View Full Version : Game Day Round 2 2016 - Western Bulldogs vs St Kilda

01-04-2016, 07:27 AM
I thought I'd start this a bit earlier than normal (Apologies to Eastdog)

I'm really looking forward to this game. The Saints are playing well and have everything to play for on Saturday night with Rooey's 300th.

How do you think we will go and how big will the crowd be?

01-04-2016, 09:09 AM
Its going to be a great test for us as Sainters will come out red hot. We need to start this like we did against Freo.

40k for the crowd.

01-04-2016, 09:22 AM
All good GVGjr. While I usually start the game day threads each week I'm more than happy for other woofers to start them up if I happen to not get in first.

I'm looking forward to the game as well. I reckon we need to be weary with this game as we know what happened last year but I'm hopeful this year will put it right and come out firing from the start. Got my seat secured and will be sitting in our designated bay Level 1 Aisle 48. Could get around 40K for sure.

01-04-2016, 10:00 AM
The Saints always give us a hard time but I think we have the better team. The younger players don't know anything about the past, so they will treat the Saints just like any other team. We were all concerned last week with the Freo talls, but we showed just because they are tall, doesn't mean they are any good. I think Wood will play tall, with Adams picking up either McCartin or Bruce and Morris to Rooey when he goes forward.

The Saints, like Freo will struggle in their back half. I think Fisher is not as good as he once was, so TBoyd should forget the wrestling and launch himself at the ball. Armitage played well against us last year, and we know Bevo doesn't tag these guys.

Dogs by 35 points
First Goal - Picken
BOG - JJ
Crowd 38500

01-04-2016, 01:09 PM
I hope we give them a smacking. I hate that our games v St. Kilda are almost always close ones.

We need to be defensively on again because they like playing at Etihad too and will certainly roll the dice in an all out attack game IMO. If we get the balance right, we'll be fine.

Dogs by 27 points
BOG Bonti
First goal Dahl

01-04-2016, 01:23 PM
I'd forget the freaky first game from last year. This one could be similar to the second game, an arm wrestle. We won that with 15 minutes of footy in the third quarter, iirc. Otherwise, StK were with us all game.

I think for one thing we will need to kick straighter than last week, the result could be much closer.

01-04-2016, 01:45 PM
We usually struggle to shake off St.Kilda.

Dogs by 16 points
1st Goal - Tom Boyd
BOG - Dahlhaus
Crowd - 39,976.

01-04-2016, 02:47 PM
I'm very confident going into this one. Nothing to worry about. We are a much better side.

Dogs by 41
BOG - Stevens
First Goal - Stevens
Crowd - 41,059

01-04-2016, 03:03 PM
Margin: Dogs by 23 points
First Goal: Hunter to get our first for the night
Best On Ground: Wallis
Crowd: 40,544

01-04-2016, 03:08 PM
I'd forget the freaky first game from last year. This one could be similar to the second game, an arm wrestle. We won that with 15 minutes of footy in the third quarter, iirc. Otherwise, StK were with us all game.

I think for one thing we will need to kick straighter than last week, the result could be much closer.

Our goal kicking was not the worst ever last week but in closer games it needs to be better as it could be the difference.

01-04-2016, 03:33 PM
Hope we smash them. Karma for Riewoldts dive.

01-04-2016, 03:54 PM
Always a danger game for us, particularly this week with the build up and importance for St Kilda.

I'm expecting a reasonable crowd, so will need to be organised and arrive early. Should be around the 40,000 mark I'd say.

Dogs by 36
First goal Boyd (Tom)
BOG Liberatore

01-04-2016, 04:03 PM
After an early struggle I think we will prevail.

Dogs by 20 pts
First goal Stringer
BOG Murph

01-04-2016, 04:33 PM
I think we'll get away from the previous arm wrestles and smack them by 50+
First goal- T Boyd
BOG- Bonti

01-04-2016, 05:15 PM
We've won three of the last four, so why does it seem like this mob always give us grief?

Saints by 21 points
First Goal : Toyd
BOG : Jack Macrae

01-04-2016, 06:13 PM
If we bring the heat like we did on Sunday we'll cruise to an 8 goal win. If we get the shits for two quarters like we did last week we'll cruise to an 8 point win.

They'll be heaps there. I wish it was our home game. I'm tipping 42k.

Boyd to get his first bag 4-5
Thinking this is set up for Hunter BOG with close to 40 possies.

01-04-2016, 07:01 PM
Dogs by 55pts

First Goal-TBoyd

BOG-The Bont

01-04-2016, 07:26 PM
We hadn't beaten Freo for ages and smoked them.

If we play our footy, it should be a formality. This team has too much depth and firepower than any we've had since I've been following the Dogs.

Dogs by 42
FG: Dunkley
BOG: Hunter

01-04-2016, 07:30 PM
Dogs by 12
FG & BOG, Tom Boyd

01-04-2016, 10:07 PM
Dogs by 12
FG & BOG, Tom Boyd

He's spending enough time in the ruck, he could get BOG.

01-04-2016, 11:04 PM
He's spending enough time in the ruck, he could get BOG.

I tipped Wally BOG but hope Tom can fire a bit to tomorrow night along with Jake who was excellent last Sunday.

01-04-2016, 11:26 PM
Dogs 28 pts
BOG- JJ
First Goal - Tom Boyd

02-04-2016, 01:03 AM
I'm tipping a crowd of 44391. A lot of bulldog supporters and neutrals will turn out and the commentators will say it's great that they turned out for Rooeys 300th but Jake (and us) will know that they have come to see the Stringer show. He will turn it on and kick the lazy ten.

So.

Bulldogs by 61 points
First Goal: Jake Stringer
BOG: Jake Stringer

02-04-2016, 01:37 AM
I think the Saints are quite well coached and with Docklands being their home ground as well they'll have put a fair amount of effort over summer into learning how to defend it very well just as we did last year and the year's preceding it.

Their defence will play a higher press than Fremantle did to choke our movement out of the back half area, so it will be interesting to see whether we can sneak behind it without the pace of Dickson and Crameri at our disposal.

This game's going to be close.

Bulldogs by 21 points
Stringer first goal
Wallis BOG

02-04-2016, 09:12 AM
Dogs by 25. First goal Tom Boyd. BOG - JJ. Crowd 38,888.

02-04-2016, 10:50 AM
Dogs by 45
First goal Stringer
BOG The Bont

This will be a fast paced game and I think we will be too strong in the end.

02-04-2016, 12:16 PM
Do we think Richo will want a faced paced game? It seems to me that this would play into our hands. How will the Saints set up to limit our run out of the back half? They're tall forwards are capable so will he try to isolate them and try to separate our defence? I think Wood may play the loose man if they do.

02-04-2016, 01:02 PM
Need a big game from the Bont.

02-04-2016, 01:05 PM
Really bullish about tonight our pressure will trap them in our forward half much like infamous game last year but with a much better second half. We were coming off a hard slog in Syd with a 6 day break if I remember correctly last year but being only round 2 will be able to hold our form across the 4 quarters. If we have our kicking boots on I can see a 8 goals plus win.

Dogs by 49
First goal Boyd
BOG Stinger

02-04-2016, 01:34 PM
Thinking we might refine the art of turning the nitro afterburners on and off for this one. Freo game was a big prospect for us and it seems we planned to turn it on in the first but off in the second and third to conserve energy for a strong finish. Today against the Saints we only need to win and may just exercise a control of tempo. Of course our game style can gift us heavy scoring regardless of the need to temper tempo.

Dogs by: 25 points
First goal: Boyd, Tom that is, western gold.
BOG: Wallis.

02-04-2016, 05:00 PM
Only a practice match for Footscray but we kicked 28 goals and Dale had 7 of them. Good result indeed keeps the pressure on the seniors.

02-04-2016, 05:18 PM
Over in Perth for 2 weeks. No FTA coverage. Look forward to your match reports.

02-04-2016, 07:01 PM
No Late changes for both teams

02-04-2016, 07:49 PM
Goooooooooooooo Doggiessssssssssssssssss

02-04-2016, 07:56 PM
God I hate playing St Kilda. Still scarred from the Riewoldt Oscar winning dive.

However - Dogs by 13
BOG - Libba
First goal - String-aaaaaaaaaah!

02-04-2016, 08:14 PM
Shane Mcinerney umpiring. 10 at least for Roo. We've lost already.

02-04-2016, 08:32 PM
Whilst it's early days we are off to a good start. Libba with the first goal

02-04-2016, 08:40 PM
Our goal kicking is beyond crisis level. We less than 50-50 from anywhere outside the goal square. Something has to change, it's just not acceptable.

02-04-2016, 08:45 PM
Our goal kicking is beyond crisis level. We less than 50-50 from anywhere outside the goal square. Something has to change, it's just not acceptable.

To be honest we don't want to fix it so we might as well accept it.

02-04-2016, 08:54 PM
To be honest we don't want to fix it so we might as well accept it.

I can't believe we don't want to fix something that's clearly going to cost us games. It's like saying we're not going to bother working on stoppages because we think we can win enough footy through turnovers.

02-04-2016, 08:55 PM
Saints have done reasonable job of putting pressure on us but for christ sake, hit a target.
We should do this easily but we need to make them pay.

02-04-2016, 08:56 PM
Absolutely dominant that quarter. The message will be to be tidier with the ball, which I think we will be.

Our players sometimes need to be a bit more selfish.

We've got a great work rate but still get exposed on the rebound.

I'm loving Adams.

02-04-2016, 08:57 PM
I can't believe we don't want to fix something that's clearly going to cost is games. It's like saying we're not going to bother working on stoppages because we think we can win enough footy through turnovers.

I believe it cost us the final against Adelaide and I don't believe it was a focus over the preseason.
It's a small sample this year but if you count the Collingwood game it's starting to look like a problem for us again.

02-04-2016, 08:57 PM
Nice goal by JJ on the siren. We should be 5 to 6 goals up with the amount of possession and chances we have had.

02-04-2016, 08:58 PM
Anyone see what happemed with Dahlhaus and Newnes?

02-04-2016, 08:59 PM
Nice goal by JJ on the siren. We should be 5 to 6 goals up with the amount of possession and chances we have had.

Yep, Twodogs sent me a text message saying the same

Bonti was everywhere that quarter. Adams looks better every time he plays. Murphy was excellent and really liked MaCrae's work.

Also I don't care much for the hit put on Dahlhaus. Not a lot in it, but I find it very unsporting.

02-04-2016, 09:00 PM
Anyone see what happemed with Dahlhaus and Newnes?

Newnes propped and sort of shoulder blocked him when he wasn't looking. It was nowhere near the ball.

02-04-2016, 09:03 PM
Dahlhaus immense pressure.

02-04-2016, 09:03 PM
Good goal, we need another

02-04-2016, 09:16 PM
We are playing well but just need to finish things off better. 10 minutes of really good football could crack the game right open

02-04-2016, 09:21 PM
JJ brilliant

02-04-2016, 09:22 PM
Adams is a beast.

02-04-2016, 09:31 PM
so, the Stk are stacking the backline and looking to fast break on the rebound. We are in front, I wouldn't say comfortably, how do we deal with this? I suspect we will see a lot more of this tactic against us this season.

Adams playing like he's played 100 games.

Adams is Lake like. We have a cracker on our hands.

02-04-2016, 09:32 PM
Caleb Daniel, massive first half.

02-04-2016, 09:34 PM
Caleb Daniel, massive first half.

He's only had 11 possessions but he uses the ball so efficiently it seems like he's had so much more.

02-04-2016, 09:35 PM
If we can take the opportunities we can smash them. Adams is a ripper. JJ playing some very good footy.

02-04-2016, 09:36 PM
JJ's intercept is something we are going to see quite a bit this week. Gun

02-04-2016, 09:36 PM
so, the Stk are stacking the backline and looking to fast break on the rebound. We are in front, I wouldn't say comfortably, how do we deal with this? I suspect we will see a lot more of this tactic against us this season.

It's more their pressure around the ball. If we hit targets then we'll crack them open but some of our finishing both by foot and hand has been average. The Saints run has been pretty good. They gave us a real test in that quarter.
Can't speak highly enough of that steal by JJ. That was a 12 point goal right there.
Adams has been outstanding. Not rapt with M Boyd's start to the year.

02-04-2016, 09:37 PM
I have noticed the poor kicking for goal curse effects just about "every" team I have watched this year. We are not on our Pat Malone.

02-04-2016, 09:46 PM
Good old Richo is flooding back at every opportunity. It's stopping us from hitting up but isn't allowing them to run and carry.

We may have to be satisfied grinding this one out.

God I hate the Saints and feel sick at the idea of dropping this game.

02-04-2016, 10:01 PM
Suckling could've all but iced the game. Awful decision.

02-04-2016, 10:04 PM
Effing dribble kicks! WTAF?

Every time we do that we give opponents life.

02-04-2016, 10:09 PM
Effing dribble kicks! WTAF?

Every time we do that we give opponents life.

Perhaps Dickson's form in front of goal had been hiding the problem for a while

02-04-2016, 10:17 PM
Well that was an awfully frustrating quarter.
Both teams look cooked. Last quarter will either be open as or sloppy as.

02-04-2016, 10:20 PM
Well that was an awfully frustrating quarter.
Both teams look cooked. Last quarter will either be open as or sloppy as.

I'm not sure why that would be. A couple of better decisions with our goal kicking and we would look pretty good.

02-04-2016, 10:22 PM
Frustrating because we didn't capitalise on weight of possession.

02-04-2016, 10:22 PM

To a point, sure. The problem's certainly not a new one.

This game could be over.

02-04-2016, 10:25 PM
McCartin has been so horrible tonight, certainly given our defense an easy person to run off of.

02-04-2016, 10:25 PM
Jeez we've got out of a few situations by the skin of our teeth. Saints butchered that one

02-04-2016, 10:37 PM
Stuck on a ship half way across the pacific, keep the commentary coming!

02-04-2016, 10:38 PM
That Suckling kick...wow

02-04-2016, 10:44 PM
Good signs by Boyd. Lots to like tonight although very scrappy

02-04-2016, 10:50 PM
Some veteran turnovers from Roo-ey tonight.
Solid win. Giving up 10 goals in 2 weeks is top notch

02-04-2016, 10:50 PM
This is exactly what I wanted to see. There were lots of potential 'ghosts' for us in this game, given last year's result. We could've been susceptible tonight. But apart from a second week of poor goal kicking we kept up the pressure for 4 quarters and never really looked likely to be headed.
Next week will give us a real peak at where we are. Hawks. Can't wait.

02-04-2016, 10:52 PM
McCartin has been so horrible tonight, certainly given our defense an easy person to run off of.

Bit harsh. Young key forward with a lot to learn and a few pre seasons to get fitter yet.

Looks a good natural player to me. Give him time.

02-04-2016, 10:56 PM
Bit harsh. Young key forward with a lot to learn and a few pre seasons to get fitter yet.

Looks a good natural player to me. Give him time.

If Boyd played a game half as bad as that he'd be crucified by the media.

02-04-2016, 10:59 PM
If Boyd played a game half as bad as that he'd be crucified by the media.

Sure. But we're not the media. We're educated football followers that appreciate that some things take time. Like premierships..... ;)

02-04-2016, 11:03 PM
Interesting game. I thought we were somewhat mediocre for large parts of the game, looking susceptible to coughing it up under pressure and having too many running forward of the ball, but...we won in a canter.

02-04-2016, 11:03 PM
Sure. But we're not the media. We're educated football followers that appreciate that some things take time. Like premierships..... ;)

The thing is though is that if you're going to be a primarily goal kicking forward then you should either be taking a ton of marks up forward, kicking goals or laying tackles. McCartin didn't even get a point, only took two marks up forward and only laid the one tackle. Not nailing any of those is a crucial failure for a goal kicking forward.

02-04-2016, 11:09 PM

Just using the eye test he doesn't look a great prospect. For a relatively small key forward he doesn't have good speed or agility, has poor endurance, and even looks a bit fat. He needs to develop massively if he's to make it. You don't see many #1 draft picks with so much work to do.

02-04-2016, 11:09 PM
The thing is though is that if you're going to be a primarily goal kicking forward then you should either be taking a ton of marks up forward, kicking goals or laying tackles. McCartin didn't even get a point, only took two marks up forward and only laid the one tackle. Not nailing any of those is a crucial failure for a goal kicking forward.

Harsh.

I mean I hear what you're saying, but it's his 5th or 6th game and he's 19. I'm prepared to cut him more slack.

02-04-2016, 11:17 PM
Just using the eye test he doesn't look a great prospect. For a relatively small key forward he doesn't have good speed or agility, has poor endurance, and even looks a bit fat. He needs to develop massively if he's to make it. You don't see many #1 draft picks with so much work to do.

Yup, the only thing that I know about him is that he's supposed to be a strong mark and an accurate kick. But for an undersized KPP he has a lot of flaws athletics wise.

dukedog
02-04-2016, 11:20 PM
Good win from the boys tonight. Saints have been our bogey team for a while. I agree that mccartin is far too young to be judged too harshly. Especially when his team failed to kick 7 goals between them. One thing i must query.....and im not at all whinging here..... does tom boyd get overlooked for free kicks. Or does he not apply enough intent to get the ball to draw the free? I counted at least 3 occasions he was either pushed or double team manhandled. Maybe im bias ��

02-04-2016, 11:29 PM
Good win from the boys tonight. Saints have been our bogey team for a while. I agree that mccartin is far too young to be judged too harshly. Especially when his team failed to kick 7 goals between them. One thing i must query.....and im not at all whinging here..... does tom boyd get overlooked for free kicks. Or does he not apply enough intent to get the ball to draw the free? I counted at least 3 occasions he was either pushed or double team manhandled. Maybe im bias ��

Tom Boyd most assuredly doesn't get the amount of free kicks he should.

02-04-2016, 11:43 PM
Tom Boyd most assuredly doesn't get the amount of free kicks he should.

Yup, like that one in the second(?) quarter where a saint just jumped front on into him when he was taking a mark in front of goal.

02-04-2016, 11:46 PM
Yup, like that one in the second(?) quarter where a saint just jumped front on into him when he was taking a mark in front of goal.

As blatant as they come. A lay down misere for any umpire.

03-04-2016, 12:13 AM
He was stitched up again, but he managed to still have a good game.

It was a silly game tonight. As expected the Saints pushed their press up to try and curtail our run and carry out of defence but it was only moderately effective. We weren't clean with the football, we tried to be far too cute and for the love of god we shouldn't be dribbling shots at goal unless it's the only option. Nothing pisses me off more than seeing talented footballers missing easy goals (Suckling/Dahl) trying to be stylish.

I thought most players had their moments where they played well, and also probably let themselves down a little bit. That's what happens in a scrappy game.

It was pleasing to keep the Saints to a very ordinary scoreline. Stopping them from scoring with any fluency was the big win.

03-04-2016, 12:19 AM
First live game for me of the year and it was all about JJ, Adams, Biggs, Libba and Caleb.

JJ is just gone to a new level. An All Australian level. He decision making and kicking and desire to have the ball in his hands have improved again off the back of a fantastic year. A pleasure to watch in what was an ugly game of football.

Adams as mentioned before it felt like Lake was back at the Dogs and he and Morris just controlled the game beautifully from defence. His marking and positioning was a highlight and kicking and decision making really sound. Just a few times he had front position he should have gone the punch rather than going for the mark but only a minor criticism after only 2 games of football. He is that far ahead of Roberts its not funny.

Biggs is just so composed. He ball use has gone to another level and generally taking the right option. He is an absolute lock for best 22.

Libba was the Libba you remember. Enough said. Fantastic effort to be back at the level after a handful of games.

Caleb little mate Daniel is fast become one of my favs. So clean, compsed just a natural footballer that happens to be 167cm. He has enough tricks in his bag to be an A grader for mine a 250 game player in the making.

One player that really surprised me and that was Roughead. Smashed Hickey in the ruck, he is really looking mobile,jumping well and covered the ground really well all night. Probably his best game outside of defence for mine.

03-04-2016, 12:25 AM
Good to get another solid win under the belt, albeit in less and efficient fashion. I am glad we spoiled that flogosaurus Saint Nick's party.

Grizz was very good in defence again, Daniel close to BOG in my books. Boyd impacted the scoreboard. Happy days.

03-04-2016, 12:29 AM

This is a good point. Carrying the accuracy stat of the team.

03-04-2016, 12:31 AM
The fact that Nick was their best player, a 300 game speaks volumes about him but doesn't look good for them.well done boys! Our backline is an attacking fortress.

03-04-2016, 12:33 AM
The Newnes and Dahlhaus incident is on the AFL site not quite as innocuous as I first thought.He could be in trouble as he changes his line and was a long was from the ball.

03-04-2016, 12:54 AM
Great game again for our team tonight. Three players who stood out for me were Libba, Daniel and Hunter. JJ did a lot of great things and played another great game. Adams looked very good and Morris is just a champ and defensive we looked very good. Good to see T Boyd get a few as that will get his confidence up. Our goal kicking is a bit of a concern so we want to improve that. Had a great seat tonight Level 1 Aisle 48 and was mainly surrounds by our faithful up right near our cheer squad.

03-04-2016, 12:58 AM
Well, that was much more of a scrap than last week - I won't find myself watching the replay of this one.

The Saints did very well with their pressure and really stifled our ability to create our run and gun style, which made the win all the more pleasing in that we were able to grind it out in an ugly fashion, restrict their scoring and still kick a reasonable score (if we'd kicked straight early and capitalised it could have been a different outcome).

Highlight of the night for me was Suckling's kick to JJ in the last. JJ was quick to identify the ball heading to Suckling and made a great run knowing the kick would be executed and land on his head. JJ also featured in my second favourite play of the night, where he got a hand in and intercepted the handball before running off the other way with the ball.

Picken nearly took a better mark than Wood did last week - he almost went too high meaning he couldn't grab the ball on his chest based on what I saw at the ground.

Macrae really struggled tonight, too often he held the ball up and wasn't able/prepared to move it on quickly in the position he received it.

Roughead played a solid game and Libba took another positive step with his ball use and ability to put it to our advantage being a huge asset on a night where clean use was few and far between.

Marcus Adams has officially won me over. I hope he can develop into a consistent performer for us, because he has a lot of good attributes and has come on a lot quicker than anticipated after watching him at training early in the pre-season.

Dunkley is probably due to go back to the VFL, but should be happy he's had a taste and demonstrated he's got the tools to develop into a good AFL player in time.

03-04-2016, 01:00 AM
I thought we were better this week and played a better opposition. Saints did a great job taking away space most times we surged at goal, forcing us into awkward positions for shots at goals or shooting under pressure. There were some real howlers up forward but we did well to combat the Saints defence. Our D was electric tonight and run and rebound out of the back half was incredible. Always good beating them. Great win.

03-04-2016, 01:05 AM
What really irritates me is the media keep talking about a young Saints team, yet we are younger than them.

Average Attributes

St Kilda
Attribute
Western Bulldogs

186.5cm
Height
186.7cm

84.8kg
Weight
84.8kg

25yr 3mth

Games

Total Players By Games

St Kilda
Games
Western Bulldogs

Less than 50

50 to 99

100 to 149

150 or more

The Saints younger players do not have the skill sets or talent to take them to our level.

03-04-2016, 01:57 AM
Just stop listening to the media :D

I can't wait to hear Tony Shaw & Leigh Matthews explain how Tom Boyd's three goals and solid game were shite.

03-04-2016, 02:30 AM
Dahl laid 13 tackles which was roughly 25% of our teams total.

Wasn't his greatest game inpact wise but what a superb effort.

03-04-2016, 03:46 AM
What we have to understand that we have lost nearly 90 goals from last season with the loss of Crameri and injury to Dickson. That is 4 goals a game. I think the team is doing marvelously well to cover for these two missing goalkickers. We will only get better as time goes on. Plus Dicko will be back soon. Sunny days ahead.

03-04-2016, 05:14 AM
What really irritates me is the media keep talking about a young Saints team, yet we are younger than them.

Average Attributes

St Kilda
Attribute
Western Bulldogs

186.5cm
Height
186.7cm

84.8kg
Weight
84.8kg

25yr 3mth

Games

Total Players By Games

St Kilda
Games
Western Bulldogs

Less than 50

50 to 99

100 to 149

150 or more

The Saints younger players do not have the skill sets or talent to take them to our level.

You beat me to it. The stats don't lie on this occasion.

03-04-2016, 08:05 AM
Dahl laid 13 tackles which was roughly 25% of our teams total.

Wasn't his greatest game inpact wise but what a superb effort.

That's why he's a gun. Good players find a way to influence the contest even if they're having an off night. You'd love to play next to a guy with that intensity every week.

03-04-2016, 08:08 AM
That's why he's a gun. Good players find a way to influence the contest even if they're having an off night. You'd love to play next to a guy with that intensity every week.

You could tell from the St.Kilda post match presser that they had put a fair amount of work into Dahl.. And it worked, but it didn't stop him having a strong influence around the contest.. His tackling is elite.

03-04-2016, 08:43 AM
I'm glad this is being talked about as I wasn't sure if I was being biased. I thought that one and several other times Boyd got a raw deal in marking contests. So much so that in the end I think he actually played for a few frees.

Posted in the wrong spot. I am talking about can't remember who jumping into the front of Boyd

03-04-2016, 09:12 AM
The Saints are a bit behind us in terms of rebuilding their playing list but I think they have a decent future.
Plenty of decent mids and their back line works hard. I think they would be upset that they wasted an early draft pick on Tom Lee but if McCartin and Goddard come along they will be in good shape in the next 2 seasons.

03-04-2016, 09:31 AM
The Saints are a bit behind us in terms of rebuilding their playing list but I think they have a decent future.
Plenty of decent mids and their back line works hard. I think they would be upset that they wasted an early draft pick on Tom Lee but if McCartin and Goddard come along they will be in good shape in the next 2 seasons.

Big if on McCartin for mine. Do you see them struggling in two years without Riewoldt, Montagna, Fisher and Dempster? Bit of a hole, although Carlisle comes in. I know we lose Boyd, Morris and Murphy as well but we seem to not only be in front of them in terms of our rebuild but our young players seem vastly superior within the same age profile as well.

03-04-2016, 09:33 AM
Did anyone else think McCartin looked overweight?

03-04-2016, 09:35 AM

Yeah I did. He needs to lose weight and get fit before he'll even get near it. In contrast, T. Boyd is in great nick physically and gives himself every chance to get to the contest. Boyd's only 8 months older than McCartin.

03-04-2016, 09:38 AM
Big if on McCartin for mine. Do you see them struggling in two years without Riewoldt, Montagna, Fisher and Dempster? Bit of a hole, although Carlisle comes in. I know we lose Boyd, Morris and Murphy as well but we seem to not only be in front of them in terms of our rebuild but our young players seem vastly superior within the same age profile as well.

I think they will have enough younger guys coming through. If they strike it rich in the next draft or two they should be finals contenders albeit potentially just making up the numbers.

03-04-2016, 09:41 AM
They've got Carlisle coming into that team as well. They'll be ok

03-04-2016, 09:42 AM

Yeah I did. He needs to lose weight and get fit before he'll even get near it. In contrast, T. Boyd is in great nick physically and gives himself every chance to get to the contest. Boyd's only 8 months older than McCartin.

12 months back and Boyd was regarded as a bit overweight. McCartin has that extra challenge with his diabetes but I just watched the replay and it was mentioned his blood sugars were now under control. He probably just needs to improve his running and lose just a bit of weight.
He has had some challenges with his kicking so the upside is there.

03-04-2016, 09:56 AM
I personally don't see the optimistic views the media and some others have in regards to the Saints.

They are still so very reliant on Roo, Montagna, Dempster, who along with Fisher, Gilbert and Geary won't be there in a couple years.

Dunston seems to have hit a brick wall since showing early promise. Webster, Roberton, Ross and Savage are just foot soilders who shouldn't be in your best 22 if you're any good.

The great hope Billings will be a decent player. But he is currently being massively overrated after a half of football last year against emotionally and physically drained witches hats.

Steven and Armitage are good players currently in there prime.

They have a dip each week but I just don't see the young talent they have coming through. McCartin and Goddard will take time. I honestly can't see them making it out of the bottom 5 or 6 in the next 4-5 years. They need to draft exceptionally well just as we did.

03-04-2016, 10:31 AM
St.Kilda look decent but don't have the depth of talent clubs like us, GWS, GC and Melbourne (although they'll still stuff it up) do.

They are still heavily reliant on the stars from 5 years ago in Fisher, Riewoldt, Montagna and Dempster

Looking at their list they likely have the following in 2 years time:

Potential elite/very good players: Carlisle, Steven, Billings, Armitage, Bruce,

Potential good AFL players: Hickey, Lonie, Roberton, Goddard, McCartin, Geary

Potential decent players: Savage, Ross, Dunstan, Acres, Freeman, Newnes, Longer, Membrey, Webster, Murdoch, Mckenzie, Sinclair, Weller

It's not overly impressive, and unlike many of the other young clubs it doesn't feel like they are building a formidable backline or midfield or anything other than a scattering across multiple positions, athough there is still lots of room for growth. Really the fact Gilbert still gets a game isn't a great testament to the quality of youth putting their hand up for a game.

*As an aside check out the photoshop job on the player profile picks for Gresham (http://www.saints.com.au/player-profile/jade-gresham) and White (http://www.saints.com.au/player-profile/brandon-white). Surely they would've taken photos by now.

03-04-2016, 10:31 AM
Watched on TV as I had to work. Impressed by Roughead's game. I thought he and Boyd, when he rucked, gave us a real edge. St. Kilda were worthy opponents. They applied a lot of pressure in the phone box but we out scrapped them and were cleaner in close when it counted. Out in the tardis we were quicker and chains of hand passes were, at times, breathtaking. We made a lot of mistakes in front of goals but if you win by 10 against spirited opposition and keep them to such a low score there is a lot to be happy about. One last thing. I hate this crap about playing "sexy football". It's a term straight out of "Spin Doctoring 101". Call it daring, attacking, hard-nosed with flair, inventive, entertaining, pulse-racing etc but save 'sexy' for what goes on in the largest sex organ of all - the brain!

03-04-2016, 11:04 AM
After watching last night's game, I think the Saints will get some good wins this year. Their first 2 matches have been hard ones, Port in SA and WB at Etihad. They appear to be well coached with a cogent game plan, their midfield is good and they were able to move the ball quickly upfield with precision disposals. Quite possibly, a better win last night than we realise.

03-04-2016, 02:36 PM
Crameri might be worried about his spot! Might not get back in the team;)

The comparison article between us and st Kilda in the age noted, some of St Kildas's rookie choices from three years ago are not even on Wikipedia.Our rookie picks have been the difference.

03-04-2016, 03:55 PM
Saints are meh.

Lack class, lack depth and no willingness to take the game on bar one or two guys.

03-04-2016, 06:06 PM
Saints are meh.

Lack class, lack depth and no willingness to take the game on bar one or two guys.

I thought they may have got closer to us last night but yeah they are still quite a fair way behind us based on that game.

03-04-2016, 08:46 PM
I thought they may have got closer to us last night but yeah they are still quite a fair way behind us based on that game.

28 scoring shots to 11. Should have been a flogging.

04-04-2016, 09:53 AM
28 scoring shots to 11. Should have been a flogging.

But it was... Whilst a 80 pont margain might have been more reflective of our general play dominance it wasn't like St.Kilda didn't fluff some chances too.

04-04-2016, 04:47 PM
Don't get this:

Jack Newnes can accept $1000 sanction, engaging in rough conduct against Luke Dahlhaus

Either he meant to hit him or it was an accident?

04-04-2016, 05:02 PM
Don't get this:

Either he meant to hit him or it was an accident?
Maybe vision was inconclusive. Players can disguise a hit, and that was one such case.
More cameras needed?, not sure why they can't find a way to zero in a bit more to catch the elbow or whatever it was. Dahl is tough and does not go down easy.

04-04-2016, 05:49 PM
I don't think there was heaps in it. Newnes was stationery, Dahlhaus didn't see him, Newnes put a block on him.

The fact that it caught Dahl by surprise/wasn't looking was the reason he went down.

04-04-2016, 06:11 PM
Newnes wasn't exactly stationary. He saw Dahlhaus approaching with his head turned then deliberately pulled up from his own trajectory, tucked in his elbow in readiment for contact then thrust back towards a blind Dahlhaus, catching him front on with the express purpose of putting him on his arse.

It wasn't the crime of the century but it was certainly no accidental clash.

04-04-2016, 06:14 PM
Newnes wasn't exactly stationary. He saw Dahlhaus approaching with his head turned then deliberately pulled up from his own trajectory, tucked in his elbow in readiment for contact then thrust back towards a blind Dahlhaus, catching him front on with the express purpose of putting him on his arse.

It wasn't the crime of the century but it was certainly no accidental clash.

Do you think the punishment fits the crime?

04-04-2016, 06:19 PM
If the game wants to trumpet anti-violence, then a heftier fine would be the order of the day. It was really far off the ball.

04-04-2016, 06:30 PM
Newnes held his ground and may have lifted the shoulder somewhat. It was a perfect opportunity for Newnes to get rid of Dahl for the game and he took it. You've got to uphold a level of self-preservation out there if you can and Dahl's got to open his eyes and watch where he's going. Bumps like this happen off the ball all the time, difference is Dahl wasn't looking. Wasn't Newnes fault and I'm surprised he got fined.

04-04-2016, 07:46 PM
Do you think the punishment fits the crime?

My personal view? Yes.

In the context of the modern AFL's stance on this sort of conduct in 2016 though, nope.

Dahlhaus was deliberately decked, when he wasn't looking nor would reasonably expect forceful contact, well off the ball. If I'm AFL House, it's not a good look.

What's stopping one of our blokes doing that to Cyril next week while the ball's nowhere near the vicinity? Apart from a modest fine.

Hang on you've given me an idea.

04-04-2016, 10:26 PM
My personal view? Yes.

In the context of the modern AFL's stance on this sort of conduct in 2016 though, nope.

Dahlhaus was deliberately decked, when he wasn't looking nor would reasonably expect forceful contact, well off the ball. If I'm AFL House, it's not a good look.

What's stopping one of our blokes doing that to Cyril next week while the ball's nowhere near the vicinity? Apart from a modest fine.

Hang on you've given me an idea.

Don't you do it. There would be hell to pay.

04-04-2016, 10:30 PM
Can you imagine Bruce if Cyril got taken out. He wouldn't be able to commentate for 20 mins because of the tears.
Then he would spend the rest of the match inciting a life time ban for the offender.

04-04-2016, 11:43 PM
Can you imagine Bruce if Cyril got taken out. He wouldn't be able to commentate for 20 mins because of the tears.
Then he would spend the rest of the match inciting a life time ban for the offender.

The howls would echo through the ages.

05-04-2016, 10:16 AM
All the goals thanks to Als Videos:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rrkxztZBF6o

05-04-2016, 11:36 AM
I watched the game again last night, and one thing I noticed was Mitch Wallis and how he so often at stoppages sacrifices his own game/his own chance of getting the ball - by setting up to be defensive player at the stoppage.

Thought he did a good job of making sure the likes of Steven and Armitage rarely got the first possession/break away from a stoppage.

It makes sense with the likes of Bonti and Libba inside, that Wally would be designated as the more defensive player in there - but thought it was worth noting that he is doing that work.