View Full Version : We're in the finals!

22-08-2015, 10:56 PM
Shane Savage you star!

22-08-2015, 10:57 PM
No more rooting! Sorry T&T. :D

22-08-2015, 10:58 PM
No more rooting! Sorry T&T. :D

We can root for 4th or home final.

What do you prefer a home final at Eithad and a certain win, or go to Perth?

22-08-2015, 11:00 PM

Momentum is everything. Give me a home final at Etihad.

22-08-2015, 11:00 PM

Adelaide at Etihad was pretty good earlier this year. But I'm not choosy :D

22-08-2015, 11:01 PM
Shane Savage you star!

That dribble kick was ridiculous.

22-08-2015, 11:02 PM
Hate the dribble kick

22-08-2015, 11:05 PM
What if....

Geelong win their last two games by HEAPS and HEAPS and HEAPS
We lose our last 3 games by HEAPS and HEAPS and HEAPS
Crows beat Eagles

We are gawnski

22-08-2015, 11:06 PM
Still not mathematical certainties, but of course 20% points the cats need to make up, we're pretty much in!

22-08-2015, 11:07 PM
What if....

Crows beat Eagles

We are gawnski

21.4% clear. Happy to lock it in :D

22-08-2015, 11:08 PM
How could anyone take a home final over top 4?

Top 4 guarantees a home final, either 2nd or 3rd week, whereas even if you win home EF final week 1, you are away 2nd week.

22-08-2015, 11:10 PM
How could anyone take a home final over top 4?

Top 4 guarantees a home final, either 2nd or 3rd week, whereas even if you win home EF final week 1, you are away 2nd week.

I think we are saying that who cares, finals baby? Let's just keep winning and the roller coaster finishes wherever it finishes. :)

22-08-2015, 11:13 PM
Congratulations WOOFERS! We did it against all odds.

22-08-2015, 11:19 PM
Hard to believe with such a young side.

22-08-2015, 11:20 PM
What if....

Crows beat Eagles

We are gawnski

Can happen except I can't see Geelong thrashing Adelaide who also want to play finals. Brisbane would also have to flog us.

All academic after we show the Eagles how to play football tomorrow :D

22-08-2015, 11:26 PM
We are about 320 points ahead of Geelong. We could lose our last 3 games by 10 goals, and Geelong win their last 2 games by 10 goals, and we would still be ahead of them.

22-08-2015, 11:29 PM
I think we are saying that who cares, finals baby? Let's just keep winning and the roller coaster finishes wherever it finishes. :)

Nope. We are too long suffering to accept mediocrity, Bevo wouldn't, neither would the players and neither should we. Go for the jugular and beat WC tomorrow get top 4 go over week 1 and do it again. I'm starting to think anything is possible with these blokes to be honest.

22-08-2015, 11:38 PM
Nope. We are too long suffering to accept mediocrity, Bevo wouldn't, neither would the players and neither should we. Go for the jugular and beat WC tomorrow get top 4 go over week 1 and do it again. I'm starting to think anything is possible with these blokes to be honest.
Too serious. But it's hardly mediocrity, as if we keep winning we win a premiership... :)

22-08-2015, 11:56 PM
Too serious. But it's hardly mediocrity, as if we keep winning we win a premiership... :)

Being happy with an EF over a QF is accepting mediocrity IMO. We've been great this year no two ways about it even if we lose the next three, but I'm expecting to win them.

23-08-2015, 12:01 AM
No ceiling

23-08-2015, 12:02 AM
Worth reflecting that this will be our 12th season of finals in the past 24 seasons.

So for a quarter of a century we are a 50/50 chance of finals, better than most clubs.

We all know the 60s/70s/80s history where finals were all too rare. Like a lot of us, I grew up through a lot of it.

The football world still has us in that box of strugglers for whom finals are an anomaly.

We are no longer that "struggling" club. We are a club that has, against the odds, achieved a period of sustained competitiveness.

These next few years are our time to turn that competitiveness into ultimate success.

23-08-2015, 12:05 AM
No ceiling

No ceiling. No better time to knock these guys over.

23-08-2015, 12:48 AM
Well done doggies. It's time we can now officially blow that lid right off!
Now lets celebrate by handing those eagles a right belting.

23-08-2015, 01:04 AM
Worth reflecting that this will be our 12th season of finals in the past 24 seasons.

So for a quarter of a century we are a 50/50 chance of finals, better than most clubs.

We all know the 60s/70s/80s history where finals were all too rare. Like a lot of us, I grew up through a lot of it.

The football world still has us in that box of strugglers for whom finals are an anomaly.

We are no longer that "struggling" club. We are a club that has, against the odds, achieved a period of sustained competitiveness.

These next few years are our time to turn that competitiveness into ultimate success.

I reckon it was 83 and the debut of about ten really good footballers and a few real champions like Royal, Foster, Wallis, Purser and the build up to 85 adding good players again each year until we had a gun team. Even though we had a few lean years after that in the early '90s we began making finals more regularly.

23-08-2015, 01:19 AM
I remember 83 well TD, was a ripping year after the horrors of 81 and 82.

I remember us stringing together a bunch of wins early on that just felt ecstatic.

In the first few rounds we beat both of the previous years grand finalists, Carlton & Richmond.

That Richmond game was one of my faves. Massive build up, MCG, biggest Dogs crowd for years and Jimmy Edmond comes out to kick 5 goals in the opening 10 minutes. We have a 10 goal to 0 1st quarter and end up winning by 2 points!!

Great memories.

23-08-2015, 02:10 AM
What a great achievement for our team and first year coach Luke Beveridge. His done a remarkable job with our team. We did the right things looking back now in the off season cutting deep and going for youth and still also keep some experienced heads around (M Boyd, D Morris, R Murphy, L Picken etc) which is very important.

23-08-2015, 02:26 AM

I remember us stringing together a bunch of wins early on that just felt ecstatic.

In the first few rounds we beat both of the previous years grand finalists, Carlton & Richmond.

That Richmond game was one of my faves. Massive build up, MCG, biggest Dogs crowd for years and Jimmy Edmond comes out to kick 5 goals in the opening 10 minutes. We have a 10 goal to 0 1st quarter and end up winning by 2 points!!

Great memories.

It was a good year. We started with a close loss to Geelong then beat Carlton (Grand Finalists the year before), Melbourne, Hawthorn (premiers the year before) and richmond (premiers and Grand Finalists in 80 and 81). We'd won more games in the first five rounds than we had won for the previous two years combined!

23-08-2015, 02:54 AM
It was a good year. We started with a close loss to Geelong then beat Carlton (Grand Finalists the year before), Melbourne, Hawthorn (premiers the year before) and richmond (premiers and Grand Finalists in 80 and 81). We'd won more games in the first five rounds than we had won for the previous two years combined!

Was born in 89 but I think we also started well in the 90 season the year after the great Footscray fightback. I think we were doing ok in 93 as well. 92 will made the finals.

23-08-2015, 09:42 AM

I'd come back from 9 months in Europe, where I'd heard Carlton won the premiership after I hated them because the AFL had allowed them to cheat by breaking the rules to buy Bradley, Motley and Kernahan from SA. I came back to see us play Richmond at MCG and Edmond kick four or so in the first quarter and us eight or so and we were alight, dynamic and potent. It was dream like.
This time around it's more reality like, our time has come I reckon.

23-08-2015, 09:52 AM

Great memories.

It was a good year. The away win to Hawthorn one of the best considering how strong they were. I think they went on to win 8 or 9 on the trot. We lost a string towards the end which really put the breaks on a top 5 result. Imagine what a fit Templeton would have been able to achieve that year! Pity things turned out the way they did re. his injury and the timing of his injury. Even in 1985 a combination of Beasley and Templeton may well have been the difference.

23-08-2015, 08:38 PM
Today was a disaster....missing the finals is now a possibility. It will all come down to the game at the Gabba now.

23-08-2015, 08:45 PM
Today was a disaster....missing the finals is now a possibility. It will all come down to the game at the Gabba now.

here's the ladder with two matches left

We can't miss.

AFL Ladder
P W D L % PTS
1 Fremantle 20 16 0 4 122.20 64
2 West Coast 20 15 1 4 150.80 62
3 Hawthorn 20 14 0 6 154.20 56
4 Sydney 20 14 0 6 118.20 56
5 Richmond 20 13 0 7 120.20 52
6 Bulldogs 20 13 0 7 116.10 52
7 Nth Melbourne 20 13 0 7 110.90 52
8 Adelaide 19 12 0 7 116.40 50
9 Geelong 19 10 1 8 101.80 44
10 Port Adelaide 20 10 0 10 101.20 40
11 GWS Giants 20 10 0 10 95.70 40
12 Collingwood 20 9 0 11 104.20 36
13 St Kilda 20 6 1 13 85.50 26
14 Melbourne 20 6 0 14 76.20 24
15 Essendon 20 5 0 15 73.10 20
16 Gold Coast 20 4 1 15 75.00 18
17 Carlton 20 4 0 16 67.20 16
18 Brisbane 20 3 0 17 66.60 12

23-08-2015, 09:14 PM
So can we miss the finals? Say it isn't so

23-08-2015, 09:17 PM

Adelaide are still a fair chunk of percentage behind

23-08-2015, 09:19 PM
Adelaide are still a fair chunk of percentage behind

They are already in 8th. Only team that can knock us out is Geelong. They are 15% behind us

23-08-2015, 09:22 PM

I think we are pretty much in the finals now I would say but we need to get back to winning ways next week and get confidence back.

23-08-2015, 09:23 PM

Only if we lose next week.

I reckon our chances of finals are better than 99%. Need to lose big twice and Geelong win big twice.

23-08-2015, 09:26 PM
If we can't beat Brisbane, we shouldn't be in the finals anyway.

23-08-2015, 09:28 PM
If we can't beat Brisbane, we shouldn't be in the finals anyway.

Surely we should win there.

23-08-2015, 09:30 PM
Don't call me Shirley

24-08-2015, 02:57 PM
Ah Flamethrower, spoken like a true Bulldog pessimist who has witnessed 7 losing PF's first hand :D

24-08-2015, 05:31 PM
Adelaide MUST beat West Coast this week or the loser of their round 23 game with Geelong will miss the 8, assuming Geelong defeat Collingwood.

25-08-2015, 12:55 AM
Adelaide MUST beat West Coast this week or the loser of their round 23 game with Geelong will miss the 8, assuming Geelong defeat Collingwood.
Could be another banana skin for Geelong this week. Collingwood stunk it up and will come out breathing fire on Friday night.

27-08-2015, 01:36 PM
From Champion Data

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CNJz-6eUEAAfvDW.png

27-08-2015, 01:38 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CNI3wadUsAApkTL.png

Top Left is where we need to be. Close but not there yet.

27-08-2015, 02:18 PM
I like this graph. I've seen it on one of the footy shows.

Interestingly, our defence is comfortably producing the results needed, it's our scoring that is deficient.

27-08-2015, 05:22 PM
From Champion Data

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CNJz-6eUEAAfvDW.png

Hang on? We got murderised by West Coast but our chance of making the finals went up by .1 of a %.

27-08-2015, 05:25 PM
Hang on? We got murderised by West Coast but our chance of making the finals went up by .1 of a %.

Cats drew.

27-08-2015, 05:47 PM
I like this graph. I've seen it on one of the footy shows.

Interestingly, our defence is comfortably producing the results needed, it's our scoring that is deficient.

We are the 5th highest scoring team

27-08-2015, 06:09 PM
They are already in 8th. Only team that can knock us out is Geelong. They are 15% behind us

No, no-one can knock us out.
Geelong are two and a half games behind us with only two rounds to go.
We are playing finals.

27-08-2015, 06:16 PM
We are playing finals.

We are 8 points and 14.3% clear of Geelong - it's unlikely but possible that they could take our place.

27-08-2015, 06:23 PM
We are 8 points and 14.3% clear of Geelong - it's unlikely but possible that they could take our place.

We were 27% clear of them this time last week.

27-08-2015, 06:39 PM
We are playing finals.

Geelong have two Draws, one last week and split points with Adelaide.

27-08-2015, 08:30 PM

Yeah but we're still not scoring enough. The graph says Premiers typically score 100+ average and concede <86 average.

We meet the defensive criteria but are not scoring enough to fit the historical profile (only Hawthorn and WCE comfortably do, Adelaide on border).

27-08-2015, 08:35 PM

To put it another way; our buffer in terms of points is around 230. We would need to lose both games (including Brisbane) by 10 goals and Geelong win both (including Adelaide) by 10 goals. It is possible, but odds would have to be 1,000-1.

27-08-2015, 09:05 PM
To put it another way; our buffer in terms of points is around 230. We would need to lose both games (including Brisbane) by 10 goals and Geelong win both (including Adelaide) by 10 goals. It is possible, but odds would have to be 1,000-1.

What odds did Lillee and Marsh get when the backed Australia to lose? It was huge I think

27-08-2015, 09:23 PM
What odds did Lillee and Marsh get when the backed Australia to lose? It was huge I think

Let's hope none of our guys have backed us to miss the 8 then !!

When you look back on Lillee/Marsh, they really should've been given lifetime bans. From memory, they even kept the money.

27-08-2015, 09:27 PM
We were 27% clear of them this time last week.

More like 21%

28-08-2015, 12:42 AM
Geelong have two Draws, one last week and split points with Adelaide.

The ladder only shows one draw but you must be right.

28-08-2015, 01:26 AM

I reckon Bmac would have had us there and better as a high scoring team anyway :) :)

28-08-2015, 06:56 AM
The ladder only shows one draw but you must be right.

That's because it was neither a win draw or loss. Adelaide and Geelong both have one less game played and therefore one less result. The two points were added but since the match was technically cancelled the W/D/L collums were unchanged.

28-08-2015, 07:29 AM
500/1

28-08-2015, 05:11 PM
If we play a VIC side in finals - even as the higher ranked team it will be at MCG according to Gill. Probably why Gordo was a bit guarded when asked about it earlier in week. Let's hope it's the crows.

"McLachlan also ruled out the Western Bulldogs hosting a home final at Etihad Stadium.

Even if the Dogs finish fifth or sixth they won’t get a home ground advantage against Richmond or North Melbourne in an elimination final.

McLachlan said the potential for far larger crowds at the MCG ruled out the move, and an Etihad Stadium final would only be considered if the Bulldogs are drawn to host Adelaide in the first week of the finals"

28-08-2015, 08:13 PM
If we play a VIC side in finals - even as the higher ranked team it will be at MCG according to Gill. Probably why Gordo was a bit guarded when asked about it earlier in week. Let's hope it's the crows.

"McLachlan also ruled out the Western Bulldogs hosting a home final at Etihad Stadium.

Even if the Dogs finish fifth or sixth they won’t get a home ground advantage against Richmond or North Melbourne in an elimination final.

McLachlan said the potential for far larger crowds at the MCG ruled out the move, and an Etihad Stadium final would only be considered if the Bulldogs are drawn to host Adelaide in the first week of the finals"

Looking past out immediate chances to win, a final at the MCG against a team like Richmond would be a great experience for our young team.

28-08-2015, 09:54 PM
Locked in from 99.9 to 100 %.

And in Melbourne. Etihad or MCG is the question.

28-08-2015, 10:07 PM

i'll give you 99.9999999% at this stage.

28-08-2015, 10:08 PM

I'll take Subiaco :)

28-08-2015, 10:09 PM

We could still end up playing the Crows in Adelaide.

28-08-2015, 10:10 PM

Colllllliingwoooooood, Colllllliingwoooooood, Colllllliingwoooooood,

http://il3.picdn.net/shutterstock/videos/7969981/thumb/1.jpg

28-08-2015, 10:11 PM
Bevo must coincede now, WE ARE IN THE FINALS

28-08-2015, 10:11 PM

I would, but it's impossible with Sydney I think.

28-08-2015, 10:12 PM
We could still end up playing the Crows in Adelaide.

Booooo. I don't want that. :)

28-08-2015, 10:16 PM
I would, but it's impossible with Sydney I think.

I concede it's unlikely, but all we need is for StKilda to beat them at Etihad and we are every chance.

28-08-2015, 10:23 PM

Me too. Wouldn't mind another go at them with a few harder nuts in the team. They wouldn't have accepted that last quarter blow out.

28-08-2015, 10:27 PM
I concede it's unlikely, but all we need is for StKilda to beat them at Etihad and we are every chance.

Despite a few hidings St. Kilda have gone alright against Sydney over the last few years. They're a stupid chance. Depends on Buddy's output.

28-08-2015, 10:27 PM

Despite a few hidings St. Kilda have gone alright against Sydney over the last few years. They're a stupid chance. Depends on Buddy's output.

28-08-2015, 10:38 PM
i'll give you 99.9999999% at this stage.
Can I get that 0.0000001 yet?

28-08-2015, 10:48 PM

Say it again Sam....

In all seriousness, Franklin looks unfit and how much training has he been able to during his time out?

Even when he has been playing has been able to train during the week?

28-08-2015, 11:01 PM
Well Mr Beveridge it is now mathematically impossible for us not to play finals .. Interesting to see how we turn up tomorrow.

28-08-2015, 11:03 PM
Can I get that 0.0000001 yet?
in 10 minutes and 32 seconds

28-08-2015, 11:08 PM
We. Are. In.

What a miracle.

28-08-2015, 11:08 PM
Well Mr Beveridge it is now mathematically impossible for us not to play finals .. Interesting to see how we turn up tomorrow.

Agreed ... Hopefully like a final eight team that deserves to be there.

28-08-2015, 11:12 PM
we. Are. In.

What a miracle.

yeah baby!!!!!;);)

28-08-2015, 11:13 PM
well mr beveridge it is now mathematically impossible for us not to play finals .. Interesting to see how we turn up tomorrow.

flying !!!!!

28-08-2015, 11:14 PM
in 10 minutes and 32 seconds

1 min 49

28-08-2015, 11:17 PM
100% locked in. Giddy up!!

28-08-2015, 11:21 PM
We. Are. In.

What a miracle.

No miracle at all.
I did predict top 8 and a minimum of 13 wins back in March.

28-08-2015, 11:31 PM
No miracle at all.

Well done BJ.
If you put some hard earned on that you would have cleaned up

29-08-2015, 12:03 AM
North would be a lot more relieved than we are tonight. They had worse % than us and 2 distinctly losable games coming up (Richmond & us).

Hopefully, the edge is right off them for tomorrow now :)

29-08-2015, 01:20 AM
We are 100% in, great and suburb effort from all involved.

29-08-2015, 02:01 AM
No miracle at all.

About 14 of us had us in the finals.:D

http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?14120-Where-will-we-finish/page4

29-08-2015, 03:56 AM
MJP was on the money

"We will be on the fringes of finals action.

There will be some cheap wins against teams that aren't quite prepared for the changes in game-style etc and whilst there is the potential for some almighty beltings our contested ball/tackling numbers over the past couple of years have been strong enough that if our ball movement is even OK we will be competitive."

29-08-2015, 07:08 AM
Fantastic achievement by the club and to all those who believed we would play finals (I certainly wasn't one of them) nice predicting.

29-08-2015, 08:26 AM
About 14 of us had us in the finals.:D

http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?14120-Where-will-we-finish/page4

This from that thread:

I am with you BJ

29-08-2015, 08:28 AM
It's been the most enjoyable season after years of hell. But the job's not finished.

29-08-2015, 08:42 AM
We're in it. Time to go on and win it.

On SEN's Pure Footy they spoke about the correlation between the past 15 Premiers and a handful of key stats, including their famous Premiership Quadrant (AVG score for greater than 100, AVG score against less than 86). There are two teams comfortably in there, with us and Nth very close to the mark. The interesting thing for me was that the spread of factors was very high. It isn't just the Top Four ticking the boxes. In fact they aren't ticking all of the boxes like the previous 14, of 15 have. From their perspective 1 through to 6 meet the criteria and the remaining two are just off the mark but have had results against likely finals opponents.

It really is wide open. If ever there was a time to buck the trend, it is now. We are good enough, right now, that on our day we can beat anyone. Can we have enough days in a row to get us to the Promised Land? I reckon we can.

29-08-2015, 09:04 AM
Found my prediction .. Pretty proud of myself actually.

Re: Where will we finish.
I'm saying mid table maybe 8 th but if we did a Port Adelaide it wouldn't totally surprise me .
To be honest the players look like they are playing as mates and that kind of style you can't bottle.

01-09-2015, 12:02 PM
Well done BJ.
If you put some hard earned on that you would have cleaned up

Had a couple of small wagers and happy with the outcome.

01-09-2015, 12:23 PM
I was a pessimist. Stoked that perhaps for the first time ever....I was wrong!

01-09-2015, 12:35 PM

Surely this is just the time you were mistaken.

01-09-2015, 12:42 PM
When are we thinking our game will be played in week one?

Sunday afternoon?

01-09-2015, 01:12 PM
When are we thinking our game will be played in week one?

Sunday afternoon?

Will be either Saturday Night or Sunday afternoon I would assume?

Friday night and Saturday afternoon would be the 2 qualifying final timeslots to give them the extra break over the others.

I'm hoping for Saturday Night personally

01-09-2015, 01:25 PM
If West Coast and Freo lose the first week of the finals, where do they play the second week? Perth or depends on other finalists?

01-09-2015, 01:29 PM
I'm away that weekend and am hoping for Sunday afternoon in light of that.

01-09-2015, 01:29 PM
If West Coast and Freo lose the first week of the finals, where do they play the second week? Perth or depends on other finalists?

Top four gets the second week of finals at home if they lose week 1.

Lukewarm Beveridge
01-09-2015, 01:46 PM
Apparently if it's Adelaide will be a Saturday, in order to allow them a 7 day break should they win for the week after with the travel..that's what I'm hoping for personally.

01-09-2015, 01:58 PM

I have a good memory AR. I remember you said you were wrong about Daniel Cross once. Now that means you have been wrong twice. Still a good record.:)

01-09-2015, 02:43 PM
I have a good memory AR. I remember you said you were wrong about Daniel Cross once. Now that means you have been wrong twice. Still a good record.:)

I operate on a statute of limitations. My comment on Daniel Cross has lapsed.

01-09-2015, 03:11 PM
Feels good to be excited about footy at the beginning of September.

01-09-2015, 03:38 PM
Apparently if it's Adelaide will be a Saturday, in order to allow them a 7 day break should they win for the week after with the travel..that's what I'm hoping for personally.

I hope you're right. I will be playing in a prelim final of my own on Sunday week so I am praying that the Dogs don't play on Sunday as well.

01-09-2015, 04:55 PM
I remember reading numerous articles bemoaning the fact that through the inequaility of the competition and the introduction of the new expansionist clubs, clubs like ours will find it virtually impossible to win another premiership. And that was before all of the off-season disruption at our club.

Plenty of water to go under the bridge but the fact we are even being spoken of as a realistic chance this year is simply incredible. This season would have been a worthy sequel to the great documentary "Year of the dog".

05-09-2015, 01:14 AM
So if we lose and Adelaide win we're off to AAMI?

05-09-2015, 01:56 AM
So if we lose and Adelaide win we're off to AAMI?

Yeah mate. We need to win by over 100 to catch Sydney or Richmond now so we're 6th and Adelaide are 7th unless we lose and they win then we swap places

05-09-2015, 08:53 PM
What a great effort by our Club
Going from 14th of the ladder at the end of 2014 to 6th in 2015 and to playing finals
Bring on Adelaide

05-09-2015, 09:58 PM
What a great effort by our Club
Going from 14th of the ladder at the end of 2014 to 6th in 2015 and to playing finals
Bring on Adelaide

Yep great effort from all involved. After an eventful summer its been a remarkable turnaround against the odds. No one expected us to be anywhere near where we are but the fact we are bodes really well for the future. We have a bit of experience around which is vital but having youth around is just as important and they will only improve as the years go on.

06-09-2015, 01:38 AM
Fantastic effort from the players, the coaching team and everyone involved in the footy department.

Although it's been a fantastic club wide effort I just want to give a shout out to Brett
Montgomery. When Bevo got the nod over him as coach he put the club ahead of himself and stayed on in order to make Bevo's transition into the job smoother. It would have been pretty easy for him to say it was all too hard and take up a position somewhere else but not for the first time Monty has done the right thing by the club after the club has knocked him back.

Thanks Monty.

06-09-2015, 01:44 AM
Different perspective, and one that's a little bit original throughout all of the who should take credit and who shouldn't discussions that have been had over the course of the recent journey.

06-09-2015, 02:04 AM
Fantastic effort from the players, the coaching team and everyone involved in the footy department.

Although it's been a fantastic club wide effort I just want to give a shout out to Brett
Montgomery. When Bevo got the nod over him as coach he put the club ahead of himself and stayed on in order to make Bevo's transition into the job smoother. It would have been pretty easy for him to say it was all too hard and take up a position somewhere else but not for the first time Monty has done the right thing by the club after the club has knocked him back.

Thanks Monty.

Excellent call TD.

I remember when Monty was traded to Port how gutted he was, but found his way back here.

Again would've been gutted last year but stuck firm.

Has proven himself a great Bulldog.

Not the highest profile, but was awarded AFLCA Assistant Coach of the Year in 2014.

Good man. Hopefully the right opportunity comes his way at the right time.

06-09-2015, 02:57 AM
Excellent call TD.

I remember when Monty was traded to Port how gutted he was, but found his way back here.

Again would've been gutted last year but stuck firm.

Has proven himself a great Bulldog.

Not the highest profile, but was awarded AFLCA Assistant Coach of the Year in 2014.

Good man. Hopefully the right opportunity comes his way at the right time.

He is exactly the sort of person a football club is built around. Our club is a better place for Monty's presence.

I'm sure his knowledge of the playing list fast tracked the new coache's understanding of his new players and hlelped in our rapid improvement.

Eze Dog
09-09-2015, 02:28 PM
So apparently a medium in Perth has predicted a Bulldogs V Fremantle Grand Final with us winning by 10 points. There's only 1 flaw in her prediction (which is pretty good for a medium :P) and that is that West Coast will play 3 games before being knocked out.

http://www.perthnow.com.au/news/western-australia/afl-finals-fremantle-dockers-predicted-by-psychic-to-lose-grand-final/story-fnhocxo3-1227519160151

Also the last time we won a Grand Final was 61 years ago (1954) and the last time we were in a Grand Final was 54 years ago (1961) so the stars are aligning, you know if you believe in that sort of thing :)

09-09-2015, 04:54 PM
So apparently a medium in Perth has predicted a Bulldogs V Fremantle Grand Final with us winning by 10 points. There's only 1 flaw in her prediction (which is pretty good for a medium :P) and that is that West Coast will play 3 games before being knocked out.

http://www.perthnow.com.au/news/western-australia/afl-finals-fremantle-dockers-predicted-by-psychic-to-lose-grand-final/story-fnhocxo3-1227519160151

Also the last time we won a Grand Final was 61 years ago (1954) and the last time we were in a Grand Final was 54 years ago (1961) so the stars are aligning, you know if you believe in that sort of thing :)

Didn't some kid have a dream in 2009 that we were going to play in the GF? It got a lot of media at the time. I think he said we would win by 10 points too,

Eze Dog
09-09-2015, 05:54 PM
Didn't some kid have a dream in 2009 that we were going to play in the GF? It got a lot of media at the time. I think he said we would win by 10 points too,

Would be an amazing year if it all came to fruition!

09-09-2015, 05:57 PM
Would be an amazing year if it all came to fruition!

Beveridge would thus become a religion.

09-09-2015, 06:23 PM
You mean like Hird is at Essendon?

10-09-2015, 01:29 AM
I've been toey enough about this week's game to relive this satisfying piece of Doggies history...

Western Bulldogs V Collingwood : 2006 AFL Elimination Final (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8S-YtENsPpk)

What a moment.

Two mates who played in that win signed on for another year today, and another pair still guide us as coaches.

As with this wonderful year, back then a mob who also hadn't seen September action for too long were everyone's Cinderella story, as we always seem to be whenever we get near it, but invariably only so far...

While it's lovely to be everyone's feelgood (sympathy) story, may I say it's time to take Cinderella's slipper and shove it up the collective clackers of the competition while exorcising some demons along the way, starting with the Crows...and don't we bloody owe them.

It might not be this year, or perhaps even next, but I can't avoid the goosebumpy feeling we might actually have the group to do it, and that their mission starts this weekend.

If we pull it off, fair to say that Perth medium might have a full appointment book for the foreseeable future.

Carna Scrays.

11-09-2015, 07:19 AM
And so begins finals Friday, a day where I will undoubtedly spend the majority of my time engaging in banter, reading WOOF and the AFL site whilst (hopefully) doing as little work as possible. Feeling pretty excited/nervous.

11-09-2015, 07:46 AM
The 9 hour time difference over here necessitates me to take a two hour break in the middle of the working day (10-12) to watch the Hawks match. Gotta suss out our likely opponent for next week!

**not a lie...I will have four half hour toilet breaks**

11-09-2015, 08:08 PM
**not a lie...I will have four half hour toilet breaks**

Got the nervous Poo's Jazza about Sat.night? :eek: