View Full Version : Who Am I - A Short Bye-Round Edition

01-06-2017, 12:10 PM
A little something to pass the time. This thread went gang busters two years ago, but this is a short edition and with a twist. Instead of using stats, records, jumper numbers etc to identify the player, in this edition we use quirky, a little cryptic (not too hard) or left of centre facts to bring in knowledge of players, but also general footy/footy media knowledge. For example:

Who am I? Essendon offered Darren Walsh & a 2nd rounder for me? - I am Scott West.

So another easy one to kick off folks:

Who am I? My pre-game routine involved eating a lot of Strawberry Freddo Frogs the night before every game. I am...

01-06-2017, 12:16 PM
Rohan Smith

01-06-2017, 12:22 PM
Rohan Smith

Easy. You're up.

01-06-2017, 12:49 PM
I'll jump in Ozza can make it up.

Which current player wears the same (washed) underwear through the entire season?

My daughter told me this it's her favourite player cause he's 'soooooo cute'.

01-06-2017, 12:58 PM
My daughter told me this it's her favourite player cause he's 'soooooo cute'.

I'm assuming that rules Fletcher Roberts out.

01-06-2017, 01:09 PM
I'm assuming that rules Fletcher Roberts out.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Yes Fletch out. Rather than name every player until it's solved I'll give two hints.

Played in the Granny last year and has a hairstyle.

01-06-2017, 01:12 PM
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Yes Fletch out. Rather than name every player until it's solved I'll give two hints.

Played in the Granny last year and has a hairstyle.

The one and only JJ?

01-06-2017, 01:24 PM
The one and only JJ?

Nah he's a Victorian. The underwear question I think is a little to obscure. The only person in the world who knows it would be my daughter. She knows everything about this guy.

01-06-2017, 01:28 PM
Nah he's a Victorian. The underwear question I think is a little to obscure. The only person in the world who knows it would be my daughter. She knows everything about this guy.

Macrae

Insufficient Intent
01-06-2017, 01:34 PM
Toby Sixteen McLean?

01-06-2017, 02:13 PM
Toby Sixteen McLean?

Got it in one.

01-06-2017, 02:22 PM
Toby Sixteen McLean?

Got it in one.

You're up II.

Insufficient Intent
01-06-2017, 02:42 PM
Thanks 1eye and bt, Toby is up with my favorites.
When on song, he has a left-of-field quirky brilliance, plus a crystal ball brain for seeing what's about to happen and where he needs to be. If he reckons wearing the same jocks should be part of his routine, so it be. Hope they last the season!
Also hope he's back in the top 22 soon.

Eye,Eye, aka II

01-06-2017, 02:57 PM
Thanks 1eye and bt, Toby is up with my favorites.
When on song, he has a left-of-field quirky brilliance, plus a crystal ball brain for seeing what's about to happen and where he needs to be. If he reckons wearing the same jocks should be part of his routine, so it be. Hope they last the season!
Also hope he's back in the top 22 soon.

Eye,Eye, aka II

Tom Libba?

01-06-2017, 04:23 PM
I assume I'm right. If so,

(As far as I know) I'm the only player to ever play with goggles (with optical lens).

01-06-2017, 04:59 PM
I assume I'm right. If so,

(As far as I know) I'm the only player to ever play with goggles (with optical lens).

Are we strictly talking Bulldogs here?

The only player I remember to play with glasses (yes actual glasses) was Jeff Blethen.

If we are talking contact lenses, then I think it was Darcy

01-06-2017, 05:05 PM
Are we strictly talking Bulldogs here?

The only player I remember to play with glasses (yes actual glasses) was Jeff Blethen.

If we are talking contact lenses, then I think it was Darcy

Yes, Bulldogs. These were like snow goggles with prescription lens so he could see. So no to Blethen & Darcy.

01-06-2017, 05:08 PM
Yes, Bulldogs. These were like snow goggles with prescription lens so he could see. So no to Blethen & Darcy.

Wow, I don't remember anyone like that. If it happened from 1992 to 1998, I only saw the odd game, plus some VHS replays as I was overseas during that period.

01-06-2017, 05:09 PM
Wow, I don't remember anyone like that. If it happened from 1992 to 1998, I only saw the odd game, plus some VHS replays as I was overseas during that period.

You've given a big hint to the rest of the woofers, re time period.

01-06-2017, 05:13 PM
That sounds hilarious! Picture please (when someone's solved it)

01-06-2017, 05:15 PM

As I said this is who I remember -( for interest sake only)

http://australianfootball.com/uploads/default/images/linked_gallery_images/2014/10/e50f0.GBlethynEss.jpg

01-06-2017, 05:18 PM

I actually can't find one, but I'll keep trying.

01-06-2017, 05:47 PM
I think I've solved it ;)

https://s23.postimg.org/9oy9mnbpn/C-f46_Qh_VYAAvx_Qy.jpg (https://postimg.org/image/b3zubdcsn/)

01-06-2017, 06:25 PM
Good go, but no. Think mid-late 1990's

01-06-2017, 07:08 PM
James cook.

01-06-2017, 07:10 PM
James cook.

Well done!!

You're up.

01-06-2017, 07:43 PM
I was a parkside B&F

01-06-2017, 09:28 PM
I was a parkside B&F

Rohan Smith

01-06-2017, 10:14 PM
Rohan Smith

Sedat Sir is from Parkside. I train with his brother Sami who is also from there.

01-06-2017, 10:33 PM
I'm not sure if the last one was answered correctly so I'll pose another.

I was a Dogs backman in the mid/late 80s through early 90s who went by the same nickname as a current Finnish formula one driver.

01-06-2017, 11:27 PM
I'm not sure if the last one was answered correctly so I'll pose another.

I was a Dogs backman in the mid/late 80s through early 90s who went by the same nickname as a current Finnish formula one driver.

Haha - very good one doc. Very obscure - I believe you are referring to THE ICE MAN - Greg Eppelstun.

01-06-2017, 11:29 PM
Assuming that is correct...

I am a bulldog who passed on my footy genes, but not the arm guard I always wore.

02-06-2017, 12:18 AM
S. Macpherson.

02-06-2017, 12:36 AM
S. Macpherson.

Incorrect.

02-06-2017, 01:50 AM
Rohan Smith

Not who i was thinking, older

02-06-2017, 05:19 AM

I am a bulldog who passed on my footy genes, but not the arm guard I always wore.

Rowdy Roddy Piper's bodyguard Cowboy Bob Orton?

02-06-2017, 07:46 AM
Not who i was thinking, older

Its not Sir then?

02-06-2017, 08:59 AM
Bulldog champ from the late 60s/70s who once went to the Rosamond Rd Drive in with a horse and cart?

02-06-2017, 10:15 AM
Bulldog champ from the late 60s/70s who once went to the Rosamond Rd Drive in with a horse and cart?

Wee Georgie Bisset but we have to solve the other one. Then the successful answererasks the next question.

02-06-2017, 01:19 PM
Its not Sir then?

No.
He played in the 80's

02-06-2017, 02:12 PM

Matty Mansfield

02-06-2017, 02:13 PM
Matty Mansfield

Correct.

02-06-2017, 03:09 PM
A blonde full forward with tatts. Played a few games in the 80s I believe.

02-06-2017, 03:13 PM
Phil 'Tatts' O'Keefe

02-06-2017, 03:13 PM
It was the 90's if Phil O'keefe is correct .

02-06-2017, 03:31 PM
A blonde full forward with tatts. Played a few games in the 80s I believe.

Phil 'Tatts' O'Keefe

Do you guys remember O' Keefe kicking a goal against Carlton at the Whitten Oval but it was disallowed for some reason? It would have tied the scores level and made the game a draw but Carlton won by a goal.

02-06-2017, 03:37 PM
No I don't which surprises me as Phil grew up across the road from me so I watched him very closely.

02-06-2017, 03:38 PM
My question is what backman fron braybrook painted his name on the roof of his house ???

02-06-2017, 03:38 PM
Do you guys remember O' Keefe kicking a goal against Carlton at the Whitten Oval but it was disallowed for some reason? It would have tied the scores level and made the game a draw but Carlton won by a goal.

Looked up the game on AFL tables and the game was a draw. O 'Keefe's disallowed goal must have been the winner. I remembered being really angry and I'm normally confused after a tie.

02-06-2017, 03:40 PM
Cheating and using google I recognise quite a few Parkside B&F winners that played at the dogs:
M Komp
S Power
Z Tzatzaris
P O'Keefe
S Sir

02-06-2017, 04:03 PM

He played 9 games in 1989.

02-06-2017, 04:41 PM
He played 9 games in 1989.

And kicked 19 goals. That amount of games and half the goals in his first season got Tom Boyd a 7 million dollar contract. I'm not sure Phil o 'Keefe was ever going to deliver us a premiership though.:cool:

02-06-2017, 04:51 PM
My question is what backman fron braybrook painted his name on the roof of his house ???

Captain Groenewegen

02-06-2017, 05:21 PM
No not Groenewegan

02-06-2017, 05:37 PM
Backman from Braybrook - Wally Donald, Ray Walker?

02-06-2017, 05:39 PM

I can only think of Ted Whotten and Wally Donald and o don't think either of them would have painted their name on the roof of their house. I know Wally Donald didn't because I gre up around the corner from his place and I would have remembered.

Ivan Marsh?

02-06-2017, 05:39 PM
Cheating and using google I recognise quite a few Parkside B&F winners that played at the dogs:
M Komp
S Power
Z Tzatzaris
P O'Keefe
S Sir

The winner is in there, early 80's

02-06-2017, 05:40 PM
The winner is in there, early 80's

Mark Komp?

02-06-2017, 05:46 PM
M Komp
S Power
Z Tzatzaris
P O'Keefe
S Sir
I only ever remember Zeno Tzatzaris' photo ever being up in the old clubrooms.
I remember an old newspaper interviewed him and he admitted his pre-game snack included greek yoghurt with heaps of garlic in it - opposition forwards must have hated playing on him.

02-06-2017, 05:54 PM
Mark Komp?

You are correct Twodogs.
Your up.

02-06-2017, 06:03 PM
Wasn't Zeno from St Albans? Perhaps played at Parkside post AFL career?

02-06-2017, 06:12 PM
Just looked it up and, nope, he's a Parkside boy through and through.... why do I think St Albans when I think of Zeno?! Whenever I've heard the name on the roof story, I've pictured St Albans.. where was that roof!!??

02-06-2017, 08:53 PM
You are correct Twodogs.
Your up.

Umm. OK, what was the name of our first VFA premiership captain? Here's the hint. It was in 1898.

Just looked it up and, nope, he's a Parkside boy through and through.... why do I think St Albans when I think of Zeno?! Whenever I've heard the name on the roof story, I've pictured St Albans.. where was that roof!!??

Bit of a difference between leafy Parkside and murderous St Albans. Years ago I had a bloke point the business end of a long barrel at me in St Albans.

02-06-2017, 09:27 PM
Herbert Smith
Norman Anderson
Walter Oldman
Alfred Jackson

03-06-2017, 12:36 AM
Zeno grew up in melon st braybrook just up the road

03-06-2017, 02:47 AM
Herbert Smith
Norman Anderson
Walter Oldman
Alfred Jackson

No, no, no and no. He also led our goalkicking that year.

Zeno grew up in melon st braybrook just up the road

One of my oldest friends lived in Lily st.

03-06-2017, 08:31 AM
Umm. OK, what was the name of our first VFA premiership captain? Here's the hint. It was in 1898.

Speaking from a position of historical ignorance, is this before Vernon Banbury's time?

03-06-2017, 10:01 AM

John Cuzzupe?

03-06-2017, 10:53 AM
Speaking from a position of historical ignorance, is this before Vernon Banbury's time?

Yep. 15-20 years before poor old Vern. This guy is the first big name recruit we ever signed. He had captained another club (very successfully) and had left Victoria to play interstate before he came back to play for us.

03-06-2017, 10:28 PM
Was gotten earlier I was Zeno

03-06-2017, 11:16 PM
Joe Marmo

03-06-2017, 11:27 PM
Joe Marmo

Nope. But He played at the other Association club with Joe and also travelled to WA with him to play in the Goldfield Association over there. His signature with the football club would have been huge news at the time, he had captained premiership teams and had been the comp's leading goal kicker a couple of times before he ended up with us.

04-06-2017, 09:40 AM
Dave de Coite

04-06-2017, 01:32 PM
Dave de Coite

Correct, I'm pretty sure that de Coite wold have been the first person to play for pay in our club's history because he was a legitimate superstar when he came to play with us. The Tom Boyd of his day. Interestingly I think he was our captain in every game he played for us.

Anyway your go M.

04-06-2017, 09:43 PM
Ok, my go. Probably the first VFL footballer of Lithuanian extraction and, of course, he played for us.

04-06-2017, 10:05 PM
Ok, my go. Probably the first VFL footballer of Lithuanian extraction and, of course, he played for us.

Would be the great Algy Vosilitis.

04-06-2017, 10:50 PM
Would be the great Algy Vosilitis.

You're too good mate!

04-06-2017, 11:24 PM
You're too good mate!

I don't know that good or bad come into it. It's an obsession.

Who captained our 1970 night series premiership?

05-06-2017, 02:04 AM
Stuart Magee?

05-06-2017, 02:10 AM
Stuart Magee?

05-06-2017, 02:55 AM
Indeed it was.

05-06-2017, 04:03 AM
Played on permits during 63-64 season. Came from Kaniva. Booted 6 against St Kilda then disappeared. Sixteen games, 22 goals.

05-06-2017, 03:01 PM
Played on permits during 63-64 season. Came from Kaniva. Booted 6 against St Kilda then disappeared. Sixteen games, 22 goals.

Rod Coutts

05-06-2017, 03:04 PM
Correct, I'm pretty sure that de Coite wold have been the first person to play for pay in our club's history because he was a legitimate superstar when he came to play with us. The Tom Boyd of his day. Interestingly I think he was our captain in every game he played for us.

Anyway your go M.

David is mentioned here

http://www.fnwb.com.au/heritage/early-history/

The English name of Foots Cray evolved from a Saxon chieftain Godwin Fot. The landowner Godwin Fot was recorded in the Doomsday Book of 1086 for the invading monarch, the Norman King William 1 who was earlier just the Duke of Normandy.
William who 20 years ago at Senlac Hill defeated the reigning Saxon ruler King Harold at the famous 1066 Battle of Hastings and is forever more remembered as William the Conqueror rather than William 1.
The Godwin part of the Godwin Fot name has slipped from common usage in this situation but the Fot was to continue although it was to later alter from Fot to Foot. Nearby is the river Cray and whether at the time there was a ‘Bridge on the River Cray’ is unconfirmed, but what is known is that the town of Maidstone was nearby. Maidstone and Foots Cray were to have their names copied and be neighbours again in this new land 12,000 miles away from England.
As Fot evolved somehow into Foot in England, the Australian differentiation was for Foots Cray to become Footscray and in 1859 the town was to achieve the status of a municipality as Melbourne’s population expanded rapidly on the back of the Victorian Gold Rush.
Footscray grew and in the 1870’s civic minded citizens formed an Australian Rules football club for the municipality. Some historians claim that the original Footscray Football Club was founded in 1876. This has led to debate as to whether this was the same autonomous organisation in 1883, which has usually been the accepted defining year for the birth of the Footscray Football Club. The initial Footscray Football Club appeared to change its name to the Prince Imperial Football Club. The Prince Imperial was Louis Napoleon, the heir to the French throne. The Prince was killed during a confrontation with some Zulu warriors in Africa in 1879.
We today would consider this unusual for an Australian town of a British colony in the 1880’s being deferential to a French dignitary. Less than 70 years earlier the French and British were fighting each other in the Napoleonic Wars. This was the just another war between the English and the French in the centuries old history of antagonism between these two peoples which dates back to the earlier mentioned 1066 Battle of Hastings, during the era of our hero the great Saxon chieftain Godwin Fot. However the Prince Napoleon was with the English at the time of his death and was thus ‘A good guy’ so the Imperial name carried the day for a few years.
However the now named Prince Imperial did not encounter success and by 1882 it was decided that that name be dropped for the original Footscray. This is direct passage from page 11 of ‘Unleashed’
In 1882 a decision was taken to drop the name Prince Imperials and 1883 came to be regarded as the first year of the Footscray Football Club. The Victorian Junior Football Association (VJFA) was being reformed for the 1883 season. Lovett recalled that, ‘Because of the ‘Prince Imperials’ name, ‘very few knew we were a Footscray side… Footscray was growing in importance (so) it was decided to start the ensuing season with a club named after our town’
Lovett was Charlie Lovett (1863-1929) a local identity who played a major and pivotal role in the early days of the Footscray Football Club. Charlie Lovett would have a good claim as being the main man in the founding of the 1883 re –established Footscray Football Club.
Commencing in the Victorian Football Association, some years after that competition commenced in 1877, Footscray found it difficult to contend with the older more established clubs and were not to play finals football until 1897. That year the club were to finish third in this the first season of the smaller VFA after eight of her clubs has broken away to form a new competition- the Victorian Football League.
VFA DOMINATION
Footscray were now to embark on our glory years as Premierships and Grand Finals rained down on the team described as the ‘Bone Mill Fellows’, ‘The Saltwater Lads’ or more popularly the ‘Tricolours.’ The last name now taking over as Footscray’s nickname from the previous two titles along with the abbreviation from the back: Scray or its plural the ‘Scrays’
Season 1898 saw a Premiership come to Footscray, the clubs very first flag. 1954 is NOT the first triumph as so many still are yet to learn.
Footscray finished the season on top of the VFA ladder and it was to be North Melbourne as our opponents in the Grand Final. Heroic captain Dave De Coite was to lead his players to victory in a fierce encounter against the Shinboners. Arthur Armstrong widely considered the best man on the ground. This was to create problems for Armstrong, as he was a resident of North Melbourne playing for their opponents, which upset many from his Shinboner supporting neighbourhood. Some of his team mates that joyous day were Charlie Molyneaux, Billy Kruse, Charlie Brockwell, Bob Montgarrett and William ‘Ching’ Harris.
The next season was also a flag and Footscray were to complete three consecutive Premierships with success in 1900. They were now the undisputed biggest show in the VFA, the club that others aspired to become like.
Some moderate seasons were to follow again before Footscray’s fourth Premiership was claimed in 1908. Two years later saw another flag in 1910 and as the 1924 Grand Final approached, the Tricolours were looking at their ninth overall Premiership all to be achieved after over triumphs in seasons 1913,1919,1920 and 1923 If the 1924 Grand Final was a success, it would be our ninth flag in under a quarter of a century.
Happily it was a victory and Williamstown our defeated opponents. Soon another battle was to be fought and this was Footscray representing the cause of the old VFA against the upstarts of the VFL. A championship of Victoria game had been arranged earlier in 1924 from the request of Dame Nellie Melba as a fundraiser for the Limbless Soldiers Fund. It was Essendon, the VFL Premiers defending the League against Footscray, carrying the torch for the Association.
The Association were to feel proud as their team easily accounted for the League’s Premier. However the Association’s joy was to be short as the champion of their cause Footscray was within months to leave the Association and join the hated enemy, those upstarts of the VFL. After years of actively seeking to join the VFL, finally the goal of membership in that organisation was finally attained. Footscray were to leave the VFA and take their place as newcomers with Hawthorn and North Melbourne in an expanded VFL competition for 1925.
The new era in a big brave new world had arrived.

05-06-2017, 03:31 PM
Godwin is one of my heroes. He was a force of nature that man. The original networker that managed to work his family from a father who was virtually just the Village chief kingmaker himself to his son becoming king. He was one rash act by that son away from establishing a dynasty. Harold should have waited in London and let William wear himself our in the countryside.

Anyway I didn't know that Footscray was named after him. I know Godwin means "protector (wine) of God. But I don't know what the Fot means.

05-06-2017, 09:48 PM
Rod Coutts

Correct. I thought he was going to be an answer to our goal kicking probs after he booted those six ... alas!

06-06-2017, 01:26 PM
Correct. I thought he was going to be an answer to our goal kicking probs after he booted those six ... alas!

Yes same here. Here is mine. He played with us in the 70's then later went on to be a Sheffield Shield bowler

06-06-2017, 01:53 PM
Godwin is one of my heroes. He was a force of nature that man. The original networker that managed to work his family from a father who was virtually just the Village chief kingmaker himself to his son becoming king. He was one rash act by that son away from establishing a dynasty. Harold should have waited in London and let William wear himself our in the countryside.

Anyway I didn't know that Footscray was named after him. I know Godwin means "protector (wine) of God. But I don't know what the Fot means.

Yep completely under-prepared for a cavalry charge. It was a crazy decision to head south, particularly with all the forced marches he done days before. He was beat before he got anywhere near Hastings.

06-06-2017, 02:50 PM
Yes same here. Here is mine. He played with us in the 70's then later went on to be a Sheffield Shield bowler

A further clue. He played less than 10 games for us.

06-06-2017, 04:04 PM
kind of a trick question. Harry Frei.

06-06-2017, 04:26 PM
kind of a trick question. Harry Frei.

Well done Td. Played Sheffield Shield for Qld

06-06-2017, 04:49 PM
Yep completely under-prepared for a cavalry charge. It was a crazy decision to head south, particularly with all the forced marches he done days before. He was beat before he got anywhere near Hastings.

And taking his brothers with him. No back up plan.

06-06-2017, 05:10 PM
And taking his brothers with him. No back up plan.

Yeah well didn't deserve to be king. Divide and Conquer is the old Chinese adage. William didn't even need to do any dirty work. Harold left half his force in the North which was eventually wiped out as well.

06-06-2017, 05:10 PM
Well done Td. Played Sheffield Shield for Qld

Keeping with the cricket theme name the two test cricketers who have also played football for Footscray. I make it two players, one in the VFA and one since we have been in the A/VFL.

06-06-2017, 05:30 PM
Yeah well didn't deserve to be king. Divide and Conquer is the old Chinese adage. William didn't even need to do any dirty work. Harold left half his force in the North which was eventually wiped out as well.

Something I often wonder about is why they broke Hadrada's boats up after Stanford Bridge and then turn around and walk (run) back to London? It must have taken a lot of time and energy to destroy all those vessels (I think there were 150+ of them) and they had to leave men behind to garrison York anyway. Why didn't they sail the boats back to London when they heard William was coming? It would have taken less time and energy to sail back down than to travel by foot wouldn't it?

06-06-2017, 05:42 PM
Keeping with the cricket theme name the two test cricketers who have also played football for Footscray. I make it two players, one in the VFA and one since we have been in the A/VFL.

I know Georgie Tribe was one

06-06-2017, 05:44 PM
Something I often wonder about is why they broke Hadrada's boats up after Stanford Bridge and then turn around and walk (run) back to London? It must have taken a lot of time and energy to destroy all those vessels (I think there were 150+ of them) and they had to leave men behind to garrison York anyway. Why didn't they sail the boats back to London when they heard William was coming? It would have taken less time and energy to sail back down than to travel by foot wouldn't it?

I seem to remember that while Harold marched south Totsig sailed south with an armada but wad defeated as well, although I could be mistaken re this happening simultaneously.

Alexander the Great did the same upon his return from India and paid for it with his life. He forced marched back through Persia while his Admirals sailed the gulf back to the Nile.

06-06-2017, 05:47 PM
I know Georgie Tribe was one

Yep. The other one was a VFL leading goal kicker who played with us in our VFA years.

I have a nagging feeling there is one more too but I can't find evidence of him playing footy for us.

06-06-2017, 05:51 PM
Looking through the records there are quite a few ex leading V/AFL leading goal kickers that have ended up playing for us.

06-06-2017, 05:53 PM
Yep. The other one was a VFL leading goal kicker who played with us in our VFA years.

I have a nagging feeling there is one more too but I can't find evidence of him playing footy for us.

No idea Td. Remembered Georgie Tribe as he played cricket at Yarraville too

06-06-2017, 06:04 PM
Did Les Joslin play a couple of games for us and a test or two?

06-06-2017, 06:05 PM

Did Robert Rose play Cricket?

06-06-2017, 06:08 PM
Ok, I cheated, Robert Rose did, plus Les Stillman

06-06-2017, 09:24 PM
I seem to remember that while Harold marched south Totsig sailed south with an armada but wad defeated as well, although I could be mistaken re this happening simultaneously.

Alexander the Great did the same upon his return from India and paid for it with his life. He forced marched back through Persia while his Admirals sailed the gulf back to the Nile.

Stretching the memory but I think that was a couple of months before Stamford Bridge. Tostig talked a bloke called Baldwyn to provide men and a fleet but local militia pushed him up to Scotland, where he sheltered with McBeth.

06-06-2017, 09:27 PM

Played for Yarraville I think.

Did Robert Rose play Cricket?

He was very good at it. But didn't play for Australia. Was selected to tour but the car accident happened.

Ok, I cheated, Robert Rose did, plus Les Stillman

I forgot about Les-he must have been the one I couldn't remember. Still isn't the right answer though. Remember I said this bloke played in our VFA years, ie prior to 1925.

07-06-2017, 12:42 PM

His brother Graeme played with us but never played past Shield. Both were local Yarraville boys.

07-06-2017, 02:51 PM
His brother Graeme played with us but never played past Shield. Both were local Yarraville boys.

I can remember Graeme playing at Angliss reserve for Kingsville (I think it was Kingy.) Gee we were lucky when we were kids to get to play against blokes who were international standard. You'd take a wicket and gather in the middle to celebrate and then watch Ken Eastwood walk out to the middle.

Then it was on. All of a sudden We were playing for sheep stations.