View Full Version : Injury List - 2016

Pages : 1 2 [3]

22-08-2016, 03:39 PM
I think Adcock might be a chance to play finals. I'm not much of a fan but he does bring a mature head and body if Wood doesn't get up.

We still have Suckling as well. Not sure how long he is out.

22-08-2016, 04:53 PM
News relatively good but still a long shot to play finals.

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2016-08-22/injury-news-dogs-optimistic-on-wood-return

“He’s going to be in a CAM boot for the next seven to ten days, and once his CAM boot is removed, then we’ll determine his return to play, but we’re optimistic that he can play a part in our finals series.”

22-08-2016, 05:13 PM
News relatively good but still a long shot to play finals.

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2016-08-22/injury-news-dogs-optimistic-on-wood-return

Also mentions Morris to play against Freo.

22-08-2016, 05:17 PM
I think Adams is out for the season . Probably better news than expected on Easton, but who knows.
The club should invest shares in the company that makes the moonboot

22-08-2016, 05:48 PM
No Libba or Macrae update. Put a line through them I reckon.

22-08-2016, 05:59 PM
No Libba or Macrae update. Put a line through them I reckon.

Macrae is running so should be back.

22-08-2016, 07:45 PM
Macrae will be a huge inclusion. Gee we've missed him.

22-08-2016, 08:15 PM
Player
Injury
Duration

Dale Morris (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/player-profile/dale-morris)
hamstring
available

Matthew Suckling (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/player-profile/matthew-suckling)
Achilles
test

Easton Wood (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/player-profile/easton-wood)
ankle
TBC

Marcus Adams (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/player-profile/marcus-adams)
foot
TBC

Tom Liberatore (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/player-profile/tom-liberatore)
ankle
TBC

Jack Macrae (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/player-profile/jackson-macrae)
hamstring
TBC

Kieran Collins (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/player-profile/kieran-collins)
shoulder
season

Jack Redpath (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/player-profile/jack-redpath)
knee
season

Mitch Wallis (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/player-profile/mitch-wallis)
broken leg
season

Robert Murphy (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/player-profile/robert-murphy)
knee
season

Josh Prudden (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/player-profile/joshua-prudden)
knee
season

* Injury list updated on Monday 22 August 2016

22-08-2016, 08:18 PM
We have an available! Progress!

22-08-2016, 08:18 PM
Will Dale Morris be back this weekend? Glad that Wood's injury is not as serious as initially thought.

22-08-2016, 08:41 PM
How long can Macrae and Libba be TBC? Surely they know!

22-08-2016, 08:54 PM
How long can Macrae and Libba be TBC? Surely they know!

That to me says they know.... :(

22-08-2016, 09:10 PM
My guesses, we might as well just guess it beats our official list
Round 23- Morris
QF/SF- Macrae
SF/PF- Wood
PF- Libba
2017- Adams

22-08-2016, 09:46 PM
My guesses, we might as well just guess it beats our official list
Round 23- Morris
QF/SF- Macrae
SF/PF- Wood
PF- Libba
2017- Adams

A first year player included into a Grand Final coming off injury. Brave. I like the cut of your jib.

22-08-2016, 09:48 PM
A first year player included into a Grand Final coming off injury. Brave. I like the cut of your jib.

Adams = 2017 not GF :(

22-08-2016, 10:27 PM
Does everyone remember the Sunshine Coast training camp and how everyone was so buoyant that we had the full list training? We could win the flag if that was September not January

23-08-2016, 12:25 PM
https://s10.postimg.org/zehdwd5u1/Wood_Injury2.jpg (https://postimg.org/image/cps6wsog5/)

23-08-2016, 05:54 PM
FFS, when did Kieran Collins go down? I was thinking yesterday that he might be called up for finals and play out of his skin. So much for that thought!

23-08-2016, 06:12 PM
FFS, when did Kieran Collins go down? I was thinking yesterday that he might be called up for finals and play out of his skin. So much for that thought!

Not reading my updates Merantau. :)

30-08-2016, 12:33 AM
Here is a good one, didn't know about the shoulder issue:

INJURY UPDATEKey Defender Marcus Adams will miss the rest of the 2016 Season after revealing he has undergone shoulder surgery on Instagram.
He has not played since Round 15 against the Sydney Swans due to a Foot Injury.

https://scontent-syd1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/14199609_1340177249333228_631411581583345555_n.jpg?oh=450205 cca9b76a5a4bae62e5e9317c9e&oe=5838DD22

30-08-2016, 12:51 AM
How the hell do you do a freaking shoulder while you've got a foot injury? Did he need a clean up anyway and they just pulled the pin due to his foot?

30-08-2016, 01:17 AM
Walking around on his hands to keep the pressure off his foot?

30-08-2016, 10:50 AM
How the hell do you do a freaking shoulder while you've got a foot injury? Did he need a clean up anyway and they just pulled the pin due to his foot?

I reckon you're spot on. My guess is they realised that his foot was going to keep him out for the rest of the season so they have gone early on the shoulder so he's hopefully good to go in the pre-season.

As an aside, has anyone ever injured more various body parts in their first AFL season than Adams?

30-08-2016, 10:52 AM
I reckon you're spot on. My guess is they realised that his foot was going to keep him out for the rest of the season so they have gone early on the shoulder so he's hopefully good to go in the pre-season.

As an aside, has anyone ever injured more various body parts in their first AFL season than Adams?

His number of different injuries doesnt bode well, does it? Hopefully it is just his body adjusting to the rigors of AFEL footy?

30-08-2016, 02:02 PM
Here is a good one, didn't know about the shoulder issue:

https://scontent-syd1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/14199609_1340177249333228_631411581583345555_n.jpg?oh=450205 cca9b76a5a4bae62e5e9317c9e&oe=5838DD22

I imagine Marcus really struggles to attract the interest of females.

30-08-2016, 02:16 PM
I imagine Marcus really struggles to attract the interest of females.

Do I sense a man crush EW?

30-08-2016, 02:25 PM
Do I sense a man crush EW?

I'm only human.

I mean, he's no Easton Wood, but he's ok I guess.

05-09-2016, 03:53 PM
Official injury status

Easton Wood ankle test
Tom Liberatore ankle test
Jack Macrae hamstring test
Marcus Adams foot season
Kieran Collins shoulder season
Jack Redpath knee season
Mitch Wallis broken leg season
Robert Murphy knee season
Josh Prudden knee season

* Injury list updated on Monday 5 September 2016

Looks like Libba, Macrae and Wood will all come in. With Stringer in as well that is 4 massive ins at the least. Would rather 80% Wood, Libba and Macrae than 100% Jong and Stevens based on what I saw of the Freo match.

Go Dogs.

05-09-2016, 03:57 PM
Official injury status

Easton Wood ankle test
Tom Liberatore ankle test
Jack Macrae hamstring test
Marcus Adams foot season
Kieran Collins shoulder season
Jack Redpath knee season
Mitch Wallis broken leg season
Robert Murphy knee season
Josh Prudden knee season

* Injury list updated on Monday 5 September 2016

Looks like Libba, Macrae and Wood will all come in. With Stringer in as well that is 4 massive ins at the least.

Go Dogs.

As much as I want Libba to play 1eye I just hope he has 100% ready to go. Will probably get a better idea from the training reports tomorrow.

09-09-2016, 12:23 AM
Bevo just mentioned Ling a suspected broken collar bone.

09-09-2016, 11:28 AM
From Stevo:

Tory Dickson was upbeat and ice free in rooms. Looks ok .. Eagles fans cheered when thought he'd strained hammy in dying minutes ..

Flogs

09-09-2016, 11:31 AM
A bunch of unsporting arseholes who have no appreciation for decency.

09-09-2016, 12:27 PM
A guy in an Eagles scarf leaving the pub last night (before the end of the game natch) took the opportunity to yell out "once in 60 years" as he passed through.

Last time we watched an Eagles game there a guy tried to fight my 160cm, 45kg girlfriend.

Eagles supporters are the worst.

09-09-2016, 12:34 PM
A guy in an Eagles scarf leaving the pub last night (before the end of the game natch) took the opportunity to yell out "once in 60 years" as he passed through.

Last time we watched an Eagles game there a guy tried to fight my 160cm, 45kg girlfriend.

Dead set? What is it with them?

09-09-2016, 12:41 PM

Just wait how ridiculous it sounds when they walk out saying '5 times in 64 years!'

09-09-2016, 06:27 PM
Lin Jong ‏@LinJong46 (https://twitter.com/LinJong46) 7m7 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/LinJong46/status/774145040163545089)
Thanks for everyone's messages and support, it's been much appreciated! Surgery went well

09-09-2016, 06:29 PM
As much as I want Libba to play 1eye I just hope he has 100% ready to go. Will probably get a better idea from the training reports tomorrow.

He certainly was ready to go and was a great contributor last night.

13-09-2016, 09:46 PM
Just watching the AFLPA MVP night and is that Marcus "Foot - 1 week" Adams I see sitting next to Bob Murphy?
He's got his arm in a sling!

If it is him, I guess the sling explains why he's missed the past 3-4 months!
Foot, my foot!

13-09-2016, 09:50 PM
Just watching the AFLPA MVP night and is that Marcus "Foot - 1 week" Adams I see sitting next to Bob Murphy?

Foot, my foot!

Nah it's been the foot. He had elective on the shoulder about two weeks ago as he was effectively ruled out for the year [with the foot] anyway.

14-09-2016, 06:34 PM
'No concerns at all' over injured ankle, says Bulldogs backman Wood (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-09-14/wood-declares-no-concerns-at-all-over-injured-ankle)

WESTERN Bulldogs captain Easton Wood has declared there are "no concerns at all" over his ankle and he'll be leading out his side in Friday night's semi-final against Hawthorn.

Wood missed the final round of the home and away season with the injury and appeared to be in discomfort at times during the elimination final win over West Coast.

The 27-year-old said he'd trained well this week, but conceded he was playing with some pain.

"I've got a little amount of discomfort, but it's nothing I haven't played with before," Wood said.

"It's been nice to get out there (on the training track), give it a test and I think playing on the Thursday night (after) having an eight-day break has probably helped as well.

"(There's) no concerns at all."

Fellow stars Tom Liberatore (ankle) and Jack Macrae (hamstring) were also racing the clock to be fit to face the Eagles, but Wood played down worries the second game back from serious injury could be a tougher assignment for the trio.

"I would have thought any concerns would have been about getting through (the West Coast final), because there's been another week to recover, get right and go again," Wood said.

"All the boys that came back in did a great job and got through the game more than OK."

Wood has only faced the Hawks twice in his 104-game career, with last meeting coming back in round 10, 2011.

Hamstring injuries have been particularly frustrating for the 2015 All Australian since his debut back in 2009.

And he's yet to play in a win against the reigning premiers, with Dogs on the wrong end of an eight-game losing streak that stretches back to 2010.

"I haven't played (against) them in a while (because) the last couple of years I've picked up little niggles unfortunately, but I'm wrapped to get out there and take them on," Wood said.

"I'm just one of those unfortunate ones who have missed a few games over my career, it's just one of those things."

19-09-2016, 12:49 PM
How good is it that this thread is redundant at the moment for the first time all year? Timing is everything.

19-09-2016, 06:31 PM
Hrovat to face test for VFL decider (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2016-09-19/hrovat-to-face-test-for-vfl-decider)
The Bulldogs have recorded a clean bill of health out of both weekend finals, while Nathan Hrovat will be monitored this week as he looks to recover from a shoulder injury to play in Sunday’s VFL Grand Final at Etihad Stadium.

A quieter week will be a welcome change for the Club’s medical staff, as Club continues its foray into finals at both AFL and VFL level.

“It was a great weekend for the Club, obviously with the VFL team getting up, and now preparing for the Grand Final, and the AFL team preparing for a preliminary final in Sydney,” General Manager, Football Graham Lowe told BulldogsTV on Monday.

“On an even better note we’ve come through really well from an injury perspective too.”

Hrovat suffered his shoulder injury in the VFL semi-final against Essendon, and will have to pass a fitness test later in the week to line-up on Sunday afternoon at Etihad Stadium in the VFL season decider.

“Nathan injured his shoulder in the final against Essendon a couple of weeks ago, [and] we’ve been managing him conservatively and was pulled out of the game at the weekend.

“We’re going to monitor him this week with a view to making a decision on him in the coming days [on his availability for Sunday].”

20-09-2016, 12:24 PM

Foot, my foot!

Marcus was on the train home with us on Friday night and he was in a moon boot and also had on a sling.
My pup and myself were joking that he must be feeling really left out as he was on the train with us plebs and the least the club could have done was get him a taxi voucher.

26-09-2016, 03:15 PM
Missed Games By Key Bulldogs Due To Injury In 2016

Robert Murphy 22

Marcus Adams 14

Clay Smith 13

Tom Boyd 11

Jason Johannisen 9

Jack Redpath 8

Matt Suckling 8

Mitch Wallis 8

Easton Wood 6

Tom Liberatore 5

Luke Dahlhaus 5

Jack Macrae 4

Tory Dickson 4

Dale Morris 3

Caleb Daniel 2

Jake Stringer 1

Matthew Boyd 1

Jordan Roughead 1

27-09-2016, 07:40 PM
Dogs 'optimistic' on availability of injured duo (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-09-27/dogs-optimistic-on-availability-of-injured-duo)

WESTERN Bulldogs ruckman Jordan Roughhead is yet to train this week, but the club is confident he will overcome an eye injury and play in Saturday's Grand Final against the Sydney Swans.

The 25-year-old sustained an eye bleed after being hit in the head with the ball at close range in the preliminary final win over Greater Western Sydney.

Bulldogs ruck coach Steven King said Roughead wouldn't train until the club's main session on Thursday, but was confident his protégé would recover in time to face the Swans.

"He's going well, he was (at the club) today," King said on Tuesday.

"We went through all the (match) edits and he did the review process with the group.

"He's feeling a lot better and he's really optimistic and I think the specialist is optimistic as well that he'll recover well.

"We've just got to make sure he can train and the process from there is that it doesn't bleed again."

The prognosis was also positive for Matt Suckling, with the defensive playmaker's troublesome Achilles settling down after he missed the win over the Giants.

The condition has forced two-time premiership Hawk to miss three of the past six weeks, and King said his likely inclusion would give the team some much-needed Grand Final experience.

"He'll train today. We didn't decide to go with him up in Sydney, but he's pretty optimistic as well to get through the session and push for selection," King said.

"I think anyone that's played finals footy is a real positive for our young group."

King said midfielder Lin Jong's collarbone had pulled well after his best on ground performance in the VFL Grand Final and he had done "everything he can" to be considered for senior selection.

In other training news, key duo Easton Wood and Tom Liberatore didn't train with the main group as they both have modified programs.
Wood was a no show while Liberatore spent the session on an exercise bike.

28-09-2016, 10:12 PM
Noticed on the news tonight that they had footage of Morris and saying he didn't seem to moving freely in relation to his foot problem.

28-09-2016, 10:22 PM
Noooooo

28-09-2016, 10:26 PM
Noooooo

He will be fine.

03-10-2016, 12:30 PM
He will be fine.
And so he was, despite two fractured verterbrae! What a legend.

03-10-2016, 12:32 PM
And so he was, despite two fractured verterbrae! What a legend.

Libba played with a twisted ankle - happened during prelim celebrations after the game. Didn't train much during the week, but what a performance in the GF

04-10-2016, 10:35 AM
The story behind Tom Liberatore’s remarkable recovery to play in 2016 AFL premiership for the Bulldogs (http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/the-story-behind-tom-liberatores-remarkable-recovery-to-play-in-2016-afl-premiership-for-the-bulldogs/news-story/700b462a4873aecf2e49a17f7ab02642)WHEN the Western Bulldogs journeyed to Geelong for the Round 19 Friday night game, they lost the match, two of their best players and seemingly any hope of grasping the grail.

Tom Liberatore and Jackson Macrae suffered serious ankle and hamstring injuries and, given all the other casualties and likelihood that they wouldn’t make top four, the Dogs appeared to have reached a tipping point, or to have finally toppled over.

Liberatore, who had been best afield in the first quarter and a half, went down with syndesmosis, the same ankle injury that ended Carlton skipper Marc Murphy’s season from Round 12. Macrae had torn his hamstring tendon — an injury which often means an absence of two months.

But, it was at this point — probably the season nadir for the Dogs — on July 29 that the club rolled the dice. In the car trip back, on the Geelong Road, the club medicos Dr Gary Zimmerman and Dr Jake Landsberger devised a plan to have Libba and Macrae fit for the finals.

On the way home, the doctors contacted the club’s surgeon David Young and, after a conversation, decided that Liberatore would undergo an unusual, seldom-used operation on his ankle in an attempt to fast track his return.

To hasten Liberatore’s recovery, Young would insert a piece of rope, or surgical string, into the ankle. The rope would hold the two bones in the ankle — the tibia and fibula — together, allowing the ligaments and membranes to heal.

Libba’s ankle — and his finals campaign — literally was held together by a piece of string.

The surgery was completed on the day after Liberatore’s injury, on the Saturday. No time would be wasted.

The operation and recovery program — brilliantly assisted by club’s physios — saw Liberatore return for the elimination final in Perth, while Macrae’s comeback was simply a case of strong rehab work and a calculated gamble that the young midfielder would recover in time.

Liberatore and Macrae would be crucial players in the Dogs’ month of miracles. Acting skipper Easton Wood and Dale Morris, too, had issues prior to the finals. Morris had fractured two vertebrae in his back against the Dockers in the final round, but, in a symbol of the Bulldogs’ defiant season, refused to be grounded.

Wood had an ankle injury that required heavy strapping and made it difficult for him to leap. The hanger he took in the preliminary final against the Giants was a rare instance of the athletic defender really taking flight during the finals.

While there has been much made of the pre-finals bye and of the benefits the Dogs received before the trip west to play West Coast, the plan had been for Liberatore, Macrae, Wood and Morris all to play finals, Wood having been grounded late in the season.

In the course of the finals, the fitness of Liberatore and Macrae improved; rather than struggling with their ailments, they were on the mend.

Morris played on, in the knowledge that the broken vertebrae ‘’wouldn’t get worse’’,as he told Channel Seven. ‘’It’s a pain management thing and we go for it.’’

Those with a knowledge of the club’s past would recall that LIberatore’s storied father Tony returned from a conventional knee reconstruction — which typically means missing 9-12 months — after only 16 weeks in 1999. If his son has a different — and greater — tool kit, he clearly has some of his father’s recuperative powers.

On numerous occasions this year, the Dogs’ season seemed to hang by a thread. In Liberatore and Macrae’s cases, both an inserted string and a healing hamstring hung together for that amazing month.

04-10-2016, 10:42 AM
Wow.

04-10-2016, 09:06 PM
Should be Premiership medals handed out to all our Medical Staff.
Without them we would not have won the Premiership this year.

05-10-2016, 12:00 PM
Sadly all players are unavailable to play for the next 6 months due to alcoholic poisoning but will be working hard to be ok for round 1 2017