View Full Version : Game Day AFL Week 3 Preliminary Final - GWS Giants V Western Bulldogs

22-09-2016, 10:06 PM
Margin: Dogs by 14 points - We are going to the Grand Final!!
First Goal: Dahl to get us going
Best On Ground: Picken
Crowd: Mostly of our passionate supporters and hardly any of theirs

Go the Mighty Bulldogs!!

22-09-2016, 10:08 PM
Dogs by 42
BOG & FG - Tom Boyd (5 goals)
Crowd - Packed Out 24,000 with over half dogs or dogs supporting people

22-09-2016, 10:12 PM
Can we just win 1 Prelim. FFS'S
Dogs by 53pts
BOG-Libba
FG-Dicko

Let's Go Dogs!!!!
WOOF WOOF!!!!

22-09-2016, 10:22 PM
Dogs by 21points
BOG: Bont
First goal: Dicko

We can do it

22-09-2016, 10:27 PM
Dogs by 40
BOG- Bont
First goal- Dickson

22-09-2016, 10:33 PM
Dogs by 24
BOG - Libba
First goal - T Boyd

22-09-2016, 10:51 PM
Dogs by 11
BOG: Him
FG: Dicko

Resting heart rate: High
Post match beers: Many

22-09-2016, 11:26 PM
GWS by 30
First Goal McLean
BOG Macrae

Just a bit too slick for us I fear

22-09-2016, 11:33 PM
Tipping against us has worked so far so I'm sticking with that. Can't bring myself to type the words though.

22-09-2016, 11:40 PM
Dogs by 22 points
BOG - Libba, feel like he's ready for an amazing game.
First Goal - Dicko - loves bobbing up early.
Crowd - 23,111

Sunday prediction - whoever is seated next to me on the 9am flight home to not enjoy having sat next to the bloke who celebrated the dogs win until a couple of hours before the flight.

23-09-2016, 12:12 AM
Dogs by 22 points
BOG - Libba, feel like he's ready for an amazing game.
First Goal - Dicko - loves bobbing up early.
Crowd - 23,111

Sunday prediction - whoever is seated next to me on the 9am flight home to not enjoy having sat next to the bloke who celebrated the dogs win until a couple of hours before the flight.

Qantas? Could be me.:D

23-09-2016, 12:47 AM
Yeah mate. QANTAS.....at least I got an exit row.

23-09-2016, 10:09 AM
Dogs 5 points
BOG T Boyd
First Goal Clay Smith

Crowd: 15,000 rabid dogs supporters.

23-09-2016, 10:16 AM
We win. 13 Points.
BOG Easton Wood
First Goal Tory Dickson

23-09-2016, 03:17 PM
I'm not sure we can overcome the impressive stat that I saw on one of the footy show's this week.....

"The Bulldogs have never won at Spotless Stadium".

We have played there once.

I'll be sure to tell people that the ground should suit us because "We've only ever lost at Spotless once in our history".

23-09-2016, 03:38 PM
We win , I don't care how. Just a win
Bog Team effort
1st Goal Dickson ( make amends for last week)

BTW Just in case you didn't know Jobe Watson is returning .

23-09-2016, 05:17 PM
I'm not sure we can overcome the impressive stat that I saw on one of the footy show's this week.....

"The Bulldogs have never won at Spotless Stadium".

We have played there once.

I'll be sure to tell people that the ground should suit us because "We've only ever lost at Spotless once in our history".

We've also never lost to Hawthorn in the 2016 AFL finals series,so I guess it all evens out.

23-09-2016, 07:48 PM
We've also never lost to Hawthorn in the 2016 AFL finals series,so I guess it all evens out.

We've won 2 finals this year. How many have GWS won? How many have they won at home? We've won 2 away!!

23-09-2016, 09:34 PM
We've won 2 finals this year. How many have GWS won? How many have they won at home? We've won 2 away!!

If we win tomorrow, we will be the first Victorian team to ever win two finals on the road. That record would be wonderful.

23-09-2016, 10:17 PM
Dogs by 27
First goal - T Boyd. Takes any pressure off him early.
BOG - Stringer. He's overdue for a massive one.

#whynotus

24-09-2016, 12:28 AM
Scrays by enough to sashay into a well earned granny.
BOG : Him
First Major : Toyd

If you're feeling justifiably antsy, I find re-watching the 3rd quarter versus the Hawks a fine tonic. We'll get 'em tomorrow.

24-09-2016, 07:56 AM
Draw, then Dogs by 1 in overtime
BOG: Who else, it's Him
1st Goal: McLean after 36 seconds
Last passage: Grypphone tries to run down the clock in the dying seconds with GWS 5 points up, but manic pressure forces a wild handpass, which He intercepts and kicks long to a big pack (largely GWS defenders) 40 metres out. Boyd charges to hit the pack hard, taking a monster grab, going back and coolly sending the ball over the goal umpires head after the siren.

24-09-2016, 08:15 AM
Draw, then Dogs by 1 in overtime
BOG: Who else, it's Him
1st Goal: McLean after 36 seconds
Last passage: Grypphone tries to run down the clock in the dying seconds with GWS 5 points up, but manic pressure forces a wild handpass, which He intercepts and kicks long to a big pack (largely GWS defenders) 40 metres out. Boyd charges to hit the pack hard, taking a monster grab, going back and coolly sending the ball over the goal umpires head after the siren.

If this scenario plays out then enjoy the GF everyone. I won't be there because I'll be dead.

24-09-2016, 08:17 AM
Dogs 15 points
BOG M Boyd
First Goal Daniel

24-09-2016, 09:18 AM
Good morning to all on this the most significant day in the 'Dogs recent history, er....well..... since last week.

The margin is irrelevant, its just that we win.

First goal doesn't matter as long as he is wearing red/white and blue.

BOG: Hopefully there will be 22 nominations for this.

Thinking of all Doggies today, Go Dogs !

24-09-2016, 09:56 AM
Dogs.

24-09-2016, 12:11 PM
Beautiful day in Sydney. Sun shining brightly and no wind.

24-09-2016, 05:40 PM
Plastics run out for their warm up and get more boos than cheers on their own home deck. Love it!!! Keep it up family!

24-09-2016, 05:48 PM
Dogs home crowd.

24-09-2016, 05:59 PM
Got a really good feeling about this one and I haven't had it going to any prelims before. Bring our game over the last 2 weeks and we will be playing in a grand final. The key is to bring the heat early and if we are in the game at quarter time I think our conditioning and momentum will get us over the line...

Good luck all!

24-09-2016, 06:19 PM
Nerves are telling at the moment, first goal is huge

24-09-2016, 06:22 PM
Clay!

24-09-2016, 06:26 PM
We need to get someone to mark it up there.

24-09-2016, 06:31 PM
Wood been excellent.

24-09-2016, 06:32 PM
Pressure has been A+

24-09-2016, 06:32 PM
Frantic football at the moment. Costly miss by Dunkley

24-09-2016, 06:40 PM
Haven't got rewards for our dominance thus far.

24-09-2016, 06:43 PM
Convert!!

24-09-2016, 06:46 PM
*!*!*!*! sake, we are blowing it already.

24-09-2016, 06:46 PM
Some key misses on goal = a wasteful quarter. We had all the play but not enough on the scoreboard to show for it. Got to nail those shots at goal.

24-09-2016, 06:48 PM
Frantic football at the moment. Costly miss by Dunkley

Add Smiths to the list.

24-09-2016, 06:48 PM
Some key misses on goal = a wasteful quarter. We had all the play but not enough on the scoreboard to show for it. Got to nail those shots at goal.

Totally agree. Very frustrating.

24-09-2016, 06:49 PM
Really need to start capitalising on our opportunities, or we might regret it.

24-09-2016, 06:51 PM
Sigh ...

Bloody hell Joel!

They're getting on top

Equally frustrating that GWS are scoring far more easily when going forward.

24-09-2016, 06:53 PM
T Boyd been dissapointing. Need to lift Tom - big game.

24-09-2016, 06:59 PM
This is a mess. Roughy looks like he done on the bench and we're seriously wasting our inside 50s

24-09-2016, 06:59 PM
Clay scores!

24-09-2016, 07:09 PM
Clay on fire!

24-09-2016, 07:20 PM
Clay is playing great.

24-09-2016, 07:23 PM
Smith is playing out of his skin. He needs some scoreboard help though

24-09-2016, 07:23 PM
Clay having a ripper, need the rest of the boys to wake up

24-09-2016, 07:24 PM
Well we're in front and we have key players ineffective: Bont, Stringer, Daniel.

24-09-2016, 07:28 PM
T Boyd been dissapointing. Need to lift Tom - big game.

I actually think his ruck work has been strong. Caleb is having a mare. Need Libba, Dahl, String and a few others to give us a bit more. We're doing ok but they've been on the verge of breaking us open.

24-09-2016, 07:30 PM
Still some big concerns over their run and seemingly dominance in clearances.

NEED Bont Libba and Stringer to lift.

24-09-2016, 07:30 PM
We need to keep the pressure on and we need more shoulders to the wheel. Let's take our chances this half. Go Dogs!

24-09-2016, 07:34 PM
Fletcher Roberts timely fists have been sensational. Jake its time mate its time.

24-09-2016, 07:38 PM
Come on Jake. We need a hero.

24-09-2016, 07:39 PM
I'm sitting right behind the (extended) Smorgon family. David and company are great supporters. Also nearby, Hunnas' Mark Seymour and Mitch Wallis. Esteemed group.

24-09-2016, 07:39 PM
Roughie out for the 2nd half is just horrific

24-09-2016, 07:42 PM
Time for Jake, Caleb, Tom L and Marcus to break this game open.

Big Tom Boyd, this is your moment.

24-09-2016, 07:42 PM
Our supporters in Sydney have been great. Keep the noise going guys.

And you just have to love the boys. Not much science, but cracking in hard.

24-09-2016, 07:43 PM
Roughead potentially out for the game really hurts us. It not only costs us our first ruck, but also ensures Tom Boyd must shoulder most of the ruck duties denying him time up forward.

24-09-2016, 07:47 PM
Davis running around without and opponent now. It's going to be tough to score

24-09-2016, 07:48 PM
would it be wrong if I just hid under the bed and came out in a couple of hours time ?

24-09-2016, 07:49 PM
Roughead potentially out for the game really hurts us. It not only costs us our first ruck, but also ensures Tom Boyd must shoulder most of the ruck duties denying him time up forward.

Just said on the TV he was done.

24-09-2016, 07:50 PM
would it be wrong if I just hid under the bed and came out in a couple of hours time ?

Haha. Feel like going for a walk myself

24-09-2016, 07:58 PM
Bambi's not dead but the gun is cocked and loaded.

24-09-2016, 08:07 PM
Roughies injury is proving to be very costly

24-09-2016, 08:08 PM
Need Bonts and Jake to lift

24-09-2016, 08:09 PM
Bonts on cue

24-09-2016, 08:15 PM
Great contest, fitting for a PF.

24-09-2016, 08:17 PM
I feel like a wreck

24-09-2016, 08:17 PM
I can't take it!!

24-09-2016, 08:18 PM
Can't deal with this. Just feels like we're hanging on now.

24-09-2016, 08:18 PM
The first goal of the last quarter would be huge for us. Need to keep the scoreboard ticking over.

24-09-2016, 08:20 PM
I feel like a wreck

I'm hearing you.

24-09-2016, 08:20 PM
Big effort now boys. It's there for the taking. Let's do it.

24-09-2016, 08:21 PM
Massive first 10 minutes of this last quarter. Roughie's loss is a massive problem for us to solve.

24-09-2016, 08:21 PM
Come on dogs. All in.

24-09-2016, 08:24 PM
Cordy... No.

24-09-2016, 08:40 PM
How great is this game? Fingers, toes and eyes crossed for a win

24-09-2016, 08:41 PM
Omg omg

24-09-2016, 08:41 PM
Oh Please, please, please, please

24-09-2016, 08:45 PM
This club has given us the greatest value for money experience all season.

24-09-2016, 08:58 PM
I'm in tears, I'm a mess, I'm euphoric

24-09-2016, 08:59 PM
OH. MY. GOD.

we're in, baby

24-09-2016, 09:00 PM
What a game, how great is it?

24-09-2016, 09:02 PM
I don't believe it!!!!! We're in the big dance!!!

24-09-2016, 09:09 PM
I love each and every one of you. What a way to wash away all those tears

24-09-2016, 09:09 PM
Wow..........

24-09-2016, 09:11 PM
Literally can not stop crying. Love our boys

24-09-2016, 09:11 PM
I can't believe it's actually real....

Oh my god I'm speechless

24-09-2016, 09:12 PM
It starts with a dream then plenty of hard work, belief and talent. Has there been a season with as many close finishes? What a club

24-09-2016, 09:13 PM
From seventh, if you don't mind!

Making history...

24-09-2016, 09:14 PM
From seventh, if you don't mind!

Making history...

This was always going to be the year it could happen

24-09-2016, 09:15 PM
This is nothing less than the triumph of good over evil!

YEEEESSS suffer in your jocks you plastic orange thugs

24-09-2016, 09:16 PM
Enjoy the week everyone. This team is *!*!*!*!ing special

24-09-2016, 09:17 PM
Cant believe my eyes

Cant believe it

Wow

24-09-2016, 09:18 PM
Struggling to speak! Unbelievable what can you say about those boys.

Enjoy it everyone!

24-09-2016, 09:31 PM
Imagine the guys who actually went to the game, what a reward!!

24-09-2016, 09:33 PM
How great was that JJ run that resulted in a Bontempelli goal? He could steal the rims off a car...while it's still moving.

24-09-2016, 09:35 PM
This club has given us the greatest value for money experience all season.

Rides not over yet GVGjr !!!!:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

24-09-2016, 09:37 PM
I'm a sweaty, sooking, shaking mess right now. We finally get our chance in the big one. Safe trip home for those who made the trek over

24-09-2016, 09:41 PM
How special is this team.... maybe they haven't quite finished re-writing the history books, just yet.

24-09-2016, 10:18 PM
Wowsers that was something else!

It was so amazing at the ground, can't wait to watch the replay!

24-09-2016, 10:27 PM
I am really struggling to know how to converse right now. This opportunity is the culmination of a life of dreams for so many Doggie's supporters. As soon as the final siren went, I went back 39 years in recalling my first Dog's memories as a 4 year old. Seeing the Doggies colours all around my Nan's Brooklyn neighborhood ,and then listening to the exploits of Kelvin Templeton on her old loungeroom radio.
I am so proud of the club right now, but lack the composure at present to really fully explain how this feels or how much better it can be if we can just believe for one more week.

dukedog
24-09-2016, 10:28 PM
Im not a long time member of the forum. Im not a frequent poster. Im not a man who alot argues the point. I am a man who is passionate. A doggies supporter who has only supporred this team since '99 since moving from new zealand. Shed a tear for a team of members who deserves a shot at the big dance.

24-09-2016, 10:32 PM
and then listening to the exploits of Kelvin Templeton on her old loungeroom radio..

I remember my Great Grandparents listening to the games on their old AWA floor standing valve radio in Pickett Street, Footscray. Me, I was at the games then. I will never forget the sound quality and bass on that old mono radio. Pop's old armchair always smelt of his pipe tobacco, and did for years after he passed away.

24-09-2016, 10:47 PM
Our boys!

24-09-2016, 10:48 PM
Im not a long time member of the forum. Im not a frequent poster. Im not a man who alot argues the point. I am a man who is passionate. A doggies supporter who has only supporred this team since '99 since moving from new zealand. Shed a tear for a team of members who deserves a shot at the big dance.

I love you you big beautiful kiwi.

24-09-2016, 10:48 PM
I'm still shaking

24-09-2016, 10:49 PM
Watched the game with my 12 year old son in Auckland. He and I will never forget the moment

24-09-2016, 10:51 PM
I'm Numb.
Can you beileve IT!!!
2016 GRAND FINALISTS!!!!
Take THAT ORANGE PLASTICS AND AFEL H.Q!!!

24-09-2016, 10:51 PM
I love The Men of Mayhem.

24-09-2016, 10:54 PM
GRAND FINALl! F*@% YEAH! is all I can say. It is about time something goes our way and it did tonight. Our future is looking good and we have a great age profile with our list. Our guys tonight never gave in. Clay Smith was instrumental and as well as Tory Dickson who kicked a few goals. JJ was excellent of half back along with Hunter who was busy. Such a shame Roughy went out. Picken tough as nails. Morris a true Bulldog hero. Ward and Griffen suffer you should of stayed with the Dogs but actually we have been better for it in the long run. Im the only Doggie in my immediate family and they were very happy for me tonight.

24-09-2016, 10:55 PM
What do we think of Cordy's game. I think he was influential, kicked a couple of important goals and helped relieve TBoyd in the ruck.
Also though accidently took Ward out of the game when he was becoming prominent.
Selection this week is going to be hard and I feel for the VFL side that is going into their Grand Final possibly under manned.

24-09-2016, 11:39 PM
.... and I feel for the VFL side that is going into their Grand Final possibly under manned.

Surely we would not do that. It wold be awfully unlucky to have more than one player withheld on the basis that they might be needed next week. After all there would be a six day break, and we could reduce the playing time of someone we think might be needed next week.

24-09-2016, 11:40 PM
I want to thank Bevo

let's finish the job

24-09-2016, 11:42 PM
What do we think of Cordy's game. I think he was influential, kicked a couple of important goals and helped relieve TBoyd in the ruck.
Also though accidently took Ward out of the game when he was becoming prominent.

I know it was 100% accident, but when it happened I must admit I was hugely relieved. Backed it up by kicking a goal or two, too. I thought he was much better this week, but still made a couple of costly errors. Overall, I thought he played alright though.

24-09-2016, 11:49 PM
Tonight was the first game I have ever watched with tears flowing before the final siren sounded. That last 10 minutes, the way we refused to stop attacking and maintained ultimate faith.

In other Prelims, I have hoped but with this team I believed, only horrid luck could stop them. Oh my god these boys are so spcial.

24-09-2016, 11:53 PM
What about the Bont at the end, celebrating to the Dogs crowd and mouthing one more to go.
That's the attitude - one to go.
7 days to ultimate glory.

24-09-2016, 11:55 PM
Watching the relay and man, the way Clay Smith uses his body.... just threw himself and everything he had at it tonight. Love that boy.

24-09-2016, 11:56 PM
Watching the replay and man I still butterflies.

24-09-2016, 11:57 PM
I am not ashamed to admit that reading these posts has brought tears to my eyes because they reveal the intensity of emotion that only Bulldog supporters can experience. The players were simply magnificent and the coaching and support staff likewise. Take a bow.
And whoever said "No one in the crowd has ever kicked a goal was WRONG! I'm sure the tidal wave of support from our people who made the trip to Plasticland buoyed our blokes up and helped them get the job done. Recovery time now - there's work to be done.
I'm starting out at 7.00am tomorrow morning for the ride back to Lombok. See you at the "G" Woofers! Go Dogs!

25-09-2016, 12:00 AM
These close contests are all about moments. Here are some of the highlights for me

The Mark - Easton Wood takes a screamer.
The Decision - The score review that overruled the umpires initial call
The Falcon - Roughead who had starred all finals takes no further part in the game
The Run and the Gun - the breathtaking run of Johannisen who delivers it to the Gun Bontempelli...goal
The Defining moment - A don't argue from Bonts results in a decisive Cordy goal
The Realisation - Dickson marks with just 30 seconds to go. Game over
The Elation - Seeing an emotional Peter Gordon
The Oh Shit Experience - We are in a grand final

25-09-2016, 12:07 AM
Going into the last quarter I was ready to write us off. This only solidified when they kicked those next two goals.

I love that this team seems to know what it takes to win and surprises in a good way that other dogs teams have not.

25-09-2016, 12:08 AM
Tonight was the first game I have ever watched with tears flowing before the final siren sounded. That last 10 minutes, the way we refused to stop attacking and maintained ultimate faith.

In other Prelims, I have hoped but with this team I believed, only horrid luck could stop them. Oh my god these boys are so spcial.
Yeah, with you there.

25-09-2016, 12:10 AM
Watching the relay and man, the way Clay Smith uses his body.... just threw himself and everything he had at it tonight. Love that boy.

What a story for our Clay, I was so sad when he went down against saints. I didn't think he could come back. He nailed a prelim for the dogs.

25-09-2016, 12:18 AM
These close contests are all about moments. Here are some of the highlights for me

The Falcon - Roughead who had starred all finals takes no further part in the game
The Run and the Gun - the breathtaking run of Johannisen who delivers it to the Gun Bontempelli...goal
The realisation - Dickson marks with just 30 seconds to go. Game over

can I add Caleb's goal just before 3/4 time

if ever I've seen a never give in goal this was it. The goal that gave us the realisation we could win it.

I loved Libba snr going off as well

25-09-2016, 12:21 AM

can I add Caleb's goal just before 3/4 time

if ever I've seen a never give in goal this was it. The goal that gave us the realisation we could win it.

I loved Libba snr going off as well

25-09-2016, 12:21 AM

What a mark by Wood, stood up as captain early with six marks. With a minute and a half remaining neutralised a likely scoring attempt. Heart.
JJs run that you mentioned, he had some big involvements through the game but that was special.
Clay Smith.
Each of Dicksons goals were so clever.
Lukey D is as good as anyone in the AFL time and time again.

Gary. We are in the GF, we have stuck fast through immense hardship. You have carried the torch for many of us through this forum. Thank you. Wowee, what a three weeks. We are a big show next week but no one can take away our achievement to get here. Proud doggy here, we have the best supporters in the country.

25-09-2016, 12:28 AM
This bulldog team has no respect for odds, history, grand finalists, three time premiers, close games, 23 first rounders or curses.

Cede Nullis. With all due respect add as many swear words as you please. Immense pride for this team. Most players under 100 games, plenty under 50 and some under 20, injury ravaged, second year coach and yet this team has done what no bulldog team has done in 55 years. Flagrant disregard for the established norms. We are in this up to our eyeballs next week and I am there.

25-09-2016, 12:29 AM
And David put his hand into his bag and took from it a stone and slung it, and struck the Philistine on his forehead. And the stone sank into his forehead, so that he fell on his face to the ground.

25-09-2016, 12:30 AM
It was glorious.

25-09-2016, 12:32 AM
Unbelievable

25-09-2016, 12:34 AM
What a smart penultimate kick it was from Stringer, to spot up Dickson rather than have a shot and turn the ball over.

25-09-2016, 12:36 AM
And we are going to see the Bont on the ultimate stage.

25-09-2016, 12:41 AM
And we are going to see the Bont on the ultimate stage.

We are going to see the Bulldogs on the ultimate stage.. That's all that matters.

25-09-2016, 12:54 AM
What a smart penultimate kick it was from Stringer, to spot up Dickson rather than have a shot and turn the ball over.

So true, thought the exact same thing, very selfless.

25-09-2016, 12:56 AM
OMG. OMG. One for the true believers. Will need to see the replay to see what took place in the last quarter. Was beside myself. Can't believe how much ticker this team has. Unbelievable!

25-09-2016, 12:59 AM
Just finished watching the replay...wow. After watching it live it is great to reflect.

Picko's smother with 3.30 to go was a huge moment that lead to Macrae's goal. Geez we do the one per centers well.

25-09-2016, 01:02 AM
It was a mirror image of Taylor Walker's kick to Charlie Cameron to ice the EF last year - nice symmetry.

Our Ward compensation pick Macrae kicking the winner was also nice symmetry ;)

25-09-2016, 01:52 AM
Zaine Cordy's knee caused a little asymmetry tonight....

25-09-2016, 02:32 AM
Well, at home now. So drained but alert, and needing to eat I actually steamed some veggies, roasted some carrots and potatoes, and fried up some chicken drumsticks that I'm just finishing off now.

I needed vegetables.

My partner hasn't been much of a footy person her whole life, she told me she was crying after the game throughout all of the post match when people were being interviewed!

25-09-2016, 02:45 AM
Well, at home now. So drained but alert, and needing to eat I actually steamed some veggies, roasted some carrots and potatoes, and fried up some chicken drumsticks that I'm just finishing off now.

I needed vegetables.

My partner hasn't been much of a footy person her whole life, she told me she was crying after the game throughout all of the post match when people were being interviewed!

I didn't think the post match was that bad. Cameron Ling sometimes has me in tears though.

25-09-2016, 02:53 AM

I needed vegetables.

Yeah same, the missus couldn't believe how much she became invested in the game.

25-09-2016, 03:57 AM
Selection this week is going to be hard and I feel for the VFL side that is going into their Grand Final possibly under manned.

Agreed. Cordy was good and showed some real skills as a forward with his goals.

25-09-2016, 03:58 AM
Has anyone raised the mouthy Cameron? - utter **** and useless today.

But he wasn't alone - there was lots of that and other "tough" stuff from the Giants. Seems they'd read comic books about how to be tough.

Compare them to the Swans the night before - they just let their genuinely tough (and fair) play do the talking against the hapless Cats.

I didn't like the Giants before today but now I really loathe them.

25-09-2016, 05:11 AM
It's 4.06 and I'm still awake .
My daughter rang me ( both girls not footy fans, although they have memberships ) gotta teenage OMG I'm crying
Staying with their mother and her family who incidently live across the road from one John Longmire !!

25-09-2016, 08:14 AM
How about Toby Maclean's clearances in the last. He won both the really critical clearances in the closing couple of minutes. Really stood up.

25-09-2016, 08:17 AM
How about Toby Maclean's clearances in the last. He won both the really critical clearances in the closing couple of minutes. Really stood up.

What about the hanger when we were having trouble clearing the backline?

25-09-2016, 08:24 AM
I really need to watch the whole game again, I was too delirious with terror and hope to take much of it in.

Really wish we were in Melbourne right now to soak up all the excitement!

25-09-2016, 08:37 AM
Watched the last quarter again. Stil can't believe we did it. Flights booked, arrive in Melbourne Friday morning! Need to tell mum.

25-09-2016, 08:37 AM
I really need to watch the whole game again, I was too delirious with terror and hope to take much of it in.

Really wish we were in Melbourne right now to soak up all the excitement!

Same with me. Can only recall major incidents.

25-09-2016, 10:28 AM
I sobbed.

Can't believe it.

25-09-2016, 10:30 AM

But he wasn't alone - there was lots of that and other "tough" stuff from the Giants. Seems they'd read comic books about how to be tough.

Compare them to the Swans the night before - they just let their genuinely tough (and fair) play do the talking against the hapless Cats.

Heath Shaw, well we know what to expect. The jumper punches, slaps in the face - what a bunch of nasty bullies.

25-09-2016, 10:44 AM
Heath Shaw, well we know what to expect. The jumper punches, slaps in the face - what a bunch of nasty bullies.

No doubt in my mind Libba got to him. A guy who's so often the bully didn't like it being given back. Was reminiscent of his Collingwood days

25-09-2016, 10:45 AM

They play like Hawthorn, but without the Premierships. It's a result of Sheedy's influence from the early days, telling them they were tough, the cream and entitled to glory.

Unpleasant team that was as stupid as any this year in trying to rough us up.

25-09-2016, 10:54 AM
Loved Macleans second round the neck in the last two minutes .

25-09-2016, 11:32 AM
I sat in an Airbnb lounge room in Scotland, wind and rain lashing at the windows...and seemingly, at the WiFi signal as well.

At 8:10am (1710 AEST), the AFL global pass was conspiring against me. It would not load the match, stating that it did not start for another hour (WRONG). Frantic emails and tweets, and THANK THE HEAVENS by bounce down it was on...or so I thought.

I spent the following two hours huddled over my phone, 2013 Through and Through Guernsey on and signed-by-Bob membership hat on my head, analysing every freeze frame that came onto the screen. Is he going to mark that? Oh no he's going to get tackled! Surely the whistle has blown? The vision would jump forward minutes at a time, the commentary rarely matched, and I didn't see more than 15 seconds of fluid video for the entire match. With 2 minutes left on the screen, and dogs up by 5 points, having been frozen like this for over 30 seconds, my phone starts going crazy. "Woof woof", "Carn the dogs", "you must be pumped", "have you booked your flights yet?" - I turned to my girlfriend in disbelief. We'd *!*!*!*!ing done it.

I didnt get to see 90% of the match. I didn't see Macrae's goal, or the final minutes. I didn't get to see the final siren, or the post match celebrations.

But this Saturday, the WiFi can't beat me. Because I'll be there at the G, losing my shit with every single one of you, and cheering on these beautiful men! #BeMoreBulldog

25-09-2016, 02:44 PM
We are going to see the Bulldogs on the ultimate stage.. That's all that matters.

That's true but some players-the great ones-own the stage. This is Bontompelli's next great test. Will he rise to the occasion and stamp himself as truly elite like Carey and Macleod did on GF day? It's one of the subplots of the game that I'm really looking forward to seeing.

So many great players like Johnson and Grant and Hawkins (the Hawk would have incredible in GFs I think but we will never know) never got the chance to show if they truly had what it took. I'm keen to see whether or not one of our own has what it takes.

But it will be *!*!*!*!ing awesome to all 22 bulldogs on the big stage.

25-09-2016, 02:47 PM
That's true but some players-the great ones-own the stage. This is Bontompelli's next great test. Will he rise to the occasion and stamp himself as truly elite like Carey and Macleod did on GF day?
Yes him will

25-09-2016, 02:51 PM
Yes him will

Will him rise to the occasion and stamp bontself as truly elite?

25-09-2016, 02:53 PM
Whatever get on Him for the Norm Smith. He will own this grand final.

25-09-2016, 10:26 PM
I saw it with my own eyes, but was shitting bricks watching replay. I nearly teared up on the siren, but did watching it. Seeing Bob's face, Gordo's face. Also great to hear Andrew Dunkley going for the dogs this week, despite 200+ games for Sydney.

Can't wait.

25-09-2016, 10:46 PM
I'm watching the replay and there's something about a bunch of first rounders in a group that makes them so punchable.

Lachie Whitfield is apparently tough and hard. Some sort of thug. His behaviour is representative of the GWS "club" attitude, and I'm wondering if it's a marketing thing to make them seem appealing to the western suburbs of Sydney.

It was great seeing the likes of Patton rip into Tom Boyd, whilst the latter was playing in the ruck for 90% of the game the other was getting it cheap out the back.

Tom Boyd won. Patton and Cameron lost. It's so bloody good.

25-09-2016, 10:54 PM
Lobbe is likely to be the best player in the league in two or three years time, I think.

25-09-2016, 10:59 PM
behaviour is representative of the GWS "club" attitude, and I'm wondering if it's a marketing thing to make them seem appealing to the western suburbs of Sydney.

Sheedy style sniping.

25-09-2016, 10:59 PM
Love this:

https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/561352350263029761/swGNWK93_reasonably_small.jpeg (https://mobile.twitter.com/louistheroux)
Louis Theroux‏ @louistheroux (https://mobile.twitter.com/louistheroux)

Western Bulldogs in the Grand Final! Unbelievable!

25-09-2016, 11:00 PM
That's true but some players-the great ones-own the stage. This is Bontompelli's next great test. Will he rise to the occasion and stamp himself as truly elite like Carey and Macleod did on GF day? It's one of the subplots of the game that I'm really looking forward to seeing.

So many great players like Johnson and Grant and Hawkins (the Hawk would have incredible in GFs I think but we will never know) never got the chance to show if they truly had what it took. I'm keen to see whether or not one of our own has what it takes.

But it will be *!*!*!*!ing awesome to all 22 bulldogs on the big stage.

Stringer. I have a feeling about Jake.

25-09-2016, 11:03 PM
Lobbe is likely to be the best player in the league in two or three years time, I think.

Is Bontempelli retiring?

25-09-2016, 11:06 PM
Is Bontempelli retiring?

Like Kelly Slater's first retirement. Winning everything gets boring after a while. :D

25-09-2016, 11:14 PM

Lobb. Taking the E off at the end makes a huge difference. Lobbe might become the best player in the SANFL if he's lucky.

We dodged a bullet there.

25-09-2016, 11:15 PM
Lobb. Taking the E off at the end makes a huge difference. Lobbe might become the best player in the SANFL if he's lucky.

We dodged a bullet there.

Yep. Thank god he bad mobile reception. Lobbe or Dunkley & Collins...

25-09-2016, 11:19 PM
I actually re-read Wiki after I did it, but there's four minutes left in my replay and I need to conserve attention.

25-09-2016, 11:35 PM
Love this:

Where is that from BAD?

Never mind, found it.

25-09-2016, 11:37 PM
I'll admit to crying again after that.

25-09-2016, 11:56 PM
I'll admit to crying again after that.

Ditto. About an hour ago. They'll be a few more watchings of the last quarter and celebrations, so I best have salt replacements on hand.

26-09-2016, 12:15 AM
We were watching the replay and my son said "even though I know we win I'm just as nervous as I was watching this the first time."

26-09-2016, 12:17 AM
No tears though.

I think my daughter is bored to tears by it.

26-09-2016, 01:04 AM
2016: THE EXORCISM -- Hoodoo Breaking Finals:

Week 1 – Won an interstate final for the first time since forever. Beat West Coast in Perth for the first time since forever.

Week 2 – Won two finals in a row for the first time since 1961. Beat Hawthorn for the first time since 2010.

Week 3 – Won a preliminary final for first time in 8 tries, first since 1961. LITERALLY knocked Callan Ward out. BOG was Clay Smith, Ward’s direct replacement, picked with the actual draft pick the Dogs received from the AFL for Ward’s defection and given the jumper number vacated by Ward. Knocked over the plastic club that stole two Dogs (one current, one future) captains. Tom Boyd massive contributor. Won another interstate final. Finally won a game despite dominating and wasting chances (normally a Dogs’ trademark of stealing defeat from the jaws of victory).

Week 4 - ???

IN BEV WE TRUST.

26-09-2016, 01:09 AM
Great to hear from you Lantern.

26-09-2016, 01:59 AM
Watching the replay again...just because. Commentary: ugh... I think I worked out one reason I hate them so much. Rather than call what is happening, they talk about what happened 20 minutes earlier/last week/earlier in the season etc etc...or they talk about what might happen at some future point in time. Just call the game that you're (supposed to be) watching.

Also, BT's difficulty with factual accuracy... we've heard all week about Soulless Stadium's 24k seat capacity, last night there was just over 21k there, yet in the world according to BT, it was a 'full house' and 'packed to the rafters'.

Obviously he went to the 'Say it with enough conviction and that means it's true' school of sports reporting.

26-09-2016, 03:05 AM
Watching the replay again...just because. Commentary: ugh... I think I worked out one reason I hate them so much. Rather than call what is happening, they talk about what happened 20 minutes earlier/last week/earlier in the season etc etc...or they talk about what might happen at some future point in time. Just call the game that you're (supposed to be) watching.

Also, BT's difficulty with factual accuracy... we've heard all week about Soulless Stadium's 24k seat capacity, last night there was just over 21k there, yet in the world according to BT, it was a 'full house' and 'packed to the rafters'.

Obviously he went to the 'Say it with enough conviction and that means it's true' school of sports reporting.

BT can't even get the players names right, he is pathetic. Only second behind Bruce in terrible commentary.

26-09-2016, 03:13 AM
I have watched the last few minutes of the game on Saturday a few times now. Just fantastic!!

26-09-2016, 03:40 AM
Just watched a replay of the last quarter. Its still nerve-wracking to watch, even knowing the result.

Victory aside, that last quarter is quite simply the best advertisement you could possibly have for the game.

That game drew the second highest ratings for a non-grand final ever. Only the 2011 prelim eclipsed it.

26-09-2016, 10:08 AM
Should Scully have got a 50m penalty when JJ was within 10m in the last 2 minutes? For once a bad decision favours us.

26-09-2016, 10:26 AM
Should Scully have got a 50m penalty when JJ was within 10m in the last 2 minutes? For once a bad decision favours us.

Umpires boss, Luke Ball, said it shouldn't have been a 50m penalty.

26-09-2016, 11:18 PM
One thing I just remembered....I was sitting at ground level...and when we were either 14 or 8 points down (but certainly more than a goal behind) in the last quarter - the Bulldogs trainer from in front of our bay - stood up - turned towards the crowd and implored us to chant and barrack and started a Bulldogs chant.

How good is that. The trainer, spilling over with passion, putting the job aside for just a moment and being a supporter.

27-09-2016, 12:52 AM
2 massive moments in the game that led to crucial goals and both featured Ryan Griffen.

the first one when he and Clay Smith clashed for a 50/50 ground ball and Clay won the contest and got it to Caleb for that goal at 3/4 time. Absolutely massive moment. When I saw that I thought we can seriously win this.

the other when Matty Boyd read what Griffen was about to do and knocked down a handpass starting a chain of events that led to JJ's decisive run and Bonts breathtaking goal. That put us in front in the last 1/4.

Both featuring enormous willpower by not only Smith and Boyd but all their team mated who cracked in all the way to get out a tap, or a handpass or a bone jarring tackle or just get to it first and force it forward. If We play like that on Saturday and we will take some stopping.

27-09-2016, 12:55 AM

Looking forward to Al's video with multitude radio commentrys of the highlights.;)

27-09-2016, 01:33 AM
2 massive moments in the game that led to crucial goals and both featured Ryan Griffen.

the first one when he and Clay Smith clashed for a 50/50 ground ball and Clay won the contest and got it to Caleb for that goal at 3/4 time. Absolutely massive moment. When I saw that I thought we can seriously win this.

the other when Matty Boyd read what Griffen was about to do and knocked down a handpass starting a chain of events that led to JJ's decisive run and Bonts breathtaking goal. That put us in front in the last 1/4.

Both featuring enormous willpower by not only Smith and Boyd but all their team mated who cracked in all the way to get out a tap, or a handpass or a bone jarring tackle or just get to it first and force it forward. If We play like that on Saturday and we will take some stopping.

I think when Clay Smith handballed the ball between Griffen's legs to Daniel it's the first legitimate nutmeg I've seen in an AFL match. It's one of the highlights of the game.

Looking forward to Al's video with multitude radio commentrys of the highlights.;)

I wish he'd dub entire matches. I'd much prefer the SEN commentary.

27-09-2016, 02:13 AM
So true, thought the exact same thing, very selfless.

My nightmare vision was Stringer kicking a point with 25 seconds left and GWS slingshotting the ball into Cameron or Lobb's hands for the big shot after the siren. Don't know why though, we'd executed everything else in the previous ten minutes almost perfectly.

27-09-2016, 02:41 AM
My nightmare vision was Stringer kicking a point with 25 seconds left and GWS slingshotting the ball into Cameron or Lobb's hands for the big shot after the siren. Don't know why though, we'd executed everything else in the previous ten minutes almost perfectly.

Because it was us in a Prelim?

27-09-2016, 03:19 AM
Jake has to be commended for that pass. It was as good as a goal. Exactly the same result essentially but far less risk.

27-09-2016, 08:11 AM

Triple M vid is up.

27-09-2016, 11:02 AM
Triple M vid is up.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qdy-TrzvlaA

27-09-2016, 11:20 AM
This is funny

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CtUPCoKUEAANLBT.jpg:large

27-09-2016, 11:58 AM
This is funny

That is hilarious - I thought the players were the only ones with a misguided sense of entitlement and privilege, but it seems the entire club is.

27-09-2016, 12:03 PM

That last piece of play was brilliant - Macrae rove, then Libba's hands were brilliant, Tommy Boyd catch and hands straight Stringer who had the presence of mind to hit Dicko - who had so smartly run to the space. Smart, but a little bit brave the kick from Stringer - Hunter was the closer option, but Jake trusted his skills to go across his body and hit Dickson.

Watching the lead up again, bit of an ordinary effort from Mumford not to effect the marking contest from Dunkley's kick, Mummy was 5 metres away and didn't get to it to spoil.

27-09-2016, 12:07 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qdy-TrzvlaA

I got through a fair bit of this last night. Looking forward to the SEN one as well.

I've heard Anthony Hudson's (SEN) call of the Bontempelli goal....he's just the best.

"Bontempelli, the future star, the present star..." and then the commentary box just absolutely roars.

Speaking to a few people this week that aren't dogs fans - and all of those who were watching at pubs said that it went absolutely bezerk where they were when Bont goaled. Such a build up.

27-09-2016, 12:08 PM
Media still talk about the young Giants which is a total fallacy.

Average Attributes

GWS
Attribute
Westernbulldogs

187.9cm
Height
186.9cm

86.9kg
Weight
84.7kg

24yr 11mth

Games

Total Players By Games

GWS
Games
Westernbulldogs

Less than 50

50 to 99

100 to 149

150 or more

Guys like Toby Greene already on 98 games as is Cameron and many others with more than 50 games.

27-09-2016, 12:33 PM
This is funny

Happy to say I was one of them there booing. That's great recognition for me losing my voice. As was Heath Shaw flicking us the middle finger after three quarters of critiques he obviously heard. And the papers they were handing out up there with 'It's our time' blazoned across. Yeah after four years, it's already your time. Talk about entitlement mentality through every aspect of their plastic club.

27-09-2016, 12:47 PM
This is funny

In recent times I've learnt to take commentary from anonymous sources with a massive grain of salt.

27-09-2016, 12:49 PM
In recent times I've learnt to take commentary from anonymous sources with a massive grain of salt.

It was fantastic at the ground when GWS came on and there was massive sustained booing at their home ground.

I have never seen so many passionate Bulldog supporters as I have the past two finals.

27-09-2016, 12:53 PM
I got through a fair bit of this last night. Looking forward to the SEN one as well.

I've heard Anthony Hudson's (SEN) call of the Bontempelli goal....he's just the best.

"Bontempelli, the future star, the present star..." and then the commentary box just absolutely roars.

Speaking to a few people this week that aren't dogs fans - and all of those who were watching at pubs said that it went absolutely bezerk where they were when Bont goaled. Such a build up.

Yeah mate at a pub during the game said it went absolutely nuts when we won.

And if that whisper is true about the booing, them my god we have a whingy, spoon fed, entitled brat on our hands.

27-09-2016, 01:07 PM
This is funny

I was watching the Giants when this happened and some of them were genuinely rattled by this - it was then I went from hoping we could win to actually believing we would.

27-09-2016, 01:21 PM
I was watching the Giants when this happened and some of them were genuinely rattled by this - it was then I went from hoping we could win to actually believing we would.

Near me (and the Smorgons - bit of name dropping!), one guy called the cops over to complain about one of ours. I didn't hear his every word, but I did hear him say "That guy keeps turning and yelling at me!"

27-09-2016, 01:26 PM
It was fantastic at the ground when GWS came on and there was massive sustained booing at their home ground.

I have never seen so many passionate Bulldog supporters as I have the past two finals.

Yeah it was bloody loud on TV. I can only imagine what it was like there.

27-09-2016, 10:47 PM
This is funny

Suspect we've found our banner the next time we play them.

With Kleenex signed as a one off sponsor on the reverse side.

27-09-2016, 10:55 PM
What a putrid, finger-pointing chump Shaw proved to be throughout this game. One of their 'leaders' histrionically going off his tits at our blokes and teammates alike because he had a mare with a pair of natural opponents combining for 8 goals.

Onya Heathy.

27-09-2016, 11:05 PM
What a putrid, finger-pointing chump Shaw proved to be throughout this game. One of their 'leaders' histrionically going off his tits at our blokes and teammates alike because he had a mare with a pair of natural opponents combining for 8 goals.

Onya Heathy.

Loved it when he chucked the tanty, only to have Dicko pull his pants down one on one not long after.

27-09-2016, 11:43 PM

Onya Heathy.

More like throughout his career.

27-09-2016, 11:51 PM
He started pretty well and picked off our first couple of inside 50s. But his second or third kick went straight to one of our guys then after that he kept getting worse.

It was great.

28-09-2016, 12:43 AM

Onya Heathy.

Heath Shaw - byword for absolute plonker going on that performance. Any future similar carries on by players could justifiably called as: "He's doing a Heath Shaw."

28-09-2016, 12:47 AM
Heath Shaw - byword for absolute plonker going on that performance. Any future similar carries on by players could justifiably called as: "He's doing a Heath Shaw."

I thought yelling abuse at your teammates was already called a 'Goddard' as on "check out Goddard pointing at everyone, WHERE'S YOUR MAN DICKHEAD?"

28-09-2016, 07:31 AM
Loved it when he chucked the tanty, only to have Dicko pull his pants down one on one not long after.

Cue self imlpoding meltdown ;)

28-09-2016, 12:03 PM
I thought yelling abuse at your teammates was already called a 'Goddard' as on "check out Goddard pointing at everyone, WHERE'S YOUR MAN DICKHEAD?"

Yeah I noticed he'd been to the Goddard school of leadership

04-01-2017, 12:10 PM
They are showing this game again on Fox Footy. Gee I love Libba. I also love watching Heath Shaw lose his mind.

04-01-2017, 12:31 PM
That was great - almost as good as Libba making the crazy signal to him.

04-01-2017, 12:40 PM
The Bont tap down, pick up, push off and handball to Cordy in the 3rd quarter was fantastic too.

04-01-2017, 01:05 PM
Wow just watched the JJ run and kick to Bont .. You listen to the crowd build and explode gives me goosebumps.

04-01-2017, 01:14 PM
Wow just watched the JJ run and kick to Bont .. You listen to the crowd build and explode gives me goosebumps.

haha yeah I went all tingly when it happened too. Ive seen the octo call about 100 times too. Just an amazing moment.

04-01-2017, 01:17 PM
Wow the noise after Macrae's goal was huge! First time ive heard it

04-01-2017, 01:40 PM

haha yeah I went all tingly when it happened too. Ive seen the octo call about 100 times too. Just an amazing moment.

That goal is going to become an iconic moment in our club's history. Legends will grow, stories will be told, paintings and artwork and music devoted to it. It is a thing of beauty when the ball bounces just right so that the Bont doesn't have to break stride as he picks the ball up and knows he can run straight into goal.

When that ball bounced like that. I think that's when I really started to believe.

04-01-2017, 02:43 PM
That goal is going to become an iconic moment in our club's history. Legends will grow, stories will be told, paintings and artwork and music devoted to it. It is a thing of beauty when the ball bounces just right so that the Bont doesn't have to break stride as he picks the ball up and knows he can run straight into goal.

When that ball bounced like that. I think that's when I really started to believe.

The video the club put up with the camera on the fans for that piece of play, with BT's call in the background, as JJ breaks the line and kicks it out in front of Bont, the crowd just rises a few at a time before erupting.

Just amazing.

04-01-2017, 02:46 PM

Wow the noise after Macrae's goal was huge! First time ive heard it

At the ground, it was incredible. The replay doesn't capture what it was really like. Also the last 5 minutes the crowd chant - Bulldogs, Bulldogs, Bulldogs was deafening in the outer stand.

04-01-2017, 02:52 PM
Jordan has The Shot, LeBron has The Block, will Bont or Tom Boyd's go down as The Goal?

04-01-2017, 02:53 PM
At the ground, it was incredible. The replay doesn't capture what it was really like. Also the last 5 minutes the crowd chant - Bulldogs, Bulldogs, Bulldogs was deafening in the outer stand.

It was easily the most exciting moment I've ever experienced live. I wish I could bottle that feeling.

04-01-2017, 02:55 PM
It was easily the most exciting moment I've ever experienced live. I wish I could bottle that feeling.

Yeah - the feeling that we made a Granny was incredible. When Stringer passed that ball to Dicko, I jumped so high I could have fallen three four rows down in front of me.

04-01-2017, 03:52 PM

It was going completly off tap in my lounge room in front of the TV and there were only two of us, I can't imagine what it would have been like 20000 X that.

What a ride that whole month was. How funny would it have been if you'd had said after the Freo game that we'd be back in fortnight and would spank West Coast and even though that sounded fairly unlikely pretty much no-one would remember it three weeks later.

04-01-2017, 04:01 PM

Yep we owned that place.

04-01-2017, 04:49 PM

It was going completly off tap in my lounge room in front of the TV and there were only two of us, I can't imagine what it would have been like 20000 X that.

My loungeroom consisted of my 6yo daughter coming and sitting on my lap about 30 seconds before JJ takes possession. I gently (or as gently as I can) move her on to the couch, stand up just as Bont is paddling the ball to himself. He paddles, I say 'Finish' under my breath. He gathers, I say 'Finish' so the whole lounge room can hear. He goals, I yell 'FINISH!' so that the whole neighbourhood can hear.

Its one of the iconic moments of the whole season, all clubs included.

I wish I had've experienced it live. Thankfully I got to experience the Biggs-Picken goal in the Granny.

04-01-2017, 06:12 PM
The Macrae goal was also another great moment as scores were locked. Libba's effort, twice in a passage of play with the second kick to find Macrae on his own was just sensational. Macrae, nerves of steel put it through to win us the game.

Watch Libba pick up the ball from the 7.13 mark

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=45Hkba1o64g

04-01-2017, 07:01 PM
We owned the after party down the road too #shitfaced

04-01-2017, 09:40 PM
The Macrae goal was also another great moment as scores were locked. Libba's effort, twice in a passage of play with the second kick to find Macrae on his own was just sensational. Macrae, nerves of steel put it through to win us the game.

Watch Libba pick up the ball from the 7.13 mark

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=45Hkba1o64g

From directly side on to Jacks goal I must say it was strange off the boot, not fluid at all. He seemed to fall backward slightly and accentuate the kicking foot which landed forward unnaturally. It scraped in and that's all that mattered.

04-01-2017, 10:02 PM
From directly side on to Jacks goal I must say it was strange off the boot, not fluid at all. He seemed to fall backward slightly and accentuate the kicking foot which landed forward unnaturally. It scraped in and that's all that mattered.

By strange I mean heart skipping.

04-01-2017, 10:39 PM
Oh how I wish I'd been in Sydney for that game. Reading these posts you can see how intense an experience it was for those who were there. It was obviously the best game and the best atmosphere people had ever witnessed. Two of the best team goals ever - Caleb Daniel before 3/4 time and then the Bont's and the absolute frenzied efforts to get the ball to Jack Mac and then the kamikaze defence efforts in the last couple of minutes before the ball ends up with Stringer rampaging goalwards before spotting up Dicko and ... the rest is glorious history etched into the memories of all who saw or have seen it. Mega to the max. Seriously epic.

04-01-2017, 11:22 PM
Best game I've ever been to. It was like a home game. The fans were the 23rd player that evening. Unbelieveable.

04-01-2017, 11:29 PM
Oh how I wish I'd been in Sydney for that game. Reading these posts you can see how intense an experience it was for those who were there. It was obviously the best game and the best atmosphere people had ever witnessed. Two of the best team goals ever - Caleb Daniel before 3/4 time and then the Bont's and the absolute frenzied efforts to get the ball to Jack Mac and then the kamikaze defence efforts in the last couple of minutes before the ball ends up with Stringer rampaging goalwards before spotting up Dicko and ... the rest is glorious history etched into the memories of all who saw or have seen it. Mega to the max. Seriously epic.

Epic is right. Crowd of 21k, with the noise and tension it may as well have been 210k! Mum and I were sitting right behind the Smorgon family, and at one point late in the game, David's son asked his own son how long there was left. "2 minutes", came the reply. He said that for about ten minutes! I thought I was going to have a heart attack. Epic indeed.

05-01-2017, 02:18 AM
Epic is right. Crowd of 21k, with the noise and tension it may as well have been 210k! Mum and I were sitting right behind the Smorgon family, and at one point late in the game, David's son asked his own son how long there was left. "2 minutes", came the reply. He said that for about ten minutes! I thought I was going to have a heart attack. Epic indeed.

It's funny who you find yourself sitting near at the footy. My best one ever was John Kennedy sr and Dermott Brereton sitting next to me in the AFL members back years ago at the MCG. I learned a lot about footy that day.

05-01-2017, 07:50 AM
It's funny who you find yourself sitting near at the footy. My best one ever was John Kennedy sr and Dermott Brereton sitting next to me in the AFL members back years ago at the MCG. I learned a lot about footy that day.

Now THAT would be a footballing experience.

05-01-2017, 09:28 AM
Now THAT would be a footballing experience.

It was like footy heaven. Dermott was teaching himself how to do special comments so Kennedy was talking about how the game was unfolding, where problems were occurring, stuff like that. It was like footy boot camp with the greatest instructor of all time.

05-01-2017, 05:53 PM
This game would make for a great WOOFcast along with another WOOFcast of the Grand Final. We could try on a Sunday night again.

05-01-2017, 05:56 PM
A WOOFcast at some stage for all the finals would be great.

05-01-2017, 08:57 PM
I was gonna suggest a quick WOOFcast for NYE cos I had nothing to do but ended up watching Big Bash all night.

05-01-2017, 09:27 PM
I was gonna suggest a quick WOOFcast for NYE cos I had nothing to do but ended up watching Big Bash all night.

Maybe this Sunday night or next. Will depend on how many woofers can get on board.