View Full Version : Game Day Round 19 2015 - Western Bulldogs V Port Adelaide

07-08-2015, 08:27 PM
Margin: Dogs by 16 points - Im a bit nervy for tomorrow

First Goal: Dahl to get the first for us tomorrow

Best On Ground: Bonts to have a great game

08-08-2015, 12:17 PM
Just about to head out for some pre-game lunch, and a little bit worried about today...such an important game and if we win I think we can lock in finals and potentially, a home final.

Dogs by 7 points
First goal - Dickson
BOG - Biggs

08-08-2015, 12:43 PM
Dogs by 14
First: Goal Dickson

BOG: Wood

08-08-2015, 12:51 PM
Dogs by 11
1st Goal: Redpath
BOG: Bont

08-08-2015, 12:55 PM
If we win today, we should finish top 6 and earn the right to a home elimination final at the very least. We are also an outside chance of finishing 4th and a qualifying against Fremantle in Perth. (West Coast would have to lose their next 4 - Swans have a cushy run home after tonight so I can't see us overtaking them).

If we lose today and Geelong beat Sydney we could struggle to make the 8 unless there are some upsets in the run home.

Dogs by 1 point
First goal: Jack Redpath
BOG: Liam Picken

08-08-2015, 01:16 PM
Dogs by 11 points
First goal: Stringer
BOG: Macrae

08-08-2015, 01:33 PM
Agree with others that this will be a tough game to win. If we do then I will be more upbeat about a finals campaign this year.
fingers crossed.
Dogs by 10 pts
Tory to make it 22 in a row
Daniel BOG in front of a SA TV audience

08-08-2015, 02:03 PM
I know its an hour before the game but there is bugger all here at the moment. The train in had a number Bulldogs supporters though. Hopefully everyone is getting lunch before arriving.

08-08-2015, 02:04 PM
Bailey Dale named Sub (Colquhoun for Port).

08-08-2015, 02:23 PM
Dogs by 26
First goal: Stringer
BOG: Picken

08-08-2015, 02:27 PM
Dogs by 71
Grant BOG
FG Wallis

08-08-2015, 02:52 PM
I know its an hour before the game but there is bugger all here at the moment. The train in had a number Bulldogs supporters though. Hopefully everyone is getting lunch before arriving.
20 min before the game and still very sparse.

08-08-2015, 03:00 PM

I got a call up to hospital, so that accounts for me not being there. TV just said a punter just put $10,000 on the dogs to win.

08-08-2015, 03:04 PM
I got a call up to hospital, so that accounts for me not being there. TV just said a punter just put $10,000 on the dogs to win.
Hope everything is ok

08-08-2015, 03:06 PM
Hope everything is ok

Yeah, nothing major this time around. Just a quick trip in and out, all good. Thanks.

08-08-2015, 03:10 PM
Dogs by 28
First goal Crammers
BOG Wally

08-08-2015, 03:12 PM
Just as a novelty I'd like to once not concede a goal in the opening minute!

08-08-2015, 03:25 PM
Intensity levels down early.

Port lead Cont Poss 23-10 , Tackles 11-3 and Clearances 8-2.

Boys flat, need to lift.

08-08-2015, 03:27 PM
Play on 1.5 metres outside the line....

08-08-2015, 03:28 PM
I love you Jarrad.

08-08-2015, 03:30 PM
Our defensive match ups are all over the place.. Need to put some effort into Westhoff and Wingard.

08-08-2015, 03:40 PM

I walked around the 2nd level about 40 minutes before the game and met most of our supporters. :)

08-08-2015, 03:42 PM
The rolling maul the umpires are causing is a blight on this game.

08-08-2015, 03:43 PM
Terrible set up by Bevo at the start of the game. No wonder we got a bit better later on. Our use of the wings at the centre square bounce has cost us.

Can both teams keep up this pace for 4 quarters?

08-08-2015, 03:44 PM
I don't understand why our supporters don't show up to our games. I know its an interstate team we're playing, but both teams play an attacking game and have talent you'd think most fans would like to watch.
Hard to lobby for a blockbuster when people can't turn up on a Saturday arvo.

08-08-2015, 03:45 PM
I walked around the 2nd level about 40 minutes before the game and met most of our supporters. :)

Must have missed me.

Got a photo of Johnno with my pup. Winning.

08-08-2015, 03:45 PM
Terrible set up by Bevo at the start of the game. No wonder we got a bit better later on. Our use of the wings at the centre square bounce has cost us.

We were all over the place.. Having Crameri on the wing was silly, as was Bont off the back end of the square.

Redpath is struggling as our 2nd ruck against a team that has 2 good ruckman.. Which our previous opponents haven't had.

08-08-2015, 03:47 PM
Port definitely jumped us early but our last 10-15 minutes was better. Furious match. Loving Hunter again, his appetite for the contest so much improved.

08-08-2015, 03:48 PM
Cops need to arrest Stringer for theft! :D

08-08-2015, 03:49 PM
Great work Easton Wood!!

08-08-2015, 03:49 PM
Cops need to arrest Stringer for theft! :D

Make that two counts of theft... :D

08-08-2015, 03:54 PM
This forward line is awesome. Loving some of Grants involvements and decision making as well.

08-08-2015, 04:00 PM
Score review conclusive? WTF?

08-08-2015, 04:00 PM
How was that goal overruled?

08-08-2015, 04:03 PM
Grant is everywhere, what a great switch.

08-08-2015, 04:07 PM
Wow. 47-2 since 15 min mark Q1. Playing hard and fast. Great to watch.

08-08-2015, 04:12 PM
Tremendous turnaround, all over them now. Umpires disgraceful.

08-08-2015, 04:17 PM
Magnificent half after a slow start. Wallis, Bont outstanding.

08-08-2015, 04:17 PM
That was some qtr of football.. Brilliant stuff.

08-08-2015, 04:18 PM
Port 2 points what a great quarter

That was some qtr of football.. Brilliant stuff.

Stunning quarter. Possibly the best ever considering the opposition.

What a quarter and a half. Really impressed with the maturity and composure of the team after looking in trouble early.
Gosh Wallis has become a very good player this year.

08-08-2015, 04:19 PM
To think Tom Boyd is still to come into this forward line. :D :D

08-08-2015, 04:19 PM
Why was the goal taken away? Inconclusive my arse!

08-08-2015, 04:20 PM
Stunning quarter. Possibly the best ever considering the opposition.

Left a couple out there too... Could've kicked 10.

The midfield as a group had an outstanding qtr.

08-08-2015, 04:20 PM
Tremendous turnaround, all over them now. Umpires disgraceful.
Agree. Both the field umpire and the goal and goal review umps.
How they could overturn Stringer's goal on such inconclusive footage beggars belief.

08-08-2015, 04:21 PM
Mark Maclure hates the Dogs and has bagged us for decades, but the wrap he is giving us on the radio at present is something else.

08-08-2015, 04:24 PM
Fletcher Roberts and Toby McLean were at the players sponsors area. Our new CEO talked as well. I will post something later today

08-08-2015, 04:25 PM
Apart from one mistake, where he got caught with the ball, Darley has been very good so far.
Jong too has had his moments; probably needs a bit more work on his handball technique which looks a bit shaky.

08-08-2015, 04:27 PM
So I've just seen the score! Are we looking like having their measure today?

08-08-2015, 04:27 PM
Does anyone else think we started to tire late in the quarter or did we just change the tempo?

15 mins of good footy in the 3rd could really set up a big win. Just hope we aren't tiring.

08-08-2015, 04:28 PM
Mark Maclure hates the Dogs and has bagged us for decades, but the wrap he is giving us on the radio at present is something else.
I've had dealings with Maclure through a previous job i had and can confirm his disdain for the Dogs is real too. So it must be hurting him a great deal to give us any sort of praise.

08-08-2015, 04:28 PM
Great quarter after a poor start. Let's kick on with now.

08-08-2015, 04:29 PM
So I've just seen the score! Are we looking like having their measure today?

They had ours for the first 15 minutes in the first quarter

08-08-2015, 04:31 PM
We are 0.2% off 4th position on the live ladder. Win and we get there and see what Geelong does tonight.

08-08-2015, 04:32 PM
Does anyone else think we started to tire late in the quarter or did we just change the tempo?

15 mins of good footy in the 3rd could really set up a big win. Just hope we aren't tiring.

Not sure Gary, Port certainly had some opportunities late, however we did look to be still trying to run the ball out of defense in an attacking manner only to turn the ball over.
Maybe the break came at the right time. We definitely need to hit the ground running early in the 3rd so as to not let Port get a sniff of a change in momentum. A solid 10-15 mins from us and we could break their back and set up a big win.

08-08-2015, 04:35 PM
Essendon outplayed us in the first 15 mins last week too (just couldn't score). The 2 first halves were quite similar really. Lets hope our last half matches last week as well.

Poor startsa worrying trend though.

08-08-2015, 04:38 PM
Can people now get on the Jarrad Grant bandwagon?

Outstanding young fella!!

08-08-2015, 04:44 PM
This is the best attack in the league. Plus Tommy Boyd.

Loving this.

08-08-2015, 04:46 PM
Biggs killing it.

08-08-2015, 04:47 PM
Live ladder = Top 4

08-08-2015, 04:53 PM
Talia been very good.

08-08-2015, 04:55 PM
Grant has in both goal squares, touches, pressure acts, first clutch goal.

King of Etihad. I love him.

08-08-2015, 04:58 PM
No!!!! Stringer injury looks nasty.

08-08-2015, 05:03 PM
Bulldogs currently have 13 players with > 15 possessions. Port have 0 !!!

08-08-2015, 05:08 PM
Bevo should have taken Strjnger off on the first knock

08-08-2015, 05:21 PM
Best game ever?

08-08-2015, 05:22 PM
Commentator on ABC just compared Bont to Pendlebury. Maclure says Bont is better- faster, more powerful.

08-08-2015, 05:23 PM
How good is it going to be to watch Bontempelli for the next 10 years?

08-08-2015, 05:29 PM
Stunning. Speechless. Loving it.

08-08-2015, 05:32 PM
Just an amazing result considering where we were late last year. So many good stories but gee, Bevo might be the best of them. Time to slow it down boys. Well done. Thanks.

08-08-2015, 05:33 PM
Great stuff Big Red to be hitting the scoreboard at last
Coming of age game and has the true belief now that he belongs at this level. :cool:

08-08-2015, 05:34 PM
Redpath making me look silly. Love it.

08-08-2015, 05:34 PM
Redders again!!!.,

08-08-2015, 05:36 PM
Jesus can you still upgrade to Social Club?

08-08-2015, 05:36 PM
Now 4 Last qtr goals.
Somebody hold me down I think I'm hyper ventillating!!!!!!!

08-08-2015, 05:39 PM
With Murph, JJ, Roughy, Roberts, Toyd to be slotted back in!!!

Who would want to be a selector?

08-08-2015, 05:40 PM
Putting teams away. Something we didn't even do through 08-10.

08-08-2015, 05:40 PM
Stringer you bloody beauty!!!!!!!

08-08-2015, 05:41 PM
Ablett Snr like. Freak.

08-08-2015, 05:41 PM
Big Jack with the long bomb to St-ring-GUH!!!

08-08-2015, 05:43 PM
Yes! Yes! Yes!

08-08-2015, 05:44 PM
4th on the ladder boys and girls!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Double their score!

Our 4 main forwards have combined for 14 goals.

There will be coaches Damn nervous about meeting us in September.

08-08-2015, 05:45 PM
Our 4 main forwards have combined for 14 goals.

There will be coaches Damn nervous about meeting us in September.

Boyd, Hrovat and Honey church will be in ripping form if they can take a spot too.

08-08-2015, 05:58 PM
Thoughts on how Biggs and Darley went?

Murph said 6 people told him he'll struggle to get his place back. :D

08-08-2015, 06:00 PM

Both impressed

08-08-2015, 06:12 PM
Great effort boys.

What a season. I was worried when Murph and then JJ were late withdrawals and then they jumped us early. But the coaching staff adjusted really quickly and got a plan in place at got us on top and we never gave up the advantage.

08-08-2015, 06:18 PM

Darley was solid. Biggs was outstanding, gathered 27 possessions and kept Wyngard to 15.

08-08-2015, 06:21 PM
Coming of age game and has the true belief now that he belongs at this level. :cool:

Loved the 1 on 1 wrestling mark

Jesus can you still upgrade to Social Club?

Not for much longer I don't reckon :D

Both generated plenty of run but both made a few errors, probably Darley moreso than Biggs

What's most impressive is we're not playing perfect footy, we're making a few mistakes but generating so many opportunities that it's paying off

08-08-2015, 06:21 PM
Darley was solid. Biggs was outstanding, gathered 27 possessions and kept Wyngard to 15.

Biggs was Glibee like today.

08-08-2015, 06:23 PM
A complete team performance. Congratulations and thanks to all involved. Matthew Boyd - "The Ringmaster".

08-08-2015, 06:23 PM
Can people now get on the Jarrad ;)Grant bandwagon?

Outstanding young fella!!

I've been on it all year BT!!!!;)
Just pumping up the tyres waiting for more to jump on. ;)
And reinforcing the roof rack. HEH HEH

08-08-2015, 06:25 PM
Just woke up to the good...GREAT...news in a campsite in Edinburgh. Now I'm just hanging out for somewhere I can sit with WiFi for two hours and watch the game!

I see that Redpath kicked four in the last quarter. How was he for the rest of the day? I'm really glad he's been given this extended run at it, and if he can start kicking straight then he's ticking a lot of boxes.

Great to hear that Biggs/Darley were able to effectively replace Murphy and JJ (what was the reason for his withdrawal?).

Also read about 'Stringers injury'. I hope that's nothing serious?? Can someone explain?

08-08-2015, 07:14 PM

Last week I saw a calm look in the boys faces after the win. No over the top celebrating. They have bigger fish they want to fry, but they're not getting ahead of themselves. Well done coaching team

08-08-2015, 07:17 PM
I love this club!

08-08-2015, 07:18 PM
Just woke up to the good...GREAT...news in a campsite in Edinburgh. Now I'm just hanging out for somewhere I can sit with WiFi for two hours and watch the game!

I see that Redpath kicked four in the last quarter. How was he for the rest of the day? I'm really glad he's been given this extended run at it, and if he can start kicking straight then he's ticking a lot of boxes.

Great to hear that Biggs/Darley were able to effectively replace Murphy and JJ (what was the reason for his withdrawal?).

Also read about 'Stringers injury'. I hope that's nothing serious?? Can someone explain?

JJ was a withdrawal on Friday due to hamstring tightness. Blessing in disguise and allowed Hamling to come in, who will be important for the remainder of the season.

Stringer was crunched by REdpath and looked to have an arm / shoulder injury. Went off and came back on. Then he kicked a goal over his head and landed on the same arm / shoulder again looked very ginger. SHould have been subbed first time around.

08-08-2015, 07:47 PM
As I mentioned earlier in the day the players sponsors area had 3 guests. Fletcher Roberts, Toby McLean and David Stevenson

Roberts ran 9km at training early today and said if he gets through the sessions during the week he should be picked for the VFL side next week where the aim would be to play about 80% of game. After that he would be hopeful to return to the seniors.
Asked about the toughest opponents he nominated Nick Riewoldt because of his huge aerobic capacity. He said even when Riewoldt is fatigued he will still push hard to contests.
Roberts confirmed he isn't a natural runner and needs to get a lot better with his own aerobic capacity. Given he isn't a great runner he tries hard to work on running the angles efficiently so that he doesn't have to cover as much ground. It's a priority for him to improve in that area.
McLean is progressing well and hopes to be back by the end of the month. He said it was a massive adjustment to go from training twice a week last year to almost daily sessions. He might do a Uni course next year but is currently undertaking a self improvement programme the AFL offers. Nice young bloke.

Stevenson was upbeat and and said his number one priority is to develop a strategic plan to take the club forward.
He's an impressive executive and I think in time he will also be able to attract additional sponsors.

08-08-2015, 08:06 PM
Thoroughly enjoyable game to watch and another even performance at a very high standard from the 22. Post game the fans that gathered really experienced this collective surge in belief, made tangible by the BULLDOGS! chant that went up. The train to the Promised Land started taking passengers a few hours ago. ALL ABOARD!

08-08-2015, 08:23 PM
Wonderful day today. I remember saying to my mates that "it's good to be good again". I know there's a long road ahead and frustration is just around the corner, but watching this team develop takes me back to 2005, 2006 and 2008 all over again.

Port suffered with their rotations and you could see that only one team was going to be able to maintain any reasonable level of intensity and it was us.

It was good to see Redpath do some strong key forward things today, and if he can take his opportunities earlier in games he'll be in a good space.

The rest of the team were great, and I was really happy with Biggs and Darley all they could to mask the considerable gaps left by Murphy and JJ.

Talia didn't let himself down with clangers, and accounted for himself reasonably.

Wallis and Bont really did show why they are so important to our ascendency in the middle of the ground. Whey they work hard, get the upper hand and take control we look immeasurably better as a team.

08-08-2015, 08:41 PM
Another great day at the footy and loved playing at home at Etihad at 2:10pm. Just a great team effort.

I thought, Dickson, Wallis, Bonts, Hunter, Stringer did really well today. Our run through the middle at times is top notch and our ability to hit targets was great and we didn't dissapoint.

08-08-2015, 08:41 PM
Thoroughly enjoyable game to watch and another even performance at a very high standard from the 22. Post game the fans that gathered really experienced this collective surge in belief, made tangible by the BULLDOGS! chant that went up. The train to the Promised Land started taking passengers a few hours ago. ALL ABOARD!

Tickets please,Tickets please,
Thank-you.

08-08-2015, 08:44 PM

Yep quite a few on my train too on the Belgrave line. Yep agree the crowd was down. Between 20K-21K in today.

08-08-2015, 08:48 PM
Wonderful win. We've really put together a strong list. I was really concerned going into this one. Murphy and JJ were big outs but we've had guys just come in and fill these voids all season. Really happy for Redpath. I talked about him a couple of weeks ago saying he was so close, he just needed to start putting some scores on the board. Great to see him get a bag, players flocked to him when he kicked one from almost 50 so I think it's something that has been playing on him.

How good was the chant after the game!?!

08-08-2015, 10:11 PM
How did others rate Talia's game?

08-08-2015, 10:16 PM

Hard to gauge. When ball is in hand it is massive heart in mouth stuff. I actually wonder if he is fit enough?

08-08-2015, 10:28 PM

Below average... Lost body contact in a number of 1 on 1 battles which meant he was beaten in those duels.

He did some nice things, but we have seen little in the last 3 weeks to show that he is in our best 22.

08-08-2015, 10:56 PM

I thought he looked pretty good today.

08-08-2015, 11:16 PM
I thought he held up ok today but he was assisted greatly by a good midfield defensive effort after qtr time.

09-08-2015, 12:51 AM

He was good, outmarked a couple of times which seems to be his weakness but a lot of spoils too and got involved in rebounding out of defense with 9 marks and 24 touches, used it well

09-08-2015, 08:46 AM
I don't understand why our supporters don't show up to our games. I know its an interstate team we're playing, but both teams play an attacking game and have talent you'd think most fans would like to watch.
Hard to lobby for a blockbuster when people can't turn up on a Saturday arvo.
Even my missus, who avoids the footy where she can get away with it, wanted to see this match. It shows that the last few crowds have been supplemented significantly by playing Collingwood/Essendon/etc and we've still got work to do on attendance.

Commentator on ABC just compared Bont to Pendlebury. Maclure says Bont is better- faster, more powerful.
When we played Collibgwood, Pendles did something brilliant and a Pies fan behind me jokingly said to me, “He's almost Bontempelli-like isn't he?”

Below average... Lost body contact in a number of 1 on 1 battles which meant he was beaten in those duels.

He did some nice things, but we have seen little in the last 3 weeks to show that he is in our best 22.
I'd agree. Gets out bodied, looks frustrated most of the time and not happy to be there.

09-08-2015, 09:14 AM
He was good, outmarked a couple of times which seems to be his weakness but a lot of spoils too and got involved in rebounding out of defense with 9 marks and 24 touches, used it well

If Roberts is right will he hold his spot?

09-08-2015, 09:23 AM

Roberts or Roughy.

09-08-2015, 11:21 AM
Couldn't believe reading the votes for our match in The Age this morning.

Jesse Stringer 7 votes. :mad:

09-08-2015, 12:19 PM

Put it this way. Hawthorn used Angus Litherland to replace injured and suspended defenders last year and barely skipped a beat on the way to a premiership. I'm not sure Talia is better than Litherland, but if the Beveridge team defence holds up it may not matter.

09-08-2015, 06:21 PM
Put it this way. Hawthorn used Angus Litherland to replace injured and suspended defenders last year and barely skipped a beat on the way to a premiership. I'm not sure Talia is better than Litherland, but if the Beveridge team defence holds up it may not matter.

I thought Talia played ok. He didn't make many glaring mistakes and kept the opposition scoring down. He still needs to learn alot more and as Mantis said, needs to know how to use body on body to his advantage. A long way to go but slowly progressing

09-08-2015, 06:31 PM
I thought Biggs was everywhere but he made a few basic mistakes.

09-08-2015, 06:35 PM

We can forgive him for the odd mistake, overall he was very good.

09-08-2015, 07:05 PM

I agree, got a lot of the ball but turned the ball over a lot too. I thought he was better last week and wouldn't be disappointed to see him make way for Murphy/JJ this week.

09-08-2015, 08:09 PM
Couldn't believe reading the votes for our match in The Age this morning.

Jesse Stringer 7 votes. :mad:
Are you upset because you thought Brad Boyd was better? Or that The Age thought Brad Boyd and Dale Morris were the same player?

09-08-2015, 08:18 PM

One thing I took note of at the start of the year was how his body work had improved. I didn't really take much notice of him closely like you did yesterday but disappointing that it's dropped off. One thing I do notice when the ball is near or in hand he looks worried, I really think he's struggling with confidence right now. He's not a player I've given up on, I think he can still make it.

09-08-2015, 08:20 PM

Probably not, Roberts is probably a better matchup for Dawes, Talia for the more athletic types

09-08-2015, 08:49 PM
Are you upset because you thought Brad Boyd was better? Or that The Age thought Brad Boyd and Dale Morris were the same player?

Was watching some Brisbane Lions footy flashback last week on Fox Footy, lo and behold a Marcus Picken did exist :p

09-08-2015, 09:24 PM
All I need is the air that I breathe and to replay the game, after seeing it with my son.

09-08-2015, 10:56 PM
I think our game contained a moment which will definitely make "The 10." The one where the Port guy kicking in dropped the ball out of the goal square and then from the resulting ball up Ryder taps the ball straight over the line giving away a free kick at goal. Oh the schadenfreude!

09-08-2015, 11:15 PM
One thing I took note of at the start of the year was how his body work had improved. I didn't really take much notice of him closely like you did yesterday but disappointing that it's dropped off. One thing I do notice when the ball is near or in hand he looks worried, I really think he's struggling with confidence right now. He's not a player I've given up on, I think he can still make it.

To me he looks like a player who's been taken back down to earth forcefully and is still trying to deal with it mentally.

He was given a little bit of leeway early in the year but was made to pay his dues for the second time in his career as a result of the mistakes in positioning he makes time and again and for his brain farts. In my view he's been treated fairly reasonably in his return stint.

If the rumours of him cracking the shits are true I hope he appreciates the opportunities he's been given in this second stint.

09-08-2015, 11:50 PM

Just watched the replay and had a good look at Talia. He does lose contact with his direct opponent a little too often for my liking and also doesn't read the ball in the air as well as the likes of Hamling and Roberts. He is a pretty good depth key defender to be fair, which is exactly what he is at the moment with the injuries we have down back.

Gee that was an impressive performance by the team yesterday, although the opposition was extremely poor with their two-way running. We monstered them on the spread and also won the inside contest decisively. The no.1 ruck role is now Tom Campbell's to lose - he worked extremely hard at the ruck contest and also when the ball hit the deck. Our midfield and forward line are both working so well, and we transition back into defensive mode when the opposition get the ball as well as anyone.

11-08-2015, 04:17 PM
The no.1 ruck role is now Tom Campbell's to lose - he worked extremely hard at the ruck contest and also when the ball hit the deck. Our midfield and forward line are both working so well, and we transition back into defensive mode when the opposition get the ball as well as anyone.

Agreed. I've been a fan of Campbell's for a while and was eagerly anticipating him being given a block of games to prove his worth. He's getting better each week, with a lot of room for improvement in many areas of his game. It's a really good sign. One thing that does concern me are his shoulders - he doesn't appear to be as strong above his head as he was pre-shoulder op. Hopefully it improves.

When Roughy comes back where does he play? TC as first ruck, Roughy as a key defender/second ruck?

11-08-2015, 05:27 PM
Agreed. I've been a fan of Campbell's for a while and was eagerly anticipating him being given a block of games to prove his worth. He's getting better each week, with a lot of room for improvement in many areas of his game. It's a really good sign. One thing that does concern me are his shoulders - he doesn't appear to be as strong above his head as he was pre-shoulder op. Hopefully it improves.

I've noticed it too. His real strength has always been his overhead marking but it hasn't been as good this season and he looks to be favouring his shoulder. If he can get himself right I've always thought he could be a weapon.

11-08-2015, 05:53 PM
Just watched the replay and had a good look at Talia. He does lose contact with his direct opponent a little too often for my liking and also doesn't read the ball in the air as well as the likes of Hamling and Roberts. He is a pretty good depth key defender to be fair, which is exactly what he is at the moment with the injuries we have down back.

He plays too loose for mine as well and is often found marking his opponent 10 or so metres too far to the front. They get him out the back a bit too often. I've never understood standing that far in front of your opponent. I get the premise i.e. being able to cut the angle in order to affect the spoil but the long kick is the risk with this strategy.