View Full Version : Game Day Round 9, 2017 - Geelong V Western Bulldogs

Pages : 1 [2]

19-05-2017, 10:18 PM
Travis Cloke is driving me bonkers.

Why the hell kick a torp to the pocket. Brainless.

19-05-2017, 10:20 PM
What wqs that by Williams?

19-05-2017, 10:21 PM
Sting, hurt and season changing now.

Umpires far too good this quarter.

No free to Clay with arm round the neck, and now its game over

Well that's the end of that.

19-05-2017, 10:22 PM

No left foot. Something big to work on...

I really like Bailey Williams and i love his bravery to take the game on. But that checkside running through the middlevis unforgivable.

*!*!*!*! this shit.

I haven't been at all happy with how he's kicked it for most of the night.

19-05-2017, 10:23 PM
I can't watch any more of this. Votes then off to bed.

19-05-2017, 10:23 PM
What a %/÷%#%# weekend alresdy.

19-05-2017, 10:24 PM
What a %/÷%#%# weekend alresdy.

The curse of getting so many Friday night games, when you repeatedly fail.

Any one want to stand near Selwood or Dangerfield in the middle?... like anyone?

I'm putting this fairly and squarely at the feet of Marcus Adams and Travis Cloke.

Adams had two deer in the headlights moments that cost us goals. Cloke really made a dick of himself with the unnecessary free kick and 50m penalty that handed the momentum to the Cats.

We can piss and moan about umpiring, but these moments made the difference to me.

This is shit

19-05-2017, 10:25 PM
Newsflash - Handbags win, , umpires given free piss all night in their social club after the game.

Any one want to stand near Selwood or Dangerfield in the middle?... like anyone?

All we've had to do is neutralise the centre this quarter and reset but no, for some reason we couldn't or wouldn't do it.

Poor coaching or poor leadership, take your pick.

The thing that irks me is the media are going to fawn ove4 Selwood this week. He is a star no doubt, but i can't recall a player who over a career just gets so much undeserved leeway from umpires. Its a disgrace.

19-05-2017, 10:27 PM
I'm putting this fairly and squarely at the feet of Marcus Adams and Travis Cloke.

Adams had two deer in the headlights moments that cost us goals. Cloke really made a dick of himself with the unnecessary free kick and 50m penalty that handed the momentum to the Cats.

We can piss and moan about umpiring, but these moments made the difference to me.

Don't forget Clokes torp from 70 out.

19-05-2017, 10:27 PM
Bevo really needs to take on board some feedback for the amount of leg rope he gives to pivotal opposition mids.

19-05-2017, 10:28 PM
I wish we hadn't dropped Fletcher Roberts and Zaine Cordy.

19-05-2017, 10:29 PM
And Libba

19-05-2017, 10:30 PM

So predictable

19-05-2017, 10:30 PM
*!*!*!*!ing pathetic.

We will struggle to make the 8.

19-05-2017, 10:34 PM
Appalling umpiring....absolutely appalling.
Centre clearances in the last quarter were unforgiveable.
Harry Taylor....Harry fecking Taylor.
The constant references to the non scoring end....yeah it's all magic you imbeciles.

19-05-2017, 10:34 PM

In fairness Cloke had Selwood holding the ball. If the umpire heard my reaction to that decision he would of paid 2 50m penalties.

19-05-2017, 10:35 PM
Bevo had a stinker!

Stop Dangerwood, stop Geelong... but we just let them run free.

So disappointing, the lack of intensity and smarts in the last qtr was disturbing.

19-05-2017, 10:35 PM
Appalling umpiring....absolutely appalling.
Centre clearances in the last quarter were unforgiveable.
Harry Taylor....Harry fecking Taylor.
The constant references to the non scoring end....yeah it's all magic you imbeciles.

I hope we get a chance before Taylor retires to rub his nose in it.

19-05-2017, 10:36 PM
We consistently fail to hurt the opposition on the scoreboard. How many times it felt like the ball went down to Clay with three or four defenders on him as we'd pushed numbers up to contest . The balance is off, hopefully we can turn it around. Selwood and Dangerfield just had too much space. The Selwood free against Cloke and the Murphy free really shifted momentum. Think we copped the wrong end of the stick with both. Four times I think Selwood was tackled and illegally disposed and it was play on.....

ahh Clay Smith. Ive had enough of us kicking it long to him over the top. It doesn't work surely the players have worked that out by now. Actually surely the coaches have work it out too?

We lack leadership in the big moments there is no doubt about that.

In fairness Cloke had Selwood holding the ball. If the umpire heard my reaction to that decision he would of paid 2 50m penalties.

I saw it as a definite in the back. Given Selwood didn't dispose of the ball properly Cloke didn't need to get into his back at all, but did, because he's not very smart.

I wish we hadn't dropped Fletcher Roberts and Zaine Cordy.

I do like what Adams can do but he's costing us at least 1 goal a game do to really poor decisions. Roberts wouldn't have done that tonight. He should not have been dropped.

19-05-2017, 10:37 PM

Yep Selwood incorrect disposal and then dives forward and Cloke falls on top, no wonder Cloke went off. How many times were Geelong caught with the ball and incorrect disposal and it is play on.

I saw it as a definite in the back. Given Selwood didn't dispose of the ball properly Cloke didn't need to get into his back at all, but did, because he's not very smart.

Can't agree.

19-05-2017, 10:37 PM
I hope we get a chance before Taylor retires to rub his nose in it.

How many chances do we need?

No wonder Geelong think little of us.

19-05-2017, 10:38 PM
I do like what Adams can do but he's costing us at least 1 goal a game do to really poor decisions. Roberts wouldn't have done that tonight. He should not have been dropped.

Roberts can't defend one on one.. Adams did that pretty well.

19-05-2017, 10:38 PM

That was definitely holding the ball first.

19-05-2017, 10:39 PM
ahh Clay Smith. Ive had enough of us kicking it long to him over the top. It doesn't work surely the players have worked that out by now. Actually surely the coaches have work it out too?

Smith has a turning circle of a Boeing 777, why put it on his head or over it? He can't turn around quick enough.

19-05-2017, 10:39 PM
Bevo had a stinker!

Stop Dangerwood, stop Geelong... but we just let them run free.

So disappointing, the lack of intensity and smarts in the last qtr was disturbing.

He has had a poor year in the box Bevo. We lack on field leadership also there is no doubt about that.

19-05-2017, 10:40 PM

That's my view too. Except it was Selwood, so the rules don't apply.

19-05-2017, 10:40 PM

It can't be, if the tackle is in the back.

If Cloke didn't get in his back the umpire doesn't blow the whistle. Should have, but wouldn't have because it was Selwood. The only call the umpire making in that situation was one for an illegal tackle.

19-05-2017, 10:45 PM
He has had a poor year in the box Bevo. We lack on field leadership also there is no doubt about that.

This was a poorly selected team without any height on the backline. Roberts and Cordy should have played. We played Taylor back into form as a forward.

19-05-2017, 10:46 PM
It's a good point, but my initial reaction without seeing a replay was there was a clear tackle/incorrect disposal which should've been whistled before Selwood milked the contact. They gave him a lot of time. Doesn't excuse the 50.

It can't be, if the tackle is in the back.

If Cloke didn't get in his back the umpire doesn't blow the whistle. Should have, but wouldn't have because it was Selwood. The only call the umpire making in that situation was one for an illegal tackle.

Selwood went to kick the ball and had a fresh air, the in the back happened after that when Selwood dived forward and taking Cloke with him.

This was a poorly selected team without any height on the backline. Roberts and Cordy should have played. We played Taylor back into form as a forward.

Why was Roberts dropped anyway?

19-05-2017, 10:47 PM

Only one of them needed to play... Probably Cordy.

19-05-2017, 10:47 PM

Can't agree with that. Cloke hung onto the tackle too long but it was holding the ball way before it was in the back. You pay the first free kick first everyday of the week.

19-05-2017, 10:48 PM
Selwood went to kick the ball and had a fresh air, the in the back happened after that when Selwood dived forward and taking Cloke with him.

They just showed it, suggest you watch it again.

19-05-2017, 10:49 PM
Can't agree with that. Cloke hung onto the tackle too long but it was holding the ball way before it was in the back. You pay the first free kick first everyday of the week.

I'm sorry but you can't if it's an illegal tackle.

What's so hard to understand about that?

19-05-2017, 10:50 PM
They just showed it, suggest you watch it again.

You're better than me mate. Couldn't stand listening to the cheer squad anymore. Switched it off

19-05-2017, 10:53 PM
I'm sorry but you can't if it's an illegal tackle.

What's so hard to understand about that?

Easy. It was a legal tackle when he dropped the footy. You pay the first free kick first, whats so hard to understand about that?

19-05-2017, 10:53 PM
You're better than me mate. Couldn't stand listening to the cheer squad anymore. Switched it off

Me too as soon as the siren went

19-05-2017, 10:54 PM
Ok Cloke or Redpath boys? When Roughead returns to partner Boyd in the ruck I cant see us playing all of them.

19-05-2017, 10:55 PM
On a positive note I was really pleased with Tom Boyd' game. He took a big step forward tonight.

19-05-2017, 10:58 PM
On a positive note I was really pleased with Tom Boyd' game. He took a big step forward tonight.

20 disposals, 2 goals, 33 hitouts

19-05-2017, 10:59 PM
Ok Cloke or Redpath boys? When Roughead returns to partner Boyd in the ruck I cant see us playing all of them.

Redpath is a good VFL footballer. Had a chance to make it less than a goal with plenty of time and stuffed the set shot. He has one job: convert chances. If he can't do that, he's useless to us.

19-05-2017, 11:00 PM
Easy. It was a legal tackle when he dropped the footy. You pay the first free kick first, whats so hard to understand about that?

It's the same as when a legal tackle slips above the shoulders and a player has their head ripped off. Even if the player drops the footy before the high contact the free for too high will be paid.

19-05-2017, 11:03 PM
Redpath is a good VFL footballer. Had a chance to make it less than a goal with plenty of time and stuffed the set shot. He has one job: convert chances. If he can't do that, he's useless to us.

You were making up excuses for an easier shot from Boyd earlier in the game. It happens, bad kixking is bad football. It was heart breaking seeing them ram it home from 45 to outside 50m consistantly.

19-05-2017, 11:07 PM
They get EVERYTHING down here..!

Catching train home just shaking my head the whole way. The Murphy holding the ball decision was an ABSOLUTE STINKER!!!!!

I had a woman behind me actually chastise me for her foot being crushed because I stood up to celebrate a goal, and when I sat down, she'd let it drift between my fold up seat and backrest when I sat back down.

When I stood up and applauded our goals in the third, I (and my mates) was continually told to "siddown!."

I relish the opportunity to do this mob in September... If we get there..! Need to extract the digit and play four quarters..

19-05-2017, 11:13 PM
Mate sitting next to me on the train just said to me, "I haven't been treated like that in Adelaide, Perth or Sydney - ever!"

Geelong's a rough, rough, insular little city. A trip down here turns a team that you might've had no problem with into a team you will openly despise!!! It's a rough little town filled with some very backward, unlikable people!

19-05-2017, 11:15 PM
Our selection was fine. Look back at each of Taylor's goals and tell me hat playing an extra tall would have prevented them. It was our running backs who got us back into the match.

19-05-2017, 11:33 PM
We lost this game with a bad 2nd quarter - not even one point kicked . The ball spent the whole time in their F50.

19-05-2017, 11:50 PM
Very disappointed once again is all I can say.

We simply lost this game because we did not play 4 quarters. The 1st and 3rd quarters from us were very good but the 2nd was absolutely woeful. The 4th term we did a bit more compared to the 2nd but not enough of what we did in the 3rd which was our best of the night.

12.9 with our kicking is an improvement and Dickson was a big help in that area.

Players I thought who did well: Wallis, Jong, Wood is a great intercepter, Bob although that fumble at the end of the 2nd was Unmurph like. Dale, Williams were alright. Smith was ok as well.

Overall very disappointed the result and losing for the 2nd week in a row on a Friday night. We are back at home next week at Etihad and must get a win there before the bye and go 6-4.

19-05-2017, 11:51 PM
We lost this game with a bad 2nd quarter - not even one point kicked . The ball spent the whole time in their F50.

51-48 inside 50 in their favour tonight so relatively even but yeah just could not get anything going our way that quarter. Had we played that 2nd quarter like we did the 3rd we probably would have won tonight.

20-05-2017, 12:51 AM

He did. It was at least an 85 metre penalty

Every opposition team has worked it out and park 3 intercept markers deep in defence. We won a premiership be dropping our eyes and hitting targets. Now we've gone back to long bombs to Snake.

Thought Selwood sucked the umpire in and fell forward. Cloke had nowhere else to go.

20-05-2017, 01:10 AM

Disagree. From memory none of their goals came from marks where they outsized their opponent, almost all came from spillages around the 45m mark or from centre clearances.

Adams and Wood dominated the air, as demonstrated by their main big man Hawkins doing stuff all.

Our selection was poor because in a game where their only strength is their midfield, we failed to counter that effectively. In hindsight Libba would have been good for that, despite his shite form, and McLean is another who seems to have a knack of influencing ball ups, including at crucial stages of the match.

20-05-2017, 06:25 AM
Positives:
Wally
Wood
Dale
Boyd
Jong

Some poor decisions by our players, poor disposal and terrible second cost us in the end. We allowed their key players to get the game on their terms.

Disappointing. We need a big second half of the year - starting next week.

20-05-2017, 07:00 AM
Disagree. From memory none of their goals came from marks where they outsized their opponent, almost all came from spillages around the 45m mark or from centre clearances.

Adams and Wood dominated the air, as demonstrated by their main big man Hawkins doing stuff all.

Our selection was poor because in a game where their only strength is their midfield, we failed to counter that effectively. In hindsight Libba would have been good for that, despite his shite form, and McLean is another who seems to have a knack of influencing ball ups, including at crucial stages of the match.
Some good thoughts. Playing Roberts and or Cordy would have given us the flexibility to move Adams and Cordy forward at some stage. Redpath and Cloke with just 3 goals between them just wasn't enough. I agree on the midfield. Would have preferred to have retained Libba. Dangerfield Selwood and Duncan played very well as did Wallis who was fantastic after missing so much football after a serious injury and Jong likewise was very good.

20-05-2017, 07:24 AM
You were making up excuses for an easier shot from Boyd earlier in the game. It happens, bad kixking is bad football. It was heart breaking seeing them ram it home from 45 to outside 50m consistantly.

I wasn't defending Boyd, just stating a fact. Until his tank improves, we'll have to accept his kicking won't be spot on but he gives us so much more around the ground you take the good with the bad.

Redpath rarely leaves the 50, barely touches the ball, couldn't impact contests all night and then has a rare chance to influence the game and he fluffs it. Inexcusable.

20-05-2017, 08:54 AM
Some good thoughts. Playing Roberts and or Cordy would have given us the flexibility to move Adams and Cordy forward at some stage. Redpath and Cloke with just 3 goals between them just wasn't enough. I agree on the midfield. Would have preferred to have retained Libba. Dangerfield Selwood and Duncan played very well as did Wallis who was fantastic after missing so much football after a serious injury and Jong likewise was very good.

Still not sold on throwing Adams or Cordy up forward. Redpath and Cloke should have been big enough. The fact Bont seemed to play full forward for half the match with two defenders was confusing knowing this, but I don't see how bringing in another immobile tall helps that scenario.

20-05-2017, 11:57 AM

Harry Taylor had five marks and 5 goals, no one seemed to be on him. They had 12 set shots and didn't miss.

I agree with NBP, we were one tall short in the backline. We only had Adams as a 193cm backman. Morris is no good against talls, and Wood has to constantly use his jumping ability to get high - not easy to do.

20-05-2017, 12:09 PM
Harry Taylor had five marks and 5 goals, no one seemed to be on him. They had 12 set shots and didn't miss.

I agree with NBP, we were one tall short in the backline. We only had Adams as a 193cm backman. Morris is no good against talls, and Wood has to constantly use his jumping ability to get high - not easy to do.

Looked it up. His 3 goals in the second quarter came from a really wide kick that he marked on the boundary that I doubt Cordy/Roberts would stop, a long kick to a one o one where he had a major advantage of positioning that they may have stopped, and a mark where he ran ahead of the contest and marked uncontested.

One of his goals in the last was definitely from the play where Hawkins outran Williams and then passed to Taylor on his own. And was the other from the idiotic Adams play?

I am happy we didn't sacrifice a runner to play on him. Maybe Suckling but only because he was typically unimpressive. I am always in favour of backing in the team defence though and running with a more mobile defence. Neither Roberts or Cordy would have made a significant difference on more than one of his goals, and would've struggled to assist us offensively.

Besides usually those 5 shots would result in 3 goals tops. With his form this year we could have realistically expected no goals from him, regardless of how many shots he had.

Our defence worked defensively, they had few easy shots and it provided a lot of rebound, second quarter aside. We were screwed over because:
a) They were unstoppable in the second quarter
b) They were unstoppable out of the middle in the last when it mattered
c) They kicked as straight as they ever have, especially Taylor

20-05-2017, 12:10 PM

When Harry Taylor kicks 5 straight from set shots, it's not your night. He's barely had a kick for a month.

20-05-2017, 12:23 PM
I'm fascinated with the declarations that we played one key defender short. I'm struggling to think of more than one example where a key defender might have been able to prevent a goal from being kicked. The only thing I might concede is that it would have given us the flexibility to move Adams forward (or Roberts/Cordy if they played). Mind you Adams did a great job on Hawkins so it would have been a case of Robbing Peter to pay Paul.

20-05-2017, 01:15 PM

Are you sure that's the phrase you want to use regarding Morris? He's not poor against taller players but he is more effective against the mids and smaller types.

20-05-2017, 01:16 PM
I'm fascinated with the declarations that we played one key defender short. I'm struggling to think of more than one example where a key defender might have been able to prevent a goal from being kicked. The only thing I might concede is that it would have given us the flexibility to move Adams forward (or Roberts/Cordy if they played). Mind you Adams did a great job on Hawkins so it would have been a case of Robbing Peter to pay Paul.

I'm with you. Don't see how it helps. And if we felt like we would need Adams up forward, why would we pick both Cloke and Redpath? If you want the option of that flexibility Cordy plays instead of one of them, not as well as them.

20-05-2017, 04:21 PM
Are you sure that's the phrase you want to use regarding Morris? He's not poor against taller players but he is more effective against the mids and smaller types.

yes that is what I am saying

20-05-2017, 07:40 PM
Still not sold on throwing Adams or Cordy up forward. Redpath and Cloke should have been big enough. The fact Bont seemed to play full forward for half the match with two defenders was confusing knowing this, but I don't see how bringing in another immobile tall helps that scenario.

Our defensive problem over the last few weeks has been the midfield and forwards haven't been working hard enough to keep the ball out of defencei reckon. We look under siege a lot and we have become too easy to score against.

22-05-2017, 08:42 AM
Our defensive problem over the last few weeks has been the midfield and forwards haven't been working hard enough to keep the ball out of defencei reckon. We look under siege a lot and we have become too easy to score against.

Up until this round we were the only team not to have conceeded 100 pts in a game... which is now over as Geelong kicked 104.. This included about 12 straight from set shots and about 4 goals completely out of their arse.

Agree that our forwards and mids aren't working hard enough, but we are still a hard team to score against.

22-05-2017, 02:54 PM
Up until this round we were the only team not to have conceeded 100 pts in a game... which is now over as Geelong kicked 104.. This included about 12 straight from set shots and about 4 goals completely out of their arse.

Agree that our forwards and mids aren't working hard enough, but we are still a hard team to score against.

Bevo mentioned on radio that Geelong only took 7 marks inside 50, and was firm on the view that tall defenders were not one of our issues.

22-05-2017, 03:01 PM
Bevo mentioned on radio that Geelong only took 7 marks inside 50, and was firm on the view that tall defenders were not one of our issues.
I agree - Geelong breaking too many tackles in the middle of the ground wouldn't be helped by adding a tall defender in the mix, although for this week I'd consider one even though the Saints are super-quick in their F50 because they have more tall options than Geelong.
Riewoldt has been playing closer to goal, Membrey is dangerous on the lead even if he isn't modern KPP height (more Morris height) and they'll play McCartin again who is the exact type of player we've traditionally played into form (we've given Darcy Moore 5 goals, we have a habit of this).

22-05-2017, 03:14 PM
I agree - Geelong breaking too many tackles in the middle of the ground wouldn't be helped by adding a tall defender in the mix, although for this week I'd consider one even though the Saints are super-quick in their F50 because they have more tall options than Geelong.
Riewoldt has been playing closer to goal, Membrey is dangerous on the lead even if he isn't modern KPP height (more Morris height) and they'll play McCartin again who is the exact type of player we've traditionally played into form (we've given Darcy Moore 5 goals, we have a habit of this).

So much this. It was one after the other. And it seems to be a bit of a trend this year with us. We seem to tackle the waist like a little kid holding on to a big kid but don't lock an arm. We make the tackle, and most times stick it, but can't bring them to ground and allow the arms to be free to give a handball off. It's very frustrating because the effort is basically for nothing. There were at least a dozen times this happened friday night.

22-05-2017, 03:21 PM
In simple terms, we are constantly the hunted and rarely the hunter this year.

You watch the TV and we feel regularly out-numbered, be it in a literal sense or through the pressure that opposition sides are bringing.

Sticking to simplistic terms - and we know there's much more to it than this - we need to find a way to shift back into the 'hunter'.

22-05-2017, 03:58 PM

I guess what to do about Riewoldt is the question.
Adams and Morris are both suitable match ups for McCartin - with an ideal scenario being that Morris plays on Membrey. Its whether or not one of those plays taller on Riewoldt, or whether we back those two plus Wood to handle the three marking forwards.

Does Bevo just back Easton Wood to go with Riewoldt when he is higher up, and Adams to take him when he is deep forward?

22-05-2017, 04:07 PM
I guess what to do about Riewoldt is the question.
Adams and Morris are both suitable match ups for McCartin - with an ideal scenario being that Morris plays on Membrey. Its whether or not one of those plays taller on Riewoldt, or whether we back those two plus Wood to handle the three marking forwards.

Does Bevo just back Easton Wood to go with Riewoldt when he is higher up, and Adams to take him when he is deep forward?

I would prefer Morris on Membrey, otherwise McCartin will kick 10 on Morris. Morris does not have the capacity to compete in the air. Adams to pick up McCartin.

I don't know enough about the Saints and whether they have a tall resting ruckman or not? Bruce played in the reserves on the weekend and was thrashed by Liam Jones, with Liam having 26 disposals at Fullback, so I doubt he will come back in.

22-05-2017, 04:12 PM

I think one of Cordy or Roberts has to play this week.. preferably Cordy who is limited physically like Roberts is.

22-05-2017, 04:15 PM
Cordy wasn't flash Saturday.

22-05-2017, 04:42 PM
"McCartin will kick 10 on Morris"

Now I've heard it all!!

22-05-2017, 04:48 PM
"McCartin will kick 10 on Morris"

Now I've heard it all!!

Agree....we're talking about a bloke struggling for form up against the greatest defender this club has ever seen. Bit of respect please.

22-05-2017, 04:57 PM
Agree....we're talking about a bloke struggling for form up against the greatest defender this club has ever seen. Bit of respect please.

Morris is one of my all time favourites, but I recognise his limitations when he is mis-matched against someone.

Give the guy a break by matching him on someone his own size.

22-05-2017, 05:21 PM
Morris is one of my all time favourites, but I recognise his limitations when he is mis-matched against someone.

Give the guy a break by matching him on someone his own size.

McCartin is no absolute monster at 194cms. Only 3 cms taller than Morris. But I wouldn't expect the players to stay on one man all game - they rarely ever do.

22-05-2017, 10:29 PM
I would prefer Morris on Membrey, otherwise McCartin will kick 10 on Morris. Morris does not have the capacity to compete in the air. Adams to pick up McCartin.

I don't know enough about the Saints and whether they have a tall resting ruckman or not? Bruce played in the reserves on the weekend and was thrashed by Liam Jones, with Liam having 26 disposals at Fullback, so I doubt he will come back in.

McCartin will kick 10? On Morris? He'd be stoked if he got 3 on the great man.

22-05-2017, 10:55 PM
McCartin will kick 10? On Morris? He'd be stoked if he got 3 on the great man.

Do you really think I would say that if I was serious, I was emphasising a point. :)

25-05-2017, 11:51 AM
Why wasn't menegola done for holding the ball in the last quarter. He picked it up ran three steps was tackled and dropped the ball. Hawkins picked it up dummies Daniel and kicks to someone and they get a goal. We got robbed a few times in the game. I realise now how far the home ground advantage has gone. Not only is it familiar surroundings but it's favourable umpires decisions or lack of decisions more like it that give the home team such an advantage. dam hard to win away because of crowd decisions.

25-05-2017, 11:56 AM
Also thought the Cloke decision was a bit harsh but can't abuse an umpire anymore. It was the none decision on Dangerfield taking out Webbs legs the play before Selwood picked up the ball that we got robbed again. Webb ended up flipping over Dangerfields back

25-05-2017, 12:21 PM

Yeah, you're right. It's funny how perception colours your view. We must have been bloody hard to score against last year. It does seem like the opposition have periods when they are on top where they kick lots of goals consecutively. That didn't seem to happen so much last year.

What is really missing this year is our desperation to just keep moving the ball forward whether by hand or foot, just keep moving it forward by hacking and kicking and pushing the ball. We get bogged down a lot. Maybe the stupid third man up rule is stopping us from knocking it clear from congestion.

So much this. It was one after the other. And it seems to be a bit of a trend this year with us. We seem to tackle the waist like a little kid holding on to a big kid but don't lock an arm. We make the tackle, and most times stick it, but can't bring them to ground and allow the arms to be free to give a handball off. It's very frustrating because the effort is basically for nothing. There were at least a dozen times this happened friday night.

Yep. It's frustrating because it's not like we aren't working hard. We just can't get the last part of the eqauation right. It's a bit like watching Jongy pick up the ball, run 25 metres away from the stoppage with it and then handball it straight to an opponent standing 5 metres away.

25-05-2017, 12:28 PM
McCartin will kick 10 on Morris.

Mate...

Even if I rated McCartin, and I don't, Dale Morris is one of the greatest defenders in the history of our club. Dale would beat McCartin even if he had both hands tied behind his back. Dale is a serious competitor. Patty McCartin is a talented player who doesn't want it hard enough.

25-05-2017, 12:53 PM
Mate...

Even if I rated McCartin, and I don't, Dale Morris is one of the greatest defenders in the history of our club. Dale would beat McCartin even if he had both hands tied behind his back. Dale is a serious competitor. Patty McCartin is a talented player who doesn't want it hard enough.

You missed my point - no problems.