 and come within 10 pts of the GF last year?

23-08-2015, 01:49 PM

We've done it too, in 1997 and 2008. Big step from an honourable PF loss to a flag though.

23-08-2015, 02:53 PM
We've done it too, in 1997 and 2008. Big step from an honourable PF loss to a flag though.

One big difference is we made finals in 1995 and 2006. So it was arguably more about the team underachieving the year before (I was 4 in 1996 but I know that was definitely the case in 2006)

We certainly did not make finals in 2013.

23-08-2015, 04:37 PM

No. They beat Collingwood in a final at the MCG in 2013 and were considered the potential big improver in 2014.

23-08-2015, 05:19 PM
Thank goodness for St Kilda otherwise this round would have been a disaster, both from a top 4 and top 8 perspective - our unfinished game notwithstanding.

23-08-2015, 07:11 PM
Thank goodness for St Kilda otherwise this round would have been a disaster, both from a top 4 and top 8 perspective - our unfinished game notwithstanding.

Yep, one point difference in that game and it's a completely shockingly bad rooting weekend.

Forget Richmond, we've got only 5.2% on North.

23-08-2015, 07:44 PM
AFL Ladder
P W D L % PTS
1 Fremantle 20 16 0 4 122.20 64
2 West Coast 20 15 1 4 150.80 62
3 Hawthorn 20 14 0 6 154.20 56
4 Sydney 20 14 0 6 118.20 56
5 Richmond 20 13 0 7 120.20 52
6 Bulldogs 20 13 0 7 116.10 52
7 Nth Melbourne 20 13 0 7 110.90 52
8 Adelaide 19 12 0 7 116.40 50
9 Geelong 19 10 1 8 101.80 44
10 Port Adelaide 20 10 0 10 101.20 40
11 GWS Giants 20 10 0 10 95.70 40
12 Collingwood 20 9 0 11 104.20 36
14 Melbourne 20 6 0 14 76.20 24
17 Carlton 20 4 0 16 67.20 16
18 Brisbane 20 3 0 17 66.60 12

23-08-2015, 08:51 PM
At least the last round should be fun. Rich v North on Friday night, so we'll know exactly what to beat Bris by to catch the loser of that game (worst case scenario).

Also, Adel v Geel will be playing at same time (starting slightly earlier). All kinds of scenarios are possible.

23-08-2015, 08:51 PM
What a shit week!

23-08-2015, 09:19 PM
What a shit week!

A few dud roots, stache!

23-08-2015, 09:20 PM
A few dud roots, stache!

Plus the footy was no good either!

23-08-2015, 10:56 PM
I got one more game to go before I declare it a shit week. If Arsenal lose then it's officially shit.

26-08-2015, 12:22 PM
If we can get over NM on Saturday, will be having a huge root for StKilda to beat Swans at Etihad on Sunday.

If they can get up (and presuming Richmond win), Swans, Richmond and us will go into R23 equal 4th and within reaching distance % wise.

Will make for a nail biting finale to the H&A season, knowing we need to hammer Brizzie mercilessly to grab the double chance.

26-08-2015, 07:21 PM
Gee some dud rooting going on
Pretty awful bedroom action

26-08-2015, 08:59 PM
Well we need some serious rooting this week with 6 games having potential to impact our finishing position.

Geelong v Collingwood (Ugh)
Hawthorn v Brisbane - forlorn hope
North Melb v Western Bulldogs - Vital
Essendon v Richmond - would be nice despite the distasteful feel
St Kilda v Sydney - really need this one.
Adelaide v West Coast

Those results and we are back in top 4 or at least contention for it.
If we only get us or West Coast we cannot miss finals.

26-08-2015, 10:20 PM

Or Collingwood. But I still think we're OK on percentage anyway

26-08-2015, 10:59 PM
Well we need some serious rooting this week with 6 games having potential to impact our finishing position.

Geelong v Collingwood (Ugh)
Hawthorn v Brisbane - forlorn hope
North Melb v Western Bulldogs - Vital
Essendon v Richmond - would be nice despite the distasteful feel
St Kilda v Sydney - really need this one.
Adelaide v West Coast

Those results and we are back in top 4 or at least contention for it.

As far as top four goes *sigh*, we may be rooted.

26-08-2015, 11:05 PM
Just us would be nice. One little root for us is all I really want.

26-08-2015, 11:08 PM
Us and the Saints. They're the 2 that would really set things up.

26-08-2015, 11:20 PM
Not too fussed what happens, as I think we'll make finals. Brisbane won't want to win in the last round.

The only thing I don't want, is for us to have to travel to Adelaide to play them in an EF. Hopefully the Eagles beat them this week to hose down that possibility.

27-08-2015, 12:57 PM
AFL Ladder
P W D L % Pts
3 Hawthorn 20 14 0 6 154.20 56
4 Sydney 20 14 0 6 118.20 56
5 Richmond 20 13 0 7 120.20 52
6 Bulldogs 20 13 0 7 116.10 52
7 Nth Melbourne 20 13 0 7 110.90 52
9 Geelong 19 10 1 8 101.80 44
10 Port Adelaide 20 10 0 10 101.20 40
11 GWS Giants 20 10 0 10 95.70 40
12 Collingwood 20 9 0 11 104.20 36
17 Carlton 20 4 0 16 67.20 16
18 Brisbane 20 3 0 17 66.60 12

Here it is!

Top 8

1) Either NM v WBU or Geel v COLL will see us through OR
2)If we lose and Cats win, %% is important, so simply we can’t afford to get smashed
Failing that, Ade v WCE may help , and a very slim chance ESS v Rich

Top 4

1. NM v WBU
2. ST K v syd
3. ESS v rich
4. Haw v BRIS
5. Ade v WC

27-08-2015, 05:03 PM
Top 8

2)If we lose and Cats win, %% is important, so simply we can’t afford to get smashed

We are in the finals. We could lose both against North and Lions by large amounts and still make the 8. Why are people speculating otherwise?We are two and a half games clear with only two games left!

27-08-2015, 05:24 PM
Top 8

We are in the finals. We could lose both against North and Lions by large amounts and still make the 8. Why are people speculating otherwise?We are two and a half games clear with only two games left!

we are 8 points clear of Geelong

27-08-2015, 09:40 PM
Failing that, Ade v WCE may help

If WCE defeat Adelaide we cannot miss finals under any other circumstance and neither can North Melbourne or Richmond.

Simply put Adelaide would be on 50 pts and Geelong 48 and they play each other in the final round meaning that at least 1 of them could not reach the 52 points already achieved by the current top 7.

27-08-2015, 11:33 PM
we are 8 points clear of Geelong

How is that when we have won 13 and the Cats 10 and a draw? 10 and a draw is 42 pts. Why is the ladder showing 44?

28-08-2015, 12:47 AM
There is also the extra 2 points for the non-game against Adelaide on the weekend Phil Walsh died.

It is confusing. The 2 points were awarded but it isn't recorded as a draw, just a non-game.

28-08-2015, 08:25 PM
The filth are on tonight

28-08-2015, 08:34 PM
I heard Bevo on the news very, very stern about how we can still miss the finals. :D

#SmileBevo

28-08-2015, 09:08 PM
I heard Bevo on the news very, very stern about how we can still miss the finals. :D

#SmileBevo

did he ask the fans to root for anyone?

28-08-2015, 09:13 PM
did he ask the fans to root for anyone?

Nah. He did say the club hasn't even mentioned Kruezers name about the list etc.

28-08-2015, 09:46 PM
What a great night of rooting. Finish the job, Pies.

28-08-2015, 09:49 PM
Great to see Menzel turing it on.

Gives us hope...

28-08-2015, 09:53 PM
Great to see Menzel turing it on.

Gives us hope...

More so Clay hopefully.

28-08-2015, 10:18 PM
Good rooting everybody.

First base accomplished.

28-08-2015, 11:05 PM
Good rooting everybody.

First base accomplished.

Is it proper rooting if we're only at first base?

29-08-2015, 12:10 AM
OK so top 8 is now mathematically 100% secure

Our next main concern is avoiding Adelaide away in week 1. If Adelaide lose to West Coast we're 98% OK. They could then only get to 54 points, with us, North & Richmond all on 52. Adelaide would need to finish ahead of at least 2 of us to finish top 6. We play North which someone must win, and North play Richmond which someone must win. Unless North win both, then 2 of us will be on at least 56 ahead of Adelaide. Even if North do win both, then any of Richmond beating Essendon, us beating Brisbane, or Adelaide losing to Geelong would still prevent Adelaide from getting a home final. And even if they do, it may not be against us

If Adelaide beat both West Coast and Geelong, they will finish at least top 7 as the losers of Richmond v North and us v North would finish behind them. Unless North lose both, and Richmond beat Essendon, and we beat Brisbane, then Adelaide would be top 6. If we won both we would be 5th but if not we would have to hope for the other side of the draw

Geelong's finals hopes ending tonight was good to solidify our top 8 finish, but not good for hoping Geelong would be up for taking Adelaide on next week

29-08-2015, 07:20 AM
Geelong's finals hopes ending tonight was good to solidify our top 8 finish, but not good for hoping Geelong would be up for taking Adelaide on next week

Could be the last hurrah for a number of their legends. Surely that counts for something, though they have squibbed it in big games this year (Enright's 300th, Menzel's return).

29-08-2015, 08:13 AM
Looks like we will end up between 5 and 8 ..who would we rather play ?
How Do we want the cards to fall so we play the team that we believe we can beat out of the other three ?

29-08-2015, 08:29 AM
How Do we want the cards to fall so we play the team that we believe we can beat out of the other three ?

Adelaide the obvious presuming the match will be in Melbourne.

Richmond holds a lot of appeal. Crowd of 70,000-80,000 would be great experience for our young team and all the pressure on Tiges after their recent inability to win a final.

We've beaten both these at only meeting this year (Tiges at G) so neither hold any fear.

North would be a pretty even match, depending on what happens today.

It's all good really.

29-08-2015, 08:32 AM

We can beat anyone.
What we need is to be in position to tackle Sydney round 2 if they hang on to top 4.

That means we need to finish 5th. (or 4th if Sydney falter)

We are in the same position we always have been. Lets finish as high as we can and see what happens from there.

29-08-2015, 08:47 AM
Good rooting everybody.

First base accomplished.

Last nights root was the best one I've had for 5 years!!!! :o :p

29-08-2015, 09:27 AM
We can beat anyone.
What we need is to be in position to tackle Sydney round 2 if they hang on to top 4.

That means we need to finish 5th. (or 4th if Sydney falter)

We are in the same position we always have been. Lets finish as high as we can and see what happens from there.

We beat North and North beat Richmond next week would be a great outcome. Even better would be for the Saints to knock Sydney over on Sunday, possible. If Freo can hang on to top spot and we finsih 4th we're every chance to knock them over in Perth.

Lot of water to go under the bridge I know.

29-08-2015, 09:30 AM
Last nights root was the best one I've had for 5 years!!!! :o :p

The pies did the job for us, but it really hurt to barrack for them, even if it was only for our benefit.

29-08-2015, 09:36 AM
The pies did the job for us, but it really hurt to barrack for them, even if it was only for our benefit.

I agree it doesn't sit right to barrack for the Pies but last night was win-win-win.

Geelong lost, our finals spot was confirmed and Pies won a game that was utterly inconsequential for them, other than to rise a place or 2 up the ladder, and therefore down the order of draft picks:) :) :)

29-08-2015, 10:20 AM
Perhaps Adelaide will take the chance to rest some players in the next couple of weeks now that their finals spot is secure. Would be funny as hell if they rested Danger next week at Kardinia Park.

29-08-2015, 10:31 AM
Perhaps Adelaide will take the chance to rest some players in the next couple of weeks now that their finals spot is secure. Would be funny as hell if they rested Danger next week at Kardinia Park.

If Adl lose to WCE tomorrow, will not have hope of home final (presuming Richmond win) so will probably rest a few for R23 match. If they win tomorrow, they'll throw everything into R23 as a win will give them a good shot at a home final - huge difference for them.

29-08-2015, 10:38 AM
Is it proper rooting if we're only at first base?

I have very high standards. Ignore the rumours.

29-08-2015, 10:49 AM
If Adl lose to WCE tomorrow, will not have hope of home final (presuming Richmond win) so will probably rest a few for R23 match. If they win tomorrow, they'll throw everything into R23 as a win will give them a good shot at a home final - huge difference for them.
Good point. All rests on the result tomorrow.

29-08-2015, 10:53 AM
Go WC!
I will have more interest in that game than any non-bullies game for years.
The future is here and Fate is at hand!

29-08-2015, 12:09 PM
What would really suck is if St Kilda beat Sydney, but Richmond won out and sharked 4th. We're 11 goals worth of percentage behind Richmond so would need big wins the next two weeks or to hope Essendon or North beat Richmond

29-08-2015, 12:57 PM
What would really suck is if St Kilda beat Sydney, but Richmond won out and sharked 4th. We're 11 goals worth of percentage behind Richmond so would need big wins the next two weeks or to hope Essendon or North beat Richmond

The good thing about that, though, is that Rich play last round on Friday night and the we play Brisbane on Saturday. We would know exactly what we need - imagine going into that match knowing we need to win by, say, 80 pts to get 4th - and we'd be playing the bottom team. Would be a fun afternoon!!

29-08-2015, 07:28 PM
95% we finish 5 or 6. Home final. If it's a Vic team AFL said its MCG. If it's Adelaide it's Etihad.
5% we finish top 4. Play Perth.

29-08-2015, 08:22 PM
Ess leading Richmond near 1/2 time. Couldn't be.....

So long as it stays close, it's a good result for us as this was Richmond's chance to put a % gap on us.

If they can't win big here, I'll back us to beat Bris by plenty more than they beat North next week.

29-08-2015, 09:20 PM
95% we finish 5 or 6. Home final. If it's a Vic team AFL said its MCG. If it's Adelaide it's Etihad.
5% we finish top 4. Play Perth.

If Brisbane beat us and Adelaide beat West Coast & Geelong we're out of the top 6

Adelaide v West Coast tomorrow will play a big part in how much we can rest next week

29-08-2015, 09:21 PM
If Brisbane beat us and Adelaide beat West Coast & Geelong we're out of the top 6

If factoring in 100% win against the bottom of the ladder team.

29-08-2015, 09:46 PM
More so Clay hopefully.

Spot on BT. Didnt want to somehow jinx it.

29-08-2015, 09:47 PM
Factoring in this. Sydney beat Saints and GC. They're 4th.
Richmond beat North on Friday Night. They're 5th on the live ladder.

Whatever Richmond win by, we need to win by that margin plus about 45 points on Saturday to take 5th on that eventuality.

29-08-2015, 09:58 PM
Spot on BT.

The scenario would be even more significant should Sydney get rolled tomorrow.

Then our 45 point plus Tiges margin target would be to take the double chance.

Either way, Bombres did us a solid tonight by not totally sucking.

29-08-2015, 11:12 PM
Whatever Richmond win by, we need to win by that margin plus about 45 points on Saturday to take 5th on that eventuality.

Currently Richmond are 1822 / 1501 = 121.4 and we are 1979 / 1695 = 116.8
All other things being equal we would need to increase our points for by 79 to get us above 121.4

We would also have Sydney's percentage to worry about. They could lose narrowly to St Kilda but belt Gold Coast next week and still be above us on percentage

29-08-2015, 11:17 PM
Currently Richmond are 1822 / 1501 = 121.4 and we are 1979 / 1695 = 116.8
All other things being equal we would need to increase our points for by 79 to get us above 121.4

We would also have Sydney's percentage to worry about. They could lose narrowly to St Kilda but belt Gold Coast next week and still be above us on percentage

Fair enough, I was just regurgitating what I read off a live ladder website.

29-08-2015, 11:23 PM
That's right Boydogs.

Our above discussion was prior to tonights game finishing so we hadn't added tonights margin to the total.

79 points seems a lot but we could put a massive score on Brisbane, depending on what happens Friday (best case scenario, North win).

29-08-2015, 11:27 PM
Fair enough, I was just regurgitating what I read off a live ladder website.

They probably just looked at the points for & points against differentials where Richmond are 321 up and we are 284 up, only 37 behind. When you're talking 121.4% though, the fact that Richmond have conceded 194 points less than us means we've got 21.4% of 194 (41.5) to make up as well

29-08-2015, 11:27 PM
For me, Richmond winning and Adelaide getting one or two wins works for me for a home final against Adelaide. The AFL have stated we only get an Etihad game if it's Adelaide. Adelaide at Etihad would surely be more probable of a win than North at the MCG. Especially considering that we smashed Adelaide at Etihad earlier this year. Top 4 looks a bridge too far.

29-08-2015, 11:29 PM
Who cares who we get. Fk em all. We're good enough and, if not, next year or the one after.

The day is getting closer.....

29-08-2015, 11:42 PM
Who cares who we get. Fk em all. We're good enough and, if not, next year or the one after.

The day is getting closer.....

I would prefer a home final to be played on our home ground. That will only happen if we play Adelaide. If we play North, then our home final will be played at their home ground. That's the AFL.

30-08-2015, 01:02 AM
I would prefer a home final to be played on our home ground. That will only happen if we play Adelaide. If we play North, then our home final will be played at their home ground. That's the AFL.

Whether we finish 5th or 6th, I think we can be pretty confident of beating either North or Adelaide in Melbourne.

Here's a tricky one, if 1 & 2 win QFs:

If we finish 5th, our 2nd week opponent would be Sydney in Sydney.

If we finish 6th, our 2nd week opponent would be Hawtorn at the G.

Which do we prefer?

30-08-2015, 01:05 AM
Whether we finish 5th or 6th, I think we can be pretty confident of beating either North or Adelaide in Melbourne.

Here's a tricky one, if 1 & 2 win QFs:

If we finish 5th, our 2nd week opponent would be Sydney in Sydney.

If we finish 6th, our 2nd week opponent would be Hawtorn at the G.

Which do we prefer?

Thanks for this, I was wondering how the second week would go. I think Hawthorn at the MCG just.

30-08-2015, 01:15 AM
It's really going to hurt cheering for the Aints tomorrow

30-08-2015, 01:21 AM
It's really going to hurt cheering for the Aints tomorrow

Already been barracking for Collingwood and Essendon so far this week. This time of year all sense of decency goes out the window :)

Saints are the big one though. If they can find a way to get up, next week will be massive.

30-08-2015, 02:23 AM
Let's be honest self interest and flousiness comes to the fore this time of the year.
Need the Saints to win
Next week we need North to beat Richmond, and beat Brissie and gain a decent percentage .
Gotta hope the Suns don't get pantsed( ain't going to happen)

30-08-2015, 09:28 AM
I'm a bit "foggy" today.

AFL Ladder
P W D L % PTS
3 Hawthorn 21 15 0 6 156.80 60
4 Richmond 21 14 0 7 121.40 56
5 Sydney 20 14 0 6 118.20 56
6 Bulldogs 21 14 0 7 116.80 56
7 Nth Melbourne 21 13 0 8 109.10 52
9 Port Adelaide 21 11 0 10 103.20 44
10 GWS Giants 21 11 0 10 100.40 44
11 Geelong 20 10 1 9 98.90 44
12 Collingwood 21 10 0 11 106.80 40
15 Essendon 21 5 0 16 72.70 20
16 Gold Coast 21 4 1 16 74.30 18
17 Carlton 21 4 0 17 65.60 16
18 Brisbane 21 3 0 18 65.30 12

but i think through my haze

ST K v Syd
Then WCE v Ad

But stand to be corrected!

30-08-2015, 01:48 PM
Prior to Sunday's games and the final round, we can still finish anywhere from 4th to 8th

3rd: Hawthorn are 4 points and 40% clear, we would need to beat Brisbane by around 679 points amongst other things. Highest we can finish is 4th

4th: Sydney play St Kilda away today then Gold Coast home next week. If they win both the highest we can finish is 5th. If they lose one then us and Richmond can draw level on points by beating Brisbane and North. We're 79 points of percentage behind Richmond and 25 behind Sydney. If Sydney lose both it opens right up and anyone in the 8 could finish top 4

5th/6th: Our most likely finish. If the scenarios for 4th & 7th/8th don't happen we'll finish here. If Sydney win out we can't finish above 5th, if we beat Brisbane we can't finish below 6th

7th/8th: If we lose to Brisbane, Sydney win at least one or stay ahead on percentage, Adelaide beat West Coast & Geelong and North beat Richmond, we will be level on points with North for 7th & 8th. North are 142 points behind us on percentage

9th: We're 12 points clear of the teams outside the 8, can't finish lower than 8th

30-08-2015, 02:23 PM
Adelaide ahead and if they stay winning and we beat Brisbane.. If Richmond win next week over North, then our game is almost irrelevant and we play Adelaide no matter what. I think...

30-08-2015, 03:09 PM
Adelaide ahead and if they stay winning and we beat Brisbane.. If Richmond win next week over North, then our game is almost irrelevant and we play Adelaide no matter what. I think...

Not sure that's right.

If Tigers win, we lose and the Crows win = Crows vs Dogs at AAMI. Unless we lose by like 100 points, then we go to 8th and play the Tigers.

30-08-2015, 03:11 PM
Not sure that's right.

If Tigers win, we lose and the Crows win = Crows vs Dogs at AAMI. Unless we lose by like 100 points, then we go to 8th and play the Tigers.

BT said: "And we beat Brisbane"

30-08-2015, 03:26 PM
BT said: "And we beat Brisbane"

And it was directed to our game being irrelevant. So if we beat Brisbane, our game is irrelevant? That's an oxymoron!

30-08-2015, 03:39 PM
Sainters started ok. Daring to dream...

30-08-2015, 05:51 PM
Smart money has us finishing 6 and playing Adelaide at Etihad. If you'd given me that at the beginning of the year I guess I might've taken that... :)

That bloody St Kilda loss. But then again, that bloody 70 point win over Adelaide at Etihad earlier this year. :)

30-08-2015, 06:11 PM
Smart money has us finishing 6 and playing Adelaide at Etihad. If you'd given me that at the beginning of the year I guess I might've taken that... :)

That bloody St Kilda loss. But then again, that bloody 70 point win over Etihad earlier this year. :)

Over Etihad? Must have been a big celebration of that one. We must have really Bigges it up.

30-08-2015, 06:57 PM
If we beat Brisbane:

4th: Sydney lose to Gold Coast and we make up 125 points on them AND Richmond either lose to North or we make up 79 points on them
5th: One of the above happens
6th: None of the above happens

If we lose to Brisbane:

5th: Richmond lose to North and we make up 79 points on them AND North either lose to Richmond or don't make up 142 points on us AND Adelaide lose to Geelong
6th: 2 of the above happens
7th: 1 of the above happens
8th: None of the above happens

30-08-2015, 06:59 PM
Adelaide was super impressive today.

Us against them at Etihad should be a fantastic game to watch.

If Rich beat Roos, they'll meet again the following week. Unusual scenario, be interesting to see if either play funny buggers.

Both have fairly mature lists and entered the season with top 4 aspirations - both will be deemed a season failure if they're out after a first week finals loss. Pressure on both coaches.

30-08-2015, 07:22 PM
Root for whatever outcome allows us to avoid travelling to Adelaide in week 1. That is all.

30-08-2015, 07:27 PM
If North, Adelaide and us win, we end up 5th and play North

If Richmond, Adelaide and us win we play Adelaide - probably Etihad, if we lose we go to Adelaide

I can't see a scenario where we play Richmond

30-08-2015, 07:33 PM
The only way we could play Rich (highly unlikely) would be if we both lost and Adelaide won and rose to 5th.

30-08-2015, 07:36 PM
The only way we could play Rich (highly unlikely) would be if we both lost and Adelaide won and rose to 5th.

Yes you are right.

30-08-2015, 07:38 PM
Adelaide was super impressive today.

Us against them at Etihad should be a fantastic game to watch.

If Rich beat Roos, they'll meet again the following week. Unusual scenario, be interesting to see if either play funny buggers.

Both have fairly mature lists and entered the season with top 4 aspirations - both will be deemed a season failure if they're out after a first week finals loss. Pressure on both coaches.

North have Richmond's measure lately too winning the last 5

30-08-2015, 07:39 PM
Looking back, what a crucial impact the non-game of Adelaide-Geelong has had.

If that game had've taken place and Adelaide won, they'd be 6th and we'd be looking at a finals trip to Adelaide.

As a rule I detest the Crows, but this current playing group has earnt respect.

30-08-2015, 07:40 PM
North have Richmond's measure lately too winning the last 5

They'll definitely fancy their chances. Especially at Etihad (Tiges better at G I reckon).

30-08-2015, 07:46 PM
I say we go abstanant and just win and let the rest sort itself out.

30-08-2015, 09:18 PM
Looking back, what a crucial impact the non-game of Adelaide-Geelong has had.

If that game had've taken place and Adelaide won, they'd be 6th and we'd be looking at a finals trip to Adelaide.

As a rule I detest the Crows, but this current playing group has earnt respect.

Ironically, it was seen as a bad thing for us as giving both sides 2 points meant we were more likely to miss the 8

31-08-2015, 02:15 PM
The big priority for mine is to avoid travel to Adelaide in week 1 of the finals and to Perth thereafter (assuming we win the EF). For the chance to achieve this we need the following to occur in R23:

1. Norf beat Richmond
2. Dogs beat Lions

That would leave us 5th and most likely playing Norf in the EF (unless Adelaide falls apart against Geelong this week). West Coke plays Haw and Freo play Syd in the QF's. We then need to beat Norf, rely on Hawks to beat West Coke in Perth and Freo to win their QF against the Swans. That would then put us in a SF against Sydney at the SCG - win that and we get the Hawks in a PF at the MCG. Not easy at all but the less travel we have to do the better. Avoiding any trip to Perth would be ideal.

The funny thing with the above scenario would be that Richmond travels to Adelaide again for a cut-throat EF. Then the winner of that match would have WC in Perth to contend with the week after - very tough assignment. And even if WC beat the Hawks in the QF then Haw would be the SF opponent followed by Freo in Perth for a PF.

For mine, 5th and 8th are looking like the better positions to make a genuine play to go deep in Sep - 6th and 7th really have their work cut out for them with quality of opposition and much harder potential travel schedules.

01-09-2015, 08:57 PM
OK

I want to finish top 4

SO ROOT FOR

1 Bris v WBU (by a lot)
= 1 Syd v GCFC (also by a lot)
AND ALSO NM to beat Rich (by a point would be enough)

So its very unlikely...

P W D L % PTS
1 Fremantle 21 17 0 4 125.10 68
2 West Coast 21 15 1 5 143.00 62
3 Hawthorn 21 15 0 6 156.80 60
4 Sydney 21 15 0 6 124.10 60
5 Richmond 21 14 0 7 121.40 56
6 Bulldogs 21 14 0 7 116.80 56
7 Adelaide 20 13 0 7 119.10 54
8 Nth Melbourne 21 13 0 8 109.10 52
9 Port Adelaide 21 11 0 10 103.20 44
10 GWS Giants 21 11 0 10 100.40 44
11 Geelong 20 10 1 9 98.90 44
12 Collingwood 21 10 0 11 106.80 40
13 St Kilda 21 6 1 14 81.70 26
14 Melbourne 21 6 0 15 74.70 24
15 Essendon 21 5 0 16 72.70 20
16 Gold Coast 21 4 1 16 74.30 18
17 Carlton 21 4 0 17 65.60 16
18 Brisbane 21 3 0 18 65.30 12

02-09-2015, 01:53 AM
Rocket Eade, time to jag a win against all odds, just like you used to do in the good ol' days with us.
This is a team that drew with the Weagles. No excuses.

03-09-2015, 10:46 AM
With NM resting half their team tomorrow night, our top 4 aspirations are 99% over

03-09-2015, 11:26 AM
With NM resting half their team tomorrow night, our top 4 aspirations are 99% over
They were over anyway.

Norf's decision hurts in other ways - we will now be in the 6th/7th part of the draw, which means we will have to beat Adelaide first up, then either WC in Perth or Hawthorn at the MCG (both extremely difficult), with Freo our likely opponent in Perth in the PF if we can get that far. So quite possibly 2 weeks of finals footy in a row to Perth - that's a bridge too far for anyone.

If we are stuck in the 6th/7th part of the draw, we need to root like hell for Sydney to beat Freo and WC to beat Hawks in the QF's next week, so that it minimises our travel in weeks 2 and 3 of the finals.

03-09-2015, 11:34 AM
They were over anyway.

Norf's decision hurts in other ways - we will now be in the 6th/7th part of the draw, which means we will have to beat Adelaide first up, then either WC in Perth or Hawthorn at the MCG (both extremely difficult), with Freo our likely opponent in Perth in the PF if we can get that far. So quite possibly 2 weeks of finals footy in a row to Perth - that's a bridge too far for anyone.

If we are stuck in the 6th/7th part of the draw, we need to root like hell for Sydney to beat Freo and WC to beat Hawks in the QF's next week, so that it minimises our travel in weeks 2 and 3 of the finals.

I would love to see us play Haw at the G at some stage.. The young up starts vs the reigning champ.. Give us a great guide to where we are at to which members of the team can rise to the occasion.

03-09-2015, 11:42 AM
I would love to see us play Haw at the G at some stage.. The young up starts vs the reigning champ.. Give us a great guide to where we are at to which members of the team can rise to the occasion.

I agree. If we are good enough to challenge for a flag we need to beat a team like Hawthorn at some point. Week 2 at the G, getting them after a Perth trip - bring it on.

03-09-2015, 11:59 AM

Absolutely agree with that, would be a great experience for our kids. Even a final against Richmond at the G would be a real good one to get first up but looks like that will not happen.

03-09-2015, 12:00 PM
I agree. If we are good enough to challenge for a flag we need to beat a team like Hawthorn at some point. Week 2 at the G, getting them after a Perth trip - bring it on.

To be the man you have to beat the man !!!

03-09-2015, 12:09 PM
To be the man you have to beat the man !!!

Testify Ric Flair testify

03-09-2015, 12:22 PM
Teams will be dreading having to play the Dogs in the finals (not the other way round)

03-09-2015, 05:09 PM
North are running scared of the Bulldogs.

Beat Richmond and we would host North in an elimination final.

North get their bunny in Richmond by throwing the game.

03-09-2015, 05:26 PM
North are running scared of the Bulldogs.

Beat Richmond and we would host North in an elimination final.

North get their bunny in Richmond by throwing the game.

There's no way to interpret Norf's decision other than thinking they're more comfortable in beating Richmond in Melbourne than they are in facing ourselves or Adelaide.

Sure, they've been going pretty hard these past three months but conceding a consecutive loss against a side in your immediate bracket one week out of the finals is a silly game to play.

03-09-2015, 05:38 PM
There's no way to interpret Norf's decision other than thinking they're more comfortable in beating Richmond in Melbourne than they are in facing ourselves or Adelaide.

Sure, they've been going pretty hard these past three months but conceding a consecutive loss against a side in your immediate bracket one week out of the finals is a silly game to play.

I agree. It's pretty typical illogical thinking by the clown show that is running things though.

03-09-2015, 05:39 PM

What about Carey's call that the handful of Roos players selected for R23 who have no chance of playing finals could go out and "maim" Richmond players, just go out with the intent of physically impacting Richmond as hard as possible.

If anything remotely like this happens, all hell will break loose.

Imagine a Roos twos player running off the line at the first bounce and picking off Cotchin or Martin?

03-09-2015, 05:43 PM
I don't mind Freo testing players as the result of that game has no bearing on ladder positions within the top 8.

North laying down is a different story and a mass resting of players ( 3 or 4 is enough) shouldn't be tolerated.

03-09-2015, 06:14 PM
I don't mind Freo testing players as the result of that game has no bearing on ladder positions within the top 8.

North laying down is a different story and a mass resting of players ( 3 or 4 is enough) shouldn't be tolerated.

Precisely my thoughts. North should not be allowed. It costs Adelaide the chance to host a home final and us a chance to make top 4.

03-09-2015, 06:22 PM
Precisely my thoughts. North should not be allowed. It costs Adelaide the chance to host a home final and us a chance to make top 4.

Adel can still host a final if we lose, but their chances are obviously weakened.

03-09-2015, 06:22 PM
How do the AFL stop it though?

How do they decide who is too sore and who is not?

03-09-2015, 06:23 PM

If we lose and the Crows win, we're heading to Adelaide for the first final.

03-09-2015, 06:25 PM

I guess we winning is up to us then.

03-09-2015, 06:28 PM

If we lose to Bris we don't deserve a home final.

03-09-2015, 06:51 PM
I guess we winning is up to us then.

We winning is yes.

03-09-2015, 08:52 PM
So NM rest 9, and their 400+ game, 37yo who has played every game this year is not one of them?

In fairness, that guy is a freak.

04-09-2015, 08:13 PM
What about Carey's call that the handful of Roos players selected for R23 who have no chance of playing finals could go out and "maim" Richmond players, just go out with the intent of physically impacting Richmond as hard as possible.

If anything remotely like this happens, all hell will break loose.

Imagine a Roos twos player running off the line at the first bounce and picking off Cotchin or Martin?

Reckon Carey was right. Roos smashing into Tiges. 22 tackles in opening minutes!!

Enjoyable viewing and good for us.

04-09-2015, 09:02 PM
Lynch on Fox "NM full of players playing for their career. Richmond full of players playing to avoid injury."

Even if this is a tight win for Rich, our window for 5th opens slightly.

Go Roos.

04-09-2015, 09:12 PM
Total and utter bruise free footy for Richmond.

Richmond are super soft.

04-09-2015, 10:42 PM
By my calculations, we will need to win by around 120 to jump Richmond.

If we get way on top early, that will be a target to aim for.

04-09-2015, 10:42 PM
110 points the gap to Richmond. Unlikely.

A win has us against Adelaide, hopefully at Etihad. Just win.

04-09-2015, 10:43 PM
Looking at the ladder predictor we would have to win by 110 points to overtake the Tigers percentage and Gold Coast have to win by 10 or more points.

04-09-2015, 10:46 PM
Let's just win the game

05-09-2015, 06:08 AM
The best thing would be that if we were to win by 110, it would have been an easy easy game and we'd be just as fresh as the North players.

05-09-2015, 08:19 AM
Just saw Scott on ABC news demanding an apology from all those who accused North of not wanting to win. Cited the "attack on the ball by Jack Z. Majak Daw (and someone else I can't remember) in the first half" as evidence of North's endeavour.
I must have been watching a different game.

05-09-2015, 11:54 AM
Just saw Scott on ABC news demanding an apology from all those who accused North of not wanting to win. Cited the "attack on the ball by Jack Z. Majak Daw (and someone else I can't remember) in the first half" as evidence of North's endeavour.

Yep because three blokes having a dip in the first half will easily win you most games.

05-09-2015, 01:08 PM

Wouldn't it be funny if Sydney lose and North have to travel to Sydney next week.

05-09-2015, 01:55 PM
Geelong 27 points up over Aadelaide. 99.99999999% Dogs v Crows in Melbourne next week.

05-09-2015, 02:25 PM
Yep because three blokes having a dip in the first half will easily win you most games.

Majak Daw kicked 6 on us once. Hasn't done a great deal since then, but has great guns.

05-09-2015, 03:32 PM
Time for a cigarette, the rooting is over. Elimination Final vs Adelaide at MCG or Etihad.

05-09-2015, 04:38 PM
Time for a cigarette, the rooting is over. Elimination Final vs Adelaide at MCG or Etihad.

Now we want West Coast to beat Hawthorn :D

05-09-2015, 04:42 PM
The rooting never stops :)

05-09-2015, 05:34 PM
Where there is life, there is rooting.

05-09-2015, 05:48 PM
Where there is life, there is rooting.

And where there is rooting there is life

06-09-2015, 02:04 PM
I'm glad that I'm not the only one who couldn't give a root today.

06-09-2015, 03:27 PM
For next week:

Dogs beat Crows
WC beat Hawks
Swans beat Dockers
Norf beat Tigers (meaningless game but just for the lulz to see Richmond lose another final)

We'd then play Hawks at the 'G in a semi - win that and we travel to Sydney for a PF. No Perth travel whatsoever.

06-09-2015, 03:31 PM
For next week:

Dogs beat Crows
WC beat Hawks
Swans beat Dockers
Norf beat Tigers (meaningless game but just for the lulz to see Richmond lose another final)

We'd then play Hawks at the 'G in a semi - win that and we travel to Sydney for a PF. No Perth travel whatsoever.

approved

06-09-2015, 09:15 PM
I'd prefer the Tigers beat Norf just to stick it up Scott for resting players !!

06-09-2015, 09:19 PM
For next week:

Dogs beat Crows
WC beat Hawks
Swans beat Dockers

I'll be rooting my brains out.

06-09-2015, 09:22 PM
For next week:

Dogs beat Crows
WC beat Hawks
Swans beat Dockers

I would make the trip to Sydney for the prelim - COME ON DOGS

06-09-2015, 09:32 PM
I would make the trip to Sydney for the prelim - COME ON DOGS

If you're driving pick me up on the way! :)

06-09-2015, 09:35 PM
If you're driving pick me up on the way! :)

We could organise a WOOF bus, anyone got a licence?

06-09-2015, 09:57 PM
I'd prefer the Tigers beat Norf just to stick it up Scott for resting players !!
Nah, they'd get hammered the week after anyway - and their "successful" finals campaign might mean that Scotty loads up with another couple of old farts in 2016. Richmond are actually a good side so it would be better for everyone else to see them bundled out first week.

07-09-2015, 03:00 PM
Nah, they'd get hammered the week after anyway - and their "successful" finals campaign might mean that Scotty loads up with another couple of old farts in 2016. Richmond are actually a good side so it would be better for everyone else to see them bundled out first week.

Serious question - is the losing coach of this game in any danger?

That will make in 6 years at their respective clubs, for 2 finals wins for Scott and zero finals wins for Hardwick. They've both mortgaged their futures to a degree by topping up with recycled players (especially North).

North have to win right now if they're ever going to, and Hardwick could very much be seen in a Ratten-type light as having wasted the best years of A-grade players.

I don't think either will be sacked but you'd have to ask at least some questions of them. Personally I hope Brad Scott keeps his job forever.

07-09-2015, 03:49 PM
Serious question - is the losing coach of this game in any danger?

That will make in 6 years at their respective clubs, for 2 finals wins for Scott and zero finals wins for Hardwick. They've both mortgaged their futures to a degree by topping up with recycled players (especially North).

North have to win right now if they're ever going to, and Hardwick could very much be seen in a Ratten-type light as having wasted the best years of A-grade players.

I don't think either will be sacked but you'd have to ask at least some questions of them. Personally I hope Brad Scott keeps his job forever.

IMO Scott would be under a lot more pressure than Hardwick.

NM have recruited a lot of senior players and consequently have a list profile that needs success quick, or start rebuilding. Scott won't be there for the rebuild. I would think Scott will get at least 1 more year to get North into the top 4, but a bad loss here and anything could happen.

I feel Hardwick has managed his list more impressively. A loss here will sting Tiges but they'll still feel they're on the right track under DH. The guts of his squad has a couple more good years and they'll still feel a flag is still obtainable under his (admittedly slow) build.

DH is an interesting coach. Although his results have been middling, he has valuable intangibles. It seems his players love the club under his watch, and Tiges membership and attendance figures are up dramatically (surpassed Coll as most watched Vic club, a long time since this has happened).

I reckon DH is a big part of this, he has the personae of somebody who is in control and carries a Sheedy like feel for marketing and ability to distinguish his club as somehow different as a team, a culture and a brand. It is hard to ascertain exactly what it is, but compare it to NM under Scott who have had similar on field results for no significant growth in numbers or marketability. Under him, there is nothing compelling or particularly watchable about NM.

The exciting thing for us is that the Bevo/Bob Bulldogs have all the hallmarks of a charismatic club that distinguishes itself strongly as something unique, or at least different. This should see strong growth in the coming years, off field as well as on.

11-09-2015, 09:43 PM
Are we still rooting? If WCE stay in front the semi is in Melbourne for the winner of Dogs v Crows. Good first result at the moment if the next half stays on track.

11-09-2015, 09:53 PM
Are we still rooting? If WCE stay in front the semi is in Melbourne for the winner of Dogs v Crows. Good first result at the moment if the next half stays on track.

for that reason BT, i've been barracking for the weagles all night. And because i would like to avenge those two '85 finals losses. Yes, ok... i do hold grudges.

11-09-2015, 09:57 PM

Being in Melbourne tick but how good would it be to knock out the current b2b premiers.

11-09-2015, 09:58 PM
yep Root for the Weagles. And injuries and reports

11-09-2015, 10:09 PM
Being in Melbourne tick but how good would it be to knock out the current b2b premiers.

It would be brilliant. But let's not get in front of ourselves. But we will win tomorrow night.

11-09-2015, 10:28 PM
C'mon Hawks, let's see plenty of those Hawthorn traits in the final quarter: thuggery, ill discipline, Clarko punching up the coach's box...

11-09-2015, 10:36 PM
Good to see Hawks getting done. Lots of players look old.

11-09-2015, 10:42 PM
So our side of the draw:

Adelaide, MCG
Winner plays Hawthorn, MCG
Winner plays Freo or Sydney in WA or Sydney
Winner plays in GF, MCG

11-09-2015, 10:53 PM
So our side of the draw:

Adelaide, MCG
Winner plays in GF, MCG

At the risk of getting ahead of ourselves, but wouldn't it be something to bury the Adelaide finals hoodoo and the Hawthorn finals hoodoo back to back.

NoseBleed
11-09-2015, 10:54 PM
The moment a serious team have to send Lake forward, they're screwed.

11-09-2015, 10:55 PM
Friday night final next week

11-09-2015, 11:00 PM
The moment a serious team have to send Lake forward, they're screwed.

Shows you really need tall forwards in finals

11-09-2015, 11:15 PM
So our side of the draw:

Adelaide, MCG
Winner plays in GF, MCG

So that means we have 3 of our next 4 games at the G... that's a pleasant change. Yes, i quite like that. ;)

11-09-2015, 11:24 PM
It'd be great if Sydney beat Freo tomorrow (long odds, I know)

12-09-2015, 04:04 PM
Sam Reid done a hammy. Good news for Hawks vs Crows/Dogs winner.

12-09-2015, 06:03 PM
Side of draw:

Dogs vs Adelaide, MCG
Winner plays Freo in WA
Winner plays in GF, MCG

12-09-2015, 06:08 PM
Reckon we're on the right side of the draw.

Hawthorn in Melb then Freo looks much more doable than Sydney in Sydney then WCE.

Sydney were good today with a lot of bad breaks, Freo very plain.

Just got to get the job done tonight!!!

Dammit I'm toey as....

12-09-2015, 06:27 PM
Reckon we're on the right side of the draw.

Hawthorn in Melb then Freo looks much more doable than Sydney in Sydney then WCE.

Sydney were good today with a lot of bad breaks, Freo very plain.

Just got to get the job done tonight!!!

Dammit I'm toey as....

Yep. I can't sit still or focus on anything. Ny nerves are if I'm personally playing.

12-09-2015, 09:58 PM
Root over :(

12-09-2015, 11:36 PM
Love to see Adelaide go on and win it, they're playing inspired footy. I suspect they will burn out though

15-09-2015, 10:37 AM
Love to see Adelaide go on and win it, they're playing inspired footy. I suspect they will burn out though

No thanks. They are the last team I want to see win.

Heave-ho-Freeo for me

15-09-2015, 01:40 PM
Couldn't begrudge Adelaide after the issues they've had to deal with.

I've had a gutful of Hawthorn and Sydney, otherwise I don't really mind.

15-09-2015, 01:54 PM
No thanks. They are the last team I want to see win.

Heave-ho-Freeo for me

I know you're from SA and they can get a bit much, but it shows heart to do it for the coach. Riley Knight played out of his skin on Saturday and kicked goals from harder spots than where we missed from

15-09-2015, 02:01 PM
I know you're from SA and they can get a bit much, but it shows heart to do it for the coach. Riley Knight played out of his skin on Saturday and kicked goals from harder spots than where we missed from

Just talking about that goal.
But gee I am dirty on the free he got to kick it.

He ran past the ball and deliberately ran his head/neck into Roberts, when we would have easily cleared the ball.

15-09-2015, 02:04 PM
I don't want either of the Perth teams to win - West Coke are just a dirty group of front-running, hero-worshipping supporters and Freo would be rewarding the shithouse Ross Lyon game plan (plus they'd be level on flags with us).

Don't want Norf to win even though the old man barracks for them - something about Brad Scott and that smug melon he carries above his shoulders. That and he went the knuckle against us in R22 1997 and cost us Southern and Dimma in the PF that year.

Adelaide would be a good story for Phil Walsh but I don't think they'll get past this week.

Hawks and Sydney are meh - Hawks are already intolerable so what's another flag going to do? Hawks winning would have the added benefit of causing all sorts of angst to Carlton, Essendon and Pies supporters as they close in on their flag-winning tally.

15-09-2015, 02:12 PM
Same as every year for me. I want no one to win. 2015 - No winnner.

15-09-2015, 02:15 PM
I hate everyone equally, but some are more equal than others!

15-09-2015, 02:33 PM
I don't want either of the Perth teams to win - West Coke are just a dirty group of front-running, hero-worshipping supporters and Freo would be rewarding the shithouse Ross Lyon game plan (plus they'd be level on flags with us).

Don't want Norf to win even though the old man barracks for them - something about Brad Scott and that smug melon he carries above his shoulders. That and he went the knuckle against us in R22 1997 and cost us Southern and Dimma in the PF that year.

Adelaide would be a good story for Phil Walsh but I don't think they'll get past this week.

Hawks and Sydney are meh - Hawks are already intolerable so what's another flag going to do? Hawks winning would have the added benefit of causing all sorts of angst to Carlton, Essendon and Pies supporters as they close in on their flag-winning tally.

What an apt description Sedat. Always seems to be smirking.

15-09-2015, 02:57 PM
What an apt description Sedat. Always seems to be smirking.

Alternates the smirk with his spoilt little boys 'why is the world against me' pout.

15-09-2015, 04:21 PM
I couldn't give a root really. Not anymore.

15-09-2015, 04:31 PM
I couldn't give a root really. Not anymore.

I don't give two roots either.

Have more interest now in the draft and trade period rather than the remainder of the season.

15-09-2015, 06:37 PM
Alternates the smirk with his spoilt little boys 'why is the world against me' pout.

It's a bit like the Blue Steel or Magnum pout from Zoolander. I find him intolerable too.

My who wins grand final care factor is zero - was hoping Tigers would go far after we lost. Now Tigers are out I would not mind Crows winning after what they've been through. Also think West Coast are an exciting team, Kennedy surely the best forward by a country mile at present. Do not like their parochial supporters though.

15-09-2015, 06:43 PM
I actually forgot North and Richmond were playing. A mate in Suzhou sent me a message about the game and I had totally forgot. Care factor Zero Josie, agreed!

But watched a few highlights. Lindsay Thomas kicks Richmond players better than he kicks the ball.

15-09-2015, 06:52 PM
Probably anyone bar Hawthorn

15-09-2015, 09:18 PM
I'm all rooted out for this year.
Couldn't give a flying #$%& who wins this year.
They can all get ROOTED!