View Full Version : The Moving-Rolling Delisting/Retiring/Trading Thread 2017

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

29-08-2017, 08:13 PM
Right. So it's supposition rather than an actual story.

29-08-2017, 08:13 PM
Yeah it was ten news. Wasn't matter of fact but sounds like he won't be on the main list to say the least.

29-08-2017, 08:15 PM
https://twitter.com/tennewsmelb/status/902440435758415872

Thanks, It's a bit better than I expected. I think we have been very clear with Crameri that we want to evaluate our position and I think we will come back to him once it becomes clearer who might be interested in joining us.

I do think we should offer Crameri a contract providing he genuinely wants to get stuck in for next season,

29-08-2017, 08:21 PM
Can we put an embargo on mentioning anything that Waldron says?

29-08-2017, 08:23 PM
Can we put an embargo on mentioning anything that Waldron says?

I wish we could ;)

29-08-2017, 08:32 PM
Thanks, It's a bit better than I expected. I think we have been very clear with Crameri that we want to evaluate our position and I think we will come back to him once it becomes clearer who might be interested in joining us.

I do think we should offer Crameri a contract providing he genuinely wants to get stuck in for next season,

I'm sticking with my theory that all of this stuff is about getting him to the rookie draft. Rookies can play from round one next year, and the wages wouldn't be a big difference than we'd probably offer on a main list contract (of which he can add to his lawsuit losses).

Not contracting him at all will involve some soul searching about the deal we made at the time.

29-08-2017, 08:34 PM
I couldn't insult him by offering him a rookie list spot. We either need to be 100% in or 100% out with Crameri.

29-08-2017, 08:48 PM
I wish we could ;)

Change his name to something else if we can't. Cheaterofthesalrycap or something shorter perhaps.

29-08-2017, 08:50 PM
I couldn't insult him by offering him a rookie list spot. We either need to be 100% in or 100% out with Crameri.

Depends on perspective. If he's on board with this strategy (lots of if's) then it's fine. If we can scare off 8 clubs with his body breaking down, his degenerative hip problem which surgery hadn't fixed, the couple of soft tissue injuries he did on the track, his twisted small toe on his kicking foot, the splint ends discovered at his last hair cut; then we can put/place him on the RL play him from round one. That's 100% in, but in through a creative use of the rookie list with an older player, with horrific injuries that we just want to look after with a rookie spot for all that Essendon did to him.

29-08-2017, 08:53 PM
Is it an application and poor attitude with Crameri? Or are we concerned with his body holding up. I am quite puzzled why we haven't offered him one considering our forward line woes.

29-08-2017, 08:57 PM
Depends on perspective. If he's on board with this strategy (lots of if's) then it's fine. If we can scare off 8 clubs with his body breaking down, his degenerative hip problem which surgery hadn't fixed, the couple of soft tissue injuries he did on the track, his twisted small toe on his kicking foot, the splint ends discovered at his last hair cut; then we can put place him on the RL play him from round one. That's 100% in, but in through a creative use of the rookie list with an older player, with horrific injuries that we just want to look after with a rookie spot for all that Essendon to him.

At his age and likely financial commitments is it reasonable to expect that he would (if other suitors presented) be likely to accept a rookie level salary?

29-08-2017, 08:59 PM
Is it an application and poor attitude with Crameri? Or are we concerned with his body holding up. I am quite puzzled why we haven't offered him one considering our forward line woes.

Possible that Bevo doesn't rate him? He was brought in on biggish coin by the old guard and was a non-factor in our flag. Wouldn't shock me if he viewed him as nothing more than a fourth fiddle and worth more to someone else than us.

29-08-2017, 09:03 PM
At his age and likely financial commitments is it reasonable to expect that he would (if other suitors presented) be likely to accept a rookie level salary?

I'm pretty sure when they get 'elevated' or I'm assuming when they play in next year, that they get a pay rise. If there's wiggle room in a rookie contract, perhaps performance incentives too. Owing to Essendons regime and a bad hip, he's going to have to take a sizeable pay cut anyway. Harsh for him, but that's the reality we are all in. This way benefits the club, and on a handshake and understanding, if he performs well next year then he gets elevated with a good pay rise to make up for it.

29-08-2017, 09:04 PM
Possible that Bevo doesn't rate him? He was brought in on biggish coin by the old guard and was a non-factor in our flag. Wouldn't shock me if he viewed him as nothing more than a fourth fiddle and worth more to someone else than us.

Maybe, but i don't think it was a coincidence that Stringer's best season was 2015 - which was also Crameri's. They were a handful for opposition coaches to match up on, even more so when Dickson was firing.
If its not Crameri then it needs to be someone of his ilk that we sign for 2018.

29-08-2017, 09:23 PM

You don't rate him?

29-08-2017, 09:27 PM
By what Crameri said in the news about his manager looking at offers doesn't sound like we are looking to keep him.

29-08-2017, 10:46 PM

His output in his first two seasons justified what he was paid, ironically it was his four year deal that was probably over the top and we're finding out the hard way now.

At his best Crameri was a very good B grade player, and that's not meant to be diminishing at all. I'd definitely pay $450K p.a. for a ball transition forward who would bank 30 plus goals in a heartbeat. His issue is he's now been out of the game for two years, and has some off field concerns.

The game moved very quickly from last year to this year, and quickly the year prior. Two years out for a guy in his late twenties at this time is extremely problematic for the club.

Bevo is also on record as suggesting the club is talking to Crameri's management. An offer may have not been made, and this could purely be because the club believes the offer it plans to make won't be to the taste of its player's management or the player. I wouldn't make a futile offer in a negotiation either.

29-08-2017, 11:04 PM

Well, he played one season under Bevo and was dropped, if my memory serves me correctly. In fact I think he might've been the first of the senior group who was dropped by him.

His hip is dodgy, he's getting long in the tooth and there might be one or two other players of his type that we're looking at. Either that or we're looking king to have a decent crack at a free agent and want to free up cap space.

30-08-2017, 09:45 AM
I actually think Campbell shows more than Roughead. I think Roughead gets a wide birth at the club because of the good bloke/leader factor which you have to take into account but outside of the finals last year he has just been a player for mine.

Last year he was good all season. He stopped the other ruckman consistently, this year he didnt but he had no preseason this year.

30-08-2017, 10:21 AM
Last year he was good all season. He stopped the other ruckman consistently, this year he didnt but he had no preseason this year.

Agree, some people forget easily.

30-08-2017, 11:21 AM

Agree, and why would he on a reduced salary, plus other teams interested:

PIES INTERESTED IN OUT OF CONTRACT BULLDOG FORWARD (https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/08/29/pies-interested-in-out-of-contract-bulldog-forward/)

30-08-2017, 11:27 AM
The article above also mentions we could be interested in Stef Martin - again.

30-08-2017, 12:11 PM
Stefan Martin would still be a good addition

30-08-2017, 01:01 PM
Waldron says we are still in the hunt for Lever and reaffirmed interest in Schache

30-08-2017, 01:03 PM
Hard to believe anything re: Schache considering he only re-signed a few months ago.

Waldron regularly seems way off the mark anyway.

What would Martin cost?

30-08-2017, 01:05 PM
The article above also mentions we could be interested in Stephen Martin - again.

I like Steve Martin but his best days are behind him.
https://s26.postimg.org/eb8m7imhl/steve-martin.jpg (https://postimg.org/image/bh5gu2kb9/)

As for Stef Martin I wouldn't be opposed to getting him for 2 years while English develops, so long as the price isn't too high as he will be 31 in November.

If Cox is going to Brisbane they might not be too demanding on a Martin trade. Would they be interested in Webb?

30-08-2017, 01:16 PM
Stef would be a good get if on the cheap. Is he under contract?

A stop-gap until Timmy English is ready to go. Being an experienced head helps and will go someway to fixing our ruck woes now that the 3rd man up has been banned.

30-08-2017, 01:21 PM
Waldron regularly seems way off the mark anyway.

The clown also put a GWS grand final berth at the top of his wish list and lauded the Bombres making finals as one of the great, feel-good achievements of 2017.

FMD.

30-08-2017, 01:23 PM
Stef would be a good get if on the cheap. Is he under contract?

A stop-gap until Timmy English is ready to go. Being an experienced head helps and will go someway to fixing our ruck woes now that the 3rd man up has been banned.

Contracted until the end of 2019 so would need to be a mutual agreement between Martin and the Lions for him to leave.

30-08-2017, 01:25 PM
The clown also put a GWS grand final berth at the top of his wish list and lauded the Bombres making finals as one of the great, feel-good achievements of 2017.

FMD.

urgh....i don't know if i can even agree to disagree with any of that

30-08-2017, 01:27 PM
There's a photo doing the rounds of Bucks and Matty Boyd having a coffee together. A Sam Mitchell arrangement in the work? I sure hope not. Possible coaching role with a few assistants leaving the pies?

30-08-2017, 01:49 PM
Steph Martin would be ideal
Could see the club having another crack , and in particular Tim English still to develop.

30-08-2017, 02:03 PM
There's a photo doing the rounds of Bucks and Matty Boyd having a coffee together. A Sam Mitchell arrangement in the work? I sure hope not. Possible coaching role with a few assistants leaving the pies?

Personally I think it is better for the player's coaching career to go to a different club than he played for.

30-08-2017, 02:17 PM
Personally I think it is better for the player's coaching career to go to a different club than he played for.

Yeah I think it's great for both player and club. You learn new things going to other clubs and experiencing different ways of doing things. I'm not so sure it's great having Gia as an assistant. You could have the same argument about Smith too I suppose. Personally I think the coaches could do with a refresh

30-08-2017, 02:28 PM
Yeah I think it's great for both player and club. You learn new things going to other clubs and experiencing different ways of doing things. I'm not so sure it's great having Gia as an assistant. You could have the same argument about Smith too I suppose. Personally I think the coaches could do with a refresh

Bucks and Boyd come across as similar types: ruthlessly professional. I can see Boydy being a good fit under Bucks. Good luck to him, hopefully he finds his way back to the Dogs in the near future.

30-08-2017, 02:28 PM

Woukd rather he went to the Hawks than Collingwood, not sure he could learn much under Buckley compared to other senior coaches.

30-08-2017, 02:33 PM

Collingwood would be smart to get Boyd to play on. He was AA last year and has had this season ruined by that concussion injury. Making a mistake by retiring if you ask me (assuming he is mentally 'up' to go again!).

30-08-2017, 02:37 PM

You'd have to suspect that Bucks rates Boyd. Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, after all.

30-08-2017, 03:29 PM

Yep they learn a lot more.

Bucks and Boyd come across as similar types: ruthlessly professional. I can see Boydy being a good fit under Bucks. Good luck to him, hopefully he finds his way back to the Dogs in the near future.

First thing I thought when I saw the picture was they looked like peas in a pod.

Woukd rather he went to the Hawks than Collingwood, not sure he could learn much under Buckley compared to other senior coaches.

What not to do?

30-08-2017, 03:34 PM
I hope he takes the same route as Will Minson after he got his pitch from Buckley. Laugh at them and then go travel the world.

30-08-2017, 03:41 PM
Yep they learn a lot more.

First thing I thought when I saw the picture was they looked like peas in a pod.

What not to do?

Good point , don't want to pick up bad habits though.

30-08-2017, 04:06 PM

https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/21151639_864597223705160_4652441438474096552_n.jpg?oh=4444ce d4039304021dea83d17b54a055&oe=5A280FA1

30-08-2017, 06:02 PM
Bucks has got take away and Boyd's coffee is in a mug. Nothing in it, IMO. :D

30-08-2017, 06:10 PM
Bucks has got take away and Boyd's coffee is in a mug. Nothing in it, IMO. :D

They both shop at the same cafe, Bucks saw Boydy and stopped for a quick chat to the Bulldog Champ

30-08-2017, 06:17 PM
Got a call from my daughter today she spent all last night making gin and tonics to the Gold Coast players at the restaurant she works at in Broadbeach. they stayed two hours after the manager closed up and GA was there.
Maybe his going away party?
She has no idea on footy only knew because her boss asked her if she knew who the bald guy was , her reply was no.
All well behaved, could have been the recovery drinks from mad Monday.
They had a rugby league side drop in a couple of weeks ago so I gather it's a pretty popular and nice place.

30-08-2017, 07:54 PM
https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/21151639_864597223705160_4652441438474096552_n.jpg?oh=4444ce d4039304021dea83d17b54a055&oe=5A280FA1

Caption that lol.

Bucks 'Why not consider it mate you were AA last year and you're send off game was killer diller!'
Boyd 'Hmmmmmm'

31-08-2017, 12:19 PM
Good luck to Boydy in pursuing a coaching role. I wonder if Anthony Rocca would make a good goal kicking coach for us?

Pies sound out retired Dog for new footy job (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-08-30/pies-sound-out-retired-dog-for-new-footy-job)

COLLINGWOOD has begun sounding out potential appointments for a new look football department, with retired Western Bulldogs premiership player Matthew Boyd meeting coach Nathan Buckley.

The Magpies announced on Wednesday high performance manager Bill Davoren and development coach Anthony Rocca would depart the club while Robert Harvey, Tarkyn Lockyer and VFL coach Jared Rivers would remain.

The decisions come after the Magpies re-appointed Buckley on Monday after an extensive review from football manager Geoff Walsh that examined coaching, development, list management, on-field leadership and conditioning.

With the decision on the senior coach made, the Magpies are looking to tinker with the football department mix for 2018.

The 35-year-old Boyd is among a range of candidates the Magpies are expected to sound out for vacant positions as it looks to restructure its football department.

His catch-up with the coach was understood to be a chance for both parties to get a feel for Boyd's intentions and Collingwood's plans.

Boyd played 292 games for the Western Bulldogs, captained the club, won three best and fairests and finished equal third in the 2011 Brownlow Medal.

31-08-2017, 03:03 PM
Good luck Keithy.

31-08-2017, 10:21 PM

Caption that lol.

"Look Boydy, this season we got this close to the finals"

31-08-2017, 10:26 PM

"Boydy everyone knows it's all about me. Lets make this all about you. You can shout the coffee's"

31-08-2017, 10:31 PM

Bucks But then we tried turning the ladder upside down and it worked. We've been improving every year since Malthouse left.

Keithy Ummm mate...

01-09-2017, 12:49 AM

"And then Eddie said to Mick, your shit and Nathan is going to make this a Dynasty".

01-09-2017, 06:52 AM
Not sure where to stick this post, or if it's already on here, but Ryan Schoenmachers has re signed with Hawthorn!

01-09-2017, 09:32 AM
If they hadn't re-signed through the year would Smith & Roberts be looking for a new home?

01-09-2017, 09:51 AM
If they hadn't re-signed through the year would Smith & Roberts be looking for a new home?

Smith would be I reckon. Roberts might just survive because we never seem to have all our tall defenders available but he's gone backwards this year.

01-09-2017, 10:49 AM
Smith would be I reckon. Roberts might just survive because we never seem to have all our tall defenders available but he's gone backwards this year.

I thought Roberts started the year well and was unlucky to be dropped the first time. I'm glad he has been re-signed.

Smith needs to get fit again. Again whats going on with our fitness staff?

01-09-2017, 10:56 AM

Really didn't get a chance after the last time he was dropped.He's playing good footy in the VFL and was ignored for most of the 2nd half of the season. Handled poorly IMO.

01-09-2017, 11:15 AM

Both would likely get another year based off their performances in 2016 and how important they were in the finals, but they would want to put in a strong pre-season.

Two of many who have something to prove in 2018 or risk being tipped out of the boat.

01-09-2017, 11:16 AM
I thought Roberts started the year well and was unlucky to be dropped the first time. I'm glad he has been re-signed.

Smith needs to get fit again. Again whats going on with our fitness staff?

Really didn't get a chance after the last time he was dropped.He's playing good footy in the VFL and was ignored for most of the 2nd half of the season. Handled poorly IMO.

But why did he go backwards?

01-09-2017, 11:22 AM
But why did he go backwards?

No support from experienced team-mates... No Hamling & Morris - Wood & Boyd down on form.

Change of line coach may have affected him? Different set of instructions? Maybe no instructions??

Plays like he is 6ft, not 6'5".

01-09-2017, 12:21 PM
No support from experienced team-mates... No Hamling & Morris - Wood & Boyd down on form.

Change of line coach may have affected him? Different set of instructions? Maybe no instructions??

He showed some promise at the start of the year, then he seemed to be lost a bit and also lost confidence.

01-09-2017, 12:37 PM

That last point is especially true.

Not saying he sleeps with the lights on...

01-09-2017, 02:44 PM

Comparing Fletcher with many of his KPD peers he lacks upper body strength for someone that doesn't offer other tricks like mobility, speed, etc like Hamling was offering us late last season. Hopefully he can still find a way to build up some upper body strength over the pre-season, without sacrificing the limited mobility that he brings.

01-09-2017, 05:37 PM
Comparing Fletcher with many of his KPD peers he lacks upper body strength for someone that doesn't offer other tricks like mobility, speed, etc like Hamling was offering us late last season. Hopefully he can still find a way to build up some upper body strength over the pre-season, without sacrificing the limited mobility that he brings.

The shoulder reconstructions restricted his ability to build up his upper body. Hopefully, the next preseason will be different.

01-09-2017, 06:32 PM
The shoulder reconstructions restricted his ability to build up his upper body. Hopefully, the next preseason will be different.

Yes I was going to make this similar observation BD but wasn't quite sure over how many pre-seasons now has his development been hindered through his dodgy shoulders. If it's an issue somewhat endemic with Fletch I do see this being an issue for him to reach the potential we need him to get to.

01-09-2017, 09:24 PM
And then there were 5 without a contact (with Webb extending his contract):

Hamilton, Honey, Redders, Crameri & Morris

01-09-2017, 09:31 PM
Didn't Hamilton sign for 2 last season?

01-09-2017, 09:47 PM

No. One year only.

01-09-2017, 09:56 PM
And then there were 5 without a contact (with Webb extending his contract):

Hamilton, Honey, Redders, Crameri & Morris

Have I interpreted this correctly? Has Webb re-signed?

01-09-2017, 10:01 PM

Announced this evening

01-09-2017, 10:01 PM

Yes for 2 years

01-09-2017, 10:14 PM

Just the one. I update the OP with all signings. Just 5 left, and Redders has/had one on offer.

01-09-2017, 10:38 PM
Just the one. I update the OP with all signings. Just 5 left, and Redders has/had one on offer.

I'm starting to wonder whether Moz is only going to play on if we fail to secure a tall defender via trade/FA.

01-09-2017, 10:43 PM
I'm starting to wonder whether Moz is only going to play on if we fail to secure a tall defender via trade/FA.

Feel the same way. I don't understand why Redders hasn't signed his offer either. Crammers is confusing or a strategy. Hamilton & Honey dead certs to join Bob & Boyd.

A turnover count of 6 is a minimum to me.

01-09-2017, 10:48 PM
Feel the same way. I don't understand why Redders hasn't signed his offer either. Crammers is confusing or a strategy. Hamilton & Honey dead certs to join Bob & Boyd.

A turnover count of 6 is a minimum to me.

We either plan to make the bare minimum of changes, or there are contracted guys we are keen and confident of shipping out.

01-09-2017, 10:59 PM
We either plan to make the bare minimum of changes, or there are contracted guys we are keen and confident of shipping out.

I'd go with (1) Bob, (2) Boyd, (3) Honey, (4) Hamilton, (5 & 6) two of Redders/Campbell/Crameri/Morris

I hope Cloke stays. I wouldn't be surprised if a big trade outward happens. North have thrown stupid money at a heap of players and not been successful. So maybe they do that to a degree with Stringer, as he's a face their marketing team could have leading a rebuild of their list and club image. But he's under contract.

02-09-2017, 08:03 AM
SEN have sort of floated a 3 team trade between Brisbane, Collingwood and us (Martin, Cox and Crameri) so even if we lose Crameri it might not open up another spot. Early days I know but I could see the likes Crameri, Redpath and even Hamilton potentially being part of trades rather than just pure delistings

It might be that we have just 4 spots at the draft table.

02-09-2017, 08:19 AM
SEN have sort of floated a 3 team trade between Brisbane, Collingwood and us (Martin, Cox and Crameri) so even if we lose Crameri it might not open up another spot. Early days I know but I could see the likes Crameri, Redpath and even Hamilton potentially being part of trades rather than just pure delistings

When did they say that Gaz?

02-09-2017, 08:29 AM
When did they say that Gaz?

This should help

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/08/30/lion-star-seeking-move-to-victoria/

There is another one that has Crameri to Collingwood to round it off

02-09-2017, 08:31 AM
This should help

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/08/30/lion-star-seeking-move-to-victoria/

There is another one that has Crameri to Collingwood to round it off

Thanks mate.

What's he like around the ground? Good overhead?

02-09-2017, 08:36 AM
Thanks mate.

What's he like around the ground? Good overhead?

Stefan Martin?

02-09-2017, 09:56 AM
if we got Martin for Crameri (in effect) I wouldn't be able to sign that quick enough. I would even give them flowers.

02-09-2017, 10:10 AM
According to Dodoro...and yes I suppose you can take it with a grain of salt....he thinks there will be more trades done with contracted players this trade period than uncontracted players.

02-09-2017, 10:20 AM
Stefan Martin?

Yep, does he get to lots of contests, is he good overheard?. I haven't given Melbourne or Brisbane much of a look since he started playing.

02-09-2017, 10:29 AM

I'd prefer to see Redders & Hamilton in pick upgrades, if they have interest and if possible. So leaving some spots open, with fractionally better picks.

Another theory goes, go hard like Hawthorn last year and get a late pick and upgrades rookies to get to 3 picks. Put 9, 27 & 40 on the market. Trade players we don't want to commit to or who don't want to commit to us. Attack free agency, or what's left in the pool. Then bring in 3 or 4 ready made players.

02-09-2017, 10:34 AM
Are there any FAs left that is worth a slash and burn policy?

I think we will free some spots up on our list but may go for already contracted players. I just hope we don't throw the baby out with the bath water though.

02-09-2017, 10:36 AM
Are there any FAs left that is worth a slash and burn policy?

I think we will free some spots up on our list but may go for already contracted players. I just hope we don't throw the baby out with the bath water though.

Off the top of my head, Rockliff who I'd really, really like. Then Trengrove we've been linked to us.

02-09-2017, 10:38 AM
Yep, does he get to lots of contests, is he good overheard?. I haven't given Melbourne or Brisbane much of a look since he started playing.

He's a durable and mobile player. Certainly gets to contests, reasonable mark and would help midfielders a bit

02-09-2017, 11:44 AM
Really depends on the price but if Martin comes cheap, I think he's a good get. Roughead is one of the poorer first rucks in the comp, simply because of how little time he spends in there. Martin has proved he can go in there and ruck for 85% of the game.

02-09-2017, 11:44 AM
According to Dodoro...and yes I suppose you can take it with a grain of salt....he thinks there will be more trades done with contracted players this trade period than uncontracted players.

Dodo is now my favourite entertainer at this time of year.

02-09-2017, 12:48 PM
Rumour is Hopper has re-signed with the giants. Does that mean Kelly is gone?

02-09-2017, 01:06 PM
Off the top of my head, Rockliff who I'd really, really like. Then Trengrove we've been linked to us.

Can we have both please?

He's a durable and mobile player. Certainly gets to contests, reasonable mark and would help midfielders a bit

He sounds like just what we need. A ruckman who can help our mids at a lot of contests around the ground. The number of contests that opposition ruckmen had to themselves this year because our guy was 45 metres away was ridiculous. That was my no. 1 beef with our ruck set up this year.

Dodo is now my favourite entertainer at this time of year.

Ever since Sinatra passed!

02-09-2017, 04:29 PM
Don't go floating that Martin for Crameri stuff if it isn't true. It's not fair or right of you guys to do so to me.

03-09-2017, 08:02 AM
Webb and Redpath officially announced for 2 more years.
Morris signed on for one more year.

03-09-2017, 09:33 AM

Thanks, I'll add the link for others

Trio (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2017-09-03/bulldogs-trio-resign)

03-09-2017, 09:46 AM

That is fantastic news.

Interesting that Redpath committed for two. Its been his practice of recent years to commit to ongoing one year deals. Its a massive show of faith by both club and player.

03-09-2017, 09:50 AM
That is fantastic news.

Interesting that Redpath committed for two. Its been his practice of recent years to commit to ongoing one year deals. Its a massive show of faith by both club and player.

I'd have to suspect that there was significant interest from at least one other team as the catalyst for the change in the Redpath contract term. Possibly an indication that Travis Cloke might be leaning towards departing but that's just a pure guess.

03-09-2017, 09:59 AM
After confirmation that Morris, Webb and Redpath have signed on I believe this leaves the following players as unsigned.

Bradley Lynch, Declan Hamilton, Joshua Prudden, Mitch Honeychurch, Nathan Mullenger-McHugh, Roarke Smith and Stewart Crameri.

Robert Murphy and Matthew Boyd are retired there is a slight question mark if Travis Cloke completes his 2nd year.

I think Nathan Mullenger-McHugh will be maintained as a rookie but I'm not sure about the others.

This leaves quite a few gaps on our list but they are probably the ones we expected.

03-09-2017, 10:26 AM
That is fantastic news.

Also Carlton were heavily into him , but re-signing casboult stopped their pursuit .

03-09-2017, 10:40 AM
2 years for Red is one year too many IMO. He hasn't done enough for mine to warrant such a leap of of faith by the club. I'm a great admirer of what he has been able to achieve in his career, starting from a mile back, but I doubt there is any further improvement left in him.

Sounds the death knell of Crammers at the kennel you'd imagine.

03-09-2017, 11:05 AM
2 years for Red is one year too many IMO. He hasn't done enough for mine to warrant such a leap of of faith by the club. I'm a great admirer of what he has been able to achieve in his career, starting from a mile back, but I doubt there is any further improvement left in him.

2 years is overkill, agree. He'd struggle to get a game at about 15 other clubs yet we're throwing a multi year deal at him.

JMac better have some aces up his sleeve for the upcoming trade period, because he hasn't got many list spots to play with.

03-09-2017, 11:14 AM

Redpath and Crameri are very different players and while I do think he is more likely to depart I'm not convinced the two are are linked.
Perhaps it's more around what Cloke might do.

I agree that a 2 year deal from Redpath is 1 more than ideal.

03-09-2017, 11:21 AM
Do you think we might have put a Rookie contract forward to Crameri?
From where we sit he is an injury prone player that has played two games in two years and I would think that is pretty reasonable. Insurance for the club, but leaves it open for him to play should he get back to the level required.
He would then have to weigh it up against the offers coming from elsewhere.

Ps Essendon could be pursued for any extra lost earnings.

03-09-2017, 11:58 AM
Agree a bit of a stretch the extra year for Redpath, but wondering if the second year is incentive based
Great news on Morris and hope Webb can grasp his chance .

03-09-2017, 12:47 PM
That is fantastic news.

Your statement is incorrect. Redpath has only ever been offered a one year contract over the past few years. Redpath has always sought more than one year and held off this year for two. Yes massive show of faith by club.

03-09-2017, 01:06 PM
Agree a bit of a stretch the extra year for Redpath, but wondering if the second year is incentive based
Great news on Morris and hope Webb can grasp his chance .

Yeah, hopefully it's front loaded. Can't imagine its huge dollars but I'm not sure how Red fits structurally into the forward line, so 2 years seems like an interesting move. Clearly a popular guy around the club and it seems to indicate that Cloke is retiring.

03-09-2017, 01:12 PM
Your statement is incorrect. Redpath has only ever been offered a one year contract over the past few years. Redpath has always sought more than one year and held off this year for two. Yes massive show of faith by club.

I'm sure there were articles previously where he said he wanted/preferred one year deals. Do you have knowledge of previous negotiations?

03-09-2017, 01:29 PM
The last I thought an interview with him he said he likes the one year deals as it keeps him motivated or something along those lines.
Unless it was a bit of tongue in cheek

03-09-2017, 01:34 PM
I am one of the few that is happy that Red has signed for 2 years. His best is still ahead of him in my opinion. I also read that Clokey is looking forward to start pre season training in November.

03-09-2017, 01:48 PM
So 4 most likely out; Bob, Boyd, Hamilton & Honey. Crameri??? (I've said for ages my hunch is trying to RL him, which may or may not work/happen). I'm firm in the view we need to move on 6.

I get the whole 'back them all in to respond next year' philosophy. But if we want to trade at the high end if the market, and pursue any free agents, then we will now need to trade contracted player/s out to free up. Draft for talent, trade for need. We have a lot of needs, but with limited spots we might not be able to.

03-09-2017, 02:06 PM
I am one of the few that is happy that Red has signed for 2 years. His best is still ahead of him in my opinion. I also read that Clokey is looking forward to start pre season training in November.

I definitely wouldn't say you're one of the few. A good number of us are pleased he's still around. He's 26. - which is a spring chicken for a player of his type. If he doesn't do another knee, I'm quite sure he'll be a really good contributor for us.

And now that he's locked away, Trav Cloke is surplus to requirement.

03-09-2017, 02:53 PM
Nothing wrong with keeping Red and Cloke on list. Unlikely they play in same line-up however with our injury record not a bad idea to have a few big kpf. Both played alright I think and our deficiencies were more lack of the pressure when ball hit ground i50 and our dreadful delivery to them. The former could be addressed by Dahl doing more time close to goal and the latter might be addressed by Dale and Webb delivering i50, and perhaps Sucking too (prefer him there than in defence).

Hoping big red will repay the faith and become the bull he was in '15 and some of '16. That might happen as his confidence grows 12 months or more on from his 2nd acl.

03-09-2017, 03:12 PM
After confirmation that Morris, Webb and Redpath have signed on I believe this leaves the following players as unsigned.

Bradley Lynch, Declan Hamilton, Joshua Prudden, Mitch Honeychurch, Nathan Mullenger-McHugh, Roarke Smith and Stewart Crameri.

Robert Murphy and Matthew Boyd are retired there is a slight question mark if Travis Cloke completes his 2nd year.

I think Nathan Mullenger-McHugh will be maintained as a rookie but I'm not sure about the others.

This leaves quite a few gaps on our list but they are probably the ones we expected.

Depending on how his knee comes up I think Roarke Smith is a keeper, he has footskills we can't afford to be losing. And what's a bulldog list worth without an 'R. Smith' on it?

He must have had some real interest from other clubs is the only thing I can think of.

So 4 most likely out; Bob, Boyd, Hamilton & Honey. Crameri??? (I've said for ages my hunch is trying to RL him, which may or may not work/happen). I'm firm in the view we need to move on 6.

I get the whole 'back them all in to respond next year' philosophy. But if we want to trade at the high end if the market, and pursue any free agents, then we will now need to trade contracted player/s out to free up. Draft for talent, trade for need. We have a lot of needs, but with limited spots we might not be able to.

It looks like we want to get rid of Crammers to me. It doesn't look to me like we are going to offer him a rookie spot.

03-09-2017, 03:19 PM
I'm sure there were articles previously where he said he wanted/preferred one year deals. Do you have knowledge of previous negotiations?

Why would any player want to sign short term deals.

Here is a quote from last year:

"I'm absolutely stoked about it. Every year I've finished the season thinking 'am I going to have to go back on the tools?' (Carpentry) and to sign on knowing there's many games still to play makes me feel pretty good.

03-09-2017, 03:43 PM

I haven't seen enough VFL, but Lynch hasn't kicked on enough to warrant another year?

03-09-2017, 03:50 PM
I haven't seen enough VFL, but Lynch hasn't kicked on enough to warrant another year?

Been injured a lot this year. Looked likely prior to his troubles.

03-09-2017, 04:18 PM
I definitely wouldn't say you're one of the few. A good number of us are pleased he's still around. He's 26. - which is a spring chicken for a player of his type. If he doesn't do another knee, I'm quite sure he'll be a really good contributor for us.

And now that he's locked away, Trav Cloke is surplus to requirement.

I was going by the number of posters who commented on Red's 2 years before me in this thread.

03-09-2017, 04:55 PM
I was going by the number of posters who commented on Red's 2 years before me in this thread.

He needs to kick at least 50 goals a season - no excuses from now on.

03-09-2017, 05:09 PM
Just watching the VFL Final. Geez Fletcher Roberts must be considered a lucky footballer.

Premiership player, but lucky at that. Played a role, but hasn't come on at all. Doesn't seem to be part of trade talk due to his lack of currency and the fact that we're short of coverage in his position - largely because of his failure to fill that very position...

For me, he should be under the microscope.

03-09-2017, 05:23 PM
Just watching the VFL Final. Geez Fletcher Roberts must be considered a lucky footballer.

Premiership player, but lucky at that. Played a role, but hasn't come on at all. Doesn't seem to be part of trade talk due to his lack of currency and the fact that we're short of coverage in his position - largely because of his failure to fill that very position...

For me, he should be under the microscope.

The Hamling departure combined with Adams' injuries have really cruelled us down back - and Roberts STILL hasn't been able to nudge his way into regular selection.

03-09-2017, 05:31 PM

Just hasn't quite done enough for mine. He some some AFL traits but isn't consistent enough. We might try again if we don't think we can find better players

03-09-2017, 05:47 PM

I agree. If one year was unacceptable to Red I would've passed, similarly with Clay. Both are too slow to carry in the forward line, and as C graders who carry high injury risk it is too large a gamble to carry on the list for a combined 4 years.

03-09-2017, 06:41 PM

He was OK. Few key spoils and intercepts in the last quarter

Clay Smith was very good, showed some pace and agility which he has been lacking

03-09-2017, 07:00 PM
I agree. If one year was unacceptable to Red I would've passed, similarly with Clay. Both are too slow to carry in the forward line, and as C graders who carry high injury risk it is too large a gamble to carry on the list for a combined 4 years.

Agree with Red, but still think Clays hardness at the contest is something we sadly missed this year.

03-09-2017, 07:11 PM
Agree with Red, but still think Clays hardness at the contest is something we sadly missed this year.

If Clay can find it in him to return in 2018 supremely fit then I agree he will have something to offer us that we lacked this season.

03-09-2017, 07:16 PM
If Clay can find it in him to return in 2018 supremely fit then I agree he will have something to offer us that we lacked this season.

We need to have a secondary role for him. Solely playing him as a defensive small forward pocket, (and bomb it on his head) seems insane. To me he's got to go into the midfield (or ruck, everyone gets a go) or have more strings to his bow. I agree fitness from his end is vital, but where and how he's played by Bevo is a big component.

03-09-2017, 07:35 PM

While I agree with that what is the incentive for the player to come back fitter than he did this year given he now has a 2 year deal?

I'm really hoping someone spells this out to him because with his skill level he needs to be switched on very early in the year.

03-09-2017, 09:20 PM
While I agree with that what is the incentive for the player to come back fitter than he did this year given he now has a 2 year deal?

I'm really hoping someone spells this out to him because with his skill level he needs to be switched on very early in the year.

As supporters we can hope that the sting of 2017 hurts enough that Clay's (and others) pride helps to drive him through the pre-season. He obviously had to deal with the significant high of the Premiership alongside an extreme low of losing a close mate, coupled with the anxiety he must've carried through 2016 given his history with reoccurring ACLs. Maybe he struggled to deal with all of this in the off season.

Clay does concern me though that as a professional athlete, with the privilege that he has been afforded, that he didnt fully appreciate his limitations, that is, that preparation for him to survive could be compromised particularly given his limited skill set. As Libba should attest to though, even having this in your kit bag does not cut it unless you present at the level in the greatest physical condition

What gives me some hope with Clay is that he has had the mental fortitude to work his way through the extreme mental and physical challenge of returning from multiple ACL season ending injuries.

03-09-2017, 09:42 PM
As supporters we can hope that the sting of 2017 hurts enough that Clay's (and others) pride helps to drive him through the pre-season. He obviously had to deal with the significant high of the Premiership alongside an extreme low of losing a close mate, coupled with the anxiety he must've carried through 2016 given his history with reoccurring ACLs. Maybe he struggled to deal with all of this in the off season.

Clay does concern me though that as a professional athlete, with the privilege that he has been afforded, that he didnt fully appreciate his limitations, that is, that preparation for him to survive could be compromised particularly given his limited skill set. As Libba should attest to though, even having this in your kit bag does not cut it unless you present at the level in the greatest physical condition

What gives me some hope with Clay is that he has had the mental fortitude to work his way through the extreme mental and physical challenge of returning from multiple ACL season ending injuries.

Thanks Doc, I'm more than a bit over giving our boys the excuse of winning a flag as the reason for some poor performances this year. We certainly can't tolerate it next year. For Smith I'm really hoping the fact that he struggled to finish the year off in a senior side that was struggling to get wins will be a spur for him but I for some reason I'm not convinced it will be.
He was a disappointment this year and the coaches need to spell that out for him.

04-09-2017, 12:59 AM
Lynch is clearly talented, and I'll be pissed off if we can't retain him because we were too quick to re-sign a couple of premiership "heroes"

04-09-2017, 09:51 AM
We are becoming the Australian cricket team of yesteryear.. once you're in, you're in for life!

FMD!

04-09-2017, 10:16 AM
With the players that have recently signed up (like Webb for example) is there still a possibility to trade them or as my memory tells me you can't be traded in the same year you sign a new contract?

04-09-2017, 10:46 AM

If we have players on the list who are unmotivated because they have a 2 year deal we are in a bad place.

Pride, competitiveness, match payments, etc should all be enough

04-09-2017, 10:48 AM
With the players that have recently signed up (like Webb for example) is there still a possibility to trade them or as my memory tells me you can't be traded in the same year you sign a new contract?

You can, providing you agree to the trade. If you don't, then you can't be moved on.

04-09-2017, 10:55 AM
If we have players on the list who are unmotivated because they have a 2 year deal we are in a bad place.

Precisely. If we are recruiting players who use money and not pride to motivate themselves then we should give up on the football business.

04-09-2017, 12:28 PM
He needs to kick at least 50 goals a season - no excuses from now on.

Only 4 players in the AFL kicked more than 50 goals this season.

04-09-2017, 12:36 PM
Only 4 players in the AFL kicked more than 50 goals this season.

I'd have thought 35-40 goals would be a good return, especially for a third tier tall. If we want someone who can kick 50 plus goas consistently, we'll have to look outside of the club - particularly if Stringer can't get his groove back.

04-09-2017, 12:38 PM
I'd have thought 35-40 goals would be a good return, especially for a third tier tall. If we want someone who can kick 50 plus goals consistently, we'll have to look outside of the club - particularly if Stringer can't get his groove back.

I'm greedy. :D

04-09-2017, 12:39 PM
We are becoming the Australian cricket team of yesteryear.. once you're in, you're in for life!

FMD!

Who would you get rid of?

04-09-2017, 02:13 PM

He was coming out of contract this year and yet he didn't appear to come back in his best possible condition. We've now rewarded him with a 2 year deal. If some of the boys are still living off their rewards of 2016 then they might never recover.

I'm interested to know at what point the club will say enough is enough and demand some of the players that didn't quite perform this year need to smarten up and get fully focused again.

This years results prove to may we can't give players any latitude because the competition is so close.
Smith needs to get back to being a competitive beast again because he doesn't have the skill level to get by on that.

04-09-2017, 02:22 PM
He was coming out of contract this year and yet he didn't appear to come back in his best possible condition. We've now rewarded him with a 2 year deal. If some of the boys are still living off their rewards of 2016 then they might never recover.

I'm interested to know at what point the club will say enough is enough and demand some of the players that didn't quite perform this year need to smarten up and get fully focused again.

This years results prove to may we can't give players any latitude because the competition is so close.
Smith needs to get back to being a competitive beast again because he doesn't have the skill level to get by on that.

You won't have to wait long there no is premiership hangover excuse next year. We need Easton, Bont and Dahl to lead the way during preseason to build some momentum while Bevo tightens the leash a notch.

04-09-2017, 03:31 PM
Who would you get rid of?

More on length of contract as opposed to delistings.

Come the end of 2018 I think we will have 3 or 4 players contracted for 2019 who we will be scratching our heads with what to do with them.

04-09-2017, 04:42 PM
The Delistings/Retired

1. Murphy
2. Boyd
3. Hamilton
4. Honeychurch
5. Crameri
6. Possible Campbell

I think 5 to 6 is enough to give us another injection of new talent.

04-09-2017, 07:25 PM
You won't have to wait long there no is premiership hangover excuse next year. We need Easton, Bont and Dahl to lead the way during preseason to build some momentum while Bevo tightens the leash a notch.

Why would you assume a hangover in a footy sense only lasts for one year? And if so, why should the club accept that given they were so strong in letting everyone know that there was no hangover?

Last question and it's a serious one, can Bevo actually tighten the leash?
The only player that I know the club took a hard stance with was a rookie player that we sent to Footscray and he promptly quit.

I'll be impressed if Bevo can tighten the leash and lift expectations on the playing group and I think it will go a long way towards getting us back to the level we should be at.

04-09-2017, 09:26 PM
By tighten the leash, you're talking lifting standards and expectations? Setting goals and expecting outcomes. Elevating a few of the players out of their comfort zone.

It's going to be an interesting preseason.

04-09-2017, 11:00 PM
Why would you assume a hangover in a footy sense only lasts for one year? And if so, why should the club accept that given they were so strong in letting everyone know that there was no hangover?

Last question and it's a serious one, can Bevo actually tighten the leash?
The only player that I know the club took a hard stance with was a rookie player that we sent to Footscray and he promptly quit.

I'll be impressed if Bevo can tighten the leash and lift expectations on the playing group and I think it will go a long way towards getting us back to the level we should be at.

I didn't listen to the clubs rhetoric behind the disappointing season but no doubt many got a free ride off the back off the premiership. Did you notice our president this year? Is he alive? Talk about satisfied.... To be honest I was too. You were right on the money during the preseason no doubt.

Like you I'm hoping Bevo can, its what needs to happened and it starts with our leaders. I've been critical of Wood this year and there is a reason for it because he is one last players that I would have picked to take a step backwards this year. Picken is another, Dahl too. There is no point even discussing clay smith a fringe player when your top echelon is so far off their best.

Bevo is a young coach as well I reckon he will have learnt more this year than any other previously and all we can do at this stage is back him in to keep improving and support him with the right people.

08-09-2017, 02:43 PM
Is Crameri heading back to Bombers? (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-09-08/is-crameri-heading-back-to-bombers)
STEWART Crameri's stalled career could be restarted at his former club with Essendon believed to be interested in the out-of-contract Western Bulldog.

AFL.com.au understands the Bulldogs are unlikely to offer the hard-running forward a new deal.

Crameri walked out on the Bombers to join the Bulldogs on a lucrative four-year deal worth about $450,000 a year at the end of 2013.

He has only played two senior games this year due to a troublesome hip injury and the 29-year-old missed the Bulldogs' 2016 flag triumph because of a season-long doping ban.

The Dogs, however, may now reconsider Crameri's worth with premiership forward Jake Stringer reportedly contemplating a fresh start at a rival club following two inconsistent seasons since earning All Australian selection in 2015.

If Crameri does return to Essendon, he'll line up alongside star midfielder Zach Merrett, the player the Bombers drafted with the second-round pick received from the Bulldogs in the trade.

Crameri said last month his future was up in the air.

"I've had a little bit of interest (from other clubs), and I'll work through that with my manager and go from there, so I'll see how things play out," Crameri said upon arriving at his exit meeting.

"The doctors have ticked off (my hip injury), so I can't wait to start pre-season and have a 2018 campaign not to forget. I can't wait."

Asked recently about Crameri's future at Whitten Oval, coach Luke Beveridge was non-committal.

"We're working through all of that decision making at the moment, and Stewart is one of the players that is uncontracted but there is ongoing talks with his management and other (players')," Beveridge said.

Since being taken by the Bombers with pick 44 in the 2009 NAB AFL Rookie Draft, Crameri has kicked 166 goals from 99 games.

The Maryborough product has kicked 30 goals or more in a season five times since his debut in round 20, 2010.

08-09-2017, 02:48 PM
I just vomited in my mouth a little.

08-09-2017, 02:52 PM
I just vomited in my mouth a little.

Can we start a thread titled: 'Good things that have happened in 2017'?

Copy and paste from here:

1. JJ re-signed

/thread

08-09-2017, 02:59 PM
Is this April 1?

08-09-2017, 03:43 PM
Shocktober #mk2

08-09-2017, 03:45 PM
Shocktober #mk2

Lets hope it has the same happy ending

08-09-2017, 04:31 PM
Can we start a thread titled: 'Good things that have happened in 2017'?

Copy and paste from here:

1. JJ re-signed

/thread

Who'd have thunk the euphoria of a flag and ensuing prospect of a young, formidable outfit embarking on a defence of said flag might've imploded so fatally in the space of a year to see us miss finals, have not one but two players tap out with depression, see most of the flag team succumb to deep form slumps while having one rare young talent find himself at his personal footy crossroads (Libba) and another rare young talent blueing with the club and demanding out.

Chuck in injuries, MRP fun and the prospect of getting bent over for Stringer and you can frig right off into the bin 2017.

08-09-2017, 04:54 PM
Who'd have thunk the euphoria of a flag and ensuing prospect of a young, formidable outfit embarking on a defence of said flag might've imploded so fatally in the space of a year to see us miss finals, have not one but two players tap out with depression, see most of the flag team succumb to deep form slumps while having one rare young talent find himself at his personal footy crossroads (Libba) and another rare young talent blueing with the club and demanding out.

Chuck in injuries, MRP fun and the prospect of getting bent over for Stringer and you can frig right off into the bin 2017.

That's if you believe everything the media writes , remember these scribes wrote we wouldn't get Tom Boyd , Martin was gone to North, JJ was at the pies, Boyd and Cordy had a big bust up etc etc the list of crap goes on and on.

08-09-2017, 05:12 PM
That's if you believe everything the media writes , remember these scribes wrote we wouldn't get Tom Boyd , Martin was gone to North, JJ was at the pies, Boyd and Cordy had a big bust up etc etc the list of crap goes on and on.

I reckon it is as bad as it seems. We haven't handled this last year well.

08-09-2017, 05:17 PM
I reckon it is as bad as it seems. We haven't handled this last year well.

Indeed. I'm no champion of the footy media but nothing I listed is conjecture. We shat the bed and it's high time for the messy business of changing the sheets.

08-09-2017, 06:12 PM
Dogs confirm list change (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2017-09-08/dogs-confirm-list-change)

The Western Bulldogs have today confirmed that Josh Prudden’s contract hasn’t been renewed for the 2018 AFL season.

The 23-year-old was selected with the Dogs’ third round pick (50th overall) in the 2012 NAB AFL Draft and made his debut in Round 15 2015 against the Gold Coast Suns.

Prudden was delisted at the end of the 2016 season before the Club recommitted to the midfielder in November by picking him in the Rookie Draft.

Hampered by injury, Prudden averaged 12.5 disposals, four marks and two tackles over four AFL career games, and also appeared in 43 VFL games.

Western Bulldogs List Manager Jason McCartney said Prudden was popular among his teammates and his presence around the club would be missed.

“Josh was the very definition of a great teammate and he should hold his head high for the impact he’s had on the group in his time here,” McCartney said.

“We wish Josh all the best for the future and we thank him for his commitment and dedication to our football club over the journey.”

The Bulldogs have until Tuesday October 31 to lodge their initial 2018 playing list to the AFL.

08-09-2017, 06:16 PM
I don't want to kick the guy or criticise the club, but a lot of folks saw this coming 12 months ago. We should've taken a kid last year.

But good on him for just coming back injury after injury. Hopefully he moves to a lower level where his talent can shine without the same risk of injury.

08-09-2017, 06:23 PM
I don't want to kick the guy or criticise the club, but a lot of folks saw this coming 12 months ago. We should've taken a kid last year.

But good on him for just coming back injury after injury. Hopefully he moves to a lower level where his talent can shine without the same risk of injury.

Feel sorry for him with all his injuries. All the best to Josh.

08-09-2017, 06:33 PM
Never got a decent crack at it with all those injuries, very disappointing for him.

08-09-2017, 07:55 PM

Which kid?

08-09-2017, 08:03 PM
Which kid?

Any kid with the rookie draft selection Dalrymple used/was told to use on Prudden.

08-09-2017, 09:30 PM
Prudden would have to be a good option to replace Russell as our VFL captain for 2018

08-09-2017, 11:20 PM
Any kid with the rookie draft selection Dalrymple used/was told to use on Prudden.
Name one that is better than Prudden.

09-09-2017, 12:14 AM

James Cousins
Fraser McInnes
Corey Maynard

I suspect we kept Prudden on to do the right thing by him with his ACL, otherwise he would have been delisted last year

09-09-2017, 11:18 AM

I think the point is more that any kid would have been a better chance than Prudden who has only ever been a borderline fringe AFL player before his knee injury. I like him but his delisting was predictable last year.

09-09-2017, 11:40 AM

James Cousins
Fraser McInnes
Corey Maynard

I suspect we kept Prudden on to do the right thing by him with his ACL, otherwise he would have been delisted last year

I think the point is more that any kid would have been a better chance than Prudden who has only ever been a borderline fringe AFL player before his knee injury. I like him but his delisting was predictable last year.

Exactly this.

09-09-2017, 12:09 PM

Happy to take the long game approach - show care and compassion by giving Prudden an extra year to show the players (and players from other clubs) that we look after our own moreso than others.

09-09-2017, 12:12 PM
James Cousins
Fraser McInnes
Corey Maynard

Cousins and McInnes were picked up before we selected Prudden. Maynard was picked up as a cat B rookie prior to the rookie draft.

09-09-2017, 12:13 PM
Happy to take the long game approach - show care and compassion by giving Prudden an extra year to show the players (and players from other clubs) that we look after our own moreso than others.

Agree entirely Sedat. There are many examples of this too by a number of clubs over the years. You only have to look at Alex Johnson at Sydney. Now that is loyalty shown by a club.

09-09-2017, 12:15 PM

The only punt was that he might have an injury free year....which proved to be incorrect. He had shown enough in his brief appearances to suggest he was a reasonable chance of making it ahead of a younger rookie.

09-09-2017, 01:22 PM

Interestingly however we are hardly showing the same compassion to others, Crameri being a good example. Spends two years out, one due to a drug suspension that wasn't really his fault and another due to hip issues. I get that Prudden seems to be a very solid citizen in every aspect but Crameri is hardly a bad boy.

The only punt was that he might have an injury free year....which proved to be incorrect. He had shown enough in his brief appearances to suggest he was a reasonable chance of making it ahead of a younger rookie.

Yeah I didn't mind Prudden's games last year but he looked no more likely than someone like Sam Darley, Nick Lower or Tom Young. And as useful as they are at AFL level vs a younger speculative rookie I wouldn't have been opposed to trying someone new instead of Prudden especially considering we had decent depth in his role, as shown by the fact he never got a game despite our entire starting defence being out injured.

On top of that Dalrymple has been shown to be reasonable at finding AFL talent with rookie picks, so a punt may have paid off.

I'm not exactly losing sleep over it though.

09-09-2017, 02:59 PM
From a business perspective it wasn't a smart move but from a football club I really liked that we gave him another year for his injury.

09-09-2017, 03:07 PM
Will be interesting to see if there is any truth in the mail that Dalhaus is being shopped around as well.

09-09-2017, 03:17 PM
Will be interesting to see if there is any truth in the mail that Dalhaus is being shopped around as well.

Where did you hear this one?

09-09-2017, 03:27 PM
This might be unpopular but if we're looking to make significant changes and need to dangle assets with healthy currency to attract the same, Dahlhaus is at or near the top of my list.

09-09-2017, 03:29 PM
I find all the rumours laughable

09-09-2017, 03:43 PM
Cousins and McInnes were picked up before we selected Prudden. Maynard was picked up as a cat B rookie prior to the rookie draft.

Bugger off with your facts. :)

09-09-2017, 03:49 PM
For mine Prudden showed he could have been a reasonable AFL footballer, but injuries curtailed his progress and the club did the right thing in keeping him on as a rookie this year to see him fully recover and get back to playing football.

Comparisons between his situation and that of Crameri are a bit off the mark. Crameri has had a full year of rehab under the club's watch and he's in tip top shape now (according to him and his doctors), after a drug suspension he himself was largely responsible for.

09-09-2017, 04:00 PM
I also think we've seen the best of Dahl, he's hard and honest but as a midfielder he doesn't have enough hurt by hand and foot in his game. My preference for him would be to see him mainly practice his forward craft and fill that role for us, he has all the tools aside form set shot ability, but he could pick that up.

09-09-2017, 04:17 PM
Where did you hear this one?

I heard it mentioned by David King (I think) on SEN this arvo.

09-09-2017, 04:44 PM
I heard it mentioned by David King (I think) on SEN this arvo.

Was Greg Denham, so can probably be disregarded.

09-09-2017, 05:00 PM
I heard it mentioned by : (I think) on SEN this arvo.

Must be right then . King reckons we won't play finals for a few years ...
Can I purchase finals tickets for 2018

09-09-2017, 05:07 PM

Oddly, he was also one of the few talking heads left, after most had jumped off, who kept insisting we'd eventually get it together this season in time for finals.

09-09-2017, 05:56 PM
Even if it isn't all true it hurts our brand and will impact our ability to attract players from other clubs. I'm sure Levers camp were made aware of the so called issues at the kennel.

09-09-2017, 06:06 PM
Issues , do we really have any ? Just because a player gets told he needs to be more commited and is a little upset all of a sudden the media is all over us with rumour after rumour.
Only issues we have that's fact is we didn't perform to expectations last year and there will be a few changes because of it , not necessarily just the players I would imagine either.

We have to Change the list by 4 anyway and I would imagine the full commitment statement would have been made to a few players.

09-09-2017, 06:09 PM
Was Greg Denham, so can probably be disregarded.

Did he say it on KB's show HD? It's probably where Kimg heard it.

09-09-2017, 08:03 PM

Prudden was pick 35, McInnes 44, Cousins 46

No reason we couldn't have selected Maynard instead

09-09-2017, 08:16 PM
Prudden was pick 35, McInnes 44, Cousins 46

No reason we couldn't have selected Maynard instead
I thought Prudden was a pick in the 50's?

09-09-2017, 08:20 PM

Actually I heard Kingy on On the Couch saying we will bounce back next year and make finals. He must have had a change of heart.

09-09-2017, 08:36 PM
Did he say it on KB's show HD? It's probably where Kimg heard it.

Just had it relayed to me, not sure where he said it specifically.

09-09-2017, 08:43 PM

Yes pick 50

09-09-2017, 08:44 PM
Just had it relayed to me, not sure where he said it specifically.

I heard Dahl's name mentioned on SEN's Crunch Time show this morning and as mentioned the reference was to a Greg Denham article.

The article itself was in The Australian this morning and covered the upcoming trade period generally i.e not just us. This was the snippet from the article:

The enigmatic Jake Stringer is out of favour at the Western Bulldogs and will play elsewhere next year. In a chequered 89-game *!career that included playing in a premiership and being dropped to the VFL in the same season, he’s on the nose again at Whitten Oval, two years after his All-Australian selection for the 2015 season in which he kicked 56 goals.

All Stringer’s key performance indicators are down this season, including goals — he’s kicked 24 in 16 games — but rival clubs will be interested in him. Certainly St Kilda and Collingwood are sniffing around and Richmond are poised. There are other premiership players on rocky ground at the Dogs, who will field interest from clubs on contracted players including Luke Dahlhaus. Watch this space on that front.

09-09-2017, 09:38 PM
Actually I heard Kingy on On the Couch saying we will bounce back next year and make finals. He must have had a change of heart.

He just swings in the breeze

09-09-2017, 09:41 PM
Issues , do we really have any ? Just because a player gets told he needs to be more commited and is a little upset all of a sudden the media is all over us with rumour after rumour.
Only issues we have that's fact is we didn't perform to expectations last year and there will be a few changes because of it , not necessarily just the players I would imagine either.

We have to Change the list by 4 anyway and I would imagine the full commitment statement would have been made to a few players.

Jake's misread the play terribly here . You can't be tardy on things like rehab and rocking up late , and getting on the squirt to much, and expect no retribution. Also poor form

09-09-2017, 10:10 PM
Jake's misread the play terribly here . You can't be tardy on things like rehab and rocking up late , and getting on the squirt to much, and expect no retribution. Also poor form

If true it is a very bad look to the group too, young and old players, as a whole if Jake kept getting away with it.

09-09-2017, 10:16 PM
I heard Dahl's name mentioned on SEN's Crunch Time show this morning and as mentioned the reference was to a Greg Denham article.

The article itself was in The Australian this morning and covered the upcoming trade period generally i.e not just us. This was the snippet from the article:

Cheers Doc. i missed him saying where he was quoting it from.

09-09-2017, 11:22 PM

Referring to the rookie draft last year, not the national draft he was first selected in

10-09-2017, 12:42 PM
Mark Stevens said on AFL Gameday that it was the Bulldogs telling Stringer that they are going to be putting him up for trade and not Stringer wanting out. If this is right it makes me feel sick.

Why on earth would the club initiate the trade. Is he that hard to work with. We trade him which gives him a rude awakening and he in turn pulls his finger out and becomes the Gary Ablett Snr type player that comes around once in a lifetime at our club and we traded him because he had a down couple years on and off the field. :mad:

I hope Mark Stevens is off the mark.

10-09-2017, 12:51 PM
He said we'll be lucky to get a top 15 pick too.

Some dumb work going on here.

10-09-2017, 12:53 PM
Mark Stevens said on AFL Gameday that it was the Bulldogs telling Stringer that they are going to be putting him up for trade and not Stringer wanting out. If this is right it makes me feel sick.

Why on earth would the club initiate the trade. Is he that hard to work with. We trade him which gives him a rude awakening and he in turn pulls his finger out and becomes the Gary Ablett Snr type player that comes around once in a lifetime at our club and we traded him because he had a down couple years on and off the field. :mad:

I hope Mark Stevens is off the mark.

The Hawks offloaded Ablett at the end of 83, they then went on to dominate for years by win four flags in Ablett's playing days to his none.
I wan't us to keep Jake, but if he is not listening and putting in the work as some suggest then we need to make it a best case scenario for us and move on.

10-09-2017, 01:07 PM
Stringer not worth a top 15 pick? You're kidding me.

10-09-2017, 01:18 PM
If the trades not good enough, then he stays.

I've told of this convo I had with Brendan McCartney many times towards the end of 2014. He said he never spoke with Jake about talent, that's not something Jake needs to create, he's got talent. He said their convo's were all about work rate, because if he worked hard enough he'd be the best player BMac would have ever had involvement with. So all along it seems now the coaches (BMac & Bevo) and the players leadership group have been demanding 100% effort, 100% of the time. If they feel that the message might never get through, I could see why they've done this. Either stays with putting in the effort required (with this serving as a pull your bloody finger out), or we get something good at the trade table.

I guess we will know which one it is soon enough.

10-09-2017, 01:18 PM
Stringer not worth a top 15 pick? You're kidding me.

It's probably not a case of what he is worth, he should be valued as a top 10 pick, but it's more about what the priorities are for the clubs with those early picks.

10-09-2017, 01:39 PM
I would be very surprised if there isn't a Club prepared to pay overs and back their extended football dept. to turn him around. The latent talent and upside would be too much for many to ignore.

It's kind of a broken model where those holding the reigns are pointing at the playing group, and yet this same bunch, overseeing our program, unable to get the best out of Jake and so many others.

Personally I see the crosshairs should be as much if not more aimed at those within the Club charged with managing and developing our playing group, who, with a couple of exceptions, by and large have regressed this season.

10-09-2017, 02:21 PM
Making it abundantly clear the club's had a gutful and are determined to be rid of Jake seems a crazy way of maximising any potential return.

Crazy like a fox maybe.

10-09-2017, 06:27 PM
The club wouldn't take this lightly. Jake's been a jackass in more ways than one it seems and you can bet there is a strong consensus on this as opposed to two or three.

12-09-2017, 06:41 PM
Confirmed.

1. Murphy
2. Boyd
3. Hamilton

Out of Contract

1. Honeychurch
2. Crameri

In Limbo and rumoured

1. Stringer (Damian Barrett, Stevo)
2. Dahl (Greg Baum)

12-09-2017, 07:10 PM
Noticed Honeychurch was a no show for both VFL finals. Was this perhaps a result of bad blood post his review?

As for Dahl, surely not!?

12-09-2017, 07:18 PM
Maybe it's the pessimistic bulldogs genes in me but all these rumours have a serious smell about them. I really hope they're wrong but where there's smoke......

If true, we've fallen short of being a destination club and are looking more like a departure lounge.

12-09-2017, 07:24 PM
Maybe it's the pessimistic bulldogs genes in me but all these rumours have a serious smell about them. I really hope they're wrong but where there's smoke......

If true, we've fallen short of being a destination club and are looking more like a departure lounge.

I've heard some doozies lately, scarey stuff.

12-09-2017, 09:22 PM
Crameri likely to stay now Stringer is going.

12-09-2017, 09:24 PM

You'd hope so. We need a mature body up there in that role.

12-09-2017, 10:02 PM

Is that being touted? I'd like to think that if we were to lose Stringer we could keep Crameri.

12-09-2017, 10:12 PM
Is that being touted? I'd like to think that if we were to lose Stringer we could keep Crameri.

Not a great way to (re) commit to Stewie though. If he has other suitors, which I'm guessing he would have, I'd imagine he would have already packed his bags.

12-09-2017, 10:28 PM
I've heard some doozies lately, scarey stuff. And from what is coming out from those rumors there appears to be quite a bit of truth. By all accounts they would put the Collingwood Brat Pack to shame.

12-09-2017, 10:35 PM
Confirmed.

1. Murphy
2. Boyd
3. Hamilton

Out of Contract

1. Honeychurch
2. Crameri

In Limbo and rumoured

1. Stringer (Damian Barrett, Stevo)
2. Dahl (Greg Baum)

Isn't Campbell out of contract?

12-09-2017, 10:36 PM
Isn't Campbell out of contract?

Nope, he's got next year if he's not traded.

12-09-2017, 10:46 PM
Don't rate Ralph but interesting even if partially true.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/luke-beveridge-and-western-bulldogs-went-from-handball-club-to-party-club-writes-jon-ralph/news-story/c29bf990670ecf606195d0952cfe45b4

12-09-2017, 10:59 PM
Not a great way to (re) commit to Stewie though. If he has other suitors, which I'm guessing he would have, I'd imagine he would have already packed his bags.

Without knowing the reasons why we haven't offered him a contract I'm surprised by the move. I think he is worth sticking with providing he is reasonable with his contract demands.

12-09-2017, 11:45 PM
Don't rate Ralph but interesting even if partially true.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/luke-beveridge-and-western-bulldogs-went-from-handball-club-to-party-club-writes-jon-ralph/news-story/c29bf990670ecf606195d0952cfe45b4

Paywall

13-09-2017, 08:11 AM
Paywall

Luke Beveridge and Western Bulldogs went from handball club to party club, writes Jon Ralph
JON RALPH, Herald Sun
September 12, 2017 7:44pm
Subscriber only

LUKE Beveridge seems cut from the same cloth as the AFL’s longest serving coach Mick Malthouse.

A father figure, a confidante and a master motivator who didn’t seem overly fussed if his players burnt the candle at both ends.

If his players wanted a cheeky beer or an odd blowout after a victory, it didn’t matter as long as they went to war for him on a weekly basis.

One of the many take-outs from the Western Bulldogs’ premiership hangover is that an isolated group of his players took that rope and ran with it.

The last time there was this much chatter about the Dogs, the fallout was dramatic.

They sacked their coach, lost their Brownlow Medallist, traded their captain and saw their CEO depart just months later.

Now the club which won a premiership off the back of those dramatic decisions has again become the subject of an off-season whispering campaign.

They might ship their best forward, there are rumours about administrative changes, the list manager is unsigned, the fan base is unsettled.

The team that started the Handball Club seems more intent on being the Party Club.

The club’s recent history shows events are never as bad as they seem, that one poor season can be the launching pad for success.

But only if those issues are identified and immediately rectified instead of swept under the carpet.

Luke Beveridge’s decision to trade Jake Stringer is the warning shot across the bows of his entire list.

Beveridge’s issues run far deeper than Stringer when it comes to on-field issues.

A simple snapshot: the Dogs were 15th for points for, 18th for goals per inside 50, 18th for kicking efficiency, 18th for centre clearance ranking and 17th for hit-outs to advantage.

Simple question — who kicks all of the Dogs’ goals if Stringer leaves?

The Dogs want a pick for Stringer instead of players, with Essendon and Geelong strong early suitors and St Kilda, Collingwood and North Melbourne interested.
Luke Beveridge hopes his side can quickly rebound. Pic: Michael Klein

But as flighty and inconsistent and infuriating as Stringer is, he is a goalkicker.

Despite being dropped last year, despite a knee and two hamstring issues this year, he has 122 goals from 2015-2017.

In that time Marcus Bontempelli has 63 goals, Liam Picken 54, Jack Redpath 54, Luke Dahlhaus 39 and Tom Boyd 36.

Tory Dickson kicked 101, but at 30 and with just 11 of those goals coming this season, it’s hard to think he picks up the slack.

So Bevo needs to weed out the ratbags, find a better ruck set-up, weigh a trade for Stringer, fix his midfield, find more goalkickers.

A single entry on his resume — 2016 premiership coach — will have him shouted free beer in pubs west of North Melbourne for all his days.

But a long-lasting legacy comes from his capacity to drag this club back up the ladder again.

13-09-2017, 08:45 AM
I don't mind this article , i don't think it's over the top as much as a lot of others , actually points out that things are never as bad as they seem and we do know the media blow up stories with the worst scenarios and add huge adjectives to make you read their article. It also goes back to our onfield problem of goal kicking, it's not sleazy muck raking.
Well done Ralph for a little bit of a sane article in an insane media world.
It's not a good article about us but it's not condemning us but it points out we have issues.

13-09-2017, 07:48 PM
Channel 7 news reporting that Whitfield has re-signed with GWS until 2020, does that mean Kelly is gone ?

13-09-2017, 07:50 PM
Channel 7 news reporting that Whitfield has re-signed with GWS until 2020, does that mean Kelly is gone ?

Hopefully to us. Theyre going to be tight to the cap, unless Gryphone took a package to retire.

13-09-2017, 07:57 PM
http://www.goldcoastbulletin.com.au/sport/afl/luke-beveridge-says-decision-to-trade-jake-stringer-was-mutual-between-club-and-player/news-story/f274da3876a106d26dcf77b0124e5a11

Stringer gone....

13-09-2017, 07:59 PM
So it would seem that Bevo has now conveyed to Mark Robinson that the Club has agreed with Jake to seek a suitable trade deal.
No more innuendo. Article just posted up on HS.

Luke Beveridge says decision to trade Jake Stringer was mutual between club and player
Mark Robinson, Herald Sun
21 minutes ago

WESTERN Bulldogs coach Luke Beveridge says he acted in the greater interests of the club in deciding to move on forward Jake Stringer.

In his first comments on the stunning split, Beveridge told the Herald Sun his premiership forward ultimately agreed he would be better suited elsewhere.

The only scenario which would see Stringer, 23, remain at the Bulldogs would be if a trade deal didn’t satisfy the club.

“Jake’s management and the club got together and both agreed we’d explore alternatives to him playing at the club and explore what’s right for his long-term future and the club’s,’’ Beveridge told the Herald Sun.

“It’s as simple as that ... I’m not going into details.”

Stringer’s football issues centre around a lack of professionalism in preparation, at training and the rehabilitation of injuries.

They are compounded by a litany of off-field issues, ranging from his personal situation with his former partner, the stresses of being a young father, to behavioural concerns.

Beveridge conceded the decision to trade his one-time All-Australian forward was a tough one.

“It is because first and foremost I operate from a platform of care and duty to our players and I’ve got to look after the whole group,” the coach said.

“But when it comes to the point where both parties are saying maybe it’s best to explore somewhere else, it means then it’s right for that individual, but it’s also right for the group he’s going to leave behind.”

A worthy trade would have to be organised, Beveridge said.

“Ultimately, he’s still a contracted player,” he said.

“We’re not going to just say ‘Here you go, you can have Jake Stringer’. We’ve said to him, you’re going to play here mate if no one is going to treat you with the respect you should have as far as what you have achieved, because we need to do what’s right for the club as much as you as well.

“We’ll try to work it out together.

“You asked if it’s irretrievable. It’s not. Ultimately, (if) Jake is still playing at the football club, then we’ve just got to work through that next year, of maturity and what it looks like for him, and see how we go.’’

Stringer has kicked 160 goals in 89 games after being taken at pick No.5 in the 2012 national draft.

Essendon and Geelong are reportedly Stringer’s preferred destinations, although it’s understood several clubs have made inquiries to Stringer’s manager Paul Connors.

St Kilda coach Alan Richardson said last week the Saints were interested in talking to Stringer.

Earning about $500,000 a season and with a year to run on his contract, the trade value for Stringer is anywhere between pick No.10 and pick No.25, depending on whether you highlight his qualities or deficiencies.

Connors refused to comment.

Beveridge said Stringer had unique challenges as a player and person and that the club had supported him through difficult times.

“Each player is presented with a different set of challenges,” he said.

“He’s obviously become a high-profile player very early in the piece and when you think of his life, having two young daughters, obviously going through settlement proceedings because he’s not married, and being a boy from the bush, and the city life ... he’s got a lot on his plate, a lot of challenges.

“And maybe it takes a little while to be able to get on top of those things. But he’s got unique challenges a lot of players haven’t had in the game.’’

Beveridge denied reports Stringer stormed out of his end-of-season exit interview.

“When I heard about it, I chuckled,” Beveridge said.

“He didn’t at all. We chatted more about family and future, he has two little girls and about what’s next for him, and we walked out as amicable as we ever have been.

“We’ve always had a good relationship, we still have, there’s no heat.

“The thing about exit meetings is there’s no surprises. Jake wasn’t surprised by anything we said or anything he mentioned to us in so far as what he’s going to work on and what are his strengths, so that was all fine.

“That was purely a fabrication.”

13-09-2017, 08:01 PM
http://www.goldcoastbulletin.com.au/sport/afl/luke-beveridge-says-decision-to-trade-jake-stringer-was-mutual-between-club-and-player/news-story/f274da3876a106d26dcf77b0124e5a11

Stringer gone....

ahh thought that link was ok just google the headline

13-09-2017, 08:01 PM
Yep, Bevo confirmed we're actively shopping Stringer. Seeya Jake, don't let the door hit you on the way out.

13-09-2017, 08:04 PM
Yep, Bevo confirmed we're actively shopping Stringer. Seeya Jake, don't let the door hit you on the way out.

Bit harsh.

13-09-2017, 08:04 PM
Bit harsh.

Not really.

13-09-2017, 08:38 PM
Finally the club speaks.

Weirdly, after reading that I'll be less surprised if he ends up staying.

We want maximum return but we've done just about everything you could to publicly devalue the asset.

Surely nothing would send a stronger message to Jake than nobody being prepared to pony up what he's supposedly worth.

13-09-2017, 08:39 PM
Gerard Whately on AFL 360 all but confirming Kelly is staying with GWS.

One less big fish out there means more interest in Jake you'd suspect.

13-09-2017, 08:50 PM
Finally the club speaks.

We want maximum return but we've done just about everything you could to publicly devalue the asset.

Surely nothing would send a stronger message to Jake than nobody being prepared to pony up what he's supposedly worth.

People want the club to make comment and when we do we've said too much.

I think Bevo found the balance between honesty and protecting our interests as well as anyone could have.

13-09-2017, 08:55 PM
With a very likely departure of Stringer, a very possible addition with Trengove I think we now need to seriously consider pursuing Tom Rockcliff who could be another steady influence for this list.

We've lost two steady veterans and need to bolster our remaining leaders with some level and sensible heads.

It would be great to get Lever but if it's only wages that we need to consider Rocky might be worth having a chat to.

13-09-2017, 08:57 PM
With a very likely departure of Stringer, a very possible addition with Trengove I think we now need to seriously consider pursuing Tom Rockcliff who could be another steady influence for this list.

We've lost two steady veterans and need to bolster our remaining leaders with some level and sensible heads.

It would be great to get Lever but if it's only wages that we need to consider Rocky might be worth having a chat to.

Would love Rockliff if he checks out in the head space department.

13-09-2017, 08:59 PM

I've been saying Rockliff for months, I hope we've been in his ear.

Say Stringer found his way to Essendon for pick 11. And we had picks 9 & 11 would you take them to draft or hit up some talent at trade?

13-09-2017, 09:00 PM
Would love Rockliff if he checks out in the head space department.

Yep, need to make sure it's a good fit.

13-09-2017, 09:15 PM

Say Stringer found his way to Essendon for pick 11. And we had picks 9 & 11 would you take them to draft or hit up some talent at trade?

All depends what's on offer and we can hedge our bets . Trade one pick one.

13-09-2017, 09:20 PM
Operation Re-Sign Stew Crameri

13-09-2017, 09:23 PM

Yep, given the reported issues at the club it probably makes it a bit more urgent to have a talk to him. We are going to need some strong leaders at the club.

I'd go to the draft unless there was someone of quality wanting to come to us.

13-09-2017, 09:38 PM

He and Jake are buddies too

13-09-2017, 09:58 PM
Like Rockliff . Very good forward as well

13-09-2017, 10:10 PM
Like Rockliff . Very good forward as well

And he's done something that no Bulldog has done in a while. He can tag a star player. Seriously some clubs still tag star players and this is not me living in the 90's :)

13-09-2017, 10:24 PM
Finally the club speaks.

I get the feeling he may stay too. A trip to the edge and a good look at the abyss might not be the worst thing.

I'm glad we are saying that if the deal isn't good enough then Jake stays. It's the line Richmond held with Dustin Martin imagine if they'd been low balled into a second round pick and Martin was playing this football at another club?

But if we get what we want for Jake and he goes elsewhere then I'm fine with that too.

Hope he stays and plays great footy though.

14-09-2017, 11:57 AM

Personally I wouldn't.

There is a real possibility that his body is cactus in terms of being able to stand up to AFL footy. Has pretty much missed 2 years of footy now and turns 30 in 2018.

I like that we got Crameri to the club, he was a valuable contributor for a couple of seasons - but I don't think the best list management decision would be to re-sign him.

14-09-2017, 01:23 PM
Personally I wouldn't.

There is a real possibility that his body is cactus in terms of being able to stand up to AFL footy. Has pretty much missed 2 years of footy now and turns 30 in 2018.

I like that we got Crameri to the club, he was a valuable contributor for a couple of seasons - but I don't think the best list management decision would be to re-sign him.

For me its a 1 year contract or nothing

14-09-2017, 02:06 PM
Personally I wouldn't.

I agree. Time to cut the losses and make room for a fresh player.

14-09-2017, 04:33 PM
I'm in the fresher player camp as well

14-09-2017, 10:03 PM
Cleary on Trade Radio reckons we've got the hots for Freo Crozier.