View Full Version : T&T it's about time for the 2016 root thread

Pages : [1] 2 3

30-05-2016, 11:00 AM
Next week we may end up third, let's start rooting!

30-05-2016, 11:55 AM
After we beat WC then Rooting for:

Richmond to beat North
Melb to beat Hawthorn
BL- over Carlton
GoldC beat Sydney
Saints beat Adelaide

Other games either way

30-05-2016, 12:03 PM
I normally wait until after the Bye...

but the Byes are later this year

Get ready to root!

30-05-2016, 12:09 PM
Love this thread

30-05-2016, 12:13 PM
Enjoy a good rooting.

30-05-2016, 12:33 PM
I think this might be my favourite annual thread. Glad we are starting rooting early in the season.

30-05-2016, 12:36 PM
I normally wait until after the Bye...

but the Byes are later this year

Get ready to root!

Sorry couldn't contain my excitement looking forward - we should be going early this year, we've had our strides pulled down early with our injuries and we're looking good early so let's start rooting!

30-05-2016, 02:08 PM
I may have already mentioned it but I've been hanging out for a bit of rooting.

https://vimeo.com/40572823

30-05-2016, 02:27 PM
I may have already mentioned it but I've been hanging out for a bit of rooting.

https://vimeo.com/40572823

Be a brave person who clicks that link. Especially during work hours.

30-05-2016, 02:27 PM
Be a brave person who clicks that link. Especially during work hours.

It's just a song...

30-05-2016, 05:02 PM
It's just a song...

So you say...

31-05-2016, 08:34 PM
So you say...

It is a TISM song I guess.

31-05-2016, 11:10 PM
Looking forward to this

I'm happy to help but I won't steal T&T's thunder

01-06-2016, 07:51 AM
Looking forward to this

I'm happy to help but I won't steal T&T's thunder

Go your hardest :)

01-06-2016, 08:22 AM
This is not the root thread this is a prompt.

01-06-2016, 05:38 PM
This is not the root thread this is a prompt.

So we're rooting for some rooting?

01-06-2016, 07:05 PM
So we're rooting for some rooting?

We're tootin' for some rooting.

01-06-2016, 10:39 PM
OK trendetters, here it is. The official. often copied but never bettered "who to root for" thread. T.M. pat. pending.

For those who came in late, this will guide you on who to barrack for each week, for the greater good of our beloved dogs.

Please be aware, there are weeks where you may have to barrack for horrible teams such as the Crows....or Collingwood!

And also, i'm completely unaccountable and as the season pans out previously you may have had a root that you thought was a good idea at the time, but you are now ashamed of and hope no one noticed.

But seriously, the Dogs are in the Premiership window, so i'm not aiming for a top 8 root, i'm rooting for top 2 (at this stage)

Current ladder

1 Nth Melbourne 10 9 0 1 124.20 36
2 Sydney 10 8 0 2 143.80 32
3 Geelong 10 7 0 3 142.10 28
4 GWS Giants 10 7 0 3 138.70 28

5 West Coast 10 7 0 3 137.60 28
6 Bulldogs 10 7 0 3 134.30 28
7 Hawthorn 10 7 0 3 107.60 28
8 Adelaide 10 6 0 4 119.10 24

9 Melbourne 10 5 0 5 107.30 20
10 Port Adelaide 10 5 0 5 105.20 20
11 Carlton 10 5 0 5 81.00 20
12 Collingwood 10 4 0 6 92.70 16
13 St Kilda 10 4 0 6 89.50 16
14 Richmond 10 4 0 6 86.60 16

15 Gold Coast 10 3 0 7 70.80 12
16 Brisbane 10 1 0 9 62.30 4
17 Essendon 10 1 0 9 60.20 4
18 Fremantle 10 0 0 10 68.20 0

Who to root for this week, in order of importance:

1 WBU vs WCE . Classic 8 point match, although when we win we will only get 4 points.

2 NM v Rich I dont rate NM and i'm predicting we will finish above them
3 GC vs Syd Well, Ablett scored 100 + SuperCoach points last week. In Eade we trust
4 GEEL vs GWS Because GWS are better than Geelong and could win 3 of the next 5 flags

gap

5 Ade v St K
6 Haw v Mel

Gap

7 Bris v Carl
8 Coll v Port

9 Freo vs Ess - save your legs.

01-06-2016, 10:46 PM
Guess who's back, back again.

01-06-2016, 10:48 PM
Guess who's back, back again.

Two trailer park girls go round the outside, round the outside, round the outside.

01-06-2016, 11:51 PM
Two trailer park girls go round the outside, round the outside, round the outside.

Well, Tend, tend, tend. Tend to your sodden lives!

02-06-2016, 09:14 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xf1YF_MH1xc

02-06-2016, 10:30 AM
I like it, aiming for a top 2 root straight off the bat! Gives us some wiggle room if we need to lower our standards!

02-06-2016, 12:23 PM
I like it, aiming for a top 2 root straight off the bat! Gives us some wiggle room if we need to lower our standards!

Lets maintain high standards.

02-06-2016, 05:21 PM
Yep, fussy is best.

03-06-2016, 11:40 AM
Another lover of this thread.

When two top 8 sides meet I auto go for Vic side to avoid chances of interstate final.

03-06-2016, 12:03 PM
Another lover of this thread.

When two top 8 sides meet I auto go for Vic side to avoid chances of interstate final.

Auto-rooting. Interesting.

03-06-2016, 01:17 PM
and hoping for a late Goldstein/Scott double outing tonight

03-06-2016, 06:39 PM
and hoping for a late Goldstein/Scott double outing tonight

Interesting a rooting thread including wishing players and coaches are rooted, I suppose you can't have one without the other.

03-06-2016, 06:41 PM
I think we also need a hope they both lose thread .

03-06-2016, 06:44 PM
I found for our own teams prospects I needed to root for Norf last week, but alas I just couldn't do it .
Found a new root during the game

04-06-2016, 06:33 PM
Not a good start to our rooting. Let's hope Geelong get the chocs and by some chance GC wins in the wet.

05-06-2016, 09:03 PM
Who to root for this week, in order of importance:

1 WBU vs WCE . Classic 8 point match, although when we win we will only get 4 points. Yay

2 NM v Rich I dont rate NM and i'm predicting we will finish above them Nope
3 GC vs Syd Well, Ablett scored 100 + SuperCoach points last week. In Eade we trust Nope
4 GEEL vs GWS Because GWS are better than Geelong and could win 3 of the next 5 flags Yep

gap

5 Ade v St K Not even close
6 Haw v Mel Nope

Gap

7 Bris v Carl Nope
8 Coll v Port Nope

9 Freo vs Ess - save your legs.

P W D L % PTS
1 Nth Melbourne 11 10 0 1 130.80 40
2 Sydney 11 9 0 2 146.50 36
3 Geelong 11 8 0 3 138.80 32
4 Bulldogs 11 8 0 3 132.00 32
5 Hawthorn 11 8 0 3 108.90 32
6 GWS Giants 11 7 0 4 133.30 28
7 West Coast 11 7 0 4 133.00 28
8 Adelaide 11 7 0 4 127.10 28
9 Port Adelaide 11 6 0 5 111.70 24
10 Carlton 11 6 0 5 86.20 24
11 Melbourne 11 5 0 6 105.10 20
12 Collingwood 11 4 0 7 87.30 16
13 St Kilda 11 4 0 7 82.80 16
14 Richmond 11 4 0 7 81.80 16
15 Gold Coast 11 3 0 8 69.60 12
16 Fremantle 11 1 0 10 77.10 4
17 Brisbane 11 1 0 10 62.40 4
18 Essendon 11 1 0 10 57.60 4

05-06-2016, 09:36 PM
Big rooting next week T&T. All the top 8 playing each other except Hawks & us. Interested to know who to root for, to get a bit closer into the 4 or get a big gap on the bottom 4.

05-06-2016, 09:43 PM
Big rooting next week T&T. All the top 8 playing each other except Hawks & us. Interested to know who to root for, to get a bit closer into the 4 or get a big gap on the bottom 4.

Both.

05-06-2016, 09:45 PM
Both.

If they're playing each other, I'm not sure both can be done?

05-06-2016, 09:54 PM
i'll leave the technical details for T & T to outline.

I wouldn't want to do the facts an injustice with my imperfect grip on the situation.

06-06-2016, 05:48 AM
Don't need to root for anyone if we keep winning it will Take care of itself :-)
In saying that do we want the sides below us to lose giving us more a gap or the sides below us to win keeping the top sides in our reach ?

06-06-2016, 11:28 AM
If they're playing each other, I'm not sure both can be done?

It's a modern world we live in

06-06-2016, 11:32 AM
So apart from the dogs winning....most of the other games were dud roots this week.

Need to see some upsets. Unfortunately the bottom 5 or 6 sides are so awful this year, that we might struggle for the big upsets of top 6 sides.

06-06-2016, 02:49 PM
Just happy for GWS to lose. For they somehow make top 4 and get a home final at any stage it's an absolute corrupt outrage. Hate that 'club' with all my being.

09-06-2016, 09:56 PM
As you already know, Thursday night is the traditional night for T&T to plan his weekend rooting.

P W D L % PTS
1 Nth Melbourne 11 10 0 1 130.80 40
2 Sydney 11 9 0 2 146.50 36
3 Geelong 11 8 0 3 138.80 32
4 Bulldogs 11 8 0 3 132.00 32
5 Hawthorn 11 8 0 3 108.90 32
6 GWS Giants 11 7 0 4 133.30 28
7 West Coast 11 7 0 4 133.00 28
8 Adelaide 11 7 0 4 127.10 28
9 Port Adelaide 11 6 0 5 111.70 24
10 Carlton 11 6 0 5 86.20 24
11 Melbourne 11 5 0 6 105.10 20
12 Collingwood 11 4 0 7 87.30 16
13 St Kilda 11 4 0 7 82.80 16
14 Richmond 11 4 0 7 81.80 16
15 Gold Coast 11 3 0 8 69.60 12
16 Fremantle 11 1 0 10 77.10 4
17 Brisbane 11 1 0 10 62.40 4
18 Essendon 11 1 0 10 57.60 4

This week, in order..

Port v WBU Should win easily. We simply are a much better team then they are.

2 Geel vs NM I'm sticking with my NM are over-rated theme. I want us to finish above them on the ladder.
3 GWS v Syd
4 Ess v Haw Shine on, you crazy diamond.
5 WCE v Ade I hate this with a passion. I hate the Crows more than anyone you have ever met

Gap

6 St K v Carl
7 Mel v Coll yes, really

Gap

8 Rich v GC mainly for lolz

Fre v Bris not worth even wasting a quick ^*^(%( over

09-06-2016, 11:47 PM
Need a Dangerfield hammy.

10-06-2016, 09:48 AM
Personally, I think that NM is the way to root in their game with Geelong. It will be hard to dislodge them from the top 4 seeing as they are 10-1.

10-06-2016, 10:08 AM
Personally, I think that NM is the way to root in their game with Geelong. It will be hard to dislodge them from the top 4 seeing as they are 10-1.

Good point. A root for Geelong might be the go. One of those times when you have to make a difficult decision on who to root.

10-06-2016, 10:22 AM

Yep.. Even though we all think Norf aren't a 10-1 team let them keep winning (except when they play us). Assuming we win this week and Geelong lose we have the chance to go 2 games clear of them next week.

So the rooting plan has been cocked up... Geelong to lose this week.

Also not against Syd beating GWS, just helps us separate from GWS.

10-06-2016, 12:16 PM
Yep.. Even though we all think Norf aren't a 10-1 team let them keep winning (except when they play us). Assuming we win this week and Geelong lose we have the chance to go 2 games clear of them next week.

So the rooting plan has been cocked up... Geelong to lose this week.

Also not against Syd beating GWS, just helps us separate from GWS.

Yep - looking at Sydney's draw, I think they will probably finish top or second, getting a gap on GWS is important.

10-06-2016, 12:35 PM
You don't want Geelong anywhere near top 2 as it means they'll get at least one final at Skilled.

10-06-2016, 12:43 PM
You don't want Geelong anywhere near top 2 as it means they'll get at least one final at Skilled.

I don't think that will happen again. Would probably only be considered if they played GWS first week.

10-06-2016, 03:48 PM

The 30k supporters locked out will raze it to the ground. If it's anyone other than GWS it would be 65-70k.

11-06-2016, 05:23 PM
In North win stay one game in the 4 over Geelong, which could be two if we win next week. Sydney beat GWS we are two games clear of them. Big roots these two.

11-06-2016, 10:28 PM
2 Geel vs NM I'm sticking with my NM are over-rated theme. I want us to finish above them on the ladder.

I think we will, it's Geelong we need to be worried about

We do play them twice, which will have a big say in whether either side finishes top 4

11-06-2016, 11:50 PM
I think we will, it's Geelong we need to be worried about

We do play them twice, which will have a big say in whether either side finishes top 4

Twice in 8 weeks.

12-06-2016, 08:15 PM
This week, in order..

Port v WBU Should win easily. We simply are a much better team then they are.

3 GWS v Syd
4 Ess v Haw Shine on, you crazy diamond.
5 WCE v Ade I hate this with a passion. I hate the Crows more than anyone you have ever met

Gap

6 St K v Carl
7 Mel v Coll yes, really

Gap

8 Rich v GC mainly for lolz

I know not everyone agreed with all my selections (and I'm not sure I do, either!) but if I'm correct, so far it's been an excellent weekend for rooting

13-06-2016, 12:06 AM
I know not everyone agreed with all my selections (and I'm not sure I do, either!) but if I'm correct, so far it's been an excellent weekend for rooting

But we missed out on the lolz.

13-06-2016, 02:13 PM
I feel like we really needed GWS and Adelaide to lose. Both have ultra soft draws for the rest of the year and will not only challenge for top 4, but top 2 is likely as well.

13-06-2016, 02:53 PM

Mate, if it's you and you're rooting for Adelaide I figure there is damn good reason. So I root for Adelaide too.

I feel like we really needed GWS and Adelaide to lose. Both have ultra soft draws for the rest of the year and will not only challenge for top 4, but top 2 is likely as well.

GWS are a force of nature at the moment. If GWS and Adelaide finish 1-2 then it's going to make it extra interesting for us should we finish top 4. A trip to our tradional finals bogie side or our allofasuddenswornenemy GWS in week one.

This is shaping up to be a great season.

13-06-2016, 03:43 PM
GWS could easily win every game in the second half of the season.

We just have to keep winning too and this will come much easier with JJ, Wood, Boyd and Smith available to choose from.

13-06-2016, 10:16 PM
Port v WBU Should win easily. We simply are a much better team then they are. YEP

2 Geel vs NM I'm sticking with my NM are over-rated theme. I want us to finish above them on the ladder. YEP
3 GWS v Syd YEP
4 Ess v Haw Shine on, you crazy diamond. Dreaming
5 WCE v Ade I hate this with a passion. I hate the Crows more than anyone you have ever met YEP

Gap

6 St K v Carl YEP
7 Mel v Coll yes, really Nup

Gap

8 Rich v GC mainly for lolz Nup

1 Nth Melbourne 12 10 0 2 124.30 40
2 Geelong 12 9 0 3 139.10 36
3 Sydney 12 9 0 3 136.00 36
4 Bulldogs 12 9 0 3 128.70 36
5 Hawthorn 12 9 0 3 119.00 36
6 GWS Giants 12 8 0 4 135.50 32
7 Adelaide 12 8 0 4 127.90 32
8 West Coast 12 7 0 5 126.30 28
9 Port Adelaide 12 6 0 6 110.30 24
10 Melbourne 12 6 0 6 108.90 24
11 Carlton 12 6 0 6 84.70 24
12 St Kilda 12 5 0 7 86.60 20
13 Richmond 12 5 0 7 84.70 20
14 Collingwood 12 4 0 8 84.50 16
15 Gold Coast 12 3 0 9 70.90 12
16 Fremantle 12 2 0 10 85.70 8
17 Brisbane 12 1 0 11 60.50 4
18 Essendon 12 1 0 11 54.20 4

16-06-2016, 05:46 PM
Very very important round of Footy coming up

P W D L % Pts
1 Nth Melbourne 12 10 0 2 124.30 40
2 Geelong 12 9 0 3 139.10 36

3 Sydney 12 9 0 3 136.00 36
4 Bulldogs 12 9 0 3 128.70 36

5 Hawthorn 12 9 0 3 119.00 36
6 GWS Giants 12 8 0 4 135.50 32
7 Adelaide 12 8 0 4 127.90 32
8 West Coast 12 7 0 5 126.30 28

9 Port Adelaide 12 6 0 6 110.30 24
10 Melbourne 12 6 0 6 108.90 24
15 Gold Coast 12 3 0 9 70.90 12
16 Fremantle 12 2 0 10 85.70 8
17 Brisbane 12 1 0 11 60.50 4
18 Essendon 12 1 0 11 54.20 4

This week in order

WB v Geel
NM v Haw
Syd v Mel
Ade v Rich The Adelaide Advertiser has predicted the Crows to finish 2nd today..
Ess v GWS
Bris v WC
Freeo v Port

16-06-2016, 05:53 PM
Would lurv to knock Geelong over so so much.

16-06-2016, 05:54 PM
Why don't they have the Crows finishing top? It could easily happen. It's just as likely as them finishing second.

Keeping the lid in place I guess.

16-06-2016, 05:55 PM
Would lurv to knock Geelong over so so much.

We can do it. Just continue winning the cont.poss, and we will.

16-06-2016, 06:01 PM
Is this the "T&T official who to root for thread, or "The time for the who to root for thread? "

16-06-2016, 06:37 PM
Is this the "T&T official who to root for thread, or "The time for the who to root for thread? "

Both I think. I was only just wondering if I should change the thread title.

16-06-2016, 06:39 PM

My intention was for it to be the T&T time for who to root for thread.

But we just got lost in all the excitement of rooting...

16-06-2016, 07:20 PM
Some pretty important roots this weekend. Good time for GWS to face the worst team of all time...

16-06-2016, 08:15 PM
My intention was for it to be the T&T time for who to root for thread.

But we just got lost in all the excitement of rooting...

Yep. Once that root lust builds up.

17-06-2016, 11:30 PM
Great result. Hawks & Roos on equal points and the narrow margin took 1% of Hawthorn & 3% off Roos. As of now we've got about 7-10% margin on both.

Beat Geelong = Top of the Ladder!

17-06-2016, 11:33 PM
Find a lid tragic
You'll jinx em

17-06-2016, 11:33 PM
Find a lid tragic
You'll jinx em

18-06-2016, 12:19 AM
Think you just jinxed yourself

18-06-2016, 12:21 AM
Great result. Hawks & Roos on equal points and the narrow margin took 1% of Hawthorn & 3% off Roos. As of now we've got about 7-10% margin on both.

Beat Geelong = Top of the Ladder!

Or Sydney go top if they beat Melbourne

18-06-2016, 01:11 AM
Or Sydney go top if they beat Melbourne

Even if we beat Geelong?

18-06-2016, 09:43 AM
Even if we beat Geelong?

Sydney are on top of us now, so highly likely. Unless we get extra points or % for degree of difficulty!

18-06-2016, 10:00 AM
We go top overnight, then go second after Sydney win. So we do go top technically for one night if we beat Geelong.

20-06-2016, 12:20 AM
after some ridiculous tips, including asking the peeps to root for a team that wasnt even playing, here's the ladder
P W D L % PTS
1 Geelong 13 10 0 3 143.30 40
2 Sydney 13 10 0 3 140.90 40
3 Nth Melbourne 13 10 0 3 121.30 40
4 Hawthorn 13 10 0 3 118.40 40
5 GWS Giants 13 9 0 4 135.00 36
6 Bulldogs 13 9 0 4 119.70 36
7 West Coast 13 8 0 5 128.90 32
8 Adelaide 12 8 0 4 127.90 32
9 Port Adelaide 13 6 0 7 108.10 24
10 Melbourne 13 6 0 7 103.70 24
15 Fremantle 13 3 0 10 88.00 12
16 Gold Coast 12 3 0 9 70.90 12
17 Brisbane 13 1 0 12 60.70 4
18 Essendon 13 1 0 12 56.10 4

20-06-2016, 11:47 PM
Top 8 is sorted

21-06-2016, 01:16 AM
For E's and whizz.

21-06-2016, 09:44 PM
As you already know, Tuesday night is the traditional night for T&T to plan his weekend rooting.

P W D L % PTS

What a perfect weekend for looking elsewhere for rooting opportunities!

Not really sure of the order.

Still aiming top 2 for the Dogs

1 CROWS v NM
2 HAW v GC
3 ST K v Geel
4 GWS v Car

21-06-2016, 10:11 PM
As you already know, Tuesday night is the traditional night for T&T to plan his weekend rooting.

P W D L % PTS

What a perfect weekend for looking elsewhere for rooting opportunities!

1 CROWS v NM
2 HAW v GC
3 ST K v Geel
4 GWS v Car

I reckon you need to get 9ver this sick love for Tex and the south park cows mate, they have a pretty nice draw as it and North are in some bother.

21-06-2016, 10:38 PM
I reckon you need to get 9ver this sick love for Tex and the south park cows mate, they have a pretty nice draw as it and North are in some bother.

We are knocking them off one team at a time. This thread has single handedly ruined Norf's season. Still plenty more weeks to destroy other clubs.

All part of the master plan.

21-06-2016, 10:40 PM
No way we want Adelaide to win. No tipping any interstate teams in the 8 from now on, I reckon. Want them as low as possible.

21-06-2016, 10:46 PM
there's massive storms predicted for rAdelaide Thursday night. Here's hoping for lots of reports and injuries to both sides :)

21-06-2016, 11:22 PM
there's massive storms predicted for rAdelaide Thursday night. Here's hoping for lots of reports and injuries to both sides :)
That's my boy!

21-06-2016, 11:50 PM
Reckon there might be an upset or two . If that game was here Caaaaarlton might be a decent chance .
Reckon the plastics are looking for the week off

22-06-2016, 07:39 AM
Reckon there might be an upset or two . If that game was here Caaaaarlton might be a decent chance .
Reckon the plastics are looking for the week off

There is also the factor of anything can happen at an interclub practice match. They might not realise who plays for who.

23-06-2016, 04:50 AM
There is also the factor of anything can happen at an interclub practice match. They might not realise who plays for who.

It'd be funny if a fight broke out.

23-06-2016, 04:52 AM

Some wet rooting ahead.

23-06-2016, 08:48 AM
Some wet rooting ahead.

Not too much rooting for the wet! I'm over for the game. I'll be barracking for a fierce contest.

23-06-2016, 09:00 AM
Not too much rooting for the wet! I'm over for the game. I'll be barracking for a fierce contest.

Big night out!

23-06-2016, 11:09 AM
It'd be funny if a fight broke out.

Setanta O'Hailpin's gone now

23-06-2016, 01:44 PM
Setanta O'Hailpin's gone now

I saw Daniel Giansiracusa bitch slap Tony Liberatore in the middle of the Whitten oval during his first preseason. Libba had been giving Gia the full treatment during the intra club and halfway through the last quarter Gia snapped wheeled around and lay one right on Libbas cheek. I don't know who was more suprised Gia or Libba who both sort of stood staring at one another or the crowd.

23-06-2016, 02:19 PM
I saw Daniel Giansiracusa bitch slap Tony Liberatore in the middle of the Whitten oval during his first preseason. Libba had been giving Gia the full treatment during the intra club and halfway through the last quarter Gia snapped wheeled around and lay one right on Libbas cheek. I don't know who was more suprised Gia or Libba who both sort of stood staring at one another or the crowd.

That
Is
Hilarious

23-06-2016, 03:01 PM
That
Is
Hilarious

It was pretty funny. From memory Libba was the first one to laugh. He was about an inch and a half away from Guido's face when he did it.

It was a while ago and I may have inserted one it two things that I thought happened into what actually happened but the guts of it is correct.

26-06-2016, 07:05 PM

1 CROWS v NM yep
2 HAW v GC nup
3 ST K v Geel yep
4 GWS v Car nup

ladder

P W D L % PTS
1 Hawthorn 14 11 0 3 119.60 44
3 Geelong 14 10 0 4 139.20 40
4 GWS Giants 14 10 0 4 138.60 40

5 Nth Melbourne 14 10 0 4 116.60 40
6 Adelaide 13 9 0 4 129.20 36
7 Bulldogs 13 9 0 4 119.70 36
8 West Coast 13 8 0 5 128.90 32

11 Richmond 13 6 0 7 88.80 24
12 St Kilda 13 6 0 7 87.80 24
13 Carlton 13 6 0 7 81.10 24
14 Collingwood 13 5 0 8 88.90 20
15 Fremantle 14 3 0 11 85.00 12
16 Gold Coast 13 3 0 10 70.80 12
17 Brisbane 14 1 0 13 60.90 4

26-06-2016, 07:21 PM
Not a bad weekend for rooting I've had worse.

27-06-2016, 08:38 AM
Not a bad weekend for rooting I've had worse.

Saturday night was one of the best roots I've ever had.

27-06-2016, 09:26 AM

It was a great night, big root that is for sure. Would have been better if GC knew how to win instead of constantly bombing the ball into the forward line and expecting big marks. (sounds familiar)

27-06-2016, 09:29 PM
Yeah 2 out of 4 with those matchups is a good result

27-06-2016, 09:44 PM

Certainly was. I was jumping up and down in the lounge room at one stage rooting as loudly as I could.

29-06-2016, 09:59 PM
As you all know, Wednesday night is the night when T&T thinks about his weekend rooting
3 Geelong 14 10 0 4 139.20 40
4 GWS Giants 14 10 0 4 138.60 40
5 Nth Melbourne 14 10 0 4 116.60 40
6 Adelaide 13 9 0 4 129.20 36
7 Bulldogs 13 9 0 4 119.70 36
8 West Coast 13 8 0 5 128.90 32
11 Richmond 13 6 0 7 88.80 24
12 St Kilda 13 6 0 7 87.80 24
13 Carlton 13 6 0 7 81.10 24
14 Collingwood 13 5 0 8 88.90 20
15 Fremantle 14 3 0 11 85.00 12
16 Gold Coast 13 3 0 10 70.80 12

In order

Syd v WBU
Mel v Ade
NM v Bris
WCE v ESS

+ if you can be bothered

PORt v RICH
GC v ST K
Coll v Carl

29-06-2016, 10:51 PM
Go dogs n dees!

29-06-2016, 11:54 PM
It must be a huge relief for you not having to root for Adelaide this weekend T&T.

30-06-2016, 12:13 AM
I think we would be better off if Richmond go down to Port. A win on the road against the Power could make them get their Mighty Ducks bravado on and give them a glimmer of hope they can win a zillion games in a row to sneak into the eight like they did a few years ago.
I want their spirits crushed for when we get them the week later. If things start to go pear-shaped against the Power they might even get a few suspensions out of it.

30-06-2016, 01:50 PM
All those roots seem wildly unlikely, I'm afraid.

30-06-2016, 02:18 PM
All those roots seem wildly unlikely, I'm afraid.

Don't ask don't get

30-06-2016, 02:23 PM
Nothing wrong with an ambitious rooting plan :)

30-06-2016, 02:27 PM
On what planet are Nth playing Bris? All this talk of rooting has affected t&t's thoughts.

01-07-2016, 09:52 PM
I think we would be better off if Richmond go down to Port. A win on the road against the Power could make them get their Mighty Ducks bravado on and give them a glimmer of hope they can win a zillion games in a row to sneak into the eight like they did a few years ago.
I want their spirits crushed for when we get them the week later. If things start to go pear-shaped against the Power they might even get a few suspensions out of it.

You've the magic touch AC. Things are looking good.

01-07-2016, 11:04 PM
On what planet are Nth playing Bris? All this talk of rooting has affected t&t's thoughts.

having a sh%t time at work for the last few weeks, obviously affecting my off field performances!

#shagshow

02-07-2016, 12:04 AM
Richmond are rooted
I think it's effectively known as No Man's Land

03-07-2016, 02:02 AM
Updated

As you all know, Wednesday night is the night when T&T thinks about his weekend rooting

P W D L % PTS
2 Geelong 14 10 0 4 139.20 40
3 GWS Giants 14 10 0 4 138.60 40
4 Sydney 14 10 0 4 137.00 40
5 Bulldogs 14 10 0 4 118.60 40
6 Nth Melbourne 14 10 0 4 116.60 40
7 West Coast 14 9 0 5 134.80 36
8 Adelaide 13 9 0 4 129.20 36
9 Port Adelaide 14 7 0 7 110.90 28
11 Collingwood 14 6 0 8 90.30 24
12 Richmond 14 6 0 8 86.80 24
13 St Kilda 14 6 0 8 85.80 24
14 Carlton 14 6 0 8 81.00 24
15 Gold Coast 14 4 0 10 74.70 16
16 Fremantle 14 3 0 11 85.00 12
18 Essendon 14 1 0 13 54.70 4

In order

Syd v WBU Woo hoo!
Mel v Ade

WCE v ESS Nup

+ if you can be bothered

PORt v RICH ive changed my mind, so yep
GC v ST K Yep
Coll v Carl Nup

03-07-2016, 07:00 AM
This would have to be the earliest in a season the top 8 is decided and so even across the board in the top 8.
A very good chance anyone could win it.

03-07-2016, 11:34 AM
Updated

Nup

Doesn't matter. Our best root went off.

03-07-2016, 11:42 AM
Go Dees

03-07-2016, 02:32 PM
Yes no need of a root after beating Sydney, we rest our cases.

03-07-2016, 03:57 PM
dont forget to have a Sunday afternoon Demon Root today.

03-07-2016, 05:03 PM
She's a demon in the sack

03-07-2016, 05:09 PM
Dees in front. I am on the couch rooting like crazy

03-07-2016, 05:25 PM
Dees in front. I am on the couch rooting like crazy

Crows look a bit flatfooted. Dees have the momentum and Adelaide are having trouble countering their ball movement. Mostly because the Dees keep missing targets but they are so used to it they know where to run. That's a bit what it looks like to me anyway.

I have been rooting like a maniac all weekend though.

03-07-2016, 05:28 PM
Crows look a bit flatfooted. Dees have the momentum and Adelaide are having trouble countering their ball movement. Mostly because the Dees keep missing targets but they are so used to it they know where to run. That's a bit what it looks like to me anyway.

I have been rooting like a maniac all weekend though.

Yes 11 pts up just before half time. Should be in front by more

03-07-2016, 06:15 PM
Watts on Betts? Wtf ? Must be the worst match up ever .. Roos that's a shocker

03-07-2016, 07:07 PM
Watts on Betts? Wtf ? Must be the worst match up ever .. Roos that's a shocker

Tanking.......:p

03-07-2016, 07:24 PM
Early rooting plans as i'll only have limited IT access this week

P W D L % PTS
2 Geelong 14 10 0 4 139.20 40
3 GWS Giants 14 10 0 4 138.60 40
4 Sydney 14 10 0 4 137.00 40
5 Adelaide 14 10 0 4 128.60 40
6 Bulldogs 14 10 0 4 118.60 40
7 Nth Melbourne 14 10 0 4 116.60 40
8 West Coast 14 9 0 5 134.80 36
9 Port Adelaide 14 7 0 7 110.90 28
10 Melbourne 14 6 0 8 101.70 24
11 Collingwood 14 6 0 8 90.30 24
12 Richmond 14 6 0 8 86.80 24
13 St Kilda 14 6 0 8 85.80 24
14 Carlton 14 6 0 8 81.00 24
15 Gold Coast 14 4 0 10 74.70 16
16 Fremantle 14 3 0 11 85.00 12
18 Essendon 14 1 0 13 54.70 4

In order

1WBU v Rich
2 CARL v ADEL
2 GWS v COLL
2 Port v HAW
3 GEEL v Syd maybe! A draw would be great??
WCE v NM maybe! If the final 8 was decided next week then yes for sure

New Feature ....

If all our roots come true

W D L PTS
1 Hawthorn 11 0 4 44
2 Sydney 11 0 4 44
3 Bulldogs 11 0 4 44
4 Geelong 10 0 5 40
5 GWS Giants 10 0 5 40
6 Adelaide 10 0 5 40
7 Nth Melbourn 10 0 5 40
8 West Coast 10 0 5 40

03-07-2016, 08:22 PM
Shouldn't we be rooting against any interstate teem in the top 8? Be better not to have to travel if we can help it.

03-07-2016, 08:28 PM
Good week for rooting with top 8 teams facing off and Hawthorn travelling to Port who need to win to keep their season alive.

03-07-2016, 08:40 PM
Good week for rooting with top 8 teams facing off and Hawthorn travelling to Port who need to win to keep their season alive.

Actually rather a Hawks loss than a port loss. The 8 won't change but with the Hawks percentage if they lose makes a really interesting top 4

03-07-2016, 08:41 PM
Shouldn't we be rooting against any interstate teem in the top 8? Be better not to have to travel if we can help it.

Agree! We don't want Sydney, Adelaide or GWS in the top 4.

Unless we finish top 2 then it doesn't matter ;)

03-07-2016, 08:57 PM
Thanks T&T. Hope this week is better than last week for you.

03-07-2016, 09:45 PM
I think we should refrain from rooting interstate.
I'll see myself out

03-07-2016, 11:37 PM
I just like rounds when 2 or more games feature 2 top 8 teams. Either losing is good for us - in the rooting business, you've got to love a sure thing.

06-07-2016, 01:22 PM
Good chance for a root on Thursday this week.

Port have won 3 off their last 4 against the Hawks (the one loss being the 3 point Prelim Final result). Their speed and tenacity has unsettled the Hawks' game plan before. I'll be flat out rooting.

06-07-2016, 06:24 PM
Port Adelaide should be our second team for the rest of the year. They've got some massive games against top 8 teams.

06-07-2016, 07:01 PM

Port have won 3 off their last 4 against the Hawks (the one loss being the 3 point Prelim Final result). Their speed and tenacity has unsettled the Hawks' game plan before. I'll be flat out rooting.

So you won't see the game then ?

06-07-2016, 10:55 PM

Yep, after the dogs, port are my best chance for a good root. Id love for carlton to get up, that would be a root out of the blue.
Surely the dogs wont be a disappointing root.

07-07-2016, 01:51 AM
So you won't see the game then ?

Sounds like he will be rooting in front of the TV.

07-07-2016, 01:54 AM
Yep, after the dogs, port are my best chance for a good root. Id love for carlton to get up, that would be a root out of the blue.
Surely the dogs wont be a disappointing root.

Oh. A blueroot. A rare treat.

09-07-2016, 03:54 PM
Bit of Saturday arvo rooting....pies by 18 points at half time after a 9 goal second term.
Would be a huge result for us. Hopefully they can keep it going in the second half.

09-07-2016, 04:02 PM
Long hard root for some Pie Loving ;)

09-07-2016, 04:38 PM
Great results so far if the pies hold on. But we need to Steven Bradbury and make sure we win to get a top 4 spot.

09-07-2016, 04:40 PM
42 pts up. Surely the Pies won't lose this.:eek:

09-07-2016, 04:44 PM
Cloke and Jesse White kicking multiple goals....it's certainly their day.

09-07-2016, 05:37 PM
Great result for us. We'll be 3rd tonight now if we win, and probably 4th at the end of the round (assuming Adelaide win & North don't)

09-07-2016, 05:50 PM
What a great Sat' Arvo Root that was ;)

09-07-2016, 06:01 PM
My tips are stuffed but who cares :D

09-07-2016, 07:44 PM
My tips are stuffed but who cares :D

Everyone's are, everyone's are!

10-07-2016, 12:07 AM
i'm glad you enjoyed today's rooting that I organised. You can call me the wingman.

10-07-2016, 12:36 AM
i'm glad you enjoyed today's rooting that I organised. You can call me the wingman.

Actually there is a different name for someone who organises roots. A Wingman enable roots by running interference with the fugly friend.

But great rooting this weekend.

10-07-2016, 01:25 AM
Big root required for dare I say, Carton

10-07-2016, 06:54 PM
Nearly perfect week T&T. Can you get the same great result again this week please?

10-07-2016, 07:02 PM
ive got another crazy week so i'll get in early when this rounds done.

10-07-2016, 08:49 PM
OK

Great weekend ladder wise.

As you all know, Sunday night is the night where T&T plans his rooting for next weekend

P W D L % PTS
1 Hawthorn 15 12 0 3 120.10 48
2 Sydney 15 11 0 4 138.50 44
3 Adelaide 15 11 0 4 132.30 44
4 Bulldogs 15 11 0 4 118.30 44

5 West Coas 15 10 0 5 135.40 40
6 Geelong 15 10 0 5 132.40 40
7 GWS Giants 15 10 0 5 132.10 40
8 Nth Melbourne 15 10 0 5 112.70 40

9 Port Adelaide 15 7 0 8 108.40 28
10 Melbourne 15 7 0 8 104.00 28
11 Collingwood 15 7 0 8 93.30 28
12 St Kilda 15 7 0 8 87.50 28
13 Richmond 15 6 0 9 86.90 24
14 Carlton 15 6 0 9 78.10 24
15 Gold Coast 15 5 0 10 78.10 20
16 Fremantle 15 3 0 12 83.60 12
17 Brisbane 15 1 0 14 62.40 4
18 Essendon 15 1 0 14 57.10 4

Next week there's plenty of matches with deep interest

WBU vs GC
Ade v Coll
Freo vs Geel
Syd v HAW
Carl v WC
BL v GWS
NM v Port

10-07-2016, 10:02 PM
Syd v HAW is that a misplaced root?
Should we be batting for the other side all being equal.

10-07-2016, 10:06 PM
Syd v HAW is that a misplaced root?
Should we be batting for the other side all being equal.

Thought about that. The general consensus on this board is we don't want to travel for a final

10-07-2016, 10:09 PM
Thought about that. The general consensus on this board is we don't want to travel for a final

It won't matter if we finish on top.;)

10-07-2016, 10:49 PM
That was almost the perfect weekend of rooting. I'm exhausted and need a cigarette.

10-07-2016, 10:50 PM
Can we root for a draw?

10-07-2016, 11:05 PM
Can we root for a draw?

Yes we can. But not sure if that would be good or bad

10-07-2016, 11:11 PM
We're more likely to finish above Hawthorn than Sydney IMO
Aside from that game, Geelong & North would be the only chances of a top 8 loss

10-07-2016, 11:33 PM
OK

Great weekend ladder wise.

As you all know, Sunday night is the night where T&T plans his rooting for next weekend

P W D L % PTS
1 Hawthorn 15 12 0 3 120.10 48
2 Sydney 15 11 0 4 138.50 44
3 Adelaide 15 11 0 4 132.30 44
4 Bulldogs 15 11 0 4 118.30 44

5 West Coas 15 10 0 5 135.40 40
6 Geelong 15 10 0 5 132.40 40
7 GWS Giants 15 10 0 5 132.10 40
8 Nth Melbourne 15 10 0 5 112.70 40

9 Port Adelaide 15 7 0 8 108.40 28
10 Melbourne 15 7 0 8 104.00 28
11 Collingwood 15 7 0 8 93.30 28
12 St Kilda 15 7 0 8 87.50 28
13 Richmond 15 6 0 9 86.90 24
14 Carlton 15 6 0 9 78.10 24
15 Gold Coast 15 5 0 10 78.10 20
16 Fremantle 15 3 0 12 83.60 12
17 Brisbane 15 1 0 14 62.40 4
18 Essendon 15 1 0 14 57.10 4

Next week there's plenty of matches with deep interest

WBU vs GC
Ade v Coll
Freo vs Geel
Syd v HAW
Carl v WC
BL v GWS
NM v Port

Of those I'd only rate GWS and North as unlikely to happen.

Geelong are a bit of an unknown after this weekend, they don't seem to have many excuses for what they served up on Friday.

10-07-2016, 11:39 PM

Geelong are a bit of an unknown after this weekend, they don't seem to have many excuses for what they served up on Friday.

Geelong also lost to Saints the week before, so something has happened to their confidence.

10-07-2016, 11:48 PM

You're game going out on a limb saying something is unlikely this season. I reckon Port might give North a real push. They will have set themselves to knock over a few top 8 teams in the run home. I'll be passionately rooting for them.

11-07-2016, 01:34 AM
Mixed feelings rooting in the Norf Eagle game .
Probably need Norf to win so the Eagles don't get any sniff of a home final, but patently have a dislike for Norf .
Confused rooting

11-07-2016, 01:37 AM
That was almost the perfect weekend of rooting. I'm exhausted and need a cigarette.

Watching us play and combined with rooting in other games, I need to become a smoker cos it's hard to watch

11-07-2016, 10:12 AM
Mixed feelings rooting in the Norf Eagle game .
Probably need Norf to win so the Eagles don't get any sniff of a home final, but patently have a dislike for Norf .
Confused rooting

Nope. This is not the time to be fussy. Take one for the team.

11-07-2016, 10:18 AM
You're game going out on a limb saying something is unlikely this season. I reckon Port might give North a real push. They will have set themselves to knock over a few top 8 teams in the run home. I'll be passionately rooting for them.

TD. You have gone from rooting like a maniac last weekend to passionately rooting next weekend. Are you in love?:)

11-07-2016, 06:08 PM
Champion Data sees is at 6th

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/every-afl-clubs-run-home-analysed-for-2016-season-fox-footys-predicted-ladder-and-finals-series/news-story/dfd11906218af1f9333a665736a04e31

PROJECTED LADDER

1. Sydney Swans (18-4)

2. Adelaide Crows (17-5)

3. GWS Giants (17-5)

4. Geelong Cats (17-5)

5. Hawthorn (17-5)

6. Western Bulldogs (17-5)

7. West Coast Eagles (15-7)

8. North Melbourne (13-9)

9. Port Adelaide (10-12)

10. Melbourne (10-12)

11. Collingwood (9-13)

12. St Kilda (9-13)

13. Richmond (8-14)

14. Carlton (8-14)

15. Gold Coast Suns (7-15)

16. Fremantle (3-19)

17. Essendon (2-20)

18. Brisbane Lions (1-21)

11-07-2016, 06:30 PM
TD. You have gone from rooting like a maniac last weekend to passionately rooting next weekend. Are you in love?:)

Only with the footy club. I can root like madman when it comes to that.

11-07-2016, 06:35 PM
Amazing that this far into the season, a ladder predictor can have a side going 17-5 and still only finishing 6th.

11-07-2016, 06:44 PM
Champion Data sees is at 6th

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/every-afl-clubs-run-home-analysed-for-2016-season-fox-footys-predicted-ladder-and-finals-series/news-story/dfd11906218af1f9333a665736a04e31

PROJECTED LADDER

1. Sydney Swans (18-4)

2. Adelaide Crows (17-5)

3. GWS Giants (17-5)

4. Geelong Cats (17-5)

5. Hawthorn (17-5)

7. West Coast Eagles (15-7)

8. North Melbourne (13-9)

9. Port Adelaide (10-12)

10. Melbourne (10-12)

11. Collingwood (9-13)

12. St Kilda (9-13)

13. Richmond (8-14)

14. Carlton (8-14)

15. Gold Coast Suns (7-15)

16. Fremantle (3-19)

17. Essendon (2-20)

18. Brisbane Lions (1-21)

17 Wins to only finish 6th is crazy, that would be the most wins we have ever had in a season! Normally you would expect to finish top 2 or 3 with that many wins.

To win 8 of our last 9 games would be an amazing effort. Unfortunately anything less could result in finishing 7th or 8th and a potential interstate final.

11-07-2016, 07:15 PM
Based on that finish, we'd play WC in Melbourne, then if we win likely to play GWS away and if we win that, Sydney away.

Yuck.

11-07-2016, 07:55 PM
Every other side has played Brisbane and Essendon we have not so I think our percentage should get a boost. I want to Finnish top 4 and believe we can!!!

11-07-2016, 09:32 PM
Every other side has played Brisbane and Essendon we have not so I think our percentage should get a boost. I want to Finnish top 4 and believe we can!!!

We have played Brisbane.

11-07-2016, 09:56 PM
Correct it should read Gold Coast no idea how I stuffed that up.

11-07-2016, 10:34 PM
Autocorrect has turned finish into Finnish as well.

11-07-2016, 11:46 PM
5. Hawthorn (17-5)

If we lose one less game than Hawthorn from here on out, then with a game against Essendon in hand we should pass them on percentage

12-07-2016, 09:22 AM
If we lose one less game than Hawthorn from here on out, then with a game against Essendon in hand we should pass them on percentage

You would expect that we would. On current scores we are 30 points scored short of Hawthorn's percentage. We should be looking to fix that this week and not wait until the Essendon game.

12-07-2016, 03:03 PM
You would expect that we would. On current scores we are 30 points scored short of Hawthorn's percentage. We should be looking to fix that this week and not wait until the Essendon game.

I'm hoping Hawthorn get done and we move into 3rd this week

12-07-2016, 03:15 PM
I'm hoping Hawthorn get done and we move into 3rd this week

Yes me too, sick of hawks

12-07-2016, 03:23 PM
Does anyone have Joe Biden's contact details?

US Vice-President books AFL ticket

US VICE-president Joe Biden is taking time off from the fight to defeat Donald Trump to attend an AFL game this weekend. Which team will he be rooting for?

12-07-2016, 03:58 PM

Send him a link to the thread. I will definitely change the thread title then.

12-07-2016, 04:13 PM

https://twitter.com/JoeBiden

12-07-2016, 04:47 PM
Is it a bridge too far for Collingwood to do us another favour, and beat Adelaide in Adelaide this weekend?

We will be having simultaneous roots on Saturday night.

12-07-2016, 04:54 PM
Is it a bridge too far for Collingwood to do us another favour, and beat Adelaide in Adelaide this weekend?

I think they're defence just isn't good enough to contain Adelaide's gun forward line. But if the Pies midfield can get on top - and it is one area Adelaide are vulnerable - who knows.

12-07-2016, 05:07 PM

Would be massive for us as would Carlton somehow finding a way against the Cokers at the G. We really need West Coke to drop a few unexpectedly otherwise they're going to roll on to a top 4 finish and possibly take our spot.

12-07-2016, 06:24 PM
Would be massive for us as would Carlton somehow finding a way against the Cokers at the G. We really need West Coke to drop a few unexpectedly otherwise they're going to roll on to a top 4 finish and possibly take our spot.

If 17 wins is needed for top 4 like predicted then there is no way West Coast will make it. They would have to win every game in a run home that includes GWS, Collingwood and Adelaide away and Hawthorn at home.

15-07-2016, 11:37 AM
If Collingwood beat the Crows , and we smash GC, we will be top

15-07-2016, 11:39 AM
If Collingwood beat the Crows , and we smash GC, we will be top

Not unless they give us 8 points for beating the Suns.

15-07-2016, 11:45 AM
Are Collingwood any chance? I would have said last week's result away to GWS was just about the toughest result to get in the league so stranger things have happened...

15-07-2016, 11:48 AM
typo second

15-07-2016, 03:51 PM
Laird out for the Thunderbirds

15-07-2016, 04:18 PM
this is what rooting is all about. Let's wish Eddie McGuire and Joffa and Nathan Buckley all have a fantastic weekend! #GoPies

15-07-2016, 04:40 PM
Adelaide have had a great run injury wise .
Barely had anyone out all year

15-07-2016, 04:43 PM
Geez. Rooting and Joffa in the same sentence. We are all taking one for the team there.

15-07-2016, 05:26 PM
I wonder if more Australians have ever barracked for Collingwood ever, on the same day?

15-07-2016, 05:53 PM
Last nights game I was divided who to root for. The important rooting starts tonight and goes through till Sunday. Another tiring weekend coming up.

15-07-2016, 07:02 PM
C'mon Freo you hacks make a mark in your awful existence and stand up for yourself against the Cats tonight. You'll be my second team until round 23 if you do.

15-07-2016, 09:40 PM
Nice start to tonight's root. Hope it has a happy ending.

15-07-2016, 10:05 PM
Been a very pleasurable root so far.

I've been admiring the Freo players' tackles all night.

15-07-2016, 10:23 PM
Been a very pleasurable root so far.

I've been admiring the Freo players' tackles all night.

Ha ha. I am rooting like a mad man. C'mon Freo

15-07-2016, 10:26 PM
I'm yelling at the TV with every Freo shank. Just a team full of battlers.

Anyway we can bring Walters to the Kennel. Guy is pure fire.

16-07-2016, 02:59 PM
Last nights game I was divided who to root for. The important rooting starts tonight and goes through till Sunday. Another tiring weekend coming up.

No headaches, no excuses!

16-07-2016, 11:17 PM
Next week is huge. Win over Saints and we are 3rd at the lowest. Geelong def Adelaide = 2nd. Richmond def Hawthorn = 1st.

16-07-2016, 11:57 PM
Next week is huge. Win over Saints and we are 3rd at the lowest. Geelong def Adelaide = 2nd. Richmond def Hawthorn = 1st.

I will be rooting my brains out.

17-07-2016, 12:25 AM

All possible.

17-07-2016, 12:52 AM
North's spiral has the added effect of keeping those teams in spots 9-13 close enough to have a crack, rather than start thinking about draft position.

Means they'll fight hard to upset top 8 teams and keep their season alive. We've got a few tricky ones coming up with Saints and Pies but we should be good enough.

I hope the Saints get done tomorrow as it will effectively end their year and that can cause teams to drop their bundle.

Ultimately I want North to limp to the line in 8th with a busted up team of over 30s. Would much rather this scenario than a team like Port that comes from nowhere on a big winning streak and a boatload of confidence - especially if we had to play them week 1.

17-07-2016, 01:23 AM
I like your thinking Comrade!!

17-07-2016, 01:41 AM
North's spiral has the added effect of keeping those teams in spots 9-13 close enough to have a crack, rather than start thinking about draft position.

Means they'll fight hard to upset top 8 teams and keep their season alive. We've got a few tricky ones coming up with Saints and Pies but we should be good enough.

I hope the Saints get done tomorrow as it will effectively end their year and that can cause teams to drop their bundle.

Ultimately I want North to limp to the line in 8th with a busted up team of over 30s. Would much rather this scenario than a team like Port that comes from nowhere on a big winning streak and a boatload of confidence - especially if we had to play them week 1.

Every team but Richmond. They play their best footy when their season is over. Even if they are 8 goals down at 3/4 time of a Elimanation final they kick 6 goals to 2 in the last quarter. Especially if their opponents kick the first 2 of the last.

17-07-2016, 11:18 PM
WBU vs GC YEP
Ade v Coll NUP
Freo vs Geel NUP
Syd v HAW YEP
Carl v WC NUP
BL v GWS NUP
NM v Port YEP

P W D L % PTS
1 Hawthorn 16 13 0 3 119.50 52
2 Adelaide 16 12 0 4 132.70 48
3 Bulldogs 16 12 0 4 121.50 48
4 GWS Giants 16 11 0 5 136.50 44
5 Sydney 16 11 0 5 135.50 44
6 West Coast 16 11 0 5 133.80 44
7 Geelong 16 11 0 5 132.20 44
8 Nth Melbourne 16 10 0 6 109.70 40
9 Port Adelaide 16 8 0 8 109.90 32
10 St Kilda 16 8 0 8 90.50 32
11 Melbourne 16 7 0 9 101.30 28
12 Collingwood 16 7 0 9 91.80 28
13 Richmond 16 7 0 9 88.90 28
14 Carlton 16 6 0 10 78.90 24
15 Gold Coast 16 5 0 11 76.70 20
16 Fremantle 16 3 0 13 83.30 12
17 Brisbane 16 1 0 15 61.20 4
18 Essendon 16 1 0 15 58.50 4

18-07-2016, 09:52 AM
Port v GWS in Adelaide this week is a very big root!

18-07-2016, 11:30 AM
P W D L % PTS

Just wanted to make sure we stood out.:)

18-07-2016, 11:33 AM
Adelaide vs Geelong this weekend is a very, very very good fixture for us

18-07-2016, 12:12 PM

Go Geelong.

I wouldn't like Adelaide finishing top 2. Hard to see them dropping to many more games. Hopefully Port can pummel them in the Hodown.

18-07-2016, 12:20 PM
Do we want Geelong to win to hurt Adelaide's ladder position or do we want Geelong to stay in poor form?

18-07-2016, 12:26 PM
Do we want Geelong to win to hurt Adelaide's ladder position or do we want Geelong to stay in poor form?

We want Adelaide's ladder position hurt and we want Dangerfield hurt as well.

18-07-2016, 12:27 PM

So is us v Geelong the following week for Adelaide.

18-07-2016, 01:50 PM
So is us v Geelong the following week for Adelaide.

Only if we lose.

18-07-2016, 03:46 PM
Only if we lose.

Wash your mouth out TD. Lose is not at option.

20-07-2016, 10:44 PM
As you all know, Wednesday night is the night when T&T plans his weekend rooting

P W D L % PTS

In order of priority:

WBU v St K

Geel b Ade
HAW v Rich
WCE v Mel
Syd v Car

20-07-2016, 10:47 PM
In order of priority:

WBU v St K

Geel b Ade
HAW v Rich
WCE v Mel
Syd v Car

Port v GWS is the 3rd biggest game of the round outside ours and the Geelong game.

Need Port to win and keep the plastic franchise away from top 4.

20-07-2016, 10:57 PM
Some tough games to pick from this weekend. Go Port.

20-07-2016, 11:08 PM
Richmond winning would be such a Richmond thing to do.

Geelong v Adelaide is win-win for us. Geelong wins and we can overtake Adelaide, Adelaide wins and we can put a gap on Geelong. If Port can get over GWS it makes top 4 look very likely for us.

Of course, this is on the proviso that we do the job against St Kilda.

20-07-2016, 11:17 PM
In order of priority:

WBU v St K

Geel b Ade
HAW v Rich
WCE v Mel
Syd v Car

I would go:

WB d StK
Mel d WCE
Port d GWS
Car d Syd
Rich d Haw
Ade d Geel

That's written with finishing top 4 in mind. West Coast are most vulnerable to missing so they're at the top, followed by GWS, Sydney and Hawthorn. Adelaide and Geelong could both finish top 4 so that result isn't as important, but if I had to pick I would want Adelaide to win as they are likely to finish above us even if Geelong beat them, whereas a Geelong loss could be the difference between us finishing above them and below them. It would also mean Geelong are in bad form for when we get to play them

20-07-2016, 11:23 PM
As you all know, Wednesday night is the night when T&T plans his weekend rooting

P W D L % PTS

In order of priority:

WBU v St K

Geel b Ade
HAW v Rich
WCE v Mel
Syd v Car

Oh and Port v GWS up high

20-07-2016, 11:25 PM
Richmond winning would be such a Richmond thing to do.

Have you been listening to the new Wil Anderson / Charlie Clausen footy podcast too? It's very good #Richmondish

20-07-2016, 11:54 PM
We have the Power to win
We have the Power to, umm, swim
Port Adelaide aggression.

Is that how their song goes?

21-07-2016, 12:12 AM
We have the Power to win

Then something about Port, and maybe something about Snort

21-07-2016, 12:39 AM
We have the Power to win

They claim they won't stop until they're top. So I guess they're happy to win round 1 by a lot and then take a year off.

21-07-2016, 02:28 AM
Interested in the Pies Norf clash too I think I want Norf to win. Not by much but a fully fledged assault from an 8th placed Port sort of worries me.

21-07-2016, 09:00 AM
So Richmondy!

Wil & Charlie are very funny.

21-07-2016, 09:21 AM

Then a bit about bash bash bash I think. Something about the docks maybe. Or ducks or something.

21-07-2016, 09:32 AM
I'd go with Adelaide over Geelong, if we win that would put us two games clear of Geelong and would mean if they get over us the next week we are still a game up on them.

21-07-2016, 10:09 AM
I'd go with Adelaide over Geelong, if we win that would put us two games clear of Geelong and would mean if they get over us the next week we are still a game up on them.

If Adelaide keep winning they will end up top two.

21-07-2016, 10:22 AM
If Adelaide keep winning they will end up top two.

Yeah exactly, would we rather play Adelaide or Geelong in a final?...our record against either is not good, but the Adelaide ones stick to mind more. The match ups themselves I would say i'd rather play Geelong. Adelaide's ability to score quickly on the rebound, and their big men are our biggest threat to our defensive grid style. I think we had a shocker against Geelong earlier this year, letting Danger run riot and generally not cracking in, can also add the bizarre number of missed shots on goal we had.
Let's see our better effort down at SS stadium in a few weeks and decide.

21-07-2016, 10:30 AM

Well now I know what the "true Port Adelaide tradition" is.

21-07-2016, 10:46 AM
Have you been listening to the new Wil Anderson / Charlie Clausen footy podcast too? It's very good #Richmondish

Cyril Rioli as the beautiful wife who only needs to go to charity functions, because her husband (Hawthorn) has made enough money. Funny.

21-07-2016, 11:49 AM
In regards to the Adelaide Geelong match it is hard to decide who to root for. It probably will be more clearer in 2 to 3 weeks. We could be regretting our root then.

21-07-2016, 12:59 PM
Interested in the Pies Norf clash too I think I want Norf to win. Not by much but a fully fledged assault from an 8th placed Port sort of worries me.

Think you need to get to bed earlier mate, they played North last week. They have GWS this week, which I think is also a critical fixture for us.
I think we'd be best served if Port keeps winning, or at least takes the scalps of GWS, Sydney and Adelaide. Hopefully, in a a very Port way, they then drop games to the likes of GC and Melbourne because I too would hate to get them in the finals and would feel much more comfortable taking on The Dad's Army Kangaroos.

21-07-2016, 01:14 PM
P W D L % PTS

The Geelong/Adelaide question is a difficult one. As mentioned, we don't want Geelong finding form and we'd like to have a two game gap on them, but we don't really want Adelaide getting a home final (and definitely not in front of us from 1st or 2nd).

So call me greedy, but can we root for both (or, more precisely, against both)? I think we need to take our best wing man and try to pull off the unlikely double- the draw.

Both teams are likely to have a better percentage than us come seasons end anyway so a draw basically becomes a loss for both teams- Adelaide falls a half game behind us and Geelong fall a game and a half behind us (which is the same as us being a win or two wins clear respectively with our vastly inferior percentage).

Pulling two roots is a tough business, but I guess it's don't ask don't get. This is the scenario we need and won't the other teams be envious if we manage to pull this one.

21-07-2016, 04:54 PM
Think you need to get to bed earlier mate, they played North last week. They have GWS this week, which I think is also a critical fixture for us.
I think we'd be best served if Port keeps winning, or at least takes the scalps of GWS, Sydney and Adelaide. Hopefully, in a a very Port way, they then drop games to the likes of GC and Melbourne because I too would hate to get them in the finals and would feel much more comfortable taking on The Dad's Army Kangaroos.

You missed the point.. He wants Norf to win to help snuff out any chance Port have of making a run for 8th spot.

21-07-2016, 05:11 PM
The Geelong/Adelaide question is a difficult one. As mentioned, we don't want Geelong finding form and we'd like to have a two game gap on them, but we don't really want Adelaide getting a home final (and definitely not in front of us from 1st or 2nd).

So call me greedy, but can we root for both (or, more precisely, against both)? I think we need to take our best wing man and try to pull off the unlikely double- the draw.

Both teams are likely to have a better percentage than us come seasons end anyway so a draw basically becomes a loss for both teams- Adelaide falls a half game behind us and Geelong fall a game and a half behind us (which is the same as us being a win or two wins clear respectively with our vastly inferior percentage).

Pulling two roots is a tough business, but I guess it's don't ask don't get. This is the scenario we need and won't the other teams be envious if we manage to pull this one.

A draw would be a massive win for us given the percentage difference. I really wouldn't like to see the Cows finish top 2 and have at least two home finals.

21-07-2016, 05:15 PM
I think the Friday night game has implication on our top root game this week, which is our game. So it needs to be included in the root schedule this weekend.

If Norf lose, this give the Saints a lot of motivation to roll us. All of a sudden they would be 1 game out of the 8 with a very good run home to come (they don't leave Melbourne)

If Norf win then they would be no hope.

21-07-2016, 05:39 PM
I think the Friday night game has implication on our top root game this week, which is our game. So it needs to be included in the root schedule this weekend.

If Norf lose, this give the Saints a lot of motivation to roll us. All of a sudden they would be 1 game out of the 8 with a very good run home to come (they don't leave Melbourne)

If Norf win then they would be no hope.

I think Friday night is always a great night to root, after a couple of after work beers.

21-07-2016, 05:39 PM
You missed the point.. He wants Norf to win to help snuff out any chance Port have of making a run for 8th spot.

We would much rather Port have something to play for IMO

21-07-2016, 06:00 PM
We would much rather Port have something to play for IMO

Yep, keep Port in the season for as long as possible then finally have their chances snuffed right at the end.

They've got some big games against top 8 teams coming up.

21-07-2016, 06:04 PM

Ahh, right you are. I just reread it and I missed "pies". Thought it was talking about the North vPort fixture.

On another note, I agree with Comrade re: keeping Port in it till the latter rounds. I hope they can take points and physically batter GWS, Sydney, and Adelaide.

21-07-2016, 06:56 PM
In regards to the Adelaide Geelong match it is hard to decide who to root for. It probably will be more clearer in 2 to 3 weeks. We could be regretting our root then.

Wouldn't be the first time I have regretted a root a couple of weeks down the track when things have cleared up.

21-07-2016, 08:02 PM
Geelong v Crows
I guess we'd be rooting for a close result , draw would be perfect ( I think)
Need Carlton to beat Sydney ( unlikely )
Dees to beat the Eagles ( unlikely over there)
Port to beat the plastics ( still reckon Norf will finish in the eight)
Pies to beat Norf (the fallout will be amusing )
Richmond to beat Hawthorn ( God , go tigers)

23-07-2016, 05:31 PM
I rooted hard for Carlton ( very unenjoyable root)
But alas Sydney squeak home