View Full Version : Mac Avaney madness

13-09-2015, 05:49 PM
Can I claim mental illness from Listening to this bloke commentate?
I'm sure we all have something that he says that drives us all crazy.
He jumps from team to team depending on who's winning, fair dinkum shut up !!!
Does my head in seriously !
That's my years rant built up of absolute rubbish from him.
Apologies to his family and friends.

13-09-2015, 05:52 PM
Yep. I don't know why he has a job commentating afl. I don't get it.

13-09-2015, 05:57 PM
He's diabolical. Meaningless stats interspliced with faux chest beating nonsense.
DELICIOUS!

13-09-2015, 05:58 PM
I believe, what do you think Den ?
We don't care what he thinks or you believe Bruce just call the game!

13-09-2015, 06:28 PM
And everything he says is a question. Isn't it?

13-09-2015, 06:42 PM
And everything he says is a question. Isn't it?

What do you think Douggy?

13-09-2015, 06:52 PM
You just feel this thread is having a go at Bruce, don't you?

13-09-2015, 06:56 PM
Reiwoldts only kicked 4 goals in a final
Once .. He has only played in three !

13-09-2015, 07:03 PM
Agree. Bruce reached his use by date a long time ago for mine.

My pet hate is his need to say "you just feel the next goal is so important" several times every match in a tone that suggests he is sharing something profound.

Second pet hate is how every 2nd shot at goal is the biggest moment of the players career/season.

"He's had 43 shots at goal this year Den, but you just feel this one is the biggest of them all." (5 minutes into the 2nd qtr)

Aaaargh

13-09-2015, 07:14 PM
Can't stand 'Den' either.

13-09-2015, 07:15 PM
I liked the commentary yesterday. BT calls the game well.

13-09-2015, 07:29 PM
I liked the commentary yesterday. BT calls the game well.

Wowee... I think he's dreadful.

13-09-2015, 07:34 PM
Can't stand 'Den' either.
He's been well and truly Ch.7'd. Everyone who winds up on that piece of excrement network either becomes a bumbling fool, a vaudeville wannabe comedian, a bogan with automated catch-phrases, a special comments man with no special comments whatsoever, or a combination of all the above. The absolute best thing about going to the game last night was not having to listen to the fools from Ch.7 destroy my watching experience of the Dogs in a final.

13-09-2015, 07:35 PM
My all time Bruce-ism that got up my nose was when Chris Grant missed a shot at goal 'you get the feeling Wayne Carey would've kicked that don't you?'
Complete tankstander.

13-09-2015, 07:48 PM
He spends all the game time talking about players history than calling the game.
Channel 7 need a new show Mac Avaneys captain obvious and useless stats show. Then if people want to listen to his dribble go for it but not during the footy. !

13-09-2015, 07:52 PM
I really enjoyed the call yesterday. Richo is ok and BT can be funny, but could also see how he would get up people's noses.

I think we should start an Anti Bruce petition. Anyone?

13-09-2015, 07:52 PM
He doesn't bother me at all.

13-09-2015, 07:54 PM
He's OK with Richard Stubbs on 774ABC on Friday afternoons though.

13-09-2015, 07:56 PM
He doesn't bother me at all.

Commentators never do.

13-09-2015, 08:05 PM
Bruce: "That's the first time Vickery's failed to kick a goal in the first quarter in the last four matches. And not co-incidently it's the first time he's NOT had porridge for breakfast. That's significant. It's something the Richmond coaching team are going to have to address ... and quickly. Who'll ever forget that horrible run of barren first quarters that Scott Cummings endured when he was playing for Wron Wron Woodside before he got taken as pick 39 by the Pies in the 97 draft. It was only when he changed back to hos normal breakfast of All Bran that he managed to hit the scoreboard again in the opening stanzas .." Blah, blah, meaningless stat just for the sake of it, blah.

13-09-2015, 08:06 PM
Carey is multiple miggs.

1. You hate to see tricky touchwood free kicks paid.
2. Why wasn't that a free kick? I've seen frees paid for less.

Do you want or not want free kicks?

13-09-2015, 08:11 PM
Bruce: "That's the first time Vickery's failed to kick a goal in the first quarter in the last four matches. And not co-incidently it's the first time he's NOT had porridge for breakfast. That's significant. It's something the Richmond coaching team are going to have to address ... and quickly. Who'll ever forget that horrible run of barren first quarters that Scott Cummings endured when he was playing for Wron Wron Woodside before he got taken as pick 39 by the Pies in the 97 draft. It was only when he changed back to hos normal breakfast of All Bran that he managed to hit the scoreboard again in the opening stanzas .." Blah, blah, meaningless stat just for the sake of it, blah.

First time Richmond scored 14 goals on any 13th day of September where temperature was 25 degrees of warmer. It's a world record.

... Which is compounded by try hard puns that they all think are very amusing...

13-09-2015, 08:12 PM

Why would I believe that could even be true, the way he stalks players who knows ?

13-09-2015, 09:22 PM
To be honest I've pretty much had a gut full of all of them.

King gets fed stats and has no idea how to interpret them or the fact that a small sample size can make it meaningless.

Best part for Bruce today was when everyone ignored his joke about the Australian cricket captain so he waited 10 seconds and then turned the joke into a question and aimed it at Leigh Matthews so it had to get a response.

13-09-2015, 09:28 PM
I'm confused how Gerard Whateley can't get a better commentating gig than ABC grandstand. Nothing against it, but if he went onto TV commentating he'd be no. 1 by a mile.

13-09-2015, 09:57 PM
The only commentator I don't mind is Hudson.

Rest are rubbish.

13-09-2015, 10:11 PM
The only commentator I don't mind is Hudson.

Rest are rubbish.
Dwayne Pipe has some annoying tendencies and uses too many faux Americanisms, but he generally plays it straight and doesn't try and become the focus. Even Eddie is good when not doing Collingwood games. The Fox Footy commentators and special comments men are light years ahead of the dross served up by Ch.7.

14-09-2015, 06:35 AM
I'm confused how Gerard Whateley can't get a better commentating gig than ABC grandstand. Nothing against it, but if he went onto TV commentating he'd be no. 1 by a mile.

About three years ago 3aw had put in front of him the mother of all offers, but he declined. Appears to be an ABC man for life.

14-09-2015, 07:19 AM
About three years ago 3aw had put in front of him the mother of all offers, but he declined. Appears to be an ABC man for life.

Surely he can radio and TV for the radio if Fox approach him on behalf of the world to save TV footy commentating.

14-09-2015, 08:48 AM

Thank god for that.

14-09-2015, 09:59 AM
I agree Whateley the best caller. Between ABC Grandstand, AFL 360 4 nights a week, Herald Sun columns, Offsiders and books written, I'm not sure he needs more exposure though.

14-09-2015, 05:40 PM
Just think Friday night football and we get Bruce commentating, not sure Friday night footy is a good thing now.

14-09-2015, 05:59 PM
I'm cringing at the thought of his pronunciations of The Package and Bonty. Urgh.

There's only one reasonable course of action, muting the TV and putting a radio commentary on.

14-09-2015, 06:41 PM
That's a thread in itself. Un funny Bruce puns when we play Friday Night Footy.

Oh that's...
Bontalicious.

What a goal, dogs are Boyd by that goal.

That pass was just Zainey. Right Lingy?

Honeychurch is just buzzing religiously, hey Den?

14-09-2015, 11:56 PM
I'm cringing at the thought of his pronunciations of The Package and Bonty. Urgh.

There's only one reasonable course of action, muting the TV and putting a radio commentary on.

You can't do that I believe as their is a couple of seconds delay.

15-09-2015, 12:01 AM
You can't do that I believe as their is a couple of seconds delay.

That's the problem in a nutshell. Although I noticed the other night channel 7 and foxtels coverage from channel 7 were a few seconds off each other which confused me for a bit. Not sure if the Foxtel coverage from 7 would fix that?

15-09-2015, 12:15 AM
That's the problem in a nutshell. Although I noticed the other night channel 7 and foxtels coverage from channel 7 were a few seconds off each other which confused me for a bit. Not sure if the Foxtel coverage from 7 would fix that?

If they were going to bother throwing stats at us ( Bruce's are irrelevant have the time ) I wish they would get someone on from a proper stats company.

15-09-2015, 04:56 AM
The problem I have with Bruce Whack-his-veiny is that he pigeon-holes clubs regardless of how they are actually playing and what their current ladder position is. To him, we are always the brides maids, the also-rans. The way he talks about us, it sounds as if he is perpetually sorry for us. I think in his head there is fixed a composite ladder based around great eras (some quite shortlived) of a few clubs who had players he got particularly excited about. He is also the biggest cheerleader for every bad move the AFL makes. He is a completely uncritical mouthpiece for the AFL and is the example par excellence of the unhealthily close relationship between the AFL and the broadcast rights holder.

25-09-2015, 09:20 PM
Mc Avaney is destroying this game, making stupid statements with a question mark.
Ling and Carey are both getting sucked into the way he commentates its very painful to listen to.

25-09-2015, 09:31 PM
There are more commentators tonight than players!

25-09-2015, 09:37 PM
He's everybody's best mate too. Knows all the nicknames, and everyone's on a modified first name basis with Bruce.

It's a really good point made about him bringing Ling and Carey down with his rubbish. If there were serious commentators around them they'd maybe have to think before spewing the gobshite they do.

25-09-2015, 10:05 PM
Plenty of "I feel don't you" tonight and a few crap statements about the game being over before halftime if Freo don't kick the next goal .. He isn't just a commentator he is god he decides when a game is over.
And his player stats that mean absolutely nothing are very high on his agenda.
Brought his A1 worst commentary ever to the game tonight.

25-09-2015, 10:11 PM
Actually biggest thing I've noticed is His blatant ignoring of Riolis mistakes.

26-09-2015, 01:12 AM
Actually biggest thing I've noticed is His blatant ignoring of Riolis mistakes.

Cyril is so 'Special and Magnificent ' he doesn't make mistakes.:rolleyes:

26-09-2015, 06:03 PM
Listening to Bruce is torture. I can't take it.

26-09-2015, 08:38 PM
He described a Cyril chest mark as brilliant last night, a chest mark...Fark!

26-09-2015, 10:48 PM
Pity he Didnt mention how brilliant his kicks were that hit the opposition on the chest.
He would have usually found a way to make it magnificent somehow.

27-09-2015, 08:53 AM
Listening to Bruce is torture. I can't take it.

"Cle-ver"

27-09-2015, 08:28 PM
He's everybody's best mate too. Knows all the nicknames, and everyone's on a modified first name basis with Bruce.

It's a really good point made about him bringing Ling and Carey down with his rubbish. If there were serious commentators around them they'd maybe have to think before spewing the gobshite they do.
Nope, these guys are boiler-plate Channel 7 special comments men - they are crap because they are crap. Listen to Carey and you'd believe that Sam Mitchell wouldn't get a game at any other club. As for Ling, it is sad to hear an idiot try and say things that are semi-coherent and sound informative when they are nothing more than stating the bleeding obvious that we can all see on the screen for ourselves. And both do a turn in player cheerleading that would give Bruce a run for his money on Cyril. They are the perfect fit for that piece of shit network.

28-09-2015, 03:59 PM
Just when you thought you had enough

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CP94z3sU8AUtRMm.jpg

28-09-2015, 04:08 PM
Oh no...............

28-09-2015, 04:23 PM
At least Cyril will hardly poll a vote. Umpires don't award votes for almost laying tackles!

28-09-2015, 04:33 PM
Oh my god .. I will not be watching this, I can't take any more..
The useless information graph will go into overload.
The deep voice attempts will be countless.
I'm backing he is Riolis partner on the night or at least sits at his table.

28-09-2015, 04:38 PM
At least Cyril will hardly poll a vote. Umpires don't award votes for almost laying tackles!

But they would've been great tackles. You can't judge a Brownlow winner by how many stats and votes they get. It's the votes Cyril gets that don't get recorded that make him a Brownlow winner.

I think I remember Pat 'Tin Man' Bowden almost made a tackle once, and what it would've been for his first and only ever tackle. And then one day he nearly kicked a goal of the year, but he didn't. And once another time he almost thought about getting into a contest, he didn't, but he almost thought about it. Delicious stuff, eh Ricky? Stats can lie, eh Ricky?

28-09-2015, 06:29 PM
please make it stop

28-09-2015, 06:46 PM
You just feel that if this thread goes on much longer a few people's heads might explode don't you "whoever will answer my question"

28-09-2015, 07:31 PM
Mongrel of a thing to do, THANKS BAD.

28-09-2015, 08:48 PM
Sad thing is over summer we won't get a rest he will bob up telling us useless information about some other sport.

28-09-2015, 09:29 PM
Sad thing is over summer we won't get a rest he will bob up telling us useless information about some other sport.

Horse racing and tennis... No escape...

28-09-2015, 09:39 PM
Looks like we will know all the horses parents and cousins etc by the end of summer.
Also how many aces a person has had in their lifetime.

28-09-2015, 09:40 PM
Nope, these guys are boiler-plate Channel 7 special comments men - they are crap because they are crap. Listen to Carey and you'd believe that Sam Mitchell wouldn't get a game at any other club. As for Ling, it is sad to hear an idiot try and say things that are semi-coherent and sound informative when they are nothing more than stating the bleeding obvious that we can all see on the screen for ourselves. And both do a turn in player cheerleading that would give Bruce a run for his money on Cyril. They are the perfect fit for that piece of shit network.

I'm not saying they're smart or insightful, more so that they'd be unlikely to say the weird camp shit they do if they had a serious commentator calling with them.

28-09-2015, 10:25 PM
Bruce giggling like a schoolboy

28-09-2015, 10:33 PM
Excruciating

28-09-2015, 10:34 PM
Excruciating

So true. Eh, BAD???

28-09-2015, 10:36 PM
So true. Eh, BAD???

Yes that last interview

28-09-2015, 10:41 PM
Yes that last interview

I can't recall it. There was 6 minutes of ads, then a round. Then 6 minutes of adds, then a couple of rounds. Then 6 minutes of ads, then one round now, and some more ads. Perhaps it's good I can't remember that embarrassing awful interview with him... But I can, gee this is awful stuff by any standard. But I now know Crown Bet is the officially gaming partner of the AFL...

28-09-2015, 11:10 PM
WTF was he doing when interviewing Fyfe? He was like a giggling nervous schoolgirl.

So awkward.

28-09-2015, 11:25 PM
WTF was he doing when interviewing Fyfe? He was like a giggling nervous schoolgirl.

So awkward.
I had to switch off the TV, spoilt it

28-09-2015, 11:27 PM

So awkward.

That's pretty much his work.

29-09-2015, 12:14 AM
Shame cos I thought Fyfe was super impressive in that interview. Clearly a deeper thinker of the game than I suspected and seemed a good bloke.

29-09-2015, 12:29 AM

So awkward.

And then Bruce said to Fyffe "Oh stop" in a high voice...yuk.

29-09-2015, 05:38 AM
I Didnt watch it but sounds like Bruce has broken up With Rioli and is now in a relationship with Fyfe, biggest bandwagoner ever.
Definitely going to be painfull listening to Bruce call Freo games next year.
Everytime Fyfe gets the ball he will mention brownlow medal winner and votes he got and how he drives a truck in the bush.
That's on average per game 26 times !

29-09-2015, 07:30 AM
I had to switch off the TV, spoilt it

Me too, I got two questions in and turned the TV off. Shame too, as the posts say Fyfe spoke well.

29-09-2015, 09:40 AM
It's seems as Bruce is getting older he's finding it more difficult to hide his lust for some of the players, which makes for seriously awkward viewing, especially as he's a 60 year old man.

It's really unprofessional, but in the current climate everyone's too scared to say anything.

29-09-2015, 11:18 AM
The Bruce-awkwardness was off the charts last night.

He wouldn't stop fawning over Fyfe and touching him. He reminds of the 'Tobias' character from Arrested Development, who is always saying really awkward things, and doesn't realise what he sounds like!

Fyfe handled himself exceptionally.

29-09-2015, 11:20 AM
You just get the feeling that the next post on this thread is going to be very important don't you?

29-09-2015, 11:31 AM
Horse racing and tennis... No escape...

There is an escape if you don't watch a single second of the Spring Carnival or Australian Open. That's my solution to Bruce overload.

29-09-2015, 01:25 PM
The Bruce-awkwardness was off the charts last night.

He wouldn't stop fawning over Fyfe and touching him. He reminds of the 'Tobias' character from Arrested Development, who is always saying really awkward things, and doesn't realise what he sounds like!

Fyfe handled himself exceptionally.

Bruce: I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wad on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands.

Even if it means me taking a chubby, I will suck it up!

I wouldn't mind kissing that man between the cheeks, so to speak.

Well, I've always wanted to remake Annie Hall. Except, I wouldn't want to get in bed with a green producer like a Sofia Coppola though. Oh, but give me an old pro like a Robert Redford. Oh, I'd jump into bed with him in a second. And I wouldn't just lie there, Dennis, if that's what you're thinking.

29-09-2015, 06:31 PM
I wonder if he rewatches himself and lives over the moment again and again.

29-09-2015, 07:59 PM
His obsession with Barlow being "the date" was just nauseating.

29-09-2015, 08:23 PM
His obsession with Barlow being "the date" was just nauseating.

"Oh stop it"....saying it with hand on hip

01-10-2015, 08:52 PM
Great, entertaining thread. To all those who've been following it, don't you just feel that the next post could be really significant in the context of the thread?
I feel we're at a critical point RIGHT NOW. This thread is just waiting for someone to IMPOSE themselves on it, to make a name for themselves. I just get the feeling that the next post will be BIG.
Lou Richard's was still calling games in his 70s. Bruce will have to be dragged kicking and screaming from the box. Turning him into a figure of derision may be the only way to cope with another two decades of his awfulness.

01-10-2015, 10:31 PM
I had my radio on 104.3 today for about 5 min and my luck was the guest was none other and did the interviewers suck up
To him, then they proceeded to ask about how much of a crush he has on Fyfe, it must have been really bad brownlow night.
Then he gives is a little history in Fyfe wouldn't you know it!
The bloke is a knob of the highest order, apparently he asked a player to swap seats on the flight so he could sit next to Fyfe and he confirmed he did!

01-10-2015, 10:57 PM
I had my radio on 104.3 today for about 5 min and my luck was the guest was none other and did the interviewers suck up
To him, then they proceeded to ask about how much of a crush he has on Fyfe, it must have been really bad brownlow night.
Then he gives is a little history in Fyfe wouldn't you know it!
The bloke is a knob of the highest order, apparently he asked a player to swap seats on the flight so he could sit next to Fyfe and he confirmed he did!

That whole post was pretty hard to decipher but this part is truly incomprehensible.

On the sauce or iPhone autocorrect troubles?

02-10-2015, 04:56 AM
That whole post was pretty hard to decipher but this part is truly incomprehensible.

"Fyfe": a new language invented by the Australian sports commentator, Bruce McAvanney, also known as "gushing syncophancy". Characterized by frequent allusions to the special intimacy that exists between interrogator and subject in interview situations and, frequent reference to the SPECIAL knowledge held ONLY by the inventor of this argot who, by the way, is an recognized master of the arts of arse licking and tyre pumping, especially his own.
McAvanney is also the progenitor of a niche quasi-religious messianic movement known as "Rioli worship." McAvanney's claims for the omnipotence of Rioli have yet to be recognized by the vast majority of sane individuals.

02-10-2015, 07:52 AM

iPhone has its own dictionary, i have fat fingers, no sauce needed.
If I was on the sauce it would be completely dyslexic.

02-10-2015, 08:27 PM
Came across this interview with Bruce in today's on line edition of the Bealiba Sentinel Gives a great insight into the doyen's approach to his craft.
Sentinel: Thanks for your time Bruce. This must be a busy week for you?
Bruce: It's a SPECIAL week. It doesn't get any better than this.
Sentinel: You're known for your meticulous preparation. Tell us how you go about it.
Bruce: I've been preparing all year for this moment. As soon as the Prelims are over you'll find me at my computer just smashing it. Loading all those vital infobits that are the hallmark of my call. Gems like the number of left foot snaps Gunston has snared this year or the dietary regime the Eagles follow on the flight over.
Sentinel: These I the things that set you apart.
Bruce: I think so.
Sentinel: What about the game Bruce. How do you see it unfolding?
Bruce: It's the biggest stage of all with the biggest stars and I'm the ringmaster. I sometimes get the feeling that I'm so emotionally committed to the call that my intensity can sometimes influence the outcome of individual contests. Take Cyril, for example. I'm convinced that there's some sort of cosmic input from me that wills him to get to some contests - to do the impossible if you will.
There's never been a player like him. It's not only what he does when he has the ball, it's what he does without the ball. He gets into really intriguing positions on the edge of contests injecting a volatile mix of mystery into the occasion that absolutely flummoxes defenders. Will he engage? Will he peel off? Will he drift forward? Will he teleport himself into a dangerous position front and centre? The attention he DEMANDS often frees up team mates who then move into even more dangerous scoring positions.
But make no mistake. When Roughie marks in the goal square it was that little shake of Cyril's hips at half back that was responsible for the goal.
I can see him, one day winning the Norm Smith with stats of 0 kicks, 0 marks, 0 hand passes but 14 goal assists just because of the DANGEROUS POSITIONS he gets himself into.
Sentinel: Who will win, Bruce.
Bruce: It's too close to call. But I can tell you this - whoever wins: it's going to be SPECIAL!!!

08-10-2015, 09:45 AM
Bruce McAvaney depicted in 'homophobic' TAB Facebook post with Cyril Rioli (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/bruce-mcavaney-depicted-in-homophobic-tab-facebook-post-with-cyril-rioli-20151007-gk3g47.html?utm_campaign=echobox&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter#link_time=1444254772)

Respected sports broadcaster Bruce McAvaney has been depicted on the TAB's Facebook page in an insulting post involving Hawthorn footballer Cyril Rioli, which was later removed from the betting company's page.

McAvaney told Fairfax Media he had not seen the post as he did not use the social media website, but said he was "very disappointed" when told about the content of the item.
"I haven't seen it and I'm not likely to see it - but if it's distasteful then I'd be very disappointed," the veteran commentator said.
The post, which appears to have been uploaded during the AFL grand final which McAvaney was commentating on, is a three-frame comic strip.

The first picture depicts Cyril Rioli - who was named player of the match in the Hawks' 46-point grand final win over West Coast on Saturday - standing at the end of a line of several urinals.
In the second picture "Bruce" walks past the unused urinals towards Rioli and, in the third, stands next to Rioli.

http://www.smh.com.au/content/dam/images/g/k/3/f/z/z/image.imgtype.articleLeadwide.620x0.png/1444195151830.png

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/bruce-mcavaney-depicted-in-homophobic-tab-facebook-post-with-cyril-rioli-20151007-gk3g47.html?utm_campaign=echobox&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter#link_time=1444254772#ixzz3nvPEEW9N
Follow us: @theage on Twitter (http://ec.tynt.com/b/rw?id=bRrpOkwwyr34jFadbiUt4I&u=theage) | theageAustralia on Facebook (http://ec.tynt.com/b/rf?id=bRrpOkwwyr34jFadbiUt4I&u=theageAustralia)

08-10-2015, 09:48 AM
Storm. Tea. Cup.

Great. Free. Media. For. TAB.

08-10-2015, 09:49 AM
Storm. Tea. Cup.

Funny pic

08-10-2015, 09:52 AM
Storm. Tea. Cup.

As I was scrolling through my first thought was the last pic would be him looking down and saying "delicious". This was actually very tame.

08-10-2015, 09:56 AM
Yeah I'd say it's a bit of a stretch to say it's homophobic.

08-10-2015, 01:20 PM
Would have been funnier if he walked in hand and hand with Fyffe.

08-10-2015, 01:30 PM
I feel for Bruce in this instance but I can't help but feel that he has perpetuated this stereotype with his grandiose and histrionic commentary style over the years. Perhaps he should tone down this aspect of his commentary (that is unnecessary and adds nothing to the viewer's watching experience) and spend more time focusing on the actual game at hand - although that would be expecting far too much to ask from a Ch.7 employee.

Perhaps Bruce understands today that his employer specialises in making their employees look like fools. Anybody that walks through the doors of Ch.7 will be walking out the other side with their reputation in tatters.

08-10-2015, 02:06 PM
Is anyone on here offended by that cartoon?

08-10-2015, 02:10 PM

Not at all. IF Bruce is gay, why would I care.

08-10-2015, 02:23 PM

The only way that cartoon offends anyone is if was done by Charlie Hebdo and if 'Bruce' is English for 'The Prophet Muhammad'. Outside of that, I'm not really sure sexual reference is even made. It's classic 'Family Guy' joke writing in that they're not implying anything sexual in any sense whatsoever, in and of itself. Not all, but some readers/viewers may, but that's an individual imputing made by an individual with a perception of 'Bruce'.

Family Guy: Meg & Quagmire are on the couch cuddling. Meg says 'sorry I farted'. Quagmire says 'that's ok, that's just your body making room so you can put something in its place'. This is a bland non sexual and non offensive statement. How individuals read other things not actually said into the image is a matter for the individual. A journo that implies sexual suggestion is showing their own mind and perception rather than dealing with a non description picture...

08-10-2015, 02:28 PM
Not at all. IF Bruce is gay, why would I care.

If Bruce sneaks a peak why is he gay? Elaine in Seinfeld checked out the body in a sauna of Jerry's girl friend played by Terri Hatcher. Is the character Elaine now homosexual?

08-10-2015, 02:33 PM
If Bruce sneaks a peak why is he gay? Elaine in Seinfeld checked out the body in a sauna of Jerry's girl friend played by Terri Hatcher. Is the character Elaine now homosexual?

Wasn't implying that at all.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aQNkeugaAMc

08-10-2015, 02:47 PM
The journo seemed to, sorry BAD.

Not that there's anything wrong with that. :D

08-10-2015, 03:22 PM
Bruce is the Tobias Funke of commentary.

08-10-2015, 04:27 PM
The journo seemed to, sorry BAD.

Yes that it what I was talkin about

08-10-2015, 05:12 PM
Imply it? Jesus. I'll come right out and say it: I feel for a Mrs. McAvaney, if there is one. She'd be sitting there with her mates listening to Bruce on the radio and fending off awkward glances.

08-10-2015, 06:05 PM
how is that homophobic?

08-10-2015, 08:02 PM
I could see Bruce doing this not because he is gay but looking for more stats on him for the useless commentary info. eg how many litres per toilet visit , his length and girth, which hand he used to unzip, which one he holds it with etc etc

08-10-2015, 08:15 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-c-SeVW_5yQ

08-10-2015, 08:36 PM
He really shouldn't sexualise players.

That's his only flaw in this context. Being gay isn't a crime, nor is it distasteful. Sexualising them is, and he does it all the time.

If he stopped sexualising players he wouldn't be ridiculed for it. Someone should really do something about his behaviour.

08-10-2015, 08:49 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-c-SeVW_5yQ

That is very uncomfortable to listen to.

08-10-2015, 11:17 PM
I'd argue it's more homophobic to assume gay people can't obey urinal etiquette.

08-10-2015, 11:35 PM
I thought that pic was funny.

08-10-2015, 11:36 PM
I'd argue it's more homophobic to assume gay people can't obey urinal etiquette.

My comment didn't have anything to do with the picture, and I don't think the picture in the broader context had anything to do with anything more than a person with a particular fixation.

But, it was released by TAB, so perhaps I'm giving too much credit for the non-malicious or homophobic intent (aren't I the snob?).

09-10-2015, 10:04 AM
My comment didn't have anything to do with the picture, and I don't think the picture in the broader context had anything to do with anything more than a person with a particular fixation.

But, it was released by TAB, so perhaps I'm giving too much credit for the non-malicious or homophobic intent (aren't I the snob?).
My comment wasn't directed at anyone here, more the the people who supposedly claimed it was homophobic.

09-10-2015, 11:15 AM
He really shouldn't sexualise players.

That's his only flaw in this context. Being gay isn't a crime, nor is it distasteful. Sexualising them is, and he does it all the time.

If he stopped sexualising players he wouldn't be ridiculed for it. Someone should really do something about his behaviour.

The problem is he is perceived, even if incorrectly, as homosexual or homosexually inclined, which puts him in the minority category, and in the current climate that makes him untouchable. If people were to call out his totally inappropriate conduct there would be an army of social justice warriors condemning them as being prejudiced dinosaurs and demanding they apologise/resign/offer their head to the baying masses.

Bruce can do as he likes until which point he offends another minority group, then he'll be strung up and never seen again. It's obsurd, but it's reality for the time being.

09-10-2015, 11:26 AM
The problem is he is perceived, even if incorrectly, as homosexual or homosexually inclined, which puts him in the minority category, and in the current climate that makes him untouchable. If people were to call out his totally inappropriate conduct there would be an army of social justice warriors condemning them as being prejudiced dinosaurs and demanding they apologise/resign/offer their head to the baying masses.

Bruce can do as he likes until which point he offends another minority group, then he'll be strung up and never seen again. It's obsurd, but it's reality for the time being.

I have no interest in the guy so I've no clue. When was Bruce formally or informally outed?

09-10-2015, 12:55 PM

Thats what I was thinking with my post but I didnt know how to word it without sounding like a twit. Spot on.

09-10-2015, 02:03 PM
I have no interest in the guy so I've no clue. When was Bruce formally or informally outed?

He hasn't been. He has a wife (his second) and I'm pretty sure a couple of kids.

09-10-2015, 07:20 PM

I get what you're saying, but I don't know whether I think it's unsolvable for the same reasons.

Ch7 must conduct market analysis that suggests he is still popular. That's what boggles the mind for me. Essentially this means the majority of football watchers think he's doing such a good job that his rampant sexualisation of players is inconsequential to the quality of the entertainment, they don't even know it's happening, or they believe it is appropriate.

I genuinely can't reconcile those three things. The only alternative I can come up with is Ch7 is trying to alter the way we behave as a society on a macro level, and his ongoing employment is a strategic aspect of a broader imperative.

09-10-2015, 07:29 PM
I get what you're saying, but I don't know whether I think it's unsolvable for the same reasons.

Ch7 must conduct market analysis that suggests he is still popular. That's what boggles the mind for me. Essentially this means the majority of football watchers think he's doing such a good job that his rampant sexualisation of players is inconsequential to the quality of the entertainment, they don't even know it's happening, or they believe it is appropriate.

I genuinely can't reconcile those three things. The only alternative I can come up with is Ch7 is trying to alter the way we behave as a society on a macro level, and his ongoing employment is a strategic aspect of a broader imperative.

Maybe the pure ineptness of the commentator group means that he comes across looking relatively popular and well informed in the surveys they do.

If asked what people wanted in a commentator they would probably highlight:
-Ability to keep up with the play
-Knowledge of who the players are
-Informative
-Passionate at the right moments
-able to inject excitement into the match
-able to bring the other commentators into it

He ticks all those boxes, except in weird ways. He knows and highlights too many obscure things about players, he is overly and weirdly passionate in his commentating, he keeps his colleagues involved by asking inane questions constantly, he certainly brings excitement to the table and to his credit he actually does get the players names right which is much more than can be said about others.

He has his faults, but most of them are because he gets weird and obscure more so than through not being able to do the job. I'm more worried about how the rest of their guys keep their jobs.

09-10-2015, 07:34 PM
I'm shocked. :)

10-10-2015, 12:59 PM
Bruce needs to be the cold, concise anchor type role that brings us the meat and potatoes of the game. You then have guys like Commetti etc for a bit of humour and excitement.

The problem is that Bruce is trying to bring humour and flair to his call and it detracts from his true skills. Someone should give him some Ray Warren tapes to listen to.

13-10-2015, 10:49 PM
If asked what people wanted in a commentator they would probably highlight:
-Ability to keep up with the play
-Knowledge of who the players are
-Informative
-Passionate at the right moments
-able to inject excitement into the match
-able to bring the other commentators into it

He ticks all those boxes, except in weird ways. He knows and highlights too many obscure things about players, he is overly and weirdly passionate in his commentating, he keeps his colleagues involved by asking inane questions constantly, he certainly brings excitement to the table and to his credit he actually does get the players names right which is much more than can be said about others.
I'm not sure he does. He's passionate, sure, but waaaaay over the top. I don't find his calling exciting, but excruciating. His version of involving the others is to ask endless inane questions, which most of them ignore. He's informative, if you want to know useless stats.

Can't stand him.

14-10-2015, 06:06 AM
I'm in a better place now .. I haven't heard him in over a week, psychiatrists around the country are relieved of a lot of patients who have Bruce hate syndrome.
It has symptoms like
Hearing the word Bruce makes your teeth grind
Hearing him speak makes you upset and causes you to mention inane stats
Hearing anyone mention him makes you want to punch a wall
Meeting him causes anger, frustration and suicide thoughts.
This is why beyond blue was formed to save all the public from self harm after listening to Bruce.

14-10-2015, 07:10 AM

He probably gets high ratings because he covers the main events. What we really need is for him to get sick for a month or so and let someone else take his spot.

I'm in a better place now .. I haven't heard him in over a week, psychiatrists around the country are relieved of a lot of patients who have Bruce hate syndrome.
It has symptoms like
Hearing the word Bruce makes your teeth grind
Hearing him speak makes you upset and causes you to mention inane stats
Hearing anyone mention him makes you want to punch a wall
Meeting him causes anger, frustration and suicide thoughts.
This is why beyond blue was formed to save all the public from self harm after listening to Bruce.
You really feel like the next time we hear him might just push us over the edge, don't you? This is a critical moment, isn't it?

14-10-2015, 08:16 AM
You really feel like the next time we hear him might just push us over the edge, don't you? This is a critical moment, isn't it?

I'm excited!

14-10-2015, 10:24 AM
If you listen to McAvaney commentating from 20 years ago there is an almost complete absence of his modern-day histrionics - his man-love for Carey was obvious back then but not in the shameless way he portrays the same man-love for Cyril these days. Likewise Cometti commentated with much more restraint back then instead of the vaudeville comedian he has morphed into today. And there was no neanderthal BT equivalent back then in the B-team commentators.

I'm convinced that Ch.7 execs deliberately instruct their employees to ham it up in the commentary box and play to a stereotype in order to generate excess publicity and profile for their product. There's no such thing as bad publicity for a TV network - any increased publicity is good publicity, especially when the audience has no choice but to tune in if they want to watch the footy. Ch.7 are a shitstain on footy broadcasting - actually on TV 'entertainment' in general. I can't stand them.

17-10-2015, 07:46 AM
You been watching the winners rebooted, footy commentating has evolved but sadly by the wrong instruction.
I actually think the bearded burbler started it using nick names and Ch7 execs progressed it further down the tube.

12-12-2015, 04:42 PM
Just realised Broooce will probably be going to Rio to cover the Olympics for a chunk of the season, probably with Dennis and a few of the others in tow. This season is just looking better and better.

12-12-2015, 07:00 PM
Just realised Broooce will probably be going to Rio to cover the Olympics for a chunk of the season, probably with Dennis and a few of the others in tow. This season is just looking better and better.

This is the best news I've had in years.............no, Decades.

13-12-2015, 12:11 AM
Bruce needs to be the cold, concise anchor type role that brings us the meat and potatoes of the game.

I think Bruce brings too many meats and potatoes.
Football commentators should take a note from soccer commentators, as my brother used to say. They should just call the play minimally. Brevity is the soul of wit. We are intolerant of those that are in our face all the time and we pick them apart ruthlessly. Better to be brief as a commentator: "Murphy, Dahlhaus...Stringer Goal "

15-12-2015, 08:26 AM
I think Bruce brings too many meats and potatoes.
Football commentators should take a note from soccer commentators, as my brother used to say. They should just call the play minimally. Brevity is the soul of wit. We are intolerant of those that are in our face all the time and we pick them apart ruthlessly. Better to be brief as a commentator: "Murphy, Dahlhaus...Stringer Goal "
Couldn't agree more. Still remember '78 World Cup, Poland v I forget. After a couple of slick passes Poland scored. The commentator nailed it. All he said was: "Boniek! One nil!"

15-12-2015, 09:19 AM
Couldn't agree more. Still remember '78 World Cup, Poland v I forget. After a couple of slick passes Poland scored. The commentator nailed it. All he said was: "Boniek! One nil!"

Funnily enough you remember the commentary but not who the match was between!

15-12-2015, 10:16 AM
I think yes our tv commentators just do their radio style commentary by calling every name and disposal and location etc.
We also have too many commentators and special comments, so there is just too much inane discussion and each one of them has to interject to put their 2 cents worth in all the time.

They need to trim that back somewhere between soccer and American football. Maybe back to the good ole days with 2-3 max. Give the man/woman with the mic time to tell the story and not just rattle off the obvious.

Just my opinion.

15-12-2015, 10:22 AM
Can I just meekly put my hand up at this point and say that for new converts to the game, it is invaluable to watch a match while someone (preferably someone who actually understands the rules) describes and explains what's going on, in excruciating detail?

Of course I'm waaaay past that stage now :)

15-12-2015, 10:25 AM
Agree. They used to have a play by play guy who called the action without embellishment, then a special comments guy (the former great player) who would provide some analysis/colour when the ball was dead, and maybe a third guy who can do a bit of both, changing roles where appropriate. Simple and effective.

Now they all want to be providing the colour all the time.

Bruce is a very good play by play caller and a poor special comments man. Just wish 7 could get a producer who would pull out a few 90s tapes, a few 2015 tapes and play him the difference.

15-12-2015, 11:28 AM
I think yes our tv commentators just do their radio style commentary by calling every name and disposal and location etc.
We also have too many commentators and special comments, so there is just too much inane discussion and each one of them has to interject to put their 2 cents worth in all the time.

They need to trim that back somewhere between soccer and American football. Maybe back to the good ole days with 2-3 max. Give the man/woman with the mic time to tell the story and not just rattle off the obvious.

Just my opinion.

Agree and the only sport worse is the cricket. The inane talk between balls is pure drivel.

15-12-2015, 01:36 PM
Agree. They used to have a play by play guy who called the action without embellishment, then a special comments guy (the former great player) who would provide some analysis/colour when the ball was dead, and maybe a third guy who can do a bit of both, changing roles where appropriate. Simple and effective.

Now they all want to be providing the colour all the time.

Bruce is a very good play by play caller and a poor special comments man. Just wish 7 could get a producer who would pull out a few 90s tapes, a few 2015 tapes and play him the difference.

Don't forget the constant need to compliment each other on their calling skills. Cameron Ling is the number one offender with this.

15-12-2015, 04:52 PM
Don't forget the constant need to compliment each other on their calling skills. Cameron Ling is the number one offender with this.

Great Call Maddog!, ........ooops

15-01-2016, 01:48 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w5oEf66RrUk&index=10&list=RDzh3xkFLaxDU

Some sharp eyes had Bruce pegged over 20 years ago.

15-01-2016, 04:11 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wKlE5ICe5rA

As bad as Bruce is, I just thank god that this guys career was short lived (this clip makes me laugh so hard).

15-01-2016, 04:40 PM

As bad as Bruce is, I just thank god that this guys career was short lived (this clip makes me laugh so hard).

Hey PP, just a suggestion, you may want to make use of the forum tools to post links and videos etc. :)

16-01-2016, 02:49 AM

I've always been a bit suspicious of Westerners who get involved in Buddhism - now I know why! Thanks for posting. Very revealing. Can you imagine him "exchanging energies" with Bruce? No, better not go there!

16-01-2016, 06:38 PM
I've always been a bit suspicious of Westerners who get involved in Buddhism - now I know why! Thanks for posting. Very revealing. Can you imagine him "exchanging energies" with Bruce? No, better not go there!

That clip is just weird, irrespective of his values or beliefs. Are you suspicious of Easterners who get involved with Christianity?

16-01-2016, 07:15 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w5oEf66RrUk&index=10&list=RDzh3xkFLaxDU

Some sharp eyes had Bruce pegged over 20 years ago.

Beam me up Scotty !

16-01-2016, 09:12 PM
Must say it's been a pleasant summer haven't heard him yet except for fox footy replays.

17-01-2016, 07:59 AM

That clip is just weird, irrespective of his values or beliefs. Are you suspicious of Easterners who get involved with Christianity?
Yes, definitely. A little bit of religion is a dangerous affront to rationality.
I don't want to get into a pointless debate about it however, if anyone can prove to me that prayer will win us a flag I'll be the first to get down on my knees and wail to the heavens

17-01-2016, 12:57 PM
Hey PP, just a suggestion, you may want to make use of the forum tools to post links and videos etc. :)

I must be a bit thick BAD, I looked at Forum Tools, but the only 4 options were Post A Thread, Mark This Forum Read, Subscribe to This Forum or View Parent Forum. Not sure any of that is applicable?

17-01-2016, 01:17 PM
I must be a bit thick BAD, I looked at Forum Tools, but the only 4 options were Post A Thread, Mark This Forum Read, Subscribe to This Forum or View Parent Forum. Not sure any of that is applicable?

Not literally forum tools. The options along the top when posting

http://puu.sh/myx36/6676f41552.jpg

17-01-2016, 02:49 PM
Yep. I've been using the Link icon, because when I use the Insert Video icon, nothing appears in the post. Might be my dodgy old computer.

17-01-2016, 03:11 PM

Buddhism isn't to blame, he's just an idiot.

17-01-2016, 03:21 PM
Buddhism isn't to blame, he's just an idiot.
You won't get any argument from me on that one, especially after viewing that clip.

17-01-2016, 03:24 PM
You won't get any argument from me on that one, especially after viewing that clip.

The funny thing is he was co-captain with Barry Hall. He probably appreciated the yin and the yang of that arrangement.

17-01-2016, 05:19 PM
Yep. I've been using the Link icon, because when I use the Insert Video icon, nothing appears in the post. Might be my dodgy old computer.

Do you get video tags appearing in your post before submitting it? Does it work if you type the tags in manually?

17-01-2016, 09:18 PM
Do you get video tags appearing in your post before submitting it? Does it work if you type the tags in manually?

No, videos don't appear in the post before submitting either. Haven't tried typing in tags manually, don't particularly want to with those long tags for You Tube clips.

17-01-2016, 10:48 PM
No, videos don't appear in the post before submitting either. Haven't tried typing in tags manually, don't particularly want to with those long tags for You Tube clips.

Type video in square brackets, paste the link then type video in square brackets with a / before the v

17-01-2016, 10:51 PM
Type video in square brackets, paste the link then type video in square brackets with a / before the v

Cheers boydogs. I'll try that next time I've got a vid to post.

18-01-2016, 08:45 PM
Just don't make it Cloke and Swan.

23-07-2016, 11:51 AM
He's now out of the country and in Rio. Savour the next few weeks of him not ruining games. I know I will.

23-07-2016, 11:56 AM
He'll just ruin the Olympics instead. Bring back Garry Wilkinson!

23-07-2016, 03:01 PM
Somehow he will give Rioli a mention regarding the olympics..
That was Rioli special ?

23-07-2016, 03:11 PM
He'll just ruin the Olympics instead. Bring back Garry Wilkinson!

And the guy who did the weightlifting.

23-07-2016, 03:21 PM
I don't watch the Olympics just as I don't pay much attention to the FIFA World Cup. The governing bodies of each are so bereft of ethics and transparency they make me ill.

So, I'm truly going to enjoy a Bruce free month.

23-07-2016, 03:44 PM
And the guy who did the weightlifting.

HaHo Oh Geez That Was HUGE!!!!!

Big Darryl Eastlake.:)

06-12-2016, 08:47 PM
As expected, Bruce's new Friday night mate is Brian Taylor (eh Lingy). Just when we get a heap of Friday nights...

I suppose that's offset by James Brayshaw not being North president and sooking every week, as well as being dumped from Channel 9 (and the cricket and footy coverage). Not that I will watch either, but Hutchy goes to TFS & everyone's favourite friend of their wife, Garry Lyon, goes back to that horrid classified or confidential show. Maybe Damien Barrett can get an extended role with his great footy brain...

06-12-2016, 08:55 PM
As expected, Bruce's new Friday night mate is Brian Taylor (eh Lingy). Just when we get a heap of Friday nights...

I suppose that's offset by James Brayshaw not being North president and sooking every week, as well as being dumped from Channel 9 (and the cricket and footy coverage). Not that I will watch either, but Hutchy goes to TFS & everyone's favourite friend of their wife, Garry Lyon, goes back to that horrid classified or confidential show. Maybe Damien Barrett can get an extended role with his great footy brain...

That would account for his big boof head then.

06-12-2016, 09:37 PM
I am really pleased when BT commentates our games. He is not even a closet Bulldogs supporter - he's Myer's front window. Brings a lot of passion to his call. Who can forget the GWS game: "Daniel! Goal of the year!!!!"
And his description of JJ's run and Bont's goal? I could replay those till hell freezes over and then start all over again. BT is a passionate man. Remember the spray he gave that umpy in his playing days? There's nothing manufactured about BT. He is the real deal.

06-12-2016, 09:40 PM
I am really pleased when BT commentates our games. He is not even a closet Bulldogs supporter - he's Myer's front window. Brings a lot of passion to his call. Who can forget the GWS game: "Daniel! Goal of the year!!!!"
And his description of JJ's run and Bont's goal? I could replay those till hell freezes over and then start all over again. BT is a passionate man. Remember the spray he gave that umpy in his playing days? There's nothing manufactured about BT. He is the real deal.

Oh boy wowee, that's right from the Calder Cannons footy factory there.

06-12-2016, 10:52 PM
As expected, Bruce's new Friday night mate is Brian Taylor (eh Lingy). Just when we get a heap of Friday nights.....
If BT can tone down his idiotic tendencies and go back to being the good caller he was around 2011 on Fox Footy, he might be ok on Friday night - one positive is that it breaks up the moronic Saturday night boys club of BT, Darce and Richo, which might focus him more on the calling and less on the jokey crap.

07-12-2016, 12:16 AM
If BT can tone down his idiotic tendencies and go back to being the good caller he was around 2011 on Fox Footy, he might be ok on Friday night - one positive is that it breaks up the moronic Saturday night boys club of BT, Darce and Richo, which might focus him more on the calling and less on the jokey crap.

That's true he wasn't a bad callers beck in the day. Maybe because Saturday night is bufoon night he had to be the biggest bufoon? As the chief caller.

07-12-2016, 02:12 AM
Just get the names right and he will be the best in the business.
Makes me laugh though how he tells us what players have said to other players during the game.. Or what they are thinking.

12-12-2016, 10:18 AM
I watched the grand final (again) the other day with BT's radio commentary. IMO it was comical but not in a good way. His TV commentary is better but he has certainly regressed from his earlier years when he was one of the better commentators going around.

On radio he seems to think repeating the same phrase over and over again in a single passage of play constitutes great commentary.

12-12-2016, 10:31 AM
I was watching the highlights of the Eagles final with Triple M commentary the other day....very amusing when Darling short steps/short arms the mark and BT rips straight in with "Darling had a BO PEEP!"

Interesting mix to have him and Bruce.

Hoping that Channel 7 put an offer in front of Huddo that he can't refuse to get onto the Saturday night team.

12-12-2016, 11:00 AM
BT is like Pandora's Box. I'm not sure Bruce is up for the unpredictability to be honest.

12-12-2016, 12:43 PM
I watched the grand final (again) the other day with BT's radio commentary. IMO it was comical but not in a good way. His TV commentary is better but he has certainly regressed from his earlier years when he was one of the better commentators going around.

On radio he seems to think repeating the same phrase over and over again in a single passage of play constitutes great commentary.

I was actually ashamed of the noise coming from my living room when I watched the replay with MMM commentary! It's just over the top 'straya for mine.

12-12-2016, 06:38 PM
I was actually ashamed of the noise coming from my living room when I watched the replay with MMM commentary! It's just over the top 'straya for mine.

BT screams a bit and its a shame because he is a decent commentator when not going over the top.
Frawley on the other hand with his incessant screams, noises and carry on it is like he is commentating mid lobotomy.

12-12-2016, 08:16 PM
I was watching the highlights of the Eagles final with Triple M commentary the other day....very amusing when Darling short steps/short arms the mark and BT rips straight in with "Darling had a BO PEEP!"

Interesting mix to have him and Bruce.

Hoping that Channel 7 put an offer in front of Huddo that he can't refuse to get onto the Saturday night team.

BT is like Pandora's Box. I'm not sure Bruce is up for the unpredictability to be honest.

Bruce was pretty poor this year. He was better after the Olympics but he was a cliche machine early in the season.

Rex had a good Grand Final call I thought. lve said before I like that one of the callers calls us Footscray. It's nice for the FNWB brigade.

BT screams a bit and its a shame because he is a decent commentator when not going over the top.
Frawley on the other hand with his incessant screams, noises and carry on it is like he is commentating mid lobotomy.

12-12-2016, 09:36 PM
Cometti brought out the worst in Bruce, who tried to go all comedy duo sitting alongside him. He won't have the same banter with BT, which will hopefully get Bruce to focus on calling the action.

12-12-2016, 09:41 PM
I'm suprised that Gerrard Wheatley dosn't have a gig on Fox calling games seeing that he hosts Afl 360.
Maybe his contract with ABC dosn't allow him to call on radio and T.V?
It's a great shame though.

12-12-2016, 10:11 PM
I'm suprised that Gerrard Wheatley dosn't have a gig on Fox calling games seeing that he hosts Afl 360.
Maybe his contract with ABC dosn't allow him to call on radio and T.V?
It's a great shame though.

I think you might be right with the ABC/commercial tv theory. From memory Tim Lane had to quit 774 to commentate on nine. Then he had a tanty about Ed and quit.

12-12-2016, 10:42 PM
I think you might be right with the ABC/commercial tv theory. From memory Tim Lane had to quit 774 to commentate on nine. Then he had a tanty about Ed and quit.

Didn't Tim Lane also commentate on 10 with Qtrmain and Walls?

12-12-2016, 10:46 PM

After he left nine I think.

13-12-2016, 12:45 AM

And insisted his daughter be given a role too. Which is why we had several years of having the English language mangled every week in the vein attempt at producing a coherent sentence.

13-12-2016, 05:09 AM
Bruce was pretty poor this year. He was better after the Olympics but he was a cliche machine early in the season.

Rex had a good Grand Final call I thought. lve said before I like that one of the callers calls us Footscray. It's nice for the FNWB brigade.

I like Rex he gets lots of names wrong though. He makes up for this with his passion. His Jerry Stringer call during the GF was a bit lame. Had a good call though. His Prelim call was good I thought.

As for BT he really needs to settle down on the Stringer thing he's got going.

13-12-2016, 10:07 AM
I like Rex he gets lots of names wrong though. He makes up for this with his passion. His Jerry Stringer call during the GF was a bit lame. Had a good call though. His Prelim call was good I thought.

As for BT he really needs to settle down on the Stringer thing he's got going.

Not to big on Rex, honestly if you are listening to his commentary you have Buckley's trying to work out who has the ball or where it is.
Lame is an understatement for his Springer call, it Stringer not Springer for $%^# sake.
Not sure Rex would like us all applying rhyming slang to his surname too much, on a plus you could use the classic Python line Silly Bunt.
I do enjoy his fishing show though.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yz2LaJOVAiA

13-12-2016, 11:26 AM
Watching the replays it drove me insane that Bruce Macavaney consistently referred to Hamling as 'Hambling' right up until the GF! Grr!

Oh well it doesn't matter any more, that's Freo's problem now :)

13-12-2016, 12:04 PM
Watching the replays it drove me insane that Bruce Macavaney consistently referred to Hamling as 'Hambling' right up until the GF! Grr!

Oh well it doesn't matter any more, that's Freo's problem now :)

I watched the replay on the Sunday and it did annoy me.

Now 2 months later he is still getting it wrong, every I watch it. How long does it take him???:D