28-03-2016, 06:59 PM
Going to be a very enjoyable week.

Go Dogs.

28-03-2016, 07:09 PM
Going to be a very enjoyable week.

Go Dogs.

I've been annoying friends since yesterday, playing it down as a fluke. It's really giving a few of them the Jimmy Smits.

28-03-2016, 07:28 PM
The young girl who was washing my dishes today is the only Freo supporter i know. She was sick of me after 5 mins;)

28-03-2016, 08:10 PM
Ah what a great feeling it is even if it's only after the opening round.

28-03-2016, 08:21 PM
Ah what a great feeling it is even if it's only after the opening round.

Never a truer word spoken. Amen.

28-03-2016, 09:04 PM
Ok,so when was the last time we were top?

28-03-2016, 09:09 PM

I was thinking maybe in 98?

Or did we beat the tiges by over 100 in round one under Rocket?

28-03-2016, 09:11 PM
I was thinking maybe in 98?

Didn't we smash Brisbane a few years back? Or opening round where we smashed Richmond by 100+ points?

28-03-2016, 09:12 PM
Didn't we smash Brisbane a few years back? Or opening round where we smashed Richmond by 100+ points?

It was Tiges. The game Grythan said they gave up.

28-03-2016, 09:13 PM

Yeah that was 07 or 08.

28-03-2016, 09:13 PM

Well, we were on top during Rd 1 in 2013 - that didn't work out so well though!

28-03-2016, 09:15 PM

Got a feeling this time it may be a little different

28-03-2016, 09:15 PM

This year will be different.

28-03-2016, 09:17 PM

Yeah the Brisbane game I mentioned, they were coming off the NAB Cup win and Bob kicked one out of his backside with a banana from the boundary. Before that the 100+ Tiges game a bunch of years earlier, Matty Boyd kicked an awesome running goal. This year, where Wood took one of the best marks ever.

Good to have a single memory from each of good opening games. 3 of my favourite memories incidentally.

28-03-2016, 09:18 PM
Yeah that was 07 or 08.
2006. What a great night that was.

28-03-2016, 09:20 PM
I was trying to work out why i dont remember that game(Brisbane round one), but i was in Borneo at the time according to the missus.

28-03-2016, 09:21 PM
I was trying to work out why i dont remember that game(Brisbane round one), but i was in Borneo at the time according to the missus.

Then YouTube Bob's banana goal from that game. Brilliant as it is arsey.

28-03-2016, 09:27 PM
Then YouTube Bob's banana goal from that game. Brilliant as it is arsey.

Done. That was brilliant.

28-03-2016, 09:28 PM
Done. That was brilliant.

Wasn't it!! You're welcome.

28-03-2016, 10:49 PM
Where do we go from here? ;)

28-03-2016, 11:16 PM
Where do we go from here? ;)

Nowhere :D

28-03-2016, 11:47 PM
What I also love is PERCENTAGE. :)

29-03-2016, 01:05 AM
I love the view from up here. I want to stay here.;)

29-03-2016, 03:19 AM
2006. What a great night that was.

So it's been exactly ten footy years since we've been on top of the ladder?

I love the view from up here. I want to stay here.;)

I can see my house!

29-03-2016, 06:21 PM
Pretty positive we were second on the ladder after round 1 2006, Geelong thumped Brisbane to be on top.

29-03-2016, 06:34 PM
Pretty positive we were second on the ladder after round 1 2006, Geelong thumped Brisbane to be on top.

Nope, that was the last time we were on top.

Bulldogs 4 321.2%
Geelong 4 302.6%

http://afltables.com/afl/seas/2006.html

We have been second since then, but have not reached number one again until now.

Edit: We were also first after rounds 3 and 4 in 2006 as well.

29-03-2016, 08:45 PM
So ten years exactly

29-03-2016, 08:59 PM
So ten years exactly

Ironic hey?

03-04-2016, 08:32 PM
Still top. Go Dogs.

03-04-2016, 08:44 PM
So it's been exactly ten footy years since we've been on top of the ladder?

I can see my house!

Damn. Missed a great chance to make a Ferris Bueller reference - I think I see my dad (down there). :)

03-04-2016, 09:58 PM
2016 AFL Season Ladder sorted by Premiership Points

Position
Team
Played (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ladder?year=2016&pt=SE&st=SE&sb=g)
Win (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ladder?year=2016&pt=SE&st=SE&sb=w)
Loss (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ladder?year=2016&pt=SE&st=SE&sb=l)
Draw (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ladder?year=2016&pt=SE&st=SE&sb=d)
%Won (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ladder?year=2016&pt=SE&st=SE&sb=t)
Points (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ladder?year=2016&pt=SE&st=SE&sb=p)
For (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ladder?year=2016&pt=SE&st=SE&sb=f)
Against (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ladder?year=2016&pt=SE&st=SE&sb=a)
Percentage (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ladder?year=2016&pt=SE&st=SE&sb=c)
Movement (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ladder?year=2016&pt=SE&st=SE&sb=m)
Streak (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ladder?year=2016&pt=SE&st=SE&sb=s)

Western Bulldogs (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs)
100.00%
264.86%
+0
Won 2

Sydney Swans (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-sydney-swans)
100.00%
212.90%
+0
Won 2

Gold Coast Suns (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-gold-coast-suns)
100.00%
154.38%
+0
Won 2

North Melbourne Kangaroos (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-kangaroos)
100.00%
124.44%
+4
Won 2

Adelaide Crows (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-adelaide-crows)
50.00%
124.87%
+6
Won 1

Geelong Cats (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-geelong-cats)
50.00%
109.71%
Lost 1

Hawthorn Hawks (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks)
50.00%
109.47%
+7
Won 1

West Coast Eagles (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-west-coast-eagles)
50.00%
108.96%
Lost 1

GWS Giants (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-greater-western-sydney-giants)
50.00%
107.05%
+1
Won 1

Richmond Tigers (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-richmond-tigers)
50.00%
104.71%
Lost 1

Melbourne Demons (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-melbourne-demons)
50.00%
93.04%
Lost 1

Port Adelaide Power (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-port-adelaide-power)
50.00%
89.75%
Lost 1

Essendon Bombers (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-essendon-bombers)
50.00%
74.47%
+3
Won 1

Collingwood Magpies (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-collingwood-magpies)
50.00%
63.93%
+3
Won 1

Carlton Blues (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-carlton-blues)
0.00%
69.06%
Lost 2

Brisbane Lions (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-brisbane-lions)
0.00%
65.37%
Lost 2

Fremantle Dockers (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-fremantle-dockers)
0.00%
60.26%
+1
Lost 2

St Kilda Saints (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints)
0.00%
60.18%
Lost 2

03-04-2016, 10:03 PM
The current ladder says we played 17 & 18 (because our margins put them there), but after round 2 we are the only team to give up less than 123 points, let alone less than 100, let alone only 74. Amazing defensive result for an highly attacking team.

03-04-2016, 11:08 PM
The current ladder says we played 17 & 18 (because our margins put them there), but after round 2 we are the only team to give up less than 123 points, let alone less than 100, let alone only 74. Amazing defensive result for an highly attacking team.

50 points less than the Swans in next place.

03-04-2016, 11:10 PM
I'm hitting the sack after a great weekend headlined by our second sweeping victory, 2/2 to start the season, top of the ladder. Makes it easy to go to work tomorrow. Go Dogs.

07-04-2016, 01:04 PM
We have not been top of the ladder after round 4 since 1997 (we were top in round 14).

12-06-2016, 07:50 PM
Looks like we could be back top 10:30pm Saturday.

12-06-2016, 07:55 PM
Looks like we could be back top 10:30pm Saturday.

That would be nice going into the bye. North need to lose to the Hawks.

12-06-2016, 07:57 PM
That would be nice going into the bye. North need to lose to the Hawks.

Yep. Ive already got ahead of myself and the Hawks are going to win.

Going to be an enjoyable couple of weeks.

13-06-2016, 10:49 AM
Melbourne need to beat Sydney as well

13-06-2016, 11:48 AM
Melbourne need to beat Sydney as well
Sydney don't play until Sunday, though, so the point still remains that we will be on top of the ladder come late Saturday night if Hawthorn and the Bulldogs win.

03-04-2021, 10:12 PM
Nice spot to be.

03-04-2021, 10:16 PM
Nice spot to be.

Would be great to be top come seasons end. A lot of work still to do but you never know. I believe it would be the first time in the VFL/AFL we have finished top. In our premiership years of 1954 and 2016 we finished 3rd and 7th respectively.

03-04-2021, 10:59 PM
Nice spot to be.

Eagles making sure we will be top by end of round

03-04-2021, 11:04 PM

Yep Ports % was pretty high before this game so yep a big Eagles win helps us to the top.

03-04-2021, 11:44 PM

Don't count your chickens. Melbourne play GWS tomorrow and the Giants are capable of being just as insipid as North at the moment.

04-04-2021, 12:23 AM
Don't count your chickens. Melbourne play GWS tomorrow and the Giants are capable of being just as insipid as North at the moment.

So are Melbourne

04-04-2021, 12:44 AM
This time of the season is a bit crazy town. We have a great opportunity to grind out a win this coming week and solidify a spot in the top four with a decent percentage.

If we just stick to our knitting and do what we should be doing around the ball/ between the arcs we'll be competitive.

But, it's great to be on top and our most prolific poster when we win Danjul will be sure to be swinging from the rafters right now because we're finally on to of the ladder!!!!

04-04-2021, 08:05 AM
Expect the ladder to be all over the place until about mid season. Teams frantically changing what they see as important with the new rules. I reckon in 3-4 weeks we will see a swing towards certain styles again. Expect at some stage we will cop a couple of beltings as well as things evolve.

04-04-2021, 08:29 AM
Top of the ladder is a nice spot, but it is important that we really turn up to play next week against Brisbane.

At Ballarat is an advantage for us and a win will have us really set up for a top 4 finish.

04-04-2021, 08:43 AM
Top of the ladder is a nice spot, but it is important that we really turn up to play next week against Brisbane.

At Ballarat is an advantage for us and a win will have us really set up for a top 4 finish.

Spot on, a win against Brisbane is an important step in our 2021 season and we need to take advantage of our home game.

04-04-2021, 08:53 AM
Spot on, a win against Brisbane is an important step in our 2021 season and we need to take advantage of our home game. It is a big game because we need to bank as many as we can while things are in a state of change. On paper we have a great draw on the run home too so wins now will be critical.

Not convinced we are better off at Ballarat. Rain forecast which we have tended to struggle with and an opponent who are desperate for a win.

04-04-2021, 09:07 AM
It is a big game because we need to bank as many as we can while things are in a state of change. On paper we have a great draw on the run home too so wins now will be critical.

Not convinced we are better off at Ballarat. Rain forecast which we have tended to struggle with and an opponent who are desperate for a win.

We are clearly advantaged over Brisbane with the location. If it rains it certainly won't assist their tall forwards.
We have now been playing there for 5 years.

04-04-2021, 09:47 AM
You love to see it. Plenty of footy to come, but we’ve given ourselves a good shot with this start.

04-04-2021, 10:41 AM
This win and percentage boost is like a break in serve and we need to consolidate it next week with a win against the Lions and retain top spot

04-04-2021, 12:02 PM
We are clearly advantaged over Brisbane with the location. If it rains it certainly won't assist their tall forwards.
We have now been playing there for 5 years. We have struggled to handle the ball in slippery conditions. I suggest right now Fagan would love some rain to get in the trenches.

04-04-2021, 12:15 PM
Most games we struggle to pick the ball up under the roof, let alone in the rain. This game will be defying don’t worry about that. Bris will come out hard and attack strongly around the ball. We are once again the hunted. Richmond and St.kilda showed yesterday that if you just think turning up is enough, then think again. We’ve had our Rort for the year. Now it’s time to get back to business.

04-04-2021, 02:41 PM
One game at a time but the seas are parting for us. The teams we beat are winning and Tiges and Port losing...

04-04-2021, 03:26 PM
We have struggled to handle the ball in slippery conditions. I suggest right now Fagan would love some rain to get in the trenches.

Given our strength around the contest I’m thinking a game in the trenches would suit us a little more than them... especially with Neale not 100%.

04-04-2021, 03:36 PM
Given our strength around the contest I’m thinking a game in the trenches would suit us a little more than them... especially with Neale not 100%.

This is my thinking also.
I remember the game in Adelaide where Bont was just a level above.

04-04-2021, 04:08 PM
Given our strength around the contest I’m thinking a game in the trenches would suit us a little more than them... especially with Neale not 100%. Generally I would agree but it’s their best chance of winning and we are proven to be poor IF it’s wet. You can almost guarantee they are going to be on they can’t afford to go 1-3.

04-04-2021, 07:30 PM
This win and percentage boost is like a break in serve and we need to consolidate it next week with a win against the Lions and retain top spot

Great opportunity to win the next two. We beat Brisbane in Ballarat in 2019 when they finished 2nd on the ladder.

04-04-2021, 09:52 PM
Will be top after Round 3.

Go Dogs keep it going!

08-04-2021, 01:58 PM
This time of the season is a bit crazy town. We have a great opportunity to grind out a win this coming week and solidify a spot in the top four with a decent percentage.

If we just stick to our knitting and do what we should be doing around the ball/ between the arcs we'll be competitive.

But, it's great to be on top and our most prolific poster when we win Danjul will be sure to be swinging from the rafters right now because we're finally on to of the ladder!!!!

Nah. Too many handballs.

08-04-2021, 04:19 PM
We have struggled to handle the ball in slippery conditions. I suggest right now Fagan would love some rain to get in the trenches.

Generally I would agree but it’s their best chance of winning and we are proven to be poor IF it’s wet. You can almost guarantee they are going to be on they can’t afford to go 1-3.

Not sure how it is proven we are poor in the wet? Without forensically studying our games over the past few years I can recall both good and bad games in the wet. I don't think we are significantly advantaged or disadvantaged by wet conditions.

09-04-2021, 03:15 PM
Not sure how it is proven we are poor in the wet? Without forensically studying our games over the past few years I can recall both good and bad games in the wet. I don't think we are significantly advantaged or disadvantaged by wet conditions.

We stunk it up in the wet against the Cows in 2018 at AO, but were excellent one year later at the same venue against Power.

Our ''handball game'' is suited to dry conditions, but given we're a strong contested ball game we still should be very competitive regardless of the conditions as long as we make some subtle adjustments to our game plan.

09-04-2021, 07:27 PM
We stunk it up in the wet against the Cows in 2018 at AO, but were excellent one year later at the same venue against Power.

Our ''handball game'' is suited to dry conditions, but given we're a strong contested ball game we still should be very competitive regardless of the conditions as long as we make some subtle adjustments to our game plan.

I was at that game against the Crows at AO in 2018. Just as we got dropped off the heavens broke and it rained harder than I've ever seen it rain it was incredible.

As a matter of interest Adelaide Oval is the best ground in the competition to watch footy at.

10-04-2021, 06:02 PM
Really important winning the first 4. Winning at least the next two would be crucial.
We've had a pretty good draw the first 6 weeks, and its important to win the one's you should, down the stretch when our schedule gets tougher and we drop a couple.

We've got 2 games in WA, 1 in Geelong and one in Adelaide against Port.

Rounds 7 through to 14 has a number of tough games will really shape our end of year ladder position. In order we've got
Richmond at MCG
Carlton at Marvel
Port in Adelaide
Saints at Marvel
Demons at Marvel
Freo in Perth
Geelong at Geelong
West Coast in Perth

So getting to 6-0 is going to be very important, because we could very well drop a few of those games.

10-04-2021, 06:36 PM
Really important winning the first 4. Winning at least the next two would be crucial.
We've had a pretty good draw the first 6 weeks, and its important to win the one's you should, down the stretch when our schedule gets tougher and we drop a couple.

Rounds 7 through to 14 has a number of tough games will really shape our end of year ladder position. In order we've got
Richmond at MCG
Carlton at Marvel
Port in Adelaide
Saints at Marvel
Demons at Marvel
Freo in Perth
Geelong at Geelong
West Coast in Perth

So getting to 6-0 is going to be very important, because we could very well drop a few of those games.

Nah well win em all!!

4 and 0 on top, what a start!

10-04-2021, 06:45 PM

Richmond at MCG
Carlton at Marvel
Port in Adelaide
Saints at Marvel
Demons at Marvel
Freo in Perth
Geelong at Geelong
West Coast in Perth

This is why the GC and GWS games are non negotiables. They have to be wins. Carlton and Saints at Marvel are for some reason, never easy, so if we can get to 6-0 leading to Rich, then our confidence will hopefully win us a chunk of that group.
Geel at Geelong and then WC in Perth are stuff of nightmares.

10-04-2021, 10:45 PM
It’s great to be still on top!

01-05-2021, 12:45 PM
Well it was fun while it lasted

01-05-2021, 02:07 PM
Well it was fun while it lasted

Yep, and while the demons could possibly be 10-0, we might just be 7-3

01-05-2021, 02:14 PM
Yep, and while the demons could possibly be 10-0, we might just be 7-3

How many of us at the start of the year wouldn't have been happy with the prospect of being 7 and 3?

01-05-2021, 02:18 PM
I’d have taken 7-3 at the start. What I didn’t want is to lose to the saints and blues though. We need to go a level further and beat these teams. Port and tigers I can understand as they’re ahead of us. Dees we should give a run for their money but blues and saints should be wins all day.

01-05-2021, 02:42 PM
Have Melbourne beaten the Kangaroos already?

01-05-2021, 03:06 PM
How many of us at the start of the year wouldn't have been happy with the prospect of being 7 and 3?

Me. Im just a bit down about that second half.

But I'll cheer up, going to my first game in 2 years against the Blue so the excitement will come back soon.

01-05-2021, 07:39 PM
You give kangaroos a chance Jeemak ?

01-05-2021, 10:10 PM
You give kangaroos a chance Jeemak ?

I do.

Tassie game. Melbourne are still Melbourne. Ben Brown coming in could just as easily disrupt them a little and give North a bit if a fire up as end with him kicking 10.

Could be a game where North happen to stumble across a 5 goal lead in the first quarter when they adjust to conditions quicker and then its anyone's game from there.

01-05-2021, 11:01 PM
I do.

Tassie game. Melbourne are still Melbourne. Ben Brown coming in could just as easily disrupt them a little and give North a bit if a fire up as end with him kicking 10.

Could be a game where North happen to stumble across a 5 goal lead in the first quarter when they adjust to conditions quicker and then its anyone's game from there.

Hopefully that’s the scenario that plays out.

02-05-2021, 01:56 AM
Spotty’s women’s team on today’s performance would beat the Kangaroos.
245 to zip

02-05-2021, 05:19 PM
Well almost.......

02-05-2021, 05:52 PM
Well almost.......

They put in a decent effort, until Melb started to put on the pressure, caused erratic possessions and turnovers.
Demons now face Sydney (mcg), Carlton (mcg) and Adel (adel).
Dogs now face Carlton (marvel), port (adel) and st.kilda (marvel)

15-06-2021, 12:23 AM
Big chance for top spot now.

Collingwood. The gift that keeps on giving.

04-07-2021, 08:28 PM
Top of the ladder. You beauty.

When was the last time we were top of the ladder after Round 15?

04-07-2021, 08:34 PM

1998?

04-07-2021, 08:44 PM

BT has a thread on it.

04-07-2021, 09:16 PM
BT has a thread on it.

So called opportunity of a life time thread.

We’ve only done it twice before tonight in nearly a century. 1992 & 1998.

04-07-2021, 09:18 PM
Round 19 1998.

https://afltables.com/afl/seas/1998.html

04-07-2021, 09:54 PM
Great feeling being on top with a healthy Percentage

04-07-2021, 10:31 PM
Good to be on top. We'll have to be at our best to finish there at the end of the season. I'm actually thinking Brisbane will finish on top. Hopefully we can claim 2nd. But Port and geelong have fairly easy runs home as well. We'll need to beat Port to stay ahead of them I think. Win all but 1 and we're likely to finish 1st. Drop 2 or 3, especially if it's against Port and Melbourne, then we could sink to 5th.

Games remaining against Top 8:

Dogs: 3
Dees: 4
Lions: 1 (West Coast at the Gabba)
Power: 3 (Incl GWS)
Cats: 2 (Incl GWS)

https://www.afl.com.au/news/639161/the-run-home-could-shaky-dees-fall-out-of-the-top-four-

05-07-2021, 12:27 AM
It will be a great experience in handling expectation and scrutiny.
The boys might respond and kick those gimmes and know they are top Dogs.

05-07-2021, 12:29 AM
It will be a great experience in handling expectation and scrutiny.
The boys might respond and kick those gimmes.

Will be interesting. We’ve always been the hunter. Now we are the hunted.

05-07-2021, 09:52 AM
This is our best chance at winning the minor premiership for the first time since we joined the VFL

05-07-2021, 09:56 AM
Didn't realise Brisbane had such an easy run in

05-07-2021, 09:59 AM
Moved into outright Premiership favourite with Sportsbet, $4.50. Punters must see something too.

TAB: $4.50 flag, $2.40 to make GF, $2.10 MP, $1.05 Top 4

05-07-2021, 10:15 AM
VFL team also top of the ladder

05-07-2021, 04:03 PM
VFL team also top of the ladder

2016 might happen again. Double premiers.

17-07-2021, 11:04 PM
Draw. So close I thought Hawthorn had it.

25-07-2021, 09:00 AM
I know I put it in the casual boast thread, but I find it amazing. Only three of our VFL/AFL sides have ever got to top of the ladder from Round 16+ in nearly a century of our history. The leader board:

1998 - 3 Rounds on Top (just missed minor premiership)
2021 - 2 Rounds on Top (with four games left)
1992 - 1 Round on Top

With games against Adelaide, Essendon, Hawthorn & Port. Not only could this side set a new club record of Rounds on Top of the ladder post Round 16, they have put themselves in arguably the best position to secure our first ever Minor Premiership. This group led by Brownlow Bont is simply outstanding.

25-07-2021, 09:02 AM
I know I put it in the casual boast thread, but I find it amazing. Only three of our VFL/AFL sides have ever got to top of the ladder from Round 16+ in nearly a century of our history. The leader board:

1998 - 3 Rounds on Top (just missed minor premiership)
2021 - 2 Rounds on Top (with four games left)
1992 - 1 Round on Top

With games against Adelaide, Essendon, Hawthorn & Port. Not only could this side set a new club record of Rounds on Top of the ladder post Round 16, they have put themselves in arguably the best position to secure our first ever Minor Premiership. This group led by Brownlow Bont is simply outstanding.

Will never get a better chance.

25-07-2021, 09:18 PM
Top of the Ladder…

But… 60 Games have been pumped into kids and debutants so far this year. With the likelihood of that growing to over 100 games by years end. I find that absolutely mind blowing that a premiership contender in the immediate term is fast tracking young talent for the medium term. I also think it means our window might stay open for longer as our kids/debutants get to the level quicker and not whenever retirements kick in. Fast track development of these guys not at the expense of winning seems a rare thing. But here we are!!

25-07-2021, 11:49 PM
Top of the Ladder…

But… 60 Games have been pumped into kids and debutants so far this year. With the likelihood of that growing to over 100 games by years end. I find that absolutely mind blowing that a premiership contender in the immediate term is fast tracking young talent for the medium term. I also think it means our window might stay open for longer as our kids/debutants get to the level quicker and not whenever retirements kick in. Fast track development of these guys not at the expense of winning seems a rare thing. But here we are!!

4 first year players were in yesterdays game

Scott 16 games, Garcia 6, JUH 3, and Weightman virtually a first with 13

26-07-2021, 10:47 AM
4 first year players were in yesterdays game

Scott 16 games, Garcia 6, JUH 3, and Weightman virtually a first with 13

I think we've played the most players of any side...

26-07-2021, 10:53 AM
I think we've played the most players of any side...

Only players to miss out on a game this season are Hayes and Bedendo

26-07-2021, 11:13 AM
By choice apparently though so it doesn’t count. Much like Bruce’s goals and all of our wins.

26-07-2021, 11:31 AM
Only players to miss out on a game this season are Hayes and Debendo

Tsk, tsk. Go sit in the naughty corner BAD. ;)

26-07-2021, 12:10 PM

Whoops :o

26-07-2021, 12:47 PM
I like the view on top. Sensational.

29-07-2021, 03:13 PM
We get to consolidate our image as top dog now. No poison chalice for us.

29-07-2021, 03:58 PM
It's amazing what the win against Melbourne has done for our credibility.

We've now beaten three of our four closest ladder rivals, and it would have been four if it wasn't for a disappointing last minute of the game at Shit Stadium.

29-07-2021, 04:02 PM
But being on top you don't get good draft picks...

29-07-2021, 04:34 PM
Over nearly a century, the most Rounds our club has ever spent on top after Round 16 is just 3 Rounds (1998). Beat Adelaide this week and we equal this club record. Then the opportunity to break new ground.

We just haven’t had sides like this, with historical reference, that win and keep winning. Get to the top of the ladder late in the year and hold it for multiple weeks. For whatever reason we haven’t been able to do that as a club, almost forever. This is a special group who like 1998 has a chance to win our first ever minor premiership.

Don’t take what’s going on at our club currently for granted, or be too pessimistic. It’s historically rare for us to be where we are. Enjoy the ride from here on out and all the great possibilities open to the side.

29-07-2021, 04:37 PM

Gotta roll with punches I guess. The rules are the rules…

29-07-2021, 04:39 PM

Thats exactly what Danny from Droop St said on the Coodabeens the same night we won the 2016 premiership

29-07-2021, 04:47 PM
Over nearly a century, the most Rounds our club has ever spent on top after Round 16 is just 3 Rounds (1998). Beat Adelaide this week and we equal this club record. Then the opportunity to break new ground.

We just haven’t had sides like this, with historical reference, that win and keep winning. Get to the top of the ladder late in the year and hold it for multiple weeks. For whatever reason we haven’t been able to do that as a club, almost forever. This is a special group who like 1998 has a chance to win our first ever minor premiership.

Don’t take what’s going on at our club currently for granted, or be too pessimistic. It’s historically rare for us to be where we are. Enjoy the ride from here on out and all the great possibilities open to the side.

In my time we have finished second with 16 or less wins three times.

we have never had more than 16 wins. This year is a big chance.

29-07-2021, 04:53 PM
In my time we have finished second with 16 or less wins three times.

we have never had more than 16 wins. This year is a big chance.

Yep. We are in such a rare spot right now, and we had good teams before, but this group could be altogether better and possibly our best EVER home and away team in nearly a century of our time in the VFL/AFL. Amazing times to be bulldogs people.

29-07-2021, 05:30 PM
Our 2016 team was pretty special as well given the injuries that it had throughout the season, managing 15 wins but only falling into 7th! I wonder what they may have done with a healthier list throughout the year.

I think this team has better credentials at full strength, and seemingly with plenty of injuries as well.

30-07-2021, 11:28 AM

Try saying 'Bedendo Debendo' repeatedly.
I guess it dependoes.

30-07-2021, 11:40 AM
I guess it dependoes.

I think I saw Bedendo Debendo competing in the Judo in Tokyo.

30-07-2021, 12:53 PM
I guess it dependoes.

"Bedendo Debendo Splendendo" would be more difficult.

30-07-2021, 01:06 PM
"Bedendo Debendo Splendendo" would be more difficult.

What is this, Harry Potter?

30-07-2021, 01:24 PM
What is this, Harry Potter?

Funnily enough the original idea for the site was as an outlet for mine and Gary's shared passion for Harry Potter. But we couldn't think of a relevant anagram to fit with Harry Potter so we went with a Bulldogs website instead.

30-07-2021, 02:34 PM
Funnily enough the original idea for the site was as an outlet for mine and Gary's shared passion for Harry Potter. But we couldn't think of a relevant anagram to fit with Harry Potter so we went with a Bulldogs website instead.

https://i.postimg.cc/SQ52JQbs/tenor.gif (https://postimages.org/)

31-07-2021, 04:57 PM
This side just equaled the 96 year old club record:

Post Round 16: Most Rounds Finished on Top - Three - 1998 and now 2021

But this side has three more games to try to set a new record.

31-07-2021, 05:00 PM
We are currently scheduled to play Essendon on Friday night, but given this weekends changes, the game may be moved.

31-07-2021, 05:13 PM
We are currently scheduled to play Essendon on Friday night, but given this weekends changes, the game may be moved.

For safety, call off the rest of the year and maybe start finals in two weeks. That would make us Minor Premiers I guess though.

01-08-2021, 06:25 PM
Historic minor premiership for Dogs the last thing on Bevo's mind (https://www.afl.com.au/news/655684/historic-minor-premiership-for-dogs-the-last-thing-on-bevo-s-mind)

THE LURE of finishing on top of the ladder, earning a double chance and winning a first ever minor premiership for the Western Bulldogs is not playing on the mind of veteran coach Luke Beveridge.

The Bulldogs inched closer to cementing top spot when they cruised past Adelaide by 49 points at Mars Stadium on Saturday afternoon and now remain in the box seat to finish the year with the club's first minor premiership.

The ladder leaders face Essendon, Hawthorn and Port Adelaide in the final three weeks of the season and Beveridge knows anything can happen during the run home.

"We are just keeping our head in the game and I don't really want to talk about that (minor premiership) because if I do, I will be quoted," Beveridge said.

"There are three games left and it is still really tight there.

"If we can keep fronting up with the same motivation, the same willingness to contribute and inspire each other then we will be OK and whatever happens from there will take care of itself."

story continues in above link

01-08-2021, 07:05 PM
Not too concerned with top spot, more the Melbourne final vs interstate side that comes with it. Unless Dees keep losing I guess. Anyway, we will have a really good crack at going straight into a prelim.

14-08-2021, 05:20 PM
In 96 years

We’ve never won more than 16 games in a season. We’ve never won a minor premiership.

Nothing changes after 2021.