View Full Version : Game Day Round 6 2016 - North Melbourne V Western Bulldogs

28-04-2016, 11:29 AM
Finally a Friday night game for our club. Should be a great game. Put your margin, first goal kicker, best on ground and crowd number in.

Margin: Dogs by 16 points and we go back on top of the ladder
First Goal: Dickson to get our first
Best On Ground: Libba to have a great game
Crowd: 40,545

28-04-2016, 02:15 PM
Dogs by 27 points
Hunter BOG
Stringer for the first
Crowd 48,571

28-04-2016, 02:31 PM
Dogs by 22
BOG: The Bont
First Goal Picken
Crowd 43,500

28-04-2016, 02:39 PM
Dogs by 43
BOG Stringer
First Goal Macrae

28-04-2016, 03:08 PM
Dogs by 1 Point
BOG: Hunter
First Goal: Tom Campbell
Crowd: 39,600

28-04-2016, 03:56 PM
Dogs by 28
BOG- Bonti
First Goal- Dahlhaus

Crowd 47K

28-04-2016, 04:03 PM
Dogs by 10
Just watch the tape from last time. Do it again boys
BOG Luke D
First Goal Dale Morris :D

28-04-2016, 06:03 PM
Dogs by 11.
BOG Wood.
First goal Campbell.

28-04-2016, 08:03 PM
Have scored some Medallion Club tickets now, so very happy with that!

Dogs by 33
First goal Jong
BOG Liberatore
Crowd 44,500

28-04-2016, 08:58 PM
Dogs by 43
BOG-Hunter
First goal-Dickson

28-04-2016, 09:05 PM

That would be a great crowd.

28-04-2016, 09:11 PM
Dogs by 5 points
BOG- Libba
First goal-Dickson

28-04-2016, 09:18 PM
Dogs win by 48
Norf total score 48
First goal - The Bont
BOG - Dahl (to make the most of his 100th game)
Crowd - 44,444

28-04-2016, 09:58 PM
Dogs by 66
BOG Dahl
1st goal Dahl

28-04-2016, 11:35 PM
Dogs by 6
BOG Hunter
1st goal Stringer

29-04-2016, 03:07 AM
Dogs by 1 pt ( can we win a tight big game for once)

BOG Dahl
1st goal Dahl
Crowd 46,324

29-04-2016, 10:24 AM
Jack Macrae is playing his 61st game of AFL football and this is the first Friday night game the club will play in his time in the AFL system.

29-04-2016, 10:34 AM
Jack Macrae is playing his 61st game of AFL football and this is the first Friday night game the club will play in his time in the AFL system.

Absolute disgrace by AFL.

29-04-2016, 10:43 AM

Whilst it is pathetic that we have to cop the big 4 on Friday nights regardles of form, it's probably a good thing we were hidden from the footy world through 2013-2014.. We were utter shit to watch.

29-04-2016, 11:08 AM
Whilst it is pathetic that we have to cop the big 4 on Friday nights regardles of form, it's probably a good thing we were hidden from the footy world through 2013-2014.. We were utter shit to watch.

Yep. We were in our ugly teenager years.

29-04-2016, 11:09 AM
For me the key is limiting Goldsteins influence in the centre bounces. Does Roughead and Campbell have the ability to not only break even but beat Goaldstein?

29-04-2016, 11:17 AM
Its all about killing them in the clearances and converting inside fifties, they will be making the most of theirs.

29-04-2016, 11:21 AM
Its all about killing them in the clearances and converting inside fifties, they will be making the most of theirs.

Don't we need to curtail Goldstein though to get on top of the centre clearances?

29-04-2016, 11:39 AM
Don't we need to curtail Goldstein though to get on top of the centre clearances?

Roughead did a pretty good job in round 22 last year.

29-04-2016, 11:48 AM
I predict Roughie will get injured tonight...

Oh dear I am feeling pessimistic. Prove me wrong, boys!

29-04-2016, 11:48 AM
Ok I got up at 0530 this morning to give alms to the monks ...asked for a Bulldog win..doing my bit!

29-04-2016, 12:03 PM
I predict Roughie will get injured tonight...

Oh dear I am feeling pessimistic. Prove me wrong, boys!

ML - maybe you are not up to date. We are in the midst of the Roughassaince! Watch him clunk a few and smash it in the ruck. Defying all predictions Roughy!

29-04-2016, 12:08 PM
Hope you're right, GD. Crossing fingers, steering clear of black cats, smashable mirrors and overhanging ladders. We need all our luck tonight.

29-04-2016, 12:09 PM
Lots of confidence amongst WOOFers. Good to see.

Dogs by 23
BOG: Dahl
FG: Dickson

29-04-2016, 12:20 PM
Hope you're right, GD. Crossing fingers, steering clear of black cats, smashable mirrors and overhanging ladders. We need all our luck tonight.

Yes! No black cats.
To be realistic, all players get injured from time to time, and Jordan will have his turn. But otherwise look forward to a very serviceable year from Jordan with a few games to rest.

29-04-2016, 12:56 PM
Dogs by 36
BOG Da Bont
First goal - Don't care but I want the first shot to be a goal not a bunch of points

29-04-2016, 01:02 PM
Roughead did a pretty good job in round 22 last year.

Yes also helped by Redders crashing into Goldstein at once stage giving him a corkie if I remember.

29-04-2016, 01:14 PM
I'm trying not to get too excited about our chance, because so far we have beaten St Kilda, Freo, Brisbane, Carlton. The Hawks loss by 3 points was heartening but we are yet to beat a top 8 team. If we win this we will be proving the doubters wrong...err does that include me? Never!

29-04-2016, 02:26 PM
Not to concerned by the margin, or who kicks the goals.

Really need our defensive system to stand up. If we can restrict North to under 80 I think we win. Anything above that we will struggle to score.

Be nice if Stringer can play like his moments against them last year.

29-04-2016, 03:16 PM
Not to concerned by the margin, or who kicks the goals.

Really need our defensive system to stand up. If we can restrict North to under 80 I think we win. Anything above that we will struggle to score.

Under Bevo we are 0-9 when the opposition kick 90+

29-04-2016, 03:23 PM

I don't like us being 0-9 for anything.

Dogs by 31 points
First goal stringer
BOG the Bont

29-04-2016, 03:54 PM

That is also one of the reasons we have been effective this year. There is only the last quarter against Hawthorn that anyone has scored to any degree.

Imperative that we shut down North.

29-04-2016, 04:29 PM

Certainly reiterates the contrasting styles between our side of 2016 and our side of the 05-09 era.

The media and the football world still talk about us being an attacking beast, although they're slowly coming around to reality, but we are actually a defense first team.

29-04-2016, 04:36 PM
I don't think this will be close, I think we will either smash or be smashed. So...

Dogs by 42
First goal - Stringer
BOG - the Bont
Crowd - 42,134
Reports - Boomer for striking (he'll crack the sads at being towelled up by Picken)

29-04-2016, 04:38 PM

Wouldn't most teams have similar result when opposition kicks 90+? I mean if the opposition kicks over 90 puts there is a fair chance you will lose by definition. I bet our record when opposition kicks 150+ is just as bad!!! ;)

29-04-2016, 05:18 PM
Wouldn't most teams have similar result when opposition kicks 90+? I mean if the opposition kicks over 90 puts there is a fair chance you will lose by definition. I bet our record when opposition kicks 150+ is just as bad!!! ;)

Since the start of 2014 Hawthorn are 8-9 when the opposition kicks 90+

29-04-2016, 05:19 PM

Bevo's current record is 18 wins from 28 games. Not bad at all.

29-04-2016, 05:57 PM
Since the start of 2014 Hawthorn are 8-9 when the opposition kicks 90+

OK fair call. I guess it says we need to score more?

29-04-2016, 06:06 PM
OK fair call. I guess it says we need to score more?

Or just keep the opposition under 90 pts.. We are 18-1 under Bevo when we do.

29-04-2016, 06:09 PM
Bevo's current record is 18 wins from 28 games. Not bad at all.

Over 64%. I like.

29-04-2016, 07:08 PM
Dogs by 27
First goal - Hunter
BOG - Bonts
Crowd - 31000

29-04-2016, 07:51 PM
Got here early, upgraded to a reserved seat. They gave me the one next to my usual seat, happy with that. I tried a snag from the simply named Snag Bar... Pretty good, 11 bucks but cooked as you order, much better than the other crap they serve... and they serve alcohol. Happy days.

29-04-2016, 08:06 PM
Dogs by 15
First goal: Dickson
BOG: Bontempelli

29-04-2016, 08:29 PM
Got here early, upgraded to a reserved seat. They gave me the one next to my usual seat, happy with that. I tried a snag from the simply named Snag Bar... Pretty good, 11 bucks but cooked as you order, much better than the other crap they serve... and they serve alcohol. Happy days.

What's the crowd turnout looking like AP6?
Couldn't make it tonight as with my dad who got some bad health news today:(,but a rampant doggies win tonight will cheer us both up a fair bit.

29-04-2016, 08:39 PM
Crowd is looking quite large. Will be above 45k I reckon

29-04-2016, 08:39 PM
What's the crowd turnout looking like AP6?
Couldn't make it tonight as with my dad who got some bad health news today:(,but a rampant doggies win tonight will cheer us both up a fair bit.

Filling up now, should be a cracking crowd. Hope your dad is OK.

29-04-2016, 08:40 PM
Massive crowd in electric atmosphere will be 45k

29-04-2016, 08:50 PM
Dermott Brereton has no idea , said Adams is known as dad at the club.
Their expertise of knowing nothing is exceptional.

29-04-2016, 08:58 PM
They've got two of our players by punching us in the ribs/guts. Since its within the rules now, best give it back with interest.

29-04-2016, 09:10 PM
Filling up now, should be a cracking crowd. Hope your dad is OK.

Thanks AP6.
Should find out in about 3 weeks for sure.

29-04-2016, 09:11 PM
Dermott Brereton has no idea , said Adams is known as dad at the club.
Their expertise of knowing nothing is exceptional.

Jack of all trades,
Masters of none.

29-04-2016, 09:19 PM
Only caught the last ten minutes of the quarter. Pretty hot footy.

29-04-2016, 09:20 PM
Too much fumbling, too many errors, too much show boating. North look up for the occasion. We don't

Koby Stevens - Chocolates to boiled lollies.

Kangas just cleaner with the ball.

We fumbled a bit , hopefully that was Nths best qtr.

Well we used the ball terribly that quarter. Collectively shitting ourselves

Don't love having Stevens coming out of defence.

29-04-2016, 09:21 PM
Need to settle...a few guys just making some nervy errors.

29-04-2016, 09:23 PM
Backline doesn't look so hot when the midfield isn't getting pressure. We've looked a shambles and need to make sure we've got guys down at marking contests. Koby's worst quarter in a while

29-04-2016, 09:25 PM
My god Macavaney has mentioned Carey 20 times already and kept on about 1998.

29-04-2016, 09:29 PM
Worst skill execution for about 29 games.

29-04-2016, 09:32 PM
Worst skill execution for about 29 games.

Can you do something about your signature BT? It's hard to pick your posts from your sig on mobile. I know, I'm a diva ;).

29-04-2016, 09:34 PM
They don't miss

29-04-2016, 09:38 PM
Umpires are killing us.

29-04-2016, 09:40 PM
Ordinary. Very ordinary. Not much to take out of this right now. They're killing us.

29-04-2016, 09:40 PM
Jeez we have shot ourselves in the foot so far.

29-04-2016, 09:42 PM
Ah no structure going forward and no forward line.

29-04-2016, 09:42 PM
North are experts on sniping us. Really using the lax rules on punching or hitting us to take us out of the contest. Just a couple of fines for them.

29-04-2016, 09:43 PM
some of the ump decisions my god.

29-04-2016, 09:44 PM
Magic!!

29-04-2016, 09:44 PM
Ah no structure going forward and no forward line.

Repeat entries are our bread and butter and we're not getting that tonight.

29-04-2016, 09:45 PM
Between our deer in the headlights play, and the umpires sheer incompetence, this is awful.

29-04-2016, 09:51 PM
Bont being punched: ump "let it go Marcus"

29-04-2016, 09:53 PM
Can I go home now?
This is just terrible footy

29-04-2016, 09:54 PM
Only 2 goals down and they are getting everything, hopefully it turns around, we have butchered it and fumbled, we will either run over the top with just over possession or they will do it easy with height in the forward line.

29-04-2016, 09:55 PM
Can I go home now?
This is just terrible footy

So it looks as bad there as it does on tv?

29-04-2016, 09:56 PM
If we could just bloody use the ball with some semblance of intelligence we'd be in front.
Our ball use, unsurprisingly, going into our forward 50 has been so predictable and wasteful.
And when we got chances we blew them. Tom Campbell is such a poor shot for goal . If he's going to make it, he just has to kick one of those two opportunities.

29-04-2016, 09:56 PM
So it looks as bad there as it does on tv?

We're a mess. I have no idea how we're this close.

29-04-2016, 09:57 PM
The only good thing you can say is we are only two goals down.

That was yuck. Can't handle the heat. The fact we are only 2 goals down is laughable.

We need a fast start in the 3rd quarter. We just aren't getting the game on our terms but there us plenty of time.

BAD's enjoying the contest but not enjoying the errors. Go Dogs

29-04-2016, 09:58 PM
We're a mess. I have no idea how we're this close.

They're not that flash either. They really should have put on a few early in that 2nd. Forward half looks like an absolute mess.

29-04-2016, 09:59 PM
If I have to watch Campbell up forward, I'm going to blow a gasket. Whatever the answer is, it isn't him.

They're not that flash either. They really should have put on a few early in that 2nd. Forward half looks like an absolute mess.

They should have cut us up. Credit to the backs. Our use into the forward 50 is as bad as I've seen for a while.

Hunter with 24 to half time. Starting to make people notice him.

29-04-2016, 10:01 PM
Very underwhelming performance by us so far tonight, need to hit our targets and get a bit of structure up forward in the second half if we want any chance of winning tonight.

They don't miss

We do.

Been the silver lining tonight thus far.

Redpath would be good now

29-04-2016, 10:02 PM
I can't believe the free against Dickson for blocking in the marking contest.

29-04-2016, 10:04 PM

Be nice if most of them went to us.

29-04-2016, 10:04 PM
Losing 3 of our best kicks in the side is really showing. More for Boyd, Biggs, Wood and Stevens to do with ball in hand and that just isn't ideal.

29-04-2016, 10:06 PM
Losing 3 of our best kicks in the side is really showing. More for Boyd, Biggs, Wood and Stevens to do with ball in hand and that just isn't ideal.

Thought the same thing. It really stands out tonight

29-04-2016, 10:06 PM

I've noticed him kick it directly to Norf three times.

29-04-2016, 10:09 PM
3 put of 24 is that bad especially if your under pressure,? that means 21 have been good, I would take that any day

29-04-2016, 10:09 PM
Bonts been very busy tonight.

29-04-2016, 10:10 PM
I'm not sure if the inability of Norths tall forward line to rip us apart, given Norths control of the game is a plus for us or a ticking time bomb. If Waite, Brown or Petrie clunk and convert a couple early in the 3rd, we might be in big trouble.
On the flip side we need our midfield prime movers to just bloody use the ball better and find a target inside 50.

29-04-2016, 10:21 PM
I am so over our kicking for goal!

29-04-2016, 10:23 PM
No awareness at all then by Fletch.

29-04-2016, 10:24 PM
Anyone still think our inaccuracy isn't really a big deal?

29-04-2016, 10:28 PM
Do we have to make everything this hard for ourselves?

29-04-2016, 10:28 PM
I can't believe we're within two kicks. That play to a non goal was cringeworthy.

29-04-2016, 10:29 PM
Panicky when we don't need to be and too casual when we need to be panicky.

They'll kick away soon.

29-04-2016, 10:30 PM
Lachie Hunter is about the only one I want to have the ball in hand tonight

Why is Bailey Dale even playing. Atleast play someone who will put there body on the line

We don't deserve to win this. We look terrible.

29-04-2016, 10:31 PM
I have a feeling its about to get quite ugly.

29-04-2016, 10:31 PM
Bonts handpass to Dale was the end of this match. This one is done.

29-04-2016, 10:33 PM
AFEL House must be loving this.

I wish our blokes would hit them back. They're bashing and bullying us.

Can't believe Bonti passed that off. You're supposed to be a leader, Bont, take the bloody shot yourself.

Agree, Dale was too hot to give it to.

29-04-2016, 10:34 PM
Lachie Hunter is about the only one I want to have the ball in hand tonight

And McLean.

29-04-2016, 10:35 PM
Third man up in the centre of the ground is stupid. If Wallis stays down that ball does not allow the easy clearance that gives Petrie that goal

29-04-2016, 10:36 PM
Kobe got that goal before but why the hell did Adcock try and pass to him when Stringer was goal square by himself.

29-04-2016, 10:37 PM
We have gone all up and no one down on to many occasions tonight.

29-04-2016, 10:38 PM
They've kept us in this - a team like Hawthorn would punish them for it...let's see

29-04-2016, 10:40 PM
We blow huge opportunities they take theirs.
Remember this is kids against men and we have vital injuries.
We do need Redpaths hunger and to look for him and help out Stringer.

29-04-2016, 10:41 PM
Dahl !!!!

29-04-2016, 10:42 PM
How are we within two goals????

29-04-2016, 10:43 PM
jake trying for the upteenth speccy

29-04-2016, 10:43 PM
Great Stringer. Then dumb Stringer.

Time to put he and Bonts in the action.

29-04-2016, 10:44 PM
Jakey yeah nah

How are we within two goals????

Could be within one for Stringer could actual time his jump at the ball.

Great Stringer. Then dumb Stringer.

Time to put he and Bonts in the action.

Love it BT.

29-04-2016, 10:45 PM
Can't see us winning it. Just to many dumb decisions when it counts. No excuses, just haven't been good enough so far. I usually have a small glimmer of hope in me, haven't got it tonight.

29-04-2016, 10:45 PM
Could be within one for Stringer could actual time his jump at the ball.

Put him in the guts for the last quarter I say.

29-04-2016, 10:47 PM
Put him in the guts for the last quarter I say.

He's been there a fair bit.

29-04-2016, 10:47 PM
FFS Could we fumble the ball any more then what we have done tonight?!

29-04-2016, 10:48 PM
Its ridiculous, and an indictment on North that we are wothin 2 kicks at 3 Qtr time. I really hope we can use that to push our boys on in this last quarter.
We have done everything that would see a better side gave us 7 or 8 goals down by now..that we are only 2 kicks out should hopefully give us hope we can surge and get it right in the last quarter.

He has been

Can't see us winning it. Just to many dumb decisions when it counts. No excuses, just haven't been good enough so far. I usually have a small glimmer of hope in me, haven't got it tonight.

I can't see it either. They've been clearly better

29-04-2016, 10:49 PM
Roll the dice for the win, all out attack. More of this ain't going to win anyway.

29-04-2016, 10:51 PM
What's up with Stringer?

29-04-2016, 10:54 PM
Need to play a specialist tall forward this week. We're asking a 6'2 Stringer to take pack marks

29-04-2016, 10:58 PM
That was horrible.

29-04-2016, 10:59 PM
Too many errors. Always seems to be on the big stage.
Thank goodness North are pretenders and keeping us in it.

29-04-2016, 11:00 PM
Bashed & bullied all night.

29-04-2016, 11:01 PM
Worst game ever?

29-04-2016, 11:04 PM
Thats it. Done.

29-04-2016, 11:04 PM
How was that not holding the ball? Disgusting. Dead set disgusting.

29-04-2016, 11:06 PM
If Beveridge can't see we need Redpath up forward by now to help out jake I don't know when he will see it.

$%^& &*() Roughie.

Bloody hell Rough, two steps forward, three steps back

29-04-2016, 11:07 PM
Embarrassed on prime time.......... :(

29-04-2016, 11:10 PM
Putrid under pressure.

That's the play to Stringer, on the lead out in front - not on top of him drawing a crowd

Now stringer Ffs !

Stringer & Roughead putrid. They could've swung momentum. Basic set shots FFS.

29-04-2016, 11:12 PM
I give up. I'm looking at Birkenstocks online.

29-04-2016, 11:12 PM
44 points in a game of football were it has a hell of alot in our forward 50 is very ordinary.

29-04-2016, 11:14 PM
Crowd 47000

29-04-2016, 11:15 PM
never in it from the first bounce.

29-04-2016, 11:15 PM
We would have to be close to the most inefficient inside 50 team this year.

29-04-2016, 11:16 PM
44 points in a game of football were it has a hell of alot in our forward 50 is very ordinary.

it was never in there with any system and always under pressure. jakes one mark on a lead was all we got

29-04-2016, 11:19 PM
Campbell, Roughead,Stringer all missed shots they should have got, theirs your difference.

29-04-2016, 11:20 PM
Did I just hear them say Macrae was at 80% tonight efficiency tonight ?

29-04-2016, 11:21 PM
We flat out embarrassed ourseleves on the big stage. We don't deserve good friday football.

29-04-2016, 11:23 PM
Rinse and repeat stuff.

Only good thing to come out of it was no injuries.

29-04-2016, 11:25 PM
We flat out embarrassed ourseleves on the big stage. We don't deserve good friday football.

Lets just give it to Carlton and Essendon then, they need the exposure.:rolleyes:

29-04-2016, 11:25 PM
Rinse and repeat stuff.

Libber will have a savage cork though.

29-04-2016, 11:26 PM
Rinse and repeat stuff.

Adams was limping at the end of the game.

29-04-2016, 11:26 PM

I think that's a bit over the top, it was close and it was pressure.

29-04-2016, 11:27 PM
Just awful entries , they just kicked their goals easier .
Couple of the younger guys got stage fright . A lot of germs in their side .
Sadly for the rest of the Comp I reckon hawthorn are on two cylinders, and they'll only get better.

29-04-2016, 11:28 PM
4. Hunter - went beyond what is humanly possible
3. Macrae - anyone else with the question?
2. Dahlhaus - like Hunter
1. Jong - hey, he took a contested mark in the forward line.

2. Hunter
1. McLean - some good play.

I think that's a bit over the top, it was close and it was pressure.

That's way over the top

What's with the people calling for Redpath? Isn't he a lead up forward? A lead up forward in a side that doesn't look for them is wasted.

Can he impact a marking contest? I ask seriously,because I can't recall it from him.

29-04-2016, 11:29 PM
Libber will have a savage cork though.

By injuries I meant nothing long term. Corkie may keep him out next week.

29-04-2016, 11:30 PM
What's with the people calling for Redpath? Isn't he a lead up forward? A lead up forward in a side that doesn't look for them is wasted.

Can he impact a marking contest? I ask seriously,because I can't recall it from him.

At best he causes more spills than we did tonight. At worst he takes Scott Thompson and leaves Stringer with a smaller opponent - win win

29-04-2016, 11:32 PM
At best he causes more spills than we did tonight. At worst he takes Scott Thompson and leaves Stringer with a smaller opponent - win win

Ok. Thanks. I know he's got a bit of mongrel in him, so if he does come in I hope he can knock a few over.

29-04-2016, 11:34 PM

Exactly and he demands the ball and will smash people to get it. Look for him and he will present, also can kick goals !

29-04-2016, 11:38 PM
Under pressure against good opposition players without polish get shown up... And when your 4 best kicks aren't out there you get a sloppy performance.

Disappointing, but probably a fair indication of where that team is at right now.. Lucky for us we have time on our side.

29-04-2016, 11:38 PM
Redpath instead of Dale would have been a much better selection.

29-04-2016, 11:39 PM
Needed a big man...Stringer not tall enough and plays from behind to often...
Didnt seem to have any crumbers .....Dickson, Dale no forward threats

29-04-2016, 11:39 PM
10 more inside 50s but disposal efficiency 34% that is where we lost it.
North also had over 90 tackles

29-04-2016, 11:42 PM
4. Hunter - went beyond what is humanly possible
3. Macrae - anyone else with the question?
2. Dahlhaus - like Hunter
1. Jong - hey, he took a contested mark in the forward line.

2. Hunter
1. McLean - some good play.
Would you like me to move this to thd right thread for you?

29-04-2016, 11:55 PM
Would you like me to move this to thd right thread for you?

sorry. I'll do it myself, GVGjr.

29-04-2016, 11:57 PM
sorry I am blind and upset at the moment. Best I log off.

30-04-2016, 12:19 AM
I'm glad I didn't go and put myself through that typically disappointing and utterly predictable high profile game performance.

From the coverage it looked like we'd returned to the 2014 footy of crowd the ball, win it, and do everything you can not to use it effectively. We're actually at a point now where all we want to do is over handle the ball and use it in the most complicated way possible. It's infuriating, and hard to tell if we're doing it because we think we're clever or because we're panicking and confused.

Having Murphy, Suckling and JJ out of the side hurt. Nobody was willing to use the ball aggressively or creatively by foot through the centre of the ground. We just couldn't bring ourselves to kick the thing forward through the middle from the backline to transition into attack and made it easy for our opposition to get a number back.

I'm not going to get stuck into individuals right now because I'm emotional, but there were some incredibly selfish and irresponsible players running around for us tonight.

Lastly, I think Docklands is too small on the wings, around the flanks and is too easy for the good teams to defend or congest. Plus, whoever is directing the coverage needs to cut out the close perspective and show more of the field more of the time.

30-04-2016, 12:49 AM

Yes he is a lead up forward. He is poor in contested marking situations, has very poor hands. I'm not against him coming in but Tom Boyd would have been more helpful tonight (not that I think either make a big difference in the end)

30-04-2016, 12:51 AM
We lacked class tonight pure and simple. We were smashed early at the coal face but the boys fought back hard to keep us in the game till late.

Ive been concerned about the half forward line since the stkilda game and the half back outage has just compounded the problem. I just cant remember a play all year the we have ran away from the contest/turnover and connected with a forward.

Have to mentioned Hunter who was trade bait in my eyes mid last season. His turnaround has been astonishing and was outstanding again tonight. I love the fact that he got the 3 year deal but still has the peddle to the metal. Well done mate!!!!

I'm still a massive believer in this group there is still so much upside but as we all know we need to take our chances no matter the circumstance. Bevo this will be your biggest test of all.....

30-04-2016, 12:52 AM
Under pressure against good opposition players without polish get shown up... And when your 4 best kicks aren't out there you get a sloppy performance.

Disappointing, but probably a fair indication of where that team is at right now.. Lucky for us we have time on our side.

Not sure I've got much more to add than this after pretty disappointing night. The loss of Murphy, JJ, Suckling and even Crameri really showed up tonight against an opposition who could really pressure us around the contest.
One thing I never thought I'd be watching this side was bored, but I was tonight. 2 goals has never felt like such a big gap but it seemed insurmountable all night. At no stage did I feel like we could win.

30-04-2016, 01:01 AM
Went to the game tonight. Disappointing not to win as now we are back in the pack and it was golden opportunity to go top. The injuries obviously are hurting but that is footy and we have to keep going. We need to do more better inside 50. We turned it over and mucked around to much. Stringer needs to get better as once again he was frustrating.

30-04-2016, 01:18 AM
Such a frustrating performance. We played like absolute shit and really missed the ability of Suckling, JJ or Murphy to break through opposition presses, we really struggled to get it out for most of the match. Having said that our defence was quite solid, the only time they threatened was in the air and honestly they were never going to achieve that imposing a score solely through taking inside 50 marks.

This game was lost because of three reasons:
-Our forwardline entries: We have to be the dumbest team kicking inside 50 in the entire competition. What is North Melbourne's strength defensively? Big key defenders that can take intercept marks or kill the aerial ball and congest the ground ball in the immediate vicinity. What is our strength? Players that excel when using their pace or through overwhelming them in numbers as we force the ball forward to a shot opportunity. So wh ydo we continually boot this high, predictable kicks to the hot spot which is filled with North guys and none of ours. Idiotic? It was briefly discussed in another thread this week but we should be looking to put the ball into the pockets with our entries for our forwards to use the space and isolate their defenders.

-Our forward setup. Pathetic. If we are going to do the above, we need someone like Campbell who is atleast a chance to impact the contest. Instead we had Stringer, pretty much by himself, playing like an absolute idiot. I hate how almost his only move atm is start from behind and try to nudge the defender under the ball. This works sometimes when he has big kicks (like Suckling) kicking it appropriately and his defender is a similiar size to him, but when he is playing on actual tall defenders who can hold their ground while our kicks aren't carrying far enough anyway it's plain stupid. His other move today was to go for the speccy, jumping so early he required about 4 seconds hangtime to be a chance to touch the ball and not give away the free. This is a guy who is yet to take one at AFL level, and yet he thought he was a pretty good chance about 4 times today. So dissapointing.

-Our goalkicking. Just copy and paste from every other week. Not good enough, at all. Pathetic really.

If just one of the above was of a better standard we could have won tonight with the exact same lineup. Why we don't encourage Stringer to lead up like he did in the play in the last quarter, or kick to space for our numerous quick and smart forwards to run onto, I don't know. Dickson, Stringer and McLean are all capable of playing in front and reacting to short 30m passes to their advantage, and atleast 2 of them are better than a 50-50 chance of scoring a goal.

30-04-2016, 01:19 AM
Just some comments

Roberts lacks a bit of awareness as a defender. Perhaps a stint up forward is worth a try.
Biggs and Dahlhaus struggled early but got back into the game after half time and had an impact
Those fluffed set shots by Campbell hurt
Morris is still a great defender. I think he was on the ground all game

There will be some sore boys tomorrow, the extra day's break is needed.

30-04-2016, 01:38 AM
I'm not sure why we didn't atleast try Adams or Roberts forward at some stage. Especially for the first half of the third quarter which we absolutely dominated for no return

30-04-2016, 01:46 AM
We all know Jake's an exceptional talent, but he has to play in front, and still do the simple things.
He has moments where he is always trying the spectacular, but he also has to do the simple.

30-04-2016, 02:10 AM
I could write a book on how poor this game was and the obvious issues we have, but it's probably well covered above. What I will say is that is one of the worst performances in terms of disposal and decision making that I have seen from us, considering the talent at our disposal. The quality outs hurt, but our ball use is horrendous and our goal kicking would be in the bottom quarter of the league.

What can be said of Stringer? Devastatingly disappointing again, when we need him most.

30-04-2016, 02:28 AM
There was one forward 50 entry I think late in 1st quarter which grubbed along the ground and we at least had a half chance of doing something positive with it. I thought ah ha perhaps a good ploy. Then we just bombed it in for most of rest of game-such a waste. Also there were long patches at start of I recall 3rd and 4th quarters were ball was inside our 50 and we just could not find space or composure to get a shot on goal. Not sure what answer is to this-perhaps more patience and accurate short kicks until option of leading forward becomes available?

Agree we should have tried one of Adams or Roberts in forward line.

Stringer needs to lead sometimes - he is becoming predictable in forward line, especially against better opposition. Big test for him and rest of team next week. Thought he did much better on ball tonight than forward and hence should have tried others in forward line. Hopefully time for redemption next week.

Hope Caleb and TBoyd are OK to play as we need them badly.

I do sometimes feel our players are so worried by opposition players in 1 on 1's that we lose focus on flight of ball allowing easy mark by opposition. This seemed to happen a lot on wings tonight.

Hope boys rebound for Crows. Big test for Bevo too, including need to keep morale up.

30-04-2016, 08:55 AM
We all know Jake's an exceptional talent, but he has to play in front, and still do the simple things.
He has moments where he is always trying the spectacular, but he also has to do the simple.

That attempt for the big mark where he gave up a free kick I thought was costly at the time but his missed shot in the last quarter hurt that bit more.

Does he need to get back to the basics and be moved away from the forward line more often or would that just work against his explosive style?

30-04-2016, 09:06 AM
Positives from this game include that we were able to recover from having an attack of nerves early, we didn't give up and had our fair share of chances to determine the outcome.

30-04-2016, 09:12 AM
One question I want to pose, what is the cost of our desire to be flexible?

Seemingly on a number of occasions last night (sorry, not able to deal in specifics) it seemed we slogged it out and eventually goaled, only for the ball to go back to the centre, North to win a 'clean clearance' and peg the goal back.

The raw numbers would suggest that we smashed North in the clearance. Based on what I saw at the ground, besides the odd occasion where we got lucky (and I use that word deliberately) we simply could not generate clean ball from the clearance situation. Contrast that with North, who whilst the stats might not reflect their dominance, when they won a clearance they made it count - they transitioned the ball out of the clearance situation with speed and accuracy and we had no answer for it.

We have one absolutely elite clearance player, Tom Liberatore, and at times in the 3rd when we had some chance of gaining a bit of momentum after scoring a goal, Tom was sitting at half forward. I'm becoming concerned about our refusal to play our best players in their best positions for large stints of the game. Libba could have at least stopped a few of their easy clearances, caused a repeat ball up and perhaps kept our momentum going.

Am I reading this wrong?

The same goes for Tory. I get that he can be useful up the field, but when we are struggling to kick a score, struggling to get an opportunity, and missing the ones we get with regularity, surely we want Tory closer to home?

Whilst I'm finishing my rant, I was appalled at the umpiring last night. Not blaming it for the loss, but some of the decisions, particularly the 'shepherding' call on Tory Dickson where he was essentially wrapped up and man-handled out of the contest at the half forward area, I mean.....I'm still at a loss for how the umpire reached that decision.

30-04-2016, 09:15 AM
Was last night an example of the young bull versus the old bull? The way North have topped up with older players is working for them particularly with the likes of Waite and Higgins in possibly career best form compared to our preference to draft and develop?

30-04-2016, 09:17 AM
Very frustrating night. Did we kick two in a row? I don't think so. There are some very astute observers of the game on this site - so many telling points made. On that performance we are still a long way off the pace. OTOH we have a lot of outs. Caleb Daniel would've been handy last night; Tom Boyd too. So we have a gig upside. I thought our defence kept us sort of Clayton's-like in the game. The scoreboard indicated we were in it - but really we weren't. Our two biggest needs are Tom Boyd up forward and converting our opportunities. Let's bounce back big time.

30-04-2016, 09:17 AM

Seemingly on a number of occasions last night (sorry, not able to deal in specifics) it seemed we slogged it out and eventually goaled, only for the ball to go back to the centre, North to win a 'clean clearance' and peg the goal back.

The raw numbers would suggest that we smashed North in the clearance. Based on what I saw at the ground, besides the odd occasion where we got lucky (and I use that word deliberately) we simply could not generate clean ball from the clearance situation. Contrast that with North, who whilst the stats might not reflect their dominance, when they won a clearance they made it count - they transitioned the ball out of the clearance situation with speed and accuracy and we had no answer for it.

We have one absolutely elite clearance player, Tom Liberatore, and at times in the 3rd when we had some chance of gaining a bit of momentum after scoring a goal, Tom was sitting at half forward. I'm becoming concerned about our refusal to play our best players in their best positions for large stints of the game. Libba could have at least stopped a few of their easy clearances, caused a repeat ball up and perhaps kept our momentum going.

Am I reading this wrong?

The same goes for Tory. I get that he can be useful up the field, but when we are struggling to kick a score, struggling to get an opportunity, and missing the ones we get with regularity, surely we want Tory closer to home?

Whilst I'm finishing my rant, I was appalled at the umpiring last night. Not blaming it for the loss, but some of the decisions, particularly the 'shepherding' call on Tory Dickson where he was essentially wrapped up and man-handled out of the contest at the half forward area, I mean.....I'm still at a loss for how the umpire reached that decision.

I think there was an element of "just hanging in there" last night for us which showed with those quick replies from the centre bounce by Norf as you pointed out.

30-04-2016, 09:26 AM
Was last night an example of the young bull versus the old bull? The way North have topped up with older players is working for them particularly with the likes of Waite and Higgins in possibly career best form compared to our preference to draft and develop?

The evidence increasingly supports the proposition that being old, is in fact better (for the purpose of this statement, I am of course conveniently ignoring Fremantle's current plight).

It will be interesting to watch the case study of North over the next 3 years, but like us in 2008-2010 they have a chance to snare a flag and have taken the right approach. They are a slightly different beast to Hawthorn, as I think Hawthorn have done a slightly better job of replenishing their list with youth (similar to Sydney) and North may be more susceptible to dropping off.

At the end of the day, adding good footballers to your list is always the right thing to do - North have identified players that support their style and game plan, and are reaping the benefits.

30-04-2016, 09:27 AM

Am I reading this wrong?

Thanks for this excellent contribution and to be honest I didn't give it any thought last night. Perhaps our preference for highly flexible midfield players works well against some teams but the more experienced units like North can cope with it better. Adelaide have an experienced and excellent midfield so it might also test your theory.

Last night was an arm wrestle and we just never put together that 10 or 15 minute patch of exciting football that normally opens up a game for us. Despite the scoreboard indicating the game was close and a stat sheet that shows we had more than enough chances I think North were just better prepared to handle anything we threw at them. The goals to Higgins and Waite early on were telling compared to our missed opportunities.

30-04-2016, 09:51 AM

Probably and it's clear from this that North are trying to pinch a flag and that's fair enough. One flag is a massive, massive outcome. We tried to do it with Akermanis and Hall when we were last at the finals coalface.

Our game is longer and thus our opportunities for repeat finals greater. I expect that when North enter their rebuild in two years time we will be entering an extended golden age for the club. At least that's my hope.

30-04-2016, 09:59 AM
North were well drilled in our game style and read us all night, putting pressure on the man with the ball, anticipating our ball movement even in a chain of handpasses and crunching the last link. They were up for every battle and the pressure showed. We started fumbling, rushing our decisions and missing goals which lead to low morale. I thought they were exceptional with their pressure and then had Waite clunking everything in career best form.
Last year I felt we showed we were clearly the better outfit. Things turn. Come September I still like our chances against them. But gotta say hats off to Scott and North last night but I wouldn't bet on them reproducing that against us every time.

30-04-2016, 10:36 AM
Probably and it's clear from this that North are trying to pinch a flag and that's fair enough. One flag is a massive, massive outcome. We tried to do it with Akermanis and Hall when we were last at the finals coalface.

Our game is longer and thus our opportunities for repeat finals greater. I expect that when North enter their rebuild in two years time we will be entering an extended golden age for the club. At least that's my hope.

North has also had two deep runs in finals in the previous seasons so while we are playing well I'd have to think we are going to be better again in 12 months time. Agreed that we are taking the longer view.

30-04-2016, 11:01 AM
North were well drilled in our game style and read us all night, putting pressure on the man with the ball, anticipating our ball movement even in a chain of handpasses and crunching the last link. They were up for every battle and the pressure showed. We started fumbling, rushing our decisions and missing goals which lead to low morale. I thought they were exceptional with their pressure and then had Waite clunking everything in career best form.
Last year I felt we showed we were clearly the better outfit. Things turn. Come September I still like our chances against them. But gotta say hats off to Scott and North last night but I wouldn't bet on them reproducing that against us every time.

A contest and pressure is ok but North are a dirty team. They get away with a lot that is outside the rules of the game, as do Hawthorn. May be that's what it takes to win a flag, I dunno.

30-04-2016, 11:05 AM
I'm really enjoying the discussion this game has thrown up. Keep it up gang.

30-04-2016, 11:20 AM
A contest and pressure is ok but North are a dirty team. They get away with a lot that is outside the rules of the game, as do Hawthorn. May be that's what it takes to win a flag, I dunno.

North are getting right up there as my most disliked team. Their fake tough guys are all bluster; there were several of those "I'll pretend it was my momentum which is the reason I fell all over you in a marking contest" moments. And as for those infernal: "Make some noise" messages... Isn't the atmosphere of an almost full house, playing for top spot, enough?

As for the match...domination in the stats, but there was never any real feeling that we were a chance, even when Roughie lined up; but what a killer moment that was. The other moment that you felt it just wasn't to be as 3rd qtr when Bont, with goals ahead of him, made that handpass. Hasn't his been a problem for us, seemingly forever, guys not wanting to own the reposnibility, be the match winner? Is it genuine unselfishness or just a cop-out?

We never looked like we had any answers, either on field or in the coaching box. North are better than I gave them credit for ( I say through gritted teeth). But I'd love to have taken them on with even one of Murph, JJ, Daniel or Suckling available. Bring on the rematch.

30-04-2016, 11:29 AM

Agree with your assessment of North as a dirty team. Similar to Hawthorn, but not as nuanced in their efforts to disguise it. Part of me wonders, like you, whether that is part of the game we need to step into more frequently? Just punch the suitcase out of the opposition. Slam them a little bit harder, put forearms into faces, punch them in the guts at every contest and after every disposal.

30-04-2016, 11:37 AM
I just wonder how deflation it is to the team when all the effort to get the ball in the forward fifty is squandered by woeful kicking at goal. As a professional footballer to miss a shot like Roughy did is inexcusable. At least one of the two set shots by Campbell and Stringer should have been a goal.
We need to sort this out quick smart. Does our effort in the forward fifty fall on Gia's shoulders? If it does his coaching career might be short lived.
Can't stand Norf and I'm still getting over the pain.

30-04-2016, 11:43 AM
I just wonder how deflation it is to the team when all the effort to get the ball in the forward fifty is squandered by woeful kicking at goal. As a professional footballer to miss a shot like Roughy did is inexcusable. At least one of the two set shots by Campbell and Stringer should have been a goal.
We need to sort this out quick smart. Does our effort in the forward fifty fall on Gia's shoulders? If it does his coaching career might be short lived.

I was talking about this exact same thing last week. Reward for effort is not there right now. We're still winning the ball and held up strong in defence so it doesn't seem to be deflating further down the ground....yet.

30-04-2016, 12:22 PM

Not sure what you mean by "effort" but can you blame a coach for a professional footballer not being able to kick straight from a set shot? Its a basic skill, i would have thought? Look at Cloke for example, who's fault is he?

30-04-2016, 12:32 PM

I think you are right which now makes me think 2017 is going to be our year. We are still very young and still learning and when our players that are normally best 22 are out, then we struggle to kick a goal. We proved we are still very good in defence, stoppages, contested pos. and getting the ball (total disposals). We just need our best players on the ground. I think Suckling would have made a huge difference last night with his accurate kicking, and Tom Boyd at FF (not rucking) would also have helped Stringer and Dickson.

30-04-2016, 12:34 PM
I think you are right which now makes me think 2017 is going to be our year. We are still very young and still learning and when our players that are normally best 22 are out, then we struggle to kick a goal. We proved we are still very good in defence, stoppages, contested pos. and getting the ball (total disposals). We just need our best players on the ground. I think Suckling would have made a huge difference last night with his accurate kicking, and Tom Boyd at FF (not rucking) would also have helped Stringer and Dickson.

I agree I think Tom at FF for the duration of the match might have been the difference.

30-04-2016, 12:42 PM
I agree I think Tom at FF for the duration of the match might have been the difference.

What I didn't get last night was why wasn't Tom C or Roughie resting at FF for the majority of the game and to try and stretch the North backman. Poor old Stringer was stuck there as our tallest player and it was never going to work.

I know Bevo is trying to develop Tom Boyd by putting him in the ruck, but I would like to see him 100% at Fullforward in future.

30-04-2016, 01:15 PM
Not sure what you mean by "effort" but can you blame a coach for a professional footballer not being able to kick straight from a set shot? Its a basic skill, i would have thought? Look at Cloke for example, who's fault is he?

The meaning of "effort" is the work done up the field and some of that is questionable, into our forward fifty the mark is taken and basic set shots being missed. We are producing enough inside fifties but not making the most of it. I think the effort to move the ball off the half back takes more effort because we have lost the players that can brake the lines and distribute the ball with more ease.

With set shot kicking I think I'm as frustrated as the players. Our forwards seem to be turning into Baker-Finch on a putting green.

30-04-2016, 01:36 PM
What I didn't get last night was why wasn't Tom C or Roughie resting at FF for the majority of the game and to try and stretch the North backman. Poor old Stringer was stuck there as our tallest player and it was never going to work.

I know Bevo is trying to develop Tom Boyd by putting him in the ruck, but I would like to see him 100% at Fullforward in future.

I'm 50/50 on this because I am worried about the scenario where he stagnates down there. But I think it would be worth a try and as I said elsewhere, perhaps we also look at a second tall marking forward at CHF. Start with Redders, perhaps.

30-04-2016, 01:37 PM
I'm 50/50 on this because I am worried about the scenario where he stagnates down there. But I think it would be worth a try and as I said elsewhere, perhaps we also look at a second tall marking forward at CHF. Start with Redders, perhaps.

I still think we can have Tom C, Roughy and Tom Boyd in the same team. Roughy has shown he is not a forward, so he can rest back.

30-04-2016, 01:40 PM
Bevo's message to members here (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2013-04-29/bevos-brief-members-message-rd6?camefrom=EMCL_1078133_41521252)

30-04-2016, 01:43 PM
I still think we can have Tom C, Roughy and Tom Boyd in the same team. Roughy has shown he is not a forward, so he can rest back.

Could be a go and Tom C could rest forward. Worth trying because we lack contested marking power and Stringer and Dickson, etc. might do better into the bargain.

30-04-2016, 03:45 PM
Next week I want to see Libba Wally ansd Koby at every stoppage except when they are having brief rests on the pine. We need to get our hands on it first against the Crows

30-04-2016, 03:53 PM

Yeah that's how I see it too BAD. He was traded as a FF and that's where he should play. While I adhere to the premise that playing ruck time may accelerate his development in some areas, I think the load is too much and it's severely affecting his forward craft.

30-04-2016, 03:54 PM
Next week I want to see Libba Wally ansd Koby at every stoppage except when they are having brief rests on the pine. We need to get our hands on it first against the Crows

Our problems have nothing to do with winning clearances... We did that last night.

30-04-2016, 04:00 PM
Our problems have nothing to do with winning clearances... We did that last night.

Agreed, it's was on the outside that hurt, I had a flashback to 2014.

30-04-2016, 04:39 PM

interesting where we've ended up in that debate. Before Mccartney my memory was people were critical of the outside players. poor old Eagleton copped it! Now its obvious that winning the clearances is only job half done.

30-04-2016, 04:58 PM
interesting where we've ended up in that debate. Before Mccartney my memory was people were critical of the outside players. poor old Eagleton copped it! Now its obvious that winning the clearances is only job half done.

Our problems with the outside started in Eade's last two seasons. Teams used to spread against us, we wouldn't be able to keep up and we couldn't do it to them because we didn't have the cattle.

It got worse in the following years, except for during a patch in 2013 where it actually looked like we were getting the balance right.

Last night was a return to our players falling over each other and making a tough day even harder with ball use resembling that of a drunkard.