View Full Version : T&T it's about time for the 2016 root thread

Pages : 1 2 [3]

26-08-2016, 11:39 PM
So, from what I'm told - no side has ever missed the 4 being 16-6*.
If we happen to win on Sunday - we may finish 7th.
You can't make this sh1t up.

*with no incentive - we will most likely lose on Sunday now.

26-08-2016, 11:40 PM
North have no incentive to win now. Win and they go to Perth, lose and they play GWS.

Correct me if I'm wrong but aren't they likely to play the Crows in Adelaide if Geelong, Hawthorn and GWS win?

26-08-2016, 11:45 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong but aren't they likely to play the Crows in Adelaide if Geelong, Hawthorn and GWS win?
If GWS win comfortably - they can jump Adelaide and be top 4.

We are rooting flat out for North.

26-08-2016, 11:51 PM
I don't or can't see any scenario where we aren't going to Perth week one now.

Hawks and GWS lose and we win,we'll play Norf in elim.

26-08-2016, 11:52 PM
This season just isn't meant to be.

26-08-2016, 11:53 PM
North have no incentive to win now. Win and they go to Perth, lose and they play GWS.

If they lose to GWS , it will depend on the Hawks game which will be a real decider where they play, ie Perth or Adelaide. A win by Hawks and a loss by North means a trip to Adelaide. If North win and Hawks lose, they play Hawks, we play GWS in Melbourne or North is our percentage is greater than Hawks. If Hawks win and North win then they go to Perth.

They should be trying to win to get their confidence up and hope Hawks lose to Collingwood.

26-08-2016, 11:55 PM
Hawks and GWS lose and we win,we'll play Norf in elim.

Will Depend on percentages, we could either play North or GWS in Melbourne.

26-08-2016, 11:56 PM
I'm confused. Choose your own roots. I'm not sure if i need to root for Freo Sunday

27-08-2016, 12:01 AM
I'm confused. Choose your own roots. I'm not sure if i need to root for Freo Sunday

Best root is Go North, Go Pies and romp home dogs and we avoid travel

27-08-2016, 12:04 AM
Best root is Go North, Go Pies and romp home dogs and we avoid travel

Unfortunately we can't count on these two teams to be absolutely trying.
What a disaster.

27-08-2016, 12:05 AM
A mate of mine works for the Crows, about a month ago he told me that he believed that the CEO of the Crows chose the Friday night lights option ($$$), but the Footy Dept wasnt happy with the 3 @ 6 day breaks in a row. But the CEO took a "captains call"

Is that the same guy who moaned up a storm about the free kick count when we played them earlier in the year ?

27-08-2016, 12:07 AM
Is that the same guy who moaned up a storm about the free kick count when we played them earlier in the year ?

That would narrow the field to about 230 people

27-08-2016, 12:08 AM
Unfortunately we can't count on these two teams to be absolutely trying.
What a disaster.

I think Collingwood will have a crack as anything to stop hawthorn winning 4 in a row

27-08-2016, 12:11 AM
Well, we're done. What a year.

27-08-2016, 12:13 AM
Well, we're done. What a year.

Feels a little like it. But at least these current guys are capable of big surprises, so here's hoping for one more.

27-08-2016, 12:15 AM
Some interesting scenarios this weekend.

Port v GCS....it's not in either teams' interest to win the game. Also not in Carlton's interest to win by any sort of margin - but Essendon won't want to win and lose pick one....tipping that will be low scoring!!

Saints get a free crack at beating Brisbane by as much as possible.

Swans v Tigers...certainly a gulf in the 'something to play for stakes' there!

Unfortunately Freo's position won't change - so they will be trying. Get pick 3 pretty much regardless.

(By no means am I saying players won't try in any games...but certainly the motivation levels of clubs/coaches are varied this week).

27-08-2016, 12:15 AM
Round isn't over yet guys and gals.

27-08-2016, 12:19 AM
Round isn't over yet guys and gals.

Exactly, lets see how it pans out.

27-08-2016, 12:29 AM
How do Betts and Jenkins save this up (simultaneously) for the last game of the season.

Eddie believing his own publicity and Jenkins daydreaming about his long contract

27-08-2016, 12:32 AM
Eddie believing his own publicity and Jenkins daydreaming about his long contract

Jenkins getting booed was a tad harsh I thought. Sure he was poo tonight, but booing your own players is pretty low.

27-08-2016, 12:32 AM

We are rooting flat out for North.

If GWS only win by a couple of goals they jump Adelaide.

27-08-2016, 01:07 AM
Need North to beat GWS.

If GWS only win by a couple of goals they jump Adelaide.

GWS must win to match Adelaide on wins
They are already 4.2% ahead of them on percentage, and even a 150-149 win would only reduce their percentage by 3.6%. So if they beat North, they go ahead of Adelaide

If Geelong, Hawthorn & North win, North play West Coast in Perth & we play GWS in Melbourne
If Geelong, Hawthorn & GWS win, North play Adelaide in Adelaide & we play West Coast in Perth

Not a lot of motivation for North to win in that, which isn't good for us. But it could well be Harvey & co.'s last game in Melbourne

27-08-2016, 11:28 AM
"out they come, out they come, out they come to play...."

27-08-2016, 02:46 PM
Jenkins getting booed was a tad harsh I thought. Sure he was poo tonight, but booing your own players is pretty low.

Goes hand in hand with being a Crows supporter.

27-08-2016, 03:26 PM
"out they come, out they come, out they come to play...."

"...Just for recreation sake to pass the..."

Screw it, let's just go play the Egirls.

27-08-2016, 06:42 PM
"...Just for recreation sake to pass the..."

Screw it, let's just go play the Egirls.

Politically incorrect language ;)

27-08-2016, 07:06 PM
Well we have 3 games of importance.

Tonight we need North to win as the only acceptable outcome.

If that happens we will be best suited to a Hawthorn win over Collingwood, but a loss by North and we will genuinely require a Collingwood victory.

The third game is obviously ours, but without either a North or Collingwood victory our game will become irrelevant.
However we really need to be keyed up to go because get a result from either of the other games and a victory for us becomes paramount for a home final.

27-08-2016, 08:48 PM
Go North!

27-08-2016, 08:58 PM
Go Roos

27-08-2016, 09:08 PM
Tough times, i had to hope for a crow win last night and now north, my skin is crawling!

27-08-2016, 09:13 PM
North goneski. Thomas can kick goals out his arse, yet fails to get a simple set shot and momentum swings. This game is done and GWS may as well pencil in a win against them in the first week of finals too.

27-08-2016, 09:14 PM
Tough times, i had to hole for a crow win last night and now north, my skin is crawling!

It is not enjoyable as we just to have to sit on the sidelines and wait until we play tomorrow but hope certain results favour us. Would have been nice to have played today and got our game out of the way but I'd say we are playing tomorrow because we played Sunday twilight last week.

27-08-2016, 09:23 PM
Petrie is doing a Liam Jones

27-08-2016, 09:27 PM
Petrie is doing a Liam Jones

Sure is, looking like a player who should've been exited from the AFL system last year..

27-08-2016, 09:36 PM
It's up for grabs still . GWS just look to polished, but Norf hanging in

27-08-2016, 09:38 PM
It's up for grabs still . GWS just look to polished, but Norf hanging in

North way too slow. Will be a procession after half time.

GWS by 6-8 goals.

27-08-2016, 10:13 PM
I have to admit I have a root addiction and it's not good for me. I'm sick of root regret after every night. What I thought were worth rooting for were not 8's, but 2's and I'm sick of feeling like this.

It's Perth and that's ok. Bring back Libba, Macrae, Roughead, Campbell, Wood & Stringer and we will get through or go down swingin'.

27-08-2016, 10:15 PM
Go Pies

27-08-2016, 10:20 PM
Go Pies

Give up the roots, like syphilis, it'll just mess with your mind. Our final is in Perth and we start the game on the same points as an equal chance of winning.

27-08-2016, 11:34 PM
It's been a disappointing series of desperate rooting so far this weekend.but it's only Saturday night and we've got one nore root up our sleeve.

We are going to have to root for Collingwood harder than we have ever rooted before. We have to be rooting like black and white maniacs.

27-08-2016, 11:48 PM
Have i got this right?

Hawthorn win, they go 4th, Crows 5th Weagles 6th us 7th

Hawks lose

Crows 4th
Weagles 5th
Hawks 6th
We win by a lot we finish 6th, lose or narrow win finish 7th

Go Pies

27-08-2016, 11:53 PM
Have i got this right?

Hawthorn win, they go 4th, Crows 5th Weagles 6th us 7th

Hawks lose

Crows 4th
Weagles 5th
Hawks 6th
We win by a lot we finish 6th, lose or narrow win finish 7th

Go Pies

Hawks win:

1. Sydney
2. Geelong
3. Hawks
4. GWS
5. Crows
6.Weagles
7. Dogs
8. North

Hawks lose:

1. Sydney
2. Geelong
3. GWS
4. Crows
5. Weagles
6.Hawks (% may drop them below us)
7. Dogs
8. North

28-08-2016, 12:05 AM
Since it'll be at the MCG regardless I guess it won't matter if we win or not then.

28-08-2016, 12:47 AM
Hawks win:

1. Sydney
2. Geelong
3. Hawks
4. GWS
5. Crows
6.Weagles
7. Dogs
8. North

Hawks lose:

1. Sydney
2. Geelong
3. GWS
4. Crows
5. Weagles
6.Hawks (% may drop them below us)
7. Dogs
8. North

So we play North? No it's 5 v 8 and 6 v 7 isn't it? So Hawks or Eagles.

28-08-2016, 08:14 AM
We could run out the Western Jets and it won't affect who we play now. Our destiny is literally in another teams's (Collingwood) hands.

In potentially a 16-6 season. Unbelievable.

28-08-2016, 09:57 AM
We could run out the Western Jets and it won't affect who we play now. Our destiny is literally in another teams's (Collingwood) hands.

In potentially a 16-6 season. Unbelievable.

Just our luck, 16-6 and finishing 7th is cruel and unusual punishment.

28-08-2016, 11:35 AM
Go Pies

28-08-2016, 11:48 AM
If moore played I reckon pies would win

28-08-2016, 01:45 PM

Moore is the best young tall in the competition. Maybe one of the kiddies at one of the plastic clubs might be a bit better performed but Moore is going to be a super player. He already affects the outcomes of games through his absence and he is 20?

28-08-2016, 01:48 PM

Omen:

Walking along Albert Park Beach today and Pendles with girlfriend walk past. Couldn't bring myself to say Go Pies, but it is still an omen. Important match and captain right there, relaxed and ready to go. :)

28-08-2016, 01:56 PM
I'm sitting at home in front of the TV having a lovely root for Geelong in the VFL. If Port don't win today Footscray finish top 4. Geelong are 8 goals up at halftime.

The rooting has been good so far today.

28-08-2016, 02:19 PM
Moore is the best young tall in the competition. Maybe one of the kiddies at one of the plastic clubs might be a bit better performed but Moore is going to be a super player. He already affects the outcomes of games through his absence and he is 20?

Good player, loves playing us. Tom Lynch is a gun, only 23 and 70 odd goals for the year and in line for his second B&F in a shite team. Fair effort.

Back on topic I'm far more anxious about the Pies today than anything to do with us.

28-08-2016, 02:50 PM
Good player, loves playing us. Tom Lynch is a gun, only 23 and 70 odd goals for the year and in line for his second B&F in a shite team. Fair effort.

Back on topic I'm far more anxious about the Pies today than anything to do with us.

That's the guy I was trying to think of. I couldn't remember his name. Yep, he's a gun. Better performed than but a couple of years older than Moore?

After a lull for a few years the old time full forward has made a comeback. Most teams don't consider themselves complete unless they have a tall target player in their forward line and a lot are quite young, Moore, Boyd, Hogan, Lynch, Patton.

28-08-2016, 02:52 PM
I'm sitting at home in front of the TV having a lovely root for Geelong in the VFL. If Port don't win today Footscray finish top 4. Geelong are 8 goals up at halftime.

The rooting has been good so far today.

I thought you'd at WO doing in depth notes on Vardy for us.

28-08-2016, 02:57 PM
Big Boy McEvoy a late out

28-08-2016, 03:34 PM
I thought you'd at WO doing in depth notes on Vardy for us.

I did my time there yesterday.wasnt that cold for August yesterday. It was windy.

28-08-2016, 04:22 PM
Luckily we had the breeze in the last quarter I'd forgotten how windy it gets there

28-08-2016, 04:35 PM
Go Pies!

28-08-2016, 04:41 PM
So far so good

28-08-2016, 05:03 PM
Hawthorn kicking themselves out of it. Jake White proving the punters wrong

28-08-2016, 05:06 PM
Cloke is a worse shot than Casboult & Liam Jones combined. What good is a contested mark if you burn the chance and it rebounds???!?

28-08-2016, 05:28 PM
A Collingwood poster on the siren. The footy gods are cruel *!*!*!*!ing arses.

28-08-2016, 05:34 PM
Adam Treloar I love you.

28-08-2016, 06:30 PM
Jesse White!!

28-08-2016, 06:31 PM
I've turned off the Dogs, Go pies! WHat if it's a draw?

28-08-2016, 06:33 PM
Draw is no good.

Umpires, as predicted, the difference in a Hawks close game. It's cheating.

28-08-2016, 06:49 PM
Scores level! A draw is no good for us.

28-08-2016, 06:49 PM
Treloar!!!!!!!

Pies in front!!!!!!!!

28-08-2016, 06:51 PM
Even, Fitzy pulls one out his arse...

28-08-2016, 06:53 PM
Footy gods hate us. Chalk up another to favourable umpiring.

28-08-2016, 06:54 PM
Bastards

28-08-2016, 06:54 PM
7th @ Perth.

28-08-2016, 06:55 PM
Can't take this bs.

28-08-2016, 06:56 PM
Have we had one result go our way the past 3 weeks?

28-08-2016, 06:58 PM
Bloody hell so close.

28-08-2016, 07:01 PM
If we do not win gran is this year I hope anyone, including plastic fantastics, win it as long as Hawks do not win it. There is no footy God. Will be interesting to see our coaching tactics now our game is a dead rubber....

28-08-2016, 07:02 PM
Have we had one result go our way the past 3 weeks?

Nope.

28-08-2016, 07:03 PM
Can't believe that dud Fitzpatrick kicked the winning goal.

28-08-2016, 07:04 PM
Nope.

Pretty sure Nicnat opened up a portal that affected the time/space continuum.

28-08-2016, 07:07 PM
Well, we are in charge of our destiny now.

28-08-2016, 07:09 PM
4 roots to go....

Eagles in Perth
Hawks at the G
Swans at the SCG
Plastics or Handbaggers in the Granny
Job done!

28-08-2016, 09:40 PM
Well, we are in charge of our destiny now.

28-08-2016, 09:42 PM
At least Footscray will get two finals.

28-08-2016, 09:45 PM
Remind me to give this great thread a wide berth next year please. Each week is disappointment after disappointment this year.

28-08-2016, 09:49 PM
Some very disappointing roots. This is worse than 1991.

28-08-2016, 09:53 PM
Some very disappointing roots. This is worse than 1991.

When Keating failed in his bid to topple Hawke? He never had the numbers, despite the rootings in the backbencher offices.

29-08-2016, 03:37 AM
There was a lot of rooting in backbenchers offices back in those days.

29-08-2016, 11:00 AM
There was a lot of rooting in backbenchers offices back in those days.
On the office desks no less ;)

The filth gave us a mighty sight yesterday - they came up short but took us all the way to the line. Got to hand it to West Coke for winning their last 3 games against top 4 opposition, 2 of them away. I didn't think they had it in them to win more than 1 of them at best. They've absolutely earned their home final.

29-08-2016, 11:59 AM
This thread can get rooted :D

05-09-2016, 10:13 PM
1. Bulldogs
2. Geelong
3. North
4 GWS

???

05-09-2016, 10:38 PM
1. Bulldogs
2. Geelong
3. North
4 GWS

???

Bulldogs obviously

Geelong, yeah, tough call to say you want to play the 3-time defending premiers in week 2 but Geelong have smacked us twice and Hawthorn haven't been as good lately

North no, we won't play the winner of North & Adelaide unless they get all the way to the GF which would be in Melbourne, prefer to play an interstate side

GWS yes, haven't got the hardened finals experience if we meet them in the prelim

06-09-2016, 09:31 AM
Bulldogs obviously

Geelong, yeah, tough call to say you want to play the 3-time defending premiers in week 2 but Geelong have smacked us twice and Hawthorn haven't been as good lately

North no, we won't play the winner of North & Adelaide unless they get all the way to the GF which would be in Melbourne, prefer to play an interstate side

GWS yes, haven't got the hardened finals experience if we meet them in the prelim

I wouldn't mind getting Sydney in the prelim.

If it got that far they would certainly have a few mental demons to torment them with our results against them under Bevo.

06-09-2016, 02:17 PM
North Melbourne. Oh, and the dogs.

06-09-2016, 02:48 PM
I wouldn't mind getting Sydney in the prelim.

If it got that far they would certainly have a few mental demons to torment them with our results against them under Bevo.

There's that, but GWS have much more to prove at finals level. Not sure whether their running in waves style holds up when every touch is under pressure

06-09-2016, 07:29 PM
I've been offered and declined a free ticket to the crows match this weekend. If the Roos win, I,Lo hate myself for not going

06-09-2016, 09:24 PM
I will still be recovering from tomorrow nights rooting. I'm going to root harder than ever before.

06-09-2016, 09:29 PM
Now it's back to the dislike stakes for rooting

Geelong, if we win hopefully it goes extra time . Have got a poor record against both
Sydney , sick of them as well, but can't stand the plastic love child
Crows, as I can't stand the Norfies

06-09-2016, 10:19 PM
I couldn't care less about the other finals matches, just want to see 4 Dogs wins in a row.

Don't fear anyone in the top 8 - if we can win tomorrow night we can beat anyone, anywhere, anytime. I would actually like to exorcize the demons past and beat a combination of West Coke, Geelong, Hawthorn or Adelaide en route to a premiership.

06-09-2016, 10:35 PM
I couldn't care less about the other finals matches, just want to see 4 Dogs wins in a row.

Don't fear anyone in the top 8 - if we can win tomorrow night we can beat anyone, anywhere, anytime. I would actually like to exorcize the demons past and beat a combination of West Coke, Geelong, Hawthorn or Adelaide en route to a premiership.

Oh that sounds good. Is there some way we can finish with beating North? Purely out of spite.

09-09-2016, 09:36 AM
Should be a good root tonight, knowing we've got the job done, resting up and preparing for the loser of tonights match. What are we hoping for? A titanic contest where they belt the living suitcase out of each other or for one of them to cop a demoralising drubbing.

I would kind of like to see Hawthorn solidly defeated. We would be a massive chance against them next week. How great would it be to beat Hawthorn in a final after all they've inflicted on us over the years.

09-09-2016, 09:39 AM
Should be a good root tonight, knowing we've got the job done, resting up and preparing for the loser of tonights match. What are we hoping for? A titanic contest where they belt the living suitcase out of each other or for one of them to cop a demoralising drubbing.

I would kind of like to see Hawthorn solidly defeated. We would be a massive chance against them next week. How great would it be to beat Hawthorn in a final after all they've inflicted on us over the years.

Injuries, suspensions, demoralisation etc.

09-09-2016, 09:48 AM

I think Geelong have beaten us in 9 finals in a row since 1976, not to mention the fact that they have beaten us 8 times on the stretch since 2009. Billy Brainless kicking a goal after the siren after not getting a kick all night, need I go on....

We owe them both.

09-09-2016, 09:53 AM
I think Geelong have beaten us in 9 finals in a row since 1976, not to mention the fact that they have beaten us 8 times on the stretch since 2009. Billy Brainless kicking a goal after the siren after not getting a kick all night, need I go on....

We owe them both.

That's true. Just reckon Hawthorn look the more vulnerable of the two, so I'm hoping more for them to be our opponents (preferably as weakened as possible, physically or mentally).

09-09-2016, 09:54 AM
I really don't care about rooting now, we can beat all comers - bring it on. lets go all the way.

09-09-2016, 09:55 AM

44 players being reported after a massive all in brawl involving every player on the field going at each other for half an hour with haymakers would be good. :cool:

09-09-2016, 10:28 AM

The QF against the hawks still bites but beating Geelong next week would be the sweetest taste in football. Looks like it's going to be wet and that means contested ball which means injuries. I want to see injuries to both sides starting with Dangerfield then Selwood and working down from there. For the Hawks Mitchell, Hodge and Cyril and working back from there.

I am going in very confident regardless of who it is. As I said a key injury to our opponent next week would be sweet as.

It's our time. For once we were the team on the big stage who delivered, knocking out the form finals team. Last night was so very different. I just hope that was not our Grand Final.

09-09-2016, 10:32 AM
I'm going tonight and will be rooting for Geelong.
But I hope they absolutely belt the hell out of each other. I'll be sitting (in the rain) in row A.....it will be hard to not jump the fence and take out a couple!!

09-09-2016, 10:57 AM
44 players being reported after a massive all in brawl involving every player on the field going at each other for half an hour with haymakers would be good. :cool:

and a 3 week suspension for all of them

09-09-2016, 04:44 PM
I am not looking for much from tonight, although my preference would be a Geelong victory.

Also not one to wish harm on others

BUT

I can make an exception for the following

Hawthorn
Cyril to ping a hammy that will end his season
Stratton to reinjure the pectoral that he has recovered from
Hodge and Lewis to be cited and suspended for 3 weeks each just because they do stuff all the time and get away with it.
McEvoy to break a few fingers (preferably his own)

Geelong
Dangerfield - Hamstring
Selwood ducking his head so vigourously he is put in a neck brace for 3 weeks.
Harry Taylor just to go down with anything (even a contagious virus) that will end his season.

09-09-2016, 06:04 PM
With regards to injury wishing I have to say I'm very disappointed with everyone here...

Do you really want the Plastics to win the following Prelim?

09-09-2016, 11:30 PM
That's 2 roots in 2 nights. We've got this. Go swans and north.

09-09-2016, 11:31 PM
That's 2 roots in 2 nights. We've got this. Go swans and north.

No good roots for 2 months, and two in two.

10-09-2016, 02:21 AM
Definitely prefer to play Hawthorn, purely based on results against the two teams this year. Hawthorn are really missing Jarryd Roughead, he is what made their midfield work with his ruck tap work then acting as an additional mid, plus giving them a threatening tall target up forward

We struggled with Danger's pace and the height and mobility of Geelong's talls in both games this year

10-09-2016, 11:16 AM
I'd prefer to play GWS away from Spotless rather than Sydney. The Swans are a hardened finals outfit. Prefer a crack at them in the Granny.

10-09-2016, 11:22 AM
I'd prefer to play GWS away from Spotless rather than Sydney. The Swans are a hardened finals outfit. Prefer a crack at them in the Granny.

Yep, GWS at ANZ would be a good result but you know the AFEL will hand them a home prelim on the basis of 'crowd capacity' not warranting a bigger ground.

10-09-2016, 11:31 AM
Yep, GWS at ANZ would be a good result but you know the AFEL will hand them a home prelim on the basis of 'crowd capacity' not warranting a bigger ground.

Would be outrageous. Would think 10,000 Bulldogs will make the trip. They were getting 18-19k for their home and away matches. The AFEL certainly want GWS to go through but not at the expense of a significant hit to their bottom line.

10-09-2016, 11:59 AM
Would be outrageous. Would think 10,000 Bulldogs will make the trip. They were getting 18-19k for their home and away matches. The AFEL certainly want GWS to go through but not at the expense of a significant hit to their bottom line.

Theyve already pumped millions of dollars into the plastics. If the only cost in the benefit analysis of having GWS play a home prelim final was disinfranchising a bunch of bulldog supporters then they wouldn't even think about it for a nanosecond before saying yes.

10-09-2016, 05:03 PM
Stevie J wont play another match this year

10-09-2016, 05:08 PM
Josh Kennedy back on after having definite symptoms of concussion - what a joke.

The AFL, just like the NFL, pay lip service to brain injuries.

10-09-2016, 05:14 PM
I am liking the way this game is shaping up. Lots of niggle. Just one good punch or knee short of a melee.

10-09-2016, 05:25 PM
Josh Kennedy back on after having definite symptoms of concussion - what a joke.

The AFL, just like the NFL, pay lip service to brain injuries.

Would be the club doctor that ruled him ok. I'm not sure if it was the standard 20 minutes either. Swans will get a big fine.

10-09-2016, 06:06 PM
Johnson possible week suspension. Mills two week or more hammy. Who are we rooting for now?

10-09-2016, 06:34 PM
Bulldogs obviously

So three roots from three. Adelaide winning makes it all four our way!

10-09-2016, 06:47 PM
So three roots from three. Adelaide winning makes it all four our way!

Not on my watch you dont.

Go Roos.

10-09-2016, 06:47 PM
Johnson possible week suspension. Mills two week or more hammy. Who are we rooting for now?
I want GWS to win so thet my revenge fantasy can be fulfilled - West Coke in Perth, followed by Hawthorn, then GWS and then take your pick out of Geelong or Adelaide.

17-09-2016, 02:58 AM
Do we want Sydney or Adelaide to win? I'm thinking Sydney, more chance to take down Geelong who we haven't gotten near this year

17-09-2016, 03:22 AM
My ex-wife dropped around to see the kids and got caught up in the moment watching the game with us. It's been a long time since we were in the same room rooting.

17-09-2016, 09:31 AM
Do we want Sydney or Adelaide to win? I'm thinking Sydney, more chance to take down Geelong who we haven't gotten near this year
I expected better of you ;)

I demand, by the powers cast upon me (by myself) that we all hold hands and barrack for the swans tonight

Reasons

1: I hate the Crows
2: imagine the cost of airfares from Adelaide if it's a dogs v crows gf
3: other vague football reasons
4: the crows supporters have given me so much grief in the last 20 years they can all Gagf

17-09-2016, 05:10 PM
I expected better of you ;)

I said I want Adelaide to lose and you're disappointed?

17-09-2016, 05:16 PM
sounded like there was some doubt :)

17-09-2016, 09:32 PM
No roots for 2 months.

Week 1 Finals: 4/4
Week 2 Finals: 2/2

17-09-2016, 09:34 PM
No roots for 2 months.

Week 1 Finals: 4/4
Week 2 Finals: 2/2

must be the new cologne

17-09-2016, 09:35 PM
must be the new cologne

Nah, it's still Old Spice. A classic.

17-09-2016, 09:37 PM
This thread stopped eating junk, hit the gym, got a new wardrobe and signed up for Tinder.

17-09-2016, 10:20 PM
I hope Swans win their SF and PF.

17-09-2016, 10:26 PM

Me too.

17-09-2016, 11:01 PM
Me too.

me three

17-09-2016, 11:01 PM

One down. They smashed Geelong at Kardinia Park by nearly 7 goals not that long ago. They'd have to be confident of knocking them again.

17-09-2016, 11:23 PM
Is the swans and us win through to the Grand Final let's hope the AFL finds some BS pretext to move the game to the SCG. They could claim the MCG was double booked for that saturday and the other party got in first or they lost the toss or something.

I reckon we'd be sure to win at the SCG.

18-09-2016, 01:24 AM
Nah, it's still Old Spice. A classic.
You should try Sex Panther - it's made from real bits of panther.

60% of the time, it works every time

18-09-2016, 02:02 AM
You should try Sex Panther - it's made from real bits of panther.

60% of the time, it works every time

Perfume has bits of whale in it.

18-09-2016, 04:55 PM

Me too.

me three

Me four

18-09-2016, 06:41 PM
I'll take the fifth

23-09-2016, 09:32 PM
The finals roots were laid out for us. 9 roots to a premiership. The first 7 roots have been successful with Swans getting up tonight. The last two roots are up to us. Exciting.

23-09-2016, 09:37 PM
The finals roots were laid out for us. 9 roots to a premiership. The first 7 roots have been successful with Swans getting up tonight. The last two roots are up to us. Exciting.

Finals rooting strike rate is 100% and leaves our rooting destiny in our own hands.

23-09-2016, 11:30 PM
Yep...all up to our boys now.

(Going to be a fraction easier to get tickets than it would be vs the cats.)

My wife is a Cats supporter....and is there tonight, but she's had enough success....time for the rest of the family (Dad and the kids!) to enjoy the spoils.

24-09-2016, 12:24 AM
Tickets may be easier to get but accomodation costs are up!

Go you good things

25-09-2016, 12:00 AM
Ok, so far so good with this thread.

This week, in order of rooting

WBU vs Syd

25-09-2016, 01:00 AM
Ummm... anyone got a preference in the tac cup gf? :D

25-09-2016, 02:19 AM
Ok, so far so good with this thread.

This week, in order of rooting

WBU vs Syd

Okay ... You've had a pretty good run so far in the finals; so now who do we root for in the AFL Grand Final ???

06-10-2016, 04:54 PM
Probably could lock this thread now.

06-10-2016, 05:30 PM
Yep. I've had the best root I'm ever gonna have.

06-10-2016, 10:32 PM
Isn't it funny how it all turned out.

We were all cursing our supposed rubbish rooting..... we were just practising for the big dance....

06-10-2016, 10:38 PM
Literally could not buy a root in the H&A season.

Next minute, finals comes around and we're suddenly Errol Flynn.

07-05-2017, 01:25 PM
Too early to start this thread yet (i normally do it after the bye round), but anyways we've had a magnificent weekend of probable rooting so far

07-05-2017, 01:32 PM
Too early to start this thread yet (i normally do it after the bye round), but anyways we've had a magnificent weekend of probable rooting so far

Some of the best rooting you'll ever see.

07-05-2017, 01:44 PM
Who are we rooting for today?

Sunday May 7

Sydney v Brisbane SCG 1.10pm

Melbourne v Hawthorn MCG 3.20pm

Fremantle v Essendon Domain Stadium 4.40pm

Brisbane for sure

07-05-2017, 01:48 PM
Probably not much Sunday rooting for us. Swans/Lions is a non event. I guess you could say we should root for Hawthorn, but that is impossible for me. And Freo/Ess its a toss of the coin as to who is more a chance of finals. Having the crows, giants, power, cats and pies all beaten this weekend....we're probably all too exhausted!

07-05-2017, 02:02 PM
I'm depleted after yesterday's root fest. Gonna sit this one out.

Would love the Hawthorn implosion to continue though. A 10+ goal plus loss would top off a great weekend.

07-05-2017, 03:25 PM
I'm depleted after yesterday's root fest. Gonna sit this one out.

Would love the Hawthorn implosion to continue though. A 10+ goal plus loss would top off a great weekend.

Clarkson's reaction would be priceless.

07-05-2017, 05:13 PM
Probably not much Sunday rooting for us. Swans/Lions is a non event. I guess you could say we should root for Hawthorn, but that is impossible for me. And Freo/Ess its a toss of the coin as to who is more a chance of finals. Having the crows, giants, power, cats and pies all beaten this weekend....we're probably all too exhausted!

Yep I'm all shagged out after yesterday's rooting. I barely had a break!

07-05-2017, 10:05 PM
time for a new thread. 660 posts and title still has 2016

07-05-2017, 11:01 PM
Happy to see Melbourne dropping games they should win.

Always good to see Essendon lose.

Swans I don't have a big issue with and Brisbane probably need the top pick more than they do.

Good week of results all round

08-05-2017, 02:31 PM
Great weekend for the doggies but bad for tipping

08-05-2017, 03:08 PM
Is it that time of year already?

08-05-2017, 04:30 PM
Is it that time of year already?

It's time to root.

08-05-2017, 06:33 PM
It's time to root.

Comes earlier every year.

08-05-2017, 06:35 PM
It's time to root.

Need a 2017 thread as mentioned earlier in the thread

08-05-2017, 09:58 PM
Comes earlier every year.

The higher you are the earlier you have to start rooting is how I understand it.

09-05-2017, 03:26 PM
The higher you are the earlier you have to start rooting is how I understand it.

So if you are 6 foot 10 inches high you should be rooting all year:)

09-05-2017, 03:30 PM
So if you are 6 foot 10 inches high you should be rooting all year:)

There are several answers to that question.

09-05-2017, 03:34 PM
Need a 2017 thread as mentioned earlier in the thread

After the bye, otherwise you are being greedy.

09-05-2017, 03:53 PM
After the bye, otherwise you are being greedy.

But surely everyone wants a root every week?

09-05-2017, 04:13 PM
But surely everyone wants a root every week?

For a while leading up to the season I was having trouble with enthusiasm. It looked like a lot of rooting around involved to climb the mountain again. But once the season started I was catching myself rooting more and more when I didn't think I would care what happened.

I like several roots a week but I do appreciate a bit of a break every now and then, maybe fly North. Apart from that I could root 52 weeks a year.

09-05-2017, 04:42 PM
So yeah about that new thread....

09-05-2017, 06:15 PM
I could just change the title of this thread. Or even last year's thread.
Then we'd have a thread but would we have a T & T?

It's not long until the bye round anyway.

09-05-2017, 06:21 PM
I think T&T needs to make the decision but maybe just re-naming this to the 'T&T Root Thread' would work and it keeps going every season.

09-05-2017, 06:32 PM
'T & T Premier Root Thread'? :p

09-05-2017, 09:45 PM
"T & T approved roots"

10-05-2017, 12:33 AM
I will decide who roots in this country and under which conditions they will root

10-05-2017, 10:12 AM
I'm glad this page exists or I wouldn't be rooting at all.
A new root every week what more could a man want.

10-05-2017, 08:51 PM
I'm glad this page exists or I wouldn't be rooting at all.
A new root every week what more could a man want.

Another Dog's Premiership.

10-05-2017, 10:45 PM

I want more than one. That's what I'm rooting for.

11-05-2017, 05:56 AM

Well we all want that climax after a good year long rooting.

21-06-2017, 05:54 PM
T&T, with the state of the competition is it time to bring this back?

Working out who to root for at the moment is a difficult business. We mere mortals need some guidance.

21-06-2017, 06:55 PM
T&T, with the state of the competition is it time to bring this back?

Working out who to root for at the moment is a difficult business. We mere mortals need some guidance.

Having a shitty time with workload and life at the moment, well aware that I've broken a promise. Wont get to it before this round, but will try my best to organize a collective root-a-thon before next week when most projectives will be settled

21-06-2017, 09:32 PM
Having a shitty time with workload and life at the moment, well aware that I've broken a promise. Wont get to it before this round, but will try my best to organize a collective root-a-thon before next week when most projectives will be settled

I haven't been in a collective root a thon before. Looking forward to it

21-06-2017, 10:17 PM
Roots:

GWS - All loss of points over Whitfield affair
Adelaide - More uncovered salary cap cheating. All loss of points.
Geelong - Newly uncovered supplements with the weapon from his days there. All loss of points.
Port Adelaide - Employing Peter Rhode. Loss of all points.
Richmond - Any or no reason.
Essendon - More supplement stuff not yet declared. Loss of all points.
Melbourne - Echange of all points for franking credits this financial year.

Western Bulldogs - to defeat North.

21-06-2017, 11:43 PM
Roots:

Geelong - Newly uncovered supplements with the weapon from his days there. All loss of points.

Most of these roots seem to be playing the long game, but what the hell...i'm in!

22-06-2017, 12:22 AM
Roots:

Most of these roots seem to be playing the long game, but what the hell...i'm in!

Count me in gentlemen.

25-06-2017, 08:22 PM
We won, but still outside the top 8.

No real need for rooting, we must keep on winning now. It looks like percentage might be an issue so we need to smash some shit teams, unlike last night.

25-06-2017, 09:16 PM
We won, but still outside the top 8.

No real need for rooting, we must keep on winning now. It looks like percentage might be an issue so we need to smash some shit teams, unlike last night.
Can you find us a shit team BT? We've already played Brisbane at home and nearly lost that one. This is probably the craziest season in history with regard to the evenness of the competition.

25-06-2017, 09:21 PM
Can you find us a shit team BT? We've already played Brisbane at home and nearly lost that one. This is probably the craziest season in history with regard to the evenness of the competition.

North are shit. We should've had a 6-7 goal win. But it's really getting to be 'Any Given Sunday', which makes the sport interesting again from a non partisan viewpoint.

26-06-2017, 10:16 AM
North are shit. We should've had a 6-7 goal win. But it's really getting to be 'Any Given Sunday', which makes the sport interesting again from a non partisan viewpoint.

On their day or night they definitely aren't a shit team. Only lost to Geelong by a point too, thrashed Adelaide and beat Melbourne. An extremely even season.

26-06-2017, 10:18 AM
Norf are 17th with a percentage of 93.4. Insane season.

26-06-2017, 10:20 AM
Norf are 17th with a percentage of 93.4. Insane season.

That'd be a record percentage if they finished down there, surely?

26-06-2017, 12:56 PM
It's the most interesting season ever from a non-partial perspective, yet I'm really not enjoying it at all. Expectation sucks.