View Full Version : Events Thread

Pages : 1 2 [3]

01-03-2021, 10:43 PM
Now confirmed, Tuesday 9th

Well they are keeping it a secret if it is in a weeks time?

Have you seen a link to buy tickets?

01-03-2021, 10:44 PM
Well they are keeping it a secret if it is in a weeks time?

Have you seen a link to buy tickets?

Yes, next Tuesday. Very short notice

01-03-2021, 11:23 PM
Yes, next Tuesday. Very short notice

The email even seems rushed, dates are wrong.

02-03-2021, 03:00 AM

Agreed, it looks like a rushed last minute effort

02-03-2021, 09:25 AM

I don't have a memo? Is it just for certain groups within the club, ie coterie, sponsorships etc

02-03-2021, 09:34 AM
I don't have a memo? Is it just for certain groups within the club, ie coterie, sponsorships etc

I think so. I received it as a player sponsor. It really lacks detail though, I’ve had to email to clarify even what type of event it is, eg is it a sit down affair or similar to the South Wharf event a few years back.

02-03-2021, 09:35 AM
I think so. I received it as a player sponsor. It really lacks detail though, I’ve had to email to clarify even what type of event it is, eg is it a sit down affair or similar to the South Wharf event a few years back.

This is really poor by the club

02-03-2021, 10:18 AM

Given the room nominated, it could very well be a stand-up option but most likely they are waiting to see how many people are interested

I'm hoping to hear back from the club today on a couple of things

02-03-2021, 12:47 PM
Given the room nominated, it could very well be a stand-up option but most likely they are waiting to see how many people are interested

I'm hoping to hear back from the club today on a couple of things

Yes just heard back myself (wont get used to who I'm communicating with..probably ever).

This is the style

"The new format of the cocktail style event is a much more relaxed setting (max of 300 guests) where everyone has the ability to mingle whilst enjoying drinks and canapés."

I suggest youre right re the capacity. They'll ask coterie then whatever is left to other members I assume.

02-03-2021, 01:23 PM
Yes just heard back myself (wont get used to who I'm communicating with..probably ever).

This is the style

"The new format of the cocktail style event is a much more relaxed setting (max of 300 guests) where everyone has the ability to mingle whilst enjoying drinks and canapés."

I suggest youre right re the capacity. They'll ask coterie then whatever is left to other members I assume.

I finally got an answer to my email after sending one last week with no answer and a follow up yesterday.

Today I received this:

Apologies for not getting back to you sooner. We have been flat out with the ever changing AFLW fixture and home games here at VU Whitten Oval.

This year, due to COVID restrictions, the Season Launch will only be a small invite only event. We hope that as the restrictions continue to ease over the year that we’ll be able to make this a larger event again in 2022.

02-03-2021, 01:59 PM

Can you ask him how the leg is doing :D

09-03-2021, 09:00 PM
Any news from the season launch tonight?

10-03-2021, 07:53 PM
Photos from season launch.
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/albums/876977/2021-afl-season-launch?modal=true&type=gallery&playlistId=876977&playlistSize=25

10-03-2021, 07:57 PM
Thanks Grantysghost.

10-03-2021, 08:05 PM
Thanks Grantysghost.

No worries. I was there and it was a good night. I'll try and post some info, I been a little slow today. I blame the awesome waiters who knew when to top up my champagne. Generally it was before I knew I needed a top up :cool:

10-03-2021, 08:14 PM
Some photos I took :
https://i.postimg.cc/4yRG0BDG/Screenshot-20210310-200758-Gallery.jpg (https://postimg.cc/dk6gkmQN)
https://i.postimg.cc/T3psrnsJ/20210309-200844.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
https://i.postimg.cc/qvP1ySyp/20210309-185548.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
https://i.postimg.cc/KjCMCSZz/20210309-182117.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

11-03-2021, 10:18 AM
So I was fortunate enough to be invited along to the Season Launch.

I'll try and present a high level summary and anything woofers might be interested in, there wasn't any great revelation but some interesting insights.

Location was Crown Aviary, not a venue I'd attended prior and I have to say it was a nice change from the more formal setting of the Palladium that we are generally in for functions.

Was an open air venue with city views, with a marquee to one side where the formalities took place.

It really was an intimate gathering, 300 in total including players and guests is my understanding so everywhere you turned there was Bulldog's royalty.

Guest speakers were the new President Kylie Watson-Wheeler, the CEO Ameet Bains, and Bevo with his usual esoteric take on things.

Here are the links to the speeches from the Dogs website to save me remembering all the content :cool:

President : President's speech (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/876916/season-launch-2021-kylie-watson-wheeler?videoId=876916&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1615335606001)
Bevo : Bevo's speech (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/877051/season-launch-2021-luke-beveridge?videoId=877051&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1615341511001)

Kylie spoke about the transition into her new role and the amazing support she received from Peter Gordon and others to help with this. Also how she can't carry on at the games anymore ! (well not as much).

Bevo, who we all know loves a theme, used his speech to relay his philosophy for the team this season (salty dog vibes). He highlighted a line from a Pearl Jam song Man of the Hour, "Tidal waves don't beg forgiveness, crashed and on their way".

The wave analogy was interesting, as he outlined their humble beginnings out at sea and subsequent transformation into an unstoppable destructive force, whilst applying this metaphor to the team.

He believes we are ready and equipped to make that transformation.

Pearl Jam - Man of the Hour.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vXqwtUUPe0w

Life memberships were awarded during the night to a raft of players including Mitch Wallis, Tom Liberatore, Jason Johannisen and Tory Dickson.

Hopefully they post video of Tory's speech in particular, in was quite heartfelt and coupled with highlights of the 2016 finals it really was the most poignant point of the night for me. I think he got the loudest reception at the conclusion of his speech. He mentioned looking back at the video of that time was quite emotional, and made a point of detailing what the club meant to him and how many great relationships he has formed over the years which he cherished.

The players were presented on stage enumerating through the jumper numbers. Bob Murphy was on hand for some short interviews with players of note including Treloar and Ugle-Hagen, and once all the players were presented with their jumpers the team was presented to the room and that was really the end of formalities.

All in all a very good night on short notice. I was able to chat with some Bulldog's legends like Tony Liberatore (yes it was a goal), and Dale Morris in a relaxed setting. I was also lucky enough to have a chat to Jamarra, and he is a very amiable friendly guy, who certainly doesn't lack any confidence. He is ready to go, but understands why they are holding him back.

Hope this gives woofers some insight into the season launch, shame we couldn't get more members there but touch wood the world is opening up again so it's just a matter of time.

11-03-2021, 10:23 AM
Thanks GG for the insight

11-03-2021, 10:59 AM
Thanks Granty.

I love that Bevo is quoting Eddie Vedder! I recognised the lyric straight away as Man of the Hour is a great song by my all time favourite band. It was written for the soundtrack of the movie Big Fish, a really good Tim Burton film that isn't all that well known. Pearl Jam dedicate live performances of the song to Johnny Ramone who passed away the year following the songs release.

11-03-2021, 02:11 PM
So I was fortunate enough to be invited along to the Season Launch.

I'll try and present a high level summary and anything woofers might be interested in, there wasn't any great revelation but some interesting insights.

Location was Crown Aviary, not a venue I'd attended prior and I have to say it was a nice change from the more formal setting of the Palladium that we are generally in for functions.

Was an open air venue with city views, with a marquee to one side where the formalities took place.

It really was an intimate gathering, 300 in total including players and guests is my understanding so everywhere you turned there was Bulldog's royalty.

Guest speakers were the new President Kylie Watson-Wheeler, the CEO Ameet Bains, and Bevo with his usual esoteric take on things.

Here are the links to the speeches from the Dogs website to save me remembering all the content :cool:

President : President's speech (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/876916/season-launch-2021-kylie-watson-wheeler?videoId=876916&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1615335606001)
Bevo : Bevo's speech (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/877051/season-launch-2021-luke-beveridge?videoId=877051&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1615341511001)

Kylie spoke about the transition into her new role and the amazing support she received from Peter Gordon and others to help with this. Also how she can't carry on at the games anymore ! (well not as much).

Bevo, who we all know loves a theme, used his speech to relay his philosophy for the team this season (salty dog vibes). He highlighted a line from a Pearl Jam song Man of the Hour, "Tidal waves don't beg forgiveness, crashed and on their way".

The wave analogy was interesting, as he outlined their humble beginnings out at sea and subsequent transformation into an unstoppable destructive force, whilst applying this metaphor to the team.

He believes we are ready and equipped to make that transformation.

Pearl Jam - Man of the Hour.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vXqwtUUPe0w

Life memberships were awarded during the night to a raft of players including Mitch Wallis, Tom Liberatore, Jason Johannisen and Tory Dickson.

Hopefully they post video of Tory's speech in particular, in was quite heartfelt and coupled with highlights of the 2016 finals it really was the most poignant point of the night for me. I think he got the loudest reception at the conclusion of his speech. He mentioned looking back at the video of that time was quite emotional, and made a point of detailing what the club meant to him and how many great relationships he has formed over the years which he cherished.

The players were presented on stage enumerating through the jumper numbers. Bob Murphy was on hand for some short interviews with players of note including Treloar and Ugle-Hagen, and once all the players were presented with their jumpers the team was presented to the room and that was really the end of formalities.

All in all a very good night on short notice. I was able to chat with some Bulldog's legends like Tony Liberatore (yes it was a goal), and Dale Morris in a relaxed setting. I was also lucky enough to have a chat to Jamarra, and he is a very amiable friendly guy, who certainly doesn't lack any confidence. He is ready to go, but understands why they are holding him back.

Hope this gives woofers some insight into the season launch, shame we couldn't get more members there but touch wood the world is opening up again so it's just a matter of time.
Many thanks GG for the excellent summary and photos of what was an excellent night. Like your good self I was an invited guest in what was a totally new concept of a much smaller intimate gathering than what occurred at previous Season launches. Caught up with Dale Morris who is delighted to be back with the Club in an administrative role and spends time with the players in the gym. The night also incorporated the Coach Club group which comprises some 20 major donors which on Bevo’s recommendation helps fund the most urgent Club needs be it gym equipment etc etc. Great to hear from the new President of the sound financial position of our Club. Membership stands at 35,000 which is up on the previous year at the same time. A remarkable effort when you consider the interrupted COVID 19 year resulting in a loss of valuable staff numbers. We will see Adam Treloar lining up in the number one guernsey and he spoke very fondly of how he had been warmly welcomed into the Club.

11-03-2021, 11:17 PM
Thx GG and NBP. Great summaries and very much appreciated. Given situation thought it was good club was able to still run it & wise to limit numbers.

12-03-2021, 03:33 PM
Much appreciated Granty and NBP. Will give your summaries a read. I love WOOF.

22-03-2021, 08:10 PM
https://thatsgoodforfooty.com.au/event/western-bulldogs-show-april-14th/?fbclid=IwAR3aRVRDuoct_-a9jWG1oObZkl66uAccfzv7A-zo4k8R5FNd6_VfA7ejz-Q

WESTERN BULLDOGS SHOW APRIL 14TH
14 APRIL AT 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM
$15. – $35.00

Club & Panelist’s: Western Bulldogs Josh Dunkley & Adam Treloar

Event Information:

Date & Time: Wednesday April 14th doors open at 6.00pm show kicks off at 7.30pm and concludes at approximately 9.00pm

Location: Mulgrave Country Club, Jells & Wellington Rd’s, Wheelers Hill

What is “That’s Good for Footy”?

“That’s Good for Footy” is a LIVE AFL based Footy panel show.

How will this show work?

Due to the global pandemic things have changed for everyone and this is the same for TGFF. We will still be giving you the opportunity to engage & interact in the segments & the players, But all of this will be done in accordance with the rules & regulations as set down by the Victorian government and the COVID safe ways in which to interact with others, such as the 1.5 metre social distancing rule.

How does it work?

Every week we have 2 current day players on the show, The nights are a Club themed night. As the shows are Melbourne based, we only do the 10 Victorian clubs but we do travel all over Melbourne (& Victoria in some instances) giving everyone the opportunity to see their favourite club & players on the show.

The shows are very different to anything you may have seen before, because we don’t ask your typical Footy type questions, The players are relaxed and enjoy the interaction with the footy Fans who come along on the night, The topics are all about football but not asked (and certainly not answered the normal way, at least not what you’re used too.)

We like to provide a light hearted engaging mix of entertainment and behind the scenes insight, allowing for opportunities to hear & see things you normally may not get to see or hear.

It is a totally LIVE, RAW & INTERACTIVE experience, The shows have been developed to give fans & supporters the opportunity to have a bit of fun & laughter with their favourite players.

We also give the fans & supporters attending the shows on the night the opportunity to have their photo taken with the players, this will be done in accordance with the NEW COVID safe rules & regulations. Players will be on the panel & patrons will have their photo taken in front of the desk. There will be NO autographs at this event.

The events are billed as Family Friendly, which means kids can attend along with their parents giving everyone the opportunity to meet their favourite player or players.

The shows are hosted by Damian Rocher, He is the Producer/ Director /Presenter & Host of the shows.

Patrons attending will have the opportunity to enjoy a meal & drink from the venues bar & kitchen.

If you would like to attend a show, tickets can be purchased via the TGFF ticketing platform, simply go to www.thatsgoodforfooty.com.au/events/ and follow the steps through the checkout process, a confirmation of your purchase will be sent to you via the email address you entered in, all you then have to do is bring the confirm with you on the night, present it at the door, and you & your guests will then be checked off the door list upon entry.

Admission Fee: There is a administration & door entry fee of $35.00 plus GST for Adults, & $15.00 plus GST for Children under 15 applicable for this show, ALL tickets are sold through the TGFF website ticketing platform. www.thatsgoodforfooty.com.au/events/

The shows run for approx 1 & 1/2 hours from 7.30pm to approximately 9.00pm, doors open from 6.00pm. (opening times may differ, depending upon the venue).

Memorabilia is for sale on the night, A live auction will be conducted where patrons can be bid on the signed Team Themed Bar Fridge, plus a raffle is run with 5 prizes up for grabs, 1st Prize is a Team themed Merchandise pack, 2nd Prize is a team themed Footy Hamper, 3rd Prize is a team themed stubby dispenser. 4th & 5th prizes are a signed game size TGFF Football.

There are trivia segments to get involved in, Prize & merchandise packs to be won and loads of light hearted entertainment to be had.

Reviews: Want to know what people who have been to the show think? Read the reviews on the events page. www.thatsgoodforfooty.com.au/events/

NB: The That’s good for Footy panel shows are neither endorsed or affiliated with the AFL or any of the AFL clubs appearing on the night in anyway shape or form. The players appearing on the show do so of their own accord, Neither the club or the AFL play a role in promoting or endorsing the shows. TGFF do not receive any funding from either the AFL or the Clubs represented on the night. No monies raised from the night go to either the AFL or the clubs represented on the night. TGFF panel shows are run as an independent and solely owned & operated business registered as BrokerrocheR. Trademarked as That’s Good For Footy.

+ GOOGLE CALENDAR+ ICAL EXPORT

DETAILS

Date: 14 April
Time: 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Cost: $15. – $35.00
Event Categories: FOOTY FUNATICS SHOWS, Tickets
VENUE

Mulgrave Country Club
Jells Road & Wellington Road
Wheelers Hill, Victoria 3150 Australia
+ Google Map
Phone:
9582 4600
www.mulgravecc.com.au

17-06-2021, 12:08 PM
From Kennel Kapers Number 4 June 2021:

Postponement of Legends & Young Guns Dinner

Your East-West Committee has made the decision to postpone our 2021 Legends and Young Guns Dinner.

Our decision has been made even more difficult by your long time support for this event over many years. The recent Covid restrictions have created a number of uncertainties for all of us this year and form part of our reason to postpone.

One of those uncertainties is we cannot guarantee the availability of our Young Guns due to the changes such as movable fixtures. Our Young Gun interviews are a key part of our night.

A further reason is that you, our members and attendees, make payments in advance for an event that we are now not 100% sure will be held. We also have the uncertainty that venue numbers may also change or even be closed if future restrictions apply.

This decision was not made lightly but consid- ered the best course to take now to avoid any future disappointment for our prospective attendees. We shall work with the football club to look at having an LYG event possibly in early 2022 when our players and new recruits return after their break.

17-06-2021, 12:26 PM
It's a fantastic function so that is a real, but totally understandable, shame.

Thanks for posting Easty

17-06-2021, 12:54 PM
That is a shame. The functions have taken a hit. The player sponsors dinner was always a highlight.

18-06-2021, 08:03 AM
Yes-agree it’s an excellent night. Support their decision with all the uncertainty. Here’s hoping the early 2022 event can proceed and will be celebrating a premiership win.

21-02-2022, 04:00 PM
Emailed the events team and finally got an answer today. Season launch is next Monday 28th.
really cutting it fine for people planning to go

21-02-2022, 04:37 PM
Emailed the events team and finally got an answer today. Season launch is next Monday 28th.
really cutting it fine for people planning to go

That's crazy.

We still haven't been told who is replacing Moz as a coterie manager either.

They've had a fair amount of time to organise someone.

21-02-2022, 05:29 PM
That's crazy.

We still haven't been told who is replacing Moz as a coterie manager either.

They've had a fair amount of time to organise someone.

Pretty hopeless way to treat high dollar value members.

And are we really announcing a big event like a season launch with less than a week to go? Our commercial partners must shake their heads at the lack of planning and missed opportunities at times.

What is going on down there?

21-02-2022, 05:33 PM
Pretty hopeless way to treat high dollar value members.

And are we really announcing a big event like a season launch with less than a week to go? Our commercial partners must shake their heads at the lack of planning and missed opportunities at times.

What is going on down there?

It was similar last year, but they had the Covid excuse.

No idea wtf is going on this year. I've emailed them will update here when I find out anything.

Edit : Update from club, looks like a small invite only type gig the same as last season.

---

The event has been run on a much smaller scale the last couple of years and with Covid considerations also at play prior to the season.

In saying this, I know there are a small allocation of tickets that we’ve just gone on sale to Player Sponsors with, so if you were still wanting to attend, I can certainly arrange this.

---

It's 165 per. I assume if you reach out closer to the date and there's room other member categories may be able to attend but I can't speak to this.

https://i.postimg.cc/Pf0wxkMW/Screenshot-20220221-175958-Acrobat-for-Samsung.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

22-02-2022, 11:26 PM
SEASON LAUNCH

Monday 28th February 2022

Time: 6:00pm – 8:30pm

Dress code: Neat casual

Tickets: $165 per person

Kick off the season in style at the 2022 Season Launch.

Join us to farewell retirees, meet the newest recruits and witness the playing group receive their 2022 jumpers.

Enjoy an exclusive look into the season ahead and hear from Senior Coach, Luke Beveridge and Western Bulldogs officials.

Gourmet canapes and premium beverages provided.

Tickets strictly limited and are subject to availability.

Book Here (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/events/season-launch)

23-02-2022, 06:59 AM
SEASON LAUNCH

Monday 28th February 2022

Time: 6:00pm – 8:30pm

Tickets: $165 per person

Kick off the season in style at the 2022 Season Launch.

Join us to farewell retirees, meet the newest recruits and witness the playing group receive their 2022 jumpers.

Enjoy an exclusive look into the season ahead and hear from Senior Coach, Luke Beveridge and Western Bulldogs officials.

Tickets strictly limited and are subject to availability.

Book Here (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/events/season-launch)

No player access is different to last season. Shame but understandable. Good it’s open to all now, I can’t attend unfortunately; BAD you can give us the low down.

28-02-2022, 12:48 PM
Look forward to the season launch reports.

28-02-2022, 10:56 PM
Will write something up tomorrow. One notable absentee was Libba with sounds like Covid.

01-03-2022, 09:09 AM
(https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/beveridge-plots-revolutionary-road-for-bulldogs-20220228-p5a0fg.html)This article sums up the night
(https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/beveridge-plots-revolutionary-road-for-bulldogs-20220228-p5a0fg.html)
Beveridge plots revolutionary road for Bulldogs (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/beveridge-plots-revolutionary-road-for-bulldogs-20220228-p5a0fg.html)

Luke Beveridge has challenged his players to become revolutionaries in the Western Bulldogs’ quest for sustained success to become the benchmark club in the AFL.

Urging his players to draw on the spirit of historical figures ranging from Marxist heroes Che Guevara and Rosa Luxemburg to Mahatma Gandhi and Indigenous humanitarian Shirley Coleen Smith, Beveridge called on his players to take the Bulldogs to the top, on and off the field.

In one of the more unusual speeches given by a coach at a season launch, Beveridge referenced some of the world’s greatest problems such as the recovery effort from COVID, climate change and Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

Under Beveridge, the Bulldogs have broken a 62-year premiership drought and made a grand final but they have not been consistent challengers. He says now is the time for that to change.

“Che Guevara in his Motorcycle Diaries says to be a revolutionist you firstly need a revolution. He’s right of course but someone or some group needs to start the revolution,” Beveridge said on Monday night.

“On a more football-centric scale our Bulldogs revolutionary intent is to establish ourselves as a benchmark of the competition over a sustained period of time and through this generating a groundswell of support that challenges the highest memberships in the competition, broadcasters of the game and nurtures partnerships with existing and potential people and entities.”

The Bulldogs reached 40,000 members on the weekend and say they are on track to break through the 50,000 mark for the first time in their history.

They will open the season in a blockbuster clash with Melbourne, who knocked them over in the last quarter of last year’s grand final.

After the 2016 premiership success, the Dogs missed the finals in the following two seasons and did not win a final for five years.

“At times we’ve been on our way in our revolutionary journey as an outfit but we haven’t been able to sustain it,” Beveridge said.

“The choice is to take the responsibility to hunt down this sustainable success - that is what we’re confronted with.

“In these times where we’re processing the inherent effects of COVID, its uncertain legacy and the future, the uncertainty about the environment, the carbon footprint worldwide and now the atrocity of the Russian advancement on Ukraine there are questions we ask of ourselves.

“What kind of person am I? And what would I do if I could influence some of these significant events that will threaten our futures?

“I can say that I have great confidence in the fact we have exceptional people who are searching for their own personal power and their own capacity to firstly make the choice and take up the challenge for our club and secondly to be someone we can rely on to be first-class citizens and influence society in the way our community foundation does.

“On field and off field we Bulldogs people are conscientious citizens in good company. We are fortunate to work with each other and privileged to work with our members. We can’t wait to see you all at the footy.”

Dogs chief Ameet Bains paid tribute to players and staff for their resilience last year to reach the grand final despite the struggles presented by the pandemic.

“I think the hunger’s there,” Bains said. “To have done what the team did up until the final 30 minutes of that season was astounding in the circumstances and should give us all enormous confidence to what they’re capable of doing this year with a clear run and hopefully fewer injuries.”

Premiership captain Easton Wood and retired Bulldog Lin Jong were presented with life membership of the club.

01-03-2022, 09:27 AM
Interesting historical figures to choose for reference. Fraught with danger.

I liked his snow button speech from a few years ago, was pure esoteric Beveridge.

01-03-2022, 09:35 AM
Interesting historical figures to choose for reference. Fraught with danger.

I liked his snow button speech from a few years ago, was pure esoteric Beveridge.

When he got up on stage, I yelled out Go Chopper (I know I couldn't help myself :D), the room did burst into laughter. He made some comments that he was told to shave, but said he won't do it and he was thinking of dying his hair blonde :D

Love Bevo, so different.

01-03-2022, 02:47 PM
You can listen/watch Bevo here (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/1069716/luke-beveridge-we-can-t-wait-to-see-you-all-at-the-footy-?videoId=1069716&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1646096400001&fbclid=IwAR19hVoWqYlCFRBhgZPv_0cCdW6eL5iUwu4jC4Lejk3xx9CUCRP kQGXhVIo)

01-03-2022, 09:13 PM
Interesting that the Bont thanked his partner. Any ideas who it is? Hard not to be curious:)

20-06-2022, 09:46 PM
I imagine the $110 is for rocket and the meal?
https://i.postimg.cc/4Nh4N3FC/Screenshot-20220620-213705-Outlook.jpg (https://postimg.cc/8jNgZTSw)

20-06-2022, 09:54 PM
Hey all … I’m flying over for round 19 v Melbourne. I’m wondering if there are any match day events planned by the club for that round. I am a Social Club member if there’s anything there as well. Thanks in advance.

20-06-2022, 10:19 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/4Nh4N3FC/Screenshot-20220620-213705-Outlook.jpg (https://postimg.cc/8jNgZTSw)

No SHOT! Those two blokes seem to want to have zero association with their old club. Though I guess if the price is right...

20-06-2022, 10:36 PM

I was thinking of going but Cooney is putting me off it.

21-06-2022, 12:09 AM
Weird that an Essendon stalwart and legend is headlining a Bulldogs function.

21-06-2022, 12:29 AM
Weird that an Essendon stalwart and legend is headlining a Bulldogs function.

Has anyone tested the floors at Bells?

21-06-2022, 08:09 AM

I saw the two ex players and thought why them?

21-06-2022, 09:14 AM

Someone has to go to report back G. C'mon mate. You have to take a hit for the team.

21-06-2022, 09:16 AM
Someone has to go to report back G. C'mon mate. You have to take a hit for the team.

I think we need to set a go fund me page so G can attend for free and have some money left over to help him get over the event!

21-06-2022, 10:37 PM

I will be there with an old woofer

21-06-2022, 10:51 PM

You can say it's Chops, we won't think less of you.

22-06-2022, 09:11 AM

That's no way to refer to your wife.

22-06-2022, 01:14 PM

I assumed that the event was being coordinated by The Coon Dog going by the lineup.

22-06-2022, 05:39 PM
I assumed that the event was being coordinated by The Coon Dog going by the lineup.

Nah, he isn't interested in going

Yes @Easternwest, going with Chops. Bit of fun and it is a lunch, other wise I wouldn't go.

22-06-2022, 08:03 PM
Yes @Easternwest, going with Chops. Bit of fun.

Imma take your word for it. Tell him Jaime Lannister sends his regards :).

dalek
23-06-2022, 07:10 PM
My wife, eldest daughter, son & I are going.

24-06-2022, 08:40 AM
Can someone please ask Coons about Tullamarine’s spongy floors?

24-06-2022, 08:51 AM

that would be seriously funny.

Especially if they led in with some obscure stat he had improved on when he went to Essendon and finished with was that due to the spongy floors at their tullamarine training facility?

24-06-2022, 09:08 AM

Yep a good one. Ask them too have they ever read WOOF. Love to know.

dalek
28-06-2022, 07:17 PM

Unfortunately Coons won't be appearing at the lunch.

28-06-2022, 07:22 PM

Hardwood floor at Bells Hotel?

28-06-2022, 07:28 PM

No way. Cant believe he bailed.

He built a house next to mine, didn't move in and sold it for a loss
This was ten years ago, now it's worth 30 percent more than he paid to build it.

I spoke to Briza about it he said he lost a shit load of cash.

These aren't smart people.

29-06-2022, 08:01 AM

This was ten years ago, now it's worth 30 percent more than he paid to build it.

Didn't want to live next to you Gg?

29-06-2022, 09:30 AM

If Cooney wasn’t a footballer, he’d be collecting trolleys at Coles.

29-06-2022, 10:09 AM
Didn't want to live next to you Gg?

Haha maybe he's not so stupid after all.

07-07-2022, 11:30 AM
Nah, he isn't interested in going

Yes @Easternwest, going with Chops. Bit of fun and it is a lunch, other wise I wouldn't go.

Did the man behind the user name chops BAD used to be also erniesigley on WOOF?

07-07-2022, 11:32 AM
Did the man behind the user name chops BAD used to be also erniesigley on WOOF?

Yes he was.

07-07-2022, 11:41 AM
Yes he was.

I remember a woofer...who no longer posts on here...thought it was the real Ernie Sigley and the conversation went accordingly. It went on for a while before anyone told him. It did make me chuckle at the time. I think he made the mistake as the said woofer had been using his real name as a user name. Probably the only one ever. He must have thought I was Mr. Life or better still my first name was Bulldog.

07-07-2022, 12:18 PM
I remember a woofer...who no longer posts on here...thought it was the real Ernie Sigley and the conversation went accordingly. It went on for a while before anyone told him. It did make me chuckle at the time. I think he made the mistake as the said woofer had been using his real name as a user name. Probably the only one ever. He must have thought I was Mr. Life or better still my first name was Bulldog.

Not going to lie that could possibly have been me too. It sounds like something a teenage me might do. Though I probably wouldn't have broadcast it,

07-07-2022, 12:47 PM
Not going to lie that could possibly have been me too. It sounds like something a teenage me might do. Though I probably wouldn't have broadcast it,

He wasn't a teenager. I knew the well known family when I lived in Yarraville.

07-07-2022, 06:58 PM

Being an overly competitive (reasonably) old bloke I play European handball and indoor soccer with the poster formerly known as Chops most weeks. He's one of the few people who grew up in the same area I did who shares the same impeccable musical taste as I do. Away from the internet he's a great bloke.

07-07-2022, 08:05 PM
I'm attending a work function at Bells Sth Melbourne tomorrow afternoon.

Looking forward to seeing BAD and Chops shitfaced rolling around Moray street.

07-07-2022, 08:37 PM

Say hello, and can you pick me up from the gutter and get me home.

08-07-2022, 11:10 AM

Be on your best behaviour Jee.

08-07-2022, 12:05 PM
Being an overly competitive (reasonably) old bloke I play European handball and indoor soccer with the poster formerly known as Chops most weeks. He's one of the few people who grew up in the same area I did who shares the same impeccable musical taste as I do. Away from the internet he's a great bloke.
No need to qualify TD, he's a great bloke full stop.

08-07-2022, 01:48 PM
Be on your best behaviour Jee.

I stopped really letting loose at work functions a while ago mate, but thanks for the concern!!!

08-07-2022, 03:56 PM
Really enjoyed the event today, although parking not easy in the area as there are time limits on street. Plenty of food and an open bar.

Rocket and Lake told a lot of old war stories from the time they first joined the club. Outside of premierships Rocket mentioned the best time of his footy days were at the Bulldogs. Praised Brian for being one of the best one on one marks he has seen. Rocket said 2008 and 2010, we weren't really in it but 2009 was the one that got away.

Mitch Wallis came on as a special guest and spoke a bit about his injury and was asked about the young guys coming through.

Wasn't a big crowd, so ample opportunity to have a quick discussion afterwards with the guys. I asked Brian what he was doing tonight and said he is needed in Sydney. He said that Maple contacted him in 2016 to come back to the club.

Not much else to report.

08-07-2022, 04:06 PM
Really enjoyed the event today, although parking not easy in the area as there are time limits on street. Plenty of food and an open bar.

Rocket and Lake told a lot of old war stories from the time they first joined the club. Outside of premierships Rocket mentioned the best time of his footy days were at the Bulldogs. Praised Brian for being one of the best one on one marks he has seen. Rocket said 2008 and 2010, we weren't really in it but 2009 was the one that got away.

Mitch Wallis came on as a special guest and spoke a bit about his injury and was asked about the young guys coming through.

Wasn't a big crowd, so ample opportunity to have a quick discussion afterwards with the guys. I asked Brian what he was doing tonight and said he is needed in Sydney. He said that Maple contacted him in 2016 to come back to the club.

Not much else to report.

So Brian works at the club now?

08-07-2022, 04:07 PM
I asked Brian what he was doing tonight and said he is needed in Sydney.

To line up on Buddy?

08-07-2022, 04:12 PM
To line up on Buddy?

yes on Buddy

08-07-2022, 04:13 PM

I don't believe so?

08-07-2022, 05:32 PM

No he works for a welding company with his mate Matthew Sutton.
They do compliance of gas bottles etc.
The rest of the time he's at Caroline Springs footy club I reckon he basically lives opposite the ground.

Weldco.

08-07-2022, 05:35 PM
No he works for a welding company with his mate Matthew Sutton.
They do compliance of gas bottles etc.
The rest of the time he's at Caroline Springs footy club I reckon he basically lives opposite the ground.

he said 268 metres:D

08-07-2022, 05:36 PM
he said 268 metres:D

Ha it's about right.

08-07-2022, 07:04 PM
Ha it's about right.

Rocket asked him how does he know exactly, and Lakey said he measured it :D

08-07-2022, 07:30 PM
I arrived at Bell's for the work function at about 1530 and there were a few still left over, but didn't get a chance to head up to see if you were there mate until after I caught up with work folks.

Hope you had a good day mate.

08-07-2022, 07:45 PM
I arrived at Bell's for the work function at about 1530 and there were a few still left over, but didn't get a chance to head up to see if you were there mate until after I caught up with work folks.

Hope you had a good day mate.

We finished up around 3pm. Thanks had a good lunch and catchup with Rocket.

dalek
09-07-2022, 08:21 PM
It was a great lunch. A different type of meal, was like a mini buffet with the choice of 3 meats and vegetables brought to the table to serve yourself. Dessert was the same with a variety of cakes etc to choose from..

We got there about 11.40am went up to the room and while the function was due to start until 12.00pm we were able to get drinks on the tab early.

Everyone who attended had an enjoyable time.

12-07-2022, 08:52 AM
Nice that Brian and Rocket did it together.

Would have been some dicey moments back in the day between those two when Brian would go full space cadet, but on the flip side, he was an absolute roller gold A grade star during those prelim years and probably the first magnet on the board each week.

12-07-2022, 12:56 PM
Just received this today:

After a three years hiatus, the East West Bulldogs, a supporter group of the Western Bulldogs in Melbourne’s eastern and south-eastern suburbs, are pleased to invite you to our Legends Night on Tuesday 2nd August 2022 at the Mulgrave Country Club (corner Jells and Wellington Roads, Mulgrave).

Due to Covid protocols, our Young Guns will not be able to attend this event. However, we trust that you will enjoy the night with the Legends, Past Players, and Club representatives, including Ameet Bains, Doug Hawkins, Scott West, Adam Cooney, Brian Royal and Adam Contessa.

** Legends and Club representatives attending are subject to change.
East-West members $75.00
Non-members $80.00
Children under 12 years $20.00
Time: Arrive by 6.30pm for a 7:00pm start.
Dress code: Smart Casual.
Drinks are available at bar prices.

Why do we keep getting Cooney when he's so overtly a Bummer now?

12-07-2022, 02:06 PM

A lot of ex players come to the nights, Crossy was at Melbourne as a coach when he attended once.

My only real gripe with Cooney is that a few times he's made reference of Essendon being better than at the Dogs and I don't think that is the case. He should look closely at why he was let got from us and fess up that some of it was of his doing.

By the way, It's still not 100% certain the event will go ahead. Very likely but not 100% as far as I know.

12-07-2022, 02:41 PM

I think it would be good if we could bring him into the fold.

From a pragmatic POV he also has his son coming through

12-07-2022, 03:36 PM

Because the email probably goes out and he needs the payday.

12-07-2022, 04:51 PM
Because the email probably goes out and he needs the payday.

Hopefully we can turn him back from the forces of evil. I guess if he hated the club so much he wouldn't come back and do these, in spite of the cashy.

12-07-2022, 05:11 PM
Hopefully we can turn him back from the forces of evil. I guess if he hated the club so much he wouldn't come back and do these, in spite of the cashy.

You'd be surprised what kind of bile could be swallowed if the pay day is large enough.

16-07-2022, 01:52 PM
I'm still not certain if the Legends and Young Guns night hosted by East West Club will proceed, they aren't processing payments until late next week.
By the way, no Young Gun players will be there due to Covid considerations which is fair enough.
Covid has also stopped the Player Sponsors night until after the end of the season.

02-08-2022, 06:35 PM
East West function tonight. Guests include
Contessa, Cooney, Hawkins, Liberatore, Royal and West. The President and CEO are here as is Kevin Hillier. Should be a good night.

02-08-2022, 06:46 PM
I should add that Sue Alberti is here as well.

02-08-2022, 07:38 PM
I should add that Sue Alberti is here as well.
Can you show her my meme?

02-08-2022, 08:35 PM
Contessa, Cooney, Hawkins, Liberatore, Royal and West. The President and CEO are here as is Kevin Hillier. Should be a good night.

Awesome lineup

02-08-2022, 08:51 PM
Awesome lineup

Listening to Hawk, Choco and Liberatore now. Very privileged. Doug just said he and Dippa could speak 6 languages between them and none of them were English. The classics :)

02-08-2022, 08:55 PM
Listening to Hawk, Choco and Liberatore now. Very privileged. Doug just said he and Dippa could speak 6 languages between them and none of them were English. The classics :)

Tom Libba or Tony?

02-08-2022, 09:05 PM
Tom Libba or Tony?
No current day players so Tony. He's a fantastic speaker. Next up West, Cooney and Contessa.

02-08-2022, 09:15 PM
Looks like Cooney no showed.

02-08-2022, 09:19 PM

He must be at an Essendon function.

02-08-2022, 09:35 PM

He's trolling for sure.

02-08-2022, 09:51 PM
I think I might have missed an announcement earlier in the night that Cooney couldn't make it. They announced a few people couldn't make the night due to Covid and illness.

02-08-2022, 09:55 PM
I think I might have missed an announcement earlier in the night that Cooney couldn't make it. They announced a few people couldn't make the night due to Covid and illness.

I bet he finished the phone call with: "I still get paid, right?"

02-08-2022, 11:06 PM
Second event he no showed to. Why even book him.

02-08-2022, 11:14 PM
It's a well run night and despite some challenges with the microphones it was an informative session.

The President talked a lot about her experiences as a Bulldogs supporter and how she now misses sitting with her family now that she has more corporate functions to attend. She confirmed we are in a strong financial position and that we navigated through the challenging covid years.
Both KWW and Bains talked about the membership numbers and the redevelopment of the Whitten Oval and the new facility at Skinner reserve. We definitely have a good board and leadership in place.

The first of the interviews was fantastic, Kevin Hillier does a sensational job in being the MC and interviewing the legends.
Doug talked about what he is doing now and the strongest and best memories he had from his time with the club.
Breaking Ted Whitten's game record was one of the highlights and he let it be known that he considered retiring on the same number of games as Ted, that's how much he loved Ted, until he got a telegraph (remember them?) from Ted wishing him a good game and telling him to push on. Sensational stuff.
West, Libba and Royal were also a part of that special game.
Doug talked about his first (or one of his first) game(s) being against the club he supported as a kid in North Melbourne and eventually being pitted against his idol Keith Greig.
He talked about 85 and really did provide a terrific overview of his footy career. It was lighthearted but had a strong message in it.
Hawk talked about the players he likes watching now and went through a few names before declaring that Tom Liberatore is the gauge of this team and that when he is up so is the team. He made it clear he wasn't saying that just because Tony was there and he regards Tom as a special talent.

Royal is doing well with a building company and he is a director of coaching at Beaumaris and talked about how the club is doing well.
He loved his time with us and talked about when he came to the club being a Bulldogs supporter and then how most weeks he was tagged as a player until Tony McGuinness arrived at the club.
He said you would run to the centre at the start of the game and look around to see which player was going to be targeted by the opposition and more often than not it was Tony Mac. He made a couple of good natured comments about taggers knowing he was sitting alongside of the best of them all. He really enjoys getting to the footy and catching up with some old mates.
Choc talked about how proud he was when we won in 2016 (they all did) and how is jealous of them in a nice way.
You can still tell he has a competitive fire about him.

Tony Liberatore stole the show from my perspective. He first up called out Sue Alberti for her contribution to the club and you can sense a special bond between them. He talked about how he has a first aid business that's doing well and that he has been copping some comments from people about the photo alongside of Tom yesterday where people are asking if he has shrunk. :)
He's still playing over 50's footy every 2nd week because he just loves it. He also talked about the pride he has with Tom's achievements.
There were some mentions of a special bond he had with Garry Hocking and they were both invited to their last games and some funny comments about his rivalry with Paul Kelly that resulted in the doing a commercial together.

I'll add some more probably tomorrow about Scott West and Adam Contessa. Both really provided a great overview of their careers.

03-08-2022, 12:18 AM
Great summary Gvgjr. An enjoyable night and agree Hillier does a great job as MC.

Cooney might have covid so don’t be too harsh on him folks.

A delight to briefly chat to a few bulldogs legends.I got to thank Susan Alberti for all the great work she has done for the club and that gave me a thrill. As an aside I loved her duck blue winter coat - absolutely stunning.

It struck me when the past players were sharing what they are up to nowadays that it’s only quite recent that majority of good players make good money from their contracts, hence most past players are working well into their mature years as a necessity.

Got oh so close to winning a life size bulldog statue - another person on same table won it, so that was fun!

03-08-2022, 08:06 AM
One thing from KWW that I found interesting was that both our AFL and AFLW sides are the most watched on TV. She also said that we have grown our fanbase (I assume different numbers to memberships) by 30% in the past 13 months - the Bazlenka effect?

I thought she spoke well, and attended the event with her family - she gets knocked a bit on here but I don't have an issue with a background president.

G's summary was pretty spot on. West and Contessa both spoke strongly about the impact of the media saturation on young men's mental health and ability to enjoy their time in football - they have young boys potentially playing in an under 12s grand final next week, so I'm sure they're looking to the future. Contessa said Westys boy is the best in the comp.

03-08-2022, 10:53 AM
Part 2

Scott West talked about coming to the club as a 15yo who had always barracked for Essendon. He was overwhelmed by being able to be able to train alongside of footballers he admired. He said he loved training and what a privilege it was to be able to be paid to get fit. He was one of the first to arrive at training and one of the last to leave. He talked about training in very difficult conditions at the Skinner reserve and how it tested players and for him playing on all different grounds through his career really tested him.
He referred to playing at Waverly Park as that shit hole and I got the impression he really enjoyed playing Optus Oval. Etihad was a challenge for him later in his career because it was a quicker ground.
He also talked about being able to play against some of the best in the business including Hird, Ratten, Voss and Buckley.
99 was the year that he really regretted he said many people talk about 97 but for him 99 was a big missed opportunity running into West Coast and then Brisbane up there.

He said he wished he could have learned to enjoy his football more particularly later in his career. Despite being at the club a long time he said it flew by. He talked about his pride of seeing Rhylee play a few times and he has a younger boy who's a talented player as well.

Adam Contessa was very informative. He has a son that plays against West's younger boy and he is a runner for that team.
He talks about how when an opposition player kicked a goal how everyone at the club knew who that goal was kicked against and nowadays with a team defense he's often left trying to work out who the opponent was for the player who just kicked a goal
He sold an events business a few months before Covid hit which was a stroke of good luck and he has been working in Road Traffic control for a few years. He's currently doing a project somewhere near Geelong.

All in all it was another very good night and we even had Naomi Ferres from our AFLW team get up and speak for a few minutes.

If anyone here lives out in the East I would recommend joining the East West club. These nights are something that brings the supporters a bit closer to the club we love. To have the President, the CEO and 5 legends talking to us along with a 3 course meal and a number of activities including raffles and silent auctions in what is a very good venue is great value for the supporters.

03-08-2022, 10:57 AM
One thing from KWW that I found interesting was that both our AFL and AFLW sides are the most watched on TV. She also said that we have grown our fanbase (I assume different numbers to memberships) by 30% in the past 13 months - the Bazlenka effect?

I thought she spoke well, and attended the event with her family - she gets knocked a bit on here but I don't have an issue with a background president.

G's summary was pretty spot on. West and Contessa both spoke strongly about the impact of the media saturation on young men's mental health and ability to enjoy their time in football - they have young boys potentially playing in an under 12s grand final next week, so I'm sure they're looking to the future. Contessa said Westys boy is the best in the comp.

Just on Kylie, I think the knocks on her is that she isn't as visible to our supporters as many would like to see and based on last night there is some merit in that observation. She was impressive and informative last night and I would really like to see her getting a bit closer to the rank and file supporters more than just corporate's. Now this might be hard for her to manage with her schedule but she could make a more positive impression on all of our supporters.

03-08-2022, 10:58 AM
Just on Kylie, I think the knocks on her is that she isn't as visible to our supporters as many would like to see and based on last night there is some merit in that observation. She was impressive and informative last night and I would really like to see her getting a bit closer to the the rank and file supporters more than just corporate's. Now this might be hard for her to manage with her schedule but she could make a more positive impression on all of our supporters.

Nail -> head.

Do they check your suburb passport at the door of this event? Seems like the best one of the year now!

I've worked in the east for 25 years so that should count ;P

03-08-2022, 11:20 AM
Nail -> head.

Do they check your suburb passport at the door of this event? Seems like the best one of the year now!

I've worked in the east for 25 years so that should count ;P

One of the committee members (she might actually be the president) for the Barwon Bulldogs won one of the raffles for a $50 voucher at the Mulgrave Country Club which she donated back so there are no postcode barriers on being a member or even just attending the night. On my table last night there were two Melbourne supporters (daughter who was also there supports the Dogs) who have had a long association with the EW club.
I remember going there a number of years back and there was something like 38 tables of 8 and the place was packed.
It's a shame that Bevo more or less shut down the East West training day which was also a special event held at Wesley College.
The EW president Tony mentioned they are hoping to bring that back in some form next year.

I even met WOOF member Josie there (Fergus Greene was on the table) a few years back and it wasn't until later in presentation when she mentioned she was on WOOF that we worked out who we both were :) It's a small world.
The more the merrier I think. For $75 last night we got the President, CEO, 5 legends, Kevin Hillier as host and a 3 course meal sitting with very like minded people. Great value from my perspective especially knowing that through the various fund raisers the EW club makes a financial donation to the club and even sponsors an AFLW player.

The EW club should be far better known for all our our supporters. I didn't see him last night but a couple of times there has been a guy who travels down from Swan Hill to be a part of the night. Used to drive back home straight after the function, now that is commitment.

03-08-2022, 12:47 PM
Just on Kylie, I think the knocks on her is that she isn't as visible to our supporters as many would like to see and based on last night there is some merit in that observation. She was impressive and informative last night and I would really like to see her getting a bit closer to the rank and file supporters more than just corporate's. Now this might be hard for her to manage with her schedule but she could make a more positive impression on all of our supporters.

That's fair. She did tend to stay at her table rather than mingling with the supporters - although so did Bains.
I think we have been blessed with very visible and vocal presidents, but KWW is in line with >50% of other presidents in my eyes.

I will look into joining as an EW member in the future. I have attended a few of these dinners over the years, and used to enjoy the Wesley training days, so it would be good to support them.

03-08-2022, 01:03 PM
That's fair. She did tend to stay at her table rather than mingling with the supporters - although so did Bains.
I think we have been blessed with very visible and vocal presidents, but KWW is in line with >50% of other presidents in my eyes.

I will look into joining as an EW member in the future. I have attended a few of these dinners over the years, and used to enjoy the Wesley training days, so it would be good to support them.

Kylie was there with her family so I gather it would have been a bit harder for her to mingle with more of the attendees.
Maybe that isn't her strong point either whereas it's certainly that way with Sue Alberti.

We have to accept that not everyone at the senior level with be as close to the supporter as Peter Gordon and Sue Alberti were but we should also be comfortable knowing that the club is being well managed by Watson-Wheeler and Bains.

03-08-2022, 02:15 PM

I will look into joining as an EW member in the future.

It's an elite club jazz, I only let a few people in a year. What makes you think you're EW material?

03-08-2022, 10:03 PM
Great summary GVGjr and Jazzadogs.

03-08-2022, 11:55 PM
I live on the other side of town and was initially invited to attend the EW dinner by a fellow cheer squad member who does live on east side and with whom I still attend. Have not missed one since. As a non EW member I pay $5 extra and it is super value. Gvgjr’s & Jazzadog’s reports brilliant. Highly recommended event. EW club raises funds for the club too which is great.

04-08-2022, 10:02 AM
Nice to see Westy participate, he must have cooled down after his social media meltdown now that Rhylee is playing well.

04-08-2022, 10:12 AM
Nice to see Westy participate, he must have cooled down after his social media meltdown now that Rhylee is playing well.

He was impressive and stayed later despite having an early start to work the next morning. Doug left not long after his time being interviewed with Royal and Libba because he also had an early start.
He was clearly very proud of what Rhylee is achieving.

04-08-2022, 10:14 AM
He was impressive and stayed later despite having an early start to work the next morning. Doug left not long after his time being interviewed with Royal and Libba because he also had an early start.
He was clearly very proud of what Rhylee is achieving.

I wonder if he now agrees with the club’s approach to Rhylee’s development or still thinks he was hard done by?

04-08-2022, 11:20 AM
I wonder if he now agrees with the club’s approach to Rhylee’s development or still thinks he was hard done by?

I think he was a bit hard done by, so I understood where Scott was coming from. He clearly could have been prioritised earlier, however, Rhylee has battled through it, matured, and its helped make him an even better footballer.

Be nice to see him back to his best this week against Freo after a quiet few

04-08-2022, 12:47 PM

Westy gave some very frank, heartfelt reflections on that at another event recently (believe it was at the Braybrook Hotel)

Said those comments had soured his relationship with Bevo and made things challenging for his partner, that he has regrets and understands it wasn't the right thing to do. Gave some insight into how he was feeling as a parent and fan but ultimately accepted responsibility for how he managed it and accepts the consequences.

Or words to that effect, saw it mentioned on BF and twitter. Was going to go along to that function but couldn't get there.

04-08-2022, 01:04 PM
Westy gave some very frank, heartfelt reflections on that at another event recently (believe it was at the Braybrook Hotel)

Said those comments had soured his relationship with Bevo and made things challenging for his partner, that he has regrets and understands it wasn't the right thing to do. Gave some insight into how he was feeling as a parent and fan but ultimately accepted responsibility for how he managed it and accepts the consequences.

Or words to that effect, saw it mentioned on BF and twitter. Was going to go along to that function but couldn't get there.
The ugly sports parent never ceases to amaze

04-08-2022, 01:55 PM
West spoke very briefly and positively about Bevo at the dinner. I think he is trying to rebuild bridges.

He also spoke about being driven to be the best at what he does including post footy.

I recall an age article where he opened up about his depression in 2001. This 2004 article refers to the earlier article. Could not find earlier one. I thought at the time it was a brave thing to do and could help others (footy players and fans) to encourage them to seek help. It was also prior to now commonplace publicity encouraging openness and where to seek help.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theage.com.au/sport/afl/the-inner-west-20040523-gdxwf3.html

Although Westie also spoke at last EW dinner there seemed to be little duplication and I’ve found Scott an intelligent, thoughtful and entertaining speaker.

04-08-2022, 02:36 PM

As Josie mentioned, West was full of praise about Bevo. While we would all hope that he didn't go public with his thoughts we shouldn't hold it against him now. Maybe there was a lesson he learned.

04-08-2022, 03:06 PM
As Josie mentioned, West was full of praise about Bevo. While we would all hope that he didn't go public with his thoughts we shouldn't hold it against him now. Maybe there was a lesson he learned.

Just a typical parent having a rant about their son. I am sure he regrets it.

04-08-2022, 03:20 PM
Just a typical parent having a rant about their son. I am sure he regrets it.

Yep might have typed it after a couple of reds.

04-08-2022, 07:43 PM
I was in the east west club in the early 90's when i lived east side. Long serving president was called David McC. Then i moved west and thought maybe there will be a west-west club i could join. But alas there wasn't.

04-08-2022, 07:46 PM

I know it's hard to have all time favourites but Choco definitely is one. Probably the fact that we were both country boys who followed the dogs. That was a rarity i can tell ya.

04-08-2022, 08:00 PM
I was in the east west club in the early 90's when i lived east side. Long serving president was called David McC. Then i moved west and thought maybe there will be a west-west club i could join. But alas there wasn't.

That's the Bulldogs.

04-08-2022, 08:34 PM
I know it's hard to have all time favourites but Choco definitely is one. Probably the fact that we were both country boys who followed the dogs. That was a rarity i can tell ya.
Choco was a gun player, shame he didn't make it to 200 games.

04-08-2022, 09:16 PM

He specifically spoke about some of these issues:
- he referred to Bevo as a great coach and mentor to the young boys.
- he spoke about his difficulties being a parent and hearing people say negative things about his son. He says it is hard to sit in the crowd and enjoy the game - this was in notable contrast to Royal, who said he loves going to watch games with Steve Wallis and analyse what they would have done better. He also made a comment about Contessa being a very vocal runner for his under 12s team.

08-12-2022, 10:39 AM
Hi all - attended the Player Sponsors event last night. Was really a great night. Here's a bit of a run down for Woofers :)

Format :

Was at Flemington Racecourse, it was a great venue really open and airy with loads of natural light. The new grandstand I believe. Provided a beautiful backdrop of the racecourse and the city.

Had drinks in the foyer with all the players in attendance, then migrated to seats when Luke Darcy the MC came on and started SHOOSHING everyone. Ha, it was his goto for the night I was cracking up everytime he shooshed us in the room (he did it at least 5 times).

Agenda :

As mentioned Luke Darcy was the MC, did a welcome etc and mentioned how good it was to have everyone in the same room.

Then Ameet got up and spoke, pretty brief spoke about the financial result as a positive but pretty cookie cutter.

After Ameet Luke welcomed up the Chief Operating Officer Sue Clark and she gave the room a rundown of the new facility. This included some slides with some images and data.

The total cost of build was ~77 million with ~64 million of that being sourced externally.

The highlight of the presentation was the animated fly through of the new facility. Suffice to say it's absolutely incredible and I noted with interest the players were all really interested as you'd expect.
There will be a function space that overlooks the ground and the city and it will seat around 450 people. So a function like last night may be there in the future.

After Sue we had our first of three panels with players.

First group of four was Josh Bruce, Cody Weightman, Hayden Crozier and Aaron Naughton.

Pretty standard questions, Bruce said he was going well, Crozier spoke about his trip to the US with a few others including Naughts, Cody went to Iceland to see the Northern Lights which was an interesting story.

Darcy did ask Naughton a question re his position, and said something like "Can you tell me why you aren't playing CHB; some of the supporters and members of the board think you should be"... His answer was he rather be kicking 5 than making 10 spoils and thanked Bevo for making the move !

Think we broke for mains then.

After mains there was some presentations to long term player sponsors (20 years I believe) then the second player panel.

This had Marcus Bontempelli, Taylor Duryea, Caleb Daniel and Ed Richards.

Bont spoke brilliantly as per normal. Taylor was very good he certainly is a good team man and is very cognisant of his role and was talking about ways you can contribute to the team outside of the normal. I found him to be very good.
Caleb relayed the story of the 21 finals campaign after a crowd sourced question. Was really interesting to hear the restrictions that had which are well noted. Probably more extreme than I thought, as in things like waiting for the air to clear in buffets in Qld hotels.
Ed Richards was a highlight, he has a great personality and was quite funny. Mentioned that Liam Jones was a good educator and had already taught the backline group some things which was nice to hear.

Luke also asked him about his great uncle Lou - and he said something like I don't know how many of you know your great uncles but I didn't see him much with a big Ed smile was amusing.

We broke again for Dessert I think.

Then we had some more presentations for long term sponsors, have to say I found this part of the night really inspirational. To see people who care so much for the club that they've been involved at this level for so long was inspiring to me. They got a lovely gift presented on stage by their player and a photo taken.

A gentleman was sitting on my table got a 30 year recognition. He's a lovely man spent a long time chatting with him.

Then we had the third panel which was Rory Lobb, Jedd Busslinger and Liam Jones. Was some quickfire questions that they had to answer without much thinking time.
Rory was pretty amusing, when he couldn't answer he exclaimed to Darcy "i left school at 14 mate what do you want from me!" which was quite funny.
The big buss (which seems to be the nickname) seems a really good kid, pretty laid back and funny. Liam Jones seems like a really good guy and quite wise so he will be a good get.

Here are some snaps from the night.

https://i.postimg.cc/02KXkK0w/PXL-20221207-074056460.jpg (https://postimages.org/) https://i.postimg.cc/XYMHpNsD/PXL-20221207-074141458.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/tRMmGNWb/PXL-20221207-082308811.jpg (https://postimages.org/) https://i.postimg.cc/sxqnP3sx/PXL-20221207-091556483.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://i.postimg.cc/8cjKr78x/PXL-20221207-100740477.jpg (https://postimages.org/) https://i.postimg.cc/NMNCM1n1/PXL-20221207-102452694.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

08-12-2022, 10:43 AM
Thanks GG for posting

08-12-2022, 06:31 PM
GG this was a great coverage. Much appreciated. It makes you proud of our unique Club

08-12-2022, 08:48 PM
Thanks for sharing - sounds like a great night.

08-12-2022, 11:07 PM
Thanks GG, great read and photos.

09-12-2022, 09:57 AM
By the way Gg which player are you sponsoring? Did you have a good discussion with him?

09-12-2022, 10:39 AM
By the way Gg which player are you sponsoring? Did you have a good discussion with him?

Oh I forgot that bit. It's Marra. Yes had a great discussion with him B4L. Got to know him reasonably well over the last few functions. He's a great kid.

He ran us through the story of his new tattoo. It's really quite an amazing work of art.

Hopefully he shares the story with the broader supporter base at some point, it has some beautiful images on it that mean a lot to him.

He scoffed a couple of desserts, another player and I (maybe the new #3) were ribbing him about it. He mentioned he had a body scan today so he could get away with it !

He looks very lean and fit.

09-12-2022, 11:27 AM
Oh I forgot that bit. It's Marra. Yes had a great discussion with him B4L. Got to know him reasonably well over the last few functions. He's a great kid.

He ran us through the story of his new tattoo. It's really quite an amazing work of art.

Hopefully he shares the story with the broader supporter base at some point, it has some beautiful images on it that mean a lot to him.

He scoffed a couple of desserts, another player and I (maybe the new #3) were ribbing him about it. He mentioned he had a body scan today so he could get away with it !

He looks very lean and fit.

Thanks for that Gg. A great player to sponsor. By the way did you remember to ask those 2 questions?

09-12-2022, 11:38 AM
Thanks for that Gg. A great player to sponsor. By the way did you remember to ask those 2 questions?

Unfortunately I didn't. Apologies.

09-12-2022, 12:54 PM
Unfortunately I didn't. Apologies.

No worries Gg doesn't effect me I'm over 2,000 kms away. :)

10-12-2022, 06:52 AM
That was a really interesting post. Thanks for taking the time GG.

10-12-2022, 07:59 AM
That was a really interesting post. Thanks for taking the time GG.

Np mate.

10-12-2022, 01:23 PM
Also received this gift for 5 years player sponsorship. I was pretty happy with it!
Shows a scene from the five years.
Nowhere to put all these things is the problem.
(yes I distorted the bottom)
https://i.postimg.cc/GpvQ2cFj/PXL-20221210-020734545-3.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

12-12-2022, 01:07 AM
Thanks for that GG. That was great reading. Sounds like as a few woofers have said a great night.

06-02-2023, 07:03 PM
Season Launch Details :

I have early access so expect it to be released to all shortly.
Join us at this inner sanctum event as we kick the season off in style.

Event Details:
Monday 6 March 2023
6:30pm – 9:30pm

Early Bird (Before 13 Feb): $175 per person
Standard: $185 per person

Enjoy an exclusive look into the season ahead and hear from Senior Coach, Luke Beveridge and Western Bulldogs officials. Farewell retirees, meet the newest recruits and witness the playing group receive their 2023 jumpers.

06-02-2023, 07:08 PM
GG, I noticed they haven't advised the venue. Surely an oversight or have I missed it?

06-02-2023, 07:19 PM
Reckon we’ll get any Inside the Kennel shoes this year? Went to one at the Yarraville Club a while ago to see Grant, Chocco, Beaser, Westy, Johnno and Doug and it was terrific.

06-02-2023, 07:35 PM
GG, I noticed they haven't advised the venue. Surely an oversight or have I missed it?

Big Plans, North Melbourne? No idea what that is.

https://membership.westernbulldogs.com.au/2023-afl-season-launch

06-02-2023, 07:38 PM
https://www.hiddencitysecrets.com.au/melbourne/big-plans-venue-hire-melbourne-function-venues-rooms-north-melbourne/

06-02-2023, 08:22 PM
"Big Plans" sounds like a power point presentation will be in full force. :) Im in two minds about attending as I dont want to hear about how much money we are spending in the redevelopment. Ive already seen and heard all about that. I want footy updates

06-02-2023, 08:39 PM
"Big Plans" sounds like a power point presentation will be in full force. Im in two minds about attending as I dont want to hear about how much money we are spending in the redevelopment. Ive already seen and heard all about that.

Standing event too by the looks, I need a seat!

06-02-2023, 08:50 PM
Standing event too by the looks, I need a seat!

They did that a few years back didnt they and I was told they got negative feedback.

06-02-2023, 10:15 PM
Big Plans, North Melbourne? No idea what that is.

https://membership.westernbulldogs.com.au/2023-afl-season-launch

OK, I've got it now. Seems like a strange venue and you're right its standing only.

06-02-2023, 10:25 PM
OK, I've got it now. Seems like a strange venue and you're right its standing only.

Same as last year, ie standing.

06-02-2023, 10:25 PM
Same as last year, ie standing.

Yep, it looks to be an interesting venue.

06-03-2023, 01:05 PM
Season Launch Details :

I have early access so expect it to be released to all shortly.
Join us at this inner sanctum event as we kick the season off in style.

Event Details:
Monday 6 March 2023
6:30pm – 9:30pm

Early Bird (Before 13 Feb): $175 per person
Standard: $185 per person

Enjoy an exclusive look into the season ahead and hear from Senior Coach, Luke Beveridge and Western Bulldogs officials. Farewell retirees, meet the newest recruits and witness the playing group receive their 2023 jumpers.

Anyone going tonight?

I will be there, on my own, mate can't make it.

06-03-2023, 01:32 PM
yep I will be there

07-03-2023, 09:21 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FqhWT_LakAA_QZC?format=jpg&name=medium

Went along last night to the season launch which followed the same format on stage as the previous years few years. The venue was unusual, being in North Melbourne in a converted building surrounded by Industrial businesses.

Pre-covid, the season launch was more formal held at Crown with over 1000 attending, however, the last few years the event has been changed to be more a stand up affair with waiters roaming around with food trays. A bar is set up in one corner where you can drink as much as you want (hopefully, not being stupid about it). So plenty of food and drinks.

This year the players were close to the bar, with some spreading around the room, like Caleb, Libba, Bruce, and if you wanted to talk to them you could, which I don't do that, unless introduced. However, I did talk to Bailey Williams as he walked past about the wrong photo on the website. We had a bit of a laugh over that and he said he had mates, family ringing him about it.

Some things I can remember about the evening:

1. VU Whitten Oval a little behind schedule as asbestos was found in the old stand that was demolished

2. Bevo's speech as usual was a beauty finishing off with wanting to make every venue a slaughter house - hard to explain, but will look out for the video on the club website and post.

3. Caleb Daniel awarded Life membership - 9 years at the club now :eek:

https://youtu.be/ceeVeMv6ED4

4. Players were presented with their jumpers, one by one, and some interviewed by Brad Johnson.

5. Tim English was asked about round one and combating the Melbourne rucks. He jokingly said he is having sleepless nights thinking about it. On a serious note, he said he is working with Brendon Lade on tactics etc.

6. As mentioned in other threads, Weightman was asked about the three talls, and whether he would still be trying to jump over the lot - he said he would be staying down a lot more this year.

7. As usual, the young recruits spoke well when interviewed.

8. Only player not to attend was Lobb

9. Love the attitude of Arty Jones, always smiling, and really enjoying being part of the group.

Not much else of noteworthy said, but will post if I remember.

07-03-2023, 10:09 AM
I stayed away due to the venue and format.

What did you think of it BAD? I love a good Bevo speech, if he's using slaughterhouse that sounds like something I want to hear.

07-03-2023, 11:12 AM
I stayed away due to the venue and format.

What did you think of it BAD? I love a good Bevo speech, if he's using slaughterhouse that sounds like something I want to hear.

I prefer the Crown, formal launch, but the venue was pretty good. Better than Zinc last year. My only complaint was the music was a bit loud and hard to talk to people. (and no not because I am getting old :D )

The one good thing about the standing up is you can wonder around and talk to people. I caught up with someone who is a friend and also does corporate stuff behind the scenes at the club and he introduced me to lots of people as he was a magnet.

07-03-2023, 03:07 PM
Bevo

https://youtu.be/iOGv02mfga4

07-03-2023, 06:54 PM
Got to love Bevo, he looks healthy, happy and has a glint in his eye.

If there were hot coals around I'd considering doing a Nigel Smart after that speech:p

dalek
08-03-2023, 08:07 PM
I prefer the Crown, formal launch, but the venue was pretty good. Better than Zinc last year. My only complaint was the music was a bit loud and hard to talk to people. (and no not because I am getting old :D )

The one good thing about the standing up is you can wonder around and talk to people. I caught up with someone who is a friend and also does corporate stuff behind the scenes at the club and he introduced me to lots of people as he was a magnet.

Glad someone else thought the music was too loud.

Had an enjoyable night although.

08-03-2023, 08:17 PM
Glad someone else thought the music was too loud.

Had an enjoyable night although.

I let them know in the survey sent out today

dalek
10-03-2023, 07:15 PM
I let them know in the survey sent out today

I also did that plus having better seating arrangement.

16-12-2023, 01:42 PM
I thought the events for supporters this year was pretty weak compared to the past.

Not sure what has happened to the members Christmas Party which was a feature pre Covid days.

With AFLW, I am a foundation member and the first few years, we had a get together with the players, but again nothing since Covid.

The season launches have also gone down hill, and have become a last minute thing with no advertising to members it is on, and just a stand up event with canapes and drinks.

I hope there are better plans for 2024, especially with the new function centre being built in the new Whitten Stand (will it still be called that)

18-12-2023, 04:35 PM
I thought the events for supporters this year was pretty weak compared to the past.

Not sure what has happened to the members Christmas Party which was a feature pre Covid days.

With AFLW, I am a foundation member and the first few years, we had a get together with the players, but again nothing since Covid.

The season launches have also gone down hill, and have become a last minute thing with no advertising to members it is on, and just a stand up event with canapes and drinks.

I hope there are better plans for 2024, especially with the new function centre being built in the new Whitten Stand (will it still be called that)

Yep, pisses me off that they provided a Social Club Christmas party every year pre Covid and then just conveniently forgot to bring it back. I want my burrito, beer and ice cream!

Not to mention I don't think players have ever returned to speak in the social club pre game like they did before Covid either. Obviously the guaranteed grand final ticket is the main reason to be a social club member but now there do not seem to be any other benefits whatsoever.

18-12-2023, 04:50 PM
Yep, pisses me off that they provided a Social Club Christmas party every year pre Covid and then just conveniently forgot to bring it back. I want my burrito, beer and ice cream!

Not to mention I don't think players have ever returned to speak in the social club pre game like they did before Covid either. Obviously the guaranteed grand final ticket is the main reason to be a social club member but now there do not seem to be any other benefits whatsoever.

Yes, zero benefits of being in social club

06-02-2024, 03:01 PM
Well, a further down grade of the season launch:

Bulldogs to launch season at VU Whitten Oval (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1484312/bulldogs-to-launch-season-at-whitten-oval)

Western Bulldogs members and fans are invited to rally together at VU Whitten Oval on Friday 23 February, as we launch the 2024 AFL Season.

Be there in person as we present our 2024 playing group with their jumpers, and hear from coaches, leadership personnel and players as we build excitement for the season ahead.

It?s a free, family-friendly event with plenty on offer to keep you entertained ? including a special snap and sign session with the entire team, the Footscray-Yarraville Band, food trucks and our fan zone packed full of footy activities and giveaways for kids.

We?ll also have special offers on Bulldogs memberships and merchandise to ensure that you?re ready for the upcoming season.

The 2024 Season Launch will occur after the scheduled practice matches for both the AFL (11am start) and VFL teams (1:50pm start).

2024 Season Launch

Friday, 23 February, 4:00pm AEDT
VU Whitten Oval, West Footscray ? Wurundjeri/Boon Wurrung

4pm: Entry open via Cross Street, VU Whitten Oval
4:15pm ? 5pm: Player signing session
5pm: Jumper presentations to start
6pm: Approximate finish

06-02-2024, 03:47 PM
Used to be a good night.

06-02-2024, 04:17 PM
Used to be a good night.

You have to wonder why a lot of functions the clubs used to run have been eroded so consistently? Perhaps the demands on the playing group has increased or trying to manage costs for evens has been a challenge for the club.

06-02-2024, 04:46 PM
You have to wonder why a lot of functions the clubs used to run have been eroded so consistently? Perhaps the demands on the playing group has increased or trying to manage costs for evens has been a challenge for the club.
Was wondering if it was a PA thing and the players are only available for x number of functions.

06-02-2024, 04:47 PM
Was wondering if it was a PA thing and the players are only available for x number of functions.

It would be nice if the club acknowledged the challenges one way or the other.

06-02-2024, 04:49 PM

I think this is close to the mark.

Coterie groups have been compromised by the reduced player availability.

10-07-2024, 09:52 AM
Anyone going:

Legacy Through Legends
Wednesday July 31st
7pm ? 9.30pm
Mission Whitten Oval, Footscray ? Level 2 Function Room

Bulldogs to host Legacy through Legends (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1597172/bulldogs-to-host-legacy-through-legends)

The Western Bulldogs will pay homage to the past while celebrating a new and exciting era at their Legacy through Legends event on Wednesday 31 July.

Held in the newly developed function space at Mission Whitten Oval, the event will present Bulldogs fans and members with the opportunity to hear from club royalty and current stars.

Aligning with the club?s 2024 Retro Round ? to be celebrated in Round 21 ? a panel consisting of Chris Grant, Brad Johnson, Doug Hawkins and Paul Dimattina will speak, followed by premiership stars Easton Wood, Ellie Blackburn and Deanna Berry.

Other panellists, including current AFL Bulldogs, will be announced closer to the event.

Be among the first to enjoy the spectacular new Level 2 function space by securing your tickets to this exclusive event today.

Tickets start at $160 for members and are $195 for non-members.

Bulldogs members can also opt to include a tour of the facility in their ticket for an extra $20.

10-07-2024, 04:18 PM
Dimattina being in attendance sort of takes the wind out of the sails for this event for me and in fact it puts a line through it.
I don't appreciate some of his comments about the club so it's a pass for me.
I don't understand why they would have him there at all.

01-08-2024, 09:19 AM
Went along last night to the Legacy through Legends event.

Took the tour option as well and I just say WOW. I had previously had a tour when the first redevelopment was done and thought then this is really a step up, however, we have now gone way, way above anything previously. The facilities are the best for any club in Australia.

The Board Room:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GT2hweTaYAAaZS1?format=jpg&name=large

01-08-2024, 09:20 AM
The Gym

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GT2hw_waYAAx3Lp?format=jpg&name=large

01-08-2024, 09:21 AM
The indoor ground, where many game tactics are practised away from prying eyes.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GT2hxhQbwAQPRDQ?format=jpg&name=large

01-08-2024, 09:22 AM
Indoor pool which is one of Bevo's favourite spaces

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GT2hyDaWMAAJppW?format=jpg&name=large

01-08-2024, 09:43 AM
After the tour, we headed to the new events area which takes up the whole top floor of the new stand. The room was actually full, which was great to see.

The night started with Ameet talking about the new facilities and the work they have put into the development.

The MC was the Channel 7, AFL caller, Nigel Carmody who introduced the first panel of Grant, Dimma, Johnno and Dougie talking about the old days and the facilities they had. Doug was very funny talking about how as a 17 year old he was amazed with the facilities then. Johnno talked about his first day arriving at the club in his school uniform. The first person he ran into was Doug. Doug asked him where he wanted him to sign his autograph - thinking he was a supporter. Dimma thought he was recruited by Essendon and on arrival Sheedy told him it didn't work out and was sent away to the Whitten Oval. He said he didn't even know where Footscary was.

Chris was asked about whether the new facilities have given a lift to the team. He was in no doubt, and said the other big advantage was luring new players to the club, whether a trade or drafting, they will surely be impressed.

The second panel included Wood and Tom Boyd, plus AFLW players Berry (captain) and the retired Bailey Hunt. Both lots talked about their premiership years. Tom is a great speaker and also very funny - another one that had never ventured across the Westgate bridge.

The final panel was made up of two current AFLW players (sorry forgotten their names) and JJ. JJ mentioned he should be back within 4 weeks time. He also said in rehab, they now don't need to go to several facilities (like swimming) because everything is now in the one place.

Overall, great facilities and hard to believe this is where our club has progressed to, after having the worst facilities in the 1980s/90s.

A quick story: Back in the late 90s, we booked my wife's nephew into a night at the club with a couple of players, which included a training run, amongst other activities. It was something organised in the school holidays. The kids had to spend the night in the old Whitten Oval and he said later there were rats running around at night time.:eek:

01-08-2024, 06:54 PM
Thanks for terrific update & photos BAD. Great to hear it was well attended too.

01-08-2024, 07:00 PM
Great overview BAD. How times have changed!

01-08-2024, 07:52 PM
Great overview BAD. How times have changed!

Chalk and cheese.

01-08-2024, 10:17 PM
Dimattina being in attendance sort of takes the wind out of the sails for this event for me and in fact it puts a line through it.
I don't appreciate some of his comments about the club so it's a pass for me.
I don't understand why they would have him there at all.

You need to see past that.
Past Players will say things about their club because they care. Sometimes it’s not good but it also means that they are hurting. Wrong or right.
Paul is a very emotional person and obviously wears his heart on his sleeve when it comes to us.
You could see it with his covid difficulties and his hotel, he was in tears.
He is very much bulldog.
Media also love to chase a story and when a club seems to be in a bit of a rut they will run to a past player who doesn’t agree with what’s going on.
I can attest for his love of the dogs as my daughter is very close to the whole family.

02-08-2024, 08:06 AM
You need to see past that.
Past Players will say things about their club because they care. Sometimes it’s not good but it also means that they are hurting. Wrong or right.
Paul is a very emotional person and obviously wears his heart on his sleeve when it comes to us.
You could see it with his covid difficulties and his hotel, he was in tears.
He is very much bulldog.
Media also love to chase a story and when a club seems to be in a bit of a rut they will run to a past player who doesn’t agree with what’s going on.
I can attest for his love of the dogs as my daughter is very close to the whole family.

Have to disagree Ledge. Dimma had a long history of outright bagging the club and it wasn't just an isolated incident or two out of frustration. He went out of his way to ridicule the club and was a real rent-a-quote agent for the media.
I don't wish him ill will but he made his bed and has a bit of redeeming to do from my perspective. I'd never support any of his businesses.
Let's not confuse passion for genuine loyalty