View Full Version : Confirmed Trades, FS, FA, delistings etc for all AFL Clubs 2015

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

29-08-2015, 02:13 PM
Lachie Henderson - Club TBC

29-08-2015, 03:22 PM
"TBC" Kind of thumbs the nose to the heading BT ;).

29-08-2015, 04:03 PM
"TBC" Kind of thumbs the nose to the heading BT ;).

Touché. I couldn't figure an interesting first post. :)

07-09-2015, 05:14 PM
Confirmed: Bennell sacked by GCS.
Confirmed: Dixon quits GCS.

07-09-2015, 05:21 PM
Confirmed: Bennell sacked by GCS.
Confirmed: Dixon quits GCS.

Really. Are these for real?

07-09-2015, 05:30 PM
Really. Are these for real?

Dixon has asked to go to Port Adelaide, Gold Coast will trade Bennell after another off field incident.

Neither has happened so technically neither are real yet.

07-09-2015, 06:19 PM
Gee if you could sort out Bennell you would have one amazing football talent.
Dixon would be awesome in a good side.

07-09-2015, 06:21 PM
Gee if you could sort out Bennell you would have one amazing football talent.
Dixon would be awesome in a good side.

Problem with Dixon is glass ankles. Gets subbed out every 2nd week. Definitely not for a team that plays a lot at Etihad.

09-09-2015, 09:56 AM
Treloar has nominated the Pies as his preferred destination.

09-09-2015, 02:13 PM
It's annoying that Collingwood keep attracting the attention of all these quality young players even though they've self-destroyed two years in a row.

09-09-2015, 02:39 PM
It's annoying that Collingwood keep attracting the attention of all these quality young players even though they've self-destroyed two years in a row.

It is but then I wouldn't really want a player who gets stooged by the false glitter.

09-09-2015, 06:17 PM

Must be the lure of playing under Bucks.

09-09-2015, 07:27 PM
Must be the lure of playing under Bucks.

For the bucks more like.

09-09-2015, 08:04 PM
For the bucks more like.

you'd want to be well compensated, wouldn't you?

09-09-2015, 08:49 PM
For the bucks more like.

Well with 2 flags in 57 years he certainly didn't go there for the success.

10-09-2015, 01:58 PM
Well with 2 flags in 57 years he certainly didn't go there for the success.

Something something glass houses.

10-09-2015, 02:21 PM
Something something glass houses.

Not really, if he chose us it would only be for the money, as every media person ever would point out.

10-09-2015, 02:26 PM
Well it's two more than us through that period.

Likewise if a player chooses Collingwood it's really not the sort of player I want at the club.

Didn't we recently spend big money on an untried kid recently?

10-09-2015, 04:38 PM
Not really, if he chose us it would only be for the money, as every media person ever would point out.

Yes. Because when you choose Collingwood - its to 'play in front of the big crowds'. (Whereas if you go to a Sydney or Brisbane club its for the 'lifestyle' and to be out of the 'fishbowl')

10-09-2015, 09:18 PM
Cam McCarthy from GWS asking for a trade back home to WA.

10-09-2015, 09:22 PM

Gee that is a big one.

10-09-2015, 09:25 PM

Ouch, that hurts.
Oh well

10-09-2015, 09:26 PM
Gee that is a big one.

Yep for sure, Freo would have to be all over him. I can only imagine WCE getting him if they trade Darling to us and we work out the compo to GWS... :)

GWS breed them, then the comp takes them.

10-09-2015, 09:29 PM
Yep for sure, Freo would have to be all over him. I can only imagine WCE getting him if they trade Darling to us and we work out the compo to GWS... :)

GWS breed them, then the comp takes them.

Freo would pay overs for sure. And if West Coast get him - Oh dear.

10-09-2015, 09:29 PM
Tough couple of days for GWS supporters (all 3 of them).

I for one love seeing the Giants getting weaker.

The AFL set them up for success at the expense of long time fans such as our supporter base. I have no sympathy for their franchise falling to pieces.

10-09-2015, 09:31 PM
Tough couple of days for GWS supporters (all 3 of them).

I for one love seeing the Giants getting weaker.

The AFL set them up for success at the expense of long time fans such as our supporter base. I have no sympathy for their franchise falling to pieces.

I think Sheedy shredded his membership and erased that time from his career. So make that two supporters. :D

10-09-2015, 09:32 PM
They are only sucking up perfectly good footballers that should be playing with proper clubs.

10-09-2015, 09:43 PM
I love a good hypothetical 3 club trade.

Any way we could get involved in the McCarthy deal?

GWS need key defenders. Michael Talia is reportedly shopping himself. Could be a good fit.

Freo are going to need plenty to appease GWS for a contracted player, more than they possibly have at hand.

Lachie Weller is a jet midfielder, his brother is here in Victoria and he's had little opportunity at the highest level.

How about this:

Freo

OUT: Weller, first round pick
IN: McCarthy

GWS

OUT: McCarthy, 2nd round pick
IN: Talia, Freo first round pick, Bulldogs first round pick

Bulldogs

IN: Weller, GWS 2nd round pick
OUT: Talia, first round pick

10-09-2015, 09:51 PM
So Weller for Talia and a 14 drop down from our first pick. Haven't seen enough of him.

10-09-2015, 09:58 PM
So Weller for Talia and a 14 drop down from our first pick. Haven't seen enough of him.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYf97cfxBBc

10-09-2015, 09:58 PM

suck shite, sorry, but seriously.

Weller reminds me of a young Gryffen but better above his head.

10-09-2015, 10:02 PM
OUT: Weller, first round pick
IN: McCarthy

Freo are holding the cards with McCarthy wanting to go home. They won't want to part with one of their very few decent young players

10-09-2015, 10:08 PM
Freo are holding the cards with McCarthy wanting to go home. They won't want to part with one of their very few decent young players

McCarthy is contracted until the end of 2017. Going to take something very good to make this deal happen.

10-09-2015, 10:17 PM
McCarthy is contracted until the end of 2017. Going to take something very good to make this deal happen.

If we can facilitate some pain back, great. Getting a good player, even better. All these high draft picks mean nothing for GWS when they line up to leave.

How his head office taking this? Dixon, Bennell, Treloar, McCarthy all turning their back on pretend 'made for TV' clubs.

10-09-2015, 10:34 PM
He's a pretty big Freo fan by all accounts .
This has Tom Boyd written all over it, and no doubt Wastelands will talk tough then release him.

10-09-2015, 11:12 PM
Hahahahahahahahaha. Cam McCarthy requests a trade, great stuff!

10-09-2015, 11:28 PM
How his head office taking this? Dixon, Bennell, Treloar, McCarthy all turning their back on pretend 'made for TV' clubs.

With all the excitement of our finals appearance, the 8 announcements then Dalrymple & McCartney, this may actually be the biggest news of all for us

We've always thought we were building a great side, we just thought we were about to run into two mega teams full of first rounders

They are looking more and more depleted by the day

11-09-2015, 01:06 AM
Everytime I see Cam McCarthy I think of Cletis from The Simpsons.

11-09-2015, 02:28 AM
GWS have confirmed via Twitter that "despite media speculation, Cam McCarthy has not requested a trade and is contracted until 2017".

Ah, the memories!

(this was followed by Barrett tweeting confirmation from McCarthy's manager on the record, and then a GWS player tweeting a picture of them all sharing a beer together...right before Toby Greene and Devon Smith started brawling with each other, probablu)

11-09-2015, 05:44 PM
Weller rocks and would really help us nail that 13-∞ female demographic in our marketing efforts.

BUT; on instagram, McCarthy said (and I quote) "im not fu#king leaving". So there's that in the way.

11-09-2015, 06:07 PM
Weller rocks and would really help us nail that 13-∞ female demographic in our marketing efforts.

BUT; on instagram, McCarthy said (and I quote) "im not fu#king leaving". So there's that in the way.

He was at a pub with some of the other GWS players, and given what had been posted on Callan Ward's page the last few days I'd imagine it was a similar Facebook hack.

11-09-2015, 06:12 PM
Apparently the McCarthy offer is 700 large per year!

11-09-2015, 06:32 PM

He'd be crazy not to chase that hard. I love the legacy of the Gryphon trade is GWS contracted gun players feel they can demand to get their trades on big money. If they hadn't of poached him, the Boyd example of them folding wouldn't be there to follow. What that thing akin to the law of cause and effect....

11-09-2015, 06:43 PM
700 is crazy overs for mine. McCarthy was a handy 2nd banana to Cameron when GWS were going ok, but from what he's shown to date, he's just not big or good enough to be the focal point and take the main defender (unless Freo have someone else in mind as well).

11-09-2015, 06:48 PM

In the true word's of a great Aussie icon-
"Tell him he's dreaming"

15-09-2015, 12:56 PM
Collingwood have delisted:

Clinton Young and journeyman midfielder Sam Dwyer

15-09-2015, 12:59 PM

Young could've been anything if his body held up.

15-09-2015, 01:27 PM
Hinkley has stated Lobbe off the trade table.

15-09-2015, 01:38 PM

There was big wraps on Dwyer after he won the liston but he always liked a plodder to me.

15-09-2015, 02:17 PM
Richmond is interested in Carlton free agent Matthew Kreuzer, while the Bulldogs are circling Brisbane Lion Stefan Martin.
Kreuzer is out of contract, while Martin has one year remaining on his deal, meaning he would only move if the Lions can secure a satisfactory trade.
The Lions have told Martin he is going nowhere.
- Herald Sun

15-09-2015, 02:30 PM
Hinkley has stated Lobbe off the trade table.

It's going to be interesting to see who they off-load to bring in Dixon.. Reports are that they are already running their salary cap over 100%.

Only possible out being reported is Schulz and I doubt he would be on the $500-600k which is what Dixon is after.

15-09-2015, 03:11 PM
Brisvegas were interested in Grant before. We want Martin. Interesting.

WESTERN BULLDOGS (http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-premiership/trade-wishlist-collingwood-gws-port-adelaide-geelong-adelaide-western-bulldogs-analysed/story-e6frf3e3-1227499817284)

What they need

THE Bulldogs must be careful as they approach the trade table this season.

While they have undoubtedly enjoyed a fantastic year, they must not get carried away when evaluating their list and target their premiership window too early.

In saying that, the Dogs would love to add a couple of talls to their team. A key position player would give Tom Boyd much needed support as he continues to develop, while a quality ruckman is a must.

The Dogs would take another blue-chip midfielder if he became available, but you can’t see them going out of their way to secure him.

Who is available?

THIS trade period looks one where a host of ruckmen will be available.

Matthew Leuenberger and Stefan Martin have both signalled their intentions to leave Brisbane, while former No. 1 draft pick Matthew Kreuzer is yet to re-sign at Carlton. They may face stiff competition for Gold Coast’s Zac Smith, but he is also worth a punt.

As for key position players, the Dogs are unlikely to target Jake Carlisle. However, that’s not to say they won’t try their luck for a key forward.

Could they lure Adelaide’s Tom Lynch amid a host of Victorian offers? It might also be worth trying an ambitious play for Sydney’s Sam Reid.

Otherwise, GWS could be a gold mine for the Dogs. Fringe players like Andrew Phillips, Lachie Plowman and Adam Tomlinson would be well worth the effort.

15-09-2015, 03:59 PM
http://m.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2015-09-15/club-names-list-changes

15-09-2015, 04:01 PM

Refer same post on List Management.

15-09-2015, 04:11 PM

The following players have been advised that they will not be offered positions on the playing list for the 2016 season:

Ayce Cordy (25 years old, 27 games)
Sam Darley (22 years old, 20 games)
Matthew Fuller (25 years old, 0 games)
Brett Goodes (rookie, 31 years old, 22 games)
Daniel Pearce (rookie, 22 years old, 6 games)
Jordan Kelly (rookie, 22 years old, 0 games)

15-09-2015, 04:15 PM
Any interest in Mason Shaw from Port?

15-09-2015, 04:16 PM
While they have undoubtedly enjoyed a fantastic year, they must not get carried away when evaluating their list and target their premiership window too early.

I'm a little nervous about punching above our weight too early as well. We've got to be very careful!

15-09-2015, 04:44 PM
RICHMOND has delisted Matt McDonough and Matt Arnot

15-09-2015, 04:47 PM

Who? :)

15-09-2015, 04:48 PM
The following players have been advised that they will not be offered positions on the playing list for the 2016 season:

Ayce Cordy (25 years old, 27 games)
Sam Darley (22 years old, 20 games)
Brett Goodes (rookie, 31 years old, 22 games)
Daniel Pearce (rookie, 22 years old, 6 games)
Jordan Kelly (rookie, 22 years old, 0 games)

No great shocks there to be honest .

15-09-2015, 05:15 PM

Who? :)

You could say it doesn't Matt-er

15-09-2015, 05:17 PM
Any interest in Mason Daw from Port?

Is that some sort of hybrid version of Majak Daw and Mason Shaw?

15-09-2015, 05:23 PM
Is that some sort of hybrid version of Majak Daw and Mason Shaw?

Sorry typo

Mason Shaw

#22 Port Adelaide Power (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-port-adelaide-power)

Height: 197cm Weight: 92kg Position: Forward

Last Drafted: Round 2, Pick #30 2012 National Draft (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_drafts?year=2012&t=N&s=P)

Last Drafted By: Port Adelaide Power (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-port-adelaide-power)

Never got a game, but has done well at SANFL level. We need T&T to tell us more.

15-09-2015, 05:25 PM
Mason Shaw

#22 Port Adelaide Power (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-port-adelaide-power)

Last Drafted: Round 2, Pick #30 2012 National Draft (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_drafts?year=2012&t=N&s=P)

Last Drafted By: Port Adelaide Power (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-port-adelaide-power)

Never got a game, but has done well at SANFL level. We need T&T to tell us more.

Yeah I know who he is - I was joking about your mash up of his name.

If you are behind John Butcher in the KPF pecking order it doesn't bode well....

15-09-2015, 06:31 PM
Yeah I know who he is - I was joking about your mash up of his name.

If you are behind John Butcher in the KPF pecking order it doesn't bode well....

Yes good joke, I should have acknowledged that earlier.:D

Do you know much about him?

15-09-2015, 09:13 PM
delete

15-09-2015, 09:14 PM
did someone say John Butcher?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rm5zvC9NKFw

15-09-2015, 10:40 PM
Wow!. Now THAT is an eker ladies and gentlemen

15-09-2015, 10:44 PM
Wow!. Now THAT is an eker ladies and gentlemen

Dalrymple occasionally gets a few wrong

15-09-2015, 10:45 PM
Dalrymple occasionally gets a few wrong

Ben Brown was the punters voice at that pick. He'd be a handy player I reckon developing on this list.

15-09-2015, 10:51 PM
Ben Brown was the punters voice at that pick. He'd be a handy player I reckon developing on this list.

As lame as Ben Brown is, that's just an unbelievable miss in hindsight.

Fun fact, Ben Brown is related to James Manson. From what I have seen of James Manson this is absolutely perfect.

16-09-2015, 12:03 AM
Collingwood Medicos give Kruezer the thumbs down. Probably will end up a bottom 6 club on a one or two year deal.

16-09-2015, 09:07 AM
Collingwood Medicos give Kruezer the thumbs down. Probably will end up a bottom 6 club on a one or two year deal.

Aka Carlton.

16-09-2015, 09:47 AM
Yes good joke, I should have acknowledged that earlier.:D

Do you know much about him?

Not really but here's a recent article about him, seems to have had injury concerns.

Trade deals could determine Port forward's future (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-09-14/port-forward-no-shaw-thing-to-stay-at-alberton)

UNTRIED Port Adelaide forward Mason Shaw's career at the club hangs on which forwards arrive at Alberton during the off-season – and which leave.

The 21-year-old met with coach Ken Hinkley on Monday for his 2015 exit interview, where he was told he should look for a new club to safeguard his future.

He booted 25 goals from 14 SANFL games last year, but could only manage four in his nine state-league games this season.

The Power are widely tipped to land Gold Coast forward Charlie Dixon, who has requested a trade to the club in October, and it's also believed a one-year deal remains on the table for Jay Schulz if he wants it.

Shaw started the 2015 pre-season ahead of John Butcher in the club's pecking order but developed osteitis pubis, which delayed his start to the year and then sidelined him for eight games through the middle.

Butcher played the final four games of the year for the Power and, coupled with encouraging rhetoric from Hinkley, appears likely to retain his place on Port's list.

Shaw's manager Anthony Van Der Wielen said his client wanted to remain at the club but he also believed the 197cm forward would easily find a new home if the Power delisted him.

"We've just got to wait and see ... who comes or goes from Port Adelaide will determine whether they offer him a position on the list or not," Van Der Wielen told AFL.com.au.

"Mason's happy at Port Adelaide ... he definitely wants to go on.

"It'd be a shame for a guy at near on 200cm with his physical capabilities [to not be on an AFL list].

"I'm sure there's another club out there that'll want him on the list if Port Adelaide don't see the value in him."

While Shaw missed both of the Magpies' SANFL finals, the side's exit on Sunday means AFL-listed players involved will have end-of-year interviews early this week.

The club was waiting for the Magpies' season to finish before announcing any player departures.

16-09-2015, 10:11 AM
Memo

re: Recruiting Key Position Forwards

We have the emerging Tom Boyd with the serviceable 'Chopper Redpath (I think he is likely to improve a bit next year with the experience he gained this year) for the full forward position. Stringer can also play there. We don't need a speculative full forward recruit.

CHF is a different matter and the qualities the recruit should have would include high stamina levels, good hands, reasonable kick from 50m out, mobile. Probably around 193-4 cm and 92-94 kgs.

Maybe Redpath could develop more for the CHF role but he needs to improve in a few areas including higher involvement in the play (needs to lift his average possessions considerably). He would need to drop weight by about 7 kg (if that is possible) to increase his stamina levels and give him more mobility.

I'd be tempted to play Talia at CHF in the reserves next year and see if he develops as a CHF. However, the talk is that we are going to trade him.

I'd be very picky about recruiting a CHF. List cloggers abound in this category.

16-09-2015, 10:27 AM
Bulldogs Online (https://www.facebook.com/bulldogsonline?fref=photo)

FREE AGENT RUMOR
The Bulldogs are rumored to have offered Matthew Leuenberger a 4 Year Deal in an attempt to lure the Brisbane big man to the Kennel.

The 26 Year old has had a stop-start career at the Brisbane Lions with form and injuries contributing to this.

The Former Pick 4 has obvious talent which was displayed in patches this Season, Between Rounds 13-17 he averaged 35.6 Hitouts.

He is a restricted player in which Lions can match the offer to keep him.

16-09-2015, 10:46 AM
Pretty sure once Martin confirms with Lions, they'll be letting Leuenberger go. Both need to be #1 Ruck.

Pretty confident we'll get Leuenberger, who should be a good fit as long as he stays sound. Apparently he is an elite tap ruckman, doesn't just win taps but has great hands and places them to real advantage. Our clearance team with a quality tap ruckman and Libba added will be pretty hard to beat.

And as a FA, he'll be a freebie.

16-09-2015, 10:57 AM
The issues with Leuenberger:

Injuries: averages 12 games per year over 9 seasons.

Doesn't take a lot of marks: 3.1 per game over 9 seasons.

Here is the comparison with Will Minson. I'm not sure there is enough there to tempt. He's younger but not as durable. It would really turn on judgements as to whether he is a better centre bounce and stoppage ruckman than Minson.

Player Statistics Comparison

Matthew Leuenberger (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-brisbane-lions--matthew-leuenberger)
Name
Will Minson (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-western-bulldogs--will-minson)

Brisbane Lions (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-brisbane-lions)
Team
Western Bulldogs (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs)

Ruck
Position
Ruck

Career Games

East Perth
Origin
Norwood

June 7, 1988
Date of Birth
April 11, 1985

27yr 3mth

203cm
Height
199cm

100kg
Weight
106kg

2006 National Draft (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_drafts?year=2006&t=N&s=P)
Last Drafted In
2002 National Draft (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_drafts?year=2002&t=N&s=P)

Round 1, Pick #4
Last Draft Position
Round 2, Pick #20

Last Drafted By

Career
Stats for Season
Career

Games

Kicks Per Game

Handballs Per Game

Disposals Per Game

Marks Per Game

Goals Per Game

Behinds Per Game

Tackles Per Game

Hitouts Per Game

Frees For Per Game

Frees Against Per Game

16-09-2015, 11:09 AM
Not sure how much you can take out of these stats. Pretty sure Kruezer and Leuey look very similar also (MK: 12 possessions, 3 marks, 18 h/o).

16-09-2015, 11:10 AM
I don't get the excitement over Leuenberger. Even on the rare occasions he's fit he's only a battler. I don't see him as an improvement on Roughead as a ruckman.

16-09-2015, 11:22 AM
He has had a lot of injury problems and he also needs to be #1 Ruck, they're his issues. He is a different class of Ruck to Roughy though. This year, Martin only missed 2 games, Leueys only 2 games as 1st Ruck:

- R14 Freo, rucked against Sandilands, got 51 hit outs, 11 poss, laid 9 tackles and kicked 2 goals.
- R15 Syd, rucked against Pike/Tippett, got 42 hit outs, 7 poss, laid 4 tackles.

16-09-2015, 11:25 AM
Not sure how much you can take out of these stats. Pretty sure Kruezer and Leuey look very similar also (MK: 12 possessions, 3 marks, 18 h/o).

Good point.

Matthew Leuenberger (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-brisbane-lions--matthew-leuenberger)
Name
Matthew Kreuzer (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-carlton-blues--matthew-kreuzer)

Team
Carlton Blues (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-carlton-blues)

Ruck
Position
Ruck

Career Games

East Perth
Origin
Northern Knights

June 7, 1988
Date of Birth
May 13, 1989

27yr 3mth

203cm
Height
200cm

100kg
Weight
103kg

2006 National Draft (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_drafts?year=2006&t=N&s=P)
Last Drafted In
2007 National Draft (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_drafts?year=2007&t=N&s=P)

Round 1, Pick #4
Last Draft Position
Priority Pick #1

Last Drafted By
Carlton Blues (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-carlton-blues)

Career
Stats for Season
Career

Games

Kicks Per Game

Handballs Per Game

Disposals Per Game

Marks Per Game

Goals Per Game

Behinds Per Game

Tackles Per Game

Hitouts Per Game

Frees For Per Game

Frees Against Per Game

I think perhaps when you look at averages over a reasonable number of seasons, the differences are not that startling between a lot of ruckmen.

But when you compare current season averages with arguably the best ruckman in the comp you perhaps get a bit more perspective, strange as it may seem:

Name
Todd Goldstein (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-kangaroos--todd-goldstein)

Team
North Melbourne Kangaroos (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-kangaroos)

Ruck
Position
Ruck

Career Games

East Perth
Origin
Oakleigh

June 7, 1988
Date of Birth
July 1, 1988

27yr 3mth

203cm
Height
201cm

100kg
Weight
103kg

Last Drafted In

Round 1, Pick #4
Last Draft Position
Round 3, Pick #37

Last Drafted By
North Melbourne Kangaroos (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-kangaroos)

Stats for Season

Games

Kicks Per Game

Handballs Per Game

Disposals Per Game

Marks Per Game

Goals Per Game

Behinds Per Game

Tackles Per Game

Hitouts Per Game

Inside 50s Per Game

Goal Assists Per Game

Frees For Per Game

Frees Against Per Game

Contested Possessions Per Game

Uncontested Possessions Per Game

Effective Disposals Per Game

77.6%
Effective Disposals % Per Game
75.3%

Clangers Per Game

Contested Marks Per Game

Marks Inside 50 Per Game

Clearances Per Game

Rebound 50s Per Game

One Percenters Per Game

Bounces Per Game

Time On Ground % Per Game

$348,000
AFL Fantasy Price
$622,000

AFL Fantasy Score Per Game

$340,200
Supercoach Price
$677,000

Supercoach Score Per Game

16-09-2015, 11:30 AM
I think the other statistical issue for Ruckmen is whether they are playing 1st Ruck. Leuenberger has stalled since Martin went past him at Brisbane, whenever he 1st Rucks, his figures are much better.

16-09-2015, 11:31 AM
Kreuzer likely to stay at Carlton

16-09-2015, 11:32 AM
Another rumour I heard from early in the year was looking at Gorringe from GC. Don't know much about him.

16-09-2015, 11:34 AM
Another rumour I heard from early in the year was looking at Gorringe from GC. Don't know much about him.

From what I have heard, has ability but has absolutely no hope of passing the no d.ckheads test.

16-09-2015, 11:43 AM
Kreuzer likely to stay at Carlton

No-one else wants him due to injury issues.

16-09-2015, 12:35 PM
Memo

re: Recruiting Key Position Forwards

We have the emerging Tom Boyd with the serviceable 'Chopper Redpath (I think he is likely to improve a bit next year with the experience he gained this year) for the full forward position. Stringer can also play there. We don't need a speculative full forward recruit.

CHF is a different matter and the qualities the recruit should have would include high stamina levels, good hands, reasonable kick from 50m out, mobile. Probably around 193-4 cm and 92-94 kgs.

Maybe Redpath could develop more for the CHF role but he needs to improve in a few areas including higher involvement in the play (needs to lift his average possessions considerably). He would need to drop weight by about 7 kg (if that is possible) to increase his stamina levels and give him more mobility.

I'd be tempted to play Talia at CHF in the reserves next year and see if he develops as a CHF. However, the talk is that we are going to trade him.

I'd be very picky about recruiting a CHF. List cloggers abound in this category.

Time for me to bring back the 'talls of shame' thread. It's the silly season again!

16-09-2015, 02:06 PM
Time for me to bring back the 'talls of shame' thread. It's the silly season again!

:D that was a good thread, I'm going to look it up for some laughs.

16-09-2015, 02:46 PM
:D that was a good thread, I'm going to look it up for some laughs.

Please do!

16-09-2015, 02:48 PM
Please do!

just did: in between guffawing at some of the comments, it struck me that it should be recommended reading for our recruiting staff before signing up any more "Talls of Shame"

16-09-2015, 02:56 PM
Gorringe, the only word that does actually rhyme with Orange. GWS should recruit him now.

16-09-2015, 02:57 PM
just did: in between guffawing at some of the comments, it struck me that it should be recommended reading for our recruiting staff before signing up any more "Talls of Shame"

Can you re launch it, or what ever its called....... is it 'bump? it'

17-09-2015, 10:57 PM
Port Adelaide have announced 8 List Changes:

Kane Cornes - Retirement
Tom Logan - Retirement
Johann Wagner - Delisted
Mason Shaw - Delisted
Mitch Harvey - Delisted
Jarrad Redden - Delisted
Sam Russell - Delisted
Daniel Flynn - Delisted

18-09-2015, 09:18 AM
So the winner of The Recruit, who'd already played SANFL, is delisted after 12 months? That's about how real reality TV is.

18-09-2015, 09:25 AM
So the winner of The Recruit, who'd already played SANFL, is delisted after 12 months? That's about how real reality TV is.

I've secretly been hoping 'reality' TV would just die off. But it won't Ricky, it won't. Any contestant thinking the 15 milliseconds of fame will translate into success restaurants, footy careers, records sales are in for a big reality check. I'm surprised they've been plugging the second season before seeing if he got cut.

18-09-2015, 09:42 AM

I would be horrified if we went down that path.. He isn't even an upgrade on Ayce.

18-09-2015, 10:43 AM
I've secretly been hoping 'reality' TV would just die off. But it won't Ricky, it won't.
It was never even born in my house.

18-09-2015, 12:41 PM
I've secretly been hoping 'reality' TV would just die off. But it won't Ricky, it won't. Any contestant thinking the 15 milliseconds of fame will translate into success restaurants, footy careers, records sales are in for a big reality check. I'm surprised they've been plugging the second season before seeing if he got cut.

It doens't even need good contestants. As long as the shows stay cheap to make and do OK in the ratings (and despite the fact we're meant to be in the 'golden age' of television these shows still get more viewers than quality scripted content) they will never die.

Thank *!*!*!*! we have HBO, AMC and such in the US and the ABC and SBS here or it would just be non-stop reality shows and Big Bang Theory re-runs

18-09-2015, 01:11 PM
It doens't even need good contestants. As long as the shows stay cheap to make and do OK in the ratings (and despite the fact we're meant to be in the 'golden age' of television these shows still get more viewers than quality scripted content) they will never die.

Thank *!*!*!*! we have HBO, AMC and such in the US and the ABC and SBS here or it would just be non-stop reality shows and Big Bang Theory re-runs

I know Football Superstar or whatever the deal with the Victory was paid for entirely by product placement by Nutri Grain, so I'm assuming The Recruit would be constructed similarly. Any viewership/ad revenue is an irrelevant bonus.

18-09-2015, 01:29 PM
Really!!

Essendon will be asking for Jeremy Howe and a First Round Pick for Jake Melksham according to SEN

18-09-2015, 01:37 PM
Really!!

Essendon will be asking for Jeremy Howe and a First Round Pick for Jake Melksham according to SEN

I started a stupid trade requests thread a few years back. That's a winner, no point starting the thread. That's the winner.

18-09-2015, 01:39 PM
Really!!

That's hilarious. Straight swap would be about right, neither much chop.

18-09-2015, 01:51 PM
Sorry typo

Mason Shaw

Just caught up with an avid Port Magpies watcher who really rates Shaw, was very surprised he was cut, but said he can be injury prone.

18-09-2015, 02:10 PM
I started a stupid trade requests thread a few years back. That's a winner, no point starting the thread. That's the winner.

Let me guess, Essendon feature heavily

18-09-2015, 02:16 PM
It was never even born in my house.

Nor mine, but it clogs up any chance of decent TV ever being produced locally or decent shows making it to free to air. As Hujsh says, thank god there's still a few networks committed to making decent TV programs.

18-09-2015, 02:17 PM
Let me guess, Essendon feature heavily

How did you know? Are you a clairvoyant? :D

18-09-2015, 02:20 PM

Isn't he out of contract? How does any of this make sense.

Seems deliberately absurdist, as if the trade offer is meant to challenge our perceptions of what a trade offer is.

18-09-2015, 02:25 PM

Seems deliberately absurdist, as if the trade offer is meant to challenge our perceptions of what a trade offer is.

I'm still getting my head around Bolton for Scotty West...

How we got pick 35 for Cooney should be studied for the good of man kind in working out Essendons behaviour.

18-09-2015, 02:58 PM
MELBOURNE has delisted tough-nut Aidan Riley, utility Rohan Bail, midfielder Jordie McKenzie and tall Jack Fitzpatrick from its 2015 list.

Fitzpatrick played a good game against us at the MCG this year from memory - kept Boyd almost statless. I'm assuming he's no good if Melbourne have dumped him though.

18-09-2015, 03:01 PM
Howe is a better player than Melksham easily, and he's not very good.

Howe isn't worth more than a second round pick as it is!

Essendon LOL, you crazy kids!

18-09-2015, 03:14 PM
MELBOURNE has delisted tough-nut Aidan Riley, utility Rohan Bail, midfielder Jordie McKenzie and tall Jack Fitzpatrick from its 2015 list.

Fitzpatrick played a good game against us at the MCG this year from memory - kept Boyd almost statless. I'm assuming he's no good if Melbourne have dumped him though.

Fitzpatrick is the only name of interest because he's a ruck, but that's about the extent of it. He's played well against us before once or twice as you say.

18-09-2015, 03:45 PM

Fitzpatrick is the only name of interest because he's a ruck, but that's about the extent of it. He's played well against us before once or twice as you say.

I like Fitzpatrick and the fact he is a local western suburban kid makes it even more so. I thought he was showing improvement in the middle of the year. That improvent must have tailed off

18-09-2015, 03:46 PM
Carlton have delisted Cameron Giles, Matthew Watson, Blaine Johnson and Fraser Russell.

18-09-2015, 04:03 PM
Sydney's Trade restrictions have been modified to allow a like for like replacement on their list.

18-09-2015, 04:35 PM
Sydney's Trade restrictions have been modified to allow a like for like replacement on their list.

Given they're paying fringe types like Reid and Mitchell $600K per season, that means they can pretty much poach any player in the league to replace someone on their list :rolleyes:

Kieran Jack is probably getting $1.5mil a season, and Hanneberry $2mil. So no one is off limits.

18-09-2015, 04:49 PM
Given they're paying fringe types like Reid and Mitchell $600K per season, that means they can pretty much poach any player in the league to replace someone on their list :rolleyes:

Kieran Jack is probably getting $1.5mil a season, and Hanneberry $2mil. So no one is off limits.

No, it's limited to $450,000.

18-09-2015, 04:49 PM
Essendon after Luey in a big way to warm Gumbleton's cold seat in the rehab room.

18-09-2015, 04:56 PM
Carlton have delisted Cameron Giles, Matthew Watson, Blaine Johnson and Fraser Russell.

Tutty and Liam should send a fruit basket to their manager.

18-09-2015, 05:15 PM
No, it's limited to $450,000.

More so just commenting on the laughable suggestion Sydney are in the same stratosphere as the salary cap when every time a player gets recruited to the club or a player is approached to leave their salary is revealed to be far more than the rest of the market would ever consider paying.

18-09-2015, 06:20 PM

I'll trade the country of Luxembourg and a sense of pride for the colour blue and the concept of time.

18-09-2015, 07:42 PM

He's more of a Forward/Pinch ruck. Rookie spot a maybe from me.

18-09-2015, 07:48 PM
He's more of a Forward/Pinch ruck. Rookie spot a maybe from me.

I think we need to rookie a bloke like him or mature state league ruck. I thought he looked good ain the role you mention last year against us. From memory Roos played him a few games in defence too did he not this year?

18-09-2015, 08:14 PM
He hardly played this year 3 games from memory but pretty sure they were forward. I think he played some defence in 2013 or 2014. Can't remember how that worked out.

22-09-2015, 04:51 PM
Carlton talking to Lachie Plowman from GWS.

Will they ever draft their own and develop them, always looking for the quick fix.

22-09-2015, 04:59 PM
* North Melbourne and Richmond are offering Port Adelaide's Hamish Hartlett $750k a season over 5 years according to Tony Sheahan.

* St.Kilda have delisted Arryn Siposs, Tom Simpkin, Daniel Markworth and Spencer White.

22-09-2015, 05:12 PM
* North Melbourne and Richmond are offering Port Adelaide's Hamish Hartlett $750k a season over 5 years according to Tony Sheahan.

* St.Kilda have delisted Arryn Siposs, Tom Simpkin, Daniel Markworth and Spencer White.

That's some serious coin at Hartlett. Wow.

22-09-2015, 05:17 PM
That's some serious coin at Hartlett. Wow.

Agreed. He's a nice player, but that seems overs, and that's without considering the string of soft tissue injuries he's had.

22-09-2015, 05:20 PM
Essendon have delisted Kurt Aylett and Lachlan Dalgleish.

22-09-2015, 05:27 PM
A little surprised St. Kilda delisted Spencer White. There were some big hopes for him coming into this season.

22-09-2015, 05:29 PM

Appeared to have a bright future when initially listed

22-09-2015, 05:32 PM
A little surprised St. Kilda delisted Spencer White. There were some big hopes for him coming into this season.

told him on his 21st birthday - today

22-09-2015, 05:40 PM

He was being spoken of as the next Lance Franklin.

22-09-2015, 05:45 PM
He was being spoken of as the next Lance Franklin.

You know you're doomed when that happens. Just ask McLeod, I mean Faulkner.

In all seriousness though, White looked pretty capable in a few VFL games I saw, but I've read his application was quite poor.

22-09-2015, 05:47 PM
In all seriousness though, White looked pretty capable in a few VFL games I saw, but I've read his application was quite poor.

You'd think it must be. His stats aren't great at VFL level but you'd think 3 years isn't long to make a final call on him.

22-09-2015, 06:22 PM
Carlton talking to Lachie Plowman from GWS.

Will they ever draft their own and develop them, always looking for the quick fix.

I hope we are talking to him as well.

22-09-2015, 06:38 PM
I hope we are talking to him as well.

Hell yeah. He could be a very good player.

22-09-2015, 07:46 PM
Agreed. He's a nice player, but that seems overs, and that's without considering the string of soft tissue injuries he's had.

You'd have to think that North would view him as the last piece. They're desperate for players with actual ability to compliment their (ahem) blue collar midfield.

22-09-2015, 07:51 PM
You'd think it must be. His stats aren't great at VFL level but you'd think 3 years isn't long to make a final call on him.

He was always going to be project, they've clearly made the call that the football side won't develop to match the athleticism. I have to be honest I haven't seen enough of him to judge but am a bit surprised they've given him the arse already.

23-09-2015, 09:26 AM

I know that late in the game when he played his second (and last) AFL game in 2014, Richardson had him on the phone late in the game telling him along the lines of - 'you can play at this level, and we'll stick with you, if you shows us you have the attitude and can do the work that we ask you to....etc etc'. Obviously he wasn't able to meet the demands of being a professional athlete. He's certainly not the first, nor will he be the last.

23-09-2015, 02:08 PM
Nathan Freeman (Collingwood) wants to be traded.

23-09-2015, 02:14 PM
Nathan Freeman (Collingwood) wants to be traded.

That's a disaster for Collingwood considering they got two top 10s that year (scharenberg and Freeman) and one can't get on the field (and has been linked to S.A and the other now wants out). Sure you'll get some return but not what you gave up.

23-09-2015, 02:42 PM
That's a disaster for Collingwood considering they got two top 10s that year (scharenberg and Freeman) and one can't get on the field (and has been linked to S.A and the other now wants out). Sure you'll get some return but not what you gave up.

I think Scharenberg re-signed last week.

23-09-2015, 02:46 PM
Adelaide have shown interest in former Demon Mark Jamar as a back up Ruckman to Sam Jacobs according to SEN

23-09-2015, 02:47 PM
I think Scharenberg re-signed last week.

He did too. They'll be hoping his foot is ok. Has had a knee reco as well.

23-09-2015, 02:54 PM
I don't get the excitement over Leuenberger. Even on the rare occasions he's fit he's only a battler. I don't see him as an improvement on Roughead as a ruckman.
His best is about as good as any ruckman ever plays. Destroyed Sandilands.

I'm not sure we can gamble that the 1-2 good games he plays per season (largely due to his body letting him down) are going to take us much further.

23-09-2015, 05:09 PM

Collingwood have accepted Freeman's request

23-09-2015, 05:12 PM
His best is about as good as any ruckman ever plays. Destroyed Sandilands.

I'm not sure we can gamble that the 1-2 good games he plays per season (largely due to his body letting him down) are going to take us much further.

You could count the number of good games he's played in his career on your fingers. More often than not he struggles to have any influence on a game. Wade Skipper kicked 5 goals in a game once.

23-09-2015, 08:00 PM
Collingwood have accepted Freeman's request

Has he nominated a club? He also has chronic hamstring issues.

23-09-2015, 08:02 PM

St Kilda apparently

23-09-2015, 09:03 PM

St Kilda apparently

St Kilda, an obvious choice for players with Kronik problems. ;)

24-09-2015, 11:09 AM
You could count the number of good games he's played in his career on your fingers. More often than not he struggles to have any influence on a game. Wade Skipper kicked 5 goals in a game once.

At the MCG wasn't it?

24-09-2015, 11:11 AM
At the MCG wasn't it?

Docklands versus the Cats is what im thinking, could be wrong though

24-09-2015, 11:14 AM

Might be right. I can remember him kicking those goals but not exactly where.

24-09-2015, 11:30 AM

I was thinking Docklands also, he also from memory won the best 'First Year Player' at the club.

24-09-2015, 11:35 AM

Touche Chef. Skipper kicked 5 goals in Round 17 of 2005 against Geelong at the Telstra Dome, with his first being a contender for Goal of the Year, with a left foot banana from the boundary line. The Dogs won the game.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wayde_Skipper

24-09-2015, 01:23 PM
Touche Chef. Skipper kicked 5 goals in Round 17 of 2005 against Geelong at the Telstra Dome, with his first being a contender for Goal of the Year, with a left foot banana from the boundary line. The Dogs won the game.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wayde_Skipper

Start of a 4 game run that Melbourne ended in round 21...was one of the better months of football I've seen us play.

That Geelong game that started it was grouse. Seem to remember a young G Ablett sooking it up for some reason

24-09-2015, 03:11 PM
Start of a 4 game run that Melbourne ended in round 21...was one of the better months of football I've seen us play.

That Geelong game that started it was grouse. Seem to remember a young G Ablett sooking it up for some reason

After Griffen gave him a bath

24-09-2015, 03:21 PM
Toumpas on the move. Another Dees round 1 failure, or failure by the club to develop him.

24-09-2015, 03:47 PM
Toumpas on the move. Another Dees round 1 failure, or failure by the club to develop him.

How they didn't take Ollie Wines still baffles me

24-09-2015, 04:53 PM

I think Stringer and Macrae were available too? Same draft?

24-09-2015, 04:55 PM

GWS (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-greater-western-sydney-giants)
Lachie Whitfield (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-greater-western-sydney-giants--lachie-whitfield)

Jonathan O'Rourke (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-hawthorn-hawks--jonathan-o-rourke)
Hawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks)

Lachlan Plowman (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-greater-western-sydney-giants--lachlan-plowman)

Melbourne (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-melbourne-demons)
Jimmy Toumpas (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-melbourne-demons--jimmy-toumpas)

Jake Stringer (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-western-bulldogs--jake-stringer)

Jackson Macrae (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-western-bulldogs--jackson-macrae)

Port Adelaide (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-port-adelaide-power)
Oliver Wines (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-port-adelaide-power--oliver-wines)

Brisbane (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-brisbane-lions)
Sam Mayes (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-brisbane-lions--sam-mayes)

Richmond (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-richmond-tigers)
Nick Vlastuin (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-richmond-tigers--nick-vlastuin)

24-09-2015, 05:02 PM

Lachie Whitfield (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-greater-western-sydney-giants--lachie-whitfield)

Jonathan O'Rourke (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-hawthorn-hawks--jonathan-o-rourke)
Hawthorn (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks)

Lachlan Plowman (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-greater-western-sydney-giants--lachlan-plowman)

Jimmy Toumpas (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-melbourne-demons--jimmy-toumpas)

Jake Stringer (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-western-bulldogs--jake-stringer)

Jackson Macrae (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-western-bulldogs--jackson-macrae)

Oliver Wines (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-port-adelaide-power--oliver-wines)

Sam Mayes (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-brisbane-lions--sam-mayes)

Nick Vlastuin (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-richmond-tigers--nick-vlastuin)

What a list of gun players. Gee I'm happy with our two.

24-09-2015, 07:03 PM
Apparently we've got an offer in front of Zac Clarke

edit: Sorry the source is just a big footy rumour

24-09-2015, 07:55 PM

He has been dropped this week. Interesting.

24-09-2015, 08:01 PM

He would fit our style perfectly plus he can play in a few positions. Long shot I would have thought but he could be worth trading for.

24-09-2015, 09:59 PM
He would fit our style perfectly plus he can play in a few positions. Long shot I would have thought but he could be worth trading for.

Yep. Screams to me as a player who needs the #1 mantle, and he won't get that behind big Sandy.

Lot of rumours flying around, but securing Clarke and possibly Carlisle would two great additions if we could do it.

24-09-2015, 10:03 PM
Yep. Screams to me as a player who needs the #1 mantle, and he won't get that behind big Sandy.

Lot of rumours flying around, but securing Clarke and possibly Carlisle would two great additions if we could do it.

Dalrymple is crying at the thought of this.

25-09-2015, 07:59 AM

At the right price I'd roll the dice on him. Perhaps similar to Polec, a good outside runner that could blossom in the right environment and with better players around him. Has neat skills and can kick goals.

25-09-2015, 08:27 AM

Apparently the ruckman Stevo was alluding to on Talking Footy a couple weeks ago.

Sounds likely

25-09-2015, 09:39 AM
Apparently the ruckman Stevo was alluding to on Talking Footy a couple weeks ago.

Sounds likely

I've been wondering about that. Stevo is the one journo that is usually spot on when it comes to the Dogs.

I think ZC would be ok. Like most 205cm players, really needs to be 1st Ruck but isn't getting a crack due to Sandilands' surprising durability (a player his size should really miss more games). His stats read ok for someone who only pinch hits most games. Forced to mainly go forward, which isn't really his go.

The other ruckman I've heard whispers we maybe interested in is Tom Nichols from GCS. Either look promising enough and the right age, other than that just relying on our list managers' expertise.

25-09-2015, 09:54 AM
I've been wondering about that. Stevo is the one journo that is usually spot on when it comes to the Dogs.

I think ZC would be ok. Like most 205cm players, really needs to be 1st Ruck but isn't getting a crack due to Sandilands' surprising durability (a player his size should really miss more games). His stats read ok for someone who only pinch hits most games. Forced to mainly go forward, which isn't really his go.

The other ruckman I've heard whispers we maybe interested in is Tom Nichols from GCS. Either look promising enough and the right age, other than that just relying on our list managers' expertise.

He is a dogs fan so usually his info is spot on. Although he did say Carlisle to Carlton was a done deal a couple months back. Things have changed a bit there lately it seems.

Clarke would be ok but i'd much prefer Nicholls. The only thing is that Stevo said we had signed a high-profile ruckman. Wouldnt exactly consider either of them high-profile. Clarke moreso so im thinking its him but would prefer Nicholls but he isn't high profile at all

25-09-2015, 10:29 AM

I thought he (Clarke) was older than 25. Seems like he's been around for a lot longer. Good age to bring in a mobile ruckman who is stuck behind Sandi but like Kreuzer is his body (knees in this case) sound ? Seems to have lost his athleticism which was such a strength 2 seasons back.

25-09-2015, 11:07 AM

Yep - IIRC they were linked with Wines until a late change in the expected top 4, and he is close mates with Viney. Ollie's pretty good, so even with hindsight (i.e Stringer already AA) they would've been happy with that choice.

Toumpas might eventually make it - but for now he's another chapter added to the (very long) list of Demon calamities

25-09-2015, 11:12 AM
He is a dogs fan so usually his info is spot on. Although he did say Carlisle to Carlton was a done deal a couple months back. Things have changed a bit there lately it seems.

Clarke would be ok but i'd much prefer Nicholls. The only thing is that Stevo said we had signed a high-profile ruckman. Wouldnt exactly consider either of them high-profile. Clarke moreso so im thinking its him but would prefer Nicholls but he isn't high profile at all

I read on Woof previously something along the lines of getting Mumford. Could he be the one Stevo is talking about?

25-09-2015, 11:21 AM
I read on Woof previously something along the lines of getting Mumford. Could he be the one Stevo is talking about?

I hope not.

Is Mumford that different a ruckman to Will? And Will toweled him up this year.

25-09-2015, 11:24 AM
I hope not.

Is Mumford that different a ruckman to Will? And Will toweled him up this year.

That's true.

25-09-2015, 11:49 AM
Having two ZC's at one club. Makes sense, I don't think any other list could boast that.

25-09-2015, 11:57 AM
Having two ZC's at one club. Makes sense, I don't think any other list could boast that.

I'm sure that was a key factor.

Numerologists were very keen on his birth date as well... :)

25-09-2015, 12:10 PM
I thought he (Clarke) was older than 25. Seems like he's been around for a lot longer. Good age to bring in a mobile ruckman who is stuck behind Sandi but like Kreuzer is his body (knees in this case) sound ? Seems to have lost his athleticism which was such a strength 2 seasons back.

I like Zac and yes he is at a good age as well. Not sure about his knees - was there an issue at some stage?

25-09-2015, 12:23 PM
I like Zac and yes he is at a good age as well. Not sure about his knees - was there an issue at some stage?

I recall his knee issue started with an off season incident at a music festival close to 2 years ago (Start of 2014).

DOCKERS ruckman Zac Clarke has been ruled out of pre-season training after injuring his knee at a music festival.

The club confirmed last night the 23-year-old could miss the next eight weeks with an injury to his right posterior cruciate ligament after the incident at The Falls Music festival at Lorne.

General manager of football operations Chris Bond said: "At this stage Zac is not expected to require surgery and will undergo a normal rehabilitation program for the injury."

The club did not confirm exactly how the injury occurred.

And then in addition to this incident, reported in the latter part (post season) of 2014:

FREMANTLE ruckman Zac Clarke has suffered a major injury setback.

Clarke has had surgery to repair the medial ligaments in his right knee and is unlikely to be back into full training until early next year.

Clarke could even miss early games next season in a blow that ruled out any chance of Fremantle trading back-up big man Jonathon Griffin despite interest from rival clubs.

It has emerged that the athletic Clarke played much of last season under duress with his nagging knee troubles before heading for surgery after the finals.

Clarke, 24, also bravely carried fractured ribs and a punctured lung into the Dockers’ home semi-final loss to Port Adelaide after copping a heavy knock against Sydney a week earlier.

His rate of recovery in an extensive rehabilitation program over summer will determine whether Clarke is sidelined for the opening rounds of next year’s home-and-away campaign.

He originally damaged his knee in a controversial off-season incident at a music festival on New Year’s Eve last December when on leave in his home state of Victoria.

He had a very solid 2013 campaign and my reckoning is that he has struggled to follow up this form since his initial injury.

25-09-2015, 12:52 PM
They overrated the talent of Jack Viney and didn't feel as though they could acccomodate 2 inside mids in the one draft. They ended up with the plonker instead.

25-09-2015, 01:20 PM
They overrated the talent of Jack Viney and didn't feel as though they could acccomodate 2 inside mids in the one draft. They ended up with the plonker instead.

And this why they never got priority picks and never should. They're actively trying to take the mantle of worst first round drafting club ever, more so since 2006:

Watts, Toumpas, Cale Morton, Lucas Cook, Gysbert, Blease, Salem (harsh, but Cripps, McCarthy, Sheed and Lennon were the next 4 picked). They gave up the rights to Josh Kelly at pick 2 too. Frawley quit too, insult to awful trading was Petreccas knee.

That's as bad as first round drafting from any decade from any team ever!!!!!

25-09-2015, 01:49 PM
Jake Melksham has informed the Club that he will be seeking a move in the upcoming trade period.

25-09-2015, 01:59 PM
Jake Melksham has informed the Club that he will be seeking a move in the upcoming trade period.

Please not us. Please not us. Please not us. Everyone cross your fingers and toes, get a lucky rabbit foot, turf salt over your left shoulder and touch wood.

25-09-2015, 02:06 PM
Please not us. Please not us. Please not us. Everyone cross your fingers and toes, get a lucky rabbit foot, turf salt over your left shoulder and touch wood.

most likely Melbourne

25-09-2015, 02:14 PM
most likely Melbourne

Makes complete sense.

25-09-2015, 02:34 PM
Makes complete sense.

In every sense. From Melbourne's POV because they think he's a champ and from Melksham's POV because Melbourne think he's a champ.

25-09-2015, 03:27 PM

Nailed it . I thought I was the only one who thought Viney as just a player, he's not a great kick .

25-09-2015, 04:04 PM
Fremantle is now frontrunner to secure Brisbane Lions ruckman Matthew Leuenberger.

25-09-2015, 04:11 PM
Fremantle is now frontrunner to secure Brisbane Lions ruckman Matthew Leuenberger.

Certainly gives credence to the Zac Clarke rumours. Surely Freo wouldn't be chasing ML, with Sandilands, Clarke, Hannath and Apeness already on their list?

25-09-2015, 04:29 PM
Hawthorn unrestricted free agent Brendan Whitecross has attracted interest from several rival clubs and, after managing just four senior games in 2015, could seek a fresh start.
- Herald Sun

Any interest

25-09-2015, 04:39 PM
Hawthorn unrestricted free agent Brendan Whitecross has attracted interest from several rival clubs and, after managing just four senior games in 2015, could seek a fresh start.
- Herald Sun

Any interest

Could make a case for him as a 25YO heir apparent for the Murphy/Boyd role, but suspect we've already got the talent to fill those roles internally. Only if he was cheap, which seems unlikely.

25-09-2015, 04:40 PM
- Herald Sun

Any interest

Murphy and Redders have adone a knee, Libba, Smith and Smith did knees this year. Another player with several ACLs is a fair risk.

25-09-2015, 04:46 PM
Murphy and Redders have adone a knee, Libba, Smith and Smith did knees this year. Another player with several ACLs is a fair risk.

He will be right at home :D

25-09-2015, 06:51 PM
Kruezer signs on at the Blues for another 2 years.

25-09-2015, 06:53 PM
Kruezer signs on at the Blues for another 2 years.

His foot must be royally screwed. Mature years ahead, open market, stays at a cellar dweller for only 2 years.

25-09-2015, 07:00 PM
His foot must be royally screwed. Mature years ahead, open market, stays at a cellar dweller for only 2 years.

Yeah, apparently the x-rays aren't pretty and he's not worth the risk.

25-09-2015, 09:39 PM
Why would you give him two years ?

25-09-2015, 09:45 PM
Cause his foot must be fubar

25-09-2015, 09:46 PM

Clearly Carlton think the foot's an issue as well .

25-09-2015, 10:01 PM
I mean as why wouldn't you just give him one year and see how he goes.. Nothing to lose, no one else wants him.
Then again this is the same club that have Jones 3 years.

26-09-2015, 12:47 AM
After watching tonight's PF, we should be raiding the Freo fringe players who aren't getting a fair go. I'm specifically thinking Alex Pearce, Hayden Crozier and Jonathan Griffin. What Zac Dawson is doing in the team ahead of Alex Pearce is a mystery to me, Crozier likewise could and should be in that team ahead of 5-6 mid-sized players who continually butcher the ball, and Griffin already proved his credentials in the ruck 2 years ago when Sandi was out for a couple of months with turf toe and showed his ability again tonight.

These players must be sick and tired of the repeated chances that the likes of Sutcliffe, Sheridan, Mayne, De Boer, Dawson and Danyle Pearce get to play seniors.

26-09-2015, 07:06 AM
Alex Pearce is injured. Lyon loves the role player. But it Doesn't work in finals.

26-09-2015, 03:49 PM
After watching tonight's PF, we should be raiding the Freo fringe players who aren't getting a fair go. I'm specifically thinking Alex Pearce, Hayden Crozier and Jonathan Griffin. What Zac Dawson is doing in the team ahead of Alex Pearce is a mystery to me, Crozier likewise could and should be in that team ahead of 5-6 mid-sized players who continually butcher the ball, and Griffin already proved his credentials in the ruck 2 years ago when Sandi was out for a couple of months with turf toe and showed his ability again tonight.

These players must be sick and tired of the repeated chances that the likes of Sutcliffe, Sheridan, Mayne, De Boer, Dawson and Danyle Pearce get to play seniors.

Would love to get involved in a deal that brings in Lachie Weller.

26-09-2015, 04:02 PM
Apparently we are keen on Zac Clarke. Reckon he'd be alright, needs to be 1st ruck, but can't get a shot ahead of Sandilands. When Sandy was injured in 2013, he was very good. There is a young Ruck/KPP named Michael Apeness I would really love us to have a good crack at.

26-09-2015, 05:12 PM
Hawks into Aish.

26-09-2015, 05:16 PM
Hawks into Aish.

There's something wrong if Hawthorn can keep using pick 18 to pick up the O'Rourkes or Aishs after them going top 10 and a couple of years development.

Their trading record is by far the best in VFL/AFL history.

26-09-2015, 05:23 PM
There's something wrong if Hawthorn can keep using pick 18 to pick up the O'Rourkes or Aishs after them going top 10 and a couple of years development.

The rich get richer.

26-09-2015, 05:54 PM

Top 4 teams trade well because players want to play in flag winning teams, hence Hawthorn/Sydney and the like usually do best.

I can understand a 21 year old looking to enjoy the next few years, and develop as a player, taking $300,000 pa from a Hawthorn/Sydney ahead of $350,000 from a Melbourne/Carlton.

Hopefully we will be beneficiaries of this scenario in the coming years.

26-09-2015, 06:58 PM
Apparently we are keen on Zac Clarke. Reckon he'd be alright, needs to be 1st ruck, but can't get a shot ahead of Sandilands. When Sandy was injured in 2013, he was very good. There is a young Ruck/KPP named Michael Apeness I would really love us to have a good crack at.

Does Clarke have the intensity required to be the number one ruckman at a contending club?

26-09-2015, 07:43 PM
Does Clarke have the intensity required to be the number one ruckman at a contending club?

Has always played his best games when given the #1 Ruck role in Sandy's absence. Especially when AS was out for a big chunk of 2013. Whether he can perform week in, week out is a big gamble, but there are no sure things available. Have to entrust our list managers to do their due diligence and appraise his value correctly.

27-09-2015, 05:16 PM

I'd question whether he is physically strong enough as well.

28-09-2015, 11:23 AM

Has extended his contract another year.

He will be a free agent in 2017.

28-09-2015, 11:33 AM
Has extended his contract another year.

He will be a free agent in 2017.

I guess Freo won't be going hard at Luey then?

28-09-2015, 03:33 PM
Carlton chasing every uncontracted GWS player they can. Latest is Liam Sumner

28-09-2015, 04:22 PM
They really are keen to recruit every fringe AFL prospect in the league. Last year got them Jaksch, Tutt, Jones, and Wiley and none of them look like becoming players. They just won't accept there's no immediate solution.

28-09-2015, 04:27 PM
They really are keen to recruit every fringe AFL prospect in the league. Last year got them Jaksch, Tutt, Jones, and Wiley and none of them look like becoming players. They just won't accept there's no immediate solution.

Do you rate any of these fringe GWS guys? I like Plowman but I think my judgement is being clouded by draft numbers.

28-09-2015, 04:31 PM

Shut up Ricky, they might wake up to this and take away my fun. I ask for so little in life :D

28-09-2015, 04:37 PM
Carlton are going that bad they are linked to everyone, even when their own player was proven to be injury ridden by other clubs they re signed him for two years !

28-09-2015, 04:43 PM
Do you rate any of these fringe GWS guys? I like Plowman but I think my judgement is being clouded by draft numbers.

Not really, Sumner has really struggled to even get a kick in his 4 seasons at GWS. Plowman doesn't excite me either, he can't really defend, and isn't a line breaking rebounder, seems a tweener type that doesn't have a role.

GWS loves a tweener, they piss some really high picks up against a wall on them.

28-09-2015, 04:44 PM
Shut up Ricky, they might wake up to this and take away my fun. I ask for so little in life :D

Don't worry Dman, they're Carlton, they don't listen to anyone!

28-09-2015, 04:48 PM
Don't worry Dman, they're Carlton, they don't listen to anyone!

True, phew!!

Now just to convince them Talia's problems all stem to the need for a simple new marking technique and not attitude, form or skill...

28-09-2015, 04:48 PM
The linking of GWS players to Carlton is entirely understandable.

Remember they were recruited by the great list builder Stephen Silvagni and he has now taken the list manager position at Carlton.

Therefore he has intimate knowledge of their abilities even abilities that are not apparent to other list managers. Of course getting them to Carlton to be the bona fide stars they were always meant to be will prove that the original recruiter did really know his stuff after all.

29-09-2015, 10:03 AM
Adam Tomlinson from GWS reportedly wanting home to Victoria now as well, although he is contracted. Carlton sure to be all over him.

Can play either end of the ground. Would we have a crack, would probably take our first pick?

29-09-2015, 10:05 AM
Adam Tomlinson from GWS reportedly wanting home to Victoria now as well, although he is contracted. Carlton sure to be all over him.

Can play either end of the ground. Would we have a crack, would probably take our first pick?

He's worth a hard chase, I like him from my perspective.

29-09-2015, 10:27 AM

Why not add to:

The Blues have strong interest in exciting Liam Sumner (No.10 draft pick), Lachie Plowman (No.3), Jed Lamb (No.21) and former rookie-listed ruckman Andrew Phillips.

29-09-2015, 02:33 PM
Jay Clark says Sydney are targeting West Coast's Callum Sinclair in the upcoming trade window :eek:

29-09-2015, 04:13 PM
Of all the GWS names being bandied about so far, I reckon Tomlinson strikes me most as a good fit for us and a Bevo type (versatile, athletic). 193 is a great size. Reckon we'll be sniffing around.

29-09-2015, 04:18 PM
Of all the GWS names being bandied about so far, I reckon Tomlinson strikes me most as a good fit for us and a Bevo type (versatile, athletic). 193 is a great size. Reckon we'll be sniffing around.

Didn't realise he was shorter than Talia. Be nice to pickup someone a bit taller - close to 200cm

29-09-2015, 04:32 PM
Didn't realise he was shorter than Talia. Be nice to pickup someone a bit taller - close to 200cm

Hard to get guys above 195 who are athletic enough for Bevo's style. Every All-Australian KPD of the past 7 years has been 190-195.

29-09-2015, 04:35 PM
For the high forward role running capacity is far more important than height.
Bob Murphy was 4th in the league for marks one year at 186cm!
I'd love Tomlinson at the Dogs - he'd be the perfect high forward for us, excellent overhead.

29-09-2015, 04:40 PM
Hard to get guys above 195 who are athletic enough for Bevo's style. Every All-Australian KPD of the past 7 years has been 190-195.

The kids are getting bigger and bigger. Look at Tom Boyd, Patton, Tom Lynch, to name a few.

29-09-2015, 05:03 PM
Hasn't he played his best footy as a tall wingman? From what I've seen I dont think he has the physicality to play centre half back, might make a good hard leading forward though which we lack

29-09-2015, 05:12 PM
For the high forward role running capacity is far more important than height.
Bob Murphy was 4th in the league for marks one year at 186cm!
I'd love Tomlinson at the Dogs - he'd be the perfect high forward for us, excellent overhead.

Doesn't that just make him another Stringer and Crameri type minus their physical presence? Dickson plays up the ground most of the time and McLean seems another slated for a high half forward role. Plus Dahlhaus, Wallis, and Hunter all rolling through there. Not sure it's a trade need.

29-09-2015, 06:37 PM
Did I hear right that Jack Watts is gone from Melbourne?

29-09-2015, 06:47 PM

I think he would be a great addition. Our first pick would be a bargain.

30-09-2015, 08:45 AM
Brisbane's Matthew Leuenberger is set to join Essendon or Sydney according to the Herald Sun.

and Melbourne are set to trade former No.1 pick, Jack Watts according to Jay Clark for a "decent player" or a "top 20 pick".

30-09-2015, 08:57 AM
I think he would be a great addition. Our first pick would be a bargain.

Where do you see him playing GVG?

30-09-2015, 10:20 AM
Brisbane's Matthew Leuenberger is set to join Essendon or Sydney according to the Herald Sun.

and Melbourne are set to trade former No.1 pick, Jack Watts according to Jay Clark for a "decent player" or a "top 20 pick".
they're kidding themselves if they think someone will offer that up. 4th round pick at best.

30-09-2015, 10:53 AM
they're kidding themselves if they think someone will offer that up. 4th round pick at best.

We wanted a second and got a third rounder for Jones, Watts is a better player than Liam

30-09-2015, 11:06 AM
We wanted a second and got a third rounder for Jones, Watts is a better player than Liam

That is a good measure. Would think a fair price is around pick 30.

Best trade scenario would be a player swap somewhere.

Watts certainly has ability but the ingrained Melbourne effect will make his salvation more difficult.

30-09-2015, 11:17 AM
Melbourne trying to get pick 20 for Watts. Bit like the baby boomer in Toorak trying to get overs for the family SAAB. They know it needs to go, but still deeply attached.

30-09-2015, 01:32 PM
Carlton also chasing Thomlinson :rolleyes: who is contracted to 2017 but is thinking of returning home.

30-09-2015, 01:38 PM
I've heard Carlton's "interest" in Lamb is a points-on-the-package style arrangement, to get a better deal for Plowman and/or Tomlinson.

30-09-2015, 01:54 PM
Carlton should merge with GWS. I think thats where their tragic future lies.

30-09-2015, 02:38 PM
Carlton should merge with GWS. I think thats where their tragic future lies.

They are merging one player at a time. Before anybody notices they will be the same entity. The Greater Western Carlton Giant Blue Sydneys.

30-09-2015, 07:00 PM
Where do you see him playing GVG?

CHB, but he could play in a lot of positions.

30-09-2015, 07:23 PM
CHB, but he could play in a lot of positions.

He would be very handy then, I'd prefer him over Carlisle. From memory he is good friends with Tom Boyd? Or do i have him confused with someone else?

30-09-2015, 09:17 PM
It's Boyd and the other fullforward at GWS name escapes me at the moment.