View Full Version : Jarryd Roughead out indefinitely after having melanoma removed.

02-07-2015, 11:18 AM
Hawthorn star Jarryd Roughead has melanoma removed from lip

Daniel Cherny
Published: July 2, 2015 - 9:32AM

Star Hawthorn forward Jarryd Roughead is out of football indefinitely after having a melanoma removed from his lip on Wednesday.

Roughead had recently spotted a lesion on his lip which had not cleared up. He informed the club's doctors late last week. He was then advised to see a skin specialist. Test results came back positive for a melanoma on Tuesday.

Roughead, 28, a triple-premiership player with the Hawks is waiting for the results of further pathology tests to determine if any further action needs to be taken.

Players were told of the news at an 8AM meeting on Thursday at the club's Waverley Park base.

The club's coaches and board were subsequently made aware.

Hawks general manager of football operations Chris Fagan said Roughead was doing well.

"He sent a photo around of himself last night with a bit of a thumbs up," Fagan told Fairfax Media on Thursday morning.

"Obviously when these things happen it's a bit worrying, but he handled the whole thing well and has had good support around him from family, friends and the footy club."

The Hawks are unsure how long Roughead will be out of football, with Fagan emphasising that "our only concern has been his wellbeing and his health".

Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson is due to front the media at his weekly press conference at 10:15AM. Roughead had been due to play on Friday night against Collingwood at the MCG. As recently as Wednesday, Magpies coach Nathan Buckley questioned whether Roughead was the most dominant big man of the decade. After an indifferent last month, Roughead had 29 disposals and kicked a goal in an outstanding performance against Essendon last Saturday at the MCG. Hawthorn moved into the top-four at the expense of the Pies after beating the Bombers.

Fagan said that Tim O'Brien, Ryan Schoenmakers and Matt Spangher were in the mix to replace Roughead in the Hawks' side.

The 2013 Coleman Medallist has played 219 games since being drafted with pick No. 2 in the 2004 draft.

The Hawks are no strangers to overcoming obstacles on their way to premiership success.

Last year, they managed to win their second consecutive flag despite the five-week mid-season absence of Clarkson, who was suffering from Guillain-Barré syndrome. Assistant coach Brendon Bolton filled in during Clarkson's leave, winning all five games as caretaker.

Fagan said the club would take confidence from that experience.

"We're certainly a group that's accustomed to coping with some adversity. We'll just adapt like we usually do."

This story was found at: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hawthorn-star-jarryd-roughead-has-melanoma-removed-from-lip-20150702-gi2z7z.html

02-07-2015, 11:22 AM
I hope Jordan wears sunscreen. At least his scalp has more natural protection than fellow ranga Jarryd. What a draft that 2004 was, the best in history.

02-07-2015, 12:17 PM
Far out. I hope he is OK.

02-07-2015, 05:40 PM
It is a small thing, but it annoys me that with something like this the headline still reads "STAR FOOTBALLER CANT PLAY FOOTBALL because of serious medical condition". Shouldn't the condition, and his health, be the most important part?

03-07-2015, 12:56 AM
I hope Jordan wears sunscreen. At least his scalp has more natural protection than fellow rangu Jarryd. What a draft that 2004 was, the best in history.

4 of the top 10 hardly played football and Lids at 1 caused a stir. Hawforn did alright out of it...

03-07-2015, 05:02 AM
Exact same spot as mine. Hope he is ok and got it early.

03-07-2015, 08:42 AM
Roughead and Mitchell are Hawthorn's two most important players, imo. Football aside, I hope Roughead's okay and it's all sorted.
In the meantime, lucky Collingwood - this makes them a chance this weekend.

03-07-2015, 08:54 PM
Roughead and Mitchell are Hawthorn's two most important players, imo. Football aside, I hope Roughead's okay and it's all sorted.
In the meantime, lucky Collingwood - this makes them a chance this weekend.

I think Roughead is one of the premier footballers in the AFL. If I was in charge of a start up club he would have been my first target.
Hopefully this won't be a big issue for him

07-07-2015, 09:17 PM
I think Roughead is one of the premier footballers in the AFL. If I was in charge of a start up club he would have been my first target.

He's the player I hope Tom Boyd grows up to be.

08-07-2015, 05:02 PM
Roughy is brilliant - can play anywhere on the park, a real team-first player

08-07-2015, 05:18 PM
He's the player I hope Tom Boyd grows up to be.

Roughead has posters of Tom Boyd on his wall!

08-07-2015, 07:32 PM
Roughead has posters of Tom Boyd on his wall!

There's a spot in our forward line right next to Tom...

08-07-2015, 07:56 PM
I wish him all the best. Great player!

17-05-2016, 10:50 PM
Sad news that Jarryd's melanoma has returned. Thoughts are with him, his family and team mates as he battles this disease.

17-05-2016, 10:54 PM
Sad news that Jarryd's melanoma has returned. Thoughts are with him, his family and team mates as he battles this disease.

Must be a really shit time to be him. I hope they've got it as early as they've said. Not that footy is much compared to this, but that for me rules Hawthorn out of the premiership and their dynasty is to an end.

17-05-2016, 11:09 PM
Talking to someone today who (Sadly) knows a lot about the above circumstances, and the results may well be very grim. Wear a hat and sunscreen folks, and do your very best to never get sunburnt.

Wishing nothing but complete recovery for the big fella

17-05-2016, 11:20 PM
I've long thought that he and Mitchell were Hawthorn's most important two players and that Roughie was the better of the two.

Hopefully he's okay and lives a long and happy life. If he needs treatment, I'm afraid that his career is over. Puts things into perspective, though. Having said this, 230 odd games, six grand finals, four premierships, Coleman Medal etc. isn't a bad career!

Just shows how trivial it all is when compared to one's health.

17-05-2016, 11:50 PM
Talking to someone today who (Sadly) knows a lot about the above circumstances, and the results may well be very grim. Wear a hat and sunscreen folks, and do your very best to never get sunburnt.

Wishing nothing but complete recovery for the big fella

Good friend of ours had a melanoma on her leg, two years later she died with tumours in the brain.

Just hope Jarryd has a full recovery.

18-05-2016, 01:57 AM
Gosh, awful news. Sorry to hear it. Very likeable bloke. All of us have been touched by cancer through family and friends. Thoughts are with his family and Roughy.

18-05-2016, 05:34 AM
Tragic news for Jarryd and his family .
I don't even think football bares any significance now .

18-05-2016, 08:24 AM
Melanoma is the cancer that Jim Stynes had wasn't it? Although I believe Stynes left it a long time before getting checked out and hence the outcome. Very sad news.

18-05-2016, 10:40 AM
Shocking news for a young man and his family. Fingers cross. Thinking of Jordan too.

18-05-2016, 11:53 AM
Terrible news. Thoughts are with him and his family.

18-05-2016, 12:00 PM
Exact same spot as mine. Hope he is ok and got it early.

How are you getting along these days Rooner?

18-05-2016, 12:42 PM
Crap news. Hope he can pull through and enjoy a long and healthy life.

18-05-2016, 02:41 PM
Wow. If reports are true, then he is crook.

I hope they're untrue and he'll be ok. One of my favourite opposition players and seems like a good bloke.

18-05-2016, 08:17 PM
Terrible news for Jarryd thoughts and prayers go out to him and his immediate family.
Wonder how Jordan is coping? :(

19-05-2016, 11:06 AM
Popular bloke off field, fans from all clubs love big Rough.
Horrible news, 2nd round of cancer is really really awful.

19-05-2016, 12:03 PM
Roughy is nearly as popular and has a similar respect as Bobbie, hope all goes well with his treatment and wishing him a full recovery.

19-05-2016, 07:10 PM
Thoughts are with him. Bugger of a thing it is.

19-05-2016, 09:23 PM
It's always a horrible sign when the melanoma spreads internally, prayers and wishes go out to him and his family because this will be a trying and scary time for him.

31-05-2016, 05:44 AM
How are you getting along these days Rooner?

I'm ok thanks mate, touch wood, but havn't had a scan for 12 months now so that's at the top of my list. I had it cut out at the end of 2011, I was very lucky i was at docs over something else and just brought it up but she kept saying it was a cold saw. 3 weeks later she gave me more cream I said stuff this and told her I wanted to see a skin doc, she even said it wasn't necessary but I wasn't having it and demanded it.

Three days later it was a week before Christmas and he fit me in. The doc was an absolute star, I walked in and sat down, he took one look at it and (I'll put it in a nice way) said "bugger" he told me straight up what it was without even testing it scared the crap out of me but he was amazing, he didn't stuff around and wanted to neck the GP. Three days later he cut it out and I ate Chrissie Lunch through a straw. 13 stitches it was (but he was so good at his job you can hardly tell) just for a saw on my lip that if I hadn't of been at the docs already I wouldn't have gone over it. He apologised about the size of it, (it did get a bit full on on the table) it should've been cut out at Peter Mac but I wouldn't have got in early enough over Xmas-new year and explained how aggressive it was and that I was lucky another 4-6 weeks and I was stuffed.

He did say to me forget worrying about getting it again because it will come back just make sure you watch over your head and neck especially. Made me feel better being straight up about it and he showed me what to look for, two years later I told a mate to get to the doc about a spot he got on his lip and he ended up having the same thing thing cut out and luckily is still alright.

I wish I could've gone back to him, the bloke is a King of Kings but he disappeared just after and I couldn't find him since. True Guardian Angel. He left me with one piece of advice that I've stuck to and tell anyone I can and that's when you get in the car, grab the thing above your head and swing that sucker to the right because Windscreens have a UV protectant but most side windows don't.

Sorry for the long post, but I wish Roughy all the best and will be crossing everything that he pulls through this. His press conference is this morning, this isn't about Footy anymore it's life and death.

31-05-2016, 10:56 AM
I'm ok thanks mate, touch wood, but havn't had a scan for 12 months now so that's at the top of my list. I had it cut out at the end of 2011, I was very lucky i was at docs over something else and just brought it up but she kept saying it was a cold saw. 3 weeks later she gave me more cream I said stuff this and told her I wanted to see a skin doc, she even said it wasn't necessary but I wasn't having it and demanded it.

Three days later it was a week before Christmas and he fit me in. The doc was an absolute star, I walked in and sat down, he took one look at it and (I'll put it in a nice way) said "bugger" he told me straight up what it was without even testing it scared the crap out of me but he was amazing, he didn't stuff around and wanted to neck the GP. Three days later he cut it out and I ate Chrissie Lunch through a straw. 13 stitches it was (but he was so good at his job you can hardly tell) just for a saw on my lip that if I hadn't of been at the docs already I wouldn't have gone over it. He apologised about the size of it, (it did get a bit full on on the table) it should've been cut out at Peter Mac but I wouldn't have got in early enough over Xmas-new year and explained how aggressive it was and that I was lucky another 4-6 weeks and I was stuffed.

He did say to me forget worrying about getting it again because it will come back just make sure you watch over your head and neck especially. Made me feel better being straight up about it and he showed me what to look for, two years later I told a mate to get to the doc about a spot he got on his lip and he ended up having the same thing thing cut out and luckily is still alright.

I wish I could've gone back to him, the bloke is a King of Kings but he disappeared just after and I couldn't find him since. True Guardian Angel. He left me with one piece of advice that I've stuck to and tell anyone I can and that's when you get in the car, grab the thing above your head and swing that sucker to the right because Windscreens have a UV protectant but most side windows don't.

Sorry for the long post, but I wish Roughy all the best and will be crossing everything that he pulls through this. His press conference is this morning, this isn't about Footy anymore it's life and death.

Thanks for the post Rooner.

Just watches a bit of the Roughead presser. What a champ.

31-05-2016, 02:28 PM
Sounds like it's going to be a tough battle for him coming up.

Hopefully it sends strong message to those footballers who run around in the sun all day in summer pre-seasons with their shirts off and nothing but a tiny open cap on. Idiots care more about their tan and don't realize the dangers.
Roughy's experience shows it can happen to anyone young or old. Yes he's probably more at risk being fair skinned but the message is the same.

I hope the clubs who put these guys out there in the baking sun take some ownership as well.

31-05-2016, 02:53 PM
Sounds like it's going to be a tough battle for him coming up.

Hopefully it sends strong message to those footballers who run around in the sun all day in summer pre-seasons with their shirts off and nothing but a tiny open cap on. Idiots care more about their tan and don't realize the dangers.
Roughy's experience shows it can happen to anyone young or old. Yes he's probably more at risk being fair skinned but the message is the same.

I hope the clubs who put these guys out there in the baking sun take some ownership as well.

Sometimes they don't show up till you are in your 50s, 60s as happened to my friend.

31-05-2016, 10:50 PM
Seriously bummed about this one, the return of cancer is one thing, the spread to the organs is another. CANCER SUCKS.

01-06-2016, 03:48 PM
Thanks for the post Rooner.

Just watches a bit of the Roughead presser. What a champ.

Thanks for that Rooner. Really enjoyed reading that. It's crazy how wrong the original doctor was. You must have been very angry and good on you for following your gut feeling.

01-06-2016, 07:10 PM
Thanks for that Rooner. Really enjoyed reading that. It's crazy how wrong the original doctor was. You must have been very angry and good on you for following your gut feeling.

Thanks mate, yea it was crazy I had seen that doctor three times about it and even after I requested a specialist she still tried talking me out of it. Ridiculous woman but I was just more concerned it was gone. The skin doc definitely saved the day that's for sure. He wanted me to take it further but I was just happy it was out. He had a sense of humour too because when I went back to have the stitches out my wife and I were sitting there hanging to find out the results and he is just walking around the room humming some song and hasn't said a word yet. I'm crapping myself and he starts pulling the first one out then suddenly stops and just says "oh yea your sweet I got it all" I nearly fell over! :).

Always go with the gut, no one knows your own body like yourself.

01-06-2016, 07:36 PM
Thanks mate, yea it was crazy I had seen that doctor three times about it and even after I requested a specialist she still tried talking me out of it. Ridiculous woman but I was just more concerned it was gone. The skin doc definitely saved the day that's for sure. He wanted me to take it further but I was just happy it was out. He had a sense of humour too because when I went back to have the stitches out my wife and I were sitting there hanging to find out the results and he is just walking around the room humming some song and hasn't said a word yet. I'm crapping myself and he starts pulling the first one out then suddenly stops and just says "oh yea your sweet I got it all" I nearly fell over! :).

Always go with the gut, no one knows your own body like yourself.

That's the thing I like about living in China. If you have the cash, seeing a GP is a formality and specialists are happy to take your cash to do what you need. In Australia you have to go through hoops, wait ages for something really simple.

Not only did you save your own life, you probably saved your mate's as well.

02-06-2016, 01:23 AM
That's the thing I like about living in China. If you have the cash, seeing a GP is a formality and specialists are happy to take your cash to do what you need. In Australia you have to go through hoops, wait ages for something really simple.

Not only did you save your own life, you probably saved your mate's as well.

Thanks mate, we were both lucky. China sounds like they have it worked out at least. I guess the msg is don't mess about with a gp with that sort of stuff.

20-01-2017, 12:36 PM
click for full story: Comeback kid Jarryd Roughead to captain Hawthorn Hawks in 2017 (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/comeback-kid-jarryd-roughead-to-captain-hawthorn-hawks-in-2017-20170119-gtv54f.html)

20-01-2017, 01:59 PM
Feel good story but having heard him speak in a number of interviews he has never sounded like a captain to me. Genuinely wish him all the best as he seems like a great guy (not the Ch 7 version)

20-01-2017, 06:58 PM
Feel good story but having heard him speak in a number of interviews he has never sounded like a captain to me. Genuinely wish him all the best as he seems like a great guy (not the Ch 7 version)

So he won't be driving home drunk then. Good to hear

20-01-2017, 08:51 PM
I hate Hawthorn.

21-01-2017, 04:16 PM
Unless Jarryd asked for the captaincy I don't understand the logic behind this. The bloke is coming back from a life threatening condition and has been out of the game for a long time. Just let him play football without the added responsibility. Makes sense to me. I wish him all the best.

22-01-2017, 02:03 PM
There's a new sheriff in town hawthorn .

22-01-2017, 02:04 PM
Unless Jarryd asked for the captaincy I don't understand the logic behind this. The bloke is coming back from a life threatening condition and has been out of the game for a long time. Just let him play football without the added responsibility. Makes sense to me. I wish him all the best.

Great that he's coming back ( hopefully the team is crap) but making him captain ? Not sure about that

22-01-2017, 09:32 PM

Hawthotn traded their current captain and his obvious replacement. Roughie is the next obvious replacement but I agree he has enough on his plate without the captaincy.

22-01-2017, 10:59 PM
Hawthotn traded their current captain and his obvious replacement. Roughie is the next obvious replacement but I agree he has enough on his plate without the captaincy.

2016 Captain - Good Bloke Hodgy is still there.

Makes even more bizarre to burden Roughy.

23-01-2017, 07:31 AM
2016 Captain - Good Bloke Hodgy is still there.

Makes even more bizarre to burden Roughy.

I thought of him but he doesn't seem to be Hawthorn's favorite player at the moment for some reason.

23-01-2017, 07:41 AM
Although I'm really, really chuffed for Roughead and should point out that all of this is academic in comparison to health, has anyone stopped to think that his appointment as captain is an indirect compliment to us? Hawthorn see us ( quite rightly) as the one to chase and have made the change of captain with us squarely in mind? This, I believe is because of:

1. The 'symbolism' of the Bont's obliteration of Hodge in the elimination of Hawthorn; and
2. The fact that an inspired Dogs will be driven to win another flag for their inspirational captain.

In Hawthorn's shoes, I think they needed the added impetus of Rougead as captain.... Even though it has put an enormous burden on a bloke who's trying to come back from a life threatening illness.

Call me a narcissist, but I think they have an envious eye on us squarely and had us in mind in making the decision.

23-01-2017, 08:32 AM
Good post Webby. That's pretty much what I meant too.

Plus watching Hodge, their skipper, have his pants pulled down by Bont every time they play against easy other (I get the feeling that Bont really likes beating Hodge) won't do their confidence much good.

23-01-2017, 09:42 AM
On the Friday night before the game, an ex Hawthorn player was at my place doing some garden work. He said he had just got off the phone from Hodge.

Hodge said " I am getting too old for this stuff", I knew we had them that night in the semi final.

23-01-2017, 12:08 PM
The changing of the guard:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VMliXpuyVa0

24-01-2017, 12:51 AM
I can understand people being a bit iffy on Rough being made captain, but realistically, looking at their leadership group, is anyone else a viable option?

Hodge and Gibson will be having swansongs, and I don't think any of Shiels, Stratton, Smith or Gunston are ready for the job.

Losing Mitchell and Lewis the way they did will bite them in the backside in a big way.

24-01-2017, 04:24 AM
I can understand people being a bit iffy on Rough being made captain, but realistically, looking at their leadership group, is anyone else a viable option?

Hodge and Gibson will be having swansongs, and I don't think any of Shiels, Stratton, Smith or Gunston are ready for the job.

Losing Mitchell and Lewis the way they did will bite them in the backside in a big way.

Smith maybe. Who is captain of the vice for them? You'd think he's a good chance of being captain a few times whoever it is.

24-01-2017, 11:10 AM
Talking to Hawthorn supporters I think Shiels is actually the most likely candidate after Roughead.

24-01-2017, 11:53 AM
Although I'm really, really chuffed for Roughead and should point out that all of this is academic in comparison to health, has anyone stopped to think that his appointment as captain is an indirect compliment to us? Hawthorn see us ( quite rightly) as the one to chase and have made the change of captain with us squarely in mind? This, I believe is because of:

1. The 'symbolism' of the Bont's obliteration of Hodge in the elimination of Hawthorn; and
2. The fact that an inspired Dogs will be driven to win another flag for their inspirational captain.

In Hawthorn's shoes, I think they needed the added impetus of Rougead as captain.... Even though it has put an enormous burden on a bloke who's trying to come back from a life threatening illness.

Call me a narcissist, but I think they have an envious eye on us squarely and had us in mind in making the decision.
The Napoleon effect - it was widely regarded that the French army faught as if they had another 10,000 soldiers at their disposal because of the effect Napoleon's presence on the battlefield had on the espirit de corps of the troops.

The Murphy effect was likely a contributing factor last year.
Roughy's appointment seems to be an effort to tap into that.