View Full Version : Trivia Time: Useless Dogs Stats Quiz

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

22-10-2016, 05:11 PM
I don't think Lethal started in number three.

Yes, you are right. Ted might be correct.

22-10-2016, 05:26 PM
Spoiler alert. I don't know anything about the answer but got some skill in google ;) and I have found this {Removed link} with the answers. Don't click on it, if you want to continue to guess the answer :)

Btw, could I please ask the story behind the nick name Bubba? Did some goggling but not really anything about where is came-about.

I think it's just always been his nickname from before he came to the club. It's a common nickname for people whose surname is Smith for some reason.

22-10-2016, 05:48 PM
What about Michael Ford in 45? I think he played 100 games in that number? I loved Michael Ford what a great trier.

I'll say Picken and Ford would be in the list.

22-10-2016, 05:59 PM
Brian in 36 would be up there.

22-10-2016, 06:14 PM
I think it's just always been his nickname from before he came to the club. It's a common nickname for people whose surname is Smith for some reason.

Charles "Bubba" Smith was an NFL gridiron player, and moved into acting after his football career ended. He is most well known for playing the part of Moses Hightower in all bar one of the "Police Academy" movies. My money is on that being the source of the nickname.

22-10-2016, 06:52 PM
Deleted post AP6 beat me to it.

22-10-2016, 09:00 PM
Eppelstun went to North in the early 90s whilst Hudson went to Richmond around 2000, so the replaced by club great part probably makes me think it's more likely Eppelstun.

I have found it via google as well. And surely google pointed me back to Woof (source of truth) to the interview of Eppelstun by TCD. (http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?4247-Interview-With-Greg-Eppelstun&highlight=Eppelstun)

22-10-2016, 09:06 PM
Mick Egan in the No.10

23-10-2016, 07:06 AM
Guesses so far:

Brad Johnson (6) - CORRECT
Libba (39) - Close, but no (2nd to Daren Milburn)
Magic MacLean (51) - CORRECT
Brian Cordy (49) - CORRECT
Chris Grant (3) - No, 7th on list
Lin Jong (46) - No. He's 7th on the all time list (1st is Clancee Pearce!)
Dale Morris (38) - CORRECT
Liam Picken (42) - Not quite (2nd to Robert Walls)
Gary Dempsey (24) - CORRECT
Doug Hawkins (7) - CORRECT
Gia (13) - CORRECT
Ted Whitten (3) - CORRECT
Luke Darcy (14) - 4th on list (to Bob Skilton)
Rohan Smith (5) - 3rd (to John Rantall)
Michael Ford (45) - 4th (to Cameron Ling)
Brian Harris/Lake (36) - 5th all time (behind Simon Goodwin)
Mick Egan (10) - Long way down the list (1st was Marcus Ashcroft)

Good quizzing all round there, with the 8 identified pretty quickly.

Who else has a question?

23-10-2016, 09:57 AM
Name the Bulldogs jumper sponsors in order since 1980

23-10-2016, 02:43 PM
Name the Bulldogs jumper sponsors in order since 1980

ICI
Orica
LeasePlan
Mission

23-10-2016, 02:45 PM
Eastcoast jeans. They jumped onboard in 1983 after we started the season without a sponsor mostly because we had finished last the year before and had won about seven games combined over the previous two years. So we kind of invented a logo to go where the sponsors label usually went that said "Go West" from memory.

Anyway we shot out of the barriers and won four of our first five and Eastcoast came up with some money. Thankfully.

23-10-2016, 03:14 PM
Eastcoast jeans. They jumped onboard in 1983 after we started the season without a sponsor mostly because we had finished last the year before and had won about seven games combined over the previous two years. So we kind of invented a logo to go where the sponsors label usually went that said "Go West" from memory.

Anyway we shot out of the barriers and won four of our first five and Eastcoast came up with some money. Thankfully.

As modelled by this handsome man

https://www.flickr.com/photos/34664426@N04/29554948034/in/album-72157671465759263/

My jumper has a #3 on the back....i dont know the answer but who was #3 that year? (whichever year it was)

23-10-2016, 03:19 PM
As modelled by this handsome man

https://www.flickr.com/photos/34664426@N04/29554948034/in/album-72157671465759263/

My jumper has a #3 on the back....i dont know the answer but who was #3 that year? (whichever year it was)

Marl Kellett. Jumper still fits you perfectly. :)

23-10-2016, 03:38 PM
Marl Kellett. Jumper still fits you perfectly. :)

shrunk in the wash

23-10-2016, 04:38 PM
I've worked all these out by my footy cards and as far as I can surmise jumper sponsorship commenced in 1980 (my 79 cards don't have a jumper sponsor).

I've got a 1980 Bluey Hampshire footy card with another sponsor on it. Any ideas? It would be pre Eastcoast and I believe our first sponsor.

23-10-2016, 07:36 PM
We had 2 jumper sponsors prior to Eastcoast Jeans; Pyrox and KB Lager.

Pyrox were late 70s, the progression is something like Pyrox, KB, Eastcoast, Hunters, .05, ICI, Orica, Vodafone, Leaseplan, Mission.

23-10-2016, 08:51 PM
We had 2 jumper sponsors prior to Eastcoast Jeans; Pyrox and KB Lager.

Pyrox were late 70s, the progression is something like Pyrox, KB, Eastcoast, Hunters, .05, ICI, Orica, Vodafone, Leaseplan, Mission.

Pyrox came on board in June 1978 because the very first game we played with the logos was when we kicked the record score against St Kilda but toward the end of the game most of the badges had fallen off the players jumper and that's the only footage people see. There was a TV ad with the players warming themselves with heaters set up in the dressing room. Geoff Jennings had the only speaking part from memory.

23-10-2016, 09:32 PM
Were Bob Jane T-Marts a game day sponsor?

23-10-2016, 10:02 PM
Were Bob Jane T-Marts a game day sponsor?

Shorts sponsor I think, like Bartercard.

23-10-2016, 10:25 PM
Shorts sponsor I think, like Bartercard.
I stand to be corrected but wasn't there was one year where we didn't have a sole jumper sponsor and the aim was to have potential companies bid for each game? From memory we were really struggling and Bob Jane came forward for a week or two.

I think it was 2001 or 2002 when Bernard Saundry was the CEO.

From memory we had Bob Jane T-Marts, Mazda and BenQ and about 6 other sponsors that season.
What year did Campbell Rose start with us? I think he came in the following year

24-10-2016, 12:21 AM
I stand to be corrected but wasn't there was one year where we didn't have a sole jumper sponsor and the aim was to have potential companies bid for each game? From memory we were really struggling and Bob Jane came forward for a week or two.

I think it was 2001 or 2002 when Bernard Saundry was the CEO.

From memory we had Bob Jane T-Marts, Mazda and BenQ and about 6 other sponsors that season.
What year did Campbell Rose start with us? I think he came in the following year

Yeah you're right we did too. Somebody, Saundry I guess, decided that ICI/Orica were getting to good a deal or had been our sponsor for to long or something and sacked them! We told them we thought we could do better or words to that effect and then couldn't find a sponsor to replace them. We ended up hocking the naming rights on a weekly basis, Yellow Pages and Hunter Industries too I think.

24-10-2016, 12:43 AM
Yeah you're right we did too. Somebody, Saundry I guess, decided that ICI/Orica were getting to good a deal or had been our sponsor for to long or something and sacked them! We told them we thought we could do better or words to that effect and then couldn't find a sponsor to replace them. We ended up hocking the naming rights on a weekly basis, Yellow Pages and Hunter Industries too I think.

Yellow Pages was definitely one, I've got a Ryan Hargrave #33 jumper from that year and the bright yellow stands out like a sore thumb. It got a wear in grand final week...different jumper each day!

24-10-2016, 02:25 PM
Where Dulux on our jumpers prior to Orica taking them over ?

24-10-2016, 02:30 PM
Where Dulux on our jumpers prior to Orica taking them over ?

I think Dulux was ICI

24-10-2016, 03:13 PM
Were Dulux on our jumpers prior to Orica taking them over ?

I think Dulux was ICI

Dulux was owned by ICI, which changed its name to Orica, Subsequently, Dulux was demerged from Orica.

Not confusing at all. :D

24-10-2016, 04:31 PM
Dulux was owned by ICI, which changed its name to Orica, Subsequently, Dulux was demerged from Orica.

Not confusing at all. :D

Yeah. I reckon that Dulux had a seperate factory where they made the paint in west Footscray though. Away from that huge Monsanto plant where Orica were.

27-10-2016, 09:19 PM
I've got a question. Since the draft came in only three first year draftees have played in premiership sides. Name them.

27-10-2016, 10:27 PM
I've got a question. Since the draft came in only three first year draftees have played in premiership sides. Name them.
Dunkley Rioli and Selwood I believe.

If I'm right I open it up for anyone to ask a question

27-10-2016, 10:40 PM

You are right. That's pretty impressive company Dunks has gotten into.

27-10-2016, 11:08 PM
Yeah. I reckon that Dulux had a seperate factory where they made the paint in west Footscray though. Away from that huge Monsanto plant where Orica were.

Yes they did, I bought some dark blue paint from the factory in West Footscray (circa 1977), and my mate sprayed my EH Holden.

27-10-2016, 11:10 PM
Yes they did, I bought some dark blue paint from the factory in West Footscray (circa 1977), and my mate sprayed my EH Holden.

Sunshine rd I reckon. Where the Taubmans factory is now. My dad will know I'll ask him.

27-10-2016, 11:16 PM

Josh Dunkley
Will Langford

27-10-2016, 11:22 PM
Josh Dunkley
Will Langford

Langford was in his third year I think he was drafted in 2011 and played in the 2014 premiership*

*we won the premiership this year.

27-10-2016, 11:24 PM

Who won two premierships this year?

27-10-2016, 11:57 PM
Who won two premierships this year?
The Western Bulldogs?

(Men's and women for 2, Footscray with a different name)

No change for the GF so despite my initial reaction I don't think it can be an individual.

28-10-2016, 12:23 AM
The Western Bulldogs?

(Men's and women for 2, Footscray with a different name)

No change for the GF so despite my initial reaction I don't think it can be an individual.

Correct*! I also would have accepted "us", "Doggies", "not *!*!*!*!ing them" "did we win? We shitttd it in!", "doggie doggie doggie, Oi Oi Oi!" or any other combination of words that conveyed the message that our club won the grand slam, when we won the premierships.

28-10-2016, 10:02 AM
Man I'm just on a roll. I've got nothing so I'll just open it up again

28-10-2016, 01:34 PM
I hope this question makes sense.

There is a small group of players in league history that have had 12 or more of four different stats in a game (kicks marks handballs goals behinds etc etc).

One of them is a bulldog who achieved the feat an astonishing 7 times (three for Footscray).

Which player?

28-10-2016, 01:40 PM
Gary Dempsey?

28-10-2016, 01:55 PM
I hope this question makes sense.

There is a small group of players in league history that have had 12 or more of four different stats in a game (kicks marks handballs goals behinds etc etc).

One of them is a bulldog who achieved the feat an astonishing 7 times (three for Footscray).

Which player?

Does that include detailed stats? E.g. Contested possessions, rebound 50s, etc..???

Chris Grant seems a possible one with extended stats.

Also 3 times for Footscray fooled me initially into thinking 3 times for Footscray and 4 times for Western but could mean a second club as G's response indicates.

28-10-2016, 02:16 PM
Dempsey was the first one I thought of.

28-10-2016, 02:18 PM
Does that include detailed stats? E.g. Contested possessions, rebound 50s, etc..???

Chris Grant seems a possible one with extended stats.

Also 3 times for Footscray fooled me initially into thinking 3 times for Footscray and 4 times for Western but could mean a second club as G's response indicates.

My guess is that it includes hit outs which would bring Dempsey into the mix.

28-10-2016, 02:22 PM
But if goals kicked or just plain kicks got count then it might be Bernie Quinlan.

I don't completely understand the question, so that's all good.

28-10-2016, 02:28 PM
But if goals kicked or just plain kicks got count then it might be Bernie Quinlan.

I don't completely understand the question, so that's all good.

I don't think Quinlan ever kicked 12 goals in a game.

I could be wrong but I think the question is like the basketball triple double stats. My take is the player concerned scored 12 or more stats (kicks, marks, handballs, hit outs etc) in 4 or more categories in the same game.

The more I think about it Dempsey would have done this more regularly that just 7 times I would have thought so I might have it wrong.

28-10-2016, 02:29 PM
osborne

Libba Snr would be a chance with tackles

28-10-2016, 02:32 PM
Templeton

28-10-2016, 02:35 PM
Templeton

I think the question rules out Templeton. He was a spent force by the time he landed at the Dee's. It could be Dunstan.

28-10-2016, 03:16 PM
Gary got it with Dempsey.

1978 v Nm: 24 kicks, 14 hbs, 14 marks, 28 hitouts.
1973 v nm: 18 ki 14 hb 17 ma 32 ho
1973 v Stk: 16 ki 13 hb 15 ma 30 ho

Plus another 4 times for North.

It's only been done about 40 odd times. They're all ruckmen. Dempsey has 7 of them.

The most recent was David Hille in 2010.

Tom Boyd and Bont are capable of joining the list IMO.

28-10-2016, 03:18 PM
So it's not Tony Macguiness?

28-10-2016, 03:20 PM
So it's not Tony Macguiness?

Err, no...

28-10-2016, 03:25 PM
I'm looking over the playing lists. Someone can jump in for the next question.

28-10-2016, 07:45 PM
I hope I've got this right, going purely off memory here.

There are 6 players currently on our list that have captained us in either AFL games or NAB cup games. Who are they?

28-10-2016, 07:53 PM
Morris, Murphy, Wood, Bontempelli, M.Boyd and Roughead?

28-10-2016, 08:33 PM
Your question Gary.

28-10-2016, 08:36 PM
Your question Gary.

Am I right though? Would you like to step in? I don't have the thinking cap on.

28-10-2016, 08:41 PM
OK then.

Name all the bulldog Brownlow medallists including retrospective and I also want the players who left us and went on to win a Brownlow at another club. Not players who won one with us and then left. That's pretty much all of them.

28-10-2016, 09:02 PM
OK, let me have a crack at this

Peter Box, John Shultz, Gary Dempsey, Kelvin Templeton, Brad Hardie, Tony Liberatore, Scott Wynd and Adam Cooney plus Brian Wilson, Bernie Quinlan and Barry Round?

By retrospective do you mean Chris Grant?

28-10-2016, 09:07 PM
Alan Hopkins I think got a retrospective one.

28-10-2016, 09:27 PM
Alan Hopkins I think got a retrospective one.

Yep. Was beaten on a countback in 1930. In 1989 the league awarded retrospective medals to all players beaten on countback.

Gary got all the others.

28-10-2016, 10:01 PM
39 memories'go.

28-10-2016, 11:46 PM
I've got one if nobody minds...

Name the player to have played the most games for the Bulldogs, with only one goal for his career.

28-10-2016, 11:47 PM
The Glove?

28-10-2016, 11:49 PM
The Glove?

Morris has three goals to his name.

28-10-2016, 11:50 PM
Morris has three goals to his name.

I thought it was low that is why I chose him.

28-10-2016, 11:53 PM
I thought it was low that is why I chose him.

He probably would have been my first choice as well...I can't say I remember any of those three goals!

28-10-2016, 11:55 PM
He probably would have been my first choice as well...I can't say I remember any of those three goals!

He had two shots this year and fluffed it. I can't even remember one goal he has kicked.

29-10-2016, 12:04 AM
I'll check in with a clue in the morning if nobody gets it straight away.

29-10-2016, 12:06 AM
Morris, Murphy, Wood, Bontempelli, M.Boyd and Roughead?

Pretty sure Roughead hasn't captained one, although I may have missed one. He was the only one on the list I had a question mark over as to whether or not he had done it.

Someone else on the list has though. It was only a NAB cup game though.

He had two shots this year and fluffed it. I can't even remember one goal he has kicked.
His first goal was on the run close to the boundary against Sydney. I think it was up there, a night game and a little damp.

29-10-2016, 12:20 AM
Tom Campbell captained a NAB Cup match earlier this year.

On the 1 goal question, I remember Wally Donald and Herb Henderson played a lot of games togther and kicked 1 goal between them. I'll guess Herb Henderson.

29-10-2016, 12:23 AM

That's the one I was thinking of

29-10-2016, 02:01 AM
I've got one if nobody minds...

Name the player to have played the most games for the Bulldogs, with only one goal for his career.

On the 1 goal question, I remember Wally Donald and Herb Henderson played a lot of games togther and kicked 1 goal between them. I'll guess Herb Henderson.

It was Wally Donald. 201 or 202 games and just the one goal.

Here's my question. What was unusual about that goal? Apart from it being Wally Donald's only goal of his 200 games.

bulldogsfight
29-10-2016, 06:59 AM
It was Wally Donald. 201 or 202 games and just the one goal.

Here's my question. What was unusual about that goal? Apart from it being Wally Donald's only goal of his 200 games.

Was it scored v stkilda in the game at yallourn

29-10-2016, 07:28 AM
Was it scored v stkilda in the game at yallourn

Yep. One goal in his career and it was scored in Yallourn!