View Full Version : AFL Draft Day 2015
24-11-2015, 06:46 PM
Here's the place to put all the running commentary.
Picks start in 15 minutes.
24-11-2015, 06:54 PM
All ready. Let's do it Dogs!
24-11-2015, 06:56 PM
Good luck to our recruiters.
24-11-2015, 07:02 PM
Secret booths???
24-11-2015, 07:03 PM
Secret booths???
A bit of American style about it.
24-11-2015, 07:05 PM
Sam Landsberger just tweeted Dunkley and Skinner as our 20/21 picks.
24-11-2015, 07:05 PM
There'll be plenty of melt downs if that occurs. Just can't see the need for an inside mid and Skinner seems like a 30+ selection.
24-11-2015, 07:06 PM
If it happens, I'll get behind him ... but it just doesn't sit well initially with me.
I like the prospect of Skinner though.
24-11-2015, 07:09 PM
Gee they really milk it with the draft coverage.
24-11-2015, 07:09 PM
If we take Dunkley and Skinner it wouldn't be the worst outcome. I will have a melt down if we draft another midget like Gresham.
24-11-2015, 07:10 PM
Gippsland Power boys, I've mentioned a couple of times that I thought we would get someone from the Power
24-11-2015, 07:11 PM
Could we get a key position back. That would be great get.
24-11-2015, 07:12 PM
Quite liking the format. Bit of drama and sense of occasion.
24-11-2015, 07:13 PM
Quite liking the format. Bit of drama and sense of occasion.
Maybe for TV, not so for radio!
24-11-2015, 07:14 PM
Is it just me, or have they killed the natural flow and excitement of draft night?
24-11-2015, 07:15 PM
Is it just me, or have they killed the natural flow and excitement of draft night?
Yeah I tend to agree.
24-11-2015, 07:20 PM
Where's the Hopper bid?
24-11-2015, 07:21 PM
Bombers didn't bid on Hopper with pick 6 - should change the flow of the rest of the top 30
Edit - Gold Coast just bid on him at pick 7
24-11-2015, 07:21 PM
Some pretty handy players for Essendon. Really like Francis.
24-11-2015, 07:22 PM
What do you guys think of these academies.
24-11-2015, 07:22 PM
Academy clubs getting away with murder
24-11-2015, 07:24 PM
What do you guys think of these academies.
I think ultimately all clubs will have academies/zones and a bidding system on draft day. When equitable, will be good.
24-11-2015, 07:25 PM
Ah Chee is such a Clayton pick
24-11-2015, 07:25 PM
Hehe, never change Scott Clayton.
24-11-2015, 07:30 PM
Bit of reaching for some talls particularly McKay and Weideman?
24-11-2015, 07:30 PM
Gold Coast and Clayton ... Typical.
24-11-2015, 07:31 PM
Wouldn't be surprised if McKay and Weideman both turn out to be busts. Just don't scream out dominant key forwards.
24-11-2015, 07:32 PM
No bid on Hipwood by the Crows
24-11-2015, 07:33 PM
Carlton pick Charlie Curnow with their 11 trade from us. Really hope he doesn't turn out a champ.
24-11-2015, 07:36 PM
Carlton pick Charlie Curnow with their 11 trade from us. Really hope he doesn't turn out a champ.
If it's true he was the one we wanted to trade down for there may be some heads shaking in the Dog's camp at the moment
24-11-2015, 07:37 PM
How does pick 36 & 37 = 14 & 39?
I'm confused.
24-11-2015, 07:38 PM
Brisbane give up pick 36 for pick 14. Hard decision for Brisbane...
24-11-2015, 07:39 PM
Wow early bid for Himmelberg
24-11-2015, 07:40 PM
Wow. Himmelberg early. GWS losing points now. Excellent.
24-11-2015, 07:40 PM
Good job Richmond. The academy system is stuffed.
24-11-2015, 07:41 PM
Good job Richmond. The academy system is stuffed.
It was good to see them do the heavy lifting. That's cleared a few things up
24-11-2015, 07:42 PM
The Crows pull a real surprise
24-11-2015, 07:42 PM
Doedee!! First big shock.
Still no Collins/BMackay/Bonner/Hibberd etc. Big calls coming up.
24-11-2015, 07:44 PM
Slide my pretties!
24-11-2015, 07:45 PM
There goes Burton, would've liked him
24-11-2015, 07:46 PM
Slide my pretties!
This is going great I reckon
Colins still available
A number of very good players including needs based players still available.
24-11-2015, 07:47 PM
Could see Clayton liking a kid with Fiorini's skillset
24-11-2015, 07:48 PM
Burton at Hawthorn potentially very scary
Ah Florini plenty of quality left.. Fingers crossed on Collins
Will the Hawks trump us and pick Collins?
I hope they select Balic.
Burton at Hawthorn potentially very scary
They may be about to grab Collins also I'd have thought
24-11-2015, 07:49 PM
Really liked Fiorini. Oh well.
Leaves Bonner/Hibberd though
Sigh of relief hearing that Lovell!
Scott Clayton the king of outside players does he ever go for anyone different?
Will Collins make it to us?
24-11-2015, 07:50 PM
Lovell!!!!
Giddy up
Leaves Bonner/Hibberd though
Can't see us taking Bonner.
Getting exciting isn't it? :)
Big Ben gone to North.
Don't bother me after reading the Quigley rating.
24-11-2015, 07:51 PM
Will Collins make it to us?
Carlton have already taken 2 talls.. Hope not.
24-11-2015, 07:51 PM
Another bolter! Starting to hope for Collins!
24-11-2015, 07:52 PM
Holy crap we've got great options
Cuningham is an exciting player, as expected the Blues have done well.
Dalrymple your up next
Collins surely
24-11-2015, 07:53 PM
Collins & Hibberd?
Tucker, Keays, Balic, Collins, Hibberd all still available. Some sliders there
Does anyone want to revise our picks? :) Do we go with Landsbergers selections?
Collins might be a good chance now, I'd like Tucker with one of them
24-11-2015, 07:54 PM
Wow. Some good prospects left. Excited but nervous to see who we select.
Tucker, Bonner, Hibberd, Collins still on the table of the popular picks
If we take Collins and Hibberd I'll be ecstatic!
Collins/Hibberd
24-11-2015, 07:55 PM
Shut up and pick FFS!
Would be very happy with Collins/Tucker
Does anyone want to revise our picks? :) Do we go with Landsbergers selections?
Collins might be a good chance now, I'd like Tucker with one of them
Collins and Tucker.
Jinx SP
So many sliders. Please go with Collins, Dal. Make the easy call!
We may get Adams with our 3rd?
24-11-2015, 07:56 PM
If we take Collins and Hibberd I'll be ecstatic!
Yep, would be ideal!
24-11-2015, 07:56 PM
Plenty of time been given to us to make the best selection with these add breaks....
24-11-2015, 07:57 PM
Collins and Bonner for mine. I hope we get Morgan at 35.
24-11-2015, 07:57 PM
Nice bid by us.
24-11-2015, 07:58 PM
Keays
24-11-2015, 07:58 PM
Dunkley
24-11-2015, 07:59 PM
Forgot about Keays. We spent ages with him at the combine. Were never getting him at 24 though.
24-11-2015, 07:59 PM
Now Dunkley bid
24-11-2015, 08:01 PM
Dunkley a dog interesting
24-11-2015, 08:01 PM
Is it that hard to run a draft night? Dunkley almost a dog, now not???
Now is?
24-11-2015, 08:02 PM
Have we bid on Dunkley? SEN are rabbiting on about nothing
24-11-2015, 08:03 PM
Have we passed on the pick?
Collins in
At least we have Collins
Are SEN 20 minutes behind?
24-11-2015, 08:04 PM
Dunkley and Collins.
Dunkley and Collins...good start.
WTF is going on?
Collins!!
Have we bid on Dunkley? SEN are rabbiting on about nothing
Dunkley a Dog and now Collins.
Going to be some talented blokes around in a few picks time.
WTF is going on?
Apparently the proven method of draft night was too seemless and exciting and easily watchable...
24-11-2015, 08:05 PM
They're shocking
24-11-2015, 08:05 PM
about 7 minutes
24-11-2015, 08:06 PM
Dunkley a Dog and now Collins.
It's an interesting mix. Collins is capable of playing senior footy next season and fits a need.
Dunkley and Collins confirmed
WTF is going on? Anyone in Adelaide have a clue how to run this thing?
about 7 minutes
For round one they were not. Not sure why they have fell behind.
24-11-2015, 08:07 PM
30 and 50. What now?
This is terrible.
Is Coĺlins mobile enough?
Collins huge get!!!!!
24-11-2015, 08:10 PM
Where are Chris Berman and Mel Kiper Junior when you need them.
NFL Draft >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> AFL draft
Everyone must be scared of Bonners foot and Hibbered injuries
Sliders!
30 and 50. What now?
The way they're falling we could get a quality player with our 3rd pick
How typical that the AFL system shits itself when it's our turn.
Thought Freo was taking Marcus Adams.
Big slide by Tucker who is a great pick up at that pick.
Happy with our two picks so far
24-11-2015, 08:11 PM
Two very physically ready players. Very developed physically.
24-11-2015, 08:12 PM
Amazing that Hibberd, Bonner, Mathieson are all still on the board
24-11-2015, 08:14 PM
Fiorini screams a clayton pick
24-11-2015, 08:15 PM
Red man to Bombres
Amazing that Hibberd, Bonner, Mathieson are all still on the board
Mathieson is the big slider. I suspect his beep test results might have concerned s few clubs. 12.4 wouldn't have painted him in a great light.
So relieved we went with a genuine monster defender.
24-11-2015, 08:16 PM
Surely we can nab one of Hibberd, Bonner, Adams, Skinner, Balic, Mathieson, Clarke with our pick.
Heaps of talent left on the board.
24-11-2015, 08:18 PM
Surely we can nab one of Hibberd, Bonner, Adams, Skinner, Balic, Mathieson, Clarke with our pick.
Heaps of talent left on the board.
Possibly two of them at this rate ou surprises.
24-11-2015, 08:20 PM
Sier to the Pies after being given permission to train with Dogs
24-11-2015, 08:21 PM
The other teams are all going with their bad, shonky research...leaving the good ones for us!!!
24-11-2015, 08:22 PM
Hibberd gone
Nice pick.
Marcus Adams, anyone info ?
Adams
Marcus Adams. Big player. Good selection?
great pick
24-11-2015, 08:23 PM
Good pick up another beast in the pack.
Collins and Adams. Yeeessssssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Another tall defender with a couple of season in the WAFL. PeanutsPeanuts will be happy. Marcus Adams welcome to the Kennel
Clayton just loves skinny outside runners.
I'm sick of all these big bodies and KPPs. Where's an extra flanker? Every year the same :D
Certainly addressing KPP needs.
24-11-2015, 08:24 PM
Bonner, Balic, Mathieson. WTF???
24-11-2015, 08:24 PM
Great picks so far
24-11-2015, 08:25 PM
Yep Adams a KPP. Good to go for those types.
24-11-2015, 08:26 PM
Last year we drafted 5 mids/forwards, this year 3 bigger boys. We draft with gusto when we identify a need.
24-11-2015, 08:26 PM
First two gone now.
Freo pick up Balic, Mathieson only one nope left.
24-11-2015, 08:27 PM
Port get Bonner first pick at 37. They must be pinching themselves.
Last year we drafted 5 mids/forwards, this year 3 bigger boys. We draft with gusto when we identify a need.
Wonder if we take a Mitch Brown if he is available later?
Do we need a mature state leaguer like Brown now I wonder?
Freo looking pretty smug with that pick.
24-11-2015, 08:28 PM
Look forward to drafting 5 ruckmen next year
Very happy with our picks so far. All 3 could have an immediate impact it seems.
A ruck,runner or Adcock with the last pick ?
Wonder if we take a Mitch Brown if he is available later?
I wouldn't have thought so earlier but there is a chance now.
24-11-2015, 08:29 PM
Brayden Sier fascinating selection by Collingwood first pick. Was training with us.
24-11-2015, 08:30 PM
Do we need a mature state leaguer like Brown now I wonder?
not with Collins and Adams.
A ruck,runner or Adcock with the last pick ?
My main hopes; Mathieson/Allen/Skinner/Flynn
A clear pattern emerging with our picks so far being leadership, discipline, competitive spirit and ticker.
24-11-2015, 08:31 PM
A clear pattern emerging with our picks so far being leadership, discipline, competitive spirit and ticker.
...and big.
Love that we've added Adams to Collins. Big fan.
Very interesting to see what we do next. I hope we don't go for a ruck.
Just get Matthew Flynn or Sam Skinner now please
I really like Adams' highlight reel
Skinner or a ruckman I wonder?
24-11-2015, 08:34 PM
Mitch Brown Come On Down!!!!
24-11-2015, 08:34 PM
The bolter Murray?
24-11-2015, 08:35 PM
Wrapt with Collins and Adams huge beasts even at this early stage in their career.
24-11-2015, 08:36 PM
Just get Matthew Flynn or Sam Skinner now please
I really like Adams' highlight reel
Flynn to GWS
The bolter Murray?
I'd be happy enough with that.
Although I do wonder if we'll be tempted to go tall again, especially if Skinner is available.
I think i'm more nervous about our last pick than our first lol!
plenty of talent available
24-11-2015, 08:38 PM
I think i'm more nervous about our last pick than our first lol!
plenty of talent available
Doc, who interests you?
24-11-2015, 08:39 PM
With 2 serious KPDs and a big mid/utility, list balance looks good. It's all gravy now.
24-11-2015, 08:39 PM
Doc, who interests you?
Johnson
24-11-2015, 08:41 PM
With 2 serious KPDs and a big mid/utility, list balance looks good. It's all gravy now.
Good to see PP we are going for areas like defence that need some addressing.
Adams !!! Yay, Yay, Yay !!! I pray he is as good with the Dogs Seniors as he looks in those video highlights. We can free up one of our back men to be a forward e.g. Fletch or Hamster perhaps?
Our last selection will be fascinating - hoping we take Adcock in rookie draft.
Just watched his highlights reel, this Adams is a complete ripped beast. Round 1 ready, no question about it.
24-11-2015, 08:43 PM
Poster on Big Footy just noted "Spoke to a friend from Perth who follows the club Adams played for. Reckons Adams is just as good up forward as down back. Reads the ball drop very well and has great agility. Exciting!"
Yay, Yay, Yay !!!
Skinner gone to Brisbane.
24-11-2015, 08:45 PM
Surprise
Bailey Williams welcome to the Dogs
And the Dogs sigh for Skinner but pick Bailey Williams
Time for a genuine smokie, Dal!
24-11-2015, 08:46 PM
Anyone know much
Any info on Bailey
Time for a genuine smokie, Dal!
Hopefully not the Howard or Fuller type.
24-11-2015, 08:47 PM
Any info on Bailey
One for T & T
And the Dogs sigh for Skinner but pick Bailey Williams
The table looked disappointed when he went the pick prior!
Anyone know much
Had 56 possies in a game late in the year. Big finish to the year. Dalrymple special
Anyone know much
Glenelg boy.. Over to you t&t!
Hopefully not the Howard or Fuller type.
Hehe, he loves his no name South Australians. Happy for him to have a crack after picking 2 big fellas!
24-11-2015, 08:48 PM
Who?
SANFL News
16 OCT 2015
BAILEY THE BOLTER?
http://www.sanfl.com.au/news/sanfl_news/3233/
Well we've cornered the market on Bailey's
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/messenger/sport/glenelgs-bailey-williams-emerges-as-afl-draft-prospect-after-56-disposals-in-a-game/story-fni9llzu-1227479990988
24-11-2015, 08:49 PM
Any info on Bailey
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/afl/afl-draft-2015-ball-magnet-bailey-williams-has-afl-scouts-wagging-their-tails/story-fnb7al7m-1227614044179
24-11-2015, 08:50 PM
Had 56 possies in a game late in the year. Big finish to the year. Dalrymple special
Against who? Just read the article. As you were.
24-11-2015, 08:50 PM
What a game!
24-11-2015, 08:51 PM
I like our new super sized backline. Look out opposition forwards the heavy mob have arrived.
24-11-2015, 08:52 PM
The mens department has been reinforced.
24-11-2015, 08:56 PM
Lets hope it's a men's department with an attitude :)
24-11-2015, 08:57 PM
Do we have any more picks left tonight?
24-11-2015, 08:57 PM
1 more maybe or maybe not?
24-11-2015, 08:58 PM
We've shut up shop.
24-11-2015, 08:58 PM
Can see him being a bit of a cult hero already with is right footed kicking to go with his left handed bounces.
Dare I say it BT ...........
New Suitor??:p
24-11-2015, 08:59 PM
The perfect draft, IMO.
A couple of monsters and a couple of big mids.
Now to bring in a few raw rucks in the rookie draft and we're good to go.
24-11-2015, 08:59 PM
I like our new super sized backline. Look out opposition forwards the heavy mob have arrived.
The Mafiosa Squad ;)
24-11-2015, 09:01 PM
We've shut up shop.
Does that mean we will use the remaining spots in the rookie draft? Adcock seems a certainty to be picked
24-11-2015, 09:03 PM
Does that mean we will use the remaining spots in the rookie draft? Adcock seems a certainty to be picked
Yes we have three spots with Adcock to take one
24-11-2015, 09:04 PM
3 selections in the rookie draft await. I'd imagine it will be Adcock a ruckman and a someone who was on our radar tonight.
24-11-2015, 09:04 PM
Really wanted Skinner, pity. Williams looks very nice from his youtube highlights though.
24-11-2015, 09:05 PM
Solway-Where the Big Men Shop and Shop Early! :cool:
24-11-2015, 09:05 PM
Geelong have done well with their first pick. Gardner should be a good prospect. Wells is a bit of a gunslinger and doesn't miss too many.
24-11-2015, 09:06 PM
Whilst I'm yet to be completely sold on Dunkley's selection, I can see the logic that played out with our selections.
Not only have we addressed key needs in defense, we've clearly placed a premium with all of our picks on attributes of character, competitiveness, size and with the exception of Williams a readiness to play now.
The Williams selection looms as a Dalrymple 'special'.
I suspect if Skinner had been available or Flynn we would've taken either, but with him gone and with the earlier selection of Collins and Adams giving us the flexibility to play Roughy in the ruck, the path was clear for Dal to roll the dice with a smokey in Williams.
Sorry for the mega sentence there but I've had a few glasses of red and I can't be stuffed editing!
All in all on paper it looks to be another very good draft by Dal and the recruiting team.
24-11-2015, 09:06 PM
TT was going to the draft tonight. Get on T T and tell us about Collins
24-11-2015, 09:07 PM
TT was going to the draft tonight. Get on T T and tell us about Collins
Williams
24-11-2015, 09:08 PM
Like it the mids they've picked are not shorties. Looks like Collins can kick goals too. Flexibility seems to be a driver.
24-11-2015, 09:12 PM
Oleg Markov son of world champion pole vaulter Dimitri Markov selected by Richmond. Cool. Good sporting bloodline.
24-11-2015, 09:14 PM
TT was going to the draft tonight. Get on T T and tell us about Williams
http://youtu.be/gDYCeh-VhhM
He certainly had one day out. He's the #12 racking it up.
24-11-2015, 09:14 PM
The Mafiosa Squad ;)
It's an old nick name for armed police from before the police had guns.
24-11-2015, 09:21 PM
Wylie Buzza is the name of an AFL footballer now
24-11-2015, 09:21 PM
Surprised Nick Coughlan is still available.
Also thought Reuben William would get picked up.
24-11-2015, 09:22 PM
With us sending Talia to Sydney for very little and them not matching the bid for Dunkley, I wonder whether there was a little bit of 'I'll scratch your back if you scratch mine' going on
24-11-2015, 09:25 PM
With us sending Talia to Sydney for very little and them not matching the bid for Dunkley, I wonder whether there was a little bit of 'I'll scratch your back if you scratch mine' going on
Thought a little the same thing.
24-11-2015, 09:47 PM
Was my own first reaction, so not surprised the Swannies didn't match the offer.
24-11-2015, 09:51 PM
Watching Williams' 56 possession game, some of his moves to get past tackles reminds me a bit of Bob Murphy.
24-11-2015, 09:52 PM
Bloody Hell Lemmo,never thought of it that way but I think your spot on the money.
Wonder if this whole Tellia affair was all part of tonights drafting of Dunkley process.
Swans got a need with Tellia and we got ours with The Dunkster? :confused:
24-11-2015, 10:03 PM
Oleg Markov son of world champion pole vaulter Dimitri Markov selected by Richmond. Cool. Good sporting bloodline.
I was happy with this too. Kind of wanted us to take him, although didn't really fit our list. Has massive cult potential at Richmond.
24-11-2015, 10:04 PM
The more I look at the list of names tge happier I am with our selections. We have got some good kids that address our needs. A big bodied mid who can cover Clay Smith's role in the team, two key defenders and a late spec pick on a high possession gatherer. Good selections
Hearing Dalrymple's undisguised glee over Kieron Collins falling to our pick on SEN made me very happy.
24-11-2015, 10:23 PM
No one took Darcy mac? any chance we will take him as a rookie?
24-11-2015, 10:31 PM
No one took Darcy mac? any chance we will take him as a rookie?
Outside chance I would say, Adcock, ruckman (Goetz), Roarke Smith and .....?
24-11-2015, 10:32 PM
Heard that as well two .
He genuinely was shocked Collins got through, and they threw his name around at 11.
Pretty pleased on the surface with our picks, as we addressed some needs with touted prospects
24-11-2015, 10:48 PM
Okay, it's time for some more analysis.
How would we have rated the draft if the bid for Ben Keays wasn't matched and we ended up with him and Dunkley at 25 and 26?
24-11-2015, 10:55 PM
Okay, it's time for some more analysis.
How would we have rated the draft if the bid for Ben Keays wasn't matched and we ended up with him and Dunkley at 25 and 26?
Would we have gone Dunkley if Keays went thru? I think not, Dalrymple seems chuffed with Collins.
24-11-2015, 10:58 PM
Would we have gone Dunkley if Keays went thru? I think not, Dalrymple seems chuffed with Collins.
If we rated Collins higher than Dunkley we should have selected him first. The difference in points for the bid to be matched wasn't much.
Lets assume it was Keays and Dunkley, how would we now rate the draft?
24-11-2015, 11:00 PM
Yep, not a chance we miss out on Collins.
24-11-2015, 11:01 PM
If we rated Collins higher than Dunkley we should have selected him first. The difference in points for the bid to be matched wasn't much.
I think keep them honest and go with a higher points first. All hypothetical now, Collins is a dog and were not giving him back! :D
24-11-2015, 11:02 PM
Why? Makes sense to extract the maximum out of a bid, even if it's not a great difference.
Lets assume it was Keays and Dunkley, how would we now rate the draft?
Collins makes it an A draft.
Without Collins, its a C+/B.
His addition to the list could be a game changer.
24-11-2015, 11:05 PM
Why? Makes sense to extract the maximum out of a bid, even if it's not a great difference.
I will try and make it a bit clearer, Sydney was either going to match the bid or not, the difference in points wasn't going to make it or break it for them. They were never going to match either of those picks because they would have had to go into deficit next year to match it.
24-11-2015, 11:08 PM
Collins makes it an A draft.
Without Collins, its a C+/B.
His addition to the list could be a game changer.
I think that's the way so many people would see it.
Had we selected Keays and Collins I think most would regard it on the high side.
I think Collins is the one many of our fans believe is the game (draft) changer with Adams topping it off.
24-11-2015, 11:11 PM
Clearly our club think the bees knees of Dunkley. With so many other likely types Hibberd, Bonner etc, the club really believes in him. So I can only assume there's a very good reason for it and that is somewhat reassuring.
24-11-2015, 11:13 PM
Reckon we would've loved Keays. Will follow him with interest.
On the flip side, would be fascinated to know who we would've taken should Sydney have matched bids with Dunkley.
As an aside, is Dunkley the first ever unmatched academy/fatherson bid?
24-11-2015, 11:21 PM
Clearly our club think the bees knees of Dunkley. With so many other likely types Hibberd, Bonner etc, the club really believes in him. So I can only assume there's a very good reason for it and that is somewhat reassuring.
With my limited knowledge, this was my concern too. Players like Balic, Mathieson, Bonner were highly rated and still available but we still went for Dunkley.
Clearly we rated him higher, but I couldn't see anything on his highlights tapes which suggested elite talents.
24-11-2015, 11:26 PM
Reckon we would've loved Keays. Will follow him with interest.
On the flip side, would be fascinated to know who we would've taken should Sydney have matched bids with Dunkley.
As an aside, is Dunkley the first ever unmatched academy/fatherson bid?
I think Dunkley is the first unmatched bidder on player too
What would have happened if we bidded on both and the swans didn't match? Would we have been spewing seeing Collins fall and not been able to pick him?
24-11-2015, 11:27 PM
With my limited knowledge, this was my concern too. Players like Balic, Mathieson, Bonner were highly rated and still available but we still went for Dunkley.
Clearly we rated him higher, but I couldn't see anything on his highlights tapes which suggested elite talents.
Can he kick? His dad couldn't - was a horrible kick of the footy
24-11-2015, 11:29 PM
What happened to Bevo anyway? Why didn't he read any players out?
24-11-2015, 11:40 PM
What happened to Bevo anyway? Why didn't he read any players out?
Seemed they only had coaches read out picks on first round? Would've preferred them do it all the way through.
24-11-2015, 11:42 PM
Found it utterly bizarre seeing the boss of the entire competition coming in stage and reading out 'PASS' time and again. What was he even doing on the stage tonight? Just weird.
24-11-2015, 11:48 PM
Found it utterly bizarre seeing the boss of the entire competition coming in stage and reading out 'PASS' time and again. What was he even doing on the stage tonight? Just weird.
The whole event is clearly a work in progress with plenty of work needed. I like the ambition of making it a big event, but there is a lot of scope for improvement. Having Gill read feels as squirmy as Brownlow night.
24-11-2015, 11:51 PM
Seeing him coming on and off stage was a bit silly. And as you say Sedat saying "PASS" each time at the end topped it off.Amateur hour.
25-11-2015, 12:02 AM
What would have happened if we bidded on both and the swans didn't match? Would we have been spewing seeing Collins fall and not been able to pick him?
Had the Lions decided not to match our bid on Keays, I doubt we would have gone for Dunkley.
I think we had a best mid/best KPD strategy for our first 2 picks. If Collins was gone, I wouldn't have been surprised if we chose Adams anyway.
In the end, I think we were lucky that there were so many sliders, meaning Adams slipped through to our third pick. If the likes of Partington, Tucker, Redman etc were off the board, I'm sure one of Freo/WC/Essendon would have pounced before he got through.
25-11-2015, 12:13 AM
The whole production was embarrassing.
25-11-2015, 12:15 AM
So far as I care, the whole thing was frikkin awesome. When's rookie draft?
25-11-2015, 03:03 AM
So far as I care, the whole thing was frikkin awesome. When's rookie draft?
Friday morning, normally by a conference call. It will be over in 30 minutes.
25-11-2015, 08:08 AM
The whole production was embarrassing.
He learned this from his former Boss. Vlad used to get a bit too involved in things he probably should have left alone. His PR people probably thought it was a good idea.
25-11-2015, 08:13 AM
"To get Josh, who we felt with his leadership, ability to win the ball at ground level, a good mark, and his leadership, was crucial for us. That was a good result that Sydney didn't match that bid." - Simon Dalrymple
I have a feeling he's going to be a good leader, wouldn't you say Simon? Delicious.
25-11-2015, 11:00 AM
I was happy with this too. Kind of wanted us to take him, although didn't really fit our list. Has massive cult potential at Richmond.
He can use the goal post to launch his attacks on the ball:)