View Full Version : Clay Ready to Go

06-06-2016, 08:48 PM
http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2016-06-06/smith-ready-to-go-wood-out-for-power

Clay Smith is on the verge of a match play return this weekend, with the hard-edged midfielder cleared to play by the Club’s medical staff.

After completing a lengthy rehabilitation following a third knee reconstruction, the 23-year-old is set to return to the field for the first time since round six last season.

It is expected Smith will return through the VFL for the Footscray Bulldogs on Saturday against Geelong.

Meanwhile, fellow ACL victim Roarke Smith has been cleared to return to full training, with a return to play not too far away either.

Speaking to westernbulldogs.com.au, General Manager Football Graham Lowe said he was pleased that both players had hit these key milestones in their recovery.

“Both those two have been working hard for an extended period of time, in terms of their recovery from their ACL injuries,” Lowe said

“It’s great to welcome Clay back, and have Roarke really close as well.”

While the news is good for the Smiths, acting skipper Easton Wood will have to sit out Saturday’s clash with Port Adelaide after incurring a minor hamstring strain in the lead up to Sunday’s win over West Coast.

“Woody got a low grade hamstring injury at training on Saturday, he won’t be available to play this weekend,” Lowe told BulldogsTV.

“We’re going to assess him next week with a view to his availability for round 13.”

Toby McLean is set for a lengthy stint on the sidelines, after scans today confirmed a mid footy injury.

“Toby has a right mid foot sprain that he got during the AFL game,” Lowe said.

“We’re going to manage him conservatively, [and] he’s going to be in a moon boot for three to four weeks.”

Lowe indicated McLean’s return to play date would be assessed once he has come out of the boot.

Meanwhile in VFL action at the weekend, Nathan Hrovat sustained a high grade AC joint injury in his right shoulder and also has a sideline stint ahead of him.

Lowe indicated a rehabilitation program would be determined for him following a specialist consultation.

“We’re seeking a specialist opinion, and subject to that opinion we’ll confirm whether he’ll require surgical intervention. “

06-06-2016, 08:49 PM
Please, Footballing Gods, let this return be a little more permanent.

06-06-2016, 09:11 PM
Please, Footballing Gods, let this return be a little more permanent.

Amen brother WD. I'd love to see anything close to his best footy. It's darn good. I wonder if there's a set role for him up forward midfield or a more straight line running rebounding defender?

06-06-2016, 09:28 PM
Surely he's made enough sacrifices to the footy gods to last a lifetime.

Time to leave him alone and get on with things.

06-06-2016, 11:16 PM
I love the thought of his first game back in the ones. We'll be running through brick walls. God help the opposition with a rehabilitated Clay and Libba together in the middle.

06-06-2016, 11:25 PM
Hrovat not having much luck

06-06-2016, 11:27 PM
Good luck to Clay

07-06-2016, 12:13 AM
Amen brother WD. I'd love to see anything close to his best footy. It's darn good. I wonder if there's a set role for him up forward midfield or a more straight line running rebounding defender?

Up forward shooting for goal. He's a lovely kick for goal.

07-06-2016, 06:55 AM
Poor bloke has had way too much bad luck.Honestly my favourite young pup, tough as nails.

07-06-2016, 08:36 AM
l will hold my breath and hope all goes well for Clay.
Good Luck

07-06-2016, 10:43 AM
Hope he gets a good run at it.. I don't know where (if) he fits in anymore, but hoping he gets the opportunity to prove his worth.

07-06-2016, 11:19 AM
Lets all just remember what Clay brought to the table. Serious hard nut but a seriously smart footballer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Vw7i25y0sQ

He can play anywhere when in form.

07-06-2016, 11:24 AM
Lets all just remember what Clay brought to the table. Serious hard nut but a seriously smart footballer.

Thanks for that 1 eyedog. It is easy to forget how good he was.

07-06-2016, 02:25 PM
Great to hear. I so much hope he'll come back and play senior footy again.

Gee Hrovat has been desperately unlucky. He may not have had one 'big' injury but overall the time he's actually been fit and raring to go has been so limited.

07-06-2016, 04:03 PM
I really hope he just plays his role in the firsts for few weeks and doesn't try anything too crazy.
Then improves in increments. I'll be cheering for him.

07-06-2016, 04:54 PM
I really hope he just plays his role in the firsts for few weeks and doesn't try anything too crazy.
Then improves in increments. I'll be cheering for him.

Somehow I doubt he will, he seems like the all or nothing type to me. Wouldn't surprise me to see him play his first vfl game and knock up a dozen tackles and 25 disposals and a lot of contested possessions.

Watching that footage he reminds me of Matty Robbins for some reason.

I think Smith and Honeychurch will be competing for the same spot if it comes available. Aggressive half forward/midfield.

Would be interesting to see how he goes as a defender, would be hard to outbody Clay 1 on 1. Disposal isn't great but has some attributes that might work as a small/mid lockdown defender type. Might also be a bit easier on his knees playing from behind and defending rather than having to twist and turnaround as much up the ground. Just an idea.

07-06-2016, 06:19 PM
Great news for Clay.
Hope he can get back to being the bulldog that he is.

07-06-2016, 10:16 PM

Weird seeing McCartney in the box. So much changes so quickly. Geez Dahlhaus is a jet.

Good luck Clay. You deserve it.

07-06-2016, 11:44 PM
Brilliant debut wasn't it!

I noticed in that video that Liam Jones almost got a possession a couple of times.

Good luck Clay. So glad to have him back.

08-06-2016, 12:14 PM
I think Smith and Honeychurch will be competing for the same spot if it comes available. Aggressive half forward/midfield.
+ Dunkley and Stevens>

Tough spot to nail down, especially with creative types being favoured at the minute for the other spots here (Caleb Daniel & Toby McLean when fit).

08-06-2016, 12:35 PM
Great for everybody that Clay is back playing.

From the outside, it appears that Clay is very very popular and important to the group of players.

08-06-2016, 02:18 PM
All I want from Clay this year is to see out the season unscathed playing for Footscray. Anything else is a bonus this year. He really needs to get confidence in his body.

08-06-2016, 05:04 PM
I like the joke Bevo played on Clay:

"I mentioned to him the other day we've mucked up the paper work because he's actually on the long-term injury list, and he had to wait another week," Beveridge said.

"So he threatened to play at community level and we all laughed about it.

"It's such a tumultuous period for any player, and he's been through it three times, so it's obviously made him stronger.

"He's a great character, Clay."

08-06-2016, 06:33 PM
Hope he gets a good run at it.. I don't know where (if) he fits in anymore, but hoping he gets the opportunity to prove his worth.

He's a reliable shot for goal. That's a point of difference in this team.

08-06-2016, 07:20 PM
I love Clay , imagine him in this form in our forward line , I would be telling our mids to dribble the ball into the forward line and let Clay rip the opposition a new one

08-06-2016, 09:51 PM
He's a reliable shot for goal. That's a point of difference in this team.

Is he? I'm absolutely pumped to have him back, but his ball drop used to make me look away in pain.

08-06-2016, 10:44 PM
Is he? I'm absolutely pumped to have him back, but his ball drop used to make me look away in pain.

Yeah he mungrels it but somehow manages to kick it straight through the big sticks most times. His field kicking is pretty unreliable but it all comes good when he is kicking for goal.

A bit like Suckling's technique is all wrong and his centre is way off when his foot hits the ball but other than Lindsay Gilbee I can't think of a more effective kick of the footy playing for us. Small sample I admit.

08-06-2016, 10:46 PM
I love Clay , imagine him in this form in our forward line , I would be telling our mids to dribble the ball into the forward line and let Clay rip the opposition a new one

Chaos ball. The next tactical move,

08-06-2016, 11:17 PM
Chaos ball. The next tactical move,

Chaos ball has been raised a few times on its forum and given how many sound sets of hands we have at ground level it makes sense.

08-06-2016, 11:42 PM
Chaos ball has been raised a few times on its forum and given how many sound sets of hands we have at ground level it makes sense.

Yep. A coach will implement it one day and be hailed as a genius.

But we will know who the charismatic and brilliant thinkers who posited the idea first.

09-06-2016, 02:09 AM
Yeah he mungrels it but somehow manages to kick it straight through the big sticks most times. His field kicking is pretty unreliable but it all comes good when he is kicking for goal.

A bit like Suckling's technique is all wrong and his centre is way off when his foot hits the ball but other than Lindsay Gilbee I can't think of a more effective kick of the footy playing for us. Small sample I admit.

Do you play the kid in a defensive mode, try to mitigate the damage that could be done, or to hell with it and let him loose?

09-06-2016, 02:17 AM
Weird seeing McCartney in the box. So much changes so quickly. Geez Dahlhaus is a jet.

Good luck Clay. You deserve it.

And weird hearing Rocket commentate.

09-06-2016, 09:07 AM
Do you play the kid in a defensive mode, try to mitigate the damage that could be done, or to hell with it and let him loose?

Pretty much the whole team plays in defensive mode these days. But I don't think he would have the pace or delivery to play in the backline. Forward or bust I'd say.

09-06-2016, 10:37 AM

I would love to see a chaos ball come into an outnumbered Stringer, rather than a bomb on his head.

10-06-2016, 04:11 PM
We have a bloke coming back after 3 knees that barely gets a mention, yet we get 24/7 on the Cloke Soap opera .
The afl media are pathetic

10-06-2016, 05:53 PM
Great piece on Clay:

Menzel heaps praise on the feat of Clay (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-06-09/daniel-menzel-heaps-praise-on-the-feat-of-clay-smith)

WHEN Clay Smith makes his long awaited return from a third knee reconstruction in the VFL this weekend, the luckless Bulldog will be in the thoughts of a peer who has a travelled a frighteningly similar journey.

Daniel Menzel's courageous battle to overcome the dreaded ACL tear on four occasions is one of football's most inspiring tales, and the Geelong forward has formed a strong bond with Smith.

Menzel has only played 31 games in seven seasons at the Cats, while Smith has just 34 senior appearances to his name since making his debut in round one, 2012.

Menzel's own footy commitments won't allow him to support his friend at Whitten Oval on Saturday, but Smith will re-enter the fray with the best wishes of the football world and some sage advice from the classy Cat.

"When I heard he was going to play this weekend I texted him saying I was rapt for him and that I would definitely be keeping an eye on him," Menzel told AFL.com.au.

"I said enjoy the game and be proud of what you've achieved because like me, he wants to come back and play good footy.

"I feel so pumped for Clay because he's so excited to be playing again and he's worked so hard to get there."

The rehabilitation from repeated knee reconstructions is both mentally and physically draining, and Menzel believes only the very strong in body and mind can see the arduous recovery periods through.

Those all-important traits were clearly evident in the rugged midfielder from the first meeting, Menzel said.

"To come back from one, let alone multiple ACLs, you think to yourself how unfair it is he has to go through that again," he said.

"You speak to some blokes and you notice the drive to get back isn't that high, or they have doubts, but with Clay there's a lot of belief.

"To hear that he's back is really pleasing, but not surprising at all."

While he said Smith would probably run down the race with some psychological scars to go with his physical ones, Menzel was sure the 23-year-old's thorough preparation would exorcise any mental demons.

"The first contest he gets knocked over will be a little nerve-racking, and (the injuries) are certainly in the back of your mind, but you don't think about after that," he said.

"But once you've done enough contact drills, you're over the fear of a reoccurrence.

"Clay will be at the stage now where he's done everything at training, and he will have full confidence going into the game."

In a quirk of the fixture, the Dogs play the Cats twice in the next eight weeks, and Menzel believed it would be a special occasion if the kindred spirits squared off in Smith's first AFL game since round six last year.

"Eight weeks is a long time, and it took me six weeks in the VFL last time, but you never know," Menzel pondered.

"It would be pretty special to play against Clay in his first game back.

"It would be weird because we wouldn't want to tackle each other."

10-06-2016, 08:14 PM
Gee I'm worried about the greasy conditions.

10-06-2016, 08:54 PM
Good luck Clay and hopefully will see him in the seniors very soon. Will be keen to hear how he travels tomorrow.

10-06-2016, 08:55 PM
We have a bloke coming back after 3 knees that barely gets a mention, yet we get 24/7 on the Cloke Soap opera .

So agree with this Remi. Cloke was featured on the news again last night.

11-06-2016, 03:07 AM

To be fair Cloke was a match winner for the biggest club in Australia for a while and his drop off has been precipitous. Clay is a great story of persistence but nowhere near Cloke's peak. Both have *!*!*!*!ing awful kicking actions though...

11-06-2016, 04:06 AM
To be fair Cloke was a match winner for the biggest club in Australia for a while and his drop off has been precipitous. Clay is a great story of persistence but nowhere near Cloke's peak. Both have *!*!*!*!ing awful kicking actions though...

No doubting the playing credentials of Cloke compared to Clay, and Collingwood's profile, but it's ad-nauseum on Travis .
You've got a guy coming back from a knee reco, and yet it doesn't get even acknowledged .

11-06-2016, 05:32 AM
No doubting the playing credentials of Cloke compared to Clay, and Collingwood's profile, but it's ad-nauseum on Travis .
You've got a guy coming back from a knee reco, and yet it doesn't get even acknowledged .

I'm confident that his afl comeback will be sufficiently covered, but I agree the fascination with Clokes vfl matches was so ridiculous it was noticeable from the other side of the world!

11-06-2016, 05:37 PM
VFL: Clay Smith best on ground for Footscray in return match
(http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/vfl-clay-smith-best-on-ground-for-footscray-in-return-match-20160611-gph1jr.html)

Western Bulldogs midfielder Clay Smith was typically best on ground with 36 disposals and five tackles on return from a third anterior cruciate ligament injury in Footscray's seven-point win over Geelong at Whitten Oval on Saturday.

Smith, in his first match since rupturing the ACL in his right knee in round six against St Kilda last season, has had a history of dominating VFL matches on return from knee injuries.

He had 39 touches on return from his first ACL injury in 2014 – and followed that up with another 24-disposals best on ground display in 2015 on return from his second knee injury.

Of course, he hopes the concerning pattern that has followed those displays to stop – the dreaded ACL.

"I didn't want to moz him, but historically, he's always had an impact as soon as he's come back," Bulldogs VFL coach Ash Hansen said.

"I think it's a combination of our rehab staff, who have prepared him really well for his return."

"Clay himself, the way he's applied himself over the past year where it can be really devastating to go through the process again. But because he's known what he's had to do, he's been really diligent. I think for his contribution to be the way it was, was a great reflection on Clay," he said.

Hansen added: "I wouldn't have cared if he had five touches and just got through the game healthy, but to have that contribution certainly allowed us to win which I'm sure he'll be proud of."

Despite the 23-year-old's dominant performance, it is likely that he will be forced to wait to add to his 34 AFL match tally.

"He wasn't restricted game time wise, he was in our normal rotations," Hansen said.

"I think for Clay, a lot of it is about continuity and getting a lot of footy into him. With the AFL team going relatively well at the moment, obviously you have to wait for an opportunity but I don't think would want to rush Clay."

"But certainly he will be a week by week discussion on where he's at. He will obviously build up over the next few weeks and get some confidence in his game style and his role," he said.

On return from suspension, Lin Jong also pressed for a senior recall with 30 disposals.

"Obviously he's disappointed he's had to miss games through suspension, but obviously he's able to still train and he's carried over his form. It was really strong at VFL level which warranted AFL selection," Hansen said.

Hansen said Tom Boyd also showed some encouraging form in his second match back from a shoulder injury, despite not hitting the scoreboard.

"He didn't hit the scoreboard and I know that's where everyone is going to look at straight away, but I think he impacted the game in other areas. He took more marks this week and defensively, he was better," he said.

Jed Adcock and Lukas Webb (24 disposals) also added to the Dogs' impressive depth.

"Squads allow for team success at AFL level. We'll certainly be calling on all of these guys at some point in the back half of the year. That's what we do preach, is that you need a portfolio of performances at VFL level to gain selection. It's not like in the past where a one game performance has been rewarded," he said.

Geelong forward Mitch Clark got through unscathed in his second match on return from a calf injury with 16 disposals and a last-quarter goal. Sam Menegola impressed with 21 disposals.

11-06-2016, 05:41 PM
Cmon Clay!!

11-06-2016, 05:49 PM
If Dahl's out for a while is Clay the replacement maybe?

11-06-2016, 05:56 PM

He needs another month at it with Footscray for mine.

11-06-2016, 06:44 PM
Huge heart this kid! Hope he can get a fair run at it from now on, the kid deserves a break for a change. Tickled pink he did so well today, just wish i was there to see it. Can't wait to see him in the seniors.

11-06-2016, 07:48 PM

Bevo even mentioned how well he played in his presser when asked when will injured players be coming back in.

11-06-2016, 07:56 PM
He needs another month at it with Footscray for mine.

Not sure if you saw his game today but he is way above VFL level after missing a year.
He scares players !
I would play him or at the least after the bye.

11-06-2016, 07:59 PM
Lets hope Clay gets a fair run at it from here. I hate seeing guys not able to get a fair shot at a footy career due to injury.

11-06-2016, 08:13 PM
Not sure if you saw his game today but he is way above VFL level after missing a year.
He scares players !
I would play him or at the least after the bye.

I didn't, and I'm glad he's played well first up.

His knee is one thing, but fitness is another and he'll be pulling up extremely tired and sore in his first few weeks to the point where soft tissue injuries are a real concern. He needs conditioning and he can't get that at the highest level after such a significant time out of the game.

If it was last year and substituting players was still a thing, then perhaps you could ease him in or out of a game after one or two reserves games, but this year there's no place to hide players who aren't ready.

11-06-2016, 09:56 PM
It was great to see the players form a guard of honour and cheer Clay off. And spray him liberally with Gatorade. Clay didn't seem to mind though, he was looking pretty happy.

14-06-2016, 11:11 AM
On Saturday Clay looked (fitness wise) like he'd been playing all year. He was relentless and dynamic around the ball. I'd say his playing time was less than the other mids though. If he was playing 80%+ game time, he probably would have had 50, such was the ease in which he found the footy.

You'd imagine second up will be tougher.

14-06-2016, 12:00 PM
If we did pick him this week, one positive is the bye the next week. Getting over the first AFL game back can be a killer for players who have been out a long time.

14-06-2016, 02:38 PM
Clay is going to be a real plus for us in the second part of the year. The question will be. Who will he replace when all are available?

14-06-2016, 05:31 PM
Clay is going to be a real plus for us in the second part of the year. The question will be. Who will he replace when all are available?

Good point, Probably Dunkley in all likelihood.

15-06-2016, 12:12 PM
Given we are already widely recognised as the hardest at it midfield group in 2016, it's hard not to smile at the thought of Clay Smith and Koby Stevens being added to the mix. Our depth of hard at it mids should lead to a relentlessness of pressure that will be a massive advantage.

24-06-2016, 11:03 AM
Clay has had a good start to his comeback with possessions of 36 and 31 in the two weeks. He also helped get us over the line last week in the huge comeback against Frankston and as BIDS54 reported, he was heard at 3/4 time yelling "come on we can win this".

Clay is our number one draft pick from 2011, but has only played 34 senior games. I have no doubt he will force his way back into the team, with Dahl missing at the moment.

Good Luck to Clay, can't wait to see him back.

24-06-2016, 11:33 AM
Clay has had a good start to his comeback with possessions of 36 and 31 in the two weeks. He also helped get us over the line last week in the huge comeback against Frankston and as BIDS54 reported, he was heard at 3/4 time yelling "come on we can win this".

Clay is our number one draft pick from 2011, but has only played 34 senior games. I have no doubt he will force his way back into the team, with Dahl missing at the moment.

Ditto BAD. It is easy to forget how good a player was after they have been out of the game for a while. I always enjoyed watching Clay play hard and tough and he also is a reliable kick for goal which is a big plus too.

24-06-2016, 11:47 AM
Ditto BAD. It is easy to forget how good a player was after they have been out of the game for a while. I always enjoyed watching Clay play hard and tough and he also is a reliable kick for goal which is a big plus too.

Perhaps he can come back in as a small forward, like in his first game.

24-06-2016, 12:26 PM

Well said mate. Love Clay, desperately hope his knees hold up. He's a wrecking ball.