Sat, Aug 22 Gold Coast vs Essendon Metricon Stadium 4.35pm 4.35pm Foxtel

Sat, Aug 22 St Kilda vs Geelong Etihad Stadium 7.20pm 7.20pm Seven

Sat, Aug 22 Adelaide vs Brisbane Adelaide Oval 7.10pm 7.40pm Foxtel

Sun, Aug 23 North Melbourne vs Fremantle Etihad Stadium 1.10pm 1.10pm Foxtel

Sun, Aug 23 Carlton vs Melbourne MCG 3.20pm 3.20pm Seven

Sun, Aug 23 West Coast vs Western Bulldogs Domain Stadium 2.40pm 4.40pm Foxtel

21-08-2015, 08:12 PM
Thanks for doing these threads each week Easty. I'm sure I speak for us all.

21-08-2015, 08:26 PM
Thanks for doing these threads each week Easty. I'm sure I speak for us all.

No probs BT happy to help out where I can. Started working this year but I'm still committed to the Dawg Squad forum :)

Go Bulldogs!

21-08-2015, 10:21 PM
Hodge is an aggresive thug

21-08-2015, 10:24 PM
...and Wingard is a gun.

21-08-2015, 10:25 PM

Should get 2 weeks

21-08-2015, 10:27 PM
Yep. I'd love him though.

Port doing a great job. Hawks flat.

21-08-2015, 10:27 PM

...and Wingard is a gun.

Enough said.

21-08-2015, 10:33 PM
Brian subbed out third quarter

Doesn't look good for a new contract

21-08-2015, 11:10 PM
Hawks looked slow all night

21-08-2015, 11:16 PM
Monfries with the winning coach killer. Little goal hogging wannabe nuffy. What utter selfish stupidity that could cost them the game. Even I'm annoyed by it.

21-08-2015, 11:23 PM
Monfries with the winning coach killer. Little goal hogging wannabe nuffy. What utter selfish stupidity that could cost them the game. Even I'm annoyed by it.

Agree. But seeing AhChee kick the next goal whilst ignoring Monfries in the goal square was funny.

21-08-2015, 11:24 PM
Hard to believe that's the same team we obliterated at the same ground 2 weeks ago.

Have heard some naysayers querying the quality of our opposition of late.....

21-08-2015, 11:28 PM
If we win on Sunday we are level on points with them but still way behind on %.

21-08-2015, 11:29 PM
Very unimpressive the Hawks

21-08-2015, 11:31 PM
We could be 2 points from a home prelim by the end of this round ;)

21-08-2015, 11:41 PM
Port's last 5 games.

Beat Essendon by 13. Beat St Kilda by 63. Lost to us by 64. Beat GWS by 21. Beat Hawthorn by 22.

21-08-2015, 11:44 PM
If we win on Sunday we are level on points with them but still way behind on %.

Depends how much we win by :) :)

21-08-2015, 11:46 PM
Gee Hawthorn's defence now looks vulnerable.

21-08-2015, 11:47 PM
Depends how much we win by :) :)

Yes if we win by 200 you never know :)

21-08-2015, 11:47 PM
Great performance, but terribly frustrating for Hinkley and their fan base.
Hawthorn were terrible, and looked old .
Ryder is a ruckman only, and Chadly is a star.
Gutless from Hodge, but what was more galling was the defence of " Hodgey"
By his gush ness Bruce mcaveney

21-08-2015, 11:56 PM

They are old

21-08-2015, 11:58 PM
Surely he gets suspended for at least 2. Even if it's only marked as careless conduct (It was deliberate) to the head he has an existing bad record and (I assume) carryover points.

22-08-2015, 12:03 AM

Agree on all points.

The Hawks looked like their attitude was bordering on hubris, particularly the way they back chatted the umpires and threw themselves about the place when things didn't go their way. Having their crowd being the biggest bunch of sooks made the Port win enjoyable to me.

Ling after the game was aggressively suggesting Free Pass Hodgy didn't mean to crunch Wingard into the post, in the face of clear evidence that suggested he did. His eyes lit up like a Christmas tree when he saw an opportunity to hurt the Chad.

Bruce did his best to ruin a fairly enjoyable game. Why he insists on using nicknames for everyone is beyond me. I mean, who the *!*!*!*! is he to be calling Paul Puopolo "Poppy"?

22-08-2015, 12:04 AM
Was a stupid bump by Hodge. The gritting of teeth before hand suggests it was malicious and he has form.
Wish I'd placed a bet. $10 outsiders.

Bevo can use Port's effort on tape as an example to our young lads.

22-08-2015, 12:10 AM
Should get 2 weeks

For all the good he does on the field he let's the team down again and again with selfish aggressive acts.

22-08-2015, 12:24 AM
For all the good he does on the field he let's the team down again and again with selfish aggressive acts.

But he's Hodgy! You know he's a good guy because nobody on Channel Seven uses either of his full names any more!

What was the attendance tonight?

22-08-2015, 01:07 AM
But he's Hodgy! You know he's a good guy because nobody on Channel Seven uses either of his full names any more!

What was the attendance tonight?

CH 7 were terrible re. his defence. So out of touch of what is considered appropriate.

22-08-2015, 02:38 AM
On the coverage they were saying, other than Brisbane 2004, the team Hawthorn fielded tonight was the oldest in history.

The 2004 Brisbane team was great, but they did fall away very quickly once the era was over.

Hawks have been made to look old and slow 2 weeks in the last 4.

With a running division built around Mitchell, 33, Hodge, 31, Lewis, 29, Burgoyne, 33, they are starting to look quite vulnerable.

So exciting for us. All of the teams above us look quite beatable.

22-08-2015, 03:23 AM
On the coverage they were saying, other than Brisbane 2004, the team Hawthorn fielded tonight was the oldest in history.

The 2004 Brisbane team was great, but they did fall away very quickly once the era was over.

Hawks have been made to look old and slow 2 weeks in the last 4
With a running division built around Mitchell, 33, Hodge, 31, Lewis, 29, Burgoyne, 33, they are starting to look quite vulnerable.

So exciting for us. All of the teams above us look quite beatable.

Reckon we'd take the three flags in 7 years though

22-08-2015, 07:44 AM
Reckon we'd take the three flags in 7 years though

We just might...

22-08-2015, 08:32 AM
This year is wide open.

22-08-2015, 08:41 AM
I hope Hodge gets a few weeks for his hit on Wingard. He's potentially saved by the fact Wingard was able to play on and have an impact.

Ended up a great win for Port, but it must be incredibly frustrating knowing they can still turn in such strong performances but have really wasted a chance this year. They'll turn it around in 2016 I'm sure.

22-08-2015, 09:32 AM
agree on all points.

The hawks looked like their attitude was bordering on hubris, particularly the way they back chatted the umpires and threw themselves about the place when things didn't go their way. Having their crowd being the biggest bunch of sooks made the port win enjoyable to me.

Ling after the game was aggressively suggesting free pass hodgy didn't mean to crunch wingard into the post, in the face of clear evidence that suggested he did. His eyes lit up like a christmas tree when he saw an opportunity to hurt the chad.

Bruce did his best to ruin a fairly enjoyable game. Why he insists on using nicknames for everyone is beyond me. I mean, who the *!*!*!*! Is he to be calling paul puopolo "poppy"?

i haaaaaaaaaaaate macavaney.

22-08-2015, 10:22 AM
Ended up a great win for Port, but it must be incredibly frustrating knowing they can still turn in such strong performances but have really wasted a chance this year. They'll turn it around in 2016 I'm sure.
Only if they bring the same defensive intent that they brought to last night's game. That's been their biggest problem in 2015 - too much one-way running.

22-08-2015, 10:37 AM
I hope Hodge gets a few weeks for his hit on Wingard. He's potentially saved by the fact Wingard was able to play on and have an impact.
But Hodgey is a good bloke - you can have a beer with him. That's all the criteria the Ch.7 commentators/lemmings need to know to give Hodge the benefit of the doubt that he didn't deliberately crush Wingard's head into the point post with his hip. It's not like he has any previous form with cheap shots :rolleyes:

22-08-2015, 11:15 AM
Hodge has to get a decent suspension for that. In the context of players getting 2-4 weeks for "rough conduct" surely a deliberate attack on a bloke's head in one of the most vulnerable positions on the ground, successfully making high contact deserves a hefty suspension.

Deliberate, dangerous, high and unsportsmanlike.

22-08-2015, 11:40 AM
successfully making high contact

Wingard was KO'd, got the "praise jesus" arms up on the way down. Remarkable he was able to bounce back so quickly

22-08-2015, 12:55 PM
Hodge has always been a thug first and foremost. It's a scandal the tribunal have never recognised it. He also happens to be one of the best modern footballers but that should not mitigate the acknowledgement of his violence.
I hope Hawthorn sink like the Blues and Bombers because of their domination of the comp since '61:
1961, 1971, 1976, 1978, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1991, 2008, 2013, 2014.
Hawthorn has nearly strangled the comp like Hodge hard noses opponents. Well done but enough is enough.

22-08-2015, 03:02 PM
Hodge has always been a thug first and foremost. It's a scandal the tribunal have never recognised it. He also happens to be one of the best modern footballers but that should not mitigate the acknowledgement of his violence.
I hope Hawthorn sink like the Blues and Bombers because of their domination of the comp since '61:
1961, 1971, 1976, 1978, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1991, 2008, 2013, 2014.
Hawthorn has nearly strangled the comp like Hodge hard noses opponents. Well done but enough is enough.

Any team would have Hodge. He's a very good player who has an angry pill now and then. Not sure that makes him a thug, like Baker, Brown or other out-and-out thugs.

22-08-2015, 03:25 PM
Any team would have Hodge. He's a very good player who has an angry pill now and then. Not sure that makes him a thug, like Baker, Brown or other out-and-out thugs.

Free Pass Hodgy is dirtier than most. By a stretch.

I look forward to him being booed incessantly in the coming weeks because of the clearly dirty acts he has committed this year. That's why we boo folks isn't it?

22-08-2015, 03:52 PM
These Sat arvo games not panning out for us at this stage. Rich piling on % against a distinctly disinterested looking Coll and Swans up early against Giants. Thought Giants looked okay in general play after getting smashed early in stoppages, hopefully their run can get them back into the game.

22-08-2015, 04:36 PM

The only thing that separates Hodge from Baker and Brown is footballing talent.

He's a better player, so he gets away with more.

22-08-2015, 04:50 PM
Hodge has to get a decent suspension for that. In the context of players getting 2-4 weeks for "rough conduct" surely a deliberate attack on a bloke's head in one of the most vulnerable positions on the ground, successfully making high contact deserves a hefty suspension.

Deliberate, dangerous, high and unsportsmanlike.

Counterpoint: Hodgeyyy

22-08-2015, 05:18 PM
Free Pass Hodgy is dirtier than most. By a stretch.

I look forward to him being booed incessantly in the coming weeks because of the clearly dirty acts he has committed this year. That's why we boo folks isn't it?

And if they do it will simply be because they're racist, no matter how much they won't admit it.

22-08-2015, 05:18 PM
Dear GWS,

You shit me.

Regards

22-08-2015, 05:27 PM
What about Collingwood
Gee thanks for that
Buckley under pressure now

22-08-2015, 06:20 PM
Bloody hell, two main ladder opponents have 90 point wins...

22-08-2015, 06:24 PM
Essendon feeling a Hird-free high and leading Goldtoast. Come on Eade-coast.

22-08-2015, 06:35 PM

Gonna have to do the job ourselves.

22-08-2015, 06:38 PM
Gonna have to do the job ourselves.
Appears so.

22-08-2015, 06:52 PM
Yep, no favours whatsoever from Collingwood and GWS. Collingwood especially were disgraceful in that 2nd half.

22-08-2015, 06:54 PM
Last night on AFL they were talking about players having X number of 'score launches' What the hell is that exactly? Never read that before. I can kind of guess what it is I suppose.

22-08-2015, 06:59 PM

22-08-2015, 07:00 PM
Last night on AFL they were talking about players having X number of 'score launches' What the hell is that exactly? Never read that before. I can kind of guess what it is I suppose.

Yeah, I've noticed that term enter the vernacular recently as well.

Don't know for sure but I presume it to be the player that wins the first possession in a scoring chain, effectively the clearance or the turnover.

22-08-2015, 07:07 PM
I think it's pretty embarrassing that ANZAC day is played by two clubs that have had drug problems and are both a mess.
Essendon are pulling less crowd than us and could be a shambles for the next ten years .. How's the AFL going to promote this game ?
I find it quite puzzling that the AFL wants an even competition and teams to go up and down but cements certain teams to certain games .. I think ANZAC day should be the grand finalists from the year before, that way it's earned and the AFL has at least two decent teams in that game.

22-08-2015, 07:41 PM
I think it's pretty embarrassing that ANZAC day is played by two clubs that have had drug problems and are both a mess.
Essendon are pulling less crowd than us and could be a shambles for the next ten years .. How's the AFL going to promote this game ?
I find it quite puzzling that the AFL wants an even competition and teams to go up and down but cements certain teams to certain games .. I think ANZAC day should be the grand finalists from the year before, that way it's earned and the AFL has at least two decent teams in that game.

I think the thing is that the AFL don't really want an even competition. They need 18 teams, but outside of a handful of Victorian clubs the rest of us could be anyone. That's just the harsh reality.

22-08-2015, 08:19 PM
Marty Egan said he was going to bring the fun back to footy. True to his word, that was fun. In a laughing at them, not with them, kind of way.

22-08-2015, 08:25 PM
Marty Egan said he was going to bring the fun back to footy. True to his word, that was fun. In a laughing at them, not with them, kind of way.

What's he on about? Essendon have been barrels of fun all year. He's kept it up today though. Kudos :) :)

22-08-2015, 08:58 PM
I just watched the worst 5 minutes of footy I've ever seen in the match between the Crows and Lions.

22-08-2015, 09:32 PM
Come on St Kilda, you big tease

22-08-2015, 09:43 PM
Come on St Kilda, you big tease

Tomorrow will have much more of a free hit feel about it if our top 8 spot is already assured

22-08-2015, 10:10 PM
Stevie J must be the most unlikable player going around.

22-08-2015, 10:45 PM
Jeez, I'm more nervous watching this than our own games

22-08-2015, 10:55 PM
Book your finals tickets ;)

22-08-2015, 10:55 PM
Draw

22-08-2015, 10:57 PM
Geez I hope Jason Dunstall wasn't watching the Saints/Cats game. That Shane Savage dribble kick was a shocker.

22-08-2015, 10:59 PM
Matty Lappin filled in for Gold Coast's VFL team today at 39 years of age.
http://m.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-premiership/video-matthew-skinny-lappin-plays-for-gold-coast-suns-reserves/story-e6frf3e3-1227494404613

22-08-2015, 11:25 PM
Great day for sealing our place in the finals, but not great for top 4 aspirations

22-08-2015, 11:42 PM
Great day for sealing our place in the finals, but not great for top 4 aspirations
Our top 4 fate is still very much in our hands. West Coke and Norf matches are perfect preparation for September

23-08-2015, 12:03 AM
Just looking at a typical dog pessimism side of things .

23-08-2015, 07:35 AM
Our top 4 fate is still very much in our hands. West Coke and Norf matches are perfect preparation for September

Yep.. It's hard to get a gauge on our form so these games will bring us a good test.

But Port are 4-1 over the past month... There only loss was when we smoked them so we aren't doing too bad.

23-08-2015, 11:58 AM

Indeed! And travelling to Perth so close to finals is also good practice (especially this season)

23-08-2015, 12:40 PM
Gee the nerves are setting in as bad as I can ever remember for a home and away game.
Dogs by 25
Bonts first goal
King Wally Best

23-08-2015, 12:49 PM
Wrong thread Strebla.

23-08-2015, 12:57 PM
Wrong thread Strebla.

That's how nervous he is;)

23-08-2015, 01:28 PM
My apologies everyone

23-08-2015, 02:57 PM
Good start by the Dockers. Hope they keep it going

23-08-2015, 04:14 PM
There were dozens on WOOF hoping Ben Brown would be picked by the club a few years back. There's probably more now.

23-08-2015, 04:18 PM
The *!*!*!*!ing Roos. 1 point to the Dockers in the last

23-08-2015, 04:40 PM
There were dozens on WOOF hoping Ben Brown would be picked by the club a few years back. There's probably more now.

Matt Fuller must have shown a bit for us to overlook Brown. Likely type BB.

23-08-2015, 04:48 PM
Thanks for nothing Ross.

23-08-2015, 04:53 PM
Have mixed feelings. Sure would prefer North lost, but does reinforce that these other top 4 teams are travelling fairly poorly, which has to be pleasing for us.

Carlton 30 points up against Melb, on the way to losing the #1 draft pick??

23-08-2015, 05:14 PM
15 Minutes into the second. Melbourne, 7 disposals for this quarter. They have really gone backwards.

23-08-2015, 05:25 PM
Memo Paul Roos:

When you state publicly that your team has had enough for the year and is thinking about the holidays, they may be a bit flat the next week.

Sheesh.

23-08-2015, 05:26 PM
15 Minutes into the second. Melbourne, 7 disposals for this quarter. They have really gone backwards.

Tanking

23-08-2015, 07:21 PM
Kreuzer is a gun when fit and ready

24-08-2015, 01:09 AM
Kreuzer is a gun when fit and ready

He is, big risk but would love him. Likely to re-sign you'd think.

24-08-2015, 04:49 PM
Hodge given two by MRP

25-08-2015, 09:26 AM
Hodge given two by MRP

The MRP system is really incapable of delivering a satisfying result in these scenarios where the action is quite cynical and unsportsmanlike. Hodge should have been lambasted for his shit effort. Instead we had people celebrating his courage and an MRP panelist speaking out of turn to indicate he would be unlikely to get a severe penalty before they had even met to adjudicate.

25-08-2015, 12:29 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CNFnII6UwAA87fj.png

25-08-2015, 12:32 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CNIa8PRVAAAfyMB.png

25-08-2015, 01:51 PM
These teams are whack.

Josh Hill gets a gig for his game on Sunday, but not Kennedy, Naitanui, Priddis or Gaff.

Spare me.