View Full Version : Game Day Round 3 2016 - Western Bulldogs V Hawthorn

08-04-2016, 02:40 PM
Ill put my predictions in for the game on Sunday probably tomorrow on here. Looking forward to this match.

Give your

Margin
First Goal
Best On Ground
Crowd

08-04-2016, 03:15 PM
Margin Doggies by 26 points
First Goal TBoyd
Best On Ground Libba
Crowd 40K

Go dogs - can't wait for this game

08-04-2016, 03:17 PM
Margin: Dogs by 16 points
First Goal: Stringer
Best On Ground: Libba
Crowd: 44,608

08-04-2016, 03:22 PM
Bulldogs by 51 points
First Goal - Picken
BOG - Macrae
Crowd - 37,264

08-04-2016, 03:24 PM
Dogs by 21
First Goal: McClean
BOG: Libba
Crowd: 42,000

08-04-2016, 04:32 PM
Dogs by 15
First Goal: Bontempelli
BOG: Easton Wood
Crowd: 41,954

08-04-2016, 04:52 PM
Despite the opponent, quite like us in this one, so watch us drop it.

Dogs by 1 point
First Goal: Picken
BOG: Johannisen

08-04-2016, 06:20 PM
Dogs by 7 points
First Goal: Picken
Best On Ground: Libba
Crowd: 41, 017

08-04-2016, 06:34 PM
Dogs by 12 points
First Goal: Stringer
BOG: Libba

08-04-2016, 08:28 PM
Hawks by 35
First goal Tom Boyd
BOG Liberatore
Crowd 43,900

08-04-2016, 08:39 PM
Well I said I'll get in with my predictions tomorrow but changed my mind :) couldn't wait especially seeing other woofers putting their predictions through.

Here goes:

Margin: Dogs by 28 points
First Goal: Dahl to get our first
Best On Ground: Libba to have a great one
Crowd: 41,554

08-04-2016, 08:53 PM
Dogs by 53
Bog & FG Tom Boyd

08-04-2016, 10:25 PM
Dogs by 10
First goal to Roughy
BOG to JJ
Crowd 44,500

08-04-2016, 10:30 PM
Dogs by 41 points
First Goal T Boyd
BOG Hunter

09-04-2016, 09:34 AM
Dogs by 28
First goal - Boyd
BOG - Stevens

I've been to both Hawthorn matches this year, and noting it will be slightly different under the roof, their ability to get numbers around the contest (not necessarily to it, but around it, if that makes sense) showed out against West Coast. When they won the ball they were able to transition it quickly. They generally got their own way at the clearance too, where they generated clean ball going forward.

Against the Cats they didn't seemingly have 5 extra players on the field, so I put that down to Geelong holding a better structure and possibly working a bit harder without the ball. Dangerfield played a huge game, but it was his pace around the ball which really caused them some headaches. Hawthorn have speed, but not many players who hit the contest at pace and carry the ball - they need to get it outside to get their run going - so for that reason Jong seems like a good inclusion and hopefully he is told to use his pace and take the game on.

Whilst the result of this game will be touted to mean a lot, it doesn't - so I hope we aren't putting too much pressure on ourselves internally about the result and at the same time, if we win, don't get carried away with it.

09-04-2016, 11:30 AM
Dogs by 3pts
First goal - Stringer
BOG - Bonts
Crowd 40,000

09-04-2016, 11:57 AM
Dogs by 25pts
First goal- TBoyd
BOG-Hunter

09-04-2016, 12:31 PM
Dogs by 35pts
First goal Bontempelli
BOG Hunter

09-04-2016, 12:56 PM
FFC by 10 goals
15st goal - Toyd
BOG - dalhaus

09-04-2016, 01:22 PM
10 Goals! wow. the lid will melt if that happens.
Dogs by a kick in a very tight game.
First goal Jake
BOG - JJ of course.

dukedog
09-04-2016, 04:14 PM
Dogs by 7.
First goal. Wallis
Bog . Libba. 13 clearances
Easy peel tin can lid ripped off. Beans all over the floor and me rolling in it after 15 beersies. ��

09-04-2016, 04:38 PM
Bulldogs by 8 goals.
First goal Bonti
BOG Captain Murph

09-04-2016, 07:29 PM
On the eve of battle, Russia versus Napolean, the Greeks and the Trojans, Good versus Evil, I'm playing Irish jigs and gospel.
Ready to ride the adrenalin to victory and glory halleluja. Be at the battle front, the forces are gathering. It will be percussive, kinetic and violent, right where Ted played the cymbals and the fleshy part of the ear. Ned Kelly will be in the crowd, wants to play CHF. built a bluestone bridge in Footscray, promises commitment in the clinches. Don't believe the rumours that Jesus will make an appearance but the devil wants to be our major sponsor. An African virgin in Footscray has claimed she saw a vision of Merv Hobbs flying like an insect to take a mark over Ted Whitten just like in the Bible. Hawthorn's sewerage system burst in the wash and the jumpers came out fine. It's the Ides of Footscray on a still evening with the jig rollicking and the forces compressing from outer space, the tail of a comet with Jake Stringer riding it.
The signs are good.

09-04-2016, 08:17 PM
Dogs by 24 points
First goal - Stringer
BOG - Murphy
Crowd - 43,999

09-04-2016, 08:20 PM
On the eve of battle, Russia versus Napolean, the Greeks and the Trojans, Good versus Evil, I'm playing Irish jigs and gospel.
Ready to ride the adrenalin to victory and glory halleluja. Be at the battle front, the forces are gathering. It will be percussive, kinetic and violent, right where Ted played the cymbals and the fleshy part of the ear. Ned Kelly will be in the crowd, wants to play CHF. built a bluestone bridge in Footscray, promises commitment in the clinches. Don't believe the rumours that Jesus will make an appearance but the devil wants to be our major sponsor. An African virgin in Footscray has claimed she saw a vision of Merv Hobbs flying like an insect to take a mark over Ted Whitten just like in the Bible. Hawthorn's sewerage system burst in the wash and the jumpers came out fine. It's the Ides of Footscray on a still evening with the jig rollicking and the forces compressing from outer space, the tail of a comet with Jake Stringer riding it.
The signs are good.
I want some of what you're on

09-04-2016, 09:32 PM
Love it BIDS'54.

09-04-2016, 09:36 PM

It's just historical events or quotes. Mainly battle Eve stuff. My favorite is Henry V's speech at Agincourt;

We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my brother; be he never so vile,
This day shall gentle his condition;
And gentlemen in England now a-bed
Shall think themselves accursed they were not here,
And hold their manhoods cheap whilst any speaks
That fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day.

Or his brother John at Verneuil;

Our baggage train has been attacked.
All our possessions are gone
All you have left is your personal honour and celebrity
I will be your captain and we will turn this around
Follow me and I will lead you to glory

Both men overcame significant odds to wipe out the opposing armies.

Big doses are available anywhere.

09-04-2016, 10:03 PM
Anyone had confirmation that Easton Wood is not playing?

09-04-2016, 10:12 PM

I've not heard that. Good source Bullies?

10-04-2016, 01:05 AM
Dogs by 12 pts
1st goal Stringer
BOG hunter

10-04-2016, 04:43 AM
Well I am absent and currently in Porto. Have organised to see the game via watch.afl.com.au

Spent the day (Saturday) out and about in Porto from 12 noon (9.00 pm Melbourne time) and match time is 6.20 am here.

Was in the famous Lello bookshop wearing my game day Bulldog T Shirt and scarf, and had a young man who looked about 18 come up and say "Go Bulldogs".

Turns out he is a Melbourne boy and Bulldog supporter and he was ecstatic when I gave him the details of our season to date.

Extra omen is that after the encounter a bleak day in Porto turned into brilliant sunshine. I am certainly seeing that as a sign that the sun is shining on our season.

Go Dogs.

10-04-2016, 09:42 AM
I know we don't do a lot of direct match-up's by our defenders but who might we match up against Rioli and Bruest?

10-04-2016, 09:42 AM
Dogs by 3, going down to the wire (God I hope we kick straight...)
First goal Hunter
BOG JJ
Crowd 43,789

10-04-2016, 10:17 AM
I know we don't do a lot of direct match-up's by our defenders but who might we match up against Rioli and Bruest?

If we were to run with them I'd assign Dahl to Rioli because of his leg speed and tackling pressure. Dahl showed last week that he doesn't need a lot of possessions to influence the game. Dahl switches from defence to offence in a flash which will keep Rioli accountable.

As for Bruest I would give Biggs the job. Biggs is a running machine. He likes to run off his opponent but because of his tank he can get back quickly into position. Like Rioli we have to make Bruest accountable and I think Biggs will do that. Our backline has been good this season so far at covering for each other, this is important because Bruest is an expert of sneaking out the back.

We need to be on our game mentally today. Hawthorn will try physically take it up to us but if we are on mentally we will be more than capable of handling their pressure. If we are off a little though, the Hawks will jump us.

I think we are good enough to beat them at Etihad today especially with Roughead and Hodge missing. Those 2 have dominated us in the past.

10-04-2016, 11:24 AM
Unless I've got 1500 words on whether or not a change in contract terms is a problem of consideration or certainty by 3pm I won't be attending. Interested to see who takes Cyril, and how the Hawks spread of goal kickers affects the dominance of our half back line.

Also **** Sam Mitchell.

Dogs by 15
Stringer first goal
Bont BOG

10-04-2016, 11:32 AM
I'm out as well. Hurt my back last night........again and will be spending the day flat in bed. It was going to be my sons first game so I'm gutted right now. :(

I think they'll get us.

Hawks by 15
First Goal. Murph
BOG Libba.

10-04-2016, 11:36 AM
I'm out as well. Hurt my back last night........again and will be spending the day flat in bed. It was going to be my sons first game so I'm gutted right now. :(

I think they'll get us.

Hawks by 15
First Goal. Murph
BOG Libba.

That's rotten luck G-Mo. Hope your back gets better soon.

10-04-2016, 11:43 AM

I think they'll get us.

Hawks by 15
First Goal. Murph
BOG Libba.

That is the worst luck. Perhaps a win today will be the right tonic for you and your boy.
Go Dogs

10-04-2016, 11:47 AM
Closed roof at Etihad today. No need for me to pack the Sunglasses.

10-04-2016, 11:52 AM

Thanks for the heads up.

Leaving for the game in an hour, going to be a nervous drive.

10-04-2016, 11:53 AM
Dogs by 40
BOG- Stringer
First goal- T Boyd

10-04-2016, 11:56 AM
That's rotten luck G-Mo. Hope your back gets better soon.

That is the worst luck. Perhaps a win today will be the right tonic for you and your boy.
Go Dogs

Thanks guys. Fortunately it usually goes as quickly as it comes. I was hoping I'd be ok today but woke up in a fair bit of pain. I've got to apply my safe lifting techniques next time I get a stray bath toy from an empty bath. :)

10-04-2016, 12:14 PM

Sanity prevails.

10-04-2016, 12:15 PM

That's good. I had visions of players squinting into the sun. Glad they have woken up.

10-04-2016, 12:25 PM
Dogs by 5 points
First goal: Wallis
BOG: Bontempelli

10-04-2016, 12:46 PM

I'd play Wood on Bruest. Wood has him covered in the air and Bruest is lazy defensively.

10-04-2016, 01:02 PM
Thanks guys. Fortunately it usually goes as quickly as it comes. I was hoping I'd be ok today but woke up in a fair bit of pain. I've got to apply my safe lifting techniques next time I get a stray bath toy from an empty bath. :)

I can have the same problem but since I've given up chairs, especially for the computer and TV, my back has been great. I lay on my back with a cushion under the small of my back and a bigger cushion for my head, propped up against the wall. My stomach often supports a cat. Seriously good position for back support and no more sore backs. Chairs are worst invention ever for backs.
Will be at Etihad with my adult son. Go Dogs.

10-04-2016, 02:19 PM

Clean air and home grown vegies.

10-04-2016, 02:27 PM
Clean air and home grown vegies.

And what colour are "vegies?"

10-04-2016, 02:51 PM
Laurie Sandilands talking at the Players Sponors now. He looks fit.

10-04-2016, 02:55 PM
Sandilands said thd two biggest regrets in hus life were leaving the Bulldogs and where he ended up.....Collingwood.

10-04-2016, 02:56 PM
Rumours that Wood is out.

10-04-2016, 02:56 PM
Rumours that Wood is out.

Confirmed, Hamling in

10-04-2016, 02:57 PM
Wood out, Hamling in.

10-04-2016, 03:00 PM
Sandilands talking about the first time he had to play on on Doug Wade. Terrifying for a young skinny defender

10-04-2016, 03:17 PM
Wood hamstring tightness

10-04-2016, 03:51 PM
You nailed that.

10-04-2016, 03:52 PM
Dickson completed a 13 k session yesterday. Shoukd bd available next week for Footscray I suspect
Ian Morrison talking at the moment, what a player he was.

10-04-2016, 03:54 PM
Someone has put the Scot West sign up inside out

10-04-2016, 03:55 PM
Looks like a big big crowd building

10-04-2016, 04:03 PM
Looks like a big big crowd building

They have budgeted for 40k I believe.

10-04-2016, 04:40 PM
Gees the Hawks get great service from the umpires

10-04-2016, 04:48 PM
Blatant cheating that quarter

10-04-2016, 04:51 PM
Pressure from Hawks seems to be really forcing us into horrible errors. They're stopping our run so just need to be smarter.

Umps giving us nothing. Not rewarding some really good tackling and giving them soft crap. What was the Gunston free for?

Took 2 clear marks from us as well. Only down just over 2 goals so just need to settle and regroup. We can do this.

High pressure telling that quarter but some uncharacteristic sloppiness in low pressure situations cost us goals.

Need to consolidate.

That phantom free paid against Morris was awful.

Hawks pressure has us rattled. Struggling to move the ball out of the backline. Macrae is great at getting the ball and terrible at kicking it. I don't even know what football rules are anymore

10-04-2016, 04:52 PM
3 free kicks to 5. I'm not too concerned about it. The Hawks have just been better.

We've got what we wanted. A true test. We were ok that quarter. I'm not dissatisfied, we just need to be better.

I'm glad we're being tested. We need to know.

10-04-2016, 04:53 PM
Hard to get a good run at it. The Hawks have our measure but if we can gain control for a while it might be interesting.

10-04-2016, 04:56 PM
Ok that one not so much.

10-04-2016, 04:57 PM
We're obviously not expected to win at AFL house this week and the word has been passed down.

2 sets of rules out there.

10-04-2016, 04:58 PM
It's more the perceived pressure causing sloppy errors

10-04-2016, 05:03 PM
I'm calling it early, game over. We are miles off the best side. Umps disgraceful.

10-04-2016, 05:03 PM
Daniel not handling the extra pressure well at all today. Several uncharacteristic errors.

10-04-2016, 05:04 PM
We're obviously not expected to win at AFL house this week and the word has been passed down.

2 sets of rules out there.

I just said the same. Disgusting.

10-04-2016, 05:05 PM
Toby McLean's best skill might be drawing high contact frees. He needs to be careful though.

10-04-2016, 05:06 PM
Apparently if you play on into trouble you bet another go at it if you've taken a mark :rolleyes:

10-04-2016, 05:11 PM
Roughy! and now Bont! We are 14 points behind the best team of the comp this far in, we are doing really well.

10-04-2016, 05:23 PM
GVGJR is not going to be happy with set shots. Nor are any of us.

10-04-2016, 05:24 PM
Suckling has been worth every cent. His kicking has been invaluable.
We really lifted the pressure there and dealt with theirs better.
Toby's last name should be Selwood.

10-04-2016, 05:24 PM
Great second half of that quarter. Some players need to handle the pressure better and we'll be right in this. If we can get in front the umpires will stop impacting the game in Hawthorn's favour.

10-04-2016, 05:25 PM
I'm calling it early, game over. We are miles off the best side. Umps disgraceful.

That was very early Andrew.

10-04-2016, 05:26 PM

Ok, I went a bit early. Game is still on. Much better the last 15 minutes. Umpiring still disgraceful.

10-04-2016, 05:26 PM
Turned the tables and really pouring the pressure on them and their disposal has suffered for it.

Alternatively we've got off the chain a few times and they've looked a bit flustered in response.

I can't wait for Tom Boyd to start pulling down those big marks in the forward fifty.
We still have a ways to go but this is a very winnable game.

10-04-2016, 05:27 PM
Cracking second quarter. Even the Hawthorn fans think they've done a huge rub of the green.

10-04-2016, 05:27 PM
Better quarter. Under fire early but thanks to our defence specifically Adams we held on. Gave them some of their own medicine that quarter. They struggled to make good decisions late.

10-04-2016, 05:29 PM
Caleb Daniel is going to be for us what Mitchell is for them.

Superstar

10-04-2016, 05:30 PM
Caleb Daniel is going to be for us what Mitchell is for them.

Superstar

Yeah stache was right that he's made some uncharacteristic errors, but gee he's good. He gets to all the right places.

10-04-2016, 05:30 PM
Dahlhaus was huge in that last 15 minutes, outstanding.

10-04-2016, 05:32 PM
we can win this

real pressure cooker stuff and we get to see who can handle it and who can't.

we need more out of Bont, Stringer, JJ & we have to make more of our chances.

10-04-2016, 05:38 PM
How good is Toby "caught too high" McLean at getting free kicks?

10-04-2016, 05:42 PM

If it wasn't for him, the free kick count would be even worse towards us.

10-04-2016, 05:42 PM

I must admit I'm not a fan of this feature of the game that is creeping in. Most sides have one guy with rubber knees.
Love the fightback from the boys. Dahlhaus & Daniel were huge that quarter.

10-04-2016, 06:04 PM
Holy crapballs.

This is exciting.

10-04-2016, 06:05 PM
Epic effort this quarter. Libba has been a clearance monster.

10-04-2016, 06:09 PM
Stringer.....

10-04-2016, 06:10 PM
Bloody hell, it's a good thing I don't gamble

10-04-2016, 06:17 PM
I can't even remember the McCartney years, this is bloody exciting as a sport gets for members/fans like us!!!!

Fantastic quarter, should be further ahead. Dominated the reigning premiers. Daniel and Dahlhaus were great. Libby and Koby stepped up.

Great quarter. The fight and the execution have been fantastic.

Can Stringer redeem a dark day with a strong last quarter to see us home?

Libber was amazing that quarter.

Our forward pressure was huge. They looked lost.

10-04-2016, 06:30 PM
Can't just keep giving up marks from bombs inside 50m. Happening with monotonous regularity today.

10-04-2016, 06:30 PM
Need to lift now.

10-04-2016, 06:35 PM
Think we can hang on?

10-04-2016, 06:38 PM
Need some players to stand up and kick a goal.

10-04-2016, 06:39 PM
Gone. That Stringer stuff up that hit the post will be the difference.

10-04-2016, 06:44 PM
Irrespective of the result, those public Boyd bashers might need to start working on a new pastime.

10-04-2016, 06:58 PM
Sigh. Only the likes of us could've authored that kind of ending.

What a contest though. Well done lads.

10-04-2016, 06:59 PM
Not Bobby

10-04-2016, 07:00 PM
Gutted. That is another chapter in our shite file.

10-04-2016, 07:03 PM

That's one big file.

10-04-2016, 07:05 PM
That's one big file.

We must have hired a rental shed to keep collecting them.

10-04-2016, 07:05 PM
Cracking contest, both teams worked overtime to stymie the othes natural game. Hawks with better poise when it counted

10-04-2016, 07:06 PM
Can't help but feel that's a steeling loss for us

10-04-2016, 07:07 PM

Don't worry the gap has closed and their time and ours is ticking.

10-04-2016, 07:09 PM
We have it down pat how to lose the crucial moments.

How Sicily was able to sneak out the back and be 50m by himself is beyond me.

10-04-2016, 07:12 PM
Gutted by that one, cracking contest but sick of losing these tight ones.

Really hoping Bob is OK.

10-04-2016, 07:12 PM

Who was his opponent?

10-04-2016, 07:14 PM
We've shown we've improved a lot. Still a bit to go. Hope they've taken something from this game.
I am just empty right now. The loss is one thing, Bobby going down in the final contest is just awful.
Please let it not be what it looked like.

10-04-2016, 07:14 PM
Very disappointing finish after a solid fight back.

Why we crowded the football in the dying moments to let Hawthorn out the back is a mystery to me.

We should patent that type of loss. We own it!

10-04-2016, 07:15 PM

Saw it happen right in front of me and couldn't believe it. Could mention how it was a gallant loss etc etc but FFS I'm sick of this club finding new ways to blow it in big games EVERY time.

10-04-2016, 07:15 PM

Why we crowded the football in the dying moments to let Hawthorn out the back is a mystery to me.

The Hawks really showed us professionalism under pressure and keeping cool. We can learn a lot from that

10-04-2016, 07:16 PM
We must learn not to accept losing
Even in an epic game, we should be winning this game

10-04-2016, 07:19 PM
Stringer fluffed it and needs a decent kick in the pants and a reminder he is not Gary Ablett

If that was a bad knee it could Murph's farewell game. It was a mixed bag that match, great crowd for a Sunday arvo and I feel it's a game we let slip.
Credit to the Squawks they still have it but we didn't do ourselves any favours either. At one stage in the last I thought maybe we should have rucked Boyd and put Roughy back and put Adams forwards so we could take a grab inside fifty.

You knew in your heart of hearts we'd find a way to lose. You can be surer of nothing in this world.

10-04-2016, 07:21 PM
Gutted with that loss. Won almost every stat that counts except on the scoreboard. Missed shots cost us in the end. WTF Was Stringer doing trying to pass the ball 20 metres out and missing targets
This was a lost opportunity

10-04-2016, 07:22 PM
Omfg.

10-04-2016, 07:24 PM

yeah we should have stacked the backline not press forward

10-04-2016, 07:25 PM
Maybe it's the loss the group needed to have. Maybe.

10-04-2016, 07:27 PM

Win would have been better. The self belief would have been stronger. We've got to find a way to win those. No excuses today.

10-04-2016, 07:28 PM
Win would have been better. The self belief would have been stronger. We've got to find a way to win those. No excuses today.

Not going to disagree with you.

10-04-2016, 07:37 PM
We must learn not to accept losing
Even in an epic game, we should be winning this game

Agree, but give credit where its due - Hawks jumped to a 5 goal lead. We fought back and took a 3 goal lead into the last change. Howks did what they do - eliminated the difference in the first 5 mins of the quarter and then won the shoot out thereafter.

Game showed where we are - a side rapidly closing in on the top teams, but with young guys who will make mistakes.

10-04-2016, 07:37 PM

That was supposed to the final last year.

When does it stop being the loss you needed and become the inability to win when it counts?

10-04-2016, 07:40 PM

When does it stop being the loss you needed and become the inability to win when it counts?

This is my biggest fear with our side. The last generation (the 2009-10) era were masters of losing the tight ones against the top teams. I really want to avoid that becoming a thing wuth the new group and the final last year and tonight's performance haven't exactly calmed my fears

10-04-2016, 07:48 PM

I'd rather not ask that question or answer it. I think we know the answer.

10-04-2016, 07:51 PM
How big was the crowd?

10-04-2016, 07:52 PM
47,000 and something

10-04-2016, 07:52 PM
How big was the crowd?

10-04-2016, 07:56 PM

I know there was a lot of Hawks supporters there today but that sort of crowd busts the whole Sunday arvo excuse as a reason why so many of our supporters cant get to games. Our supporters should take a bow.

10-04-2016, 07:57 PM
How did my little man Daniel go?

10-04-2016, 07:58 PM

Really good. Struggled with the pace early but worked into it, got plenty of ball and used it well

10-04-2016, 07:59 PM

Great, Check the votes thread. He curbed Mitchell for a couple of quarters

10-04-2016, 08:03 PM
Really good. Struggled with the pace early but worked into it, got plenty of ball and used it well

Best game of his career so far for mine. Showed he could match he could match it with the best for significant periods and played a key role in the way we dominated the middle of the game. Faded a bit in the last, but wasn't on his Pat Malone with that.

10-04-2016, 08:05 PM

His disposal was really poor and uncharacteristic early, but made up for it from half way in the second quarter and was one of the factors in our turn around.

10-04-2016, 08:06 PM
Shattered. Win that and the sky is the limit. Lose, its hey another missed opportunity. I'm not disputing the positives, of which there were heaps. But we should have won that. Shattered.

10-04-2016, 08:10 PM
Gutted with that ending. To lose the game and Murphy in the last minute and a half? Just a really shitty ending for a game we could've won.

10-04-2016, 08:11 PM
Daniel was in our best few. He's a little ripper.

10-04-2016, 08:15 PM
Agree on Hawthorn being a great club ( as much as it pains me)
Taking the next step we have to win those games and not butcher chances .
When we win those games, we've learnt our lesson

Daniel was in our best few. He's a little ripper.

I had him second. Thought Dahl was just outstanding. Probably the best from both teams. Fought his absolute guts out.

Yep. Honourable losses are for crap sides.

There's no easy way to put this - we are chokers. How can you let Sicily run from half back to half forward and take an uncontested mark (2 v 1) with a minute left in the game?

I'm extremely disappointed in Stringer and Bonti. Stringer was worst on ground in the close game v Freo last year, quiet v Adelaide in the EF and worst on ground today v Hawks. Please shelve any comparisons to Ablett and never refer to him as "God". I expected more from Bonti today, kicked a nice goal but we needed more.

I long for the day we have a player who refuses to let this club drop the un-loseable close one. To be fair, Dahl goes close - super effort - but our inability as a side to deal with pressure is bloody terrible.

10-04-2016, 08:17 PM
I know there was a lot of Hawks supporters there today but that sort of crowd busts the whole Sunday arvo excuse as a reason why so many of our supporters cant get to games. Our supporters should take a bow.

It was a replacement game for Hawthorn members today.

10-04-2016, 08:25 PM
Shattered and Gutted. :(
But up against a hardend and more experienced side like Hawthorn am so proud of the boys.
Sure we could have won and it hurts like hell that we just couldn't get over the line but to push this Hawks team all the way is something this group should take great confidence that we are the Real Deal.
Fingers crossed for Murph that he will be back some time this year to lead us into history.

10-04-2016, 08:27 PM
I ended up going - yay for me (?).

I don't want to say anything too elaborate now because it will undoubtedly be incorrect and over-reactionary, but seriously what in the blue hell were we doing after the Stringer goal? I actually saw Suckling run from a back flank to a forward one. When we had a stoppage at CHF Adams was the furthest man back about 80m from goal; not exaggerating when I say Sicily had 100m of space. Why?

10-04-2016, 08:28 PM
Absolutely gutted

10-04-2016, 08:31 PM
Gee Hunter and Jongs misses at goal hurt us....:(

10-04-2016, 08:34 PM
How do you think Caleb Daniel will go for a rising star.

10-04-2016, 08:50 PM
I think for such a young side...4th youngest in the league....it was a fantastic effort by the boys. We are only going to get better and better. Can't understand the doom and gloom. it is only the 3rd game of the season. Go doggies.

10-04-2016, 08:51 PM
It was a replacement game for Hawthorn members today.

I'm aware of that but it was still a mighty turn out by our fans. It just proves that games at 3.20pm will be attended if the team is in good form.

10-04-2016, 08:56 PM
I think for such a young side...4th youngest in the league....it was a fantastic effort by the boys. We are only going to get better and better. Can't understand the doom and gloom. it is only the 3rd game of the season. Go doggies.

I guess we are all just sick of losing these types of games.. It doesn't matter what type of team we put out there, young, old or somewhere in the middle we just find a way to falter.. It's in our DNA.

10-04-2016, 08:58 PM
I guess we are all just sick of losing these types of games.. It doesn't matter what type of team we put out there, young, old or somewhere in the middle we just find a way to falter.. It's in our DNA.

Plus it was at Etihad, plus they were missing Roughead/Hodge/Hill and we were in the best form possible. Won't get a better chance at beating them.

10-04-2016, 08:58 PM

Sorry I don't go along with that. This is a young team forging their own destiny. Their coach has only had them for 26 games.We are on the right track.

10-04-2016, 09:02 PM

Yep. Twice in 4 games is alarm bells stuff.

10-04-2016, 09:07 PM
I think we are cursed we need an exorcist

10-04-2016, 09:10 PM
Shattered by this loss, the loss of bob even more so. I then go and read the presso:

LB: Our boys will be hurting because of the loss, but hurting more for Bob. It's my job to pick them up.

Its this that makes me believe we are on the right track - this coming from the most pessimistic and negative of supporters!

Fingers crossed for murph - i love that man

10-04-2016, 09:14 PM
I'm aware of that but it was still a mighty turn out by our fans. It just proves that games at 3.20pm will be attended if the team is in good form.

I'm not sure the 3.20 timeslot (which is the feature Sunday game) is what we complain about. The twilight start (4.40) is the killer, as is the profile of the sides we are typically scheduled to play in these timeslots.

Today showed that if we are given a decent timeslot and an opponent that isn't insignificant or from interstate we can get big crowds.

10-04-2016, 09:15 PM
So where does the Sydney game last year fit into this narrative?

10-04-2016, 09:16 PM
Shattered by this loss, the loss of bob even more so. I then go and read the presso:

LB: Our boys will be hurting because of the loss, but hurting more for Bob. It's my job to pick them up.

Its this that makes me believe we are on the right track - this coming from the most pessimistic and negative of supporters!

Fingers crossed for murph - i love that man

Big job for Bevo and the club to pick the group up, but I think they'll be fine .

10-04-2016, 09:18 PM

Not to mention that most kids return to school tomorrow with the end of school hols for most ending today.

10-04-2016, 09:18 PM
So where does the Sydney game last year fit into this narrative?

At this point it is merely a once off exception to the rule until proven otherwise.

10-04-2016, 09:20 PM
Devastating.

At least it wasn't a final and the ladder ramifications aren't diabolical....to lose Bob as well as the game in the last two minutes is just horrible. We should've put them away in the third.

Dahl and Libba were awesome in the contest today, and loved Caleb's game.

Unfortunately, the hawks just showed a bit more poise than us.

10-04-2016, 09:20 PM
I'm not sure the 3.20 timeslot (which is the feature Sunday game) is what we complain about. The twilight start (4.40) is the killer, as is the profile of the sides we are typically scheduled to play in these timeslots.

Today showed that if we are given a decent timeslot and an opponent that isn't insignificant or from interstate we can get big crowds.

I think if you have a read of the posts over the last couple of years all times for Sunday games have been regarded as difficult for many fans to attend. Either way it was an excellent turnout by our supporters today

10-04-2016, 09:25 PM
You knew in your heart of hearts we'd find a way to lose. You can be surer of nothing in this world.

I did. I stood there when we were in front with 1.45 or whatever it was with the ball on our forward line and knew that hawthorn would win. I'm glad I behaved myself.

The bulldog chant that started up when we're a couple of goals behind in the last quarter was very loud.

10-04-2016, 09:28 PM

Plus it was at Etihad, plus they were missing Roughead/Hodge/Hill and we were in the best form possible. Won't get a better chance at beating them.

You're kidding right? Yeah they had players out but they aren't getting better anytime soon. Next time we meet we'll have another 20 games into our kids. Our boys know now they can take a punch from the hawks and give it back with interest, it just took us a quarter and a half to realise this.

A lot of positives for me and next time we come across them I think we'll be ready to take it from them instead of hoping they will just surrender the title.

10-04-2016, 09:32 PM
You're kidding right? Yeah they had players out but they aren't getting better anytime soon. Next time we meet we'll have another 20 games into our kids. Our boys know now they can take a punch from the hawks and give it back with interest, it just took us a quarter and a half to realise this.

A lot of positives for me and next time we come across them I think we'll be ready to take it from them instead of hoping they will just surrender the title.

They've won 3 flags in a row - they don't need to get better.

Until we actually win a big and important game against a side like Hawthorn, and can back it up, I'm not going to buy into the "I think in 20 games time we'll be better" line. I've heard that line a million times over; less talk, more do. Then I'll believe.

10-04-2016, 09:35 PM

Until we actually win a big and important game against a side like Hawthorn, and can back it up, I'm not going to buy into the "I think in 20 games time we'll be better" line. I've heard that line a million times over; less talk, more do. Then I'll believe.

Yep. I've been hearing for 30 years next time will be different. It's never been different, not once.

10-04-2016, 09:35 PM
Disappointed not to get the result but still happy with how close we got to them today. Was an important high intensity game we needed for our team. The crowd today was electric and all our fans got into it. Level 1 Aisle 33 went off today.

Players I thought who did good

Libba
Dahl
Daniel
Hunter
Adams

Still frustrating for T Boyd missing a few set shots. He'll get them next time.

10-04-2016, 09:40 PM

Of course they do. If you stand still in this business you're going backwards and the bulldogs are going forwards at a rate of knots.

I get a bit annoyed at the poor us mentality from some of our posters. Poor us? Look at what we have to look forward to! This is a hell of a group we have and its bloody exciting to be a part of. When was the last time you heard people say we are the best team to watch? This year might be too early but this group will break the drought, I'm convinced of that.

10-04-2016, 09:50 PM
Really hope Murph will be ok.

10-04-2016, 10:14 PM

We had 100 goals sitting in the stands. Plus next time, how much room will Sicily get when Easton Wood strides over to him. We spent some tickets getting back into it, bring on next time I say.

10-04-2016, 10:28 PM
Yep. Honourable losses are for crap sides.

There's no easy way to put this - we are chokers. How can you let Sicily run from half back to half forward and take an uncontested mark (2 v 1) with a minute left in the game?

I'm extremely disappointed in Stringer and Bonti. Stringer was worst on ground in the close game v Freo last year, quiet v Adelaide in the EF and worst on ground today v Hawks. Please shelve any comparisons to Ablett and never refer to him as "God". I expected more from Bonti today, kicked a nice goal but we needed more.

I long for the day we have a player who refuses to let this club drop the un-loseable close one. To be fair, Dahl goes close - super effort - but our inability as a side to deal with pressure is bloody terrible.

Me too. I'm interested to see who wins in the end. The iron willed individual or us.

i can remember hearing "we'll be better next year for sure" for the first time in 1974, it's starting to wear thin.

10-04-2016, 10:31 PM
Can someone bring back The Positive Thread?

10-04-2016, 10:41 PM
I thought that was the final last year. We obviously haven't learned much when the whips are cracking at the business end of important matches.

10-04-2016, 10:45 PM
When all is said and done we lost to a team that were cleaner in their ball use by hand and foot, had better marking players inside 50 and know how to find a way to win.
But let's not forget: we lost by less than a kick. Take out Rioli's goal from an awful decision paid against Suckling and it would've been a different story.
We will beat them the next time we play them. They tried to out-muscle us but failed. We stood up to all they threw at us. We had quite a few players down so we have a lot of upside.
For me the only negative is Bob. I am hoping for good news. He is a champion who deserves to go out on his terms - not be cut down by injury. Go Dogs!

10-04-2016, 10:47 PM
When was the last time you heard people say we are the best team to watch? This year might be too early but this group will break the drought, I'm convinced of that.
Our last really good team in 2008-2009 - we were the media darlings (along with the Cats) with our attractive play. We were also lauded for being attractive to watch in 2006.

10-04-2016, 10:51 PM
Our last really good team in 2008-2009. We were the media darlings with our attractive play. We were also lauded for being attractive to watch in 2006.

Just from my perspective we had a far greater smattering of experienced and star players back then. We are now coming from more of an emerging talent list base.

10-04-2016, 10:51 PM
We will beat them the next time we play them.

Hopefully yes it will be a different.

10-04-2016, 10:54 PM
Just from my perspective we had a far greater smattering of experienced and star players back then. We are now coming from more of an emerging talent list base.
We certainly have a far greater spread of talent (and in a much better age profile) on our list now than we did in the Rocket years. Will the end result be any different? Only time will tell.

10-04-2016, 10:54 PM
I think all this lamenting about how we always lose important games and nothing ever changes mainly serves to perpetuates the idea that we always lose important games and nothing ever changes.

10-04-2016, 10:57 PM
Bevo showed great faith in Jake keeping him our deepest forward matched up on Stratton, but Stratton was far too good. We really needed to make a move and have someone else get the job done because he didn't look like it against Statton.

10-04-2016, 11:00 PM
Bevo showed great faith in Jake keeping him our deepest forward matched up on Stratton, but Stratton was far too good. We really needed to make a move and have someone else get the job done because he didn't look like ot against Statton.
The loss of Dickson and Crameri stood out today. We papered over it easily enough in the first 2 rounds but against the best opposition, we had nowhere to hide. Stringer is too much feast or famine for mine - I want to see a quiet 2-3 goal game from him as his low-water benchmark.

McLean continues to show great promise in that pseudo small forward role - such a clever player. And Dahl was magnificent again today - he is a little underrated by the footy community.

10-04-2016, 11:01 PM
We certainly have a far greater spread of talent (and in a much better age profile) on our list now than we did in the Rocket years. Will the end result be any different? Only time will tell.

We were bringing in older stars like Hall, Welsh, Akermanis etc. The lesson for us to learn is to not hang onto the older players for too long like we did under Rocket. It's such a fine line of knowing you are close but still keeping an eye on the future.

What we are now vastly better at compared to back then is drafting young talented players. Clayton lost that over his last few seasons.

10-04-2016, 11:04 PM
I can't believe no-one seems to have seen it. When Bob did his knee, Breust was hanging on to him, preventing him getting to Sicily and may have caused his injury. The replay on AFL doesn't show it but I saw it clear as day. Plus an old guy came up to me after the game and said incredulously how Bob was being held in that contest. It should have been a free, Bob shouldn't have done his knee and we should have won full stop.

10-04-2016, 11:07 PM
Hawthorn did a good job of blocking the corridor in the first 40 minutes or so. We instinctively looked inboard from defensive 50 but repeatedly found the centre square space all blocked up, so we often went sideways from defensive 50 but with dinky little kicks and without any penetration. Was pleasing that we were able to find a way around this to get back into the game.

10-04-2016, 11:07 PM
The umpires were really poor today. They cannot bounce the ball properly.

10-04-2016, 11:15 PM
When all is said and done we lost to a team that were cleaner in their ball use by hand and foot, had better marking players inside 50 and know how to find a way to win.
But let's not forget: we lost by less than a kick. Take out Rioli's goal from an awful decision paid against Suckling and it would've been a different story.
We will beat them the next time we play them. They tried to out-muscle us but failed. We stood up to all they threw at us. We had quite a few players down so we have a lot of upside.
For me the only negative is Bob. I am hoping for good news. He is a champion who deserves to go out on his terms - not be cut down by injury. Go Dogs!

We are still on a steep learning curve with an undermanned forward line minus Crameri Dickson and today an ineffective Stringer. Boyd is improving but still has a fair way to go. Liberatore and Bontempelli struggled and it was left to too few on the day. Dahlhaus and Daniel were outstanding. Easton Wood was a huge loss. To overcome an early 5 goals deficit showed enormous character and courage. The difference in the end as you stated was Hawthorn's superior foot skills, which is the best in the competition. The loss of Murphy is tragic as he has been an outstanding leader and player. To run Hawthorn by less than a goal in a pressure cooker game showed we are on the right track. We came off two relatively easy wins which wasn't an ideal preparation for such a taxing encounter as we witnessed today. We can only get better and will learn a lot from today.

10-04-2016, 11:18 PM
The umpires were really poor today. They cannot bounce the ball properly.

Or judge how far 15 metres is...or judge whether a kick is deliberately out of bounds...or consistently rule on holding the ball decisions...or...

10-04-2016, 11:23 PM
We can only get better and will learn a lot from today.

Yep agree NBP. It hurts now but will be back.

10-04-2016, 11:24 PM
I think all this lamenting about how we always lose important games and nothing ever changes mainly serves to perpetuates the idea that we always lose important games and nothing ever changes.

The curse of the Bambino talk always happens after these type of games. Was it mentioned when we beat Sydney in Sydney last year?

We had 17 players with less than 100 games out there - compared to just 8 for the Hawks. They had 7 with more than 150 games. 7! and that's without Hodge and Roughead.

When the bulk of our team have played 122 games on average (like the Hawks) and we continue to drop close games, then I'll start worrying more.

10-04-2016, 11:24 PM
Or judge how far 15 metres is...or judge whether a kick is deliberately out of bounds...or consistently rule on holding the ball decisions...or...

They just need to get a balance. They are too inconsistent on holding the ball. Maybe we are just being bias.

10-04-2016, 11:35 PM
The curse of the Bambino talk always happens after these type of games. Was it mentioned when we beat Sydney in Sydney last year?
Nothing, and I mean nothing, would please me more than to never have to talk about our inability to close out close games. The Sydney game last year was magnificent, but it is very much alone on a desert island with only the 2000 Super Flood, the final v Sydney in 2010 and a few Wallace home & away specials in 1999-2001 for company.

10-04-2016, 11:38 PM
They just need to get a balance. They are too inconsistent on holding the ball. Maybe we are just being bias.

Nope, they were putrid. :eek:

10-04-2016, 11:41 PM
My sadness of Bob's injury eclipses by several lengths of Whitten Oval, my disappointment with the result of this game.
4 points worse than the dominant team in the comp for several years, with such a young side.
Especially with a quiet game from JJ, Bont, Stringer, and Libba, we did well to get close.
I have no right to be too down.
I didn't predict a season without a loss, so I'll have this for contemplation and improvement. No worries.

10-04-2016, 11:43 PM
Nope, they were putrid. :eek:

It was getting ridiculous at one stage. Cyril was caught dead in the water, illegally disposed of the footy, the umpire drew the whistle to his mouth to pay the obnoxious ferric, then inexplicably decided against it as the ball spilled forward to Hawthorn's advantage. Between it and Gibson in the 1st quarter not being penalised, it was a dirty day for the maggots.

10-04-2016, 11:48 PM
Nothing, and I mean nothing, would please me more than to never have to talk about our inability to close out close games. The Sydney game last year was magnificent, but it is very much alone on a desert island with only the 2000 Super Flood, the final v Sydney in 2010 and a few Wallace home & away specials in 1999-2001 for company.

I've feel like I've made this argument before but here I go:

We're not cursed. Players aren't infected by a strain of 'big game softness' as soon as they walk through the doors of Whitten Oval.

Those games you mentioned stand out because they were underdog victories. Everyone loves underdog victories. But underdog victories are pretty rare.

When have we closed out a big time close game when we were considered the favourite? The answer is probably never, as we've never been the favourite going into a big H&A game or final.

As in we've never assembled a good enough team.

The losses you refer to have generally always been against a team that is just better than us.

Here's a few big games I can recall from the past 7 or 8 years that we've dropped when we were in a position to win:

St Kilda PF 2009
Geelong QF 2009
St Kilda H&A 2010
Geelong H&A 2009 (I think)
Adelaide EF 2015

In each of those games, we were the betting underdogs. Why? Because the other teams were considered better than us for a multitude of reasons.

Yes, we didn't handle the pressure well - or should I say, the other team handled it better than us - but that's because the other team was better than us. The Adelaide game was probably the one that we really should have won, but even then they went in as the bookies favourites as the more experienced and older side and were were missing the likes of JJ and Koby Stevens.

It's not like we get to big games as roaring favourites and continue to fall over. We get into positions with inferior teams and are able to make a scrap of it, yet just don't have the quality to get the job done.

This group has that quality and depth. The scars of 1997, 2009 etc mean jack all because Stringer wasn't there, Bonti wasn't there, Libba wasn't there, Tom Boyd wasn't there, JJ wasn't there.

This time last year, we lost to Hawthorn by 70 points. Tonight, we lost by 3 with a minute to go. Yes, they had some outs. But I'm sure the likes of Dickson and Wood (and Crameri next year) will come in handy for us down the track.

10-04-2016, 11:56 PM
Yep. I've been hearing for 30 years next time will be different. It's never been different, not once.

I think it is different, this group is one of the most exciting Bulldogs outfits in 30 years. They are young, they play attacking football and are a joy to watch. Yes we lost but another minute less or more and we could have won - the lead changed 6 times in the last quarter. I am not happy we lost, but I am not throwing the baby out with the bath water.

Hawks may have had two or three out but so did we, with the B&F winner and top goal kicker missing. Hawks were also on average 40 games more experienced than us with 14 players with 100 plus games to our 5.

We will bounce back, forget history look forward it is exciting. But God I wish had of held on. :mad:

10-04-2016, 11:59 PM
I can't believe no-one seems to have seen it. When Bob did his knee, Breust was hanging on to him, preventing him getting to Sicily and may have caused his injury. The replay on AFL doesn't show it but I saw it clear as day. Plus an old guy came up to me after the game and said incredulously how Bob was being held in that contest. It should have been a free, Bob shouldn't have done his knee and we should have won full stop.

I thought excatly the same thing at the time.

11-04-2016, 12:00 AM
Stringer had an almost game, he was playing from behind a fair bit early which he has the tendency to do now and again. If a few get over to him, he looks like a genius, if they don't it looks really bad. He got his head more in the game as it wore on but was beaten in the air too often. A few poor kicks inside 50 made it hard for him to keep it simple.

Two scenarios that frustrated me today from Stringer were the giving the footy off over the top inside 50, one at the very start go the game and the other a bit later which saw the ball hit the post. It was showboating disguised as team work. The first was either a kick for goal or a hands inside, instead the chosen miracle handball over the top. The second was better off being a moment to go back and take the set shot.

Despite the lack of positive outcomes, his work rate was still pretty good. Perhaps someone else laying closer to goal and freeing up Jake to get up around the arc and back might've seen better scoreboard production from him.

11-04-2016, 12:03 AM
I thought excatly the same thing at the time.

Watched the replay, might have been stiff. Breust I think it was was holding and keeping him from contesting the footy in the air. He took hs eyes off it for a moment and pulled Bob across, who then pulled up injured. Would have been a contentious free but Gunston got one that was less convincing which he scored from so I'd have taken it.

11-04-2016, 12:05 AM
I think it is different, this group is one of the most exciting Bulldogs outfits in 30 years. They are young, they play attacking football and are a joy to watch. Yes we lost but another minute less or more and we could have won - the lead changed 6 times in the last quarter. I am not happy we lost, but I am not throwing the baby out with the bath water.

Geelong went through the same thing in the 90s, worse perhaps as their losses occurred on the GF stage.

And then again in the early 00s. A talented team but just not quite good enough to knock off the best.

Yet in 2007 they finally assembled a team that had the quality and depth to break through. I feel like we're 12 months away from that break through and the close losses from the past 30 years will mean nothing when it all clicks into gear.

11-04-2016, 12:12 AM

We're not cursed. Players aren't infected by a strain of 'big game softness' as soon as they walk through the doors of Whitten Oval.

Those games you mentioned stand out because they were underdog victories. Everyone loves underdog victories. But underdog victories are pretty rare.

When have we closed out a big time close game when we were considered the favourite? The answer is probably never, as we've never been the favourite going into a big H&A game or final.

The losses you refer to have generally always been against a team that is just better than us.

Here's a few big games I can recall from the past 7 or 8 years that we've dropped when we were in a position to win:

St Kilda PF 2009
Geelong QF 2009
St Kilda H&A 2010
Adelaide EF 2015

In each of those games, we were the betting underdogs. Why? Because the other teams were considered better than us for a multitude of reasons.

Yes, we didn't handle the pressure well - or should I say, the other team handled it better than us - but that's because the other team was better than us. The Adelaide game was probably the one that we really should have won, but even then they went in as the bookies favourites as the more experienced and older side and were were missing the likes of JJ and Koby Stevens.

It's not like we get to big games as roaring favourites and continue to fall over. We get into positions with inferior teams and are able to make a scrap of it, yet just don't have the quality to get the job done.

This group has that quality and depth. The scars of 1997, 2009 etc mean jack all because Stringer wasn't there, Bonti wasn't there, Libba wasn't there, Tom Boyd wasn't there, JJ wasn't there.

This time last year, we lost to Hawthorn by 70 points. Tonight, we lost by 3 with a minute to go. Yes, they had some outs. But I'm sure the likes of Dickson and Wood (and Crameri next year) will come in handy for us down the track.

Great post comrade.
And we would hopefully also get Bont, JJ, Stringer with better games to add to Dickson, Crameri and Wood.

11-04-2016, 01:30 AM
Shattered by the loss, shattered more by Bob's injury. There are so many positives to come out of today's game. It's positive that we have some defensive issues that are plain as day as well, because they (you would hope)can be addressed and sorted. Wood was a massive out for us today, no doubt about it.

If Bob's knee is a ACL injury, how long does the Lars type take to heal? And is it even an option?

11-04-2016, 02:40 AM
On a positive note, I read that Daniel played on Mitchell for over half the game. Is that true?

If so, and he was one of our best, then that is a mighty achievement.

11-04-2016, 06:02 AM
That old bloke might have been me. I definitely thought he was being hung on to.

11-04-2016, 06:37 AM
That old bloke might have been me. I definitely thought he was being hung on to.

Could have been me and all. I was telling anyone who'd listen,

11-04-2016, 09:37 AM
At the end of the day I prefer not blame the umps, the dirty behind the play tactics of the Hawks but Stringer's and Jong's misses cost the game. Our capitalising on the scoreboard has been poor in the first two games but it didn't matter. Today it did, in the finals it will.

11-04-2016, 09:41 AM
At the end of the day I prefer not blame the umps, the dirty behind the play tactics of the Hawks but Stringer's and Jong's misses cost the game. Our capitalising on the scoreboard has been poor in the first two games but it didn't matter. Today it did, in the finals it will.

What Stringer misses? Hard to miss when you don't have the ball.

Hunter's two misses were certainly costly.....as was Jong's and Boyd's.

11-04-2016, 09:47 AM

Stringer fluffed two certain goals with the ball in his hands, at the very start and when he hit the post.

Didnt have a great game, but he'll be better for it.

11-04-2016, 09:49 AM

Stringers two short inaccurate short passes hurt. Libba's kick into the 50 when Stringer was virtually on his own, missed him by 20 metres. Lot's of bad kicking cost us the game.

11-04-2016, 10:44 AM

St Kilda PF 2009
Geelong QF 2009
St Kilda H&A 2010
Adelaide EF 2015

I love your passion Comrade, and we all share it. And you raise some good points, but let me respond to some of them:

Whether or not we were rank outsiders in those games you mentioned, we were in them up to our eyeballs when the whips were cracking. And on each and every occasion we've failed to seal the deal. We've lost them fluffing gilt-edged chances to take the lead, we've lost them with the opposition being clinical, we've lost them being overrun, we've lost them coming back and not quite getting there, we've lost them coming from behind to hit the front and then fail to hold on. You name the way and we've lost them.

Geelong, Hawthorn and Sydney were young once and all won tight finals with young teams (as young as we currently are). Some of our youth are 50+ games. Sicily is a kid and booted 3 goals in the final qtr like a pro. Our kids aren't complete greenhorns, and some of them now have their own scars.

We aren't cursed. We are simply useless at closing out tight and important games - yesterday was no exception. It is what we've done many times in the past with many different players under many different coaches and playing many different game plans. Let's not tiptoe around the fact, or use youth and inexperience as a cop-out - let's call it for what it is. Does it mean that this group will continue to fall in a heap in such circumstances in the future? Of course not.

11-04-2016, 10:47 AM
With the exception of a couple of players our skills were right down, maybe overrored at the start but IMO mainly was caused by the Hawks pressure and not allowing us space.
Hawks are still bigger bodied, and their experienced got them over the line in the battle.
Kudos to us it was a mighty effort from our boys to get back into the contest, not many side would come back against the hawks after being goalless in the first quarter let alone being 5 goals down.
Far from being back to the drawing board and if a couple of our lauded players had shown a bit more we would have got over the line.
Bobbies a huge loss and I'm gutted so I can't imaging how Bob himself or the players are feeling.
I just hope we come out firing next week and not flat because of the loss and Bob not running out with them.

11-04-2016, 11:36 AM
What a game, full of drama and mini stories. What a devastating 90 seconds, so unfair on Bob, that was horrific to watch.

The game was hyped in the media, the boys were pumped up. We could have been 2 goals to zip early. Highly skilled players made very uncharacteristic errors, big mistakes consistently for a qtr and a half. The hawks were clinical but we were somehow still in the game. The umpiring was diabolical and unbalanced and worth a few goals in that first half. Jake Stringer somehow fluffed certain goals, as did several others. Yet we were still in the game against the three time champs, a very very good side, one of the best ever. Then we actually took over, we were smashing them all over the ground, we were still wasteful in front of goal, could have put them away. The hawks came back hard. 90 seconds made the difference, early errors made the difference, poor goal kicking made the difference, a few sub par performances made the difference. Not some curse or intrinsic fault within the jumper.

Players were missing from both sides.

Coming into the season, I thought we may struggle against Freo and have had issues with the saints before. We destroyed them and matched the best.

Awful 90 seconds.

We could jag one this year. We are going to be around the mark for a few years to come.

11-04-2016, 11:39 AM
Stringer fluffed two certain goals with the ball in his hands, at the very start and when he hit the post.

Didnt have a great game, but he'll be better for it.

Yeah...he was really disappointing but I'll forgive him for the second stuff up. He was right to pass the ball onto Caleb and I think he deliberately kicked it over Caleb's head to allow him to run onto the ball rather than run the risk of it being intercepted if he kicked it short. The fact the ball ran past two bulldogs to hit the post was really unlucky.

I'm not sure I like Stringer playing so deep one-out on the better defenders. He really isn't a great mark overhead and he may be able to use his pace better in open space.

11-04-2016, 11:47 AM
I love your passion Comrade, and we all share it. And you raise some good points, but let me respond to some of them:

Whether or not we were rank outsiders in those games you mentioned, we were in them up to our eyeballs when the whips were cracking. And on each and every occasion we've failed to seal the deal. We've lost them fluffing gilt-edged chances to take the lead, we've lost them with the opposition being clinical, we've lost them being overrun, we've lost them coming back and not quite getting there, we've lost them coming from behind to hit the front and then fail to hold on. You name the way and we've lost them.

Geelong, Hawthorn and Sydney were young once and all won tight finals with young teams (as young as we currently are). Some of our youth are 50+ games. Sicily is a kid and booted 3 goals in the final qtr like a pro. Our kids aren't complete greenhorns, and some of them now have their own scars.

We aren't cursed. We are simply useless at closing out tight and important games - yesterday was no exception. It is what we've done many times in the past with many different players under many different coaches and playing many different game plans. Let's not tiptoe around the fact, or use youth and inexperience as a cop-out - let's call it for what it is. Does it mean that this group will continue to fall in a heap in such circumstances in the future? Of course not.

Why not? Haven't we lauded each fresh bunch of players that come through? The Darcy's, Johnson's, West's. Smith's Grant's and the Cameron's and then into the 2000s with the Gilbee's, Cooney's, Lake's , Murphy's, Higgins'? What is it going to take to find a player or a team of players capable of consistently winning the most important matches and why does it keep happening? Is it resources? Recruiting? Culture?

The only reason I can think of is the potential weight of a 62 year premiership drought and the ingrained perception that a Grand final is a bridge too far. We seem to be accepting of our plight, the Dogs are a good team and made the Prelim and that is a pass. Next year they'll go a step further, but then it never happens...

That said I'm frustrated but still wildly optimistic about this year. I think losing Bob greatly affects our premiership chances though, but the belief comes from our list, it's well balanced and highly skilled and most importantly, young. In addition, they're all locked away so we have the potential for a sustained run at it, unlike past decades where we've had very brief windows before falling horribly away.

I guess the club has waited 62 years so it is quite happy to wait and see for another five.

11-04-2016, 12:16 PM
I think there were a large number of positives to take from the day.

Up until now we didn't know whether our boys could cut it against the best. A couple of points is just the siren ringing at the wrong time.

Bevo's team met the best that the best could throw at us, and we coped with that. When the Hawks initially managed to curtail our running game, we adapted and came back at them. I can't think of too many teams that are capable of that. Silly mistakes under a finals like pressure cost us dearly. But we need to experience that sort of pressure in order to learn to cope with it.

And our bodies are getting better. I can't remember a single instance of any player taking a backward step, even with the odds stacked against them. The Hawks have made intimidation an art form, but the Bulldogs didn't look like a team that was daunted at any stage.

Loss or not, we now know that Bevo's doggies have what it takes to perform on the biggest days. And that is all we need to know, the boys will take it from here.

11-04-2016, 12:22 PM
Anyone else think Bonti looks a tad slow this year?

I think he would benefit from losing 2-4 kgs.

11-04-2016, 12:28 PM

Yes I agree, he seems to lumber around a bit.

11-04-2016, 12:51 PM

He's never been quick but because of his loping gait looks slower than I think he actually is. I think the idea is to put more muscle on him. There's not a lot of him as it is.

11-04-2016, 01:01 PM
Watched the replay, might have been stiff. Breust I think it was was holding and keeping him from contesting the footy in the air. He took hs eyes off it for a moment and pulled Bob across, who then pulled up injured. Would have been a contentious free but Gunston got one that was less convincing which he scored from so I'd have taken it.

I just watched the replay and the camera absolutely missed it. It was right in front of me.
I was on level 3 on the opposite side to the camera. The ball was kicked long from Hawthiorn's HB to HF by Burgoyne and I turned my eyes to where it was heading. Breust had a two armed hold on Murphy and only had his attention on Bob who was desperately trying to twist out of it to punch the ball from Sicily and had time to do it. Why wasn't Bob moving towards the ball umpire? It was so obvious I knew it would be a free kick. The horror started when the kick wasn't paid and turned sinister when Bob hobbled. I was ready to jump over the balcony and kill Breust. In the cold light of the day after I don't blame Breust but he must be feeling bad knowing what he did.
I will never forget that image of Breust clamping on to Bob Murphy who was trying to twist away. We can no longer just say 'Bob' because he is history.

11-04-2016, 01:20 PM
Why not? Haven't we lauded each fresh bunch of players that come through? The Darcy's, Johnson's, West's. Smith's Grant's and the Cameron's and then into the 2000s with the Gilbee's, Cooney's, Lake's , Murphy's, Higgins'? What is it going to take to find a player or a team of players capable of consistently winning the most important matches and why does it keep happening? Is it resources? Recruiting? Culture?
Yes we have, and it's quite possible that this new group will go the same way as its predecessors - the loss to Adelaide and to Hawthorn both included some really poor game sense and structural/communication mishaps, as well as some poor skill errors in the last couple of minutes. So far we have a sample size of 3 games - 1 win and 2 losses is not enough to make a definitive statement one way or another.

It will be very interesting to see how this group handles such a scenario when it next happens. It's not about skill or ability or desire - we smashed both Adelaide and Hawthorn into next week inside and at the clearances - it is about composure, poise, game sense, ruthlessness. Teams aren't going to gift-wrap the 4 points or a big final to us just because we are good to watch. Hawthorn dodged a bullet yesterday and they know it, as did Adelaide in the EF last year. We know it, the players know it and the coaching staff know it too.

11-04-2016, 01:37 PM
Really hope Murph will be ok.

Bob will be fine in time. He'll get the best surgeons to repair his knee, do his rehab and come back next year for a farewell tour, play his 300th and captain us to back to back premierships.

Still ropeable that the cheat Bruest got away with holding Bob out of the last contest which contributed to Bob's injury. Both of Bob's knees were caused by filthy or cheating play. That Rocca tackle at the G still makes me mad.

Really proud of the boys yesterday - with the way we started it could have turned into a really ugly afternoon, but it may very well be the day we came of age as a genuine premiership contender. The things that went wrong are obvious and fixable. Reckon the Hawks will have a scout at most of our games & training sessions for the rest of the season now.

11-04-2016, 01:43 PM
Still ropeable that the cheat Bruest got away with holding Bob out of the last contest which contributed to Bob's injury.
I must have missed something here - Breust did exactly what you want your numerical advantage player to do, and that is subtly shepherd your opponent so the free teammate can mark unopposed. It was just dumb luck for Bob - perhaps if he had some teammates covering defensively like they should have he would not have been caught in a 1 v 2 situation.

11-04-2016, 02:00 PM
Last years close games, Ive arbitrarily chosen 3 goals (we beat Richmond by 19) if we go to 2 goals drop off one win and one loss.

Beat collingwood by 18
Beat West Coast by 10
Beat GC by 12
Beat Carlton by 9
Beat saints by 6
Beat Sydney by 4

Lost to saints by 7
Lost to freo by 13
lost to geelong by 8
lost to brisbane by 8
lost EF

11-04-2016, 02:07 PM
I must have missed something here - Breust did exactly what you want your numerical advantage player to do, and that is subtly shepherd your opponent so the free teammate can mark unopposed. It was just dumb luck for Bob - perhaps if he had some teammates covering defensively like they should have he would not have been caught in a 1 v 2 situation.

True, but it was a free kick if he sheparded, and held him away from the contest.

11-04-2016, 02:12 PM

So who cares about the rules as long as you can get away with breaking them and if you do so and end a great career well just bad luck for the victim? You must not have seen it. He didn't "subtly shepherd" he grabbed him with both his arms, strengthened in the gym like all professional footballers. It was a deliberate breaking of the rules and ended badly for Bob and our club.

11-04-2016, 02:24 PM
Last years close games, Ive arbitrarily chosen 3 goals (we beat Richmond by 19) if we go to 2 goals drop off one win and one loss.

Beat collingwood by 18
Beat West Coast by 10
Beat GC by 12
Beat Carlton by 9
Beat saints by 6
Beat Sydney by 4

Lost to saints by 7
Lost to freo by 13
lost to geelong by 8
lost to brisbane by 8
lost EF
When it is less than a kick the difference with a couple of minutes left, we were 1-2 last year. And in my 40 years of watching Dogs games I reckon we'd be lucky to win 20% of games under the same situation (I'm being generous - I reckon it would be 10% at best). And in finals we are 1-7 in my lifetime. We stink at it, we've stunk at it for a long time, and hopefully we will stop stinking at it in the future.

11-04-2016, 02:32 PM
So who cares about the rules as long as you can get away with breaking them and if you do so and end a great career well just bad luck for the victim? You must not have seen it. He didn't "subtly shepherd" he grabbed him with both his arms, strengthened in the gym like all professional footballers. It was a deliberate breaking of the rules and ended badly for Bob and our club.
If one of our players was penalised for what Breust did, I would have gone absolutely feral.

11-04-2016, 03:07 PM
If one of our players was penalised for what Breust did, I would have gone absolutely feral.

You didn't see it to be saying that or you are being disingenuous. Grabbing a player with both hands to keep him from the marking contest because you know you have a two on one and then a free kick is paid against you, that's too much for Sedat?

11-04-2016, 03:26 PM
I don't understand how that last quarter went for almost 36 minutes?

11-04-2016, 03:28 PM
You didn't see it to be saying that or you are being disingenuous. Grabbing a player with both hands to keep him from the contest because you know you have a two on one and then a free kick is paid against you that's too much for Sedat.
Neither - for mine the contact was minimal enough and subtle enough to be ok, and Breust was smart enough to keep his eyes on the flight of the ball to make it look like he was going to contest the mark. If those were paid every time there would be 100 free kicks a game.

Happy for people to disagree with me.

11-04-2016, 03:37 PM

I didn't see how that could have been a free kick to Murphy. Bruest did well to affect the contest but from where I sat (level 1 middle of the ground outer side) and the footage I've seen of the contest between Bruest and Murphy looked ok and the injury innocuous. Bruest never looked to actually take hold of him for any length of time.

11-04-2016, 03:49 PM
I didn't see how that could have been a free kick to Murphy. Bruest did well to affect the contest but from where I sat (level 1 middle of the ground outer side) and the footage I've seen of the contest between Bruest and Murphy looked ok and the injury innocuous. Bruest never looked to actually take hold of him for any length of time.

It was directly in my line of view (from level 2). I thought Breust grabbed Murphy's jumper early on (as in with the ball in the air still 20-30 metres away) and from there on in just got in Bob's way of the contest.

Under the strictest interpretation of the rules, if the umpire saw the whole exchange from where he was - it was certainly a free kick for holding, and then for shepherding.

Having said that, it was moving quickly, and its a tough call (particularly when the two players are running back and both entangled) - and one I'd be filthy on if it was called and the teams reversed.

11-04-2016, 04:12 PM
I don't understand how that last quarter went for almost 36 minutes?

I remember thinking that at the 34 minute mark.

I think that Ceglar must have obscured the umpire's view. I saw the contest from side on from start to finish-I could see Ceglar running down the ground so I was watching him-from where I was(standing on level 1 behind aisle 31) and thought it was a free. Ray Chamberlain usually can't control himself when it comes to those frees, he loves running in and paying them.

11-04-2016, 04:15 PM
It was directly in my line of view (from level 2). I thought Breust grabbed Murphy's jumper early on (as in with the ball in the air still 20-30 metres away) and from there on in just got in Bob's way of the contest.

Correct, if you see this (http://www.afl.com.au/video/2016-04-10/watch-the-last-two-minutes-wb-v-haw)footage, Breust is clearly pushing Murphy away from Sisley and giving him no chance to try and spoil. Sisley may have still marked the ball, but we will never know.

11-04-2016, 04:17 PM
Neither - for mine the contact was minimal enough and subtle enough to be ok, and Breust was smart enough to keep his eyes on the flight of the ball to make it look like he was going to contest the mark. If those were paid every time there would be 100 free kicks a game.

Happy for people to disagree with me.

Actually no, if that rule was applied properly and consistently people would stop doing it......

11-04-2016, 04:48 PM

Under the strictest interpretation of the rules, if the umpire saw the whole exchange from where he was - it was certainly a free kick for holding, and then for shepherding.

Having said that, it was moving quickly, and its a tough call (particularly when the two players are running back and both entangled) - and one I'd be filthy on if it was called and the teams reversed.

That's what I saw. The hold on the jumper double handed and Bob couldn't break it. I can't understand how you think that's OK and that you say you would be upset if the jumpers were reversed and the free was given. So you don't respect the rule and think it's OK to break it. I'm glad I expect more of the game and than you and Sedat. If you don't have rules you don't have a game. It's a given that umpires will make mistakes and I can understand the mistake in this incident, the ump must have been blindsided and it seems most supporters didn't see it. However to know that someone is holding on preventing someone from competing in a mark, for that to be happening when it did in the game on Sunday to Bob Murphy who does his knee as a result of the incident but to say that's OK, smells to me.

11-04-2016, 04:50 PM
Correct, if you see this (http://www.afl.com.au/video/2016-04-10/watch-the-last-two-minutes-wb-v-haw)footage, Breust is clearly pushing Murphy away from Sisley and giving him no chance to try and spoil. Sisley may have still marked the ball, but we will never know.

You can't see the hold from this footage, it happened before the camera gets there.

11-04-2016, 05:01 PM
That's what I saw. The hold on the jumper double handed and Bob couldn't break it. I can't understand how you think that's OK and that you say you would be upset if the jumpers were reversed and the free was given. So you don't respect the rule and think it's OK to break it. I'm glad I expect more of the game and than you and Sedat. If you don't have rules you don't have a game. It's a given that umpires will make mistakes and I can understand the mistake in this incident, the ump must have been blindsided and it seems most supporters didn't see it. However to know that someone is holding on preventing someone from competing in a mark, for that to be happening when it did in the game on Sunday to Bob Murphy who does his knee as a result of the incident but to say that's OK, smells to me.

Gee whiz.

Not sure where to start. I think I'm best to leave the 'expect more from the game' and the 'Bob Murphy does his knee as a result' comments alone.

In my post, I stated that in the strictest interpretation of the rule, it was a free kick. That is with the benefit of a clear line of view, being able to watch the replay etc etc. But I think we all know, that its a game with a hell of a lot of rules, an extremely difficult game to umpire and if umpires were to pay every single technical free kick - the game would be unwatchable. The hold was very brief - but it was there. Did the umpire see it? Did Murphy infringe on Breust also? Does Murphy having his back to the ball influence the decision.

There is heaps of grey in the game. It wasn't a blatant free kick - by anyone's measure.

The reason I said I'd be filthy if it was paid against us - is because that would literally be the reaction if we missed an opportunity to score based on a very very technical hold off the ball. My comment was about the likely visceral reaction to it.

11-04-2016, 05:33 PM
Yes we have, and it's quite possible that this new group will go the same way as its predecessors - the loss to Adelaide and to Hawthorn both included some really poor game sense and structural/communication mishaps, as well as some poor skill errors in the last couple of minutes. So far we have a sample size of 3 games - 1 win and 2 losses is not enough to make a definitive statement one way or another.

It will be very interesting to see how this group handles such a scenario when it next happens. It's not about skill or ability or desire - we smashed both Adelaide and Hawthorn into next week inside and at the clearances - it is about composure, poise, game sense, ruthlessness. Teams aren't going to gift-wrap the 4 points or a big final to us just because we are good to watch. Hawthorn dodged a bullet yesterday and they know it, as did Adelaide in the EF last year. We know it, the players know it and the coaching staff know it too.

I believe that people take a harsher view of their own team's mistakes, and with than in mind, the finishing cost us,and Bevo said as much. As did the look on his face in the box after the misses.

11-04-2016, 05:52 PM
Gee whiz.

Not sure where to start. I think I'm best to leave the 'expect more from the game' and the 'Bob Murphy does his knee as a result' comments alone.

In my post, I stated that in the strictest interpretation of the rule, it was a free kick. That is with the benefit of a clear line of view, being able to watch the replay etc etc. But I think we all know, that its a game with a hell of a lot of rules, an extremely difficult game to umpire and if umpires were to pay every single technical free kick - the game would be unwatchable. The hold was very brief - but it was there. Did the umpire see it? Did Murphy infringe on Breust also? Does Murphy having his back to the ball influence the decision.

There is heaps of grey in the game. It wasn't a blatant free kick - by anyone's measure.

The reason I said I'd be filthy if it was paid against us - is because that would literally be the reaction if we missed an opportunity to score based on a very very technical hold off the ball. My comment was about the likely visceral reaction to it.

You obviously think it wasn't much of a grab whereas I think it was a strong one. This is not an incident to be written off as a grey area. If I saw one of our blokes do what I saw Breust do to Bob and the free was paid, I'd be disappointed in our bloke and the loss of the game but I would have no complaints about the umpire and praise the call as a very good one. I saw a strong hold being resisted by Bob twisting away and doing his knee.

11-04-2016, 05:54 PM
I thought it was a free, but honestly we deserved to have that goal kicked on us for being stupid enough to not pay any attention to Sicily.