View Full Version : The Moving Rolling De-Listing/Trading Thread 2016

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7

13-10-2016, 09:48 PM
From afl.com.au

Hrovat is happy to join either club (North or Carlton) and will let the Dogs broker the best deal they can. A trade is unlikely to be completed until later next week when it becomes clearer what both clubs – especially Carlton given all it has its plate – can offer.

You'd have to imagine if North put up pick 33, that's the highest Hrovat will go for. I'd much prefer to keep him at that price, but that looks extremely unlikely.

13-10-2016, 10:07 PM
If the Koby & Hrovat trade hypotheticals went through as above:

Out: Stevens, Hrovat, Pick 18, Pick 40 (Minson - Need two more, presumably Prudden and either Matty Boyd retires or Honeychurch)
In: Pick 15, Pick 31, Pick 33 (Pick 60, Pick 74 for Cloke)

It would be interesting to see whether we'd try to do a draft points trade with GCS for 22, 23 & 29. Or, with GCS apparently furious as a gesture of bad faith that pick 14 was traded by Hawthorn, whether if we had pick 15 and a midfielder they wanted whether we try to enter the Jaeger race. Imagine all the collateral damage about Mitchell & Lewis, and they don't even land Jaeger!

13-10-2016, 10:30 PM
I think we want to be in on the jaeger race

13-10-2016, 10:36 PM

Can't see him getting to the Dawks, so why not convince him to come to the premiers.

13-10-2016, 10:42 PM

Well we know the price now. A first rounder (about pick 14) and an established midfielder. They wanted a Liam Shiels or Isaac Smith type to get the deal done. Who have we got with enough runs on the board and are prepared to trade? Picken, Hunter, Macrae, Suckling, Wallis, Daniel, Dahl, Libba, Bonts.

13-10-2016, 10:43 PM
From afl.com.au

Hrovat is happy to join either club (North or Carlton) and will let the Dogs broker the best deal they can. A trade is unlikely to be completed until later next week when it becomes clearer what both clubs – especially Carlton given all it has its plate – can offer.

You'd have to imagine if North put up pick 33, that's the highest Hrovat will go for. I'd much prefer to keep him at that price, but that looks extremely unlikely.

Nice one Rat, helping us get the best deal on his way out the door. Good of him to do that in a world where player power has gotten out of control.

13-10-2016, 10:43 PM
Well we know the price now. A first rounder (about pick 14) and an established midfielder. They wanted a Liam Shiels or Isaac Smith type to get the deal done. Who have we got with enough runs on the board and are prepared to trade? Picken, Hunter, Macrae, Suckling, Wallis, Daniel, Dahl, Libba, Bonts.

Hrovat. :)

13-10-2016, 10:46 PM

Yeah, I don't see them going for it but may as well through in Honeychurch in that offer. Both were rising star nomination kids...

13-10-2016, 10:46 PM

If he's chasing opportunity, surely there's no better place to go.

13-10-2016, 11:40 PM
If the Koby & Hrovat trade hypotheticals went through as above:

Out: Stevens, Hrovat, Pick 18, Pick 40 (Minson - Need two more, presumably Prudden and either Matty Boyd retires or Honeychurch)
In: Pick 15, Pick 31, Pick 33 (Pick 60, Pick 74 for Cloke)

It would be interesting to see whether we'd try to do a draft points trade with GCS for 22, 23 & 29. Or, with GCS apparently furious as a gesture of bad faith that pick 14 was traded by Hawthorn, whether if we had pick 15 and a midfielder they wanted whether we try to enter the Jaeger race. Imagine all the collateral damage about Mitchell & Lewis, and they don't even land Jaeger!

Don't forget Goetz.

13-10-2016, 11:49 PM
Don't forget Goetz.

Rookie listed player.

14-10-2016, 12:36 AM

Jong was the guy to make this deal happen but we've signed him up. Everyone else is either a core member of the midfield, a very young player (Dunkley) or massively fringe (EG: Honeychurch).

14-10-2016, 07:39 AM
Can someone please explain to me why we are interested in Nankervis? He's Will Minson 8 years ago, hard working and slow. This interest goes against everything we have done over the past 2 years.

14-10-2016, 09:52 AM
Being reported StKilda trading future 2nd rounder to GWS for Steele. Not sure what that leaves with regards to Koby?

14-10-2016, 09:55 AM
Being reported StKilda trading future 2nd rounder to GWS for Steele. Not sure what that leaves with regards to Koby?

Yep, it's gone through. It's a problem alright, the only thing they have of any value is the first round upgrade which the consensus is too much. Unless a player of their emerges as a straight swap.

14-10-2016, 09:59 AM
Barrett is intimating that we've got something very good up our sleeves this trade period. Does he know something or is he just trying to ingratiate himself with us in the wake of his anti-boyd anti-Bevo schtick of earlier this year?

14-10-2016, 10:03 AM
Yep, it's gone through. It's a problem alright, the only thing they have of any value is the first round upgrade which the consensus is too much. Unless a player of their emerges as a straight swap.

May be part of a bigger trade. Seems there is a bit happening under the surface.

14-10-2016, 10:04 AM
Barrett is intimating that we've got something very good up our sleeves this trade period. Does he know something or is he just trying to ingratiate himself with us in the wake of his anti-boyd anti-Bevo schtick of earlier this year?

If he has purely made that up, not sure how that would ingratiate him with us?

14-10-2016, 10:10 AM
If he has purely made that up, not sure how that would ingratiate him with us?
The way he writes it is intimating how smart we are playing poker and that when Bevo reveals his hand we may lay down a flush or a royal flush.
He's been quite effusive in praising us for some time, especially since Bevo took him to task on Footy Classifieds.

14-10-2016, 10:21 AM
He's not playing with a full deck

14-10-2016, 10:48 AM
Marcus Adams has requested a trade back to WA

14-10-2016, 10:49 AM
Marcus Adams has requested a trade back to WA

Seriously?

14-10-2016, 10:49 AM
Far out. Boyd gets another year.

14-10-2016, 10:50 AM
Nat Fyffe into the equation please.

14-10-2016, 10:52 AM
Unbelievable. You give a bloke a chance and he F#$%Ks off back home after a year.

Not happy. All of a sudden we need to match Freo's offer for Hamling. No Choice.

14-10-2016, 10:53 AM
Hamling has to be the priority now.

14-10-2016, 10:54 AM
He's still under contract, so there needs to be some value for him.

14-10-2016, 10:55 AM
Big Sook Adams if it is just homesickness.

14-10-2016, 10:55 AM
Hamling has to be the priority now.

Geez, Nathan & Mitch Brown might be getting calls from JMac if we don't sign Joel.

14-10-2016, 10:56 AM
Wow....did not see that coming.

Alright Fyfe it is. Adams and our first and second rounders

14-10-2016, 10:58 AM
Wow....did not see that coming.

Alright Fyfe it is. Adams and our first and second rounders
Throw in Hamling for a Fyfe.

14-10-2016, 10:59 AM
Throw in Hamling for a Fyfe.

Adams, Hamling & Pick 18.

Get Fyffe and one on the free agent Brown boys as a defender.

14-10-2016, 10:59 AM
Adams, Hamling & Pick 18.

Get Fyffe and one on the Brown boys as a defender.

Perfect

14-10-2016, 11:02 AM
We have a lot sitting on the table, Barrett may be onto something.

Adams, Hamling, Stevens, Hrovat & Honeychurch all could find new homes. If they do, we need a big trade to make it work. A bunch of mid range picks while our depth is decimated isn't ideal.

14-10-2016, 11:03 AM
We have a lot sitting on the table, Barrett may be onto something.

Adams, Hamling, Stevens, Hrovat & Honeychurch all could find new homes. If they do, we need a big trade to make it work. A bunch of mid range picks while our depth is decimated isn't ideal.

Exactly. We can't be taking 8 bloody picks to the draft! Something is going on.....

14-10-2016, 11:07 AM
I think go hard at Fyffe. If not pick 18 and Adams would be close to getting Jaeger. Then a WA team give a player to GCS for Adams, and they get their wish of a first rounder and a decent player. Jaeger goes into our midfield.

Mitch Brown is 100% leaving WCE for Victoria, he'd be better than his brother.

14-10-2016, 11:07 AM
Big Sook Adams if it is just homesickness.

Homesickness is the BS reason

The truth is always $$$, opp to play at the club you supported, fame that comes with being a big fish in a small town and the whispers that you wont get a game at the premiers

14-10-2016, 11:14 AM
Pathetic by Adams

14-10-2016, 11:14 AM
Homesickness is the BS reason

The truth is always $$$, opp to play at the club you supported, fame that comes with being a big fish in a small town and the whispers that you wont get a game at the premiers
He's contracted so it isn't for $$$

14-10-2016, 11:16 AM
Yeah, reckon there's more to this one and the personal insults are probably over the line.

14-10-2016, 11:18 AM
He's contracted so it isn't for $$$

And like with Tom Boyd, he will only get the standard second year wage.

14-10-2016, 11:18 AM
Are we looking a bit foolish at the moment? We left a lot of guys out of contract and with the amount apparently on the way out, there are a few I would have liked to keep

14-10-2016, 11:21 AM
Are we looking a bit foolish at the moment? We left a lot of guys out of contract and with the amount apparently on the way out, there are a few I would have liked to keep

Of players with currency, there's only three players: Hamling, Hrovat & Stevens. Hamling had an offer and Hrovat a& Stevens apparently wanted to wait until the end of the year.

14-10-2016, 11:21 AM

Well Adams is under contract.

But certainly would have liked to have kept Stevens and Hrovat. But you can't overpay for depth.

14-10-2016, 11:24 AM

Maybe we're yet to play our hand ala when Griffen dumped us and all seemed like doom and gloom.

14-10-2016, 11:24 AM
Foolish is probably overstating it but if the guys slated to be leaving do go, we're going to be pretty reliant on Webb, Dale, Hamilton and the like to really step up with not many runs in the bank. It's not the position I'd like to be in as the hunted premiers

14-10-2016, 11:25 AM
Marcus, we hardly knew ye ...

How disappoointing. If a likely starting 22 spot with the reigning premiers isn't attractive enough to a professional footballer rescued from the WAFL, ship him off for the highest ransom we can muster.

14-10-2016, 11:29 AM
From memory he has a very close relationship with his brother, who was the victim of a coward punch and has had numerous setbacks. Not sure how anyone could begrudge Adams wanting to be back home if there are personal circumstances at play relating to his brother.

His trade value should have only increased after his first season. If Hamling has concerns about getting game time next year, he might struggle more with Freo than with the Dogs, if Adams and Marsh find their way back home. Freo already have Sam Collins and Alex Pearce (and potentially Marsh and Adams coming back) as long term key backs and West Coke have McGovern and Barrass.

14-10-2016, 11:34 AM
Adams and our first for McGovern?

14-10-2016, 11:39 AM
Target their pick 7.

14-10-2016, 11:40 AM
We can't afford to lose two big backmen

mitch0418
14-10-2016, 12:00 PM
Adam's brother was the victim of a coward's punch. I wonder if this is the reason for his desire to return home to be close to his brother has he recovers and family.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/full-coverage/stoptheviolence/a/29191081/plight-inspired-brother/#page1

14-10-2016, 12:08 PM
How did Alex Pearce go this year? I remember highly rating him in 2015, but didn't watch any non Dogs games this year.

14-10-2016, 12:13 PM
Adam's brother was the victim of a coward's punch. I wonder if this is the reason for his desire to return home to be close to his brother has he recovers and family.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/full-coverage/stoptheviolence/a/29191081/plight-inspired-brother/#page1

I think that's more his escape clause. He's brother has been a runner so while its a terrible thing what happened to him he has recovered very well considering.
We give him a chance and this is how we are repaid.

14-10-2016, 12:18 PM
M.Boyd signed on for 1 year http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-10-14/the-boyd-is-back-in-town-veteran-dog-resigns.

Sorry. a bit late. Woof thread here (http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?16430-Matty-Boyd-signs-for-another-Year)

mitch0418
14-10-2016, 12:32 PM
I think that's more his escape clause. He's brother has been a runner so while its a terrible thing what happened to him he has recovered very well considering.
We give him a chance and this is how we are repaid.

Okay I didn't know his brother had recovered that well so fair point. If that is the case then it is indeed pretty poor form.

14-10-2016, 01:02 PM
Okay I didn't know his brother had recovered that well so fair point. If that is the case then it is indeed pretty poor form.

His brother was also running a Financial Planning firm, so well and truly recovered.

I feel really annoyed with this one.

14-10-2016, 01:03 PM
His brother was also running a Financial Planning firm, so well and truly recovered.

Me too, gutted.

14-10-2016, 01:06 PM

I don't mind it. The last time a handful of people wanted out in 2014, we got a boom recruit, made some shrewd trades and then drafted well. I don't like it's happened, but we have a lot of currency sitting on the draft trade right now.

14-10-2016, 05:37 PM
According to the Age Hamling and Kirsten met Lyon and Bond yesterday in Perth. Hamling will decide over weekend. Freo has picks 7, 35 and 43. What will they offer for Hamling and Kirsten?

14-10-2016, 05:51 PM
Hamling seems the type to need a supporting environment around him. He certainly won't get that with Lyon. Not a chance.

14-10-2016, 05:53 PM
According to the Age Hamling and Kirsten met Lyon and Bond yesterday in Perth. Hamling will decide over weekend. Freo has picks 7, 35 and 43. What will they offer for Hamling and Kirsten?

Getting silly now. 1st it was Friday now he's not even going to give us time to look at free agents?

14-10-2016, 06:09 PM
Getting silly now. 1st it was Friday now he's not even going to give us time to look at free agents?

Yep, this part is garbage. We may need to pull the trigger on Brown, Brown or Lonergan by the Sunday cut off. Shit or get off the pot already.

14-10-2016, 06:34 PM
Yep, this part is garbage. We may need to pull the trigger on Brown, Brown or Lonergan by the Sunday cut off. Shit or get off the pot already.

I hope we changed direction immediately Hurley re-signed. I'm hoping there is a strong offer before a very, very good player generally or a very good key back.

14-10-2016, 06:36 PM

I hope we changed direction immediately Hurley re-signed. I'm hoping there is a strong offer before a very, very good player generally or a very good key back.

Re-signing Campbell may have been with this in mind. Campbell rucks and Roughie is forced back to cover the black hole created by Adams. Zaine plays the Hamling role.Boyd rucks and Cloke plays key forward. Actually it may have been the reason we went at Cloke as well.

14-10-2016, 06:38 PM

Say we were offering $750,000 to Hurley. Since then Minson, Stevens & Hrovat salaries are out the door to be replaced by rookie wages, Cloke is on a basic wage too. We've banked well over $1,000,000 in the cap. The EBA rise should be roughly known by now too. We should have the money to go after anyone we want to, and I hope we are, provided the salary is reasonable (ie. Lids on $800,000 is crazy).

14-10-2016, 06:46 PM
Say we were offering $750,000 to Hurley. Since then Minson, Stevens & Hrovat salaries are out the door to be replaced by rookie wages, Cloke is on a basic wage too. We've banked well over $1,000,000 in the cap. The EBA rise should be roughly known by now too. We should have the money to go after anyone we want to, and I hope we are, provided the salary is reasonable (ie. Lids on $800,000 is crazy).

Agreed and you've been going on about it for a while. I'm with you re. Fyfe and O'Meara but we may have played our cards too late due to the Hurley commitment. I'm interested in a few W.C players starting with Sheed.

14-10-2016, 06:47 PM
Agreed and you've been going on about it for a while. I'm with you re. Fyfe and O'Meara but we may have played our cards too late due to the Hurley commitment. I'm interested in a few W.C players starting with Sheed.

He's a Perth kid who will get homesick. Liam Duggan is a Western Vic product. I think he must be homesick too...

14-10-2016, 06:49 PM
He's a Perth kid who will get homesick. Liam Duggan is a Western Vic product. I think he must be homesick too...

Funnily enough your post has a ring of truth to it.

14-10-2016, 06:53 PM
Funnily enough your post has a ring of truth to it.

Fly the kid over. Get Bevo & Bob to pick him up and bring him back for a tour, get him to hold up the premiership cup, give him a good offer and see where it leads us.

14-10-2016, 06:55 PM
Fly the kid over. Get Bevo & Bob to pick him up and bring him back for a tour, get him to hold up the premiership cup, give him a good offer and see where it leads us.

Take him to Wongs, then supper over at Gordo's over canapes and a splash of Dom with the Grand Final on in the background then drive him down to his Mum's in Bacchus Marsh and tell him he'll be able to live at home if he wants to.

14-10-2016, 06:56 PM
Take him to Wongs, show him Year of the Dog at Gordo's over canapes and a splash of Dom and then drive him down to his Mum's in Bacchus Marsh and tell him he'll be able to live at home if he wants to.

Worth a shot. Otherwise, maybe we hold onto Adams to save our defence next year. Especially if Hammer goes. And we let them know that.

14-10-2016, 07:00 PM
Liam Duggin was a Bulldog supporter growing up. Has clean skills. He'd be the target if it comes to that.

14-10-2016, 07:01 PM
Worth a shot. Otherwise, maybe we hold onto Adams to save our defence next year. Especially if Hammer goes. And we let them know that.

Yeah they're in no rush though if they get him for nothing next year. They have coverage down back. I'd rather try for something meaningful now. Adams and Hamling are really pissing me off.

Re. Duggan I assume Doug was his former coach. May be worth a call.

14-10-2016, 07:11 PM
Yeah they're in no rush though if they get him for nothing next year. They have coverage down back. I'd rather try for something meaningful now. Adams and Hamling are really pissing me off.

Re. Duggan I assume Doug was his former coach. May be worth a call.

Doug said in his draft year he was either the best or one of the best juniors he'd ever seen.

I want a return, but it may be only pick 34 and leave us with no KPD stocks next year. I'd rather have Adams in another attack at the premiership than pick 34 next year.

14-10-2016, 07:16 PM
Doug said in his draft year he was either the best or one of the best juniors he'd ever seen.

I want a return, but it may be only pick 34 and leave us with no KPD stocks next year. I'd rather have Adams in another attack at the premiership than pick 34 next year.

That said we just won one without him.

14-10-2016, 07:26 PM
Players that insist on going home are contriving to affect the essence of the National draft declaring they will only play for one or two teams. If they insist on doung this these players should be banned for five years. That would stop them and cure their homesickness.

14-10-2016, 07:29 PM
That said we just won one without him.

More so meaning if Hamling leaves too.

14-10-2016, 07:32 PM
Players that insist on going home are contriving to affect the essence of the National draft declaring they will only play for one or two teams. If they insist on doung this these players should be banned for five years. That would stop them and cure their homesickness.

Kills competition in trading too. One team seemingly says yes, while the other team seemingly says no. And they seem to attract even lower trade value because of it. Not that's there's a conspiracy...

14-10-2016, 07:34 PM
More so meaning if Hamling leaves too.

Yeah he's the key.

14-10-2016, 10:44 PM
It's intriguing to know that our club's relative silence during a trade period where we have a few guys out of contract and on the verge of leaving must belie what is actually going on behind the scenes. I can't think of any official commentary or chatter in the media as to who we may be interested in.

It says something about the culture within the club that we've managed to keep our dealings with prospective players and clubs relatively low profile. I mean, its ridiculous to even consider that the recruiting team is not acutely aware of the effect on the list structure of those likely to depart. We must therefore, like other clubs being mentioned in the media, be actively approaching other clubs and players to explore deals. But unlike many other clubs right now there is almost a complete absence of chatter about who we are into.
But does anyone else get a vibe, that this silence may be concealing a seriously big deal(s)?

I know he's hardly a reliable source for confirming what day of the week it is, let alone breaking serious trade scoops....but Barrett's tone in sliding doors, suggesting we were very likely to pull off a serious coup, seemed indicative that he had personal knowledge of, or maybe a hint of what we're up to.

Who might it be? I'm trying to think of what big names have remotely been spoken about as a trade, even at a whisper.... Goldstein?? Deledio?? O'Meara??? Prestia??? Fyfe?

Irrespective of whether Barrett's 'I sorta know something no one else knows' comment is true or not, the fact we've been able to keep details of our enquiries or likely targets so low profile in the media is perhaps a revealing insight into how tight our club is operating right now right now.

14-10-2016, 10:51 PM
Or, JMac is actually drinking mohijtos on a beach in the Bahamas with this unshakable feeling like he's forgetting to do something important. :D

14-10-2016, 10:53 PM
Or, JMac is actually drinking mohijtos on a beach in the Bahamas with this unshakable feeling like he's forgetting to do something important. :D

"Do you like Pina Coladas....and.......OH SHIT..OH SHITOH NOOOO OH FFFFFFFFFF.........!!!!!!!!!!

15-10-2016, 07:12 AM
Kim Hagdorn claiming Hamling will request a trade to Freo today.

This week's gone well ...:(

15-10-2016, 08:25 AM
SEN reporting that Hamling looks more likely than unlikely to move to Freo.

15-10-2016, 08:29 AM
Kim Hagdorn claiming Hamling will request a trade to Freo today.

This week's gone well ...:(

Unlike.

15-10-2016, 08:37 AM
I wonder if Yoko Ono is involved with all these players wanting to leave? Someones certainly determined to break up the band

This is one of the problems with an extremely deep playing list, other clubs can get into their ears and offer them some better opportunities. I'd certainly consider losing some depth if we can then package something together and attract a high end talent in return.

15-10-2016, 09:12 AM
What we know

Out: Minson, Stevens, Hrovat, Adams - all saying wanting out.

Considering options: Hamling

In: Cloke but we haven't the right pick as Collingwood need points for F/S

15-10-2016, 09:26 AM
What we know

Out: Minson, Stevens, Hrovat, Adams - all saying wanting out.

Considering options: Hamling

In: Cloke but we haven't the right pick as Collingwood need points for F/S

We have the right picks because at the end of the day they have to get rid of his wage especially given the players they have coming in. Their father son picks are their problem and I hope we don't see it as ours to resolve.

To me it's essentially Cloke and his wage out for whatever we have left over.

15-10-2016, 09:32 AM
We have the right picks because at the end of the day they have to get rid of his wage especially given the players they have coming in. Their father son picks are their problem and I hope we don't see it as ours to resolve.

To me it's essentially Cloke and his wage out for whatever we have left over.

If they need the picks then they can get them elsewhere. Hold firm and don't blink.

15-10-2016, 09:48 AM
If they need the picks then they can get them elsewhere. Hold firm and don't blink.

I read it as Cloke and the lowest pick we have that we won't be using.

For instance if we went to the draft we 3 spots and managed picks below 40 for them, we would give them our next pick, which could be in the 50's

15-10-2016, 09:59 AM
I wonder if Yoko Ono is involved with all these players wanting to leave? Someones certainly determined to break up the band

This is one of the problems with an extremely deep playing list, other clubs can get into their ears and offer them some better opportunities. I'd certainly consider losing some depth if we can then package something together and attract a high end talent in return.

It'll be a shame to lose some depth from the current list, because we benefited so well from it this season. That being said, the list has proven to be extraordinarily deep, tried and tested by necessity. Touch wood, it'd be hard to imagine another year of bad luck on the injury front like we had this year. In my mind that balances some of the risk/reward elements of trying to squeeze a really valuable player out of all the trade scenarios we're facing, top end talent coming in for good quality players going out.

15-10-2016, 10:54 AM

Hamling and Adams are both asking to go home, which I don't think has anything to do with opportunity. Potentially money, but it seems like the difference is minimal there as well.

Stevens we didn't want anymore.

Hrovat it seems supporters wanted to keep, but the club is happy to let him go.

I don't think we're breaking up the band, it's just that we don't have anyone worthy of delisting so we're attempting to trade our bottom few players.

15-10-2016, 11:01 AM
I read it as Cloke and the lowest pick we have that we won't be using.

For instance if we went to the draft we 3 spots and managed picks below 40 for them, we would give them our next pick, which could be in the 50's

Yeah that I have no issue with, I just don't want to move players just to free up or get a pick for them

15-10-2016, 11:20 AM
peter ryan ‏@petryan 5m5 minutes ago
.@westernbulldogs defender Joel Hamling has decided to join Fremantle. #AFLTrades

Not surprising. Now lets get a deal done.

15-10-2016, 11:21 AM
Being a premiership side our players automatically are over rated , especially fringe players . Whoever goes mark my words whoever comes in will be better . They will have to offer overs.

15-10-2016, 11:26 AM
Bugger

15-10-2016, 11:33 AM
Disappointing to be honest . Need to keep Adams and look at someone else as a trade .

15-10-2016, 11:35 AM
Freo has got bugger all to offer, do we try and steal Collins to cover Adams after next year.

15-10-2016, 11:45 AM
peter ryan ‏@petryan 5m5 minutes ago
.@westernbulldogs defender Joel Hamling has decided to join Fremantle. #AFLTrades

Not surprising. Now lets get a deal done.

Lets aim for pick 35 from Fremantle. Surely an athletic key defender who has GF experience with an impressive shut down of Buddy Franklin is more important to them than a 3rd string key forward in Kersten.

15-10-2016, 11:45 AM
Freo has got bugger all to offer, do we try and steal Collins to cover Adams after next year.

Sam Collins?

15-10-2016, 11:46 AM
Funny how the cookie crumbles.

Half time at Kadina Park in round 17, his papers seemed stamped. Moved from CHF to FB and doesn't miss a beat from then on.

I think he is a bigger loss than Adams will be.

I hope Hamling is prepared for what is instore at Freo. No team defense, and last time I checked Ross Lyon was more about tough love than put your arm around you love.

15-10-2016, 11:53 AM
Does Hayden Crozier hold any interest as a straight swap?

15-10-2016, 11:55 AM
No team defence in a Ross Lyon coached side??

15-10-2016, 11:56 AM
Future 1st rounder for Hamling? Or is that reaching beyond reality?

15-10-2016, 11:56 AM
Here is a crazy scenario that all hinges on if Fremantle rates Hamling more than Kersten and they should.

Hrovat to North for their 2nd round pick #33.
Hamling to Fremantle for their 2nd round pick #35.
Adams to West Coast for their 2nd round pick #34.
Our 2nd round pick #34 (acquired from West Coast) our 2nd round pick #40 to Port for Jackson Trengove and their 3rd round pick #49
Our 3rd round pick #49 (acquired from Port) to Collingwood for Travis Cloke

We have picks #18 in the 1st round and picks #33 and #34 in the 2nd round and we still have a Kobe Stens trade to complete.

Essentially we have to weigh up if losing WA bound Hamling and Adams (potentially end of next season) now for Trengove and Cloke now is a decent return?

If that went through it would look something like this:

In for the 2017 season: Crameri from the 2016 suspension, Trengove from Port, Cloke from Collingwood and 3 draftees from 2016 draft picks #18, #33 and #34 and something from Kobe Stevens trade

Out from the 2016 season, Minson, Prudden, Hrovat, Hamling, Stevens and Adams.

15-10-2016, 11:59 AM
Sam Collins?

Yeah Sam Collins from Box Hill. Not as mature as Adams but has played some games this year.
2016 Season Average
Collins:
Games Played 12
Kicks 7.4; Handballs 5.7; Disposals 13.1; Marks 5.2; Hit-Outs 0.8; Tackles 2.6
Adams:
2016 Season Average
Games Played 11
Kicks 8.6; Handballs 7.6; Disposals 16.3; Marks 5.7; Hit-Outs 0.0; Tackles 2.3

15-10-2016, 12:00 PM
It's been a shit week for the club after an almighty high.

Very disappointed in Hamling.

15-10-2016, 12:04 PM
Here is a crazy scenario that all hinges on if Fremantle rates Hamling more than Kersten and they should.

Hrovat to North for their 2nd round pick #33.
Hamling to Fremantle for their 2nd round pick #35.
Adams to West Coast for their 2nd round pick #34.
Our 2nd round pick #34 (acquired from West Coast) our 2nd round pick #40 to Port for Jackson Trengove and their 3rd round pick #49
Our 3rd round pick #49 (acquired from Port) to Collingwood for Travis Cloke

We have picks #18 in the 1st round and picks #33 and #34 in the 2nd round

Essentially we have to weigh up if losing WA bound Hamling and Adams (potentially end of next season) now for Trengove and Cloke now is a decent return?

If that went through it would look something like this:

In for the 2017 season: Crameri from the 2016 suspension, Trengove from Port, Cloke from Collingwood and 3 draftees from 2016 draft picks #18, #33 and #34.
Out from the 2016 season, Minson, Prudden, Hrovat, Hamling and Adams.

Where have any murmurings for Trengove moving from Port come from ? Is he unhappy ? Does Port have interest in offloading him ? Or is this coming from speculation that their salary cap is at some breaking point ?

15-10-2016, 12:06 PM
Yeah Sam Collins from Box Hill. Not as mature as Adams but has played some games this year.
2016 Season Average
Collins:
Games Played 12
Kicks 7.4; Handballs 5.7; Disposals 13.1; Marks 5.2; Hit-Outs 0.8; Tackles 2.6
Adams:
2016 Season Average
Games Played 11
Kicks 8.6; Handballs 7.6; Disposals 16.3; Marks 5.7; Hit-Outs 0.0; Tackles 2.3

I don't mind him but given Fremantle is not interested in Adams so I think the comparison should be with Hamling.

15-10-2016, 12:08 PM
Where have any murmurings for Trengove moving from Port come from ? Is he unhappy ? Does Port have interest in offloading him ? Or is this coming from speculation that their salary cap is at some breaking point ?

There was some talk earlier in the year that he might be looking to come home at the end of his contract (FA at the end of 2017) but yes the focus is now on Port and their salary cap concerns. They don't have a pick in the 2nd round of the draft either and looked to shop Hartlett around to see what they could get.

Trengove would give us that key defender ruckman option plus he's an experienced and mature player.

15-10-2016, 12:09 PM
I don't mind him but given Fremantle is not interested in Adams so I think the comparison should be with Hamling.

True but I was looking more at next year if Adams pulls the pin and what Freo may have to offer.

15-10-2016, 12:13 PM
True but I was looking more at next year if Adams pulls the pin and what Freo may have to offer.

Fair point. A trade now with some add-ons might be worth considering.

mattempo
15-10-2016, 12:18 PM
If opportunity was a main concern of Hamling's, I wonder if Boyd and Morris playing again next year influences this decision. I see Hamling being able to play a similar role to Morris, plays on talls because of his size but also on mid-sized forwards because of his athleticism. We have to either hold onto Adams for one more year and see what happens, or trade for a KPD. We can't go into next year with Morris, Roberts and Collins.

15-10-2016, 12:18 PM
It's a shame to lose hamling, but the only reason it hurts is depth. He was good during the finals but is hardly an established star.

Cordy can be groomed as a back and we should now keep Adams for 2017 even if he walks after that. Hopefully Collins develops quickly.

We still need a key back even if we kept Hamling. We sacrificed a lot of midfield run to support our defence this year. We won the flag with a compromised structure.

Reckon this loss seems worse in theory than in practice.

15-10-2016, 12:21 PM
Pretty disappointed with Hamling to be honest.

15-10-2016, 12:33 PM
That's the reward you get for picking up someone from the scrap heap .
Freo mids don't work as hard as ours, so Joel will have more one in ones

15-10-2016, 12:34 PM
Pretty disappointed with Hamling to be honest.

His father is ill which complicates the situation.

15-10-2016, 12:39 PM
I guess it's a lot of money to knock back but I can't help feeling a bit let down that it even comes down to a money equation against the club that took a chance on you and in two years took you from the scrap heap to a premiership. All the resources, all the patience used getting you to the standard of a senior AFL footballer. I think that buys a little bit of loyalty in return to the club. At least one more contract. But I'm not the one being offered the silly money. Freo are paying a lot of money for what they are getting because Hamling is essentially still a depth player. Freo are paying best six player on the list money to him.

Now Freo have to be reasonable with their offer. They chased the player, they did all the running on this and now they can't leave Joel hanging offering a pittance in return for him. What we get from Freo for Hamling has to be in line with what Hamling is getting from Freo, top dollar!

15-10-2016, 12:43 PM
His father is ill which complicates the situation.

Fair enough. Can understand the move if this is the case. Certainly no ill feeling towards Hamling, after all he was an integral part of our premiership winning team.

Good luck Joel and thank you for your efforts during your time at our team.

15-10-2016, 12:51 PM
Ok he's gone. What is the best they can offer now? we're not going to get their first for him so is #35 enough? I personally think that is to low. I think we're over a barrel here guys. :(

15-10-2016, 12:53 PM
Ok he's gone. What is the best they can offer now? we're not going to get their first for him so is #35 enough? I personally think that is to low. I think we're over a barrel here guys. :(

Unless it is part of a three way trade. Let's see McCartney weave some magic.

15-10-2016, 01:02 PM
It's been a shit week for the club after an almighty high.

Very disappointed in Hamling.

Shocktober 2 : The Oh Not Againening.

15-10-2016, 01:10 PM

pick 35 would be a crap deal

If we went to the afl player market and said

"hey guys we want a premiership winning key defender. He needs to be youngish and capable of beating Coleman medallists, Norm Smith medallists, All Australians and he has to have done this in finals football. How much?

would the answer be something like "a top 5 pick and then some"?

My point being we should play hard here and not accept scraps.

15-10-2016, 01:23 PM
I'd ask for Michael Appness for Hamling. Otherwise we should genuinely have a crack for pick 7.
A

15-10-2016, 01:26 PM
I'd ask for Michael Appness for Hamling. Otherwise we should genuinely have a crack for pick 7.
A

They need Hamling. I'd go for pick 7 as well even if we did a swap of 18. Pick 7 may just wedge out the star we are after.

15-10-2016, 01:31 PM
A

A deal for pick 7 would be complicated that has us also giving up a lot. Apeness would be a good return because he addresses a need but I also think pick #35 is a reasonable outcome.

15-10-2016, 01:37 PM
#35 is fair.

15-10-2016, 01:50 PM
Agree, if we can get 35 for Hamling and 36 for Koby then that's a good start. Think we hold Adams to his contract now unless we can find some cover at the same level.

15-10-2016, 01:51 PM
Pick 35 is unders. He can go to Essendon. Would they or Brisbane take him?

15-10-2016, 01:56 PM
Pick 35 is unders. He can go to Essendon.

We turn around a delisted free agent in 2 years into a 2nd round pick after playing 23 games. Plus he helps us win a premiership along the way.
I don't want to lose him but 35 wouldn't be unfair.

15-10-2016, 01:58 PM
We can't just settle for 35. Time for JMac to live up to the hype and turn this into a win for us.

15-10-2016, 01:59 PM
We turn around a delisted free agent in 2 years into a 2nd round pick after playing 23 games. Plus he helps us win a premiership along the way.
I don't want to lose him but 35 wouldn't be unfair.

I'm overcooking it no doubt but he's a premiership full back who has kept the best forwards in the finals quiet. I think Freo also really need him. His stocks are high and so is the pick we will get for him. Something in the 20s would be fairer. Vickery was deemed pick 26 FFS.

15-10-2016, 02:24 PM
At the end of the day, when a player chooses another club you more or less are going to take what you're given.

I'd take 35 if offered and walk.

15-10-2016, 03:23 PM
#35 is fair.

Not for a player about to hit his peak.. if we draft a kid it's another 5 years until we get him to this point.

I'd be after something more favoured towards us winning this trade.

15-10-2016, 03:41 PM
Indeed. A young, mobile key back with a premiership medallion who's built for the modern game and must be considered a lock for their best 22?

We're quite entitled to play hardball to extract maximum return.

15-10-2016, 03:48 PM
Not for a player about to hit his peak.. if we draft a kid it's another 5 years until we get him to this point.

What are you thinking Mantis if not for 35 for Hamling? Quite right Joel certainly has improved very much.

15-10-2016, 03:51 PM
35 maybe as good as it gets tbh. Hes out of contract so we will struggle to get anything better.

What a difference his last month of football made hey.

15-10-2016, 03:54 PM

So why didnt we sign him earlier in the season? Is it because we weren't sure he was a required player until after the finals?

15-10-2016, 03:55 PM
So why didnt we sign him earlier in the season? Is it because we weren't sure he was a required player until after the finals?

The form maybe didn't warrant it but I would ideally want to hang onto him now but if not then we need to get something good in return.

15-10-2016, 03:58 PM
If we had gone out in the first week of the finals like we were supposed to we wouldn't be having this debate.

Some posters would be offering to pack his bags and drive him to the airport.

15-10-2016, 03:59 PM
I think pick 35 was overs during the season, but his star has risen somewhat

15-10-2016, 03:59 PM
If we had gone out in the first week of the finals like we were supposed to we wouldn't be having this debate.

Some posters would be offering to pack his bags and drive him to the airport.

You are probably right there Twodogs. Yes just how much difference a premiership makes.

15-10-2016, 04:01 PM
Would guys like Hamilton and Honeychurch be worthy to trade. I'm still more inclined to hang to to Honeychurch who has been good in the VFL but hadn't got much opportunities in the AFL.

15-10-2016, 04:04 PM
Would guys like Hamilton and Honeychurch be worthy to trade. I'm still more inclined to hang to to Honeychurch who has been good in the VFL but hadn't got much opportunities in the AFL.

You're not going to get much of value in return if there's any interest.

15-10-2016, 04:21 PM
You're not going to get much of value in return if there's any interest.

Yeah true they haven't played much at AFL level to warrant some trade value.

15-10-2016, 04:54 PM
Unless WCE give us something to make us part with Adams, like Duggan, then Adams is a required player now.

16-10-2016, 10:54 AM
Is Prudden firming as one who may be staying? We've got a few going out and the talk from Macca was that he wants to hold as much of the list together as possible. Not making an announcement on him has me thinking we're waiting to see what else happens.

We've already got four off the main list with Minson, Kobe, Hrovat and Hamling.

If we keep him, I hope it's only as a rookie. All respect to the bloke but I'm not sure what he brings.

16-10-2016, 11:00 AM
Is Prudden firming as one who may be staying? We've got a few going out and the talk from Macca was that he wants to hold as much of the list together as possible. Not making an announcement on him has me thinking we're waiting to see what else happens.

If we keep him, I hope it's only as a rookie. All respect to the bloke but I'm not sure what he brings.

Agree on Prudden. It must be wait and see with him. Delisting him with the view to rookieing him is next to no risk of another club grabbing him in view of limited game time and an ACL. So if we want him, I agree a spot on the primary list is too much. I'm not in the camp of retaining him on either list. With potentially 4 traded out for OK picks, and Cloke only costing bugger all, we should pull the trigger on him this off season.

16-10-2016, 11:25 AM
I hope we can talk Hrovat around into staying

16-10-2016, 11:26 AM

I always thought it was only going to be one of Jong, Stevens or Hrovat signing on.

16-10-2016, 11:28 AM

Agree on Prudden. It must be wait and see with him. Delisting him with the view to rookieing him is next to no risk of another club grabbing him in view of limited game time and an ACL. So if we want him, I agree a primary spot is too much. I'm not in the camp of retaining him on either list. With potentially 4 traded out for OK picks, and Cloke only costing bugger all, we should pull the trigger on him this off season.

It's brutal but I think he'll miss the cut come draft time, and we'll rookie him if there's nothing left that Dalrymple is interested in by the end of the rookie draft.

Adcock and Goetz will both drop from the rookie list so we'll take at least one live pick in.

16-10-2016, 11:28 AM

Agreed. He looked the best he's had in that little end of season burst and brings something different to our midfield.

16-10-2016, 11:31 AM
The way I see it
Out- Hamling, Stevens, Hrovat, Minson, Prudden (rookied)
In- Cloke

That's 4 picks. 5 if Adams goes.

16-10-2016, 12:14 PM

Same here Doc. It should need to be a good offer before we accept it although I'm a little disappointed that he isn't wanting to fight for a senior spot.

The problem is I think we will take a pick around the 30 mark.

16-10-2016, 02:57 PM
I don't see how 35 is fair. They are going to post him choose to $500k a year and he is 23. Surely that warrants a pick closer to 25

16-10-2016, 10:31 PM
So lets look at likely scenarios

Adams will now stay unless a big offer comes forward and/or we can find someone to replace him
Hamling will go to Fremantle and realistically pick 35 in the 2nd round is close to being a decent return
Hrovat is someone we would probably want to keep but if he goes to North we should expect pick 33 in the second round
Stevens will end up at StKilda and we should expect pick 36 in the second round although they might just offer pick 50 in the 3rd round

That potentially gives us draft picks #18 in the 1st round and 33, 35, 36 and 40 in the 2nd round. We also have 3 picks in the 4th round.

Our needs are still around acquiring a support ruckman with the Swans Toby Nankveris getting an occasional mention and of course Nathan Vardy also linked a few weeks back. Vardy is now being linked to West Coast but I doubt they would use pick 34 for him

Do we package up a couple of picks and see if it lands us something that makes an impact next season?

16-10-2016, 10:40 PM
So lets look at likely scenarios

Adams will now stay unless a big offer comes forward and/or we can find someone to replace him
Hamling will go to Fremantle and realistically pick 35 in the 2nd round is close to being a decent return
Hrovat is someone we would probably want to keep but if he goes to North we should expect pick 33 in the second round
Stevens will end up at StKilda and we should expect pick 36 in the second round although they might just offer pick 50 in the 3rd round

That potentially gives us draft picks #18 in the 1st round and 33, 35, 36 and 40 in the 2nd round. We also have 3 picks in the 4th round.

Our needs are still around acquiring a support ruckman with the Swans Toby Nankveris getting an occasional mention and of course Nathan Vardy also linked a few weeks back. Vardy is now being linked to West Coast but I doubt they would use pick 34 for him

Do we package up a couple of picks and see if it lands us something that makes an impact next season?

We need to also satisfy Collingwood for Cloke.

If we can snare another good young player like Josh Kelly we should go for it. I would rookie a ruckman as back up as i am not impressed with Vardy (injury prone), and Nankervis

16-10-2016, 10:45 PM

If we can snare another good young player like Josh Kelly we should go for it. I would rookie a ruckman as back up as i am not impressed with Vardy (injury prone), and Nankervis

The last update on Cloke was they want 64, we are offering 74. Not much in it really, with what they are giving Wells & Maybe, they just need him gone now.

16-10-2016, 10:46 PM
The last update on Cloke was they want 64, we are offering 74. Not much in it really, with what they are giving Wells & Maybe, they just need him gone now.
They need 64 for the points so they can pick up F/S. I don't think 74 is worth any points.

16-10-2016, 10:48 PM

I don't think we have to do much with the Pies for Cloke. They will be keen to get he and his contract out of the place. Our early 4th round pick should be sufficient.

I wonder if Apeness is someone we could pry off Freo in a deal for Hamling although he has had a few injury concerns.

Could Kelly really be available? I doubt we have enough to satisfy GWS

16-10-2016, 10:51 PM
They need 64 for the points so they can pick up F/S. I don't think 74 is worth any points.

Yep, all points cut out at 73. But they just need him and his huge Collingwood salary gone.

16-10-2016, 10:56 PM
Yep, all points cut out at 73. But they just need him and his huge Collingwood salary gone.
I know it will get done, but this is the sticking point at the moment.

16-10-2016, 10:58 PM
I know it will get done, but this is the sticking point at the moment.

Poor Collingwood... :D

I just want to give them pick 75 because it's the Talia pick. Cloke for Talia is just a wonderful trade.

16-10-2016, 10:58 PM
I don't think we have to do much with the Pies for Cloke. They will be keen to get he and his contract out of the place. Our early 4th round pick should be sufficient.

I wonder if Apeness is someone we could pry off Freo in a deal for Hamling although he has had a few injury concerns.

Could Kelly really be available? I doubt we have enough to satisfy GWS

The only way I can see we could possibly get Kelly would be that he requests a trade and chooses us and we would have to give up a premiership player. A player who is in our best 22. Who that is I'm not sure. I can't see it happening either.

17-10-2016, 01:48 AM
The Hun is speculating that Hamling will go to Freo for pick 43 (3rd round) and that Hrovat will go to either North or Carlton for a late pick which I take meaning not something in the 2nd round. Stevens likely to go for the Saints pick 36 (2nd round) and hopefully not pick 50 (3rd round).

Based on the Hrovat speculation I think we should work a bit harder to keep him

17-10-2016, 01:54 AM

Ironically, that pick started lower but increased because of the two free agency picks created by them, therefore reducing its value.

17-10-2016, 08:11 AM
Disappointing Freo rate Keirsten higher than Hamling. I think pick 50 for Stevens is about right unfortunately, even though he will play most games next year.

17-10-2016, 08:17 AM
Disappointing Freo rate Keirsten higher than Hamling. I think pick 50 for Stevens is about right unfortunately, even though he will play most games next year.

Has this been confirmed?

17-10-2016, 09:07 AM

Once all the trades go through (Hrovat Stevens & Hamling) we won't require pick 64, so we will hand it over.

I'd assume that's the hold up in the deal.

17-10-2016, 09:12 AM
Initially I read we offered Cloke a 2 year deal. Over the weekend I read it was 3 years. Does anyone know for certain?

17-10-2016, 09:17 AM
Initially I read we offered Cloke a 2 year deal. Over the weekend I read it was 3 years. Does anyone know for certain?

I've only seen the 2 year deal. Where did you read the 3 year deal?

17-10-2016, 09:32 AM
I've only seen the 2 year deal. Where did you read the 3 year deal?

Yesterday's HUN. Just checked again and it says 3 years.

17-10-2016, 09:32 AM

Thanks, Seems like a year too long.

17-10-2016, 09:38 AM

Would have thought there was no need for us to offer three, surely two would be suffice.
Could it be we have put in a third year in as an option and it only comes into play if we are still happy with his performance ?

17-10-2016, 09:40 AM
Maybe a typo

17-10-2016, 10:00 AM
We should not accept 50 for Hamling. Thats a rubbish offer.

17-10-2016, 10:09 AM

So what's the alternative? Freo aren't stupid, they know they have us over a barrel, here. He'll walk to them for nothing in the pre-season draft.

17-10-2016, 10:19 AM
So what's the alternative? Freo aren't stupid, they know they have us over a barrel, here. He'll walk to them for nothing in the pre-season draft.

Well we need to talk to Essendon and Brisbane then.

17-10-2016, 10:23 AM

Worth it. What value is pick 50 to us?

Don't players from the pre-season draft also have to wait longer to properly join the club? Wouldn't they want him there ASAP?

I'm all for trading in good faith and helping a player out if need be but what have Freo or Hamling done to help us in this situation? We owe them nothing.

17-10-2016, 10:31 AM

Don't players from the pre-season draft also have to wait longer to properly join the club? Wouldn't they want him there ASAP?

I'm all for trading in good faith and helping a player out if need be but what have Freo or Hamling done to help us in this situation? We owe them nothing.

I guess we'll have to wait and see how important getting him there a few weeks earlier is to them. I suspect that they have a long term plan and aren't overly fussed as to whether Hamling gets to them a bit later, if the pick they kept helps get them someone they think is going to improve their list long term.

17-10-2016, 10:36 AM
Caleb Daniel was pick 46 two years ago and Bailey Williams I think was pick 50 last year. It's definitely not a throwaway pick in the hands of Dalrymple.

Would obviously prefer pick 35 if possible.

17-10-2016, 10:37 AM
Caleb Daniel was pick 46 two years ago and Bailey Williams I think was pick 50 last year. It's definitely not a throwaway pick in the hands of Dalrymple.

TBD on whether we'd use it though

17-10-2016, 11:30 AM

When you put it like that it seems not too bad!

17-10-2016, 11:32 AM

Would Essendon and Brisbane let him go? They have offered him $400k a season so they obviously believe he is worth a lot more than pick 50

17-10-2016, 11:37 AM
Would Essendon and Brisbane let him go? They have offered him $400k a season so they obviously believe he is worth a lot more than pick 50

I'm guessing that Freo would have an inkling as to whether either club would be in a position to take on his contract or not..and could adjust accordingly to deter them. I just don't see the threat of pre-season draft being a big leverage point these days. How many examples are there or players not getting to where they want to get to these days?
That's not to say Freo would not be burning bridges that they come to later regret. Especially with Fyfe out of contract at next season's end.

17-10-2016, 12:18 PM
The only way I can see we could possibly get Kelly would be that he requests a trade and chooses us and we would have to give up a premiership player. A player who is in our best 22. Who that is I'm not sure. I can't see it happening either.

Send Hamling up there. "Did you say West Coast? Oh sorry we thought that you said that you wanted to go to GWS, we knew that you wanted interstate but to be honest with the unseemly haste you made for the door and deserted us with we had a bit of trouble understanding what you actually wanted so we went ahead and did what we thought was the right thing by you. Anyway Sydney is much nicer than Perth is at this time of the year. Probably"

The Hun is speculating that Hamling will go to Freo for pick 43 (3rd round) and that Hrovat will go to either North or Carlton for a late pick which I take meaning not something in the 2nd round. Stevens likely to go for the Saints pick 36 (2nd round) and hopefully not pick 50 (3rd round).

Based on the Hrovat speculation I think we should work a bit harder to keep him

If the pick we want isn't forthcoming then he doesn't go. whats the point of us arguing over pick 50 or 68 or whatever if we have no intention of using it? We would be much better making an example of the Hrovats and the Hamlings of this world instead of caving in and making us look weak. Let's look a bit further out than just this trade period. Make them sit out until PSD day and maybe Jaeger O' Meara falls through and Hrovat or Hamling miss out altogether and they either return with their tales between their legs only to get told "Thanks, but no thanks boys-youve made your bed now lie in it' (or "You shit on the club. Now you can lay down on the ground and roll around in it as far as we are concerned") Its pretty simple. Nathan works with the club he is going to get us a fair deal, or he takes his chances in the PSD where NOTHING is guaranteed.

That's how I feel about these guys right now. I have no problem with them gettinbg better deals but shitting on the club on the way out the door? That's not on.

There is an arbitration process isn't there? I'm guessing the AFEL is feeling a little bit spooked over the Talia situation (and they have every right to be very, very worried, people go to gaol over this sort of thing. if even half of what is alleged this morning is true then the shit is going to hit the fan so hard that everyone at the AFEL will be wearing freckles. State governments are so addicted to the cashflow from gambling they will do anything not to switch the tap off, if some idiot footballer is risking that then he will be made an example of)

Anyway we are in the best position we have ever been to bend over the AFEL and make them do what we want for a change. We just need the will to do it.

17-10-2016, 12:33 PM

I think they would, Freo can front load the contract to take Essendon out of the picture and Brisbane are unlikely to want someone who doesn't want to be there.

17-10-2016, 01:49 PM
I've read a few completely unsubstantiated whispers of a Hamling for Alex Pearce straight swap. I have no faith in the authenticity of it, but as a discussion point...is that a win win?

17-10-2016, 01:52 PM
I've read a few completely unsubstantiated whispers of a Hamling for Alex Pearce straight swap. I have no faith in the authenticity of it, but as a discussion point...is that a win win?

That would be BF?
Would be win-lose in our favour. Doubt we get him at all and a straight swap will never happen.

17-10-2016, 01:53 PM
If the pick we want isn't forthcoming then he doesn't go. whats the point of us arguing over pick 50 or 68 or whatever if we have no intention of using it? We would be much better making an example of the Hrovats and the Hamlings of this world instead of caving in and making us look weak. Let's look a bit further out than just this trade period. Make them sit out until PSD day and maybe Jaeger O' Meara falls through and Hrovat or Hamling miss out altogether and they either return with their tales between their legs only to get told "Thanks, but no thanks boys-youve made your bed now lie in it' (or "You shit on the club. Now you can lay down on the ground and roll around in it as far as we are concerned") Its pretty simple. Nathan works with the club he is going to get us a fair deal, or he takes his chances in the PSD where NOTHING is guaranteed.

Bit unfair on Rat. He's one of the few he hasn't nominated a club.

Would need more from us than a straight swap but sounds like a real win.

17-10-2016, 01:55 PM
Would need more from us than a straight swap

why?

17-10-2016, 01:56 PM
That would be BF?
Would be win-lose in our favour. Doubt we get him at all and a straight swap will never happen.

Nah twitter, but it was multiple people so I thought it was worth discussion.

17-10-2016, 02:02 PM
why?

Very highly rated at Freo. Freo fans on BF think he's the future of their backline. He's they guy Hamling would be second banana to within a couple of years.

And maybe more importantly he's under contract.

17-10-2016, 03:13 PM

Yeah I think Rat has handled it really well.

17-10-2016, 03:34 PM

Yeah I think Rat has handled it really well.

Fair enough I guess. Insert, I dunno, Hamling except he could just walk to the PSD, umm, Honeychurch, he'll do.

Mitch Honeychurch is a turd.

17-10-2016, 03:55 PM
I'd love nothing more than to hear the words "Alex Pearce has requested a trade to the Bulldogs" in the next 24 hours. This guy is seriously talented - could hold any backline together for the next 10 years.

Not holding my breath but it's nice to dream.

17-10-2016, 05:47 PM
Fair enough I guess. Insert, I dunno, Hamling except he could just walk to the PSD, umm, Honeychurch, he'll do.

Maybe we've just been conditioned to it but when a player says I'll go top either of these clubs in Melbourne it seems a shock

17-10-2016, 07:57 PM

What's Honeychurch done? He is staying!

17-10-2016, 07:59 PM
Has this been confirmed?

Not yet. I read somewhere they were trading their second round pick for Kirsten.

17-10-2016, 08:06 PM

Not now. The national draft is held on the Thursday or Friday and the pre season and rookie draft are held the following Monday.

17-10-2016, 08:56 PM
afl.com.au

St Kilda is likely to offer a late draft pick for out-of-contract Western Bulldogs midfielder Koby Stevens, who asked to be traded to the Saints last week.

The exact value of that pick is expected to be determined after the Bulldogs finalise other deals they have in motion.

17-10-2016, 09:24 PM
afl.com.au

St Kilda is likely to offer a late draft pick for out-of-contract Western Bulldogs midfielder Koby Stevens, who asked to be traded to the Saints last week.

The exact value of that pick is expected to be determined after the Bulldogs finalise other deals they have in motion.

What deals?

17-10-2016, 09:27 PM
What's Honeychurch done? He is staying!

Doesn't he have a year to run on his contract?

Theres been no talk of interest in him

17-10-2016, 09:30 PM
What deals?

Exactly... :D

17-10-2016, 09:39 PM
Doesn't he have a year to run on his contract?

Theres been no talk of interest in him

There's interest. But he wants to stay and is contracted.

17-10-2016, 09:40 PM
Fyfe and Kelly obviously!

17-10-2016, 10:19 PM
What deals?

Cloke, Hamling, Stevens and Hrovat I would assume. It doesn't look like we will have a lot of 2nd round selections to bundle up like we originally hoped for.

17-10-2016, 10:27 PM
I'd love nothing more than to hear the words "Alex Pearce has requested a trade to the Bulldogs" in the next 24 hours. This guy is seriously talented - could hold any backline together for the next 10 years.

Not holding my breath but it's nice to dream.

Freo obviously arent offering fair value so I hope Macca has been on the phone to someone like Pearce or Weller and enticing them back the other way. It would put some chips back into our hand.

I'm a big fan of Lachie Weller, think he could bring a lot of what our midfield lacks.

18-10-2016, 12:15 AM
We've been really quiet. I'm sure we are up to something though?

18-10-2016, 08:21 AM
I think we are still a chance to pick up a free agent at the end of this week. I'm not sure who but I do think we might make a play for someone.

18-10-2016, 08:24 AM
I think we are still a chance to pick up a free agent at the end of this week. I'm not sure who but I do think we might make a play for someone.

Is that to say you doubt we're going to be involved in any significant trade?

18-10-2016, 08:39 AM
Is that to say you doubt we're going to be involved in any significant trade?

I think we might have a trade in mind but we are in a holding pattern until we know what we can get for Hamling, Hrovat and Stevens.
I suspect we have plan B with adding a free agent if something doesn't go to plan

18-10-2016, 09:03 AM
I'm a big fan of Lachie Weller, think he could bring a lot of what our midfield lacks.

He doesn't really impress me, what have you seen that I've missed?

18-10-2016, 09:35 AM
I have borrowed this summary of Jason McCartney's interview on RSN from Big Footy, credit to BRWB (full interview on RSN website):

JMac on RSN just confirmed Adams almost certain to be a Dog next year. Also stated Adams had never requested a trade, that he suffered a disconnect with the playing group due to rehab for the last half of the year. But is in a better space now.

Also stated 'no big fish' - said our fish was Hurley that didn't work out. Now focussing on retention.

Expects Cloke to be done on Thurs once we know where our picks sit.

Emphatic about no interest in Rockliff.

Expects other deals for Hrovat, Hamling and Stevens to be done once other clubs know whether they sit.

As an aside wasn't excited about Libba putting himself at risk playing footy (in the ruck at stages) for the Vietnam Swans.

18-10-2016, 09:41 AM

His glorious hair?

18-10-2016, 09:54 AM
His glorious hair?

I'm getting worried with all these footballers with slacker beards that we will accidentally draft Vasily from Vasily's Garden or Warren Ellis from the Bad Seeds.

18-10-2016, 10:04 AM
I'm getting worried with all these footballers with slacker beards that we will accidentally draft Vasily from Vasily's Garden or Warren Ellis from the Bad Seeds.

Vasilli attends my gym and is actually in pretty good shape! He was in doing a GRIT cardio on Saturday, that class just looks scary...

18-10-2016, 10:08 AM
Vasilli attends my gym and is actually in pretty good shape! He was in doing a GRIT cardio on Saturday, that class just looks scary...

I stopped going when to the gym when Zumba was a new thing.

18-10-2016, 10:45 AM

Ended the year very well against us and GWS. He brings a nice turn of foot but his selling point is his kicking. He's efficient, hits targets and moves the play forward.

I like Hrovat for the same reasons

18-10-2016, 01:01 PM
While I like what he brings, upon re-watching the prelim against GWS - notably the first half - am decidedly less perturbed about the Hamling defection and its possible impact on our backline.

It wouldn't stun me to see WAFL games in his future.

18-10-2016, 01:26 PM
While I like what he brings, upon re-watching the prelim against GWS - notably the first half - am decidedly less perturbed about the Hamling defection and its possible impact on our backline.

It wouldn't stun me to see WAFL games in his future.

Yes he let a number of goals in in that game. I noticed that too.

18-10-2016, 02:01 PM
Yes he let a number of goals in in that game. I noticed that too.

Indeed, basically most times he was forced to defend one-on-one it didn't end well.

I hope Ross has that swarm defence coming along...

18-10-2016, 02:41 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CvBULcDUMAUGDeD.jpg

The Western Bulldogs have today secured pick 35 from Fremantle, in exchange for defender Joel Hamling.

The Club has also received Fremantle’s picks 43 and 61, in exchange for picks 40 and 63.

Hamling informed the Club of his intentions to return home to Western Australia last week and the Bulldogs finalised the deal with Fremantle today.

The 24-year-old joined the Club as a delisted free agent at the end of the 2014 season and played 23 games in two years.
Hamling played all four finals in 2016, and was a member of the Club’s premiership side.

“We thank Joel for his contribution over the past two years and wish him all the best for his future with Fremantle,” Bulldogs List Manager Jason McCartney said.

“We believe we have reached a fair and equitable deal for Joel, and will keep our options open as to what we do with our picks ahead of the trade deadline on Thursday.”

The Club currently holds picks 18, 35, 43, 61, 75, 76 and 94 in the upcoming NAB AFL National Draft.

18-10-2016, 02:42 PM
The Western Bulldogs have today secured pick 35 from Fremantle, in exchange for defender Joel Hamling.

The Club has also received Fremantle’s picks 43 and 61, in exchange for picks 40 and 63.

“We believe we have reached a fair and equitable deal for Joel, and will keep our options open as to what we do with our picks ahead of the trade deadline on Thursday.”

The Club currently holds picks 18, 35, 43, 61, 75, 76 and 94 in the upcoming NAB AFL National Draft.

Yep .. Happy with that

18-10-2016, 02:43 PM
Fair result. Gives us some flexibility as well. Like having pick 35 on the books.

On face value it's not a great deal but not a bad one. Pick 35 was about on the money but losing 3 spots on pick 40 just takes the shine off it.

So long Hammer - you will always be a Bulldog premiership player and you gave us a fantastic month of footy this September.

Essentially pick 35 in 2016 for a DFA punt 2 years ago represents a very good result for a player who is borderline best 22.

18-10-2016, 02:45 PM
I wonder if we can upgrade Stevens, pick 35 & 75 to St Kilda's 23.

Hrovat may nab us 33 too.

18, 23 & 33 are trade current or good picks.

18-10-2016, 02:46 PM
On face value it's not a great deal but not a bad one. Pick 35 was about on the money but losing 3 spots on pick 40 just takes the shine off it.

I can see we might have wanted the later couple of pick upgrade to pick 61 for a few extra draft points to convince Collingwood to take it and run (extra 25 draft points).

If we are trading 43 for a Richards type, it may not matter.

18-10-2016, 02:46 PM
Not as though we had much hand in the negotiations with Hammer being out of contract and nominating a specific club. We did as well as could reasonably be expected with the hand we had.

Whoever Dal had his eye on with pick 40 will more than likely be available at pick 43 - I also expect Freo to on-trade pick 40 to Geelong for Kersten now.

18-10-2016, 02:47 PM
Now to see what we can get for Hrovat and Stevens.

Perhaps we could trade pick 43 and Stevens for the Saints pick 36 although I suspect the Saints will try and hold firm on pick 50.

18-10-2016, 02:52 PM
I wonder if we can upgrade Stevens, pick 35 & 75 to St Kilda's 23.

Hrovat may nab us 33 too.

18, 23 & 33 are trade current or good picks.

I like it but Ameet Bains has said numerous times they want 3 picks inside 30.

18-10-2016, 02:53 PM
Don't love it. Hope we *!*!*!*! Freo over soon by poaching someone off them.

18-10-2016, 02:54 PM
I like it but Ameet Bains has said numerous times they want 3 picks inside 30.

Stale mate for mine then. Pick 50 may not even get used. So we are getting nothing anyway.

18-10-2016, 02:55 PM
Disapointing result. Worth a lot more than 35 and downgrade of later picks. That's the system though we really couldn't swing anymore our way. It'll do.

18-10-2016, 03:01 PM
Disapointing result. Worth a lot more than 35 and downgrade of later picks. That's the system though we really couldn't swing anymore our way. It'll do.

He had a good finals series but struggled to get a game and only got there through injury ..probably would have got delisted if not for his final series . His games were good because we use a group defending system , one out he would struggle, good get in my opinion

18-10-2016, 03:02 PM
JMac saying we will review what we do with our picks prior to the end of the trade period.

18-10-2016, 03:03 PM
Sorry to see him go. Became an important cog for us in defence in the latter part of the season.
Could've been a lot worse i.e Fremantle pushing him into the PSD. With inequities all over the place through trade periods e.g. if Hawthorn can accept losing Franklin on a 9 year $10 million contract, with a pick 19 compensation after winning the premiership , I can live with losing Hamling for 35.

18-10-2016, 03:05 PM
He had a good finals series but struggled to get a game and only got there through injury ..probably would have got delisted if not for his final series . His games were good because we use a group defending system , one out he would struggle, good get in my opinion

I don't disagree with you. I had him delisted as well but on the back of that finals series i think he's worth more. We were never going to get it though when we were over a barrel. As I said it'll do.

18-10-2016, 03:09 PM
I think pick 35 is pretty good for Hamling. Forget the downgrade, I have faith that Dalrymple will get the players he wants for those picks regardless.

If we tried to value Hammer's worth say after the Freo game and before any finals, we would of said delisting value only, no one would of traded for him.

Personally I don't see him being anything more than a serviceable backup until we can find a quality backman, so to get 35 for him I think is a good result.

Let's see how he goes at Freo next year when they are under the pump.

18-10-2016, 03:11 PM
Not great, not bad. Take it and run, and use 61 to get Cloke and see if either 35 or 43 will grab a player we want.

18-10-2016, 03:26 PM
Not a great outcome, but probably the best we could engineer considering the likelihood of him getting to them for nix in the pre-season draft.
I hope our recruiters have long memories and when the opportunity comes to remind Freo why it makes sense to play nice, that we thoroughly eviscerate them in a future trade.

18-10-2016, 03:26 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CvBcLOZUAAAXYBT.jpg

From twitter

18-10-2016, 03:29 PM
Farewell Joel - you'll always be a bulldog premiership player and we're thankful for that

Reasonable outcome for both parties

18-10-2016, 03:30 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CvBcLOZUAAAXYBT.jpg

From twitter

Do points really have any relevance if we're not bidding with them.

18-10-2016, 03:33 PM
Bottom line is we got Hamling for SFA, he gave us 23 games in 2 years, including a stellar final series that significantly contributed to a Premiership. He now leaves as an enigma, giving us pick 35 on the way out.

Joel Hamling owes us nothing. He'll be a fascinating footnote in years to come - all the best to him.

18-10-2016, 03:33 PM
Thanks Joel for stellar game on Buddy in the GF.
Good luck at Freo....
You're gunna need it!!! ;)

18-10-2016, 03:40 PM
Do points really have any relevance if we're not bidding with them.

Only to answer the question of who won the trade. According to this, pick 35 is overs

18-10-2016, 03:40 PM
Pick 35 is about right imo. If it wasn't for the last month Freo would no way have given up pick 35. I'm sure Hammer was already talking to Freo pre finals so his stocks rose substantially because of 1 month of really good football. He has done well salary wise and done well for us with a better pick.

I'm sad to see him leave straight after winning the flag but I'm happy with what we received for a player who was a fringe player a month ago.

All the best Hammer.