View Full Version : Suggestion. Live woofcast.

21-10-2016, 11:22 PM
Just a silly thought for a quiet night. What about in a month or so when most of us have our bluray or DVD versions of the match we have a woofcast maybe on a Saturday afternoon or night. Basically we agree on a start time, press play (maybe when the siren blows to start the match) and we live post our thoughts and recollections on here as we go. I guess the only tricky bit would be making sure we are all at the same time, I guess some people's copies may have different break times so I guess it will need an admin to tell everyone to press go for every quarter.

21-10-2016, 11:30 PM
That sounds like a cool idea T&T. Let's replicate GF match day!!

21-10-2016, 11:40 PM
Great idea. Don't believe there were many gameday comments with people busy watching the game. Let's get it done.

21-10-2016, 11:45 PM
Great idea. Don't believe there were many gameday comments with people busy watching the game. Let's get it done.

True. Usually for our Victorian games when I attend I don't go on woof during the match and post sometime afterwards on woof. Usually go on to the match day threads when I'm watching from home.

Will need to be aware of the few differences in times with some of our woofers who live interstate.

22-10-2016, 08:47 AM
Its doable but would be a logistical nightmare to coordinate.

23-10-2016, 01:13 AM
True. Usually for our Victorian games when I attend I don't go on woof during the match and post sometime afterwards on woof. Usually go on to the match day threads when I'm watching from home.

Will need to be aware of the few differences in times with some of our woofers who live interstate.

Just after midnight in VIC, NSW, ACT, TAS now
Just after 11pm in QLD now
20 minutes until midnight in SA
Around 20 minutes until 11pm in NT now
And only just after 9pm in WA now
Also overseas woofers as well and their locations and times

Its a good thing to worry about :) :)

23-10-2016, 01:23 AM
Yep, I'm in. It sounds like fun.

23-10-2016, 01:49 AM
If there is enough people interested I can set up a specific board for it.

23-10-2016, 02:26 AM
What do you think TT? We get a list of posters, we set a date and watch it together on our own woof board.

23-10-2016, 12:05 PM
Sounds like fun...I will be in it if it gets up and running

23-10-2016, 02:16 PM
What do you think TT? We get a list of posters, we set a date and watch it together on our own woof board.

for sure, obviously it wont suit everyone , maybe just pick a day and time and see what happens

23-10-2016, 02:27 PM
for sure, obviously it wont suit everyone , maybe just pick a day and time and see what happens

Cool lets do it. A Saturday would be best I reckon.

23-10-2016, 02:51 PM
Cool lets do it. A Saturday would be best I reckon.

Not a Sunday?

23-10-2016, 05:34 PM

Yes I'd say that's the best you can do and see how it goes.

23-10-2016, 06:01 PM
Not a Sunday?

At 4.40?

I can do a Saturday night after the kids go to bed.

23-10-2016, 06:15 PM
I was thinking as close to game time as possible. But it's T&T's baby. I'm just a bossy type who likes to take over.

23-10-2016, 06:17 PM
I was thinking as close to game time as possible. But it's T&T's baby. I'm just a bossy type who likes to take over.

go for it mate, i'm just the idea's man. I'd struggle working out the time difference between SA and Vic...

23-10-2016, 06:18 PM
go for it mate, i'm just the idea's man. I'd struggle working out the time difference between SA and Vic...

Well it was a 2:30pm start in Victoria which means if you are in SA it would start at 2pm. Victoria has had its daylight saving I'm not sure if SA has had it.

23-10-2016, 06:32 PM
2.30pm on a Saturday is ok, but that will rule out anyone that plays cricket, are in to the Spring carnival or those unable to have a spare 3 hours on Saturday arvo without getting to trouble with the other half.

I think you will get most people available by doing it at night when people have the kids in bed.

I know this won't suit everyone, including T&T who is in SA, but a lot of people will have next Monday off so next Sunday night may be suitable.

23-10-2016, 06:42 PM

Okeley dokeley. Let's do this.

Ackers right. The romantic in me wants to do Saturday afternoon but it's not going to work-maybe closer to Christmas or New Year's Day when nothing happens we can do it then.

But this one. I agree sometime around cup eve. Is that OK with you T&T? Sometime around 7ish next sun/Monday?

23-10-2016, 06:43 PM
2.30pm on a Saturday is ok, but that will rule out anyone that plays cricket, are in to the Spring carnival or those unable to have a spare 3 hours on Saturday arvo without getting to trouble with the other half.

I think you will get most people available by doing it at night when people have the kids in bed.

I know this won't suit everyone, including T&T who is in SA, but a lot of people will have next Monday off so next Sunday night may be suitable.

Yes those are all factors that need to be taken into account. The Spring Racing Carnival will be over by mid November so that takes out one obstacle but the other two still there.

23-10-2016, 06:45 PM
yeah i should be ok for next Sunday night (or next Friday night)

Just pick a time/date and all aboard

23-10-2016, 09:11 PM
yeah i should be ok for next Sunday night (or next Friday night)

Just pick a time/date and all aboard

That would have to be decided first and then will see which woofers will be on board.

23-10-2016, 09:53 PM
Funnily enough, I've been chatting to some mates and thinking Im going to just re-do grand final day - Saturday bbq, beer and a big TV

Have all our bulldog people over, rewatch the game, lets the kids run around in a state of minimal supervision, and just enjoy the day without the stress of hoping for the best

23-10-2016, 09:54 PM
BBQ? Now I want sausages.

The nice ones from the butcher not the crappy ones from the supermarket.

23-10-2016, 09:56 PM
Funnily enough, I've been chatting to some mates and thinking Im going to just re-do grand final day - Saturday bbq, beer and a big TV

Have all our bulldog people over, rewatch the game, lets the kids run around in a state of minimal supervision, and just enjoy the day without the stress of hoping for the best

Thats what we are doing.

23-10-2016, 10:34 PM

We're hoping to book out a cinema and get all the Bulldogs supporters that we know along. If it happens I'll chuck it on here, because we wouldn't fill it on our own!

23-10-2016, 11:03 PM
We're hoping to book out a cinema and get all the Bulldogs supporters that we know along. If it happens I'll chuck it on here, because we wouldn't fill it on our own!

I'm in!

23-10-2016, 11:11 PM

What time do you want us over? :D

23-10-2016, 11:13 PM
What time do you want us over? :D

Will there be sausages?

23-10-2016, 11:14 PM
Will there be sausages?

Yeah why not.

23-10-2016, 11:20 PM
Yeah why not.

Proper sausages. From the butchers.

24-10-2016, 06:27 AM
Don't forget the time difference for Perth ... with Daylight Savings Perth is now 3 hours and twenty years behind the rest of Australia

24-10-2016, 09:50 AM
Don't forget the time difference for Perth ... with Daylight Savings Perth is now 3 hours and twenty years behind the rest of Australia

and QLD is 1 hour behind

24-10-2016, 09:59 AM

I'm in

26-10-2016, 03:14 AM
and QLD is 1 hour behind

How is it that you Vics change your clocks then call us "behind"? :D

Cool idea BTW

26-10-2016, 11:22 AM
OK, picking up my blu-ray today

WHAT if we do it this Sunday Night?

Maybe first bounce 7.30 SA time 8 PM Vic Time 5 PM WA time 1976 Qld time?

Who is in and available?

26-10-2016, 11:34 AM
If we get 10 people wanting this I will set-up a specific board for it.

26-10-2016, 11:42 AM
I'm in !!

5pm Sunday

26-10-2016, 11:56 AM
I'm in

26-10-2016, 12:33 PM
I'm in.

26-10-2016, 01:31 PM
I'm in !!

5pm Sunday

That would work

26-10-2016, 01:57 PM
I won't have the GF available to watch this week. Unless there are decent torrents available as an interim fix

26-10-2016, 03:19 PM
You can youtube the game if you don't have it on DVD,

The GF DVD has been available in the AFL store since the Monday after the GF.

26-10-2016, 03:42 PM
I'm in. Sunday 8pm.

TV, DVD, me all organised.

26-10-2016, 03:48 PM
I'm in. Due to re-watch it anyway, it's been a couple of days... :)

26-10-2016, 04:49 PM
I won't have the GF available to watch this week. Unless there are decent torrents available as an interim fix

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jpWpc5qfH4I

26-10-2016, 04:58 PM

Ordered the Victory Pack so I won't be getting the GF DVD

Can anyone who's sat down and watched it, how's the quality of the Youtube upload?

26-10-2016, 04:59 PM
OK, picking up my blu-ray today

WHAT if we do it this Sunday Night?

Maybe first bounce 7.30 SA time 8 PM Vic Time 5 PM WA time 1976 Qld time?

Who is in and available?

just a bump as the thread has gone over a page

There's enough people already for this to be good fun, so lock it in. But the more the merrier.

26-10-2016, 05:15 PM
Ordered the Victory Pack so I won't be getting the GF DVD

Can anyone who's sat down and watched it, how's the quality of the Youtube upload?

Didn't read my post above.

26-10-2016, 05:29 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jpWpc5qfH4I

Poor old Buddy. He hurt his foot.

26-10-2016, 05:41 PM
Didn't read my post above.
Can't really watch it where I am so asking if it's decent quality.

26-10-2016, 05:52 PM
Can't really watch it where I am so asking if it's decent quality.

Argh ok,sorry didn't understand that.

Quality is ok, not HD quality.

If you have drop box, you can download a copy from me in excellent quality. PM me and we can arrange, but you will need at least 28gb

26-10-2016, 07:24 PM
Sunday a no go for me.. have fun guys!

26-10-2016, 07:28 PM
I'm in

26-10-2016, 07:37 PM
Argh ok,sorry didn't understand that.

Quality is ok, not HD quality.

If you have drop box, you can download a copy from me in excellent quality. PM me and we can arrange, but you will need at least 28gb
Cheers, PM sent

26-10-2016, 07:55 PM
why the hell not!

26-10-2016, 08:15 PM
OK, i'm happy to "moderate" Sunday night but even happier if one of the real forum mods wants to take control

Quick thoughts

Start the match from the opening bounce/whistle (so skip the pre game stuff just to save some time)

everyone to post whatever they want in the thread, be it pretending it's live, or your thoughts at the time, or things you are just noticing.

Maybe we then have agreed start times then for the subsequent quarters, maybe 5 minutes or so (??) after each quarter finishes. the moderator to announce the start time for the next quarter (as an example, next quarter starts at 8.35 PM Vic time exactly) and once again start playing from the whistle/bounce

That's about it, any other thoughts/suggestions?

26-10-2016, 09:19 PM
I'm all in!!! ;)
8pm

26-10-2016, 09:21 PM
The nerves are starting to kick in and it's only Wednesday.
Feels like GF week all over again.

26-10-2016, 09:50 PM
I'm in

26-10-2016, 10:19 PM
OK Easty.. We need another Grand Final Game Day thread.

27-10-2016, 12:22 AM
Sounds pretty good Sunday 8pm so should be in. Watched a bit of the preliminary final tonight on Fox Footy and when it got to the end I was nervous again like I was watching the game originally but it was refreshing to watch it again.

27-10-2016, 12:22 AM
OK Easty.. We need another Grand Final Game Day thread.

Yes a special game day thread Grand Final edition coming up.

27-10-2016, 06:46 AM
I am in, sounds like fun.

28-10-2016, 08:42 PM
Two sleeps to go. Bannerman Danny sent me a message to say he will try his best to get involved from about half time onwards

28-10-2016, 08:47 PM
If someone wants to compile all the definite starters onto one post I will adjust the access for those concerned so that they have access to the WOOFcast Finals board. Only those who are contributing to it will get access.

The board has been set-up and I just have to make it live.

28-10-2016, 09:20 PM
Count me in.

28-10-2016, 09:31 PM
If someone wants to compile all the definite starters I will adjust the access for those concerned so that they have access to the WOOFcast Finals board. Only those who are contributing to it will get access.

The board has been set-up and I just have to make it live.

I will compile tham tomorrow sometime and forward them to you mate. It's Friday night in front of the telly hoping that neither Adelaide nor Melbourne City win tonight,

28-10-2016, 09:33 PM
I will compile tham tomorrow sometime and forward them to you mate. It's Friday night in front of the telly hoping that neither Adelaide nor Melbourne City win tonight,

Either send them to me or just add them on here. It will only take me 15 minutes or so to fix the access for those participating.

28-10-2016, 09:47 PM
Either send them to me or just add them on here. It will only take me 15 minutes or so to fix the access for those participating.

Shall do.

30-10-2016, 09:59 AM
Not sure if this has been sorted but may be useful to update below with a view to providing others with an opportunity if interested. 13 definite starters at this stage.

Through and Through
Two Dogs
1eye
Clothes Boots Motorcycle
Murphy's Lore
Max 469
redders70
BT
Comrade
Top Dog

Others who have posted in the thread but have not committed but may want to?

BAD
Eastie
Aker39

30-10-2016, 12:15 PM
For this to work effectively everyone needs to be in sync. I propose the following two practices:

1) everyone presses play as soon as the umpire raises the ball in the air immediately prior to the opening bounce.

2) Everyone go to topsport.com.au and notice near the top right of the page there is a clock. As soon as it hits 8pm on the dot, we press play.

30-10-2016, 12:34 PM
Sorry I can't join in all, sounds like fun though. Have a great time!

30-10-2016, 01:07 PM
OK, the board is set-up, it's a sub forum of Bulldogs Unleashed called WOOFcast. It'eas near Legends and Larriking and the Doug Hawkins Wing sub-forums

It's got restricted access so I will make it 'live' now.
Thanks to OneEyeDog, I'll adjust the nominated peoples access accordingly.

Contact me if you have any questions.

30-10-2016, 06:17 PM
I'm in

Carn the Dogs!

30-10-2016, 06:21 PM
Yep, in.

30-10-2016, 06:23 PM
Its going to be a fun Sunday night.

30-10-2016, 07:28 PM
Sorry I am out. Family unexpectedly turned up. Not football orientated. Have fun.

31-10-2016, 11:15 AM
Apologies, unexpected life requirements foiled my plan to attend. Hope everyone enjoyed the show!

31-10-2016, 11:19 AM
Apologies, unexpected life requirements foiled my plan to attend. Hope everyone enjoyed the show!

Ditto here

31-10-2016, 11:27 AM
Me three :(

But glad to see a good time was had by all!

31-10-2016, 04:27 PM

Ditto here

Me three :(

But glad to see a good time was had by all!

It was good. We won again.