View Full Version : Our jumper

12-03-2016, 11:22 PM
Let me be the first one to pick up on this:

I reckon we've tweaked our jumper. The hoops have been broadened.

Probably not the most important thing to have come out of today's game (we look okay, btw. Cue in the rack after half time etc.) but I think we've broadened our hoops by a cm or so. For me, that's a winner.

Anyone else notice that, or have I just had one too many beers to drown out a 2pt loss to Collingwood??

13-03-2016, 12:14 AM
You could be right Webby. The hoops were slightly lowered in 2015 compared to previous couple of seasons, but I didn't notice if they were wider.

13-03-2016, 01:21 AM
Have they gone back to how they were a couple of years ago?

13-03-2016, 08:57 AM
Yep, the hoops were definitely lowered for the start of last season. They remain lowered, however I reckon this season the hoops are also a bit fatter - which looks good.

I think the guernseys in the shops are still existing stock, but the ones the players wore yesterday have been tweaked a bit.... Or perhaps my eye was just tricked by the home jumper being combined with white shorts - something you don't often see nowadays, but something I think looks good.

bulldogsfight
14-03-2016, 07:58 PM
check out this site history of footy jumpers

http://www.footyjumpers.com/

14-03-2016, 08:49 PM

The Heritage version in 2004 remains the best one in my opinion

14-03-2016, 09:02 PM
With the black shorts

14-03-2016, 09:26 PM

Great site, thanks for the link.

25-07-2017, 06:07 PM
Multicultural Round

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DFj0UWvUMAAxZGv.jpg

29-11-2018, 05:28 PM
2019 Jumper

https://ci4.googleusercontent.com/proxy/0p6dDWVIvRbRE2hnoKEAuM54gHS1CUKO5p-xoqiHsGpVYc-TJmClA4aUV9uepTwVF_ut-XyzfPEKz1aX5Cn31N76rouiRwBHsPHWDiULumH66cZllUHpXfL_2dFJBDv92 MdfLWfteAnvOAEHkgGWXDOQQVp6i_nwNDgL8Yk=s0-d-e1-ft#http://image.tmclient.ticketmaster.com/lib/fe9515707d640c7871/m/9/baf84175-c1ce-45e2-8caa-00b720f14eb8.jpg

29-11-2018, 05:31 PM
2019 Jumper

https://ci4.googleusercontent.com/proxy/0p6dDWVIvRbRE2hnoKEAuM54gHS1CUKO5p-xoqiHsGpVYc-TJmClA4aUV9uepTwVF_ut-XyzfPEKz1aX5Cn31N76rouiRwBHsPHWDiULumH66cZllUHpXfL_2dFJBDv92 MdfLWfteAnvOAEHkgGWXDOQQVp6i_nwNDgL8Yk=s0-d-e1-ft#http://image.tmclient.ticketmaster.com/lib/fe9515707d640c7871/m/9/baf84175-c1ce-45e2-8caa-00b720f14eb8.jpg

TBH I'm not much a fan of it, the stripes look too low, it seems the wrong shade of blue and that red triangle looks ridiculous.

29-11-2018, 05:58 PM
TBH I'm not much a fan of it, the stripes look too low, it seems the wrong shade of blue and that red triangle looks ridiculous.

Agree! Like the 2016 Royal Blue we had.

Also, I would like the hoops higher up the jumper. It looks best when a bit of the number overlaps over the red hoop!

29-11-2018, 06:25 PM
The skipper looks like he's donning a size too big and stretching it downward so it may not be the most representative snap of the fit/proportions.

I half suspect that's a photoshop job too which may skew the proportions further.

Agree that blue is bloody lurid.

29-11-2018, 06:30 PM
My recommendations would be make the red and white stripes 25% wider and lift them a bit higher on the jumper.
Change the blue to traditional royal blue. I think Melbourne's blue would be very close now to ours.

I'm not sure about the red triangle, I'd leave it as blue.

29-11-2018, 06:57 PM
well there goes out season.........

29-11-2018, 09:12 PM
The skipper looks like he's donning a size too big and stretching it downward so it may not be the most representative snap of the fit/proportions.

I half suspect that's a photoshop job too which may skew the proportions further.

Agree that blue is bloody lurid.

That's absolutely Photoshop and a crap one at that. I think. I dunno. Maybe.

They should have contracted you, Rocket.

29-11-2018, 09:35 PM
The blue is aweful

30-11-2018, 09:48 AM
Red cuffs/collar.
Royal blue.
Hoops about an inch thicker and an inch higher.

Reverse with red and white for 2nd and 3rd strips. Easy. But no.

30-11-2018, 11:06 AM
My recommendations would be make the red and white stripes 25% wider and lift them a bit higher on the jumper.
Change the blue to traditional royal blue. I think Melbourne's blue would be very close now to ours.

I'm not sure about the red triangle, I'd leave it as blue.

I am exactly 100% with you on every point.

Stripes are too narrow and TOO LOW!!! They should be right up under the armpit. Any lower and they would be waist hoops.

The blue is too lurid, it's a cheap loud Kmart blue, and the red's a bit too lurid for mine as well.

The red triangle should go.

There are 4 elements fighting each other.

The mission logo, the white asic 'swoop' (if that's what it is) The AFL logo and the Mission logo.

It's way too busy. Ditch the red triangle and put that SWOOP thing somewhere else on the jumper.

Any one know who's actual job it is to keep tweaking these jumpers?

30-11-2018, 12:31 PM
Reckon it's time we put Asics under review. The red triangle looks wrong, and the hoops are too skinny ...again. Don't rate much of the merch they produce either.

Won't have to twist anyone's arm to go over 2016 GF footage - check the hoops on that little number though. I swear they widened those for that day alone. Damn fine looking strip.

Just as an aside, I don't mind what Melbourne have done with their clash jumper (the light blue) Wouldn't mind us trying that instead of the white.

30-11-2018, 02:02 PM
There is no truer 'base issue' among Bulldogs Fans than what the exact width of the hoops on the jumper should be

30-11-2018, 03:30 PM
Leave it alone. Freeze 2016 in time for a bit longer please. Anyway take comfort. Carlton have to wear their goose liver grey for another year.

30-11-2018, 05:15 PM
There is no truer 'base issue' among Bulldogs Fans than what the exact width of the hoops on the jumper should be

We Riot!!!!

Ha Ha.

01-12-2018, 01:32 PM
I remember in the 70s I thought the stripes were a bit low as well.
Go back to wool and stitched on foam numbers with black shorts and ankle protecting black boots , smokes at quarter time, dressing gowns and duffle coats.
Coach walks out in a suit , fans run on the ground and watch the team talks , 20c pies , standing on steel cans and watching two old ladies bash each other over the head with umbrellas I say.

01-12-2018, 02:11 PM
I remember in the 70s I thought the stripes were a bit low as well.
Go back to wool and stitched on foam numbers with black shorts and ankle protecting black boots , smokes at quarter time, dressing gowns and duffle coats.
Coach walks out in a suit , fans run on the ground and watch the team talks , 20c pies , standing on steel cans and watching two old ladies bash each other over the head with umbrellas I say.

Sounds like fun to me.

02-12-2018, 10:49 PM
Reckon it's time we put Asics under review. The red triangle looks wrong, and the hoops are too skinny ...again. Don't rate much of the merch they produce either.

Won't have to twist anyone's arm to go over 2016 GF footage - check the hoops on that little number though. I swear they widened those for that day alone. Damn fine looking strip.

Just as an aside, I don't mind what Melbourne have done with their clash jumper (the light blue) Wouldn't mind us trying that instead of the white.

does ASIC do what the club designs

03-12-2018, 12:34 PM
I guess it could be worse..........................

https://proxy.bigfooty.com/forum/proxy.php?image=https%3A%2F%2Fproxy.bigfooty.com%2Fforum%2Fp roxy.php%3Fimage%3Dhttps%253A%252F%252Fpbs.twimg.com%252Fmed ia%252FDtOiroGVYAA2XOI.jpg%26hash%3D482fdc636a8215a1aa02ebb6 1580f2e5&hash=1370c06c97fedc61e9fe77f067b0e119

03-12-2018, 01:46 PM
Ah yes, the back bib. A truly intimidating piece of apparel there.

03-12-2018, 01:59 PM

https://proxy.bigfooty.com/forum/proxy.php?image=https%3A%2F%2Fproxy.bigfooty.com%2Fforum%2Fp roxy.php%3Fimage%3Dhttps%253A%252F%252Fpbs.twimg.com%252Fmed ia%252FDtOiroGVYAA2XOI.jpg%26hash%3D482fdc636a8215a1aa02ebb6 1580f2e5&hash=1370c06c97fedc61e9fe77f067b0e119

That’s absolutely horrible .. who dreams these yo and worst of all who approved them?
I wonder if the players get a say at all .

03-12-2018, 03:43 PM
Oh god that's awful

03-12-2018, 07:20 PM
Ah yes, the back bib. A truly intimidating piece of apparel there.

I wonder if it's to give the training staff easy access to their GPS manzier/bro?

Seriously that looks shithouse

03-12-2018, 07:49 PM
I wonder if it's to give the training staff easy access to their GPS manzier/bro?

Seriously that looks shithouse

It was certainly the only reason I could think of to do that

03-12-2018, 09:06 PM
It's a knockoff of the recent-ish Nike NBA jerseys. Because every single AFL players' secret shame is that they don't play in the NBA.

05-12-2018, 12:43 PM
Looks like a giant folded nappy

07-12-2018, 11:20 AM
I think it's hilarious people are up in arms about a tiny piece of red material. If we win 16 games, I couldn't care less whether some tiny triangle is under their chins.

07-12-2018, 11:46 AM
I think it's hilarious people are up in arms about a tiny piece of red material. If we win 16 games, I couldn't care less whether some tiny triangle is under their chins.

I'm not sure some expressing their opinion actually equal 'up in arms' but I'm still neutral on it.

07-12-2018, 02:16 PM
I, for one, am "up in arms".

Our guernsey's a thing of beauty, the finest bloody jumper in the comp. Stop needlessly farting around with it.

07-12-2018, 02:26 PM
I agree, wrong colour blue, the stripes arent in the right spot and the red triangle looks riduclous.

Im melting.

07-12-2018, 05:57 PM
I agree, wrong colour blue, the stripes arent in the right spot and the red triangle looks riduclous.

Im melting.

agree, why keep tinkering

12-03-2019, 10:33 PM
Round 1 Jumper - Thor inspired at Marvel

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D1c4hs-U4AMc3Di.jpg

12-03-2019, 10:34 PM
https://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/WesternBulldogs/Hero/2017_HERO/HERO_120319MarvelWood.jpg

12-03-2019, 10:41 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D1c6LWJVAAEJuRK.jpg

Do we have to wear that?!?! Thought Sponsors paid for the Stadium name and NOT to impose their crap on a tenant club!

Is there a way to wear our traditional jumper!

12-03-2019, 10:43 PM
Do we have to wear that?!?! Thought Sponsors paid for the Stadium name and NOT to impose their crap on a tenant club!

Is there a way to wear our traditional jumper!

A bit of fun, kids will love it and as long as we win why not?

CEO of Disney australia is a board member, so hopefully some dollars flow our way.

12-03-2019, 10:45 PM
A bit of fun, kids will love it and as long as we win why not?

CEO of Disney australia is a board member, so hopefully some dollars flow our way.

Apologies for the silly question, but is Disney and Marvel one in the same thing?

I am aware Kate Watson-Wheeler is our Vice President but did not know of the link.

12-03-2019, 10:49 PM
Apologies for the silly question, but is Disney and Marvel one in the same thing?

I am aware Kate Watson-Wheeler is our Vice President but did not know of the link.

Yes it is

In 2009, The Walt Disney Company acquired Marvel Entertainment for US$4 billion; it has been a limited liability company (LLC) since then. For financial reporting purposes, Marvel is primarily reported as part of Disney's Consumer Products segment ever since Marvel Studios' reorganization into Walt Disney Studios.

12-03-2019, 11:00 PM
So what age are kids when they’re allowed to go to night games? I’m not taking my 5YO to any night games this season.

The coin, yeah I guess...just so sick of selling our soul for it.

It’s a ridiculous strip and I’m pretty disappointed we agreed to it

12-03-2019, 11:03 PM
I don’t mind it - I like the idea of incorporating themed designs into our usual design for occasions throughout the year. A good way to make a bit of coin and it’s not like we’re ditching our home strip.

Personally only see positives out of it, even if I don’t like some of the designs.

12-03-2019, 11:07 PM
As long as it makes the club a motza, I'm happy.

12-03-2019, 11:33 PM
Round 1 Jumper - Thor inspired at Marvel

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D1c4hs-U4AMc3Di.jpg

Stick the coin, I loathe this with the fire of a thousand suns.

Perhaps they'll sling us a bit more pocket change if we change our name to the Disney Marvels for the day as well. Have the blokes wear capes during the warm ups.

It's voluntary ridicule, even if the jumpers didn't look like a cheap knock-off souvenir.

12-03-2019, 11:34 PM
Not a fan of that jumper.

12-03-2019, 11:37 PM
Wondering if they’ll make Sydney wear their white background strip as this dumpster fire of a top comes with a red back.

12-03-2019, 11:37 PM
Hopefully we're not the only Marvel Stadium tenant that is doing it. Looks woeful.

12-03-2019, 11:57 PM
I like the look of it and I think it's a great initiative

12-03-2019, 11:59 PM
This is salvageable if we add wings to the side of Caleb's helmet.

13-03-2019, 12:02 AM
Yeah, this is not dampening my blood lust.

Sack someone. All for earth’s mightiest heroes. But Footscray’s hero’s wear hoops in red, white and blue. That’s what the fans have repeatedly told the club and this is a real kick in the guts in the era of “fan engagement.”

13-03-2019, 12:02 AM
Ehhhhh no, this is a no from me. Cannot get behind this at all, whilst the money is good it feels like we're selling out to do it.

13-03-2019, 12:19 AM
We’d better be getting a lot from this. That is awful.

If it’s do this or sell a home game, I’m ok with it. But otherwise, this is just horrible. Made even worse by the fact it’s round one.

13-03-2019, 12:39 AM
Looks terrible, loathe it with a passion.
No problem with them selling it in the shops but round 1, we have all been hanging out to see our team run out in our colours and they are wearing that. It looks comical.

13-03-2019, 12:44 AM
Looks terrible, loathe it with a passion.
No problem with them selling it in the shops but round 1, we have all been hanging out to see our team run out in our colours and they are wearing that. It looks comical.

10 points.

Agree, make them, sell them etc. But these things aren't fit for competition points.

13-03-2019, 12:46 AM
I don't mind it. Each to their own I suppose. Whatever helps sell our brand, I'm down. We need as much marketing we can get to advertise our brand and if this stunt can get some neutral kids on the dogs bandwagon and it helps grow our rather low membership base (compared to the bigger clubs), well why not. We have one of the biggest Hollywood Super hero's Thor, played by Chris Hemsworth, who is a huge doggies supporter, also Marvel are now the sponser of our home ground, so we would be mad if we don't try leverage as much publicity out of this as possible.

13-03-2019, 12:53 AM
Yeah nah. Laughing stock

13-03-2019, 01:25 AM
I'm ok with it, saw it up close and our leadership group endorsed it. My only issue ....the shorts need to match. Otherwise very smart move Marvel is huge and if we want to move out of gaming we need to find alternative revenue streams.

13-03-2019, 04:41 AM
Only we could divert the terrific news of Lachie Hunter signing and get the focus on a jumper. I don't like it, the cross promotion was always going to happen but why not do this closer to round 1? Now everyone publicly is discussing this and Hunter resigning is a blurb.

Also why not Captain America? Makes more sense considering the red, white and blue.

13-03-2019, 06:22 AM
Only we could divert the terrific news of Lachie Hunter signing and get the focus on a jumper. I don't like it, the cross promotion was always going to happen but why not do this closer to round 1? Now everyone publicly is discussing this and Hunter resigning is a blurb.

Also why not Captain America? Makes more sense considering the red, white and blue.

Maybe because Thor is a doggie supporter

13-03-2019, 06:25 AM
I like it. Its all a bit of fun.

13-03-2019, 08:57 AM
Can we plonk Hemsworth at Full Forward for round 1 also?

13-03-2019, 09:36 AM
It's a big no from me.. I think it looks terrible.

13-03-2019, 09:50 AM
I just don't think I could care less.
If they sell guernseys and kids like it, great.
I've seen worse, the Origin one comes to mind.
There are far more worthy things to get your nose out of joint about.

The only potential negative is, we come out looking like Superheroes but play like a bunch of Mr. Bean's and then get pilloried by the media using awful puns.

13-03-2019, 10:00 AM
I don't mind it. Each to their own I suppose. Whatever helps sell our brand, I'm down. We need as much marketing we can get to advertise our brand and if this stunt can get some neutral kids on the dogs bandwagon and it helps grow our rather low membership base (compared to the bigger clubs), well why not. We have one of the biggest Hollywood Super hero's Thor, played by Chris Hemsworth, who is a huge doggies supporter, also Marvel are now the sponser of our home ground, so we would be mad if we don't try leverage as much publicity out of this as possible.

Agree. $$$$$'s for our Club and Marvel. If we win I don't care if we play in body paint.

13-03-2019, 10:28 AM
I just don't think I could care less.
If they sell guernseys and kids like it, great.
I've seen worse, the Origin one comes to mind.
There are far more worthy things to get your nose out of joint about.

The only potential negative is, we come out looking like Superheroes but play like a bunch of Mr. Bean's and then get pilloried by the media using awful puns.
Two questions, within the context of the footy club.

1. What are the more worthy things, that fans can reasonably expect to have a voice in?
2. Where do we draw the line about what is worthy of care?

If it simply boils down to wins and losses and performance, I'm not sure how exactly we survived the drought, the fightback, the smorgo years etc.

Did we ever wear the Origin jumper in a game for competition points? I think we might have at Geelong when Darc did his knee. That was presented to us as a clash strip/preseason strip. Same as the (excellent) Red Terror. Was still awful but sits on the periphery for mine. Even allowing for that, this promotion harks back to to those days, and as a brand I don't think that's something we want to reprise.

Beyond that, on a handful of occasions the fans have been asked what they want. The responses have always been affirming of the traditional tricoloured, hoops. Even way back in Year of the Dogs and that merger survey that went out, it was a strong message. In the era of "fan engagement" this being forced on our eyeballs and into our history is a real shame.

13-03-2019, 10:29 AM
Meh, pay us for the one round we wear it I don't care. As long as Sydney wear their white strip as the back of our jumper is a red cape.

13-03-2019, 10:42 AM
If we lose people will be upset and we'll look stupid. If we win no one will care.

Also hopeful we actually get something out of this

13-03-2019, 10:43 AM
I don't mind it as a concept, but the jumper itself looks like arse.

A good looking jumper, a good performance on the day, and Chris Hemsworth in attendance promoting both the initiative and the club would've been great publicity. Sadly I suspect we'll turn this into something cringeworthy.

13-03-2019, 10:44 AM
Sydney will be wearing an all white guernsey.

13-03-2019, 01:44 PM
Back when I was a kid we didn't need fictional super heroes. I got to see mine every Saturday, and the only addition he needed to his jumper was that magical number 3 on the back. Of course EJ wasn't only my super hero. Every youngster at the ground (including those actually on the ground) walked just a little taller when the "3" was present.

Sadly our super hero wasn't immortal, but he was real.

13-03-2019, 02:46 PM
Sydney will be wearing an all white guernsey.
Common sense has prevailed if this is the case.

I don't have a problem with the occasional marketing exercise that generates revenue and PR for the club, but literally the only other club who has a red back with white number combo is Sydney, so if they were wearing their normal jumpers it would have been as idiotic as scheduling a Ballarat game to start at 3.20pm in the depths of winter.

13-03-2019, 02:58 PM
I think it's horrible. Maybe the leadership group did agree to it, but Easton looks like he's just thrown up in his mouth.

13-03-2019, 04:28 PM
Can someone point me to an article, club statement or similar where it suggests we are actually getting a significant financial windfall? I get that it's a good reason to bring something as horrible as that into the world, but I just haven't read anything that says that this is actually happening. If we haven't been promised something worthwhile, that'd be very disappointing. Not as disappointing as our comm's team languishing Lachie's 5 year deal news almost instantly with this shite. But, that's kind of a given with our comm's of recent years.

13-03-2019, 05:18 PM
Can someone point me to an article, club statement or similar where it suggests we are actually getting a significant financial windfall? I get that it's a good reason to bring something as horrible as that into the world, but I just haven't read anything that says that this is actually happening. If we haven't been promised something worthwhile, that'd be very disappointing. Not as disappointing as our comm's team languishing Lachie's 5 year deal news almost instantly with this shite. But, that's kind of a given with our comm's of recent years.

Why wouldn't you want the club to explore opportunities like this? I get it's not the most amazing jumper of all time but how amazing we are aligned with the world's biggest movie franchise, and their lead man is a Bulldogs supporter..... C'mon it's bloody awesome.

13-03-2019, 05:39 PM

I doubt we're getting much at all apart from some sales of the jumper itself. Kids will probably like it and of course Marvel/Disney will for getting their brand out there. You mentioned the news of Hunter 5 year deal getting pretty much squashed. I logged into Facebook this morning and all I could see was people discussing the jumper. I logged into Twitter after work and it's all I saw also. Lachie committing for 5 more years is huge for us instead everyone's focus is on this dam thing we'll be wearing in Round 1.

13-03-2019, 05:43 PM
Why wouldn't you want the club to explore opportunities like this? I get it's not the most amazing jumper of all time but how amazing we are aligned with the world's biggest movie franchise, and their lead man is a Bulldogs supporter..... C'mon it's bloody awesome.

My point being I'd want it to make money. If we are for sale (and we are, as Packer said, there's a bit of whore in us all), I want to be well paid for. We've explored selling games in almost all parts of the country, explored building pokies venues, explored bringing in people from Nike because they'd bring in big dollar sponsors etc. We've been good at exploring, not as much as cashing in. I'm hoping that this is a cashing in exercise, that's all. Yay capitalism. And why drown out the great Hunter re-signing news with this?

13-03-2019, 05:44 PM
I doubt we're getting much at all apart from some sales of the jumper itself. Kids will probably like it and of course Marvel/Disney will for getting their brand out there. You mentioned the news of Hunter 5 year deal getting pretty much squashed. I logged into Facebook this morning and all I could see was people discussing the jumper. I logged into Twitter after work and it's all I saw also. Lachie committing for 5 more years is huge for us instead everyone's focus is on this dam thing we'll be wearing in Round 1.

Is it that hard to put out one story at a time?

13-03-2019, 05:53 PM
Is it that hard to put out one story at a time?

I don't get why this could not have waited until next week say on Monday or Tuesday. The jumper is horrible, people voting it one of the worst ever. I was expecting cross promotions but nothing like this. I had thoughts of Marvel mascots at the ground or cool side attractions like a mini Avengers Station, never did I think we'd desecrate our jumper like this.

13-03-2019, 06:09 PM
A team full of Thors, the kids will love it!!

13-03-2019, 06:34 PM

Not the most amazing jumper of all time? I admire the understatement.

It's awful beyond belief, and unlikely to look any less embarrassing if we get pantsed by the Swans while wearing it.

We're also trying to earn back a bit of respect at the moment, both inside and outside the fold.

So sure, lets trot out in comical sponsored dress-up to launch our 2019 campaign.

We're long suffering tenants under a shitty deal in a stadium they bought the naming rights to, and now we're their costumed bannermen. Yeah, it's bloody awesome.

Why'd we agree to this again? Oh they'll make it worth our while, right.

13-03-2019, 06:35 PM
A team full of Thors, the kids will love it!!

Yes! The kids! Won't somebody think of the children.

13-03-2019, 07:11 PM
I F%$#$%^ing HATE IT.

13-03-2019, 07:25 PM
My point being I'd want it to make money. If we are for sale (and we are, as Packer said, there's a bit of whore in us all), I want to be well paid for. We've explored selling games in almost all parts of the country, explored building pokies venues, explored bringing in people from Nike because they'd bring in big dollar sponsors etc. We've been good at exploring, not as much as cashing in. I'm hoping that this is a cashing in exercise, that's all. Yay capitalism. And why drown out the great Hunter re-signing news with this?

They didn't drown it out. At the season launch there were two annoucements, the biggest being Lachie resigning and then they spoke about the jumper as an aside.
I certainly can relate to the tradition of the jumper, but that ship sailed long long ago. Hemsworth is a dogs "supporter". We are playing at MARVEL stadium. Would have been an opportunity missed if we didn't do it. And by the way capitalism isn't all that bad, I hope you're not wearing brand name shoes or typing on an iPhone.

13-03-2019, 08:04 PM
I think it's horrible. Maybe the leadership group did agree to it, but Easton looks like he's just thrown up in his mouth.

Wood is a big Marvel fan, I think you will find he thinks it's a good idea

13-03-2019, 08:16 PM
They didn't drown it out. At the season launch there were two annoucements, the biggest being Lachie resigning and then they spoke about the jumper as an aside.
I certainly can relate to the tradition of the jumper, but that ship sailed long long ago. Hemsworth is a dogs "supporter". We are playing at MARVEL stadium. Would have been an opportunity missed if we didn't do it. And by the way capitalism isn't all that bad, I hope you're not wearing brand name shoes or typing on an iPhone.

I love capitalism, don't know where that came from. That's why I said "yay". So much so that I'd love the club to embrace it too. That's where ideas get turned into lots of money. Ideas like playing home games at Canberra, SCG, Darwin, Cairns or pokies, Edgewater and silly jumpers not making nearly enough money make us rely on socialist deals at our home ground. I think every member wants to see the club make more money. We cashed in after a flag, I'm up for more of those to help us along. I don't see this as one that will age overly well. We will see.

If our comm's people didn't think a stupid jumper would outstrip a positive news story for our club, they underestimate the stupidity of the footy media and stupid footy fans generally. Which in a sense, makes them pretty stupid on this specific point. We are fighting to get our footy cred back, releasing both stories on the same day doesn't help us. I don't think it's a remarkable thing to observe, others have noticed it too. It's just another own goal. The die hards just have to remember that we got a good long term signing, and hopefully infer from that it's a vote of confidence in the future by Lachie in the direction of the group.

13-03-2019, 08:20 PM
BTW where's our new stadium deal? If we're doing this without a new deal the stadium simply has to be burned to the ground.

13-03-2019, 08:23 PM
BTW where's our new stadium deal? If we're doing this without a new deal the stadium simply has to be burned to the ground.

Honour system. Gil will good for his word.

On that Gil got the revenge he wanted over the GWS Prelim Banner:

Our club was born in blood & boots,
With jumpers contrived in Marvel & AFEL focus groups.

13-03-2019, 08:32 PM
Part of jumper sales go to charity- anything wrong with that.

Lets focus on the game and stop worrying about a once off jumper. ( Shakes head indisbelief )

13-03-2019, 08:43 PM
Part of sales go to charity- anything wrong with that.

Lets focas on the game and stop worrying about a once off jumper. ( Shakes head indisbelief )

Focas (shakes head in disbelief) :D

Half of not much is better than nothing. Now if only there was a great re-signing to focas on. :D

13-03-2019, 09:38 PM
Good on the club for trying to get into the media and a bit of attention. Kids are going to love this idea. Dammed if you do, dammed if you don’t. They say there is not such thing as bad publicity.

Great news Lachie signing on. We could do with a few more good news stories. Mind you we don’t make the media too often so why would we release two stories in one day, that makes no sense what’s so ever.

13-03-2019, 09:42 PM
Sorry, it looks crap.

It's going to look even crapper if we get pantsed and the headlines will write themselves.

Talk about painting yourself into a bloody corner.

If I were the players, I'd feel pretty stupid running around in kit like that. The fellas need all they can muster to play tall and come out firing in the first week and this is sure as sh*t is not going to help one iota.

13-03-2019, 10:07 PM
Sorry, it looks crap.

It's going to look even crapper if we get pantsed and the headlines will write themselves.

Talk about painting yourself into a bloody corner.

If I were the players, I'd feel pretty stupid running around in kit like that. The fellas need all they can muster to play tall and come out firing in the first week and this is sure as sh*t is not going to help one iota.

I hadn't thought of what the players would actually feel. Or I assume the 120 minutes of trash talk the boys are going to cop, especially after every goal, free, missed tackle etc. Hopefully Sydney will be pretty respectful. From memory when Garry Hocking changed his name to 'Whiskers' for a game for money and the brand publicity, I think he copped it on field and didn't play too well.

13-03-2019, 10:56 PM
Love that our club is being so progressive - much better than being irrelevant like St Kilda or North Melbourne.

14-03-2019, 12:08 AM
I normally don’t like anything that disrespects or devalues our traditional strip.

If the $$ on offer to the Club for this marketing gimmick stacked up then I’m Ok with it as a kind of one off but I haven’t read anywhere to suggest it was an offer from Marvel too good to refuse.

If we’ve sold out for the sale of a few jumpers and a gimmicky marketing exercise akin to the worst parts of AFLX then I would be very disappointed that our marketing / commercial area has taken this path.

If they want a child friendly strip to sell a few more jumpers release it for use during the JLT as a pre-season strip.

14-03-2019, 12:18 AM
I can't believe that people are for this.

Seriously???

It's pathetic. It's embarrassing.

As pointed out by others just over 2 years ago we celebrated our banner for highlighting our identity and integrity for "being born in blood and boots...not focus groups". Now we are going to open our season running out in the AFL equivalent of a "free car wash" sign. You can't have it both ways, we can't be the antithesis of the plastic Giants while also being genuises for cashing in on this Marvel gimmick.

If we are prepared to do this for money what next? If Cadbury offer us the money are we running out in Cherry Ripe themed jumpers? I know the NRL clubs have done the Marvel thing before, and it was tacky as hell.

I am all for jumpers for a cause, the Indigenous jumpers, the pride jumpers etc. They all have a purpose that isn't purely selling out.

I dunno. We are a club that is desperately trying to reclaim some respect and this does the opposite to that. Everyone I've talked to has laughed about it. We are literally a laughing stock. Since the Grand Final we could not have been more frustrating both on and off field and this just feels like another case of the club going the opposite way to the majority of it's already exasperated fanbase.

I think I'm pretty firmly in the "Oh F*ck off" category on this topic.

14-03-2019, 12:27 AM
You will never forget it either. This type of abomination sticks in people's memories forever.
No one forgets the Hawthorn power ranger or the diamond jockey top, or how about Carlton's light blue m&m's outfit!

Those bad designs pale into insignificance when comparing to a cartoon characters imitation costume!

I'm all for promoting it for sale in the shops, slapping it on woofer and the dancing pups around the ground etc etc, but not on the players. They have gone too far this time and I think they have misjudged people's reaction big time.

14-03-2019, 01:03 AM
I like it. Its a modern take on our colours and whilst I wouldn't want it trotted out in a GF, its ok.

14-03-2019, 01:20 AM
Doug certainly isn't a fan of the jumper.

14-03-2019, 03:31 AM
"Messing with the jumper risks messing with the fabric.". Greg Baum. I bet you spent hours coming up with that one.

Well, hope we get some Asgardian inspiration in our backline. Otherwise Easton might wish he'd worn something a little less memorable. NRL players as heroes? yeah I have no problem with that. I am sure Thor has a sex tape stashed somewhere. Demi-gods are only human.

14-03-2019, 10:06 AM
I normally don’t like anything that disrespects or devalues our traditional strip.

If the $$ on offer to the Club for this marketing gimmick stacked up then I’m Ok with it as a kind of one off but I haven’t read anywhere to suggest it was an offer from Marvel too good to refuse.

If we’ve sold out for the sale of a few jumpers and a gimmicky marketing exercise akin to the worst parts of AFLX then I would be very disappointed that our marketing / commercial area has taken this path.

If they want a child friendly strip to sell a few more jumpers release it for use during the JLT as a pre-season strip.

makea wish will get some benefit from sales, other $$$ not sure

14-03-2019, 10:12 AM
Hun reporting a 1.3 mill dollar loss in merchandise revenue last year part of the reasoning.

Excerpt :

God of Thunder to one side, the Bulldogs’ latest annual report reveals why the club needs the cash registers roaring early in the season.

The Bulldogs had a 53 per cent decrease in merchandise sales last year — about $1.3 million in lost revenue.

The Dogs reported an overall profit of $2.2 million (excluding redevelopment grants), its fourth consecutive seven-figure result despite a second consecutive year of no finals.

The 2018 financial report said the club would focus on “creating new and exciting merchandise offers”.

“With some milestone games likely in 2019 and the first ever AFL game at Marvel Stadium on Round 1, there are strong opportunities to create some special merchandise offerings above the club’s match day apparel,”

14-03-2019, 10:25 AM
Of course our merchandise revenue was going to drop off significantly after a flag. Everybody bought up big after 2016, it would have dropped off even if we went back to back. I bet Richmond's merch revenue drops off significantly this year as well.

I don't have an issue with trying to generate some additional income with initiatives such as these. We can't afford to be too proud, we might be travelling well financially at present but it won't take much for us find ourselves in trouble again in the future if we get complacent.

Full article quoted by GG above:

Western Bulldogs pushing to reverse a massive drop in merchandise sales during the 2018 season (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/teams/western-bulldogs/western-bulldogs-pushing-to-reverse-a-massive-drop-in-merchandise-sales-during-the-2018-season/news-story/6904d753afdc9c00790905c2af60f595)

The Western Bulldogs’ controversial Thor jumper is a key plank in the club’s push to reverse a superhero-size drop in merchandise sales.

The Round 1 guernsey riffs on Marvel’s Norse god’s armour on the front and his crimson cape at the back.

Sydney will wear a strip with a white back to avoid a jumper clash at Marvel Stadium on March 23.

God of Thunder to one side, the Bulldogs’ latest annual report reveals why the club needs the cash registers roaring early in the season.

The Bulldogs had a 53 per cent decrease in merchandise sales last year — about $1.3 million in lost revenue.

The Dogs reported an overall profit of $2.2 million (excluding redevelopment grants), its fourth consecutive seven-figure result despite a second consecutive year of no finals.

The 2018 financial report said the club would focus on “creating new and exciting merchandise offers”.

“With some milestone games likely in 2019 and the first ever AFL game at Marvel Stadium on Round 1, there are strong opportunities to create some special merchandise offerings above the club’s match day apparel,” the report said

Chris Hemsworth — who plays Thor in the Marvel movies — is a Bulldogs fan and it’s hoped the jumper will give the club a platform to reach young fans.

The Bulldogs leadership group was consulted about the jumper.

“The club worked closely with the players to come up with the design of the guernsey, and it has been enthusiastically supported by the playing group,” captain Easton Wood said.

The club said a portion of the proceeds of jumper sales would go to the Make A Wish foundation.

The one-off jumper has polarised opinion among fans and Bulldogs legend Doug Hawkins said he wouldn’t wear the jumper

“Footy has changed and society has changed,” Hawkins told SEN. “I am living back in the ’80s when we were all playing footy and we probably wouldn’t do that. We wouldn’t wear a jumper like that.

“If it’s a one-off thing for a promotion to promote the club, the game or sponsors and stuff like that, you’d do it.

“But you wouldn’t wear it more than once, surely?”

14-03-2019, 10:32 AM
It would be interesting to know if we hadn't missed our merchandise budget by 50% if we would have considered the new jumper but I suspect we would have.

14-03-2019, 10:35 AM
So we are hoping this makes money is my interpretation from that article. I was hoping there'd be a guaranteed cheque for selling out a little bit. I haven't read all the details, but will Chris Hemsworth appear at half time and with a rotating camera pan across the crowd for people wearing the new jumper and pick one jumper wearer to get a $2,000 Geelong Travel Gift Card and photos with him after the game? Is that how we are trying to increase sales and return on investment? It might add a fair bit if this is bigger than just a jumper.

Ah, the M&M light club Carlton jumper... I wonder how much they got for that?

14-03-2019, 11:00 AM
Ah, the M&M light club Carlton jumper... I wonder how much they got for that?
According to their accountant minus $5,000,000

14-03-2019, 11:05 AM
Wood is a big Marvel fan, I think you will find he thinks it's a good idea

Okay, I'll take your word for it, but he looks like he's gritting his teeth to me.

14-03-2019, 11:07 AM
It would be interesting to know if we hadn't missed our merchandise budget by 50% if we would have considered the new jumper but I suspect we would have.

I'd suspect its largely the premiership merchandising drop off

We are likely also currying favour with the AFL - in supporting their new partner

14-03-2019, 11:22 AM
It looks ridiculous and it is ridiculous. The players will now surely enter by flying in over the stands with jetpacks on their backs, land on a podium and start belting out meatloaf songs before the bounce. What b/s.

14-03-2019, 11:32 AM
I have read through this thread...

I have to admit, I don't get the outrage.

1/. It's one game.
2/. It's a bit of fun.
3/. It has everyone talking about the club.
4/. It isn't as if we haven't worn equally ridiculous jumpers in the past! And had ridiculous club attire - who could ever forget those lime green hats that were in the membership packs one year way, way back...
5/. We might make some money out of it - and some of the proceeds are going to charity.

I have been very frustrated with the club for not trying things/doing enough in terms of putting out positive stories...isn't this positive? I would have been kind of annoyed if Essendon were running around in Iron Man suits (I said superman but Mr. 12 informed me that was the 'wrong' sort of comic book hero which has me even more confused...aren't they all equally stupid??) and I think everyone on here would be yelling that "WE should be doing that" and showing that kind of initiative etc...I don't know, maybe Essendon WILL do that and get paid 10x the amount we do...who knows?

I know kids like super heroes. I imagine they will want the jumper. I think kids who support other clubs will be jealous. We will think back in the future about 'the day we wore the THOR outfits' (maybe with mirth or disdain but it will be memorable)...how is any of this stuff 'bad'.

If we were replacing our jumper for the season, well, sure...get upset and scream about the amount of money we had 'better' be getting paid, but for a once off, who really cares?

And for anyone questioning my allegiance to the club based on all this, I am a 25-year member (and bloody proud of it)...Social Club member, Charlie Sutton member...I pay for 5x memberships even though ALL of those people live interstate and only 2 of them support the club (me being one) AND still do the Bulldogs Backyard thing...honestly, this is just a bit of fun and footy is SUPPOSED to be FUN!

14-03-2019, 11:35 AM
It looks ridiculous and it is ridiculous. The players will now surely enter by flying in over the stands with jetpacks on their backs, land on a podium and start belting out meatloaf songs before the bounce. What b/s.

Should’ve been against Carlton where there could’ve been a WWF style showdown at half time between Captain Carlton and a fully kitted our God of Thunder, Chris Hemsworth.

14-03-2019, 11:35 AM
Garry Hocking really changed his name to Whiskers for one game? That's funny. At least you can take a jumper off. I bet he had to wear that one for a looong time.

It's a missed opportunity really. They should have gone whole hog and made everyone wear blonde wigs.
Wonder if Caleb D will have those little wings on his helmet. Club, attention to details please.

14-03-2019, 11:43 AM
I have read through this thread...

I have to admit, I don't get the outrage.

1/. It's one game.
2/. It's a bit of fun.
3/. It has everyone talking about the club.
4/. It isn't as if we haven't worn equally ridiculous jumpers in the past! And had ridiculous club attire - who could ever forget those lime green hats that were in the membership packs one year way, way back...
5/. We might make some money out of it - and some of the proceeds are going to charity.

I have been very frustrated with the club for not trying things/doing enough in terms of putting out positive stories...isn't this positive? I would have been kind of annoyed if Essendon were running around in Iron Man suits (I said superman but Mr. 12 informed me that was the 'wrong' sort of comic book hero which has me even more confused...aren't they all equally stupid??) and I think everyone on here would be yelling that "WE should be doing that" and showing that kind of initiative etc...I don't know, maybe Essendon WILL do that and get paid 10x the amount we do...who knows?

I know kids like super heroes. I imagine they will want the jumper. I think kids who support other clubs will be jealous. We will think back in the future about 'the day we wore the THOR outfits' (maybe with mirth or disdain but it will be memorable)...how is any of this stuff 'bad'.

If we were replacing our jumper for the season, well, sure...get upset and scream about the amount of money we had 'better' be getting paid, but for a once off, who really cares?

And for anyone questioning my allegiance to the club based on all this, I am a 25-year member (and bloody proud of it)...Social Club member, Charlie Sutton member...I pay for 5x memberships even though ALL of those people live interstate and only 2 of them support the club (me being one) AND still do the Bulldogs Backyard thing...honestly, this is just a bit of fun and footy is SUPPOSED to be FUN!

In my humble opinion (which anyone can take with a grain of salt), it's not just the silly looking jumper in isolation, but rolling, snowballing effect that comes with it.

We don't seem to have put a foot right since winning the GF. I thought that it would be the dawning of a new era - an independent, fierce dynasty, rolling good on field results (not necessarily another flag, but at least being up amongst it) and showing the AFL world at large that we could "stick it right up them!"

Instead, lost half the GF team, have languished in the bottom half of the ladder, appear to have no spark or inspiration and are then made a laughing stock of the AFL at large by selling this ridiculous looking kit. We appear to have reached the top, panicked and run back into our shells, only to come out again when the AFL dog-whistles. What or who's fault that is, I have no idea. But now is not the time to try to be innovative with our kit. Be innovative on the field for god's sake and thump some other teams and then we can have a look at sparkles on our jumper.

14-03-2019, 12:24 PM
Showed my son the strip last night and there was no 'can I wear that?' from him - it's subjective though..if they came out with a top that looked like Cyborg from Teen Titans he'd be all over it.

Oh, and asides from the post premiership drop off in merch sales, surely the club has to look at Asics moving forward - they've produced some horrible looking gear.

14-03-2019, 12:56 PM
If we need to revive our post-flag merch sales we could always try not being you know, shit.

14-03-2019, 01:34 PM
Garry Hocking really changed his name to Whiskers for one game? That's funny. At least you can take a jumper off. I bet he had to wear that one for a looong time.
He did, and the AFL were so angry about it in the record that week they refused to put "Whiskas" next to his name and he was referred to as "No. 32"

14-03-2019, 02:03 PM
In my humble opinion (which anyone can take with a grain of salt), it's not just the silly looking jumper in isolation, but rolling, snowballing effect that comes with it.

We don't seem to have put a foot right since winning the GF. I thought that it would be the dawning of a new era - an independent, fierce dynasty, rolling good on field results (not necessarily another flag, but at least being up amongst it) and showing the AFL world at large that we could "stick it right up them!"

Instead, lost half the GF team, have languished in the bottom half of the ladder, appear to have no spark or inspiration and are then made a laughing stock of the AFL at large by selling this ridiculous looking kit. We appear to have reached the top, panicked and run back into our shells, only to come out again when the AFL dog-whistles. What or who's fault that is, I have no idea. But now is not the time to try to be innovative with our kit. Be innovative on the field for god's sake and thump some other teams and then we can have a look at sparkles on our jumper.

Spot on MJP, I may be conservative when it comes to changing the game from what it is with new rules, but stuff like this is great for the club and has everyone talking. As you say this is not a permanent thing and if it was we would all march down to VUWhitten Oval.

This is what the club says:

Tom Morris: "A portion of the money made from the jumper will go to the Make a Wish Foundation. The Bulldogs are adamant it's not just a money maker, it is also to help attract young fans, with Marvel being such a big worldwide brand. The players were asked before ticking it off"

14-03-2019, 02:06 PM
Okay, I'll take your word for it, but he looks like he's gritting his teeth to me.

He mentioned it at the season launch

14-03-2019, 02:10 PM
The advertising generated by the media will certainly give it every chance to sink or swim and it's a good debate.

14-03-2019, 02:45 PM
Bevo looked stoked at today's pre-game presser.

https://i.ibb.co/WxmHS3Q/Screen-Shot-2019-03-14-at-1-21-17-PM.png (https://ibb.co/0DHnPXk)

14-03-2019, 03:39 PM
The advertising generated by the media will certainly give it every chance to sink or swim and it's a good debate.

I don't call the debate and publicity we're getting from it good at all, it makes us look like an even bigger joke than what we are already. Do people honestly think that we'll get more in the gate because of this, a bigger hit in the ratings or a bump in membership? It's a bit of fun, yeah sure it is but so was AFLX. The same people I see applauding this ridiculous jumper were the same people up in arms about a ludicrous preseason game.

14-03-2019, 03:54 PM
For:
Innovate or die say sports marketers as Bulldogs' jumper sparks debate (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/innovate-or-die-say-sports-marketers-as-bulldogs-jumper-sparks-debate-20190313-p513yu.html)

Sports marketing experts have applauded the Western Bulldogs' controversial decision to wear a Thor-inspired jumper in the first AFL game at the re-branded Marvel Stadium.

Club captain Easton Wood displayed the jumper for the first time at the Bulldogs' season launch on Tuesday night and the reaction on social media to the decision was swift and mostly negative.

However Iconoclastic's Ben Parsons, the founder of Ministry of Sport and a leading sports marketer, said such innovation was necessary otherwise sporting codes would lose relevance.

He also had a message for sports fans trying to make sense of the decision.

"You ain't seen nothing yet," Parsons said.

"I think they should be applauded for trying to do something different rather than rolling out the same mundane stuff.

"They are trying to engage with a difference audience group. That's alright."

Thor is a Marvel-created character played by Australian actor and Western Bulldogs' supporter Chris Hemsworth and the jumper is understood to be one part of a wider marketing strategy between the Bulldogs and Marvel, which also has a naming rights deal with the AFL.

While the financial component of the deal remains unclear the relationship is seen as a potential opportunity for the Bulldogs' brand to grow as they connect with Marvel Entertainment, a subsidiary of Walt Disney Company.

Parsons said it was a bigger risk for clubs to do nothing although they still had to be aware of supporter reaction.

"You've got to worry about the negativity but you have to see where they are coming from," Parsons said.

RMIT Marketing expert Dr Con Stavros agreed with the Bulldogs' decision saying it made sense from a marketing perspective.

"If a club can stand up and say this is our home stadium, it's about entertainment, it's about tying us in to that kind of world, it's part of something we are trying to build that's positive," Stavros said.

"If you just stand up and say someone chucked us enough money so we decided to do it than that is not a great story.

"The Western Bulldogs fans are attuned to this idea that we have got to be innovate, we have to try different things to succeed."

More components designed to attract fans to the opening round match between the Western Bulldogs and the Sydney Swans at Marvel Stadium are expected to be communicated in the coming days.

Clubs are allowed to submit home, clash, indigenous and an alternate jumper for events to the AFL with the AFL having to approve jumpers. The Thor-inspired jumper received approval from the AFL football operations and licensing department.

The Bulldogs' decision comes on the back of the AFL-marketed AFLX pre-season tournament held on February 22 that saw four teams wear superhero inspired jumpers with the marketing directed at children. The AFL said they were pleased with the outcome despite the fact it was spurned by many supporters and ticket sales ahead of the tournament were low.

14-03-2019, 03:56 PM
Against:
Super blooper: the tale wagging the dog (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/afl/super-blooper-the-tale-wagging-the-dog-20190313-p513xc.html)

Snug as that superhero outfit looked on Bulldogs captain Easton Wood, something didn’t fit.

“Kids see us as super heroes and role models,” said Wood, “just as they see the Marvel characters on the big screen, and now we can combine the two through footy, which is a unique and exciting opportunity.”

But they’re not so much combining the two roles as calculatedly conflating them. Superheroes aren’t real. Footballers aren’t superheroes. Kids need to understand the real distinction, not the fanciful conjunction.

Real footballers are sometimes heroic, sometimes venal. Rugby league trialled costumed superheroes a couple of years ago. The trouble is that on their way home from saving the world from evil, some of them have fallen into the habit of stopping by for a bit of indecent assault. It messes with the plotline somewhat.

But there is an even more banal reality. If footballers were true superheroes, fighting for honesty and truth, they would tell the kids that they’re wearing these outfits not to deliver justice, or even four premiership points, but to sell them stuff: movie tickets, posters, scale-model superhero outfits, all available in the Marvel shop downstairs, credit cards accepted.

This is the point. Football clubs have sold off their guernseys previously, for isolated one-off gains. This time, it’s the Bulldogs, playing in a stadium owned by the AFL, giving the shirt off their back to the naming-rights sponsor of that stadium, with a retail outlet on site. The vice-president of the football club and managing director of the Australian arm of the naming-rights sponsor are the same person. Talk about a snug fit. Does anyone think this is going to be a one-off?

We can’t say we weren’t warned. Marvel made it clear from the start that they intended not just to take possession of the name, but the whole stadium, and evidently all who inhabit it. “We look forward to a new era of entertainment for the stadium where we will push the envelope and continue to deliver world-class events and fan engagement,’’ said stadium chief Michael Green at the time the contract was signed. ‘‘This partnership will allow us to take the stadium atmosphere to the next level and create memorable experiences for a vast array of audiences and we look forward to delivering a truly game-changing experience.’’

Rugby league trialled costumed superheroes a couple of years ago. The trouble is that on their way home from saving the world from evil, some of them have fallen into the habit of stopping by for a bit of indecent assault.

And so here we are, in the Marvel theme park, replete with real-life superheroes, myths made men. Footy, make-believe, make-believe, footy: it’s all the same, is it not, all ‘‘galactic conflicts between alien worlds’’? Pay at the box office, divert yourself for a couple of hours, buy a jumper, go home happy.

Footy’s nothing like that, of course. For Bulldogs people, “truly game-changing experience” will have meaning only if they fall three goals behind the Swans mid-way through the last quarter in a fortnight. Game-changing experiences were what they delivered in spades in the 2016 finals series, a truly fabulous story. Do you remember their run-through at the preliminary final? “Our club was born in blood and boots,” it read, “not in AFL focus groups.” It characterised and defined the Dogs that year. Playing dress-ups in left-over AFLX stock surely sells them short now.

It is not a moot point. What do fans really know of the clubs they love? What endures? Players come and go, coaches come and go, philosophies come and go. A name, a nickname, a set of colours and a guernsey: these are the totems, binding club to fans, and both to history. Messing with the jumper risks messing with the fabric.

Superheroes and their legends are one thing, the tale wagging the Dog another.

14-03-2019, 04:51 PM
If we need to revive our post-flag merch sales we could always try not being you know, shit.
That's really it isn't it? Don't become a chore to watch and people may be more inclined to go to the matches, buy the merch etc etc

14-03-2019, 04:53 PM
That's really it isn't it? Don't become a chore to watch and people may be more inclined to go to the matches, buy the merch etc etc

Yeah certainly playing better footy would help merchandise sales. Hasn’t been great since we won the premiership.

Need a big start to the season. Not holding my breath but we have a relatively good draw.

14-03-2019, 04:55 PM
For:
Innovate or die say sports marketers as Bulldogs' jumper sparks debate (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/innovate-or-die-say-sports-marketers-as-bulldogs-jumper-sparks-debate-20190313-p513yu.html)

Sports marketing experts have applauded the Western Bulldogs' controversial decision to wear a Thor-inspired jumper in the first AFL game at the re-branded Marvel Stadium.

Club captain Easton Wood displayed the jumper for the first time at the Bulldogs' season launch on Tuesday night and the reaction on social media to the decision was swift and mostly negative.

However Iconoclastic's Ben Parsons, the founder of Ministry of Sport and a leading sports marketer, said such innovation was necessary otherwise sporting codes would lose relevance.

He also had a message for sports fans trying to make sense of the decision.

"You ain't seen nothing yet," Parsons said.

"I think they should be applauded for trying to do something different rather than rolling out the same mundane stuff.

"They are trying to engage with a difference audience group. That's alright."

Thor is a Marvel-created character played by Australian actor and Western Bulldogs' supporter Chris Hemsworth and the jumper is understood to be one part of a wider marketing strategy between the Bulldogs and Marvel, which also has a naming rights deal with the AFL.

While the financial component of the deal remains unclear the relationship is seen as a potential opportunity for the Bulldogs' brand to grow as they connect with Marvel Entertainment, a subsidiary of Walt Disney Company.

Parsons said it was a bigger risk for clubs to do nothing although they still had to be aware of supporter reaction.

"You've got to worry about the negativity but you have to see where they are coming from," Parsons said.

RMIT Marketing expert Dr Con Stavros agreed with the Bulldogs' decision saying it made sense from a marketing perspective.

"If a club can stand up and say this is our home stadium, it's about entertainment, it's about tying us in to that kind of world, it's part of something we are trying to build that's positive," Stavros said.

"If you just stand up and say someone chucked us enough money so we decided to do it than that is not a great story.

"The Western Bulldogs fans are attuned to this idea that we have got to be innovate, we have to try different things to succeed."

More components designed to attract fans to the opening round match between the Western Bulldogs and the Sydney Swans at Marvel Stadium are expected to be communicated in the coming days.

Clubs are allowed to submit home, clash, indigenous and an alternate jumper for events to the AFL with the AFL having to approve jumpers. The Thor-inspired jumper received approval from the AFL football operations and licensing department.

The Bulldogs' decision comes on the back of the AFL-marketed AFLX pre-season tournament held on February 22 that saw four teams wear superhero inspired jumpers with the marketing directed at children. The AFL said they were pleased with the outcome despite the fact it was spurned by many supporters and ticket sales ahead of the tournament were low.

So being "innovative" according to the marketing masterminds is festooning our players with demeaning crap purportedly designed to appeal to kids but is really just a tawdry advertisement for the the benefit of the corporate ground sponsor at the expense of our identity.

THAT's their "innovation" ace in the deck, is it? And anything else is "mundane"? Gimme a spell.

YAWN would be my response to this cheeseball crap if it weren't my club falling prey to it.

14-03-2019, 04:58 PM
Bevo looked stoked at today's pre-game presser.

https://i.ibb.co/WxmHS3Q/Screen-Shot-2019-03-14-at-1-21-17-PM.png (https://ibb.co/0DHnPXk)

Love your work RS.

14-03-2019, 04:58 PM
Well done to the club. Marketing must be innovative and our market is youngsters who haven't formed allegiance.
This is a one off to start the season perfect timing. Its not going to be permanent thank God. We must market well in a very competitive market and an uneven playing ground.
Our current healthy financial state is due to some extraordinary gifts from Government and is the only time in out history that out finances have been healthy. We need to be proactive going forward especially without the immoral pokies. Go Dogs!

14-03-2019, 05:06 PM
If win no one will talk about it anymore as will revert back to our normal strip in Round 2. I’m sure there will be another new scandal elsewhere.

Our focus now to pluck the Swans in Round 1.

14-03-2019, 06:44 PM
If win no one will talk about it anymore as will revert back to our normal strip in Round 2. I’m sure there will be another new scandal elsewhere.

Our focus now to pluck the Swans in Round 1.

Round two we will probably wear that disgusting white thing, looks nothing like our traditional jumper :D

14-03-2019, 07:17 PM
From the Herald Sun
Western Bulldogs’ Thor-inspired jumper proving popular with fans The Bulldogs Thor-inspired jumper may have polarised fans, but it's flying off the shelves.

More than 100 jumpers were pre-ordered in the 24 hours since the Western Bulldogs announced the distinctive God of Thunder guernsey.

14-03-2019, 07:44 PM
From the Herald Sun
Western Bulldogs’ Thor-inspired jumper proving popular with fans The Bulldogs Thor-inspired jumper may have polarised fans, but it's flying off the shelves.

More than 100 jumpers were pre-ordered in the 24 hours since the Western Bulldogs announced the distinctive God of Thunder guernsey.

'Flying off the shelves' = 100+ jumpers (so say the Hun).

We have 45,000 members, plus hundreds of thousands of supporters again. 100 or so jumpers bounced off the launch day isn't good news for our CFO. I mean, if the 22 players and 3 emergencies have 3 or 4 each, plus the spares on bench. The team has accounted for more than that already and they're obligated to have them. I hope they're not the 100 or so pre-ordered! :D

14-03-2019, 08:07 PM
I don't call the debate and publicity we're getting from it good at all, it makes us look like an even bigger joke than what we are already. Do people honestly think that we'll get more in the gate because of this, a bigger hit in the ratings or a bump in membership? It's a bit of fun, yeah sure it is but so was AFLX. The same people I see applauding this ridiculous jumper were the same people up in arms about a ludicrous preseason game.

The debate on the forum has been interesting to me. It's ranged from many people being passionately against it, some that really don't care and some that think it's worth trying.
The feedback from most colleagues at work is that for a one off experiment it's not a bad idea

If we have done this to address a significant gap in the merchandise sales budget I get why we have done it

While my preference is always to play in our traditional jumper I can't be too critical if the decision has been largely a financial one. Equally I won't knock anyone who is dead against it.

14-03-2019, 08:47 PM
Gotta say I’ve never heard such a carry on!

14-03-2019, 09:17 PM
I am not buying the feedback from the manager of a sports marketing firm, they make a living out of peddling this sort of stuff and while there are definitely merits to it, it's in his interests for people to accept and push for this sort of stuff (I studied marketing/consumer behaviour at uni, so am not an anti marketing person at all).

The quote from the RMIT passes the sniff test, though I think that's been spun a particular way when you could easily use it as an argument against.

Sports marketing in Aus and the AFL industry is incredibly dull and homogenous. There is very little bravery, or innovation. If there was, that thread from Lantern a while ago would be like a bible. As it stands, if you have a people wanting a point of difference or trying to dive into market segments any idea gets a run so long as it is "family friendly" or "for the kids." It's like armour for shit ideas in this space. Everyone wants that segment,

The innovative thing to do would be to position against that trend and focus on other segments. Tell a different story. We were getting close with things like the Western Front, BeMoreBulldog, Danny McGinlay stuff. Quite brash and obnoxious and in alignment with our identity.

Anyway. This jumper and the type of environment with which it comes to fruition can get stuffed. It's no good. If we are doing it, don't give the money to charity. Put it in the coffers and live with the shame.

14-03-2019, 10:13 PM

You mean we should try to make watching us play football fun? I can't see it catching on, would you settle for flexible?

14-03-2019, 10:14 PM
I am not buying the feedback from the manager of a sports marketing firm, they make a living out of peddling this sort of stuff and while there are definitely merits to it, it's in his interests for people to accept and push for this sort of stuff (I studied marketing/consumer behaviour at uni, so am not an anti marketing person at all).

The quote from the RMIT passes the sniff test, though I think that's been spun a particular way when you could easily use it as an argument against.

Sports marketing in Aus and the AFL industry is incredibly dull and homogenous. There is very little bravery, or innovation. If there was, that thread from Lantern a while ago would be like a bible. As it stands, if you have a people wanting a point of difference or trying to dive into market segments any idea gets a run so long as it is "family friendly" or "for the kids." It's like armour for shit ideas in this space. Everyone wants that segment,

The innovative thing to do would be to position against that trend and focus on other segments. Tell a different story. We were getting close with things like the Western Front, BeMoreBulldog, Danny McGinlay stuff. Quite brash and obnoxious and in alignment with our identity.

Anyway. This jumper and the type of environment with which it comes to fruition can get stuffed. It's no good. If we are doing it, don't give the money to charity. Put it in the coffers and live with the shame.

I can see both sides of the argument and kind of straddle each myself. Your second to last two paragraphs have struck a cord with me though, we just seem so bloody vanilla on and off the field at the moment.

Compared to the mountain we climbed and the story attached to 2015/2016, what we've seen since has just been so bloody bland. To me this marketing exercise, however well intentioned, is just bland and hasn't come with an adequate amount of complimentary story telling to build the positioning story - and what we're left with is just an ordinary looking jumper.

This smells fishy to me, almost as if we're being used as cannon fodder to test a premise for refinement later in the season with one of the larger Docklands tenants.

14-03-2019, 11:04 PM
I can see both sides of the argument and kind of straddle each myself. Your second to last two paragraphs have struck a cord with me though, we just seem so bloody vanilla on and off the field at the moment.

Compared to the mountain we climbed and the story attached to 2015/2016, what we've seen since has just been so bloody bland. To me this marketing exercise, however well intentioned, is just bland and hasn't come with an adequate amount of complimentary story telling to build the positioning story - and what we're left with is just an ordinary looking jumper.

This smells fishy to me, almost as if we're being used as cannon fodder to test a premise for refinement later in the season with one of the larger Docklands tenants.

Give me at least two Good Friday Footy examples to back that last point up. Wild accusations you level.

The points above on bland are so true. Danny making a brash and funny banners needs to stop. And the silly jumpers need to start. If either was a question in the members survey, Danny would be slamming Sydney on the R1 banner with 22 players in the RW&B running through it grinning. We’d all be happy. But not.

14-03-2019, 11:19 PM
Oh, and asides from the post premiership drop off in merch sales, surely the club has to look at Asics moving forward - they've produced some horrible looking gear.

At horribly inflated prices.

I can't spend $80 on a micro sized top for my little man.

14-03-2019, 11:37 PM
100... Hahaha. When you live in China numbers like that seem so quaint.
Printing is so cheap here I might get my own jumper design busted out. Then sign it myself.
I'm so concerned about our backline this is the last of my cars.

15-03-2019, 09:37 AM
'Flying off the shelves' = 100+ jumpers (so say the Hun).

We have 45,000 members, plus hundreds of thousands of supporters again. 100 or so jumpers bounced off the launch day isn't good news for our CFO. I mean, if the 22 players and 3 emergencies have 3 or 4 each, plus the spares on bench. The team has accounted for more than that already and they're obligated to have them. I hope they're not the 100 or so pre-ordered! :D

We'll all be able to pick up a bargain at the end of season in the clearance bin.

15-03-2019, 12:30 PM

Well said Jeemak

15-03-2019, 01:32 PM

Well said Jeemak

Thanks westbulldog…………….but that wasn't my work! SoonofScray wrote that!

15-03-2019, 01:36 PM
Give me at least two Good Friday Footy examples to back that last point up. Wild accusations you level.

The points above on bland are so true. Danny making a brash and funny banners needs to stop. And the silly jumpers need to start. If either was a question in the members survey, Danny would be slamming Sydney on the R1 banner with 22 players in the RW&B running through it grinning. We’d all be happy. But not.

Was the ridding of Danny an Ameet Bains initiative?

15-03-2019, 01:50 PM

No idea. I was thinking more on this point. Most membership organisations (sports, political, faith etc) go out of their way to do things that make their members happy. I don't get the sense that our wishes as members as important these days. Danny made us happy, so ignore what the paying members want. We love our jumper and all it stands for, ignore us. We'd buy merchandise if it wasn't horrible and by accounts too expensive, ignore us. We want to watch good footy and get our respect back, not happening any time soon.

I get the club has do things like try to get new members and sell 100 jumpers. But surely the existing members satisfaction and pride in our club matters more. Most all membership organisations are trying to keep their members happy, so the numbers don't fall away badly (which many are). Maybe for every one thing many won't like, you'll keep or improve one thing we do like. Balance. But when you take the good, insert the bad, you open some less ironed on members to say this is enough. We don't have enough members to lose.

The question for BAD or Easty, is can you tell us all how many members we signed up between March 10-30 2018 (ie 1,000) and March 10-30 2019 (???). If we don't grow at the same level or better, than this excerise can arguably be a monster failure. If we chased 50% of some jumper sales and be a shiny object to kids, but previous members didn't sign up after the news of this and round 1 in the same number as last year. Then someone better explain for we the members, why. If it's a monster success and new memberships explode, great. I don't see it happening though, right now it's a gamble I wish we weren't betting on.

15-03-2019, 03:17 PM

I think this was done before he came on board, but I'm not sure.

I'm also at a loss as to why we'd turf something that was working - makes me think of Adam Simpson's message re: player humility after the Eagles won the flag...he mentioned that you'd see no Eagles players in sunglasses at the family events celebrating the win.

Now I'm not for openly antagonizing opponents fueling any motivations yadeyada - and clearly Simpson's messaging / coaching has borne fruit - but that comment alone just weirded me out. Sunglasses? Really?

My point - Danny's stellar work might've been seen as disrespectful, and we probably didn't want to be that. Which is just garbage, but here we are.

15-03-2019, 03:22 PM
I'm ok with Danny getting moved on, the schtick had run its course IMO. But kowtowing to sponsors/AFL/our Disney overlords etc without any member engagement is only going to further disenfranchise the fanbase.

15-03-2019, 03:31 PM
Memory suggests Danny departed before Bains joined the fold.

Perhaps Danny's handiwork saw senior figures at other clubs get their noses out of joint. Senior figures with thinner skins but more pull at AFEL House than us. Perhaps we asked Danny to tone it down a bit and he said stuff that. Or perhaps his management upped his 'price' on the back of his success. Will we ever know? Him walking away with no explanation's a genuine head scratcher.

It is a timely example though of effective, smartly-executed innovation. It wasn't just us applauding his work, it was the whole AFEL community to the extent some even began to mimic what we were doing, albeit shabbily.

Can't see too many but the marketing masterminds applauding this ridiculous childish jumper but best I pull up there before I become triggered again.

15-03-2019, 04:23 PM
I'm ok with Danny getting moved on, the schtick had run its course IMO. But kowtowing to sponsors/AFL/our Disney overlords etc without any member engagement is only going to further disenfranchise the fanbase.

I doubt it over one single jumper.

I personally hate the away jumpers, they are non traditional, I hate the look, but I accept it because I love watching my team play.

15-03-2019, 05:29 PM
I doubt it over one single jumper.

I personally hate the away jumpers, they are non traditional, I hate the look, but I accept it because I love watching my team play.

The new Bulldog logo has really grown on me. But I agree, you don't go to battle in white. Has no feeling of passion.

19-03-2019, 07:57 PM
Dogs wore the ‘Thor’ one off strip at open training this afternoon and the jumper looked surprisingly good when viewed on the whole team...

19-03-2019, 09:03 PM
I may be on my own, but I like the concept of the jumper.

Let’s hammer the swans.

19-03-2019, 09:10 PM
We wore Robodog every week for 15 years.

19-03-2019, 10:42 PM
Looks quite good I think.

Dunkley training photo (https://m.imgur.com/gallery/C2f9rvI)

20-03-2019, 12:45 AM
PR guys have been busy getting their hands up the butts of their puppets. The aggressive sales pitch / shut down from JJ earlier in the week and the slightly tempered, sheepish diplomatic sell from the Bont today on SEN.

Not going to change now, the club has made it clear they don't care. The Thor jumper looks shit, is a genuinely bad idea and cheapens us as a group. We'll carry the shame and embarrassment forever. It's damaged my view of the Club's back of house staff greatly, for whatever little that's actually worth.

Aside from that I am going to try not let it ruin my day at the footy from this point in.

20-03-2019, 10:31 AM
I'll defend Robo dog till the day I die from being bitten by a robo dog

20-03-2019, 11:00 AM

Don't give the marketing department any ideas about 'Thor', I beg you.

20-03-2019, 11:08 AM
PR guys have been busy getting their hands up the butts of their puppets. The aggressive sales pitch / shut down from JJ earlier in the week and the slightly tempered, sheepish diplomatic sell from the Bont today on SEN.

Not going to change now, the club has made it clear they don't care. The Thor jumper looks shit, is a genuinely bad idea and cheapens us as a group. We'll carry the shame and embarrassment forever. It's damaged my view of the Club's back of house staff greatly, for whatever little that's actually worth.

Aside from that I am going to try not let it ruin my day at the footy from this point in.

Based on the shots of the blokes faffing about in 'Thor' at training, from any distance grater than 5 yards it looks like greasy, non-descript mess. They really should've added the helmets for full effect, and I'm sure the AFEL would've at least paused to consider it.

I did hear Gillon mention that every club may propose *one* novelty jumper per year and one only, so at least the season remainder will be unsullied by shitty showbag trinkets.

24-03-2019, 01:26 AM
I just want to check if the jumper we wore tonight was a major concern to your GameDay experience? Never have I seen so much ado about nothing.

24-03-2019, 01:28 AM
I just want to check if the jumper we wore tonight was a major concern to your GameDay experience? Never have I seen so much ado about nothing.

I will say, players were lost in the crowd when looking across the ground.

24-03-2019, 01:47 AM
I thought the jumpers from a distance (my seat on level2) weren’t toobad. I also think they should be burned. Whenever someone came nearer, or they were on the video screen, I got a good look. It is a shocking jumper.

24-03-2019, 02:24 AM
We have the finest bloody jumper in the comp. By the length of a Jason Johannisen sprint. It is frankly, perfection.

You wouldn't add 'armour' to the Mona Lisa, would you? Of course not, you're not a psychopath or worse yet a Marvel Inc. marketing whiz.

So kindly, don't molest our jumper again.

24-03-2019, 09:11 AM
May the jumper rest forever in the halls of Valhalla, never to be seen again by us mortals. It can regale in its 100% win record until the end of time.

24-03-2019, 11:14 AM
The jumper was brilliant, I don't get the angst. Seeing kids posing in front of Thors hammer outside "Marvel" with the new jumper on was fantastic.
It was never going to be anything but a one off, we opened Marvel stadium with Hollywood stars, and an awesome game , we were rockstars ! Mercedes Benz and Hollywood a Listers. Never thought I'd see the day.

24-03-2019, 11:30 AM
Wear it every week if we win and play like last night for all I care.

We have to win though or else it gets put away.

24-03-2019, 06:03 PM
The jumper provided a stirred memory of childhood heroes that I reckon the club embraced.
I could imagine the pec's of Thor morphing into the scales of Teenage Mutant Ninga Turtles in RW&B and the team swarming as 18 Mutant Turtles in battle mode.

24-03-2019, 10:57 PM
Still looked shit but it's not the point.

I don't like the jumper because it's a bullshit selling out thing. Shame the 3 blokes making their dogs debut had to do it in that. Not even sure which side you'd hang up facing out, they're both very unrepresentative of the club.

25-03-2019, 12:12 PM
Thor Jumper sold out, more on order

25-03-2019, 12:17 PM
https://www.titusoreily.com/afl/bulldogs-reveal-worst-jumper-in-the-history-of-the-entire-universe

25-03-2019, 12:24 PM
The jumper was brilliant, I don't get the angst. Seeing kids posing in front of Thors hammer outside "Marvel" with the new jumper on was fantastic.
It was never going to be anything but a one off, we opened Marvel stadium with Hollywood stars, and an awesome game , we were rockstars ! Mercedes Benz and Hollywood a Listers. Never thought I'd see the day.

Yep I saw that too Granty. Terrific. We don't want be fuddy duddies.

25-03-2019, 12:32 PM
https://www.titusoreily.com/afl/bulldogs-reveal-worst-jumper-in-the-history-of-the-entire-universe

In his opinion of course. Kids seem to love it.

25-03-2019, 01:24 PM

Point of the link?

25-03-2019, 02:12 PM
Point of the link?

It's Titus, he's funny, he's talking about the jumper, it's a thread about the jumper...Does it really need explanation?

25-03-2019, 04:06 PM
https://i.ibb.co/zfWvDYS/EJ.png (https://ibb.co/cTKnVHN)

The prosecution rests your honour.

25-03-2019, 04:19 PM
Imagine telling people in the 60s that one day we'd be sponsored by Mercedes and a Mexican food company and we'd wear a jumper based on a comic book character.

The mix of awe and bemusement would be worth seeing

25-03-2019, 05:05 PM
Excellent point hujsh but the funny thing is that the older people I talked to at the game on Saturday were OK with it as a one off and some of the younger people thought it was a nonsense.

25-03-2019, 05:28 PM

Looks great :D

25-03-2019, 06:12 PM
Excellent point hujsh but the funny thing is that the older people I talked to at the game on Saturday were OK with it as a one off and some of the younger people thought it was a nonsense.

There's something in that. Older crew invoking the threat of existential crises to rationalise the jumper scenario. Younger folk invoking tribalism and identity in opposition. The culture wars have come to merchandising agreements.

I am still bitterly dissapointed in the Club's position that the home jumper is fair game for these stunts. Make them, sell them, promote them, train in them, warm up in them, tell us you love them. I'd almost be prepared to concede ground enough to include away games should it be appropriate for clash purposes. But please don't wear them at home for premiership points.

25-03-2019, 07:02 PM

Melbourne supporting idiot masquerading as a man of the working class. He's ironically taking the mick with every post and the target of his fun lap it up. Not sure why he's relevant.

25-03-2019, 07:04 PM
It's Titus, he's funny, he's talking about the jumper, it's a thread about the jumper...Does it really need explanation?

I think its subjective that he's funny.

25-03-2019, 07:06 PM

It's no longer Footscray either.

25-03-2019, 07:15 PM
There's something in that. Older crew invoking the threat of existential crises to rationalise the jumper scenario. Younger folk invoking tribalism and identity in opposition. The culture wars have come to merchandising agreements.

I am still bitterly dissapointed in the Club's position that the home jumper is fair game for these stunts. Make them, sell them, promote them, train in them, warm up in them, tell us you love them. I'd almost be prepared to concede ground enough to include away games should it be appropriate for clash purposes. But please don't wear them at home for premiership points.

I don't think there's anything in that. Hitherto Footscray now the Western Bulldogs, can you ever imagine going back? I'm not the most progressive person in history but I see the amazing opportunity the club was presented with and they took full advantage with the endorsement of the players we all trust with the most important part; winning games. I would've been more dissapointed if we didn't take this chance. There is a saying in business; standing still is going backwards.

25-03-2019, 07:27 PM
It's no longer Footscray either.

I still feel that pain but don't think this marketing effort betrays the club. We were always about being inventive and competitive. The image of being heroes is not a betrayal. The colours were upheld.

25-03-2019, 07:32 PM
I actually liked the jumper , I have not been a fan of many but that really took my eye once they were playing in it.

25-03-2019, 07:47 PM
I actually liked the jumper , I have not been a fan of many but that really took my eye once they were playing in it.
Me too. I wouldn't mind if they made an away strip similar to that. I liked the look of the blue front and red back.

25-03-2019, 07:58 PM
Listening to Sen today and some lady ( I think it was KBs wife) said it made the players look bigger around the chest with the shading and I tend to agree.

25-03-2019, 07:59 PM

It wasn't what I expected though. Perhaps there has been a change by many of the older folk since we won the flag and I must admit a few years back I would have been challenging the decision but I was nowhere near as passionate about it than I otherwise would have been.

I get that.

25-03-2019, 08:26 PM
I think its subjective that he's funny.

It's subjective that anyone's funny. It's fair to say he's pretty popular among people who take an interest in football.

25-03-2019, 10:50 PM
Melbourne supporting idiot masquerading as a man of the working class. He's ironically taking the mick with every post and the target of his fun lap it up. Not sure why he's relevant.

He's fantastic. He's just as likely to make fun of Melbourne as anyone.

26-03-2019, 08:08 AM

He isn’t.

Using him as a reason to argue a point one way or another to me, I is like using Wikipedia as a valid reference source in a university assignment.

26-03-2019, 10:52 AM
He isn’t.

Using him as a reason to argue a point one way or another to me, I is like using Wikipedia as a valid reference source in a university assignment.

It wasn't to argue the point. It was just a bit of fun. But congratulations on winning the argument.

27-03-2019, 05:48 PM
When we are winning I don't care one way or the other re the jumper as long as it is red, white and blue (or an approximation of!). Winning is everything to me. In 62 years of watching the Dogs I've seen too many defeats. I thought the Thor jumper was good. The Bont still played like the champ he is and we played really well as a team. Go Dogs!

30-03-2019, 11:59 PM
Liked the jumper, loved the concept and look forward to kids in the future saying they started supporting the Dogs because they dressed up like Thor.

31-03-2019, 12:03 AM
I hope we don't wear the stupid white jumper tomorrow.

10-07-2019, 12:04 PM
Fightback Retro Jumper

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D_A8DGpU0AEBTeY.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D_A8DGpUYAAb7Mj.jpg

10-07-2019, 12:08 PM
That Jumper follows the 60,30,10% rule of design perfectly and I love it. Thanks for posting.

10-07-2019, 12:11 PM
Yeah we're gonna need to wear that full time.

10-07-2019, 12:12 PM
The first year of footy that I really remember is 1989 - so this jumper feels to me like the 'original bulldogs jumper'. I love it and am considering getting my son one. He already has 3 dogs guernseys....but whats one more?

10-07-2019, 12:53 PM
Fightback Retro Jumper

We should be selling that one and I would buy it, but it looks like you can only get the short sleeve one.

10-07-2019, 02:05 PM
Fightback Retro Jumper

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D_A8DGpUYAAb7Mj.jpg

I'm in love.

Gather we're not actually playing for points in this rather than just running around at training?

10-07-2019, 02:25 PM
I'm in love.

Gather we're not actually playing for points in this rather than just running around at training?

Pretty sure we are wearing it on Sunday.

The Western Bulldogs will face Melbourne, this Sunday 14th July at Marvel Stadium from 3:20pm.

Celebrating the 30-year anniversary of the Fightback campaign of 1989, the Western Bulldogs will don a commemorative guernsey, complete with the former Footscray Bulldogs logo.

10-07-2019, 02:47 PM
Pretty sure we are wearing it on Sunday.

YAAAAARSE

This almost undoes the damage from the 'Thor' monstrosity.

10-07-2019, 02:48 PM
YAAAAARSE

You can also buy it at the shop, but not in long sleeve

10-07-2019, 02:49 PM
YAAAAARSE

https://i.postimg.cc/d0Dt73q1/66159418-10157279260262487-237924828667969536-n.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

10-07-2019, 04:09 PM
Soccer / football Cross kit , guys had a bit of fun here

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-2019-creative-footy-fan-mocks-up-home-and-away-soccer-concept-kits-for-every-afl-club/news-story/f8f5a9b479421e3a5bfec827d2414658

10-07-2019, 10:30 PM
Looks great!

10-07-2019, 10:48 PM
Long sleeves! :cool:

11-07-2019, 11:37 AM
Long sleeves! :cool:

Looks great huh? Pity they're not for sale

11-07-2019, 11:38 AM
Soccer / football Cross kit , guys had a bit of fun here

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-2019-creative-footy-fan-mocks-up-home-and-away-soccer-concept-kits-for-every-afl-club/news-story/f8f5a9b479421e3a5bfec827d2414658

That mock away kit looks ok - the home kit not so much

11-07-2019, 01:52 PM
Given we're commemorating the '89 'Fightback' this round, heres a scan of something I dug out of the collection, replete with Axe in the long sleeves, naturally.

https://i.ibb.co/nrNJrzw/1989-team-poster.png (https://ibb.co/Q93w9rJ)

Cop the 'Refreshment Centre'.

If one of the blokes don't don the long sleeves Sunday night I'll fair dinkum spew up.

12-07-2019, 10:15 AM
The first year of footy that I really remember is 1989 - so this jumper feels to me like the 'original bulldogs jumper'. I love it and am considering getting my son one. He already has 3 dogs guernseys....but whats one more?

I've got around about 50 match and training jumpers. Hopefully this is just the start for the young fella.

12-07-2019, 10:18 AM
Speaking of digging out the archives, given the jumper this round, about time i posted this:

sits very proudly among the other bulldog goodies :)

https://i.postimg.cc/7L4Lsp3F/dogs1.jpg

12-07-2019, 12:44 PM
Speaking of digging out the archives, given the jumper this round, about time i posted this:

Are they all original memberships Reload? That is quite something. I reckon that we made finals in all but two of those years, '93 and '96. We should have in '93, we were running into really good form but the season only went 22 rounds when all the other seasons in the 14 team comp went 24 rounds. We were just about the form team in the comp and only just missed out on the (i think it was back then) the six.

1996 we will never mention again.

12-07-2019, 03:58 PM
1996 we will never mention again.

If you do, I will spew up :D

13-07-2019, 12:58 PM
If you do, I will spew up :D

I got into a twitter fight with Terry the other night. He was asking if there were any players outside of the Murphys (10 B&Fs between three generations at Hawthorn and South and Carlton) with a similar record for winning B&Fs and I said to give it a few years and Rhylee and Scott West will have it covered when Rhylee wins his third Sutton medal and Plough said "That's too much pressure on the kid"

13-07-2019, 03:41 PM

That looks great!

21-07-2022, 11:10 AM
The 'Robodog' is 𝒃𝒂𝒄𝒌!
To celebrate 25 years since the last ever VFL/AFL game played for premiership points at Whitten Oval, we'll be wearing a replica of our 1997 guernsey in Round 21.

https://i.postimg.cc/xCPbM5Gw/robodog.jpg (https://postimg.cc/zbVB1nc7)

21-07-2022, 11:12 AM
That jumper has been adopted by so many suburban teams that now it looks weird without a million sponsors all over it.

White collar looks nice.

21-07-2022, 11:19 AM
Looks boss. Ah nostalgia...97 nightmares.
https://i.postimg.cc/Y9JV1vDh/retro.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

21-07-2022, 11:33 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/MZ7nLq4z/libba.jpg (https://postimg.cc/s12fQdsL)

21-07-2022, 11:42 AM
It's funny, I wasn't a big fan of Robodog when it was around ... but that jumper looks seriously awesome.

Take my money!

21-07-2022, 11:53 AM
It's funny, I wasn't a big fan of Robodog when it was around ... but that jumper looks seriously awesome.

Take my money!

I don't mind a changing jumper every now and then, remembering the past helps us embrace the future.

21-07-2022, 11:54 AM
I don't mind a changing jumper every now and then, remembering the past helps us embrace the future.

NBA teams do it well.

Changing the jumper = $$

I wish we'd come out with a rotating design each year, even if it's only for the 'away' jumper.

21-07-2022, 11:59 AM
Love the robodog jumper, not a fan of the collar on this one red would have been mint.

Don't need to buy it though as I still a long sleeve one in great condition. Signed Number 3 on the back too.

21-07-2022, 12:24 PM
Love the robodog jumper, not a fan of the collar on this one red would have been mint.

Don't need to buy it though as I still a long sleeve one in great condition. Signed Number 3 on the back too.

Andrejs Everitt? :D

21-07-2022, 12:57 PM

What about the red shorts I think we brought those back for a game.

I have a vague memory of Chris Grant rocking them at some point.

21-07-2022, 01:14 PM
I have an original in a drawer somewhere I believe. Nice! I'll drag that out and wear it as I watch this weekend from a cold BrisVegas... and it'll no doubt get appropriate levels of beer stains on it as I cheer on a win!

21-07-2022, 01:26 PM
I have an original in a drawer somewhere I believe. Nice! I'll drag that out and wear it as I watch this weekend from a cold BrisVegas... and it'll no doubt get appropriate levels of beer stains on it as I cheer on a win!

21 degrees on Saturday in Brisbane, however will you survive? ;) It didn't reach double figures here on Tuesday.

Wear what you want but the boys won't be pulling Robodog on until round 21 v Freo.

21-07-2022, 02:04 PM
I'm glad we can now all unanimously agree that Robodog was, is and always will be awesome.

Believers 1 Doubters 0

21-07-2022, 02:15 PM
Haha, went to the site to have a closer look and ended buying the 80s retro wool one.

21-07-2022, 02:50 PM
All this nostalgia has made me... Nostalgic.

Found a couple of my "retro" jumpers.

2003 (yes) signed jumper I think I won somewhere. Prizes for the most guessed signatures. Think it even has Peter Rohde our mastermind's sig. The jumper is from 2001 but my memory is the signatures were done in 2003.

2004 Heritage round.

2010 Hall of fame (I think)

https://i.postimg.cc/Z5NcHW2f/20220721-133652.jpg (https://postimg.cc/0z8D2y8m)

https://i.postimg.cc/CxWFyQvh/20220721-133800.jpg (https://postimg.cc/4YQCVBkq)

https://i.postimg.cc/FsVcHjtX/20220721-133918.jpg (https://postimg.cc/tY77rnCB)

21-07-2022, 03:37 PM
21 degrees on Saturday in Brisbane, however will you survive? ;) It didn't reach double figures here on Tuesday.

Wear what you want but the boys won't be pulling Robodog on until round 21 v Freo.

Ohhh! I might wear the 2016 one then, so we show the spirit of Picken!

21-07-2022, 05:06 PM

2003 (yes) signed jumper I think I won somewhere. Prizes for the most guessed signatures. Think it even has Peter Rohde our mastermind's sig. The jumper is from 2001 but my memory is the signatures were done in 2003.

2004 Heritage round.

This is what the current jumper should be. The club has really stuffed it up with thinner stripes and stripes also not under arm pit but lower.

21-07-2022, 05:24 PM
This is what the current jumper should be. The club has really stuffed it up with thinner stripes and stripes also not under arm pit but lower.

100% Agree on having the stripes up to the traditional level.

The predominantly Blue Sash ones should be worn in a Heritage Round one day.

http://www.footyjumpers.com/footscraypre.htm

PS: The Red one has a 100% Premiership strike rate!

21-07-2022, 05:50 PM

Yeah it really irks me how low the hoops are.

21-07-2022, 06:06 PM
I had an old woollen short sleeve from the very early 80's I think ICI was the logo on the front but being wool it shrunk as I go older and didn't fit anymore. :)

21-07-2022, 06:17 PM
Robodog can be let back into the fold, just this once.

Next retro round will be the Thor jumper.

21-07-2022, 06:28 PM
I had an old woollen short sleeve from the very early 80's I think ICI was the logo on the front but being wool it shrunk as I go older and didn't fit anymore. :)

ICI started in 1990.

21-07-2022, 06:28 PM

I've got an old ICI woolen jumper but it's from the 90s as ICI came on board as part of fightback in 1990.

21-07-2022, 06:31 PM
Thanks guys does that make younger or more senile. :eek:

21-07-2022, 06:36 PM

Here's the sponsor logos we've had"

http://www.footyjumpers.com/images/Footscray-Sponsors.gif

21-07-2022, 06:37 PM
Ahhh, the memories

21-07-2022, 06:39 PM
Next retro round will be the Thor jumper.

Your favourite :D:D

21-07-2022, 07:06 PM
Here's the sponsor logos we've had"

http://www.footyjumpers.com/images/Footscray-Sponsors.gif

Well I only saw games in Melbourne between the mid 70's to the mid 80's so who know now it might have been Pyrox. God I'm getting old. I worn it all the games over the top of singlet, tee-shirt, windcheater and if it was extra cold it did get covered with a NATO type jacket. :)

21-07-2022, 07:38 PM

Yeah I like that one. Think it was the first time we'd worn it again and started the campaign to make it permanent.

21-07-2022, 09:06 PM

2004 Heritage round.

https://i.postimg.cc/Z5NcHW2f/20220721-133652.jpg (https://postimg.cc/0z8D2y8m)

https://i.postimg.cc/CxWFyQvh/20220721-133800.jpg (https://postimg.cc/4YQCVBkq)

Also reckon the symbol on the front of the Hall of Fame Jumper with F.F.C. should be used on the jumper versus the plain F.F.C.