View Full Version : NAB Challenge Game 3 v Collingwood - Etihad Saturday March 12

Pages : 1 [2]

14-03-2016, 04:53 PM
Post match press conference Bevo as good as said Hamling would be in for R1. Or that was the way I took what he said. not sure why Hamling didn't play on the weekend - same problem as Dickson I guess!!!! ;):D:confused:

I think they both had some niggles and the MC didn't want to risk them.

15-03-2016, 02:34 AM
They are likely to play Griffin and Z.Clarke though and send one of them forward quite often. Reckon we definitely need 1 defender that can provide a contest to a 200cm forward.

Taberner is another tall they have been playing too.

15-03-2016, 04:18 AM
I think defensively we will make do with Morris taking Pavlich, Hamling taking a tall and our zone defence with Wood's marking covering the rest. Also look to exploit the fact guys like Clarke are going to have to chase Murphy, JJ etc.

15-03-2016, 04:37 AM
I wouldn't take notice of where players are named in this era .
They might as well just name the squad .

15-03-2016, 10:50 AM
Wasn't at all disappointed with the weekends game.

Thought it was a good tune up. We looked great early against a good opposition, but after losing Campbell - the game changed a fair bit.

We wouldn't have selected that exact side had the game had been for premiership points - as Collingwood have a far taller forward line than Freo.

I'd also be interested to see how much time Libba spent on the ground in the second half - as he didn't seem to be prominent after having a good first half.

Like Tom Boyd's game. Liked Macrae, Stevens, JJ and Hunter. Murphy and M.Boyd hopefully ironed off the rust a bit after not having a huge amount of playing time previously.

Thought Suckling showed some real smarts. His best moment was late in the game when he intercepted a pies pass inside 50...you can see in the bottom of the screen on the replay - that he is in the centre of the ground, and identifies the loose Collingwood player going forward and sprints 80 metres to get in position to intercept. I already get the feeling Suckling will do plenty that goes unnoticed or under-appreciated (being that he is an outside player who will wear criticism).

We really should have won in the end. Not just stringer getting tackled by varcoe to stop a certain goal. But pretty much the last play, when Wood had the ball, he could have handballed boundary side to Biggs who could have run to 40 and had a shot - but instead he bombed to the top of the goal square. It was pretty poor play, and Wood was underwhelming.

Wood, Stringer, M.Boyd all being well down - as well as not having a 1st choice ruckman for more than half of the game - gives us plenty of upside.

Redpath drops too many marks around the ground. Needs to improve his output if he is going to be a regular.

15-03-2016, 11:12 AM
Two direct quotes from Gerard Healy today about the Boss:

- "gee you'd just like to see him lead a bit harder at the footy", directly after beating Nathan Brown on the lead and kicking a goal.

- "he's going to have to be a Buddy Franklin type player to justify that contract"

This is beyond criticism, the hate for Tom has gotten to a pathological level.

Stopped listening to anything that flog said years ago. On a par with Dwayne Russell.

15-03-2016, 11:23 AM
Why anyone would be too shocked or disappointed at this result is a mystery to me. Tom Boyd was dominant, Libba got through again, and others showed plenty.

A big win would have been nice but there were plenty of positives.

Totally agree with this. I checked my calendar today and it said it was still March, so I'm not too worried.

15-03-2016, 12:03 PM
If anything about the weekend was disappointing is just the point of losing to the ferals. We could have been playing a game of tiddy-winks for charity and I would still want to whoop their arses.:D

15-03-2016, 12:23 PM
Wasn't at all disappointed with the weekends game.

Thought it was a good tune up. We looked great early against a good opposition, but after losing Campbell - the game changed a fair bit.

We wouldn't have selected that exact side had the game had been for premiership points - as Collingwood have a far taller forward line than Freo.

I'd also be interested to see how much time Libba spent on the ground in the second half - as he didn't seem to be prominent after having a good first half.

Like Tom Boyd's game. Liked Macrae, Stevens, JJ and Hunter. Murphy and M.Boyd hopefully ironed off the rust a bit after not having a huge amount of playing time previously.

Thought Suckling showed some real smarts. His best moment was late in the game when he intercepted a pies pass inside 50...you can see in the bottom of the screen on the replay - that he is in the centre of the ground, and identifies the loose Collingwood player going forward and sprints 80 metres to get in position to intercept. I already get the feeling Suckling will do plenty that goes unnoticed or under-appreciated (being that he is an outside player who will wear criticism).

We really should have won in the end. Not just stringer getting tackled by varcoe to stop a certain goal. But pretty much the last play, when Wood had the ball, he could have handballed boundary side to Biggs who could have run to 40 and had a shot - but instead he bombed to the top of the goal square. It was pretty poor play, and Wood was underwhelming.

Wood, Stringer, M.Boyd all being well down - as well as not having a 1st choice ruckman for more than half of the game - gives us plenty of upside.

Redpath drops too many marks around the ground. Needs to improve his output if he is going to be a regular.

I'm starting to worry about that. Is it a technique thing or a concentration thing?

15-03-2016, 12:34 PM
Stopped listening to anything that flog said years ago. On a par with Dwayne Russell.

And he likes us too!

15-03-2016, 02:38 PM
I'm starting to worry about that. Is it a technique thing or a concentration thing?

It's either a concentration lapse or fatigue. He's being asked to cover plenty of territory and it's noticeable that he rarely spills the ball forward.....they tend to go over the back. Is it possible when he tires that he doesn't jump as well at the ball?

15-03-2016, 02:39 PM

Nah....far from the worst. Few get close to Dwayne when it comes to flogism.

15-03-2016, 07:27 PM
Tim Gossge from the west gives Derwayne a fearful run.

15-03-2016, 07:34 PM

Flogism,haha made me chuckle. We should start a media watch thread. I used to enjoy that segment, calling out b.s by various papers and shows.

15-03-2016, 07:40 PM
Full time job

15-03-2016, 10:26 PM
Is it possible when he tires that he doesn't jump as well at the ball?

Yeah I've noticed that too, his jump seems to break his rhythm and he's in an awkward position when he gets to the ball

15-03-2016, 10:36 PM
It's either a concentration lapse or fatigue. He's being asked to cover plenty of territory and it's noticeable that he rarely spills the ball forward.....they tend to go over the back. Is it possible when he tires that he doesn't jump as well at the ball?

Yeah I've noticed that too, his jump seems to break his rhythm and he's in an awkward position when he gets to the ball

I thought that too. Maybe the fatigue is affecting his timing or his brain is writing cheques his body is to tired to cash.

15-03-2016, 11:17 PM

Tony Shaw is close

16-03-2016, 09:21 AM
Tony Shaw is close

Hence the term "few".:)

16-03-2016, 10:09 AM
Two direct quotes from Gerard Healy today about the Boss:

- "gee you'd just like to see him lead a bit harder at the footy", directly after beating Nathan Brown on the lead and kicking a goal.

- "he's going to have to be a Buddy Franklin type player to justify that contract"

This is beyond criticism, the hate for Tom has gotten to a pathological level.

Add in when Toyd took that ripping pack mark in 1st quarter the first thing gerard says was "he's gonna have to get better below his knees"

Ridiculous! Im actually a Gerard Healy fan - he was first to get on board us and notice the improvement last year. He raved about us the Monday after the Pies NAB game last year. But his commentary on the weekend was ridiculous. I think this stuff will pass though - think about Scully from the Giants. He is probably getting paid a million a year at the mo and is definitely not worth it but like Tom he was in the right spot at the right time and got the good $ to change clubs. But his contract and not being worth it barely gets mentioned now.

16-03-2016, 02:13 PM
Add in when Toyd took that ripping pack mark in 1st quarter the first thing gerard says was "he's gonna have to get better below his knees"

Ridiculous! Im actually a Gerard Healy fan - he was first to get on board us and notice the improvement last year. He raved about us the Monday after the Pies NAB game last year. But his commentary on the weekend was ridiculous. I think this stuff will pass though - think about Scully from the Giants. He is probably getting paid a million a year at the mo and is definitely not worth it but like Tom he was in the right spot at the right time and got the good $ to change clubs. But his contract and not being worth it barely gets mentioned now.

The funny thing is that Boyd is actually pretty decent below his knees, he isn't the most agile of players but he isn't like some lumbering big man that can't gather a ground ball.

16-03-2016, 02:57 PM
He has good hands in close and often finds an outside runner. I really like this part of his game.

16-03-2016, 08:13 PM
He has good hands in close and often finds an outside runner. I really like this part of his game.

Yeh there was quite a few times on the weekend he was able to gather and whip it out to a runner.

But hey gerard would've said it wasn't quick enough....