View Full Version : Game Day Round 22 2015 - North Melbourne V Western Bulldogs

28-08-2015, 08:10 PM
Margin: Dogs by 26 points - lets get back to winning ways :)

First Goal: Crameri to get our first of the match - really been in some good form of late

Best On Ground: Macrae to be best afield

Im looking forward to bulldogtragic's predictions :) :)

28-08-2015, 08:39 PM
Draw
FG Bonts
BOG Bobby

28-08-2015, 09:24 PM
Margin: Dogs by 13 points

First Goal: Stewart Crameri

BOG: Mitch Wallis

Sub: Honeychurch

28-08-2015, 09:24 PM
Dogs by 43
FG Dickson
BOG Bont

I really think if we go ok at the clearances, we will have too much pace and run. If our forwards get the ball in quick, the NM defence will be made to look like witches hats. Roos have won a few in a row and may well be ripe for a loss. Could open them up late.

28-08-2015, 10:17 PM
DOGS by 55 points - SMASH the NORTH Pretenders

First goal Stringer

BOG Wallis

28-08-2015, 10:47 PM
WB by 13
First Goal Honeychurch
BOG Murphy

28-08-2015, 11:12 PM
Draw
FG Bonts
BOG Bobby

You mean Dogs by 1 point :) :)

29-08-2015, 04:14 AM
I think North will win this one unfortunately. But I think we will play well and not be beaten by a lot.
I haven't watched North a lot this season, but it's the ruck that killed us last week, (When Natanui was off we seemed to do ok. ) and I'm not sure how that differs this week.
But I desperately hope we will win and love to be proven wrong.

North by 18
FG Luke
BOG Jake Stringer. My relatives in Perth, all one eyed Eagles fans said they love him.

29-08-2015, 08:17 AM
It's a free hit for the boys now, no chance of losing our spot in the 8. Let's hope we play with freedom and run the Roos off their legs.

Dogs by 38
FG Dicko
BOG Bob Murphy

29-08-2015, 08:41 AM
Dogs by 38
First goal Picken
BOG Crameri

I think we'll start slow, and then outrun them over the balance of the game. Going to be a challenging match, North are in good form and we don't match up well or have a good recent history against them.

29-08-2015, 09:57 AM
This week couldn't come quick enough for me - I want to know how we will back up from last week against another top 8 side. Playing at Etihad will help, but Norf are playing good footy at the moment.

Dogs in a close one under 10 points
Tom Boyd to kick first goal (expecting a late call up to replace Grant - gut feeling only)
M Boyd BOG after his week off

29-08-2015, 10:00 AM
We will make North look like witches hats,

Dogs by 52

First goal-STRINGERRRR!!!!

BOG-The Bont

29-08-2015, 10:18 AM
I think north will beat us by about 5 goals myself, they are in great form atm the and are better than they are getting credit for.

We aren't going to come out and smack them.

29-08-2015, 10:46 AM
'Dogs by 5 points
First goal: Tom Boyd
BOG: Raffle it between the half back line.

Roscoe_G
29-08-2015, 11:02 AM
All,

Should be a great game. North astounded me last week, with all of the serial underperformers - Waite, Higgins, del Santo, Tarrant and Petrie - playing to the limit of their respective abilities.

Given the history of this group, I severely doubt this will be repeated this week against the Bulldogs, who are a high quality outfit.

I suspect a North loss, but am hoping it will be an honourable one.

Roscoe

29-08-2015, 11:27 AM
'Dogs by 5 points
First goal: Tom Boyd
BOG: Raffle it between the half back line.

Hey J54, do you know something we all don't?

Roscoe_G
29-08-2015, 11:35 AM
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/michael-firrito-becomes-just-the-10th-kangaroo-to-play-250-games/story-fnp04d70-1227503329904

Just realised that the great Michael Firrito will play his 250th today. I hope this turbo-charges the team to superhuman efforts. "Spud" has been and is a stellar player, who in my view would have fitted in nicely into North's best teams of the 90s. I still think we'll lose - the Bulldogs are just too quick and classy -, but given the Firrito factor, it absolutely cannot degenerate into a thumping.

Looking forward to this match even more now ...

29-08-2015, 11:38 AM
Dogs by 29
First goal: Redpath
BOG: Crameri

Roscoe_G
29-08-2015, 11:43 AM
I wept from seeing greatness. Bontempelli was Royce Hart at his best, full of grace, intertwining his ballet seamlessly into a game of football.

Outstanding ...!!!!

29-08-2015, 11:54 AM
Hey J54, do you know something we all don't?

Sadly no, just can't resist a smokie. And I just can't imagine anyone playing with a nose which was broken six days ago. :)

29-08-2015, 12:09 PM
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/michael-firrito-becomes-just-the-10th-kangaroo-to-play-250-games/story-fnp04d70-1227503329904

Just realised that the great Michael Firrito will play his 250th today. I hope this turbo-charges the team to superhuman efforts. "Spud" has been and is a stellar player, who in my view would have fitted in nicely into North's best teams of the 90s. I still think we'll lose - the Bulldogs are just too quick and classy -, but given the Firrito factor, it absolutely cannot degenerate into a thumping.

Looking forward to this match even more now ...

I was quite surprised to see Firrito had got to 250 games, I'd have guessed a lot less.

Fair play to him, 250 games is a mighty performance for anyone, especially someone of his solid build. Has looked near gone a couple of times in his career but shown great resilience.

The sort of player opposition fans underrate but his own supporters just love. A bit like our Dale Morris.

Not often we salute non-Doggies but fair's fair - he's the type of foot soldier all good teams need.

29-08-2015, 12:33 PM
Dogs by 42
First Goal: Stringer
BOG: Bontempelli.

29-08-2015, 12:42 PM
I'm worried about the 6 day break from the Perth trip. I'm worried about Goldstein having no effective opposition in the ruck and Cunnieham et al in the midfield getting an armchair ride at the stoppages. But I think we can win.

Dogs by 7
First goal: The Package
BOG: Cotton Picken
Sub: Honeychurch

29-08-2015, 12:45 PM
Sadly no, just can't resist a smokie. And I just can't imagine anyone playing with a nose which was broken six days ago. :)

Yeah, J54 I wondering about Mikey playing as well. Has anyone seen what he looks like? Badly broken noses often result in a lot of swelliing with serious black eyes. How well is he breathing through his nose, can he see properly?

29-08-2015, 12:50 PM
Yeah, J54 I wondering about Mikey playing as well. Has anyone seen what he looks like? Badly broken noses often result in a lot of swelliing with serious black eyes. How well is he breathing through his nose, can he see properly?

He can only breathe through his mouth and is legally blind but BT says play him anyway :) :)

29-08-2015, 01:01 PM
Dogs by 1 point
First goal: Stringer
BOG: Murphy

Roscoe_G
29-08-2015, 01:55 PM
I'm worried about Goldstein having no effective opposition in the ruck and Cunnieham et al in the midfield getting an armchair ride at the stoppages.

IMHO ... I think Goldstein is becoming a modern day great. I saw the inestimable Dempsey play at North, and Goldstein is nearing that pristine level. Magnificent player ...

29-08-2015, 03:02 PM
"We pick our side to win." Bevo

29-08-2015, 03:58 PM
Spud lives up to his name; has to be up there with the worst 250 game players of all time.

29-08-2015, 04:10 PM
Spud lives up to his name; has to be up there with the worst 250 game players of all time.

Nah it's Anthony Rocca.

29-08-2015, 04:22 PM
Team is final
Zaine sub

29-08-2015, 04:32 PM
Team is final
Zaine sub

Don't understand why Zaine would be sub. Surely we need him from the start in defence?

29-08-2015, 04:43 PM
Don't understand why Zaine would be sub. Surely we need him from the start in defence?

A few players will have to play tall

29-08-2015, 05:41 PM
Murph is just great.

29-08-2015, 05:43 PM
Good early signs. Winning clearances and tackles.

29-08-2015, 05:44 PM

A bit shaky early but really getting into it. Need to just score now.

29-08-2015, 05:50 PM

I think there are more danger signs than good signs. Roos are handling our pressure better than we are handling theirs.

Two big marks in a row from their talls is our worst fears realised.

29-08-2015, 05:50 PM
As predicted so far. Their talls dominating and their kicking, wayward.

29-08-2015, 05:55 PM
They are really putting the pressure on us.

29-08-2015, 05:55 PM
Trying to predict our selections is a frustrating exercise ;)

29-08-2015, 05:58 PM
Did I hear someone say this was the match of the round? While its a small sample it's and unbelievably poor standard on display at the moment. Fair bit of pressure but poor skills. Game should open up next quarter.

How bad was the Biggs kick in?

29-08-2015, 05:58 PM
North defending well structurally, stopping the lateral movement. Need the game to open up.

29-08-2015, 06:01 PM
Score reviews killing the natural flow and fun watching. Surprised it didn't get turned over based on Stringers robbed goal the other week.

29-08-2015, 06:03 PM
Hunter is a Q1 specialist. BOG at present.

29-08-2015, 06:06 PM
We're not clean enough to take the game on at the moment. Need to start linking up

29-08-2015, 06:08 PM
Roughy looking good in the ruck. Actually leading clearances.

29-08-2015, 06:09 PM
Hunter is a Q1 specialist. BOG at present.

12 touches

What an odd quarter of football. Lots of pressure, lots of tactical and execution errors from both sides. Seems to be a battle of tactical philosophies, with North setting up defensively behind the ball whilst we try to get the ball forward and defend from the front half. Will be interesting what wins out. So far the edge to North with their talls looking dangerous.

Lucky not to be a few more behind. Hopefully things settle and we get our run on. Great to see Hunter having a good game for us.

29-08-2015, 06:10 PM
Watching on the iPad, I think we actually started to deal with the pressure more as the quarter went on. North were pushing up to our half backs extremely well, which our boys didn't seem prepared for as they continued to take the game on to no avail.

The long kick over the heads of our forwards was frustrating...if Redpath is the only tall down forward, he needs to be where those kicks are placed. If Redpath can make a contest, that makes a big difference for us.

29-08-2015, 06:12 PM
Reminds me of the Ess & Port games early when defensive structures took us a while to break down. Got to keep attacking.

29-08-2015, 06:13 PM
What do we need to do to get paid a holding the ball today??

29-08-2015, 06:15 PM
Hunter overtaken Macrae as our best accumulater

29-08-2015, 06:19 PM
Not looking good.

29-08-2015, 06:22 PM
Very ordinary.

29-08-2015, 06:24 PM
North dominant but we're absorbing the pressure.

Plenty of scope.

29-08-2015, 06:24 PM
Bonts gets one

29-08-2015, 06:30 PM
Great bump by Stew and great shepherd and free to Grant. How good is that those two are down there doing serious defence.

Great defending. Hunter has been great and Bonts is getting into it.

Cmon boys get that lead now.

29-08-2015, 06:36 PM
We've gone in 25 to 17 now. Getting on top.

29-08-2015, 06:37 PM
Great lift, Bont coming into it, Jack Mac's vision superb to find Dickson.

29-08-2015, 06:37 PM
I'd sub Redpath for Cordy at half time.

29-08-2015, 06:39 PM

That puts a lot of pressure on Roughy though.

29-08-2015, 06:41 PM
That puts a lot of pressure on Roughy though.

Yeh, but Tedpath isn't touching it and is now in give stupid free kicks away mode. Biggs rucked last week, or even Granty.

29-08-2015, 06:43 PM
I wish TBoyd was playing

29-08-2015, 06:44 PM
This game has finals type of pressure. Hunter continuing his great form with 20 disposals so far

29-08-2015, 06:46 PM
Yeh, but Tedpath isn't touching it and is now in give stupid free kicks away mode. Biggs rucked last week, or even Granty.

Stuffed that last kick up

29-08-2015, 06:49 PM
I wish TBoyd was playing

what BAD said.

I wish TBoyd was playing

Ditto. If we're up he's good for a junktime goal though

We have soaked up a fair amount of pressure and looked much better in the last 10 minutes Picken and Boyd are big ins for us this week. We haven't done too badly in the ruck but luckily North have wasted some of the ops Goldstein has put their way. We must start the 2nd half switched on. Bonts =quality.

29-08-2015, 06:50 PM
sorta can't believe we are in front. Forward line started to find some space in last 5 mins.

Stuffed that last kick up

Just a skill error, but some really good defensive things that quarter. Why not ruck him and Roughy? Rest the other forward or back. Redpath is a tease. He puts in one good game and then very poor ones. We need Boyd back ASAP.

10 marks to Robbie Tarrant in the first half. Need more chaos entries

29-08-2015, 06:52 PM
Aside from the usual suspects in midfield/half back, the huge plus in the game for us is Roughead.

We are winning clearances 22-12 against Goldstein.

Massive, massive win.

He looks lively around the ground as well.

I am really excited.

We completely stopped their ball movement late. If that is maintained, this will get ugly in a good way.

29-08-2015, 06:52 PM
My highlights of the half...

- Matty Boyd psyching out young Garner and smothering the ball when there was a clear goal waiting for Goldstein over the top. Was the turning point IMO. We got belief and Roos lost theirs.
- Lachie Hunter's entire half, but particularly his sidestep and laser kick to Honeychurch. I knew he had footy smarts, but he has been locked on so consistently for the past month that I can hardly believe it. Big call but he is the best field kick in our side (sorry Murph)
- I can't decide if I liked Jack Macraes screw kick in to Dickson. Outstanding vision, yes. But I fear if it comes off every now and then that he'll continue to do it and we'll have to live with the three to four turnovers that result per game!

Low points...Bonts unpaid mark (there was no clear first touch to either player, it was simultaneous) and the Lachie Hunter sling tackle being defended by Dunstall because he didn't hit his head...well I guess drink drivers who don't cause an accident are a-okay then Jase!!

29-08-2015, 06:56 PM
Aside from the usual suspects in midfield/half back, the huge plus in the game for us is Roughead.

We are winning clearances 22-12 against Goldstein.

Massive, massive win.

He looks lively around the ground as well.

I am really excited.

We completely stopped their ball movement late. If that is maintained, this will get ugly in a good way.

A lot to do with our third man up and the extra on baller we are playing compared to North

29-08-2015, 06:56 PM
Such an interesting tactical game. I thought Beveridge had really rolled the dice tactically with his selections, and in the first quarter clearly it looked likely to have been a poor gamble. However it just goes to show that just because you are deficient in one area, it doesn't necessarily stand to reason you are in trouble. The battleground becomes one of ensuring you can turn a tactical deficiency into a strength by ensuring you get the game on your terms and make the opposition react to your strengths. Now the ball is in Norths court to find a way to get the game back on the terms they want it to be played on, namely moving the ball quickly from defence, making Goldstein a factor and giving their height up forward opportunity.
Should be an absorbing second half.

29-08-2015, 06:57 PM
A lot to do with our third man up and the extra on baller we are playing compared to North

Assume the extra is coming from our forward line? Would explain why Tarrant is getting so many intercept marks.

29-08-2015, 06:59 PM
Hunter has been awesome, but the match up is insane.

He played the bulk of the half on 97 kg lumbering Lachie Hansen.

This is the kind of match up you get with so many slow talls.

29-08-2015, 07:10 PM
Roughead going through a bad patch at the moment.

29-08-2015, 07:26 PM
That is not a 50m penalty. Joke.

29-08-2015, 07:28 PM
Big crowd and a tight contest but it's not a great spectacle.

29-08-2015, 07:29 PM
Higgins still pointing

29-08-2015, 07:29 PM
What a great learning experience so far. What a great challenge for the kids to keep a small lead in a high pressure finals like game. Enter Zaine Cordy.

29-08-2015, 07:30 PM
Higgins still pointing

We still haven't covered that loss from him yet. Perhaps we target Brendan Goddard?

29-08-2015, 07:30 PM
Zaine in soon - but for who? Sub Honey and send Murph forward?

29-08-2015, 07:33 PM
This is like a Terry Wallace v Rodney Eade game of tactics.

Kind of enjoyable as a change of pace, but wouldn't want it every week.

Should be 5 goals up, but it's just that kind of game.

Hope legs in the last 1/4 aren't an issue.

29-08-2015, 07:38 PM
Higgins is really annoying me glad he's gone

29-08-2015, 07:39 PM
how good is bont???

29-08-2015, 07:40 PM
Great tackle ZAINE.

29-08-2015, 07:45 PM
Are we all ready for a close finish?

29-08-2015, 07:50 PM
Mr Biggs, I'm the want who wants to be with you.

29-08-2015, 07:53 PM
Yaaaaaaaaaabbbbbblllllllleeeeeeeeettttttt :D

Any chance of cloning Stringer?

Unbelievable by Stringer.

29-08-2015, 07:55 PM
I'm going early, suck it Higgo that'll teach you for slamming it into our cheer squad!

29-08-2015, 08:00 PM
Mr Biggs, I'm the want who wants to be with you.

Times two.

29-08-2015, 08:01 PM
Biggs is a sensation

29-08-2015, 08:10 PM
Unbelievable by Stringer.

Dropped about 30 jaws in the pub I'm sitting in. Phenomenal - as was Bonti's run at the start of the quarter

29-08-2015, 08:10 PM
Close to our best for mine. Shows amazing character to go with raw untapped talent.

29-08-2015, 08:15 PM
Very good win! Wasn't confident about this one at all, but the Men of Mayhem stood up tonight.

29-08-2015, 08:15 PM
Well done lads. Great to have so many goal scorers.

29-08-2015, 08:17 PM
Never EVER anyone doubt Luke's match selections again EVER!

29-08-2015, 08:26 PM
I count this as one of my favourite wins for the year.

29-08-2015, 08:28 PM
What a great win.

I dont want this season to end.

29-08-2015, 08:29 PM
And it'll shut up all those tools who love to quote that we haven't beaten a top 8 team since R5.

Really liked the maturity today.

29-08-2015, 08:33 PM
And it'll shut up all those tools who love to quote that we haven't beaten a top 8 team since R5.

No it won't.

We're no longer everyone's second team.

What's satisfying abut this that we beat a team that just beat the league leader, after we ourselves got smashed last week, in a close game. Character.

By golly by jingo doesn't Hunter remind you of Luke Power?

29-08-2015, 08:34 PM
There is absolutely no reason why we can't win it all; in saying that, whatever happens from here on in, I am super happy with this season ... What's not to be happy about ???

29-08-2015, 08:44 PM
14 wins is way more than I thought we could win and next week it will be 15

29-08-2015, 08:53 PM
14 wins is way more than I thought we could win and next week it will be 15

Hopefully by the end of the year it'll be 19 :)

29-08-2015, 09:00 PM
Perfect example of system over positional structure today, from watching remotely.

When challenged the players did what was required of them both ways forward and back. Great to watch with an objective person who repeatedly commented on our systematic presence with numbers across all areas.

Great win!

29-08-2015, 09:12 PM
This game for me was more important than last weeks.

6 day break after a smashing in Perth against a finals side on a fast track who've won their last 7 including the top side.

Cracking win especially after they came hard in the last to straighten up and go up another gear was very impressive.

They couldn't go with us when the whips were cracking. We belong.

With some luck and the Saints could surprise inside, could we snatch 4th?

If we do Geewiz, I wouldn't mind having a crack at Freo. They could just be starting to wobble. That trip to Brisbane in the last is really a thorn now!

Do we dare to dream?

29-08-2015, 09:24 PM
I love my club. That win was full of character. North challenged hard midway in the last but we played great TEAM football. Throw in some mega individual brilliance - Stringgggerrr, the Bont - and some serious grunt - Picken, Dahlhaus, Crameri, M Boyd - and a splash of dash - JJ, Biggs, Wood, Hunter - and a bunch of others all with their shoulders to the wheel and you have a winning unit.
Special mention to Roughie - played his heart out and was a major contributor to our win.

29-08-2015, 09:36 PM
What a massive effort.

Personally I really enjoyed the game, cracking game to see live at the ground. The pressure was massive by both sides in the first half which resulted in errors and missed opportunities by both teams. I really thought the MC erred in not playing another tall, but we just ran, ran, ran and then shock horror we ran somemore. How that plan holds up in a week or so, im not sure but lets worry about that then.

Bontempelli was huge in the last. When he stepped out of the pack on the wing in the last quarter which resulted in Pickens goal is one of the best individual pieces of play ive seen this year and gee there has been a lot.

To stick tough and play a hard edged defensive game early then break it open was really pleasing.

Oh yeah, BT did you know whether to cheer or cry when Grant was subbed for Zaine?

29-08-2015, 09:40 PM
Add Wally to the Grunt Department. Under every pack, cracks in from go to whoa. A strong presence out there, a real leader, highly respected for his dedication to the cause. Go Dogs.

29-08-2015, 09:44 PM
Will add more later, but I LOVED sticking it right up all the flog Norf supporters at the game. It was a thing of pure beauty, I can still taste their tears :D

29-08-2015, 09:46 PM
God I love beating North. Thank you boys.

That was the best win I've been at this year. The trio of thumpings of poor sides was fun, the taking apart of GWS was brutal but today was full of character with several players standing up when they had to.

Kudos goes to the coaching group. The plan to run the ball out of North's defence worked a treat. North looked top heavy at times. And moving Stringer to run through the square at centre bounces after Waite had got North close in the last quarter with those two quick goals was a masterstroke. It immediately swung the game back in our favour and the result was never in doubt from there on.

29-08-2015, 09:46 PM

That was the best win I've been at this year. The trio of thumpings of poor sides was fun, the taking apart of GWS was brutal but today was full of character with several players standing up when they had to.

Kudos goes to the coaching group. The plan to run the ball out of North's defence worked a treat. North looked top heavy at times. And moving Stringer to run through the square at centre bounces after Waite had got North close in the last quarter with those two quick goals was a masterstroke. It immediately swung the game back in our favour and the result was never in doubt from there on.

29-08-2015, 10:17 PM
Well done to the boys.

And also to that dogs supporter who stood up during the game and sung 'We love the Bulldogs' to the tune of Waltzing Matilda!

29-08-2015, 10:18 PM
Couldn't make it to the game today but watching from TV what a great win by our mob and the atmosphere sounded great. We stood up to the challenge and got it done well.

Our mids were very impressive getting a lot of it (Wallis, Bonts, Hunter, Dahl etc). Stringer was excellent and has been our best forward I'd say this year. Crameri again showed quite a bit today. The 1st quarter was poor but after that we slowly started getting into the game.

29-08-2015, 10:18 PM
you can say that again

29-08-2015, 10:42 PM
I love my club. That win was full of character. North challenged hard midway in the last but we played great TEAM football. Throw in some mega individual brilliance - Stringgggerrr, the Bont - and some serious grunt - Picken, Dahlhaus, Crameri, M Boyd - and a splash of dash - JJ, Biggs, Wood, Hunter - and a bunch of others all with their shoulders to the wheel and you have a winning unit.
Special mention to Roughie - played his heart out and was a major contributor to our win.
I thought Roughead was tremendous. After being out of the team for some time his efforts against Goldstein was full of merit. This was a courageous win in a hotly contested match. Apart from Redpath who was outclassed by Tarrant, it was hard to find a poor player.

29-08-2015, 10:46 PM
Seriously, how good was the entirety of the Picken goal?

NM are challenging so what happens?

Bonti just toys with the NM players, Stringer goes beast mode and Picko nails a ripper on the run to cap off the perfection and put a stake through the opposition's heart.

Just about my favourite moment of the year.

29-08-2015, 10:50 PM
Watched the reply of the last quarter and Brad Scott shaking his head at every free kick North gave away. I bet his excuse this week is the umpiring, not the profile of his team.

Total Players By Games

North Melbourne

Games
Western Bulldogs

Less than 50

50 to 99

100 to 149

150 or more

Average age 27year compared to our 24.

29-08-2015, 10:51 PM

Bonti just toys with the NM players, Stringer goes beast mode and Picko nails a ripper on the run to cap off the perfection and put a stake through the opposition's heart.

Same Comrade, they way Da Bont stepped out of that pack was a sight to behold. I couldn't and still cant believe it.

29-08-2015, 10:53 PM
Watched the reply of the last quarter and Brad Scott shaking his head at every free kick North gave away. I bet his excuse this week is the umpiring, not the profile of his team.

Total Players By Games

North Melbourne
Games
Western Bulldogs

Less than 50

50 to 99

100 to 149

150 or more

You need a fairly good mix in there and the face we have a really young team with some experience around still and doing well is just great for the future. They have too many old heads around and not much youth coming through.

Its the coaches in our team and the way they have developed our players which is important because if thats lacking then its no good.

29-08-2015, 10:57 PM
Great win from the boys. I hate north and glad to show the footy world they are pretenders and will never get anywhere with Scott in charge.
The only thing i was worried about was the travel factor but after the first i never doubted we would win. Quite simply we are far superior defensively and counter attack as good as anyone out there. Their tackling was ordinary and we stuck ours and made them pay, should have won by more though.
Some passages of play today were just breathtaking. Gee its going to fun watching these kids develop and get better year after year.

Enjoy the ride woofers we bloody deserve it!

29-08-2015, 11:10 PM
Same Comrade, they way Da Bont stepped out of that pack was a sight to behold. I couldn't and still cant believe it.
2nd year blues ;)

29-08-2015, 11:13 PM

Total Players By Games

North Melbourne

Games
Western Bulldogs

Less than 50

50 to 99

100 to 149

150 or more

He mentioned post match that they are an average team. He is very passionate I don't mind him going off in the box I don't know how coaches keep a lid on it most of the time.

29-08-2015, 11:15 PM

Total Players By Games

North Melbourne

Games

Western Bulldogs

Less than 50

50 to 99

100 to 149

150 or more

So that's 16 100+ gamers to 4.

That is a ridiculous fact.

It's hard to believe what we've done this year and how bright the future is.

29-08-2015, 11:16 PM
He mentioned post match that they are an average team. He is very passionate I don't mind him going off in the box I don't know how coaches keep a lid on it most of the time.

He uses too many excuses blaming other factors for North losing, yet he is the problem.

29-08-2015, 11:38 PM
Gee that was a good win doggies! Continue to experiment, continue to amaze, continue to win! Was great to be there today.

29-08-2015, 11:39 PM

Yes we have been the story of the year thats for sure.

30-08-2015, 12:00 AM

Total Players By Games

North Melbourne

Games
Western Bulldogs

Less than 50

50 to 99

100 to 149

150 or more

I was watching the game from a seat at the General Hotham, and there were plenty of Norf supporters there (some wearing stripes) and it gave me and my casual observer mate great pleasure watching Brad apply layers of sand to his hoo ha every time we earned a free!

30-08-2015, 12:18 AM

Are you sure that wasn't the other Scott talking about Geelong.

http://www.afl.com.au/video/2015-08-28/were-clearly-an-average-side-chris-scott

30-08-2015, 12:21 AM
He uses too many excuses blaming other factors for North losing, yet he is the problem.

I agree that he's not a great coach I'm just saying I don't mind him going off for the sake of some mild entertainment. It makes me feel better to see him so incredulous in the box.

30-08-2015, 12:22 AM
Are you sure that wasn't the other Scott talking about Geelong.

http://www.afl.com.au/video/2015-08-28/were-clearly-an-average-side-chris-scott

No I'm not. As if one Scott wasn't bad enough!

30-08-2015, 02:20 AM
I have taken my son away camping this weekend with some friends (non Bulldog supporters) so I couldn't make it to the game. Although I managed somehow to get a decent internet access from my phone and I watched the game on foxtel go.

What a great win. Backs against the wall and we pulled off the win after getting out played during the first quarter and a half. Not to mention we have travelled back from Perth.
We took control during the second quarter and we held firm from there on. Gutsy stuff. We moved on from last week's last quarter fade out with a quality last quarter that was beyond the majority's years.

30-08-2015, 08:55 AM
Stuck at the outlaws this weekend. Hardly any mobile connection at this dump but managed to find a pocket where I could get 1 bar and watch the final term. Outstanding win!

30-08-2015, 09:05 AM
As good as the Picken goal was, Stringer had me in tears with his run and pass to Crameri. He is scary good

30-08-2015, 09:45 AM
"Stringer bursts free ..." "Stringer breaks one tackle, takes a bounce ..." "Stringgerrrr launches himself ... " "Another crunching tackle by Stringer ..." "Stringer's on the burst. He moves to the 50 and ... drills it!
"Stringer dodges an weaves, he breaks clear, snaps over his shoulder ... a miracle goal! Stringgerrr!!!!
Get used to it Bulldog supporters. You're going ro be hearing this type of commentary for the next DECADE.
STRINGERRRRR!!!

30-08-2015, 11:31 AM
We have two genuine superstars, and they've still got 10 years of brilliant footy ahead of them.

30-08-2015, 04:25 PM
We have two genuine superstars, and they've still got 10 years of brilliant footy ahead of them.

I think we have more than two.

31-08-2015, 02:12 AM
I just watched Stringer's run and delivery to Crameri in the 4th.

Oh. My. God. Even more impressive watching it on the telly.

31-08-2015, 07:13 AM

Total Players By Games

North Melbourne

Games
Western Bulldogs

Less than 50

50 to 99

100 to 149

150 or more

This worked completely in our favour. I know it's fashionable to point at experience, but for this game, coming back from Perth with a six day break, our glut of twenty year olds was a blessing. These guys are young, they'd be up and about two days after the game. They may not have the tank/stamina yet but recovery, no worries. One will wane as the other improves with age and preseasons but boy what a ride.

31-08-2015, 08:35 AM
Re the game: kudos to Jarrad Grant. While not a dominant player at all he did a couple of telling things and showed no ill effects from whar was a really nasty injury.

31-08-2015, 10:07 AM
I just watched Stringer's run and delivery to Crameri in the 4th.

Oh. My. God. Even more impressive watching it on the telly.

As I was watching String go all Beast Mode, I was imagining him doing that at the G in front of 100,000 with Sandy Roberts commentating....(with apologies to the great G.Ablett Sr).

"Here is the magician at work......what more can you say!"

31-08-2015, 12:39 PM

Was unbelievable. I re-watched that goal more times since than I would like to admit.

My favourite part is Bonti just sensing the moment, and pulling out that brilliance. His clean gather from the hit out is ridiculous hand/eye, and then just cuts a swathe through the North mids. Imagine what is going to happen when Bonti develops more power through his legs and hips. At 19 - he's got heaps of man-strength to develop!

31-08-2015, 02:41 PM
What about the pack marks up forward for the Bont as well. In 2 years time, he could be a dominant CHF if we chose to play him there. He is the same height as Wayne Carey. Scary.

Amazing to think our recruiters were considered bold at the time for taking Bonts and Stringer so early. In their respective years, most 'experts' had both outside the top 10 prospects.

Brilliant identification of upside by our guys. Re-do both drafts today and they'd both go at #1 I'd reckon.

31-08-2015, 02:43 PM
Amazing to think our recruiters were considered bold at the time for taking Bonts and Stringer so early. In their respective years, most 'experts' had both outside the top 10 prospects.
IIRC Geelong we set to pick Stringer with a pick in the teens and thought they were a chance to get him there.
Collingwood upgraded 10 to 6 because they wanted Bonti - there was no way we were going to take him with pick 4 apparently.

31-08-2015, 02:51 PM
IIRC Geelong we set to pick Stringer with a pick in the teens and thought they were a chance to get him there.
Collingwood upgraded 10 to 6 because they wanted Bonti - there was no way we were going to take him with pick 4 apparently.

That's interesting Mofra, thanks. I remember in Phantom Drafts, they were both a fair bit lower than our pick.

Thank eveything that's decent in the world he never got to the Pies. Can you imagine the delerium of their supporters and the media, if Bont was pulling those moves in the black and white? Shudder at the thought.

31-08-2015, 03:32 PM
Re the game: kudos to Jarrad Grant. While not a dominant player at all he did a couple of telling things and showed no ill effects from whar was a really nasty injury.
He got mercilessly bagged for missing Wallis with that simple pass just before half time (and it was a crap skill error) but that opportunity would not have even existed if he hadn't worked hard to nullify Goldstein in an aerial one-on-one (from a North switch-kick), got the ball to ground and then got to the ground ball first. He wasn't doing that sort of hard-working, team-oriented stuff last year or even in his good run of form late in 2013.

31-08-2015, 04:07 PM
Time to get the SIMON DALRYMPLE chant going at games.

31-08-2015, 04:21 PM
He got mercilessly bagged for missing Wallis with that simple pass just before half time (and it was a crap skill error) but that opportunity would not have even existed if he hadn't worked hard to nullify Goldstein in an aerial one-on-one (from a North switch-kick), got the ball to ground and then got to the ground ball first. He wasn't doing that sort of hard-working, team-oriented stuff last year or even in his good run of form late in 2013.

It gets tiring the Grant haters, right? He's about the same as Dahl for set shots and only one really gets pointed out more than the other. All the things he does really well go silent, but an error gets jumped all over. He does a lot of good things week in and out for the team, especially blocking opposition CHF. He speeds movement with his possessions and can play multiple spots on the ground. Bevo obviously rates him and I wish more 'supporters' would support him.

31-08-2015, 05:17 PM
It gets tiring the Grant haters, right? He's about the same as Dahl for set shots and only one really gets pointed out more than the other. All the things he does really well go silent, but an error gets jumped all over. He does a lot of good things week in and out for the team, especially blocking opposition CHF. He speeds movement with his possessions and can play multiple spots on the ground. Bevo obviously rates him and I wish more 'supporters' would support him.

Not sure if this is in jest or not? I can't recall a player in my time supporting the dogs that's done less over such a long period of time yet still have an army ready to attack anyone who criticizes him, justified or not. He is basically teflon.

One thing that seems to escape scrutiny is his best games are always against the weakest teams, and his worst are always against the best teams. It's been this way his whole career. Poor against Richmond, Hawthorn, WCE, Norf, but Melbourne, St Kilda, Carlton all better performances.

He even has a thread dedicated to highlighting things he almost did in games he had no impact. It's all a bit bizarre.

31-08-2015, 05:21 PM
Not sure if this is in jest or not? I can't recall a player in my time supporting the dogs that's done less over such a long period of time yet still have an army ready to attack anyone who criticizes him, justified or not. He is basically teflon.

One thing that seems to escape scrutiny is his best games are always against the weakest teams, and his worst are always against the best teams. It's been this way his whole career. Poor against Richmond, Hawthorn, WCE, Norf, but Melbourne, St Kilda, Carlton all better performances.

He even has a thread dedicated to highlighting things he almost did in games he had no impact. It's all a bit bizarre.

When will you acknowledge he has had a pretty good season this year in his new role. I have only read negative remarks from you on Grant the whole time he has been playing football.

31-08-2015, 05:31 PM
When will you acknowledge he has had a pretty good season this year in his new role. I have only read negative remarks from you on Grant the whole time he has been playing football.

When he actually performs better than just doing enough to hold his place, and less than that against decent teams. He got dropped after a series of poor performances when we had back to back tough games early in the season and his run of decent form coincided with a run of poor teams. The last two weeks have been back to where he was early in the season, it's a good thing we have Brisbane this week. He's 26 and struggled to command a regular place in the seniors for the best part of a decade, yet it's a shock that I haven't heaped praise on him? What a strange thing to say.

He's averaging 14 disposals and 2 tackles a game playing as a midfielder, let's get some perspective.

Just out of curiosity when are you going to acknowledge the performance of of small forward who's closing in on 50 goals for the season? all I've ever read from you is negative remarks about Dickson. If his name was Grant this board would be in meltdown.

31-08-2015, 05:35 PM
I don't get the OTT Grant love. He's a pretty average player to be honest and is borderline in our best 22.

31-08-2015, 05:40 PM
Just out of curiosity when are you going to acknowledge the performance of of small forward who's closing in on 50 goals for the season? all I've ever read from you is negative remarks about Dickson. If his name was Grant this board would be in meltdown.

Absolute BS and you know it.

I have acknowledged Dickson several times this year and have nothing against him. As long as a player is in the RWB I will not bag them. If they perform poorly, yes I will call for them to be dropped.

31-08-2015, 05:41 PM
I don't get the OTT Grant love. He's a pretty average player to be honest and is borderline in our best 22.

Seems Beveridge doesn't agree with you.

31-08-2015, 05:42 PM

What did he say?

If we had 'all' our players fit I doubt he'd be in our 22 myself.

31-08-2015, 05:44 PM

What army? It's a rag tag militia around me.

He's played his second highest amount of season games, that says he's doing his job. He does a lot of things super coach don't score and so much hard gut unrewarding running. He can only try to play as good as he can each week, but if the teams are theoretically weaker then his good games are worthless?? He was actually very good against Richmond, if you watch him intently you see that he has a team role to shut down CHF. He forced their movement wide and forced their forwards into wide and tight positions to reduce easy turnover goals or easy leads in the corridor. He has a very defined team role and makes out attach from defence quickly with fast hands and accurate disposal. We were beaten by 80 points by Hawthorn with two early injuries, was he the only passenger? He had some vital touches and involvement on Saturday too.

I guess he's doing something right this year to play the majority of the season and have an 80% winning record when he plays compared to 30% without him. I guess that's why the club is rumoured to be giving hi another two years. He's risen his stocks dramatically and it drains me that all the good things he does barely get raised, but the occasional error is jumped on. I get many have baggage because of his draft order pick, but he's trying hard to repay the faith and that to me deserves more support let alone selective criticism (not necessarily you GS). I will go on backing him, supporting him and cheering him. He has rare talent and the only way to tap into it is to invest in his confidence as a whole club and membership and I proudly want to be part of the solution and resurrection of him than a part of the problem in a negative mindset.

31-08-2015, 05:47 PM
I must say when things get personal it's not much enjoyment.

31-08-2015, 05:48 PM
Absolute BS and you know it.

I have acknowledged Dickson several times this year and have nothing against him. As long as a player is in the RWB I will not bag them. If they perform poorly, yes I will call for them to be dropped.

That's just laughable, too much there to even contradict it

Which part? The part when he was dropped, or the part where he's been subbed in or out of several games?

31-08-2015, 05:51 PM
I'm tapping out of this. How can supporting one of our players turn into a kill joy. There's finals and killing the fun doesn't interest me. See you all on a different thread maybe.

31-08-2015, 06:03 PM
What army? It's a rag tag militia around me.

He's played his second highest amount of season games, that says he's doing his job. He does a lot of things super coach don't score and so much hard gut unrewarding running. He can only try to play as good as he can each week, but if the teams are theoretically weaker then his good games are worthless?? He was actually very good against Richmond, if you watch him intently you see that he has a team role to shut down CHF. He forced their movement wide and forced their forwards into wide and tight positions to reduce easy turnover goals or easy leads in the corridor. He has a very defined team role and makes out attach from defence quickly with fast hands and accurate disposal. We were beaten by 80 points by Hawthorn with two early injuries, was he the only passenger? He had some vital touches and involvement on Saturday too.

I guess he's doing something right this year to play the majority of the season and have an 80% winning record when he plays compared to 30% without him. I guess that's why the club is rumoured to be giving hi another two years. He's risen his stocks dramatically and it drains me that all the good things he does barely get raised, but the occasional error is jumped on. I get many have baggage because of his draft order pick, but he's trying hard to repay the faith and that to me deserves more support let alone selective criticism (not necessarily you GS). I will go on backing him, supporting him and cheering him. He has rare talent and the only way to tap into it is to invest in his confidence as a whole club and membership and I proudly want to be part of the solution and resurrection of him than a part of the problem in a negative mindset.

I've never given a moments thought to Supercoach scores BT.

He was terrible against Richmond and again against Hawthorn and was rightly dropped for the Sydney game, that's just how it was. He played some reasonable games once getting back into the team but again has struggled against the good teams we have played recently. That concerns me because I have doubts he can reverse that trend when we get into finals. That's the reason I bring it up. For all the talk about his potential unlimited upside I just don't think it's there, I see a lot of players on the list who can take us forward coming through who will be ahead of Grant.

I have no issue with people pumping him up more than he deserves, each to their own. And even if it's OTT I have no problem when it's coming from you Dman. Grant getting called a whipping boy is a step too far though :)

31-08-2015, 06:27 PM
That's just laughable, too much there to even contradict it?

Mantis was right.

31-08-2015, 06:31 PM

Jarryd's improved his output,but he has to nail those easy shots

31-08-2015, 06:33 PM
Gee I've heard some bitter Norf types.
Manager at work reckons it was the umps, and he'd gladly play us in finals.
Wanna bring a v8 engine in some of those Zimmer frames Dad's army.
Bloke on SEN reckons they weren't trying !

31-08-2015, 06:36 PM
Jarryd's improved his output,but he has to nail those easy shots

so does Dahl, Stringer (on Saturday), Webber, Redpath and the list goes on.

31-08-2015, 08:03 PM
I get frustrated with a number of our players for different reasons, Dahl is a shocking offender for missing set shots regularly, whilst Stringer's refusal to do the simple things well riles me up more than anything.

One of the issues associated with how Grant's perceived is that he isn't an accumulator for a midfielder, and this places a greater emphasis on the touches he does get. We can go out and get midfielders to stand in space and run from end to end doing the team structure type things and pay them next to nicks for doing so, but players need to be rounded and take their opportunities when they present themselves.

If Grant doesn't take the few opportunities he gets a quarter, or kick some of the easier set shots, or misses an easy hit to a forward target then his performance can become a marginal one like it did on the weekend fairly rapidly. These are the things he should be doing to cap off his hard work, all of the team oriented things he's doing well are things he should be doing for us as a minimum each week, as players in good teams do them without batting an eyelid.

He's had a mixed bag this year, some really good performances mixed with some average ones. A big step forward for him has seen him within the average performances still contribute at some level.

31-08-2015, 08:04 PM

I heard that too. I giggled like a schoolgirl.

31-08-2015, 08:12 PM
Listen before any of you blokes think you are qualified to rate Granty, Dead Eye or any of our players, i really think you should defer to someone with a proven track record..... me. As evidence i submit the following:

'This kid is going to be the next Doug Hawkins......' Re Mark Cullen June 23, 1987

'Nah, too skinny, have to agree with all those recruiting guys that lit him slip to 105'...... Re Chris Grant Skinner reserve Feb 1990

' Will play 200 games, looks leadership material....' Re Cam Wight August 6 2005 to a Richmond drunk behind the goals

31-08-2015, 08:13 PM

The Norf supporters I've spoken to seem to fall into two distinctive groups;

A) Those muppetts you described

B) Those that consider this definitive proof that Scott can't coach and a team of kids have gone past them. He needs to be sacked and they rebuild.

31-08-2015, 09:02 PM
Mantis was right.

About what?

31-08-2015, 10:19 PM
Coaches Votes are in:

10 Bont
6 Wallis
5 Hunter
4 Stringer
4 Tarrant
1 Biggs

Breakdown

5 Bont 4 Stringer 3 Hunter 2 Wallis 1 Tarrant
5 Bont 4 Wallis 3 Tarrant 2 Hunter 1 Biggs

Could swap Stringer & Tarrant votes.

01-09-2015, 12:19 AM
Grant is a somewhat unique player who clearly plays his role in the team well (if he wasn't he'd not get a single game). He's best 22. We've not had too many injuries this year and the players who've missed the most time to injury (Libba Smith and Stevens) don't exactly play a similar role.

01-09-2015, 02:12 AM
When he actually performs better than just doing enough to hold his place, and less than that against decent teams. He got dropped after a series of poor performances when we had back to back tough games early in the season and his run of decent form coincided with a run of poor teams. The last two weeks have been back to where he was early in the season, it's a good thing we have Brisbane this week. He's 26 and struggled to command a regular place in the seniors for the best part of a decade, yet it's a shock that I haven't heaped praise on him? What a strange thing to say.

He's averaging 14 disposals and 2 tackles a game playing as a midfielder, let's get some perspective.
I've been a long-time Grant sceptic, and his raw numbers are by no means off the charts in 2015. But what I have really appreciated from him this season has been the massive increase in his two-way workrate (he must have worked extremely hard over summer to increase his tank), as well as the strong emphasis on sacrificial team acts and helping out defensively - there was a piece of play in the 2nd qtr when Taylor Garner had a kick over the top inside their forward 50 smothered, Crameri picked up the ground ball in defensive 50 but then stuffed up his bounce. Granty was there to lay a crucial block on (I think) Petrie just as Crameri was about to get collared, which allowed him the time and space to clear the danger. These are the sort of acts that Grant now does often in games that just didn't exist in his repertoire in previous seasons, and so long as he can continue to provide that unwavering effort in these key areas each week, I like the flexibility that he brings to the balance of our best 22. He's never going to be "the man" that he was initially drafted for, and he's not going to be the clearance animal or the possession machine. But as the old-skool utility that can perform an important role in most parts of the ground, I think we're currently better with him in the team.

01-09-2015, 02:41 AM
Finally got to see the replay. Thought Honeychurch was pretty good, and involved in some good niggle.

01-09-2015, 12:51 PM
Finally got to see the replay. Thought Honeychurch was pretty good, and involved in some good niggle.

He was.

Hopefully he can keep this form up.

01-09-2015, 01:08 PM
He was.

Hopefully he can keep this form up.

Agree, I think he's well suited to playing finals.

01-09-2015, 01:15 PM
Agree, I think he's well suited to playing finals.

You could be right.

I had my doubts because even at VFL level he's faded out of games too often, but when he's in that "pitbull terrier" mode he can become invaluable as that annoying, pressuring small forward. Unlike a lot of small forwards, he does his best work in packs - of which dramatically increases in finals.

The keys for Honey and the remainder of the year are whether he's fresh enough mentally and physically - he looked much better last week so here's hoping that continues - and his ability to convert the ~2 chances he has per game to kick goals. It was great to see him kick a couple on the weekend - both clutch IIRC - it's something he's struggled with in the past.

01-09-2015, 01:21 PM
You could be right.

I had my doubts because even at VFL level he's faded out of games too often, but when he's in that "pitbull terrier" mode he can become invaluable as that annoying, pressuring small forward. Unlike a lot of small forwards, he does his best work in packs - of which dramatically increases in finals.

The keys for Honey and the remainder of the year are whether he's fresh enough mentally and physically - he looked much better last week so here's hoping that continues - and his ability to convert the ~2 chances he has per game to kick goals. It was great to see him kick a couple on the weekend - both clutch IIRC - it's something he's struggled with in the past.

Yeah it's pitbull style that can really help drive the men of mayhem style we'll need to bring to finals. As you said, space and time typically reduces in finals, and holding the ball into your forward line and giving your forwards repeat chances becomes more important when precise delivery to the forwards isn't as easy. It's the same reason I think Boyd is better suited than Redpath. Honey would need to be on his game if Boyd is playing.

01-09-2015, 02:23 PM
I love the 5 half back flankers!

Murphy, Boyd, Wood, JJ, Biggs. Especially in that last 1/4 the squadron like formations as they blitzed through the midfield resulting in goals to JJ & Biggs (2x). It was brilliant football. The Bulldog Blitzkrieg!

01-09-2015, 03:22 PM
Yeah it's pitbull style that can really help drive the men of mayhem style we'll need to bring to finals. As you said, space and time typically reduces in finals, and holding the ball into your forward line and giving your forwards repeat chances becomes more important when precise delivery to the forwards isn't as easy. It's the same reason I think Boyd is better suited than Redpath. Honey would need to be on his game if Boyd is playing.

How do we prepare around that? This group has a significant numer of players who haven't played finals.

I'm sick of getting smashed in our first final after a lay off from the finals and everyone saying "geez finals aye? It's so much quicker! We weren't expecting it to be like that."

01-09-2015, 03:28 PM
How do we prepare around that? This group has a significant numer of players who haven't played finals.

I'm sick of getting smashed in our first final after a lay off from the finals and everyone saying "geez finals aye? It's so much quicker! We weren't expecting it to be like that."

At least quiet a few have played a VFL GF - better than nothing

01-09-2015, 04:29 PM

The thinking behind getting smashed in our first final and not being ready for the step up are misaligned. It's the quality of the opposition we haven't been ready for, not the fact that it's a final itself. In 2008-2010 we played a top 4 team first up, they were better prepared tactically and mentally and murdered us, we'd then get a soft kill the second week against a bottom of the 8 team and convince ourselves it was first up nerves, before losing the prelim to another top 4 team. Sometimes our second up effort was better, but only once were we a chance to win.

In 2006 when we finished in the bottom of the 8 we played a fellow bottom of the 8 team in Collingwood and blitzed them first up. No nerves to speak of. When we played a top 4 team in WCE in week 2 we got murdered.

Really it's about building a brand of football that can stand up against the best teams on the big stage and drilling it into the players all season so they're ready for finals. The team we have this season is extremely young, but already they've shown capacity to match it with the best teams like Sydney, Freo, and WCE, plus we're playing a game style that is balanced between defence, inside grunt, and the ability to score quickly when the chance arises. It may not be this year but I feel more confident than I have in the past we're building a team that can deliver success.

01-09-2015, 05:03 PM
I'm desparately hoping that the likes of Murph, Boyd and to a lesser extent Morris can maintain their form and fitness for one more year.....as I reckon we can give the premiership a real tilt in 2016 if we come up short this year.

Whilst we have some terrific young blokes coming through, none of them will be quite ready to provide the level of output we've seen from these three blokes this year. And I'd love to see these blokes taste ultimate success.

01-09-2015, 05:05 PM
The thinking behind getting smashed in our first final and not being ready for the step up are misaligned. It's the quality of the opposition we haven't been ready for, not the fact that it's a final itself. In 2008-2010 we played a top 4 team first up, they were better prepared tactically and mentally and murdered us, we'd then get a soft kill the second week against a bottom of the 8 team and convince ourselves it was first up nerves, before losing the prelim to another top 4 team. Sometimes our second up effort was better, but only once were we a chance to win.

In 2006 when we finished in the bottom of the 8 we played a fellow bottom of the 8 team in Collingwood and blitzed them first up. No nerves to speak of. When we played a top 4 team in WCE in week 2 we got murdered.

Really it's about building a brand of football that can stand up against the best teams on the big stage and drilling it into the players all season so they're ready for finals. The team we have this season is extremely young, but already they've shown capacity to match it with the best teams like Sydney, Freo, and WCE, plus we're playing a game style that is balanced between defence, inside grunt, and the ability to score quickly when the chance arises. It may not be this year but I feel more confident than I have in the past we're building a team that can deliver success.

Reckon you have pretty much nailed it there 'stache. They are not afraid, they exude confidence and know on their day they can beat anybody. The beauty of this team is that it is such a young group that has so much talent, much more than any other team in the past and they will continue to grow as team and form huge bonds amongst each other. Never have I felt confident that we would win a flag. I have the utmost confidence in this playing group and coaching and recruitment team that the ultimate success is not far away. It may not be this or next but it will be sooner rather than later.

01-09-2015, 05:20 PM

Dead on. We've been looking at the problem the wrong way around. I was thinking of that Collingwiod final and how we nailed it from the moment the ball was bounced. The fact the opposition
Do you think these guys will handle it? I can't wait to find out.

01-09-2015, 06:25 PM
Yep, the most galling thing about 2008-2010 were the extremely poor performances in all 3 QF's (especially 2008 and 2009, as we were physically shot in 2010). The fact that we were highly competitive in all 3 subsequent PF's makes our rabbit-in-the-headlight performances in week 1 of those finals campaigns that much more galling. We were an experienced side in those campaigns, so I don't necessarily equate experience with finals success. As rightly pointed out, we smashed a more seasoned opponent in the 2006 EF.

I am very confident that our list in 2015 can deliver on the big stage in finals this season - whether or not it takes us all the way is a huge ask, but I love not dismissing it and not putting a ceiling on what we can achieve right here and now.

01-09-2015, 06:34 PM

Id agree with this. The main factor that separates the top 4-ish from the rest is ability to execute under pressure. The top teams can still manage to adhere to their gameplan and execute enough to keep the scoreboard ticking over despite everything the opposition is throwing at them, and that was always our problem under Eade, and why we always had problems with, for example, St Kilda - we couldnt handle their defensive pressure and our scoring dried up.

Thats why I take some heart from the West Coast game where they were clearly up and about on their home deck and we didnt stop trying to break through and we managed to kick a decent score. Eventually we crumbled but it wasnt one of those horrid type of games where we were stifled for the entire match.

The difference in this team is that we have players in important positions/roles who *can* execute under enormous pressure.

01-09-2015, 06:40 PM
I'm desparately hoping that the likes of Murph, Boyd and to a lesser extent Morris can maintain their form and fitness for one more year.....as I reckon we can give the premiership a real tilt in 2016 if we come up short this year.

Whilst we have some terrific young blokes coming through, none of them will be quite ready to provide the level of output we've seen from these three blokes this year. And I'd love to see these blokes taste ultimate success.
Couldn't agree more re the three you mentioned and can see no reason why they won't play on. Murph has lost none of his pace and deft movement, whilst Boydy is relishing his new role which, I believe, he probably finds a lot less frenetic than his previous duties. His kicking off both feet has been a revelation. The Glove, I am sure, is capable of going around again. As our young defenders get more games under their belts they will take some of the pressure off him.

Those three blokes have been magnificent players for us and deserve every bit of success that WILL come their way. This is the best group of players we've assembled in my 59 years as a supporter. We are on the Road to the Promised Land. It's going to happen and I'm going to be there with the faithful to enjoy every moment of the journey.

01-09-2015, 08:49 PM
Coaches Votes are in:

10 Bont
6 Wallis
5 Hunter
4 Stringer
4 Tarrant
1 Biggs

Breakdown

Couldn't believe the peanut who wrote the game day article in the age on Monday gave 8 votes to Goldenstein???
He got smashed around the ground by Roughy.Sure he got his 50 odd tap out's but his influence was nullified by our mid's ability to rove off his work whilst at the same time smashing Norfs inept mid brigade.
FFS'S The Bont was only given 8 votes as well.
WHAT A KNOB JOCKEY.

01-09-2015, 08:57 PM
Coaches Votes are in:

10 Bont
6 Wallis
5 Hunter
4 Stringer
4 Tarrant
1 Biggs

Breakdown

Great to see Biggs get the first of what should be shedloads of votes in that award.

01-09-2015, 09:00 PM
It's very interesting (and sad) to ponder what exactly went wrong with our 08-10 flag tilts. But recently I compared the age profiles of the '09 prelim team and the team that thrashed Melbourne. The PF team had, amazingly, NINETEEN players who had played 150+ games; against Melb, we had only three. The 09-ers had only one player who'd played under 100 games! Our current mob have 18 in that category. The demographic is completely reversed making our performance even more remarkable, and our future brighter than I've ever seen.

(I tried to post a graphic of this but can't, it's on my blog if interested).

01-09-2015, 09:37 PM
It's very interesting (and sad) to ponder what exactly went wrong with our 08-10 flag tilts. But recently I compared the age profiles of the '09 prelim team and the team that thrashed Melbourne. The PF team had, amazingly, NINETEEN players who had played 150+ games; against Melb, we had only three. The 09-ers had only one player who'd played under 100 games! Our current mob have 18 in that category. The demographic is completely reversed making our performance even more remarkable, and our future brighter than I've ever seen.

Thanks for those stats TBT. Quite interesting.

The age old saying "strike while the iron is hot" is ringing in my ears. Whilst we talk about how young we are/how much scope for improvement we have - both of which should be true - there's no absolute given in footy. You can fall as quickly as you can rise, eg. Collingwood's side of 2010 was young and supposed to win multiple premierships, Port Adelaide was supposed to improve and go all the way this season.

Whilst it's a long shot, I hope we throw everything at this series. You just never know. An injury here or there to the opposition, a run on by us, a few umpiring decisions - it can happen. We can make it.

01-09-2015, 10:03 PM
I love the 5 half back flankers!

Murphy, Boyd, Wood, JJ, Biggs. Especially in that last 1/4 the squadron like formations as they blitzed through the midfield resulting in goals to JJ & Biggs (2x). It was brilliant football. The Bulldog Blitzkrieg!

That's it... The Blitzkrieg Dogs!!! That's got to be our new unofficial theme song. 'Intercepting in the back line...Causing mayhem in the midfield...Panic in the forward line... THE BLITZKRIEG DOGS! Hey Ho, Let's Go... :cool:

02-09-2015, 12:01 AM
That's it... The Blitzkrieg Dogs!!! That's got to be our new unofficial theme song. 'Intercepting in the back line...Causing mayhem in the midfield...Panic in the forward line... THE BLITZKRIEG DOGS! Hey Ho, Let's Go... :cool:

This week we're off to the Gabba , hey?

02-09-2015, 12:59 AM

I'm sorry to rain on your parade TBT, but I think the stats are misleading. I attempted some similar research a few weeks back to compare us to the Hawks of 08, and footywire said that they had no players under 100 games. Given Cyril was in his first or second season, it can't have been true! What I think those numbers unfortunately represent is the players current games played, not their games played at that point in time, so it's hard to accurately compare.

I'm pretty sure Ward and Harbrow, among others, played in the finals you mentioned and would have been well below 100 games?

Regardless, our team now would be far less experienced than that team so the main point stands!

02-09-2015, 01:01 AM
I'm sorry to rain on your parade TBT, but I think the stats are misleading. I attempted some similar research a few weeks back to compare us to the Hawks of 08, and footywire said that they had no players under 100 games. Given Cyril was in his first or second season, it can't have been true! What I think those numbers unfortunately represent is the players current games played, not their games played at that point in time.

I'm pretty sure Ward and Harbrow, among others, played in the finals you mentioned?

Regardless, our team now would be far less experienced than that team.
Wood, Callan, Tiller as well off the top of my head. Let's also not forget Hooper ;)

02-09-2015, 02:29 AM
Wood, Callan, Tiller as well off the top of my head. Let's also not forget Hooper ;)

Oh can we please? ;)

02-09-2015, 02:48 AM
Just looked up the actual figures:

The Prelim team of 08 had 9 players who had played less than 100 games at that time. They were Callan 30,Griffen 75, Harbrow 25, Higgins 32, Hill 19, Hudson 78, Minson 66, Morris 87, Tiller 16.

09 PF team. 7 players: Callan 33, Griffen 97, Harbrow 48, Higgins 52, Minson 91, Picken 23, Ward 28.

10 PF team. 7 players: Addison 55, Grant 21, Harbrow 70, Picken 43, Ward 38, Williams 56, Wood 13.

02-09-2015, 09:54 AM
I'm sorry to rain on your parade TBT, but I think the stats are misleading. I attempted some similar research a few weeks back to compare us to the Hawks of 08, and footywire said that they had no players under 100 games. Given Cyril was in his first or second season, it can't have been true! What I think those numbers unfortunately represent is the players current games played, not their games played at that point in time, so it's hard to accurately compare.

I'm pretty sure Ward and Harbrow, among others, played in the finals you mentioned and would have been well below 100 games?

Regardless, our team now would be far less experienced than that team so the main point stands!

You are absolutely right but this is what I relied upon. Should have known better than relying on AFL !
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=4958#hd

02-09-2015, 09:58 AM

I haven't verified it but I think Freo, Hawks, North and maybe Sydney have a similar profile.

Certainly last week North only had 2 players with less than 50 games.

The list needs to be balanced in each group of players to get a good blend. Our current profile and success (ie to play finals) is just amazing.

02-09-2015, 10:43 AM
Oh can we please? ;)

Dont make me bring out the worm.

02-09-2015, 11:51 AM
Hooper will always be remembered for one thing - and it's a good memory too. Footy is an emotional game and the way he fired up that night got others up and about. I'll always remember him for that.

02-09-2015, 12:54 PM
Hooper will always be remembered for one thing - and it's a good memory too. Footy is an emotional game and the way he fired up that night got others up and about. I'll always remember him for that.

Likewise - it was important not to go out in straight sets and it was looking horribly ominous until he bobbed up with that dodgy free kick and subsequent fist pump.

02-09-2015, 11:52 PM

Consider this the culmination of a great idea with having too much time on my hands...and a soft spot for The Ramones.

http://i.imgur.com/I2Hv88F.jpg

02-09-2015, 11:54 PM
On reflection those Magpie colours make me irritable.

http://i.imgur.com/WOhrVQi.jpg

That's better.

03-09-2015, 01:07 AM
On reflection those Magpie colours make me irritable.

http://i.imgur.com/WOhrVQi.jpg

That's better.

Sold.

03-09-2015, 01:13 AM
Bobby is Joey - gangly, weird looking, but just makes it all work; the band would be nothing without him

Boyd is Johnny - Uncompromising, kind of a bastard, but plays far beyond his ability should allow. Hopefully not as big of a republican.

Easton is Dee Dee - Weird name, plays out of the box, by far the most interesting style. Probably a better rapper though.

JJ is CJ - joined late, young, brash and raw. Also both have the J thing going.

Leaving Biggsy with the drummer - Richie was easily the best so we'll go with him.

03-09-2015, 02:05 AM
Brilliant effort. Looks great.

To be a stickler, Ramones were always a 4 piece.

Jarrad, Bobby, Mitch & Bont would be good names, referencing the Ramones classic intro 1, 2, 3, 4.

03-09-2015, 08:06 PM
That's it, a monster has been created. Get me to the merch stand now!

03-09-2015, 08:11 PM
Look forward to seeing your Men of Mayhem design, Rocket Science!

03-09-2015, 08:19 PM
Look forward to seeing your Men of Mayhem design, Rocket Science!

Ha, NOW you've got me thinking.

Consider it in the 'pending' box.